View Full Version : Hibs v Motherwell Scottish Cup 1/4 Final (Saturday 5pm Premier Sports)
24-04-2021, 06:23 PM
Kelly keeps us out
I'd love it if Wright got the winner. Shut some folk up
Nothing will. We're third and folk are calling us bottlers and saying we're brutal.
hibbydog
How frustrating is it being a Hibee?
Och just now I feel it’s a total curse. But I’ll give you a proper answer after penalties
Off the Richter Scale
pollution
This is no good for my blood pressure
I'd love it if Wright got the winner. Shut some folk up
So would I but he needs to get decent ball control and stop looking like he's panicking constantly first.
Zambernardi1875
Useless bloody useless
That was a chance
Boyle should have scored
I have to say you can't fault the attitude here. We could have folded when they equalised but we have rolled our sleeves up and stuck in.
There will be an inevitable post mortem but there's been no lack of effort or fight.
They better fix this Verizon thing if it goes to penalties
The picture has been like playing Match Day on the Spectrum, then stopping every few minutes. If we make it penalties I don’t expect to be seeing many of them.
Is it not taken from the same stream as Premier Sports?
Not a clue, Premier sports had the sound and picture miles out of sync but a decent picture, Hibs TV had poor picture quality(looked like watching when on acid) and kept cutting off and on.
24-04-2021, 06:24 PM
Character building!!
I have to say you can't fault the attitude here. We could have folded when they equalised but we have rolled our sleeves up and stuck in.
There will be an inevitable post mortem but there's been no lack of effort or fight.
Yeah totally. We did well in first half of ET to steady ourselves.
24-04-2021, 06:25 PM
Hallberg could be off here.
Paul Hanlon you sexy man
Saved us there
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
hibbydog
I felt a lack of fight after we went 1-0 up. Motherwell won all the 50/50s and we sat back I felt
24-04-2021, 06:26 PM
Red card imo
Gogic off.
Mikey_1875
**** off beaton been desperate to do that all day
****ing Verizon
Total joke today.
Gogic sent off
Michael Stewart is an absolute idiot. Quick freekick? How do you do that when the ref will slowly book the Motherwell player. Mouthpiece.
cynical motherwell *******s Gogic red card as well....stupid ****
Lucky take the winning penalty hallberg
24-04-2021, 06:27 PM
We'll miss him in the semi
SJNB Hibby
****ing Verizon
Doesn't look like it's coming back this time
StockholmHibs
Is Marciano on the bench? Get him on for penalties.
Aye, do you actually know Marcianos penalty saving record?
Naw, didn't think so.
AZhibee
Why was Gogic out there on a yellow anyway
Paul1642
I’ll be happy just to be there :)
My Premier Sports has just died. Great timing.
Why was Gogic out there on a yellow anyway
Because we don’t have an unlimited number of subs??
24-04-2021, 06:28 PM
Kelly looks the better keeper so we will do well to put five past him
Pretty harsh on goga I reckon
Shock part time Scottish ref useless and makes a mess of a decision.
Penalties then
And it's penalties.
Pens it is
No added time??
so the lottery of penalties, should never have been in this position .....
AZhibee
They went right after Gogic to get that reaction from him
Who drew blood from Irvine, ref? Bet you didn't see that, eh?
So who’s on penalties for Hibs, hope we’ve been practicing this week
Nesbit
Boyle
Hanlon
Irvine
Hallberg
Motherwell scored all 5 in the last round
Well, this is exciting!
Mikey_1875
Been some game! Please please let us have the luck to come through these pens
Ah cannae watch pens.
Looks like we are now relying on The Rangers winning the cup this season then.
Did he book Gallagher?
Exactly, he better not have got away with that.
Pretty harsh on goga I reckon
Don't think so, he raised his hands
Penalties, not confident at all.
24-04-2021, 06:29 PM
Last free kick of game and we hardly put anyone forward ?
Sums it up
No added time??
There was a minute left when Hallberg was fouled. The minute the ball is back in play we’re done. How does that work?
Gogic had no need to get involved. Stupid from him.
Cannae look
Looks like we are now relying on The rangers winning the cup this season then.
Yeah knowing our luck we'll lose the shootout and St Johnstone will win tomorrow.
Jeez o this bloody Verizon, as if the game is no driving us mad enough
HendoDelivered
24-04-2021, 06:30 PM
We’ve blew it
Some cup tie for the neutral.
Unfortunately we're not ****ing neutrals.
Right Macey, time to make amends
Motherwell rugby tackles Hallberg and gets a yellow.
Gogic wasn’t a 2nd yellow.
Gogic had no need to get involved. Stupid from him.He was pulling back Gallagher
Shoukd have let him just go into it
Need to see replay but he was peacemaker initially
Didn't the motherwell boy on the floor flick Hallbergs face?
Thought Hallberg could've been off to be honest
Still can't believe we are we are are, due to momentum i feel we will lose this
24-04-2021, 06:31 PM
No sure I can be arsed watching us bottle another semi
chi-bee
Time for heroes lads
hibee62
I was thinking the same, but not entirely sure he was the only one.
The music at Easter road is giving me a sare heed and I’m no even there
I’ve got a bad feeling about this !
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Don’t watch then. Hopefully it will mean you stop posting
24-04-2021, 06:32 PM
So Boyle, Nisbet and Hanlon will be definites.
Irvine and Halberg for the other 2?
What happens if it gets to 9-9 and we've no more outfield players to take pens? :dunno:
Saint Hibee
This isnae gonna end well.
Zambernardi1875
Beaton looks like Douglas Ross
Macey to be hero???
I fancy us for pens. Record against Scottish teams is actually pretty good. C'mon Macey!
Lucky this is only the quarters
If Well pinch this we can't complain.
What happens if it gets to 9-9 and we've no more outfield players to take pens? :dunno:
They have to nominate a player not to take one. Likely their keeper.
But you will.
vercol36
Beaton takes it for us
No sure I can be arsed watching us bottle another semi[emoji24][emoji24][emoji24][emoji24][emoji24][emoji24][emoji24][emoji24]
Glad the team are mentally stronger than you.
MagicSwirlingShip
Gotta back the giant goalkeeper in the penalty shootout. Cmon Matt Macey
24-04-2021, 06:33 PM
Boyle scores :aok:
Yes. Boyle. No messing.
Yesssss
But you will.
And then tell us how s***e we are.
Great penalty by Cole. 1-1.
bye then
Booooo
Gets to you after a while
24-04-2021, 06:34 PM
Hallberg scores :aok:
Halberg. Great penalty.
motherwell miss :greengrin
Yassss.
2-1 Hibs.
Yessssssssssssssssss
24-04-2021, 06:35 PM
McGinn scores :aok:
pollution
Get it up them.........
Yeees! Come on
McGinn another great penalty.
Yessss
P Mcginn tho.....
another miss :flag:
Motherwell miss again :greengrin
Yessssss
3-1 Hibs. Nisbet for the win.
24-04-2021, 06:36 PM
Yessssssssssss
Nizzy for the win....
Nisbet misses
nisbet misses :rolleyes: he's just not very good at penalties
**** sake
pollution
Yes my boys !!!
Misses
Ffs
Aw man
24-04-2021, 06:37 PM
What's happening lol
Booooooo
thank gawd for that :cb
Porteous sends us to the semis :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:
Get in!!!
Never in doubt! :faf:
Get in. Never in doubt. A cunning plan by Ross to lure them into a false sense of security.
Yasssssssssss
Porto for the win....
Mikey_1875
Yaaaaaasssssssss
Like to do it the hard way! Glory glory!
Saint Hibee
24-04-2021, 06:38 PM
This isnae gonna end well.
Never any doubt in my mind!
Yyyyyeeeeeesss
I love you Ryan Porteous
Could have been more comfortable but all that matters in the cup is getting through
That's a big win for Jack and the lads
Hibs are going to Hamden.
:aok: Hope you're not to sick tonight.
pollution
Glory glory
Mon then!
Cruit
Yaaaas, Porto
CloudSquall
Losing the two goal lead took away the fear of losing the two goal lead, a vintage play from yesteryear's playbook.
Thank **** for that.
Never let Nisbet take another pen.
****ing quality
Yasssssss
F***** **** ****** that was TENSE
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
We will go through but Hibs have to put us through the wringer first.
Penalties for extra heart issues.
Called it.
McHibby
My God, I need a drink.
Jesus Christ, they torture us :greengrin
Yes!!
What a team 💚
Thank **** but should never have been is that situation, poor game management by Ross.
Phew. Thank **** for that. GGTTH.
This Hibernian team has plenty bottle. Brilliant.
Let’s never let Nisbet hit a penalty again though.
Nae wonder I’ve got grey hair following Hibs. Jeezo we make it difficult
HendoDelivered
Dont ****ing do that again to us Hibs. Yaaaaaaas
AZhibee
24-04-2021, 06:39 PM
Get in. Never in doubt. A cunning plan by Ross to lure them into a false sense of security.
Thought that all along, building their character
see ya Motherwell :bye:
That was a Hibs way to get to Hampden. Roller Coaster to the semis. Well done Jack Ross and the team
Yorkshire HFC
Well done Hibs - great to be in the semis.
Well done Hibs. Found a way to win. Motherwell gave it everything and played well, but Hibs proving they have the bottle. GGTTH
No offence but get that right round ye
Well done Hibs but what's the point in having a linesman on the line if goalies are allowed to be a yard off their line, does my nut in, he was a mile off his line for Nizzy
GreyJammies
ahahahahaha
Easy. Well done hibs. 10 pages of meltdown only to win. Into the semis.
That’s it get Nisbet off penalties
Nightmare !
Well they made us toil for that one but ultimately Hibs are in the semis! 2 games from the cup 😁
Magpie
24-04-2021, 06:40 PM
****ing come onnnn
jellybean
Jesus, that was painful.😂
Get in there. Deserved that over the whole tie.
Thank **** for that.
Never let Nisbet take another pen.
he can't expect to score from the penalty spot when he hits wee soft trundlers like that, horrible penalty
Rumble de Thump
Does Gogic miss a league game or the next game in the cup?
Hauns up if you have a Semi :greengrin
Gogic and Boyle out of the semi
Jeez Louise! Hibs. They take years off your life!
Gogic and Boyle will be two massive misses in the semis but you need to be in it to win it!
Don’t watch then. Hopefully it will mean you stop posting
Certainly won’t do that, ignore buttons there mate use it
Saint Hibee
I’m a 47 year old heterosexual man, but I still want to have Ryan Porteous’s babies.
24-04-2021, 06:41 PM
Does Gogic miss a league game or the next game in the cup?
semi-final, it wasn't dangerous play
Three semis in one season some going
Hauns up if you have a Semi :greengrin
Putting them up would be a waste....
So other than Hamilton - we've never lost a penalty shoot out?
Aye but Sunderland....
I thought Paul Hartley was hugging the Hibs' players until I realised it was Daz.
He'll have to get the curtains seen to...
Said pre-match any victory would do but after a terrific 75 minutes we crumbled but credit to to boys.
Three semis in one season some going
That's what happen when you hit forty.
24-04-2021, 06:42 PM
Aye but Sunderland....
Won’t someone please think of the game management?!?!
We’ve lost to Dundee Utd and Aberdeen in the league cup last few years
Also Brondby
I thought Paul Hartley was hugging the Hibs' players until I realised it was Daz.
Daz is a pure sex god, take that back now
Aye but Sunderland....
Was his record not poor in semi finals and finals for Sunderland? That’s not really changed yet
Wait till you hit 60......
[img] https://media.tenor.com/images/b41d91213f643b0cea497ec38f2a4f01/tenor.gif[\img]
Brondby and Dundee United recently
24-04-2021, 06:43 PM
I said it earlier but that took balls.
We could have folded and been papped out the cup from 2-0 up with 10 minutes ago (has that ever happened before?). We weren't though, we dug in, rolled the sleeves up and done the job.
Credit to Ross too. The subs were arguably late but they made a difference. As soon as they were made we got back on the front foot and created chances again.
There's plenty scope for discussion but we needed bottle there and we showed it in abundance.
Brondby and Dundee United recently
Aberdeen too.
Zambernardi1875
Composure by Porto what a man.
They only got back into it due to a complete fluke of a goal. Thoroughly deserved.
147lothian
How good is it to be a Hibs supporter just now! A Scottish Cup quarter final on Saturday followed by a game where we can clinch 3rd place with two games remaining. This team is capable of great things, Boyle is in the form of his life, defenders must hate it when he runs at them, and depending on the outcome of the Scottish cup, this must be the best possible year to finish third in, it also means that we don't have to sell anyone to ballance the books, with the Euro wind fall coming in, and possibly an extra 5M if McGinn get sold, sets us up nicely for next season.
It's not good to be a Hibs fan, it's great
24-04-2021, 06:44 PM
Easy to be harsh on Nisbet but a year ago he was playing for a mid team championship team, now he’s got massive pressure on him. He’ll grow, we are through and that’s what matters.
tonyrougier123
Flaws are there,need a killer instinct when on top,macey?not for me.gogic red should be overturned on review.hallberg done well when he came on.
You've just won Hibs.net 😂😂😂😂
24-04-2021, 06:45 PM
That's two games in a row where the opposition change their shape but Jack Ross does not change the personnel. He needs to respond to this.
24-04-2021, 06:46 PM
That's two games in a row where the opposition change their shape but Jack Ross does not change the personnel. He needs to respond to this.
Not sure he's on Hibs.net mate
This made me lol :-)
I’d definitely put Marciano back in goal for the semi
24-04-2021, 06:47 PM
Gogic and Boyle will be two massive misses in the semis but you need to be in it to win it!
Will Cadden and Murphy be back by then? (Murphy assuming we don't get Sevco in the semi).
And to use a classic Hibs.net line of the future, will Magennis come in and show us what he's got?
ACLeith
Sod 60, its no easier as a septuaganruan
We’ve lost to Dundee Utd and Aberdeen in the league cup last few years
Also Brondby
Thanks forgot about Brondby - but can't remember either of the others.
Was his record not poor in semi finals and finals for Sunderland? That’s not really changed yet
why do you even watch football, everything you post is negative. We’ve just won, but your still negative, we are 3rd in the league but your still slagging the team...third in the league and into another semi final is pretty much as good as it gets in April for a Hibs fan..if you hate it so much at least stop spreading the misery to everyone else.
24-04-2021, 06:48 PM
Piece of piss, basically..................
Next
No sure I can be arsed watching us bottle another semiI guess you will just have to log in for updates on hibs.net
Hope they're going to reimburse me for the entire packet of boxers I tore my way through
Well done Hibs...Mission accomplished 💚
3rd in the league. 3 semis in one season. Going to Europe. Aye but his game management... Hahaha priceless
They only got back into it due to a complete fluke of a goal. Thoroughly deserved.
Goals change things. It isn’t just Hibs as some would have you believe. We pretty much did the same thing to Rangers recently and should really have drawn that from 2-0 down.
24-04-2021, 06:49 PM
Never in any doubt there. Pity that Gogic will be suspended for the semi. Thoughtbhebhad a very good game today. Porteous absolutely outstanding all day except for one wee slip.
why do you even watch football, everything you post is negative. We’ve just won, but your still negative, we are 3rd in the league but your still slagging the team...third in the league and into another semi final is pretty much as good as it gets in April for a Hibs fan..if you hate it so much at least stop spreading the misery to everyone else.
He's frightened of his own shadow, there's a few like that on here, always frightened of something that's not happened.:rolleyes:
3rd in the league. 3 semis in one season. Going to Europe. Aye but his game management... Hahaha pricelessRoss out!
Bunch of bottlers
Game management
Sunderland
Whine whine whine and greet
3 semis in one season and 6 points ahead with 3 to play for 3rd place and Europe already guarenteed
24-04-2021, 06:50 PM
Won’t someone please think of the game management?!?!
That is a worthy discussion on a day like today though. We got through today but on another day a collapse like that will costs us.
I'm full of praise for the attitude of the players and the changes the manager made in ET but I'm 100% certain the coaching team as a whole will be looking at our failure to see that out in the manner we should have. It was poor game management albeit we rescued ourselves from the situation.
Never in any doubt there. Pity that Gogic will be suspended for the semi. Thoughtbhebhad a very good game today. Porteous absolutely outstanding all day except for one wee slip.
Boyle suspended too
Shame we won’t have Gogic for the final but Hallbergs no mug !
Class pens in the end. All about getting through.
Get in there.
24-04-2021, 06:51 PM
Shame we won’t have Gogic for the final but Hallbergs no mug !And drey Wright mind
He's frightened of his own shadow, there's a few like that on here, always frightened of something that's not happened.:rolleyes:
Hahaha aye that’s it. Frightened of my own shadow 😂
It’s being disappointed about bottling a 2-0 lead in the first place and our inevitable bottle job coming up at Hampden
Will Cadden and Murphy be back by then? (Murphy assuming we don't get Sevco in the semi).
And to use a classic Hibs.net line of the future, will Magennis come in and show us what he's got?
Cadden should be as he was just out today with a knock.
Murphy had been out for a while with a hamstring injury and then Ross confirmed he'd suffered a setback. He'll need a while to get back to full fitness anyway.
24-04-2021, 06:52 PM
Pretty decent performance for the first 80 minutes, could see it coming a mile away once the game went to 2-1 though.
Got a bit of a foothold in the game in extra time again and some good penalties.
When’s the draw?
It’s being disappointed about bottling a 2-0 lead in the first place and our inevitable bottle job coming up at Hampden
What kind of fan spouts crap like that, off you trot
I still don't know why Macey didn't come and just punch that cross away for the 2nd
That is a worthy discussion on a day like today though. We got through today but on another day a collapse like that will costs us.
I'm full of praise for the attitude of the players and the changes the manager made in ET but I'm 100% certain the coaching team as a whole will be looking at our failure to see that out in the manner we should have. It was poor game management albeit we rescued ourselves from the situation.
Come on now. Don’t speak sense unless it’s all positive.
24-04-2021, 06:53 PM
Log off ffs.
Piece of piss, basically..................
Next[emoji16]
Yep, no point practicing penalties if you don't get to take them.
Top game management. Probably should have got a few more men sent off in the last minute to save having to draw up a list of penalty takers but otherwise all went to plan.
Decent performance for the first 80 minutes, could see it coming a mile away once the game went to 2-1 though.
Got a bit of a foothold in the game in extra time again and some good penalties.
When’s the draw?
Think the draw is Monday night
Pretty decent performance for the first 80 minutes, could see it coming a mile away once the game went to 2-1 though.
When’s the draw?Monday I think?
Sod 60, its no easier as a septuaganruan
I feel your pain 😔
hfcok
And drey Wright mind
Maybe not see below??.
Accumulation of two cautionable offences in
the William Hill Scottish Cup for clubs who enter the competition after Round 3 (caution totals revert to zero prior to start of semi-final rounds)
Accumulation of two cautionable offences in the Betfred Cup (caution totals revert to zero prior to start of Round 2 and prior to the start of semi-final
rounds)
the IRN BRU Cup for clubs who enter the competition after Round 2 (caution totals revert to zero prior to the start of semi-final rounds)
all other Specified Cup Competitions (caution totals revert to zero prior to start of semi-final rounds)
.Louise.
24-04-2021, 06:54 PM
Jeez Louise! Hibs. They take years off your life!
Yes, yes they do! [emoji23]
Log off ffs.
Nope.
There you go again, mystic meg has nothing on you. :rolleyes:
Think the draw is Monday night
hibIBZ
Although it took penalties, we were the better team throughout most of the game. Tried our best to chuck it away, but we didn't. Another semi, still in it, that's what counts
Haha imagine hibs winning then getting so rattled by people celebrating on here you post stuff like this
We’ve dropped points or not won something like 3 times all season when leading. It’s hardly been an ongoing problem worth getting worked up about, as some were doing during the game. We’ve been very good this season at seeing out leads and winning tight games.
24-04-2021, 06:55 PM
There you go again, mystic meg has nothing on you. :rolleyes:
Nothing about mystic meg and based entirely on our two previous Hampden capitulations. The last one especially. More than happy for the team and JR to prove me wrong.
Goals change things. It isn’t just Hibs as some would have you believe. We pretty much did the same thing to Rangers recently and should really have drawn that from 2-0 down.
Exactly. Nothing to do with our bottle, which we showed we had loads of by winning on pens.
Nope.To be fair the editing of your post above which someone happened to quote does paint someone who is incredibly negative or a troll
Haha imagine hibs winning then getting so rattled by people celebrating on here you post stuff like this
It would seem people are more rattled at my posts than me being rattled at theirs, as I said the ignore buttons there if you don’t want to see it
People are greeting about people greeting about Hibs...irony. I don't understand the in-fighting tbh. Clearly game management is an issue and Jack Ross and the players will learn from this. We could have easily lost it in the end.
24-04-2021, 06:56 PM
I still don't know why Macey didn't come and just punch that cross away for the 2nd
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkIt's the sort of situation where he could have ended up clashing with his own defender leaving the goal exposed. He was entitled to stay on his line IMO.
hfcok
Boyle suspended too
Maybe not??, check below🤔
the William Hill Scottish Cup for clubs who enter the competition after Round 3 (caution totals revert to zero prior to start of semi-final rounds)
Accumulation of two cautionable offences in the Betfred Cup (caution totals revert to zero prior to start of Round 2 and prior to the start of semi-final
rounds)
the IRN BRU Cup for clubs who enter the competition after Round 2 (caution totals revert to zero prior to the start of semi-final rounds)
all other Specified Cup Competitions (caution totals revert to zero prior to start of semi-final rounds)
To be fair the editing of your post above which someone happened to quote does paint someone who is incredibly negative or a troll
Or someone’s who’s already watched us bottle two previous semi finals at Hampden this season, against a god awful hearts team and ****ing st johnstone
As I said in a previous post, more than happy to be proved wrong on this occasion but I’m not sure the team have it in them to deal with the pressure of a semi final at Hampden
It's the sort of situation where he could have ended up clashing with his own defender leaving the goal exposed. He was entitled to stay on his line IMO.He's about 9 foot tall with his arm extended
No even jumping [emoji23]
24-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Maybe not see below??.
rounds)
That confirms Boyle should be available then?
24-04-2021, 06:57 PM
Pretty relieved after that! We could have easily chucked it 3-2 after being 2-0 up.
Very good penalties and I would definitely play Marciano in semi finals.
24-04-2021, 06:58 PM
Maybe not see below??.
rounds)
As far as I’m aware, Boyle and Gogic will be suspended for the semi
The bookings for Hanlon and McGinn, from QOS and Stranraer, will be wiped
Or someone’s who’s already watched us bottle two previous semi finals at Hampden this season, against a god awful hearts team and ****ing st johnstone
Yawn.
It's a fair point for discussion I think, we need to get better at holding the advantage and closing out the game. Will improve as we play more of these games and keep developing the squad and the management learn through these experiences though.