View Full Version : St Johnstone v Hibs
dmc1875
06-03-2021, 03:54 PM
It seems as soon as we go behind it's game over. Is it just lack of ability or are we also mentally weak?
It doesn’t seem it, it is it. We’re beaten as soon as we go 1-0 down.
Davy Mac
As I said earlier, are the players really that bothered, do they ****.
I agree re Hanlon, but Doig and Doidge have also played well. We have coughed up nothing more than a half chance all game and ended up losing. I'd say our probs are bigger than a semi sclaffed clearance.I just said that I thought it was a strange choice. For me it was between Doig & Hanlon, with Hanlon edging it (and not setting up their goal).
Doidge was also very good when he came on. We missed him in the 1st half
I'm undecided re Irvine. His distribution can be pretty crap, which is probably why he went off instead of Newell.
Two weeks in a row of being well below par, we’re only being saved by Aberdeen/Livi failing to win. Big improvement needed soon or we’re going to stumble across the line and risk getting punted out the cup into the bargain.
06-03-2021, 03:55 PM
Total pish, I'd much rather have £3m than this version of Nisbet
i bet there's huge sighs of relief in birmingham now :agree:
I think we will limp to 3rd place. Not playing well but neither are the sheep worriers.
allyh1bs
Looks like a player having to drop deep and getting zero service to me
To be fair, he had a much better second half. Still poor service to him, but he put in much more effort.
Rank bad refereeing from Dickinson
4 mins to be added, game stops for 35 seconds for the headknock then 20 seconds to caution Ross.
Should be playing to 94.50 minimum but blows at 94.10. Absolute amateurish and indefensible.
Also blew to stop the game at the head knock but game is restarted by keeper with ball in his hands? Surely that’s not the rule. Should have been our free kick for a late challenge
06-03-2021, 03:56 PM
Nisbet has offered nothing for 2 months and that’s being generous
Chalk and cheese from the one earlier in the season.
Is it? We should’ve had 3rd more than wrapped up by now.
We’re doing our upmost to chuck it.
It is. Weren’t good enough last week, and paid for missed chances today.
Trend for losing when going behind is very poor certainly, but we didn’t bottle anything today.
A few weeks back we were three behind Aberdeen who had two games in hand. Now three ahead with a game in hand ourselves.
Plenty more twists and turns to come, I’m sure.
It seems as soon as we go behind it's game over. Is it just lack of ability or are we also mentally weak?
I think we are mentally weak as a collective. Anytime we approach a meaningful goal/target we bottle it. We are a very meek outfit at times and When we go behind I have zero faith of us getting back into the game.
This team is a boo job if fans were in the stands there is no doubt about that - the performances 80% of the time are atrocious to watch
Yup. We were awful to watch, got a bit better for a month or two and are now awful to watch again.
06-03-2021, 03:57 PM
A disappointing result. St Johnstone scored with their only attempt which was given to them because of a poor clearance, but it was a much better second half.
If they can keep up that intensity, we'll start winning again.
BegbieHSC
Never trust a referee with the same name as that clown from Bargain Hunt.
Nonsense. This team have bottled it a fair few times this season.
How does it apply today exactly?
Not the reason we lost but that has to be one of the most inept refereeing performances this season. Don't even know where to begin
Not sure why it's get out of jail with Aberdeen result as they are 1 point closer to us. I know we have better goal difference.
We need to win the next 2 away games if we want 3rd.
Wrong starting team again today - another shocking 1st half performance.
Too many players not playing well / played out of position.
Wasn't even impressed with Saints - the semi final they battered us once they scored - today they just scored and knew we wouldn't get back into the game. They were missing best player Rooney also.
Davy Mac
06-03-2021, 03:58 PM
£17.50 of pure frustration there. Couldn't argue w the starting line up or the subs. Played well 2nd half - St Js have the Indian sign over us this season though it seems.
Sorry fella but I hate that saying, they are Ganton but we are equally shxte. Hibs players lack of winning mentality is embarrassing. I don't mean the youngsters but the experienced pros have no guts in them.
hhibs
06-03-2021, 03:59 PM
Absolutely. Shat the bed far too many times this season. Totally unacceptable.
All the signs are there,this time though, it is the slow bottle,when it comes to the crunch Hibs just have no winning attitude and,when it counts will continue to fail when it actually matters.
Bottle job *****.
This team doesn’t have the mentality to come from behind. Between your manager and your players, ****ing pitiful.
Mentality is clearly fragile and that's wholly down to the Manager. When they lose a goal the players should be busting a gut to get level. No evidence of that and very concerning.
Not sure why it's get out of jail with Aberdeen result as they are 1 point closer to us. I know we have better goal difference.
We need to win the next 2 away games if we want 3rd.
Wrong starting team again today - another shocking 1st half performance.
Too many players not playing well / played out of position.
Wasn't even impressed with Saints - the final they battered us once they scored - today they just scored and knew we wouldn't get back into the game. They were missing best player Rooney also.
Haha come on now, we don’t make finals under JR.
Hardly created a thing despite all that pressure. St Johnstone were honestly dreadful in that 2nd half, there for the taking but we could have played all night and not scored.
Our 2 main strikers just don't look anything like scoring.
Every defeat seems to be a bottle job these days not just a defeat. I used to think a bottle job was being 2 up and losing 3-2
A disappointing result. At Johnstone scored with their only attempt which was given to them because of a poor clearance, but it was a much better second half.
If they can keep up that intensity, we'll start winning again.I agree. A loss always hurts but some OTT criticism on here as usual
We weren't bad at all in that second half and are unlucky not to take anything from the match.
How does it apply today exactly?
How does it not exactly?
06-03-2021, 04:00 PM
I predicted that we'd get 7 points from next 3 last week (had today down as our draw) and that Aberdeen would get 6 points from their two games.
Today could have been a lot worse from a Hibs perspective. It's still an awful day, but every cloud has it's silver lining and Aberdeen failing to beat Hamilton is a dodged bullet for Hibs.
6 points from next two a MUST
Its the toxic fans fault
I agree. A loss always hurts but some OTT criticism on here as usual
We weren't bad at all in that second half and are unlucky not to take anything from the match.
We created 1 decent chance. That's dreadful.
I also don’t buy into this “we were much better second half, much improved”.
We were losing and St Johnstone changed their game plan to sit in and counter us.
They allowed us to have the ball and we hardly created a thing. Awful.
hhibs
06-03-2021, 04:02 PM
Not the reason we lost but that has to be one of the most inept refereeing performances this season. Don't even know where to begin
As you say not the reason we lost but a dreadful referee
We were poor overall but Saints hardly created a chance and we created quite a few. At least there was a reaction second half
Saints won the ****in game by one goal to our none, we are like the drunk staggering home at night not sure when we will get there but hoping like hell we will get over the finishing line and end up 3rd in this pish wee division which should have an asterisk in the history books.
Sevco have what looks like won their very first league (asterisk) title how much has this cost......
**** the hun
**** the hertz
Did we just get beat by a team containing 3 ex-players and having a manager as an ex-Hibs player at one time.
Disgraceful performance imo.
We were terrible before their goal and beaten as soon as it went in. The first half was abysmal and the only reason we weren't further behind was because we were up against a very poor side who had next to no creativity themselves.
Second half slightly better. Hanlon did his very best to drive us on, Doidge looked much better than last week after he went on and Doig was fine but as a team we were still disjointed and created little.
I can't stand watching this team. Long ball crap, no composure, just garbage.
There is talent there and Ross picked the wrong team for the third week in a row. I have serious reservations about a guy who is as capable as he is of picking up terrible results against awful teams and who struggles so badly to pick a cohesive team out of a squad of players that most managers in our league would be very happy to pick from.
Utter garbage, I can't wait for this season to be over, finishing with us hopefully as high up the league as possible. A serious re-think can be had in the summer over the way we move forward.
I'll be thinking long and hard about signing up for more, if a season when we 're sitting third and on paper look like we're doing fine can be so dissatisfying.
He picked the wrong started 11 for a 2nd week in a row.
That's a matter of opinion. I was happy with the starting line up - made sense playing 442 vs 433 and dropping the out of form Doidge to the bench.
The only poor substitution in my view was bringing Murphy on and I'd hope that that if MaGennis was fit he'd be on first. Joe didn't get a very good chance on target, should've been on target at least and a goal at best. His passing was mostly poor and he wanted too long on the ball. The only reason he wasn't taken off is because Jackson disappeared in the second half, not his fault it was the position he was playing. Murphy in my view is a waste of a wage ( strong I know) and only gives us one or two good games in ten. First half didn't look like a third place team, second half we did. Roll on next game and third time lucky, we certainly deserve some luck. Nisbet not offering much either, and Paul McGinn's position needs looked at for next season. Too many first half stray passes but no one did well in the first half, second half his legs went. One mistake in a clearance cost us a point there. Referee niave and nervous Saints played him in the first half and Wotherspoon (one of my favourite guys in the world by the way) should've been sent of for a second yellow, that niave referee bottled it or just accepted it was a tired tackle, either way though it was worthy of a second yellow. Referee 5.5 out of ten which is only just a pass and I'm being generous because it's his first top flight game.
Our finishing is just awful. If the roles were reversed we would never hold on to a 1 - 0 lead like that.
Hibs4185
Newell is a fine footballer when he is on his game but he has the heart of a mouse and goes missing too often.
When we were getting the results it was when he was out of the team.
McGregor, Gocic and Irvine, they seemed to get the best out of this team and they need to start as many games as possible IMO.
06-03-2021, 04:03 PM
Big thing about Allan being available again but doesn’t seem to have any intention of using him. Surely he could have come on in the later part of that game. Someone that might actually try and be positive from the middle of the park.
06-03-2021, 04:03 PM
We were honking. Second half was a little bit less honking but didn’t create anywhere near enough and had hardly any clear chances. Big improvements required if we’re to finish 3rd.
06-03-2021, 04:04 PM
Ross needs to find out how to set up his team when the other side get the first goal.
He just doesn't seem to know what to do, though the players must take a lot of blame for their lack of desire.
I don't think the reaction is just due to the defeat, it's the worrying trend that when we lose the first goal we're very likely to get beaten.
Big thing about Allan being available again but doesn’t seem to have any intention of using him. Surely he could have come on in the later part of that game. Someone that might actually try and be positive from the middle of the park.
Yep Hallberg for Newell was as bizarre as it gets. What is he on the bench for? Surely he can manage 10 mins.
06-03-2021, 04:05 PM
We were garbage.
Rank bad refereeing from Dickinson
4 mins to be added, game stops for 35 seconds for the headknock then 20 seconds to caution Ross.
Should be playing to 94.50 minimum but blows at 94.10. Absolute amateurish and indefensible.
We could have been playing until that time tomorrow and we still wouldn't have scored.
06-03-2021, 04:05 PM
Think I heard that this was him loosing his virginity in this top division, ****in pish as pish is.
06-03-2021, 04:06 PM
Crap Result, crap performance, crap tactics.
What a boring, boring league this is.
Need to get Allan back into the team and Newell out.
We really need to win our game in hand - I'm not confident we will.
People going on about our game in hand. Away to RC who are scoring goals for fun.
No chance we are winning that one.
Sounds like just another typical performance in a what has been a dire season, despite respectable league position, can't wait 'til season is over to be honest.
06-03-2021, 04:07 PM
I don't think the reaction is just due to the defeat, it's the worrying trend that when we lose the first goal we're very likely to get beaten.I tend to isolate matches when commenting on a specific match. Strange I know...
Hibs4185
06-03-2021, 04:07 PM
People going on about our game in hand. Away to RC who are scoring goals for fun.
Bring back Yogi?? 🤣
06-03-2021, 04:08 PM
That's a matter of opinion. I was happy with the starting line up - made sense playing 442 vs 433 and dropping the out of form Doidge to the bench.
I have to disagree. Playing the same team as the semi final with Newell who came in for Murphy wasn't winning today.
The spine of McGregor - Gogic - Doidge needs to start EVERY game - leadership and toughness. Add in Irvine as he's clearly one of our best players but we are making him look crap last couple weeks.
Fill the gaps round the sides with flair and speed.
I never want to see Newell and Irvine in same team again - Boyle on the left???!
Why no subs at half time?]
Surely after last week - the simple thing to sort is better 1st half - instead we were useless once again.
coldingham hibs
06-03-2021, 04:08 PM
Been rubbish since Newell returned. Shouldn’t have changed the team for his return.
06-03-2021, 04:09 PM
Oli Shaw will probably get his one goal in a blue moon.
06-03-2021, 04:10 PM
Been rubbish since Newell returned. Shouldn’t have changed the team for his return.
That's the biggest issue. We've tried to shoehorn him in and changed a winning side by doing so.
seanshow
06-03-2021, 04:12 PM
ahh remember the good old glory days when players used to operate as units playing passes to each other in close proximity, creating space/ third man running.. etc
Instead we have players Miles apart, no midfield,
square ball across the back and forth for Hanlon or Mcginn to pump aimless 40 yrd passes forward( 50/50's at best!) and give the ball away, I counted 8 in the in 1st half alone, I could go on but I'm sorry that is not football.
Hibees1973
Would have settled for this at the start of the day......Aberdeen 1 point closer to us.
We seem incapable of taking control of our own destiny. This is why it is vital Aberdeen continue to be as poor as us.
Aberdeen have 6 games left. I reckon they won't win any more than 3 so that is 9 points giving them a total of 58. We have 7 games left and if we manage to win 2 of them that gives us 58 as well with a vastly superior goal difference.
If we lose next week against Ross Co panic may set in and we could blow it.
TBH if we cannot get 3rd from this position and after the debacle of the last 2 semi finals I would give Ross the bullet given the resources he has had.
I tend to isolate matches when commenting on a specific match. Strange I know...
There always needs to be context.
I wouldn't be so pissed off if today's defeat saw our lead at the top of the league cut to 20 points.
We've seen something we've seen too often - a poor performance, poor quality of play, a defeat and a struggle to get back into a game after losing the first goal.
We all knew what was coming today and in being absent we can't exactly be held culpable for it being a self-fulfilling prophecy.
I admire your personal resilience in choosing not to be beaten but you could do with a big dollop of realism imo.
06-03-2021, 04:13 PM
The only poor substitution in my view was bringing Murphy on and I'd hope that that if MaGennis was fit he'd be on first. Joe didn't get a very good chance on target, should've been on target at least and a goal at best. His passing was mostly poor and he wanted too long on the ball. The only reason he wasn't taken off is because Jackson disappeared in the second half, not his fault it was the position he was playing. Murphy in my view is a waste of a wage ( strong I know) and only gives us one or two good games in ten. First half didn't look like a third place team, second half we did. Roll on next game and third time lucky, we certainly deserve some luck. Nisbet not offering much either, and Paul McGinn's position needs looked at for next season. Too many first half stray passes but no one did well in the first half, second half his legs went. One mistake in a clearance cost us a point there. Referee niave and nervous Saints played him in the first half and Wotherspoon (one of my favourite guys in the world by the way) should've been sent of for a second yellow, that niave referee bottled it or just accepted it was a tired tackle, either way though it was worthy of a second yellow. Referee 5.5 out of ten which is only just a pass and I'm being generous because it's his first top flight game.
Magennis fit. [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]
06-03-2021, 04:13 PM
That's the spirit. :greengrin
06-03-2021, 04:14 PM
Disgraceful performance imo.
We were terrible before their goal and beaten as soon as it went in. The first half was abysmal and the only reason we weren't further behind was because we were up against a very poor side who had next to no creativity themselves.
Second half slightly better. Hanlon did his very best to drive us on, Doidge looked much better than last week after he went on and Doig was fine but as a team we were still disjointed and created little.
I can't stand watching this team. Long ball crap, no composure, just garbage.
There is talent there and Ross picked the wrong team for the third week in a row. I have serious reservations about a guy who is as capable as he is of picking up terrible results against awful teams and who struggles so badly to pick a cohesive team out of a squad of players that most managers in our league would be very happy to pick from.
Utter garbage, I can't wait for this season to be over, finishing with us hopefully as high up the league as possible. A serious re-think can be had in the summer over the way we move forward.
I'll be thinking long and hard about signing up for more, if a season when we 're sitting third and on paper look like we're doing fine can be so dissatisfying.
It was hardly disgraceful - but certainly disatisfying. Far from being a very poor side with no creativity, St Johnstone are one of the form sides in the league, riding high on their League Cup win and possessing at least a couple of creative players who we know only too well - both of whom are played well today.
We all would have liked to have seen us win today of course and had a right to be optimistic, but it was never a foregone conclusion. Although we failed to get on the scoresheet I thought we looked much more at it 2nd half - get that sort of performance from the start and we'll be back to winning ways soon I think.
06-03-2021, 04:16 PM
A disappointing result. St Johnstone scored with their only attempt which was given to them because of a poor clearance, but it was a much better second half.
I thought we were ok and deserved something better performance on a bad pitch need something from the Ross County game
ahh remember the good old glory days when players used to operate as units playing passes to each other in close proximity, creating space/ third man running.. etc
And when you got excited at winning a corner because there was a chance we might score from it.
06-03-2021, 04:17 PM
certainly not if they get the first goal
06-03-2021, 04:18 PM
I admire your personal resilience in choosing not to be beaten but you could do with a big dollop of realism imo.
That's where I think you're wrong. I'd say that it's my realism that gives me my balance and probably stops me losing my hair even faster than I already am.
Sounds like just another typical performance in a what has been a dire season, despite respectable league position, can't wait 'til season is over to be honest.
What planet are you on mate???
Tully
Simple question, why does the manager send us out to start games with no pace or passion ? happens weekly why
By the end of the livi game there is a genuine chance we may have seen 3 away defeats in a row.
06-03-2021, 04:19 PM
just checked, he actually has 9 goals in 27 games(league and league cup) this season which really isn’t a terrible return for a young player.
06-03-2021, 04:20 PM
What planet are you on mate???
The planet Reality.
CLASS OF 72 -73
We really need to win our game in hand - I'm not confident we will.
Someone remind me how we are third? we were brutal today and have been for quite a while. Hamilton win was a smoke screen.
By the end of the livi game there is a genuine chance we may have seen 3 away defeats in a row.And there's also a chance that we won't.
loanheadhibby
06-03-2021, 04:22 PM
I admire your optimism.
We have an uninspiring manager in charge of a very average squad.
06-03-2021, 04:22 PM
Simple question, why does the manager send us out to start games with no pace or passion ? happens weekly why
He doesn’t
06-03-2021, 04:23 PM
He doesn’t
So what's the reason for the appalling first half displays recently? All down to the players? The manager has to take reponsibility.
06-03-2021, 04:24 PM
He doesn’t
He’s not getting his message across then.
06-03-2021, 04:25 PM
Mmmm perhaps we shall never know, but the question has been asked a few times, now are we prepared to put up with our Hibs team ending up 3rd in a crap division playing this turgid eye bleeding football, or would we go for a swashbuckling all out attack minded team that gets beat more times than it wins.
No that is the question.
Tully
06-03-2021, 04:27 PM
So the manager is happy for the players to start games with no pace or passion?
Oli Shaw is out-scoring Christian Doidge in both the league and cups
06-03-2021, 04:28 PM
We start so slowly every week. Does JR insyrxut the team to just try and keep things tight to start with and not stretch the game too much too early or is there some other explanation?
06-03-2021, 04:28 PM
I admire your optimism.
Uninspiring but dresses well, I am now thinking I would rather have some scruffy looking ****er who runs around in a track suit most of the time and knows how to set out a team to play good football which is also effective.
Can we find such a person?
06-03-2021, 04:32 PM
So the manager is happy for the players to start games with no pace or passion?I'm sure he is.
06-03-2021, 04:35 PM
We are in an extremely pish league at the moment, the fact were third with the type of fitba were playing verges on the mental. I will stick ma heid above the parapet. With the cash we have had we have had available and the **** we have got, the astounding sub decisions of Ross amd not getting his team up for these type of games, he needs tae go. I for one do not want to go to see this eye bleeding pi5h next season.
06-03-2021, 04:39 PM
I admire your optimism.
We dont
06-03-2021, 04:40 PM
The planet Reality.
On planet reality this has been a far better season than most for Hibs. It's always been frustrating supporting this team in good times and bad and that's the reality the poster seems to have lost grip of.
06-03-2021, 04:41 PM
It was hardly disgraceful - but certainly disatisfying. Far from being a very poor side with no creativity, St Johnstone are one of the form sides in the league, riding high on their League Cup win and possessing at least a couple of creative players who we know only too well - both of whom are played well today.
We all would have liked to have seen us win today of course and had a right to be optimistic, but it was never a foregone conclusion. Although we failed to get on the scoresheet I thought we looked much more at it 2nd half - get that sort of performance from the start and we'll be back to winning ways soon I think.
Winning was never a foregone conclusion. But based on all the evidence of this season, not winning was a foregone conclusion after we went behind.
Chorley Hibee
06-03-2021, 04:51 PM
Hibs are generally depressing to watch under Ross, irrespective of the result.
The league is dire, and given Aberdeen's utter capitulation since the turn of the year, failure to finish 3rd would be another black mark against his name IMHO.
The team lack drive and enthusiasm in spades, and they seldom show any sort of character to recover from a losing position.
Selling season tickets next season will be hard enough, this turgid football won't help matters.
Tired of watching these similar performances on an almost weekly basis.
gaz1875
06-03-2021, 04:53 PM
Another slow and sloppy start to the game, must have taken 35 minutes before two passes were put together. Something seriously wrong with our pre match warm up. It's either two much and the players are knackered, or two slow and the players carry it into the match. We also miss some amount of good chances. Not even making the keeper work which is a terrible stat.
06-03-2021, 04:54 PM
Well it fell miles short of what I look for from Hibs.
St Johnstone - whilst their form has been decent and they are on a high - were playing their third game in a week, one of which was a cup final. They were also without 3 important players. Whilst I accept the point that they're no mugs, there shouldn't have been so strong that we should accept how badly we struggled to break them down.
And I think your comments about the 2nd half are very optimistic. When Mowbray gave it the "if we play like that every week we'll win more than we lose" I was in complete agreement and was happy to back him on it. The second half today was marginally better than a terrible first half and we struggled to create anything of note. If we keep playing like that we won't be beating anybody.
I don't think I've seen a Hibs side so poor at even attempting to play football. Zero composure, hoofball garbage, and I think that's what annoys me most.
06-03-2021, 04:55 PM
Callum Davidson said it's the worst they've played all season. Says it all really.
06-03-2021, 04:58 PM
Callum Davidson said it's the worst they've played all season. Says it all really.They were poor and never created a single chance.
06-03-2021, 04:58 PM
Let’s sign Liam Craig and Callum Booth.
06-03-2021, 05:00 PM
Callum Davidson said it's the worst they've played all season. Says it all really.You said previously that he had them sit back deliberately after they went ahead.
Maybe Hibs weren't as minging as people are making out and we actually forced them back?
Just a thought... [emoji848]
06-03-2021, 05:01 PM
You said previously that he had them sit back deliberately after they went ahead.
Maybe Hibs weren't as minging as people are making out and we actually forced them back?
Just a thought... [emoji848]
Am honestly not sure how you can watch the game including the 2nd half and not think we were poor. Unreal.
06-03-2021, 05:01 PM
Someone remind me how we are third? we were brutal today and have been for quite a while. Hamilton win was a smoke screen.
Because we have been the 3rd best team. What about the 3 wins before Hamilton?
06-03-2021, 05:03 PM
Am honestly not sure how you can watch the game including the 2nd half and not think we were poor. Unreal.Maybe I know bog all, but I don't think we were poor in the 2nd half. We weren't great either, but not as bad as some are saying.
06-03-2021, 05:03 PM
liam craig had 10 mins after receiving the ball and a player going out to challenge him, in that 10 mins he had time to have a cigar, nipped off the pitch to have a look at the TV guide and call the speaking clock
ok, slight exaggeration, i'm not too sure he smokes :hmmm:
06-03-2021, 05:08 PM
The league is dire, and given Aberdeen's utter capitulation since the turn of the year, failure to finish 3rd would be another black mark against his name IMHO.
The team lack drive and enthusiasm in spades, and they seldom show any sort of character to recover from a losing position.
Selling season tickets next season will be hard enough, this turgid football won't help matters.
Yup. I'm desperate to get back to Easter Road but I'd struggle to spend hundreds on a season ticket to watch this side.
I get that we will lose games, I've been watching Hibs long enough that I don't expect us to crush any team in the SPL. But the manner of some of these defeats are really worrying. I'm at a crossroads again with Ross. I was very much against him after League Cup and have come back over.
The last couple of results have been another kick in stones.
He needs to be given the chance to finish the season but if we don't get 3rd, given the way we went out of both cups, I'd struggle to see him as the man to lead us next season.
06-03-2021, 05:09 PM
i never watch sportscene but for any that do...
Hibernian playmaker Scott Allan will be among the pundits on another busy weekend of Sportscene action.
Allan will be alongside Michael Stewart and Steven Thompson on Sunday at 19:15 GMT on BBC Scotland.
06-03-2021, 05:11 PM
Page impressions are increased on Hibs.net when we lose. This generates extra revenue, when the forum hands over to Hibs. It’s a wonderful plan by Jack to just continue losing enough games to keep the money coming in. Genius.
06-03-2021, 05:13 PM
Yup. I'm desperate to get back to Easter Road but I'd struggle to spend hundreds on a season ticket to watch this side.
I get that we will lose games, I've been watching Hibs long enough that I don't expect us to crush any team in the SPL. But the manner of some of these defeats are really worrying. I'm at a crossroads again with Ross. I was very much against him after League Cup and have come back over.
The last couple of results have been another kick in stones.
He needs to be given the chance to finish the season but if we don't get 3rd, given the way we went out of both cups, I'd struggle to see him as the man to lead us next season.
If we don’t finish third from the position we found ourselves in then he shouldn’t be the man to lead us next season.
Thankfully Aberdeen seem determined not to catch us.
06-03-2021, 05:20 PM
Maybe I know bog all, but I don't think we were poor in the 2nd half. We weren't great either, but not as bad as some are saying.
What is it you’re actually arguing against? If we “weren’t great” in the second half is it really all that removed for some folk to see the second half as poor? Are you arguing that we were average rather than poor in the second half?
06-03-2021, 05:22 PM
Not the man to take us forward. Football is god awful.
06-03-2021, 05:24 PM
Not done badly to have sitting third during a global pandemic.
06-03-2021, 05:26 PM
What is it you’re actually arguing against? If we “weren’t great” in the second half is it really all that removed for some folk to see the second half as poor? Are you arguing that we were average rather than poor in the second half?
"We weren't great either, but not as bad as some are saying"
What part of that don't you understand?
06-03-2021, 05:34 PM
"We weren't great either, but not as bad as some are saying"
What part of that don't you understand?
I don’t get why you appear to take such exception to folk describing the second half as poor. You’ve replied to a few different posters to make that point. It seems like at times you feel duty bound to reply to any and all posts you disagree with, particularly if it’s a negative comment about our performance.
Anyway, there’s nothing particularly constructive in my post, and not looking to argue, so I’ll bow out at this point.
06-03-2021, 05:36 PM
Irvine was playing well before Newell came back.
It’s the Allan and Mallan issue all over again.
75 mins and still no where near good enough for a team wanting 3rd and Europe.
Since Newell came back in we have been poor Got lucky with hamilton going down to 10 men
06-03-2021, 05:36 PM
I don’t get why you appear to take such exception to folk describing the second half as poor. You’ve replied to a few different posters to make that point. It seems like at times you feel duty bound to reply to any and all posts you disagree with, particularly if it’s a negative comment about our performance.
Anyway, there’s nothing particularly constructive in my post, and not looking to argue, so I’ll bow out at this point.I think you should. You seem to disagree with me having an opinion as opposed to the opinion itself.
06-03-2021, 05:39 PM
I suppose we can take heart from the fact Aberdeen are as bad as us.
They are but they got a point today we got nothing Can’t see us getting anything inDingwall as they will close us fine and work Thier socks off
Yip Yogi has them believing & wining.
06-03-2021, 06:40 PM
If we don’t finish third from the position we found ourselves in then he shouldn’t be the man to lead us next season.
I'm pretty sure most posters on here would have taken 4th at the start of the season.
Many were saying the squad wasn't even good enough for top 6, yet now not coming third is a complete failure?
Robbo6-2
06-03-2021, 06:42 PM
We need a goal and our manager brings on Hallberg.
Sums him up
06-03-2021, 06:45 PM
I'm pretty sure most posters on here would have taken 4th at the start of the season.
Many were saying the squad wasn't even good enough for top 6, yet now not coming third is a complete failure?
True but given how the season has panned out it’s only natural to revise that opinion considering the position we are now in and the poor teams below us.
06-03-2021, 06:52 PM
We need a goal and our manager brings on Hallberg.
Sums him up
Surely just bring Allan on then. Was one of the most pointless subs you’ll ever see. They were just camped in and letting us have the ball. Someone who wight have done something to unlock that would have been handy.
06-03-2021, 07:03 PM
Nah nonsense. Surely gets credit for being there in the first place.
06-03-2021, 07:47 PM
Nah nonsense. Surely gets credit for being there in the first place.
Losing to a lower league team in a semi final, losing to St Johnstone in a semi final when you’re favourites for the cup and blowing 3rd place - probably the best 3rd place ‘prize’ on offer in my lifetime - from the position we were in would represent a really bad failure of a season imo.
06-03-2021, 07:50 PM
True but given how the season has panned out it’s only natural to revise that opinion considering the position we are now in and the poor teams below us.
Magpie
06-03-2021, 08:02 PM
Top four would have been the minimum expectation at the beginning of the season so there’s no chance of him being let go IMO.
The season has unfortunately been dampened for me after the Hearts & St Johnstone results in the cup and I let off steam at the time, since those results I’m honestly not even angry when we lose anymore, I’ve just kind of accepted it. I can’t wait for the season to be over with and I’m praying we can finish 3rd because watching Hibs in the group stages of Europe has always been a dream of mine.
06-03-2021, 08:05 PM
Top four would have been the minimum expectation at the beginning of the season so there’s no chance of him being let go IMO.
The season has unfortunately been dampened for me after the Hearts & St Johnstone results in the cup and I let off steam at the time, since those results I’m honestly not even angry when we lose anymore, I’ve just kind of accepted it. I can’t wait for the season to be over with and I’m praying we can finish 3rd because watching Hibs in the group stages of Europe has always been a dream of mine.
Been the exact same the past few weeks. Was watching the game today and just couldn't really care less at the end. Think its a combination of how weird a season it's been and the style of football we're playing.
Knowing our luck we'll finish third and Aberdeen will win the Scottish Cup.
06-03-2021, 08:06 PM
Is everyone assuming that all the other teams are going to suddenly be better next season. This is scotttish football. Only going in one direction. If you are a top level player you don’t end up in Scotland now. So for me we are doing better than the rest and I’m happy with that.
Magpie
06-03-2021, 08:12 PM
Been the exact same the past few weeks. Was watching the game today and just couldn't really care less at the end. Think its a combination of how weird a season it's been and the style of football we're playing.
Knowing our luck we'll finish third and Aberdeen will win the Scottish Cup.
We would probably be the ones to lose to them in the final too 😅
06-03-2021, 08:57 PM
Yep, me too.
06-03-2021, 10:15 PM
Is everyone assuming that all the other teams are going to suddenly be better next season. This is scotttish football. Only going in one direction. If you are a top level player you don’t end up in Scotland now. So for me we are doing better than the rest and I’m happy with that.
Going on your record of being wrong about almost everything you ever post about your optimism gives me cause for concern.
Allez Hibs
06-03-2021, 10:26 PM
Saw a poster on another thread say "we are having our best season in 15 years" on another thread. Really? Whilst it may be statistically true, it certainly doesn't feel like it.
The teams from 15 years ago - 2004/5 and 2005/6 Mowbray teams would wipe the floor with this team. When you look at the results of Aberdeen and us battling for 3rd it just shows how much the standard has dropped.
I was pleased to see more passion and emotion from Jack Ross today. I just wish we could start games fast and play at a quicker tempo.
2017/18 Lennons team felt a better season than this season.
I just hope we stumble over the line for 3rd, which could be massive for the club with the Europa Conference League.
Allez Hibs
06-03-2021, 10:32 PM
Sums the season up well for me.
06-03-2021, 10:35 PM
Saw a poster on another thread say "we are having our best season in 15 years" on another thread. Really? Whilst it may be statistically true, it certainly doesn't feel like it.
The teams from 15 years ago - 2004/5 and 2005/6 Mowbray teams would wipe the floor with this team. When you look at the results of Aberdeen and us battling for 3rd it just shows how much the standard has dropped.
I was pleased to see more passion and emotion from Jack Ross today. I just wish we could start games fast and play at a quicker tempo.
I just hope we stumble over the line for 3rd, which could be massive for the club with the Europa Conference League.
Lennons season was flipped from this one, they started patchy and came on strong, this year we’ve started strong and finished patchy. Mowbrays side got pumped by Hearts multiple times, Livi, Caley, Aberdeen, Killie, Rangers multiple times. It wasn’t all plain sailing back then. We were obviously more fearless with loads of youngsters in the team but it’s also not the best comparison when you look at where the majority of those players went in their careers and their honours list.
Allez Hibs
06-03-2021, 10:40 PM
Lennons season was flipped from this one, they started patchy and came on strong, this year we’ve started strong and finished patchy. Mowbrays side got pumped by Hearts multiple times, Livi, Caley, Aberdeen, Killie, Rangers multiple times. It wasn’t all plain sailing back then. We were obviously more fearless with loads of youngsters in the team but it’s also not the best comparison when you look at where the majority of those players went in their careers and their honours list.
I know where this current team ranks in comparison with the following teams:
1994/5
2000/1
2004/5
2005/6
2009/10
2017/18
Magpie
07-03-2021, 05:33 AM
In that season under Lennon we beat Rangers away twice and drew to them at home. We beat Celtic and drew to them twice. We also beat Hearts twice. So I totally agree with you in the sense of that season feeling better than this one and I would admit I enjoyed that season a lot more.
Finishing 3rd this season is so financially important IMO to be able to progress in the way we would like too. Taking 3 points from our game in hand next week would save a lot of stress.
07-03-2021, 06:29 AM
Pretty much sums it up for me also.
I have stopped buying the away games and don't watch Sportscene either and didn't even watch the last home game.
We are just god awful to watch and have been other than a few blips for the entire season.
Finishing 3rd would be great for the club and in the context of our league finishing places a great achievement but it hasn't been particularly enjoyable and the outcome needs to be tempered by the fact that if this is achieved it will have been done against the poorest Celtic & Aberdeen sides I can recall in decades and an unusually even SPL where everyone ( except Rangers) beating everyone else at points has suppressed other challengers.
The level of apathy amongst a lot of the support must be a real worry as I fear season ticket numbers will fall substantially, my guess is we will hold off on renewals until we can be virtually certain that fans will attend games next season as I dont see the same numbers buying to subscribe to another season of Hibs Pass
We have on paper a very good squad, but the decision to not sign a third striker in the window, looks worse every day.
Goals, not umpteen midfielders win games and it was evident long before the window closed that Doidge whose scoring record this season has been poor and Nisbet were bang out of form.
Crunchie
07-03-2021, 06:43 AM
Would you rather we were playing like Brighton with the same results?
Ross deserves, and will get at least a couple of years to mould his own team. You really should be careful what you wish for, if you're not satisfied with us sitting in 3rd Hibs probably aren't the team for you.
07-03-2021, 07:00 AM
I know where this current team ranks in comparison with the following teams:
1994/5
2000/1
2004/5
2005/6
2009/10
2017/18
Good job they’re competing against the Premiership 2020/21 and not some random Hibs teams from the last 25 years then eh. How many of those sides played group stage European football? That’s what this side are on the verge of.
Magpie
07-03-2021, 07:01 AM
We have on paper a very good squad, but the decision to not sign a third striker in the window, looks worse every day.
Goals, not umpteen midfielders win games and it was evident long before the window closed that Doidge whose scoring record this season has been poor and Nisbet were bang out of form.
Not bringing in another striker is something I’m afraid might come back to bite us too. Doidge has 0 goals in his last 14 appearances, Nisbet has 2 goals in his last 14 appearances.
I’m not going to say the club didn’t try to bring someone in because they probably did and perhaps didn’t want to bring someone in for the sake of it who probably wouldn’t have had much impact but the decision to let Gullan go out on loan I found a bit strange as I would have had no issue with him starting just now.
07-03-2021, 07:36 AM
Ross deserves, and will get at least a couple of years to mould his own team. You really should be careful what you wish for, if you're not satisfied with us sitting in 3rd Hibs probably aren't the team for you.
There’s more going on than just the black and white of where we sit in the league. If not we’d all be worried about when, not if, Ross was going to be poached by a bigger club. As it is there’s a number of fans, myself included, who wouldn’t be particularly bothered if Ross was to leave.
This season is important with the europa league changes, and on paper an excellent one so far, yet still not a season I’ll look back on with much fondness. I do acknowledge part of it will be down to fans not being there, but the style of play (which I’m not entirely sure what it is) and an alarming number of Butcher-esque performances are also factors.
07-03-2021, 07:52 AM
Your right it’s acceptable consisntsntly getting outplayed by teams with a 1/3 of our budget. I can count on one hand this season the decent performances this season, for a team in third that’s pretty poor. Like it or not hibs got lucky at the start of the season with scraping wins with terrible performances, Dundee Utd away, st Johnstone away comes to mind. The football is boring, slow and predictable. Give me the style of you score 3 we will score 4.
I always remember being 2 nil down at home to killie under Mowbray and still knew we’d win, 4-2.
When we go one nil down just now I just think game over. Yes third, bigger picture though, wouldn’t lose sleep if Ross left at end of season.
Watching MOTD just now and the cohesion and togetherness of nearly all the midfielders makes Hibs midfield look like a pub team. Yesterday there was huge distances between our midfield 3 and the same huge distances between them and the 2 strikers. The teams I'm watching right now have their midfield working as a unit whether with or without the ball, never more than10 yards away from each other, working as a pack to get the ball back or working closely passing and moving(something we hardly ever do). I'd love to see what we do in training and on the tactics side of things because to me there is glaring errors in the way we approach games and the way we play games, no togetherness, zero movement, zero composure and zero guile.
BlackSheep
07-03-2021, 08:13 AM
Catching up on sportscene this morning and my views on Rocky’s attempt to save Liam Craig’s shot are spot on.... piss poor from Ofir... not an excuse for not taking our chances elsewhere on the pitch , but that shot should never have gone in.
I’m a big fan of Rocky, but things like that really irk me about him.
07-03-2021, 08:14 AM
Going on your record of being wrong about almost everything you ever post about your optimism gives me cause for concern.
What an odd take.
07-03-2021, 08:22 AM
Your right it’s acceptable consisntsntly getting outplayed by teams with a 1/3 of our budget. I can count on one hand this season the decent performances this season, for a team in third that’s pretty poor. Like it or not hibs got lucky at the start of the season with scraping wins with terrible performances, Dundee Utd away, st Johnstone away comes to mind. The football is boring, slow and predictable. Give me the style of you score 3 we will score 4.
I always remember being 2 nil down at home to killie under Mowbray and still knew we’d win, 4-2.
When we go one nil down just now I just think game over. Yes third, bigger picture though, wouldn’t lose sleep if Ross left at end of season.
What about the times we went 3-0 down to Livi, Killie, Inverness, Aberdeen... how many times did Mowbray lose to Inverness in two years? There’s also no chance of Ross’ teams losing 3-2 after being 2-0 up against Falkirk at half time.
07-03-2021, 08:24 AM
[QUOTE=Jones28;6487153]
I know you like to try and be positive but that has been shocking. I find it hard to believe you actually believe it hasn’t been but hey ho.
I find you and others willingness to see only negatives equally as baffling. Shocking? Shocking was the 3-0 semi loss. This has been disappointing and on our second half performance undeserved.
07-03-2021, 08:26 AM
What about the times we went 3-0 down to Livi, Killie, Inverness, Aberdeen... how many times did Mowbray lose to Inverness in two years? There’s also no chance of Ross’ teams losing 3-2 after being 2-0 up against Falkirk at half time.
Knew that would be a comeback. The difference being for every **** performance from a Mowbray team there was an exciting performance the next week. Goals and shots at goal. Be honest who would win?
This jack Ross team or Tony Mowbrays team?
I know who’d I’d back.
Crunchie
07-03-2021, 08:29 AM
I think consistently outplayed is another big exaggeration, we've outplayed quite a few teams and not won, including yesterday.
Don't get me wrong I'm not purring in anticipation at the games coming up and I would love to see us play the silky way Mowbray had us
playing, but who's to say Ross won't have us doing that?
Don't forget there were some terrible performances under Mowbray as well, and come to think of it any Hibs manager you care to mention, including Turnbull who ended up relegating us.
07-03-2021, 08:34 AM
I think consistently outplayed is another big exaggeration, we've outplayed quite a few teams and not won, including yesterday.
Don't get me wrong I'm not purring in anticipation at the games coming up and I would love to see us play the silky way Mowbray had us
playing, but who's to say Ross won't have us doing that?
Don't forget there were some terrible performances under Mowbray as well, and come to think of it any Hibs manager you care to mention, including Turnbull who ended up relegating us.
Don’t think any hibs manager is going to play silky football over 38 games and I’ve not denied mowbray had terrible results also.
For me though the fundamental job description of every hibs manager the last 15 years is to play the hibs way. You watch back the opening interviews Petrie, dempster etc would have said the fans want the team to play good fast attacking football good on the eye. Is Ross ticking this box? No where near close.
07-03-2021, 08:34 AM
Knew that would be a comeback. The difference being for every **** performance from a Mowbray team there was an exciting performance the next week. Goals and shots at goal. Be honest who would win?
I know who’d I’d back.
Been over this time and time again, Mowbrays team had a crop of youngsters who went on to win numerous league titles, plenty of trophies and hundreds of Scotland caps. The comparison is mental, now give jack ross those youngsters and tell me we’d be any worse off... you can’t slate one manager for having a ***** record against a side with 1/3 our budget, but then make excuses for another who I genuinely don’t think won a game against Inverness Caley Thistle, including numerous 3-0 pumpings.
07-03-2021, 08:40 AM
Been over this time and time again, Mowbrays team had a crop of youngsters who went on to win numerous league titles, plenty of trophies and hundreds of Scotland caps. The comparison is mental, now give jack ross those youngsters and tell me we’d be any worse off... you can’t slate one manager for having a ***** record against a side with 1/3 our budget, but then make excuses for another who I genuinely don’t think won a game against Inverness Caley Thistle, including numerous 3-0 pumpings.
Hold on a minute. Any manager tells a squad how he wants to play?
The manager signs the players. Mowbray put faith in the young players, a lot of hibs fans forget that.
Ross tactics and style of play is awful. And he has players at / aiming to be at international level.
Crunchie
07-03-2021, 08:42 AM
Don’t think any hibs manager is going to play silky football over 38 games and I’ve not denied mowbray had terrible results also.
For me though the fundamental job description of every hibs manager the last 15 years is to play the hibs way. You watch back the opening interviews Petrie, dempster etc would have said the fans want the team to play good fast attacking football good on the eye. Is Ross ticking this box? No where near close.
I'm confident given time to build and mould his own team he'll have us doing it consistently, time will tell. I for one am willing to give him a decent chance, ie 2 or 3 years minimum.
07-03-2021, 08:47 AM
I'm confident given time to build and mould his own team he'll have us doing it consistently, time will tell. I for one am willing to give him a decent chance, ie 2 or 3 years minimum.
Fair play mate.
I hope so too
07-03-2021, 08:49 AM
Hold on a minute. Any manager tells a squad how he wants to play?
The manager signs the players. Mowbray put faith in the young players, a lot of hibs fans forget that.
Ross tactics and style of play is awful. And he has players at / aiming to be at international level.
He never put faith in them, they were established first team players after Williamson had to chuck them in previously. Stevie Wonder could see their talent. Jack Ross would have to lose every single game from now til the end of the season to match the amount of games Mowbray lost in the season. It’s certainly far easier to have a team of players that go on to achieve what they went on to achieve playing football that way though, but let’s not forget there were far more horrendous results under Mowbray than there has been under Ross, by a distance.
07-03-2021, 08:54 AM
[QUOTE=calumhibee1;6487186]
I find you and others willingness to see only negatives equally as baffling. Shocking? Shocking was the 3-0 semi loss. This has been disappointing and on our second half performance undeserved.
There is absolutely no positives to take from a defeat to St Johnstone where we hardly laid a glove on them. It’s not a case of only seeing the negatives, there was absolutely no positives from yesterday to take.
What exactly did we do in the game to deserve something from it? Have a lot of the ball in a second half when we were already 1-0 down and do nothing with it? Yippee. :rolleyes:
Undeserved? We done absolutely nothing to get back into that game even though we had 75 minutes to do so. We deserved nothing.
07-03-2021, 09:00 AM
Mowbray won twice against Inverness. Not a great record of course but he did win a couple.
07-03-2021, 09:04 AM
Mowbray won twice against Inverness. Not a great record of course but he did win a couple.
Was one of them at Pitoddrie? Seem to recall that one as it’s the only goal(S) we scored against them away for years.
07-03-2021, 09:09 AM
Was one of them at Pitoddrie? Seem to recall that one as it’s the only goal(S) we scored against them away for years.
Riordan half volley?
Allez Hibs
07-03-2021, 09:44 AM
Riordan half volley?
Yeah, think we won at Pittodrie twice in the space of a few weeks v Aberdeen then Inverness.
Hibs have signed what are deemed to be promising youngsters in relative terms though.
I don't think it's even close when comparing Mowbrays Hibs team with this current Hibs team. I think a few are trying very hard to put the most positive slant on things. Let's be honest we are very fortunate Aberdeen cant seem to buy a goal.
Hopefully we can see this over the line for 3rd place which would be good for Jack Ross to be fair to him.
07-03-2021, 09:49 AM
13 losses that season for Mowbray. 9 so far for Ross. 18 wins for Mowbray. 15 so far for Ross. Mowbray had +7 goal difference. Ross has +12.
07-03-2021, 09:51 AM
There’s more going on than just the black and white of where we sit in the league. If not we’d all be worried about when, not if, Ross was going to be poached by a bigger club. As it is there’s a number of fans, myself included, who wouldn’t be particularly bothered if Ross was to leave.
This season is important with the europa league changes, and on paper an excellent one so far, yet still not a season I’ll look back on with much fondness. I do acknowledge part of it will be down to fans not being there, but the style of play (which I’m not entirely sure what it is) and an alarming number of Butcher-esque performances are also factors.
Good post.
I think the fans not being there has definitely had an impact on some of our home displays and negated 'home advantage'. Even an angry crowd is likely to spark some sort of reaction from the team. However, as you say there have been a number of displays which have been Butcher-esque/latter day Lennon ie we go a goal down and spend the rest of the game showing no discernible strategy for retrieving the situation - and that surely has to come down to the manager. While I can't imagine he instructs the team to go out and start as though they're not interested I can't fathom what our first-half tactics are at present.
Sure, if we finish third it's a very good season on paper but like you I'm not deriving much enjoyment from the football on show. Over our last 10 games or so we've lost at home to Ross County, Livi and Motherwell, been thumped in the cup by St Johnstone and lost again to them yesterday, conceding a total of 11 goals and scoring none. There's no positive way of framing that and that's why it's so hard to get any sense that this is a season to savour.
07-03-2021, 10:06 AM
I know who’d I’d back.
Why not just compare them to the Famous Five or the Tornadoes? We are third in the league and that is the stat you need. We are above the other 9 clubs in the league at the present time. That is the comparison you need to make.
07-03-2021, 10:53 AM
Yeah, think we won at Pittodrie twice in the space of a few weeks v Aberdeen then Inverness.
Hibs have signed what are deemed to be promising youngsters in relative terms though.
I don't think it's even close when comparing Mowbrays Hibs team with this current Hibs team. I think a few are trying very hard to put the most positive slant on things. Let's be honest we are very fortunate Aberdeen cant seem to buy a goal.
Hopefully we can see this over the line for 3rd place which would be good for Jack Ross to be fair to him.
I think that's a large part of the frustration many fans are feeling. On paper, I've found it hard to fault Ross's signings yet despite putting together what looks like a stronger squad than most we all too often look no better (and in some games signifcantly worse) than teams some distance below us in the table. Sure, the league table doesn't lie but as you say there's a sense that if we do manage to remain third it will be a case of 'getting over the line' rather than via a convincing and uplifting finale to the season. Some seem to be saying that the manner in which we achieve it is irrelevant, but we can surely aspire to better than that?
07-03-2021, 11:04 AM
It popped up on Instagram the other day. Riordan half volley.
07-03-2021, 11:10 AM
On planet reality this has been a far better season than most for Hibs. It's always been frustrating supporting this team in good times and bad and that's the reality the poster seems to have lost grip of.
It's been a miserable season with hardly any moments to remember, if we manage to emulate what Motherwell did last season you can jump up & down proclaiming the statistical fact that its better than most, but we are just as likely to follow it up with a bottom 6 struggle next season - as the team who finished third last season have.
Tony Mowbrays team was the best I’ve seen in 35 years of watching hibs, with the exception of the 2016 team but thats purely because of the cup win.
Chorley Hibee
07-03-2021, 11:26 AM
Catching up on sportscene this morning and my views on Rocky’s attempt to save Liam Craig’s shot are spot on.... piss poor from Ofir... not an excuse for not taking our chances elsewhere on the pitch , but that shot should never have gone in.
I’m a big fan of Rocky, but things like that really irk me about him.
That was my take on it too.
Watched it back a few times now and thought it was a poor effort by Marciano. Surprised it's not been mentioned by more people.
07-03-2021, 11:50 AM
Good post.
I think the fans not being there has definitely had an impact on some of our home displays and negated 'home advantage'. Even an angry crowd is likely to spark some sort of reaction from the team. However, as you say there have been a number of displays which have been Butcher-esque/latter day Lennon ie we go a goal down and spend the rest of the game showing no discernible strategy for retrieving the situation - and that surely has to come down to the manager. While I can't imagine he instructs the team to go out and start as though they're not interested I can't fathom what our first-half tactics are at present.
Sure, if we finish third it's a very good season on paper but like you I'm not deriving much enjoyment from the football on show. Over our last 10 games or so we've lost at home to Ross County, Livi and Motherwell, been thumped in the cup by St Johnstone and lost again to them yesterday, conceding a total of 11 goals and scoring none. There's no positive way of framing that and that's why it's so hard to get any sense that this is a season to savour.
I concur.
fiolex1
07-03-2021, 11:50 AM
Leading up to the goal was poor also. Not a great header from Newell, poor clearance from Doig, poor closing down of Craig who had plenty of time to switch feet , and not the best goalkeeping
07-03-2021, 11:54 AM
It's been a miserable season with hardly any moments to remember, if we manage to emulate what Motherwell did last season you can jump up & down proclaiming the statistical fact that its better than most, but we are just as likely to follow it up with a bottom 6 struggle next season - as the team who finished third last season have.
In who’s world is it likely we will fold like a pack of cards next season and finish bottom 6?
07-03-2021, 12:02 PM
I think that's a large part of the frustration many fans are feeling. On paper, I've found it hard to fault Ross's signings yet despite putting together what looks like a stronger squad than most we all too often look no better (and in some games signifcantly worse) than teams some distance below us in the table. Sure, the league table doesn't lie but as you say there's a sense that if we do manage to remain third it will be a case of 'getting over the line' rather than via a convincing and uplifting finale to the season. Some seem to be saying that the manner in which we achieve it is irrelevant, but we can surely aspire to better than that?
This thing about what we should be ‘aspiring’ to seems to be the current criticism that some Hibs fans are throwing at each other ... particularly at the moment when a lot of people feel being 3rd is good going and some want that plus super sexy football - the kind you rarely see anywhere far less in Scotland.
When we were 3rd under Mowbray we completely ‘fell over the line’ and could be woefully inconsistent considering the talent we had.
These ‘aspirations’ a lot of of our fan base seem to have are baffling considering everyone knows it’s a 2 team league and let’s be frank - how often have we been in the top 3 in the past 40 years? What club have these people been watching?
07-03-2021, 12:12 PM
This thing about what we should be ‘aspiring’ to seems to be the current criticism that some Hibs fans are throwing at each other ... particularly at the moment when a lot of people feel being 3rd is good going and some want that plus super sexy football - the kind you rarely see anywhere far less in Scotland.
When we were 3rd under Mowbray we completely ‘fell over the line’ and could be woefully inconsistent considering the talent we had.
These ‘aspirations’ a lot of of our fan base seem to have are baffling considering everyone knows it’s a 2 team league and let’s be frank - how often have we been in the top 3 in the past 40 years? What club have these people been watching?
I think we have recruited well and have a good squad. I don’t think, a lot of the time anyway, we are getting as much out of our squad as we could and should be. Certainly in terms of style and a more positive approach to games. We’re in a good position league wise but still less than the sum of our parts IMO.
With the money we have spent and the squad we’ve assembled I don’t think it’s particularly unreasonable to want a better and more enjoyable style of football. One that doesn’t have to intrinsically be linked to being less competitive than we currently are in the league.
07-03-2021, 12:15 PM
I think we have recruited well and have a good squad. I don’t think, a lot of the time anyway, we are getting as much out of our squad as we could and should be. Certainly in terms of style and a more positive approach to games. We’re in a good position league wise but still less than the sum of our parts IMO.
With the money we have spent and the squad we’ve assembled I don’t think it’s particularly unreasonable to want a better and more enjoyable style of football. One that doesn’t have to intrinsically be linked to being less competitive than we currently are in the league.
07-03-2021, 12:32 PM
And you do agree that if we were scoring more but conceding more we’d have people whining about us being ‘soft centred’ etc etc ?
I agree at times it’s a difficult watch but to say it’s not pretty much always like this is stretching it. I don’t think anyone below us is playing better football - do you?
Bangkok Hibby
07-03-2021, 12:39 PM
That was my take on it too.
Watched it back a few times now and thought it was a poor effort by Marciano. Surprised it's not been mentioned by more people.
Probably because you're shot down in flames by the Marciano defenders on here. I've asked the question twice now, apart from a few great saves a season why is he rated so highly?
Plenty whataboutery as in would you rather have A or B and but of course that's not the question. For me he is our most over rated player and here I feel I must explain I dont think he's crap. I like to use English as it is meant to be used, so by over rated I mean possibly our highest rated player by the majority of people on here. I've never agreed with that.
07-03-2021, 12:44 PM
And you do agree that if we were scoring more but conceding more we’d have people whining about us being ‘soft centred’ etc etc ?
I agree at times it’s a difficult watch but to say it’s not pretty much always like this is stretching it. I don’t think anyone below us is playing better football - do you?
Possibly, but I can only speak for myself. I’ve not enjoyed this season overall and while I viewed my season ticket this season as more of a donation. Next season I’m not sure I’d be willing to do the same if I’m likely to not enjoy the football again. Which would be the same concerns if we were attending games.
I think we have the players to play a more enjoyable type of football without having to sacrifice us being competitive for 3rd/4th as we are. As an example it only took Mowbray a pre season to play an unrecognisable style from Williamson the previous season with pretty much the same players. As I say, I think we’re functional but less than the sum of our parts as we’ve recruited a good squad and we play within ourselves.
07-03-2021, 12:55 PM
Possibly, but I can only speak for myself. I’ve not enjoyed this season overall and while I viewed my season ticket this season as more of a donation. Next season I’m not sure I’d be willing to do the same if I’m likely to not enjoy the football again. Which would be the same concerns if we were attending games.
I think we have the players to play a more enjoyable type of football without having to sacrifice us being competitive for 3rd/4th as we are. As an example it only took Mowbray a pre season to play an unrecognisable style from Williamson the previous season with pretty much the same players. As I say, I think we’re functional but less than the sum of our parts as we’ve recruited a good squad and we play within ourselves.
You make a lot of fair points and as I say, I don’t entirely disagree.
I just think football is changing - not for the better, in that it’s becoming more like chess and it’s the same everywhere. How often do you hear people bemoaning how boring the EPL games are? And they are btw.
Pitches have also been atrocious for some reason this year, but as dull as we’ve sometimes been I’d definitely say we’re the best of the rest most weeks. Not saying much I agree.
07-03-2021, 01:10 PM
[QUOTE=Jones28;6488138]
There is absolutely no positives to take from a defeat to St Johnstone where we hardly laid a glove on them. It’s not a case of only seeing the negatives, there was absolutely no positives from yesterday to take.
What exactly did we do in the game to deserve something from it? Have a lot of the ball in a second half when we were already 1-0 down and do nothing with it? Yippee. :rolleyes:
Undeserved? We done absolutely nothing to get back into that game even though we had 75 minutes to do so. We deserved nothing.
I’m going to call it a day. You and I will not see eye to eye on this so there’s no point in talking about it. If you don’t like my comments on games put me on ignore.
07-03-2021, 01:32 PM
[QUOTE=calumhibee1;6488183]
I’m going to call it a day. You and I will not see eye to eye on this so there’s no point in talking about it. If you don’t like my comments on games put me on ignore.
I have absolutely no issue with your comments. I don’t agree with them but I have no problem at all reading them/discussing them.
What positives do you think there was yesterday that I’m refusing to see?
07-03-2021, 02:52 PM
In who’s world is it likely we will fold like a pack of cards next season and finish bottom 6?
We finished bottom six last season, hardly unthinkable that we will again next season, do you really think we are so much better than the likes of St Johnstone? Or the team who finished 3rd last year?
Crunchie
07-03-2021, 03:16 PM
Probably because you're shot down in flames by the Marciano defenders on here. I've asked the question twice now, apart from a few great saves a season why is he rated so highly?
Plenty whataboutery as in would you rather have A or B and but of course that's not the question. For me he is our most over rated player and here I feel I must explain I dont think he's crap. I like to use English as it is meant to be used, so by over rated I mean possibly our highest rated player by the majority of people on here. I've never agreed with that.
I think he's a very good shot stopper, not so good at crosses but my biggest criticism of him would be his reluctance to catch the ball. Way too many times he palms the ball out when it looks just as easy to catch it. Come to think of it he's not the only keeper that does it, must be something to do with the modern ball :confused:
07-03-2021, 03:52 PM
We finished bottom six last season, hardly unthinkable that we will again next season, do you really think we are so much better than the likes of St Johnstone? Or the team who finished 3rd last year?
Over the course of the season, we are currently 15 and 17 points ahead respectively. We are worlds away from last year with our current manager and our current squad.
07-03-2021, 05:19 PM
[QUOTE=Jones28;6488488]
I have absolutely no issue with your comments. I don’t agree with them but I have no problem at all reading them/discussing them.
What positives do you think there was yesterday that I’m refusing to see?
We were totally dominant in the second half, we had them penned in for long spells and the manager made positive changes to try and influence the game. Hanlon and Porteous played really well and drove the team on.
Gogic showed in the second half that he’s a footballer and not just a hatchet man. The only criticism I’d level at Ross is the slow start but the hibs tv guys said he was vocal on the touch line so he doesn’t cop the blame for that imo. I maybe would have brought Allan on but if not match fit then I can see why Hallberg was chosen.
There’s more but honestly I don’t see the point when people are so opposed to what I say, just a waste of everyone’s time especially when your description of yesterday is so at odds with my take on it.
07-03-2021, 05:24 PM
[QUOTE=calumhibee1;6488513]
We were totally dominant in the second half, we had them penned in for long spells and the manager made positive changes to try and influence the game. Hanlon and Porteous played really well and drove the team on.
Gogic showed in the second half that he’s a footballer and not just a hatchet man. The only criticism I’d level at Ross is the slow start but the hibs tv guys said he was vocal on the touch line so he doesn’t cop the blame for that imo. I maybe would have brought Allan on but if not match fit then I can see why Hallberg was chosen.
There’s more but honestly I don’t see the point when people are so opposed to what I say, just a waste of everyone’s time especially when your description of yesterday is so at odds with my take on it.
👍🏼
We’ll have to agree to disagree.
I thought we had loads of the ball and done nothing with it. We created next to nothing imo and that to me isn’t really something to be positive about.
07-03-2021, 05:50 PM
We finished bottom six but we were not bottom six when the league was called. We were chasing 5th.
Yes, even last season we were better than Motherwell, we just had an awful start with Hecky. Had Ross been in all season we'd have finished 3rd or 4th then too. Motherwell had a good 4/5 months. They were generally pish under Robinson otherwise. See us easily beating them 3-1 in one of Ross' first games.
We are a better side than many on here give credit for. Yes, we aren't some finished article and we've had some poor results but we are on course for European qualification, which would be massive. Folk need to get behind the side and support them.
andudare2
07-03-2021, 07:17 PM
We finished bottom six last season, hardly unthinkable that we will again next season, do you really think we are so much better than the likes of St Johnstone? Or the team who finished 3rd last year?was that not through the points per game system that decided League placings,sure we were above St.Johnstone when this happened and they benefited as they had a game in hand.
gaz1875
07-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Watching MOTD just now and the cohesion and togetherness of nearly all the midfielders makes Hibs midfield look like a pub team. Yesterday there was huge distances between our midfield 3 and the same huge distances between them and the 2 strikers. The teams I'm watching right now have their midfield working as a unit whether with or without the ball, never more than10 yards away from each other, working as a pack to get the ball back or working closely passing and moving(something we hardly ever do). I'd love to see what we do in training and on the tactics side of things because to me there is glaring errors in the way we approach games and the way we play games, no togetherness, zero movement, zero composure and zero guile.
Couldn't agree more. Gogic who is my player of the season so far is all over the pitch winning the ball, harrying opposition players defending and running forward with the ball. Despite what others think his distribution is also very good especially with the amount of touches he has during a game. Irvine I think is playing to wide on the right, he can do the same as Gogic but also as we've seen can pick a pass. To me he should be more central hopefully getting more of the ball. With those two in the middle we should be dominating the central midfield. We don't because as you rightly point out they are both two far apart. It's then a toss up for he third mid either Newell, Hallberg. Magennis, Murphy or Allan. three of them have struggled with injury, one has just came back from injury and one never seems to last a full game.
I also agree that our midfield don’t operate as a unit. The other thing they don’t do is play the ball forward to a front man and then keep running beyond them to take a return pass in the opponents box and creating scoring opportunities. The top teams have players like Aribo, Arfield, Kent and Turnbull, Rogic, McGregor who all do that and it makes such a difference to creating scoring chances.
07-03-2021, 08:17 PM
13 losses that season for Mowbray. 9 so far for Ross. 18 wins for Mowbray. 15 so far for Ross. Mowbray had +7 goal difference. Ross has +12.
We played good football under Mowbray that was enjoyable and exciting to watch whereas it’s brutal to watch under Ross.
07-03-2021, 09:10 PM
We finished bottom six but we were not bottom six when the league was called. We were chasing 5th.
Yes, even last season we were better than Motherwell, we just had an awful start with Hecky. Had Ross been in all season we'd have finished 3rd or 4th then too. Motherwell had a good 4/5 months. They were generally pish under Robinson otherwise. See us easily beating them 3-1 in one of Ross' first games.
We are a better side than many on here give credit for. Yes, we aren't some finished article and we've had some poor results but we are on course for European qualification, which would be massive. Folk need to get behind the side and support them.
Motherwell were generally pish (and finished third), we've been same this season (and might also finish third), Aberdeen have barely scored a goal this year & are still in strong contention for 3rd, whoever stumbles over the line isn't going to have much to shout about. Sorry but I've seen some decent Hibs teams finish third or even fourth & its felt like an achievement & there's been memorable moments & games, there's none of that this season (yes, partly because no crowds). We've been more consistent than others, so better over the season, hence the league position - but in any game look to be of much the same standard as at least half of a very poor league, can we be confident of the same level of consistency next season?
hhibs
07-03-2021, 10:41 PM
Me also,terrible distribution ,puts the team under immediate pressure.
gaz1875
08-03-2021, 07:11 PM
I also agree that our midfield don’t operate as a unit. The other thing they don’t do is play the ball forward to a front man and then keep running beyond them to take a return pass in the opponents box and creating scoring opportunities. The top teams have players like Aribo, Arfield, Kent and Turnbull, Rogic, McGregor who all do that and it makes such a difference to creating scoring chances.
I actually looked for that during the game, and you are right with the exception of Doig, Gogic and Cadden, the rest of the team pass and stand still.