View Full Version : Rangers fans

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

Robbo6-2
07-03-2021, 06:12 PM
I don't think its unbelievable at all.

Their team has just won the league and in general most people are fed up being in lockdown.

Its very similar to what Liverpool and Leeds fans have done in the past. There was zero evidence that those gatherings caused a spike.

Folk need to get off their high horse. We would do exactly the same.

What makes it no nice to watch its its Rangers fans enjoying themselves and not us!

CloudSquall
07-03-2021, 06:12 PM
Pretty much 100% of them are dyed in the wool Adam Tomkins / Murdo Fraser "no surrender, loyal to the cause" types who are in no danger of ever voting the SNP so why Sturgeon feels she needs to tip tap around them is beyond me.

Give them both barrels and get the kunckle dragging bigoted ***** telt (in more politically correct language :greengrin)

07-03-2021, 06:13 PM
Are those in George Square celebrating winning the league or guarding statues? Looks like the same mob so difficult to tell.

What do people expect the authorities to actually do about this

I do wonder why the police are effectively pushing them closer by forming a parade rather than letting them make their own way to the stadium.

Then at the stadium get the water cannon out, laced with soap. Mind you that will increase demand on the NHS as they turn up claiming acid burns.

Unbelievable
https://twitter.com/mickmccahill/status/1368629311725535233?s=21

Why are the police giving them an escort, rather than issuing fines for breaches of lockdown? :confused:

07-03-2021, 06:14 PM
What do people expect the authorities to actually do about this

It should have been dealt with yesterday, when the first people turned up at Ibrox. Instead, it effectively gave the green light for everything that’s happened today.

IMO Rangers themselves have to take some accountability, they could easily have released a statement asking everyone to stay away but instead the players went and celebrated with the fans. And still not a peep from them today either.

07-03-2021, 06:15 PM

Their team has just won the league and in general most people are fed up being in lockdown.

Its very similar to what Liverpool and Leeds fans have done in the past. There was zero evidence that those gatherings caused a spike.

What makes it no nice to watch its its Rangers fans enjoying themselves and not us!

Let's see if the reaction is the same as 2016 though. I don't think anyone died as a result of us celebrating - this actually could.

07-03-2021, 06:19 PM

Nobody's getting on a high horse. Covid kills people.

Robbo6-2
Let's see if the reaction is the same as 2016 though. I don't think anyone died as a result of us celebrating - this actually could.

Who actually cares what the Daily Record or The Sun thought of our celebrations after the cup final.

Did it actually effect you and make it less special? I was still drunk for 3 days after and couldnt of cared less what was written.

The actual pitch invasion did spoil the celebrations abit but I couldn't care less what Keith Jackson had to say about it!

So I would get a £1,000 fine if I was caught driving to see my grandparents standing at their gate, but these Neanderthals are allowed a mass party with no repercussions? Fine each and every one of them. The organisers should get minimum £10,000 fines as you would for hosting a house party of what, 8 people? If I organised a house party tomorrow for 25,000 people, I would be arrested.

Why are the police giving them an escort, rather than issuing fines for breaches of lockdown? :confused:
I can’t believe they’re doing that. They can hardly arrest them now as they’ve brought them to the event.

07-03-2021, 06:22 PM
So I would get a £1,000 fine if I was caught driving to see my grandparents standing at their gate, but these Neanderthals are allowed a mass party with no repercussions? Fine each and every one of them. The organisers should get minimum £10,000 fines as you would for hosting a house party of what, 8 people? If I organised a house party tomorrow for 25,000 people, I would be arrested.

Who organised it

07-03-2021, 06:23 PM
I can’t believe they’re doing that. They can hardly arrest them now as they’ve brought them to the event.

I’m sure they’ll be filming the crowd in a thorough manner to identify at a later date like they do to us on visits to Glasgow.

Maybe.

GRA
Give the poor wee Sevconians a break. 1st ever trophy in their short 9 year history despite having the 2nd biggest budget in Scotland all that time. No wonder they are going mental.

Super Stevie G will no doubt be having the goliaths of European football after him after his hyper impressive managerial triumph in a single competition out of 10 he'd entered in the last 3 years.

Who actually cares what the Daily Record or The Sun thought of our celebrations after the cup final.

Did it actually effect you and make it less special? I was still drunk for 3 days after and couldnt of cared less what was written.

The actual pitch invasion did spoil the celebrations abit but I couldn't care less what Keith Jackson had to say about it!
I was meaning more the police reaction.

07-03-2021, 06:27 PM
Unfortunately the numbers involved mean that the Police can't disperse the crowd without the potential for it kicking off big style. And let's be honest with Sevco fans there would be a very good chance of that happening.

The Police are not to blame here.

07-03-2021, 06:29 PM
I’m sure they’ll be filming the crowd in a thorough manner to identify at a later date like they do to us on visits to Glasgow.

Maybe.
Apparently the people being escorted are the fans that had gathered at ibrox, they’re moving them from ibrox to George square.

07-03-2021, 06:31 PM
Imagine asking that lot to wash their hands regularly.

07-03-2021, 06:31 PM
FM now asking TRFC to ask their fans to go home

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210307/d7014ad79e1056e3defdde8155918552.png

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 06:33 PM
Is there the slightest bit of evidence that Police Scotland made plans or reacted in any way to legislation aimed at protecting public health?

And for a club that loves a statement Rangers appear to have also made zero effort as well.
The next time anyone such as Cormack, Maxwell or Doncaster complain about treatment of football under COVID they should just be told to sod off.

07-03-2021, 06:35 PM
Unfortunately the numbers involved mean that the Police can't disperse the crowd without the potential for it kicking off big style. And let's be honest with Sevco fans there would be a very good chance of that happening.

Agreed, there's really very little that can be done when you're talking about thousands of people all turning up together.

They are there to enforce the law of course but they are also there to maintain order and to keep the peace. Going into a crowd of thousands with batons and pepper spray would cause a riot.

PolmontHibby
Is there the slightest bit of evidence that Police Scotland made plans or reacted in any way to legislation aimed at protecting public health?

And for a club that loves a statement Rangers appear to have also made zero effort as well.
The next time anyone such as Cormack, Maxwell or Doncaster complain about treatment of football under COVID they should just be told to sod off.

Just saw NS statement to Ranger FC..the SFA should also be asking why they thought it a good idea players were at training ground to celebrate (with fans) today.

To paraphrase, she’s effectively saying go home you Huns.

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 06:37 PM

I think you're right to an extent, but I've got no doubt that their silence throughout the week (and yesterday) has exacerbated this.

Both Police Scotland and Sevco knew this would happen, yet both have made no audible attempt to quell this in the lead-up to today. Measures could have been brought in to help lessen what we are currently seeing, and stronger enforcement might have seen a reduction in the crowds we are now seeing coming from other areas of the country.

07-03-2021, 06:39 PM

she will get a load of abuse from the vile bigoted sectarian s**M...just like she did when she congratulated us on winning the scottish cup

07-03-2021, 06:42 PM
The Dundee born Celtic fan? I agree he’s pretty reprehensible, but fascist?

Have a look at his tweets these days.

07-03-2021, 06:43 PM
There is not much that anyone could do about them. Not the Gov, nor police, nor the SPFL. They would have done that anyway. Remember these are the peepul. The folk who believe they are better than the rest. The folk who genuinely believe that they can do whatever the **** they want. I feel dorry for the police who have to deal with the aftermath of all this ****.

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 06:44 PM
If the police cannot cope with Rangers winning the cup then good luck to them at the Climate Conference demo's later this year - 500,000 turned up in Madrid at the last one.- though I guess COVID will reduce this time.

Would be good to see what the UN say if Police Scotland provide an escort for the demonstrators to the venue.

07-03-2021, 06:44 PM

I’ve seen people miss funerals of loved ones who have died because of COVID, yet we’ve to get off our high horse because we think Rangers fans should have to miss celebrating winning a football competition.

Really?

Tommy75
07-03-2021, 06:45 PM

I'm not naive enough to believe Hibs fans wouldn't be out if we won a trophy. That said, would we be at ER 2 days on the trot, down Leith Links and East Mains and would the players and coaches be egging us on? No chance. Anyway there is no point speculating what would or wouldn't happen if it was Hibs.

What has happened has been 2 days of mass gatherings of Rangers fans. The club not doing anything to discourage these gatherings, and the police seemingly not enforcing current lockdown rules. No real condemnation from the media either which is disappointing given their cup final response.

07-03-2021, 06:48 PM
If the police cannot cope with Rangers winning the cup then good luck to them at the Climate Conference demo's later this year - 500,000 turned up in Madrid at the last one.- though I guess COVID will reduce this time.

Would be good to see what the UN say if Police Scotland provide an escort for the demonstrators to the venue.

Uhh the climate conference is in November and I hope all demonstrators are policed appropriately. What is your point here

JoeT
07-03-2021, 06:48 PM
Please Huns leave The Hunnery and go home. I hope no Hun grannies die as a consequence of your selfish Hun hunerry

07-03-2021, 06:49 PM
Half the police will be huns too.

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 06:54 PM
Uhh the climate conference is in November and I hope all demonstrators are policed appropriately. What is your point here

That is my point - has this weekend been policed appropriately.
I am sure appropriate policing will happen in November and resource will be in place.

My current thinking is that a police decision has been made this weekend not to have resource in place to enforce.

07-03-2021, 06:57 PM
I am sure appropriate policing will happen in November and resource will be in place.

My current thinking is that a police decision has been made this weekend not to have resource in place to enforce.

We don’t have enough resource in this country to disperse that big of a crowd. I’m sure appropriate numbers were there to control it though.

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 06:58 PM

To be fair -more reports coming in of arrests and fines.
Fair enough

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 07:04 PM
Still complete silence from Sevco HQ on the matter.

The same club that was demanding draconian action in 2016 for endangering their players and support.

I'll not beat around the bush here, I ****ing despise that **** and every lowlife cretin that supports them.

07-03-2021, 07:04 PM

Would be good to see what the UN say if Police Scotland provide an escort for the demonstrators to the venue.They will have no problems kettling protestor using force and bring in the riot police if it a left leaning event. Very similar in the UK to the US imo where policing depends on politics and colour of skin and class or wealth rather than the law.

07-03-2021, 07:05 PM
Still complete silence from Sevco HQ on the matter.

The same club that was demanding draconian action in 2016 for endangering their players and support.

I'll not beat around the bush here, I ****ing despise that **** and every lowlife cretin that supports them.

That’s disgraceful

Robbo6-2
07-03-2021, 07:06 PM
I’ve seen people miss funerals of loved ones who have died because of COVID, yet we’ve to get off our high horse because we think Rangers fans should have to miss celebrating winning a football competition.

Really?

Thats the governments fault not football fans.

May add, that's the saddest thing about this whole situation. People dying alone etc. Just don't agree with Government doing this yet letting construction etc continue. You cant go to your mum or dads funeral but you can sit in an induction with 30 odd folk..

07-03-2021, 07:09 PM

Really?

Perfectly put into perspective :aok: Most folk have made the most incredible sacrifices, but this has all to be swept aside because some tin-pot football club won more points than the others.

And if the police and Sevco tolerate this, it will simply encourage others to emerge from under their rocks over the next 2 months. There will be gatherings for every Sevco home game from now on. This is just the start.

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 07:10 PM
Stolen from Twitter:

All over the West Coast of Scotland socially inadequate men are near weeping & letting off fireworks telling each other about their Mandela like decade long struggle to reach the day when their football team, caught cheating & debt ridden, reformed & won a 2 horse league again.

07-03-2021, 07:12 PM
That’s disgraceful

I honestly hate them with a passion. A pathetic football club, run by bigots and neanderthals.

Whilst they can't control their fans, the absolute bare minimum I'd expect is them to strongly urge their fans to stay home.

But we had Gerrard in the press telling us to go easy on them, they've had a lot of tears and snotters over the last decade so need extra special treatment.

I'd love to see them kicked out of Scottish football.

07-03-2021, 07:13 PM
The new incarnation of Rangers various boards have tacitly encouraged both loutish and sectarian behaviour to keep the peepul onside. I’ll be surprised if they tell fans to go home, they’re loving it.

07-03-2021, 07:16 PM
I honestly hate them with a passion. A pathetic football club, run by bigots and neanderthals.

Whilst they can't control their fans, the absolute bare minimum I'd expect is them to strongly urge their fans to stay home.

But we had Gerrard in the press telling us to go easy on them, they've had a lot of tears and snotters over the last decade so need extra special treatment.

I'd love to see them kicked out of Scottish football.

They’ll be hammered for this, wonder what the punishment will be
They don’t seem to care though

07-03-2021, 07:18 PM
Half the police will be huns too.
Massive under-estimate there pal.

07-03-2021, 07:18 PM
https://twitter.com/william07491650/status/1368637570825994240?s=21

07-03-2021, 07:19 PM
Massive under-estimate there pal.

True 👍

07-03-2021, 07:21 PM
Just saw NS statement to Ranger FC..the SFA should also be asking why they thought it a good idea players were at training ground to celebrate (with fans) today.

But it could of been predicted and the giverment coukd radilybafter yesterdays gathers make it clear the players weren’t to go
Back and celebrate
Like Celtic going to Dubai they knew it was happening and then all hell breaks loose after the event

07-03-2021, 07:21 PM

Can’t be Rangers fans, there is a huge Scotland flag flying!!

07-03-2021, 07:25 PM
Good point.

07-03-2021, 07:27 PM
Whats really shocking along with whats happening is the lack of media not highlighting tye shocking behaviour of the fans in Glasgow during a pandemic lockdown however after our Scottish cup truimph Hibs and our fans were lambasted by the media after our pitch invasion.

07-03-2021, 07:28 PM
They’ll be hammered for this, wonder what the punishment will be
They don’t seem to care though

They don’t care Billy all the utterances have been about celebrating ,encoraging it

07-03-2021, 07:30 PM

Celebration under a "false flag". Just Celtic fans looking to get Sevco into trouble. SAD !

A minor gathering compared to the celebrations that will spill onto the streets when Hibs secure 3rd place. Going to be Wild.

The Count
07-03-2021, 07:30 PM
How any sane person can support that vile institution beggers believe.If this increases the spread of covid in the West they will be detested even more and not a peep from tbe club about these disgraceful scenes.

07-03-2021, 07:32 PM
Celebration under a "false flag". Just Celtic fans looking to get Sevco into trouble. SAD !

A minor gathering compared to the celebrations that will spill onto the streets when Hibs secure 3rd place. Going to be Wild.

Cant see many Celtic fans with a Scotland flag tbh.

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 07:33 PM
Whats really shocking along with whats happening is the lack of media not highlighting tye shocking behaviour of the fans in Glasgow during a pandemic lockdown however after our Scottish cup truimph Hibs and our fans were lambasted by the media after our pitch invasion.

Aye but as Billy Dodds said it is "just the emotion" so its all okay.

He also said on a different topic "its another selection of a lost opportunity"..... but I am not sure what that means.

07-03-2021, 07:35 PM
That’s an unusual sight police actually on foot patrolling the streets not seen them for years down my street allowing the junkies to run amok but hey they’re under staffed aye when it suits them rant over

Some of them will be celebrating too and there is free bucky about. Of course they are getting out of their cars.

07-03-2021, 07:37 PM

Never one to stick up for Police Scotland where The Rangers fans are concerned because we all know they get a free pass. But that’s just one of the many gatherings which shows the absolutely impossible job they have of dealing with them.

07-03-2021, 07:42 PM
https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/nhs-pay-protest-arrest-fines_uk_6044e872c5b660a0f3894c9e?ncid=fcbklnkukhp mg00000008&utm_source=Facebook&utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=uk_politics&fbclid=IwAR27p8rHaRLcp_yexhtpPKLTZNnQTpdMPX1paRb8h ZEIiWNc3uJY8YdRnxo
Not sure if the law is the same in Scotland but for me anyone who encouraged fabs out on their social media should be given the highest fine available.

07-03-2021, 07:42 PM
I understand why police are taking their current stance. Understaffed and can’t possibly attempt to control crowds in three places. Violence will only make things worse and one arrest ties two cops up for hours.

I think this should have been addressed days before. A strong, united stance from police, government and SFA would have been better. The threat of a significant fine and/or points dock would have prevented this.

Public transport shut down as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

07-03-2021, 07:52 PM
Should have brought the army in to deal with the Hun ****.

07-03-2021, 07:55 PM
I understand why police are taking their current stance. Understaffed and can’t possibly attempt to control crowds in three places. Violence will only make things worse and one arrest ties two cops up for hours.

I think this should have been addressed days before. A strong, united stance from police, government and SFA would have been better. The threat of a significant fine and/or points dock would have prevented this.

Nail on the head there mate 👌

07-03-2021, 07:59 PM

... surely the SPFL not the SFA. Realise that it is pedantic but Doncaster is part of the problem

07-03-2021, 08:00 PM
... surely the SPFL not the SFA. Realise that it is pedantic but Doncaster is part of the problem

I think it would look extremely foolish if the league started commenting on title parties before a title was won.

07-03-2021, 08:08 PM
Should have brought the army in to deal with the Hun ****.

Don’t they usually parade around Ibrox?

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 08:09 PM

Totally agree, police and government should have planned a strong stance.
Not much chance of the SFA getting pro-active on anything as not fit for purpose (and they will be too busy planning how to spend the £300 per day per diem the heid yins get during the European Championships - a nice little £10k bonus for doing f'all but watching football....but that s me off on another bugbear).

07-03-2021, 08:10 PM
Don’t they usually parade around Ibrox?

True.

Maybe the Russian Army then !

07-03-2021, 08:24 PM
The lack of media condemnation is absolutely astonishing. There was more controversy around the BLM marches than this?!

07-03-2021, 08:29 PM
True.

Maybe the Russian Army then !

That’s more like it!

07-03-2021, 08:43 PM
The club should be hammered but won't or can't be due to no strict liability however the lack of any statement is despicable

07-03-2021, 08:44 PM
I am sure we all remember the year long campaign by Police Scotland and the media to identify the faces of people who were on the pitch at the 2016 Scottish Cup Final.

Following that precedent and the far more serious situation at the moment to public health I expect pictures of these covidiots in the press for months to come until they are prosecuted.

Don't hold your breath.:rolleyes:

07-03-2021, 08:51 PM
I’ll like to see any further lockdown tried to be imposed on the public after this.

If they ***** can do what they want then **** the restrictions on the rest of us

07-03-2021, 08:55 PM
I wonder if Celtc will give them a Guard of Honour at the next fixture 🤔😉

07-03-2021, 08:59 PM
I’ll like to see any further lockdown tried to be imposed on the public after this.

If they ***** can do what they want then **** the restrictions on the rest of us

Stop being a big baby.

07-03-2021, 09:01 PM
These ***** need brought down a leg or two asap.

PolmontHibby
07-03-2021, 09:01 PM

Good point but Manchester police are not listening - today a 65 year old who organised a massive turnout of 40 people to protest against the 1% NHS pay rise has been fined £10,000. Will be interesting to see how many £10k fines are handed out for the much worse events in Scotland this weekend - plenty of photos around, wont take Sherlock Holmes to find a few.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-manchester-56312817

07-03-2021, 09:07 PM
Stop being a big baby.

We’ve been forced to stay in for the last year. I’ve been working from home for the last year. It’s taken it’s toll on both my mental and physical health. Had to miss my girlfriends family members funeral as well yet they’re out in there thousands celebrating winning a trophy? Na that doesn’t sit right with me nor will it sit right with many others

Not too sure I’d say it’s me being a “big baby” about it either

07-03-2021, 09:09 PM
We’ve been forced to stay in for the last year. I’ve been working from home for the last year. It’s taken it’s toll on both my mental and physical health. Had to miss my girlfriends family members funeral as well yet they’re out in there thousands celebrating winning a trophy? Na that doesn’t sit right with me nor will it sit right with many others

Not too sure I’d say it’s me being a “big baby” about it

This. I can see why it’s happened but it’s still not right.

07-03-2021, 09:11 PM
https://twitter.com/bunbegb/status/1368674154380222464?s=21

07-03-2021, 09:14 PM

Jesus :bitchy::bitchy:

07-03-2021, 09:15 PM

I think a lot of people feel that way. My partners parent haven't seen their Grandaughter for over a year, I've missed a couple of funerals and my job still hangs in limbo.

Everyone just saying '**** it, that's lockdown over' in response to today's events only exacerbates that though. There's a chance of knock on effects to this, there's a far bigger chance if everyone just sacks the lockdown and does as they please in response.

07-03-2021, 09:16 PM
Good point but Manchester police are not listening - today a 65 year old who organised a massive turnout of 40 people to protest against the 1% NHS pay rise has been fined £10,000. Will be interesting to see how many £10k fines are handed out for the much worse events in Scotland this weekend - plenty of photos around, wont take Sherlock Holmes to find a few.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-manchester-56312817

Aye, plenty photos on Facebook too. An erse I used to work with that stays in Tranent more than happy to post a pic of himself in George Square today.

07-03-2021, 09:23 PM

****my *******s. Those people are a disgrace to their own city and families. No wonder that club is despised. Selfish *****.

07-03-2021, 09:25 PM
Still no comment from the club to condemn and discourage today's gatherings is pathetic although highly predictable.

07-03-2021, 09:26 PM
Still no comment from the club to condemn and discourage today's gatherings is pathetic although highly predictable.

Along with the SMSM. Daily record twitter actually posting videos of the “celebrations”. If this was any other club the actions of the fans would be condemned as would their players taking part and inciting it. ****ing unreal how quiet the media is on this.

07-03-2021, 09:27 PM
****my *******s. Those people are a disgrace to their own city and families. No wonder that club is despised. Selfish *****.

Correct. And I feel ashamed for giving them the benefit of the doubt yesterday.

Cretins.

07-03-2021, 09:30 PM

Likewise the Rangers Broadcasting Corporation news failing to condemn the club.
I didn’t think I could despise a club any more than I did previously. Doubly despicable now.

07-03-2021, 09:30 PM

Wouldn't expect any condemnation from the club. Videos flying about of the players partying at their training ground with their fans.

07-03-2021, 09:32 PM

Yes, strangely reticent to release a statement on this issue, though they've had plenty to say on everything else. Diffidence has suddenly replaced loquacity in Govan for once.

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 09:34 PM
Along with the SMSM. Daily record twitter actually posting videos of the “celebrations”. If this was any other club the actions of the fans would be condemned as would their players taking part and inciting it. ****ing unreal how quiet the media is on this.

Yet last week the same Daily Record condemned "shocking images" outside McDiarmid Park and the "rowdy crowds" who defied lockdown rules.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/hundreds-st-johnstone-fans-set-23584037.amp?__twitter_impression=true

This week they're showing videos of "celebrating" Sevco fans and giving tacit approval of it.

Absolute ******s!

Magpie
07-03-2021, 09:34 PM

The Old Firm day is going to get even messier. There could be thousands out that day.

07-03-2021, 09:37 PM
Meanwhile in Manchester

https://socialistworker.co.uk/art/51428/Nurse+Karen+Reissmann+fined+%C2%A310,000+under+Tor y+laws+for+protesting+over+pay+insult

07-03-2021, 09:37 PM
The Old Firm day is going to get even messier. There could be thousands out that day.

They’re going to be seriously emboldened if there isn’t a **** of a lot of retrospective charges in the next few days.

Doesn’t it just make you feel great about all the things you’ve given up over the last few months?

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 09:38 PM
Football stopped again but places stay as they are?

We're at an almost identical part of the season as last, and they may be very worried about what next week's old-firm game might bring.

07-03-2021, 09:38 PM
Yes, strangely reticent to release a statement on this issue, though they've had plenty to say on everything else. Diffidence has suddenly replaced loquacity in Govan for once.

Yes their statements department must be on annual leave, they're usually quite big on those.

07-03-2021, 09:40 PM

Yes I think there could be mega trouble that day. There will probably need to be a similar police presence to a normal matchday.

07-03-2021, 09:42 PM

That is so depressing.

Magpie
07-03-2021, 09:44 PM
They’re going to be seriously emboldened if there isn’t a **** of a lot of retrospective charges in the next few days.

Doesn’t it just make you feel great about all the things you’ve given up over the last few months?

There are people I know who have no interest in football who have lost loved ones and were not able to say goodbye, they are now upset and aggravated by the carry on in Glasgow. I understand the exuberance and people are entitled to celebrate but they are breaking the law and have shown complete disrespect to the key workers who have worked extremely hard through it all. I didn’t want to let it bother me but looking at some of those scenes it’s completely disrespectful.

07-03-2021, 09:58 PM

Disgraceful. I suppose someone else will need to clean that up?

Animals.

Torto7
07-03-2021, 10:18 PM
The very same people who attacked nationalists in George Square and the very same people who are being whipped into a frenzy by the Tories and their weirdo far right politics. Take a look at the Shankhill celebrations tonight and how much damage Brexit has already caused in NI. These people are supremacists just like the Trump mob in the states. Whatever way the independence vote goes this is an issue that must be confronted and fixed long term.

07-03-2021, 10:55 PM
Full police escort from Ibrox to George Square. Enough police to try dispersing the crowd but nope, just let them get on with it.

07-03-2021, 10:59 PM
Full police escort from Ibrox to George Square. Enough police to try dispersing the crowd but nope, just let them get on with it.

https://twitter.com/67dixie/status/1368647754709352451?s=21

Families can’t attend funerals to say goodbye to their loved ones. But this is aloud.

If nothing gets done about the events today why should the majority of us put up with restrictions anymore?

07-03-2021, 11:02 PM
Why not put Glasgow on total lockdown for two weeks? No entry, no exit. Why should Scotland be dragged into stricter measures because of a few thousand tossers?

07-03-2021, 11:03 PM
https://twitter.com/mockchopped/status/1368541882415001600/photo/1

07-03-2021, 11:04 PM
People at Police Scotland need sacked for this. It was patently obvious it would happen, so they should have had forces in place to turn fans back long before they reached areas to gather in numbers. That they didn’t is, at best, stupidity, at worst, wilfully turning a blind eye.

Also Rangers refusing to even tweet to their fan base to disperse means they can carry some of the blame as well and should also be punished.

hibeerealist
07-03-2021, 11:08 PM
I
The very same people who attacked nationalists in George Square and the very same people who are being whipped into a frenzy by the Tories and their weirdo far right politics. Take a look at the Shankhill celebrations tonight and how much damage Brexit has already caused in NI. These people are supremacists just like the Trump mob in the states. Whatever way the independence vote goes this is an issue that must be confronted and fixed long term.

This is a football forum stick yer politics up yer arse!

07-03-2021, 11:09 PM
Hun $c*m. They wanted an apology from us because of Irvine Welsh winding them up as well? They are an embarrassment and a disgrace to Scotland. Disgusting club.

07-03-2021, 11:10 PM
Hun ****. They wanted an apology from us because of Irvine Welsh winding them up as well. They are an embarrassment and a disgrace to Scotland.

We have them it as well 🤮

07-03-2021, 11:15 PM
People at Police Scotland need sacked for this. It was patently obvious it would happen, so they should have had forces in place to turn fans back long before they reached areas to gather in numbers. That they didn’t is, at best, stupidity, at worst, wilfully turning a blind eye.

Also Rangers refusing to even tweet to their fan base to disperse means they can carry some of the blame as well and should also be punished.

I think the club should have put out a statement to ask fans to return home, I said it was pathetic earlier on that they didn't do so, but only because it would have been the responsible thing to do not because they were obliged to do so.

A club cannot be held responsible for their fans' behaviour in a public place, that would just be silly.

07-03-2021, 11:15 PM
We have them it as well 🤮

No offence intended, but what does this mean?

07-03-2021, 11:17 PM

Have was meant to be gave i.e. we gave them an apology for what Irvine Welsh said.

07-03-2021, 11:20 PM

Yea sorry I meant gave. It’s late

07-03-2021, 11:21 PM
Have was meant to be gave i.e. we gave them an apology for what Irvine Welsh said.

Ok, thanks.

07-03-2021, 11:23 PM

The amount of police leading the march from Ibrox to George Square raises a question. Why didn't they just stop, turn round and tell everyone to go home?????? Instead they walk them all into the city centre :confused:

07-03-2021, 11:31 PM

The concern would be that the worst damage might be yet to come.

It will be very hard to get anyone from "the other side" to comply with restrictions now. Not condoning that, but it's the way it is. Glasgow is just going to be a covid nightmare from here, and that's before you get onto the subject of the old firm game.

The police's softly softly approach to this will cost lives.

They didn't need tear gas and cracking skulls - they needed some very clear messaging in the run up to this and to have encouraged messaging from Rangers themselves and when that didn't happen this was inevitable.

We're all in trouble now.

Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 11:31 PM
I cannot believe this ***** takes place on the streets of the UK in the 21st century.

I could honestly cry when I witness this bigotry and hate masquerading as a celebration of football.

https://twitter.com/UMclea/status/1368646651167006723?s=19

07-03-2021, 11:34 PM
I think the club should have put out a statement to ask fans to return home, I said it was pathetic earlier on that they didn't do so, but only because it would have been the responsible thing to do not because they were obliged to do so.

A club cannot be held responsible for their fans' behaviour in a public place, that would just be silly.

Maybe so, but a club can disassociate itself from the irresponsible, arguably illegal, actions of it’s supporters. Rangers failed to do this, (they actively encouraged it) and should face the consequences, which, of course, they won’t,

Magpie
07-03-2021, 11:36 PM
I cannot believe this ***** takes place on the streets of the UK in the 21st century.

I could honestly cry when I witness this bigotry and hate masquerading as a celebration of football.

https://twitter.com/UMclea/status/1368646651167006723?s=19

Horrible football club, can’t stand them. Beating them on that day in May 2016 makes it even sweeter.

07-03-2021, 11:42 PM
Maybe so, but a club can disassociate itself from the irresponsible, arguably illegal, actions of it’s supporters. Rangers failed to do this, (they actively encouraged it) and should face the consequences, which, of course, they won’t,

Of course tweeting to their fans to ask them to go home would have been the responsible thing to do, no argument from me there. It's how I would have expected Hibs to respond if we were in that position.

The fact that Rangers chose not to take such an approach is regrettable but I don't know what rules they have broken.

07-03-2021, 11:52 PM

Bang on.

08-03-2021, 05:12 AM
Bang on.

Whats george Squuare going to look like when we do get Independence?

08-03-2021, 05:38 AM
Hate is a strong word but I hate that type of Rangers fan and that's almost all of them. Yesterday just reminded me how much I loathe them. Thick, arrogant, blinkered and selfish. Anyone hoping they'd stop Celtic winning the league needs their head examined.

08-03-2021, 06:16 AM

Like a scene from Bannockburn.

08-03-2021, 06:24 AM

In the same position, we would have done the exact same. It’s because it’s the Huns that people are so wound up.

Crunchie
08-03-2021, 06:27 AM
Hate is a strong word but I hate that type of Rangers fan and that's almost all of them. Yesterday just reminded me how much I loathe them. Thick, arrogant, blinkered and selfish. Anyone hoping they'd stop Celtic winning the league needs their head examined.

Celtic fans would have been out celebrating 10 in a row in even bigger numbers. Both clubs are a stain on our country.

08-03-2021, 06:28 AM

TA are a disgrace too?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2394303/Scotland-fans-make-mess-London-clash-England-Wembley.html

The hypocrisy on this thread is something else. I understand they have broken the rules but you have to ask yourself the question would have it have been any different if we had won the league cup a week or so ago? No, it wouldn’t have.

allmodcons
08-03-2021, 06:30 AM
We would do the same if we won the cup or the league let’s be honest.

Do you stand by that comment after what went on yesterday? You didn't address the issue just deflected on behalf of the idiots on the street. Your comment made you sound like an apologist for them. A flippant "oh it's ok we'd do the same" . Speak for yourself, imo the vast majority of Hibs fans have more sense than your average bigoted hun.

08-03-2021, 06:33 AM
Do you stand by that comment after what went on yesterday? You didn't address the issue just deflected on behalf of the idiots on the street. Your comment made you sound like an apologist for them. A flippant "oh it's ok we'd do the same" . Speak for yourself, imo the vast majority of Hibs fans have more sense than your average bigoted hun.

It’s clearly not OK from a pandemic perspective, however there are too many posters on this page getting on their high horse when they would have done the exact same in similar circumstances.

08-03-2021, 06:36 AM
https://twitter.com/coybig6721/status/1368709747696865281?s=19

Look at the state of them though. They are genuinely wired differently. I can hand on heart say ive never met or known a hun thats not a cretin when it comes to football. Can talk away to some of them about anything then when it comes to football you can see the switch. Absolute rockets to a man.

08-03-2021, 06:46 AM
TA are a disgrace too?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2394303/Scotland-fans-make-mess-London-clash-England-Wembley.html

The hypocrisy on this thread is something else. I understand they have broken the rules but you have to ask yourself the question would have it have been any different if we had won the league cup a week or so ago? No, it wouldn’t have.

You’re comparing litter to risking people’s lives during a global pandemic?

08-03-2021, 06:46 AM
You’re comparing litter to risking people’s lives during a global pandemic?

No I’m comparing litter to litter - both Keith and SDG posted specifically regarding the mess.

08-03-2021, 06:49 AM

Look at the state of them though. They are genuinely wired differently. I can hand on heart say ive never met or known a hun thats not a cretin when it comes to football. Can talk away to some of them about anything then when it comes to football you can see the switch. Absolute rockets to a man.

I wonder if we can persuade trump to build a giant wall around Glasgow?

08-03-2021, 06:52 AM
No I’m comparing litter to litter - both Keith and SDG posted specifically regarding the mess.

Apologies, I missed that :aok:

08-03-2021, 06:56 AM
Unreal the amount of Huns on my Facebook that have came crawling out the woodwork from East Lothian and Edinburgh, most of us on here probably been to Ibrox more times than half of them

Imagine leaving your own city in the nick they have left George Sq, absolute vermin 🤮

08-03-2021, 06:58 AM
There was a counter protest by one single steaming Celtic fan at 2.30am this morning on Dunlin Drive in Dunfermline. Hope he has a stinking hangover today the ****.

08-03-2021, 07:05 AM
Hibs fans would’ve been out in big numbers had we won the league too. Not all of the Hibs fans, just like it’s not all of the Rangers fans. I’d have gone out.

I do think we’d have been better behaved than them though, and I do think the club would’ve dealt with it differently too, The club would’ve actively discouraged what was going on.

08-03-2021, 07:10 AM
In the same position, we would have done the exact same. It’s because it’s the Huns that people are so wound up.

If we had won the league yesterday of course there would have been loads of Hibs fans in Edinburgh all day - smaller numbers of course but the idea that it's only Rangers fans who would have behaved like that yesterday is unrealistic.

08-03-2021, 07:10 AM
Hibs fans would’ve been out in big numbers had we won the league too. Not all of the Hibs fans, just like it’s not all of the Rangers fans. I’d have gone out.

I do think we’d have been better behaved than them though, and I do think the club would’ve dealt with it differently too, The club would’ve actively discouraged what was going on.

I think that's the key point.

Rangers as a club have done nothing to discourage it and in some ways actually helped stoke the flames (celebrating with fans who shouldn't have been there in the first place).

Green Cabbage 7
08-03-2021, 07:11 AM
If this was hibs we’d be getting hammered in the media, 2016 anyone.

08-03-2021, 07:14 AM

I'm certainly not making a point about the litter just because it's Rangers fans if that's the suggestion.

The attitude towards litter in this country in general is disgusting and I would have called it out no matter who had caused the mess.

08-03-2021, 07:17 AM
Playing devils advocate regarding the police, I saw a tweet saying that they had made a decision that if they had dispersed the crowd they would have likely gone back to people’s houses indoors for a party inside.

It’s known well the virus doesn’t spread well outdoors so a decision was made it would be safer to let them continue.

Not sure I buy that tbh, I suspect they knew there would be riots if they went in heavy handed, not that I expect them to admit that.

I hope they’re going round handing our fines a plenty this morning snd in the coming days. If they don’t there’ll be plenty more of these gatherings between now and the end of the season.

08-03-2021, 07:22 AM
Playing devils advocate regarding the police, I saw a tweet saying that they had made a decision that if they had dispersed the crowd they would have likely gone back to people’s houses indoors for a party inside.

It’s known well the virus doesn’t spread well outdoors so a decision was made it would be safer to let them continue.

Not sure I buy that tbh, I suspect they knew there would be riots if they went in heavy handed, not that I expect them to admit that.

I hope they’re going round handing our fines a plenty this morning snd in the coming days. If they don’t there’ll be plenty more of these gatherings between now and the end of the season.

I think the police were in a difficult position here. It's one thing dispersing a few folk in a house, quite another thousands of bevvied mostly young men out on the streets.
I reckon they decided to at least make sure no damage was done to people's cars and stuff and no Celtic supporters stupid enough to have a wee pop got a kicking.
Far from ideal in the current climate but makes a bit of sense to me.

08-03-2021, 07:23 AM
Maybe they all went to Ibrox and George Square to test their eyesight.

It wasn't just George Square though. Look at the crowds at Ibrox and their training ground. Then there were little pockets of them out all over the city and even the country. Look at the amount of people who were on the streets of Belfast celebrating. It's been a monumental duck up by the police but even I'm surprised at the numbers involved. Thought you'd probably have got a couple of hundred out been there's been thousands of them. Locked up in the house for a year, not seen any friends or family, kids not been to school, rangers win the league and it's like, right everyone let's get our coats and head for Ibrox....

If we had won the league yesterday of course there would have been loads of Hibs fans in Edinburgh all day - smaller numbers of course but the idea that it's only Rangers fans who would have behaved like that yesterday is unrealistic.

Of course it is. In a way it's reassuring to know that football fans are still out there behaving badly and causing offence!
I suppose being the old firm gives it an extra edge but we would have been bouncing around the town ourselves in similar circumstances.

08-03-2021, 07:25 AM
If this was hibs we’d be getting hammered in the media, 2016 anyone.

Definitely

08-03-2021, 07:27 AM
I think the police were in a difficult position here. It's one thing dispersing a few folk in a house, quite another thousands of bevvied mostly young men out on the streets.
I reckon they decided to at least make sure no damage was done to people's cars and stuff and no Celtic supporters stupid enough to have a wee pop got a kicking.
Far from ideal in the current climate but makes a bit of sense to me.

Totally agree.

I also doubt the police would have the resources available to deal with it if it had really kicked off.

Doing what they did last night was probably the sensible way to play it.

They need to follow that up with fines for those involved now though.

08-03-2021, 07:32 AM
Even Trump eventually tweeted to tell his supporters to back down when they were were attacking the Capitol. Sevco shouldn't be hammered for their fans actions in this case, but they should be hammered for the likes of Gerrard condoning and playing down on Saturday, and for not doing the very minimum and asking them to go home yesterday.

Like others, I await the Police Scotland campaign in the weeks and months ahead posting photos of those out yesterday to ensure they are brought to justice as our fans were in 2016.

08-03-2021, 07:33 AM
It’s clearly not OK from a pandemic perspective, however there are too many posters on this page getting on their high horse when they would have done the exact same in similar circumstances.
Of course there would have been some fans at Easter Road, on the streets of Leith, maybe even the odd dog walker at East Mains, but not in such numbers and certainly not with a police escort to an already crowded place. But the BIG difference would have been that the club would have done the right thing and issued a "celebrate at home" plea in anticipation, as well as a "go home" plea once folk started gathering.
You can't be surprised when we all know the majority of their fans are ****. It's the The Rangers club's silence, in fact encouragement, which angers me the most.

Chorley Hibee
08-03-2021, 07:34 AM
Of course it is. In a way it's reassuring to know that football fans are still out there behaving badly and causing offence!
I suppose being the old firm gives it an extra edge but we would have been bouncing around the town ourselves in similar circumstances.

I'm not convinced the police response, and media reporting, would have been in the same vein though.

08-03-2021, 07:42 AM
Of course there would have been some fans at Easter Road, on the streets of Leith, maybe even the odd dog walker at East Mains, but not in such numbers and certainly not with a police escort to an already crowded place. But the BIG difference would have been that the club would have done the right thing and issued a "celebrate at home" plea in anticipation, as well as a "go home" plea once folk started gathering.
You can't be surprised when we all know the majority of their fans are ****. It's the The Rangers club's silence, in fact encouragement, which angers me the most.

I agree with this in general apart from the point about numbers.

Rangers probably have a support that is about 10 times larger than Hibs so of course the amount of people on the streets would be far higher.

08-03-2021, 07:43 AM
I'm not convinced the police response, and media reporting, would have been in the same vein though.

Absolutely not.

Why do we tolerate the double standards and hypocrisy?

The club that usually loves to utter statements suddenly falls silent when thousands of its fans are breaking the law.

08-03-2021, 07:56 AM
Absolutely not.

Why do we tolerate the double standards and hypocrisy?

The club that usually loves to utter statements suddenly falls silent when thousands of its fans are breaking the law.

Yup. 2 days of their fans rampaging through towns and cities around the UK in the midst of a pandemic and they have no comment. The First Minister specifically asks them to intervene - silence.

Like you say - why so we tolerate this? I'm getting sick and tired of Scottish football these days, honestly considering taking up hillwalking or another past time when we are back to normal rather.

08-03-2021, 08:11 AM
Saw some BBC vox pop interviews on BBC Sportscene last night with hun support illegally gathered en masse outside Ibrox. I thought the BBCs coverage legitimised their irresponsible behaviour and is typical of their and other broadcasters forelock-tugging subservience to these characters (feel free to insert another word beginning with c)

Michael Stewart in the studio seemed to be smirking (or maybe it's just his normal face) when the camera returned to the studio and "Thommo" was eulogising the huns achievement and ignoring the actions of their fans. Maybe Stewart wanted to say something but knows one more strike and he's out. Guaranteed none of those breaking COVID restrictions and being interviewed live on camera by the BBC will be getting a knock on their door by the polis

stuart-farquhar
08-03-2021, 08:13 AM

It will become s square in the de facto capital.

08-03-2021, 08:15 AM
Are we to believe that the thousands of people spontaneously descended on Ibrox and George Square and it wasn't Orchestrated on social media? It wouldn't be difficult to find the people who encouraged it and fine them.

Chorley Hibee
08-03-2021, 08:22 AM
The chair of the Scottish Police Federation:

https://twitter.com/DvdHmltn/status/1368666703677259788?s=19

Surely he should be asking Police Scotland to reflect upon this, not the general public.

Hector Mudflap
08-03-2021, 08:26 AM
I'm certainly not making a point about the litter just because it's Rangers fans if that's the suggestion.

The attitude towards litter in this country in general is disgusting and I would have called it out no matter who had caused the mess.

I cant ever understand some peoples attitude to littering - grown adults chucking stuff out of cars or just walking down the street. Sign of a lowlife ****bag in my opinion. Last pre-seasons trip to East End Park in Dunfermline I witnessed a young (mid teens) Hibs fan finish a bottle of juice and lob it over an advertising hoarding walking to the ground. Pretty depressing site and when I challenged him his Dad who it turns out was walking next to him told me to relax as it was no big deal. I found that deeply depressing. I would be ashamed if Hibs fans left a mess like that and the sad thing is we probably would.

08-03-2021, 08:33 AM
Don’t think some of the media coverage has helped basically encouraging it.

Lack of anything official from the Huns website / social media hasn’t helped other.

The police are probably happy it wasn’t won during the next Old Firm game as that may have been more carnage.

It was inevitable whatever old firm side won the league / 10 or stopping 10 there was going to be some sort of party - so not exactly surprised by what we have seen this past weekend. Like back when we won the cup - did they not see a party coming ?!

If this had happened before Covid there could easily have been thousands more on the streets - possible damage / hassle. You have to remember though that they still haven’t been awarded the trophy so expect another party of some sort in near future when that happens.

Doesn’t make it better as we know the destruction Covid has caused and we still aren’t out the woods in Scotland plus the previous Glasgow figures.

Being outside obviously helped but for me it’s the bigger picture still of the sectarian element - the authorities turning a blind eye and general nonsense the Old Firm continue to get away with in this country.

I didn’t see any street parties in Perth when Saints won the cup / or did I miss these online ?

The final point is the “Huns deserved the title talk..” - they have spent over £30 million in 3 years !! The rest of the league is awful and while Celtic spent some £ they have been woeful. They lost to St Mirren in the league cup - will be beaten in Europa League very soon and Scottish Cup who knows..but a possible double really should have been a treble. If they don’t win the double I would also be asking questions if I was a Huns fan!

Gerrard will get found out in years to come and is no where near any of the top managers in England. He’s still learning but I’m not convinced he will be successful in years to come. He won’t get 3 seasons at an English team to do what he did in Scotland - Lampard is prime example.

08-03-2021, 08:49 AM

Surely he should be asking Police Scotland to reflect upon this, not the general public.

That is a shocking tweet and sums up the attitude of the police. There are many comments that suggest reasonable ways of trying to Police the unlawfulness but one nails the issue for me - " it appears tonight the demographic determines the response"

08-03-2021, 08:53 AM

We wouldn’t have been in such numbers because we don’t have as many supporters.

Why is no one complaining about the majority of St Johnstone’s home attendees being outside their stadium after their cup win?

Yes, smaller numbers, but I suspect similar if looking at percentage of ST holders.

If people are going to complain at least be consistent.

08-03-2021, 08:57 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/6789299/rangers-arrests-police-attacked-fans/

28 arrested for attacking the police.

Absolute ****.

08-03-2021, 09:17 AM

Why is no one complaining about the majority of St Johnstone’s home attendees being outside their stadium after their cup win?

Yes, smaller numbers, but I suspect similar if looking at percentage of ST holders.

% of season ticket holders is completely irrelevant.

08-03-2021, 09:25 AM

This makes no sense. Since when did any gathering sizes get judged by the percentage of the possible/available participants?

The point being made on the size of the gathering is that there are currently legal limits on how many people can gather. Those are actual numbers. If you want to deal in percentages, how about using how many percent over the limit the gatherings were?

08-03-2021, 09:32 AM
I ****ing hate those *******s so much and I have huge sympathy for the polis and the government over it. The blame for this lies squarely with the hun as a club and the huns as a group. The club made no effort to discourage what was a foreseeable event. Made no effort to try to make the hordes disperse and have still made no comment. For a club who like to throw statements about like confetti, by that they have condoned and encouraged this. Their fans as well most of whom have got as many brain cells as they have teeth are to blame. This superiority complex they have, the peepul, no one likes us we don't care etc. The fact is they have been allowed to think that way for decades. Utter ****, they have been scotlands shame for decades and that will never change

08-03-2021, 09:34 AM
Saw some BBC vox pop interviews on BBC Sportscene last night with hun support illegally gathered en masse outside Ibrox. I thought the BBCs coverage legitimised their irresponsible behaviour and is typical of their and other broadcasters forelock-tugging subservience to these characters (feel free to insert another word beginning with c)

Michael Stewart in the studio seemed to be smirking (or maybe it's just his normal face) when the camera returned to the studio and "Thommo" was eulogising the huns achievement and ignoring the actions of their fans. Maybe Stewart wanted to say something but knows one more strike and he's out. Guaranteed none of those breaking COVID restrictions and being interviewed live on camera by the BBC will be getting a knock on their door by the polis

That *** Tom English's story led with a photo of the fans 'celebrating' and didn't even call it out as a bad thing.

08-03-2021, 09:34 AM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/6789299/rangers-arrests-police-attacked-fans/

28 arrested for attacking the police.

Absolute ****.

Rangers fans being ***** and attacking the police is just a reminder that you're in the real world and not dreaming.

08-03-2021, 09:43 AM
% of season ticket holders is completely irrelevant.

It’s not. Would give a view on proportion.

08-03-2021, 09:43 AM
This makes no sense. Since when did any gathering sizes get judged by the percentage of the possible/available participants?

The point being made on the size of the gathering is that there are currently legal limits on how many people can gather. Those are actual numbers. If you want to deal in percentages, how about using how many percent over the limit the gatherings were?

So what St Johnstone fans did was ok as there was only a thousand of them?

08-03-2021, 09:47 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-56312051

I think a lot of the comments in this article are pretty reasonable tbf.

The police chap has a bit more to say than he did in his tweet and even Douglas Ross' comments are reasonable.

Whilst the criticism isn't at outrage level, there's no shortage of people pointing out that the scenes were unacceptable - and prepared to point out that whilst Rangers saw fit to tweet about other stuff 50 times, they didn't once discourage the fans from attending.

08-03-2021, 09:58 AM

I think there is definitely something in the take the majority to George Square - large public space - cctv - media to capture any problems.

The bigger picture about lack of resources to police in Scotland probably another cryptic message here too.

The hun fans know they can get away with this behaviour and thing is their club / Scottish FA and the Police can’t do much about it so it will continue to happen.

Even recently at ER when we played Rangers (pre covid) when fans were allowed in the behaviour of them on the streets and in the South Stand was a shambles. Did anything happen after that ? No of course not.

It’s a deeper society issue which is sadly needing addressed but no one seems to know how to sort it and won’t face it up and threads like this end up going round in circles.

08-03-2021, 10:01 AM
I think there is definitely something in the take the majority to George Square - large public space - cctv - media to capture any problems.

The bigger picture about lack of resources to police in Scotland probably another cryptic message here too.

They will have enough resources to launch a year and half long probe, with officers on overtime scouring each individual cctv frame for wrongdoing, maybe.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

08-03-2021, 10:02 AM
It’s not. Would give a view on proportion.

Proportion of what? How many could have been there?

That doesn’t really matter. How many people that were actually there is the issue here. The more people, the more potential for more COVID cases. Percentage of season ticket holders breaking the rules isn’t going to determine how many people spread the virus, actual numbers in attendance is.

08-03-2021, 10:03 AM
Proportion of what? How many could have been there?

That doesn’t really matter. How many people that were actually there is the issue here. The more people, the more potential for more COVID cases. Percentage of season ticket holders breaking the rules isn’t going to determine how many people spread the virus, actual numbers in attendance is.

I’ll ask again, so what St Johnstone fans did was ok as there was only a thousand of them?

08-03-2021, 10:04 AM
Lets hope Edinburgh doesnt suffer again when the tier system comes back because that lot cant control themselves

08-03-2021, 10:20 AM
Memorial benches dedicated to loved ones in George Square - Great bunch of lads

https://i.postimg.cc/J048TBRj/00-B42-C9-A-9507-4095-907-A-BF6-D7-F07-D82-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/sQ8bxxQ2)

https://i.postimg.cc/1XCQb5z2/523-AE9-C1-A3-E2-4-DBC-8-C37-D5-DB501-E3-A9-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/30vVvhmF)

https://i.postimg.cc/j5hKQhYs/84-B3-D094-1862-480-D-BB59-050-B3684-EA19.jpg (https://postimg.cc/S2jwmCK5)

https://i.postimg.cc/7Pmw5XN9/CA7-F23-E9-E6-AE-4-C11-A8-D6-CEDC7-D32-C55-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/G98ZNFVT)

08-03-2021, 10:22 AM
I’ll ask again, so what St Johnstone fans did was ok as there was only a thousand of them?
No it wasn’t ok. It was a smaller gathering so it didn’t attract as much attention. I’ll be prepared to bet they were much better behaved as well.

08-03-2021, 10:24 AM

https://i.postimg.cc/J048TBRj/00-B42-C9-A-9507-4095-907-A-BF6-D7-F07-D82-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/sQ8bxxQ2)

https://i.postimg.cc/1XCQb5z2/523-AE9-C1-A3-E2-4-DBC-8-C37-D5-DB501-E3-A9-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/30vVvhmF)

https://i.postimg.cc/j5hKQhYs/84-B3-D094-1862-480-D-BB59-050-B3684-EA19.jpg (https://postimg.cc/S2jwmCK5)

https://i.postimg.cc/7Pmw5XN9/CA7-F23-E9-E6-AE-4-C11-A8-D6-CEDC7-D32-C55-D.jpg (https://postimg.cc/G98ZNFVT)

That's a disgrace.

TheHibernator
08-03-2021, 10:25 AM

This 100%, there are some on here who would argue with you if you told them grass was green but can't believe there are people defending rangers fans behaviour. Drunken brawls amongst themselves in the street. George square thrashed and several memorial benches destroyed. Mindless vandalism, and this is after winning a league title. Mind you we know what happens when they lose (i.e. Manchester 2008) We absolutely would not be the same and it's laughable for anyone to claim that. They're a different breed and it's not a minority. They're not called huns for nothing

Magpie
08-03-2021, 10:30 AM
Scotland’s shame.

monarch
08-03-2021, 10:34 AM
The celebrations were referred to on Jeremy Vine on channel 5 this morning. The panel all thought that it was great to see the fans singing and partying. Nothing about COVID risk. Only negative comment was from a Daily Star columnist about Nicola Sturgeon being a spoilsport because she tweeted for supporters to go home ! JV thought their fans deserved it because they’d had waited 10 years being subjected to tax enquiries (?) and being “bounced” down the leagues.

Sometimes I wish the so called experts from “dan sarf “ would just ignore us completely if they can’t be bothered to check facts properly.

08-03-2021, 10:36 AM
Utter **** the lot of them.

08-03-2021, 10:38 AM

No it was not OK. It was different though. St Johnstone issued a statement asking fans not to attend. The Police kept the fans(way less than a thousand and what mostly looked like daft laddies) in a single area and it was all over pretty quickly. I don't think the Police walked them through the streets of Perth thereby encouraging others to join.

I hope the Police identified as many Saints fans as they could and used the Covid laws against them. You cannot have one law for citizens and another for football fans. Yes a cup win is a life event but so are weddings and funerals and Wedding celebrations have been broken up with all attendees fined. I would hope the Police will now have thousands of names gathered at the scene of the crime that they can now follow up and issue with fines. They can pull some of the Officers or workers that appear to be waiting for speeding motorists on deserted roads from that duty onto something that has some real public interest.

08-03-2021, 10:41 AM
Obviously in the eyes of The Rangers FC these are far less serious incidents than someone calling them "sticky buns".

monarch
08-03-2021, 10:41 AM
That's a disgrace.
Memorial benches obviously not held in the same level of esteem as statues.

08-03-2021, 10:46 AM

No, it wasn’t ok. Much like it’s not ok for someone to go and visit their elderly parents in their garden when there’ll be 4 people there from 2 different households.

To suggest that the four family members, the small amount of St Johnstone fans and tens of thousands of Rangers fans causing destruction deserve the same sort of reaction doesn’t really make any sense though.

08-03-2021, 10:47 AM
Utter **** the lot of them.

They should all be neutered :greengrin

The Baldmans Comb
08-03-2021, 10:54 AM
The celebrations were referred to on Jeremy Vine on channel 5 this morning. The panel all thought that it was great to see the fans singing and partying. Nothing about COVID risk. Only negative comment was from a Daily Star columnist about Nicola Sturgeon being a spoilsport because she tweeted for supporters to go home ! JV thought their fans deserved it because they’d had waited 10 years being subjected to tax enquiries (?) and being “bounced” down the leagues.

Sometimes I wish the so called experts from “dan sarf “ would just ignore us completely if they can’t be bothered to check facts properly.

Who is Jeremy Vine (TV I guess) and why would anyone care what his panel thinks but I assume its an English TV programme filling in the broadcasting hours.

Its not aimed at you but in general why do the people of Scotland always talk about "Down South" or in this case the even stranger "dan sarf".

England is a fine country with excellent people so why not just say what it says on the tin.

08-03-2021, 10:54 AM
I wonder what the ones fined for Covid breaches actually did. Surely by participating in a mass gathering every one of them were breaching Covid regulations ?

08-03-2021, 10:57 AM
They really are on a different level. There are idiots in every support, but with sevco it’s a majority. Even the ones who aren’t complete morons will defend or refuse to condemn the true knuckle draggers.

08-03-2021, 10:58 AM

No, but scale matters. The rangers fans outdid the saints fans in numbers, length of time, damage, arrests, etc.

Your argument is like saying a man killing someone in his village of 100 people, is the same as a man killing 1000 people in his city of 100,000 people as they both killed the same percentage of people available.

08-03-2021, 11:04 AM
I don’t think any Rangers fans vote SNP. 😂

I think they do, only they check out which school the SNP candidate went to first.

percy veer
08-03-2021, 11:06 AM
The daily record will be running a 2 year Long campaign identifying the culprits of course... just like when we win the cup

08-03-2021, 11:09 AM
https://www.rangers.co.uk/Article/club-statement-4/1eY7WhmE2hY1o18GUC9arB

Official statement

08-03-2021, 11:11 AM

Official statementBeggars belief that they aren't calling for wholesale arrests.

08-03-2021, 11:12 AM

Official statement

It's apposite that you posted the link to that statement, when the first part of your signature says "Wash your hands"

08-03-2021, 11:12 AM

Official statement

Think they forgot to mention Stay at Home.

08-03-2021, 11:15 AM
Think they forgot to mention Stay at Home.

It's as weak a statement as I've seen.

08-03-2021, 11:15 AM
Beggars belief that they aren't calling for wholesale arrests.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkEvery one of them were thrashed to within an inch of their lives by Hibbies and West of Scotland fc supporters.

They still have flashbacks about exuberant victorious Hibs fans laughing in their big bloated red faces[emoji16]

08-03-2021, 11:17 AM
"We reiterate the message from our manager, Steven Gerrard, who highlighted that fans should adhere to government guidelines – stay safe, socially distance and look after each other in this difficult time."

Is this the same Steven Gerrard that was hanging out a window celebrating with them?

08-03-2021, 11:25 AM
Swinney calls behaviour in Glasgow yesterday "an absolute disgrace and a matter of profound regret that Rangers did not do more to discourage the gatherings."

08-03-2021, 11:25 AM
So Swinney confirms Rangers were asked/told to issue a stay at home message and didn't.

****ing hammer the *****.

08-03-2021, 11:26 AM
Swinney calls behaviour in Glasgow yesterday "an absolute disgrace and a matter of profound regret that Rangers did not do more to discourage the gatherings."

Who cares? He's getting punted soon anyways :greengrin

08-03-2021, 11:26 AM
It's apposite that you posted the link to that statement, when the first part of your signature says "Wash your hands"

👐👍😉

08-03-2021, 11:27 AM
So Swinney confirms Rangers were asked/told to issue a stay at home message and didn't.

Exactly. It’s mental that they said nothing. Horrible club.

08-03-2021, 11:28 AM

40 point penalty.

08-03-2021, 11:29 AM
"Silence of Rangers was deafening." - Swinney

08-03-2021, 11:31 AM

Official statement

This rancid club continually refusing to recognise and condemn the toxicity within its support is allowing this toxicity to subsist. Dreadful statement.

08-03-2021, 11:31 AM

It's so irresponsible. For a club that loves putting out statements to whinge about nothing, they refused to make one asking for public health to be protected. There are no limits to the amorality of that club.

The Count
08-03-2021, 11:33 AM
Remember apart from marauding through many a European city they are the only club to be presented with a European Trophy in a dressing room!!!.Even in times of achievement and joy their fans find a way to behave like morons and made the club even more disliked.

08-03-2021, 11:34 AM
No it was not OK. It was different though. St Johnstone issued a statement asking fans not to attend. The Police kept the fans(way less than a thousand and what mostly looked like daft laddies) in a single area and it was all over pretty quickly. I don't think the Police walked them through the streets of Perth thereby encouraging others to join.

I hope the Police identified as many Saints fans as they could and used the Covid laws against them. You cannot have one law for citizens and another for football fans. Yes a cup win is a life event but so are weddings and funerals and Wedding celebrations have been broken up with all attendees fined. I would hope the Police will now have thousands of names gathered at the scene of the crime that they can now follow up and issue with fines. They can pull some of the Officers or workers that appear to be waiting for speeding motorists on deserted roads from that duty onto something that has some real public interest.

I agree with most of this.

Police were stuck between a rock and a hard place. Thousands were descending onto George Sq. Should they have kept them penned / together or let then loose which would have led to even more disruption? They couldn’t stop them completely. Not with the resources they have.

08-03-2021, 11:34 AM

Disgrace!

08-03-2021, 11:42 AM

This is winding me up. That club thinks it owns Scotland (we are the people) and the rules the rest of us live by don't apply to them, even when lives are at risk.

08-03-2021, 11:49 AM
This is winding me up. That club thinks it owns Scotland (we are the people) and the rules the rest of us live by don't apply to them, even when lives are at risk.

They genuinely believe they are superior. Horrible bigoted thugs.

08-03-2021, 11:52 AM
"If the data goes in the wrong direction because of what went on at the weekend, that will have an effect on our decision making." - Swinney

Cheers huns.

08-03-2021, 11:54 AM
"If the data goes in the wrong direction because of what went on at the weekend, that will have an effect on our decision making." - Swinney

Cheers huns.

They’ll no care either way to be honest

08-03-2021, 12:00 PM

Cheers huns.
They won't give a **** anyway because they are the peepul! They'll claim it's a fenian conspiracy to get back at them for winning the league.

Official statement

Weak, late and pathetic.

This is a far worse dereliction of duty than any COVID breach by any club before now.

Too little far too late. No point in bleating on about it now.

Fact of the matter the SFA, Police, Government all have KNOWN FOR MONTHS Celtic or Sevco were going to win the league. In both cases, their fans would have seen it as historic (10IAR or First in 10) and would definitely have come out in big numbers. Why were BOTH clubs not asked to inform the Police/SFA about their plans to help avoid mass street parties ? Yet again, the Government is completely impotent and powerless to do anything about a football matter. All hot air and faux outrage.

Except in the post-match 2016 Sevco Cup loss, of course.

When will everyone wake up to (or at least publicly accept) that virtually every horrible incident affecting football up here, involves The Rangers ?????

08-03-2021, 12:02 PM

Cheers huns.

They would not have given a jot ! Scotland's Shame.

08-03-2021, 12:04 PM
One thing that has always confused me about Rangers fans is that as a club and to some extent as a fan base they claim the trash element is a minority. The deafening noise of sectarian songs from Ibrox is a minority, the anti Irish xenophobia is a minority, the people who rampaged through Manchester were a minority....

So where does the majority go? Their silence is deafening. They provide almost no counter to this supposed minority. There are 3 options that I can see. Their silence is tacit approval, they are scared to speak out or the minority is actually a pretty hefty majority.

08-03-2021, 12:05 PM
They genuinely believe they are superior. Horrible bigoted thugs.

And they will continue to do this unless there is some sort of sanction Words mean nothing and if they were bothered they would at least have put out a statement before Swinney spoke today
Any statement now will be because the Goverment has said they expect them to put something out

08-03-2021, 12:05 PM
Genuine question and in no way down playing the events of yesterday.....was there a spike after the various protests in the summer such as the BLM rallies? Secondly, if there is no spike in Glasgow in a couple of weeks wound that be a good gauge to allow open air events to happen?

08-03-2021, 12:06 PM
One thing that has always confused me about Rangers fans is that as a club and to some extent as a fan base they claim the trash element is a minority. The deafening noise of sectarian songs from Ibrox is a minority, the anti Irish xenophobia is a minority, the people who rampaged through Manchester were a minority....

So where does the majority go? Their silence is deafening. They provide almost no counter to this supposed minority. There are 3 options that I can see. Their silence is tacit approval, they are scared to speak out or the minority is actually a pretty hefty majority.

It’s a minority that seems to hold an awful lot of influence, given how the club panders to them at every opportunity.

EDIT: maybe they are trying to imply that the entire support is a persecuted ethno-religious minority, and so any criticism of them is racist?

08-03-2021, 12:08 PM

Of course it's a majority. The civilised ones who are embarrassed by other Rangers fans are the minority. The Huns and their loyalist cousins in Northern Ireland are our version of the American Redneck; our Trump supporters.

08-03-2021, 12:10 PM
Genuine question and in no way down playing the events of yesterday.....was there a spike after the various protests in the summer such as the BLM rallies? Secondly, if there is no spike in Glasgow in a couple of weeks wound that be a good gauge to allow open air events to happen?

The BLM rallies were largely attended by mask wearing and some distance respected between the attendees...so not sure if it would be a helpful gauge...this weekend looks like anything but that.

Your second question is an interesting one

aljo7-0
08-03-2021, 12:10 PM
I'm fuming about these selfish b********s.
In the last year I've dealt with quite a few families who have lost parents/grandparents to Covid and have been heartbroken that funerals were severely restricted and many family and friends could not turn up. This caused real upset but they took it on the chin and accepted the rules. I've a niece getting married very soon who still has no idea if her wedding can go ahead, when it will go ahead and just how many friends and family will not be able to attend her big day.
But hey if your football team wins the league then bus and train it in to Glasgow, breaching travel rules, to socially gather, against the rules, drink alcohol on the streets, again against rules and litter and damage property whilst singing sectarian songs. Selfish beeps.

08-03-2021, 12:19 PM
Rangers fans celebrating - as much as I hate to admit it, many, many fans would have done the same, and whilst idiotic was probably inevitable.

Police Scotland failing to break up celebrations - pathetic.

Rangers fans destroying stuff - hammer them.

Rangers staff failing to condemn, and actively encouraging breaking of lockdown rules - hammer them.

08-03-2021, 12:21 PM
Of course tweeting to their fans to ask them to go home would have been the responsible thing to do, no argument from me there. It's how I would have expected Hibs to respond if we were in that position.

The fact that Rangers chose not to take such an approach is regrettable but I don't know what rules they have broken.

The manager has broke covid football rules, no chance was that his bubble people in his car, players coming out and celebrating with fans out side the ground on Saturday, having a party at the training ground on the Sunday and once again going out to celebrate with fans, the club has to be fined for the party at the training ground as that is a breach of rules, the club will know this and can pay the fine so 2 fingers to everyone else in Scotland.

08-03-2021, 12:22 PM

Official statement

Translation: Whilst you shouldn't really have done it, it was probably ok since you didn't see us this season. Aye ok, stay at home, stay safe, nudge nudge wink wink. We've done the bare minimum required as asked by the government. If we win anything else just make the celebrations a bit quieter and a wee bit less rule-breaking. Ok bye

08-03-2021, 12:24 PM
And they will continue to do this unless there is some sort of sanction Words mean nothing and if they were bothered they would at least have put out a statement before Swinney spoke today
Any statement now will be because the Goverment has said they expect them to put something out

Donald Trump & Sevco. Revelled in the illegal behaviour of their supporters, did the square root of nothing to stop or dissuade them during and only spoke out when forced to do so by others. Any claims by Sevco NOW that they find the behaviour of their fans wrong, unfortunate or abhorrent should be rejected out of hand.

08-03-2021, 12:25 PM
I wouldn’t be that surprised if there was a bus parade through Glasgow.

08-03-2021, 12:28 PM

No doubting that, the police response would be completely different though, be assured we would be dispersed with riot police and horses and anything they can through at us, we would maybe only muster a few hundred to have a go with the police, with the 2 clubs in Glasgow everyone is in and that's why the police will not do anything about them, Hibs Hearts or Aberdeen trying this would get hammered by the police, on & off the park.

08-03-2021, 12:29 PM
The manager has broke covid football rules, no chance was that his bubble people in his car, players coming out and celebrating with fans out side the ground on Saturday, having a party at the training ground on the Sunday and once again going out to celebrate with fans, the club has to be fined for the party at the training ground as that is a breach of rules, the club will know this and can pay the fine so 2 fingers to everyone else in Scotland.

Yes I agree with you about this, I was speaking specifically about the club being punished because they didn't issue a tweet to ask fans to stay at home.

08-03-2021, 12:38 PM

AFAIK football doesn’t have ‘rules’ about bubbles. They have guidelines. If you don’t follow the guidelines then you’ll have a greater chance of isolating. If too many have to isolate due to this then your to blame for games being postponed and in danger of sanctions.

Same situation as Celtic in dubai, failed to follow guidelines, positive test meant lots of isolations.

08-03-2021, 12:40 PM
No doubting that, the police response would be completely different though, be assured we would be dispersed with riot police and horses and anything they can through at us, we would maybe only muster a few hundred to have a go with the police, with the 2 clubs in Glasgow everyone is in and that's why the police will not do anything about them, Hibs Hearts or Aberdeen trying this would get hammered by the police, on & off the park.

Exactly, and everyone knows that. It's faux outrage we're hearing from the politicians and some in the media, because the majority of non-football public up in arms about what happened at the weekend.

Let's see if Police Scotland start to track down and fine those involved (starting with the Rangers players and manager).......

08-03-2021, 12:41 PM
What are the other significant milestones?

The fawning over the huns is nauseating. Second richest club in country in monumental league win. GTF.

Also saw a video of Kemar Roofe at their training ground (I think) with fans clearly out of his tits on coke. Idiot.

OstKurve Hibs
08-03-2021, 12:46 PM
It's a British thing with the huns, they're exactly like the muppets that follow the english national team, think they're "britishness" makes them better than everyone else and gives them a Devine right to act like baboons steamin on buckfast,
And before anyone says anything I'm not tarring all english folk or all rangers fans wi the same brush but this kind of thing follows both teams around.

08-03-2021, 12:52 PM

My money would be on option 3

08-03-2021, 12:58 PM
What are the other significant milestones?

The fawning over the huns is nauseating. Second richest club in country in monumental league win. GTF.

Also saw a video of Kemar Roofe at their training ground (I think) with fans clearly out of his tits on coke. Idiot.

Going unbeaten in the league? I think that's what they're hinting at.

08-03-2021, 01:00 PM

The police dispersed the crowd at Perth within about 20 minutes, maybe a bigger % of police last night and they could have done the same.

08-03-2021, 01:01 PM
https://scontent-lhr8-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158376861_3718482218244712_2913729639865073005_o.j pg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=tK1i9gDRrykAX_poHsI&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr8-1.xx&oh=06337ca3f92de601c04a6254282c1035&oe=606D82E8

08-03-2021, 01:02 PM
https://scontent-lhr8-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/158376861_3718482218244712_2913729639865073005_o.j pg?_nc_cat=109&ccb=1-3&_nc_sid=8bfeb9&_nc_ohc=tK1i9gDRrykAX_poHsI&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr8-1.xx&oh=06337ca3f92de601c04a6254282c1035&oe=606D82E8

Well as long as they filmed them, will be able to track down some of the culprits

Chorley Hibee
08-03-2021, 01:03 PM

Surely not, aren't they all really vocal on the protection of statues and the like?

****bags!

08-03-2021, 01:09 PM
Well as long as they filmed them, will be able to track down some of the culprits

Unfortunately that would mean issuing fix penalties to a number of polis so that will never happen.

08-03-2021, 01:15 PM

It's not right , i agree .
But you said that you were finished with lockdowm because some bad rangers fans broke lockdown.
Not a very mature stance imo.

AltheHibby
08-03-2021, 01:17 PM
Have Hibs or Chelsea been blamed for this yet?

TheHibernator
08-03-2021, 01:27 PM
Their statement pretty much condones their fans behaviour, what chance have you got when the ones running the club are just as bad as the fans. Just bigots in suits

08-03-2021, 01:28 PM
Unfortunately that would mean issuing fix penalties to a number of polis so that will never happen.

A few selfies going about last night of Glasgow's finest getting selfies with stickies, even seen one selfie of a policeman in short sleeve with a tattoo of some dude dressed in orange on top of a horse.