View Full Version : Hibs v St Johnstone

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

Weir07
01-05-2021, 04:15 PM
Aberdeen will need to beat us 5-0 in order to go into the final game above us.

I don't expect Aberdeen to be above us after playing them but wouldn't like to go to the final game with equal points.

hhibs
01-05-2021, 04:16 PM
Why would anyone try to justify that?

My point is,JR's inability to vary tactics ,ok got it now ?

Sorry if my annoyance of the moment got in the way of my clarity.

Aberdeen will get skelped off the huns

Our post-split record in the top six really is dreadful.

I think our average number of points over the years is 4 and this year it's now highly likely that we'll finish the season with 3 points.

Aye hand in the towel why don't you? Disappointing today but there's no reason to believe we can't pick up points over our last 2 games. No one ever said it was going to be easy.

01-05-2021, 04:17 PM
That was such an insipid performance, but I have to say I'm shocked at how ready some folk are to stick the boot into Jack Ross again and the team, a side that's not been out of the top 4 all season.

You need to have a ****ing word.

To be fair, it’s games like today where the performance is more alarming than the actual result, why, for me anyway, Ross is still to fully convince.

There’s lots to praise, particularly recruitment, and our league position. However there’s something still missing that is difficult to pinpoint IMO. For all we have been good and consistent this season in the league we’ve also been able to spend money when most others can’t and fortunate that Aberdeen have regressed. The home form and struggles to come back from adversity are all concerns I wouldn’t expect from a side in 3rd and having made two semi finals.

Lith
The Hibs team is untrustworthy?? We've made it to three semi finals, sit third in the league and haven't been out of the top four all season.

Think folk need to take a step back for a minute, yeah it was abysmal today, but you this team has been excellent this season overall.

Matty, we have been garbage for lots of games this season... that’s why they aren’t reliable or trustworthy.... the position we find ourself in is mostly by good luck that everyone has been worse that us.... we will finish third though and probably be in the final.... Jack Ross needs to get his house in order though.... this side to side and then back to punt it up the park is amateur stuff

well thats my opinion so hope it’s allowed

imagine being st johnstone's freakin b*tches

Yep embarrassing

That was such an insipid performance, but I have to say I'm shocked at how ready some folk are to stick the boot into Jack Ross again and the team, a side that's not been out of the top 4 all season.

A voice of reason midst the clamour of nonsense.:top marks

01-05-2021, 04:18 PM
The Aberdeen game has got kamberi scoring the winner written all over it

Never remotely looked like scoring at home to a team resting 7 players. Dreadful and no excuse considering how well we've been playing. Lost count of the number of high balls to the 3 giants at the back for Saints. Hopeless.

Special mention to Jackson Irvine for being even worse than everyone else.

Have to agree with you and we ended up looking like a bunch o ****in amateurs

NC1875
It’s about time Ross’s record was given proper scrutiny because it’s utterly dreadful. Semi final against Championship side, humped ! Semi final against club with zero support and almost zero budget, humped ! Big game with third in our own hands at home, only a draw required, humped ! Record against Rantic and the Sheep, don’t even go there ! Every time we play a game under Ross with a huge amount riding on it, we are consistently turned over and opposing managers seem to have Ross’s number in those games time and again. Personal opinion but I have zero confidence in the guy, I think we are where we are despite him, not because of him, with the squad we have we should have sewn up third weeks ago and should be looking forward to the Scottish Cup semi final with total confidence but I’m not and I doubt many are. We have the players to win it again, but not the manager

Couldn’t agree more. In my opinion we’d be 3rd this season whether Ross was here or not. Some people think he’s the messiah.
We’ve been beaten in any meaningful game this season so far.

01-05-2021, 04:19 PM
Yeah, that has his Hibs side sitting comfortably above St Johnstone.

He has a trophy and we don’t.

01-05-2021, 04:21 PM
Dundee United will be quaking in their boots when they watch the video analysis of that game today.

Said it a while back saying it again. Wouldn’t lose any sleep if Ross left tomorrow. To many performances like today.

01-05-2021, 04:23 PM
Dundee United will be quaking in their boots when they watch the video analysis of that game today.

Said it a while back saying it again. Wouldn’t lose any sleep if Ross left tomorrow. To many performances like today.

They got humped from County today

Bobo
Found sadly wanting when needing to step up and perform and not for the 1st time! We don't have it in us to break down stuffy / defensive opponents as we are far too slow in everything we do. The performance today was so typically predictable of Hibs and devoid of any constructive football from start to finish.

We were so poor that we witnessed even less than the usual lame 45 minute showings we've been subjected to repeatedly this season. There was nothing of any note from anyone wearing green and white and we looked a really poor team against what constituted as a St Johnstone reserve side!

The Hibs support now don't get to relax and enjoy what should have been a straight forward conclusion to the league and it will go all the way to the last day of the season because our players have been found sadly lacking and nowhere to be seen once again when it matters most!

The opportunity to rest players and avoid possible injuries, prior to the cup semi, is now lost as well because we have no leaders, no fight and even less desire. They really hate to make things simple. :rolleyes:

We're not going to win the cup are we?

Allez Hibs

It seems the support is still ambivalent about Ross, despite the third place and the cup semis. Let's be honest, his teams have produced many uninspiring displays, but the end results can't be argued with. I will take our current position every year.

Getting to Cup Semi Finals is not an achievement especially the manner in which we lost v St Johnstone given the last four line up. We have been given a second chance with this Scottish Cup line up, he has to deliver this time.

01-05-2021, 04:24 PM
I don't expect Aberdeen to be above us after playing them but wouldn't like to go to the final game with equal points.

They can't be above us after we play them due to our goal difference being way ahead of theirs. I think it's more likely we'll take something off Celtic than them take something off Rangers but shouldn't have even been a discussion after today. Like others have said I hope that's our bad performance out the way

Hardly a confidence booster for next week

They got humped from County today

So did we

gaz1875
01-05-2021, 04:25 PM
Brutal performance again, started at a snails pace got slower as the game went on. I have no idea what game RJ watches to sub our best player on the pitch Gogic, and Wright who was actually not too bad ahead of Irvine and Newell. Has he ever subbed Irvine? he was terrible looked like he was playing in quick sand, Newell should have been off before half time never mind with a few minutes to go. Is he incapable of firing the team up for crunch matches? we probably only needed a point against a St Johnstone team with 7 changes after an epic game on Sunday against the Huns.

JR is still to completly convince me he is the right man for the huge job that is managing Hibs, a widnie mind perhaps a wee whiles time that we get davidson in as he has done a great job with the Saints.
Hibs are pissing me off once more as we get to the business end o the season. No sure if I want to see or watch anymore of this sheite.

So did we

I suppose Hibs looking at a video of that game won’t have then to worried either

Allez Hibs
They can't be above us after we play them due to our goal difference being way ahead of theirs. I think it's more likely we'll take something off Celtic than them take something off Rangers but shouldn't have even been a discussion after today. Like others have said I hope that's our bad performance out the way

They can go above us next week though.

01-05-2021, 04:26 PM
Ross has to shoulder a lot of the blame for that performance as well as the players. The lack of a decent replacement for Nisbet was claringly obvious from the start. The resulting revamped formation was just a shambles. Boyle didn't seem to know what he was supposed to be doing and its no surprise he had his worst game for weeks. Wright was OK at the start but eventually contributed little. Irvine and Newall were both absolutely abysmal and lost almost every 50 50 ball. The back four had little to do all afternoon other than punt aimless long balls up the park. Sadly it was a performance that we've seen so often in the past and it should really come as no surprise to anyone, the warning signs have been there all season. They got away with it last week but when the chips are down I'm afraid this lot are just not good enough.

01-05-2021, 04:27 PM

If they beat us 10-0

01-05-2021, 04:27 PM

Your like mystic meg! have you got some kind of crystal ball, as I sure as hell dont see things panning oot that way.

01-05-2021, 04:28 PM
That was ****ing grim.

Seven or so changes from their full strength team and they still won comfortably.

We were absolutely tragic today. Literally nothing positive about that performance. Worrying given the importance of the next three to four games left.

no they won't

they could the last game though :agree:

Scotty Leither
We rely completely on the front three to win us games, often without any kind of service from the midfield.
Gogic does everything we want of him. The rest of the midfield are all neat and tidy, tippy tappy players with little drive or desire to get forward.
Aye the defence make mistakes now and again like today but midfield is where the vast majority of our issues lie.

This just about nails it for me...when the feed from Hibs TV went down you could have just not bothered watching it when it came up again, as it was so predictable that was going to be the final score. Our midfield are so one-paced and lack any kind of drive it must be a dream to play against.

Newell looks cultured enough with a decent touch, but I've never seen a guy so languid on the ball as he is - the amount of times he turned back into traffic today and slowed everything down was incredible.

Gogic does what he's paid to do and is pretty effective at it, but for the other 2/3 midfield positions Ross just seems to rotate Magennis/Wright/Hallberg from being on the left, then onto the right; Irvine seems undroppable, but there's just no cohesion and the lack of another forward option when Nisbet or Doidge is unavailable is galling, especially when a club like St Johnstone have more options off the bench than we do???

Your like mystic meg! have you got some kind of crystal ball, as I sure as hell dont see things panning oot that way.

Some people aren’t as depressingly pessimistic

Allez Hibs
If they beat us 10-0

They go above us if they win 5-0.

01-05-2021, 04:29 PM

So you think they have a better chance against undefeated Rangers at Ibrox than we do against Celtic at ER?

01-05-2021, 04:29 PM
It’s about time Ross’s record was given proper scrutiny because it’s utterly dreadful. Semi final against Championship side, humped ! Semi final against club with zero support and almost zero budget, humped ! Big game with third in our own hands at home, only a draw required, humped ! Record against Rantic and the Sheep, don’t even go there ! Every time we play a game under Ross with a huge amount riding on it, we are consistently turned over and opposing managers seem to have Ross’s number in those games time and again. Personal opinion but I have zero confidence in the guy, I think we are where we are despite him, not because of him, with the squad we have we should have sewn up third weeks ago and should be looking forward to the Scottish Cup semi final with total confidence but I’m not and I doubt many are. We have the players to win it again, but not the managerI make his record vs Aberdeen as - 3 pointshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210501/3863f4231953589062a485b6d2e2694a.jpg

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

01-05-2021, 04:30 PM

On today’s showing - no. On another day - yes. Anybody’s guess methinks.:greengrin

hibee62
01-05-2021, 04:31 PM
Just the usual failure , a Manager with a bit of " mettle " and skill. Tony Mowbary.

This season reminds me a lot of mowbray’s first. We ended up finishing 3rd on goal difference from Aberdeen. We’ve also had results this season on a par with losing in Inverness 3-0 and at home to the bottom of the league 3-0…

01-05-2021, 04:32 PM
If we lose third Ross has tae go. Jees, if we lose against Utd ahd bin him. Just as ah wis comin roon tae him aswell. The same auld flaws come oot, he doesnae seem tae learn nuthin.

01-05-2021, 04:32 PM
This season reminds me a lot of mowbray’s first. We ended up finishing 3rd on goal difference from Aberdeen. We’ve also had results this season on a par with losing in Inverness 3-0 and at home to the bottom of the league 3-0…

Mowbrays team played great football though

Kaff
01-05-2021, 04:33 PM
I think his biggest advantage and why we're still 3rd is that he doesn't panic after a terrible performance and result.
We need some of Lennons 2nd season urgency and drive but equally we don't need the knee jerk selections and fall outs.
So in the next week we'll get the same measured approach and by doing so he won't panic the players, that said if we start a game badly we never seem to have the capacity to recharge the players and get a rocket up them, it's a stick or twist situation.
Last couple of games before today we had a great start but slackened off instead of going for the jugular and could easily have lost to both Livi and Motherwell as we weren't able to get the impetus back and slipped further and further back.
It's a, worrying situation as he needs a true leader on the park to get that sorted. The only two I can think of are Daz and SDG.
Paul McGinn has been a great addition but today he was like a man down, they doubled up on Doig and let McGinn take the ball forward, reducing it to walking pace. Doig the young lad with drive tied up while we let the right be pedestrian, get Boyle out there early and mix it up, Doig would have had extra space straight away. He has to see these things earlier than the 75th minute surely?

01-05-2021, 04:33 PM
If we lose third Ross has tae go. Jees, if we lose against Utd ahd bin him.

If glad folk like you don't run the club

hhibs
01-05-2021, 04:36 PM
Aberdeen will get skelped off the huns

You hope

hibee62

They did, and it was exciting more often than this team is, but the idea that this team is always boring and only grinds out results is also wrong. I can think of a few poor poor scrappy performances by that team too (2-2 away to Motherwell, 2-1 away to hearts, even the 2-1 win at tynecastle was a scrap).

Agreed. We were a young inexperienced side that dropped points but we made up for it in being probably the most fun side to watch in the country. This can be turgid even on the good days.

StockholmHibs
01-05-2021, 04:38 PM
So you think they have a better chance against undefeated Rangers at Ibrox than we do against Celtic at ER?

Aye totally. Did you actually watch the game?

01-05-2021, 04:38 PM

I dont have a crystal ball, but happen to think both teams will go down to the weedgie bassas.

01-05-2021, 04:39 PM

So you'd accept throwing away a 7 point lead in third to finish fourth? Getting beat by Hearts/ St. J/ Dundee Utd(potentially) in cup semi-finals? Two of which were very winnable trophies.

The Jack Ross who has been totally owned by a rookie manager in Davidson on numerous occasions?

‘Owned’

Porteous made an arse of that today.

True, this Hibs team isn't entertaining most of the time, meaning results are everything. Ross doesn't have the luxury of pointing to excitement; he will be judged solely by how many games he wins. For me he's done enough to point to his record thus far, but the ending of this season will be massive for him.

01-05-2021, 04:41 PM

I think the Bookies should re-evaluate their cup odds. For me, St Johnstone are clear favourites to win it.

01-05-2021, 04:42 PM

No way can this team be compaired wi that team as it was great to watch even while getting beat, however it will be interesting if we end up no getting 3rd but win the cup once more, that would mean that JR was better than Mob's fine fitba playing side.

hibee62
01-05-2021, 04:42 PM
True, this Hibs team isn't entertaining most of the time, meaning results are everything. Ross doesn't have the luxury of pointing to excitement; he will be judged solely by how many games he wins. For me he's done enough to point to his record thus far, but the ending of this season will be massive for him.

I agree with that, and I’m concerned. If he doesn’t win another game this season I, personally, won’t have any concerns with him for now but there will be plenty who will turn on him and the general feeling about the club/fans will be tough for him.

ehf
01-05-2021, 04:43 PM
And St Johnstone were worse than we were, they created nothing at all the whole game.

They didn't need to; if they had done, they would simply have upped a gear and got it.

Hibiza
01-05-2021, 04:43 PM
It’s about time Ross’s record was given proper scrutiny because it’s utterly dreadful. Semi final against Championship side, humped ! Semi final against club with zero support and almost zero budget, humped ! Big game with third in our own hands at home, only a draw required, humped ! Record against Rantic and the Sheep, don’t even go there ! Every time we play a game under Ross with a huge amount riding on it, we are consistently turned over and opposing managers seem to have Ross’s number in those games time and again. Personal opinion but I have zero confidence in the guy, I think we are where we are despite him, not because of him, with the squad we have we should have sewn up third weeks ago and should be looking forward to the Scottish Cup semi final with total confidence but I’m not and I doubt many are. We have the players to win it again, but not the manager

Spot on .

01-05-2021, 04:44 PM
Do we ever theorise on potentially good stuff happening on here or is it just doom it all costs?

Allez Hibs
01-05-2021, 04:45 PM

There's a good chance we finish 4th and have lost 3 Semi Finals in turn giving up a transformational amount of money to the club.

hibee62
01-05-2021, 04:45 PM
No way can this team be compaired wi that team as it was great to watch even while getting beat, however it will be interesting if we end up no getting 3rd but win the cup once more, that would mean that JR was better than Mob's fine fitba playing side.

Plenty of poor, scrappy performances have been forgotten about by that team. On their day, far more exciting than this, but they were just as capable of a flat performance like today.

01-05-2021, 04:47 PM
Do we ever theorise on potentially good stuff happening on here or is it just doom it all costs?

Give us some good stuff then Callum, you could say all this is sheite and we will win the cup and it will all be forgot about until next season, I just dont have that feeling while watching this Hibs team.

01-05-2021, 04:47 PM
‘Owned’

Porteous made an arse of that today.

And for the other 89mins were 1st to every ball and sat back and watched us huff and puff then hoof.

They lapped it up.

01-05-2021, 04:50 PM
I agree with that, and I’m concerned. If he doesn’t win another game this season I, personally, won’t have any concerns with him for now but there will be plenty who will turn on him and the general feeling about the club/fans will be tough for him.

Aye, it seems much of the fanbase remains to be convinced, which is odd, given we are third and in another semi-final. I'm perfectly satisfied thus far, but I accept the team isn't great to watch most of the time. So much hinges upon how we end in league and cup for Ross, IMO.

01-05-2021, 04:52 PM
Give us some good stuff then Callum, you could say all this is sheite and we will win the cup and it will all be forgot about until next season, I just dont have that feeling while watching this Hibs team.Good stuff?

A team that hasn't been outwith the top 4 All season for 1

When did we last have that?

Any poor result and the reaction is seriously OTT

I thought livi were meant to be above us by now and we had no chance of Europe or top 4

And yet here we are.

Lith
01-05-2021, 04:54 PM
So you'd accept throwing away a 7 point lead in third to finish fourth? Getting beat by Hearts/ St. J/ Dundee Utd(potentially) in cup semi-finals? Two of which were very winnable trophies.

100% correct mate..... we have too many supporters that accept mediocrity and keep spouting the third and been in cup finals.... that is the wrong mentality to have... let’s have a bit ambition and want better for our team.... look for better players and better manager as I don’t have any confidence in J.R. And reading the earlier replies I also think we would be third with any other manager... ha can’t change it when it’s not going well and he doesn’t have our team doing any pressing.... we have been dire in nearly every big game this season....

01-05-2021, 04:56 PM
Aye hand in the towel why don't you? Disappointing today but there's no reason to believe we can't pick up points over our last 2 games. No one ever said it was going to be easy.

We just don't pick up points at Pittodrie and although we do have a decent recent record at home v Celtic I'd still say Celtic will be comfortable favourites.

If you ask the bookies then I think they'll have us down to lose both games.

01-05-2021, 04:56 PM
There's a good chance we finish 4th and have lost 3 Semi Finals in turn giving up a transformational amount of money to the club.

Think all of us would have taken 4th at the start of the season, and at the halfway point. The fact it would seem like a massive failure now is credit to the good run we went on February to April.

At the start of the season plenty of posters were saying our squad was nowhere near top 4 and barely good enough for top 6. After livi beat us in January plenty posters were also predicting we'd drop out of the top 6. Would be interested in the overlap between the posters who were saying that, and those that are now implying Ross should go if we do come 4th.

01-05-2021, 04:59 PM
100% correct mate..... we have too many supporters that accept mediocrity and keep spouting the third and been in cup finals.... that is the wrong mentality to have... let’s have a bit ambition and want better for our team.... look for better players and better manager as I don’t have any confidence in J.R. And reading the earlier replies I also think we would be third with any other manager... ha can’t change it when it’s not going well and he doesn’t have our team doing any pressing.... we have been dire in nearly every big game this season....

Sacking Ross now would be just about the stupidest thing the club could do.

01-05-2021, 04:59 PM
Think all of us would have taken 4th at the start of the season, and at the halfway point. The fact it would seem like a massive failure now is credit to the good run we went on February to April.

At the start of the season plenty of posters were saying our squad was nowhere near top 4 and barely good enough for top 6. After livi beat us in January plenty posters were also predicting we'd drop out of the top 6. Would be interested in the overlap between the posters who were saying that, and those that are now implying Ross should go if we do come 4th.

It would be seen as a massive failure because you had a 7 point lead with 4 games left over a team who went on a run of scoring 1 goal in 10 games.

Jesus Christ 😂 to look at finishing 4th now as some kind of success is ridiculous

01-05-2021, 05:00 PM
Aye, it seems much of the fanbase remains to be convinced, which is odd, given we are third and in another semi-final. I'm perfectly satisfied thus far, but I accept the team isn't great to watch most of the time. So much hinges upon how we end in league and cup for Ross, IMO.

Not going to tear in to them too much when we still have the opportunity to achieve so much. However, we’ve already blown opportunities to be successful this year and I’m to be convinced that we won’t do it again.

Manner of today was dreadful but not surprising. As soon as I saw that team I wondered who would create anything.

Agreed

The Hibs team is untrustworthy?? We've made it to three semi finals, sit third in the league and haven't been out of the top four all season.

Think folk need to take a step back for a minute, yeah it was abysmal today, but you this team has been excellent this season overall.

The frustration with this team is the inconsistency. We’ve had quite a few of these flat performances this season - mainly at ER. Some of them have come out of the blue. If we have ambitions of moving forward, that needs sorting sharpish.

I think that’s maybe where the untrustworthy accusation stems from. Its probably more accurate to say that you don’t have the confidence to predict which Hibs team is going to show up each week. Very frustrating. Although I should be used to it by now.

01-05-2021, 05:01 PM
100% correct mate..... we have too many supporters that accept mediocrity and keep spouting the third and been in cup finals.... that is the wrong mentality to have... let’s have a bit ambition and want better for our team.... look for better players and better manager as I don’t have any confidence in J.R. And reading the earlier replies I also think we would be third with any other manager... ha can’t change it when it’s not going well and he doesn’t have our team doing any pressing.... we have been dire in nearly every big game this season....3rd and cup finals

Imagine the mediocrity!

01-05-2021, 05:01 PM
Cup semi final, Europe sealed already, in the driving seat for 3rd and not been out of the top four all season and folk are talking about sacking the manager. :faf:

01-05-2021, 05:02 PM
The frustration with this team is the inconsistency. We’ve had quite a few of these flat performances this season - mainly at ER. Some of them have come out of the blue. If we have ambitions of moving forward, that needs sorting sharpish.

I think that’s maybe where the untrustworthy accusation stems from. Its probably more accurate to say that you don’t have the confidence to predict which Hibs team is going to show up each week. Very frustrating. Although I should be used to it by now.I don't think there's been a hibs team in my lifetime who hasn't been inconsistent

Cup semi final, Europe sealed already, in the driving seat for 3rd and not been out of the top four all season and folk are talking about sacking the manager. :faf:Aye but we couldve had Daniel stendel in and achieved the exact same

Just reading on the bbc (shocking website for sure but!) they are saying that the goal by Middleton was his first ever for St J. this is the same guy that couldnie tie his own boot laces while at Hibs, **** if a team or a player needs to score or get a result then wait till they play us, it is getting just 2 predictable, but we dont have the cash to change things and bring in real quality.

01-05-2021, 05:03 PM
Just reading on the bbc (shocking website for sure but!) they are saying that the goal by Middleton was his first ever for St J. this is the same guy that couldnie tie his own boot laces while at Hibs, **** if a team or a player needs to score or get a result then wait till they play us, it is getting just 2 predictable, but we dont have the cash to change things and bring in real quality.

Did he not score the goal that got them in the top six at St. Mirren’s expense?

01-05-2021, 05:04 PM

yes we really need to wait till the end o the season give him a chance to win the cup wi us.

01-05-2021, 05:04 PM
Just reading on the bbc (shocking website for sure but!) they are saying that the goal by Middleton was his first ever for St J. this is the same guy that couldnie tie his own boot laces while at Hibs, **** if a team or a player needs to score or get a result then wait till they play us, it is getting just 2 predictable, but we dont have the cash to change things and bring in real quality.It's definately not his first goal

01-05-2021, 05:05 PM
You’ll be struggling to see a hibs team finish 3rd/4th again who’ve been so poor at Easter roar

01-05-2021, 05:06 PM

I think that’s maybe where the untrustworthy accusation stems from. Its probably more accurate to say that you don’t have the confidence to predict which Hibs team is going to show up each week. Very frustrating. Although I should be used to it by now.

The good performances and results have been far more consistent than the bad ones. We're never going to win every game, I think this side is about as trustworthy as virtually any Hibs team I can remember.

We had a team with the likes of McGinn etc fail to get out of the Championship - Lennon's amazing Hibs team finished 4th.

The team and manager deserve far more credit than folk are giving them.

Today was shocking, and we've had a couple of those this season, but generally we've been the better team in the vast majority of our games and we're where we deserve to be in the league.

Third in the league, third highest scorers, fourth best defence... I think it's now 4 consecutive semi finals which no other Scottish team has achieved in the last two seasons...

And folk are talking about sacking the manager?!!

It would be seen as a massive failure because you had a 7 point lead with 4 games left over a team who went on a run of scoring 1 goal in 10 games.

Jesus Christ 😂 to look at finishing 4th now as some kind of success is ridiculous

where did I say it would be a success? would obviously be extremely disappointing to blow it now, I just don't think it'd be grounds to sack Ross.

You’ll be struggling to see a hibs team finish 3rd/4th again who’ve been so poor at Easter roarWe have been pretty sensational away from home and pretty turgid at home

01-05-2021, 05:07 PM
The good performances and results have been far more consistent than the bad ones. We're never going to win every game, I think this side is about as trustworthy as virtually any Hibs team I can remember.

We had a team with the likes of McGinn etc fail to get out of the Championship - Lennon's amazing Hibs team finished 4th.

Today was shocking, and we've had a couple of those this season, but generally we've been the better team in the vast majority of our games and we're where we deserve to be in the league.

Third in the league, third highest scorers, fourth best defence... I think it's now 4 consecutive semi finals which no other Scottish team has achieved in the last two seasons...

By folk are you referring to one person?

Think there’s a lot of people still to be convinced by him without wanting him sacked

01-05-2021, 05:07 PM

aah dont know just reading it off the bbc website says he was also man o the match but it is the bbc an they always tell the truth no!

01-05-2021, 05:08 PM

The issue here is that we are so stop start, we follow every decent run with a poor performance, or even a mini run of poor performances. We get to semi finals and fail to turn up on the day. Yes we have hung around at the top end all season, but that's as much due to a very poor Aberdeen and a Livvi team who don't have the resources to be consistent every week as our own efforts.

That game today was massive, it didn't become important after the even because we lost it as someone suggested further back on here. How vital a result was to us was absolutely evident before a ball was kicked and yet for 45 minutes we looked like it was a training match, I've seen more drive,desire, craft, guile and effort in a testimonial match.

The other thing is that if we do make the final it's short odds that we will face St Johnstone and all today confirmed was that we struggle to find any answers to their organisation, they kept us in front of them for practically the whole 90 minutes, we looked like we could have played all day and not found the net and that's on the back of a 45 minute capitulation to them in the 2nd half at Hampden.

You can't blame managers for individual brain farts like Porto's today, but there has to come a time when overall results are looked at. We looked disinterested and clueless tactically today in a game we badly needed to win. If we follow that with defeat next Saturday and follow that up by chucking away 3rd place on the back of losing two eminently winnable cup semi finals already you can't seriously be suggesting that questions about Jack Ross's managerial ability in pressure situations wouldn't be justified.

Lith
01-05-2021, 05:08 PM
[QUOTE=Fergus52;6547156]Sacking Ross now would be just about the stupidest thing the club could do

i think your better re reading as I never anywhere said we should sack Ross now..... stop making things up.

01-05-2021, 05:09 PM
Cup semi final, Europe sealed already, in the driving seat for 3rd and not been out of the top four all season and folk are talking about sacking the manager. :faf:

Lost two cup semi-finals. May or may not lose a third. Two winnable trophies with no Celtic/Rangers. Style of play isn't great. Home record is poor.

What could've been eh?

01-05-2021, 05:10 PM
By folk are you referring to one person?

Think there’s a lot of people still to be convinced by him without wanting him sacked

01-05-2021, 05:14 PM

Time is a great healer. Some absolute shockers with that side. 3-0 losses to livi, Inverness, Aberdeen. Lost at home to Aberdeen 2nd last game. Semi defeat to DU. Following season 3x pumpings by hearts.

01-05-2021, 05:15 PM
You’ll be struggling to see a hibs team finish 3rd/4th again who’ve been so poor at Easter roar

Fair point. There is pro and contra regarding Ross. Only results and league position/cup advancement will decide his fate. Given where we are, it's surprising a Hibs manager would face such criticism, yet the fact the team isn't great to watch means Ross will encounter doubters. At this stage I'm still fully behind him, all things considered. This is a very successful season in the context of our history.

01-05-2021, 05:15 PM
i think your better re reading as I never anywhere said we should sack Ross now..... stop making things up.

So you want the club to show ambition by looking for a better manager who will improve upon top 4 and cup semi finals, but without actually sacking ross? OK :aok:

01-05-2021, 05:16 PM

Yes

Scotty Leither
01-05-2021, 05:23 PM
[QUOTE=Lith;6547194]

So you want the club to show ambition by looking for a better manager who will improve upon top 4 and cup semi finals, but without actually sacking ross? OK :aok:

I'm not wanting the guy sacked, but only one of the last 3 semi finals we have contested was against Celtic or Rangers. We got cuffed 5-2 and it was Heckinbottom's last game.

The following 2 included one against lower-league opposition, and the second one a complete capitulation against today's opponents.

He loses next week then questions about his record are valid. For what it's worth I think we'll narrowly squeak through, but this narrative developing of just reaching semi-finals as a "success" for Hibs, sorry i'm not buying that line.

Lith
01-05-2021, 05:23 PM

I never said sack Ross now but if you think we are not on the lookout for replacements for every position then your a bit naive.... and yes if we look to replace poor players or manager then yes that is being ambitious

01-05-2021, 05:25 PM

:agree: It’s a baw hair off 50 years since we finished in the top 3 and got a cup in the same season, and we’re three wins away from achieving that. This is a historically good Hibs side. I can only assume that not being able to go to games and general covid stress is resulting in more intolerance and grumpiness overall.

01-05-2021, 05:27 PM

I think most people will agree with this overall.

However, our capitulations have generally come in games that mean something significant. It's good we are in these positions but pointless if we turn up the way we did today, against St Johnstone and Hearts in the cup. The thing I struggle with in my head is how St Johnstone can change 7 players and beat us. We mock Drey Wright and I genuinely think I'd look at our bench and go "nah, I'll leave it". I think that may have happened against Motherwell, Jack Ross maybe wanted to keep the players on as he looked and thought he didn't have much to play with on the bench. Having no backup to Nisbet and Doidge is remarkable, if either get injured we really struggle. Boyle is hopeless upfront against a team that sit it. We are a counterattack team and everyone knows that by now. We counterattack well when we are doing well but when we aren't we move in slow motion and almost wait for opponent to get into position before we hoof the ball.

To give us all a bit of leeway on our impressions, we are not in the stadium, our picture of every match is controlled entirely by footage captured by the camera. We do not know what is going on outside of the frame. Sadly this probably emphasises what you can see - Newell probably appears to move slower as he, with the ball, is the centre piece to the shot and you don't have peripheral vision with a full picture of the situation. However, pictures don't lie with regards to body language and when Rooney (I think) crossed at ~92mins I saw a team that stopped and was willing to watch St Johnstone score another - very worrying.

This transformative money people keep going on about will pile on the pressure anyway, regardless what we as fans say. I would imagine it won't look good if Dundee United, St Mirren or St Johnstone pip us to that European bonus. Adding that to missing out on 3rd...All hypotheticals but our finish to the season will define next season in many many ways - ST numbers, European football and everything else. This is the business end and I didn't see a team ready for business today.

All hypothetical at this stage. If we pull it all off then Jack Ross will probably be a legend.

01-05-2021, 05:30 PM
I wonder what other clubs outwith rangers and cetic get on average?

I'm not surprised with ours given we are usually scrapping top 6

Aberdeen's averaged just under 7 points per season.

01-05-2021, 05:34 PM
:agree: It’s a baw hair off 50 years since we finished in the top 3 and got a cup in the same season, and we’re three wins away from achieving that. This is a historically good Hibs side. I can only assume that not being able to go to games and general covid stress is resulting in more intolerance and grumpiness overall.

I think it's the style of play which clouds judgement. If we were in this position whilst playing like the Mowbray team, the vast majority would be very happy.

01-05-2021, 05:41 PM
I think it's the style of play which clouds judgement. If we were in this position whilst playing like the Mowbray team, the vast majority would be very happy.

I have to admit to not having seen the game today, but even if it’s ten times more stinking than I’m reading on here, I don’t think we see this kind of negative reaction to one single game in a normal (non covid)year. Some of what I’ve read and heard on podcast in the last 20 minutes are a bit deranged and hysterical. We’re on course for Europe, still favourites for a cup in the semis and the style of play isn’t any worse than the majority of managers we’ve had since I’ve been alive. Our season is currently a 8/10 with a possibility of being even better. That’s my opinion on it.

01-05-2021, 05:45 PM
I have to admit to not having seen the game today, but even if it’s ten times more stinking than I’m reading on here, I don’t think we see this kind of negative reaction to one single game in a normal (non covid)year. Some of what I’ve read and heard on podcast in the last 20 minutes are a bit deranged and hysterical. We’re on course for Europe, still favourites for a cup in the semis and the style of play isn’t any worse than the majority of managers we’ve had since I’ve been alive. Our season is currently a 8/10 with a possibility of being even better. That’s my opinion on it.

I would agree, with the caveat we must finish third. The cup is in the lap of the Gods.

h1bs4life
01-05-2021, 05:45 PM
Still to be convinced by Ross , wasn't to keen in his team selection. Unfortunately Drey Wright hasn't go it but Ross is doing everything he can to get him involved. Boyle has been very good on the right recently and should have been playing there today.
3 or 4th not really bothered , it's all about the Scottish Cup , win that and all the moaning and groaning is forgotten about and he and his players will rightly be legends.
Still confident we will win next weeks semi final ,and then take what come for the final.

01-05-2021, 05:47 PM

I don’t know if the reaction to a poor performance is more immediate/irrational when we’re all in the house? Normally we’d be queuing to get out the stadium (if we’d stayed to the end) and then to get back up the road, giving us time to cool down and reflect a bit more.

AliboyFC
01-05-2021, 05:50 PM

01-05-2021, 05:52 PM
It's definately not his first goal

It may or may not have been his first goal but at least we’ve finally figured out H’s Hibs.net username.

01-05-2021, 05:55 PM
I don’t know if the reaction to a poor performance is more immediate/irrational when we’re all in the house? Normally we’d be queuing to get out the stadium (if we’d stayed to the end) and then to get back up the road, giving us time to cool down and reflect a bit more.

:agree: I was just saying similar. Get that walk down st Clair st, sink a few pints or do the post match dissection on the bus, a couple of hours later and you’ve had a walk, calmed down and the cat is safe from flying cups again.

snedzuk
01-05-2021, 06:16 PM
It may or may not have been his first goal but at least we’ve finally figured out H’s Hibs.net username.

Maybe that's the twist tomorrow

01-05-2021, 06:28 PM
Yes we're 3rd but that is just another ****ing shocking performance by this team, far too many passengers with heartless players looking like they're going through the motions again. No new deal for Irvine and a mistake giving Newell an extra year. Absolutely no one sitting on that bench that gives you confidence they could change the game for you, still not convinced by Ross and his tactics.

completely agree, a hapless, gutless performance, no obvious leaders in our team to take the game by the scruff of the neck. And as for the tactics, completely useless, constantly slowing the game down when in possession to give stJ time to regroup.

And what’s more infuriating is that they were absolutely pish

supermcginn
01-05-2021, 06:33 PM
[QUOTE=Fergus52;6547213]

I'm not wanting the guy sacked, but only one of the last 3 semi finals we have contested was against Celtic or Rangers. We got cuffed 5-2 and it was Heckinbottom's last game.

The following 2 included one against lower-league opposition, and the second one a complete capitulation against today's opponents.

He loses next week then questions about his record are valid. For what it's worth I think we'll narrowly squeak through, but this narrative developing of just reaching semi-finals as a "success" for Hibs, sorry i'm not buying that line.

100 percent. His record at sunderland and hibs in big games in the cup is deplorable, it's a massive game for him next week no doubt

sorrow sorrow
01-05-2021, 06:45 PM
Give me winning the Scottish cup over finishing 3rd 4th 5th 6th anytime.
Yes I know the financial benefits of europa leagues etc but the Scottish cup is huge for fans.
Winning the Scottish has huge financial benefits for the club also as we seen after 2016.
We can only realistically win 2 trophies per season and in my lifetime I’ve only been there and experienced that feeling twice so personally I’d take finishing 4th if we win the Scottish.
Win the Scottish and finish 3rd or 4th would be a brilliant season and probably the best in most of our lifetime supporting hibs.
If we don’t win the Scottish considering sevco/celtic are out would make this season a failure considering how bad Aberdeen have been this season and I don’t think jack Ross will recover from it

01-05-2021, 07:29 PM
Yes I know the financial benefits of europa leagues etc but the Scottish cup is huge for fans.
Winning the Scottish has huge financial benefits for the club also as we seen after 2016.
We can only realistically win 2 trophies per season and in my lifetime I’ve only been there and experienced that feeling twice so personally I’d take finishing 4th if we win the Scottish.
Win the Scottish and finish 3rd or 4th would be a brilliant season and probably the best in most of our lifetime supporting hibs.
If we don’t win the Scottish considering sevco/celtic are out would make this season a failure considering how bad Aberdeen have been this season and I don’t think jack Ross will recover from it

Correct would rather see Scottish cup winners on the hounors list

01-05-2021, 07:38 PM
Too many meh games for me this season, no hunger. Today was yet another brutal viewing. Thumbs down to huff & puff football. Roll on the semi!!!

hhibs
01-05-2021, 07:51 PM
completely agree, a hapless, gutless performance, no obvious leaders in our team to take the game by the scruff of the neck. And as for the tactics, completely useless, constantly slowing the game down when in possession to give stJ time to regroup.

And what’s more infuriating is that they were absolutely pish

Kaff
01-05-2021, 07:52 PM

This is true, the sad thing is Saints rested 7 of their 1st choice players to give them a better chance of winning the Cup. We didn't do that, presumably to tie up 3rd place, and yet they comfortably beat us.
Equally Dundee Utd rested a score of players against Killie and then looked at their seasons best vs Aberdeen, did they rest players today against County? If they did and are in confident mood at the weekend then we are right up against it, our team will be far from confident after that dirge today.
Let's give Jack some leeway here though, if we'd been told at the start of the season we would finish 4th and reach 3 semifinals then I'm sure a majority would accept that as a progression, not a finished level but having steadied the ship post Heckingbottom and putting in solid foundations but having got so clear in 3rd place and who we have ultimately faced in all the cups then there will be disappointment at 4th and out of the cups in the semis.
We've got the thread counting Aberdeens ST numbers and that's the stark warning of a club playing boring football, failing to get through the Cup hurdles but generally finishing in the league where was probably hoped and/or expected.
However if we are a work in progress and next season we developed more attractive style allied to the results then its patience we require. Very hard after games like today though as you can't see where the flair will come from.

01-05-2021, 07:57 PM
This is true, the sad thing is Saints rested 7 of their 1st choice players to give them a better chance of winning the Cup. We didn't do that, presumably to tie up 3rd place, and yet they comfortably beat us.
Equally Dundee Utd rested a score of players against Killie and then looked at their seasons best vs Aberdeen, did they rest players today against County? If they did and are in confident mood at the weekend then we are right up against it, our team will be far from confident after that dirge today.
Let's give Jack some leeway here though, if we'd been told at the start of the season we would finish 4th and reach 3 semifinals then I'm sure a majority would accept that as a progression, not a finished level but having steadied the ship post Heckingbottom and putting in solid foundations but having got so clear in 3rd place and who we have ultimately faced in all the cups then there will be disappointment at 4th and out of the cups in the semis.
We've got the thread counting Aberdeens ST numbers and that's the stark warning of a club playing boring football, failing to get through the Cup hurdles but generally finishing in the league where was probably hoped and/or expected.
However if we are a work in progress and next season we developed more attractive style allied to the results then its patience we require. Very hard after games like today though as you can't see where the flair will come from.

Dundee United actually fielded exactly the same starting line up today as they did against Aberdeen, which surprised me as I thought they would have rested players ahead of the semi final.

Kaff
01-05-2021, 08:01 PM
Dundee United actually fielded exactly the same starting line up today as they did against Aberdeen, which surprised me as I thought they would have rested players ahead of the semi final.

Thanks.
That's a surprise and equally a poor result too.
We're probably starting from an even position of nerves and confidence!

01-05-2021, 08:04 PM
At least the Aberdeen game is away. Jack Ross seems reluctant to change the shape of the team when things are not working
Irvine was terrible today but he kept him on. It now means there are no dead rubbers so hopefully that will get a better performance than today in the games to come. A draw will do at Pittodrie.
Jack Ross needs to step up to the plate as well as the players.

01-05-2021, 08:23 PM
Thanks.
That's a surprise and equally a poor result too.
We're probably starting from an even position of nerves and confidence!

We're a better team than Dundee United and have a good record against them. I feel pretty confident ahead of the semi final despite todays result, the same cannot be said for playing St Johnstone. Anyway, one game at a time. :aok:

Kaff
01-05-2021, 08:31 PM
We're a better team than Dundee United and have a good record against them. I feel pretty confident ahead of the semi final despite todays result, the same cannot be said for playing St Johnstone. Anyway, one game at a time. :aok:

If Dundee Utd have a go at us then we won't leave the space behind fullbacks that Glass' Aberdeen did and we can use our counter attack, which suits us.
If the Arabs defend deep like Saints I'd expect we could pick them off as they're not as as good as them at it and we'd get a break vs them.
To contradict what I've previously said I think Nisbet was rested today and will play in the semi, I've fingers crossed his injury wouldn't have prevented him playing if we were playing the semi or Aberdeen today.
With him available we will be more dangerous and Dundee Utd know that of course, it will affect their game plan.

01-05-2021, 08:40 PM

Also missing their best player Siegriest. No reason not to be confident.

01-05-2021, 08:41 PM
If Dundee Utd have a go at us then we won't leave the space behind fullbacks that Glass' Aberdeen did and we can use our counter attack, which suits us.
If the Arabs defend deep like Saints I'd expect we could pick them off as they're not as as good as them at it and we'd get a break vs them.
To contradict what I've previously said I think Nisbet was rested today and will play in the semi, I've fingers crossed his injury wouldn't have prevented him playing if we were playing the semi or Aberdeen today.
With him available we will be more dangerous and Dundee Utd know that of course, it will affect their game plan.

Nulify McNulty/Shankland/Clark and really there's not much to the current Dundee United side. Despite being an ex-Hun and son of a former Jambo, I like Nicky Clark. It was his mis-control that lead to the throw in, that lead to the corner, that lead to SDG's goal in the 2016 Cup Final. Hibs legend. :greengrin

hhibs
01-05-2021, 08:41 PM
At least the Aberdeen game is away. Jack Ross seems reluctant to change the shape of the team when things are not working
Irvine was terrible today but he kept him on. It now means there are no dead rubbers so hopefully that will get a better performance than today in the games to come. A draw will do at Pittodrie.
Jack Ross needs to step up to the plate as well as the players.

He seems,like many past Hibs managers unable to motivate the team,we continue year after year to be too soft.

01-05-2021, 08:43 PM

Agree 100%. It's even more important this year as the Scottish Cup also gets us European football until Xmas. Supposedly worth £3m. 3rd place is worth an extra £250k.

3rd is definitely an achievement but always, and this year more than ever, the Scottish Cup is a massive, massive deal.

Given the last couple of of semi final performances we need to go out and win this one.

01-05-2021, 09:17 PM
He seems,like many past Hibs managers unable to motivate the team,we continue year after year to be too soft.
In the next few games the workrate of a number of players needs to move up a notch. St Johnstone players work their socks off you saw that against the rangers.

01-05-2021, 09:18 PM

How are we soft? Do many soft teams win 15 away games in a season?

hhibs
01-05-2021, 09:54 PM
How are we soft? Do many soft teams win 15 away games in a season?

Soft teams lose important games,so far that has been Hibs story.

02-05-2021, 12:39 AM
Getting to semi finals is a reasonable measure of success, but whether or not failing to make finals on the back of them can be considered acceptable entirely depends on who you lose to in those semi finals. Defeats to Celtic, Sevco and even Aberdeen can be sucked up, these games are rarely ones where Hibs could be considered favourites.

But twice in the last 6 months we have lost two winnable semis, one of which would have taken us into a winnable final. We now face that situation again where we should be favourites to beat United, should we fail to do so and somehow St Mirren turn over St Johnstone is there anybody on here who wouldn't look on it as a massive opportunity to win a trophy blown for the second time this season .... even if St Johnstone do make the final and even with our last few performances against them it would still be a massive opportunity blown.

That's Jack Ross's problem here, not that we lose important games, but who we are losing them to. I do not want to see him sacked, as somebody else said to do that now would be ridiculous. But if we get to the end of this season having lost three absolutely winnable semi finals, two of which would have put us into winnable finals and chuck away a 7 point lead and a substantial goal difference over 6 games to finish 4th then his ability to motivate and manage the team in pressure situations has to be in question.

Magpie
02-05-2021, 12:47 AM
Wasn’t a pretty performance, big game next week. Hopefully we use this poor performance as motivation to work even harder. Every game between now and the end of the season has to be treated like a cup final.

02-05-2021, 04:07 AM
Getting to semi finals is a reasonable measure of success, but whether or not failing to make finals on the back of them can be considered acceptable entirely depends on who you lose to in those semi finals. Defeats to Celtic, Sevco and even Aberdeen can be sucked up, these games are rarely ones where Hibs could be considered favourites.

But twice in the last 6 months we have lost two winnable semis, one of which would have taken us into a winnable final. We now face that situation again where we should be favourites to beat United, should we fail to do so and somehow St Mirren turn over St Johnstone is there anybody on here who wouldn't look on it as a massive opportunity to win a trophy blown for the second time this season .... even if St Johnstone do make the final and even with our last few performances against them it would still be a massive opportunity blown.

That's Jack Ross's problem here, not that we lose important games, but who we are losing them to. I do not want to see him sacked, as somebody else said to do that now would be ridiculous. But if we get to the end of this season having lost three absolutely winnable semi finals, two of which would have put us into winnable finals and chuck away a 7 point lead and a substantial goal difference over 6 games to finish 4th then his ability to motivate and manage the team in pressure situations has to be in question.

This 100%.

02-05-2021, 07:37 AM

Mostly agree, but I'd say winning any of the semis would have put us into winnable finals. Celtic were in poor form, and Hearts ran them close in the SC final. That's what makes losing those semis so sickening.

02-05-2021, 07:56 AM
Mostly agree, but I'd say winning any of the semis would have put us into winnable finals. Celtic were in poor form, and Hearts ran them close in the SC final. That's what makes losing those semis so sickening.

The same could be said for the semi finals of 2005 and 2007. Celtic weren't a great side back then and both Dundee United and Dunfermline gave them a good game in the final.

Obviously glad we finally got that cup win in 2016, but we really should have won the cup long before then. 7 wins at Hampden in 24 attempts since 2000 is a horrific record and we should have won a fair majority of those.

02-05-2021, 08:04 AM
All a team needs to do is find a way to stop Boyle, we create very little from elsewhere on the park. There is zero threat from the centre of the park, far too passive, Gogic does his job well but Irvine and Newell are posted missing most games, an internationalist and experienced championship player should be dominating midfields up here but spend most games chasing shadows. How ineffective must Ross think Magennis is in central midfield to not be given a chance ahead of those 2.

02-05-2021, 10:42 AM
Soft teams lose important games,so far that has been Hibs story.

Surely every game is important? and you onto get to important games by winning other important games?

Tully
02-05-2021, 12:44 PM
The biggest question from yesterday must be why were hibs so passive and playing like the game had nothing riding on it , from the first minute we looked lethargic why was this? Just so bloody annoying

hhibs
02-05-2021, 12:58 PM
Surely every game is important? and you onto get to important games by winning other important games?

Semi Finals have been a case in point.

Are you really trying to say every game is of equal importance ?

hhibs
02-05-2021, 12:59 PM
The biggest question from yesterday must be why were hibs so passive and playing like the game had nothing riding on it , from the first minute we looked lethargic why was this? Just so bloody annoying

02-05-2021, 01:21 PM
All a team needs to do is find a way to stop Boyle, we create very little from elsewhere on the park. There is zero threat from the centre of the park, far too passive, Gogic does his job well but Irvine and Newell are posted missing most games, an internationalist and experienced championship player should be dominating midfields up here but spend most games chasing shadows. How ineffective must Ross think Magennis is in central midfield to not be given a chance ahead of those 2.

No argument from me on this. Newell is a neat and tidy player with good feet but he isn't very creative, he would be ideal in the Neil Lennon or Scott Brown role in successful Celtic teams where he is the guy making short passes in midfield and keeping the play moving, but Lennon and Brown moved the ball quickly and Newell doesn't. The rest of our midfield as you said carry zero threat in the final third leaving Boyle carrying the load practically on his own. To his credit Boyle still manages to create chances as he did twice on Saturday.

It's too late to change anything now apart from tactically, Boyle will still be the out ball, but we have to find a way to mix it up and we also have to find a way past the high press that we singularly failed to overcome on Saturday, resorting to long balls which is exactly what that is trying to make a team do, it has to be said we assisted St Johnstone's tactics by playing at a snails pace, we have to move the ball far quicker. If Dundee Utd have any sense they will employ exactly the same tactic on Saturday, whether they have St Johnstone's disciplined organisation remains to be seen though.

02-05-2021, 02:21 PM

Really hope I'm wrong but I fear it could be weight of expectation. Hibs have gone from a position of winning or drawing one game to secure 3rd and a huge Euro payout to HAVING to win the Scottish Cup and carry the burden of being favourites with it. Many of our players yesterday looked like they wanted to be anywhere but on that pitch.

Jack Ross needs to look squarely in the eyes of some of our players and ask them if they're up to it !

02-05-2021, 02:49 PM
Really hope I'm wrong but I fear it could be weight of expectation. Hibs have gone from a position of winning or drawing one game to secure 3rd and a huge Euro payout to HAVING to win the Scottish Cup and carry the burden of being favourites with it. Many of our players yesterday looked like they wanted to be anywhere but on that pitch.

Jack Ross needs to look squarely in the eyes of some of our players and ask them if they're up to it !

True mate. But surely by this time he has already done that. Our tepid approach to a vital game on Saturday was a real surprise even after we went a goal down. It was only in the last 20 minutes that we even looked like we had woken up to the fact that we were chasing the game. JR makes big play of the fact that we tend to bounce back from setbacks, he did it again on Saturday, but to be a successful team it's the setbacks you need to cut out so you have a lot less bouncing back to do. What conciliation is there to a player or manager in being pumped out of a winnable cup that would have made you a club legend in beating Ross County in the league a week later? ... not much in my view.

Cast your mind back to the night at Easter Road a few years back when we turned over Aberdeen in a cup tie under Alan Stubbs. In all my time going to Hibs games I don't think I had ever seen a team who looked so together, they had an 11,000 crowd in a frenzy. They were like a bunch of pals who had formed a team and were absolutely determined to play for each other and the fans bloody loved them for it.

Listen to the worlds most successful players and managers, they all say the same thing, that these pressure situations are what they thrive on. None of our guys are ever going to win the champions league or play in a world cup final, but at the level they are at winning the Scottish cup is the absolute pinnacle they can hope to achieve and as a result I expect them to run themselves into the ground next Saturday and also play well .... if they can't do that, or worse are unwilling to do that, what the hell did they bother becoming professional players for in the first place?

I can accept Hibs losing any game where there has been maximum effort and we haven't carried the luck. I would even put the Hearts semi into that category, the effort and decent play was there, the luck wasn't. An effort like Saturday was utterly unacceptable, both from the players and the manager.

02-05-2021, 03:28 PM

No, but the most important one is the next one. There is no semi final without winning the 3rd round.

147lothian
02-05-2021, 03:43 PM

I think your being a tad harsh, one semi was a case of we miss a penalty they score one, the second semi we should hae been out of sight by half time, ok the defending was rank rotten in the second semi but might have been better if we had given ourselves something to defend.

The sad truth is that outside the OF there is not a great deal of difference between all the others this season IMO, we have Doige, Nisbet and Boyle to thank for making a difference in a number of games which has got us into the position were in now, some we will win some we will lose but the games we lose is probably got more to do with lacking the quality in midfield than the manager or us just being soft IMO