View Full Version : Rangers fans
Paul1642
08-03-2021, 01:30 PM
The police dispersed the crowd at Perth within about 20 minutes, maybe a bigger % of police last night and they could have done the same.
Where do these extra police come from though? They need to be pulled from other local areas where they are already under staffed and also busy with localised groups of rangers fans.
EI255
08-03-2021, 01:30 PM
People saying the police should step in with batons and tear gas clearly don’t have a clueWhy not? Gotta keep order on the streets when clearly those disobeying covid rules didn't give a toss and threatened police.
Way too soft in Scotland. They wouldn't have got away with that in other European countries.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
08-03-2021, 01:32 PM
Why not? Gotta keep order on the streets when clearly those disobeying covid rules didn't give a toss and threatened police.
Way too soft in Scotland. They wouldn't have got away with that in other European countries.
Batons and the like would have caused exactly the opposite.
08-03-2021, 01:43 PM
That statement is up there with the worst they've put out, and there should really be some consequences over it. No "guidelines" were broken in jubilance, the law was broken & the club are effectively condoning it.
AugustaHibs
08-03-2021, 01:48 PM
Why not? Gotta keep order on the streets when clearly those disobeying covid rules didn't give a toss and threatened police.
It’s not as easy as just going in gung ho and attacking them with batons and tear gas, there would’ve been a full blown riots with scope for fatalities and almost certainly serious injuries to supporters and the police
08-03-2021, 01:48 PM
It's not right , i agree .
But you said that you were finished with lockdowm because some bad rangers fans broke lockdown.
Not a very mature stance imo.
Na you’re right it’s not but becoming a bit fed up when it’s one rule for them but another rule for others.
08-03-2021, 01:49 PM
In the same position, we would have done the exact same. It’s because it’s the Huns that people are so wound up.
If it had been any other group of people no one would bother their ass about this.
08-03-2021, 01:50 PM
Na you’re right it’s not but becoming a bit fed up when it’s one rule for them but another rule for others.
You're not alone in that boat mate.
08-03-2021, 01:55 PM
https://www.rangers.co.uk/Article/club-statement-4/1eY7WhmE2hY1o18GUC9arB
Official statement
A little over exuberance, that’s all they had to say :wink:
08-03-2021, 02:00 PM
If it had been any other group of people no one would bother their ass about this.
I don't think that's the case at all during a national lockdown. What makes it worse is Rangers' unwillingness to call for fans to stay home. That is unfathomable to me.
Basildon Hibs
08-03-2021, 02:02 PM
It seems to work in other European countries and elsewhere...
08-03-2021, 02:05 PM
It’s the hypocrisy and wanton criminality / vandalism that sticks in the craw.
Disgusting behaviour. The club was very busy on social media yesterday but couldn’t find time to ask their fans to behave until today (and even then, only in a very quiet way).
Paul1642
It seems to work in other European countries and elsewhere...
Is that really the style of policing you want for our country?
What are the other significant milestones?
The fawning over the huns is nauseating. Second richest club in country in monumental league win. GTF.
Also saw a video of Kemar Roofe at their training ground (I think) with fans clearly out of his tits on coke. Idiot.
Hope UEFA are watching, as that's likely not leaving his system by Thursday.
Basildon Hibs
08-03-2021, 02:12 PM
When it comes to the Huns, yes. They constantly act with total impunity towards Govt. rules that are there to try and protect the general public and make it easier for our NHS and frontline workers.
Cracking a few skulls would send out a warning not to behave like ****ing idiots.
08-03-2021, 02:12 PM
Sorry, I meant I would be bothered my ass
EI255
08-03-2021, 02:17 PM
I don't think that's the case at all during a national lockdown. What makes it worse is Rangers' unwillingness to call for fans to stay home. That is unfathomable to me.Exactly. I find it shocking that the club refused to condem the masses who flouted the rules yesterday. That alone deserves punishment.
08-03-2021, 02:23 PM
Exactly. I find it shocking that the club refused to condem the masses who flouted the rules yesterday. That alone deserves punishment.
Compare it to hibs cancelling the 2007 cup parade round the stadium cos a few 13 year olds were running on the pitch.
08-03-2021, 02:26 PM
https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-0/s600x600/158440693_3746563938769242_7347848096444667781_n.j pg?_nc_cat=103&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=P6EbLUDUJv0AX9MVxXH&_nc_ht=scontent-lht6-1.xx&tp=7&oh=66d6ce7863555225f93cd9200ba4da41&oe=606B9E59
08-03-2021, 02:28 PM
We do have armed response units as well :greengrin
08-03-2021, 02:28 PM
Nonsense.
You think we’ve all been not seeing or families, not going to relatives funerals and not having our kids educated just to be fine with folk heading out in numbers to celebrate something to do with football?
The fact it is them and that particular brand of behaviour they bring with them I’m sure makes it worse to witness but absolutely people would have been bothered.
08-03-2021, 02:29 PM
We're gonna be stuck with these inbreds for ever. See if Scotland goes Indy they are going to be a real thorn in the side. I wouldn't be surprised if they go into politics in some shape or form.
08-03-2021, 02:33 PM
When it's needed, yes, police officers were being assaulted and abused, are they just to accept that and put it down to some boisterous fans having some so called fun.
Highwayman
08-03-2021, 02:43 PM
When it's needed, yes, police officers were being assaulted and abused, are they just to accept that and put it down to some boisterous fans having some so called fun.
If there was any real serious credibile intent in the Scottish Government,Scottish Police and Scottish Football the upcoming Old Firm game should be cancelled in public interest.
Do I think this will happen ? Not a chance.
08-03-2021, 02:49 PM
If the polis had taken batons to them they would be crying they are the biggest victims of unfair policing and that the response was OTT as they were just celebrating. They will always be a schizophrenic mix of bully and victim wrapped in the skin of bigotry and racism..
McSwanky
08-03-2021, 03:03 PM
What's all this **** about the number 55 anyway? It's their first ever league title, right?
08-03-2021, 03:09 PM
Do you stand by that comment after what went on yesterday? You didn't address the issue just deflected on behalf of the idiots on the street. Your comment made you sound like an apologist for them. A flippant "oh it's ok we'd do the same" . Speak for yourself, imo the vast majority of Hibs fans have more sense than your average bigoted hun.
If you scrolled further down you would have seen my reply bud.
08-03-2021, 03:12 PM
If the polis had taken batons to them they would be crying they are the biggest victims of unfair policing and that the response was OTT as they were just celebrating. They will always be a schizophrenic mix of bully and victim wrapped in the skin of bigotry and racism..
Have you ever considered writing a novel? I'd read it. That was beautiful.
08-03-2021, 03:14 PM
Give them a proper reason to play the victim, I say...
08-03-2021, 03:15 PM
They genuinely believe they are superior. Horrible bigoted thugs.
No they don't. They know they are **** and wallow in it. Rab Nesbitt would have put it far better than I.
08-03-2021, 03:21 PM
nae mucking about with this officer
08-03-2021, 03:45 PM
Met a sticky bun acquaintance out on his lockdown walk this afternoon. I tried to walk on with just a quick hello in passing but he clearly wanted to talk. "You haven't met my sister and the the wife before" he says by way of getting the conversation started. I looked around for the second woman, thinking one of them must have been lagging behind. But no, it was just the one woman.
Should be brought to task..... plain and simple!
That is out of order!
08-03-2021, 03:59 PM
Is that really the style of policing you want for our country? That style of Policing isn't too unusual on left wing marches
08-03-2021, 04:02 PM
The guy on the right has the most Hunnish features. You can tell he's a Rangers fan a mile off :greengrin
eastender1
08-03-2021, 04:06 PM
Just in case, folk forget what these weirdos are like
https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/19142664.man-filmed-performing-sex-act-celebrations-ibrox/?ref=ar
08-03-2021, 04:09 PM
In 2016 Police Scotland spent millions setting up a squad to have all those who encroached onto a football pitch identified and put though the courts to seek banning orders - assisted by the mainstream media who issued photos and CCTV.
I'd be looking for the same kind of police operation to identify the thousands that gathered putting life at genuine risk, have them identified, and all those identified visited and issued with retrospective fixed penalty tickets :agree::aok: only fair that 'exuberance' is defined and enforced in similar fashion after all :wink:
For those arguing about hypocrisy (of posters) saying 'we'd have done that if we'd won the League Cup' and having a go at people wanting to see some level of proper enforcement, wait until a loved one or friend of yours is seriously ill or god forbid dies from Covid - as I sadly experienced last year - and then get back to me to debate the point.
Hibs fans might have celebrated en masse, my reaction (if that had happened) would be the same as now. What those supporters did yesterday was utterly reckless in the extreme, puts life at genuine risk, and they behaved like feral animals to boot. They are, and always will be, Scotland's Shame :aok: The Rangers players and staff who encouraged it by being at the ground and appearing at the exit gates should be ashamed of themselves too.
08-03-2021, 04:16 PM
Should be brought to task..... plain and simple!
That is out of order!
Hope you're well mate :aok: agreed at first sight it does not paint a good picture but I'm sure there have been occasions where the crowds overwhelm the cops and a photo can be taken in an absolute instant and often out of context.
Should be easy to identify the three in the photo and knock on their door with a fine though :greengrin
08-03-2021, 04:20 PM
Met a sticky bun acquaintance out on his lockdown walk this afternoon. I tried to walk on with just a quick hello in passing but he clearly wanted to talk. "You haven't met my sister and the the wife before" he says by way of getting the conversation started. I looked around for the second woman, thinking one of them must have been lagging behind. But no, it was just the one woman.
:faf::faf:
Hope you're well mate :aok: agreed at first sight it does not paint a good picture but I'm sure there have been occasions where the crowds overwhelm the cops and a photo can be taken in an absolute instant and often out of context.
Should be easy to identify the three in the photo and knock on their door with a fine though :greengrin
There probably have been and continue to be but that’s blatant and it’s not like there are thousands of folk near him.
Poor show imho and could lead to double standards
08-03-2021, 05:00 PM
I presume they felt encouraged by the lack of condemnation from their club yesterday, because it's all kicking off again tonight.
Dr What If?
08-03-2021, 05:13 PM
Nonsense.
You think we’ve all been not seeing or families, not going to relatives funerals and not having our kids educated just to be fine with folk heading out in numbers to celebrate something to do with football?
The fact it is them and that particular brand of behaviour they bring with them I’m sure makes it worse to witness but absolutely people would have been bothered.
Too right....I'm a single parent homeschooling a 9 year old while holding down a full time job from home....I'm utterly exhausted. I rest when I go to bed, that is it. I'm only on here because Ive got half an hour while dinner's in the oven.
If that all important R number takes a wee spike because some half wits think celebrating a football game is worth more than life and liberty then we all suffer. A few more lives lost, a few more jobs gone.....and for those of us struggling to just keep going its another kick in the proverbials.
08-03-2021, 05:20 PM
I've had my suspicions for a while. :wink:
08-03-2021, 05:23 PM
See they’ve set up a go fund me to repair the memorial benches in George Square. They seem to think that wrecking the place then throwing money back to repair the damage makes them a class apart from everyone else.
Typically arrogant, self-aggrandising stunt from a vile support.
https://www.gofundme.com/f/repairs-to-the-george-square-memorial-benches?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=p_cp+share-sheet
08-03-2021, 05:27 PM
See they’ve set up a go fund me to repair the memorial benches in George Square. They seem to think that wrecking the place then throwing money back to repair the damage makes them a class apart from everyone else.
https://www.gofundme.com/f/repairs-to-the-george-square-memorial-benches?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=p_cp+share-sheet
Those who wrecked the benches won't contribute of course, but well done to those who are trying to put it right. There are decent Rangers fans who stayed home last night and who always do the right thing. Sadly for them, they are continually embarrassed by the large number of degenerates who also exist within the Rangers support. Worst of all, Rangers FC always turn a blind eye or even encourage the idiots and the bigots.
08-03-2021, 05:28 PM
The combination of water cannon and strong detergent would have sent them hame quickly enough.
Dirty Hunnish bassas. Totally sickened by the response of the Polis and The Rangers FC too.
08-03-2021, 05:33 PM
I’m sure it will cost more than £3k to fix the benches.
No excuse for this - did they set up a page for the Manchester mess they made too ?
08-03-2021, 05:33 PM
The combination of water cannon and string detergent would have sent them hame quickly enough.
Dirty Hunnish bassas. Totally sickened by the response of the Polis and The Rangers FC too.
That and a pop up job centre.
K-Zazu
08-03-2021, 05:38 PM
They out again tonight?
In 2016 Police Scotland spent millions setting up a squad to have all those who encroached onto a football pitch identified and put though the courts to seek banning orders - assisted by the mainstream media who issued photos and CCTV.
I'd be looking for the same kind of police operation to identify the thousands that gathered putting life at genuine risk, have them identified, and all those identified visited and issued with retrospective fixed penalty tickets :agree::aok: only fair that 'exuberance' is defined and enforced in similar fashion after all :wink:
For those arguing about hypocrisy (of posters) saying 'we'd have done that if we'd won the League Cup' and having a go at people wanting to see some level of proper enforcement, wait until a loved one or friend of yours is seriously ill or god forbid dies from Covid - as I sadly experienced last year - and then get back to me to debate the point.
Hibs fans might have celebrated en masse, my reaction (if that had happened) would be the same as now. What those supporters did yesterday was utterly reckless in the extreme, puts life at genuine risk, and they behaved like feral animals to boot. They are, and always will be, Scotland's Shame :aok: The Rangers players and staff who encouraged it by being at the ground and appearing at the exit gates should be ashamed of themselves too.
TH your first 2 paragraphs are spot on but I’m not sure they will go to the same lengths as they did in 2016.
The conduct yesterday, and by all accounts this evening show what disregard they have for anything!
No condemnation by the club, manager or players says it all. They should have told fans under no uncertain term should you go and if you we condone your actions.
Anyone know, whether it be the Scottish Government, Police or any other authority make any comment and they play the victim card.
They should all be doing be but we all know!
HibeeHibernian4
08-03-2021, 07:16 PM
I'm sure we would, I'm positive the police would bail in and disperse us, that's the problem.
Maybe we need to make the police afraid of doing that then, something that Rangers and Celtic have achieved quite well in recent years?
08-03-2021, 07:22 PM
For what is worth, this is what I reckon. Scotgov will tell football authorities to call the league. They will say sevco have won it and the 2 Glasgow derby games are too big a risk.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210308/a917ac159b7be68cec6d4866da6e649b.jpg
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
EI255
08-03-2021, 07:27 PM
24413Is that a ***** on the police outif?
EI255
08-03-2021, 07:29 PM
For what is worth, this is what I reckon. Scotgov will tell football authorities to call the league. They will say sevco have won it and the 2 Glasgow derby games are too big a risk.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210308/a917ac159b7be68cec6d4866da6e649b.jpg
Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkGood. So we won't have to witness Gerrard and Co making titz of themselves again.
08-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Think you're missing the point.
Most of the folk that are contributing are not the ones who caused the damage.
Good on them for taking ownership to put it right.
More than their club has done.
Obviously still shame on the **** heids who caused it.
08-03-2021, 07:44 PM
I ****ing hope not. Football is one of the few things keeping me sane as it's something to look forward to. If that was the case then both Celtic and Rangers should be kicked out of the leagues.
Scottish men are awfy worried about statues these days!
Think you are missing the point.
Most of the folk that are contributing are not the ones who caused the damage.
Good on them for taking ownership to put it right.
More than their club has done.
The media en masse should be calling all those that gathered out and getting them identified and having them pay fines - The Rangers should be apologising for tacitly encouraging it and providing police with all the stadium's CCTV :agree: the behaviour of their fans and their club's non condemnation is disgusting.
The media en masse should be calling all those that gathered out and getting them identified and having them pay fines - The Rangers should be apologising for tacitly encouraging it and providing police with all the stadium's CCTV :agree: the behaviour of their fans and their club's non condemnation is disgusting.......but normal.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
08-03-2021, 07:57 PM
......but normal.
Very true Kato - it's the one thing I agree with Levein on, you can't ever upset The Rangers or the establishment. They wield an incredible amount of sway across all of society. Vile club.
I’m sure it will cost more than £3k to fix the benches.
No excuse for this - did they set up a page for the Manchester mess they made too ?
Don’t think they did, don’t think there was one after folk burst the crossbar or dug up the pitch that day in May either but well done to some of them for trying to fix benches in George Square
Very true Kato - it's the one thing I agree with Levein on, you can't ever upset The Rangers or the establishment. They wield an incredible amount of sway across all of society. Vile club.We've seen it our whole lives, mate. One rule for them and everyone else can go whistle.
08-03-2021, 08:15 PM
Don’t think they did, don’t think there was one after folk burst the crossbar or dug up the pitch that day in May either but well done to some of them for trying to fix benches in George SquareBig difference between a football pitch and memorial benches to the deceased.
1977, dont think anyone crowd funded for wembley.
Its like stabbing someone then buying them a plaster
08-03-2021, 08:20 PM
Don’t think they did, don’t think there was one after folk burst the crossbar or dug up the pitch that day in May either but well done to some of them for trying to fix benches in George Square
The average cost for inpatient care in hospital in Scotland is between £3000-£7000 - paying for a few broken benches in George Square is token in comparison for the risk they all posed to everyone healthcare wise. Token gesture from a vile support. :aok:
They should be called out and be called for what they were - feral :agree:
1977, dont think anyone crowd funded for wembley.
Groups of Scotland fans paid for all the damage to Wembley, goalposts, turf etc . All paid for afterwards.
08-03-2021, 08:25 PM
Those who wrecked the benches won't contribute of course, but well done to those who are trying to put it right. There are decent Rangers fans who stayed home last night and who always do the right thing. Sadly for them, they are continually embarrassed by the large number of degenerates who also exist within the Rangers support. Worst of all, Rangers FC always turn a blind eye or even encourage the idiots and the bigots.
The club is despicable, and plenty of ‘decent’ fans condone or turn a blind eye to the nasty behaviour. Maybe even join in with a party song now and again. That’s the reality.
08-03-2021, 08:26 PM
Groups of Scotland fans paid for all the damage to Wembley, goalposts, turf etc . All paid for afterwards.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkFair enough but my point stands.
We all know they shouldn’t have congregated & but we would’ve done the same .
The club & the polis should’ve made statements telling them to stay away .
08-03-2021, 08:41 PM
We all know they shouldn’t have congregated & but we would’ve done the same .
The club & the polis should’ve made statements telling them to stay away .
Would we ? I wouldn't - I saw first hand in December how Covid kills and it was someone just over 50 with no previous health issues.
I also worked during the Celtic Hearts final and have to be honest, Hearts fans, at the point of a possible victory, weren't (or didn't appear to have the inclination) to pour out their homes to assemble in the city or near Tynecastle.
Hearts did however state publicly well beforehand that no players or cup would be anywhere near the stadium regardless of the outcome and that the stadium was shut - that was very sensible and the right thing to do.
I agree that there would have been a fair few dafties, but not on that widespread scale Bod.
08-03-2021, 08:44 PM
Did Petrie during his exuberence interview at Hampden say that the club would pay for any damage, pitch ,goals etc. I am sure he did
What galled me is he was even asked the question.
Had a call from a health worker today and we got chatting about the breaking of the rules, George Square etc
She expects a rise in cases and more hospital admissions very soon .(as a direct result of this)
Staff at hospitals are raging at the events over the weekend she said.
People will die due to these peepul and their actions.
So sad.
08-03-2021, 08:57 PM
Would we ? I wouldn't - I saw first hand in December how Covid kills and it was someone just over 50 with no previous health issues.
I also worked during the Celtic Hearts final and have to be honest, Hearts fans, at the point of a possible victory, weren't (or didn't appear to have the inclination) to pour out their homes to assemble in the city or near Tynecastle.
Hearts did however state publicly well beforehand that no players or cup would be anywhere near the stadium regardless of the outcome and that the stadium was shut - that was very sensible and the right thing to do.
I agree that there would have been a fair few dafties, but not on that widespread scale Bod.
Exactly - folk trying to say we would do it. How can random posters comment on others actions they have never met before on here - let’s face it Hibs and Hearts fans have a minority who would turn up but they wouldn’t be acting like the huns fans do. The huns have been hurting the last few years so it was obvious what was going to happen. Luckily they won’t win the treble as St Mirren knocked them out.
Tommy75
08-03-2021, 09:05 PM
Looks like it could all kick off on the 21th then
percy veer
08-03-2021, 09:06 PM
so 54 and 8/10ths
08-03-2021, 09:07 PM
Police Scotland now getting their say on things (and sticking the boot in)
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-56321426
08-03-2021, 09:27 PM
That's because the Police position is indefensible. They cannot answer the tough and obvious questions being asked by the Scot Gov. Why did you not anticipate this ? What was your plan ? What did you think would happen ? Ho we're you prepared to enforce the law ?
In 2016, they slink off to Ibrox with 10 mins to go with no explanation as all the focus was on those big bad Hibs fans "over exuberance". This time, there is no excuse for their lack of planning and impotance. They need to somehow deflect this to a football cub. Pathetic.
08-03-2021, 09:36 PM
That's because the Police position is indefensible. They cannot answer the tough and obvious questions being asked by the Scot Gov. Why did you not anticipate this ? What was your plan ? What did you think would happen ? Ho we're you prepared to enforce the law ?
In 2016, they slink off to Ibrox with 10 mins to go with no explanation as all the focus was on those big bad Hibs fans "over exuberance". This time, there is no excuse for their lack of planning and impotance. They need to somehow deflect this to a football cub. Pathetic.
I know said Police Scotland spokesman very well, and knowing him, he won't let this lie.
Plus he doesn't like football, he's a rugby man :agree:
Measured statement which tells me there will be further action.
08-03-2021, 09:38 PM
so 54 and 8/10thsUnsure what you mean
08-03-2021, 09:39 PM
Unsure what you mean
Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkOuch, im slow. Get you now[emoji1787][emoji1787]
McSwanky
08-03-2021, 09:41 PM
Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkThat poster's a hoot on so many levels. Still, at least they managed to remember the 'i' in 'Celtc'
08-03-2021, 09:42 PM
Looks like it could all kick off on the 21th then
😆
08-03-2021, 09:50 PM
It would have been carnage.
They would have had to arrest hundreds of ****wits.
Even if that was possible, and this is the big thing, they would then needed to take them to Police Stations all over the shop to process them.
This would have put Police Officers and staff at massive unnecessary Covid risk by bringing this angry mass of bawbags in vehicles and into buildings.
Once processed and released they would then have to fumegate all the buildings.
As it is there are some broken benches and the Police can, if they want to play it that way, fine or arrest folk at a later date.
For whatever reason the strategy was one of containment and to make few arrests.
2016 was a different issue but the specific Police strategy and actions at the events of the weekend would have been pre-planned and agreed with the Scottish Govt etc.
08-03-2021, 10:17 PM
I know said Police Scotland spokesman very well, and knowing him, he won't let this lie.
Plus he doesn't like football, he's a rugby man :agree:
Measured statement which tells me there will be further action.
A wise man at Uni once told me “if you tell someone before the event that something’s going to happen it’s a reason, if you tell someone after the event it’s an excuse.”
All very well gunning for Rangers now but why did we not hear anything from Rangers or the police in the days leading up to the game?
I agree that Rangers should have said and done much more but this just looks like the police trying to deflect justified criticism.
They chose not to enforce the law.
Hibby John
08-03-2021, 10:34 PM
The combination of water cannon and strong detergent would have sent them hame quickly enough.
Dirty Hunnish bassas. Totally sickened by the response of the Polis and The Rangers FC too.Not sure about the detergent (other than for comedic value), but I would have liked to have seen a water cannon, or even some fire hoses, being used to dampen their enthusiasm a bit.
08-03-2021, 10:56 PM
Sevco have been pandering to the base instincts of their supporters for so long that I think they are scared of them.
Pathetic and scurrilous behaviour, but no surprise.
08-03-2021, 11:04 PM
A wise man at Uni once told me “if you tell someone before the event that something’s going to happen it’s a reason, if you tell someone after the event it’s an excuse.”
All very well gunning for Rangers now but why did we not hear anything from Rangers or the police in the days leading up to the game?
I agree that Rangers should have said and done much more but this just looks like the police trying to deflect justified criticism.
Only criticism of the Police is from folk on Social Media.
Scottish Govt and Police are both criticising Rangers.
All 3 would have been in discussions in the lead up and the other 2 are not happy with The Rangers.
The Rangers have written to Nicola now about unfair criticism so will be interesting to see what comes of that.
08-03-2021, 11:23 PM
There's also a saying about a bull and his son at the top of a hill overlooking a heard of cows..................it's not about running down and picking one off, it's about walking down and taking them all (sorry admins :greengrin)
All that Rangers needed to have done was make it crystal clear that anyone found guilty of trouble/blatant breaking of the rules etc would be banned from Ibrox for several years say minimum 5.
Clearly that was never going to happen.
1875godsgift
08-03-2021, 11:46 PM
There's also a saying about a bull and his son at the top of a hill overlooking a heard of cows..................it's not about running down and picking one off, it's about walking down and taking them all (sorry admins :greengrin)
I think what they've done is reprehensible, but I don't know if it merits being rogered by a bull :dunno:
Surely an early morning knock at the door and a £100 fine is enough punishment?
08-03-2021, 11:53 PM
All that Rangers needed to have done was make it crystal clear that anyone found guilty of trouble/blatant breaking of the rules etc would be banned from Ibrox for several years say minimum 5.
Clearly that was never going to happen.
I'm not sure even we would have gone that far to be honest.
Key West
09-03-2021, 06:49 AM
As far as I’m aware the supporters of St Johnstone managed to keep a lid on their emotions after winning the cup, there’s no excuses for the scenes that were witnessed on Sunday.
09-03-2021, 07:42 AM
I think what they've done is reprehensible, but I don't know if it merits being rogered by a bull :dunno:
Surely an early morning knock at the door and a £100 fine is enough punishment?
Shouldn't The Rangers be fined £10k for organising the event :greengrin
If the Gov and Police needed The Rangers to do the right thing in order for this to be managed, they are fools and it was doomed from the start. They should have insisted on seeing Sevco statement well before the Celtic match. The Police should have issued a strong public statement after The Rangers match THREATENING to video, arrest and fine anyone involved, even if that meant after the event. The Police and Gov should have told The Rangers players to stay out of sight, not to get involved or encourage lawlessness.
Given the Rangers failed in their responsibility to issue an effective warning and allowed their players to join in the celebrations with fans, they should be forced to pay for the policing and clean up for Sunday's carnage.
By doing nothing and accepting the situation, the Police and Government are in effect saying they are completely impotent and cannot do anything to stop thousands of Sevco or Celtic fans from mass-gathering in a Pandemic. That's unacceptable.
09-03-2021, 08:12 AM
09-03-2021, 10:43 AM
Looking at FF, I can’t find a single post which admits that they were in any way thoughtless or reckless. Plenty of posts expressing their hatred of the SG and many for their hatred of Scotland.
09-03-2021, 10:54 AM
Looking at FF, I can’t find a single post which admits that they were in any way thoughtless or reckless. Plenty of posts expressing their hatred of the SG and many for their hatred of Scotland.It really is a shame how many people are brought up in the West of Scotland to have a closed mind. Not very 2021.
Fuzzywuzzy
09-03-2021, 11:08 AM
Has Arlene Foster come out and said anything? There seemed to be plenty gatherings across Ulster
09-03-2021, 11:10 AM
Has Arlene Foster come out and said anything? There seemed to be plenty gatherings across Ulster
https://www.standard.co.uk/news/uk/rangers-police-psni-arlene-foster-glasgow-b922857.html
Fuzzywuzzy
09-03-2021, 11:12 AM
https://www.standard.co.uk/news/uk/rangers-police-psni-arlene-foster-glasgow-b922857.html
Wow - tough talking......
09-03-2021, 11:26 AM
Nowhere near tough enough.
09-03-2021, 11:32 AM
Translates to: get it right up you ye fenian *******s, we’re having a party.
09-03-2021, 11:33 AM
Did they need to say how happy they were? Absolute joke.
09-03-2021, 11:40 AM
So the implicit message is that Arlene Foster and her other other DUP colleagues are Huns. How sad that political leaders in such a teoubled part of the country feel the need to align the selves with a bigoted, rotten institution like Rangers and that they clearly believe that this is perfectly acceptable to their public. Anyone believing that Rangers and sectarianism aren’t intrinsically linked is deluding themselves.
09-03-2021, 11:45 AM
So the implicit message is that Arlene Foster and her other other DUP colleagues are Huns. How sad that political leaders in such a teoubled part of the country feel the need to align the selves with a bigoted, rotten institution like Rangers and that they clearly believe that this is perfectly acceptable to their public. Anyone believing that Rangers and sectarianism aren’t intrinsically linked is deluding themselves.
It's not implicit. She's a regular visitor to Ibrox.
09-03-2021, 11:52 AM
It's not implicit. She's a regular visitor to Ibrox.
I suppose there are few people in Ulster who won’t be aware of that. I didn’t know she was a regular Hun supporter.
It was more the fact that they feel it’s OK to pander to it on the media. When faced with serious civic flouting of rules, perhaps Foster and her fellow politicians could have just stuck to condemning of the stupidity of those on the streets.
I think the Police were left in a no win situation here. They could have tried to break this up but would have come across as heavy handed and there would have been carnage. Given the circumstances they did their best to contain the situation.
Responsibility should have lain with Rangers themselves to warn vociferously against this and to appeal to break it up while underway. Regardless of what Rangers said though, it would have happened anyway as some people are just stupid, irresponsible, reckless etc
Sadly this could have a wider impact on the rest of Scotland
09-03-2021, 12:37 PM
The Rangers players and officials actually went out to an area between the stands where they were able to see and be seen by the crowd on Saturday. That's as clear a signal of condoning and encouraging the behaviour.
09-03-2021, 12:39 PM
I find it a bit mystifying how impotent people view the police as being in the face of wide scale breaking of the law.
There are countless things they could have done differently in order to prevent or deal with a situation that is likely to ultimately cost lives.
£10k fines have been doled out to people when it suits them - I was speaking to someone who knows an 87 year old lady who was fined £10k for crossing the border without good reason. Not wishing to downplay the significance of breaking the rules and I'm not saying that fine wasn't undeserved depending on the situation but we're in a really dangerous situation when the law applies to some but not others. Do we just have to accept that the police are incapable of dealing with situations that are very much within their remit?
Basically - get a big enough mob, and law and order goes out the window.
I have sympathy to an extent with the situation the police found themselves in but I don't accept that they were faultless either in their own communications, their ability to lean on Rangers to get them to communicate, or then when the most inevitable situation ended up occurring. They're now backtracking and attempting to shift the blame when they should be looking in the mirror and asking themselves whether they are fit for purpose to deal with unruly mobs.
They've got a couple of weeks to get their act together because you don't exactly need to be Nostradamus to see into the future and predict when the next one is likely to be, although Police Scotland appear to be totally incapable of doing so.
EI255
Smashing memorial benches,,,,, perhaps as bad as the poppy thieving.
Who would have though....
EI255
The Rangers players and officials actually went out to an area between the stands where they were able to see and be seen by the crowd on Saturday. That's as clear a signal of condoning and encouraging the behaviour.Yip.
09-03-2021, 12:41 PM
If the Rangers had concerns about this then why did the police not tell the Rangers club to open the gates to ibrox and contain the supporters in the ground when they realised the size of crowds forming outside rather than bringing the city centre to a standstill and marching more supporters from the ground to the square.
Chippy paper now, Glasgow police will now move on to making a punt of the old firm game.
09-03-2021, 01:03 PM
I find it a bit mystifying how impotent people view the police as being in the face of wide scale breaking of the law.
There are countless things they could have done differently in order to prevent or deal with a situation that is likely to ultimately cost lives.
£10k fines have been doled out to people when it suits them - I was speaking to someone who knows an 87 year old lady who was fined £10k for crossing the border without good reason. Not wishing to downplay the significance of breaking the rules and I'm not saying that fine wasn't undeserved depending on the situation but we're in a really dangerous situation when the law applies to some but not others. Do we just have to accept that the police are incapable of dealing with situations that are very much within their remit?
I have sympathy to an extent with the situation the police found themselves in but I don't accept that they were faultless either in their own communications, their ability to lean on Rangers to get them to communicate, or then when the most inevitable situation ended up occurring. They're now backtracking and attempting to shift the blame when they should be looking in the mirror and asking themselves whether they are fit for purpose to deal with unruly mobs.
They've got a couple of weeks to get their act together because you don't exactly need to be Nostradamus to see into the future and predict when the next one is likely to be, although Police Scotland appear to be totally incapable of doing so.
I mentioned this at the time. Most of Scotland was in level 3 and 4 in November and December meaning travel was restricted. A local self catering property was booked for a family of 4,but it was a front for a house party. The owners called the police and they turned up at 10:30 but said that they couldn't break it up because people had come from Kirkcaldy and they had consumed alcohol.
I don't understand how they could not break it up and issue fines, confiscate the disco equipment and book anyone who tries to drive under the influence. The police Scotland approach of softly softly just hasn't worked in a lot of cases.
09-03-2021, 01:20 PM
Nicola no happy.
Basildon Hibs
09-03-2021, 01:24 PM
Shouldn't The Rangers be fined £10k for organising the event :greengrin
If the Gov and Police needed The Rangers to do the right thing in order for this to be managed, they are fools and it was doomed from the start. They should have insisted on seeing Sevco statement well before the Celtic match. The Police should have issued a strong public statement after The Rangers match THREATENING to video, arrest and fine anyone involved, even if that meant after the event. The Police and Gov should have told The Rangers players to stay out of sight, not to get involved or encourage lawlessness.
Given the Rangers failed in their responsibility to issue an effective warning and allowed their players to join in the celebrations with fans, they should be forced to pay for the policing and clean up for Sunday's carnage.
By doing nothing and accepting the situation, the Police and Government are in effect saying they are completely impotent and cannot do anything to stop thousands of Sevco or Celtic fans from mass-gathering in a Pandemic. That's unacceptable.
Correct. Basically the Huns and Celtic fans have both been given Carte Blanche to do what they want from now on.
What's the actual point of the Polis when it comes to these two clubs?
09-03-2021, 01:25 PM
Get a big crowd and you’re untouchable seems to be the message.
09-03-2021, 01:29 PM
https://twitter.com/PeterAdamSmith/status/1369266569969287171?s=19
09-03-2021, 01:32 PM
Nicola is calling out the old firm in Parliament and will be speaking to the football authorities.
Punishment should be be a Rangers 80 points deduction Celtic 60 points. 😁😁😁😁😁
09-03-2021, 01:32 PM
"People need to understand what these fans have been through"
That is what Gerrard said in an interview.
Never mind the thousands of families who have lost loved ones and what they are going through.
And more will become ill and hospitalised after the weekends behaviour .
And two Glasgow derbies yet to come !!
09-03-2021, 01:34 PM
Gregory Campbell and Arlene Foster giving it laldy :rolleyes:
09-03-2021, 01:37 PM
It is widely regarded in the football family that this is one of the greatest modern day sporting achievements hahahahaahahahahahahaha
StevieT
09-03-2021, 01:41 PM
It is widely regarded in the football family that this is one of the greatest modern day sporting achievements hahahahaahahahahahahaha
Come on now. Any team winning their first major trophy is a sporting achievement! Perhaps not the of the greatest modern day variety, but an achievement none the less.
09-03-2021, 01:45 PM
Comedy gold. They even talk about not wanting to appear arrogant. Since when has that ever bothered them.
The Rangers players and officials actually went out to an area between the stands where they were able to see and be seen by the crowd on Saturday. That's as clear a signal of condoning and encouraging the behaviour.
Yep and then appeared to celebrate with large crowds at what might have been the training ground the following day. ****bags
09-03-2021, 01:50 PM
Comedy gold. They even talk about not wanting to appear arrogant. Since when has that ever bothered them.What a cringeworthy pompous statement.
They've won their first major title since liquidating themselves to avoid paying enormous debts, and the cost of winning that title in the weakest SPFL season in recent memory has been building up another huge debt to do it.
09-03-2021, 01:52 PM
Rangers truly are an utterly despicable institution with all the cheap jibes they see fit to put in their communications.
It will be interesting to learn whether or not this is actually an accurate representation of events.
If not, what might the consequences be?
If so, what does it say about the other parties who have commented on this matter?
09-03-2021, 01:52 PM
Nicola not ruling out bringing football in Scotland to a end if certain clubs don't get there act together
09-03-2021, 01:58 PM
Nicola not ruling out bringing football in Scotland to a end if certain clubs don't get there act together
Lets not wait and give them an excuse to again gather outside. call the league today. Hibs 3rd and Europe next year would do me. :greengrin
09-03-2021, 01:59 PM
09-03-2021, 02:00 PM
Hate to say I told you so but............https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210309/73ef47d807c86d7c9cadc2807fee507c.jpg
09-03-2021, 02:00 PM
She's not saying who, but they know that they're on a "sticky" wicket...
09-03-2021, 02:07 PM
Lets not wait and give them an excuse to again gather outside. call the league today. Hibs 3rd and Europe next year would do me. :greengrin
I'm currently goading all the huns I know into some further celebratory park bench trashing and street masturbation so this very scenario unfolds.
09-03-2021, 02:09 PM
Hate to say I told you so but............https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210309/73ef47d807c86d7c9cadc2807fee507c.jpg
You'll need to post a link or a better photo, that is illegible even when blown up
09-03-2021, 02:15 PM
Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkLooks like they've tried to go into print to explain why it's okay for Sevco to behave as they do in a pandemic because they arrupeepul?
Or is it an announcement of dates and venues for their next firework/masturbation/memorial bench smashing session so the government's got a bit of time to appear a bit indignant before police Glasgow organise the next guard of honour to wherever they want to deface next?
09-03-2021, 02:16 PM
That whole thing just reads as a mixture of arrongance and insecurity. It was like "we never died" bingo.
09-03-2021, 02:22 PM
You'll need to post a link or a better photo, that is illegible even when blown upSorry doh[emoji85] NS said the scotgov cant turn a blind eye and would report back before glasgow derby on 21st March after speaking to various authorities.
I predicted last night she would stop.football before that game
09-03-2021, 02:29 PM
For any The rangers fans looking in. (You never know, they might!)
No one recognises your 150 years and 55 titles bar yourselves.
The fact that you constantly make mention of it, clearly shows the extent of the chip on your shoulder.
All rather amusing!
You let your club die. Simple as that.
09-03-2021, 02:36 PM
That line is hilarious. Two financially doped organisations who dwarf all other teams in the league and one of them wins it hardly the stuff of sporting legend. :greengrin
09-03-2021, 02:50 PM
That statement is absolutely mental :greengrin
I should be angered by it, and I may be later on, but that looks like it's been written by a five year old who keeps getting distracted by an episode of Pokemon.
09-03-2021, 02:53 PM
Sorry doh[emoji85] NS said the scotgov cant turn a blind eye and would report back before glasgow derby on 21st March after speaking to various authorities.
I predicted last night she would stop.football before that game
Ah cheers, no real surprise, just like the huns response :thumbsup:
09-03-2021, 02:58 PM
The fact that you constantly make mention of it, clearly shows the extent of the chip on your shoulder.
All rather amusing!
They totally give themselves away by constantly bleating on about it. They know and we know they know. :wink:
Depressing as **** that the 2 horse race is back for good though. :rolleyes:
09-03-2021, 02:58 PM
That line is hilarious. Two financially doped organisations who dwarf all other teams in the league and one of them wins it hardly the stuff of sporting legend. :greengrin
Two bald men fighting over a comb.
09-03-2021, 03:16 PM
All rather amusing!
I mentioned this earlier to one of them, he didn't agree but couldn't come up with any reason why. It seems i'm one of 'them'
09-03-2021, 03:33 PM
:agree: Pretty much exactly how I put it. I understand its difficult for the polis (they can hardly just lift thousands of the neaderthals and be done with it) but it struck me that they seemed to turn-up, decide they couldn't do much, so just help them find their way round Glasgow on their law-breaking march.
Has the witch-hunt over our exuberant (but non killer virus spreading) celebrations in 2016 ended yet?
EI255
09-03-2021, 03:38 PM
The very fact that the Government have condemned their fans and now appears to be a police matter tells you all you need to know about The Rangers' silence over this affair.
The ignorance from that club would have came from the very top.
And they were the first ones to get torn into Celtic for jumping in a plane to Dubai?!!
Sorry, but that plane trip pales into insignificance now compared with the utter madness that occurred in Glasgow over Saturday and Sunday (and no doubt the coming weeks too).
The Rangers deserve a very big fine.
09-03-2021, 03:43 PM
Cant imagine the exuberance and wild celebrations when they actually catch Dumbarton up with a second title win.
09-03-2021, 03:54 PM
I can't wait to see the scenes outside Celtc Park on the 21st, when both sides turn up outside the stadium.
09-03-2021, 04:06 PM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/disciplinary-updates/
Why has this taken so long?
09-03-2021, 05:08 PM
I can't wait to see the scenes outside Celtc Park on the 21st, when both sides turn up outside the stadium.
Just mentioned on BBC Scotland that match may be in doubt. Cannot believe they would not play the match at all because of security/health fears. How would they apportion points ? What if they meet each other in the Cup ? Hope it's just hot air and the game goes ahead.
09-03-2021, 05:14 PM
:agree: Pretty much exactly how I put it. I understand its difficult for the polis (they can hardly just lift thousands of the neaderthals and be done with it) but it struck me that they seemed to turn-up, decide they couldn't do much, so just help them find their way round Glasgow on their law-breaking march.
Has the witch-hunt over our exuberant (but non killer virus spreading) celebrations in 2016 ended yet?
Unequivocal and timely messaging from Sevco would have reduced the crowds and improved behaviour, helping the Polis to do their jobs.
Instead the club gave tacit approval to the mob.
09-03-2021, 05:31 PM
Unequivocal and timely messaging from Sevco would have reduced the crowds and improved behaviour, helping the Polis to do their jobs.
Depends on whose side of events you believe though.
I have a shred of sympathy for the Rangers in this situation.
Is it appropriate for them to shout from the rooftops about how to celebrate the title win before it was actually confirmed?
Remember that time they won the Scottish Cup and all the police went back to Ibrox for a party?
I agree they could have said more and that it would have had an effect. But I can also see why they might not.
Stevie G egging the fans on from the window though? And the players getting to the fans between stands at Ibrox and at the training ground?
They lose any benefit of the doubt they may have been given with that nonsense.
09-03-2021, 05:36 PM
Depends on whose side of events you believe though.
I have a shred of sympathy for the Rangers in this situation.
Is it appropriate for them to shout from the rooftops about how to celebrate the title win before it was actually confirmed?
Remember that time they won the Scottish Cup and all the police went back to Ibrox for a party?
I agree they could have said more and that it would have had an effect. But I can also see why they might not.
Stevie G egging the fans on from the window though? And the players getting to the fans between stands at Ibrox and at the training ground?
They lose any benefit of the doubt they may have been given with that nonsense.
I’m not convinced anything the Huns said would have made any difference, but they still should have tried. Very easy to say IF we win the title this weekend stay at home and do not come to the training centre/Ibrox.
09-03-2021, 05:42 PM
Just mentioned on BBC Scotland that match may be in doubt. Cannot believe they would not play the match at all because of security/health fears. How would they apportion points ? What if they meet each other in the Cup ? Hope it's just hot air and the game goes ahead.
What IF they just pull the plug and stop football altogether.
09-03-2021, 05:54 PM
What IF they just pull the plug and stop football altogether.
If it means nobody wins the league that's ok
I’m not convinced anything the Huns said would have made any difference, but they still should have tried. Very easy to say IF we win the title this weekend stay at home and do not come to the training centre/Ibrox.
It might not have made a difference but they could have worded it stronger but they just didn’t want to upset the hordes. It’s as simple as that!
They’ve said they cooperated with all the relevant authorities but by the sounds of it they’ve did their own thing and put out their own feeble message!
They have now written a letter and once again it looks like they are going down the ‘victim’ route!
09-03-2021, 06:13 PM
That statement is absolutely mental :greengrin
I should be angered by it, and I may be later on, but that looks like it's been written by a five year old who keeps getting distracted by an episode of Pokemon.
Their Manager and players encouraged the crowds after Saturday's game and the club shirked their responsibility in issuing a statement asking their fans to go home.
They have no shame and zero class. And they wonder why no-one likes them?
09-03-2021, 06:14 PM
If it means nobody wins the league that's ok
Just do the same as last season, average points per game
09-03-2021, 06:26 PM
It might not have made a difference but they could have worded it stronger but they just didn’t want to upset the hordes. It’s as simple as that!
They’ve said they cooperated with all the relevant authorities but by the sounds of it they’ve did their own thing and put out their own feeble message!
They have now written a letter and once again it looks like they are going down the ‘victim’ route!
Absolutely Aldo.
They really are an abhorrent institution.
09-03-2021, 06:57 PM
Celtic have stuck up a post on Twitter (and this is 100% genuine):
“ Celtic Football Club Statement:
We’re not half of anything...
Not our problem
#OneClubSince1888”
Oooooft :greengrin
09-03-2021, 06:58 PM
“�� Celtic Football Club Statement:
We’re not half of anything...��
Not our problem
#OneClubSince1888”
That spectacularly overlooks the Lennon out protests.
09-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Absolutely.
But it’s great fun watching the Old Squirm fire shells at each other.
09-03-2021, 07:00 PM
And the trip to Dubai.
09-03-2021, 07:01 PM
Oh don’t get me wrong I completely agree with you J.
I’m more annoyed at everything hun and have no sympathy for the club (where I disagree with smartie in all this), I’m just not convinced the police handling or response couldn’t have been a lot better.
Admittedly it would take a great deal for me to feel any sympathy towards rangers....
09-03-2021, 07:03 PM
Or carving up Scottish football along with Rangers based on cultivating and profiting from sectarianisim.
09-03-2021, 07:04 PM
Not our problem
#OneClubSince1888”
I just went on Twitter to check as was struggling to believe you that it was genuine.... dearie me!
And the trip to Dubai.
How the **** did I forgot about that :faf:
Their Manager and players encouraged the crowds after Saturday's game and the club shirked their responsibility in issuing a statement asking their fans to go home.
They have no shame and zero class. And they wonder why no-one likes them?
Do you honestly, HONESTLY believe that would have made any difference at all? These morons were going to gather and party, and no amount of statements/tweets from Rangers would have changed that. That's not to admonish them of any blame (as you say, the players would have been better off just heading up the tunnel after the final whistle on Saturday, especially since they hadn't actually won anything by that point), but there's very little Rangers as a club could have/can do to curb the behaviour of their moron supporters.
09-03-2021, 07:15 PM
:agree: They seriously have no room to speak.
Magpie
09-03-2021, 07:21 PM
This Old Firm game is going to be tasty.
Let's think the unthinkable, Hibs win this seasons Scottish Cup with no fans present, anyone really believe no one would turn up at ER?
09-03-2021, 07:25 PM
I just went on Twitter to check as was struggling to believe you that it was genuine.... dearie me!
Just saw this via someone I follow on Twitter. I didn’t believe it either at first. Celtc fans lapping it up. Glasgow will be fun when Rantic meet.
09-03-2021, 07:25 PM
Their tweet is made even funnier by the fact that Rangers and Celtc both renewed the trade mark on the 'Old Firm' at the end of last week...:rolleyes:
That's a horrendous output from an official club account.
09-03-2021, 07:26 PM
Let's think the unthinkable, Hibs win this seasons Scottish Cup with no fans present, anyone really believe no one would turn up at ER?
Not now because Police Scotland would have the streets sealed off. Once bitten and all that.
09-03-2021, 07:27 PM
Let's be honest - people could quite genuinely lose their lives as a result of this stupidity and **** flinging from both sides, fuelling an already pretty tense situation.
Both clubs should take a long hard look at their conduct - both pretty classless.
09-03-2021, 07:32 PM
Their tweet is made even funnier by the fact that Rangers and Celtc both renewed the trade mark on the 'Old Firm' at the end of last week...:rolleyes:
I thought at first that it was from a fake account pretending to be Celtic's official account, I almost got caught out last night by a fake Aberdeen account pretending to tweet about Derek McInnes (although the news was made official shortly afterwards).
Celtic's own Twitter account coming out with that is pretty embarrassing.
09-03-2021, 07:32 PM
Rangers’ statement was laughably bad, I can’t believe someone thought it was a good idea to write that.
As for Celtic’s tweet, while I applaud their trolling of their rivals, it’s a nonsense as well. Happy to be a half of something when it suits them.
09-03-2021, 07:37 PM
Oh don’t get me wrong I completely agree with you J.
I’m more annoyed at everything hun and have no sympathy for the club (where I disagree with smartie in all this), I’m just not convinced the police handling or response couldn’t have been a lot better.
Admittedly it would take a great deal for me to feel any sympathy towards rangers....
I only admitted to having a shred of sympathy for them.
It's the sort of weakness they prey on though, so f*** it, you're right.
09-03-2021, 07:40 PM
Do you honestly, HONESTLY believe that would have made any difference at all? These morons were going to gather and party, and no amount of statements/tweets from Rangers would have changed that. That's not to admonish them of any blame (as you say, the players would have been better off just heading up the tunnel after the final whistle on Saturday, especially since they hadn't actually won anything by that point), but there's very little Rangers as a club could have/can do to curb the behaviour of their moron supporters.
Rangers making a request to fans to not gather may not have made that much of a difference, but that still doesn’t excuse them from not making any appeal. Doing so would at least have taken some of the heat off them and some acknowledgment that they shared everyone else’s concerns despite their moronic fan base. The clubs actions have proved that they couldn’t care two jots and are probably revelling in it all.
09-03-2021, 07:44 PM
Rangers making a request to fans to not gather may not have made that much of a difference, but that still doesn’t excuse them from not making any appeal. Doing so would at least have taken some of the heat off them and some acknowledgment that they shared everyone else’s concerns despite their moronic fan base. The clubs actions have proved that they couldn’t care two jots and are probably revelling in it all.
Yes, they didn't lift a finger to help discourage their fans from gathering, so the obvious question is why not. They've been putting out statements every five minutes, but became mute on this issue.
09-03-2021, 07:48 PM
Spot on, totally agree with that.
I fell out with a Hun on Facebook today. I guy I’ve known for years thought he was reasonable, although he’s one of those that posts a lot about them but as far as I know he never goes. When I said I hope there would be a lot of arrests after Sunday’s disgrace he responded with chat about SNP and BLM protests - total deflection. I actually struggle to understand how any decent human being can support them.
09-03-2021, 07:52 PM
I agree - they had an obligation to encourage them to return home (I think I read somewhere that Steven Gerrard said as much in his post-match interview, yet there are clearly pictures of him celebrating out of the dressing room window after the final whistle). I'm not looking to absolve them of any blame here, I just don't think any statement/tweet would have changed the outcome. Speculation on my part, absolutely, but that horde have previous of disruptive mass gatherings.
09-03-2021, 08:05 PM
Not our problem
#OneClubSince1888”
The traditional Celtic attitude :- Rangers are sectarian, we're Catholic.
09-03-2021, 08:06 PM
Leith Walk (tram works?!!) or the probably the Links ?
Plenty of space to be in the Links spread out.
People would turn up, the club would encourage people to go home, people would go home. The end.
09-03-2021, 08:08 PM
People would turn up, the club would encourage people to go home, people would go home. The end.
Speak for yourself, I’d be out for days (again).
Magpie
09-03-2021, 08:09 PM
If we had won the League Cup I think I would have had a few drinks and celebrated at home. I don’t think I would have felt the need to go up Princes St gardens to break memorial benches, create a filthy mess and smash the Hearts club shop window.
09-03-2021, 08:10 PM
Would have been worse for Celtic and everyone in Glasgow if the Huns had won the league at Celtic park.
Can’t see fans turning up to the stadium. I do hope Celtic win as don’t want the Huns having an unbeaten league season and would shut the Huns up for a while. Ideally though we would end the unbeaten streak but expect Prague to knock them out.
EI255
09-03-2021, 08:26 PM
Just mentioned on BBC Scotland that match may be in doubt. Cannot believe they would not play the match at all because of security/health fears. How would they apportion points ? What if they meet each other in the Cup ? Hope it's just hot air and the game goes ahead.The sad story is, Huns will still congregate at Celtic Park, game or no game. 100%. They are thick.
EI255
09-03-2021, 08:27 PM
The traditional Celtic attitude :- Rangers are sectarian, we're Catholic.Here we go. FFS.
09-03-2021, 08:31 PM
Here we go. FFS.
Meaning what?
Speak for yourself, I’d be out for days (again).
Doing what?
09-03-2021, 08:47 PM
Doing what?
Celebrating.
09-03-2021, 09:02 PM
Well said. Despicable huns they may be but they are (sort of) human - and it's human nature for football fans to celebrate their FIRST ever silverware.
Logie Green
09-03-2021, 09:10 PM
Not our problem
#OneClubSince1888”
Remember a few seasons ago when all of the ‘other’ SPL clubs received identically worded letters from Celtic and Rangers?
They wanted to charge an admin/handling fee for selling our tickets to their fans for their away games. Must have just been a coincidence given the above statement.
They are two cheeks of the same arse.
09-03-2021, 09:11 PM
Cup Final is in May. We will all be free by then. I promise to be there :thumbsup:
09-03-2021, 09:13 PM
Having managed to miss a close relatives funeral, not having hugged my mum and Dad for a year and seeing my daughters miss most of their education for the last few months then I think I can imagine staying at home if we won something at the football.
I'm sure some people would turn up but I assume they are also people who are being idiots on a day to day basis anyway.
09-03-2021, 09:18 PM
Having managed to miss a close relatives funeral, not having hugged my mum and Dad for a year and seeing my daughters miss most of their education for the last few months then I think I can imagine staying at home if we won something at the football.
I'm sure some people would turn up but I assume they are also people who are being idiots on a day to day basis anyway.
I’m sure more than ‘some’ would turn up, and very few people are ‘idiots on a day to day basis’
Celebrating.
Celebrating how? "Out" where? Assuming pubs are closed what is there to actually do once the initial gathering happens and disperses.
09-03-2021, 09:26 PM
I’m sure more than ‘some’ would turn up, and very few people are ‘idiots on a day to day basis’Saw a pile of them in George Square the other day.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
09-03-2021, 09:28 PM
Celebrating how? "Out" where? Assuming pubs are closed what is there to actually do once the initial gathering happens and disperses.
Were the pubs 24 hour back in 2016? Do the shops stop selling drink?
So you and your mates are going to stand about in the street for days getting pished. Great
09-03-2021, 09:43 PM
So you and your mates are going to stand about in the street for days getting pished. Great
😂😂 what is your problem?
09-03-2021, 09:44 PM
😂😂 what is your problem?
Just wondering what your rationale was for breaking the law during a pandemic and it sounds like you haven’t thought that far ahead.
Chorley Hibee
09-03-2021, 10:28 PM
I don't disagree, but the police response, and Hibs' response, would be entirely different to what we witnessed at the weekend.
09-03-2021, 10:46 PM
I don't disagree, but the police response, and Hibs' response, would be entirely different to what we witnessed at the weekend.
And the media response.
09-03-2021, 10:49 PM
Just wondering what your rationale was for breaking the law during a pandemic and it sounds like you haven’t thought that far ahead.
I’ve already told you it would be celebrations. IF Hibs were to win the Scottish cup this season there will be thousands on the streets and in homes all across the city. You think folk will pop down to ER for 5 minutes, Hibs will tell them to go home and they’d go. Now the likelihood of it happening is slim, however I don’t doubt for a second that the parties would go on for days as they did 5 years ago.
09-03-2021, 11:24 PM
If we had won the League Cup I think I would have had a few drinks and celebrated at home. I don’t think I would have felt the need to go up Princes St gardens to break memorial benches, create a filthy mess and smash the Hearts club shop window.This
10-03-2021, 12:00 AM
There would have been a sizeable number of people who would have turned up at Easter Road and throughout Edinburgh if we had won the league at the weekend, I don't think there's much doubt about that. I'd like to think that our fans wouldn't have resorted to trashing memorial benches but who knows.
Unfortunately there's a significant minority of people (not just football fans) who are just selfish and don't care about anything as long as they're having a good time and doing what they want to do. The last 12 months have shown some of the best sides of human nature but unfortunately it's also brought out some of the worst.
What would have been different is the response of the club to any unruly behaviour from the fans, in comparison with the way it's been dealt with by Rangers.
For Steven Gerrard and the Rangers hierarchy to come out and say they understand the reaction of the supporters "after all they have been through" is absolutely disgraceful and quite frankly offensive to the millions of people up and down the country who really have "been through" hell over the past 12 months - unable to visit family in hospital and care homes, missing weddings and funerals, unable to be with someone as they pass away, missing out on children's education and people who are now facing a devastating cancer diagnosis as a result of missed screening appointments.
To try and make such a statement in the current climate is beyond belief.
10-03-2021, 05:47 AM
Pretty much this
10-03-2021, 05:53 AM
There would have been a sizeable number of people who would have turned up at Easter Road and throughout Edinburgh if we had won the league at the weekend, I don't think there's much doubt about that. I'd like to think that our fans wouldn't have resorted to trashing memorial benches but who knows.
Unfortunately there's a significant minority of people (not just football fans) who are just selfish and don't care about anything as long as they're having a good time and doing what they want to do. The last 12 months have shown some of the best sides of human nature but unfortunately it's also brought out some of the worst.
What would have been different is the response of the club to any unruly behaviour from the fans, in comparison with the way it's been dealt with by Rangers.
For Steven Gerrard and the Rangers hierarchy to come out and say they understand the reaction of the supporters "after all they have been through" is absolutely disgraceful and quite frankly offensive to the millions of people up and down the country who really have "been through" hell over the past 12 months - unable to visit family in hospital and care homes, missing weddings and funerals, unable to be with someone as they pass away, missing out on children's education and people who are now facing a devastating cancer diagnosis as a result of missed screening appointments.
Couldn't agree more. Spot on. Gerrard showed himself up to be a bit of a moron. From him videoing his arrival on Saturday to allowing players and staf including himself to engage with fans at the ground. To then let people know players were at training centre engage with fans again plus the club that did everything it could apparently doing sweet fanny Adams about discouraging fans to break the law in their thousands. Arrogance beyond belief.
10-03-2021, 05:58 AM
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish-fa/football-governance/disciplinary/disciplinary-updates/
Why has this taken so long?
Had to wait for them to win the league first. Only part joking. :greengrin
10-03-2021, 06:03 AM
Totally agree an absolute shocker. Obviously put the office junior in charge of the twitter account as it reads like it has been penned by a jilted teenager.:greengrin
10-03-2021, 06:06 AM
It wouldn't have but they should have tried.
The dalmeny
10-03-2021, 06:37 AM
Pretty much this
double this
10-03-2021, 06:54 AM
I can't believe some people on here are doing the exact same whittabootery as fans of The Rangers.
Lendo
10-03-2021, 07:17 AM
I can't believe some people on here are doing the exact same whittabootery as fans of The Rangers.
It’s the only way most thick ignorant football fans can have a debate sadly.
EI255
10-03-2021, 07:18 AM
Couldn't agree more. Spot on. Gerrard showed himself up to be a bit of a moron. From him videoing his arrival on Saturday to allowing players and staf including himself to engage with fans at the ground. To then let people know players were at training centre engage with fans again plus the club that did everything it could apparently doing sweet fanny Adams about discouraging fans to break the law in their thousands. Arrogance beyond belief.I get the distinct impression that The Rangers FC (club, not fans) enjoy creating the sort of heat they have been doing. The fact STILL no apology statement has been released smacks of "**** the rest of you, we don't care...". (bit like their song goes).
The need punished. Hopefully someone at Police Scotland does the right thing.
10-03-2021, 07:29 AM
Great post.
There's a self-absorbed entitled myopic bubble in professional fitba that some clubs and some fans live in, there's one that the OF live in and then the next level one that the huns live in, the one that the football authorities and media keep enabling with their unquestioning subservience. Unfortunately, I don't believe that's ever going to change and the way both of these parties have tip toed around the hunnish behaviour and Hun HQs response to that behaviour is Manchester 2008 all over again, but this time with the global pandemic backdrop and consequences highlighted by SDG.
10-03-2021, 07:32 AM
:agree: Great post.
The Count
10-03-2021, 07:52 AM
:agree: Great post.
Your post sums up the whole situation perfectly and there is no need to add anything else.Lets finish with your post and all reflect on its contents.Well said.
10-03-2021, 09:13 AM
Once again, SDG, you've perfectly summed up the feelings of the majority of us.
Well done
10-03-2021, 09:21 AM
I’m sure more than ‘some’ would turn up, and very few people are ‘idiots on a day to day basis’
You should come to the Philippines 😀
10-03-2021, 09:23 AM
I get the distinct impression that The Rangers FC (club, not fans) enjoy creating the sort of heat they have been doing. The fact STILL no apology statement has been released smacks of "**** the rest of you, we don't care...". (bit like their song goes).
The need punished. Hopefully someone at Police Scotland does the right thing.
It ain't coming, despite the club's negligence. Ah, some say, the club can't be held responsible for the behaviour of their fans. Maybe so, but negligence does not just arise from actions. It can arise from inaction, as in this case with The Rangers.
"We did all we could", says Slippy G, according to the Daily Mail (per BBC Sport Gossip - not that I read that rag). Really?
10-03-2021, 09:41 AM
Nicola is calling out the old firm in Parliament and will be speaking to the football authorities.
Punishment should be be a Rangers 80 points deduction Celtic 60 points. 😁😁😁😁😁
Agreed. Or even better, kick them both out. Also, time to realise Hearts were right last season - no promotion or relegation if we can't complete the season. Only fair thing to do and how could they not support it given their concerted legal efforts previously?
10-03-2021, 09:47 AM
Well said - I’m glad I support Hibs and well away from the bigot fest in the west and beyond.
10-03-2021, 02:00 PM
The intelligence level of the weekends rule breakers is clearly illustrated in the video posted below on JKB
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/191747-rangers-league-win-merged/page/9/#comments
The word brain and deid come to mind.
The guy lighting it in front of his face is beyond belief.
10-03-2021, 02:08 PM
This muppet and others could have been seriously injured, giving our already over-stretched NHS workers an unnecessary burden. My bloods boils when I see this insanity and the condoning attitude of Gerrard and his bosses.
10-03-2021, 02:13 PM
I only admitted to having a shred of sympathy for them.
It's the sort of weakness they prey on though, so f*** it, you're right.
Sorry pal I thought I had included the word "shred".. I would never knowingly suggest anyone, Hibs or otherwise, of having more than that towards that vile institution :aok:
10-03-2021, 02:22 PM
Nope, I recognise we have a few complete ar*eholes in our own support too. And if you think you would carry-on in the same manner as the huns and are therefore declining to criticise them then I understand that. I guess I can only speak for myself but I know I would manage to refrain from breaking the law and risking lives in order to jump about on the street for a couple of hours when the whole of the country have been kept indoors (so to speak) for almost a year now.
I also think the numbers and level of ridiculous behaviour wouldn't be anywhere near what was witnessed at the weekend, and that our club (including the the majority of our support) would respond appropriately.
That's without getting on to the fact that it was hardly a spontaneous reaction where they couldn't contain themselves.
I think their fans, their club and the police all let themselves down in one way or another at the weekend. Especially the first two.. badly. One of the worst things about it is I am not even slightly surprised about any of it.
And yes, I was on the pitch in 2016.
10-03-2021, 04:53 PM
A wag has suggested the two remaining Old Firm games should be played in Dubai
10-03-2021, 05:22 PM
A wag has suggested the two remaining Old Firm games should be played in DubaiIs anthrax island still about?
Could make an exception for the sevconians who who were so hard done by and allow them all to attend.
10-03-2021, 05:23 PM
As long as we don’t let them back in
10-03-2021, 06:41 PM
Is anthrax island still about?
Could make an exception for the sevconians who who were so hard done by and allow them all to attend.
Nice idea, but Gruinard has been decontaminated so we'll need to find somewhere else for them to stay.
fiolex1
10-03-2021, 09:37 PM
The gushing over Psycho McGregor is pathetic , this is the same guy who walked away from the club in it’s time of need. A true blue, I don’t think so.
11-03-2021, 06:59 AM
It's.........Rebecca Vardy!
11-03-2021, 07:31 AM
It's.........Rebecca Vardy!
You'll find yourself up in court writing stuff like that online.
Allez Hibs
11-03-2021, 08:37 AM
How did no one realise that whoever won the league this season there would have been scenes like that with Celtic possibly doing 10 in a row and with Rangers possibly stopping it and doing their '55'?
11-03-2021, 01:21 PM
How did no one realise that whoever won the league this season there would have been scenes like that with Celtic possibly doing 10 in a row and with Rangers possibly stopping it and doing their '55'?
I think they did and therefore made contact with Rangers to ask them to do their best to keep a lid on it? Hence the irritation at the huns lack of cooperation in it all.
11-03-2021, 03:49 PM
You'll find yourself up in court writing stuff like that online.
Was the only WAG I could think of.
h1bs4life
11-03-2021, 06:32 PM
Police Scotland have just announced there were 500 officers in attendance at the illegal gathering at George Square plus another 250 on duty.
Logie Green
11-03-2021, 06:53 PM
Police Scotland have just announced there were 500 officers in attendance at the illegal gathering at George Square plus another 250 on duty.
Does that mean 500 were celebrating and 250 were working?
12-03-2021, 05:54 PM
Just confirmed, OF game is to go ahead as planned. Celtic and Sevco to issue "robust massages" to their fans to stay at home.
Well that was easy :greengrin
EI255
12-03-2021, 06:32 PM
Just confirmed, OF game is to go ahead as planned. Celtic and Sevco to issue "robust massages" to their fans to stay at home.
Well that was easy :greengrinYou sure about that?
News just stated that a decision is expected early next week. They have only just met today to discuss the matter.
Bridge hibs
12-03-2021, 06:55 PM
You sure about that?
News just stated that a decision is expected early next week. They have only just met today to discuss the matter.
Sent from my LG-H870 using TapatalkRobust massages ?
12-03-2021, 06:56 PM
Where has this been confirmed please?
13-03-2021, 01:48 AM
Why are there 25 pages on Rangers fans? They are all w*****s. End of story.
13-03-2021, 07:39 AM
Getting big Hans from the gym to pummel thousands of them is gonna take a while.
13-03-2021, 08:43 AM
13-03-2021, 09:01 AM
Police Scotland have just announced there were 500 officers in attendance at the illegal gathering at George Square plus another 250 on duty.[emoji23]
And their elite Finding Elephants in a Phone Box Squad are assisting with identifying, tracing and convicting all the other law breakers. Just as soon as they've caught the last Hibby from their 2016 investigation.
15-03-2021, 07:55 PM
Lets hope the spread doesnae get ootae control
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19161910.covid-update-scotland-small-number-cases-linked-rangers-fans-celebrations/
Siralbertkidd
17-03-2021, 10:36 AM
Its all gone quiet on this, looks like match goes ahead, is it just another case of not raking over the coals?
The dalmeny
17-03-2021, 01:02 PM
Lets hope the spread doesnae get ootae control
https://www.thenational.scot/news/19161910.covid-update-scotland-small-number-cases-linked-rangers-fans-celebrations/
Glasgow figures significantly higher than elsewhere the last few days