View Full Version : Hibs v St Johnstone

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

01-05-2021, 03:36 PM
At last Lewis comes one, Doig hasn't been at the races. Glad Bradley is getting a shot too. It is about 30 minutes late though and this has been a very poor show my Ross who needed to put a marker that this type of mediocrity will not be tolerated.

01-05-2021, 03:36 PM
What a ridiculous sub that is. What is the point of bringing on Stevenson with 10 to go in a game we need to win.

Another puzzler from Ross

hibeesjoe
01-05-2021, 03:37 PM
What's funny is some of the chat on here is we have already skooshed 3rd and won the cup.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

01-05-2021, 03:37 PM
Lewis. Lewis. Ffs jack

Young Doig has ran his heart out, Lewis is the natural replacement.

01-05-2021, 03:38 PM
Says it all that even with 10mins to go when we lose the ball we just re-group and get into positions. No intent to press. No great pressure on the ball either. Passive throughout.

Really need another Livi goal, or a Hibs goal

I'll be greedy...both !

Think we’re going to be lucky they go to ibrox on the last day

Cannot rely on that but could be right. Thing is we score today or sneak a win (highly unlikely) and pressure is off.

By all accounts we haven’t been at races today. One eye in next week

What a ridiculous sub that is. What is the point of bringing on Stevenson with 10 to go in a game we need to win.

Probably because he switched Boyle to the left and we have 5 subs so we can get Lewis to defend when Boyle is in front of him.

This performance is absolute guff

Is kind of baffling, but to me a lot of what Ross does is baffling 🤔

01-05-2021, 03:39 PM
He is a show pony, he rarely breaks sweat, passes it easy every time and wont create much at all because he always plays the easy ball backwards or sideways.

He's regularly pish, i wouldnt have him anywhere near the first 11.

Our best performances of the season came when he was injured and out the team.

Goal difference still heavily in our favour thankfully

We need to score JC. Our subs have been stupid today and they were stupid in the cup game too. I like JR but his sub usage is mental at times.

Really need another Livi goal, or a Hibs goal

Well we ain’t getting a hibs goal now they are bringing in thier better players
They know exactly how to play us and are confident they won’t get get beat Thsts how I see it

Aberdeen still need to get something at Ibrox to get 3rd, I honestly can't see that happening as Rangers will be in party mode

Thing is. If we lose today and against Aberdeen they only need to draw and we will need to equal or better that against Celtic.

This is as bad as I’ve seen us all season. Absolute ****ing horrendous stuff

Torto7
Careless and clueless.

01-05-2021, 03:40 PM
This is sooooo rubbish.

Livi equalise though

Stevenson with a crap forward pass and loses us possession.

Livi are doing us a favour

This is sooooo rubbish.

Livi equalise though

Thank ****

And leave him in peace to have his. Thanks.

Ha ha!!!!

This is as bad as I’ve seen us all season. Absolute ****ing horrendous stuff

Not a hope in hell are we getting a goal , Utter ****ing garbage

Aberdeen Donsit

HendoDelivered
01-05-2021, 03:41 PM
3rd defo not as done as some think IMO

01-05-2021, 03:41 PM

Not a hope in hell are we getting a goal , Utter ****ing garbage

Sadly this has had defeat written on it from the start

01-05-2021, 03:42 PM
Aberdeen are still winning no?

Livi are doing us a favour

We'll take it gladly. I've always had a soft spot for Livi as our true local rivals :greengrin:greengrin

hibIBZ
This is a typical hibs v st Johnstone type team. Don't start fast enough so they get settled, huff and puff for 15 mins, throw a goal away, spend the second half battling for nothing

Devonhibs
Christ this is eye bleedingly bad

TAHibby
Still 2-1 Aberdeen???

Torto7
Terrible technique by McGinn. Awful.

Aberdeen Donsit

Eh?

tonyrougier123
Shambolic display with so much on the line! Hard days ahead could’ve been well avoided!

Hibs have yet to have a useful ball into the box.

St J are coasting this.

Have we had a shot on goal ?

01-05-2021, 03:43 PM
That cross from McGinn sums up the mentality. The body language in crossing there...it looked like a warm up, going through the motions, casual.

This isn’t even their first team **** sake. Horrific stuff.

crash

Nobody in a green jersey has “ran his heart out” today . Disgusting.

Doidge MOTM, not for me it would have been Hanlon by a long way. Not sure anyone else even deserved pass marks. Rocky maybe

Eh?

Somebody said Livi equalised?

How's that a. Foul by doidge?

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

01-05-2021, 03:44 PM
This is sooooo rubbish.

Livi equalise though

?

Can’t recall it ....

thank goodness for teams around us :agree:

Aberdeen are still winning.

Boy was talking pish

I don't see it reported anywhere...but here :)

A team playing for third and to get to a cup final

Dreadful

Yes but taking the piss

?

Have they not? Thought Cliff said they had?

01-05-2021, 03:45 PM
Still 2-1 Aberdeen

What an absolutely brainless foul that is.

Can’t recall it ....

BBC has us with 8 shots in the game (2 saves)

Great ball from Boyle but nobody really bothered about getting on the end of it

Aberdeen are still winning.

Yeah, just seen that, looks like the earlier post was a wind-up.

3 points ahead with 2 games to play. My fingernails are gonna disappear.

This is sooooo rubbish.

Livi equalise though

No they don’t

Can’t recall it ....

Boyle with a flying volley from an Irvine cross, keeper parried it.

We need to score JC. Our subs have been stupid today and they were stupid in the cup game too. I like JR but his sub usage is mental at times.

No one else on the bench except Daz, Gray or Macey, I think he brought Bradley on to inject some pace and urgency but no ones even passed to the laddie yet. Not the 1st game I've been baffled by Ross's tactics and subs during a game, lacklustre and insipid like a good few games this year.

01-05-2021, 03:46 PM
Livi players raging they didn't get a penalty

Huge penalty claims by Livi players, brushed aside.

hhibs
Poor,easy to see why we are seen as having no bottle

No urgency ,no passion from the team,Management failure .IMO

Torto7
Hoof. This is gash.

In the next 2 weeks sadly can see us being out the cup and level on points with Aberdeen going into the last weekend.

Still 2-1 Aberdeen

**** me, that's a double whammy noo.

hibee62

Doidge had a header from a free kick early on and Boyle had a chance from a Irvine cross, both saved by the keeper.

Yeah, just seen that, looks like the earlier post was a wind-up.

3 points ahead with 2 games to play. My fingernails are gonna disappear.

Not a wind up. Take it i was hearing things.

Sorry all.

Same on flash scores

Doidge's header fairly early on too.

Still not good enough though.

Boyle 1st half is all I can remember

Green-Hibee-7
Pathetic today.

01-05-2021, 03:47 PM
This is as bad as I’ve seen Hibs.

It’s almost unprofessional.

our midfield is ******* utter RANK

Hopefully this is the bad performance out of the way before next weekend.

Dire

That was quality tbf. Top save too

Utter push from Hibs. We'd be in real bother if the fans were are disinterested in renewing season tickets as the players appear to be in this game. Not a shot on target in the 2nd half, at 0-1 down :rolleyes:

What an utterly shocking performance. Unfortunately this team have it in them to perform like this too often and will continually let us down

- Ross county home
- Livingston home
- Motherwell home
- St Johnstone league cup
- hearts Scottish cup
- st Johnstone home

How many balls just looped up in to the goalies hands.

This has been really poor but no surprise with the lack of creativity in the team.

I thought our midfield looked at it's most balanced when Halberg and Irvine were in there together. I like Newell but I don't think him and Irvine works together. We don't have much option next week but I wouldn't mind seeing the tough option taken and one of Newell or Irvine dropped in favour of Halberg moving forward.

I agree.

At the start of the season we looked good enough but just lacking something, and it appeared that we might have to see a few big figures missing out to stumble across our best team.

Allan has gone, as has Mallan. We didn't have any of Porteous' antics when he was briefly out of the side and replaced by McGregor. Since then Newell came back into a side that looked as balanced as it has done at any point this season and whilst we've looked very good in flashes in recent weeks (although not at any point today) we've looked much worse overall since he was accommodated.

Jack Ross has some massive calls to make over the next few games, and they could be of critical importance to our club - we can either be winning trophies and playing lots of games in Europe or in all likelihood be falling back into the pack behind the top teams.

Leaving out the likes of Porto and Newell would be a massive call but this has been utter garbage today, and we need to be so, so much better than this.

Stop lumping it floaty to the goalie!!!

Nobody in a green jersey has “ran his heart out” today . Disgusting.

Doig was up and down the wing all game till he went off, he at least was trying, the rest just jogging about.

Boyle 1st half is all I can remember

Boyle had the ball in the net as well, if that counts.

Not really good enough overall, though.

01-05-2021, 03:48 PM
Simply not acceptable today, horrendous performance

Worrying how much St Johnstone have our card marked. They know exactly how the play us.

Should’ve been 2-0

Should have been two there.

Absolutely awful, and there is no way on earth we should be looking to Livvie for a favour when we have so much to play for

sorrow sorrow
This has been a stroll for st Johnstone

Should have been 2-0.

01-05-2021, 03:49 PM
Magennis, Hallberg, Stevenson subs to change the game.

Sums up what a poor squad we have when key players are out.

Chorley Hibee
Complete garbage, doesn't look like a single one of them give a toss.

Just the usual pedestrian, second to every ball, boring ***** I've become accustomed to under Ross.

Embarrassing.

Torto7
Why do St Johnstone look sharper than us? Not good enough.

Allez Hibs
What an utterly shocking performance. Unfortunately this team have it in them to perform like this too often and will continually let us down

- Ross county home
- Livingston home
- Motherwell home
- St Johnstone league cup
- hearts Scottish cup
- st Johnstone home

Jack Ross football. Given the situation today, another let down from Hibs.

Weegreenman
The weakest Aberdeen side in many a year and we’ve just opened the door for them to finish third.

What a ***** performance, right as we need the team to be at their best. They better give themselves a shake before next week. Against their reserves as well utter mince.

well done st johnstone's reserves, our manager just simply cannot find a way to beat this team

******* eye-bleeding

01-05-2021, 03:50 PM
They do this to us every ****ing time. Can't it be easy, just for once?

Boyle had the ball in the net as well, if that counts.

Not really good enough overall, though.

Don't think that counts for the stats, but it is obviously an example of being close to a goal scoring chance.

More direct by Boyle again, but just doesn’t break for us

Why do St Johnstone look sharper than us? Not good enough.

Their second string and we play second fiddle!

From a psychology perspective this is awful. Going into the Semi. And if we want to win the cup we will have to beat St Johnstone.

Criminal lack of urgency and being up for this game.

Pish!

Disgraceful performance from us today.

Jack Ross totally out thought by Davidson.

Pretty embarrassing you’re only 3 points ahead of an Aberdeen team that scored 1 goal in 10 games.

I’m no 100% it’s been as good a season as people keep trying to tell us

Full time utter pish.

Pathetic

Crap

Disgusting

From a psychology perspective this is awful. Going into the Semi. And if we want to win the cup we will have to beat St Johnstone.

Criminal lack of urgency and being up for this game.

Or St Mirren! 🤞🤞🤞

01-05-2021, 03:51 PM
Look at the lack of effort...very alarming. 4 mins remaining should've been a signal to push forward. Instead we make St Johnstone look like Barcelona and almost let them have a free run towards our box then Marciano and McGinn...

Newell got booked in the 1st half as he didn't want to run then realised the St Johnstone player was sprinting so had to run then foul.

We've been lazy and absolutely atrocious.

Jack Ross is a young manager but I still have serious doubts about our style of play.

Kin booooooo

Even our attempt to play desperation long ball stuff was pathetically half hearted.

That was absolutely awful. Can't stand St Johnstone.

tonyrougier123
Adequate that there will be social media silence after that brutal showing!!

Utter p*sh
ANOTHER hugely disappointing display from us

HibbyDave
Only saw last 20 mins but that was simply hoofball. We had no idea how to create anything worthwhile.

That was ****ing dreadful. Better next week or season has been wasted. Ross to blame, he picks and motivates them. Last 3 games vs Saints, no goals. Horrendous.

Total garbage.

Well that was crap from start to finish.

Still Smiling
well done st johnstone's reserves

Waste of 2 hours of my life. No motivation or creativity. Absolutely appalling performance!

Doig was up and down the wing all game till he went off, he at least was trying, the rest just jogging about.

His attitude and application were excellent but he had a poor game imo. At least he can say he did his best, not sure many in that team can say that today and the manager just looked clueless against an almost reserve team of Saints

Making it hard for ourselves when it didn't need to be. Going to come down to the last game

Should this be the Hibs way? FFS Hibs. ****** no other way but Persevere...

01-05-2021, 03:52 PM
Porteous mistakes have cost us a fair few points this season. [emoji35]

Half hearted or less

Jack Ross giving officials grief because his team were rubbish...

Pish!

No shurely you mean shiytt! :-)

I'm seriously angry. When it really comes to the crunch, you just know we will find it a way to mess up. Aberdeen will be licking their lips now.

HibsGW
Or St Mirren! 🤞🤞🤞

This, let’s hope St Mirren do us a favour, we can’t seem to find a way to play against St Johnstone. We’ve lost against them but even more, we aren’t creating anything when we play them.

berwickhibee
Eye bleeding performance.

No football from us, hoofed long most of the 2nd half, to 3 huge centre half's.

Boyle the only threat.

Drey Wright is on a par with David fellenger. He's terrible.

Ultimately very disappointing and frustrating, not the first time we’ve seen a performance like that this season. Came down to a shocker from Porteous but there was plenty of time to get back into it and we just didn’t do well enough.

Horrible game to watch, terrible result and even worse result for Livingston. 3rd all to play for again.

We better not lose the semi final after that!

We weren't the worst team on the park today, but we gave them a free goal so what do you expect? Do people think Jack Ross told Porteous to do that or something? we are being sold short by our own individual mistakes that we can't recover from consistently.

TAHibby
**** sake. Absolutely dire. Think the end of this season will end up being very Hibs. Potentially pipped to third by an Aberdeen side who have been ***** for months

Disgraceful performance. The manager and players should be ashamed of that 90mins..

01-05-2021, 03:53 PM
Jack Ross at least picks up something from the game

a yellow card :agree:

Not good enough. Jack must come up with a plan B.

Let's face it, if we get to the SC Final the only way we're winning it is if St Mirren put them out.

Quite worrying that we’ve barely looked like scoring against this side in our last two meetings. Ross hasn’t a clue how to beat Davidson by the looks of it.

Disgraceful. Jack needs tae have a word with himself. Really , we never turn up for the big games f,n useless.
All very well backing him but if he cannae get his team motivated for these games whats the ***in point of having him as manager? Really.

That was shocking today. Nothing about us.

We are reliant on three players scoring a goal. One of them was missing. If they don’t, we’re in a bit of bother more often than not.

Wakeyhibee
Hopefully this is the bad performance out of the way before next weekend.

Dire

I get the feeling whilst we are reasonably consistent some teams have the measure of us tactically, whether that's the team or JR I don't know.

I hope I am wrong btw it just seems that way.

We weren't the worst team on the park today, but we gave them a free goal so what do you expect? Do people think Jack Ross told Porteous to do that or something? we are being sold short by our own individual mistakes that we can't recover from consistently.

We were absolutely ****. The players jogged about the pitch for 90 minutes without a care in the world.

Simply not acceptable today, horrendous performance
I wonder how Ross will dress this up & explain it away

tonyrougier123
01-05-2021, 03:54 PM
The annoying thing was how predictable that scenario was after 5mins today.shocking,now under pressure at pittodrie for another ram that has our measure.

My god ,, that was a horrific watch from start to finish.

We’re going to **** ourselves next week aren’t we

Ross gets himself a yellow. No idea what for, Hallberg penalty claim?

Gash all around tbh. Unless Boyle was involved we never really looked like scoring. Too much dead weight also. All good having a smaller squad to provide more quality but who on the bench is capable of turning a game like that around?

Another shocking performance against St Johnstone. Every time we have the chance to do something we never show up. No pace, passion or guile is a disgrace. We are also in the ridiculous position of having only 2 strikers and when one is out we miss out in two positions with Boyle taken from the wing. Really angry and frustrated.

01-05-2021, 03:55 PM
Pretty embarrassing you’re only 3 points ahead of an Aberdeen team that scored 1 goal in 10 games.

I’m no 100% it’s been as good a season as people keep trying to tell usCompared to where we were when Heckinbottom left, it absolutely is

Can still win a cup and finish 3rd

Surley everyone bites your hand off for that at the start of the season?

Yes we're 3rd but that is just another ****ing shocking performance by this team, far too many passengers with heartless players looking like they're going through the motions again. No new deal for Irvine and a mistake giving Newell an extra year. Absolutely no one sitting on that bench that gives you confidence they could change the game for you, still not convinced by Ross and his tactics.

Allez Hibs
Biq questions about Jack Ross for me in big games.

Tell me a standout win this season apart from Aberdeen at home.......

Would struggle to beat their ladies team.
Well deserved Hibs.

i was going to joke earlier they would play their ladies side in the final

should we get there that is

Awful stuff.

St Johnstone may not have many better players than we do, particularly when playing a weakened team like today, and haven't been as consistent over the season - but they are certainly a better 'Team', always looked comfortable & must be quietly confident of adding the Scottish Cup to the League Cup.

01-05-2021, 03:56 PM
Compared to where we were when Heckinbottom left, it absolutely is

Cans till win a cup and finish 3rd

Oh aye definitely. But I’m no sure we’re as good as has been made out is what I mean.

We’re lucky Aberdeen have been rank rotten imo and even then it’s too close for comfort

We’re going to **** ourselves next week aren’t we

Yip.

Try shiytt, :na na:

That doesn't come up as a word on my crossword solver ;-)

We were absolutely ****. The players jogged about the pitch for 90 minutes without a care in the world.

And St Johnstone were worse than we were, they created nothing at all the whole game.

Wull
No shurely you mean shiytt! :-)

Behave yursel, me an Peevmor are in agreement here

Very flat performance. Far too many off the pace. Cadden is badly missed.

Biq questions about Jack Ross for me in big games.

Tell me a standout win this season apart from Aberdeen at home.......

You're at it

01-05-2021, 03:57 PM
I refuse to allow Hibs to spoil the bank holiday weekend. Third is still in our own hands. Deep breaths and let's get the job done.

That was the most brutal, insipid, gutless, effortless display Ive seen in a long time.

We have no midfield and no creativity other than Boyle.

Why TF did we let Mallan go on loan. Don’t tell me he’s worse than Irvine or McGennis or Drey f’n Wright!

Here we go with the 'big game' ***** again

Its only ever a big game on here when we lose

Sauzee67
Huge Game next week, If we lose that then I can't see us winning another game this season. If we finish 4th from the position we were in and go out the Cup then questions need to be asked about the suitability of our manager and some of the players.

Only positive is that Celtic goal at Pittodrie stopped them taking 9 points from 9.

Big momentum shift today.

Allez Hibs
Behave yursel, me an Peevmor are in agreement here

😂 😂 😂 😂

01-05-2021, 03:58 PM
That was the most brutal, insipid, gutless, effortless display Ive seen in a long time.

Why TF did we let Mallan go on loan. Don’t tell me he’s worse than Irvine or McGennis or Drey f’n Wright!Hes worse.

And St Johnstone were worse than we were, they created nothing at all the whole game.

At least their players looked like they give a ****

Compared to where we were when Heckinbottom left, it absolutely is

Can still win a cup and finish 3rd

No winnin the cup wae this ***in team thats fir sure, ***in useless

Just so typical of Hibs we blow it every single time we have a chance to make things easy for ourselves...now we are under all sorts of pressure from Aberdeen...so bloody angry right now

Hoped for a win today rather than expected one (long time Hibee mentality :greengrin), that was a poor performance though against a well-drilled team.

They totally controlled the tempo of the game from start to finish. Parked the bus after the goal in a way Mourinho would have been proud off.

hhibs
Dreadful,Players just rotten and JR clueless how to play St. Johnstone

Can anyone justify that shiete ?

01-05-2021, 03:59 PM
imagine being st johnstone's freakin b*tches

If we blow third place from where we were then we’ve only got ourselves to blame. We seem to play better away from ER so let’s hope we take something when we visit the Sheep.

Huge Game next week, If we lose that then I can't see us winning another game this season. If we finish 4th from the position we were in and go out the Cup then questions need to be asked about the suitability of our manager and some of the players.

Ah cannae see us winnin another game

Quite worrying that we’ve barely looked like scoring against this side in our last two meetings. Ross hasn’t a clue how to beat Davidson by the looks of it.

Would help if Jack Ross asked his players to sprint now and then. Passing with some force as well, sideways passes tumbling along the ground with recipient standing waiting before taking a touch to then take a slow ponderous look at his options before playing a slow tumbling pass sideways...

I genuinely think the players threw that match. After Porteous gifted them the goal I think St Johnstone strolled it as we did nothing to worry them. Boyle's cut back right at the end was probably the most worrying thing they had to compete against all match.

We can only play for 90mins if we are utter garbage. Think St Johnstone could've trashed us if they wanted to - 1 goal was enough for them.

That was absolutely hopeless. How can a team thats made two semis and been 3rd for so long be capable of being so bad so often in the same season?

I have to agree tbh. You’re what 9 maybe 7 points (can’t mind) ahead of them, if you get beat to 3rd place and get put out the cup i’d definitely be questioning the manager.

Hibiza
01-05-2021, 04:00 PM
Just the usual failure , a Manager with a bit of " mettle " and skill. Tony Mowbary.

They got a gift of a goal and then sat in and watched Hibs go side to side and won the Ariel hoof ball from hibs

I'm afraid that Newell and Irvine would have been as well sitting at home with me and once Gogic was taken off Saints had the freedom of the park.

Dreadful,Players just rotten and JR clueless how to play St. Johnstone

Can anyone justify that ***** ?

Why would anyone try to justify that?

They got a gift of a goal and then sat in and watched Hibs go side to side and won the Ariel hoof ball from hibs

We were all at sea today

HFC93
01-05-2021, 04:01 PM

Why TF did we let Mallan go on loan. Don’t tell me he’s worse than Irvine or McGennis or Drey f’n Wright!

How's he getting on in Turkey?

berwickhibee
You have to say somehow, St Johnstone squad has more depth than ours.

How do they put that squad together on peanuts💚💚💚

Hes worse.

Didn’t realise we were in that bad a state.

Scotty Leither

He could've subbed him?

I like the laddie, he gives his all, but his mistakes aren't small ones, they're glaring and costly and he really needs to cut them out. He should have been lambasted by Hanlon as well, but we looked awfully "nice" again today.

I'm afraid that Newell and Irvine would have been as well sitting at home with me and once Gogic was taken off Saints had the freedom of the park.

Scary how bad Irvine was. Even Drey Wright was better than him.

01-05-2021, 04:02 PM
Never remotely looked like scoring at home to a team resting 7 players. Dreadful and no excuse considering how well we've been playing. Lost count of the number of high balls to the 3 giants at the back for Saints. Hopeless.

Special mention to Jackson Irvine for being even worse than everyone else.

Porteous is most culpable today imo.

We know what St Johnstone are like - you give them a foothold, they should be comfortable enough sitting back and defending a lead.

You need to avoid making mistakes, giving them a cheap goal of a start and making it difficult for yourselves to get back in and as the game goes on you'll have more freedom to create.

That goal was an absolute abomination. There was an awful lot more to be angry about with that meek performance, but the game hinged on that moment. Poor, poor stuff.

I think of teams that I've loved in the past and finishing 3rd or 4th was the pinnacle of their league achievement. This team has had their moments but there has been so much utter pish served up for long periods over the course of this season that I find it hard to accept that they deserve something prestigious like a 3rd place finish. I'd have no complaints if they ended up finishing behind a truly awful Aberdeen side.

A bad day today. Again.

Fortunately United are as hot and cold as we are so we might scrape through the semi. Might. I'm certainly not confident though.

As for winning the cup, I think that requires a level of mental fortitude that is simply beyond this manager and group of players, although obviously I'd dearly love to be proved wrong.

Appreciate you are being polite but if your scenario comes to fruition I'd expect him to be sacked on the spot.

How's he getting on in Turkey?

He had COVID, why?

01-05-2021, 04:03 PM
He could've subbed him?

I like the laddie, he gives his all, but his mistakes aren't small ones, they're glaring and costly and he really needs to cut them out. He should have been lambasted by Hanlon as well, but we looked awfully "nice" again today.Hanlon did have a go from the clip I seen

Just_Jimmy
if we blow third and the best chance we'll ever have to win a trophy he'll never recover.

today was absolutely awful. sad thing is you could have written it before kick off.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Anyone still think 3rd doesn’t matter?

I said at the time we need to keep going and get that confirmed and none of this not start your strongest team nonsense.

If we come 4th and don’t win the cup I genuinely fear the worst as this place will be in meltdown.

01-05-2021, 04:04 PM
We rely completely on the front three to win us games, often without any kind of service from the midfield.
Gogic does everything we want of him. The rest of the midfield are all neat and tidy, tippy tappy players with little drive or desire to get forward.
Aye the defence make mistakes now and again like today but midfield is where the vast majority of our issues lie.

01-05-2021, 04:04 PM
Interesting game that shows just how good we are going to have to be to get our hands on the cup this season. We have a good side but could not break them down and it was interesting to note the quality that St Johnstone were bringing off the bench today. Their team is probably just about as good as it's ever been right now with the likes of Craig, Wotherspoon, May and more being quality SPL players that have now been playing together for years.

As ever for Hibs we don't make it easy for ourselves and after today's results find ourselves poised on the precipice of triumph and/or disaster. The way things have panned out in terms of Europe the Cup is actually going to be more important than 3rd/4th place this season. But that 3rd place position brings a bit of much needed warmth to all our hearts and all of a sudden it looks under threat after today's results.

01-05-2021, 04:05 PM
I thought the midfield was really poor, Newell had a poor game and for me Irvine was worse. Doig ineffective. Yes, Porteous cost us a goal but we had plenty of time to do something about it, we definitely missed Nisbet. Davidson completly outhought Ross who didn't seem to have any idea how to change the game. Can't really see how Hallberg improves the team, he's an average player. Really dissapointing.

Weir07
So frustrating, now have to go full strength on Wednesday, where as Utd can rest players. Such an insipid performance given the prize at stake. If Boyle doesn't create or score we look toothless. Can see 4th place and out the cup on Saturday.

How do they put that squad together on peanuts💚💚💚

By recognising the potential in Callum Davidson as a manager/coach probably.

01-05-2021, 04:06 PM
Scary how bad Irvine was. Even Drey Wright was better than him.

Yes. I thought the wrong midfielders were left on.

familyman
01-05-2021, 04:07 PM
ST Johnstone wee team(in part),same failure to find a way through..why are we not learning?Too narrow,too slow too casual..
Time for some serious thinking about some of this team....It is not as if we have never faced them before..BACK TO SCHOOL
Shocker no excuses today ..

How do they put that squad together on peanuts������

We are 15 points ahead of these world beaters. They just seem like a team that has the measure of us for some reason:confused:.

Anyone still think 3rd doesn’t matter?

I said at the time we need to keep going and get that confirmed and none of this not start your strongest team nonsense.

If we come 4th and don’t win the cup I genuinely fear the worst as this place will be in meltdown.

If we have to play St Johnstone there’s no way we’ll win the cup. They’ve unfortunately got the making of us and it seems that Jack can’t find the tactics to sort it.

So frustrating, now have to go full strength on Wednesday, where as Utd can rest players. Such an insipid performance given the prize at stake. If Boyle doesn't create or score we look toothless. Can see 4th place and out the cup on Saturday.Our next game is the semi final

Dreadful, unprofessional, gutless - players with eyes on other things instead of what is at stake.

Another game where so called leaders recoiled into their shell. Underlines how much we need a couple of real grafters in that midfield and a couple of new centre halves. All of whom have a desire to win and not accept that garbage.

St Johnstone never needed to raise their game and cruised it. All without their main players too - that is alarming.

So frustrating, now have to go full strength on Wednesday, where as Utd can rest players. Such an insipid performance given the prize at stake. If Boyle doesn't create or score we look toothless. Can see 4th place and out the cup on Saturday.

We arent playing Weds

01-05-2021, 04:08 PM

It's next Wednesday.

Also, we haven't won up there since 2012 I think. It ain't happening.

Some job Davidson has done. Already won a trophy, could win another and is sitting 5th in the table. They are not a team I would enjoy watching but in terms of tactics against us he has Jack's number and that of quite a few of the other managers too. Saints were first to nearly every loose ball today and their shape and organisation kept us in front of them and easily under control for nearly the whole game. Boyle did well a couple of times but it was an easy job getting a clean sheet and why bother creating chances yourself when the opposition seem keen enough to do it for you

That wasn't good to watch. To be honest St Johnstone weren't any better than we were, they got a break with a really poor but if play by Porteous. 3rd place and a cup win are still in but we do need to pull the finger out. Missed Nisbet today big time. Boyle isn't effective enough through the middle

I wonder how Ross will dress this up & explain it away

No doubt he'll be pleased with some aspects of the game as per usual.

Our post-split record in the top six really is dreadful.

I think our average number of points over the years is 4 and this year it's now highly likely that we'll finish the season with 3 points.

01-05-2021, 04:09 PM

Did Utd rest players today? Poor result for them also.

We play Aberdeen after the semi thankfully.

That was such an insipid performance, but I have to say I'm shocked at how ready some folk are to stick the boot into Jack Ross again and the team, a side that's not been out of the top 4 all season.

You need to have a ****ing word.

That was absolutely hopeless. How can a team thats made two semis and been 3rd for so long be capable of being so bad so often in the same season?

That performance was the very opposite of some of our recent games, where we showed unexpected drive and energy. It was shocking on so many levels. We would have been better resting the whole first 11 and playing backroom staff. You cannot switch form on and off, so Ross has got a huge job to do to see this season out.

This Hibs team is untrustworthy. Boyle and Doidge are the only ones who should get paid this week. The rest should donate their wages to Hibs supporters to pay for some of the season tickets we're all buying - with no assurance of even attending games !

BS44

Semi final first, mate. Aberdeen the Wednesday after that

Appreciate you are being polite but if your scenario comes to fruition I'd expect him to be sacked on the spot.

Hate to agree on this one but we shouldn't be struggling as much as we are. We have more finances than these teams. Jack Ross keeps going on about cultivating a mentality of winning - we've won nothing under him and if we play anything remotely like this next week we will be out of another semi-final. Even if we scrape 3rd but get knocked out of the semi-final next week I'd want a serious review.

Ron Gordon, Jack Ross both talk a good game. Wonder when either will actually deliver on this best of the rest culture. Shocking performance, sickening really - contemplating whether I sacrifice my cash for ST and performances like that make the decision easier. Why bother when St Johnstone can be better than you. Hibs keep talking about finances and playing budget - when are we going to get a better squad than St Johnstone? Look at their bench and ours. Could we change 7 players and beat them? No, we can't beat them with 9-10 of our best players playing...

I still think we will get third, and the semi-final is fifty-fifty. All to play for, despite the usual Hibs habit of doing everything the hard way.

01-05-2021, 04:10 PM
Our post-split record in the top six really is dreadful.

I think our average number of points over the years is 4 and this year it's now highly likely that we'll finish the season with 3 points.I wonder what other clubs outwith rangers and cetic get on average?

I'm not surprised with ours given we are usually scrapping top 6

Weir07
Our next game is the semi final

My bad, could have sworn we were at Pittodrie midweek. A small crumb of comfort!

Been saying for a while I don't see what all the fuss is about with Jackson Irvine and yet another poor display from him today...I really hope we arent pushing the boat out financially for him i must say

The lack of signing another forward in January showed today nothing on the bench to change the game then moving Irvine up front 🙈

Well that was real pische no gettin away from it, the St J reserves out thought us, they out-fought us, and they looked as if they were better coached towards the end of the game, Spoony should hve scored in extra time while we were still huffin and puffing away.
Just Hibs all over up an doon like a whores drawers and we never know what teams gonna show up.
I am ****in sick o it, and not to have beat this shower in Leith for 9 years is beyond a ****in joke.

hhibs
Why would anyone try to justify that?

My point is,JR's inability to vary tactics ,ok got it now ?

Sorry if my annoyance of the moment got in the way of my clarity.

01-05-2021, 04:11 PM
Or St Mirren! [emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]

St Mirren would want us in the final playing like that

That was such an insipid performance, but I have to say I'm shocked at how ready some folk are to stick the boot into Jack Ross again and the team, a side that's not been out of the top 4 all season.

The Jack Ross who has been totally owned by a rookie manager in Davidson on numerous occasions?

That performance was the very opposite of some of our recent games, where we showed unexpected drive and energy. It was shocking on so many levels. We would have been better resting the whole first 11 and playing backroom staff. You cannot switch form on and off, so Ross has got a huge job to do to see this season out.

This Hibs team is untrustworthy. Boyle and Doidge are the only ones who should get paid this week. The rest should donate their wages to Hibs supporters to pay for some of the season tickets we're all buying - with no assurance of even attending games !

The Hibs team is untrustworthy?? We've made it to three semi finals, sit third in the league and haven't been out of the top four all season.

Think folk need to take a step back for a minute, yeah it was abysmal today, but you this team has been excellent this season overall.

Lith
01-05-2021, 04:12 PM
Jack Ross has to shoulder his fair share for that terrible performance and not for the first time this season..... I know I know we are in third and we are in a semi, we have had a great season... I ove that hibs are in this position but it’s more been by luck than great play....

DIXIHIBS
Firstly that was a shocker. Very disappointing. Main problem for me is the lack of replacement centre forward to replace nisbet/doidge when they are out. The manager always moves boyle away from where he does his best work. Got a building feeling the pressure is starting to build and certain players dont like it.

The Jack Ross who has been totally owned by a rookie manager in Davidson on numerous occasions?

Yeah, that has his Hibs side sitting comfortably above St Johnstone.

Hate to agree on this one but we shouldn't be struggling as much as we are. We have more finances than these teams. Jack Ross keeps going on about cultivating a mentality of winning - we've won nothing under him and if we play anything remotely like this next week we will be out of another semi-final. Even if we scrape 3rd but get knocked out of the semi-final next week I'd want a serious review.

Ron Gordon, Jack Ross both talk a good game. Wonder when either will actually deliver on this best of the rest culture. Shocking performance, sickening really - contemplating whether I sacrifice my cash for ST and performances like that make the decision easier. Why bother when St Johnstone can be better than you. Hibs keep talking about finances and playing budget - when are we going to get a better squad than St Johnstone? Look at their bench and ours. Could we change 7 players and beat them? No, we can't beat them with 9-10 of our best players playing...

If one defeat albeit a gutless one makes u reconsider supporting your club and buying a ST...probably best that you don't mate and find something else to do at weekends

It seems the support is still ambivalent about Ross, despite the third place and the cup semis. Let's be honest, his teams have produced many uninspiring displays, but the end results can't be argued with. I will take our current position every year.

NC1875
01-05-2021, 04:13 PM

I’m not sticking the boot into Jack Ross but the rest of the league is *****. Aberdeen having there worst season in years and could easily finish joint on points with us.

We’ve been ok but just because we’ve been top 4 all season doesn’t mean we can’t criticise the team .

Theres nae fight in this team.

Aberdeen will need to beat us 5-0 in order to go into the final game above us.

Weir07
I still think we will get third, and the semi-final is fifty-fifty. All to play for, despite the usual Hibs habit of doing everything the hard way.

Fingers crossed you're right mate.

Theres nae fight in this team.

Rubbish

I think of teams that I've loved in the past and finishing 3rd or 4th was the pinnacle of their league achievement. This team has had their moments but there has been so much utter pish served up for long periods over the course of this season that I find it hard to accept that they deserve something prestigious like a 3rd place finish. I'd have no complaints if they ended up finishing behind a truly awful Aberdeen side.

A bad day today. Again.

Fortunately United are as hot and cold as we are so we might scrape through the semi. Might. I'm certainly not confident though.

As for winning the cup, I think that requires a level of mental fortitude that is simply beyond this manager and group of players, although obviously I'd dearly love to be proved wrong.

agree 110%, i've thought the last few weeks now of the great hibs sides that i've been so lucky to watch that didn't manage to finish 3rd, then i consider what i've watched from this side for the majority of the season and just how poor they can so easily be, thank goodness for an awful Aberdeen side

01-05-2021, 04:14 PM
Yeah, that has his Hibs side sitting comfortably above St Johnstone.

But won **** all unlike them.

HibeeHendo
I just hope that that’s the brutal performance out of our system.

Ross out.

Kaff
Again he's shown a 'smaller' team how to beat us. Sit back and let us have the ball in safe areas where we get slower and slower in possession till the games at walking pace. We're content that we've got the ball but aren't doing anything with it, that malaise spreads back and Porteous thinks he's got time to muck about as well and ultimately their quick press undoes us.
That's it game won if they keep it tight and don't let us inject pace into the game. I could tell you which players will be subbed and who by at the start of the game. Irvine won't come off at any time unless injured.
Dundee Utd is going to be a sticky one but I do think Aberdeen will come at us and at least that allows our counter attack to work, it might be the game we play well in?
However it's just not inspiring stuff and we need that upward trajectory feeling if we're to shift season tickets.
I don't think we'll win the cup but quite often we do get surprising performances so hopefully that's what will happen.
We'll get hammered every time in Europe League if that's our level of performance though.
I'd hate to watch it every week but fair play to St Johnstone, they know how to get the best out of small resources

01-05-2021, 04:15 PM
If one defeat albeit a gutless one makes u reconsider supporting your club and buying a ST...probably best that you don't mate and find something else to do at weekends

It isn't one defeat though is it...

Surprised they didn't have you on after Jack Ross in the promotional video. Rousing call that...

I've paid for a ST and never got into the stadium for a year. I could easily have found something else to do with my money and time mate.

Allez Hibs
The Hibs team is untrustworthy?? We've made it to three semi finals, sit third in the league and haven't been out of the top four all season.

Think folk need to take a step back for a minute, yeah it was abysmal today, but you this team has been excellent this season overall.

What standout win has this team had with the exception of Aberdeen at home?

We reached 2 cup semi finals by beating lower league opposition and as soon as we play a Prem side?

Big test this Saturday and run in now for Jack Ross.

delbert

It’s about time Ross’s record was given proper scrutiny because it’s utterly dreadful. Semi final against Championship side, humped ! Semi final against club with zero support and almost zero budget, humped ! Big game with third in our own hands at home, only a draw required, humped ! Record against Rantic and the Sheep, don’t even go there ! Every time we play a game under Ross with a huge amount riding on it, we are consistently turned over and opposing managers seem to have Ross’s number in those games time and again. Personal opinion but I have zero confidence in the guy, I think we are where we are despite him, not because of him, with the squad we have we should have sewn up third weeks ago and should be looking forward to the Scottish Cup semi final with total confidence but I’m not and I doubt many are. We have the players to win it again, but not the manager

Some job Davidson has done. Already won a trophy, could win another and is sitting 5th in the table. They are not a team I would enjoy watching but in terms of tactics against us he has Jack's number and that of quite a few of the other managers too. Saints were first to nearly every loose ball today and their shape and organisation kept us in front of them and easily under control for nearly the whole game. Boyle did well a couple of times but it was an easy job getting a clean sheet and why bother creating chances yourself when the opposition seem keen enough to do it for you

Yeah, I saw a few negative comments towards St Johnstone, maybe rightly so given our record against them.

I've got a ton of respect for them. Good side, really well organised, their manager really seems to be up to scratch. A decent bit of depth to the squad when you see the way they played after 7 changes to their team.

Never been in financial trouble and gone about things the right way.

If we punched our weight anywhere near the way they do then we'd be doing alright.