View Full Version : St Johnstone v Hibs
06-03-2021, 12:59 PM
Since no one had created a match day thread.
Team announced;
close!
............................Marciano...........
..........McGinn............Porteous.....Hanlon... ..
Cadden..........Gogic............Newell........... Doig..
................................Irvine.......
.......................Boyle............Nisbet....
As mentioned in another thread, I’m very surprised Mcgregor isn’t playing given their threat from set pieces.
Very strong team though and more than good enough to get 3 points.
06-03-2021, 01:00 PM
I would’ve rested Hanlon instead of McGregor.
06-03-2021, 01:00 PM
As strong a team as we can field.
06-03-2021, 01:03 PM
Subs - Macy, Gray, McGregor, Hallberg, Stevenson, Wright, Murphy, Doidge, Allan
06-03-2021, 01:04 PM
Mom the hibs , and Hamilton
06-03-2021, 01:05 PM
Important day today. Expect Aberdeen to win at home to Hamilton, they’ll be looking at today as a day they can make up some points. If we come out of today with at least our 4 point advantage still there, that would be a big step towards third.
06-03-2021, 01:09 PM
3-0 hibs.
06-03-2021, 01:09 PM
Mom the hibs , and Hamilton
And St Mirren :wink:
06-03-2021, 01:12 PM
Hamilton rock bottom again, it's going to be a hard one for Aberdeen and Hamilton will be gutted they blew it against St johnstone during the week
hopefully an early goal for us today
MunsterHibee
06-03-2021, 01:12 PM
C'mon the Hibs [emoji1184]
Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk
BlackSheep
06-03-2021, 01:30 PM
It’s hard one, cos the team looks as balanced as it could with this line up.
Big day.
Strong team. First goal is important but we have been good on the road. 3 points for Hibs in a tight game I think.
CB Hibs 68
That is pretty much the starting 11 I would have gone with.Plenty options on the bench as well.
06-03-2021, 01:33 PM
I have a good feeling about this. Strongly fancy a Hibs win today.
banchoryhibs
06-03-2021, 01:36 PM
I like the team. It's set up to suit our game, not to counter St Johnstone's. That's a good mindset to have!
06-03-2021, 01:36 PM
Hopefully we see Nisbet make an impact. It's been a while now, he needs a goal.
06-03-2021, 01:37 PM
You cant rest Hanlon against a high press, only defender who can pass through it.
Mikey_1875
06-03-2021, 01:37 PM
Pretty much the changes expected I think. Hopefully Nisbet comes out firing with a point to prove. The 17.50 charge has wound me up so really hoping we thump them today :greengrin
06-03-2021, 01:39 PM
I like the team. It's set up to suit our game, not to counter St Johnstone's. That's a good mindset to have!
Me too. McGregor is the only one who might have a shout to start but other that that a lot of threat going forward and a bit of steel as well.
We'll need to keep the ball on the deck though as Nisbet and Boyle are winning nothing in the air against their centre backs.
06-03-2021, 01:46 PM
Ross did suggestt we had a few players who were doubtful - that can be the only explanation for McGregor missing out.
We actually started the semi quite well until we started losing goals from set pieces.
Not the team I’d have picked but I can certainly understand the thinking here. Glad to have Gogic back in, he’s key here.
Liam978
06-03-2021, 01:48 PM
Think maybe big Daz is one of the players reported as carrying a knock,but is on the bench in a supportive manner, no ?
06-03-2021, 01:53 PM
I’m already bitting my nails just looking at the bench... not a lot going.
06-03-2021, 01:57 PM
Be prepared to be down to your knuckles at full time :worried:
06-03-2021, 02:00 PM
Murphy Allan Doidge all capable of impact
06-03-2021, 02:01 PM
Right lets do this Hibs.
Hibeesforever
06-03-2021, 02:03 PM
Pretty much the changes expected I think. Hopefully Nisbet comes out firing with a point to prove. The 17.50 charge has wound me up so really hoping we thump them today :greengrin
I am annoyed too and have declined their offer of £17.50...saw that The Rangers only charge £9.99 for their game.
Tam McManus suggesting it's a 433, Cadden playing a lot higher up the pitch than usual.
06-03-2021, 02:07 PM
Yep Cadden very high up the pitch. Odd one.
06-03-2021, 02:08 PM
£17.50 is a disgrace, although I’ve paid it. Hope we destroy them today.
06-03-2021, 02:10 PM
Think we will see just how much work Doidge does up there on his own today. Hard shift for Niz
dmc1875
Think we will see just how much work Doidge does up there on his own today. Hard shift for Niz
And how he helps us in our own box too
Their number 9 likes a fall over
Bit scrappy, using the pace of Boyle and Nisbet up top as the pitch looks a bit like ours bare and bobbly.
hibsfan
06-03-2021, 02:14 PM
Anyone else having issues with the stream today? Very glitchy but might just be sky...
06-03-2021, 02:15 PM
Frantic start but they’ve looked a little more likely to show composure and get the ball down and play.
If we’re to be this direct then we might regret not playing Doidge.
Our retention need to get a bit better, bit rushed at the minute but Boyle has almost been in a couple of times
Mcginn started poorly again.
06-03-2021, 02:16 PM
1-0 st johnstone :rolleyes:
Another stunning start
We are crap.
And here we go...
Pish.
06-03-2021, 02:17 PM
Game over then.
dmc1875
Not playing Doidge in this game considering when he started we won 4 of 5 and when he’s not in the team we are garbage in our own box at defending is ridiculous
We are crap.
3rd top crap, those teams below us must be honking
Oh oh long afternoon
Dreary *** me Hibs. 0-1
Had to be Liam ****ing Craig
Was that not a foul on Boyle in the lead up to that goal?
Liam Craig showing us what he never could seem to do when he was here.
06-03-2021, 02:18 PM
Poor clearance from Doig, Marciano had no chance
That is a shocking clearance from Doig.
Also, St Johnstone are not shy with the cost of that game. £17.50?!
Still optimistic, a long way to go in the game :thumbsup:
Game over then, jeez.
Poor goal to give away, bad clearance and never closed down, Newell with a header a lassie would be embarrassed about.
Still plenty time but by sounds of it we need to do better!
Daft clearance
Crap start yet again. Hanlon's distribution is horrific.
Hot potato football with most not bothering to try and find a man.
Drey Wright to come on and save the day... said no one.
FFS Doidge.
Shan clearance by Doig
Doig with a poor clearance. Then Craig has as much time as he wants. Poor defending again.
06-03-2021, 02:19 PM
Game over then, jeez.
A wee while to go yet. :greengrin
MunsterHibee
We look lost in midfield here. We can't string 2 passes together ffs. Nobody pushing out to put pressure on Craig for the goal either. Poor start.
Sent from my SM-A515F using Tapatalk
Mikey_1875
Poor start we really need to see a reaction now
Not a Hibs employee within 5 yards of him on the edge of the box...
Still optimistic, a long way to go in the game :thumbsup:
Our recent record when going behind is really bad. We need to show a bit of grit now.
We are pretty awful tbh. No surprise. Every "pass" is played in a hurry. Almost like none of them want the ball. Hoof ball.
We are crap.
Ah welcome back. Stop watching the football.
This is all Christian Doidge's fault.
We don’t come back from behind. Game over.
Why have we changed shape. No need for it. Shunting Boyle out to the left for no real reason.
06-03-2021, 02:20 PM
Radio Scotland having a Hun love in, Stuart McCall and Derek Ferguson sycophantically ejaculating about who would be their Hun player of the season...
Why have we changed shape. No need for it. Shunting Boyle out to the left for no real reason.
Yep got to agree it makes little sense on this viewing so far.
Not playing Doidge in this game considering when he started we won 4 of 5 and when he’s not in the team we are garbage in our own box at defending is ridiculous
We need to score goals, he isn't doing that, losing a goal is down to poor defending and not because he's not playing.
Thought Marciano could have done better being honest.
May think it's harsh but It was clear the way he shaped up where it was going.
06-03-2021, 02:21 PM
This is all Christian Doidge's fault.
Exactly
Find a country mile of space to shoot on his good foot?
Not sure it’s Craig we should be slagging there.
This has been 20 mins of mince from Hibs. Look completely lost in final 3rd.
Still not a fan of Newell and Irvine in the same team.
Goal was shocking too..awful from Doig and Hanlon turns his back trying to block it.
Chucking away 3rd playing like this - simply not good enough so far.
Boyle on the left is a waste too.
Can only hope Accies grab a win up north!
We are pretty awful tbh. No surprise. Every "pass" is played in a hurry. Almost like none of them want the ball. Hoof ball.
We have no composure or guile in the team, we have one guy sitting on the bench that gives you that, we need more than 1 guy.
Can see the season fading away for Hibs unfortunately.
06-03-2021, 02:23 PM
Ah welcome back. Stop watching the football.
What football? What time does it start?
Magpie
I hope St Mirren beat Hamilton next week because I don’t want to play these lot again.
loanheadhibby
Radio Scotland having a Hun love in, Stuart McCall and Derek Ferguson sycophantically ejaculating about who would be their Hun player of the season...
Stuart, who do you think is Rangers player of the year.....boak. Radio off
I don’t see us getting third to be honest. Just not good enough.
Doidge needs dropped if we lose.
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Its funny the folk who call the team spineless are saying game over at 20 minutes :faf:
Poor start but football is a 90 minute game.
Not really the reaction from last week I was hoping for. These Jack Ross team talks must bore the arse of the players as they seem to start games half asleep.
Still not sure why we changed team after Aberdeen game except to play Newell when he clearly wasn’t even match fit.
Can see the season fading away for Hibs unfortunately.
Aye likewise, I think we still might finish 3rd but it really has felt a bit *****
06-03-2021, 02:24 PM
We're as good as beaten when we lose the first goal. Hopefully that changes today.
Goal was shocking too..awful from Doig and Hanlon turns his back trying to block it.
Watching the midfield 3, they are miles away from each other, not even playing as a unit, they look like 3 individuals just running about.
06-03-2021, 02:25 PM
He only seems to score against us.
Davy Mac
Our players look like they have learnt nowt from their recent poor displays. What a chance we have to finish 3rs and we're chucking it away.
Can someone tell me what Newell does that makes him a first pick?
Magpie
06-03-2021, 02:26 PM
I don’t see us getting third to be honest. Just not good enough.
Would be a shame considering the great position we have put ourselves in. Don’t think Aberdeen have it in them to take advantage though. Our game against them in the split will be a proper ‘six pointer’.
We have no composure or guile in the team, we have one guy sitting on the bench that gives you that, we need more than 1 guy.
I'd get him on for Newell right now to be honest
I agree - utter garbage.
Defence looks shaky, midfield all over the place, nothing up front and very disjointed.
No idea what the solution is but we’re a distant 2nd best here.
With 5 subs available I might be tempted to shake it up early as it is hard to imagine us just working our way back into this as it is.
High balls to Nisbet and Boyle are never going to work. Our defenders need to trust the midfielders.
What I don't understand is why our players pass when a St Johnstone player is 5 yards away. We pass it to a player that has a marker touch tight. Why pass it to someone when you have space and they have 0 space.
Sorry to say but we need a clear out in the summer. Need more ball players on the pitch.
NC1875
06-03-2021, 02:27 PM
Us being 3rd says more about the crap quality of the league IMO. We are garbage
06-03-2021, 02:28 PM
It’s been 25 mins - “another bad day at the office...always next week” .. just waiting for those posts.
Gogic - Irvine - Murphy - that should be the central midfield 3.
Front 2 of Nizzy and Doidge or Boyle plus one of them.
Central midfield looking like it was when we lost form - outplayed by 2 players who Hibs let go..Wotherspoon and Craig.
06-03-2021, 02:28 PM
No learned a thing from the semi, pathetic stuff so far.
06-03-2021, 02:29 PM
At least in the semi we were all over them first 30
We played way better in the first 35 minutes of the semi than we have here.
thebausburst
Nisbet as good as a man short, he’s clearly not interested and in the huff, needs benched till his attitude gets better.
Another sitter from Doidge, get him off ffs.
Its funny the folk who call the team spineless are saying game over at 20 minutes :faf:
Poor start but football is a 90 minute game.
It’s a 90 minute game that this Hibs side loses at whenever they lose the first goal.
There is very little on this showing to give us any hope we’ll get back into this game, other than the simple fact that there is plenty time remaining.
Admit it - this is dreadful.
06-03-2021, 02:30 PM
Least in the semi we actually created chances for about 20 mins then fell apart.
Today has been honking and we don’t look like a team so far.
06-03-2021, 02:30 PM
Nisbet as good as a man short, he’s clearly not interested and in the huff, needs benched till his attitude gets better.
He's been passed the ball about 3 times
Weegreenman
06-03-2021, 02:31 PM
I’ve switched over. I’m no watching this ***** any longer. Big punt up the park is all we ever do. There isn’t any care of the ball when in possession.
It’s just terrible to watch.
At least in the semi we were all over them first 30
We played way better in the first 35 minutes of the semi than we have here.
Can someone tell me what Newell does that makes him a first pick?
We’d found a good balance. Bringing him back in has changed everyone’s role in the middle of the park and we’ve totally lost that.
06-03-2021, 02:32 PM
Not a Hibs employee within 5 yards of him on the edge of the box...
You’d be on your 5th Pie today if you were at the game😀
Doidge has turned into Nish completely now. It’s remarkable.
Us being 3rd says more about the crap quality of the league IMO. We are garbage
I’ve definitely seen better Hibs teams not finish 3rd.
The league is pants - apart from Rangers but they will get found out soon in Europe in near future.
What I don't understand is why our players pass when a St Johnstone player is 5 yards away. We pass it to a player that has a marker touch tight. Why pass it to someone when you have space and they have 0 space.
Sorry to say but we need a clear out in the summer. Need more ball players on the pitch.
It's been like this nearly all season except the odd really good game, it's been generally scrappy passing, no composure, I'd love to see what exactly we do in training that allows us to keep possession of the ball.
06-03-2021, 02:33 PM
This is brutal.
06-03-2021, 02:33 PM
This is brutal.
I blame the pitch.
Davy Mac
06-03-2021, 02:34 PM
Wake up Hibs FFS, they don't look bothered, what the duck is wrong with them!
06-03-2021, 02:34 PM
Doidge has turned into Nish completely now. It’s remarkable.
He's been anonymous today
06-03-2021, 02:35 PM
We’d found a good balance. Bringing him back in has changed everyone’s role in the middle of the park and we’ve totally lost that.
Newell either has something in new contract about playing regularly or he’s playing off his early season form.
He’s been crap since coming back - to be fair he did miss several games so takes time but he’s just not at it.
This is exactly same as last week...hold on losing 1-0 and HOPE it improves.
Goes 2-0 then panic and throw on a load of subs.
We need to change the shape / players now!!
Dreadful half an hour where we have offered nothing so far.
Time for a rethink alongside a rocket up them at HT and hope we are still only one behind.
He's been anonymous today
He might as well not even be on the pitch.
Antonyopus
When was the last time we won from a goal down. I’m afraid it’s curtains already. Poor very poor. No point in hoping for any sort of comeback. Probably end up 2 or 3 nil. We just cannot score goals.
Yip, all Newell does is slow the game down, he takes the ball in well, and does a lovely circle with the ball giving St Johnstone enough time for all their players to get back into position.:rolleyes:
He's been anonymous todayIf he's no missing chances he does nowt
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Would be a shame considering the great position we have put ourselves in. Don’t think Aberdeen have it in them to take advantage though. Our game against them in the split will be a proper ‘six pointer’.
They have to score goals eventually, they should win today comfortably.
We might well finish 4th and in that I would class as mediocre to poor season considering the positions we were in with two semi finals and potentially another to come and 5 points clear in 3rd place at one point.
Of course that’s hypothetical but based on last week and this week so far that’s how I see it going
06-03-2021, 02:36 PM
Is Irvine playing? I'm listening to Hibs TV but I've never heard him mentioned.
What’s with all the p!sh Doidge jokes?
This has been a very challenging watch. Our performances swing so violently between good and absolutely crap.
dmc1875
This is brutal.
We play brutal football even when we win most times
The fact we never come back from a goal down is ridiculous
06-03-2021, 02:37 PM
We play eye bleeding football man. No creativity, imagination or flow at all.
These hoofs up the park to Boyle and Nisbet are laughable.
He's no pish just unlucky
I see the curse of the contract extension has hit Newell, signs a new deal that suddenly becomes decidedly average again, this is back to the form he showed when he 1st came here.
Nisbet’s form is a worry tbh
06-03-2021, 02:38 PM
These hoofs up the park to Boyle and Nisbet are laughable.
Been this way for a while
Not got the game on but it’s predictable how the rest of it’s going to pan out. We’ll huff and puff for the rest of the game, potentially lose another goal and we’ll not get near them
Yep, absolutely ***** and ruining an already ***** thread.
Apart from us losing the match so far, this is one of the worst games I have seen this season.
06-03-2021, 02:39 PM
That was good from Doig, bit of encouragement hopefully.
How many times have we gone long today and instantly lost the ball.
If only we had a striker with strength that can win headers.
cekim
Sorry had enough can't watch this pish anymore. Maybe tune back in next season if they play football.
06-03-2021, 02:40 PM
That was a great move. Close from Newell. Soooo much better.
Got to score there. Well worker.
Finally a bit of positive football.
Aw man, Newell.
Newell.:rolleyes:
Newell's got to hit the target there.
dmc1875
How many times have we gone long today and instantly lost the ball.
If only we had a striker with strength that can win headers.
A striker that helps in both boxes and played in four wins in our last 5 games? If only we had that guy available.
Oh wait
Mikey_1875
Would have slipped doig in there. Definitely the right way to go about attacking them
Bad miss, got to hit the target at least.
06-03-2021, 02:41 PM
That was a great move. Close from Newell. Soooo much better.
Close from Newall? It was embarrassingly bad shooting.
Would have slipped doig in there. Definitely the right way to go about attacking them
Good chance there but , jeez, this is a hard watch.
40 mins and the 1st decent pass / move - Newell fires wide.
Still no shots on target for us in 1st half.
We only managed 2 shots on target against Motherwell last week.
Quite glad the vipleague link isn't working so far.
Got to score there. Well worker.
Or roll it to doig in a the space.
Has Joe newell ever scored for us? He never seems to hit the target.
Good play. Newell hits the target and he scores. Keeper rooted to the spot.Should have done better.
06-03-2021, 02:42 PM
That was good from Doig, bit of encouragement hopefully.
That was probably the first positive contribution of the afternoon from anyone.
Better last couple of minutes.
For a talented player who you expect better of, Newell’s scoring attempts from around the edge of the box are pitiful.
StockholmHibs
Pash total pash. Newell Utter garbage to
Close from Newall? It was embarrassingly bad shooting.
Yeah, looked close. Certainly the closest we've come. Should have done better of course.
dmc1875
06-03-2021, 02:43 PM
That was probably the first positive contribution of the afternoon from anyone.
Better last couple of minutes.
For a talented player who you expect better of, Newell’s scoring attempts from around the edge of the box are pitiful.
Miss a good chance - a St Johnstone goal will be coming soon the
06-03-2021, 02:43 PM
Not sure how Porteous can get out the way there? :confused:
06-03-2021, 02:44 PM
Newell really needs to work on his shooting
Porteous booked for being run into.
Nisbet’s form is a worry tbhHe's looking every bit a championship player at the moment
Needs to get back to basics
Wotherspoon just runs into Porteous and Porteous gets booked WTF
Weegreenman
Bad miss, got to hit the target at least.
He should have laid it on a plate. Poor decision to shoot himself and he doesn’t even hit the target
Davy Mac
I wonder what words of wisdom JR will give them at HT.
Porteous booked for nowt. Witherspoon just ran into him
dmc1875
06-03-2021, 02:45 PM
“I got the tactics wrong once again boys don’t worry I’ll change it”
Can’t give pass marks to anyone at half time.
Would make at least x2 subs at half time.
Get Doidge on.
Boyle and Irvine need to get into this.
I wonder if he’ll stand there as expressionless as he does on the touchline. I’ve yet to see him turn anything round at half time this season when we’ve been losing.
Or roll it to doig in a the space.
Has Joe newell ever scored for us? He never seems to hit the target.
I actually meant as a team we need to score - should have been clearer :greengrin
Definitely should have rolled it wide.
06-03-2021, 02:46 PM
Porteous booked for nowt. Witherspoon just ran into him
Wutherspoon.
dmc1875
Can’t give pass marks to anyone at half time.
Would make at least x2 subs at half time.
Get Doidge on.
Boyle and Irvine need to get into this.
The fact he took Doidge out the team, especially considering the last game against St Johnstone and how vulnerable we were to set pieces - is ridiculous
Utter ***** Hibs.
This mob don't have the balls for this.
Half time, not great.
06-03-2021, 02:47 PM
Wutherspoon.
Good wee player how ever you want to spell his name
Not sure we are going to score today!
He's looking every bit a championship player at the moment
Needs to get back to basics
Seriously he's had the ball like 5 times in the first half, never within the 18 yard box, the rest of the time it's been punted over his head, what are people expecting him to do, pick up the ball 40 yards from goal and beat 5 players
Utter ***** Hibs.
I’m starting to get this feeling that we’re going to **** 3rd place.
Weegreenman
I remember a time when footballers didn’t just need to be able to run, they needed to have skill with the ball.
Some of our lot couldn’t trap a fish supper! Awful stuff.
Poor half again by Hibs.It's been a dull game.
Davy Mac
I wonder if he’ll stand there as expressionless as he does on the touchline. I’ve yet to see him turn anything round at half time this season when we’ve been losing.
A shrug of the shoulders probably...
I wonder if he’ll stand there as expressionless as he does on the touchline. I’ve yet to see him turn anything round at half time this season when we’ve been losing.Scored a cracker at St Mirren
finally the sweet sound of the HT whistle, eye-bleeding stuff, truly eye-bleeding
Paul1642
06-03-2021, 02:48 PM
Hibs issue used to be that we couldn’t hold onto a lead. We have fixed that but new issue when we go behind we really struggle to score.
Very little desire and even less quality. Bad mistake puts us behind.
Need to reverse the trend from going behind, but not looking likely.
Aberdeen too ***** to take advantage
“I got the tactics wrong once again boys don’t worry I’ll change it”
Tactics aren't that bad, we just have far too many very average players who have done nowt for far too many games this season, this type of performance isn't a one off, we've played this badly playing 3 at the back and Doidge up top.
Seriously he's had the ball like 5 times in the first half, never within the 18 yard box, the rest of the time it's been punted over his head, what are people expecting him to do, pick up the ball 40 yards from goal and beat 5 playersI'm not just talking about today - he's looked that way for quite a few months
Very poor first half.
We need to show so much more quality, control and speed in our play especially in midfield and up top.
Don’t think Newell left of a diamond works as he wants to play where Gogic is
Changes needed.
Sad to say but we ain’t getting anything from this match are we? As soon as we lose the first goal we seem to be beat these days.
06-03-2021, 02:49 PM
Is this the Ross out chat starting again?
Midfield have been poor. Newell slow and keeps giving the ball away. It’s la repeat of last week.
I remember a time when footballers didn’t just need to be able to run, they needed to have skill with the ball.
Some of our lot couldn’t trap a fish supper! Awful stuff.
Funnily enough I’ve just said the opposite to my brothers.
We’re so painfully unathletic imo.
Good luck anyone trying to defend that performance.
Relegation level performance and Saints look comfortable.
Said before this was a difficult game and we needed to play well but we have made it so easy for them.
Simply not good enough.
Just seen there goal
Seen a poster suggested Newell header would "make a lassie embaressed" whatever that means
That goal all on Doig I'm afraid
06-03-2021, 02:50 PM
That wasn't very good. Goal we conceded was really poor and with a couple of exceptions we haven't looked particularly threatening.
All a bit pedestrian and lacking in drive and energy again. Big 45 minutes coming up.
Wutherspoon.
Wotherspoon
Doubt it. They were made to look very silly the last time.
Utter guff. If we aren't hoofing it we are passing it straight to Saints. We look like a part time team in terms of legs imo. Shocking defending for their goal particularly by Doig. Ross needs to get the players to show some confidence as we look scared to pass
Aberdeen too ***** to take advantage
Aye I think this could be the only thing that saves us.
It isn’t luck that we’re in 3rd but a big portion of it has to be the luck we’ve had with the form other teams have been in.
Season feels like it’s petering out
06-03-2021, 02:51 PM
That was garbage.
Three changes last weekend after going 2 behind, I reckon Ross could make 5 changes at half time and nobody getting taken off could have a complaint about it.
I honestly think that performances like this, Motherwell last week, and Ross Co and Livi in Jan are as bad as, if not worse than, anything we watched under Butcher.
When we’re at it, we’re a good team. When we’re not we’re really, really bad.
OstKurve Hibs
For a team of talented individuals they really know how to disgrace themselves with weak poncey piss poor performances
Doesn’t look like that? Just people highlighting the inability of him and our players to turn a game round when we’re in a losing position this season
That was a tough watch, and unfortunately I'm not at all confident we'll come out and take anything from the game.
I hope the team surprises us.
Pash first half with Saints pretty cushy in this game up to now, and some on .net question if Jason Cummings could not do a job for us, ****in hell I would have him back here in front of the lot of the so called strikers and would have brought him back months ago.
We dont look like scoring but that may change second half with Ross making some changes, but no gonna hold my breath, and to think I ****in paid oot !17.50 to watch this pash.
:cb
wonder who we will bring on between 5-10 mins in the 2nd half
That was horrific. As discussed after the last game our record when going behind is dreadful so it’s highly unlikely we get anything today.
06-03-2021, 02:52 PM
If he chucks away 4th place in a pants league (without Hearts too) with the lead we have had - wouldn’t be surprised if fans are extremely frustrated / want a change.
Mikey_1875
Desperate for some sort of spark in the second half. Scott Allan got to be worth a go to try and link defence and attack.
You’re only getting that feeling now?:shocked:
Just seen there goal
Seem a poster suggested Newell header would "make a lassie embaressed" whatever that means
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk100%. Even Cliff was half blaming Newell which I don't understand at all. His header was good, Doig then laid it on a plate for Craig (who took it well TBF).
We're missing Doidge noising up their defence.
It’s only 1-0, that’s the only positive from that half.
They’ve not created much to deserve much more but we’ve been garbage.
This Hibs side is a tough watch. I’m into the idea of Europe next season but the quality of football, the likelihood of getting back into a game from losing the first goal and the general guffness makes me wonder what I’m doing watching this.
There are some decent players there too.
We’re really paying for Nisbet and Doidge being so far out of form.
No-one taking responsibility. Someone has to take their man on, Doig has done it once. Cadden just keeps playing it back to McGinn. Newell has been dreadful again. Can't really get any worse although I wouldn't be surprised if Saints did what Motherwell did last week, scored early and shut up shop.
I think we need Doidge up there with Nisbet.
06-03-2021, 02:53 PM
But the players have done well the rest of the season though, so stop being meanies.
Hook Newell and get Murphy on, at least give it a go Hibs, dont let Newell stifle the life out the game.
Ref isn't helping what is a poor game. Every fall a foul unless you are Boyle ridiculous hand ball given against Cadden. Bizarre no injury time
Fir me Newell has been poor losing possession giving away free kicks poor header from cross in build up to Thier goal and missed glorious chance But Irvine and cadden have also not been as influential so no service to Nisbet who is short of match fitness
It’s pedestrians stuff and st Johnstone look comfortable I predicted 2 1 so Hoping fir massive improvement in second half
Davy Mac
Not at all fella, we lack leadership on the park hence the defeats at the Scottish/League Cup and now we are blowing 3rd place. We consistently can't seem to get things over the line. Frustrating as fxxx
Just seen there goal
Seen a poster suggested Newell header would "make a lassie embaressed" whatever that means
That was me, the initial header by Newell went about 5 yards but yes Doig kicked it another 5 yards straight to Craig, poor stuff all round.
06-03-2021, 02:54 PM
Pash first half with Saints pretty cushy in this game up to now, and some on .net question if Jason Cummings could not do a job for us, ****in hell I would have him back here in front of the lot of the so called strikers and would have brought him back months ago.
We dont look like scoring but that may change second half with Ross making some changes, but no gonna hold my breath, and to think I ****in paid oot !17.50 to watch this pash.
There is absolutely nothing Cummings or many other strikers could have done today, you have to give your strikers the ball in a decent position for them to be effective in any way, we haven't
hhibs
Utter ***** Hibs.
Does look like that,timid,and always second best.
Another really poor performance so far .
We just look absolutely bereft of how to play,if Jack Ross can't sort this out we can forget 3rd place.
Paul McGinn is having another mare,cannot control the ball at all.
dmc1875
Apart from about three games this season I think this is the most brutal Hibs team I’ve watched since pre relegation. They are utterly horrific to watch
06-03-2021, 02:55 PM
That was me, the initial header by Newell went about 5 yards but yes Doig kicked it another 5 yards straight to Craig, poor stuff all round.
We've conceded goals like that all season.
We could blame Ron Gordon this time...?
Fratelli
To follow up last weeks shocking performance with that 45 minutes, is unbelievable.
Was nothing learned during the week?
Do the players have the desire and inner strength to dig out a better 45 minutes?
If not, we are going to throw away a great position to finish the season on a high...
loanheadhibby
Tactics aren't that bad, we just have far too many very average players who have done nowt for far too many games this season, this type of performance isn't a one off, we've played this badly playing 3 at the back and Doidge up top.
Totally agree with everything you say, we are riddled with ordinary players.
Doidge of course becomes a better player when he's not playing.
06-03-2021, 02:56 PM
Scott Allan for Newell would be the first change I’d make.
Weir07
Poor first half but a bit unfortunate to get punished for our one mistake. Surely Newell should score with his chance. Difficult to see us getting back in to it, my only hope is Saints tire as they've played twice since we last played.
100%. Even Cliff was half blaming Newell which I don't understand at all. His header was good, Doig then laid it on a plate for Craig (who took it well TBF).
We're missing Doidge noising up their defence.
Think Hanlon should have closed down better plus imo Rocky should save that.
Eight pages by half time? Must be getting beaten I guess.....
What was our team when they skelped us in the semi, anyone remember?
06-03-2021, 02:57 PM
Good contribution
06-03-2021, 02:58 PM
Sure there would be more if we were winning to be honest.
Little wrong with Newell's header – he got it wide and out of danger. Doig put it back central again.
allyh1bs
The is abosultely nothing Cummings or many other strikers could have done today, you have to give your strikers the ball in a decent position for them to be effective in any way, we haven't
Nisbet’s fainting fanny impression is really beginning to annoy me. He looks like a player who is trying not to get injured. If he keeps this up he’ll be getting his move - back down to the championship!
06-03-2021, 02:59 PM
The is abosultely nothing Cummings or many other strikers could have done today, you have to give your strikers the ball in a decent position for them to be effective in any way, we haven't
Speaking in general, of course any striker needs service, not just today we couldnie score in a barrel of fhanneys wi this lot playing.
Cummings would score goals over any period in whatever division we played in.
BlackSheep
06-03-2021, 02:59 PM
Think Hanlon should have closed down better plus imo Rocky should save that.
I agree, I think Rocky was going for the spectacular save.
06-03-2021, 03:00 PM
Scott Allan for Newell would be the first change I’d make.
Wrong.
Allan isn’t anywhere near fit.
Mcgregor - Gogic - Doidge - the winning spine.
We have gone back to being soft - no spine and looking completely lost.
06-03-2021, 03:01 PM
Nisbet’s fainting fanny impression is really beginning to annoy me. He looks like a player who is trying not to get injured. If he keeps this up he’ll be getting his move - back down to the championship!
Looks like a player having to drop deep and getting zero service to me
Davy Mac
06-03-2021, 03:01 PM
His Agent must be filling his head with nonsense.
RoscoHibby
06-03-2021, 03:02 PM
Been chronic viewing so far. Hope the countless floated down the channel balls from McGinn isn’t a tactic and just a consequence of saints pressing high...they’ll tire 2nd half, hope to hell we wake up and at least try to move the ball a bit quicker, we’re losing any meaningful possession that quickly you think a few more of them would try take someone on..
Cmon tae **** Hibs! In about them!!
06-03-2021, 03:02 PM
What was our team when they skelped us in the semi, anyone remember?
Same Hibs team except Murphy for Newell.
Cadden 1st game and wasn’t fit either.
06-03-2021, 03:03 PM
Seriously, get rid of that kick off routine. It's embarrassing.
06-03-2021, 03:03 PM
Apart from about three games this season I think this is the most brutal Hibs team I’ve watched since pre relegation. They are utterly horrific to watch
They look a bit like the relegation teams to me.
Those teams weren't necessarily that bad - they'd play ok, struggle to score when on top then capitulate after losing the first goal and not have the bottle to get back into it.
The difference with this team is that they occasionally score the first goal and defend it.
This is just a crap team and all the stats and league positions would struggle to convince me of otherwise.
We're pish when we win and pish when we lose.
Because we're pish.