02-01-2021, 02:25 PM
Bottle job.

02-01-2021, 02:27 PM
Bottle job.

Grow up

02-01-2021, 02:28 PM
This performance isn't a bottle job. As I've explained, you've no idea what bottling is.

Magpie
02-01-2021, 02:29 PM
This performance isn't a bottle job. As I've explained, you've no idea what bottling is.

Deluded.

02-01-2021, 02:30 PM
Deluded.

No. I'm not delusional. This performance is dreadful. That doesn't make it a bottle job.

Magpie
02-01-2021, 02:31 PM
No. I'm not delusional. This performance is dreadful. That doesn't make it a bottle job.

Delusional.

02-01-2021, 02:32 PM
Delusional.

I don't think you like Jack Ross

loanheadhibby
02-01-2021, 02:33 PM

The performance is an indicator that it’s time for change. Jack Dross out.

02-01-2021, 02:34 PM
He shouldn’t be sacked, nowhere near it. He should definitely be doing better than what he’s produced for us in the last game and a half though. It’s been ****ing woeful.

Magpie
02-01-2021, 02:34 PM

You know it mate.

Paul1642
02-01-2021, 02:35 PM
This place becomes a mental asylum when we are losing. Let’s get jack ross out and get to back to having ex players leading us to 8th and 9th.

Nah, bring on European football and a cup semi final under Jack Ross.

Magpie
I don't think you like Jack Ross

I dont think many people will come the end of the season.

Allez Hibs

League Cup Semi Final coming up....

HibeeHibernian4
Bottle job.

Embarrassing how confident and wrong you are in equal measure.

02-01-2021, 02:36 PM
It's not a bottle job but the decision to set us up like this is totally baffling. We are all over the place and it's a disorganised mess.

02-01-2021, 02:36 PM
Figured we were past giving in-post Hibs managers derogatory nicknames. Ah, well.

02-01-2021, 02:37 PM

Behave.

Nowhere near sack the manager territory.

FWIW you’ll find me criticising him elsewhere on this forum as I’m not a huge fan. The idea of sacking him now is ridiculous though.

Magpie
It's not a bottle job but the decision to set us up like this is totally baffling. We are all over the place and it's a disorganised mess.

It was always going to end in one way after the Hearts defeat imo

loanheadhibby
League Cup Semi Final coming up....

And what? Wait until we lose that before emptying him? The warning signs are there for all to see. I hope we win 3 2 but we’ve lost 4 goals at home without reply.

Dear my expectations are low but come on!

Paul1642
02-01-2021, 02:38 PM
2 weeks ago this forum were worried Celtic would be after him

Magpie
02-01-2021, 02:38 PM
And what? Wait until we lose that before emptying him? The warning signs are there for all to see. I hope we win 3 2 but we’ve lost 4 goals at home without reply.

Correct. Time to go.

02-01-2021, 02:39 PM

Rightly or wrongly I agree.

loanheadhibby
02-01-2021, 02:39 PM
Behave.

Nowhere near sack the manager territory.

FWIW you’ll find me criticising him elsewhere on this forum as I’m not a huge fan. The idea of sacking him now is ridiculous though.

Possibly not but why wait? This can’t be acceptable to Hibs. 4 goals without reply at Easter Road!

Either he goes or he empties the players.

Paul1642
02-01-2021, 02:40 PM

Let’s not make the mistake hearts made with Neilson

good thread this

2 weeks ago this forum were worried Celtic would be after himJust shows you how fickle football fans are.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

I think the plan is to keep him for the long term and it review his position every 2 or 3 results.

02-01-2021, 02:42 PM
Just shows you how fickle football fans are.

Not really.

It indicates we have a few reactionary loonies who are happiest when they can whip up another crisis.

HibeeHibernian4

if we sacked Ross tonight we'd be on our fourth manager inside two years. Absolutely ludicrous shout. Hibs would be better off as a club without your trigger happy brigade.

2 weeks ago this forum were worried Celtic would be after him

Certainly not me, I was undecided, insert smug smiley.

02-01-2021, 02:44 PM

No it doesnae, I have a feeling magpie is a windae lickin, puddle drinkin jambo

Magpie
if we sacked Ross tonight we'd be on our fourth manager inside two years. Absolutely ludicrous shout. Hibs would be better off as a club without your trigger happy brigade.

What do you think we should do? Not trying to cause a debate but I’m interested in how you see this panning out.

'Jack Dross' is absolutely ****, Kickback kind of patter by the way.

Magpie
No it doesnae, I have a feeling magpie is a windae lickin, puddle drinkin jambo

🤣 I’d report you but I’m not a grass. I respect your opinion.

02-01-2021, 02:45 PM
Possibly not but why wait? This can’t be acceptable to Hibs. 4 goals without reply at Easter Road!

Either he goes or he empties the players.

Because we might be wrong and it would cost us £100,000’s to sack him so it’s not a decision to be made without consequences.

On top of that you’ve got to take into account progress has been made since he took over and we are a work in progress.

I totally get the arguments against him and I don’t think he’ll recover from the semi final defeat, nowhere near the stage of sacking him though.

Rumble de Thump
🤣 I’d report you but I’m not a grass. I respect your opinion.

I don't care what everyone else thinks. I really like your patter. You seem very witty and insightful.

😂 another jambo

02-01-2021, 02:47 PM
Bottle job.
Your defo a Yam pal 😂 What time does your team kick off tonight ?

02-01-2021, 02:47 PM
What do you think we should do? Not trying to cause a debate but I’m interested in how you see this panning out.

Don’t sack the manager whenever we go on a poor run? We’re in a good position in the league and he deserves the chance to get us going again. We can’t continue running through managers at a ridiculous pace.

02-01-2021, 02:53 PM
I don't care what everyone else thinks. I really like your patter. You seem very witty and insightful.

Another one

02-01-2021, 02:54 PM
His football is eye bleeding. Can’t stand watching his sides in general. His set ups at home are weird.

The sooner he’s gone the better for me

02-01-2021, 02:55 PM
Not really.

It indicates we have a few reactionary loonies who are happiest when they can whip up another crisis.I think it's a fair comment though that football fans are fickle across the board worldwide. But you're comment is also correct.

02-01-2021, 02:55 PM
Don’t sack the manager whenever we go on a poor run? We’re in a good position in the league and he deserves the chance to get us going again. We can’t continue running through managers at a ridiculous pace.

I agree, but my confidence that we can turn the corner is steadily weakening. Our 4th position could disappear in the next few games and a great opportunity to win the League Cup has become a lottery.

02-01-2021, 02:56 PM
We have no idea how Ron Gordon will react to these last few results and performances, he could be a hard nosed owner and get shot of Ross, he did say he wanted to be the best of the rest and even better, Ross at the moment is losing it quite rapidly.

Hibiza
02-01-2021, 02:57 PM
Jack Ross is tactically inept . Been proven .

02-01-2021, 02:58 PM
Bottle job.

I think it's all his natural hair colour?

Rumble de Thump
02-01-2021, 03:01 PM
How many bad results constitutes a poor run? One or two?

loanheadhibby
02-01-2021, 03:02 PM
Because we might be wrong and it would cost us £100,000’s to sack him so it’s not a decision to be made without consequences.

On top of that you’ve got to take into account progress has been made since he took over and we are a work in progress.

I totally get the arguments against him and I don’t think he’ll recover from the semi final defeat, nowhere near the stage of sacking him though.

We talk about progress and 4th does seem progress but tell me a run of 6 games where we have played well? Do you enjoy his brand of football? What is his actual brand of football?

I just don’t think it’s good to watch. I don’t see what his ultimate goal is? It’s another Fenton situation.

I’m going for a resounding 2nd half performance and a 3 2 victory. If not, he can leave.

02-01-2021, 03:03 PM
His football is eye bleeding. Can’t stand watching his sides in general. His set ups at home are weird.

The sooner he’s gone the better for me

Mental.

02-01-2021, 03:04 PM
****ing bonkers thread. Delete please admins.

02-01-2021, 03:04 PM
We talk about progress and 4th does seem progress but tell me a run of 6 games where we have played well? Do you enjoy his brand of football? What is his actual brand of football?

I just don’t think it’s good to watch. I don’t see what his ultimate goal is? It’s another Fenton situation.

I’m going for a resounding 2nd half performance and a 3 2 victory. If not, he can leave.

Fenton. Fenton!!

02-01-2021, 03:05 PM
It's not a bottle job. It's lackluster, flat, dull and boring. They want it more and play well as a team.

The opposite can be said for us. We look like a bunch of strangers with no plan. Seen it coming a mile off too.

Defence also a shambles. The players need a rocket big time.

Allez Hibs
02-01-2021, 03:06 PM
With a winnable League Cup situation ahead, Jack Ross record in big games, especially the Derby Semi Final and the home record doesn't fill me with confidence.

02-01-2021, 03:06 PM
We have no idea how Ron Gordon will react to these last few results and performances, he could be a hard nosed owner and get shot of Ross, he dud say he wanted to be the best of the rest and even better, Ross at the moment is losing it quite rapidly.

I dont think he will be sacked soon but I do think that this is the beginning of the end. I said after the RC game that we would not bounce back from that slump and its going to be a long three months. I hope we can all see now that we will be dragged into a mid table fight for top six .. at best. Not for the first time over many years Hibs inexplicably stop doing what they did to get themselves in a good league position for example cutting back perfectly for mids making late runs into the box to score. JR has no clue how to combat any side at ER as our poor home performances demonstrate. New faces r needed but a manager has to know how to utilise them.

02-01-2021, 03:08 PM
This will another thread where the OP will never be seen again.

02-01-2021, 03:08 PM

I agree with you but I’m also a realist so i know he’s not going anywhere while we’re 4th in the league. Really isn’t any point wanting him sacked now as it’s never happening. We could lose our next 10 games and he’d still be relatively safe.

For me, there’s similarities with Alex Miller and Bobby Williamson. Both very competent managers but neither a good fit for Hibs.

02-01-2021, 03:13 PM
Jack Ross is tactically inept . Been proven .

[emoji817]

02-01-2021, 03:14 PM
Mental.

How so?

02-01-2021, 03:14 PM
JR has no idea how to change this.

That's the worrying part.

02-01-2021, 03:15 PM
I agree with you but I’m also a realist so i know he’s not going anywhere while we’re 4th in the league. Really isn’t any point wanting him sacked now as it’s never happening. We could lose our next 10 games and he’d still be relatively safe.

For me, there’s similarities with Alex Miller and Bobby Williamson. Both very competent managers but neither a good fit for Hibs.

Losing the next ten making thirteen losses in a row would definitely see him out the door but losing next ten is not on the cards.

02-01-2021, 03:17 PM
Not a fan and I think another manager could do a lot better with this group of players.

Yes were 4th, but the rest of the league is poorer than usual and we played poor in many of the games we won.

02-01-2021, 03:18 PM
How so?

Cos we’re 4th and in the LC semi?

02-01-2021, 03:18 PM

He has no idea how to change it often, not just this game

02-01-2021, 03:19 PM
Cos we’re 4th and in the LC semi?

We should be clear 2nd, we can’t even get clear 3rd.

Semi Final, you’re going to be a disappointed fella along with the rest of us I fear

02-01-2021, 03:19 PM
I actually think it may be time for him to go. Can't lose like Wednesday, react like today and expect to keep job. 4 home games and we've won 1.

Rumble de Thump
02-01-2021, 03:21 PM
Not a fan and I think another manager could do a lot better with this group of players.

Yes were 4th, but the rest of the league is poorer than usual and we played poor in many of the games we won.

Hibs have also been negatively impacted by the pandemic this year.

02-01-2021, 03:22 PM
I actually think it may be time for him to go. Can't lose like Wednesday, react like today and expect to keep job. 4 home games and we've won 1.

We have run out of energy and luck, too many injuries in a small squad and tired players. Needs a freshen up and new energy and ideas into the squad.

02-01-2021, 03:23 PM

Thats what we have all seen for weeks now and its a bit worrying.

02-01-2021, 03:24 PM
We have run out of energy and luck, too many injuries in a small squad and tired players. Needs a freshen up and new energy and ideas into the squad.

Ideas is the key word. Where those ideas or who those ideas come from is debatable.

02-01-2021, 03:25 PM
If every single player selected has been dreadful 2 games in a row then it's all down to the management team. A lot of questions to be answered.

02-01-2021, 03:25 PM
Our manager just standing with his hands in his pockets looking absolutely lost and uninterested.

At least show some sort of enthusiasm FFS

Tobias Funke
02-01-2021, 03:26 PM
I’m not a fan of Jack Ross but today and the Ross County games aren’t reason enough to sack him at the moment. If this form continues then he might be in trouble, especially if RG is the impatient type.

thebausburst
02-01-2021, 03:27 PM
Ross is incapable of turning a game, his half time team talks have zero effect, if anything Hibs come out even worse in 2nd half of games, failure to win the league cup (now unlikely) and he can go for me.

percy veer
02-01-2021, 03:27 PM
Terrible new manage required , lost against hearts now this guff, home form is a disgrace carbon copy of neilson get rid

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 03:29 PM
Thats what we have all seen for weeks now and its a bit worrying.

Week*. It's been one week.

02-01-2021, 03:32 PM

C'mon man facts are most unwelcome on this thread

02-01-2021, 03:32 PM
Crazy to consider sacking Ross right now but something isn’t right about both tactics and player motivation. Right now - no getting away from it - we’re easily the weakest of the four cup semi finalists.

Bright_Hibee
02-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Jack Ross is an incredibly boring manager. We lack creativity on the pitch and in the dugout.

My old man
02-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Barnes= keek
Hanlon = finished
Porto = too cocky
Lewis = finished cannae pass forward
Gogic = keek
Mallan = hot n cold
Boyle = see mallan
Doidge = 2nd touch a tackle

I can’t see what else you see jack
We’re now playing a wounded sellik next
Not looking forward to it with that mob

02-01-2021, 03:34 PM
I’m not a fan of Jack Ross but today and the Ross County games aren’t reason enough to sack him at the moment. If this form continues then he might be in trouble, especially if RG is the impatient type.

Did you also watch the St Mirren, Dundee Utd and other non OF games at ER. We are not a good team to watch at home. Ive maybe enjoyed two or three results at home but not sure how many performances I can say I have enjoyed. Its been pretty poor fair. Even ignoring that I dont see how anyone can be confident for the future even just taking the last two ir three games into consideration.

02-01-2021, 03:35 PM
My minds made up. Time to go

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 03:35 PM
Jack Ross is an incredibly boring manager. We lack creativity on the pitch and in the dugout.

Football is an incredibly boring sport when we're sat at home watching it on a poor-to-average stream.

02-01-2021, 03:36 PM
Did you also watch the St Mirren, Dundee Utd and other non OF games at ER. We are not a good team to watch at home. Ive maybe enjoyed two or three results at home but not sure how many performances I can say I have enjoyed. Its been pretty poor fair. Even ignoring that I dont see how anyone can be confident for the future even just taking the last two ir three games into consideration.

Although things have been pretty poor of late - we were decent enough against Dundee Utd and 9 times out of ten would have had the game won at half time.

But I take your point.

02-01-2021, 03:37 PM

To name another few, its been like this for many a number of games, hertz, utd, dundee, st.j dons games,its not just been this week, although this week now seems like a month. He just cannae change a set up

He’s fast developing a habit of delivering some atrocious results.

Hearts at home, Hearts in the cup, Ross County and now Livingston. May be others that I’ve managed to wipe from my memory but when you’ve only been in charge for about 50 games that’s some amount of shockers. These sort of results and performances should be 1 or 2 in that period. Not 4 or 5.

thebausburst
Stephen Robinson

02-01-2021, 03:38 PM
Not wanting him out yet but hes starting to get on my nerves. The semi is a must win. No excuses. Our home form is pathetic. Paying over £400 for this complete garbage.

02-01-2021, 03:38 PM
Football is an incredibly boring sport when we're sat at home watching it on a poor-to-average stream.

My stream is perfectly clear sadly.

02-01-2021, 03:39 PM

But its not been one week of poor home performances. Our home record is keek. If you really think that this is not a sign of things to come then brace yourself for disappointment.

Stephen Robinson

Absolutely not. Look at the shambles he's left at Motherwell.

mentalhibee

His team are crap and the football is eye bleeding stuff.

02-01-2021, 03:40 PM
Not wanting him out yet but hes starting to get on my nerves. The semi is a must win. No excuses. Our home form is pathetic. Paying over £400 for this complete garbage.

There will be a lot fewer paying £400 for next season

mcfly
He has to start winning the big games

Also has to me start being ruthless with the team. Half of them aren’t good enough.

Got to fear though season ticket sales for next year will drop dramatically

He’s fast developing a habit of delivering some atrocious results.

Hearts at home, Hearts in the cup, Ross County and now Livingston. May be others that I’ve managed to wipe from my memory but when you’ve only been in charge for about 50 games that’s some amount of shockers. These sort of results and performances should be 1 or 2 in that period. Not 4 or 5.

Basically if we come up against a team that’s fired up and motivated theyll beat us.

If this was a computer game I suspect he’d be very good.

The idea that all players react to the calm and measured appreciate is a non starter. Managers need a bit fire in their belly and he’s not got it.

02-01-2021, 03:41 PM
Delusional.

You sound like a bit of a moron tbh.

02-01-2021, 03:41 PM
We are fourth and have been the best team out with the OF since his arrival. People are so, so fickle it’s unreal. Win the League Cup (we are still favourites FYI) and he is the messiah again. We are still odds on for Europe.

No denying our past two games have been horrendous. But I’ll wait a bit longer before pissing myself.

02-01-2021, 03:42 PM
There will be a lot fewer paying £400 for next season

And that is the big problem

Liam6270
02-01-2021, 03:42 PM
Why does he never show any passion or any kind of reaction? It’s just so passive from him all the time, whether he’s on the touch line or giving a post match interview

02-01-2021, 03:43 PM
We are fourth and have been the best team out with the OF since his arrival. People are so, so fickle it’s unreal. Win the League Cup (we are still favourites FYI) and he is the messiah again. We are still odds on for Europe.

No denying our past two games have been horrendous. But I’ll wait a bit longer before pissing myself.

We're definitely not favourites ahead of Livi right now. No interest in what bookies say. Right now, Livi are better than us.

Shouldn't you be concentrating on the game Jack 😃

Barnes= keek
Hanlon = finished
Porto = too cocky
Lewis = finished cannae pass forward
Gogic = keek
Mallan = hot n cold
Boyle = see mallan
Doidge = 2nd touch a tackle

I can’t see what else you see jack
We’re now playing a wounded sellik next
Not looking forward to it with that mob

Is there only 8 on field players today?

percy veer
02-01-2021, 03:44 PM

No chance now , thought we may have chance after our start but we are in free fall now , no chance at parlhead next week

Hibees1973
02-01-2021, 03:44 PM
The clock is ticking between now and the semi.

The team have looked a complete shambles in the last couple of games. No shape, no organisation and even less motivation.

If this run continues and he loses the semi he will be gone. Any Hibs manager who loses a semi to a lower league team and the next one against a team way below us in the league will have to go.

It would always be on his record and few Hibees could forgive him for.

02-01-2021, 03:45 PM

Okay as you are so confident about the future give us your prediction of our league position come season end and for the league cup winners.

02-01-2021, 03:46 PM

We wont be odds on for europe in a few weeks if we put more insipid displays on. Killie, st.j, sellik anr huns in the coming weeks. I wouldnt put any money on us staying 4th

02-01-2021, 03:47 PM
Out thought by a ***** Pablo Escobar.

broondog
02-01-2021, 03:49 PM
We wont be odds on for europe in a few weeks if we put more insipid displays on. Killie, st.j, sellik anr huns in the coming weeks. I wouldnt put any money on us staying 4th

100% agree. Done with him now. Very similar to the Lennon at Celtic situation, they decided to keep him and it’s now too late for them to get the title.

If we don’t get rid of Jack Ross who is absolutely clueless wave goodbye to even reaching the final of the league cup. Change must be made now, no point in giving him time as the next few fixtures very tough. Get this clueless imposter out now

stuart-farquhar
02-01-2021, 03:49 PM
Out thought by a ***** Pablo Escobar.

We need a get out of jail card. Can he lend us one?

mcfly
02-01-2021, 03:50 PM
He’s just very lucky there are no fans in the stadium cause this horrendous home form would not be tolerated.

Jack Ross doesn’t win the big games. And it’s not good enough

Hibiza
02-01-2021, 03:53 PM
I got pelters on here a few weeks ago ( not pleasant ) when I said , bring back Yogi. It was a knee jerk reaction to another horrible result. However , bring in someone who can inspire a team and change tactics appropriately.

02-01-2021, 03:54 PM
Two bad results and really poor performances in row

Silly to suggest to sack him but if that run extends then its a question mark

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

02-01-2021, 03:54 PM
I’ve seen much worse teams and at the start of the season I’d probably have taken fourth in the league and good cup runs. I think JR has us moving in the right direction and most of his signings have been good. However, we’re on a really poor run just now and the performances look lethargic. The squad might be thin but it’s still bigger than Livi and RC’s. For me the team lacks gallusness and an edge. We need some leaders in the team to pull us through when things get tough as they usually do. Hanlon has been mainly good this year but he doesn’t strike me as captain material. A Scott Brown type would be good but no idea where we find that.

loanheadhibby
02-01-2021, 03:55 PM
He’s just very lucky there are no fans in the stadium cause this horrendous home form would not be tolerated.

Jack Ross doesn’t win the big games. And it’s not good enough

Was today even a big game? It was a home game v Livi. Ross had a bit of a comfort zone with fans as he was winning all the other games. Now he’s not even winning run of the mill games.

Warning signs are there for all to see.

heid the baw
02-01-2021, 03:55 PM
Spot on, we won't be fourth next month if we keep playing like this. Today's game was always going to be tougher than Ross County but we should have been looking at 4 points instead of her haw.

02-01-2021, 03:56 PM
He can pack his bags as far as I'm concerned, outrageously poor performance again. Back to drawing board as Garry O'Connor said.

02-01-2021, 03:57 PM
Although things have been pretty poor of late - we were decent enough against Dundee Utd and 9 times out of ten would have had the game won at half time.

But I take your point.

Glad u see where I am coming from. To be fair we should have won against Dundee Utd but the coach did not manage the game well enough to help us see it through. We were fortunate to win against St Mirren, they deserved something from that game. Dundee Utd did not but.....

Lewiehas2
02-01-2021, 03:58 PM
I’ve seen much worse teams and at the start of the season I’d probably have taken fourth in the league and good cup runs. I think JR has us moving in the right direction and most of his signings have been good. However, we’re on a really poor run just now and the performances look lethargic. The squad might be thin but it’s still bigger than Livi and RC’s. For me the team lacks gallusness and an edge. We need some leaders in the team to pull us through when things get tough as they usually do. Hanlon has been mainly good this year but he doesn’t strike me as captain material. A Scott Brown type would be good but no idea where we find that.

Spot on

02-01-2021, 03:59 PM
For me the team lacks gallusness and an edge.

That’s where the team reflect the personality of their manager.

02-01-2021, 04:01 PM
He can pack his bags as far as I'm concerned, outrageously poor performance again. Back to drawing board as Garry O'Connor said.

**** him off now, give us a chance to get 3rd

02-01-2021, 04:07 PM
You can’t just sack managers after poor runs of form. It’ll always happen so we just keep doing it until the next run then do it again?

I’d prefer we give a manager the time to build a squad where this is less likely over time.

We are now getting into 2 or 3 games before trying to get someone sacked which is ridiculous.

02-01-2021, 04:08 PM
Spot on

Not at all spot on. We must extrapolate from performances and realise now that those performances mean we are not favourites for the cup and neither are we shoe ins for 4th. There are no prizes for where we r in January.

02-01-2021, 04:12 PM
You can’t just sack managers after poor runs of form. It’ll always happen so we just keep doing it until the next run then do it again?

I’d prefer we give a manager the time to build a squad where this is less likely over time.

We are now getting into 2 or 3 games before trying to get someone sacked which is ridiculous.

You can sack them when it’s clearly not where you want to be. Attitudes like yours ensures mediocrity

wills
02-01-2021, 04:13 PM
Id like to see Gray back in the side, natural leader with a bit more fight than Hanlon. Move McGinn into midfield in place of Gogic or Malian. There’s a certain lack of belief in the team when they go behind

02-01-2021, 04:15 PM
You can sack them when it’s clearly not where you want to be. Attitudes like yours ensures mediocrity

So where did you think we would be at this point of the season before it kicked off?

02-01-2021, 04:17 PM
Ron Gordon if he has serious big ambitions for this club 0 points picked up against Ross county and Livingston won’t be tolerated.

02-01-2021, 04:17 PM
I've only seen a handful of posts suggesting that Ross should go.

I don't think it's even on the cards and the overwhelming majority of fans are still behind him as far as I can tell.

The problem is some of the players. We needed more of a clear out in the summer.

We'll stumble along till the end of the season, fighting it out for 4th and then hopefully strengthen properly in the summer.

02-01-2021, 04:18 PM
So where did you think we would be at this point of the season before it kicked off?

Whilst I’m not in any way advocating sacking him, it’s not as simple as that imo.

If we’d won the first 12 games of the season and then lost 10 in a row whilst looking horrendously bad then you don’t just have to sit there and accept it because we are still 4th on 36 points. Of course we’re nowhere near as bad as that but just looking at our league position in isolation doesn’t tell the whole story.

02-01-2021, 04:18 PM

I can’t honestly say, but that’s not really the point now

02-01-2021, 04:20 PM
**** him off now, give us a chance to get 3rd

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkNot sure how thats gonna help

Jack won't say no though

02-01-2021, 04:20 PM
No post match interview from him no?

02-01-2021, 04:21 PM
I can’t honestly say, but that’s not really the point now

Well it is, your post suggested he should be sacked if we want to aim higher, we are probably exceeding the points tally that the club aimed for at this point in the season, yes some results have been crap but anyone suggesting he should be sacked are delusional

02-01-2021, 04:21 PM
For me that was the strongest team he had to pick from apart from playing Stevenson instead of Doig, I can't really see how he's to blame for a performance like that, the players must surely take the lion's share of the blame. I don't get the tiredness thing that the commentators kept coming out with either, we play the same number of games as everybody else. Livvie certainly didn't look 'leggie'.

02-01-2021, 04:22 PM

Not really. We’re 4th.

I could equally say that moronic GTF attitudes like yours after a couple of bad results just leads to more of the same.

I’d like us to be better than mediocre and believe that we have a manager who can improve us even more in the longer term.

I am going to answer this as well. We should probably be looking at 4th and a LC semi at the start of the season. So yes, we have accomplished that. We should also be in a confident frame of mind to win the LC and hold on to 4th or better and thats how things have gone belly up.

I think Ross’s problem is that he’s got zero credit in the bank after the Hearts game and the entertainment has been so poor since he joined.

The only good win I can think of is the win at Tynecastle? There’s obviously been a few good performances since then but the only memorable game that people will remember under him is that one game at Tynecastle.

02-01-2021, 04:24 PM
No harm in succession planning just in case this doesn't improve or actually gets worse, which looks more likely. I've heard there are a couple of managerial prospects at Bar-L FC

supersauzee
02-01-2021, 04:24 PM
I got pelters on here a few weeks ago ( not pleasant ) when I said , bring back Yogi. It was a knee jerk reaction to another horrible result. However , bring in someone who can inspire a team and change tactics appropriately.

Said this weeks ago aswell. Ross has us playing pedestrian unimaginative slow football. Grim times

02-01-2021, 04:25 PM
I am going to answer this as well. We should probably be looking at 4th and a LC semi at the start of the season. So yes, we have accomplished that. We should also be in a confident frame of mind to win the LC and hold on to 4th or better and thats how things have gone belly up.

Hopefully with a couple of new players in we can kick on and get rid of the below par players

02-01-2021, 04:26 PM
I think Ross’s problem is that he’s got zero credit in the bank after the Hearts game and the entertainment has been so poor since he joined.

The only good win I can think of is the win at Tynecastle? There’s obviously been a few good performances since then but the only memorable game that people will remember under him is that one game at Tynecastle.

Totally agree re the Hearts loss. Rightly or wrongly he lost a lot of goodwill after that defeat and perpetuated the belief he doesn’t win the big games.

capitals_finest
02-01-2021, 04:28 PM
Bottle job.

This is just attention seeking trying to get a reaction, as boring as our team right now.

02-01-2021, 04:28 PM
Jack Loss must go. Football is dire and he's going to take us backwards.

02-01-2021, 04:30 PM

:fishin:

You proud of that one? His win percentage is over 50%, so it doesn't even make sense. Just call him by his name ffs, playground patter.

His card is marked now for me. Tried to give the benefit of the doubt after the semi final but he’s under pressure now after that awful result today

02-01-2021, 04:31 PM
Totally agree re the Hearts loss. Rightly or wrongly he lost a lot of goodwill after that defeat and perpetuated the belief he doesn’t win the big games.

Was always going to be the case. Some folk mock that attitude but it is one that a lot of people share.

The last few days has been really bad for him. He was always going to have the ‘big game’ thing hanging over him. If he starts failing to win the wee games as well, it’s not going to be pretty.

Is 4th success now?

Given our budget and investment, 4th is the minimum in my book, I’m not sure Ross would deserve a pat on the back for achieving it.

Celtic are in a state this year and may well now implode completely that the title is gone, so it’s not just 3rd that could be achievable. Meanwhile Livi have 2 games in hand on us, so 4th can hardly be thought of as a stick on at this point.

That’s not to say that finishing 4th should get Ross sacked, but in the circumstances it’s probably the lowest we could finish and his future not become a subject for serious consideration.

He doesn’t.

If his team comes up against a motivated team that’s fired up for a big game his team loses.

His one big game win for us was when the Hearts manager took the week off and gave the players the day off before the game.

There’s absolutely no way we’ll finish 3rd and no way we’ll win this league cup. Absolutely no chance imo.

You need to fire your team up to win big matches but that’s not his thing, he is a calm and collected manager that’s all about slow and steady progress.

02-01-2021, 04:32 PM

Today.
Ross County.
St Johnstone.
Alloa.
Dundee Utd.
Semi Final
Sheep x 2.
Motherwell at home.
Clinging on at home 3 up against Hamilton.

It's a major, major cause for concern. County scored during the week, game over. Livi today, game over, Aberdeen away and home... That's not mentioning hammered to the worst Celtic side in 6 years nor the derby last year when Hearts couldn't buy a bloody win.

No fight or creation, we never look like coming back after we lose the first game coupled by we look like losing or throwing away games having starting games no bad.

It's his squad. We have bigger and better ones than the majority of teams above.

02-01-2021, 04:33 PM
He doesn’t.

If his team comes up against a motivated team that’s fired up for a big game his team loses.

His one big game win for us was when the Hearts manager took the week off and gave the players the day off before the game.

There’s absolutely no way we’ll finish 3rd and no way we’ll win this league cup. Absolutely no chance imo.

You need to fire your team up to win big matches but that’s not his thing, he is a calm and collected manager that’s all about slow and steady progress.

:agree: Just like Sunderland fans predicted before the playoff final they where going to lose.

02-01-2021, 04:33 PM

Apart from the fact he has taken us forward since he got the job, bet you couldnt wait to post that today

02-01-2021, 04:34 PM
His card is marked now for me. Tried to give the benefit of the doubt after the semi final but he’s under pressure now after that awful result today

What was immediately noticeable to me today was Livi having 2 or 3 around Boyle from kick off, yet we persisted in trying to shift it out to him rather than try and drive through the middle. Lewis had no one outside him offering and continually had to cut back or play backwards. How JR and JP didn't see that and change it baffles me. Literally no one tested their left side for most of the game, meaning Livingston were nice and compact.

02-01-2021, 04:35 PM

12 year olds patter.

02-01-2021, 04:35 PM
Not really. We’re 4th.

I could equally say that moronic GTF attitudes like yours after a couple of bad results just leads to more of the same.

I’d like us to be better than mediocre and believe that we have a manager who can improve us even more in the longer term.

So why did he not improve us from the last defeat, is he just biding his time or kidding the opposition a wee bit or is it he just hasn't a clue ?

02-01-2021, 04:36 PM
12 year olds patter.

Or Jambo mates patter

02-01-2021, 04:37 PM

The most concerning thing of it all is this is Livingston football club and after being pumped off bottom of the league County it was far far too predictable today would happen.

For me that was the strongest team he had to pick from apart from playing Stevenson instead of Doig, I can't really see how he's to blame for a performance like that, the players must surely take the lion's share of the blame. I don't get the tiredness thing that the commentators kept coming out with either, we play the same number of games as everybody else. Livvie certainly didn't look 'leggie'.

Of course there is more to it and you are right about the players. The buck must always stop at the boss though. Four home games against poorer clubs and two goals to show for it and six against. Looking at that and considering we have used most of the first team picks over those four home games you cant only blame the players. However we should appreciate how difficult it can be to play against sitting in teams using the break. Theres not much guile needed for that just discipline and graft. Trying to break those teams down while keeping your back secure requires much more and more than our team and gaffer have at this time. The other thing that experience shows us is the longer the rut the harder it is to get out off. I dont expect anything better anytime soon and so I am in a position where I can only be pleasantly surprised over the next couple of months. If it cintinues beyond that then I will shift into a gravely concerned disposition.

If picking the strongest team was all we want from JR then most of Hibs.net would have a chance at the managers job.

02-01-2021, 04:38 PM
Today.
Ross County.
St Johnstone.
Alloa.
Dundee Utd.
Semi Final
Sheep x 2.
Motherwell at home.

It's a major, major cause for concern. County scored during the week, game over. Livi today, game over, Aberdeen away and home... That's not mentioning hammered to the worst Celtic side in 6 years nor the derby last year when Hearts couldn't buy a bloody win.

No fight or creation, we never look like coming back after we lose the first game coupled by we look like losing or throwing away games having starting games no bad.

It's his squad. We have bigger and better ones than the majority of teams above.

The teams scoring first is a valid point. I think we’ve lost every game where we’ve lost the first goal, in the league.

There isn’t any character in there when we’re up against it. They’re all happy enough to show for the ball and knock it about when we’re winning though.

02-01-2021, 04:39 PM

The problem I have is I wanted Ross and have supported him. Like Drey Wright I feel I have given him / them a chance.

My issue is..the signs are there that we have problems. Not just the last 2 relegation level performances but our home record / lack of goals / too many draws...see Sunderland and only winning 1 big game (Hearts away).

He steadied the ship after the mess of Hecky but that wasn’t hard. But we still finished 7th last season.

We have had some good away wins this season but again against dross teams who we should be beating.

He’s not seriously under performing as manager - yes we are 4th and are in the semi final but our chances of winning the semi are very slim - the last 2 games have exposed how fragile we are if we lose the 1st goal.

People say we have signed good players but several injured and not contributing.

All teams have off days but we have had several really poor half’s / performances this season and as others have said before...it’s dull. I was never thinking that myself but I can see why people say that - we really don’t have many exciting players. Boyle / Newell and Nisbet maybe but all have been up and down as the team has changed about.

I’m usually very positive but these players look lost and either they don’t have mentally to improve (question the recruitment process) or they don’t want to play for Ross.

02-01-2021, 04:39 PM
I wish you would just go.

02-01-2021, 04:41 PM
I think if truth be known on this forum, we are well up in this league at the moment, but to say we are setting the league on fire is somewhat over stated!
After most games we have said it was a good result but the play was not to standard.
Now the results have gone the other way and teams have found a way to play us, everyone is looking back on some of our results, and added to the last 2-3 bad results, we've all seen it coming!
Changing the manager is not the way to go, its a gut reaction to poor results, that in the end only costs the club more money!!!!

02-01-2021, 04:42 PM
If we don’t win the semi final that will be 2 SF’s we’ve lost to teams we undoubtably should have beaten which is unforgivable quite frankly. Of course we may win it so we’ll have to wait and see and if we do win the cup it will be a successful season. It’s on a knife edge at the moment.

02-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Is 4th success now?

Given our budget and investment, 4th is the minimum in my book, I’m not sure Ross would deserve a pat on the back for achieving it.

Celtic are in a state this year and may well now implode completely that the title is gone, so it’s not just 3rd that could be achievable. Meanwhile Livi have 2 games in hand on us, so 4th can hardly be thought of as a stick on at this point.

That’s not to say that finishing 4th should get Ross sacked, but in the circumstances it’s probably the lowest we could finish and his future not become a subject for serious consideration.

There is 4th as expected and there is 4th giving 3rd a good fight and taking points off the Old Firm / Aberdeen / doing well in cups.

4th with a big gap to 3rd and just above 5th isn’t anything to get excited about - especially with our resources and Hearts out the league - a chance to push on being missed once again.

02-01-2021, 04:46 PM
Factor in the fact that Ross is not Ron Gordon's man and with performances like recently, then Ron may want his own guy in.

02-01-2021, 04:46 PM

4th with a big gap to 3rd and just above 5th....

I'm as annoyed as anybody else but let's not start making things up.

We're 3 points behind third place and 9 points above fifth.

I'm not suggesting things will stay that way but that's how it is just now.

02-01-2021, 04:48 PM
The most concerning thing of it all is this is Livingston football club and after being pumped off bottom of the league County it was far far too predictable today would happen.

Hope you popped a bet on then!

If we don’t win the semi final that will be 2 SF’s we’ve lost to teams we undoubtably should have beaten which is unforgivable quite frankly. Of course we may win it so we’ll have to wait and see and if we do win the cup it will be a successful season. It’s on a knife edge at the moment.

We are Hibs ffs we will always just be two or three games away from disaster or Glory that's just the way it is, but the manager gets paid to sort it out, now he needs to show that he can manage and sort it out, or like every other one before him he will have to find another job.

We won't win the Semi.

02-01-2021, 04:49 PM
The teams scoring first is a valid point. I think we’ve lost every game where we’ve lost the first goal, in the league.

There isn’t any character in there when we’re up against it. They’re all happy enough to show for the ball and knock it about when we’re winning though.

We haven't won a league game after conceding the first goal for almost a year, which is nine matches.

02-01-2021, 04:49 PM
Hope you popped a bet on then!

I bet on Hibs to win Hearts to lose like I do each week. Game over after ten mins. Got points in the prediction thread mind you.

Zambernardi1875
02-01-2021, 04:50 PM
I'm as annoyed as anybody else but let's not start making things up.

We're 3 points behind third place and 9 points above fifth.

I'm not suggesting things will stay that way but that's how it is just now.

aberdeen 3 ahead with two games in hand

livingston 9 points behind with two games in hand. you missed that out

02-01-2021, 04:50 PM
We haven't won a league game after conceding the first goal for almost a year, which is nine matches.

Records good or bad are there to be broken.

02-01-2021, 04:53 PM
So why did he not improve us from the last defeat, is he just biding his time or kidding the opposition a wee bit or is it he just hasn't a clue ?I think you haven't a clue tbh

Your talking about super short term form when the poster was talking about long term progress which undoubtedly we have made the last 12 months

02-01-2021, 04:56 PM
He's not for me. Said so a while back.

Fair enough he has us fourth in the league (bare miminum we should be this season) and in the semi final of the league Cup. But I can't stand the football on show majority of the time.

So predictable. Long ball pish with no creativity and no other plan. Subs are usually too late or just bizarre.

02-01-2021, 04:57 PM
I think if truth be known on this forum, we are well up in this league at the moment, but to say we are setting the league on fire is somewhat over stated!
After most games we have said it was a good result but the play was not to standard.
Now the results have gone the other way and teams have found a way to play us, everyone is looking back on some of our results, and added to the last 2-3 bad results, we've all seen it coming!
Changing the manager is not the way to go, its a gut reaction to poor results, that in the end only costs the club more money!!!!

I agree with your points but I dont agree about the manager. I wouldnt be firing him as things stand but I would be giving serious but quiet and private thought as to who I would like to see as our next manager could be and the best time for that to happen, but only after exhausting all attempts at helping the current manager improve things. I need to make my position clear though in that I wasnt a JR fan at the start, then he probably won me over but performances, not results, have mainly swayed me back to my starting point. Not a big fan but I appreciate we could have done worse.

02-01-2021, 04:58 PM
I think you haven't a clue tbh

Your talking about super short term form when the poster was talking about long term progress which undoubtedly we have made the last 12 months

Wait a minute, the Livi manager came in when they were garbage and they have won i think seven on the trot ! that is short term progress with resources a fraction of our own so i think i might be correct ?

02-01-2021, 05:03 PM

Exactly.

Aberdeen aren’t losing games like us and dropping points all over the place.

They have had the occasional off day but 3rd and comfortable to finish 3rd.

There is no way we are staying with them, more concerned about not going 5th..to a team that changed their manager and are winning games.

02-01-2021, 05:04 PM
Wait a minute, the Livi manager came in when they were garbage and they have won i think seven on the trot ! that is short term progress with resources a fraction of our own so i think i might be correct ?Your not

Although we were unbeaten in ten before the game at Ibrox

02-01-2021, 05:04 PM
They only get away with the slow side to side one pass forward 2 passes back stuff because there are no fans there.

02-01-2021, 05:06 PM
Ask yourself this...if we were to play Hearts anytime soon..would you be confident?

I know I wouldn’t be as they have players who would bully us and grind out a result.

We have developed a soft spot sadly and until we find more aggression/ hunger we will hover 6th to 4th and be lucky to win any derbies. Ross has managed 3 and lost 2 I believe.

02-01-2021, 05:07 PM
Wait a minute, the Livi manager came in when they were garbage and they have won i think seven on the trot ! that is short term progress with resources a fraction of our own so i think i might be correct ?

If he keeps it up then it will be long term progress. Dont know about his other wins but beating Hibs at home just now compares to taking candy from a baby.

02-01-2021, 05:07 PM
Jack Ross shouldn't be sacked. Anyone suggesting he should are being overly reactionary at the moment. But on the other hand you can't just shut down criticism of him and those questioning his ability to be a real long term success here.

The football is turgid, we spent the first half of the season so far being difficult to beat and scoring the odd goal to take us over the line. We've never really started scoring goals consistently and now were losing our ability to defend. That is a huge worry as we stare down the barrel of the second half of the season.

The squad needs a lot of work this window to give us as best a chance of keeping hold of 4th but also not falling too far behind 3rd. If it's even possible given out current form.

Jack Ross needs to arrest this slide and it doesn't get easier with Celtic next. Perhaps playing some actual football might help.

Dr What If?
02-01-2021, 05:09 PM

Alas but for fine margins and poor luck.....should have beat Celtic if it wasn't for a dodgy penalty against us, should have taken something from Ibrox but for a stone waller we didn't get. The Hearts result was a sickener, it was an even match but can't say Hearts didn't deserve it in the end.....that game really, really mattered, we deserved better.
What makes the last 2 results worse is we deserved them, we have been second best. Our players are better than that, its like they have all lost form at the same time....its actually bizarre!

02-01-2021, 05:09 PM
Absolutely no way should he be getting the sack.

But pressure is on. The semi loss against Hearts was a sore one, if (and that's a big if) we don't win the LC he's going to struggle to win back the fans.

All teams lose games and have poor performances but the last couple have been a real shocker. They don't feel like bad days at the office - every player was poor, and the manager didn't seem to know how to change things.

I fear we are at the start of a downward spiral but I'd love to be proven wrong.

Stokesy's on fire
02-01-2021, 05:10 PM
He has to start winning the big games

Also has to me start being ruthless with the team. Half of them aren’t good enough.

Got to fear though season ticket sales for next year will drop dramatically

He also has to strat winning the not so big games..

The clubs aim should be 3rd upwards any lower than that is not acceptable

02-01-2021, 05:12 PM

But pressure is on. The semi loss against Hearts was a sore one, if (and that's a big if) we don't win the LC he's going to struggle to win back the fans.

All teams lose games and have poor performances but the last couple have been a real shocker. They don't feel like bad days at the office - every player was poor, and the manager didn't seem to know how to change things.

I fear we are at the start of a downward spiral but I'd love to be proven wrong.

Thats how I see it too.

gaz1875
02-01-2021, 05:14 PM
We are the slowest team in the league by a mile. Every team that comes to Easter Road has plenty space when they have the ball and seem to stroll past our midfield and defence. Even the lower league teams in the League Cup matches were a struggle bar the last 15 minutes against Dundee. We have no pace other than Boyle who is easily marked out the game. This isn't a new thing either its been happening for years.

Hibiza
02-01-2021, 05:16 PM
3rd place , no chance. No inspiration , no motivation , just another day in the office. Get pelters no doubt , truth hurts.

02-01-2021, 05:19 PM
3rd place , no chance. No inspiration , no motivation , just another day in the office. Get pelters no doubt , truth hurts.

Why would you get pelters?

02-01-2021, 05:20 PM
I wish the players showed the same fight that I've seen on here today. We are too soft. Lost the fight against Hearts in the horrible conditions too. Plenty decent footballers but not enough character. We don't have that nastiness we need. I thought Gogic might bring that but he just seems another nice guy. Nobody jumps out to me as being captain material. Gray and McGregor yes but can't be a capitan from the bench. Is that down to Ross? Maybe. Gray was Stubbs first signing so he obviously knew his character and what it would bring. I'm sure Ross knows this himself and I'm willing to give him a chance to sort it this month. Teams like Ross County, Hamilton and Livi will dig in in the winter months and battle for everything. We don't have that.

Davy Mac
02-01-2021, 05:21 PM

The question for me is, does our Manager actually want to be here?

I'm not convinced.

02-01-2021, 05:22 PM
We are the slowest team in the league by a mile. Every team that comes to Easter Road has plenty space when they have the ball and seem to stroll past our midfield and defence. Even the lower league teams in the League Cup matches were a struggle bar the last 15 minutes against Dundee. We have no pace other than Boyle who is easily marked out the game. This isn't a new thing either its been happening for years.

Yeah, I thought that it was pretty noticeable that man for man we appeared to be a decent bit slower than our opposite numbers today.

02-01-2021, 05:23 PM

I understand that... and I admit to not being confident about staying in front... but let's just wait and see what happens in those games-in-hand before stating it as fact.

Like I said, I'm also not best pleased with our performances in a lot of recent games, so I'm not trying to be a happy-clapper or anything like that

02-01-2021, 05:25 PM
We're short a couple of athletes in the middle of the park. We'll still win games, but we need a driving force in the middle to be consistent. It's not a lot, but it's hard to find.

02-01-2021, 05:26 PM
We won't win the Semi.

Which is depressing. ‘04 and ‘16 LC finals all over it.

gaz1875
02-01-2021, 05:30 PM
Yeah, I thought that it was pretty noticeable that man for man we appeared to be a decent bit slower than our opposite numbers today.

Sadly its nearly every game. There was a run my McGinn second half he actually looked like he was running in quick sand.

02-01-2021, 05:32 PM
We're short a couple of athletes in the middle of the park. We'll still win games, but we need a driving force in the middle to be consistent. It's not a lot, but it's hard to find.

Yup. That is by far the biggest failing we have imo.

Our midfield must be one of the most unathletic in the league.

We need a Docherty type player in there - someone with legs who can get about and get up and down the pitch.

02-01-2021, 05:35 PM
I wish the players showed the same fight that I've seen on here today. We are too soft. Lost the fight against Hearts in the horrible conditions too. Plenty decent footballers but not enough character. We don't have that nastiness we need. I thought Gogic might bring that but he just seems another nice guy. Nobody jumps out to me as being captain material. Gray and McGregor yes but can't be a capitan from the bench. Is that down to Ross? Maybe. Gray was Stubbs first signing so he obviously knew his character and what it would bring. I'm sure Ross knows this himself and I'm willing to give him a chance to sort it this month. Teams like Ross County, Hamilton and Livi will dig in in the winter months and battle for everything. We don't have that.

That’s the crux of it. Our two natural leaders are past it and on the bench. Grogic is a tough tackling enforcer but he’s the silent assassin type rather than the guy who shouts at and motivates other players.

Kinross Hibee
02-01-2021, 05:36 PM
Give him the next transfer window, assess rest of this season and take it from there... We're still in for a shout at a major piece of silverware! Offer me 4th and a league cup at start of season, id have been a happy chap 🇳🇬

#2 Double Tap
02-01-2021, 05:37 PM

We need a Docherty type player in there - someone with legs who can get about and get up and down the pitch.

we do need some CM'ers but Docherty was pish. just another player who went missing in the derby.

02-01-2021, 05:38 PM
Give him the next transfer window, assess rest of this season and take it from there... We're still in for a shout at a major piece of silverware! Offer me 4th and a league cup at start of season, id have been a happy chap 🇳🇬

Is that Neil

02-01-2021, 05:40 PM

Docherty transformed the team when he came onto it last season.

I’m still happy that we have some decent players but we badly need energy in midfield.

We have too many players in our already small squad who can’t be relied upon to provide a sizeable or meaningful contribution.

02-01-2021, 05:42 PM
we do need some CM'ers but Docherty was pish. just another player who went missing in the derby.

Docherty was excellent.

Had a bad night in the derby when all of our players were posted missing.

#2 Double Tap
02-01-2021, 05:42 PM

another transfer window.....pppfftttt.

our recruitment team dont deserve another window, wright, murphy, mcgennis, mcginn, gogic. Thats what they came up with to sort out our midfield, 2 injury prone, 2 nowhere near good enough, and a guy who looks like a headless chicken when he passes the halfway line.

#2 Double Tap
02-01-2021, 05:44 PM
Docherty was excellent.

Had a bad night in the derby when all of our players were posted missing.

latapy was excellent, docherty had one good game v killie.

02-01-2021, 05:45 PM
That's two abysmal results and performances on the trot against teams we should really be beating at ER - 6 points dropped - and yet only a week ago we were coming away from Ibrox justly disappointed for not getting at least a draw from a very impressive Rangers side.

I think there is talent in this Hibs side and that Ross has improved us since his arrival - but can only conclude that they have collectively hit a bit of a wall, mentally and/or physically, and that we lack the numbers to freshen things up. Both Doidge and Nisbet are off form up front with only young Gullen to cover for them - while at the back we similarly have very little to choose from if either Hanlon or Porteous get injured or lose form. I know other sides have similar problems to contend with but that's the way I see it.

I think Ross should be given the chance to bolster the squad this window with the aim of winning the League Cup and securing a European spot. If he fails to do either then I think his position should seriously be under review. For now though I think he's earned the chance to turn things around and there seems little risk in allowing him the opportunity to try - changing manager on the other hand is always a gamble (as well as an expense) and should not be rushed into. Things can change quickly in football though, and 3 losses on the trot is very poor form if not quite at the jotters stage - if approaching the end of January it's 6 losses on the trot I might reconsider.

Kinross Hibee
02-01-2021, 05:47 PM
another transfer window.....pppfftttt.

our recruitment team dont deserve another window, wright, murphy, mcgennis, mcginn, gogic. Thats what they came up with to sort out our midfield, 2 injury prone, 2 nowhere near good enough, and a guy who looks like a headless chicken when he passes the halfway line.

Ok, aswell just sacking him then 👍

02-01-2021, 05:48 PM
latapy was excellent, docherty had one good game v killie.

Yep, overall he was gash. The derby match was merely a heavy skid mark on the pair of manky y -fronts that represents Docherty’s time at Hibs.

h1bs4life
02-01-2021, 07:05 PM
Thought Ross was a good appointment at the time , good start although some of the performances while not the best we racked up the points.
Semi final loss was a major setback and home performances have been sore to watch.
Think we have better players than both Ross County and Livingston but they were better organised and scrapped for everything.
Not for the 1st time we have been outfought this season , no leadership , soft as s###. All the away teams have a push / kick at Boyle until one gets booked then someone else has a go.
We are far to nice, was thinking we have a great chance of winning the league cup now 2 of the other semi final teams have beat us.
The fact he is looking at giving both Newell and Stevenson new contracts causes a bit concern he maybe deserves a chance to fix things but if Ron Gordon was to give him the boot it wouldn't bother me.

02-01-2021, 07:08 PM
Thought Ross was a good appointment at the time , good start although some of the performances while not the best we racked up the points.
Semi final loss was a major setback and home performances have been sore to watch.
Think we have better players than both Ross County and Livingston but they were better organised and scrapped for everything.
Not for the 1st time we have been outfought this season , no leadership , soft as s###. All the away teams have a push / kick at Boyle until one gets booked then someone else has a go.
We are far to nice, was thinking we have a great chance of winning the league cup now 2 of the other semi final teams have beat us.
The fact he is looking at giving both Newell and Stevenson new contracts causes a bit concern he maybe deserves a chance to fix things but if Ron Gordon was to give him the boot it wouldn't bother me.

Would that be the same newell that has been possibly the best player on the park most weeks all season

02-01-2021, 07:11 PM
People that want Ross sacked or to walk away while we are 4th in the league and doing reasonably well overall, who do you think should replace him? who is good enough for you?

I have supported hibs since 1983 and havent seen us ever be consistently good, we are in the race for 3rd no matter how you spin it. The last two games have been awful but I'm not really sure what people expect from supporting hibs? was there an alternate timeline I missed where we were a force to be reckoned with?

02-01-2021, 07:12 PM

I am with you on the downward spiral and of course hope I am wrong as well, although seen this type of thing happen so many times with Hibs, it really is a bit of a mystery.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:13 PM
He needs to go.

02-01-2021, 07:14 PM

No interested in what happens in the office but what happens on the pitch, we need to turn this slide around and we need to do it fast.

02-01-2021, 07:16 PM
He needs to go.

Replaced by who!
I keep asking this question but dont seem to get many straight or plausable replies, we sack J.R. and replace him with who.

loanheadhibby
02-01-2021, 07:17 PM
People that want Ross sacked or to walk away while we are 4th in the league and doing reasonably well overall, who do you think should replace him? who is good enough for you?

I have supported hibs since 1983 and havent seen us ever be consistently good, we are in the race for 3rd no matter how you spin it. The last two games have been awful but I'm not really sure what people expect from supporting hibs? was there an alternate timeline I missed where we were a force to be reckoned with?

We are not consistently good. We are dire and boring to watch. There is no excitement. It’s like watching paint dry.

We have consistently got results but that does not necessarily mean we have played well.

You can’t keep a manager just because you have no one else in mind to replace him.

If I’m Jack Ross, today is a significant day. Lots of fans starting to turn on him and with the semi final defeat to them, it’s the start of a slippery slope.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:17 PM
Replaced by who!
I keep asking this question but dont seem to get many straight or plausable replies, we sack J.R. and replace him with who.

That’s up to the board to decide, do you think he will win anything with us? Fair enough he won a Scottish Championship with St Mirren but what has he done since?

02-01-2021, 07:21 PM
We are not consistently good. We are dire and boring to watch. There is no excitement. It’s like watching paint dry.

We have consistently got results but that does not necessarily mean we have played well.

You can’t keep a manager just because you have no one else in mind to replace him.

If I’m Jack Ross, today is a significant day. Lots of fans starting to turn on him and with the semi final defeat to them, it’s the start of a slippery slope.

I didn't say we are consistently good though, we never have been. My whole life supporting hibs has been hoping we don't play like today and hoping we have one of our good days.

Also, you can keep a manager because there is no replacement, but Jack is doing better than most Hibs managers in my lifetime so far. He is doing pretty well overall and unless we lose the next 3 or 4 games on the bounce that will continue to be statistically true.

02-01-2021, 07:22 PM
That’s up to the board to decide, do you think he will win anything with us? Fair enough he won a Scottish Championship with St Mirren but what has he done since?

I am no too fussed one way or the other, just wonder who would replace him, your question/comment is a wee bit like asking "what have the Romans ever done for us"

02-01-2021, 07:23 PM

Do we only sign a manager if he has won something, our list of potential managers will be very short if and when Jack Ross leaves

02-01-2021, 07:24 PM

He was Sunderland manager and statistically better than the previous manager they had and any one that came after him.

02-01-2021, 07:24 PM
Not really. We’re 4th.

Moronic? He’ll be sacked at some point. His football is eye bleeding. Can’t stand watching his teams. Has no idea to set up in games we should be winning, especially at home.

My opinion, but hardly moronic you tube

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:25 PM
Do we only sign a manager if he has won something, our list of potential managers will be very short if and when Jack Ross leaves

Are you happy to lose at home to the likes of Ross County and Livingston with a goal difference of -5? As well as losing to our championship rivals in a Scottish cup semi final?

02-01-2021, 07:25 PM
Replaced by who!

I’m not one that’s saying he should be sacked but it’s a stupid question.

There’s a whole world of football people out there, the idea that the only one that can do it is Jack Ross is ridiculous. Whoever does replace him will go through a recruitment process.

Fwiw Mathie said in the long angers podcast he was on that we were looking at the guy who went to Barnsley I think it was. He was a manager in Germany before so the idea that your average supporter on a forum would know all the possible replacements is a non starter.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:26 PM
He was Sunderland manager and statistically better than the previous manager they had and any one that came after him.

But still failed in his main target of getting promoted.

Hibees1973
02-01-2021, 07:27 PM
If he loses the next semi final punt him.

02-01-2021, 07:28 PM
But still failed in his main target of getting promoted.

What do you think the realistic goals are for hibs?

Win the league? do you live on the moon?

It will be to get to the latter stages of the cup and finish in the top 6. We have NEVER consistently finished in the top six over multiple seasons. That is our level.

If you want to get better you need to build something, we change managers all the ****ing time, he's only been here just over a year and has a better record than most modern hibs managers.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:30 PM

It will be to get to the latter stages of the cup and finish in the top 6. We have NEVER consistently finished in the top six over multiple seasons. That is our level.

If you want to get better you need to build something, we change managers all the ****ing time, he's only been here just over a year and has a better record than most modern hibs managers.

With Aberdeen being pretty poor for their standards this season I fully expect us to be 3rd with a much better home record and a Scottish Cup final appearance.

02-01-2021, 07:30 PM

Our realistic goal should never just be a top 6 finish.

A club of our size should be aiming for European football every single time without fail. An it’s a very very realistic one.

02-01-2021, 07:31 PM
With Aberdeen being pretty poor for their standards this season I fully expect us to be 3rd with a much better home record and a Scottish Cup final appearance.

Aberdeen are much stronger than we are with a much better squad overall, not sure why you would expect this.

02-01-2021, 07:33 PM
Our realistic goal should never just be a top 6 finish.

A club of our size should be aiming for European football every single time without fail. An it’s a very very realistic one.

It should be, but we rarely come close nevermind with any consistency. Things don't happen overnight, you need to work towards it, we dont give him one transfer window during a pandemic then hit 3rd consistently for 4 years running. We have made progress from where we were last year, it's been an AWFUL last week or so, and losing to hearts was terrible, but this doesnt represent the whole picture.

02-01-2021, 07:34 PM
Replaced by who!

There are hundreds of managers in the U.K. and abroad who would be interested to work at a capital city club pushing for Europe.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:34 PM
Aberdeen are much stronger than we are with a much better squad overall, not sure why you would expect this.

I honestly wouldn’t be surprised if we end up throwing 4th and don’t win the league cup when we are favourites. I hate to feel that way but it’s probably the reality of the situation we find ourselves in.

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 07:35 PM
Today.
Ross County.
St Johnstone.
Alloa.
Dundee Utd.
Semi Final
Sheep x 2.
Motherwell at home.

Have I imagined us beating Alloa and being in the semi finals? :confused:

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:36 PM

Scraping a win against Alloa is hardly something to be proud of. Even Hecky managed a league cup semi final.

02-01-2021, 07:37 PM
There are hundreds of managers in the U.K. and abroad who would be interested to work at a capital city club pushing for Europe.

If we are pushing for Europe then why are you sacking the manager?

My issue with Ross is that I can’t really see how he wants to play. Generally, when we’ve had good teams/managers it’s been quite apparent. When you look at the signings, I’m not really sure that some of them are being brought in to serve a specific purpose as you would expect when you’re trying to build a team.

I think we’ve done all right because we have better players than most of the teams in the league but I don’t think he’s getting the maximum he can out of many (if any) of them.

I’ve not really enjoyed watching us this year and whilst I probably don’t think we should be considering punting him at the moment, I wouldn’t miss him if he was away.

SweetDreams

Because we will end up losing our place in Europe.

02-01-2021, 07:38 PM

Top 3/4 minimum but performing well - not losing to dross. Occasionally beating Aberdeen and Hearts also!

Top 5 / 6 is failure for me in a dross league with our resources.

Regarding cups..it’s hard to win a cup but we have a great chance with the draw and old firm / Aberdeen and Hearts out.

My worry is we lose the semi and then sack the manager when it’s too late.

Even if we win the semi - we play 2 teams who have just beat us - only positive may be that we won’t let it happen again??!

But I understand the building and stability part - I’m just shocked how this week has turned out as after Ibrox we had a balanced team and we have pressed self destruct with dodgy team selections / performances and subs during the game.

02-01-2021, 07:41 PM
My issue with Ross is that I can’t really see how he wants to play. Generally, when we’ve had good teams/managers it’s been quite apparent. When you look at the signings, I’m not really sure that some of them are being brought in to serve a specific purpose as you would expect when you’re trying to build a team.

I think we’ve done all right because we have better players than most of the teams in the league but I don’t think he’s getting the maximum he can out of many (if any) of them.

I’ve not really enjoyed watching us this year and whilst I probably don’t think we should be considering punting him at the moment, I wouldn’t miss him if he was away.

I agree with this and that’s why I’m concerned.

The lack of a solid spine and midfield especially is a problem.

We haven’t got the midfield right since SJM left and you could argue we have lost players like Horgan / Bartley and Efe who would fit into the current team.

Our recruitment hasn’t exactly helped either as we have used money to bring players in to not play much.

02-01-2021, 07:42 PM
Definitely sack this imposter that can't manage. 24183

mcfly
02-01-2021, 07:42 PM
I’m don’t think sacking the manager now is correct but the pressure is on him.

I don’t recall him winning any big game against a top side.. please correct me if I’m wrong.

He lost the Scottish cup to a terrible hearts team
If he loses the league cup semi as well I’d have to class him as a big game bottler and that’s no good for us.

He needs to drop the underperforming players and seriously consider getting rid of a few as well

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 07:44 PM
Scraping a win against Alloa is hardly something to be proud of. Even Hecky managed a league cup semi final.

Who said it was something to be proud of? But at the same time, getting through in a cup tie on a ***** pitch is not always easy and we did the job, so using it as a stick to beat him with is ****ing pathetic.

Frankly I'm sick of some of this support. Don't even know what they're complaining about half the time. They just want something to be pissed off at.

We aren’t pushing for Europe. Pushing Aberdeen for 3rd is pushing for Europe.

We are hanging onto 4th against clubs who have a fraction of our budget.

We have an unbelievable chance to win the league cup and we are going to chuck that away in around 20 days time unless we add some more depth / midfield to this team.

HibeeHibernian4

I don’t recall him winning any big game against a top side.. please correct me if I’m wrong.

If he loses the league cup semi as well I’d have to class him as a big game bottler and that’s no good for us.

He needs to drop the underperforming players and seriously consider getting rid of a few as well

Hibs 3-0 Aberdeen.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:45 PM

The sad reality is that after the Hearts game, the pressure was always going to be on to deliver and get results.

He has been backed well compared to previous managers. Losing at home to Ross County and Livingston, conceding 5 and scoring 0 is not good enough in my book and I can’t see us beating Celtic away or Rangers at home.

St Johnstone will be interesting, I pray we win but I’m not as confident I should be.

Long season ahead.

02-01-2021, 07:45 PM
Top 3/4 minimum but performing well - not losing to dross. Occasionally beating Aberdeen and Hearts also!

Top 5 / 6 is failure for me in a dross league with our resources.

Regarding cups..it’s hard to win a cup but we have a great chance with the draw and old firm / Aberdeen and Hearts out.

My worry is we lose the semi and then sack the manager when it’s too late.

Even if we win the semi - we play 2 teams who have just beat us - only positive may be that we won’t let it happen again??!

But I understand the building and stability part - I’m just shocked how this week has turned out as after Ibrox we had a balanced team and we have pressed self destruct with dodgy team selections / performances and subs during the game.

We have a squad with very little depth and this will be in part due to the pandemic. Recent losses and many of our losses have been down to bad individual errors.

Many people are citing the 3-2 win over hamilton as us hanging on but in reality we played very well and Porteous was on a one man suicide mission, giving away a goal, scoring an OG and giving away a penalty. Today's goals were avoidable and the second and third goals are personal errors from specific players cuasing them. We should do better but we currently dont have the depth to even drop players when they are doing bad.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 07:46 PM
Who said it was something to be proud of? But at the same time, getting through in a cup tie on a ***** pitch is not always easy and we did the job, so using it as a stick to beat him with is ****ing pathetic.

Frankly I'm sick of some of this support. Don't even know what they're complaining about half the time. They just want something to be pissed off at.

We are 4th and in a league cup semi final. Would have took your hand off for that at the beginning of the season but the last month or so hasn’t filled me with confidence that we will be so successful come the end of the season.

02-01-2021, 07:47 PM

Did you watch the game? We were passive, pedestrian and Alloa could have quite easily won that.

02-01-2021, 07:49 PM
I’m not one that’s saying he should be sacked but it’s a stupid question.

There’s a whole world of football people out there, the idea that the only one that can do it is Jack Ross is ridiculous. Whoever does replace him will go through a recruitment process.

Fwiw Mathie said in the long angers podcast he was on that we were looking at the guy who went to Barnsley I think it was. He was a manager in Germany before so the idea that your average supporter on a forum would know all the possible replacements is a non starter.

I have already said that it would not faze me one way or the other if Ross goes or stays, many on here saying bin him, I asked to be replaced by who! The recruitment process has done us well since Stubbsy eh!
No one saying anyone would know all possible replacements dont be daft, but for no names to be put forward to replace him is a wee bit strange on a forum with so many opinions, it is also a wee bit of a strange thread started by a jambo?.