RIP.
Bizarre tweet from hibs.
09-04-2021, 11:46 AM
How?
09-04-2021, 11:48 AM
How?
A bit OTT for me. A simple rest in peace would have sufficed but seemed a bizarre outpouring.
09-04-2021, 11:52 AM
Not sure why we are tweeting about it at all.
09-04-2021, 11:54 AM
Kind of what I was thinking but would’ve even maybe understood a simple RIP message but certainly didn’t expect the tweet that’s went out at all. Completely out of touch.
09-04-2021, 11:54 AM
Well he is the Duke of Edinburgh and we are an Edinburgh institution.
09-04-2021, 11:56 AM
Kind of what I was thinking but would’ve even maybe understood a simple RIP message but certainly didn’t expect the tweet that’s went out at all. Completely out of touch.
No really, as much as I dont give a **** the club recognised he was the DO Edinburgh and as such felt it fit to mention it.
They were damned either way and I think they got it just about right.
09-04-2021, 11:56 AM
Well he is the Duke of Edinburgh and we are an Edinburgh institution.
Yep we are obviously the main football club in Edinburgh and it's right to pay our respects although I couldn't give a monkey's whether we do or not.
Topographic Hibby
09-04-2021, 11:57 AM
Well he is the Duke of Edinburgh and we are an Edinburgh institution.In a nutshell. Anything less and we could have been accused of all manner of stuff. :agree:
Allez Hibs
09-04-2021, 11:58 AM
Well said Hibs. Very classy tweet.
I'm no fan of the royalty but there is nothing wrong with the tweet from Hibs. The responses are childish and pathetic!
In a nutshell. Anything less and we could have been accused of all manner of stuff. :agree:
As I said on the other thread - if people don't want to show respect that's fine, but they shouldn't criticise those that do. It's just attention seeking nonsense.
AugustaHibs
09-04-2021, 11:59 AM
Day off work?
HibeeHendo
09-04-2021, 12:01 PM
If we’re being honest, no one would’ve cared if Hibs didn’t tweet anything about it and I wish we didn’t.
09-04-2021, 12:03 PM
If we’re being honest, no one would’ve cared if Hibs didn’t tweet anything about it and I wish we didn’t.
Why?
DarrenSQH
09-04-2021, 12:03 PM
Don't see the need in the tweet. Nothing to do with hibs and an old racist. We don't post for anyone else that has to do with us so why a royal?
Alan62
09-04-2021, 12:05 PM
To be fair Hearts will probably lower their Union Jack to half mast and organise a minute’s silence at Haymarket so our response is probably about right. [emoji51]
09-04-2021, 12:06 PM
Does David Tanner have Hibs Twitter log in details?
09-04-2021, 12:06 PM
Has absolutely nothing to do with football and should have been left well alone.
The new social media guy hardly off to a great start.
09-04-2021, 12:07 PM
Has absolutely nothing to do with football and should have been left well alone.
I think it was a nice gesture and see nothing wrong with it. He did well.
davhibby
09-04-2021, 12:08 PM
The reaction to the tweet would suggest otherwise
09-04-2021, 12:09 PM
Nothing wrong with it, and I'm a republican.
09-04-2021, 12:09 PM
Twitter is hardly an accurate barometer of any sensible human thought process 🤣
The dalmeny
09-04-2021, 12:10 PM
this
KDY Hibs
09-04-2021, 12:10 PM
This place is mental at times!
09-04-2021, 12:12 PM
Don't think there's anything wrong with it. Not worth getting your knickers in a twist.
09-04-2021, 12:12 PM
This place is mental at times!
“mental” = people who have a different opinion to you discussing said opinion?
What’s so mental about that?
09-04-2021, 12:14 PM
Nothing wrong with the tweet at all.
The husband of the nation's Head of State has just died, there's no reason to go overboard and have scenes like they had in North Korea when Kim Jong-il died but a simple message of condolence is entirely appropriate from Hibs in the circumstances.
The Baldmans Comb
09-04-2021, 12:14 PM
Hibs media should get off their knees as he has no relevance to Hibs.
This was an old fashioned and at times a bigoted racist (The "slitty eyes" comment or "Scottish drunks" for example).
He had no affinity to Edinburgh other than his name and I am utterly indifferent to his passing.
KDY Hibs
09-04-2021, 12:15 PM
“mental” = people who have a different opinion to you discussing said opinion?
What’s so mental about that?
Lol I never gave my opinion so how can you tell it’s different?
BlackSheep
A bit OTT for me. A simple rest in peace would have sufficed but seemed a bizarre outpouring.
Im not a fan of the Royal family in the slightest, but cmon guys... he was the Duke of Edinburgh, we are based in Edinburgh!
I don't think the sentiment from Hibs is OTT whatsoever either.
Given the other stuff going on on the back of this - suspension of holyrood election campaigning etc, a wee tweet by Hibs is hardly earth shattering stuff.
Haters gonna hate etc etc
RIP I liked Phillip. Has a very interesting background if you look into his history. End of an era.
09-04-2021, 12:16 PM
Just ignore the tweet if you don't like it.
It's the 21st century. If you are getting worked up about the coverage on TV, in the print media or online then it is because you are actively choosing to engage with it. It's not 1953 or even 1997 when the options for avoidance were far more limited. I've seen countless comments on various platforms about the BBC coverage. Turn the ****ing TV off! It really is that simple.
09-04-2021, 12:16 PM
Lol I never gave my opinion so how can you tell it’s different?
But it’s going to be different to someone’s opinion
09-04-2021, 12:17 PM
Im not a fan of the Royal family in the slightest, but cmon guys... he was the Duke of Edinburgh, we are based in Edinburgh!
I don't think the sentiment from Hibs is OTT whatsoever either.
But some obviously do
Lendo
09-04-2021, 12:19 PM
It’s a tweet...... Hardly a reason for folk to get upset.
09-04-2021, 12:20 PM
https://www.aljazeera.com/opinions/2017/8/13/the-priceless-racism-of-the-duke-of-edinburgh
09-04-2021, 12:20 PM
It’s a tweet...... Hardly a reason for folk to get upset.
Some people just love to find outrage in the strangest places?
09-04-2021, 12:22 PM
Some people just love to find outrage in the strangest places?
I don't see any outrage?
Folk are just commenting on how they found the hibs tweet a bit much.
Gushing over royals should be left to the huns imo.
09-04-2021, 12:23 PM
RIP.
Bizarre tweet from hibs.
Only bizarre if you want to see it that way, nothing wrong with it.
09-04-2021, 12:24 PM
https://www.aljazeera.com/opinions/2017/8/13/the-priceless-racism-of-the-duke-of-edinburgh
https://www.swlondoner.co.uk/news/09042021-prince-philips-duke-of-edinburghs-award-scheme-legacy/
I don't see any outrage?
People who don’t agree with others not agreeing with the tweet seem to be pushing a narrative that they people are absolutely livid. Definitely not the case, just found it a bit strange.
Are we celebrating racists or condemning them these days? I'm confused
09-04-2021, 12:25 PM
I don't see any outrage?
More a reference to the Twitter comments
09-04-2021, 12:25 PM
Only bizarre if you want to see it that way, nothing wrong with it.
Well aye of course which is why I find it bizarre
Nothing wrong with it in your personal opinion
09-04-2021, 12:27 PM
Not really, 50/50 I'd say. I'm no royalist and I don't have a problem with it.
KDY Hibs
09-04-2021, 12:28 PM
But it’s going to be different to someone’s opinion
Lol! Have a super day!
09-04-2021, 12:28 PM
Meh, I’d not have noticed if Hibs hadn’t tweeted about it and it barely registers that they have. At the end of the day it’s sad someone has died but no more or less sad than when anyone else dies. 99 is a good innings.
09-04-2021, 12:29 PM
Lol! Have a super day!
You were right. This place is mental at times.
Lol! Have a super day!
Cheers mate 👍🏼
Plenty more deserving people associated with Hibs and Edinburgh who wouldn’t get a public message of condolence from the club if they passed yet this old racist gets a gushing tribute because he managed to marry into the ‘right’ family.
09-04-2021, 12:31 PM
That well known unionist/royalist Nicola Sturgeon has released a statement passing on her condolences :rolleyes:
09-04-2021, 12:32 PM
Plenty more deserving people associated with Hibs and Edinburgh who wouldn’t get a public message of condolence from the club if they passed yet this old racist gets a gushing tribute because he managed to marry into the ‘right’ family.
Which old racist would you prefer we were giving gushing tributes to then? 🤣
HTD1875
09-04-2021, 12:33 PM
Absolutely nothing to do with hibs, the club Twitter guy should be focusing on getting the murder mystery weekly tweet back up
and running.
09-04-2021, 12:34 PM
Anyway, its a pity he has passed away as Jack Ross was after a good left winger...
Crunchie
09-04-2021, 12:36 PM
RIP old fella
AltheHibby
09-04-2021, 12:38 PM
My thoughts exactly.
Edit: most of the replies to the tweet are like something out of Follow Follow. And as for that picture of what I assume are terrorists...
monarch
09-04-2021, 12:49 PM
I’m no royalist but believe the club is quite rightly showing respect. Some of the vitriol being aimed at the tweet shows the perpetrators to exhibit a level of tolerance equivalent to some who populate the stands at Ibrox. Remember the Hibs support will encompass different religions, race and shades of political opinion.
Don’t forget HIBS CLASS.
HTD1875
09-04-2021, 12:50 PM
I’m no royalist but believe the club is quite rightly showing respect. Some of the vitriol being aimed at the tweet shows the perpetrators to exhibit a level of tolerance equivalent to some who populate the stands at Ibrox. Remember the Hibs support will encompass different religions, race and shades of political opinion.
Don’t forget HIBS CLASS.
Ok monarch
09-04-2021, 12:51 PM
I don't see any outrage?
Yeah I'm not outraged but would prefer we hadn't. I'm not going to boycott games or anything...
The Duke of Edinburgh thing being used though as if that means there is some affinity. I think rather the opposite - giving such titles to people is something I really don't agree with.
09-04-2021, 12:52 PM
The replies to the tweet are as stupid as you would expect.
BegbieHSC
09-04-2021, 12:53 PM
I’m a republican, but wish no ill towards any royal. I view them as normal human beings, so would never dream of taking glee in their passing. Sad news that a man has died. RIP.
I do reckon the tweet is a bit tone deaf though, as I don’t reckon there was ever a chance of it sparking an outpouring of condolences. Instead we’ve got a lot of negative comments, giving our fan base the wrong kind of attention.
No matter your feeling about Prince Phillip and the Royals, he was someone's husband, father, grandfather and friend and no death should be mocked.
There is absolutely nothing wrong about the tweet from Hibs, a bog standard sorry for your loss etc etc.
09-04-2021, 12:56 PM
I’m a republican, but wish no ill towards any royal. I view them as normal human beings, so would never dream of taking glee in their passing. Sad news that a man has died. RIP.
I do reckon the tweet is a bit tone deaf though, as I don’t reckon there was ever a chance of it sparking an outpouring of condolences. Instead we’ve got a lot of negative comments, giving our fan base the wrong kind of attention.
The club did a nice, civilised thing. You cannot be holding them responsible for the kind of ****wit responses that are being posted on twitter. The people drawing the wrong attenuation to these comments are the idiots making me he comments!
09-04-2021, 12:59 PM
When you're born into a country that attributes titles and therefore moral value based on the blood that runs in your veins rather than the content of your character, I think the least you can expect is for some of that pent up frustration to boil over into comments posted on social media.
For all of the terrible history that follows the royal family, and Philip's own racist outbursts, I think we can forgive some common folk having the audacity to make some snide tweets following the death of a 99 year old.
Whilst I'm not going to jump in and have a go at the club's twitter account, I also can't bring myself to condemn those voicing dissent. I'd be ****ing terrified if there wasn't any.
The Pointer
09-04-2021, 01:00 PM
BLM has nothing to do with football and should have been left well alone.
R.I.P. Sir.
Some bizarre posts regarding Hibs tweet, I just can't fathom some peoples brains at times, is it just to be controversial or to start arguments on here :confused:
09-04-2021, 01:02 PM
Some bizarre posts regarding Hibs tweet, I just can't fathom some peoples brains at times, is it just to be controversial or to start arguments on here :confused:
Or to gather other hibs people’s opinions on a tweet put out by hibs?
1 8 7 5
09-04-2021, 01:03 PM
When you're born into a country that attributes titles and therefore moral value based on the blood that runs in your veins rather than the content of your character, I think the least you can expect is for some of that pent up frustration to boil over into comments posted on social media.
For all of the terrible history that follows the royal family, and Philip's own racist outbursts, I think we can forgive some common folk having the audacity to make some snide tweets following the death of a 99 year old.
Whilst I'm not going to jump in and have a go at the club's twitter account, I also can't bring myself to condemn those voicing dissent. I'd be ****ing terrified if there wasn't any.
Great post Vault Boy :agree:
Or to gather other hibs people’s opinions on a tweet put out by hibs?
This is the tweet.
Everyone at Hibernian Football Club is saddened to learn of the passing of His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, who had such a wonderful affinity with our city.Our thoughts are with Her Majesty the Queen and all the Royal Family.
Where is the controversy?
monarch
09-04-2021, 01:04 PM
Ok monarch
I understand your confusion.
I can confirm that my username arises from the speedway team that I support rather than any deference to the House of Windsor. Probably not appropriate today of all days. :greengrin
09-04-2021, 01:06 PM
I can confirm that my username arises from the speedway team that I support rather than any deference to the House of Windsor. Probably not appropriate today of all days. :greengrin
:greengrin I believe you, but that was one of the best examples I've ever seen of a username catching someone out
09-04-2021, 01:07 PM
I’m well aware that Hibs fans are a diverse bunch politically and have no problem with the club expressing sympathy at Prince Phillip’s death. It’s the “who had such a wonderful affinity with our city” which is over the top. He had nothing of the sort.
Paul1642
09-04-2021, 01:07 PM
Respectful tweet to a Husband, father ext.
Regardless of your politics finding anger at Hibs stance just is just odd IMO.
Rip and a real shame he never made it to his telegram at 100. Thoughts are with his family.
09-04-2021, 01:09 PM
This is the tweet.
Everyone at Hibernian Football Club is saddened to learn of the passing of His Royal Highness The Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh, who had such a wonderful affinity with our city.Our thoughts are with Her Majesty the Queen and all the Royal Family.
There is none..... no idea why people would be in any way bothered by it.
09-04-2021, 01:09 PM
Just ignore the tweet if you don't like it.
It's the 21st century. If you are getting worked up about the coverage on TV, in the print media or online then it is because you are actively choosing to engage with it. It's not 1953 or even 1997 when the options for avoidance were far more limited. I've seen countless comments on various platforms about the BBC coverage. Turn the ****ing TV off! It really is that simple.
This is it in a nutshell. I am a republican but see no problem with people saying RIP to the old over privileged racist. Those sort of responses remind me of this Ricky Gervais bit
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L3dxMGzt5mU
If you didn't like the man or the whole family, avoid the TV and papers for the next few days as those who did value him will at the forefront.
09-04-2021, 01:10 PM
I’m no Royalist, but this thread is way OTT.
Show a little humanity - regardless of his public role or what you think of him, a man has died and our club has paid tribute. That’s it. Get over yourselves... this is Edinburgh not Belfast.
AltheHibby
09-04-2021, 01:11 PM
Respectful tweet to a Husband, father ext.
Regardless of your politics finding anger at Hibs stance just is just odd IMO.
Rip and a real shame he never made it to his telegram at 100. Thoughts are with his family.
That makes me smile at the thought of the Queen chucking it to him over breakfast and telling him he has mail.😀
monarch
:greengrin I believe you, but that was one of the best examples I've ever seen of a username catching someone out
Indeed !
Realised it when I saw my post appear on the screen :greengrin
That's the best bit of outrage I've seen on here since the guy complaining about being called a 'Unionist' had it pointed out to him that his avatar is a green 'Union' Jack
09-04-2021, 01:12 PM
I’m well aware that Hibs fans are a diverse bunch politically and have no problem with the club expressing sympathy at Prince Phillip’s death. It’s the “who had such a wonderful affinity with our city” which is over the top. He had nothing of the sort.
Well he had some affinity. He was Duke of Embra. He was in the navy and his old boat is moored in Leith.
09-04-2021, 01:15 PM
Yeah fair point.
It would be better if people worked constructively for a fairer society though. Getting triggered by an old man’s death and going big on the socials is just performative w*** in my view.
Green-Hibee-7
09-04-2021, 01:16 PM
It’s a totally irrelevant tweet to have made. There is lots of people that have more affinity with Edinburgh and more importantly Hibs who the club have never made an effort to remember.
Has nothing to do with football either.
Suppose fundamental job of any person working in marketing is to get footfall into their platforms so in that case it’s job done.
09-04-2021, 01:18 PM
Sends out the wrong message with how high profile racism is at the moment. Tweet a nice message about a racist passing away but we'll probably still "take the knee" in support of Kamara on Sunday. Really wish Hibs had just said nothing. Has done absolutely no good whatsoever.
ABZHFC
09-04-2021, 01:22 PM
Absolutely delighted to see the responses of folk on Twitter to that shambles of a tweet, makes me know I support the right club
Hearts v Alloa game is no longer on BBC Scotland tonight since, apparently, we must all be forced into mourning and normal life must be suspended. I despise sycophancy. I despise sycophants imposing their agenda on me even more.
09-04-2021, 01:28 PM
Yeah fair point.
It would be better if people worked constructively for a fairer society though. Getting triggered by an old man’s death and going big on the socials is just performative w*** in my view.
Yeah I wouldn't disagree with that.
I can somewhat understand why a disenfranchised class might lean upon some performative actions to feel part of something resembling a resistance, but no doubt it's not all that constructive.
I suppose the two aren't mutually exclusive, but there will certainly be a number of folk who only engage in social media noise.
09-04-2021, 01:31 PM
Hearts v Alloa game is no longer on BBC Scotland tonight since, apparently, we must all be forced into mourning and normal life must be suspended. I despise sycophancy. I despise sycophants imposing their agenda on me even more.
Incredible
09-04-2021, 01:32 PM
It's amazing how quickly some people can get offended these days. I see absolutely nothing wrong with the tweet from Hibs
09-04-2021, 01:33 PM
Seriously?
09-04-2021, 01:34 PM
Ridiculous. Thousands of folk losing loved ones for the last year and unable to attend their funeral, yet expected to put their lives on hold and mourn for some auld boy they’ve never met or cared about.
09-04-2021, 01:36 PM
The Hibs tweet doesn't raise an eyebrow for me, but having to have life change for the next few weeks, I can do without.
09-04-2021, 01:37 PM
Sends out the wrong message with how high profile racism is at the moment. Tweet a nice message about a racist passing away but we'll probably still "take the knee" in support of Kamara on Sunday. Really wish Hibs had just said nothing. Has done absolutely no good whatsoever.
It really doesn't! It is possible to say RIP to someone without sending any kind of a message beyond that sentiment.
09-04-2021, 01:37 PM
Games were cancelled when princess Diana died. I didn't agree with it at the time. I guess it counts as a precedent for this.
Can't mourn the loss of a live hearts game though!
09-04-2021, 01:38 PM
Not in the slightest bothered by Hibs tweet - I was, however, outraged when I went outside to BBQ lunch, stuck on 6 music and there was a friggin hour of tribute to Phil the Greek.
I mean, radio 4 I can understand, but 6 music................
p.s. I am only half joking, I am not really outraged, just had to switch on a non bbc channel
actually, edit that, its all ****ing day now..............
Seriously?
Yep, all BBC channels are taking the same rolling Prince Philip coverage.
Admittedly, this would have been hilarious if they could have won the league tonight.
09-04-2021, 01:40 PM
Admittedly, this would have been hilarious if they could have won the league tonight.
Thank f*** the masters is on and can watch tv all weekend without having to hear a word about it.
09-04-2021, 01:40 PM
Premiership clubs who have posted a tribute:
Rangers
Hibernian
Premiership clubs who have not:
Celtic
Aberdeen
Livingston
St Johnstone
Motherwell
St Mirren
Ross County
Dundee United
Hamilton
Kilmarnock
09-04-2021, 01:41 PM
Admittedly, this would have been hilarious if they could have won the league tonight.I don't think any of them realise how big Hearts are.
BBC Sportsound will get back to rolling 24 hours Hearts coverage asap to compensate.
09-04-2021, 01:42 PM
This is the tweet.
None at all.
09-04-2021, 01:43 PM
This is the tweet.
There isn’t any controversy J-C, haters will always hate.
09-04-2021, 01:44 PM
Hibs are late with the tweet in my opinion. He’s clearly been dead about 25 years.
Auld women in South Queensferry will rest easier tonight though! Philandering auld bigot.
09-04-2021, 01:46 PM
Rangers
Hibernian
Celtic
Aberdeen
Livingston
St Johnstone
Motherwell
St Mirren
Ross County
Dundee United
Hamilton
Kilmarnock
Let's see what it's like at the end of the day.
09-04-2021, 01:48 PM
Rangers
Hibernian
Celtic
Aberdeen
Livingston
St Johnstone
Motherwell
St Mirren
Ross County
Dundee United
Hamilton
Kilmarnock
Did Rangers break their social media silence in condemnation of racism to Tweet about Prince Philip the racist?
Can just imagine the thread when the queen snuffs it 🤣
No really, as much as I dont give a **** the club recognised he was the DO Edinburgh and as such felt it fit to mention it.
They were damned either way and I think they got it just about right.
Me, too. He was Duke of Edinburgh, we are Hibernian of Edinburgh. They mentioned his passing and sent condolences to his widow and family. What was wrong with that?
09-04-2021, 01:49 PM
None at all.
:agree: It's really quite sad reading some of the comments about this.
09-04-2021, 01:49 PM
This is the tweet.
No controversy but annoyance because the club has been asked in the past to use its public channels to pay tribute to people who have supported Hibs over a number of years and made significant contributions in the wider community. The club have said no to the requests, preferring to keep such tributes solely for former employees which is fine but now I’m not sure what Prince Phillip has done to warrant such a tribute ahead of numerous deserving Hibbies.
09-04-2021, 01:50 PM
Surely not makes no sense.
09-04-2021, 01:51 PM
Rangers
Hibernian
Celtic
Aberdeen
Livingston
St Johnstone
Motherwell
St Mirren
Ross County
Dundee United
Hamilton
Kilmarnock
Och no. Proof that Hibs are more loyalist than the Dons.
I’m off to eat my leprechaun.
09-04-2021, 01:51 PM
No controversy but annoyance because the club has been asked in the past to use its public channels to pay tribute to people who have supported Hibs over a number of years and made significant contributions in the wider community. The club have said no to the requests, preferring to keep such tributes solely for former employees which is fine but now I’m not sure what Prince Phillip has done to warrant such a tribute ahead of numerous deserving Hibbies.
Well, just so you are warned and cant say you are shocked - we will do exactly the same when the Queen falls off her perch.
The Baldmans Comb
09-04-2021, 01:53 PM
Absolutely agree. Sycophancy at its worst but thankfully for many reasons I don't waste any money on that organisation.
HTD1875
09-04-2021, 01:54 PM
Yeah right your royal highness, you’ve been rumbled 😂
09-04-2021, 01:54 PM
Utter carnage of a thread.
09-04-2021, 02:00 PM
Yeah but it's Hibs fault 🙄
09-04-2021, 02:06 PM
It is these type of comments that generally make threads worse. People are just giving opinions on what approach they might have preferred. Don’t think there has been much personal disrespect if any.
09-04-2021, 02:08 PM
It is these type of comments that generally make threads worse. People are just giving opinions on what approach they might have preferred. Don’t think there has been much personal disrespect if any.
Aye I’ve seen this comment a few times on the thread but wondered what makes it “carnage”.
People giving their opinions on it, big deal?
monarch
09-04-2021, 02:10 PM
Yeah right your royal highness, you’ve been rumbled 😂
Bow down to me or I’ll set my corgis on you 🤣
09-04-2021, 02:10 PM
I think we all need to take a breath, step back and remember what is really important here.
A huge public figure who has been part of this nations history (like it or not) has died....
and we got our tweet out about it a full hour before Hearts !!!!! WE WIN !!!! Get it right up you Jambos !
09-04-2021, 02:15 PM
I have to agree actually. Threads are open in order to debate... whenever the debate features very opposite and strong opinions, someone who can’t think of anything to contribute on either side posts that it’s “carnage” or a “car crash” instead. Always find it a bit strange and pointless.
Each to their ain though.
09-04-2021, 02:16 PM
Not in the slightest bothered by Hibs tweet - I was, however, outraged when I went outside to BBQ lunch, stuck on 6 music and there was a friggin hour of tribute to Phil the Greek.
I mean, radio 4 I can understand, but 6 music................
p.s. I am only half joking, I am not really outraged, just had to switch on a non bbc channel
actually, edit that, its all ****ing day now..............
If it’s not much hand wringing from the mealy mouthed it’s power ballads everywhere.
How are we supposed to dance to that?
09-04-2021, 02:19 PM
I think this is a fair point. The tweet doesn’t offend me (I’m not on Twitter for one thing) but I don’t think comment needed to be made, regardless of where he was ‘duke of’ and understand people taking issue with it.
09-04-2021, 02:22 PM
Ill judged from the club. Nothing to do with the club or wider community. Not offended in the slightest but there really was no need.
09-04-2021, 02:22 PM
I think we all need to take a breath, step back and remember what is really important here.
A huge public figure who has been part of this nations history (like it or not) has died....
and we got our tweet out about it a full hour before Hearts !!!!! WE WIN !!!! Get it right up you Jambos !
And they will be torn as they will want to pay theirown sycophantic respects to Mr the Duke of Edinburgh but at the same time they have had their match coverage cancelled by the Been! They won't know whether to be irate or not! Will be like a short circuit in their fragile little minds... 😁
09-04-2021, 02:25 PM
Would've preferred we just said nothing.
hibby rae
09-04-2021, 02:30 PM
So presumably they'll do a minutes silence on Sunday, followed by the players standing up to racism.
How ironic.
09-04-2021, 02:31 PM
So presumably they'll do a minutes silence on Sunday, followed by the players standing up to racism.
How ironic.
SPFL have said all matches this weekend are to do a minutes silence.
Roxyhibee
09-04-2021, 02:35 PM
Think we can all agree who the true prince was
09-04-2021, 02:35 PM
That’s a great post.
hibby rae
09-04-2021, 02:42 PM
So a minutes silence for the UK's best known racist followed by a condemnation of racism.
09-04-2021, 02:44 PM
So a minutes silence for the UK's best known racist followed by a condemnation of racism.
Couldn't make it up
AugustaHibs
09-04-2021, 02:44 PM
Carnage hahahahah come on eh
I'm going to have a minute's violence.
09-04-2021, 02:47 PM
An old racist with a nonce for a son. I've seen more deserving of minutes silence tbh.
09-04-2021, 02:51 PM
Rangers
Hibernian
Celtic
Aberdeen
Livingston
St Johnstone
Motherwell
St Mirren
Ross County
Dundee United
Hamilton
Kilmarnock
A bet between the Celtic and Hibs social media guys and the Celtic guy shat it.
Alternatively Hibs guy sets it up on the screen for a laugh and shows his pal who pushes the transmit button. Aw naw moment followed by loads of angry shoutin'
09-04-2021, 02:52 PM
An old racist with a nonce for a son. I've seen more deserving of minutes silence tbh.
09-04-2021, 02:52 PM
Whilst I'm not going to jump in and have a go at the club's twitter account, I also can't bring myself to condemn those voicing dissent. I'd be ****ing terrified if there wasn't any.Excellent post.
09-04-2021, 02:56 PM
I've never really read much of what the old bloke said in real life, so forgive my ignorance...
Why are so many people saying he was a racist? Is it really because of one silly comment he made in China over thirty years ago, or is it much more than that?
09-04-2021, 02:58 PM
I hate to use the phrase, but it is all just a bit pc - barely anyone in Scotland gives a monkeys about the royals, and yet the main tv and radio stations are gubbed for a day (minimum), all the parties stop campaigning, and theres a minutes silence for someone we all used to laugh at for his outdated racist views.
This is a mere amuse bouche, when the Queen goes we might as well go back to lockdown for a month or so - they will probably shut the pubs again..............
09-04-2021, 03:04 PM
Its weird how so many people have an opinion on things they dont care about.
Highwayman
09-04-2021, 03:11 PM
I can cope with a minutes silence.
I was more concerned that they would cancel all games this weekend as a mark of “respect”
09-04-2021, 03:13 PM
I've never really read much of what the old bloke said in real life, so forgive my ignorance...
What are so many people saying he was a racist? Is it really because of one silly comment he made in China over thirty years ago, or is it much more than that?
I think he's had a few moments, but believe that to be the worst of them.
There's an article that lists 25 comments but some of them are a bit of a stretch (there's one about drunken Scots that was actually quite funny).
He certainly doesn't come across as being open minded anyway, but whether they stack up to him being a racist I'm not so sure. It's a hard label to accurately stick on someone you don't know, particularly for a handful of inappropriate but (unfortunately) largely "of the time" comments from years ago.
https://mashable.com/2017/05/04/prince-philip-gaffes-list/
09-04-2021, 03:20 PM
I see the Hearts v Alloa match is no longer being shown on BBC Scotland tonight to show tributes etc instead. Possibly sparing embarrassment for Hearts but an utter nonsense that all channels being shelved. Where's the respect for having a nation of diversity where not everyone wants to down tools at the death of someone who means little to them. Plenty of space and coverage on the main channels.
09-04-2021, 03:23 PM
Rest in peace.
09-04-2021, 03:27 PM
Hibs once again showing more class than some posters on here.
09-04-2021, 03:27 PM
BLM has nothing to do with football and should have been left well alone.
R.I.P. Sir.
Sadly racism has a lot to do with football still. Have you been hiding?
09-04-2021, 03:28 PM
Its weird how so many people have an opinion on things they dont care about.
Is that something you care a great amount about?
09-04-2021, 03:44 PM
Not everyone looks apon him favourably to be fair.
hibby rae
09-04-2021, 03:46 PM
"In the aftermath of the Dunblane massacre in 1996, in which Thomas Hamilton killed 16 school children and one teacher, he weighed into the debate on gun control, claiming: “If a cricketer suddenly decided to go into a school and batter a lot of people to death with a cricket bat, are you going to ban cricket bats?”
That came three years after he told residents of Lockerbie following the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103: “People say after a fire it’s water damage that’s the worst. We’re still drying out Windsor Castle.”
I'd say criticising Hibs decision is perfectly reasonable. He was a horrible excuse of a man and it was poor judgement from Hibs.
09-04-2021, 03:51 PM
Well he had some affinity. He was Duke of Embra. He was in the navy and his old boat is moored in Leith.
Also once said to a Scottish driving instructor
"how do you keep the natives off the booze long enough to pass the test?"
Supposedly in complete seriousness
Perfectly Loud
09-04-2021, 03:54 PM
He sent a congratulatory telegram to AEK in 2001. I have that from an ITK source.
allmodcons
09-04-2021, 03:56 PM
What is that supposed mean?
He was 99 ffs and sat at the pinnacle of the class system.
I have nothing in common with him or any of his family.
All this stop and doff your cap pish makes me sick.
As a lifelong supporter of the Club, Hibs do not speak for me today.
09-04-2021, 03:56 PM
Supposedly in complete seriousness
And how did he?
09-04-2021, 03:59 PM
And how did he?
🤣
09-04-2021, 04:19 PM
Supposedly in complete seriousnessIt wouldn't have been serious at all.
I think after making tens of thousands of public appearances he got bored out his tits and his dodgy jokes came from this.
A (republican) pal of mine was a scientist/engineer designing top secret fighter plane stuff for MESL at Newbridge when Philip visited. After speaking to him for 3 minutes my mate was astonished at how bright he was - he wasn't permitted to tell Philip what he was working on, but apparently he worked out straight away what it was and posed pertinent questions about the various problems to be overcome.
Like everyone he had his faults, but he was anything but daft.
hibby rae
09-04-2021, 04:21 PM
👏👏
09-04-2021, 04:22 PM
There's an article that lists 25 comments but some of them are a bit of a stretch (there's one about drunken Scots that was actually quite funny).
He certainly doesn't come across as being open minded anyway, but whether they stack up to him being a racist I'm not so sure. It's a hard label to accurately stick on someone you don't know, particularly for a handful of inappropriate but (unfortunately) largely "of the time" comments from years ago.
Thanks
FWIW, I wasn't digging or anything, it was a genuine question
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:26 PM
An absolutely pathetic tweet from Hibs IMHO. You don't need to be a tryhard tricolour waver to have a bit of respect for our history as a club and where we came from.
We have no reason to pay our respects to a racist figurehead of the parasitic British monarchy and especially in such a servile manner.
Would be surprised if Prince Philip could point Leith, or even Edinburgh out on a map.
We have a new social media person which might explain a lot, hope they're getting their jotters soon enough the content's taken a nosedive even outwith today's shambles.
09-04-2021, 04:26 PM
Nothing against the man but it means the exact same to me as it would if any 99 year old man I'd never met passed away. With the greatest of respect, that's not an awful lot.
I would say though that the way the entire media has been overtaken by tributes to the man smells to me of establishment propaganda. All of BBC, ITV, Channel 4, even Sky Sports News with wall to wall coverage of what a great man he was. It's almost as if the Royals want us to believe they are fundamentally important to our lives.
09-04-2021, 04:27 PM
And is it Hibs job to speak for you?
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:29 PM
Apparently since they wrote "everyone at Hibernian", and if we the fans aren't included in that sentiment then they can bear that in mind the next time they make an "inclusive" video that flogs season tickets for £400.
09-04-2021, 04:31 PM
“We are all Hibs”
Apparently since they wrote "everyone at Hibernian", and if we the fans aren't included in that sentiment then they can bear that in mind the next time they make an "inclusive" video that flogs season tickets for £400.
:faf: Seriously...
correct on every level.
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:32 PM
:faf: Seriously...
It was merely anticipating the inevitable "WELL OBVIOUSLY THAT MEANT EVERYONE AT THE CLUB NOT THE FANS!!!!!" response that I would've got otherwise.
09-04-2021, 04:32 PM
Thanks
FWIW, I wasn't digging or anything, it was a genuine question
I'm sure it was - I asked myself the same question earlier which is how I found the article. :aok:
09-04-2021, 04:33 PM
started reading this loooong thread and got to here, not reading any further as this tweet sums it up for me perfectly.
09-04-2021, 04:34 PM
An absolutely pathetic tweet from Hibs IMHO. You don't need to be a tryhard tricolour waver to have a bit of respect for our history as a club and where we came from.
We have no reason to pay our respects to a racist figurehead of the parasitic British monarchy and especially in such a servile manner.
Would be surprised if Prince Philip could point Leith, or even Edinburgh out on a map.
We have a new social media person which might explain a lot, hope they're getting their jotters soon enough the content's taken a nosedive even outwith today's shambles.
A bit of an over reaction maybe?
I'm totally indifferent to Prince Philip & the rest of the royal family, but out of the 4 points you make I disagree with all of them.
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:35 PM
A bit of an over reaction maybe?
I'm totally indifferent to Prince Philip & the rest of the royal family, but out of the 4 points you make I disagree with all of them.
Putting it politely as I can it isn't a surprise that you and I don't see eye to eye on this. :aok:
09-04-2021, 04:35 PM
“We are all Hibs”
It just feels like the professionally outraged are determined to be upset about this. I understand why Hibs felt like they should put something out. The wording and content means absolutely nothing to me.
Are people seriously questioning their love of Hibs because of this? I find it bizarre.
I'll leave you all to it.
09-04-2021, 04:40 PM
Don't really care he's deid, don't really care the club tweeted about it, just a normal Friday for me chaps! I'm away for a cold one :thumbsup:
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:40 PM
It just feels like the professionally outraged are determined to be upset about this. I understand why Hibs felt like they should put something out. The wording and content means absolutely nothing to me.
Are people seriously questioning their love of Hibs because of this? I find it bizarre.
I wish I was getting paid to be "outraged" as you put it, but alas no.
I was at work today and it hadn't even occurred to me that Hibs would put out a tweet, there is zero connection or relevance between us and Philip.
When the Pope dies will we be expecting a similar tweet?
There's arguably more of a tangible connection to Hibs there, since we were a Catholic Men's Society when we formed.
09-04-2021, 04:41 PM
Putting it politely as I can it isn't a surprise that you and I don't see eye to eye on this. :aok:
What are you on about? You don't know anything about me.
Which bit of the tweet was servile?
Out of interest, why do you think Hibs have felt the need to put something out while the rest of the teams in the league, with one obvious exception, didn’t feel the need?
09-04-2021, 04:42 PM
I was at work today and it hadn't even occurred to me that Hibs would put out a tweet, there is zero connection or relevance between us and Philip.
There's arguably more of a tangible connection to Hibs there, since we were a Catholic Men's Society when we formed.
Aw man, you’ve just pushed the thread there, right there! :greengrin
Garymcl
09-04-2021, 04:43 PM
Can we just like the man himself put this to rest not a lover of royal family for many reasons but don’t exactly hate the individuals as in the past we have had requests to delete threads which have actually had more relevance to our club just my thoughts :flag:
09-04-2021, 04:44 PM
absolutely not. Love has nothing to do with it.
i love myself intensely yet manage to disappoint myself every single day :greengrin
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:44 PM
Which bit of the tweet was servile?
Giving it the "His Royal Highness" treatment is completely unnecessary.
Describe his affinity with the city as "wonderful" is an objective lie. He was given the title that was going spare, he couldn't give a toss.
"Our thoughts are with his family" is a bit more dignified than "Her Majesty the Queen and all the Royal Family".
09-04-2021, 04:45 PM
There's arguably more of a tangibles connection to Hibs there, since we were a Catholic Men's Society when we formed.
One is part of the British royal family and the Duke or Edinburgh, we are a team based in Edinburgh and that is part of Great Britain.
The other is some head Wizard of some past its sell by date cult in a small enclave in Italy which has an even more tenuous connection to modern day Hibs.
09-04-2021, 04:46 PM
Describe his affinity with the city as "wonderful" is an objective lie. He was given the title that was going spare, he couldn't give a toss.
"Our thoughts are with his family" is a bit more dignified than "Her Majesty the Queen and all the Royal Family".
He had a crash pad here. Partied here every summer.
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:47 PM
One is part of the British royal family and the Duke or Edinburgh, we are a team based in Edinburgh and that is part of Great Britain.
The other is some head Wizard of some past its sell by date cult in a small enclave in Italy which has an even more tenuous connection to modern day Hibs.
The Royal Family, of course, famously known for not being an archaic cult well past its sell by date.
09-04-2021, 04:48 PM
It is his official title though? It's possible to be respectful, which this tweet is, without having any kind of hidden meaning or message other than what is means at surface value?
And how do you know he didn't give a toss about you edinburgh as a place? You are making stuff up!
09-04-2021, 04:49 PM
It is his official title though? It's possible to be respectful, which this tweet is, without having any kind of hidden meaning or message other than what is means at surface value?
And how do you know he didn't give a toss about you edinburgh as a place? You are making stuff up!
This guy has managed to get me annoyed over something I don't care about. That's some going.
09-04-2021, 04:49 PM
Why are so many people saying he was a racist? Is it really because of one silly comment he made in China over thirty years ago, or is it much more than that?
Cant stand the what the Royal Family are and cant understand those who still doth their cap to them...however..
Hes a human being with family who love him..So rip..
09-04-2021, 04:50 PM
The Royal Family, of course, famously known for not being an archaic cult well past its sell by date.
Of course they are, but that wasn't my point.
hibsfan
I certainly would not say that I am someone who supports the royal family. However, the fact that fans are complaining about the club tweeting our condolences is embarrassing. Here is a man who took the name of our city across the globe, the connection between the club and the city is what was being celebrated here, as well as the life of a 99 year old man.
Well done Hibs - correct decision and some people need to have a long, hard look in the mirror.
This guy has managed to get me annoyed over something I don't care about. That's some going.
What did I do? 😁
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 04:51 PM
I've said my piece on this now. It's a stupid thing for Hibs to tweet and, if they were going to insist on commemorating an elderly racist who married his cousin he fell in love with when she was 13 and he was 18, they could have maybe done it with a bit less forelock tugging than something that belongs on a noticeboard outside the Louden Tavern.
Have a good Friday all. :aok:
09-04-2021, 04:52 PM
Out of interest, why do you think Hibs have felt the need to put something out while the rest of the teams in the league, with one obvious exception, didn’t feel the need?
Maybe it felt like a respectful thing to do?
09-04-2021, 04:52 PM
He had a crash pad here. Partied here every summer.
I heard he actually had a Hibs season Ticket, but the club aren't allowed to tell anybody.
He used to frequent Robbie's, on the Walk, fairly regularly, though he was actually banned from the nearby Chinese Takeaway for an unspecified 'incident'.
09-04-2021, 04:53 PM
I've said my piece on this now. It's a stupid thing for Hibs to tweet and, if they were going to insist on commemorating an elderly racist who married his cousin he fell in love with when she was 13 and he was 18, they could have maybe done it with a bit less forelock tugging than something that belongs on a noticeboard outside the Louden Tavern.
Have a good Friday all. :aok:
Have you been binge watching the Crown this lockdown
🤣
09-04-2021, 04:55 PM
What did I do? 😁
Don't you start too!
09-04-2021, 04:56 PM
Don't you start too!
🤣
09-04-2021, 05:01 PM
Hibs have just released another Tweet that, as a tribute to Phil The Greek, they're reintroducing the old Crown badge for next season.
:duck:
09-04-2021, 05:02 PM
Unfortunately we have no one left at the club who understands Hibs and their fans, all moved on
Had a quick look at the Twitter feedback, and there are a lot of good Hibs supports that I know, not very happy
Ron if you’re looking in, this and the David Tanner saga on Hibs pass, hasn’t gone down well with our support, get it sorted
09-04-2021, 05:10 PM
There's a time to call out the monarchy (and its role in our society) for all of its many faults. This is not that time.
09-04-2021, 05:13 PM
Unfortunately we have no one left at the club who understands Hibs and their fans, all moved on
Had a quick look at the Twitter feedback, and there are a lot of good Hibs supports that I know, not very happy
Ron if you’re looking in, this and the David Tanner saga on Hibs pass, hasn’t gone down well with our support, get it sorted
I think most at the club understand hibs and their fans.
Football twitter is a load of fuds. I worry if those are good hibs supporters.
09-04-2021, 05:31 PM
I am a Hibs fan and have no issues with this tweet though.
09-04-2021, 05:32 PM
There's a time to call out the monarchy (and its role in our society) for all of its many faults. This is not that time.
Hear Hear! The way to remember The Duke is to respect his war record against the forces of evil. Most people on these boards can have no conception of what that must have been like.
Thank you sir and thanks to your comrades on the seas who saved us from tyranny.
09-04-2021, 05:34 PM
I think most at the club understand hibs and their fans.
Football twitter is a load of fuds. I worry if those are good hibs supporters.
I use Twitter all the time to discuss football. There are plenty great users and I enjoy it. Am I a ‘fud’? It’s daft to believe .net good Hibs fans, social media bad.
I’ve not seen it mentioned but another black mark against Prince Phillip, in mine and many Hibs fans opinion, was his membership of the Masons. Good on Prince Charles for refusing to join.
09-04-2021, 05:39 PM
Like a lot of cantankerous old people, his views were a bit out of touch.
I’m not defending that, but this colossal outrage is ridiculous.
If you want to tackle racism, how about starting with the current UK government, which commissioned a report to deny institutional racism exists.
Anyone remember the Windrush scandal?
I don’t recall a similar level of outrage about that.
I'm assuming that those who have labelled him, "The Racist Prince", have NEVER told a racist joke or made some off-color remarks in their past? Let he who is without sin and all that good stuff.
09-04-2021, 05:46 PM
Tom Hall (@ScotFootBlog) Tweeted: Shameless steal from Facebook: Prince Philip introduced to royalty. #hibs https://t.co/JTv6eD9f2L https://twitter.com/ScotFootBlog/status/1380567746690355202?s=20
What some people will do so that they can watch the greatest football team.
09-04-2021, 05:50 PM
:faf: Is that you Arlene? I claim my ten pounds.
09-04-2021, 05:54 PM
Like a lot of cantankerous old people, his views were a bit out of touch.
I’m not defending that, but this colossal outrage is ridiculous.
If you want to tackle racism, how about starting with the current UK government, which commissioned a report to deny institutional racism exists.
Anyone remember the Windrush scandal?
I don’t recall a similar level of outrage about that.
If you don't recall similar outrage then I think you're misremembering. The fact we're talking about it 3 years or so later, and calling it a 'scandal' tells me folk were/are plenty outraged about it - and rightly so.
A very significant public figure has died and the institution that he was a part of inevitably comes into the forefront of discourse once again. It's just whataboutery to be telling people to disregard Philip's racist comments, the royal family's colonial past etc and move on to other things. Of course there are more pressing issues, but this is absolutely always the case, for everything, people can give their energy to multiple issues at once. I should mention that I think your intentions are good, by the way, I just don't agree that there's a mutual exclusivity to outrage.
FWIW the vast majority of Hibs related replies were just saying 'delete this' and the like, I wouldn't label that outrage personally but I don't mind if some people would.
09-04-2021, 05:58 PM
:faf: Is that you Arlene? I claim my ten pounds.
Come on Arlene? 🤣
09-04-2021, 05:58 PM
Worth remembering the lasting impression his scheme had on young people.
https://twitter.com/aaroncuffe/status/1380496115536179203?s=21
09-04-2021, 06:04 PM
Guess he's deed then?
Like we all will be one day, most of us don't get to lead his life of luxury. To be fair most of us don't want to marry a relative, we got together with whilst she was still a child, but hey ho, great guy & all that.
09-04-2021, 06:10 PM
I'm assuming that those who have labelled him, "The Racist Prince", have NEVER told a racist joke or made some off-color remarks in their past? Let he who is without sin and all that good stuff.
Probably a fair assumption. Are you in the habit of making racist jokes?
09-04-2021, 06:16 PM
Tell you what. Gideon Coe is playing some beautiful music on Radio 6 just now. Mourning or not, it's perfect for a Friday evening.
Gaun yersel, Chooky.
Probably a fair assumption. Are you in the habit of making racist jokes?
I'm certainly not in the habit of making racist jokes, but I can put my hand up and say that in the past, I have indeed made racist jokes. i just wish others would be as honest before labelling someone else a racist for comments they made in the past.
09-04-2021, 06:22 PM
It's posts like this that make me realise, and glad, that there are some people with whom the only thing I have in common is our love of Hibs. I really don't think it's too much to ask that on the day someone dies that unless you have something decent to say you don't say anything. Posts like this show a lack of awareness that the post says far more about the person posting than it does about the intended target.
Santa Cruz
09-04-2021, 06:25 PM
It's posts like this that make me realise, and glad, that there are some people with whom the only thing I have in common is our love of Hibs. I really don't think it's too much to ask that on the day someone dies that unless you have something decent to say you don't say anything. Posts like this show a lack of awareness that the post says far more about the person posting than it does about the intended target.
09-04-2021, 06:31 PM
🤣🤣
09-04-2021, 06:31 PM
Like or not, the monarchy is a divisive issue in Scotland, and it was inevitable some people would react angrily to the club's tweet. I lean towards your way of thinking, even though I'm no monarchist, but I understand where folk are coming from when they say Hibs should just stay out of it. I'm guessing most sports organisations across the UK haven't commented.
The Pointer
09-04-2021, 06:41 PM
Absolutely spot on. There are indeed some ignorant, bitter people on this site.
norhfc
09-04-2021, 06:43 PM
I don’t think it’s just Hibs fans who are generally disinterested in the royal family. We all know our history and that is definitely a factor here but the general public apathy is real. I think when the Queen eventually leaves us the royals will slip into a tourist attraction and nothing else.
09-04-2021, 06:44 PM
It's posts like this that make me realise, and glad, that there are some people with whom the only thing I have in common is our love of Hibs. I really don't think it's too much to ask that on the day someone dies that unless you have something decent to say you don't say anything. Posts like this show a lack of awareness that the post says far more about the person posting than it does about the intended target.Great post.
allmodcons
09-04-2021, 06:44 PM
What a condescending post that is.
Just because someone dies are we then supposed to respect him or her in spite of our opinion of them prior to their death.
I have nothing in common with the Royal Family, in fact, I would go as far as to say I despise everything they stand for and yet I am expected to show some respect when one of them passes away.
Where do you draw the line when standing on your pedestal? Are we not allowed to pass comment on anyone who dies "unless you have something decent to say" about them?
09-04-2021, 06:46 PM
Well said .
09-04-2021, 06:46 PM
If Hibs hadn’t said anything, we wouldn’t be having this discussion
09-04-2021, 06:52 PM
Just because someone dies are we then supposed to respect him or her in spite of our opinion of them prior to their death.
I have nothing in common with the Royal Family, in fact, I would go as far as to say I despise everything they stand for and yet I am expected to show some respect when one of them passes away.
Where do you draw the line when standing on your pedestal? Are we not allowed to pass comment on anyone who dies "unless you have something decent to say" about them?
I danced a wee jig when Thatcher died. That was a great day.:greengrin
09-04-2021, 06:54 PM
:agree: Absolutely agree, well said.
If you really don't have anything nice to say on a topic like this I believe it's best to say nothing. There's plenty of other opportunities to make your feelings known about the Royal Family and I do just that as I'm not a fan.
I think it's pretty depressing reading a few of the posts on here and, in particular, on Twitter.
allmodcons
09-04-2021, 06:56 PM
I danced a wee jig when Thatcher died. That was a great day.:greengrin
So did I but apparently that's not Hibs class.
James310
09-04-2021, 06:59 PM
You despise everything they stand for? Even fighting the Nazi's in WW2 as the Duke of Edinburgh did. Or maybe you despise him helping setting up the WWF and helping raise awareness of endangered species around the world. Or maybe setting up the Duke of Edinburgh awards that have helped many young people all over the commonwealth.
You may dislike the Royals and that's your choice, but I wonder if you really despise everything they have done.
As an aside, the person who summed up his life and legacy the best today for me was Nicola Sturgeon on TV earlier.
09-04-2021, 07:01 PM
Can't understand the need to tweet.
He was a racist, but all seems to be forgotten about and he is now a pillar of community:aok:
09-04-2021, 07:08 PM
You despise everything they stand for? Even fighting the Nazi's in WW2 as the Duke of Edinburgh did. Or maybe you despise him helping setting up the WWF and helping raise awareness of endangered species around the world. Or maybe setting up the Duke of Edinburgh awards that have helped many young people all over the commonwealth.
You may dislike the Royals and that's your choice, but I wonder if you really despise everything they have done.
As an aside, the person who summed up his life and legacy the best today for me was Nicola Sturgeon on TV earlier.
He never setup the WWF, Vince McMahon did.
James310
09-04-2021, 07:12 PM
I said he "helped" set it up.
"The Duke of Edinburgh is the patron of many organisations, including WWF and the Duke of Edinburgh Award. The Duke was the first President of WWF-UK from its foundation in 1961 to 1982, and President of WWF-International from 1981 to 1996. He is now President Emeritus for WWF"
09-04-2021, 07:13 PM
"The Duke of Edinburgh is the patron of many organisations, including WWF and the Duke of Edinburgh Award. The Duke was the first President of WWF-UK from its foundation in 1961 to 1982, and President of WWF-International from 1981 to 1996. He is now President Emeritus for WWF"
I think you may just have had a whoosh moment there. :greengrin
09-04-2021, 07:14 PM
:greengrin:greengrin
James310
09-04-2021, 07:15 PM
Ah indeed I have. Was never a Hulk Hogan fan.
09-04-2021, 07:15 PM
allmodcons
09-04-2021, 07:16 PM
Spare me the Royal Family fought the Nazis ***** ffs. Here is a sample of the man we are being told was something special.
This in 1988:-
"In the event that I am reincarnated, I would like to return as a deadly virus to contribute something to solving overpopulation"
and this during the recession in 1981
"a few years ago everybody was saying we must have more leisure everyone is working too much. Now that everybody's got more leisure time they are complaining they are unemployed"
Jimmy Saville raised huge amounts of money for charity. It's ****ing easy when you are in a privileged position.
09-04-2021, 07:16 PM
😂😂😂 belting post.
09-04-2021, 07:17 PM
he was a funny man, quite similar thoughts on world population as the Buffoon Prime ministers Father has
https://scontent.fman1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.6435-9/171744149_1596114607444328_4143083422328391184_n.j pg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=Xm_W6jIVjDwAX9CiN1z&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=53ea7effa97497d4903031d51997ce4a&oe=60965013
Can't understand the need to tweet.
He was a racist, but all seems to be forgotten about and he is now a pillar of community:aok:
I dont believe he was a racist although he did make some racist comments. To be honest it would be hard to find many 99yo that hadnt done so. Even though I am half his age I said things in the past that embarrass me now.
09-04-2021, 07:21 PM
I dont believe he was a racist although he did make some racist comments. To be honest it would be hard to find many 99yo that hadnt done so. Even though I am half his age I said things in the past that embarrass me now.
You're on Hibs.net. It's compulsory.
09-04-2021, 07:21 PM
Slitty eyes, and spear chucking comments, suggest he was racist, and rather silly to boot
Renfrew_Hibby
09-04-2021, 07:22 PM
:applause::applause::applause: well said.
09-04-2021, 07:25 PM
Slitty eyes, and spear chucking comments, suggest he was racist, and rather silly to boot
Unfortunately he came from a different generation than us, not that I’m excusing him
As you said earlier, Hibs should have never have tweeted what they did
09-04-2021, 07:25 PM
I’m sure he had to put in lots of hard graft as a patron for these orgs, shake a few few hands maybe, possibly deliver a speech written for him by someone else.
09-04-2021, 07:26 PM
😂😂😂
I don’t think it’s just Hibs fans who are generally disinterested in the royal family. We all know our history and that is definitely a factor here but the general public apathy is real. I think when the Queen eventually leaves us the royals will slip into a tourist attraction and nothing else.
Nationalise their assets and open them up for everyone to see. That would be a far bigger attraction for tourist.
Monarchies are a joke.
A few people on here who must have known him pretty well, given how confidently they speak of his feelings and knowledge of where Edinburgh is
09-04-2021, 07:40 PM
Nationalise their assets and open them up for everyone to see. That would be a far bigger attraction for tourist.
Monarchies are a joke.
When the queen eventually dies, that would be perfect moment to bring the monarchy to an end, in my humble opinion. It's a medieval anachronism, irrelevant to a twenty-first century democracy. It's long past time the British class system was dismantled. Progressive political parties should be arguing the case for abolition.
HibeeHibernian4
09-04-2021, 07:47 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZvjUXgwJP4&ab_channel=AntifaHibs
09-04-2021, 07:48 PM
If he hadn't got together with his 13 year old cousin, we would never have heard of the old bigot, good riddance.