View Full Version : New Golf Season - High Hopes?
01-04-2021, 08:54 AM
First round in 4 months yesterday as Englandshire finally got its act together.
Pleased to report a net 69 / 39 points and a win for me in the first Wednesday Sweepie :cb Top golfer in a field of over 100
Body broken with Deep Heat, Deep Freeze and co-codamol needed this morning!
Aim for the season is to return to single figures - and feeling confident I can do it!
All the best for the new season gowfers! :thumbsup:
01-04-2021, 09:20 AM
Weve just had it announced that we can start playing again from the 26th April (ROI). I went up from 11 to 13 last year (I only started playing again after a 15 year break so 11 was too low). My hope (if we get comps going again) is that I get down to 10. Certainly gonna play as much as I can to give it a go, gotta get my moneys worth for the membership some how!).
On a plus the. course looks in great condition http://www.strandhillgolfclub.com/
ACLeith
01-04-2021, 07:20 PM
Can't yet play at my home course as too far away, so have been limited to Edinburgh Council courses and Musselburgh Old under the 5 mile rule. Hopefully that will change by the end of the month.
Played Musselburgh this morning, 21 points for 9 holes including twice 3-putting and missing a 4 footer. Very happy at how i hit the ball, but another season of "if only" looks like looming!
10-04-2021, 08:03 PM
If I don’t finish the season with a handicap of about 15 I’ll be astonished.
10-04-2021, 09:11 PM
I'm new to it, but current form is shocking. Hit my best score about a month ago and have been hopeless since.
12-04-2021, 09:49 PM
Three rounds, three top 8 finishes and three cuts.
One pairs comp also and tied 2nd.
There is life in the old dog yet!
24-04-2021, 07:22 PM
.......and out of the blue a couple of runner up spots with net 65’s Stupid game.
24-04-2021, 07:25 PM
.......and out of the blue a couple of runner up spots with net 65’s Stupid game.
Nice one. Some bandit winning was it? :greengrin
24-04-2021, 07:56 PM
As always.:greengrin:greengrin Naw today was a decent player who’s had a poor run of late so fair play to him. I had a treble and a double in there too or I’d have skooshed it. Daft game.
24-04-2021, 08:08 PM
I was 35 points with 2 blobs today. I can't seem to stop having 1 or 2 silly holes every round
25-04-2021, 06:17 PM
I was 35 points with 2 blobs today. I can't seem to stop having 1 or 2 silly holes every round
Bloody golf!!!
27-04-2021, 11:28 AM
Naw - he was second :greengrin
27-04-2021, 11:30 AM
Thoughts on the new WHS??? Some strange tales out there about shooting up or down when 'in the buffer' :greengrin
9 holes tonight and outing Friday (Bury) and Medal Saturday (at home - Bolton Old Links) this week - play well all! :thumbsup:
27-04-2021, 11:39 AM
Thoughts on the new WHS??? Some strange tales out there about shooting up or down when 'in the buffer' :greengrin
9 holes tonight and outing Friday (Bury) and Medal Saturday (at home - Bolton Old Links) this week - play well all! :thumbsup:
I've come down from 14.3 to 13.1 with my last 3 rounds. Could've been more but as above 1 or 2 daft holes are causing me problems most rounds.
There's gonna be a lot of bizarre scores winning medals until it settles down though.
27-04-2021, 01:42 PM
Two scores in the mid 60’s. Handicap came down a whole.1 as a similar score fell out the last 20. Down a further .7 for the second one. It feels weird and will take a bit if getting used to. It should work out fine in the long run but it’s open to abuse both ways. It’s geared to the social golfer more than the competitive one.
27-04-2021, 03:31 PM
Handicap now 8.1 and since returning to play after lockdown i cant put a round together. 34 points yesterday, but 31 27 and 31 last week, cant go a round without blobbing at least 2 holes sometimes 3.
Game drives me mad, my mate has come back as if he's never been away and scoring 38s and 39s off his 12 handicap.
It used to be me who was the bandit. :wink:
06-05-2021, 11:51 AM
Played in a 3 ball yesterday, 41 points. :thumbsup:
Bought a new spider putter at the weekend, used it for the first time and wow, what a bloody difference it made. :top marks
I did drive well, and chipped reasonably well, but putting was superb. Never 3 putted at all, no blobs and a four one putts. :greengrin
I knew there was a good round coming, but never thought it would be that good. :thumbsup:
06-05-2021, 12:21 PM
Bought a new spider putter at the weekend, used it for the first time and wow, what a bloody difference it made. :top marks
I did drive well, and chipped reasonably well, but putting was superb. Never 3 putted at all, no blobs and a four one putts. :greengrin
I knew there was a good round coming, but never thought it would be that good. :thumbsup:
Happy days! :thumbsup: ..avoiding 3 stabs is pivotal
06-05-2021, 01:25 PM
Good Stuff. Yesterday was a game of two halves. Three putted the 9th to go out in 1 under. 7 over the back nine with a double bogey -bogey finish. :rolleyes: Bloody game.
06-05-2021, 01:51 PM
I've went from 14.3 to 12.8 since season started. 4 of my last 5 rounds are counters and yet I've had 1 or 2 stupid holes in every round.
An 8 on the 12th yesterday for example. Just can't cut out the stupid errors.
06-05-2021, 01:53 PM
I've went from 14.3 to 12.8 since season started. 4 of my last 5 rounds are counters and yet I've had 1 or 2 stupid holes in every round.
An 8 on the 12th yesterday for example. Just can't cut out the stupid errors.
One day Dave just one day it will happen. Then it will be. Back to usual.:greengrin:greengrin
06-05-2021, 03:30 PM
Its an interesting one. My brother keeps saying I need a new putter when I'm convinced it's me that's the problem :greengrin
I did consider buying a spider but what is it that makes you think its made such a difference?
06-05-2021, 03:52 PM
Its an interesting one. My brother keeps saying I need a new putter when I'm convinced it's me that's the problem :greengrin
I did consider buying a spider but what is it that makes you think its made such a difference?
My mate has one and i had tried it a couple of times a fortnight ago in games against my mates, it just sits nice on the green. It seems to line up better than my two previous putters, both taylormade odyseys mallet head types.
It feels right in my hands, it looks good and it sits nice and square to the ball on the green, and all that makes me feel more confidant.
I think confidence is a huge part of putting, and i certainly feel much more confidant on the greens than before. :greengrin
ACLeith
06-05-2021, 04:30 PM
I have had an Odyssey Backstryke putter for a long time. The face is getting roughed up and just can't seem to improve it so planning on a new one.
Played in a Seniors Mixed event yesterday. Missed from 3 feet on the 2nd but then holed 4 from 10-15 feet. One of those days when you see the line clearly and get the pace right.
But still going to get a new one as I know its not going to last.
06-05-2021, 07:10 PM
I put in my 4th card yesterday, after getting my intial handicap. It was my best card to date scoring wise, 3 strokes better. Yet my handicap index has gone up .1? :confused:
06-05-2021, 07:19 PM
I put in my 4th card yesterday, after getting my intial handicap. It was my best card to date scoring wise, 3 strokes better. Yet my handicap index has gone up .1? :confused:
This from Scottish Golf. Remember it’s your net differential multiplied by 113 divided by the course slope rating. You might also only be playing of 95% of your playing handicap too. I don’t fully understand the 95% bit but yesterday my playing handicap was less than stated on course board and Scottish Golf app. I’ve given up trying to understand why but was a shot more net than I thought because of it.
06-05-2021, 09:13 PM
Easier course?
06-05-2021, 09:22 PM
This from Scottish Golf. Remember it’s your net differential multiplied by 113 divided by the course slope rating. You might also only be playing of 95% of your playing handicap too. I don’t fully understand the 95% bit but yesterday my playing handicap was less than stated on course board and Scottish Golf app. I’ve given up trying to understand why but was a shot more net than I thought because of it.
It's contrived nonsense.
It should have been three grades for courses - with +10% on handicap, handicap and -10% on handicap.
Full handicaps at all times - no 95% or 9/10s as was.
Kids hate sheeeite like this and the authorities continue to ignore the need to make the game appeal to the next gen.
06-05-2021, 09:22 PM
What is the differential to? To par? Or to the Course rating?
I'm not sure mine is correct. The slope doesn't appear to be applied to the score differential in my counting score (similarly only 4 cards, so HCI is my latest differential minus 1)
06-05-2021, 09:37 PM
Easier course?
Same course, same tees.
06-05-2021, 09:52 PM
Must be the 95% thing then. Can't see anything else otherwise.
Probably not worth bothering about, I'll just let the system do its thing.
07-05-2021, 07:57 AM
Must be the 95% thing then. Can't see anything else otherwise.
Probably not worth bothering about, I'll just let the system do its thing.
That’s exactly where I am. Off to Dunbar for a bounce game. ����
07-05-2021, 01:49 PM
Another 40 points today, the putter looks to be the best investment i've made in years. :thumbsup: The 8 holes i get a shot, i 3 pointed all 8. :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
AugustaHibs
07-05-2021, 09:54 PM
I currently have a scotty futura X putter, would anyone recommend moving to a lighter putter? Struggling to weight putts right with it
10-05-2021, 01:35 PM
38 points today, quite windy and a little bit of rain. This new putter is worth twice what i paid, putted in from the edge of the green twice, 20 foot and 25 foot, both for birdies and 8 points. :thumbsup:
11-05-2021, 11:26 PM
38 points today, quite windy and a little bit of rain. This new putter is worth twice what i paid, putted in from the edge of the green twice, 20 foot and 25 foot, both for birdies and 8 points. :thumbsup:
Mind me not to play you for cash.
12-05-2021, 06:51 PM
Mind me not to play you for cash.
:greengrin Pish today though, 33 points. Driving was poor.
AugustaHibs
14-05-2021, 11:27 AM
May have missed it so apologies if so, but what putter do you have?
14-05-2021, 03:13 PM
May have missed it so apologies if so, but what putter do you have?
I bought the new spider. :top marks
19-05-2021, 03:48 PM
Medal today off the whites, 81. Two 6s ruined my score, one at a par 3. :grr:
25-05-2021, 10:28 AM
41 points off the yellows yesterday, handicap cut to 7.6.
Didnt even win, came 2nd to a score of 48 from someone off 24. :greengrin
26-05-2021, 12:56 PM
Poor round today, 32 points off the whites after a good front 9 scoring 19, then the erse fell out my game. :greengrin
26-05-2021, 02:10 PM
Played my brother on Monday. Tucked him away scoring 41 points. Best I've played in ages. Today I get a card in my hand and I'm hopeless again. 30 points. Hate this game :greengrin
26-05-2021, 04:13 PM
Bathgate , Barberton and Harburn the next three days starting tomorrow. Looking for great things. 😁
28-05-2021, 02:33 PM
37 points off the yellows today, getting very consistent. 😁😁😁
31-05-2021, 05:18 PM
Ended up at Kingussie yesterday. Fabulous views all round. Enjoyed it. After a couple of double bogeys to start managed to get it round in net level par. I’d go back there again. Very enjoyable.
01-06-2021, 08:01 AM
34 points yesterday, although i started off par birdie, i couldnt keep it going.
I was still a bit pished for the 8.11 start after a heavy bank holiday Sunday.:party:
ACLeith
01-06-2021, 04:21 PM
I've been planning a new putter for a wee while and sorted it with our pro today after my round. After hitting a few with my old putter he immediately fixed 2 faults! I tried a few new blades including the TM Spider. I had noted what you said Blackpool about the club so focused in on it.
I bought the Spider S. The pro said that this one was more suited to my stroke than the EX.
So thanks Blackpool. If it proves as good as it appears to be then if our paths ever cross in a .net outing I am due you a pint or six 🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺
01-06-2021, 04:45 PM
I've been planning a new putter for a wee while and sorted it with our pro today after my round. After hitting a few with my old putter he immediately fixed 2 faults! I tried a few new blades including the TM Spider. I had noted what you said Blackpool about the club so focused in on it.
I bought the Spider S. The pro said that this one was more suited to my stroke than the EX.
So thanks Blackpool. If it proves as good as it appears to be then if our paths ever cross in a .net outing I am due you a pint or six 🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺🍺
:greengrin It certainly has improved my putting, i'd guess it is saving me 3 or 4 shots a round. :top marks
ACLeith
01-06-2021, 04:53 PM
:greengrin It certainly has improved my putting, i'd guess it is saving me 3 or 4 shots a round. :top marks
My recent points have been between 29 (boo!) And 34 so 4 shots better per round would be great 🏌👍
02-06-2021, 12:38 PM
40 points off the whites today. :offski::whistle:
02-06-2021, 01:33 PM
Rubbish. Played the Castle Course at St Andrew’s. Must have lost about 7 balls to savage rough and 3 off the cliff at 17 :/
Back to the range...
ACLeith
02-06-2021, 04:29 PM
40 points off the whites today. :offski::whistle:
The thought of your 6 pints from me imust have inspired you?
02-06-2021, 07:26 PM
The thought of your 6 pints from me imust have inspired you?
:greengrin Drove very well and putted well again, the wind seemed to be with me in the holes i got a shot. I'm expecting another drop to my handicap tomorrow.
FifeHibs
02-06-2021, 08:46 PM
Anyone fancy a game through at ladybank or leven links drop me a pm
02-06-2021, 08:49 PM
Playing Royal Lytham tomorrow, cant wait to see inside the clubhouse.
03-06-2021, 06:07 AM
At ladybank on Saturday. Looking forward to it.:thumbsup:
03-06-2021, 05:40 PM
What a course Royal Lytham is, if you don't like a bunker then don't ever go near that place. :faf: It's long, the rough is very difficult, but the greens were nice and not overly quick.
I was over the moon to hit 32 points off 8, especially for my first time.
Pretty sure i'd do a better next time, as i was hitting quite a few blind shots not really knowing there was a huge bunker waiting for my ball more often than not. :greengrin
I'm not sure i'd pay the membership fee's to be a member, even though i'm pretty sure they wouldn't let someone like me join in the first place. :greengrin
04-06-2021, 01:19 PM
29 points today, just a crap days golf. Shouldnt have bothered going this morning, but i didnt want to let my mates down, but thats 4 games this week, and my athletes body is not as finely tuned as i would want.:wink:
I'm shattered. :faint::faint::faint:
05-06-2021, 03:55 PM
Ladybank was an absolute treat.:thumbsup:
05-06-2021, 05:39 PM
Ladybank was an absolute treat.:thumbsup:
It's definitely in my top 10
05-06-2021, 10:25 PM
Rahm 6 clear at the memorial tests positive for COVID, what a nightmare for the lad.
06-06-2021, 04:17 PM
It's definitely in my top 10
Great track and the greens were 100% blemish free.:thumbsup::thumbsup:
06-06-2021, 04:34 PM
Dukes course today. Great day. Thoroughly enjoyed the course. 32 points but couple of birdies kept me happy 😊
FifeHibs
06-06-2021, 05:19 PM
Great track and the greens were 100% blemish free.:thumbsup::thumbsup:
Gives a shout if you ever fancy going back up for a game I get visitors for £20.00, I was up today was in great condition
06-06-2021, 05:29 PM
Gives a shout if you ever fancy going back up for a game I get visitors for £20.00, I was up today was in great condition
Lex gies a shout if you fancy going back up. I'd love another game there.
07-06-2021, 07:51 AM
Hacked my way around Leven yesterday.
Was a glorious day weather wise but my golf has seen better days that’s for sure.
Still we did card two birdies and I avoided the water at the last so life could have been worse [emoji2957]
FifeHibs
07-06-2021, 09:46 AM
Hacked my way around Leven yesterday.
Was a glorious day weather wise but my golf has seen better days that’s for sure.
Still we did card two birdies and I avoided the water at the last so life could have been worse [emoji2957]
The course is looking pretty good just now. There would have been a few hard pin positions due to club championship..
07-06-2021, 03:56 PM
Games gone, 31 points today and that was with two 4 pointers.
Cant drive, chipping is poor but at least the putter is still ok. :greengrin
ACLeith
07-06-2021, 07:18 PM
Was looking forward to using my new putter tomorrow in the heat of battle for the first time. Then today my wife tripped in Princes Street and has broken her arm. So cooking, cleaning, washing and hoovering has to take precedence. FRUSTRATING!!
07-06-2021, 08:33 PM
Was looking forward to using my new putter tomorrow in the heat of battle for the first time. Then today my wife tripped in Princes Street and has broken her arm. So cooking, cleaning, washing and hoovering has to take precedence. FRUSTRATING!!
Thank god, i was reading that and thought you were going to say she'd tripped and snapped your putter.:wink:
ACLeith
08-06-2021, 06:09 AM
Thank god, i was reading that and thought you were going to say she'd tripped and snapped your putter.:wink:
👏 she'd have been going to the hospital herself if she had 🚑
08-06-2021, 09:54 AM
The course is looking pretty good just now. There would have been a few hard pin positions due to club championship..
A few? [emoji2957][emoji2957]
The approaches to the greens are hard enough there…Sunday was a bit bonkers as they seemed to have sought out the biggest slopes in the greens and and approaches and plonked the holes either in front or behind them.
If you like links courses though you would certainly love Leven…especially on a bright sunny day like we had.
Wouldn’t fancy playing it on a wet windy day tho!!
FifeHibs
08-06-2021, 10:00 AM
A few? [emoji2957][emoji2957]
The approaches to the greens are hard enough there…Sunday was a bit bonkers as they seemed to have sought out the biggest slopes in the greens and and approaches and plonked the holes either in front or behind them.
If you like links courses though you would certainly love Leven…especially on a bright sunny day like we had.
Wouldn’t fancy playing it on a wet windy day tho!!
The boy who won the Thistle club championship was 5 under par for the first 18.
If you ever want to come back through Let me know and it’s a £20 sign on
08-06-2021, 11:29 AM
Games gone, 31 points today and that was with two 4 pointers.
Cant drive, chipping is poor but at least the putter is still ok. :greengrin
You sound like Moray .. expect with more points :greengrin
08-06-2021, 03:46 PM
The boy who won the Thistle club championship was 5 under par for the first 18.
If you ever want to come back through Let me know and it’s a £20 sign on
5 under! Wow.
Obviously knowing the course would help. I’ve played it before but it’s a quality example of a course that the more you play it the more you will be able to plot your way round (rather than my half blind guesses!)
Still that’s some score!
12-06-2021, 07:53 AM
👏 she'd have been going to the hospital herself if she had 🚑
12-06-2021, 08:00 AM
I've hit a bit of a slump, driving like pro, still putting well but my long irons and chipping from off the green has been very poor this last week. an 83 and an 85 will see my handicap rise next week i'd imagine. :rolleyes:24799
13-06-2021, 08:07 PM
I've been driving well recently with my old Ping G30 driver, but today i took the plunge and bought the new G425 from American golf because i had a £100 gift voucher not used from xmas.
Boys and their toys. :greengrin
ACLeith
17-06-2021, 02:14 PM
2 rounds now with Spider putter. Bounce game on Monday and medal today. Took about 9 holes Monday to be comfortable with it but since then it's been excellent, so backing up what Blackpool has said.
18 points back 9 Monday and 36 today, including 3 putts that hovered on the edge. But not missed any annoying short putts in 27 holes which for me is amazing.
ACLeith
17-06-2021, 02:38 PM
I've been driving well recently with my old Ping G30 driver, but today i took the plunge and bought the new G425 from American golf because i had a £100 gift voucher not used from xmas.
Boys and their toys. :greengrin
I bought the G410 last summer. When I remember to let it do the work and swing smoothly it simply flies
17-06-2021, 03:17 PM
2 rounds now with Spider putter. Bounce game on Monday and medal today. Took about 9 holes Monday to be comfortable with it but since then it's been excellent, so backing up what Blackpool has said.
18 points back 9 Monday and 36 today, including 3 putts that hovered on the edge. But not missed any annoying short putts in 27 holes which for me is amazing.
Glad you are getting the benefit from the putter, :top marksThe new driver just goes and goes, i'm getting 20 yards more and straighter too. :thumbsup:
Although hoovering the car this morning and i've strained my back, bloody painful at the moment so no golf for the foreseeable. :boo hoo:
ACLeith
17-06-2021, 04:06 PM
Glad you are getting the benefit from the putter, :top marksThe new driver just goes and goes, i'm getting 20 yards more and straighter too. :thumbsup:
Although hoovering the car this morning and i've strained my back, bloody painful at the moment so no golf for the foreseeable. :boo hoo:
Thought you would have got the chauffeur to do that for you 🚔
17-06-2021, 08:47 PM
Thought you would have got the chauffeur to do that for you 🚔
Have you seen what i've spent on golf clubs recently, might have to get the bus when my back's better. :greengrin
AugustaHibs
29-06-2021, 10:43 AM
Sick of this game. Was striking my irons really good for a while and for some reason the last two times I’ve went out and played I’ve been chunking it, thinning it etc. This is compounded by now doubting myself standing over it and having too many swing thoughts. Where do I go from here!!!
29-06-2021, 12:46 PM
Sick of this game. Was striking my irons really good for a while and for some reason the last two times I’ve went out and played I’ve been chunking it, thinning it etc. This is compounded by now doubting myself standing over it and having too many swing thoughts. Where do I go from here!!!
That’s my golfing life…I’ve learned just to accept it and understand the next time I go out it will all change again!
There always something slightly awry and sometimes something very awry!
My driving was like your irons recently..went maybe a month of hitting lovely power fade drives more
consistently than I have ever done then out of nowhere could hardly get a half decent drive for about two weeks…then last Sunday the controlled fade was back and I’ve hit the two best rounds of the year!
In my head I’m doing the same routine, same set up, same swing but on any given day the results are dramatically different [emoji23]
Sure I’ll be back to topping it off the first next time out though!
29-06-2021, 04:34 PM
I've not played for a while due to a bad back, i played Friday and was all over the place first 9, so i just did a routine my mate does all the time. He puts his club at the ball and makes sure it's aiming where he wants the ball to go, then he gets himself lined up accordingly.
Did that for the back 9 and scored 19 points. Sometimes it just takes a little bit of going back to basics to sort it out. Did the same on Monday for all 18, and came in with 37, and that's with my back still a little tender. :greengrin
ACLeith
30-06-2021, 12:56 PM
I've had the same problem. A few weeks ago I was hitting my irons really well, then all of a sudden thinned and clunked everything. Nothing felt different but found I had started to stand a fraction too far away. Meant the toe of the club was slightly off the ground. Stepped forward one inch and they started to work again! Scored 41 points yesterday at Newbattle!
A frustrating game of small margins
30-06-2021, 04:22 PM
?
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210630/543e822aaf7f635ded8f80cd56ab78a8.jpg
15-07-2021, 08:45 PM
Played my first game of the year yesterday (struggling to find time due to work, young child and a bad back.)
A mate of mine has become a member up at Panmure. Lovely course, tricky one for the first game back after a break though.
From about the 13th hole on we had a fairly stout wind at our backs and it was good fun letting rip with the driver at this time of year. My mate has bulked up a bit and got a bigger driver since we last played together and some of his hitting was obscene - knocking it through the back of 380 yard par 4’s.
Lovely course though, a great day out and I’d recommend it to anyone.
Golf is just brilliant at this time of year.
17-07-2021, 01:46 PM
Was previously a member at Prestonfield but gave up the game about 6 years ago playing of 14 at the time. The inconsistency was a constant torment, I'd play on the Saturday and have a great round with good ball striking then go out the following day and it was like I'd never played the game before.
But back at it again with a new found passion for the game, played 5 rounds over the last month and trying to change to my thought process and not let one bad shot destroy me for the next 4 holes.
Previously never hit or owned a driver but managed to pick up a titleist 917 D2 from gumtree for £140 and to date played one round with the in law at Burntisland with a mixed bag of success. Just back from kings acre range this morning again with a mixed bag of driving success, but slowly getting the hang of hitting the big stick. Its like a different game to how i played previously I was usually hitting 4i of the tee. Think I'm going to grab a couple of lessons up at K A so I dont revert back to bad swing habits.
Bloody frustrating game but the satisfaction when you hit one out rhe middle makes it all worth while.
Happy golfing lads.
Sent from my SM-G986B using Tapatalk
19-07-2021, 07:33 AM
Playing in the league today against St Annes old links, a course i've not played before. I did have a game at Royal Lytham a few weeks ago that they say is a little similar, but it pissed down with rain that day and a more boring course i've yet to find.
It's roasting down here, i'd imagine it will run for miles, if i can keep it straight? :greengrin
20-07-2021, 07:37 AM
Anyone else not happy with this new handicap system? I played yesterday for our club against St Annes old links, against a guy with a 27 handicap. With the slope rating i was giving him 17 shots. :rolleyes: I was 8 down at the turn.:faf:
I hit 3 birdies in a row, and managed to get the score a bit more respectable and ended up losing 4 and 3, but this guy was clearly a much better golfer than his handicap, he should have been off at most 16 in my opinion.
I was parring holes on the front 9, that a 27 handicapper should never par, he did and made birdies too.
I've seen bandits before, probably even been one myself in the past,:wink: but that was the worst i've seen ever. :greengrin
21-07-2021, 02:04 PM
Anyone else not happy with this new handicap system? I played yesterday for our club against St Annes old links, against a guy with a 27 handicap. With the slope rating i was giving him 17 shots. :rolleyes: I was 8 down at the turn.:faf:
I hit 3 birdies in a row, and managed to get the score a bit more respectable and ended up losing 4 and 3, but this guy was clearly a much better golfer than his handicap, he should have been off at most 16 in my opinion.
I was parring holes on the front 9, that a 27 handicapper should never par, he did and made birdies too.
I've seen bandits before, probably even been one myself in the past,:wink: but that was the worst i've seen ever. :greengrin
3 birdies in a row :not worth.. I long for the day I can dream of something like that :agree:
21-07-2021, 02:22 PM
Net 67 today with a 9 on my card. Just can't keep a disaster out my game at the moment.
21-07-2021, 04:22 PM
3 birdies in a row :not worth.. I long for the day I can dream of something like that :agree:
That rarely happens, if ever. :greengrin
21-07-2021, 04:44 PM
Net 67 today with a 9 on my card. Just can't keep a disaster out my game at the moment.
My brother is like that.
It’s hilarious.
Really good golfer, miles better than me, but you can put your mortgage on his arse collapsing a couple of times a round, sticking in a couple of awful scores to ruin his card.
11-08-2021, 08:19 AM
Smashing the matchplay (so far..) won 7&5 last night for example..
Strokeplay however is really wazzing me off - two bad holes/drives almost a permanent feature of the last 3 months!! :confused:
11-08-2021, 11:44 AM
Smashing the matchplay (so far..) won 7&5 last night for example..
Strokeplay however is really wazzing me off - two bad holes/drives almost a permanent feature of the last 3 months!! :confused:
I’m similar. As a high handicapper I do reasonably well in Stableford / Matchplay / Scramble competitions but absolutely no use in stroke play as can guarantee 3-4 scores of 7-8 on the card. Guess that’s why I find myself sitting with a higher handicap as I can’t get the consistency over 18 holes.
11-08-2021, 06:31 PM
3 gross birdies and a par in the front nine comp yesterday, the rest blobs...Although I hadnt played for a month wasnt expecting that extreme inconsistency...Gonna have to break into my christmas stash of golfballs now as lost so many.
12-08-2021, 10:00 AM
I’m similar. As a high handicapper I do reasonably well in Stableford / Matchplay / Scramble competitions but absolutely no use in stroke play as can guarantee 3-4 scores of 7-8 on the card. Guess that’s why I find myself sitting with a higher handicap as I can’t get the consistency over 18 holes.
This is me in a nutshell (though don’t have a handicap just now). For a few holes in every round you would think I can play the game to a high standard, but a blow-up hole is never far away. Like so many things, it’s the inconsistency that kills.
ACLeith
12-08-2021, 12:54 PM
This is me in a nutshell (though don’t have a handicap just now). For a few holes in every round you would think I can play the game to a high standard, but a blow-up hole is never far away. Like so many things, it’s the inconsistency that kills.
I think that's true whatever handicap you play off. I beat my age earlier this year after starting with a triple bogey!if only ......
12-08-2021, 02:43 PM
I think that's true whatever handicap you play off. I beat my age earlier this year after starting with a triple bogey!if only ......
Oh no, I can assure you there was a time where I was completely and consistently sh*te on all 18 holes :greengrin
ACLeith
12-08-2021, 05:08 PM
Oh no, I can assure you there was a time where I was completely and consistently sh*te on all 18 holes :greengrin
Good that you can see improvement 👍
I think we can all agree what we have in common is inconsistency 😡
ACLeith
12-08-2021, 05:26 PM
Was travelling home from up north yesterday, planned to stop off at Tain as I've never played it. Tipping down so had to give it a miss sadly. Stayed in Inverness and decided to try Carrbridge today.
9 hole course quite new, around 40 years old. Greens were superb, fairways springy and lush so never had a bad lie when I managed to play from them. Views to die for. And all for £16 for 9 holes.
Not one of the well known courses in area but well worth a visit.
12-08-2021, 05:41 PM
Good that you can see improvement 👍
I think we can all agree what we have in common is inconsistency 😡
I definitely have - although I can still play some holes as bad as ever, I’ve also played a handful of holes in the same round with golf I haven’t been capable of previously. I play enough good stuff to keep me wanting to go back which is the main thing.
You’re bang on about consistency - I guess if we could play all holes like our best ones, we’d be on tour.
I do need to learn to play out of sand though. I watched padraig Harrington explaining how he does it so well on sky sports last week.. itching to get out and see if it makes any difference to me!
14-08-2021, 05:27 PM
I think I am hitting the ball as good as I ever have if not as long. Short game competent enough but cannot seem to score consistently. I’ve gone from 12 handicap to 7 and now back up to 9. 7 to 9 in the space of three weeks. Hate this bloody game.
AugustaHibs
17-08-2021, 11:20 AM
Thinking about going away some midweek in September for a few rounds in fife. Anyone recommend some good and relatively cheap green fees in fife?
18-08-2021, 03:47 PM
Had my first hole in one today, 138 yards par 3,at the village hotel golf course 12th. Lovely 9 iron, 2 bounces and rolled nicely into the hole.:thumbsup:
ACLeith
18-08-2021, 04:06 PM
Had my first hole in one today, 138 yards par 3,at the village hotel golf course 12th. Lovely 9 iron, 2 bounces and rolled nicely into the hole.:thumbsup:
Congratulations. But as someone who has never had one I think the achievement is overrated 😉. But happy to change my view after I play again tomorrow
18-08-2021, 04:08 PM
Lovely work BH 👌
Me finding the green on a par 3 is about the equivalent achievement right now!
ACLeith
19-08-2021, 03:00 PM
And in the monthly medal today 63 shots for 16 holes and 2 triple bogey 7s at 2 ordinary par 4s. Somebody please tell me how to cut out the disasters☹
19-08-2021, 04:49 PM
Pumpherston Seniors today. Really good nick……………the course not so much my golf.
patch1875
25-08-2021, 07:52 AM
Played my first round in probably about 12-13 years at Carricknowe an appalling 115 was scored!
25-08-2021, 09:28 AM
Welcome to the elite club :thumbsup:
27-08-2021, 04:13 PM
I started the year at 11 and have just got worse & worse. No practicing and just playing once a week means this isnt surprising. Saying that it was getting a bit soul destroying & I was thinking I'll knock it on the head again. Played on Tuesday in a 9 hole comp & managed 24 points! So I'll give it another go tomorrow :wink:
28-08-2021, 08:08 AM
I started the year at 11 and have just got worse & worse. No practicing and just playing once a week means this isnt surprising. Saying that it was getting a bit soul destroying & I was thinking I'll knock it on the head again. Played on Tuesday in a 9 hole comp & managed 24 points! So I'll give it another go tomorrow :wink:
The game always finds a way to drag you back. 😁😁
02-09-2021, 03:13 PM
Decent yesterday. Utter pish today. :rolleyes:
05-09-2021, 06:01 PM
Played Newbattle today. The greens were excellent.
05-09-2021, 09:15 PM
Played Callander yesterday. Short course but some interesting holes and found the greens tough. Course wasn't in the best nick to be honest. Clubhouse was closed too. Would play it again though.
06-09-2021, 08:30 PM
After struggling for some time this season I had a decent week. On Tuesday at Peebles GC I got 2nd place, 40 points in the Senior Trophy and on Saturday I won the monthly Medal with a 64, off 17. Life in the old dog yet.
06-09-2021, 08:56 PM
Played Callander yesterday. Short course but some interesting holes and found the greens tough. Course wasn't in the best nick to be honest. Clubhouse was closed too. Would play it again though.
I'm a country member. Played a couple of weeks back and thought it was decent enough for the price. If I had one complaint it would be that there wasn't much sand in the bunkers.
Graden work on the greens next week. And clubhouse seemingly being built in the winter.
06-09-2021, 10:48 PM
I'm a country member. Played a couple of weeks back and thought it was decent enough for the price. If I had one complaint it would be that there wasn't much sand in the bunkers.
Graden work on the greens next week. And clubhouse seemingly being built in the winter.
Yeah I'd agree about the bunkers. As a Turnhouse member I got a deal on my green fee so was great value. Like I say I enjoyed the course.
Whats the story with the Clubhouse? Is the existing building there unusable?
07-09-2021, 06:38 AM
Yeah I'd agree about the bunkers. As a Turnhouse member I got a deal on my green fee so was great value. Like I say I enjoyed the course.
Whats the story with the Clubhouse? Is the existing building there unusable?
It has been sold, for a residential/holiday home.
09-09-2021, 11:24 AM
First round back after (golfing) wrist injury last night. Enjoyed it and actually scored a bit better than I had been despite not feeling like playing any better! However unfortunately my wrist still isn’t healed after what must be close to 6 weeks now.. thinking I must have properly damaged a very small part and it’s going to take a fair bit of time to get back to 100%.
Maybe a good excuse to remain a fair weather golfer and take the winter off!
ACLeith
09-09-2021, 01:43 PM
First round back after (golfing) wrist injury last night. Enjoyed it and actually scored a bit better than I had been despite not feeling like playing any better! However unfortunately my wrist still isn’t healed after what must be close to 6 weeks now.. thinking I must have properly damaged a very small part and it’s going to take a fair bit of time to get back to 100%.
Maybe a good excuse to remain a fair weather golfer and take the winter off!
I had a similar problem a few years ago, took a few months before fully back to normal. When I started back I wore a wrist support which affected the backswing but at least allowed me to play.
Don't overdo it but maybe keep going with the occasional game
09-09-2021, 02:23 PM
Had my best ever round at Turnhouse yesterday. Scratch 75 for 41 points in our Stableford. Not enough to win but after 54 years I'm actually getting close to a single figure handicap for the first time ever!
10-09-2021, 11:57 AM
Had my best ever round at Turnhouse yesterday. Scratch 75 for 41 points in our Stableford. Not enough to win but after 54 years I'm actually getting close to a single figure handicap for the first time ever!
👏👏👏👏
11-09-2021, 01:45 PM
Does anyone out there know of a Pro who specialises in putting?
Or maybe even a good shrink?!
11-09-2021, 07:02 PM
Does anyone out there know of a Pro who specialises in putting?
Or maybe even a good shrink?!
Good luck. 😳
15-09-2021, 12:39 PM
I had a similar problem a few years ago, took a few months before fully back to normal. When I started back I wore a wrist support which affected the backswing but at least allowed me to play.
Don't overdo it but maybe keep going with the occasional game
Cheers :aok:
It's been quite sore for around a week since the game but is now back to feeling not bad at all. I was (perhaps naively) hoping I may have helped build it back up with playing last week :greengrin
It was really only teeing off that was causing the bother, and pain pretty much subsided by the time I got to my next shot. As you say, try and take it easy.. probably won't get much golf in over the next few months anyway. I just wore a stretch bandage round it for a bit of extra support which doesn't affect my swing.. but probably doesn't do much help either!
I did finish with a birdie for the second round in a row, so if that's the last hole for a while at least I can feel okay about my game for a bit :greengrin
25-09-2021, 11:20 AM
Played in only my 2nd blue tee comp on Wednesday, have suffered with form after a bad back for weeks and gone from 7.1 to 10.9.
Started off steady enough, but my back 9 was superb. :greengrin
Won by 4 shots with 39 points. :cb
29-09-2021, 04:01 PM
Well?
October this weekend. Season will be over for me after a visit to Panmure this coming Sunday. Weather looks challenging to say the least so I reckon it won’t be on my yellow list.:greengrin How has everyone done versus expectations? I’ve pleasantly surprised myself at my age. If my putter had been remotely warm it would have been even better. Handicap index was at 12 at one point and should finish at 6.4 ish. Delighted with that considering the amount of golf I’ve played particularly away from home.
29-09-2021, 07:47 PM
Well?
October this weekend. Season will be over for me after a visit to Panmure this coming Sunday. Weather looks challenging to say the least so I reckon it won’t be on my yellow list.:greengrin How has everyone done versus expectations? I’ve pleasantly surprised myself at my age. If my putter had been remotely warm it would have been even better. Handicap index was at 12 at one point and should finish at 6.4 ish. Delighted with that considering the amount of golf I’ve played particularly away from home.
I normally play all through the winter, never been a fair weather golfer. :greengrin Had a good start and end to the season, won a few comps early doors and one big one at the end.
In the middle though i hurt my back hoovering the bloody car 3 months ago, and battled through but never did myself any favours because i amended my swing to compensate.:greengrin
Round after round of 23 points or 25 points took my handicap from a decent 7.1 up to 10.9. :rolleyes:
As my back improved so did my scores, although i have been playing to around 11 for a few weeks now, except from a 40 points off the yellows and a 39 off the blue tee's. :devil:
I feel i will be back down to around 7-8 soon, as i know i have better rounds in me, but again fate has struck and i fell over Saturday night and damaged my ribs while taking my jeans off, i might have been a bit pished, :greengrin and landed on the corner of my bed. :boo hoo:
I think i wont be able to play for a week or two, but after that i'm sure i will be back to a good standard again.
Oh yes, and i got my first hole in one this season. :greengrin
05-10-2021, 03:57 PM
Just found out I won my clubs merit cup by 4 shots. Best 8 net scores over the season.:thumbsup: Thirty odd years and only my second gong. Cheesing. :greengrin
06-10-2021, 05:04 PM
Just found out I won my clubs merit cup by 4 shots. Best 8 net scores over the season.:thumbsup: Thirty odd years and only my second gong. Cheesing. :greengrin
Well done.:thumbsup:
06-10-2021, 05:32 PM
Well done Eck!
Looks like I won't quite get to single figures this year. Finishing the season on 10.2
Not too bad considering I started around 14.3
06-10-2021, 06:57 PM
Well done Eck!
Looks like I won't quite get to single figures this year. Finishing the season on 10.2
Not too bad considering I started around 14.3
Just got to keep at it. You will get there. As you know I’m not really a spring chicken anymore.🤨🤨😁 plenty time.
ACLeith
06-10-2021, 08:00 PM
Playing North Berwick West and Craigielaw next week and the Renaissance at the end of the month as a reward for marshalling at the Scottish Open.
Looking at the Greens back then I reckon if I can get round Renaissance in 40 putts I would be delighted. Anyone played there and any advice?
Will be playing through the winter, hopeful of getting back down closer to single figures again, you've got to have hope. Beat my age once this season, will soon have another stroke in hand to do it again, but on the other hand my body will be a year older ☹
09-03-2022, 03:49 PM
Well done Lexo :thumbsup:
I won our comp last week - net 67 - it's a braw feeling :greengrin
ACLeith
09-03-2022, 04:24 PM
Had my first ever hole in one yesterday, after about 65 years trying. In December I hit the pin and bounced a ball width away, so I had reconciled myself that it would never happen.
Did it on a difficult hole with a cross wind and a hard pin position. Didn't see the ball go in but hopefully that still counts 🍸🥳
09-03-2022, 04:26 PM
I've had a couple of seasons where i've come down to 7 then up again to 12 then back down to 9 where i am at the moment.
I have been playing with Ping G25's for the last 8 or 9 years, and they have served me well, but i went for a fitting last week, open minded to anything they had, but i did have my eye on the Ping G425 irons.
Anyway after trying everything they had, Titelist, Callaway, Tayor made, Muzuno and Cobra, i plumped for the new Cobra LTD irons, christ they were good, they suited me much more than any other clubs, and the distance is huge compared to my old set of clubs.
Looking forward now to the new season like a 10 year old.:greengrin
09-03-2022, 05:11 PM
After playing off 7 when I left to moved to Ireland (2006) I stopped playing till two years ago & joined my local club..Its a great course but Im terrible! Playing off 15 & so erratic with my irons. Drivings no probs, long & straight & puttings pretty good but the bit in the middle has me tearing my hair out. I'm gonna aim to play more and get down to 10, once a week with no other practice is no good. Good luck to everyone for the season
09-03-2022, 05:12 PM
Had my first ever hole in one yesterday, after about 65 years trying. In December I hit the pin and bounced a ball width away, so I had reconciled myself that it would never happen.
Did it on a difficult hole with a cross wind and a hard pin position. Didn't see the ball go in but hopefully that still counts
:flag: Brilliant, congrats! :flag:
09-03-2022, 05:45 PM
Did it on a difficult hole with a cross wind and a hard pin position. Didn't see the ball go in but hopefully that still counts 🍸🥳
Of course it absolutely counts and well done! I’m enjoying just hitting the odd GIR these days, so a hole in one is beyond pipe dream stuff for me 😁
On another note, I never appreciated how different it is playing on winter greens. I don’t think I would bother playing next time, takes so much enjoyment out of it when not playing into, and putting on, a lush maintained green.
01-04-2022, 08:58 PM
On holiday this week coming so golfing my self to death. Highlights are Kingsbarns on Sunday, Fairmont (Kittiocks) on Tuesday and Ladybank on Thursday.
Bring it on. 💪👍
13-04-2022, 08:08 PM
Had my first round of golf in over 18 months today - played Dunbar with a golf society and loved every minute of it. Forgot how to play until the back 9 (with the exception of a birdie on the 3rd), but really enjoyed being in the fresh air by the sea.
Would love to get back to being able to do that more regularly again.
FifeHibs
18-04-2022, 10:15 PM
On holiday this week coming so golfing my self to death. Highlights are Kingsbarns on Sunday, Fairmont (Kittiocks) on Tuesday and Ladybank on Thursday.
Bring it on. 💪👍
which course did you enjoy most
FifeHibs
19-04-2022, 01:16 PM
If anyone fancies a game up at Ladybank please let me know think it’s £20 for guests
19-04-2022, 02:31 PM
which course did you enjoy most
Early season but Kingsbarns was well ahead in condition. I like Ladybank a lot but perhaps I’m biased as Kingsbans is possibly my favourite in the whole country. Ladybank greens need another three or four weeks to even catch up with my club at Harburn who’s green's are inexplicably brilliant. I’ve been a member for well over 30 years and have never seen them this good this early. Didn’t do kittocks as the weather was horrendous.
I’m at The Renaissance tomorrow for the first time so looking forward to that
Godsahibby
19-04-2022, 03:05 PM
Couple of bad seasons with injury, did my shoulder getting a golf lesson in 2020 and broke my hand last summer so got high hopes for an injury free season ahead. New sticks in the bag and raring to go.
First competition as such in a few years in a couple of weeks, 3 man team comp at Dornoch end of this month. Trying to get hitting as many balls before then.
19-04-2022, 07:52 PM
Early season but Kingsbarns was well ahead in condition. I like Ladybank a lot but perhaps I’m biased as Kingsbans is possibly my favourite in the whole country. Ladybank greens need another three or four weeks to even catch up with my club at Harburn who’s green's are inexplicably brilliant. I’ve been a member for well over 30 years and have never seen them this good this early. Didn’t do kittocks as the weather was horrendous.
I’m at The Renaissance tomorrow for the first time so looking forward to that
My dad's been saying the same about Harburn lately. Not played it in a wee while, but hoping to get there for a game soon.
If you've not tried it yet, I'd recommend Dumbarnie in Fife too - new track and a great test.
20-04-2022, 07:08 PM
My dad's been saying the same about Harburn lately. Not played it in a wee while, but hoping to get there for a game soon.
If you've not tried it yet, I'd recommend Dumbarnie in Fife too - new track and a great test.
Played Dumbarnie year past October. Great course. I do believe they are struggling with the greens right now. Something to do with a fertiliser application. I’m there in July again so hopefully whatever the problem is they have it under control.
Renaissance is a terrific experience. First class course, clubhouse and experience.. it helps when your game turns up. ( back nine anyway😂😂). If you get the chance jump at it.
ACLeith
20-04-2022, 08:17 PM
Played Dumbarnie year past October. Great course. I do believe they are struggling with the greens right now. Something to do with a fertiliser application. I’m there in July again so hopefully whatever the problem is they have it under control.
Renaissance is a terrific experience. First class course, clubhouse and experience.. it helps when your game turns up. ( back nine anyway😂😂). If you get the chance jump at it.
As a Marshall at last year's Scottish Open, we got a round on Renaissance last October as a thank you. I agree with what you say about the course, great experience. I worried what my score was voing to be, but had 28 points after 14, but then tired to 32 - at least thats my excuse!
ACLeith
20-04-2022, 08:20 PM
Couple of bad seasons with injury, did my shoulder getting a golf lesson in 2020 and broke my hand last summer so got high hopes for an injury free season ahead. New sticks in the bag and raring to go.
First competition as such in a few years in a couple of weeks, 3 man team comp at Dornoch end of this month. Trying to get hitting as many balls before then.
Be interested in your thoughts about Dornoch. Played it 4 times, twice off the back tees. Played many famous courses, but for me its the best i have ever played
21-04-2022, 12:34 AM
As a Marshall at last year's Scottish Open, we got a round on Renaissance last October as a thank you. I agree with what you say about the course, great experience. I worried what my score was voing to be, but had 28 points after 14, but then tired to 32 - at least thats my excuse!
A nice 37 points today. 20 on the back nine. The whole vibe around the place is excellent.
AugustaHibs
21-04-2022, 09:51 AM
Played bruntsfield the other day and never seen the course in such good condition, greens were incredibly pure.
Gullane no1 on Monday, course is always pristine but it was on another level to what I’ve experienced before there.
Godsahibby
21-04-2022, 03:20 PM
Be interested in your thoughts about Dornoch. Played it 4 times, twice off the back tees. Played many famous courses, but for me its the best i have ever played
I'm very lucky to have recently moved to Dornoch and live a 4 iron from the first tee! I'm a Struie member just now which is the 2nd course at Dornoch which is a cracking track on its own! Waiting to get on to the top course, with how busy the course is already with visitors i cant see that coming this year
Played it many many times over the years and love it. A lot of cracking holes, the par 4 14th 'foxy' is probably my favorite hole in golf. The par 3's are all very tough. The new 7th has people split but I like it.
Very lucky living up here with so many great courses, for me Brora is the pick of the lot, just proper golf!
ACLeith
21-04-2022, 04:06 PM
I'm very lucky to have recently moved to Dornoch and live a 4 iron from the first tee! I'm a Struie member just now which is the 2nd course at Dornoch which is a cracking track on its own! Waiting to get on to the top course, with how busy the course is already with visitors i cant see that coming this year
Played it many many times over the years and love it. A lot of cracking holes, the par 4 14th 'foxy' is probably my favorite hole in golf. The par 3's are all very tough. The new 7th has people split but I like it.
Very lucky living up here with so many great courses, for me Brora is the pick of the lot, just proper golf!
Thought you were visiting Dornoch, didn't realise you are one lucky guy!
I agree about foxy, who needs bunkers to make a great hole? Also the 2nd and 6th great 3s without being long.
21-04-2022, 05:17 PM
Looking for lessons suggestions, have previously had lessons with PA at Swanston and had one lesson with the pro at Duddingston but neither really worked out for me. I think my biggest takeaway from those lessons was lack of a structured practice routine for drills and so on. Ideally I'd like to find someone who can give me stuff to go practice but in a structured manner (i.e this drill X amount per practice session etc) Kinda like you'd have if you had a personal trainer at the gym who would set up a training program for you. Doesn't seem to be anyone that does this kinda thing from what I can see.
Any suggestions would be welcome.
Godsahibby
21-04-2022, 07:38 PM
Looking for lessons suggestions, have previously had lessons with PA at Swanston and had one lesson with the pro at Duddingston but neither really worked out for me. I think my biggest takeaway from those lessons was lack of a structured practice routine for drills and so on. Ideally I'd like to find someone who can give me stuff to go practice but in a structured manner (i.e this drill X amount per practice session etc) Kinda like you'd have if you had a personal trainer at the gym who would set up a training program for you. Doesn't seem to be anyone that does this kinda thing from what I can see.
Any suggestions would be welcome.
Try Neil Fenwick out at The Melville. Cracking golfer, great coach and a Hibee as well.
FifeHibs
21-04-2022, 08:20 PM
I have had 2 pull outs at Ladybank @ 4:30 tomorrow drop me a pm if anyone fancies a game
22-04-2022, 10:02 AM
Try Neil Fenwick out at The Melville. Cracking golfer, great coach and a Hibee as well.
Cheers have sent him a message.
hibeg
24-04-2022, 08:28 AM
Golf is the most infuriating game ever
Playing off 11 I was cruising round Liberton yesterday in the Spring competition.
3 over par after 13 holes in difficult windy conditions.
Last 5 holes - 7 over par including 2 doubles, nightmare.!!
Felt totally deflated at the end
This morning I can’t wait to get back out for a game
24-04-2022, 01:54 PM
Golf is the most infuriating game ever ��
Playing off 11 I was cruising round Liberton yesterday in the Spring competition.
3 over par after 13 holes in difficult windy conditions.
Last 5 holes - 7 over par including 2 doubles, nightmare.!!
Felt totally deflated at the end
This morning I can’t wait to get back out for a game ����
Feel your pain. Sitting 2 over par on the 17th tee at West Lothian’s Stableford open this morning. I’m 6 over on the 18th tee finishing with par at the last. Gutted doesn’t cover it. Guaranteed to get beat on a count back. :agree:
25-04-2022, 02:48 PM
Feel your pain. Sitting 2 over par on the 17th tee at West Lothian’s Stableford open this morning. I’m 6 over on the 18th tee finishing with par at the last. Gutted doesn’t cover it. Guaranteed to get beat on a count back. :agree:
Bloody knew it. Beaten on a count back. :rolleyes: £125 voucher has softened the blow tho.
hibeg
25-04-2022, 05:54 PM
Bloody knew it. Beaten on a count back. :rolleyes: £125 voucher has softened the blow tho.
I ended up 3d in Div A so will pick up a few quid for that.
I had one of only 10 2s in the competition so that will also be worth quite a few quid.
Probably around £50 overall
As you say, softens the blow, but what could have been 😢
At least the handicap came down a bit
30-04-2022, 12:56 PM
Stoopid bloody game.
FifeHibs
15-05-2022, 07:20 PM
Is Dunbar a decent course?
15-05-2022, 07:41 PM
Is Dunbar a decent course?
Yes. Excellent :thumbsup:
FifeHibs
15-05-2022, 08:11 PM
Yes. Excellent :thumbsup:
Thank you,
If we are having a double round would would Gullane 2 or 3 be worth a knock round aswell
17-05-2022, 07:04 PM
Thank you,
If we are having a double round would would Gullane 2 or 3 be worth a knock round aswell
Hell yes. Both excellent too. Gullane 2 before 3 purely down to length rather than any other consideration.
17-05-2022, 07:13 PM
I played a relatively new course in Inverness last Friday. The Kings Golf club has basically replaced Torvean and opened in 2019. Greens were good and the layout is terrific. A worthwhile experience if your up there at Castle Stuart or Dornoch. Condition of tees wasn’t great with patchy areas but there was plenty enough grass on the par three tees. The fairways however were rather poor and they are obviously struggling with them. Not near enough grass on them and noticeable by the over seeding and fertiliser on them. A year or so of growth should do them the world of good. It’s a good test and worth a visit. 28 points in a strong westerly and squally showers off the yelliows just shy of 6200 yards in their senior open was acceptable. I’d like another go at it now I’ve been round the layout. Nice friendly shiny new clubhouse too. I’ll be back.
hibeg
20-05-2022, 05:54 AM
Played Gullane 1 on Wednesday. After nearly 50 years, it finally happened.
Hole in 1 achieved on the 9th 😀😀
ACLeith
20-05-2022, 06:00 AM
Played Gullane 1 on Wednesday. After nearly 50 years, it finally happened.
Hole in 1 achieved on the 9th 😀😀
Congratulations. I got my first in March after 60+ years. Now we can look forward to our second 🏌 👍
hibeg
20-05-2022, 06:25 AM
Congratulations. I got my first in March after 60+ years. Now we can look forward to our second 🏌 👍
It’s some feeling after so many years of trying isn’t it. 👍
The other groups on the 8th green and 10th tee certainly heard the shouting 😂
One off my playing partners has had 18 holes in one, I kid you you not !!! He is a very low handicapper but 18 is scarcely believable
ACLeith
20-05-2022, 07:55 AM
It’s some feeling after so many years of trying isn’t it. 👍
The other groups on the 8th green and 10th tee certainly heard the shouting 😂
One off my playing partners has had 18 holes in one, I kid you you not !!! He is a very low handicapper but 18 is scarcely believable
Maybe he is including pitch and putt courses and putting greens? If so, I've had loads 🤭 Or else he is just a really good player!
When I had mine, the pro at the club said that Seve never had one. I googled it and its true. So good to drop that into the conversation with a smug look on the face!
hibeg
20-05-2022, 08:36 AM
Maybe he is including pitch and putt courses and putting greens? If so, I've had loads 🤭 Or else he is just a really good player!
When I had mine, the pro at the club said that Seve never had one. I googled it and its true. So good to drop that into the conversation with a smug look on the face!
LOL. It’s true about 18, I knew he had some but he never mentioned how many before.
Most were at Liberton which has a couple of short par 3s.
He is a 3 handicapper at Gullane, so yes, a very good player 😅
Didn’t know about Seve, but apparently many tour pros haven’t had one, which surprised me
20-05-2022, 11:04 AM
Played in my first ever seniors open at West Lothian GC on Wednesday. Course was in brilliant condition and the greens were as good as anything I've seen. Fantastic. Very windy but scored well. First time playing there and thought it was a very good, interesting course. Will definitely play again.
20-05-2022, 11:44 AM
Got offered a free hit round the Queens at Gleneagles last week. First time I've played any of them.
Loved it.
20-05-2022, 12:41 PM
Got offered a free hit round the Queens at Gleneagles last week. First time I've played any of them.
Loved it.
You should try Auchterarder right next door. A fraction of the cost and always in fantastic condition.
20-05-2022, 01:27 PM
Playing Downfield on Sunday. First time there too.
ACLeith
20-05-2022, 02:47 PM
One of the best inland courses I've played. I'm sure you'll enjoy it
20-05-2022, 09:16 PM
Great track Dave. :thumbsup:The entrance and the streets immediately before it make you think your’e in the wrong place and going into an industrial estate or something but once you’re in it’s fantastic. Red Squirrels the lot.
23-05-2022, 08:07 AM
Great track Dave. :thumbsup:The entrance and the streets immediately before it make you think your’e in the wrong place and going into an industrial estate or something but once you’re in it’s fantastic. Red Squirrels the lot.
It was superb! Only managed 29 points but thats because my short game is nowhere near good enough at the moment. Loved it though.
23-05-2022, 03:05 PM
Properly caught the bug to play again after years of not playing.
Was a member at Turnhouse late 90s until early 00s, just been bouncing around the last couple
of months and played Broomieknowe, Newbattle, Gullane 3, Balbirnie, Kirkcaldy, Kings Acre and Kinghorn.
Heading to Aberdour on Friday
FifeHibs
24-05-2022, 05:01 PM
I had a few cancellations and have a free tee time at Ladybank on Friday @ 4:45 can move to later if required as plenty spaces after 5:15 £20 sign on if anyone is keen let me know.
25-05-2022, 03:39 PM
I had a few cancellations and have a free tee time at Ladybank on Friday @ 4:45 can move to later if required as plenty spaces after 5:15 £20 sign on if anyone is keen let me know.
Bugger. I’m down at the Hirsel or would have taken you up on that FH.:agree:
FifeHibs
25-05-2022, 05:12 PM
Bugger. I’m down at the Hirsel or would have taken you up on that FH.:agree:
Just drop me a message anytime you fancy a game up there
25-05-2022, 08:10 PM
I'll definitely take you up on a game Fife. Unfortunately I'm busy this Friday.
AugustaHibs
27-05-2022, 11:46 AM
Down in Peebles over the next few weeks. I’ve played Peebles itself and quite enjoyed it.
Is cardrona worth the £20 fee? Looks like a monster if you aren’t a big hitter
27-05-2022, 12:26 PM
It's definitely worth 20 quid. I've always enjoyed it
28-05-2022, 12:28 PM
Played for the seniors on Thursday, we were 4 down with 5 to play and won at St Annes Old Links, the other pair were shell shocked.
So were we. :greengrin
05-06-2022, 06:14 PM
I played an open at Balmore north of the weedge today in a fair old wind. Tricky wee par 66 course with sone difficult par 3s. Unbelievably the best scratch score with a handful of scores still to go in is 72. 6 over par!!! I don’t think in all my years of playing I’ve seen that. I shouldn’t have been so hard on myself. :greengrin
edit. 72 was indeed best scratch. There was only one player who actually broke par net. PCC up 2.
11-06-2022, 02:40 PM
Just back from a first visit to Dunfermline golf club. Decent track. Wouldn’t mind another go without the hurricane and occasional monsoon.
11-06-2022, 05:15 PM
Down in Peebles over the next few weeks. I’ve played Peebles itself and quite enjoyed it.
Is cardrona worth the £20 fee? Looks like a monster if you aren’t a big hitter
What was it like? Played it when we first came out of lockdown and they'd let it go a bit. Certainly was not what it used to be.
Try Innerleithen along the road. Only 9 but a tricky test.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkrHbVe87Nk
16-06-2022, 06:59 PM
Just back from a first visit to Dunfermline golf club. Decent track. Wouldn’t mind another go without the hurricane and occasional monsoon.
Just looked at the result. Only 9 players broke 80. That’s surely unheard of for a scratch to 9 handicap open.
17-06-2022, 11:45 AM
What was it like? Played it when we first came out of lockdown and they'd let it go a bit. Certainly was not what it used to be.
Try Innerleithen along the road. Only 9 but a tricky test.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LkrHbVe87Nk
Cardrona is a must to avoid and has been for a while.
The course has suffered from a lack of investment and has never recovered from the covid period when it was closed completely.
I feel genuinely sorry for the greenkeeping staff who face a continual struggle with limited resources.
17-06-2022, 01:48 PM
Been very average recently, gone back up to 9.7 but not playing anywhere near it for ages, more of a 12-14.
Hit a gross 74 today, 2 over par at Herons Reach Blackpool, my best round ever. :smokin
20-06-2022, 01:41 PM
And a 75 today. :greengrin
AugustaHibs
20-06-2022, 02:33 PM
And a 75 today. :greengrin
Impressive! What would you say is the part of your game that lets you down when it’s not going well?
For me it’s my tee shots. Been striking my irons and wedges so pure but when I have a made day with the driver it’s carnage.
20-06-2022, 07:09 PM
Impressive! What would you say is the part of your game that lets you down when it’s not going well?
For me it’s my tee shots. Been striking my irons and wedges so pure but when I have a made day with the driver it’s carnage.
My driving is good, i'm normally on or just off the fairway, 230-240 yards. Putting is good too, very rarely 3 put these days, where i am in and out is my 5, 6 and 7 irons.
The last couple of rounds they have been excellant, but before that i was average to poor at times, missing greens to the right way too much.
The last couple of rounds i've been on the green, and two putting at worst gets the score down.
As we all know, it could all go pear shaped next time i'm out, especially as my handicap will drop tomorrow.
Playing Wednesday again and Thursday for the team, hopefully this form continues for a little more. :greengrin
22-06-2022, 05:45 PM
32 points today off my new handicap of 8.7, back to hitting irons right and badly too on occasions.
This game frustrates the hell out of me. :greengrin
22-06-2022, 06:05 PM
I played Crieff last Friday, first game for a while, and it was lovely.
There was a competition due there on the Saturday so it felt like it was in peak condition for that.
Played the whole round with the same ball so I don't know if that suggests it was a bit more forgiving but having played the first few holes with a wind behind then turning round to face into the wind on a 500 odd yard par five, it didn't feel overly easy.
Great day out though, and the young lads working in the clubhouse/ kitchen were absolutely top notch with us.
22-06-2022, 06:57 PM
I played Crieff last Friday, first game for a while, and it was lovely.
There was a competition due there on the Saturday so it felt like it was in peak condition for that.
Played the whole round with the same ball so I don't know if that suggests it was a bit more forgiving but having played the first few holes with a wind behind then turning round to face into the wind on a 500 odd yard par five, it didn't feel overly easy.
Great day out though, and the young lads working in the clubhouse/ kitchen were absolutely top notch with us.
Crieff is a nice course and great clubhouse. Some very long holes. Auchterarder nearby is a favourite of mine. Always in fantastic condition.
22-06-2022, 08:13 PM
I’m playing Muirfield tomorrow. Pray for me.
FifeHibs
02-07-2022, 09:23 PM
New putter required 🤬🤬🤬
southfieldhibby
03-07-2022, 07:13 AM
Hello 👋 very keen golfer, 12.3 and member at Duddy, that’s probably too low tbh. Love this time of year, have played the last 4 days with Jubilee yesterday in a testy wee wind so 88 not deadly , a couple over what it should be and that’s with an 8. SA looking good, stands up, OC closed obviously and from tomorrow New and Jubilee being played as a composite. My pal is a New Club member and very kindly uses his points on me.
Ambition is to play every course in Scotland, I’ve not counted but I think I’m into 3 figures, favourite courses are Dunbar, Elie, castle Stuart’s and Harris. Cheers!
MKHIBEE
03-07-2022, 06:24 PM
Hello 👋 very keen golfer, 12.3 and member at Duddy, that’s probably too low tbh. Love this time of year, have played the last 4 days with Jubilee yesterday in a testy wee wind so 88 not deadly , a couple over what it should be and that’s with an 8. SA looking good, stands up, OC closed obviously and from tomorrow New and Jubilee being played as a composite. My pal is a New Club member and very kindly uses his points on me.
Ambition is to play every course in Scotland, I’ve not counted but I think I’m into 3 figures, favourite courses are Dunbar, Elie, castle Stuart’s and Harris. Cheers!
There is around 550 courses in Scotland so good luck with that
I'm Spartacus
05-07-2022, 09:47 PM
Anyone looking for Scottish Open tickets? My mate is selling 2 for Thursday (£40 the pair) and 2 for Saturday (£60 the pair), decent saving if you have plans to go down.
08-07-2022, 12:59 PM
Played Dumbarnie yesterday. Great course. Greens are still pretty poor for the money. Particularly the 8th. Some of the aprons and approaches were better. If your thinking about it I would wait till next year.
As an aside South African tour pro Shaun Norris was playing behind me off the Black tees. Unreal the distances and accuracy on a breezy day. I’m going each-way on him next week.
08-07-2022, 01:03 PM
Currently in Vilamoura, Portugal. Had 2 games this week at Old Course and Millenium.
Both excellent courses if anyone is thinking of a golf trip in this area.
10-07-2022, 08:36 PM
Played Bruntsfield today with a ginger Hay fever suffering Hibee who is a member at Turnhouse. He was going well till conditions got the better of him. First to name him wins……………….. a bottle of chilled water and some piriteze.
10-07-2022, 08:45 PM
Ross Hay :greengrin
10-07-2022, 10:01 PM
Ross Hay :greengrin
Nope. This chap was in Turkey and suffered there too.
13-07-2022, 07:45 PM
Spey valley. Tough track on a tough day. Brutal.
13-07-2022, 08:03 PM
Nope. This chap was in Turkey and suffered there too.
Andrew Walls?
13-07-2022, 10:42 PM
Andrew Walls?
:thumbsup::thumbsup:
15-07-2022, 08:42 PM
Boat of Garten. Lovely track and very picturesque. About a third of the greens absolutely ducked and repaired by turf!!!! Really poor.
Carrbridge today. 9 holes of challenging shortish holes. Very good condition. Best of the three I played up there the last few days condition wise. The 7th has a carry of 250 yards to a narrow green front to back with no future at the back. (Not unlike the first at Winterfield but smaller narrower green.). Whole course a very good test of golf. Bring yer best swing.
Just_Jimmy
19-07-2022, 08:18 AM
I'm relatively new to golf. I've always had an interest but until lockdown I didn't play.
I got clubs etc during lockdown and I've got a good mate who's about a year ahead of me in terms of taking it up.
I'm actually decent, whilst not brilliant, I can get around a course. I'm just really inconsistent. Im happy enough with where i am considering the following, but want to improve;
All in I've probably been playing for 8 months to a year due to how often they closed courses etc and winter.
I don't play that often, some months I'm lucky if I get out twice.
That said, I absolutely love the game and I'm at a point where I want to make a real concerted effort to get better. I've still not broken 100 but I'm determined to take at least 10 off my score then go from there.
I'm looking at lessons now because I feel I'm ready and they'd make a proper difference to my game. There's a guy at my local course that's a PGA level 3 coach. Is that decent and what should I look to get out my lessons?
For those of you that are genuinely good golfers, what's the best way to start breaking 100 regularly so that I can really improve?
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
19-07-2022, 04:42 PM
Try and keep track of your round stats if you can. You will probably find you have lots of shots within 100 yards or so from the green. Including lots of 3 (or more!) putts. The single biggest way to reduce your scores would be to practice putting, chipping and pitching.
Most people will go to a driving range and smash loads of balls with a driver. Whereas the biggest impact would actually be felt if they practiced on their short game.
And don't attempt really difficult shots that have a high risk of putting you in trees, bunkers, water etc. Play sensibly away from these and you will soon turn 7s into 6s and then 5s. Your short game will then turn them into 4s and 5s.
Have fun.
19-07-2022, 05:43 PM
I'm relatively new to golf. I've always had an interest but until lockdown I didn't play.
I got clubs etc during lockdown and I've got a good mate who's about a year ahead of me in terms of taking it up.
I'm actually decent, whilst not brilliant, I can get around a course. I'm just really inconsistent. Im happy enough with where i am considering the following, but want to improve;
All in I've probably been playing for 8 months to a year due to how often they closed courses etc and winter.
I don't play that often, some months I'm lucky if I get out twice.
That said, I absolutely love the game and I'm at a point where I want to make a real concerted effort to get better. I've still not broken 100 but I'm determined to take at least 10 off my score then go from there.
I'm looking at lessons now because I feel I'm ready and they'd make a proper difference to my game. There's a guy at my local course that's a PGA level 3 coach. Is that decent and what should I look to get out my lessons?
For those of you that are genuinely good golfers, what's the best way to start breaking 100 regularly so that I can really improve?
If you get lessons, make sure you practice whatever it is they are teaching you and don't expect instant results, often one step back two forward etc and they do take time. You'll really need to play and practice a decent amount to see longer term improvement. Sadly I can't help you with the consistency part, I struggle with that myself.
I'd also work on short game - so chipping and putting. Putting is like half your strokes. Lots of good drills for this online.
19-07-2022, 06:49 PM
I’m certainly not a good golfer, would probably have a handicap of 18 or so so I’m familiar with the getting from 100 to 90. I don’t really have the time or inclination to play more or practice enough to move on from there.
Good course management can shave a lot of strokes off a round. Knowing where the safest “miss” is, or if you have a repeat mistake (hook, slice or the like) knowing how to cater for it. 3 x 5 irons to get to a green is better than smashing a couple of balls out of bounds and still be standing on the tee taking your 5th. Aim for centres of greens instead of attacking pins.
I’ve never had a golf lesson and my game is a combination of adaptations so I try never to coach anyone or advise on swing mechanics - I don’t know what I’m talking about and reckon you’ve to be careful giving and taking advice and that’s where proper lessons come in.
My game’s probably made the biggest strides when I’ve had time to play on my own. I’ve quite liked utilising twilight golf offers and playing when courses are quiet (sometimes eerily so). Being able to drop 3 or 4 balls and practice the short game, hitting different clubs with different trajectories and seeing what you like best.
And as mentioned, the putting. If you play the same course regularly, spend as much time getting to know the greens. Practice like mad from 3-8 ft as they’ll make or break rounds. Work out where to put the ball to minimise the 3’s. Always keep absolute concentration so the miss from less than 2ft is a never event. And try to make sure that the 4 putt is a never event. You can weather the odd 3 putt on your way to a 90.
Turn up early, get nicely warmed up. Loosen up so the swing on the first tee feels comfortable. Spend a decent amount of time on the putting green before going out to get a good feel for the ball so you’re comfortable putting on the 1st green, not waiting until the back 9 to get a feel for them.
Get mistakes and bad holes out of your system fast. Don’t fester or get into a “I’m playing crap today” mindset. Only thing that mattters is the next shot.
When I play well and play better than my handicap (ie break 90) then it’s because I do these things. This list is compiled from all the things I tend to do when I play crap and get >100.
My pet hate is crushing a big drive, being closish to a green and walking off with a double or triple bogey. Happens way too often.
ACLeith
19-07-2022, 07:24 PM
Lot of good advice here, some of which applies whatever your handicap is. One comment I would add is that unlike refereeing decisions in our games, the good/lucky breaks do tend to balance out the bad ones.
As someone said, the most important shot you ever play is the next one. It's a cliche but especially true if you've just had a bad break.
Stick at it JJ, it's a game you can play even when you're as old as me!
Just_Jimmy
21-07-2022, 10:03 AM
Guys that's superb. Even just reading it and knowing whatever you're ability the game is a leveller. I absolutely love the game and I love trying to beat the course rather than who I'm playing with. A lot of what's been said rings true. Especially the putting side.
Time and effort to get better. I genuinely think I can be a much better player.
25-07-2022, 09:35 AM
I've had a good few days out already this year.....
Spey Valley
Jubilee St Andrews
Queens at Gleneagles
Downfield
Glencorse
Harburn
Duns
Carrick at Loch Lomond
Castle Park
Old Course, Vilamoura
Millenium, Vilamoura
Still got Largs, Panmure and Castle Stuart to come....
Won't be as long a list as Mr Greenlex though :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
ACLeith
25-07-2022, 10:27 AM
Spey Valley
Jubilee St Andrews
Queens at Gleneagles
Downfield
Glencorse
Harburn
Duns
Carrick at Loch Lomond
Castle Park
Old Course, Vilamoura
Millenium, Vilamoura
Going to be playing Duns next month, so what's your thoughts on the course?
25-07-2022, 01:05 PM
Going to be playing Duns next month, so what's your thoughts on the course?
I enjoyed it.
Just_Jimmy
25-07-2022, 06:41 PM
Good advice earlier folks. Giving it a right go.
Love it, love chasing it and trying to just get better every time. Marginal games.
25-07-2022, 08:16 PM
43 points today to win our seniors comp. :greengrin26053
Couldnt hit a barn door with a banjo last week. :confused:
26-07-2022, 01:50 PM
Spey Valley
Jubilee St Andrews
Queens at Gleneagles
Downfield
Glencorse
Harburn
Duns
Carrick at Loch Lomond
Castle Park
Old Course, Vilamoura
Millenium, Vilamoura
Up to 34 away days for the season.:agree: Swanston for the first time this Friday and West Linton on Sunday will bring it up to 36. 50 odd planned. :greengrin
Winterfield
Kingsbarns
Ladybank
Baberton x3 two bounce games and their seniors
Royal Musselburgh
Renaissance
West Lothian
Pumpherston
Newbattle
Kilspindie
Kings Club
Bathgate
Greenburn
The Hirsel
Linlithgow
Uphall x2 two opens
Balmore
Dunfermline Pitfirrane
Muirfeild
Ratho Park
The Glen
Dumbarnie
Milngavie
Bruntsfield
Powfoot
Gifford
Spey Valley
Boat of Garten
Carrbridge
Craigmillar Park
Mortonhall
chuck in 38 medals at home plus match play ties (I’m in the semis of one) and senior team games it’s a fair amount of golf.
Im also currently at 4700 balls at the range (mostly at Kingsfield ) since March. I don’t really want to think of the cost. GOLF DAFT!!
all that and still can’t play the game properly.
Im gonna need a rest come October.
patch1875
27-07-2022, 03:45 PM
Played Dunbar at the weekend what a cracking course.
29-07-2022, 05:50 PM
Played Dunbar at the weekend what a cracking course.
I played there yesterday in the Seniors Open and it was a season highlight for me that I didn't three putt !
😄
30-07-2022, 05:08 PM
Played Swanston for the first time yesterday. Reckon it’ll be my last too.
30-07-2022, 07:31 PM
Played Swanston for the first time yesterday. Reckon it’ll be my last too.
It's a good hike but the apres golf hospitality is excellent. 👍. I'm heading to Torwoodlee golf club in Gala next Saturday , a course I always enjoy playing.
30-07-2022, 07:34 PM
It's a good hike but the apres golf hospitality is excellent. 👍. I'm heading to Torwoodlee golf club in Gala next Saturday , a course I always enjoy playing.
West Linton for me tomorrow.
30-07-2022, 09:58 PM
West Linton for me tomorrow.
Good luck and beware the midgies, especially on the second tee. 😄
01-08-2022, 08:19 AM
My golf has been less that impressive this season especially with the big stick. Heading for a lesson this afternoon.
patch1875
01-08-2022, 08:28 AM
Any recommendations for getting clubs regripped and lengthened?
02-08-2022, 01:06 PM
Any recommendations for getting clubs regripped and lengthened?
I'd try GolfClubs4Cash at Loanhead.
I know they provide an excellent regripping service and have enough qualified staff on site to advise you on the shaft options that will suit you best.
03-08-2022, 09:10 AM
I'd try GolfClubs4Cash at Loanhead.
I know they provide an excellent regripping service and have enough qualified staff on site to advise you on the shaft options that will suit you best.
They made a bit of a mess of mine when I got my clubs regripped last year but I went back and got them fixed for free
patch1875
03-08-2022, 11:01 AM
Thanks for the replies I’ve actually put them into the place at the Braids had a few decent recommendations for them.
07-08-2022, 03:43 PM
After my lesson last Monday I had my best score of the season yesterday. Funny old game.
08-08-2022, 03:38 PM
After my lesson last Monday I had my best score of the season yesterday. Funny old game.
Well done! Every day is a learning day on the gowf course. I've been playing fairly well for 5 weeks now then today at Dunbar I was absolutely crap and that's an understatement.
Funny old game !
09-08-2022, 04:55 PM
Well done! Every day is a learning day on the gowf course. I've been playing fairly well for 5 weeks now then today at Dunbar I was absolutely crap and that's an understatement.
Funny old game !
It very much depends what Lex turns up on the day. One things for sure if it’s not there within the first 6 holes it rarely makes an appearance.
09-08-2022, 08:34 PM
First time tomorrow since Dunbar in April - playing at Lanark with a society my dad's a member of (going as a guest).
Never played it before (despite having lived here for 6 years now). Always heard great things about the course and not-so-great things about the membership. Be interesting to see just how bad I am :greengrin
Just_Jimmy
10-08-2022, 03:11 PM
So following my previous post. I went and got lessons. The guy is level 3 pga pro and he's superb.
I had my third lesson today. In just 3 lessons he's changed everything I was doing, to be fair he did say I wasn't that bad, I just needed corrected having never had a lesson. I'm now hitting the ball properly. I've not got much distance yet but its been 3 weeks since I started and it's like relearning.
I came home today after and I feel like I've unlocked the answers. I've still got miles to go but I feel like I'm in a position to build on and become a decent golfer.
Got 2 more lessons and then I think I'll book more because it's superb.
If someone could teach me how to Putt I'd be laughing.
Practice practice practice for the last 3 weeks and the improvement is massive. I'm going out this weekend so I'll report back with my new pro looking swing results. [emoji108]
ACLeith
10-08-2022, 04:32 PM
If someone could teach me how to Putt I'd be laughing
If you do learn the secret then please share it with me, I've been looking for 60 years !
Just_Jimmy
10-08-2022, 05:38 PM
If you do learn the secret then please share it with me, I've been looking for 60 years !I was afraid this would be the consensus. [emoji1]
ACLeith
10-08-2022, 06:32 PM
I was afraid this would be the consensus. [emoji1]
Last Wednesday playing a doubles tie, I putted fantastic, didn't miss anything within 8 feet. Saturday in a mixed Open, same course, same greens, similar weather, below average with the putting. Finished 3rd, if I had putted like Wednesday, we would have won!
Whatever standard anyone plays to, the most overused phrase in this frustrating, wonderful game is --- "if only ......:.