View Full Version : Prince Phillip

Pages : 1 2 [3]

15-04-2021, 12:49 PM
I think Charles will be a big step back in comparison to the Queen, & perception/acceptance may also be affected by whether or not Camilla takes the title of queen, but there seems more appetite for a William monarchy.

The grown, physically not mentally, men i've seen that worship the royals can't wait to see a real live King Billy.

stu in nottingham
15-04-2021, 01:12 PM
In all honesty I have never known any straight man to worship the Royals.
When you see any parade they are involved in they are attended by women and tourists.

To give but one example, I read a local football forum recently where one gent proclaimed he would 'die for that family'. (That the next poster said he wouldn't give them the steam off his pish is neither here nor there.) :wink:

Sadly, there are plenty of male knuckledraggers and serfs who write in similarly to the local rag,.

Steven79
15-04-2021, 02:35 PM
When you see any parade they are involved in they are attended by women and tourists.

When the Queen dies I can't see the Royals being box office anymore.
Charles will prop it up for a while but the direction of travel will be very much down.

I know a few but they are all down south and Tory voters.

15-04-2021, 05:09 PM
BBC receives 109,741 complaints over Prince Philip coverage - BBC News (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-56756296)

The BBC has confirmed it received 109,741 complaints from the public over its coverage of the Duke of Edinburgh's death

The figure makes the coverage of Prince Philip's death the most complained-about piece of programming in BBC history.

However, many viewers turned away as the day wore on, with ITV's Friday night audience declining by 60% in comparison to the previous week, according to overnight figures.

The most-watched programme on a single channel that evening was Channel 4's Gogglebox, with 4.2 million viewers.

thank goodness for IPTV and Netflix :greengrin

15-04-2021, 05:31 PM

When the Queen dies I can't see the Royals being box office anymore.
Charles will prop it up for a while but the direction of travel will be very much down.

Rangers fans aren’t shy of worshiping the Royals. Some of them are probably straight.

15-04-2021, 06:25 PM
An American view. It's clueless as you would expect.

"Well when someone is close to 100 years of age, there is no tragedy. The tragedy is that the Queen and Prince Philip refused to speak out publicly when the UK was going down the drain. And now it is a Fascist/Communist country which has been taken over by foreign and internal enemies. No real monarch would have silently stood by while traitors ruled the roost. The monarchy itself was an anachronism, and should have ended when Canada became an independent country."

A communist country with Bojo at the helm? 🤣

15-04-2021, 06:54 PM

And loads of Queens?

15-04-2021, 07:31 PM
Rangers fans aren’t shy of worshiping the Royals. Some of them are probably straight.

I can't see that worship being reciprocated.
Unrequited love is the worst.

15-04-2021, 07:54 PM
Are those not complaining about too much coverage of the royal death maybe not watching too much telly in the first place? Given the choices of viewing available I don’t really understand why there has been such a furore over it.
Must be years since I sat and flicked between BBC and ITV seeing what happened to be on.

15-04-2021, 08:44 PM
Are those not complaining about too much coverage of the royal death maybe not watching too much telly in the first place? Given the choices of viewing available I don’t really understand why there has been such a furore over it.
Must be years since I sat and flicked between BBC and ITV seeing what happened to be on.

I get that too. But I also think it’s a bit ott to have the state broadcaster cancel all viewing on all channels and take BBC Scotland off the air altogether.

Suzanna Reid also getting flack for not wearing black in this week of national mourning 🙄

15-04-2021, 09:09 PM

I’ve not watched any of the coverage - none....but I still think it was way out of proportion to change the schedules in the way they did....I noticed that BBC 6 was still playing instrumentals over the weekend...ridiculous....

16-04-2021, 06:42 AM
Just listening to Today, radio 4s heavyweight news programme. They have a table expert on. He is in Greece being interviewed about the table that Phil was born on. They are speculating on the strength of the table, what an amazing table it is/was etc.

Thank **** this will all be over by tomorrow.

16-04-2021, 07:59 AM
Are the souvenir funeral tea cosies and towels on sale yet? I'd hate to miss out.

16-04-2021, 08:11 AM
Just listening to Today, radio 4s heavyweight news programme. They have a table expert on. He is in Greece being interviewed about the table that Phil was born on. They are speculating on the strength of the table, what an amazing table it is/was etc.

Thank **** this will all be over by tomorrow.

Hearts fans will have been lapping it up. They love a special table. They spent months banging on about one they finished bottom of but shouldn't have been relegated from.

16-04-2021, 08:27 AM
Hearts fans will have been lapping it up. They love a special table. They spent months banging on about one they finished bottom of but shouldn't have been relegated from.

:greengrin I like the direction you’ve gone in here. I wonder what table Craig Levein was born on. Something collapsible, like his pelvic floor. A card table?

16-04-2021, 08:47 AM
Are the souvenir funeral tea cosies and towels on sale yet? I'd hate to miss out.Just as soon as the Chinese manufacturer and supplier gets the container through Dover, out in time for Xmas. Advance orders exclusively through the guy behind the bar at Matt Hancock's Local.

16-04-2021, 01:29 PM
:greengrin I like the direction you’ve gone in here. I wonder what table Craig Levein was born on. Something collapsible, like his pelvic floor. A card table?

:greengrin Based on his performance with Graeme Hogg at Stark's Park, maybe a volatile and uns table?

16-04-2021, 06:42 PM
Anyone going to watch the funeral tomorrow?

It's an absolutely not from me.

16-04-2021, 06:51 PM
I'd describe myself as a republican and have no interest in watching the funeral, but I can sympathise on a human level.

On that note, this comment from the Archbishop of Canterbury about the Queen really irked me.

"She will behave with the extraordinary dignity, extraordinary courage that she always does".

She'll behave how she wants at her husband's funeral you self-important twat.

16-04-2021, 08:15 PM
Row about uniforms must surely include Edward who dropped out of the marines within a month.

Maybe he can wear the uniform of the Royal Artillery Concert Party.

16-04-2021, 08:18 PM
Row about uniforms must surely include Edward who dropped out of the marines within a month.

Maybe he can wear the uniform of the Royal Artillery Concert Party.Ain't Half Hot Mum wardrobe department have an entire range of costumes that adequately reflect their actual service.

16-04-2021, 08:35 PM

I’ll be enjoying my daughters 2nd birthday.

Santa Cruz
16-04-2021, 08:46 PM
I’ll be enjoying my daughters 2nd birthday.

Hope you all have a fab day, especially the birthday girl.

16-04-2021, 08:51 PM

I’ll probably watch a few minutes of it , it’s a historic occasion. I am fairly confident it won’t make me any less Republican but if my avatar tomorrow is a Union Jack and my signature is a link to Elton John singing Candle in the Wind at Princess Diana’s funeral you will know they have got me . Just leave me to my fate , save yourselves. :greengrin

16-04-2021, 08:53 PM

Digging up the crazy paving in the garden, myself.

17-04-2021, 07:29 AM

I'll probably watch a little of the overall coverage today - not sure if it'll be the actual funeral though as I'm out for a walk this afternoon.

17-04-2021, 09:36 AM

A wee wander/bevvy down The Water of Leith for us.

17-04-2021, 09:41 AM
If it had been raining and miserable I probably would have watched it.

As it is it's a lovely day so I won't be staying in to watch any TV.

17-04-2021, 09:42 AM

I’m working but if I wasn’t I would certainly be watching it.

17-04-2021, 09:51 AM
I'll probably watch a little of the overall coverage today - not sure if it'll be the actual funeral though as I'm out for a walk this afternoon.

Not sure the actual funeral is being broadcast?

17-04-2021, 10:58 AM
I'm going out and have no interest in watching the full thing but I'll no doubt see the highlights on the news tonight.

17-04-2021, 11:18 AM

no. Not out of any anti-Royal feeling (though I’m not a fan), it just doesn’t hold any interest for me.

it’s a beautiful day, I’ll be out in the sun pretending to exercise.

17-04-2021, 12:19 PM
It’s all gone a bit Wimbledon MK Dons on here.

For the record, I won’t be watching it.

17-04-2021, 12:21 PM
Is there something on the telly (BBC) today?

17-04-2021, 12:22 PM
I'm going out and have no interest in watching the full thing but I'll no doubt see the highlights on the news tonight.

Do you think Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher will have the touchscreen and discussing the formation.

17-04-2021, 01:04 PM
Not a royals fan but I will be watching it, it’s part of history. Will watch it on my phone whilst sitting in the garden with a nice cold cider.

17-04-2021, 01:08 PM
Do you think Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher will have the touchscreen and discussing the formation.

17-04-2021, 01:31 PM

Princess Anne is always a threat at set pieces.

Bangkok Hibby
17-04-2021, 01:35 PM
8.30 at night here. Blissfully unaware. Is it over? Has it started? Are there outpourings of grief?

EH6 Hibby
17-04-2021, 01:37 PM
Just seen a video on Facebook with hundreds of people gathered outside Windsor. What is wrong with people? The family have specifically asked people not to turn up, and have confirmed that no part of the funeral will be visible from outside so what’s the point?

17-04-2021, 02:01 PM
Is he in the ground yet?

It's really of no historical importance unless as a distraction from real, actual goings on.

17-04-2021, 02:20 PM
It’s all gone a bit Wimbledon MK Dons on here.

For the record, I won’t be watching it.I wasn't even invited, never stopped me not going to the Don's Derby but a line has to be drawn somewhere.

17-04-2021, 02:46 PM
Princess Anne is always a threat at set pieces.

And Andrew enjoys playing with a front two.

Stairway 2 7
17-04-2021, 02:52 PM
He believes in the same moto Alex ferguson had , if your good enough your old enough

17-04-2021, 02:54 PM
Just seen a video on Facebook with hundreds of people gathered outside Windsor. What is wrong with people? The family have specifically asked people not to turn up, and have confirmed that no part of the funeral will be visible from outside so what’s the point?

Can’t wait for the coppers to advance truncheons banging against the riot shields ready to crack some heads.

Oh wait that’s just miners and women.

EH6 Hibby
17-04-2021, 03:28 PM
Can’t wait for the coppers to advance truncheons banging against the riot shields ready to crack some heads.

Oh wait that’s just miners and women.

That’s exactly what I was thinking, look at their reaction to the women’s safety march a few weeks ago. I’m not saying they should be responding with violence, but surely they should be telling those people that they can’t be there.

17-04-2021, 05:12 PM
Surely there was no need for huge numbers of military personnel to attend. They aren't doing anything necessary. Also what is the score with all the medals, do they get them for shooting grouse. Glad it is all over as I can now listen to BBC radio again and not have some sycophant telling me how wonderful a man he was. At least we will get a day off when the queen pops her clogs( I wish her no ill). That will be some payback for the almost compulsory BBC license fee and the wasted weeks for Royal deaths that are no value to many.

The Queen has also been about as good as it gets for a monarch and I suspect it all might unravel when she goes, fingers crossed it does.

17-04-2021, 05:36 PM
Phillip didn't want any fuss. Well apart from the 60 soldiers, cannons, brass band, choir singers, multiple priests and a specially designed land rover.

17-04-2021, 05:59 PM
My only observation of the day is that the image of the Queen sitting alone was sad. She looked like an old woman who had lost her husband of 70+ years.

Countless people will have endured that during the pandemic and I don't feel any more or less sorry for her on a human level.

Beyond that it was as expected. Fine if you like that sort of thing, a massive waste of time and money if you don't.

17-04-2021, 06:32 PM
My only observation of the day is that the image of the Queen sitting alone was sad. She looked like an old woman who had lost her husband of 70+ years

Must be so hard having to deal with a loss of a loved one and also be broadcast to the whole world. Wouldnt swap all their money for that life.

Renfrew_Hibby
17-04-2021, 06:34 PM
Phillip didn't want any fuss. Well apart from the 60 soldiers, cannons, brass band, choir singers, multiple priests and a specially designed land rover.

Aye and the original guest list that he drew up only had a very modest 1000 names on.

stu in nottingham
17-04-2021, 06:38 PM
Aye and the original guest list that he drew up only had a very modest 1000 names on.

In addition, quoted on BBC radio as 700 servicemen being involved.

17-04-2021, 06:45 PM
Well, thank Dog that's all over with.

I dread to think what the level of coverage will be like when Betty finally pops her clogs.

18-04-2021, 07:12 AM
That’s exactly what I was thinking, look at their reaction to the women’s safety march a few weeks ago. I’m not saying they should be responding with violence, but surely they should be telling those people that they can’t be there.

Yup. But as we know in the UK we aren't "all in this together". It's been clear since Barnard Castle that the rules apply differently depending on your proximity to power and wealth.

I'd like a journalist in this country to ask some questions about why this crowd ignoring social distancing has been treated completely differently to the one you mentioned above but that would get in the way of the sycophancy so I won't hold my breath.

18-04-2021, 07:16 AM
Yesterday's news.

Can we move on to more important things 😉

18-04-2021, 08:41 AM
Yesterday's news.

Can we move on to more important things 😉

MK Dons got a last minute winner. But I wasn’t watching.

18-04-2021, 08:57 AM
My only observation of the day is that the image of the Queen sitting alone was sad. She looked like an old woman who had lost her husband of 70+ years.

Countless people will have endured that during the pandemic and I don't feel any more or less sorry for her on a human level.

Beyond that it was as expected. Fine if you like that sort of thing, a massive waste of time and money if you don't.

Her having to sit alone is a great illustration of how arbitrary, ill-considered, and cruel Boris Johnson’s covid rules have become. Compare that this was occurring whilst central London was busy with people dining and drinking.

He lied to her over proroguing parliament and he imposed this rule on her. If she won’t give Blair an honour for tge way he handled Di’s death Johnson must have even less chance!

18-04-2021, 09:02 AM
A final tribute to Prince Philip and the 'Royal Family'...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6FU0cgg9ko

18-04-2021, 09:06 AM
A final tribute to Prince Philip and the 'Royal Family'...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D6FU0cgg9koThis one might actually be real.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/cefb0b0dc01c16cccbed3c66ebdd6ac8.jpg

18-04-2021, 09:30 AM
Watched it this morning, very poignant and a historic moment . So sad to see the Queen looking so frail and sitting alone.

18-04-2021, 06:31 PM
Well, thank Dog that's all over with.

I dread to think what the level of coverage will be like when Betty finally pops her clogs.

I'll have a month abroad.

18-04-2021, 07:08 PM
Yesterday's news.

Can we move on to more important things [emoji6]Not till I've posted a picture of Andrew and his medals :greengrinhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/7fc60c36a5a41c0c2455aab9a8e8ce70.jpg

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

18-04-2021, 07:11 PM
Not till I've posted a picture of Andrew and his medals :greengrinhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/7fc60c36a5a41c0c2455aab9a8e8ce70.jpg

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

18-04-2021, 07:14 PM
Not till I've posted a picture of Andrew and his medals :greengrinhttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/7fc60c36a5a41c0c2455aab9a8e8ce70.jpg

Sent from my CPH2009 using TapatalkThat's superb! [emoji1787]

19-04-2021, 09:06 PM
I'm not a Monarchy fan at all, in fact I am very much against it. I believe its an extremely outdated institution and for me it no longer has a place in modern society and I think its shameful that we plough millions into them when we have people in this country living in poverty, having to attend food banks to feed themselves and their families etc etc but some of the comments on social media have been cruel and pretty bad taste over this death.

The Queen, whether or not you agree with having a Royal family etc, is still an old lady who has lost her husband of over 70 years so as a fellow human being I felt sadness for her. She may have unlimited wealth and privilege etc but nothing can make up for losing a loved one.

Some people need to learn a bit of humanity and compassion. What happened to the whole "#BeKind" stuff that we were so quick to spout off about after the Caroline Flack suicide last year? Or do we just pick and choose who we apply that too?

Come on folks, nobody is asking you to start crying into the Union Jack flag and sing GSTQ in an act of mourning but what happened to the old saying of "if you haven't got anything nice to say, dont say anything at all".

19-04-2021, 11:10 PM
I'm not a Monarchy fan at all, in fact I am very much against it. I believe its an extremely outdated institution and for me it no longer has a place in modern society and I think its shameful that we plough millions into them when we have people in this country living in poverty, having to attend food banks to feed themselves and their families etc etc but some of the comments on social media have been cruel and pretty bad taste over this death.

The Queen, whether or not you agree with having a Royal family etc, is still an old lady who has lost her husband of over 70 years so as a fellow human being I felt sadness for her. She may have unlimited wealth and privilege etc but nothing can make up for losing a loved one.

Some people need to learn a bit of humanity and compassion. What happened to the whole "#BeKind" stuff that we were so quick to spout off about after the Caroline Flack suicide last year? Or do we just pick and choose who we apply that too?

Come on folks, nobody is asking you to start crying into the Union Jack flag and sing GSTQ in an act of mourning but what happened to the old saying of "if you haven't got anything nice to say, dont say anything at all".

Great post, completely agree.

20-04-2021, 07:47 AM
Is this thread still not dead? 😉

20-04-2021, 08:07 AM
Is this thread still not dead? [emoji6]

It’s just not sleeping [emoji51]

20-04-2021, 08:20 AM

Kept alive by your ‘cool’ indifference. :greengrin

20-04-2021, 09:21 AM

I think it's OK to post criticism of Her Maj on here. She won't read it anyway, ever since Matty banned her for arguing with Hermit Crab.

Plus she never paid her PM membership on time... Like this place can run without any income!

20-04-2021, 07:21 PM

Couldn't let it go without a look at this...

https://twitter.com/BehindIsis/status/1383479926473433089