View Full Version : Jack Ross

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

mcfly
02-01-2021, 07:50 PM
Hibs 3-0 Aberdeen.

So 1 win v a top club in how many attempts?

As I say pressure is on big time.

Season tickets sales will collapse unless he starts winning and the football improves because it’s terrible to watch and he just doesn’t seem to inspire the fans.

02-01-2021, 07:51 PM
We have a squad with very little depth and this will be in part due to the pandemic. Recent losses and many of our losses have been down to bad individual errors.

Many people are citing the 3-2 win over hamilton as us hanging on but in reality we played very well and Porteous was on a one man suicide mission, giving away a goal, scoring an OG and giving away a penalty. Today's goals were avoidable and the second and third goals are personal errors from specific players cuasing them. We should do better but we currently dont have the depth to even drop players when they are doing bad.

Last 2 games the team selections and style of play / lack of application is unacceptable. It was bad enough losing 2-0 to bottom of the league but then zero reaction and getting beat 3-0 going on about 5 from Livi is a shambles.

The way he set out the team - didn’t make any subs at half time in both games and general mess he’s made of home games..Dundee Utd late goal..Celtic late goal..this weeks 5-0 games (3-0 and 2-0) is way below standard for a Hibs manager.

I don’t expect to win every game but it’s the manner we lose and this week is up there with the home derby loss and semi final loss for being simply not good enough.

We aren’t pushing for Europe. Pushing Aberdeen for 3rd is pushing for Europe.

We are hanging onto 4th against clubs who have a fraction of our budget.

We have an unbelievable chance to win the league cup and we are going to chuck that away in around 20 days time unless we add some more depth / midfield to this team.

So we arent pushing Aberdeen because we are two points behind them, but we ARE hanging on to 4th while being 9 points ahead of the team in 5th?

Liam978
The sad reality is that after the Hearts game, the pressure was always going to be on to deliver and get results.

He has been backed well compared to previous managers. Losing at home to Ross County and Livingston, conceding 5 and scoring 0 is not good enough in my book and I can’t see us beating Celtic away or Rangers at home.

St Johnstone will be interesting, I pray we win but I’m not as confident I should be.

Long season ahead.

In this mood also. alarming that JR has been outthought and outmanouvered by Yogi and the newby.

02-01-2021, 07:53 PM
Definitely sack this imposter that can't manage. 24183

Interesting for all them footbal managers out there.

02-01-2021, 07:57 PM
If we are pushing for Europe then why are you sacking the manager?Coz we've lost 3 outta 13 games.... 3 in a row and modern day human likes to throw the toys out the pram

Imho

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

loanheadhibby
02-01-2021, 07:58 PM
Definitely sack this imposter that can't manage. 24183

Good stats.

Would you rather watch a Tony Mowbray Hibs team or a Jack Ross Hibs team?

02-01-2021, 07:59 PM
Good stats.

Exactly.

02-01-2021, 07:59 PM
Good stats.

Its a toss up, either are capable of chucking away crucial games.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 08:00 PM
Coz we've lost 3 outta 13 games.... 3 in a row and modern day human likes to throw the toys out the pram

Imho

Livingston win their 2 games in hand and they are 3 points behind us.

Aberdeen have been on a poor run of form, we had the chance to get onto that by beating Ross County and Livi at home but didn’t turn up. 2 of our next 3 games are Celtic and Rangers, we will see how that pans out and where we are in February. We might even get knocked out the league cup by a team 17 points behind us.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 08:01 PM
Good stats.

I would take Stubbs in a heartbeat over Ross.

02-01-2021, 08:03 PM

The guy that failed 3 times to get us promoted?

02-01-2021, 08:04 PM
Livingston win their 2 games in hand and they are 3 points behind us.

Aberdeen have been on a poor run of form, we had the chance to get onto that by beating Ross County and Livi at home but didn’t turn up. 2 of our next 3 games are Celtic and Rangers, we will see how that pans out and where we are in February. We might even get knocked out the league cup by a team 17 points behind us.Might

Based on our long term results under our current manager it's more likely we will do OK

I'm surprised Aberdeen haven't sacked Mcinnes yet

Weird.

If we won all the games we were “supposed” to win and lost the games we were “supposed” to lose then we would end up 4th. Some massive overreactions on here. Couple of grim
results but we are better than this.

With Aberdeen being pretty poor for their standards this season I fully expect us to be 3rd with a much better home record and a Scottish Cup final appearance.

:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao: Very good - living up to your handle I see. That would certainly be a nice outcome - but to EXPECT it is letting yourself in for a fall a wee bit! So wouldn't a League Cup Final win qualify for a space in your dreamscape???

02-01-2021, 08:05 PM
The guy that failed 3 times to get us promoted?But he won a cup so knows how to win the big games

Obviously the Falkirk game a week before wasn't a bottle job just unfortunate

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 08:05 PM
:rotflmao::rotflmao::rotflmao: Very good - living up to your handle I see. That would certainly be a nice outcome - but to EXPECT it is letting yourself in for a fall a wee bit! So wouldn't a League Cup Final win qualify for a space in your dreamscape???

I would expect us to be beat a championship over a premiership side any day.

02-01-2021, 08:06 PM
If we won all the games we were “supposed” to win and lost the games we were “supposed” to lose then we would end up 4th. Some massive overreactions on here. Couple of grim
results but we are better than this.

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkIf we won the games we are supposed to win based on here we would be on Rangers coat tails [emoji23]

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 08:07 PM

Stubbs made me believe in Hibs again after our relegation. That man delivered us one of the greatest days of our lives.

Ross delivered the worst day I’ve experienced since that day.

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 08:07 PM

Some feat that he managed that in two seasons.

It's almost like you lot don't know the first thing about football.

#2 Double Tap
02-01-2021, 08:08 PM
People that want Ross sacked or to walk away while we are 4th in the league and doing reasonably well overall, who do you think should replace him? who is good enough for you?

I have supported hibs since 1983 and havent seen us ever be consistently good, we are in the race for 3rd no matter how you spin it. The last two games have been awful but I'm not really sure what people expect from supporting hibs? was there an alternate timeline I missed where we were a force to be reckoned with?

I started going to games when alex miller was boss, since then out of 16 managers, 4 or 5 of them have got some kinda pass marks, the rest have been dross. The biggest problem we have had over the years is appointing the right people. If we appointed someone in the mold of a mcliesh or a mowbray instead of a butcher, a fenlon, or a heckingbottom then that alternative timeline might just have existed.

We ain t in a race for third,that ship sailed weeks ago, more performances like the last two and we will be lucky to finish in the top 6 never mind 4th, imo.

Inconsequential
02-01-2021, 08:09 PM
Ross out! James McPake in! :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

02-01-2021, 08:10 PM
Coz we've lost 3 outta 13 games.... 3 in a row and modern day human likes to throw the toys out the pram

Imho

Don’t think that’s fair. Quite a number of folk have been far from convinced, even when we were winning and didn’t necessarily feel that we’d sustain the results we were getting. When you looked at our league results a few weeks ago, over the course of the season, you’d have said they were good. They’re starting to look a bit more average with the win percentage dropping now.

HibeeHibernian4
I started going to games when alex miller was boss, since then out of 16 managers, 4 or 5 of them have got some kinda pass marks, the rest have been dross. The biggest problem we have had over the years is appointing the right people. If we appointed someone in the mold of a mcliesh or a mowbray instead of a butcher, a fenlon, or a heckingbottom then that alternative timeline might just have existed.

We ain t in a race for third,that ship sailed weeks ago, more performances like the last two and we will be lucky to finish in the top 6 never mind 4th, imo.

There's genuinely no help for you if you think that's true.

Robbie out!

Sorry, wrong thread

h1bs4life
02-01-2021, 08:11 PM
Do we only sign a manager if he has won something, our list of potential managers will be very short if and when Jack Ross leaves

Good question , in my time watching Hibs anytime we have won anything has been with a manager who has had success as a player / manager

1972 League Cup , Dryborough Cup 1972 + 73 Eddie Turnbull
1991 League Cup Alex Miller
2007 League Cup. John Collins
2016 Scottish Cup Alan Stubbs

Even when we got promoted which I don't count as honours
1981 Willie Ormond then Bertie Auld
1998. Alex McLeish
2017 Neil Lennon

Maybe getting a manager who has tasted some sort of success is the way to go

02-01-2021, 08:12 PM
Some feat that he managed that in two seasons.

It's almost like you lot don't know the first thing about football.

Sorry for the typo, but I am replying to a guy who's whole anti-Jack Ross thing is that he "failed" in his task to get sunderland promoted yet he would take a manager who failed in his task to get Hibs promoted from the championship on multiple occasions.

02-01-2021, 08:12 PM
Scraping a win against Alloa is hardly something to be proud of. Even Hecky managed a league cup semi final.

Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts among others have all failed to achieve as much this season - all exiting to clubs they should be beating hands down on paper. Understand your in the dumps after two minging results (I share your pain!) but no need to belittle what has been achieved so far this season.

EI255
02-01-2021, 08:13 PM
A coke dealer cuffs us zero three at Easter Road?

Just wow.

GTF

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

EI255
02-01-2021, 08:14 PM
Good question , in my time watching Hibs anytime we have won anything has been with a manager who has had success as a player / manager

1972 League Cup , Dryborough Cup 1972 + 73 Eddie Turnbull
1991 League Cup Alex Miller
2007 League Cup. John Collins
2016 Scottish Cup Alan Stubbs

Even when we got promoted which I don't count as honours
1981 Willie Ormond then Bertie Auld
1998. Alex McLeish
2017 Neil Lennon

Maybe getting a manager who has tasted some sort of success is the way to goBring in Joe Tortolano FFS!!!!!!

02-01-2021, 08:15 PM
One of the curses of modern football which makes it less attractive than it once was is the bloodlust for management change at the first hint of a poor run.

It’s going to be a tough task not to make it 4 defeats in a row with Celtic up next, but as alarming such a run is if that was to be the case, given our league position and the good work done to achieve that it’s preposterous to really be thinking about change at this stage. Hopefully we can add a couple of new options to the squad this window and we should be well enough equipped to nip this slide in the bud and build up again. Anger and frustration is understandable after such a miserable display, but we all know this group of players is capable of so much better.

SweetDreams
02-01-2021, 08:15 PM
Sorry for the typo, but I am replying to a guy who's whole anti-Jack Ross thing is that he "failed" in his task to get sunderland promoted yet he would take a manager who failed in his task to get Hibs promoted from the championship on multiple occasions.

Alan Stubbs has won bigger trophies than Jack Ross.

#2 Double Tap
02-01-2021, 08:17 PM
There's genuinely no help for you if you think that's true.

duffy>

mcleish> pass

sauzee>

williamson>

Mowbray> pass

collins > pass

mixu>
yogi>

calderwood>
fenlon>
butcher>

stubbs> BIG PASS
lennon> pass

heckingbottom > was so bad i forgot to list him
ross>

I am tempted to pass mixu and yogi.....

Good stats.

Spot on for me.

Liam978

Doe he even really want to be here,still commutes from Sunderland.

02-01-2021, 08:26 PM
Interesting for all them footbal managers out there.
GGTTHSo Jack Ross is only behind someone who managed 11 games and someone who managed exclusively in the Scottish Championship and Jock Stein

Aye get him punted.

02-01-2021, 08:30 PM

Agreed, we’ve had more bad than decent managers in the time period you describe. Horrible reading the list of names when you think back.

02-01-2021, 08:30 PM
Doe he even really want to be here,still commutes from Sunderland.

No he doesn’t. He lives north of Newcastle in Northumberland

h1bs4life
02-01-2021, 08:31 PM
People that want Ross sacked or to walk away while we are 4th in the league and doing reasonably well overall, who do you think should replace him? who is good enough for you?

I have supported hibs since 1983 and havent seen us ever be consistently good, we are in the race for 3rd no matter how you spin it. The last two games have been awful but I'm not really sure what people expect from supporting hibs? was there an alternate timeline I missed where we were a force to be reckoned with?

Brought up with Turnbull's Tornadoes when European Football was the norm.
We even had a couple of 2nd place finishes. While the Old Firm have pulled away financially we still have a budget towards the top of the league and have under achieved , we should always be aiming for top 3 or 4 , Europe and winning cups

02-01-2021, 08:31 PM
Stubbs made me believe in Hibs again after our relegation. That man delivered us one of the greatest days of our lives.

Ross delivered the worst day I’ve experienced since that day.

The semi vs them was a very sore one but I reckon that Hecky dealt us a few results to compete in the pishness dept (1-6 vs der Hun comes to mind). Regardless I agree that was a major failure but any manager deserves to be judged over the piece rather than on isolated results. The semi result was pish (if a bit unlucky), the last two results were utterly pish (and not at all unlucky) but the end result is we are still 4th and in a (different) cup semi. While that remains the case Ross will have my full backing.

May21/05/216
02-01-2021, 08:32 PM
What a hoot some of these comments are

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk

02-01-2021, 08:36 PM
One of the curses of modern football which makes it less attractive than it once was is the bloodlust for management change at the first hint of a poor run.

It’s going to be a tough task not to make it 4 defeats in a row with Celtic up next, but as alarming such a run is if that was to be the case, given our league position and the good work done to achieve that it’s preposterous to really be thinking about change at this stage. Hopefully we can add a couple of new options to the squad this window and we should be well enough equipped to nip this slide in the bud and build up again. Anger and frustration is understandable after such a miserable display, but we all know this group of players is capable of so much better.

Reflecting life in general - folk live for today, expect everything on demand, little thought for the future and no tolerance of failure.

02-01-2021, 08:37 PM
duffy>

mcleish> pass

sauzee>

williamson>

Mowbray> pass

collins > pass

mixu>
yogi>

calderwood>
fenlon>
butcher>

stubbs> BIG PASS
lennon> pass

heckingbottom > was so bad i forgot to list him
ross>

I am tempted to pass mixu and yogi.....

Ones in bold were horrendous and we can now add Jack Loss or Jack Dross to the list.

A defeat at Celtic (highly likely) a week on Monday and he's really struggling as that will be 4 defeats on the bounce, we then play Kily at home, then the St Johnstone semi then Rangers at Easter Rd, then St Mirren away, failure to win any of those games and he's away because by that time other teams from below could have caught up with us and we will be out the cup.

02-01-2021, 08:40 PM
What a hoot some of these comments are

Which ones?

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 08:40 PM
Ones in bold were horrendous and we can now add Jack Loss or Jack Dross to the list.

A defeat at Celtic (highly likely) a week on Monday and he's really struggling as that will be 4 defeats on the bounce, we then play Kily at home, then the St Johnstone semi then Rangers at Easter Rd, then St Mirren away, failure to win any of those games and he's away because by that time other teams from below could have caught up with us and we will be out the cup.

Oh no! Four defeats on the bounce! If that's a sackable offence the first time a manager suffers one then I'm officially done with football.

02-01-2021, 08:41 PM
The semi vs them was a very sore one but I reckon that Hecky dealt us a few results to compete in the pishness dept (1-6 vs der Hun comes to mind). Regardless I agree that was a major failure but any manager deserves to be judged over the piece rather than on isolated results. The semi result was pish (if a bit unlucky), the last two results were utterly pish (and not at all unlucky) but the end result is we are still 4th and in a (different) cup semi. While that remains the case Ross will have my full backing.

Problem with the erratic results and performances is you can't TRUST the players and are always on edge. We've all been there many times before with Hibs. In some ways, we'd be better off knowing and expecting the team to be mediocre - with the odd decent result - as it's the hope that kills. Just when you think they're punching their weight, they kick you in the nuts.

02-01-2021, 08:42 PM

what's his nickname for when we win/draw games ? jack didnaeloss or jack notsodross or jack draws

we need to know

02-01-2021, 08:43 PM
what's his nickname for when we win/draw games ? jack didnaeloss or jack notsodross or jack draws

we need to know

Jack Ross formerly known as Dross and Loss

02-01-2021, 08:45 PM
Oh no! Four defeats on the bounce! If that's a sackable offence the first time a manager suffers one then I'm officially done with football.

If we lose all in the worst case scenario HC presents then that would be 8 straight defeats, which would put any manager under serious scrutiny and pressure. I think we are good enough to avoid such an outcome though.

02-01-2021, 08:46 PM

Aye no bother, you might be happy losing to Shopping Centre Fc 0-3 at home, or Gamekeeper County 0-2 but I'm not. We are losing to absolute ***** without laying a glove on them, you keep happy clapping though...:rolleyes: Well done Hibernian rotten luck today chaps....:clapper:

Pulis was sacked at Sheff Wed after only 10 games. Maybe Ross is getting off lightly?

02-01-2021, 08:52 PM
Aye no bother, you might be happy losing to Shopping Centre Fc 0-3 at home, or Gamekeeper County 0-2 but I'm not. We are losing to absolute ***** without laying a glove on them, you keep happy clapping though...:rolleyes: Well done Hibernian rotten luck today chaps....:clapper:

Pulis was sacked at Sheff Wed after only 10 games. Maybe Ross is getting off lightly?What was pulis win ratio?

Up there with Jock Stein?

ionahibby
02-01-2021, 08:56 PM
No he doesn’t. He lives north of Newcastle in Northumberland

Wow, like that makes a difference right enough. He doesn’t live in Edinburgh never mind Scotland. Enough for me to suggest he doesn’t see us a long term job.
Lose the semi final and he needs to go.

May21/05/216
02-01-2021, 08:57 PM
I admit that the last two performances have been abject but I'm hoping that the board are more sensible than some the people on this
Let see we are in a semi final of the league cup and fighting for a eurpean spot and some but not all are calling for the manager to be replaced first off it will cost the club to pay him off no logic some fans need to start being fans I followed hibs since 1965 and believe this is not the worst time in being a fan

02-01-2021, 08:57 PM
Wow, like that makes a difference right enough. He doesn’t live in Edinburgh never mind Scotland. Enough for me to suggest he doesn’t see us a long term job.

He has spoken regularly about wanting to be at Hibs long term and build something at the club.

He lives where he does because of his family. Don’t see any issue with it.

02-01-2021, 08:59 PM

Or he chose not to uproot when he lost the Sunderland job. Who cares?

He has spoken regularly about wanting to be at Hibs long term and build something at the club.

He lives where he does because of his family. Don’t see any issue with it.Come on, he should move away from them to live on Easter Road

Pre requisite for the job.

What was pulis win ratio?

Up there with Jock Stein?

7 points from 10 games.

HibeeHibernian4
If we lose all in the worst case scenario HC presents then that would be 8 straight defeats, which would put any manager under serious scrutiny and pressure. I think we are good enough to avoid such an outcome though.

And if David Gray burns his Hibs shirt and joins Hearts he's no longer a club legend. Why bother thinking about such unrealistic ideas until they happen or come close to happening? Unless you've got an agenda against Ross that is.

Robbo6-2
Hes virtually the same distance as the Glasgow based players to HTC so that argument is a load of nonsense.

Ross has done a decent job with the tools at his disposal. Its still not his fault that our squad is full of players on long term contracts he doesn't trust.

That blame falls at the feet of our current Sporting Director and ex head of recruitment Mr Emotion Remover

02-01-2021, 09:00 PM
And if David Gray burns his Hibs shirt and joins Hearts he's no longer a club legend. Why bother thinking about such unrealistic ideas until they happen or come close to happening? Unless you've got an agenda against Ross that is.

So you don't think we will lose to Celtic? The idea of us winning is unrealistic...

02-01-2021, 09:03 PM
7 points from 10 games.1 win and 4 draws in 10 games

I would never say any manager should be sacked after 10 games right enough

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 09:03 PM
So you don't think we will lose to Celtic? The idea of us winning is unrealistic...

Celtic counts as four games rolled into one now aye?

02-01-2021, 09:06 PM
Celtic counts as four games rolled into one now aye?

You're just deliberately acting the dafty now eh...:rolleyes:

02-01-2021, 09:07 PM
Stubbs and Hibs are a good fit not saying Ross out but it’s concerning tho just now needs to change things in window be interesting to see if Ron sanctions esp with current situation

02-01-2021, 09:09 PM

He probably gets to East Mains quicker than boys commuting from Glasgow etc!

02-01-2021, 09:10 PM
Ross and Neilson look as equally good/bad. That's worrying for me. Both have teams set up the same, same kind of personalities and both worked under Levein.

It's a complete toss of a coin who is the better manager. Hands in his pockets talking to our assistant Potter (ironic) no passion or ****. Ross and even Doolan would be a good match. Then we have bumping Combe for very little when he's a hibee and replacing him with an utter pony ex goalie because he is Ross' pal.

02-01-2021, 09:22 PM
I’ve been critical of Ross and I don’t think this Hibs team are particularly good., that said though, his win % stats are impressive and they can’t just be discounted as irrelevant because you’re on the other side of the argument.

Fwiw I just think he’s not a good fit for Hibs. On paper Alex Miller put together a good team with exciting players and won a cup but he wasn’t a good fit and was never popular.

On paper Bobby Williamson took over a struggling Hibs team and brought through the golden generation (I hate that phrase) but wasn’t a good fit for us and I think most were relieved when he left.

On paper it is ridiculous that people are even considering sacking Jack Ross, looking at his stats there’s no way he should be under any pressure at all. Unfortunately for him though I suspect the writing is on the wall. We aren’t playing well just now and I suspect results like the last 2 will become a bit more common place, as soon as his win % starts to slide it will be thrown back at him and used as a stick to beat him with.

I personally don’t think he’ll ever recover from that semi final defeat. He’s got a great opportunity to do so by winning the league cup but even if he does, people will put it down tk not having to beat any big teams (in the same way people discredit John Collins trophy win by putting it down to Mowbrays team)

02-01-2021, 09:27 PM
Are you happy to lose at home to the likes of Ross County and Livingston with a goal difference of -5? As well as losing to our championship rivals in a Scottish cup semi final?

What has that got to do with the post

02-01-2021, 09:39 PM
I would expect us to be beat a championship over a premiership side any day.

Yes - me too and that was a major disappointment of course. But that was last season's Scottish Cup - this season's Scottish is only just getting started.

As it goes, the LC Semi is all the more of a test for Ross for his failure to get past Hearts to last season's SC Final. I hope he can pull us out of this nosedive in form and get us to Hampden this time. If he fails it aint going to be pretty around here that's for sure.

02-01-2021, 09:44 PM
The last couple of games have been brutal and I won’t pretend to have exactly loved the football over the past year, but talk of binning Ross is lunacy.

Part of our problem is that we have too many patch up players. Part of the problem during our last decline was that we constantly had to patch up the team and get rid of players bought in by previous managers who only stayed a short while. Bucketloads of precious cash was wasted in this way.

My main issue is that we don’t really look like we’re building anything. Who do you really still see being a part of our team in 2-3 years?

What doesn’t fix that is getting rid of a young manager and starting a cycle of emergency repairs - and it’s hardly called for when we’re 4th in the league.

We need to regroup, learn some lessons and tweak the squad with a few outgoings and arrivals. Remaining 4th, winning the LC and a decent run in the Scottish would arguably be the best season in my time following Hibs. It’s all achievable. And none of the good seasons we’ve had in my time have been achieved without the odd grim result or performance along the way.

Hopefully whoever has their finger the “f*** it” button has a bit of restraint than those on here.

And that’s without wanting to excuse any aspects of the last pitiful 180 minutes of football we’ve had to endure.

02-01-2021, 09:47 PM
Hes virtually the same distance as the Glasgow based players to HTC so that argument is a load of nonsense.

Ross has done a decent job with the tools at his disposal. Its still not his fault that our squad is full of players on long term contracts he doesn't trust.

That blame falls at the feet of our current Sporting Director and ex head of recruitment Mr Emotion Remover

And he’ll be there quicker.

The Wireless
02-01-2021, 09:47 PM

Not any of the current Midfield who play today would be an improvement on our Cup Final winning team or our Championship promotion side. Our returning players from competing opponents who were deemed no longer good enough and were sent packing ie Fonts, Efe, Marvin & Milligan etc have not been upgraded. I agree our recruitment has been poor and our judgement from those in a position to set standards has failed miserably. Regarding our manager he should be given until the end of this season and judged accordingly unless there is a total collapse.

Key West
02-01-2021, 09:48 PM
The manager and the team should be judged at the end of the season which could still result in a trophy and a decent league finish. I believe that it is still early days in the clubs quest to be consistent.

EI255
02-01-2021, 09:53 PM
Can't see us winning any of the upcoming games. Really bleak times. Almost like the early 80's.

02-01-2021, 09:54 PM
Can't see us winning any of the upcoming games. Really bleak times. Almost like the early 80's.

Transfer window might be our best hope.

We need something though.

02-01-2021, 09:54 PM
The last couple of games have been brutal and I won’t pretend to have exactly loved the football over the past year, but talk of binning Ross is lunacy.

Part of our problem is that we have too many patch up players. Part of the problem during our last decline was that we constantly had to patch up the team and get rid of players bought in by previous managers who only stayed a short while. Bucketloads of precious cash was wasted in this way.

My main issue is that we don’t really look like we’re building anything. Who do you really still see being a part of our team in 2-3 years?

What doesn’t fix that is getting rid of a young manager and starting a cycle of emergency repairs - and it’s hardly called for when we’re 4th in the league.

We need to regroup, learn some lessons and tweak the squad with a few outgoings and arrivals. Remaining 4th, winning the LC and a decent run in the Scottish would arguably be the best season in my time following Hibs. It’s all achievable. And none of the good seasons we’ve had in my time have been achieved without the odd grim result or performance along the way.

Hopefully whoever has their finger the “f*** it” button has a bit of restraint than those on here.

And that’s without wanting to excuse any aspects of the last pitiful 180 minutes of football we’ve had to endure.

He’s certainly under pressure Smartie.

We had no big win in 2020. Pumped off Hearts at home and at Hampden. They’ve just lost 3-1 to Dundee having lost to loads of ***** before us at Easter Road. A few horrible defeats also, even Alloa was a chore.

I will still back him as I can’t see who would be better alternative but he’s for me becoming more of a Levein and Neilson clone of management. It’s a shame because I was delighted when he came. But it seems he kicked about Dr Fitbaw at the Oriam too long.

02-01-2021, 09:55 PM

The idea of Hibs getting horsed by two minnows at home and then going and getting a point at Parkhead is not at all out of the question - entirely the kind of exasperating swing of fortune we seem to excel in as it goes. Like someone else commented above - it's the hope that kills you!

02-01-2021, 10:00 PM
He’s certainly under pressure Smartie.

We had no big win in 2020. Pumped off Hearts at home and at Hampden. They’ve just lost 3-1 to Dundee having lost to loads of ***** before us at Easter Road. A few horrible defeats also, even Alloa was a chore.

I will still back him as I can’t see who would be better alternative but he’s for me becoming more of a Levein and Neilson clone of management. It’s a shame because I was delighted when he came. But it seems he kicked about Dr Fitbaw at the Oriam too long.

Yeah, I accept he’s under pressure.

And you’re right about the “no big wins” - and that holds weight.

I just think, as pish as we’ve been there’s something to work with. If there were loads of rumours about losing the dressing room I’d be more concerned.

Our thin squad and the injuries are biting us a bit.

I’d be tempted to write off the Celtic game, play all the young lads in that and do whatever is required to get everybody back and in top shape for the Killie game.

And I think the squad needs strengthened - and I think his track record so far of bringing in players is decent.

PH91
02-01-2021, 10:00 PM
Good stats.

One inherited a team with 8 future scotland internationals and one inherited a team sitting in 11th place in the league after what many described as one of the worst transfer windows we have had in recent times. They are different starting points.

The same goes for competing with aberdeen, look at what ross inherited compared to the aberdeen team at the time, which had been in the top 2/3 for the past 4 or 5 years. He can't just take a poor squad and compete with them immediately. He has only had 2 transfer windows, one only a month or so after he came in (where he brought in mcginn and docherty, mcnulty and omeonga on short term loans which improved us and got us up the table) and one where he was likely limited by the covid situation.

It's a year or so from his appointment and we are in a better position than when he took over. There is big problems with the midfield, not helped with magennis and allan being out, and we really lack competition in key areas but i expect these to be addressed in january and/or the summer. If in 9 months time we haven't improved again then that would be the time where calls for sacking should be expected imo. The exception would be a complete collapse but we are nowhere near that, despite 2 atrocious performances this week.

It's clear that some fans have turned or are staring to turn on him already. Whilst the old firm, aberdeen and hearts being out the league cup is great as it gives us the best chance of winning it, it heaps a lot of pressure on ross. If he loses the semi or final then i sense many won't forgive him.

02-01-2021, 10:03 PM
The idea of Hibs getting horsed by two minnows at home and then going and getting a point at Parkhead is not at all out of the question - entirely the kind of exasperating swing of fortune we seem to excel in as it goes. Like someone else commented above - it's the hope that kills you!

Not its not but we will need to be at our absolute best just to get out of our own half, a few red cards celtics way will help too.

02-01-2021, 10:03 PM

Celtc come home from a trip abroad. Edwoard let's off a fire extinguisher in the hotel lobby. Lennon has an unhappy squad... 😉

02-01-2021, 10:10 PM
I’ve been critical of Ross and I don’t think this Hibs team are particularly good., that said though, his win % stats are impressive and they can’t just be discounted as irrelevant because you’re on the other side of the argument.

Fwiw I just think he’s not a good fit for Hibs. On paper Alex Miller put together a good team with exciting players and won a cup but he wasn’t a good fit and was never popular.

On paper Bobby Williamson took over a struggling Hibs team and brought through the golden generation (I hate that phrase) but wasn’t a good fit for us and I think most were relieved when he left.

On paper it is ridiculous that people are even considering sacking Jack Ross, looking at his stats there’s no way he should be under any pressure at all. Unfortunately for him though I suspect the writing is on the wall. We aren’t playing well just now and I suspect results like the last 2 will become a bit more common place, as soon as his win % starts to slide it will be thrown back at him and used as a stick to beat him with.

I personally don’t think he’ll ever recover from that semi final defeat. He’s got a great opportunity to do so by winning the league cup but even if he does, people will put it down tk not having to beat any big teams (in the same way people discredit John Collins trophy win by putting it down to Mowbrays team)

:top marks A very balanced assessment from someone that's not keen on Ross. Not sure I agree with your assessment of Ross though - I think I can see what he's trying to do and think he deserves a bit of patience. And definitely disagree with the bit in bold - a cup win - ANY cup win will cut ****loads of slack with the vast majority of the support I reckon. And deservedly so - you can only beat the teams in front of you and as this season's competition has shown, none of them are likely to make it an easy ride.

NC1875
02-01-2021, 10:10 PM
He probably gets to East Mains quicker than boys commuting from Glasgow etc!

Have you ever been stuck behind a tractor on the a1 ?

02-01-2021, 10:12 PM

What is the point of this kind of nonsense?

HibeeHibernian4
02-01-2021, 10:13 PM

Just stop supporting us then. You'll be a lot happier.

02-01-2021, 10:23 PM
:top marks A very balanced assessment from someone that's not keen on Ross. Not sure I agree with your assessment of Ross though - I think I can see what he's trying to do and think he deserves a bit of patience. And definitely disagree with the bit in bold - a cup win - ANY cup win will cut ****loads of slack with the vast majority of the support I reckon. And deservedly so - you can only beat the teams in front of you and as this season's competition has shown, none of them are likely to make it an easy ride.

Genuine question here. What is it you think he’s trying to do?

Obviously he’s trying to build a team to win games, that’s his job. I’m just not sure how he’s looking to go about it. I don’t think we have an obvious way of playing. Magennis is the one that confuses me most. Forgetting his injuries, when he has been fit, he’s predominantly been stuck out on the left and there is no danger that is his position.

I think it’s good to have a bit of flexibility but we seem to chop and change and try to accommodate players. I think we’ve got results, and will continue to get results, because we have more money and better players than most teams in the league. But, back to the original point, I’m just no sure what kind of team he’s trying to build.

EI255
02-01-2021, 10:35 PM
At least its not Yogi.

His post match comments today were child like and embarrassing.

02-01-2021, 10:43 PM
At least its not Yogi.

His post match comments today were child like and embarrassing.

Yet he schooled Ross tactics wise midweek

02-01-2021, 10:51 PM

nut i'm not havin it, i've never even heard of these teams, i think you've just made them up

02-01-2021, 10:58 PM
My views on us this season is that we’re an ok squad that are doing and have performed well to date. When you look at it on paper there are a lot of average players Imo who have got us to this point.

Imo our squad is quite a bit behind Aberdeen’s and there’s not too much difference between us and some others.

What we had especially earlier in the season was a way to win and it was built on the back of a solid defence.

No we’re seeing other teams picking up results and putting a run together. Let’s not forget that up until last week we were in a very good position and the majority were happy. Although we lost to rangers we were decent and unlucky not to get something.

2 truly awful results and performances later and people are waning the manager sacked? It shows how quickly football and fans opinions can change.

Im not putting the last 2 performances and results down to Ross though, for me that’s the players. They need to take responsibly as the quality, or lack of, they’ve shown has been embarrassing and the goals conceded amateur. Ross hasn’t suddenly changed things, told them to perform differently or completely changed the squad. For whatever reason there has been a huge dip in form.

What I will criticise Ross for is if he can’t or fails to rectify it. Either by tactics, change of personnel or signing new players in January.

We need quality this month, real quality. Not players that were trying to convince ourselves, ones that come in and instantly show they’re good players.

Im also concerned at where our points will come from in the next month or so

Celtic (A)
Kilmarnock (H)
Rangers (H)
St Mirren (A)
Aberdeen (H)
Dundee United (A)

That is a very tough set and 6 points off County and Livingston going into it would have made things a lot more comfortable.

Within 3 weeks we could easily find ourselves 5/6th depending on results.

Kilmarnock, St Mirren Aberdeen and United are must wins imo although it will be very difficult and probably unrealistic to gain maximum points. Anything off the old firm will be a bonus - despite people thinking we should take something from them.

02-01-2021, 11:18 PM
Genuine question here. What is it you think he’s trying to do?

Obviously he’s trying to build a team to win games, that’s his job. I’m just not sure how he’s looking to go about it. I don’t think we have an obvious way of playing. Magennis is the one that confuses me most. Forgetting his injuries, when he has been fit, he’s predominantly been stuck out on the left and there is no danger that is his position.

I think it’s good to have a bit of flexibility but we seem to chop and change and try to accommodate players. I think we’ve got results, and will continue to get results, because we have more money and better players than most teams in the league. But, back to the original point, I’m just no sure what kind of team he’s trying to build.

I think he's trying to play a passing game - trying to retain posession by playing from the defence through the midfield. It can look a bit laboured and can be frustrating to watch when the passing is not crisp or accurate enough but is easy enough on the eye when it does come off. Earlier in the season it was working enough for us over the course of most matches and we were getting our share of results. Over the last couple of games I thought just too many players have not been on it and we've conceded possession too easily and not created enough as a result. Also perhaps some sides are cottoning on and just not giving us the room in midfield to play that kind of game. So - maybe he needs to be more pragmatic in his approach and have a plan B - but that's the style that Ross has been pursuing from what I've seen.

NB - I reckon Magennis has been played wide left simply because he can, and absent of Murphy, we haven't got many options for that position in a 4-4-2 context. When he eventually gets fit I bet we'll see him playing a central role more often.

02-01-2021, 11:30 PM
I think he's trying to play a passing game - trying to retain posession by playing from the defence through the midfield. It can look a bit laboured and can be frustrating to watch when the passing is not crisp or accurate enough but is easy enough on the eye when it does come off. Earlier in the season it was working enough for us over the course of most matches and we were getting our share of results. Over the last couple of games I thought just too many players have not been on it and we've conceded possession too easily and not created enough as a result. Also perhaps some sides are cottoning on and just not giving us the room in midfield to play that kind of game. So - maybe he needs to be more pragmatic in his approach and have a plan B - but that's the style that Ross has been pursuing from what I've seen.

I think we struggle to play through the middle of the park. We don’t have that player who takes it off the back four and gets it playing and end up resorting to lumping it in the general direction of Doidge far too often. I know Newell has his good games but he’s about the park a bit more and doesn’t necessarily dictate games as a result.

A lot of our success early in the season was breaking on teams quickly. Ross actually spoke about giving up a bit in midfield to go with the front two but I think we’re seeing now you can’t sustain playing that way.

Still think midfield is our biggest issue. We have plenty midfielders but not a midfield if that makes sense.

02-01-2021, 11:31 PM

Which sums up what it's like to follow this club. We have everything to be far more successful than we have been, a big fanbase who will turn out at the slightest sign of a decent team, a stadium that can only be bettered by two clubs in the country, an excellent training facility we can use how and when we want and a budget well in excess of most other clubs.

Given all of that we always have the hope that we can be a consistent top 4 club and win a cup once every 4 or 5 years. The truth is that we never get anywhere near the level everything about this club says we should be capable of reaching, in fact there's just as much chance of us being relegated than winning anything. That's why it's so hard to follow at times.

As for our current situation: Is Jack Ross in danger of the boot? not in my opinion, at least not yet. But what we have seen in the last two games has been an absolute mess, two performances at home that wouldn't have looked out of place in any of the seasons we have been relegated in my time watching the club. The Celtic game won't be a factor unless we get absolutely humped, but if we do lose it and then perform against Killie the way we have in the last two games and lose that as well, then IMO his whole future could hinge on the League cup semi final.

I for one will be absolutely happy with 4th, hell even 5th, if we can win the League cup. Do that and it's been a successful season ... anybody who doesn't agree needs to remember that this club has only won a major trophy once in every 14.5 years of its 145 year existence. Winning that cup will keep him in a job until the summer IMO and I'll be ok with that. But lose to St Johnstone and he had better find a way to turn around our form and quick or he will be getting the dreaded vote of confidence before Easter.

NOTE:

I don't have a lot of sympathy for players complaining about the pitch, but it did look a bit crap today and considering it has barely had 20 competitive games played on it in 5 months you have to be asking why a full time ground staff can't come up with a better effort than that.

02-01-2021, 11:55 PM
Which sums up what it's like to follow this club. We have everything to be far more successful than we have been, a big fanbase who will turn out at the slightest sign of a decent team, a stadium that can only be bettered by two clubs in the country, an excellent training facility we can use how and when we want and a budget well in excess of most other clubs.

Given all of that we always have the hope that we can be a consistent top 4 club and win a cup once every 4 or 5 years. The truth is that we never get anywhere near the level everything about this club says we should be capable of reaching, in fact there's just as much chance of us being relegated than winning anything. That's why it's so hard to follow at times.

As for our current situation: Is Jack Ross in danger of the boot? not in my opinion, at least not yet. But what we have seen in the last two games has been an absolute mess, two performances at home that wouldn't have looked out of place in any of the seasons we have been relegated in my time watching the club. The Celtic game won't be a factor unless we get absolutely humped, but if we do lose it and then perform against Killie the way we have in the last two games and lose that as well, then IMO his whole future could hinge on the League cup semi final.

I for one will be absolutely happy with 4th, hell even 5th, if we can win the League cup. Do that and it's been a successful season ... anybody who doesn't agree needs to remember that this club has only won a major trophy once in every 14.5 years of its 145 year existence. Winning that cup will keep him in a job until the summer IMO and I'll be ok with that. But lose to St Johnstone and he had better find a way to turn around our form and quick or he will be getting the dreaded vote of confidence before Easter.

Excellent post. It's the under performance relative to our comparative strength over others that is so galling. That and the long standing feeling that there is not the kind of hard-******* mentality at Easter Road from the very top downwards that says losing is not acceptable, anyone who wants points is going top have claw them from our hands and any player not giving 100% is liable to end up in a fight on the training ground with everyone else who won't tolerate phoning it in. The boy band expression is overdone but there's a reason it was used in the first place and then repeated. You need a winning mentality to succeed in football as in all other sports and you don't get it by being anything other than utterly committed, all of the time.

03-01-2021, 12:45 AM
Excellent post. It's the under performance relative to our comparative strength over others that is so galling. That and the long standing feeling that there is not the kind of hard-******* mentality at Easter Road from the very top downwards that says losing is not acceptable, anyone who wants points is going top have claw them from our hands and any player not giving 100% is liable to end up in a fight on the training ground with everyone else who won't tolerate phoning it in. The boy band expression is overdone but there's a reason it was used in the first place and then repeated. You need a winning mentality to succeed in football as in all other sports and you don't get it by being anything other than utterly committed, all of the time.

It isn't even the commitment though. Over the last 5 years Hibs have made huge play of the club's approach to sports science, we must have spent a small fortune on that side of the game, from nutritionists to psychologists and everything in between. And yet both Ross County and Livvi looked fitter and physically stronger than us, football isn't about 60 yard sprints, its about speed over 10 to 20 yards and most of our players lack that burst of pace, including now it would seem Martin Boyle, who has barely out stripped a defender all season .... do we even have a sprint coach amongst the white coat brigade?

Not just that but we see players getting subbed after 70 minutes because their race is run, that's after 22 games of a bog standard league campaign, why the **** is Kevin Nesbit in need of a rest as the commentators kept saying today, the guy is a 23 year old professional athlete FFS other players should be struggling to match his energy, that's not a dig at him BTW he clearly cares and I could never say I've seen him not trying.

Which brings us to the fans. Its amazing the number of times in threads like this over the years, including this one, where you get fans saying 'why are folk so surprised that we are playing so badly or that we can't sustain a run of form, Hibs have been like that since I started watching them' in whatever year you care to choose from the drop down menu .... It's almost got to the stage where that's our comfort blanket, there's no point in moaning about it because this is just what Hibs do, what we have always done. The whole point of taking this club to the next level is for the folk involved with the club from the owner to the fans to the tea lady to finally grasp that 'it's aye been' has to become 'this cant be'

What we have seen in the last two games is totally unacceptable and can't be swept under the carpet. I seem to recall Alan Stubbs, probably one of the most affable arm round the shoulder type managers we have had absolutely publicly slating his team after a defeat by Raith Rovers. There has to come a time when Jack Ross starts throwing the cups and saucers around as well and I mean publicly.

03-01-2021, 01:57 AM
Jack Ross formerly known as Dross and Loss

Get a grip. Tiresome.

03-01-2021, 06:43 AM
You can't sack the manager after two defeats! Honestly, the boredom threshold of some fans is infantile.

03-01-2021, 07:23 AM
It isn't even the commitment though. Over the last 5 years Hibs have made huge play of the club's approach to sports science, we must have spent a small fortune on that side of the game, from nutritionists to psychologists and everything in between. And yet both Ross County and Livvi looked fitter and physically stronger than us, football isn't about 60 yard sprints, its about speed over 10 to 20 yards and most of our players lack that burst of pace, including now it would seem Martin Boyle, who has barely out stripped a defender all season .... do we even have a sprint coach amongst the white coat brigade?

Not just that but we see players getting subbed after 70 minutes because their race is run, that's after 22 games of a bog standard league campaign, why the **** is Kevin Nesbit in need of a rest as the commentators kept saying today, the guy is a 23 year old professional athlete FFS other players should be struggling to match his energy, that's not a dig at him BTW he clearly cares and I could never say I've seen him not trying.

Which brings us to the fans. Its amazing the number of times in threads like this over the years, including this one, where you get fans saying 'why are folk so surprised that we are playing so badly or that we can't sustain a run of form, Hibs have been like that since I started watching them' in whatever year you care to choose from the drop down menu .... It's almost got to the stage where that's our comfort blanket, there's no point in moaning about it because this is just what Hibs do, what we have always done. The whole point of taking this club to the next level is for the folk involved with the club from the owner to the fans to the tea lady to finally grasp that 'it's aye been' has to become 'this cant be'

What we have seen in the last two games is totally unacceptable and can't be swept under the carpet. I seem to recall Alan Stubbs, probably one of the most affable arm round the shoulder type managers we have had absolutely publicly slating his team after a defeat by Raith Rovers. There has to come a time when Jack Ross starts throwing the cups and saucers around as well and I mean publicly.

The ‘athleticisim’ of our squad is chronic.

Other than McGinn and possibly Boyle I’d say the rest of the squads ‘athleticism’ is poor-average.

It’s no wonder we get so easily over-run

03-01-2021, 07:56 AM

What about Jack Albatross or are you saving that one up for after your semi? Sorry the semi?

03-01-2021, 08:01 AM

Other than McGinn and possibly Boyle I’d say the rest of the squads ‘athleticism’ is poor-average.

I'd be really interested in seeing stats on how much our players ran the last two games compared to County and Livi. It felt like they were constantly chasing us, pushing forward when we won the ball and never giving us a moments peace.

I was really impressed by Livi and their current run speaks for itself. But we made life far, far too easy foe them.

03-01-2021, 08:03 AM

I don't think we have a fitness coach now, Paul Green was released due to Covid, so who is doing the fitness side of things?

03-01-2021, 08:04 AM
I'd be really interested in seeing stats on how much our players ran the last two games compared to County and Livi. It felt like they were constantly chasing us, pushing forward when we won the ball and never giving us a moments peace.

I was really impressed by Livi and their current run speaks for itself. But we made life far, far too easy foe them.

If we look at our squad I’d say:

Gray
McGregor
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson

Hallberg
Mallan
Newell
Gogic

Doidge
Nisbet

Off the top of my head are particularly unathletic. Guys that you wouldn’t expect to out run/catch anyone, wouldn’t be massively confident of them overpowering anyone or covering more ground than most others over the course of a game. There’s far too many in our squad and our midfield in particular needs some athleticism in there.

03-01-2021, 08:13 AM
I don't think we have a fitness coach now, Paul Green was released due to Covid, so who is doing the fitness side of things?

On the basis of recent games, the answer is “no-one”. A professional football team which struggles with running and drive isn’t acceptable. Obviously mitigating factors could be the size of squad and number of games but other clubs are in the same boat.

03-01-2021, 08:15 AM

I agree with lots of your posts as always.

The worst posts for me on this forum are the ones that type..

I’ve been following Hibs for 30/40/50 years etc. It’s what Hibs do ...etc.

The problem I have with this is there is a different generation / type of fan who simply don’t accept the just because it used to be like that..means it will always be like that.

That mindset is weak and won’t see Hibs pushing for 3rd in Scotland when it really should be over time. I don’t mean 3rd this season I say 3rd like Aberdeen have been constantly doing with a cup win thrown into the mix every so often.

Some fans maybe started following Hibs when they were up and down and training in a public park. But now the club has the infrastructure to be 3rd / 4th minimum every year.

Fans expectations have rightly risen and that’s a good thing. Accepting derby defeats and results like week won’t grow us as a club - it will lose fans so we have to make sure it doesn’t happen regularly. That’s why fans have every right to question the absolute shambles that has happened this week. We best Livi 4-1 earlier in the season and then suddenly lose 3-0 going on 5 or more - the players and management / staff should rightly be put under pressure as it’s not good enough for the £ we spend to support the club.

03-01-2021, 08:29 AM
You can't sack the manager after two defeats! Honestly, the boredom threshold of some fans is infantile.

It’s not just 2 defeats though. That’s the simple way to look at it.

X2 derby loses - one of those performances absolutely awful.
Aberdeen loses this season and not scoring against them.
Aberdeen 3-1 end of last season
Dundee Utd late goal this season
St Johnstone home draw this season
Celtic late goal this season
Ross County - bottom of the league - 1 point from 6
Livi - 3-0 going on more ( worst ever home defeat to Livi)
Livi 1-1 end of last season at home
Alloa performance in cup
League Cup group stages performances were woeful.

That’s off the top of my head...

Yes we have won some games obviously and credit where it’s due for those away wins but we are still a massive work in progress but you would think results like this would happen at the start when a new manager comes in - not after a season and a half !

03-01-2021, 08:55 AM
It’s not just 2 defeats though. That’s the simple way to look at it.

X2 derby loses - one of those performances absolutely awful.
Aberdeen loses this season and not scoring against them.
Aberdeen 3-1 end of last season
Dundee Utd late goal this season
St Johnstone home draw this season
Celtic late goal this season
Ross County - bottom of the league - 1 point from 6
Livi - 3-0 going on more ( worst ever home defeat to Livi)
Livi 1-1 end of last season at home
Alloa performance in cup
League Cup group stages performances were woeful.

That’s off the top of my head...

Yes we have won some games obviously and credit where it’s due for those away wins but we are still a massive work in progress but you would think results like this would happen at the start when a new manager comes in - not after a season and a half !

I’m in no way advocating sacking him, but to look upon this reaction as being solely down to 2 defeats is a nonsense and I’d suggest the people saying that’s what it is know it.

We’ve had some utterly dreadful results under Jack Ross, some of them some of the worst we’ve had since before we got relegated.

03-01-2021, 09:19 AM
I hope he has the players in at East Mains today for a double session and to watch that car crash over again. Any player who doesn't want to be at the training ground today trying to put that horror show right can **** off.

loanheadhibby
03-01-2021, 10:11 AM

No one is basing it on last 2 results. Even looking at bigger picture, semi final & 4th in league, the writing is on the wall.

The brand of football is atrocious. The lack of victories against Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen & ****bos is another concern. The constant signing of injured players. Filling the staff with ex St Mirren players/staff. The signing of Stephen McGinn.

loanheadhibby
03-01-2021, 10:12 AM
I hope he has the players in at East Mains today for a double session and to watch that car crash over again. Any player who doesn't want to be at the training ground today trying to put that horror show right can **** off.

The players are on extended leave for next few days after a tough schedule.

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 10:13 AM

A tough schedule???

03-01-2021, 10:23 AM
A tough schedule???7 matches since December 5th.

03-01-2021, 10:27 AM
I'm not The managers biggest fan but i don't want him sacked, i want him to show us what he is made of but the trouble is he has shown nothing recently that he has any answer to getting a better performance from the team. Time for him to show us he has a plan and can motivate the players to a better performance but why was he unable to do so yesterday ?

03-01-2021, 10:34 AM
I wonder if Liverpool fans are holding onto the 7-2 Villa game for when Klopp next loses 2 in a row

I'm shocked Peps still in a Job too, nevermind Areta!

03-01-2021, 10:39 AM
I wonder if Liverpool fans are holding onto the 7-2 Villa game for when Klopp next loses 2 in a row

To be honest I'm not seeing the connection. Jack Ross is a footballing nobody next to those names.

Comparisons with Neilson at hearts first time round are much closer and therefore more valid.

03-01-2021, 10:44 AM
I just read on the BBC website that Ross said " i just don't want us to drift along " Yes Jack, that will do the trick ! How nice of him to ask the players that and it should transform our performances no end !

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 10:48 AM

I bet that if the liverpool fans were feeling generally bored or experiencing high levels of frustration on a near weekly basis for over a year they would sure look to move the manager on.........city fans have called for the head of guys who won them the league in the not so distant past and the arsenal reference, well they loved than uni emry right enough!

03-01-2021, 10:49 AM

Tough schedule my arse

03-01-2021, 11:13 AM
I just read on the BBC website that Ross said " i just don't want us to drift along " Yes Jack, that will do the trick ! How nice of him to ask the players that and it should transform our performances no end !

Maybe if you click on the story instead of just reading the headline and repeating that here, just to give some context maybe?

"This does give us a little breather," Ross told BBC Scotland.

"It is an opportunity for us to draw breath and re-group and say, 'right, what do we want to achieve for the rest of the season?'. I don't want us to just drift along.

"We need to respond to this week that we've had. We've got a tough game when we come back, but we've got an exciting month ahead."

03-01-2021, 11:18 AM
Two games have defined Ross' spell with us so far - the most recent games against Hearts. One our most one-sided derby defeat since arguably the 2012 final against a team spiralling towards relegation, and the other ANOTHER Hampden capitulation against a team in the division below.

If he'd won both, or even one of those games we wouldn't be having this conversation.

03-01-2021, 11:35 AM

You think they’re comparable situations? :faf:

03-01-2021, 11:49 AM

You May a great point . Players off until Friday - hopefully that may change after last two performances. Perhaps Ross commuting from the north east of England makes it difficult for him to come home and come back to east mains the next day after a game

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 11:53 AM
I think a large element of our support is willing to accept mediocrity and not challenge the club to be demanding more of itself.

As long as the club are sending out the right PR messages about partnerships and structures a large element of the support seems happy.

Big game results have been nowhere near good enough. Look at the last two Derbies and the manner of them!!!

WestCoastHibby
03-01-2021, 11:57 AM
Just waiting on the microwave to ping.
Popcorn time....

03-01-2021, 12:00 PM
I think a large element of our support is willing to accept mediocrity and not challenge the club to be demanding more of itself.

As long as the club are sending out the right PR messages about partnerships and structures a large element of the support seems happy.

Big game results have been nowhere near good enough. Look at the last two Derbies and the manner of them!!!

Ah, that old one.

Perhaps we just think there are more productive ways to improve things beyond mediocrity than just sacking and emptying people at the first sign of things not going our way?

Does continual sackings generally improve things long term in your experience?

WestCoastHibby
03-01-2021, 12:01 PM
Absolutely not. Look at the shambles he's left at Motherwell.

I couldn't agree more. What would Robinson do better!?

03-01-2021, 12:11 PM
You think they’re comparable situations? :faf:No but point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season and has lost to Watford 3-0, twice.

I've seen a poster claim we should never lose to livi or RC - aboslutely absurd

I would be careful what we wish for here

We have a support that whinges like wee bairns about our undercheivement but the hint of adversity and we are shouting for the managers head

Aberdeen are where they are consistently because they have had investment and consistency of the footballing operation

03-01-2021, 12:15 PM
You May a great point . Players off until Friday - hopefully that may change after last two performances. Perhaps Ross commuting from the north east of England makes it difficult for him to come home and come back to east mains the next day after a gameIt's about 1.5 hour drive so no

Although I'm sure you already know that and are trying to say something negative long enough that folk start picking it up and running with it as another stick to beat our manager with

hibeerealist
03-01-2021, 12:17 PM

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk#

IF you are going to draw comparisons at least get real!

03-01-2021, 12:17 PM
I couldn't agree more. What would Robinson do better!?

He got them third last year, league and Scottish cup finals and sold £8m+ of players. Not bad for a club smaller than us. That obviously included winning a big game or two.

I'm not saying I want him to replace JR but I'm not going to pretend he didn't do a good job there for prominently a bottom 6 club.

03-01-2021, 12:20 PM
Just waiting on the microwave to ping.
Popcorn time....

Allez

03-01-2021, 12:20 PM
Did you watch the game? We were passive, pedestrian and Alloa could have quite easily won that.

We had 15 shots to their 2. Let’s not get carried away here. Hibs were comfortably better but wasteful with our chances.

03-01-2021, 12:22 PM
You May a great point . Players off until Friday - hopefully that may change after last two performances. Perhaps Ross commuting from the north east of England makes it difficult for him to come home and come back to east mains the next day after a game

I thought the players looked shattered in the last two games, rest will likely improve matters.

03-01-2021, 12:25 PM
#

IF you are going to draw comparisons at least get real! point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season and has lost 3-0 to Watford, twice

03-01-2021, 12:28 PM
No but point being you can pick out specific examples and games across any manger in the world to suit the agenda of boot him out - Klopp lost 7-2 against a team promoted the season before and just drew at home with the team promoted this season

I've seen a poster claim we should never lose to livi or RC - aboslutely absurd

I would be careful what we wish for here

We have a support that whinges like wee bairns about our undercheivement but the hint of adversity and we are shouting for the managers head

Aberdeen are where they are consistently because they have had investment and consistently of the footballing operation

Klopp won the EPL and the Champions League with Liverpool.

Pep has won trophies all over the world and has won the league with city.

Ross has won zero.

Our club still underachieve yet our support who you want to say whinge like wee bairns still continue to back the club every single year despite how bad things get. So we want better for our club than being pumped in a Semi to a ***** hearts side, losing at home to two rank sides, one bottom of the league hadn't not won a league game in what? Months? So we want to see our side play attractive football with an actual plan? Is that simply too much to ask aye?

The last two games haven't been a fluke either. We have been lucky and flat in plenty of games and I repeat, in the year of 2020 we failed to win any big game. Not one. All we want is a derby win or two (lost twice to the ****test hearts team ever) a win against the old firm from time to time, even Aberdeen (we lost three times to them, easily last year) would be nice. Now we've started the new year utter ***** and look a complete shambles.

I'm sorry, it's simply not good enough despite you wanting to laugh it off comprising to Klopp or slagging our support (who pay £100s every single season) for not being happy.

The comfort blanket of still being third despite Aberdeen games in hand to still easily fourth is diminishing every week it seems and Livingston are a better side than us. Dundee Utd and them will be ahead of us come the end of the season and it will all change to "at least we finished top six, progress stop bed wetting etc"

03-01-2021, 12:30 PM
Always a catch 22 with Hibs managers. If they're successful, they're off to Celtic, Rangers or England before they achieve anything meaningful. If they're rubbish, we're stuck with them. JR is somewhere in between - not proved good enough for a move or bad enough to sack. A few weeks ago, the media had him as Celtic's saviour. Now they look stupid. No getting away from it, some of the results and performances under Ross have been downright terrible. His record in bigger matches is awful. But he's shown he's not completely crap at times. The games themselves are not normal either, due to Covid.

Whether we like it or not he's here for while now - the start to the season means he'll not get booted, and recent results will have scared off preditors. At this point, the season could easily see us end up 3rd or 4th with the league Cup.... or 5th/6th and nothing else.

03-01-2021, 12:32 PM

Ross has won zero.

Our club still underachieve yet our support who you want to say whinge like wee bairns still continue to back the club every single year despite how bad things get. So we want better for our club than being pumped in a Semi to a ***** hearts side, losing at home to two rank sides, one bottom of the league hadn't not won a league game in what? Months? So we want to see our side play attractive football with an actual plan? Is that simply too much to ask aye?

The last two games haven't been a fluke either. We have been lucky and flat in plenty of games and I repeat, in the year of 2020 we failed to win any big game. Not one. All we want is a derby win or two (lost twice to the ****test hearts team ever) a win against the old firm from time to time, even Aberdeen (we lost three times to them, easily last year) would be nice. Now we've started the new year utter ***** and look a complete shambles.

I'm sorry, it's simply not good enough despite you wanting to laugh it off comprising to Klopp or slagging our support (who pay £100s every single season) for not being happy.

The comfort blanket of still being third despite Aberdeen games in hand to still easily fourth is diminishing every week it seems and Livingston are a better side than us. Dundee Utd and them will be ahead of us come the end of the season and it will all change to "at least we finished top six, progress stop bed wetting etc"

Bet ya they wont. United are dreadful. Livi are on a great run, sure, but they play Aberdeen twice and Celtic twice in the next 6 league games. Could be miles behind us again.

03-01-2021, 12:32 PM
It's about 1.5 hour drive so no

Although I'm sure you already know that and are trying to say something negative long enough that folk start picking it up and running with it as another stick to beat our manager with

That's the impression I got from the post. Drop a wee bit in about Ross not being able to get to East Mains as he stays a bit away from the ground as a wee sly dig.

It really is pathetic some of the comments towards Jack Ross on here. Genuinely pathetic.

03-01-2021, 12:34 PM

Ross has won zero.

The comfort blanket of still being third despite Aberdeen games in hand to still easily fourth is diminishing every week it seems and Livingston are a better side than us. Dundee Utd and them will be ahead of us come the end of the season and it will all change to "at least we finished top six, progress stop bed wetting etc"I think my point of whinging like bairns is valid

The last few weeks have been crap but in the context of our whole season we are doing fine

Ofcourse it can go either way at this point, it might all fall flat or we might kick on

You obviously feel everything is terrible (I'm guessing mostly because we lost the semi final, I'm pretty sure everyone was onside up to that point)I think we have had a bad few results and performances and given how we have performed longer term we will be OK

03-01-2021, 12:38 PM
Bet ya they wont. United are dreadful. Livi are on a great run, sure, but they play Aberdeen twice and Celtic twice in the next 6 league games. Could be miles behind us again.

Livi have Ross County and Aberdeen at home the next two games. They could easily win both them and if we don't beat Killie the gap would be four points with them 2 games in hand. Dundee Utd have St Johnstone Hamilton and St Mirren while we have Celtic Killie Rangers. If we don't stop the rot and they start being more consistent for a newly promoted side I wouldn't rule it out.

Highwayman
03-01-2021, 12:40 PM
Jack Ross has a big test in January.Currently he has 8 players who when fit irrespective of form are first picks.Does he go for cover for these players in the January transfer window,depending on what is available.Strengthening is required in every area.What is the way forward.Any comments ?

03-01-2021, 12:42 PM
Livi have Ross County and Aberdeen at home the next two games. They could easily win both them and if we don't beat Killie the gap would be four points with them 2 games in hand. Dundee Utd have St Johnstone Hamilton and St Mirren while we have Celtic Killie Rangers. If we don't stop the rot and they start being more consistent for a newly promoted side I wouldn't rule it out.

So basically, if they win all their games and we lose all of ours? Come on. How likely is that?

03-01-2021, 12:42 PM
Jack Ross has a big test in January.Currently he has 8 players who when fit irrespective of form are first picks.Does he go for cover for these players in the January transfer window,depending on what is available.Strengthening is required in every area.What is the way forward.Any comments ?Anyone we sign should be for first the 11. They might not end up there but they should be pushing the guy with the Jersey to perform

03-01-2021, 12:45 PM
So basically, if they win all their games and we lose all of ours? Come on. How likely is that?

The way it’s going just now? Quite likely. Livi have won 6 in a row, we’ve lost 3 and have been thoroughly humiliated in the last two. It’s not that much out the question that it could happen.

03-01-2021, 12:45 PM
I think my point of whinging like bairns is valid

The last few weeks have been crap but in the context of our whole season we are doing fine

Ofcourse it can go either way at this point, it might all fall flat or we might kick on

You obviously feel everything is terrible (I'm guessing mostly because we lost the semi final, I'm pretty sure everyone was onside up to that point)I think we have had a bad few results and performances and given how we have performed longer term we will be OK

What do you expect from the support, honestly? Not to be pissed off after the last two games, losing in the Semi to Hearts, being pumped at home to them? Not laying a glove on Aberdeen who we are meant to be challenging for third? Realistically you can't surely expect much less? Hearts won 1 game in the league, 1 game in 2020 before being relegated, they rocked up at Easter Road and hammered us. Just as Livi done yesterday, the exact same shambles, the exact same lack of motivation and fight. Yesterday wasn't a one off.

I don't feel everything is terrible, but it should be much, much better. Including winning any sort of big game. Our biggest game of the season is against St Johnstone this month, another loss to a piss poor side in a national semi will be disastrous for Ross.

03-01-2021, 12:46 PM

Livi have won their last 7 games. How consistent do they need to be?

03-01-2021, 12:49 PM

That's only January. Dundee Utd and Livi have a much more realistic chance of picking up more points in January than we do. Dundee Utd especially.

03-01-2021, 12:51 PM
Livi have won their last 7 games. How consistent do they need to be?

I was talking about Dundee Utd, that's why I said "for a newly promoted side" I should have worded better. Livi will finish ahead of us, of that I've no doubt. If they do that will be two season on the trot also. That wouldn't be good enough either.

03-01-2021, 12:52 PM
I was talking about Dundee Utd, that's why I said "for a newly promoted side" I should have worded better. Livi will finish ahead of us, of that I've no doubt. If they do that will be two season on the trot also. That wouldn't be good enough either.

Ah right sorry. Didnae have my specs on 🤓

03-01-2021, 12:54 PM
What do you expect from the support, honestly? Not to be pissed off after the last two games, losing in the Semi to Hearts, being pumped at home to them? Not laying a glove on Aberdeen who we are meant to be challenging for third? Realistically you can't surely expect much less? Hearts won 1 game in the league, 1 game in 2020 before being relegated, they rocked up at Easter Road and hammered us. Just as Livi done yesterday, the exact same shambles, the exact same lack of motivation and fight. Yesterday wasn't a one off.

I don't feel everything is terrible, but it should be much, much better. Including winning any sort of big game. Our biggest game of the season is against St Johnstone this month, another loss to a piss poor side in a national semi will be disastrous for Ross.Pissed off yes but I feel there's a huge over reaction here

Infact I can't see another manager coming in and doing all that much better

So when they have a sticky patch its game over for them too?

As I pointed out with my extreme Klopp example, every manager has bad results and hand picking one from a year ago is easy to do when you want to leverage that against a sack him message

Whatever though you may get your wish but for me, I'd be careful what we wish for and I'd be tempering what our expectations are over such a short period of time

I think we are all in agreement that Ross walked into a bad situation after Hecky and yet here we are 12 months later and during a pandemic in a much much stronger position but building a consistent team and image take time

I can't say I'm overly disappointed where we are right now. Yes, there has been disappointments (certainly last few games) but overall I'm fairly content with where we sit as a whole

03-01-2021, 01:00 PM

Not one little doubt that a side 9 points behind us will finish above us? Not one? Why?

03-01-2021, 01:05 PM
Not one little doubt that a side 9 points behind us will finish above us? Not one? Why?Coz they ken they will be getting it aff the managers associates if they dinnae

That's what we need

03-01-2021, 01:09 PM
Pissed off yes but I feel there's a huge over reaction here

As I pointed out with my extreme Klopp example, every manager has bad results and hand picking one from a year ago is easy to do when you want to leverage that against a sack him message

Whatever though you may get your wish but for me, I'd be careful what we wish for and I'd be tempering what our expectations are over such a short period of time

I really don't see it mate.

After the loss at ER to them, it was still not bad because we had top six and they had relegation to still fight.

Season finished early, bottom six, it was still no over reaction to another poor season because they got relegated.

Semi final, you can never over react to a Scottish Cup Semi loss to our Championship neighbors in they circumstances. Especially having been hammered in the Semi and Final off them before, at least then there was major excuses and this time was chance for revenge. We blew it.

Now we are being horsed at home to guff. I want to at least see our team fight if we are being outplayed and there's not even been that at times and at times it's been shambolic.

I want a few brilliant performances and a big win or two per season where we over perform. It's not too much to ask. Liverpool may have lost 7-2 but they still won many big games, gave their support memorable matches and won the league. We haven't had any of that at Easter Road especially since when? Aberdeen over a year ago and even then it's only Aberdeen. The last time we won a match a derby or the old firm at Easter Road, the place 14,000 plus pay for season cards was Celtic in December 2018. That's really worth whinging about imo.

03-01-2021, 01:12 PM
Not one little doubt that a side 9 points behind us will finish above us? Not one? Why?

They won 7 in a row, we are playing *****, they have just hammered us under their new manager and have two games in hand. Just like there was little doubt they would win yesterday, they play as an actual football side playing for each other and their manager. We are playing as a team of individuals kicking about chewing the fat.

03-01-2021, 01:12 PM

What was the score when we last played them?

03-01-2021, 01:14 PM
They won 7 in a row, we are playing *****, they have just hammered us under their new manager and have two games in hand. Just like there was little doubt they would win yesterday, they play as an actual football side playing for each other and their manager. We are playing as a team of individuals kicking about chewing the fat.

Right, so again, its basically just them having a great run and us having a bad week. If it was a 7 game season, I'd agree with you. Its not, though.

03-01-2021, 01:20 PM
Pissed off yes but I feel there's a huge over reaction here

I think we are all in agreement that Ross walked into a bad situation after Hecky and yet here we are 12 months later and during a pandemic in a much much stronger position but building a consistent team and image take time

I can't say I'm overly disappointed where we are right now. Yes, there has been disappointments (certainly last few games) but overall I'm fairly content with where we sit as a whole

Absolutely this. We are on well on course for Europe thus far, clearer in that respect than I can ever remember us.
Also worth mentioning that the prize on offer for 3rd and 4th in terms of round of competition we enter is exactly the same.

A few disappointing results along the way in amongst generally a great consistency in winning games and a great chance to win a cup - that is what the manager has delivered. He's done a cracking job IMO.

It is draining coming on here to defend things constantly - the reaction and general feeling at times on here is as if we were drifting around aimlessly in the bottom 6.

03-01-2021, 01:21 PM
Right, so again, its basically just them having a great run and us having a bad week. If it was a 7 game season, I'd agree with you. Its not, though.

They are in much better form and look a much better side under their new manager. They are going one way and we are going the other way. They have just caught 9 points up over us in the last 3 games also, I don't see how that trend doesn't continue.

If it was the other way and we had won 7 on the bounce under a new manager, hammered them yesterday and 9 points behind with two games in hand would you not be extremely confident of catching them? I know I would especially if they where on a slide before said pumping.

03-01-2021, 01:25 PM
They are in much better form and look a much better side under their new manager. They are going one way and we are going the other way. They have just caught 9 points up over us in the last 3 games also, I don't see how that trend doesn't continue.

If it was the other way and we had won 7 on the bounce under a new manager, hammered them yesterday and 9 points behind with two games in hand would you not be extremely confident of catching them? I know I would especially if they where on a slide before said pumping.

Yes, I'd be confident of catching them.

Its quite clear how the trend doesn't continue. They get a couple injuries, lose some of the harder fixtures, we sign a couple players etc. We were 18 points clear of them a week ago. They've hit a good patch, we have it a bad one. Martindale has been in charge for years, he isn't really new. He'll hit a bad patch soon and have no one to blame it on. If you don't think form will switch back around, Livi will finish second and we'll be relegated. But neither of those is doing to happen.

Seriously mate, we've had a shocker this week, no doubt. We're not suddenly a pub team. I remember similar hysteria about them finishing above us before Hecky came in. We finished 10 ahead.

03-01-2021, 01:26 PM
Get a grip. Tiresome.

Hermit Crap.

03-01-2021, 01:28 PM
Yes, I'd be confident of catching them.

Its quite clear how the trend doesn't continue. They get a couple injuries, lose some of the harder fixtures, we sign a couple players etc. We were 18 points clear of them a week ago. They've hit a good patch, we have it a bad one. Martindale has been in charge for years, he isn't really new. He'll hit a bad patch soon and have no one to blame it on. If you don't think form will switch back around, Livi will finish second and we'll be relegated. But neither of those is doing to happen.

That answers your question then :greengrin

I agree with the rest that anything can happen. Lets wait and see. :aok:

03-01-2021, 01:29 PM
That answers your question then :greengrin

I agree with the rest that anything can happen. Lets wait and see. :aok:

I'd mainly be confident because we'd have much better players. Thats also why I'm confident we'll find our form and theirs will fall off.

03-01-2021, 01:30 PM
I'd mainly be confident because we'd have much better players. Thats also why I'm confident we'll find our form and theirs will fall off.

Our form in general always tails off after the new year. They finished ahead of us despite us having better players but they play as a better well drilled, hungry team.

I hope we do find our form again. I can't see it this month though and with the Semi coming up it's really concerning. Come Monday evening its extremely realistic than we will only be 6 ahead of them with them having 2 games in hand, we will have lost 4 on the bounce and them won 8.

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 01:31 PM
Absolutely this. We are on well on course for Europe thus far, clearer in that respect than I can ever remember us.
Also worth mentioning that the prize on offer for 3rd and 4th in terms of round of competition we enter is exactly the same.

A few disappointing results along the way in amongst generally a great consistency in winning games and a great chance to win a cup - that is what the manager has delivered. He's done a cracking job IMO.

It is draining coming on here to defend things constantly - the reaction and general feeling at times on here is as if we were drifting around aimlessly in the bottom 6.

If he had done a cracking job, a large chunk of the support wouldnt be seriously unhappy with him. There was a post on here after the ross county game defending Ross, and yesterday the guy who posted it admitted he did not watch the livi game........

Thats the problem, too many people who "check the result, but dont actually watch" cast judgements and tell you everything is fine, they aint watching and dont really know how bad the tactics, game plan and general style is.

03-01-2021, 01:31 PM

After the game the Livi manager said he'd watched us a fair bit and had a plan to beat us, Ross was out schooled yesterday. He double/triple manned and played a high press high energy game, our players just cannot play with that, they need far too much time on the ball, we've been sussed and there's no plan B.

03-01-2021, 01:33 PM
I’m not happy with the past two results, they have been dire. Ross has to look at himself and ask as to the wisdom of signing Murphy, Magennis and S McGinn. Three wages, they have barely contributed and now the squad looks particularly threadbare.

Tbh, I have no idea how the next half of the season will pan out. The team confound me, just when you think you’ve seen enough to know we will be fine, then bang.

If you take the away Rangers, Celtic and Aberdeen, all of whom are consistently performing at a level commensurate with investment etc, the rest of the sides have all had good and bad runs. In reality there’s not too much to choose between any of them at any one time. Over the course of the season the less dire will be separated. To me that says our league is just varying degrees of dross.

That all said, I have to laugh at the predictions of doom, Livi will overtake us. No, I very much doubt it. If they do, then Martindale should be the next Hibs manager. Ridiculous but probably more likely than Livi finishing above us.

03-01-2021, 01:35 PM
Exactly. People are acting like Livingston are Barcelona, they’re a decent hard working team, but we wouldn’t swap many of our players for theirs. Hibs on the other hand are a decent team on a bad run and we don’t have enough fit players to change things up when others aren’t performing. The one thing that did worry me was quite a few players looked out on their feet in the last two games, fitness looked poor compared to the teams we were playing.

03-01-2021, 01:36 PM
After the game the Livi manager said he'd watched us a fair bit and had a plan to beat us, Ross was out schooled yesterday. He double/triple manned and played a high press high energy game, our players just cannot play with that, they need far too much time on the ball, we've been sussed and there's no plan B.

Yeah I heard that, he made it sound so simple also. Turn up at a ground who have better players and have a plan to win the game having studied them. You can bet Yogi and JC have done the same plenty times this season before he took over up North and got a similar result. The rest is spot on too. Pressed we panic and there's literally no plan B.

03-01-2021, 01:37 PM
If he had done a cracking job, a large chunk of the support wouldnt be seriously unhappy with him. There was a post on here after the ross county game defending Ross, and yesterday the guy who posted it admitted he did not watch the livi game........

Thats the problem, too many people who "check the result, but dont actually watch" cast judgements and tell you everything is fine, they aint watching and dont really know how bad the tactics, game plan and general style is.

Hiya pal! That’s me you’re talking about! What you don’t seem to realise is that I did watch the 5 games in the build up to the County game as well as watching a large chunk of games this season. So with respect, I think my opinion is as valid as anyone’s else’s.

Also, if you actually read the thread it was not a thread defending Jack Ross, it was a thread asking for posters to have a bit more of a wide angle viewpoint rather than having a total meltdown after one game which is what was happening.

My take on this season is that we have won well, won badly, lost well, lost badly and drawn both deservedly and undeservedly. Pretty much like every season we’ve had in my 27 of Hibs supporting.

03-01-2021, 01:39 PM

So the people who agree with you must be watching the games whereas anyone who disagrees with you isn’t watching the game.

I’ve watched every single minute of hibs this season yet I’m not pissing myself with rage like half the posters on here.

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 01:49 PM
So the people who agree with you must be watching the games whereas anyone who disagrees with you isn’t watching the game.

I’ve watched every single minute of hibs this season yet I’m not pissing myself with rage like half the posters on here.

If you watched all the games you surely cant be encouraged by our style of play. What about our summer signings.....how many years have we needed a central midfield, why have we still not got one?

They signed 3 players to play there this year and we still dont have a CM.

Jones28, yes it was you, and fair play to you, but if you had watched all those games how can you be encouraged by what you have seen?
Have we progressed from last year? I will give you the 4th position looks better, but in regards to playing style or game management? What about the managers best starting 11, do you think he knows what it is yet?

03-01-2021, 02:10 PM
If you watched all the games you surely cant be encouraged by our style of play. What about our summer signings.....how many years have we needed a central midfield, why have we still not got one?

Jones28, yes it was you, and fair play to you, but if you had watched all those games how can you be encouraged by what you have seen?
Have we progressed from last year? I will give you the 4th position looks better, but in regards to playing style or game management? What about the managers best starting 11, do you think he knows what it is yet?
The best 11 thing does my head in. If we had a manager that rigidly stuck to his best 11 he’d be getting stick on here. Every game requires a different approach and sometimes that means different personnel, we can’t play the same way against the huns at ibrox as we’d play at home to Hamilton. Add in suspensions, injuries and players out of form and it’s just a sound byte. His best 11 could change throughout the season.

03-01-2021, 02:14 PM
Tough schedule my arse

That is a bloody joke, should be in for extra training.

03-01-2021, 02:16 PM
That is a bloody joke, should be in for extra training.

Only if you want extra injuries.

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 02:22 PM
The best 11 thing does my head in. If we had a manager that rigidly stuck to his best 11 he’d be getting stick on here. Every game requires a different approach and sometimes that means different personnel, we can’t play the same way against the huns at ibrox as we’d play at home to Hamilton. Add in suspensions, injuries and players out of form and it’s just a sound byte. His best 11 could change throughout the season.

You are right about the starting 11 changing, yet we all know every team has a best 11, maybe its tweaked for a couple of formations or the player role is altered inside a system but everyone has "their best team".

take our best right back, clearly Mcginn. yet who is the best left back? What about CM?

I appreciate what you are saying, but feel we still have too many questions with regard to this team.

Key West
03-01-2021, 02:23 PM

The levels of fitness now far exceed what they were in the past, I agree it is now imperative to have at least a strong 14 for a game with the aim to use utilise that number in every match, rotation now plays a bigger part than it previously did, you cannot get the maximum performance even from your best players in a tight fixture schedule, in fact I see it as a leveller.

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 02:29 PM
Only if you want extra injuries.

How about the squad and coaches in East Mains reviewing the film of yesterday's match and Jack Ross using that time coaching the team while watching the film to improve them.

03-01-2021, 02:35 PM
The team to me look absolutely knackered, mentally and physically. Whether or not you think that's acceptable is not really important, they look like they need a rest and a few days away from their jobs.

Having a few days off is probably the best thing right now.

03-01-2021, 02:38 PM

Well we were relegation candidates up until JR took over so yes, we have improved drastically. I don’t know by what measure we haven’t improved and I you and I are on totally different planets if you can’t see that.

How can the manage know the best starting 11 when we have to chop and change constantly? Injuries haven’t been bad but they have kept various players out for a week or two here and there. IMO the team that started against Rangers should have been the team that started against RC.

I really don’t see how 3 and 4 nil away from home to Motherwell and Accies respectively can have negatives. We were also unbeaten in 9 before the Rangers game I believe, it isn’t as bad as what is being made out. It’s proven by the league table. Style, well I give you some concessions there because the balance of the midfield isn’t quite right, we desperately need a McGinn type in there to tie things together.

03-01-2021, 02:39 PM
The team to me look absolutely knackered, mentally and physically. Whether or not you think that's acceptable is not really important, they look like they need a rest and a few days away from their jobs.

Why would they be knackered and in need of a break more than the Livingston or Ross County players?

03-01-2021, 02:43 PM

Think we’ve played something like 15 games since 31st Oct. That’s going to take it’s toll.

Not sure how that compares to other teams, i know Livi had a break last midweek as their game was cancelled.

03-01-2021, 02:46 PM
Why would they be knackered and in need of a break more than the Livingston or Ross County players?
Maybe our squad isn’t as fit as theirs or maybe they’ve managed to rotate their squads better. I don’t like it either, but the players looked in dire need of a break and having them back doing double sessions like some have suggested would be counterproductive. Maybe the coaching team can be at work looking at ways to improve the fitness of the squad.

03-01-2021, 02:47 PM

Livi have played 12 games including yesterday since 31st Oct to our 15.

Ross Co have played 14 in that period.

03-01-2021, 02:53 PM

We don't know the individual circumstances of our players verses other squads.

We do however know one of our main players suffered a family tragedy a day or two before our biggest game of the season for instance and has played pretty much non stop since. Doidge has spoken previously about living alone and away from his family. I know a few of the players have had children fairly recently and the added stresses that brings even without covid. I'm sure there will be other things we aren't aware of.

I just think the players look like they need a break. People need to realise that they are human beings too and the past year has been very difficult for everyone, professional football players included.

The idea to get them back in to do double sessions as some sort of punishment would achieve nothing.

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 03:08 PM
Well we were relegation candidates up until JR took over so yes, we have improved drastically. I don’t know by what measure we haven’t improved and I you and I are on totally different planets if you can’t see that.

How can the manage know the best starting 11 when we have to chop and change constantly? Injuries haven’t been bad but they have kept various players out for a week or two here and there. IMO the team that started against Rangers should have been the team that started against RC.

I really don’t see how 3 and 4 nil away from home to Motherwell and Accies respectively can have negatives. We were also unbeaten in 9 before the Rangers game I believe, it isn’t as bad as what is being made out. It’s proven by the league table. Style, well I give you some concessions there because the balance of the midfield isn’t quite right, we desperately need a McGinn type in there to tie things together.

We can defo agree on the midfield! this is a good start. haha

In terms of improvement, I mean since JR took over, the signings he has made, our style, how we see out games.......these have not improved this year imo.

sure those lanarkshire wins are defo positives, just like the livi away game was and how we came back against the huns at ER........but what about the other games......early in the season that game at united we won 1-0, that was dreadful, the collapse in the last 10 mins against celtic, hamilton coming back at us at easter road- scoring 2 in the last 15mins although we did win.......motherwell 0-0 at home, we got bossed that day......the st johnston game the week after was almost as dire as the united game......

I suppose you are right when you say up and down like results, but it feels like there are more downs and the signs that we are headed in the right direction are few and far between.........
We could improve so much, but after watching us sign or loan 12 CMers over the last few years we still cant field 2 that most people feel confident about. That is a sad state of affairs.

HibeeHibernian4
03-01-2021, 03:13 PM
I bet that if the liverpool fans were feeling generally bored or experiencing high levels of frustration on a near weekly basis for over a year they would sure look to move the manager on.........city fans have called for the head of guys who won them the league in the not so distant past and the arsenal reference, well they loved than uni emry right enough!

May I suggest that we're feeling bored because football is actually quite boring once you take away the social side of it?

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 03:22 PM
May I suggest that we're feeling bored because football is actually quite boring once you take away the social side of it?

You can suggest all you like, but thats not why its boring.....its boring because the play is so slow and predictable.......the players look unhappy, no one is enjoying themselves playing right now.

Check out mallan, his body lanuage and facial expressions look like alfredo morales's, remember when he first signed and was scoring all those goals, grinning from ear to ear, nisbet looks unhappy as well just now.......for a team that is not boring and doing really well (as some poster allude to) why do some of the players appear as if the have no confidence or drive?

03-01-2021, 04:06 PM
Frank Lampard is doing worse than Jack Ross

If anyone doenst think we are in a better place that when Ross walked in the door is surely on the wind up

03-01-2021, 04:11 PM
You can suggest all you like, but thats not why its boring.....its boring because the play is so slow and predictable.......the players look unhappy, no one is enjoying themselves playing right now.

Check out mallan, his body lanuage and facial expressions look like alfredo morales's, remember when he first signed and was scoring all those goals, grinning from ear to ear, nisbet looks unhappy as well just now.......for a team that is not boring and doing really well (as some poster allude to) why do some of the players appear as if the have no confidence or drive?

Maybe they’re feeling a bit down because of the current situation? They have kids and families after all. They’re not paid to run around with a smile on their face for 90 minutes.

03-01-2021, 04:13 PM

If anyone doenst think we are in a better place that when Ross walked in the door is surely on the wind up

I don't think anyone has suggested that.

We could and should be in a better place though.

03-01-2021, 04:14 PM

Don’t think anybody has said that have they?

03-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Maybe they’re feeling a bit down because of the current situation? They have kids and families after all. They’re not paid to run around with a smile on their face for 90 minutes.No but there paid to have us challenging for top 4 and into the later rounds of the cup

Oh.

03-01-2021, 04:16 PM
Don’t think anybody has said that have they?I believe #2 double tap is suggesting that

4th place "looks better" but but but

03-01-2021, 04:19 PM
Maybe they’re feeling a bit down because of the current situation? They have kids and families after all. They’re not paid to run around with a smile on their face for 90 minutes.

Maybe they should look into a different profession then?

They really don't know how lucky they are.

03-01-2021, 04:21 PM
I believe #2 double tap is suggesting that

4th place "looks better" but but but

Fair enough.

Clearly we are miles better than we were under Heckingbottom but more still needed IMO.

I think people want excitement, not slow and steady progress.

03-01-2021, 04:22 PM

Tbf, I think I kind of agree. Watching football alone on the telly doesn’t do much for me in terms of whiling away an evening. Like many things, when you step back a bit from it, football is ultimately ridiculous.

03-01-2021, 04:25 PM
Maybe they should look into a different profession then?

They really don't know how lucky they are.

Are you saying they need to look happy? Smiling?

Souness snarled through games. I don’t think looking like they’ve just knocked back some MDMA at kickoff would do much for their ‘enforcer hard man’ status.

Also, the players Union might get involved. You can’t be getting sacked for looking miserable at work. There’d be nobody working in financial services otherwise.

I think the direction of the criticism has gone a bit bonkers to be honest.

03-01-2021, 04:28 PM
Fair enough.

Clearly we are miles better than we were under Heckingbottom but more still needed IMO.

I think people want excitement, not slow and steady progress.
I would be happier with slow, steady, continual progress. We need to get away from the boom to bust trend that we have seen for decades. Let's get ourselves to a level that we SHOULD be at and stick there. We should be no lower than 5th and competing at the latter stages of the cups pretty much every year. How many times do we do ok for a couple of seasons and then spend the next few struggling?

03-01-2021, 04:30 PM
Are you saying they need to look happy? Smiling?

Souness snarled through games. I don’t think looking like they’ve just knocked back some MDMA at kickoff would do much for their ‘enforcer hard man’ status.

Also, the players Union might get involved. You can’t be getting sacked for looking miserable at work. There’d be nobody working in financial services otherwise.

I think the direction of the criticism has gone a bit bonkers to be honest.

Fair point 😂

They should always have an urge to win though surely.

03-01-2021, 04:32 PM
Ross is incapable of turning a game, his half time team talks have zero effect, if anything Hibs come out even worse in 2nd half of games

Substitute Ross for any Hibs Manager over the last 30 odd years and there is not one person on this board who would disagree, these are frequently aired complaints about every one of them (Ross included)

I am not convinced by Ross, but there are signs of a bandwagon forming here with all sorts of justifications for replacing him, just as surely as a similar bandwagon will form for his successor and the ones after that.

Given the choice between watching Ross look contemplatively at his team's shortcomings and the baboon like behaviour of Hughes & Lennon on the touchline, to name but two, I would choose Ross.

The time he resorts to the selection bingo of those two clowns is when it will be time for him to go.

03-01-2021, 04:41 PM
Jack Loss must go. .

In amongst a long-lasting litany of utter tripe and anti-Hibs posts from you over many years that is a new low even for you.

I don't believe for a minute you are a Jambo, but you certainly behave like one and exhibit the same lack of intellect and a total absence of self-awareness.

03-01-2021, 04:43 PM

In terms of improvement, I mean since JR took over, the signings he has made, our style, how we see out games.......these have not improved this year imo.

sure those lanarkshire wins are defo positives, just like the livi away game was and how we came back against the huns at ER........but what about the other games......early in the season that game at united we won 1-0, that was dreadful, the collapse in the last 10 mins against celtic, hamilton coming back at us at easter road- scoring 2 in the last 15mins although we did win.......motherwell 0-0 at home, we got bossed that day......the st johnston game the week after was almost as dire as the united game......

I suppose you are right when you say up and down like results, but it feels like there are more downs and the signs that we are headed in the right direction are few and far between.........
We could improve so much, but after watching us sign or loan 12 CMers over the last few years we still cant field 2 that most people feel confident about. That is a sad state of affairs.

Bad performances but still getting wins is a good thing though?

I’m not pretending we have been swashbuckling this season, but there have only been a few times in the last 2 decades where we could say the football has been sublime and the results have matched the quality. With JR the football has been probably just above average in terms of quality but very positive on the whole with regards to results. This season was dealt a really bad hand, but we are a couple of players away from challenging for third and pushing Celtic.

03-01-2021, 05:17 PM

Your post above is just SOOOO HOACHING with negativity it's hard to pick anything out in particular - just the whole middle paragraph is a determined campaign to try to make positives into negatives but WHY??? We have two big fat genuine negatives in the last two pishy results - so why the urge to invent more where they do not exist?

The knack we had found earlier this season of "finding a way to win" even when not playing well is a massive positive for any team. If you refuse to see it that way then it's no surprise that you're failing to see anything else positive about Jack Ross' reign so far. For my money he's not the messiah but is more than decent as a manager and has more than earned the wriggle room to navigate out of the recent patch of rocky form.

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 06:00 PM

Where we were in Jack Ross took over us notthe barrometer. Neither is an EPL manager.

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 06:01 PM
In amongst a long-lasting litany of utter tripe and anti-Hibs posts from you over many years that is a new low even for you.

I don't believe for a minute you are a Jambo, but you certainly behave like one and exhibit the same lack of intellect and a total absence of self-awareness.

Needless post.

03-01-2021, 06:04 PM
Where we were in Jack Ross took over us notthe barrometer. Neither is an EPL manager.How is where we were when Jack Ross took over not relevant?

Do you think you only need a window or 2 to totally revamp a totally underperforming team?

Interesting post match discussion started by Lampard right now.... Almost seems relevant to us

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 06:12 PM
How is where we were when Jack Ross took over not relevant?

Do you think you only need a window or 2 to totally revamp a totally underperforming team?

Interesting post match discussion started by Lampard right now.... Almost seems relevant to us

Because we are Hibs. That is reason alone to challenge the ambition of the club and the leadership of Jack Ross. Hibs are massive in a Scottish Football context and we are now staring not winning a league Cup with a semi final against St Johnstone where the other semi final is St Mirren v Livingston Square in the face under Jack Ross. Is that really good enough? (please don't say ah well it's happened before)

03-01-2021, 06:15 PM
Because we are Hibs. That is reason alone to challenge the ambition of the club and the leadership of Jack Ross. Hibs are massive in a Scottish Football context and we are now staring not winning a league Cup with a semi final against St Johnstone where the other semi final is St Mirren v Livingston Square in the face under Jack Ross. Is that really good enough? (please don't say ah well it's happened before)That's just waffle though

Ofcourse the state of the side when a new manager takes over directly influences how quickly thing tend to improve

We are Hibs, there's always a chance we can lose a semi final to anybody

I watched us lose a league cup final to Ross County not so long ago and Livi many moons before that

If you think "because we are Hibs" means we can't lose to other teams in this league your going to be in a constant state of disappointment

We have every chance of winning the semi final.

I don't think there's a form table around that puts us below St Johnstone

03-01-2021, 06:18 PM
Hermit Crap.

So an admin is allowed to name call now? :confused:

03-01-2021, 06:19 PM
What was the score when we last played them?

At Parkhead? 3-0 and we never had a shot on target that day. At Easter rd 2-2 another Hanlon screw up cost us 2 points but you already knew that anyway.

Allez Hibs
03-01-2021, 06:21 PM
That's just waffle though

Ofcourse the state of the side when a new manager takes over directly influences how quickly thing tend to improve

We are Hibs, there's always a chance we can lose a semi final to anybody

I watched us lose a league cup final to Ross County not so long ago and Livi many moons before that

If you think "because we are Hibs" means we can't lose to other teams in this league your going to be in a constant state of disappointment

We have every chance of winning the semi final

Might be best to read people's posts properly before replying with such a Hibs blinkered point of view. We have fans with a more pragmatic point of view too.

03-01-2021, 06:22 PM
Needless post.

If you post attention seeking nonsense then you get attention.

03-01-2021, 06:22 PM
So an admin is allowed to name call now? :confused:Your surley no greetin about that after the Jack Dross/Jack Loss rubbish you've been posting

I may be assuming too much here but I don't believe for a second your actual name is Hermit Crab

03-01-2021, 06:23 PM

Are you really upset at that? I’ll delete it and apologise if you want but if you don’t like it then maybe think about the dreadful Jack Loss patter.

03-01-2021, 06:23 PM

LOL

How about Jack Dross at home then because thats what it is.

03-01-2021, 06:24 PM

I don't think Matty in any way was being serious at all.

Might be best to read people's posts properly before replying with such a Hibs blinkered point of view. We have fans with a more pragmatic point of view too.Show me any form table that puts St Johnstone above us

It makes your post about on the edge of blowing a cup by losing to St Johnstone seem reactionary over the top rubbish

Ofcourse, we could lose that semi but then, we could lose any match we play against an spl side

Are you really upset at that? I’ll delete it and apologise if you want but if you don’t like it then maybe think about the dreadful Jack Loss patter.

No I'm not, I'm a big boy.

03-01-2021, 06:26 PM
Might be best to read people's posts properly before replying with such a Hibs blinkered point of view. We have fans with a more pragmatic point of view too.Since, after so many years of virtual silence you're now all over the board like a rash, you can maybe answer my question about your other user name(s).

03-01-2021, 06:29 PM

So just faux outrage then?

#2 Double Tap
03-01-2021, 07:02 PM
Bad performances but still getting wins is a good thing though?

I’m not pretending we have been swashbuckling this season, but there have only been a few times in the last 2 decades where we could say the football has been sublime and the results have matched the quality. With JR the football has been probably just above average in terms of quality but very positive on the whole with regards to results. This season was dealt a really bad hand, but we are a couple of players away from challenging for third and pushing Celtic.

I agree with you, playing **** and winning is a positive, but imo it requires a greater degree of luck
more often than not. If we are serious about making that push for third then we really need to get those
2 or 3 players in and start turning in better performances.

Perhaps I am just overly negative about jack ross, as basehibby stated in his post above. It stems from the derby defeats
I think and its hard to see how fellow supporters can be positive when basic stuff like the CM has still not been fixed, even
though the manager has signed 3 players who play there.

HibeeHibernian4
03-01-2021, 07:03 PM
Because we are Hibs. That is reason alone to challenge the ambition of the club and the leadership of Jack Ross. Hibs are massive in a Scottish Football context and we are now staring not winning a league Cup with a semi final against St Johnstone where the other semi final is St Mirren v Livingston Square in the face under Jack Ross. Is that really good enough? (please don't say ah well it's happened before)

You turned up at the Scottish Cup parade and started supporting Hibs from then didn't you?

03-01-2021, 07:11 PM

Bragging aswell?

03-01-2021, 07:15 PM
To be serious, Jack needs Jan to bolster the team, if we still havent improved or held 4th then his position needs to be looked at, we already had a decent amount spent on players recently,and how much time do we have to give him with the budget he has had.

03-01-2021, 10:36 PM
I agree with you, playing **** and winning is a positive, but imo it requires a greater degree of luck
more often than not. If we are serious about making that push for third then we really need to get those
2 or 3 players in and start turning in better performances.

Perhaps I am just overly negative about jack ross, as basehibby stated in his post above. It stems from the derby defeats
I think and its hard to see how fellow supporters can be positive when basic stuff like the CM has still not been fixed, even
though the manager has signed 3 players who play there.

Derby defeats are ***** mate, we all know that.

But that shouldn’t change the fact that there have been circumstances around Jack Ross’s time in charge at Hibs that have never been seen before and hopefully never will be again. If we are basing our opinions on managers on derby results then we wil struggle to find anyone bar Stubbs and McLeish that have an above average record in them, and that’s been the case for as long as I’ve been a Hibs fan.

I’m not asking for him not to be scrutinised, but for the board to explode the way it has over the last 2 games has been ridiculous.

03-01-2021, 10:43 PM
Derby defeats are ***** mate, we all know that.

But that shouldn’t change the fact that there have been circumstances around Jack Ross’s time in charge at Hibs that have never been seen before and hopefully never will be again. If we are basing our opinions on managers on derby results then we wil struggle to find anyone bar Stubbs and McLeish that have an above average record in them, and that’s been the case for as long as I’ve been a Hibs fan.

I’m not asking for him not to be scrutinised, but for the board to explode the way it has over the last 2 games has been ridiculous.

Its not just the last 2 games though is it. You know that though, someone posted on here earlier stating that under JR we have only won 2 of 14 of what Hibs fans call big games, some of the defeats in those big games have been by a shocking scoreline as well. 1-3 at home to Hearts for example.

03-01-2021, 10:54 PM
Its not just the last 2 games though is it. You know that though, someone posted on here earlier stating that under JR we have only won 2 of 14 of what Hibs fans call big games, some of the defeats in those big games have been by a shocking scoreline as well. 1-3 at home to Hearts for example.

Are we going to bring that game up every time he loses? He is basically doomed if we're still holding that against him.

03-01-2021, 11:02 PM
Are we going to bring that game up every time he loses? He is basically doomed if we're still holding that against him.

Yes, certain people will. Then the next manager gets the same treatment and so on.

Still, some people have been able to fill the last couple of days with some time on here when we usually get the odd comment towards the end of games.

I’m sure they are highly successful people in their own right given their meticulous standards.

03-01-2021, 11:04 PM

Are we just going to ignore these games then? Losing derbies is never acceptable but the manner in which we've lost them and other big games is shocking. This is something that needs to improve quickly.

03-01-2021, 11:26 PM
Are we just going to ignore these games then? Losing derbies is never acceptable but the manner in which we've lost them and other big games is shocking. This is something that needs to improve quickly.What's the point? We probably won't play them again this season.

HibeeHibernian4
03-01-2021, 11:35 PM
Are we just going to ignore these games then? Losing derbies is never acceptable but the manner in which we've lost them and other big games is shocking. This is something that needs to improve quickly.

"Losing derbies is never acceptable"? :confused:

It's going to happen. We will lose derbies. Even if we had a good derby record it would happen. You are being petulant in the extreme if you can't accept losing a derby now and then. Not that the two Ross lost were acceptable by the way. But just making a general point.

03-01-2021, 11:52 PM

No, but you cannot rag on a manager forever for a bad result. They have to be forgotton at some point.

No one is saying it is acceptable. I'm yet to see what not accepting a result actually does, though? Are you just going to stay mad about it forever? Do you expect him to back sacked for a result that happened a year ago?

I think Ross knows it needs to improve, I don't think he is sitting about doing nothing. Everyone at the club works every day to improve things.

Bright_Hibee
04-01-2021, 01:14 AM
Should Jack Ross go? No
Am I happy with Jack Ross? No, the team don't create enough because of his tactics and his recruitment is a tad iffy
Is Jack Ross the long term solution? On the evidence so far I would say no

It is unrealistic to expect the board sack him when we are fourth and in a semi, but I don't like watching us play under Jack Ross

04-01-2021, 04:05 AM
Should Jack Ross go? No
Am I happy with Jack Ross? No, the team don't create enough because of his tactics and his recruitment is a tad iffy
Is Jack Ross the long term solution? On the evidence so far I would say no

It is unrealistic to expect the board sack him when we are fourth and in a semi, but I don't like watching us play under Jack Ross

If we lose our next 2 games then he’s in real trouble. I’m not expecting a win away to Celtic. Actually, they’ve picked up a bit and I expect us to get hammering. They rarely lose two games in a row.

Kilmarnock at home is a game I’d normally expect us to win but going by the last 2 home games we are in no form to expect anything like a win.

Then it’s the semi final we need a bit of form going into that game.

04-01-2021, 07:00 AM
"Losing derbies is never acceptable"? :confused:

It's going to happen. We will lose derbies. Even if we had a good derby record it would happen. You are being petulant in the extreme if you can't accept losing a derby now and then. Not that the two Ross lost were acceptable by the way. But just making a general point.

Hermit is being petulant if he can’t accept a derby defeat now and again but the last two derby defeats weren’t acceptable to you ?

Why’s he being petulant and you’re not??!!

04-01-2021, 07:36 AM
Hermit is being petulant if he can’t accept a derby defeat now and again but the last two derby defeats weren’t acceptable to you ?

Folk are tying themselves in knots to try and suggest Jack Ross doesn’t actually have a bad record in big games.

04-01-2021, 08:03 AM
Hibs manager remit..

Finish as high up league as possible - currently in 4th - strong start but form dipping. No Hearts in the league makes 4th an easier achievement compared to when they are in league.

(1st and 2nd would be exceptional - 3rd very good considering Aberdeen more established as a team).

Cups - latter stages (semi finals) - yes to Scottish cup but followed by a disappointing loss to main rivals and yes to league cup though a tricky opponent awaits and if we manage to win that Ross is 1 game away from a Hibs manager we will talk about for years to come. Struggled in league cup group stages - limited squad but was unbeaten - Alloa a struggle but also a win in the end.

Derbies - played 3 - won 1 - lost 2. The win was a good performance away from home. The loss at home was unacceptable and the semi final was a serious missed opportunity to play a woeful Celtic team in final.

Beating Aberdeen - played them x3 - won once 3-0 (Aberdeen awful - Hibs good at ER). Other games didn’t have Gogic available at ER due to Covid this season and away from home.

Old Firm - not managed a win yet - better results that Hecky managed against them especially at home - though probably should have beaten Celtic at home. Last time Hibs beat old firm was Dec 2018 ! (2v0 Celtic).

Beating the teams with less resources - his record here has been pretty consistent- especially away from home. Not only won games but scored a few goals in the process. Hibs home record has suffered though dropping points this season from winning positions and losing 2-0 and 3-0 this past week to bottom of the league and local rivals Livi.

This is the first time Ross has lost 3 in a row as Hibs manager - could easily be 4 with Celtic next.

A lot of people said when he got the job he drew too many games at Sunderland - he has definitely increased his win ratio at Hibs...

What he does need to do is start doing better in all areas still though considering the circumstances and it’s not all about stats.

An Old Firm win occasionally- rare to do but possible

Beating Aberdeen occasionally / ideally more regularly - Lennon and Hecky struggled with this and our record against Aberdeen is worse than Hearts in recent times. Needs to be seriously addressed. Lost x2 of the 4 games against them already this season.

Winning derbies - hard when they aren’t in same league !! Would be interesting to see how they got on if we played again (Scottish Cup draw?!) but wins in derbies give you credit in bank for upset performances (Ross county loss etc).

Beating the rest - with the resources we have should be happening more often than not - especially at home.

Cups...win the cup and will give the club a massive boost. Fail here and he will split the support even further.

Ross managerial record from Soccer base website.

TEAM FROM TO GAMES WON DRAWN LOST
Hibernian 15 Nov, 2019 Present 51 26 11 14
Sunderland 25 May, 2018 08 Oct, 2019 76 39 27 10
St Mirren 10 Oct, 2016 08 Jun, 2018 80 42 13 25
Alloa 15 Dec, 2015 11 Oct, 2016 35 14 8 13

04-01-2021, 08:16 AM

I think the point is that no one likes defeat in the derby but most people get over it. They don’t harbour a grudge and refer to it constantly, even when the team is in good form and they don’t emerge from the shadows all triumphant and revel in posting pish when the team are going through a period of bad form. See the difference there?

04-01-2021, 08:22 AM
I think the point is that no one likes defeat in the derby but most people get over it. They don’t harbour a grudge and refer to it constantly, even when the team is in good form and they don’t emerge from the shadows all triumphant and revel in posting pish when the team are going through a period of bad form. See the difference there?

I think the manner of defeat is sometimes forgotten - stats and results don’t always show the bulk perspective.

The past week the performances were woeful - but not the derby.

The ER derby was woeful.

The semi final was so so..not woeful but not great.

If Hearts had won the cup the pressure on him would be far greater right now. Celtic did us and him a favour by winning that cup as the consequences aren’t worth thinking about.

Instead they maintained Hearts long long wait to win the league cup! Haha!

04-01-2021, 08:57 AM

If it was an isolated poor result I’m sure people would have been over it by now. It’s not though and that’s why it constantly gets dragged up. It was a poor result to go alongside the home defeat last season - a game which we could have lost by 4 or 5 and had no complaints, the Aberdeen games this season where we have been woeful, our inability to beat either of the OF.

In the big games under JR we’ve been really poor over the piece.

HibeeHibernian4
04-01-2021, 11:07 AM

Check the difference between "a derby defeat now and again" and "losing a derby is never acceptable". Pathetic attempt at a gotcha. :rolleyes:

04-01-2021, 12:45 PM
I think the manner of defeat is sometimes forgotten - stats and results don’t always show the bulk perspective.

The past week the performances were woeful - but not the derby.

The ER derby was woeful.

The semi final was so so..not woeful but not great.

If Hearts had won the cup the pressure on him would be far greater right now. Celtic did us and him a favour by winning that cup as the consequences aren’t worth thinking about.

Instead they maintained Hearts long long wait to win the league cup! Haha!

Yes, the manner of a defeat is a factor. You’re right, the horrible performance at ER was as poor a derby as I remember and it rankled a lot. The Hampden one was a better performance. We weren’t as bad, but we all know we should have done better.

A few general points. This is Ross’s 4th managerial job. He been in the managerial business since December 2015. It probably says more about the modern game that someone could be in this position so quickly. Two successful jobs in his first three seasons, the onto two much bigger clubs.

Do we expect Ross to still be learning the job at this stage? Does that actually matter in terms of him understanding how he wants a team to play and how best to use the resources in terms of who he signs and how he deploys and man manages them (am I still allowed to use that term, lol)?

Do we stick by a manager and give them time to build or are the pressures so great that we ditch them like we did with Heckingbottom? He initially had a game plan, then it went to pot. He seemed hapless and out of his depth by the end.

Ross has two transfer windows. Most accept that this isn’t enough, albeit it depends where the baseline was set when you take over. Hibs were pretty dire in my view. He moved guys on and brought people in and has continued to do so. We are in a reasonable place at the moment, although we’re having a blip ( lets hope that’s what it is). So, do we stick with him for the next couple of windows and see if he can maintain improvement and get us to where we want to be? That in my view is pretty universally endorsed on here and we pretty much all agree on what that would look like.

P. W. D. L
Alloa Athletic- 34 13 8 13
St Mirren- 80 42 13 25
Sunderland- 75 38 27 10
Hibernian- 51 26 11 14

hibeerealist
04-01-2021, 12:49 PM
Check the difference between "a derby defeat now and again" and "losing a derby is never acceptable". Pathetic attempt at a gotcha. :rolleyes:

Hertz were bottom of the league when they came to ER and could not buy a win yet totally destroyed us, it was no fluke result on the night!

So it was not a fluke and you then have to ask what went wrong? Manager tactics, manager not got his team ready/up for it etc, I think JR has to take quite a bit of the blame along with the pathetic performances from most of our players.

Derby's ARE more important than most games and need to be treated as such, as they are across the road.

HC is not alone in keeping the result and performance that night in his mind, I know I do.

04-01-2021, 12:51 PM
The semi performance seems worse than it was because we lost. We were by and large the best team. As the conditions got worse it became a lottery. They scored a penalty and we didn't. First half in particular it was one way traffic at times. The last two performances have been really poor. The three or four before that pretty good. I'm not panicking yet.

04-01-2021, 12:59 PM
Hertz were bottom of the league when they came to ER and could not buy a win yet totally destroyed us, it was no fluke result on the night!

So it was not a fluke and you then have to ask what went wrong? Manager tactics, manager not got his team ready/up for it etc, I think JR has to take quite a bit of the blame along with the pathetic performances from most of our players.

Derby's ARE more important than most games and need to be treated as such, as they are across the road.

HC is not alone in keeping the result and performance that night in his mind, I know I do.

I thought we played ok in the semi but poor finishing let us down and Hearts took their chance when it came. The league defeat was a different story and very similar to the last two horror shows where the defence imploded.
We were led to believe the defensive weakness had been addressed in the summer and early results this season suggested that ,but last weeks shockers show that the same old weakness exists.

04-01-2021, 01:08 PM
The semi performance seems worse than it was because we lost. We were by and large the best team. As the conditions got worse it became a lottery. They scored a penalty and we didn't. First half in particular it was one way traffic at times. The last two performances have been really poor. The three or four before that pretty good. I'm not panicking yet.

The last two games were horrendous, there isn't really any other way of putting it. I honestly think those two games in isolation were as bad as anything we saw under Butcher.

Bigger picture though, I think we remain well placed for a good season. We have a great chance of silverware with the league cup, and then a Scottish Cup campaign to get underway later in the year.

We are also well placed for European football through our league spot.

Usually 4th place and a semi final would be seen as a decent to good season for us, we're on track for that and have a chance of bettering it.

I think we're the third highest scorers in the league and (IIRC) we have scored 3 or more goals every 4 or 5 matches, on average, this season (I am using stats quoted to me from my son, and haven't fact checked them personally).

04-01-2021, 02:37 PM

The last two games were horrendous, there isn't really any other way of putting it. I honestly think those two games in isolation were as bad as anything we saw under Butcher.

Bigger picture though, I think we remain well placed for a good season. We have a great chance of silverware with the league cup, and then a Scottish Cup campaign to get underway later in the year.

We are also well placed for European football through our league spot.

Usually 4th place and a semi final would be seen as a decent to good season for us, we're on track for that and have a chance of bettering it.

I think we're the third highest scorers in the league and (IIRC) we have scored 3 or more goals every 4 or 5 matches, on average, this season (I am using stats quoted to me from my son, and haven't fact checked them personally).

Yup. Also the first time we've lost back to back league games under Ross. The huge meltdown shows how accustomed we've become to picking up results under him. I. No way am I defending Saturday but we'll still pick up more points than most between now and the end of the season.

04-01-2021, 02:42 PM

The semi performance could only be considered worse if Hearts had won the cup.

The performance wasn’t exactly great and a lot of the game I was thinking come on Hibs we can play better and Hearts are here for the taking.

Of course the game could have gone either way and closer than some derbies but at the same time we severely missed an opportunity to beat our rivals, at Hampden for the 1st ever time and reach a final with the financial incentives and chance to win the cup again.

I posted this before but if we were to play Hearts again in a few weeks - would you be confident ? Personally I don’t think this team has the mentality / quality to beat them. I don’t rate Hearts but they have a few experienced pros who know how to get the job done dragging others with them.

04-01-2021, 02:59 PM
The semi performance could only be considered worse if Hearts had won the cup.

The performance wasn’t exactly great and a lot of the game I was thinking come on Hibs we can play better and Hearts are here for the taking.

Of course the game could have gone either way and closer than some derbies but at the same time we severely missed an opportunity to beat our rivals, at Hampden for the 1st ever time and reach a final with the financial incentives and chance to win the cup again.

I posted this before but if we were to play Hearts again in a few weeks - would you be confident ? Personally I don’t think this team has the mentality / quality to beat them. I don’t rate Hearts but they have a few experienced pros who know how to get the job done dragging others with them.

It's a good point. I was impressed with the fight Hearts showed in the final and second half and against us and I definitely think we're lacking when things become a battle. Biggest thing that needs addressed for me.

04-01-2021, 07:47 PM
It's a good point. I was impressed with the fight Hearts showed in the final and second half and against us and I definitely think we're lacking when things become a battle. Biggest thing that needs addressed for me.

Agree entirely

Not an accusation that could have been levelled against the cup winning team

Just goes to show the character of signings is nearly as important as their abilities

It’s all very well signing a team of bright young things but they need a robust gallusness about them to grab games by the throat when required

04-01-2021, 07:50 PM
Agree entirely

Not an accusation that could have been levelled against the cup winning team

Just goes to show the character of signings is nearly as important as their abilities

It’s all very well signing a team of bright young things but they need a robust gallusness about them to grab games by the throat when required

The cup winning team that lost a final a few weeks earlier to Ross County and lost to Falkirk in the play offs?