View Full Version : Hibs v Motherwell Scottish Cup 1/4 Final (Saturday 5pm Premier Sports)
24-04-2021, 04:55 PM
My sound is out on of sync with the picture on Premier.
loanheadhibby
Nothings coming off for us, but that won't continue in to the second half.
I fully expect to blow this poor Motherwell team apart after the break.
You are deluded we have no cutting edge at all.
I know it's not Irvine's position but he's been poor. That's no excuse for the header though.
Well have big lads at the back so the crosses need to be mixed up a bit more.
What isn’t his position?
He’s being played as 1 of 3 central midfield players. Shouldn’t make much odds whether that is the central position or slightly right or left.
He likes to get forward so he is pretty much exactly in the position that should suit him best.
I was truly confident before this started (I know, I’m 69 and should know better after 50+ years), I’m now back to thinking first goal wins this:confused:
Very good start but we've tailed off as they've coped better with our threat down the right.
Lots of good balls in but we need someone to be timing a run and getting on the end of them.
A few good crosses but very little created other than that, and Motherwell have coped really quite comfortably with what we've thrown at them so far. They've defended well.
They've not offered much going forward but a goal for them sees them parking the bus and becoming a very tough nut to crack.
I'm a wee bit nervous now, which I wasn't after 15 minutes.
24-04-2021, 04:56 PM
Who has Jackson Irvine replaced in our team?
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Deluded for being confident :hilarious
Roxyhibee
We’ve ran out of juice in the last 15 mins there after a great start and they’ve slowed the game down to suit there limitations. We’ve got to get it wide earlier - much earlier. Difficult second half, they’re well drilled. We’ve got to take our chances - we’ll get them.
For all our decent play it's still no shots on target.
HT Stats from the BBC...
Motherwell 2 shots, 2 on target
Hibs 4 shots, 0 on target.
24-04-2021, 04:57 PM
What isn’t his position?
He’s being played as 1 of 3 central midfield players. Shouldn’t make much odds whether that is the central position or slightly right or left.
He likes to get forward so he is pretty much exactly in the position that should suit him best.
On the left clearly isn't.
Apart from Boyle Doidge and nisbet
Our front 3 have more goals this season than the entire Motherwell team.
Who has Jackson Irvine replaced in our team?
He came onto the team when Newell was injured, if I’m remembering correctly
When Newell was fit, Hallberg dropped out
Robbo6-2
Derek Mcinnes is a very good pundit and knowledgeable about football.
alway
24-04-2021, 04:58 PM
alway100 percent
24-04-2021, 04:59 PM
alway
Yep very good analysis.
24-04-2021, 04:59 PM
BBC stats
Hibs possession 69%
Shot 4
Shots on target 0
24-04-2021, 05:00 PM
On the left clearly isn't.
Come on now. Slightly left in the centre. He should be fine there.
I'd have them all shave their heads like Prince Alex of Gogic.
Wouldn't be no manbuns getting in the way of good headed chances, no Sir !!
Was it the Romania national team who did that?
Weegreenman
We’ve dominated that first half but.......The Motherwell keeper hasn’t had save to make. It’s a funny old game!
He came onto the team when Newell was injured, if I’m remembering correctly
When Newell was fit, Hallberg dropped outOK, so an obvious step up
I like our midfield 3 of goga, Newell and Irvine
While he hasn't shown he can finish Irvine constantly get in and around the action in the box - goals will come
We’ve ran out of juice in the last 15 mins there after a great start and they’ve slowed the game down to suit there limitations. We’ve got to get it wide earlier - much earlier. Difficult second half, they’re well drilled. We’ve got to take our chances - we’ll get them.
Definitely a team that if we go 1-0 up, I'd be running it into the corner and time-wasting at every throw-in. Anti-football from them, don't mind them defending but Kelly and O'Donnell are having a laugh with time-wasting. Must steal at least 5 yards every throw-in as well.
yerauldda
Might be time for Magennis to show what he can do
Come on now. Slightly left in the centre. He should be fine there.
Hopefully in the 2nd half!
24-04-2021, 05:01 PM
Come on now. Slightly left in the centre. He should be fine there.He started off hugging the left touchline just about
24-04-2021, 05:01 PM
Right, c'mon Hibs. No more ****ing about, down the slope just get it done!
24-04-2021, 05:02 PM
Bleach blonde. 98 World Cup.
BBC stats
Hibs possession 69%
Shot 4
Shots on target 0
FlashScore app is the best for football and stats etc. Worth a download on the phone if you haven’t got it already.
Opponents lose their hope, when we get them down the slope...
They bleached their hair, did they not?
He started off hugging the left touchline just about
With Newell on the right of the 3, bit bizarre, surely it should've been the other way round.
Weegreenman
24-04-2021, 05:03 PM
Derek Mcinnes is a very good pundit and knowledgeable
about football.
alway
Always liked McInness and wouldn’t mind him as manager at some point in the future!
I was truly confident before this started (I know, I’m 69 and should know better after 50+ years), I’m now back to thinking first goal wins this:confused:
This has penalties written all over it.
24-04-2021, 05:03 PM
Hibs players shaved their hair off, at the start of one season under McLeish
24-04-2021, 05:04 PM
Always liked McInness and wouldn’t mind him as manager at some point in the future!
As manager of what? Not hibs surely?
Definitely a team that if we go 1-0 up, I'd be running it into the corner and time-wasting at every throw-in. Anti-football from them, don't mind them defending but Kelly and O'Donnell are having a laugh with time-wasting. Must steal at least 5 yards every throw-in as well.Yep annoying how long there keeper takes at every by kick
I do like a Joe Newell left footed corner from the right side.
24-04-2021, 05:05 PM
You mean like give away a penalty?
24-04-2021, 05:05 PM
Hibs players shaved their hair off, at the start of one season under McLeish
Apart from Sauzee, who bleached his.
24-04-2021, 05:06 PM
**** off Craigan
ardecos
We tried that on Wednesday and the answer was give away a penalty.
Ah, here we go. That ticket Craigan with the Boyles a fiver pish
McHibby
Boyle's combover is 100 times worse.
Maybe he's trying to channel the old school where that was pretty-much the regulation 'doo
24-04-2021, 05:07 PM
We tried that on Wednesday and the answer was give away a penalty.
I don't think that was his best moment or something that he'll do every week!
So they did.
Craigan getting the digs in - surprised it took him so long.
Started well again. Boyle will need to be snapped in half to get a foul it seems.
24-04-2021, 05:08 PM
Doidgealdo :flag:
GreyJammies
Yes. Yes it was.
Hibs had a stab at it back in the day too - Mixu, Matty Jack and a few others.
Yasss
Mikey_1875
Get the **** in there!!!!
24-04-2021, 05:09 PM
No. They all shaved their heads. Big Mixu didn't fancy it but stuck with it ever since!
Get in!!
Yassssss
Some header by Doidgey
Yasssss
Good goal. C'mon the Hibees.
Love Doidge !
Great cross by McGinn !
You ****ing beauty. Christiano Doidgealdo!!!!
Ya dancer Doidge
Come on!!!
Great ball, great heider
Great cross and good header.
Get in.
24-04-2021, 05:10 PM
That's 2 games running that McGinn has provided perfect assists.
AZhibee
yes:flag::flag::flag::flag:
Great dropping off from Nisbet. Dragged a man out and created a huge gap, Doidge done great to see the space as well.
Saint Hibee
Where’s this McInnes love-in coming from all of a sudden?!? He produced some of the most eye-bleeding football I’ve ever seen.
Steve88
lewandoidgeski!!!!!!!
Yes well done big Doidge. Great ball by McGinn. 1-0 Hibs
Yes, Doidge yet again :thumbsup:
OtleyHibs
That's a cracking goal!!
We deserve this lead, let's build on it
GreyJammies
There we go.
I've got a semi !! :flag:
Motherwell going to have to come out now
cal-d hibs
24-04-2021, 05:11 PM
:flag:YES Come on Hibs.
Where’s this McInnes love-in coming from all of a sudden?!? He produced some of the most eye-bleeding football I’ve ever seen.Yep. My sentiments exactly.
nice cross from McGinn btw
Just switched on Sportsound. Did someone die ?
McHibby
YAAAAASSSSS!!!!
I'm not going to lie, the fear was beginning to creep in for me
Get in there
Easter Road would have erupted for that goal.
GreyJammies
What you saying ??
Very good goal, it's amazing how he needs confidence when playing, I think we have to realise it's the type of player he is, goes on these streaks.
Davy Mac
24-04-2021, 05:12 PM
Craigan - "it's a simple ball in" from McGinn, GTF you
Weegreenman
Motherwell keeper still no had a save to make 🤣🤣🤣💚
Mikey_1875
Huge chance there
could have been a 2nd for Doidge
Awe, got to score there big man,..........
How did Doidge miss that.
How do you put that over the bar :faf:
Robbo6-2
Joe Newell absolutely bossing Campbell again.
Enjoy League 1 pal you wouldny get a game for us.
24-04-2021, 05:13 PM
Just switched on Sportsound. Did someone die ?
BBC Jambo ?
Listened to 5 mins earlier and nothing changed with Hearts chat and guests.
Irvine did well there. Some miss. :greengrin
It’s great that Doidge ended his goal drought right at the business end of the season. Hopefully, loads more to come in the next four weeks.
We have to take our chances and finish this off.
Curly1875
For all that some have complained about boring football with Jack Ross, we have been delightful to watch in the last few games
I can’t tell if Craigan is a wee bit upset we’ve scored 😅
24-04-2021, 05:14 PM
So close for a second for Doidge.
Maybe the pitch was the problem all along for the bad performances as playing well past two games all be it the second half on Wednesday.
24-04-2021, 05:14 PM
we want two
we want two
Irvine did well there. Some miss. :greengrin
Tbf he was stretching and just got his toe on it, almost impossible to control it.
Weegreenman
24-04-2021, 05:15 PM
I can’t tell if Craigan is a wee bit upset we’ve scored 😅
Oh aye, he hates Hibs!
I can’t tell if Craigan is a wee bit upset we’ve scored [emoji28]He's more than a wee bit upset we even exist.
Roaster and not even a very good pundit.
For all that some have complained about boring football with Jack Ross, we have been delightful to watch in the last few games
It’s like he’s finally pressed the button to attack more.
GreyJammies
It's frightening just how great we actually are.
24-04-2021, 05:16 PM
good save save from macey
Great save by Macey.
Great save Macey.
Weegreenman
Huge chance there
Hope we don’t live to regret that one 🙃
Big save from Macey.
dchibs
24-04-2021, 05:17 PM
Ah, here we go. That ticket Craigan with the Boyles a fiver pish
A fiver im sure Boyle's worth more than that.
Great save Macey. Hanlon defended poor there.
Important save - 30 mins to go.
Get in. Big Christian!
Think we’ll need a second to make sure however clean sheet wins this!
AZhibee
Sign Macey
Great play by Cole. Brilliant save by Macey. Thought that was 1-1
Weegreenman
24-04-2021, 05:18 PM
What a save 👏👏👏
A fiver im sure Boyle's worth more than that.
Haha. That's what happens when you get angry, you should hear some of the pish I talk at games never mind with auto correct
Macey our new number one
I think the midfield is a huge part of that. People are having a bit of a moan about Irvine and to a lesser extent Newell, both today and on Wednesday.
Look how deep we are forcing Motherwell to play, same can be said of Livi on Wednesday. We batter teams back deep into their own half and that allows our attacking players to get on the front foot.
People tend to judge midfielders on goals, assists and fancy passes and of course there is a place for that but you don't dominate games like we have today if everyone isn't doing what they are asked to do.
Craigan - "it's a simple ball in" from McGinn, GTF you
Maybe worried he might take O'Donnell's Scotland place.
GreyJammies
24-04-2021, 05:20 PM
I think if I were a Hearts fan I should be very depressed indeed, and terrified about facing this Hibs team next year in the big league.
We can dominate them for many years to come.
When Ryan plays like this he is one of the best centre half’s in Scotland, Unfortunately see him leaving in the summer.
Saint Hibee
This is going to be a long 30 minutes.
We have dropped a few yards.
Need to play higher up.
24-04-2021, 05:21 PM
Think Alexander will do well as a manager - be interesting to see where he goes after Motherwell.
GreyJammies
24-04-2021, 05:22 PM
This is going to be a long 30 minutes.
No it's not.
Get the cigars out. :cb
Need some energy now.
Gogic again is superb. :top marks
24-04-2021, 05:23 PM
I think if I were a Hearts fan I should be very depressed indeed, and terrified about facing this Hibs team next year in the big league.
We can dominate them for many years to come.
Hearts had muted celebrations with their championship trophy today.
That’s how big a team they are.
If only Perez had phoned Budge instead of Abramovich... his Super League dream would still be alive.
24-04-2021, 05:23 PM
Need some energy now.
Need the back line to move up and get closer to midfield.
Same happened on Wednesday- massive gaps and lots of running.
Fresh legs would be good but I think he will be wary making subs.
Need to keep up this pressure and tempo, hope Ross uses his subs right and bring on fresh legs when needed.
Beaton the cheat, went to blow for a foul and changed his mind, blatant cheating.
Weegreenman
24-04-2021, 05:25 PM
Not sure if I’m being overly harsh here but I just wish some of our passing was a wee bit crisper into feet and maybe a tad more accurate. Especially when in and around the box where it really matters.
GreyJammies
24-04-2021, 05:26 PM
When's the draw for the Semi?
I'll take the Huns, or anyone really.
Bring them on. :flag:
Gogic - warrior.
Beaton the cheat, went to blow for a foul and changed his mind, blatant cheating.
Never a foul, porto diving again.:furious:
We need to get back into this. Cant get the ball and far to spread out defensively.
20 mins left.
Saint Hibee
What’s Stephen Craigan’s problem?
Not a fan of hibs, never had a good word to say on us for years.
24-04-2021, 05:28 PM
He’s one of many in the media anti Hibs.
Gogic again is superb. :top marks
He's an absolutely brilliant player for us.
So important and so good.
He played for Motherwell so it's his team.
Brummie_Hibs
Not sure if I’m being overly harsh here but I just wish some of our passing was a wee bit crisper into feet and maybe a tad more accurate. Especially when in and around the box where it really matters.
I agree but more when we are advancing in the middle of the pitch. The passes tend to be behind or to feet instead of in front of the runner and giving them momentum.
His team not loosing?
GreyJammies
24-04-2021, 05:29 PM
Hearts had muted celebrations with their championship trophy today.
That’s how big a team they are.
If only Perez had phoned Budge instead of Abramovich... his Super League dream would still be alive.
I read a story in the Edinburgh News about their star striker Pinilla, back in the day. He was absolutely fine until he arrived at Tynecastle, then he got so depressed he had to fly home to Chile to see a psychiatrist.
Training with the smell of breweries and pig crap would do that to the most chipper of folks.
Awful club.
GGTTH.
Wants us out to increase Rangers chances of winning the cup.
24-04-2021, 05:29 PM
mon hibs lets be havin u here
24-04-2021, 05:30 PM
Excellent again From Gogic, this will be a tense last 20 or so.
I’d be taking Irvine off now. Need legs
We have been brilliant as a team so far today 💚
We have been brilliant as a team so far today [emoji172]
No watching but sounds like it. Could do with a second just now
24-04-2021, 05:31 PM
They are just going route one to Watt now. He's very decent in the air so we need to make sure we win the 2nd ball. They are leaving 3 up top so there should be an extra man for us if we move it quickly when breaking. It's about finding the out ball.
24-04-2021, 05:31 PM
I think Irvines race is run. I'd think about taking him off now
Weegreenman
24-04-2021, 05:32 PM
Playing well within ourselves but only one shot on target. 😏
24-04-2021, 05:32 PM
Was he earlier imply that refs confer about players (in this instance Boyle )?
Thank God he doesn’t hold any position of influence otherwise he’d be dangerous. Muppet.
24-04-2021, 05:33 PM
Need a 2nd
plhibs
Sitting too far off this team since we scored, we're letting them dictate the pace now.
From the BBC Site...
"There's much more room to manoeuvre now for both sides, with Motherwell forced to come out of their defensive shell."
Ouch
JXM73
24-04-2021, 05:34 PM
Only one team attacking right now...
Weegreenman
24-04-2021, 05:34 PM
The
I agree but more when we are advancing in the middle of the pitch. The passes tend to be behind or to feet instead of in front of the runner and giving them momentum.
Ye I agree. Frustrating because I think we could be cruising two or three to nil here but instead Motherwell are still very much in this match!
24-04-2021, 05:35 PM
I think we look very comfortable here. Motherwell seeing more off the ball but since the save by Macey they have hardly looked like they are knocking at the door.
We will likely have to weather a storm but we are fine.
think that player is going to lose a tooth
Cmon Hibs. Let’s do this and see this out!
Irvine :thumbsup::flag:
Yasssss
yaaaaaaaas
24-04-2021, 05:36 PM
He’s offside 😂
Saint Hibee
Woohoo!
Mikey_1875
Superb composure great goal.
Yassssss
Enjoy crying into yer beer tonight Craigan.
OtleyHibs
Yaaaasssss!!!!
Hibs season tickets should come with Hampden season tickets as standard these days 😁
24-04-2021, 05:37 PM
Game over. Never in doubt.
Irvine deserves that too. He's done the dirty work today and is partly responsible for us dominating the middle of the park.
supermcginn
I’d be taking Irvine off now. Need legs
Good call as per usual 🤭
No more than we deserve.
Yaaaas!
Possibly offside that but superb from Boyle. Game over!
I think Irvines race is run. I'd think about taking him off now
What the **** do I know!!! C'mon Hibs, just see it out now
Possibly offside that but superb from Boyle. Game over!
Think it was
2-1 :rolleyes:
JXM73
Ffs
Oranje39
24-04-2021, 05:38 PM
Mile offside, thankfully no VAR.
We are unbeatable.
Gogic filling the Gogic role.
Irvine scores. Some ball in initially by Newell.
Was Jackson not offside there?
That's criminal losing a goal so soon.
Wtf has happened there
Glad we scored. We should've had the penalty anyway - don't see them talking about Irvine being wiped out.
What was the goalie playing at there?
Wtf
Oh dear.
Doidge ball watching and gets drawn away from the Scorer. Not sure if Macey was anticipating a touch but he'll be disappointed.
hibee62
Mile offside, thankfully no VAR.
Surely should have been a penalty at the initial ball across?
Should have been a Hibs penalty but will take the offside goal!
2-1 now..Why didn’t Macey dive ?
OtleyHibs
24-04-2021, 05:39 PM
Oh bloody hell, make it easy for ourselves once in a While!
what an utterly ridiculous freakin goal to lose, bizarre
HendoDelivered
😂😂😂😂
Macey really doesn't inspire me - he struggled with a similarly placed header earlier in the game
Need to see that again but didn't even seen to be in the corner
Terrible positioning from Macey there.
Irvine!
Finally!
**** on it. What’s happened there. 2-0 to 2-1 FFS CMON
My stomachs in knots
Squeaky but time
24-04-2021, 05:40 PM
Keepers positioning brutal
Arse twitching time.
Press the game up ffs
Lendo
If that was a meant as a shot then fair play, it was some finish.
24-04-2021, 05:41 PM
Camped on our box now
Weegreenman
Game on now!
Let’s see how much we really want it. C’mon Hibs!
Macey really doesn't inspire me - he struggled with a similarly placed header earlier in the game
Need to see that again but didn't even seen to be in the corner
Hasn’t given me as much confidence as others have in him.
Just doesn’t quite look right dealing with certain things.
We switched off at 2-0 thinking it was won.
Damnit, that didn't last long
motherwell players are much faster with the ball now
Lovely tackle from Jacko. Think that goal has given him a second wind.
24-04-2021, 05:42 PM
Take Doidge and Irvine off. Both look shattered.
This hibs TV **** is adding to my anxiety ffs
hibs tv a joke today
Getting nervy
24-04-2021, 05:43 PM
Hasn’t given me as much confidence as others have in him.
Just doesn’t quite look right dealing with certain things.
I’m still not convinced - his previous club comments reminded me
of when Hearts had the Man Utd keeper Pereira.
make at least one sub jack for the love of god man, **** the appearance bonuses
They never make it easy for us, do they?
Getting nervy
I’ve been nervous all day about this game! I’m away to make a cuppa!
Nervous can’t handle this
hibs tv a joke today
They’ve had all season to fix these issues. Piss poor.
Oranje39
24-04-2021, 05:44 PM
Surely should have been a penalty at the initial ball across?
I'm not sure they'd look at that. Just going on the disallowed goal from Calum Wilson today in the Newcastle Liverpool game. They disallowed the goal but didn't give a penalty for the Alexander-Arnold push.
**** off
make at least one sub jack for the love of god man, **** the appearance bonuses
Yes, need to, to disrupt the game and slow it down.
2-2
and there it is 2-2 poor poor management from ross
JXM73
Stick a fiver on motherwell now, we're done!
Macey isn’t good enough.
24-04-2021, 05:45 PM
**** Off
Mikey_1875
Unbelievable
Utterly pathetic
Cruit
A changed game.
Needed subs. Terrible decision not to change things.
What’s the point of Joe Newall? [emoji35]
Shambles
Newell blowing out his arse.
**** off
That's pathetic game management.
Absolute disgrace.
Fell to bits again.
McHibby
**** on it. What’s happened there. 2-0 to 2-1 FFS CMON
My stomachs in knots
Tell me about about. I can actually feel my heart pumping. This cannae be good for me 😬
Typical Hibs ffs
All over the place at the back, McGinn should be on Watt
Ffs
Keeper has chucked this.
Marciano wojld have saved 1 or both of those goals.
FFS.
How the **** have we managed this? Absolutely coasting and then we have panicked. We need to adjust to this front 3 Motherwell are playing, they will fancy it now.
Keeper not dived for either.
Jesus