View Full Version : Best Documentaries

Pages : 1 [2] 3

02-08-2022, 06:03 AM
War & Justice: The case of Marine A on Channel 4, thought provoking stuff.

05-08-2022, 07:47 AM
Woodstock99 on Netflix. Makes Fyre Festival look very lame indeed.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

patch1875
03-09-2022, 08:23 AM
Who Killed The kLF?

Really enjoyed this

05-09-2022, 03:09 PM
Ken & Barbie Killers : The lost murder tapes, not a pleasant watch.

EH6 Hibby
05-09-2022, 03:58 PM
Ken & Barbie Killers : The lost murder tapes, not a pleasant watch.

Where did you watch that? I think it was on quest red but I missed the first episode and I’ve been looking out to see if they repeated it.

05-09-2022, 04:10 PM
Where did you watch that? I think it was on quest red but I missed the first episode and I’ve been looking out to see if they repeated it.

I.D. channel. Eps 3 & 4 on on Thursday night, eps 1 & 2 repeated on 16/9. Firestick is also your friend 😉

30-09-2022, 11:39 AM
John Wayne Gacy:Devil in Disguise on Sky Showcase, evil mf, people in authority at the time have some serious questions to answer about how much they knew.

30-09-2022, 07:26 PM
Michael Palin: Into Iraq on CH5, he's good at what he does.

18-10-2022, 08:26 AM
Yorkshire Cop: Police, Racism and Me on Channel 4 - Documentary about Bill Thomas, the first Black male police officer in South Yorkshire, What an amazing individual.

Dmas
18-10-2022, 09:08 AM
I’m enjoying the old man just now on Disney+ think it’s an FX show, it’s slow but it has a decent story and the acting is very good as well.

I also started the Watcher on Netflix the other night with the mrs and il see it through but I’m really starting to hate the Netflix original things they all seem to start well and just descend into absolute muck, had high hopes on this one with being based on true events and a half decent cast but Jesus

19-10-2022, 09:40 AM
Watched the 1st part of the worlds end murders on the BBC IPlayer last night. Looking back at the 1970’s you forgot how basic policing was, loads of cards with details on them, rather than all on the PC now-days. How hard it was back then to catch a killer, no DNA/CCTV etc
2 lovely girls killed for little or no reason

Seeing Edinburgh in the 1970’s was interesting, featured throughput the program. Will watch part 2 tonight

davy67 +
19-10-2022, 06:23 PM
Watched the 1st part of the worlds end murders on the BBC IPlayer last night. Looking back at the 1970’s you forgot how basic policing was, loads of cards with details on them, rather than all on the PC now-days. How hard it was back then to catch a killer, no DNA/CCTV etc
2 lovely girls killed for little or no reason

Seeing Edinburgh in the 1970’s was interesting, featured throughput the program. Will watch part 2 tonight

I watched this too . Edinburgh certainly was Auld Reekie back then, everything looked dark and grey .

Theres only one word to describe Angus Sinclair and that's EVIL . We'll never know just how many crimes he committed.

19-10-2022, 08:14 PM
We started watching the Son documentary on Prime. We’ve not finished it but his dad comes across as an abusive welt who probably thinks his sons (no pun intended) made it in football because of the beatings he inflicted upon them rather than in spite of them.

21-10-2022, 03:05 PM
Started watching, 'George Carlin's American Dream', two part documentary about George Carlin. (Available on Sky Documentaries and NOW TV. Interesting and in depth delve into the American comedian's life and work. Well worth a watch.

Really enjoyed this when I watched it, the guy was a genius.

22-10-2022, 06:03 AM
Adam Curtis series on the end of communism in Russia. On iplayer.
Scary stuff and without commentary. Just the tawdry reality of it all.

bringbackbenny
22-10-2022, 08:24 AM

Yup I'd recommended same on the Best TV thread but this is a better place. What a horrible reality, the wee girl begging in episode 2 😞

24-10-2022, 08:41 AM
Louis Theroux: Talking to Anorexia on W Channel, What a horrible disorder for the people suffering and their loved ones to go through.

29-10-2022, 08:56 AM
I also started the Watcher on Netflix the other night with the mrs and il see it through but I’m really starting to hate the Netflix original things they all seem to start well and just descend into absolute muck, had high hopes on this one with being based on true events and a half decent cast but Jesus

Agree with that started well but dear oh dear

30-10-2022, 04:29 PM

I thought it was awful after 30 mins and didn't watch any more. I find their foreign stuff to be much better. Undercover being a prime example.

I expect this is on the wrong thread mind you.

31-10-2022, 08:26 AM

Watched it last week, typical Netflix dragging it out to 7 episodes when 4 is plenty, based on true events until you read about the true events and the Watcher is mostly nonsense.

07-11-2022, 12:42 PM
Watched Hallelujah: Leonard Cohen, A Journey, A Song last night. It was excellent, some great unseen footage a cast straight out of Who's Who and of course brilliant music throughout. I am a Cohen fan, I have been since I was born, his music was the soundtrack to my youth so my view on this film maybe slightly biased but it is worth a watch no matter. Available on Amazon at the moment.

07-11-2022, 06:52 PM

I've been working my way through this and loving it. Didn't know whether to mention it on the TV thread, here or on the Ukraine thread. Really interesting in the way it provides some historical context for what we've arrived at in Ukraine today.

The raw footage without commentary is brilliant, it's really well done.

It's made me feel pretty old. I actually visited Russia in 1993 and watching the 1992-1994 episode, it looked a lot longer ago than it feels inside.

There's obviously been a fair bit of water passed under the bridge for Russia between now and then.

07-11-2022, 06:58 PM
I've been working my way through this and loving it. Didn't know whether to mention it on the TV thread, here or on the Ukraine thread. Really interesting in the way it provides some historical context for what we've arrived at in Ukraine today.

The raw footage without commentary is brilliant, it's really well done.

It's made me feel pretty old. I actually visited Russia in 1993 and watching the 1992-1994 episode, it looked a lot longer ago than it feels inside.

There's obviously been a fair bit of water passed under the bridge for Russia between now and then.

Sounds interesting this - thanks for sharing guys …

07-11-2022, 07:31 PM
Quite enjoyed Ben Fogle's documentary about Detroit that was on Channel 5 a couple of weeks ago.

07-11-2022, 08:13 PM
Quite enjoyed Ben Fogle's documentary about Detroit that was on Channel 5 a couple of weeks ago.

Does it have any content on the Detroit music scene ??

07-11-2022, 11:40 PM
Does it have any content on the Detroit music scene ??

Just a small part.

17-11-2022, 09:04 PM
Panorama - Mariupol, the people's story was quite a harrowing watch.

18-11-2022, 10:50 PM
Just watched the Pepsi/Harrier Jump Jet documentary. Pretty enjoyable but could have done with being an episode shorter.

Not a story I'd heard before.

Dmas
19-11-2022, 07:48 PM
Watched Graham Hancock's Ancient Apocalypse series on Netflix the other day, enjoyed it, I've never read any of his books but I've heard a few appearance's on podcasts he's done quite an interesting guy testing theories ruffling a few feathers on the way by the looks of things but enjoyed the series

Stairway 2 7
19-11-2022, 08:56 PM
Watched Graham Hancock's Ancient Apocalypse series on Netflix the other day, enjoyed it, I've never read any of his books but I've heard a few appearance's on podcasts he's done quite an interesting guy testing theories ruffling a few feathers on the way by the looks of things but enjoyed the series

Fun but absolutely nonsense stuff. Pretty much slating thousands of good archaeologists work for pseudo science. Another one for if Joe rogan approves, it's probably pish

https://mobile.twitter.com/ProfLeeGilmore/status/1592341713129197568?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1592341713129197568%7Ctwgr% 5E361403da7fca4d96523d57468381177a8d62e637%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.walesonline.co.uk%2Fnews %2Fwales-news%2Fgraham-hancocks-ancient-apocalypse-netflix-25534985

@ProfLeeGilmore
#RELS122 There’s a new Netflix series called #AncientApocalypse DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON IT. Tell your friends. It repurposes long debunked & racist conspiracy theories. Read this thread by a real archaeologist to understand exactly what is wrong with it.

20-11-2022, 10:14 AM
The Ronaldo doc is fascinating.

For him to have played in the 2002 WC is amazing, but for him to have done so well in it means he's up there with the best players ever. It was extraordinary.

Dmas
22-11-2022, 02:53 PM
Fun but absolutely nonsense stuff. Pretty much slating thousands of good archaeologists work for pseudo science. Another one for if Joe rogan approves, it's probably pish

https://mobile.twitter.com/ProfLeeGilmore/status/1592341713129197568?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw%7Ctwcamp%5 Etweetembed%7Ctwterm%5E1592341713129197568%7Ctwgr% 5E361403da7fca4d96523d57468381177a8d62e637%7Ctwcon %5Es1_&ref_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.walesonline.co.uk%2Fnews %2Fwales-news%2Fgraham-hancocks-ancient-apocalypse-netflix-25534985

@ProfLeeGilmore
#RELS122 There’s a new Netflix series called #AncientApocalypse DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON IT. Tell your friends. It repurposes long debunked & racist conspiracy theories. Read this thread by a real archaeologist to understand exactly what is wrong with it.

I’m not even close to calling myself educated on the subject I watched it as I found the guy quite interesting, I don’t think it’s so wrong to question things though aye it may be absolute nonsense but if you don’t question things seen as normal we’d all be thinking we’d fall off the planet sailing beyond the horizon still, I knew it was a mistake having Joe Rogan in it, just from his appearance makes anything he’s saying lose substance with people, I don’t particularly mind Joe Rogan either I get why people don’t like him but some stuff he puts out is a decent listen if you’re taking what he’s telling you as gospel u need your head read but it’s just a guy sitting chatting with someone else

Stairway 2 7
22-11-2022, 03:11 PM
I’m not even close to calling myself educated on the subject I watched it as I found the guy quite interesting, I don’t think it’s so wrong to question things though aye it may be absolute nonsense but if you don’t question things seen as normal we’d all be thinking we’d fall off the planet sailing beyond the horizon still, I knew it was a mistake having Joe Rogan in it, just from his appearance makes anything he’s saying lose substance with people, I don’t particularly mind Joe Rogan either I get why people don’t like him but some stuff he puts out is a decent listen if you’re taking what he’s telling you as gospel u need your head read but it’s just a guy sitting chatting with someone else

Rogan is entertaining and I enjoy listening about subjects he knows about ie mma. The problem is he has no filter who he has on. He says its free speech but when your having vaccine deniers, your culpable to deaths. When he regularly has Alex Jones on your championing an idiot who lies about kids who were murdered.

On the programme. It was Scientists and rigorous study that proved we wouldn't fall of the horizon. There are thousands of Scientists looking to expand our knowledge of history, they aren't covering anything up.

23-11-2022, 08:13 AM
Louis Theroux - Take my baby, a documentary about open child adoption, not normally my sort of thing but I like all Louis Theroux's stuff, quite a moving watch.

davy67 +
24-11-2022, 06:01 AM
Oil city confidential- The Story of Dr Feelgood , on Sky Arts . Fabulous stuff shown last night as a tribute to the late Wilko Johnson

24-11-2022, 02:06 PM
Oil city confidential- The Story of Dr Feelgood , on Sky Arts . Fabulous stuff shown last night as a tribute to the late Wilko Johnson

They showed this on BBC 4 after Wilko's terminal cancer diagnosis, so not long after the film was made. Absolutely brilliant piece of film making, amazing footage and a dream cast. It was good to watch it again last night. You got a real sense of the energy Dr Feelgood brought to the stage and the total bleakness of Canvey Island :greengrin

davy67 +
24-11-2022, 07:33 PM
They showed this on BBC 4 after Wilko's terminal cancer diagnosis, so not long after the film was made. Absolutely brilliant piece of film making, amazing footage and a dream cast. It was good to watch it again last night. You got a real sense of the energy Dr Feelgood brought to the stage and the total bleakness of Canvey Island :greengrin

He he was a complete one off and certainly unique, unlike today's mass produced pop stars

15-12-2022, 09:10 PM
Predators on Sky Nature narrated by Tom Hardy, superb! 👏

Santa Cruz
15-12-2022, 09:31 PM
Chris Kamara - Lost for Words. ITV. About him learning to live with and come to terms with his diagnosis of Apraxsia of Speech.

WeAreHibs
16-12-2022, 11:02 AM
Predators on Sky Nature narrated by Tom Hardy, superb! 👏

Would be even better had he narrated as Ronnie Kray

16-12-2022, 11:24 AM

The animals are approaching extinction alredy! 😉

16-12-2022, 11:41 AM

With co-commentary from Bane

Donegal Hibby
10-01-2023, 03:02 PM
Don't know if these already mentioned , I watched both FIFA UNCOVERED and Pele documentaries last night and found them good .

Dmas
11-01-2023, 05:59 AM
Watched the docs on the napal earthquake, New Zealand volcano and Bernie madoff on Netflix last wee while all pretty decent madoff the usual drawn out type probably could have got a better doc with a 90min film

patch1875
11-01-2023, 11:39 AM
If These Walls Could Sing on Disney.

Obviously Beatles heavy but an excellent watch.

12-01-2023, 05:23 PM
If These Walls Could Sing on Disney.

Obviously Beatles heavy but an excellent watch.

Yeah I enjoyed it, great list of contributors and still some footage which seemed new

19-01-2023, 05:26 PM
Serengeti season 3, outstanding.

26-01-2023, 07:47 PM
The hunt for The Zodiac Killer on All4, really interesting stuff.

31-01-2023, 03:39 PM
Getting away with murder(s), 2 part documentary on All4 investigating why so few of the perpetrators of The Holocaust were ever prosecuted and the pitiful sentences meted out to those found guilty. A very moving watch.

31-01-2023, 04:39 PM
The hunt for The Zodiac Killer on All4, really interesting stuff.Warning: Peters out at the end just as you think it's getting somewhere. Decent though, but annoying.

31-01-2023, 05:08 PM
Warning: Peters out at the end just as you think it's getting somewhere. Decent though, but annoying.

Aye, kind of expecting a second season.

31-01-2023, 05:17 PM
Aye, kind of expecting a second season.Hopefully. Those guys are tenacious. 6 years is long wait though.

The code breaker guys were mainly supportive of their colleague who (seemingly) solved the tough one. But you could also tell they were a bit gutted it wasn't them ;,)

31-01-2023, 05:32 PM
Hopefully. Those guys are tenacious. 6 years is long wait though.

The code breaker guys were mainly supportive of their colleague who (seemingly) solved the tough one. But you could also tell they were a bit gutted it wasn't them ;,)

I suppose we just have to assume the investigation has hit a brick wall or some sort of update would've been released by now.

09-02-2023, 07:31 AM
Girl, Taken.

A South African documentary film on My5 about a 3 days old baby girl stolen from a hospital and reunited with her birth family 17 years later. Quite an amazing story.

10-02-2023, 10:04 AM
I happened to be channel surfing last night and saw and episode of "Forensics: Catching The Killer" was on Sky Crime which sounded like the sort of thing I'd watch to kill an hour, so I put it on expecting it to be one of these American true crime things. Turned out it was about the murder of Elaine Collie in Muirhouse in 1999. I vaguely remember it from the time (I was a teenager) but I found it quite interesting, particularly given the local perspective.

The episode is called The Murder in The Tower Block (for some reason - I'd hardly call a 4 story block a tower block) if anyone wants to watch. Think it might be repeated tonight.

10-02-2023, 01:10 PM
I happened to be channel surfing last night and saw and episode of "Forensics: Catching The Killer" was on Sky Crime which sounded like the sort of thing I'd watch to kill an hour, so I put it on expecting it to be one of these American true crime things. Turned out it was about the murder of Elaine Collie in Muirhouse in 1999. I vaguely remember it from the time (I was a teenager) but I found it quite interesting, particularly given the local perspective.

The episode is called The Murder in The Tower Block (for some reason - I'd hardly call a 4 story block a tower block) if anyone wants to watch. Think it might be repeated tonight.

I watch a lot of those shows, it did add a little more interest due to the local perspective. There was another programme on during the week about the horrendous murder of a young lassie through near Clydebank somewhere, the name of the programme was Murder next Door on Channel 5.

Bridge hibs
10-02-2023, 03:17 PM
Watched In the Footsteps of Killers with David Wilson and Amilia Fox, decent viewing

10-02-2023, 04:49 PM
Watched In the Footsteps of Killers with David Wilson and Amilia Fox, decent viewing

It's a decent watch, never reached a conclusion in the two series so far though! 🤔

Could've asked them a few questions if I was watching it with them too I suppose. 😀

Bridge hibs
10-02-2023, 05:45 PM
It's a decent watch, never reached a conclusion in the two series so far though! 🤔

Could've asked them a few questions if I was watching it with them too I suppose. 😀Yeah that was the disappointing thing, I thought bodies would be found or folk convicted, its just now probably a case of we might never know

davy67 +
10-02-2023, 10:02 PM

He's usually pretty good , his crime files program on the BBC Scotland channel is a good watch too

Bridge hibs
11-02-2023, 05:05 AM
He's usually pretty good , his crime files program on the BBC Scotland channel is a good watch too

Yeah I like Wilson too, to be honest I had not heard of any of those missing on his shows, particularly the two young lads who vanished (the milk carton kids) a strange case with a lot pointing to that guy who raped and killed others but surprisingly given his previous and his locality he was never charged with the disappearance of those lads due to lack of evidence

Bridge hibs
11-02-2023, 02:54 PM

The episode is called The Murder in The Tower Block (for some reason - I'd hardly call a 4 story block a tower block) if anyone wants to watch. Think it might be repeated tonight.Thanks for that, we watched it this morning, what an absolute **** that Reid was !! There is a positive to covid after all, ****ing evil ******* 🤬

13-02-2023, 01:06 PM
The Shamima Begum Story on iplayer, not a lot of contrition shown as far as I could see.

HibbyDave
13-02-2023, 04:23 PM
Bettany Hughes “Treasures” series is very good.

13-02-2023, 04:49 PM
Bettany Hughes “Treasures” series is very good.What is that on, Dave?

13-02-2023, 05:24 PM
What is that on, Dave?

No, Channel 4 not Dave.

Sorry couldn’t resist

13-02-2023, 07:25 PM
No, Channel 4 not Dave.

Sorry couldn’t resistHehe, cheers

21-02-2023, 08:19 PM
Parole last night on Beeb Two was interesting viewing.

23-02-2023, 07:05 PM
Panorama - Ukraine's war diaries, a very moving watch.

27-02-2023, 11:54 AM
The murder of Arthur Labinjo-Hughes: A faking it Special. A truly sad and harrowing watch. It was on Quest Red.

02-03-2023, 11:28 AM
Bronson : Fit to be free? His laddie is as much of a helmet as he is.

Jakhog1
02-03-2023, 11:41 AM

Ha, that's what I was thinking when watching it last night, total tool he was, just living if his dad's fame, even his wife that he married in Jail was a weirdo, fame seeking bint

Bridge hibs
02-03-2023, 03:55 PM

He is a pap for the Sun so no surprise there. Interesting that he and Bronson concocted the plan to hit the Sun front page with the revelation ‘Bronson wants a baby’ probably helped sell an extra few hundred thousands of the rag

After that part of me even doubted he was Bronsons Son, regardless of the DNA certificate. I also noted that Bronsons other Son was never mentioned, probably didnt want anything to do with him

02-03-2023, 07:38 PM
He is a pap for the Sun so no surprise there. Interesting that he and Bronson concocted the plan to hit the Sun front page with the revelation ‘Bronson wants a baby’ probably helped sell an extra few hundred thousands of the rag

After that part of me even doubted he was Bronsons Son, regardless of the DNA certificate. I also noted that Bronsons other Son was never mentioned, probably didnt want anything to do with him

I'm sure his public parole hearing is due to be heard at the start of next week, could be interesting viewing.

Bridge hibs
02-03-2023, 08:02 PM
I'm sure his public parole hearing is due to be heard at the start of next week, could be interesting viewing.

Yeah Monday mate, I think Bronson is still an utter nutter. Whether he remains on the straight and narrow if he is successful remains to be seen. I would bet though he will surround himself with a few unsavoury folks to help him ‘integrate’ into society and I think there will be a few rough and ready wannabe gangsters who want to make a name for themselves by having a pop at him. He wont get a minutes peace

02-03-2023, 08:27 PM
Yeah Monday mate, I think Bronson is still an utter nutter. Whether he remains on the straight and narrow if he is successful remains to be seen. I would bet though he will surround himself with a few unsavoury folks to help him ‘integrate’ into society and I think there will be a few rough and ready wannabe gangsters who want to make a name for themselves by having a pop at him. He wont get a minutes peace

I'd be surprised if he gets out.

Bridge hibs
02-03-2023, 08:37 PM

Likewise mate

17-03-2023, 10:07 PM
Louis Theroux: Altered States - Choosing Death, thought provoking and heartbreaking stuff. 😢

17-03-2023, 10:20 PM
Recently watched The Champions. About the rehoming of pitbulls that were rescued from a famous quarterbacks home who was using them to fight. Quite an emotional watch, some humans are just downright evil.

Edina Street
19-03-2023, 07:02 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t00PlOkRa9U

21-03-2023, 06:53 AM
Wild Isles on the BBC, outstanding stuff.

Stairway 2 7
21-03-2023, 01:10 PM
Wild Isles on the BBC, outstanding stuff.

Absolutely brilliant

30-03-2023, 11:48 AM

Parole bid rejected. His pretend son has revealed that that was all bollocks too.

06-04-2023, 07:33 AM
Chasing the rains on Sky Nature, another superb nature documentary.

06-04-2023, 09:29 AM
I enjoyed the Lewis Capaldi documentary on Netflix, seems like a good guy and some amount of pressure he was going through

08-04-2023, 04:51 PM
Watched something I’ve had recorded from BBC2 for ages, When Motown Came To Britain. Really interesting perspective on Motown. The fans who helped bring exposure to Motown and the American soul sound to Britain that otherwise everyone was oblivious to.

08-04-2023, 05:32 PM
Watched something I’ve had recorded from BBC2 for ages, When Motown Came To Britain. Really interesting perspective on Motown. The fans who helped bring exposure to Motown and the American soul sound to Britain that otherwise everyone was oblivious to.

Aye, it's a good watch.

davy67 +
10-04-2023, 09:34 PM
For anyone who's a fan of The Last of Us There's a documentary on Sky Atlantic about the making of the series

12-04-2023, 02:11 PM
Africa's Deadliest, there have been a good few series now but, it continues to be tremendous viewing.

26-04-2023, 09:40 AM
Family Man, a 1 hour documentary on Crime & Investigation regarding familicide, an extremely moving and tough watch.

26-04-2023, 09:30 PM
The Cannibal next door on Channel 5, dearie me! 😳

06-05-2023, 07:47 PM
Hijacked:Flight 73 on Sky Documentaries, very moving.

10-05-2023, 01:08 PM
The Abyss - Rise and fall of the Nazis, just watched the episode relating to the genocide of the Jews, the numbers quoted are truly mind numbing. 😢

Willis1875
10-05-2023, 02:04 PM
“Arnold”-Docuseries about Arnold Schwarzenegger coming to Netflix in June….should be well worth a watch

12-05-2023, 06:29 PM
The Kidnap of Angel Lynn on 4. A tough watch.

EH6 Hibby
12-05-2023, 07:25 PM
The Kidnap of Angel Lynn on 4. A tough watch.

Absolutely heartbreaking.

12-05-2023, 08:48 PM
Absolutely heartbreaking.

What would have been a nice touch would have been to show the progress that this brave soul has made rather than just mention it, but perhaps the family didn't want to.

davy67 +
16-05-2023, 08:43 PM
Back on Track on Discovery + . Behind the scenes look at the UCI track champions league competition.

19-05-2023, 09:03 AM
A Perfect Planet on iplayer, another Attenborough classic.

Fuzzywuzzy
19-05-2023, 12:34 PM
I watched this earlier today. It's meant to be an AI created short film. If it is then it's pretty terrifying

https://youtu.be/6dtSqhYhcrs

davy67 +
19-05-2023, 10:05 PM
The Man who Played With Fire . 4 Part series on Sky Documentaries about the assassination of Swedish Prime Minister Olof Palme

19-05-2023, 10:11 PM
The Man who Played With Fire . 4 Part series on Sky Documentaries about the assassination of Swedish Prime Minister Olof Palme

Watched the first episode, must admit I never knew anything about the guy but, it's got potential to be a bit of an eye opener.

davy67 +
20-05-2023, 04:19 AM
Watched the first episode, must admit I never knew anything about the guy but, it's got potential to be a bit of an eye opener.

its all a bit like a plot from one of Larsson's books

23-05-2023, 10:24 PM
Wrongly Accused on CBS Reality, heartbreaking stories to sit through.

24-05-2023, 04:42 PM
New series of how the universe works is out now. My favourite series but I wonder if they’re running out of ideas after 11 series. They really shouldn’t as it’s a topic with endless possibilities, but sadly I feel it’s getting a bit repetitive.

24-05-2023, 04:49 PM
its all a bit like a plot from one of Larsson's books

The intrigue certainly builds as each episode goes by.

davy67 +
24-05-2023, 06:52 PM
11 minutes:America's Deadliest Mass Shooting , on BBC2 and the iPlayer . I can't imagine how scary it must have been o be there in that situation. Even after an event like this they still resist gun control

31-05-2023, 07:34 AM
Monster in the Morgue on Sky Documentaries, I've already watched something about the case previously but, even still, what a sicko! 😳

EH6 Hibby
31-05-2023, 12:41 PM
Real forensic CSI on BBC2. I’m fascinated by this stuff.

31-05-2023, 07:30 PM

Strange testing procedures in the recycling warehouse! 🔥

04-06-2023, 03:17 PM

Been watching this weekly, nice to see the real CSI and how it really works.

06-06-2023, 09:25 AM
A paedophile in my family: Surviving Dad on All4, this stuff makes my skin crawl but, I think it's really important for people to watch them. Emotional viewing 😢

11-06-2023, 05:53 PM
Spy in the Ocean, yet more natural world excellence from the BBC.

DinkyTwo
11-06-2023, 06:38 PM
The Alpinist. About a young climber called Marc Andre Leclerc who climbs huge mountains on all terrain (ice, snow, rock) solo, without ropes.

Really quite a moving documentary. It was on Netflix until last week but you can still purchase it on Prime for £5.

Highly recommend and it's one that's stuck with me for days now.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

11-06-2023, 06:56 PM
Netflix, inside the Tour de France. Shows up the namby pamby, pussies that play the sport we love. Those cyclist are hard-core and I ant imagine footballers having to go through what they do. Really good watch

davy67 +
11-06-2023, 08:00 PM
The swimming pigs were fantastic

11-06-2023, 08:05 PM
The swimming pigs were fantastic

I've only watched the first half hour of ep1 so far, some amazing footage in that short time though.

11-06-2023, 10:36 PM
I've only watched the first half hour of ep1 so far, some amazing footage in that short time though.

Finished the 1st 2 episodes, the whales were brilliant too.

Tremendous viewing all-round.

EH6 Hibby
12-06-2023, 12:18 PM
I have decided that when the unthinkable happens, I may just about be able to accept David Tennant as a replacement.

12-06-2023, 10:57 PM
Started watching Once Upon A Time in Northern Ireland. Some incredibly upsetting scenes and great interviews with a variety of people from those dark days.

13-06-2023, 11:52 AM
Berlin 1945, very interesting 3 parter on iPlayer quoting from diaries from 1945 from people on all sides with associated film footage to boot.

MartinfaePorty
13-06-2023, 12:29 PM
Just watched all 3 episodes of 'Arnold' on Netflix, about, and mostly narrated by, Arnold Schwarzenegger. Splits it into his life as an athlete, movie star and politician. Really enjoyed it and does touch on his unacceptable behaviour towards women, which he acknowledges. Escaped a tough background to become the best in the world of bodybuilding, followed by all his other achievements. Very keen to stress all the help he received in the way, and now seems quite lonely, as a number of his friends have died and his wife divorced him after he admitted an affair with a member of their staff, who had his child.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

16-06-2023, 02:52 PM
Jay Blades' East End through time on Channel 5, not sure if it's because I feel a strange affinity to the place (reminds me of Leith) but, I'm finding it really interesting.

Dmas
16-06-2023, 07:07 PM
Just watched all 3 episodes of 'Arnold' on Netflix, about, and mostly narrated by, Arnold Schwarzenegger. Splits it into his life as an athlete, movie star and politician. Really enjoyed it and does touch on his unacceptable behaviour towards women, which he acknowledges. Escaped a tough background to become the best in the world of bodybuilding, followed by all his other achievements. Very keen to stress all the help he received in the way, and now seems quite lonely, as a number of his friends have died and his wife divorced him after he admitted an affair with a member of their staff, who had his child.

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

Watched this as well and really enjoyed it

Willis1875
16-06-2023, 08:56 PM
Watched this as well and really enjoyed it

I know they couldn’t really have added anymore episodes,given that the 3 that aired covered the three main points of his life but I was kind of gutted when I finished it.
I find him a fascinating person

17-06-2023, 08:56 AM
After the Battle, London - Ed Murrow Reports, really interesting documentary from 1959 on iPlayer about an American reporter explaining the changes in London since he used to report from there during WW2.

Dmas
18-06-2023, 11:32 AM
I know they couldn’t really have added anymore episodes,given that the 3 that aired covered the three main points of his life but I was kind of gutted when I finished it.
I find him a fascinating person

Yeah I’d have been happy with more bodybuilding and movies to be honest although Ep3 was still good I had less interest in that part, definitely a fascinating guy, managed to achieve almost everything he set his mind too, shows that hard work and dedication really can make a difference, fair amount of luck as well mind you

davy67 +
18-06-2023, 04:44 PM
100 foot wave on Sky Documentaries, absolutely crazy stuff

23-06-2023, 09:12 AM
House of Hammer on Quest Red, never heard of Actor Armie Hammer but, judging by these programmes he seems to be a proper weirdo, the latest in a family of weirdos! 😲

23-06-2023, 09:57 AM
never heard of Actor Armie Hammer

Makes toothpaste I believe.

23-06-2023, 10:02 AM
Makes toothpaste I believe.

Very good! 😁

Godsahibby
26-06-2023, 08:42 AM
The Alpinist. About a young climber called Marc Andre Leclerc who climbs huge mountains on all terrain (ice, snow, rock) solo, without ropes.

Really quite a moving documentary. It was on Netflix until last week but you can still purchase it on Prime for £5.

Highly recommend and it's one that's stuck with me for days now.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk

I have seen this before, amazing viewing! No idea how he managed to climb like that with balls as big as as must have had!!!

26-06-2023, 04:04 PM
Exposing Parchman on C&I, a very unpleasant watch. Horrendous programme about the inhumane living conditions in a Mississippi prison.

EH6 Hibby
26-06-2023, 08:12 PM
Take Care of Maya on Netflix. Absolutely heartbreaking.

27-06-2023, 05:59 PM

Spy crab took a right pasting on Sunday's episode. 🦀

05-07-2023, 07:45 PM
Extraction on All4 and Body on the beach (about a Swedish girl living in Edinburgh) on iPlayer, both worth a watch.

21-07-2023, 08:25 AM
Secrets of the London Underground continues to be a really interesting programme.

22-07-2023, 02:19 PM
The Deepest Breath a tough watch but amazing.(on Netflix)

23-07-2023, 10:02 AM
The Hermit of Treig. Ken Smith originally from Derbyshire has lived in a log cabin he made for himself on the banks of a remote Scottish loch for over 40 years. Now 74 and with his health starting to fail him, he's allowed a young Scottish film director to follow how he lives.

23-07-2023, 06:12 PM
Secrets of the London Underground continues to be a really interesting programme.

I enjoy that too. Ghost stations and all that.

23-07-2023, 07:07 PM

Thanks for this. I find stuff about Underground systems fascinating. Looked it up after reading this earlier and have binge watched it today.

One thing though, I find the woman’s voice really annoying for some reason.

23-07-2023, 07:17 PM

Aye and Siddy (voice seems fine to me)! 🙂

01-08-2023, 05:15 PM
Shiny Happy People: Duggar Family Secrets on Amazon Prime, focusing on a Christian Fundamentalist Family who followed the teachings of the IBLP and the various scandals that surrounded them, seems more like a cult for training masochistic child groomers, not an easy watch.

22-08-2023, 03:59 PM
Islands on Sky Nature has been tremendous so far. 👏

25-08-2023, 09:01 AM
London Bridge: Facing Terror on Channel 4, quite a moving and thought provoking watch.

25-08-2023, 06:24 PM
Death Camp Treblinka: Survivor Stories on iPlayer, amazing gentlemen. 😥

EH6 Hibby
25-08-2023, 11:40 PM
London Bridge: Facing Terror on Channel 4, quite a moving and thought provoking watch.

Found it really interesting, I had read about the victims and the perpetrator, but I had no idea about the story behind two of the men who helped stop the attacker.

I’m watching Murder Trial on IPlayer. It’s really interesting, I knew the first case covered but I hadn’t heard of the second one.

26-08-2023, 06:51 AM
I’m watching Murder Trial on IPlayer. It’s really interesting, I knew the first case covered but I hadn’t heard of the second one.

I've watched both and the above description is the same as my prior knowledge of the cases, I was quite surprised at the verdict in the 2nd case.

Bridge hibs
27-08-2023, 06:10 PM
Just watched Rob Burrow Living with MND on BBC I player, utterly heartbreaking 🥲

06-09-2023, 09:02 PM
I've only watched the first half hour of James Bulger: The Trial (on Channel 5), I'm leaving the rest for tomorrow, it's a tough watch.

20-09-2023, 07:03 AM
The Preppy Murder: Death in Central Park on C&I.

05-10-2023, 10:20 PM
The Kidnap of Angel Lynn on All4, heart wrenching stuff. 😢

Sloop67
09-10-2023, 09:18 PM
Pantani On Sky Documentaries , the "interesting " story about the rise and fall of Italian Cyclist Marco Pantani

14-10-2023, 11:40 AM
Endurance: Race to the Pole on Channel 5, I really enjoy Ben Fogle's programmes.

EH6 Hibby
14-11-2023, 05:56 AM
Taking Down an OCG. Just watched the three part BBC documentary about an organised crime group. Really good insight on how the police start to investigate these gangs and how one lead can be the catalyst to bring the whole group down. Don’t want to say too much but it’s also a harrowing insight into the lives of the people who stand up to these criminals, their bravery is amazing to me, I don’t think I could do what they did.

14-11-2023, 07:24 AM
Taking Down an OCG. Just watched the three part BBC documentary about an organised crime group. Really good insight on how the police start to investigate these gangs and how one lead can be the catalyst to bring the whole group down. Don’t want to say too much but it’s also a harrowing insight into the lives of the people who stand up to these criminals, their bravery is amazing to me, I don’t think I could do what they did.

I found myself getting more and more annoyed with each passing episode and then surprisingly emotional at the conclusion.

14-11-2023, 10:43 AM

I've stumbled upon a YouTube channel recently called OCG TV. Quite interesting as a lot of their videos are about Scottish based OCGs. The best bit is listening to them trying to pronounce Scottish places. Took me ages to realise they meant Wishaw when they were saying "wiss-haw"

Sloop67
20-11-2023, 06:56 PM
Liz Bonnin's Wild Caribbean , Sunday nights on BBC2 or the iPlayer The first 3 episodes have really good , one more episode to go next week

06-12-2023, 07:33 AM
Manifesto of a serial killer on C&I, unbelievable how some peoples minds work. 😳

06-12-2023, 01:35 PM
Whale with Steve Backshall on Sky Nature is tremendous viewing.

Jakhog1
06-12-2023, 03:13 PM
Telemarketers, a hbo documentary that I found on my iptv is about two former colleagues who worked at a dodgy call centre raising money for charities, the place was like the wild west.

09-12-2023, 10:28 AM
Bad Host: Hunting the Couch surfing Predator on Sky Docs.

EH6 Hibby
26-12-2023, 10:02 AM
Just watched the Sinèad O’Connor documentary on Now TV. I was probably a bit young to understand her politics, and like most people I thought her of a kind of joke or someone just looking for controversy or looking for attention. In her own words she doesn’t across that way at all. It’s horrible how the press have so much influence on people’s opinions, I’ve been guilty of it so many times, forming an opinion based on what I’ve read in the media.

28-12-2023, 06:53 PM
Anyone eose unconvinced by this trend of people making “documentaries” about themselves? Tge Beckhams and now King Buggerlugs.

Just puff pieces, really. Not journalism.

patch1875
28-12-2023, 07:54 PM
The John Lennon doc on Apple is a decent watch.

Jakhog1
19-01-2024, 07:27 PM
American Nightmare on Netflix, wow, what I will say is to go into this blind without reading up or watching any trailers, don't even want to give away to much here but the story is incredible.

Dmas
20-01-2024, 12:26 PM
American Nightmare on Netflix, wow, what I will say is to go into this blind without reading up or watching any trailers, don't even want to give away to much here but the story is incredible.

Watched it in one go, never heard of it before and wow crazy stuff, hard to actually discuss anything about it without giving things away well worth a watch though

20-01-2024, 04:45 PM

don’t really want to give anything away either, but I really enjoyed it. Kept me gripped.

Sloop67
20-01-2024, 11:32 PM
Wild Scandinavia on the IPlayer , superb stuff

21-01-2024, 08:45 AM

Another vote from me. Fact is very much stranger than fiction when it comes to these American crime docs.

21-01-2024, 04:40 PM

Mental story, I still have a few unanswered questions after watching it too

22-01-2024, 04:35 PM

Totally gripping and jaw dropping.

EH6 Hibby
01-03-2024, 12:16 AM
Just finished watching Jury: The Murder Trial, found it really fascinating. It’s obvious how certain personalities can influence others. I felt the blue jury were democratic and listened to each other’s opinions a lot more. I felt the red jury were dominated by a couple of very strong opinionated people who overpowered others in to their way of thinking. I was interested to see the decision the real life jury came to. My gut feeling was murder but given the evidence shown, I don’t know if I could have come to that decision, I do feel that the victims voice wasn’t given much consideration.

01-03-2024, 08:41 AM
Mental story, I still have a few unanswered questions after watching it too

It certainly is an amazing story, I really have gone down the rabbit hole with these programmes since lockdown.

Currently halfway through The truth about Jim and also where is baby Gabriel. The world truly is a messed up place at times. 😳

Can I tell you a secret, a 2 parter on Netflix about cyber stalking is worth a watch, not so much if you've got a daughter.

Crime & Investigation channel is very time consuming too. ☺️

01-03-2024, 12:40 PM
Scottish National Team has released an hour long doc about Billy Gilmour. Well worth a watch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YIFafl72pcs&t=304s

Dmas
01-03-2024, 12:46 PM
It certainly is an amazing story, I really have gone down the rabbit hole with these programmes since lockdown.

Currently halfway through The truth about Jim and also where is baby Gabriel. The world truly is a messed up place at times. 😳

Can I tell you a secret, a 2 parter on Netflix about cyber stalking is worth a watch, not so much if you've got a daughter.

Crime & Investigation channel is very time consuming too. ☺️

British Airways killer on itv this week was decent as well

01-03-2024, 01:57 PM
British Airways killer on itv this week was decent as well

Got that TiVo'd! 👍

Dmas
06-03-2024, 04:54 PM
Watched both episodes of the push on C4 today, about the trial of the guy who pushed his wife off Arthur’s seat was alright was interesting seeing it play out in court

06-03-2024, 05:34 PM
Watched both episodes of the push on C4 today, about the trial of the guy who pushed his wife off Arthur’s seat was alright was interesting seeing it play out in court

I had the boy as “guilty” within five seconds of seeing him on screen.

Bridge hibs
06-03-2024, 05:47 PM
I had the boy as “guilty” within five seconds of seeing him on screen.

Why ?

06-03-2024, 06:07 PM
Why ?

Could tell by his expression and general unease. I’m either a fantastic observer of people or a cynic who would jail everybody 😂.

To be fair, given the character of his dad, I’m not surprised he turned out that way. His old man was deplorable.

Bridge hibs
06-03-2024, 06:17 PM
Could tell by his expression and general unease. I’m either a fantastic observer of people or a cynic who would jail everybody 😂.

To be fair, given the character of his dad, I’m not surprised he turned out that way. His old man was deplorable.I remember the incident well but to be honest I knew nothing of either of them but in knowing he was already sentenced I wanted to try and at least be impartial until I heard all the evidence

You are right though, his family and friend were ignorant and selfish *******s 😡

Ive actually sat on two jurys in that court, as fascinating as they were, they were pretty much nailed on verdicts, I wouldnt have been too keen on that one though. At my first trial I had a great group who dissected every dot, on my second there were a few dickheads who the minute they stepped into the deliberating room had the accused guilty as the food was **** and they were in prison as they couldnt get out for a fag 🤣

07-03-2024, 02:34 PM
Just finished watching Jury: The Murder Trial, found it really fascinating. It’s obvious how certain personalities can influence others. I felt the blue jury were democratic and listened to each other’s opinions a lot more. I felt the red jury were dominated by a couple of very strong opinionated people who overpowered others in to their way of thinking. I was interested to see the decision the real life jury came to. My gut feeling was murder but given the evidence shown, I don’t know if I could have come to that decision, I do feel that the victims voice wasn’t given much consideration.

I thought that was excellent and totally agree about the dominating personalities of a couple of jurors being the most significant aspect in the decision making process. It really did highlight the flaw in the process though, and I guess you have to hope that if you find yourself in a situation where a jury is judging you, that they relate to you enough.

The Push was fascinating as well, tragic situation and it was good that the victim’s family saw justice done.

We just started The Octopus Murders on Netflix, another gripping story that highlights the lengths people will go to for money and power.

The Ripper on Netflix was really good as well, about the Yorkshire Ripper. The Police, for all they were limited by technology etc at the time,, handled the case so badly, a basic starting point of misogyny from them stopped them catching the killer sooner and undoubtedly cost lives.

07-03-2024, 10:30 PM
We just started The Octopus Murders on Netflix, another gripping story that highlights the lengths people will go to for money and power.

Nuts. If only a tenth of it is fact, still nuts.

08-03-2024, 11:52 AM
Nuts. If only a tenth of it is fact, still nuts.

It really is, we're not quite finished it yet, and I'm generally not big on conspiracy theories but I think sometimes you just have to acknowledge that a lot of shady **** goes down every day that folk get away with because of power and money.

Bridge hibs
08-03-2024, 12:10 PM
Just watched the 2 part documentary on 5 about the Titan submersible that attempted to reach Titanic, quite interesting

10-03-2024, 11:12 PM
Just watched the 2 part documentary on 5 about the Titan submersible that attempted to reach Titanic, quite interesting

Just watched the first episode, interesting as you say.

12-03-2024, 01:48 PM
Accused: The Hampstead Paedophile Hoax on All4, quite an amazing story, completely passed me by when it happened.

12-03-2024, 10:06 PM
Secret World of Sound with David Attenborough, superb as always.

13-03-2024, 10:59 PM
Chris Kamara and Jeff Stelling on Worlds Most Dangerous Roads, didn't realise what Kammy had been through, quite a moving watch.

EH6 Hibby
19-03-2024, 01:25 AM
My Wife, My Abuser, The Secret Footage. Very uncomfortable to watch. You hear stories every day about people suffering from domestic violence but very rare you actually see it. Horrifying.

19-03-2024, 08:42 AM
My Wife, My Abuser, The Secret Footage. Very uncomfortable to watch. You hear stories every day about people suffering from domestic violence but very rare you actually see it. Horrifying.

I'm just watching this now, as you say it's uncomfortable viewing to say the least.

19-03-2024, 10:28 AM

Very disturbing piece of telly. Very brave man to let C5 make this into a documentary. Possibly braver and stronger than he realises.

EH6 Hibby
19-03-2024, 01:29 PM
Very disturbing piece of telly. Very brave man to let C5 make this into a documentary. Possibly braver and stronger than he realises.

Was reading in X after, apparently when she was released from police custody prior to trial, she obviously wasn’t allowed to go home so a friend let her move in with her and her husband. She then stole the friends husband. Shouldn’t surprise me from someone who to be reminded that her kids are ok cause she hadn’t arsed asking after them.

19-03-2024, 02:23 PM
Was reading in X after, apparently when she was released from police custody prior to trial, she obviously wasn’t allowed to go home so a friend let her move in with her and her husband. She then stole the friends husband.
What a strange thing to say.

EH6 Hibby
19-03-2024, 10:01 PM
What a strange thing to say.

My apologies. She had an affair with her friends husband. The husband has now left his wife for her and is standing by her while she is in prison. I was quoting the person who knew her. Sorry if the wording wasn’t to your liking.

20-03-2024, 04:08 PM
Just catching up on Chinook: Zulu Delta 576 on the iPlayer, watched the first episode, 2nd one still to come.

21-03-2024, 11:16 AM
Just catching up on Chinook: Zulu Delta 576 on the iPlayer, watched the first episode, 2nd one still to come.

Having watched the 2nd part of this documentary The RAF & MOD have a lot to answer for, the dignity of the families left behind is amazing given what they had to go through. I won't say anymore just incase others end up watching it.

21-03-2024, 03:11 PM
Casey Anthony's Parents: The Lie Detector Test on C&I. You've really got to watch previous documentaries about the death of Casey's daughter before watching this, interesting viewing though.

30-03-2024, 09:56 AM
Ukraine: Enemy in the woods on iPlayer, body worn camera footage from an Ukrainian infantry unit battling against huge odds in the forests of Ukraine.

03-04-2024, 09:20 AM
Having watched the 2nd part of this documentary The RAF & MOD have a lot to answer for, the dignity of the families left behind is amazing given what they had to go through. I won't say anymore just incase others end up watching it.

Was this the Chinook which crashed in an island off Scotland with a number of Northern Ireland politicians and civil servants?

03-04-2024, 10:42 AM
Watched a Dispatches episode called Dead Man Running the other night on iPlayer.

It is a bout an odd-ball guy in Inverness who is a local 'hero', raising lots for charity by doing challenging swims, is commended by the police for keeping the community safe, etc. There's a dark side to him, though and he does a runner just as he's about to be brought to justice and ends up faking his apparent death.

Search for Dispatches on the iPlayer, though as nothing comes up by searching the actual name of the episode :rolleyes:

03-04-2024, 02:09 PM
Was this the Chinook which crashed in an island off Scotland with a number of Northern Ireland politicians and civil servants?

Aye, that's the one.

04-04-2024, 10:13 AM
Aye, that's the one.

Ok cheers yes seemed strange at the time and subsequent discussion afterwards

04-04-2024, 11:04 PM
Disclosure - Surviving domestic abuse, quite a harrowing watch. 😢

05-04-2024, 06:08 PM

Just getting round to this now, there really are some sinister characters going about in the corridors of power on this planet.

15-04-2024, 11:10 AM
Mammals on BBC iPlayer, David Attenborough, say no more. 👏

16-04-2024, 06:46 AM
Mammals on BBC iPlayer, David Attenborough, say no more. 👏

The scenes with the Killer Whales trying to capture and kill the young whale were fascinating, brutal and brilliant at the same time.

Drones have taken wildlife filming to a whole new level.

16-04-2024, 12:00 PM
The scenes with the Killer Whales trying to capture and kill the young whale were fascinating, brutal and brilliant at the same time.

Drones have taken wildlife filming to a whole new level.

There's certainly been some amazing footage as ever.

Dmas
17-04-2024, 10:01 AM
The digital detectives on C4 has been really interesting, the cases shocking of course but how they go around putting the picture together using tech data we carry around is eye opening

19-04-2024, 04:50 PM
Ministry of Evil - The Twisted Cult of Tony Alamo on iPlayer, at the end of the 3rd episode he looks like the double of Gary Glitter and was behaving in the same manner as him when it comes to underage girls.

Sloop67
22-04-2024, 08:26 PM
Pompeii : The New Dig . Interesting stuff

Bridge hibs
23-04-2024, 05:15 AM
Pompeii : The New Dig . Interesting stuff

I watched that, excellent to see the near perfect condition of some of the artefacts and buildings, considering it was over 2000 years ago, the carbonised round loaf of bread reminded me of my Wifes baking 🫣

23-04-2024, 10:53 AM
I watched that, excellent to see the near perfect condition of some of the artefacts and buildings, considering it was over 2000 years ago, the carbonised round loaf of bread reminded me of my Wifes baking 🫣

29-04-2024, 10:33 AM
Murders at Little Bridge Farm on C&I, what a sick and sadistic individual.

29-04-2024, 06:13 PM
When evil came to Rochdale on My5, absolutely mental 😳

14-05-2024, 10:19 AM
Abused by Mum - The Ruby Franke Scandal on My5, horrible viewing, particularly the 911 call from the neighbour.

17-05-2024, 07:50 AM
I'm about half way through a Steve Martin documentary on Apple TV. It's really good so far, all from the horses mouth and has his only private videos and notebooks. Similar style to the Garry Shandling documentary which is also great if you've not seen it.

21-05-2024, 06:59 AM
Imposter: The man who came back from the dead, 4 parter on Channel 4 about Nicholas Rossi/ Arthur Knight, halfway through so far, intriguing stuff! 😳

Bridge hibs
21-05-2024, 11:38 AM
Imposter: The man who came back from the dead, 4 parter on Channel 4 about Nicholas Rossi/ Arthur Knight, halfway through so far, intriguing stuff! 😳Great, will be giving that a watch, he is as bonkers as that Baby Reindeer character 😳

21-05-2024, 03:09 PM
Great, will be giving that a watch, he is as bonkers as that Baby Reindeer character 😳

I've not got involved in that but, this is weird stuff, hadn't followed the story but, it's mental. 🤔

22-05-2024, 10:08 AM
Imposter: The man who came back from the dead, 4 parter on Channel 4 about Nicholas Rossi/ Arthur Knight, halfway through so far, intriguing stuff! 😳

Cheers, I'll give that a watch. I've been waiting on a show about him coming out.

I thought his story would have been right up Netflix's street.

Trinity Hibee
22-05-2024, 08:56 PM

Just watched it all. Just bizarre

Bridge hibs
23-05-2024, 05:16 AM
Just watched it all. Just bizarre

The tattoos, a tattoo artist made his way into high dependency ward during covid with all his kit and managed to give him half a sleeve on one sitting without any nursing staff witnessing it 🤣

23-05-2024, 09:17 AM
The tattoos, a tattoo artist made his way into high dependency ward during covid with all his kit and managed to give him half a sleeve on one sitting without any nursing staff witnessing it 🤣

I've only watched the first episode but I'm familiar with his story. It is the tattoo stuff that really reeled me in when it was in the news. That's what makes me really suspicious of the wife too. I don't buy the "they've got the wrong man and I'm standing by him" narrative. She would know about the tattoo.

Bridge hibs
23-05-2024, 09:51 AM
I've only watched the first episode but I'm familiar with his story. It is the tattoo stuff that really reeled me in when it was in the news. That's what makes me really suspicious of the wife too. I don't buy the "they've got the wrong man and I'm standing by him" narrative. She would know about the tattoo.Absolutley, it was even suggested he did not need a wheelchair or oxygen, the surprising thing, probably only for the cameras his Wife physically lifting the fat lump from his wheelchair

23-05-2024, 10:06 AM
Absolutley, it was even suggested he did not need a wheelchair or oxygen, the surprising thing, probably only for the cameras his Wife physically lifting the fat lump from his wheelchair

I'm less sold on the wheelchair and oxygen not being required - I'm assuming he didn't fake the covid, so he might well need those as a result - I just don't know. The thing that does make me suspicious about the breathing difficulties is that it doesn't seem to stop him being able to get riled in a press situation. For example, the clip in the first episode where he is on some (I assume) American news show and he goes a bit OTT with a rant and tries to get out of the wheelchair.

Bridge hibs
23-05-2024, 10:50 AM
I'm less sold on the wheelchair and oxygen not being required - I'm assuming he didn't fake the covid, so he might well need those as a result - I just don't know. The thing that does make me suspicious about the breathing difficulties is that it doesn't seem to stop him being able to get riled in a press situation. For example, the clip in the first episode where he is on some (I assume) American news show and he goes a bit OTT with a rant and tries to get out of the wheelchair.I think it was mentioned by one of the medical team that he didnt require the oxygen or wheelchair

07-06-2024, 08:08 AM
The Wrong Man - 17 years behind bars on iPlayer, what a horrendous situation to find yourself in.

Bridge hibs
07-06-2024, 08:11 AM
The Wrong Man - 17 years behind bars on iPlayer, what a horrendous situation to find yourself in.

Cheers Hutchy, will give that a watch 👍

07-06-2024, 12:24 PM
Cheers Hutchy, will give that a watch 👍

It's on bbc2 tonight at 2305.

Bridge hibs
07-06-2024, 01:30 PM
It's on bbc2 tonight at 2305.

Watched it on iplayer mate, ****ing unreal, none of his dna matched, someone elses did and they still said **** it he stays in jail 🤬

That group who helped him get justice in the end were great and they never gave up. He should have got some compensation for the 17 years and 4 months he was locked up for 🤬

Bridge hibs
07-06-2024, 02:07 PM
That'll save anyone else having to watch it. 🤭

Oops 🫣

He's here!
07-06-2024, 04:05 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/article/2024/jun/02/d-day-the-unheard-tapes-review-tv-so-good-its-worth-the-bbc-licence-fee-on-its-own

I found this utterly compelling.

14-06-2024, 11:06 AM
The Fall - Sky Dive Murder Plot on All4. I think that the police woman involved in investigating the case will have an interesting story to tell about her own life regarding similarities to this situation.

15-06-2024, 11:23 AM
Interesting 20 minute section from 60 Minutes Australia about the Titan submersable catastrophe, some interesting input from James Cameron.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cb9uqlr7b4Q

Fuzzywuzzy
16-06-2024, 12:48 PM
Back on to oak island after not watching it. Now getting to the thinking the tunnels were built to take stuff off the island and there is plums there. Just lots of buttons!!

16-06-2024, 05:05 PM
Back on to oak island after not watching it. Now getting to the thinking the tunnels were built to take stuff off the island and there is plums there. Just lots of buttons!!
There may be no treasure as such but it's the story itself. Lots of booby traps tunnels, sunken ship in the swamp, Knight Templars, Vikings etc, all fascinating.

Have you watched the Secrets of Skinwalker Ranch.

Godsahibby
17-06-2024, 05:32 PM
Second series of Tour De France Unchained is now on Netflix. Real eye opener into the world of professional cycling and what these guys go through.

17-06-2024, 08:16 PM

Season 4 of Secrets of the London Underground starts on 2/7.

18-06-2024, 09:54 PM
Crime Scene : The vanishing at The Cecil Hotel, 4 parter originally on Netflix.

18-06-2024, 11:00 PM
Code Blue : One punch killers on STV Player, not a pleasant watch.

25-06-2024, 10:40 AM
Dispatches - Undercover A&E, got to feel so sorry for the staff on the front line and obviously the patients who are at risk if this is a common occurrence, it seems like the government has a short memory.

Andy Bee
25-06-2024, 04:27 PM
Confessions of a teenage fraudster.....BBC 2 on a Monday night or all 3 episodes on IPlayer. Utterly bizarre account of a Scottish teenager Elliot Castro and his jetsetting lifestyle completely funded by fraud.

25-06-2024, 06:53 PM
Quiet on set: The dark side of kids TV, a very uncomfortable watch at times.

Drake Bell's story is particularly sad.

Fuzzywuzzy
11-07-2024, 04:09 PM
There may be no treasure as such but it's the story itself. Lots of booby traps tunnels, sunken ship in the swamp, Knight Templars, Vikings etc, all fascinating.

Have you watched the Secrets of Skinwalker Ranch.

Just started it. Episode six. It has me intrigued!!

14-07-2024, 07:09 AM
The greatest show never made, bizarre 3 episode documentary on Amazon Prime about a group of people duped into appearing on a reality TV show that didn't exist, halfway through Ep2 and no idea what the outcome is going to reveal.

Dmas
17-07-2024, 03:11 PM
The greatest show never made, bizarre 3 episode documentary on Amazon Prime about a group of people duped into appearing on a reality TV show that didn't exist, halfway through Ep2 and no idea what the outcome is going to reveal.

This was mental, crazy how being so fame hungry can leave you so gullible, must have been red flags from the offset that all choose to ignore

patch1875
22-07-2024, 06:59 PM
Camden.

Excellent music documentary on Disney.

25-07-2024, 08:44 AM
Fugitive - The mystery of the crypto queen, 3 parter on All4, I'm intrigued about cryptocurrency but, still don't really understand a thing about it. OneCoin certainly seemed to pull people in though.