View Full Version : Hibs 2 - 2 St Johnstone (McGinn x2)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

24-11-2020, 08:06 PM
It's not patter. He won our player of the year (supporters & players awards).

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-stevie-mallan-does-double-player-year-awards-547490

You said he'd never be good enough to start for Hibs which is total crap. I'm leaving it there.

That's the only crumb of justification anyone can come up with when Mallan is criticised. I'm fully aware he won POTY, my point is that it's almost meaningless.

Are you honestly saying you think Mallan is what we need to push on as a club? I'd be amazed if you think he is.

I said he's not good enough to start for Hibs and watching him tonight just cements that more.

Too many passed between the back four, not enough penetration in midfield, our normal attacking danger from Boyle missing. Having said that we had a couple of very decent chances to score. ACH well, LC at the weekend, a competition we can win

bringbackbenny
I remember a scout report doing the rounds a few years ago - might have been from a St Mirren scout. It was absolutely scathing about the state of Gary O'Connor - physical condition, effort level and general performance and he was singled out as a weakness.

I think it was Austin McPhee pre his Hearts gig?

Best player in defeats FFS 😂😂

Eh? I said there were plenty performances worse than Mallans tonight and you asked me when. I gave you examples. Mallan was poor tonight but the post I replied to was a rather extreme reaction

We are only 6 points ahead of Dundee Utd in 5th.

We scraped early wins at Tannadice and in Perth which made us seem a better side.

We are not a top 4 side. The players are not good enough to challenge at that level and our squad is extremely weak.

We paid a hell of alot for Magennis who is returning from a cruciate injury and the signing of Drey Wright hasnt worked. We are so short in centre midfield it's a actually criminal.

Add in the style of play which is horrendous.

People can have a go at me all they want for being negative but this squad needs major investment or we will be a team scraping to get in top 6 for a long time.

This is what gets me, people can be negative, people can think we’re ****, people can form their own opinions about the team they support.

But how are we not a top 4 team while we’ve been in the top 4 all season so far?

Penny beginning to drop on Mallan I see. He's seriously poor. He's had his chance to play in his supposed best position and has failed again. Get rid to Livi or some pish in January

When I’m bored watching hibs I get worried.

I’ve been bored a few times watching them this season.

A lot of making up to do after the semi final. And so far there has been no reaction or result. The Aberdeen performance was a disgrace.

Ross talks a good game, that’s about it at the moment.

H18S NX
24-11-2020, 08:07 PM
Mediocre which is a decent description of us this season....Poor to fair mostly,apart from 3/4 games

That's the only crumb of justification anyone can come up with when Mallan is criticised. I'm fully aware he won POTY, my point is that it's almost meaningless.

Are you honestly saying you think Mallan is what we need to push on as a club? I'd be amazed if you think he is.

I said he's not good enough to start for Hibs and watching him tonight just cements that more.You said he'll never be good enough to start for Hibs. If that's the case he wouldn't have won those awards, therefore you're talking garbage.

Draw a fair result on the match , wtf has happened to Martin Boyle tho 🤷

I am really unhappy with that performance. Stand as a team and so I will say slack to a man. Caused our own problems with that slackness. Coach slack too poor mental preparation apparently going by such disbelief in them which showed in their lack of understanding and poor passing. So what if the weather is crap. Some of them are beginning to look not good enough for the jersey and the manager well buck stops with him. St J decent and nothing more they wouldnt have got a sniff had it not been for our laxadazical performance. They all need to look at themselves. POOR!

Weir07
24-11-2020, 08:08 PM
We are just a really frustrating watch right now.

If we were more clinical in taking chances we might do ourselves a favour but that shows no sign of changing so I expect this type of performance to continue.

I agree, a bit more composure and Kevin Nisbit and Jamie Murphy could have had a goal each in the second half, just didn't quite click today but was a decent game to watch. We are a good team and I think we will end up fourth, which would be decent and something to build on.

Somebody sensible.

He signed a new deal

24-11-2020, 08:09 PM
He signed a new deal

🤦*♂️

24-11-2020, 08:09 PM
Draw was probably a fair result though we missed chances. I don’t think Newell and Mallan can play in the same starting XI. The real dropped points were on Saturday. On the plus side, fought back to level twice and I thought Murphy had his best game for us.

24-11-2020, 08:10 PM
Tonight shows the importance of Hanlon in defence. Yes he made a mistake on Saturday but we looked nervy when he went off.

Most other players did ok in spells then rubbish at other times.

Nisbet was as poor as I’ve seen him. Looked off the pace. Newell was poor

I thought taking Gogic off was a positive move as he slowed the play down. We created 2 excellent chances which Nisbet and Murphy missed. Then gave the ball away in our own half for their goal. Careless

I must also say that whilst the Gogic sub was a positive one, I never agreed with the change of formation to a 352.

Murphy and Mackie were working well on the left and Murphy glided past them a couple of times with ease although poor delivery.

Thought we would have stuck to a flat 442.

When I’m bored watching hibs I get worried.

I’ve been bored a few times watching them this season.

A lot of making up to do after the semi final. And so far there has been no reaction or result. The Aberdeen performance was a disgrace.

Ross talks a good game, that’s about it at the moment.

I’m absolutely with you on your first sentence.

I’m still not really sure what style of football JR has us playing. Very turgid stuff.

It’s boring watching us just now

Thats another one of the problems though, we just dont seem to click. Is that doon tae Ross or whit?

Tepid performance lacking in pace and energy. Apart from McGinn's two goals and two shots in either half we didn't work their keeper nearly enough, even from promising positions.

Murphy wants shooting for his tame effort from a really good position, FFS mate smack it don't give the keeper a passback to save.

But there's no point in picking on individual players, overall that was a team performance lacking in imagination and poise, as well as the aforementioned pace and energy. At the end of the day we were no better than St Johnstone over the 90 minutes and given our performance at Aberdeen and at Hampden, where we were the better side but not by much, its pretty clear that we are a long long way off mounting a challenge for 3rd, in fact if we don't buck up in these games we are going to get dragged back into the pack.

That's the difference between Aberdeen and us ..... Just like Hibs they cant buy a win against the Uglies, but they win games like this one and we dont. Until we sort that out we will continue to be the nearly but not quite league team we have been since we got promoted.

Yup fair result. He's either low on confidence or been found out by the opposition or both. Not been happening for a long time.

24-11-2020, 08:11 PM
Penny beginning to drop on Mallan I see. He's seriously poor. He's had his chance to play in his supposed best position and has failed again. Get rid to Livi or some pish in January

I don't even think he looks properly fit. I honestly thought he'd get even better after all these goals early in his Hibs career but he's regressed seriously.

24-11-2020, 08:11 PM
Tonight shows the importance of Hanlon in defence. Yes he made a mistake on Saturday but we looked nervy when he went off.

Most other players did ok in spells then rubbish at other times.

Nisbet was as poor as I’ve seen him. Looked off the pace. Newell was poor

I thought taking Gogic off was a positive move as he slowed the play down. We created 2 excellent chances which Nisbet and Murphy missed. Then gave the ball away in our own half for their goal. Careless

Did he slow the play down though? I thought we looked notably worse after he went off and absolutely open as I’ve seen us at the back.

Thought we seemed more sure in possession and a lot comfier when he was on.

24-11-2020, 08:12 PM
Wow. I thought we drew 2 2 against a side unbeaten in 8, but reading this we lost heavily. Some comments about individual players are way ott. No one sets out to play less than their best. If I was one of the unlucky players picked on on this site I would be thinking of moving on soon as.
We slag other supports but in my 56 years I cant think of any other with a more greeting faced support.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

Mr. Wonderful
24-11-2020, 08:13 PM
Yup fair result. He's either low on confidence or been found out by the opposition or both. Not been happening for a long time.

Simply not getting the service from very lacklustre distributors of the ball behind him in midfield.

We're too slow to get him the ball in areas where he can be dangerous.

jonny
24-11-2020, 08:13 PM
Mallan just jogs about not influencing the game other than the odd touch here and there in our own half with his back to goal.

The player of the year patter is tiresome, he shouldn't be anywhere near our team but we signed him on a long deal which looked decent business at the time, and for 5/6 league cup games at the beginning too, since then he's offered very little by the way of tangible results.

He can score a screamer once every 15 games but it's no use when it's like playing with 10 men

I'm not usually one for singling out individuals but I simply can't disagree with anything you've said there.
In general terms I just don't think he brings enough to the table. Yes he can stick in the odd decent cross and can strike a ball cleanly but we need more than that. Hopefully once we get McGennis fit and up to speed he'll be the one to move the midfield forward.

24-11-2020, 08:14 PM
Mcgregor responsible for both their goals.

Not for their second - it was whoever played the crap pass into the middle from our right - easily intercepted and defence instantly exposed.

Snedz
What I'd give to see big Frank Sauzee in a Hibs strip again striding forward creating space and bossing the game. I thought we'd come out second half and pin them back but too many misplaced passes and heidless chicken running around chasing the ball cost us.

I agree, a bit more composure and Kevin Nisbit and Jamie Murphy could have had a goal each in the second half, just didn't quite click today but was a decent game to watch. We are a good team and I think we will end up fourth, which would be decent and something to build on.you think we are a good team , I just can’t see it we are boring and to many bang average players. Okay we might finish 4th which will be decent but it’s a poor league.

Wow. I thought we drew 2 2 against a side unbeaten in 8, but reading this we lost heavily. Some comments about individual players are way ott. No one sets out to play less than their best. If I was one of the unlucky players picked on on this site I would be thinking of moving on soon as.
We slag other supports but in my 56 years I cant think of any other with a more greeting faced support.

Sent from my SM-G973F using TapatalkIt's getting worse. It used to be the close season that was unbearable on here but we're hitting an all time low of late.

Disappointing performance but as usual this board is full of OTT reactions and outright nonsense. We never find it easy against St Johnstone - it’s not an excuse but a draw wasn’t exactly a shocking result. The team did well to fight back IMO considering we weren’t playing well.

Anyway that was poor stuff. Newell and Mallan don’t compliment each other and it’s tough to see where Mallan fits in. McGregor wasn’t great and it would be a worry if Hanlon was out for any length of time.

Again we’re looking to a transfer window to find an energetic midfielder. Can’t believe they aren’t some good loan options out there

EVENTUALLY
24-11-2020, 08:15 PM
I remember a scout report doing the rounds a few years ago - might have been from a St Mirren scout. It was absolutely scathing about the state of Gary O'Connor - physical condition, effort level and general performance and he was singled out as a weakness.

I wonder what a neutral would have made of Mallan tonight? We've got history with him, both positive and negative which taints our views. I reckon a neutral watching the game tonight would suspect he won a game tonight after collecting enough crisp packets rather than being a trained athlete playing a defined role in a team performance.

Was a chance for him to cement a place in the side. Was a surprise he wasn't subbed off. Looked a bit lost and didn't know where to be once Gogic went off.

People would have had breakdowns during Alex Miller's decade in charge if social media was around then.

My biggest worry is there are no youth players / young players in the midfield area we have on the books that can take / make the step up. Midfield is where we are weakest. That area needs energy and drive, and we currently don't have the players with that skillset in the midfield area.

St. Johnstone were very well drilled and organised, but let's not forget, weakened with injuries. Time to really question the youth set up in my opinion, based on this season's showings, especially with a manager who wants to work with a smaller squad.

McGinn was excellent, Newell tidy yet not very influencing but missed a great chance, Murphy played well in patches. Very disjointed tonight. Mallan a passenger again when it mattered. Can only think Gogic had an injury as that sub was baffling.

Draw a fair result.

24-11-2020, 08:16 PM
You said he'll never be good enough to start for Hibs. If that's the case he wouldn't have won those awards, therefore you're talking garbage.If you want to play pedantics what I actually said was that Mallan should be nowhere near our side.

Him winning an award years ago does not change that one bit. I don't understand what your point is?

Do you think Mallan is good enough for us to push on as a club beyond finishing mid table?

24-11-2020, 08:17 PM

I get it’s squad game, and we’re already light on numbers but I do wonder what we could get for Newell, Mallan, Hallberg, Allan (even before he’s been unavailable) & S McGinns wages combined. Too much quantity over quality in midfield. I’d move on some long before others, but don’t thing I’d necessarily miss many of them as none are irreplaceable IMO.

That is St Johnstone unbeaten in 9.

Did he slow the play down though? I thought we looked notably worse after he went off and absolutely open as I’ve seen us at the back.

Thought we seemed more sure in possession and a lot comfier when he was on.

I thought he did, especially first half

We were more open when he went off. But is that not a gamble worth taking as we definitely created better chances too

It's getting worse.

Coincides with the football getting worse. Funny that.

24-11-2020, 08:18 PM
If you don’t have a midfield you don’t win games

Why Ross persists with a central 2 I’ll never know

We started with 3 in centre mid...

Mallan worst ever? DeGraff, Vine, Watson, Wiss right off the top of my head

jonny
Simply not getting the service from very lacklustre distributors of the ball behind him in midfield.

We're too slow to get him the ball in areas where he can be dangerous.

Unfortunately I don't have the answers as to how we do it but we have to find a way to get him more of the ball.
In Boyle and Murphy we have 2 very dangerous wide players but unfortunately don't seem to be getting the dividends from them I feel we should be at the moment.

I thought he did, especially first half

We were more open when he went off. But is that not a gamble worth taking as we definitely created better chances too

I’d say no considering it almost lost us the game?

Fair enough if he’d made that sub going into the last ten minutes but he made it far too early.

We lost the goal because we were so open then we were then chasing for the equaliser after that

24-11-2020, 08:19 PM
It's getting worse. It used to be the close season that was unbearable on here but we're hitting an all time low of late.Agree

People would have had breakdowns during Alex Miller's decade in charge if social media was around then.[emoji122][emoji122]

Robbo6-2
That is St Johnstone unbeaten in 9.

Your saying that as if it's a good result.

The day we are happy with a draw at home to St Johnstone is the day we pack it in

24-11-2020, 08:21 PM
We started with 3 in centre mid...

Then lost our way when he went to a 2 .....

Started with a 2 at hampden ....

The day we are happy with a draw at home to St Johnstone is the day we pack it in

hfc-1875
We are seriously lacking a creative spark and a bit of pace. Boyle aside there’s not 1 bit of pace in the team. On the subject of Boyle he should be dropped for a couple of games to get himself together and back at it.

24-11-2020, 08:22 PM
I’d say no considering it almost lost us the game?

Fair enough if he’d made that sub going into the last ten minutes but he made it far too early.

We lost the goal because we were so open then we were then chasing for the equaliser after that

We lost the goal cause of a slack pass in our own half, a minute after Murphy missed the chance. I may be wrong but can’t think of a chance they created between Gogic going off and their goal.

24-11-2020, 08:22 PM
Every single ball? [emoji848]

Ok, I’ll re-phrase. The majority.

We do not work hard enough to win the ball back when we’ve not got it. We look unfit, although I’m sure we’re not.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

24-11-2020, 08:23 PM
Coincides with the football getting worse. Funny that.On some mental exponential curve maybe.

24-11-2020, 08:23 PM
How did Mallan manage to stay on for the 90mins?

That's got to be up there with one of the worst 90mins a player has ever produced in green and white.

Attention seeking nonsense.

18Craig75
24-11-2020, 08:24 PM

It’s hard to disagree...can’t think of a positive contribution from him.

Lee Marvin
24-11-2020, 08:27 PM
We need back into stadiums ASAP, apathy is starting to set in...

24-11-2020, 08:28 PM
If you want to play pedantics what I actually said was that Mallan should be nowhere near our side.

Him winning an award years ago does not change that one bit. I don't understand what your point is?

Do you think Mallan is good enough for us to push on as a club beyond finishing mid table?Oops sorry, I'm confusing you with andymac.

To answer your question, I think he does have his place at Hibs, but I'm not surprised he didn't look great when Gogic was subbed.

Mallan & Newell isn't an ideal pairing in conditions like tonight against a side we always struggle against. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201124/3c1110a89f3c456cee1768d3950feace.jpg

Kaff
I could listen to Stubbs and Lennon talking in interviews and it excited me about what we would be watching in the next game but Heckingbottom and Jack just don't do it.
Jack is miles ahead of Heck but there's something just too safe about him and worryingly he'd probably want us to be like Aberdeen where we're solid in 3rd but no exciting Old Firm wins or cavalier play to lift things, even when we have a decent result like against Celtic it was pretty insipid over the 90 mins and ultimately our lack of bravado and swagger lost us the full 3pts, they were poor and being passive let them get their tempo up and cost us in the end.
If this season is a step towards being a more dynamic team built on solid foundations then fair enough I'm patient and will back him but the worry is how we're not seeing the best of our flair players while we're actually in a good league position. I know Scott Allan unavailable and quite probably under par this season for same reason but it has never looked like he can get him or Boyler playing to their optimum.
Probably doesn't sound like it but definitely backing JR for now but to keep building he has to lose some of the shackles, Aberdeen have been steady but their low crowds have to be looked at as a concern for the club if there's no swagger attached to it.
Fingers crossed for an upturn in next handful of games, could be a key period in season

Bit disappointing in the end but a fair result. I can't get too worked up about fitba these days with everything that's going on in the real world.
These games are just glorified practice matches without supporters and I appreciate the efforts being made to give us something to watch even if it isn't always the 1960 European Cup final.
Think the manager deserves at least the next two transfer windows to build his team then it's probably time to judge the end result.
It's nowhere near the worst football we have ever seen and none of these players are anywhere near the worst we have seen either.
Hopefully Scott Allan will return at some point and McGennis will get match fit and give us something different.
Unfashionable as it may be am looking forward to Saturday now.

Snedz
We are seriously lacking a creative spark and a bit of pace. Boyle aside there’s not 1 bit of pace in the team. On the subject of Boyle he should be dropped for a couple of games to get himself together and back at it.

He was pish poor tonight. Right at the death we had played some decent stuff pinned them back, when it reached Boyle he put in a harmless cross straight into the arms of their keeper. Needs rested. Not the only pish poor performance unfortunately though.

Robbo6-2
24-11-2020, 08:29 PM

Would love to know his pass success rate tonight. Less than 30%?

Set pieces awful, horrendous defensively, terrible going forward and making Liam Craig look like Kevin De Bruyne.

How slow is he? He must a stone overweight.

24-11-2020, 08:29 PM
We need back into stadiums ASAP, apathy is starting to set in...

You’re right. Just made a thread about this.

Being 3rd at this point is a good return in the grand scheme of things but I can’t help but feel a bit meh about it all

24-11-2020, 08:30 PM

We were poor tonight but St J are on a decent run of form and sevens very well as a team.

24-11-2020, 08:31 PM
McGinn showing the forward players how its done

THIS in spades!

Two great finishes - one move started by himself and slipped deftly in off the post followed by a great take down and ferocious shot. If Newel, Nisbet and Murphy had shown the same composure earlier on the game would have been in the bag.

Disappointing to have dropped two points but you've got to give credit to St Johnstone for playing good football and giving us a game as much as decrying our own players for not being more ruthless.

Weir07
24-11-2020, 08:32 PM
you think we are a good team , I just can’t see it we are boring and to many bang average players. Okay we might finish 4th which will be decent but it’s a poor league.

We've got loads of good attacking players and score regularly, defence half decent and the best goalie we've had since Leighton. Midfield is probably the area that needs most improvement but I don't think we're too far off. I understand people's disappointment when we don't win a game we're expected to but we always need to keep a sense of perspective.

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 08:35 PM
Gave up and turned it off.

75 minutes of the usual turgid, pedestrian football that Hibs are now synonymous with under Ross.

We are absolutely rotten to watch.

Spot on mate switched off too at 2 1. Poor stuff. We are a mid table team and lucky to get a draw tonight. We are no better than Well Killie and St J.
Ross ain’t much better than Hecky unfortunately.

24-11-2020, 08:37 PM
Im not lovingnthe fitba on show either, but, if we can get top four and a place in Europe next year, bring it oan,
Someone will be on here in a minute to say, I said we will be lucky to finish 4th this year

24-11-2020, 08:37 PM
Spot on mate switched off too at 2 1. Poor stuff. We are a mid table team and lucky to get a draw tonight. We are no better than Well Killie and St J.

Ross is absolutely miles better than Hecky. What a nonesense suggestion.

HFC93
24-11-2020, 08:39 PM

Yet we're above all of these teams in the league suggesting we're better than them.

24-11-2020, 08:40 PM
Does anyone regret paying 450 to watch this ***** on their computer

Should have got the early bird - it's a snip at £410 :wink:

24-11-2020, 08:44 PM
Would love to know his pass success rate tonight. Less than 30%?

Set pieces awful, horrendous defensively, terrible going forward and making Liam Craig look like Kevin De Bruyne.

How slow is he? He must a stone overweight.

Nowhere near as bad as that.

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 08:47 PM
"Q" the low post counters appearing from nowhere to slag the team.

Better than listening to the pish that comes out of you high posters. Must be good to post a lot. This is a very average Hibs side. Ross has brought in Wright and Magennis and not a ball kicked by either. Time to deliver before we slip back in to mid table. I know my football and have supported Hobbs for 55 years. What’s your credentials.
Criticising my team does not make me a Jambo by the way.
This site is every bit as bad as the Jambo one by the way. Both full of slavers.
As a low poster don’t worry I won’t be back for a while.

24-11-2020, 08:47 PM
Did anyone else fear things a bit when Gogic went off?

Boyle absent again.

:agree: That was a strange one - a brave and positive move to get Doidge on and go two up front - but would have made much more sense to take off Mallan who was not having a great game while Gogic going off left our defence more exposed I thought.

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 08:50 PM
Yet we're above all of these teams in the league suggesting we're better than them.

Check back early next year and we shall see.

HFC93
24-11-2020, 08:50 PM
Better than listening to the pish that comes out of you high posters. Must be good to post a lot. This is a very average Hibs side. Ross has brought in Wright and Magennis and not a ball kicked by either. Time to deliver before we slip back in to mid table. I know my football and have supported Hobbs for 55 years. What’s your credentials.
This site is every bit as bad as the Jambo one by the way. Both full of slavers.

Saying you know a lot about football doesn't make the points your making any more valid

24-11-2020, 08:51 PM
Saturdays draw was a good result. Tonight's draw was a poor result. Imo.

True - would have been better off points wise losing Saturday and winning tonight if we could choose. Great not to lay down to the OF but these are the games we really need to win

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 08:53 PM
Saying you know a lot about football doesn't make the points your making any more valid

Rather than making a total non statement Which points do you disagree with?

24-11-2020, 08:55 PM

Just shows how far some of our fans standards have dropped.

24-11-2020, 08:56 PM
As a low poster don’t worry I won’t be back for a while.Don't let me keep you.

24-11-2020, 09:00 PM
Completely OTT. You have not been watching us very long if you really believe that.

He's only been with us a few years though.

24-11-2020, 09:01 PM
Split screen with Porn Hub helps.

Nah, you'd just end up like Hibs...soft

24-11-2020, 09:02 PM

Wright’s been a big disappointment for me but are you seriously writing Magennis off already? Pretty poor comment imo.

24-11-2020, 09:06 PM
We have a poor record against St Johnstone at home (a team with a fraction of our resources).

Thought we started off well, then fell out of it. Some players are struggling. Wouldn't have taken Gogic off tonight unless injured

Hunts
24-11-2020, 09:12 PM
As much as McGregor is one of out heroes how much do we not play out of defence well. We need good cover across the centre of defence. Second St J goal was a joke between the central defence.

Sent from my SM-A600FN using Tapatalk

24-11-2020, 09:12 PM
We have a poor record against St Johnstone at home (a team with a fraction of our resources).

Thought we started off well, then fell out of it. Some players are struggling. Wouldn't have taken Gogic off tonight unless injured

I believevSt.J. have an equally poor record against us at home .

Taking Gogic Off got the trouble it was asking for.

24-11-2020, 09:20 PM
Rather than making a total non statement Which points do you disagree with?

Your spelling of Hibs 😉

We're not kettles.

24-11-2020, 09:20 PM
As much as McGregor is one of out heroes how much do we not play out of defence well. We need good cover across the centre of defence. Second St J goal was a joke between the central defence.

Sent from my SM-A600FN using TapatalkThe first wasn't great either.

24-11-2020, 09:21 PM
Joe Newell can be tremendous but he was so far off that tonight. A frustratingly inconsistent player.

I thought Newell was only a composed finish away from a very good performance. He hardly conceded possession the whole game and put some good challenges in - and if he puts away Mackie's great pass (which he was begging for by the way) then we'd all be drooling.

It's fine margins I suppose - Mallan tried a bit too hard to be creative I thought and ended up being a breaking point rather than a focal point by the end of the game. Murphy had a fine game but even he over pushed things a couple of times and it never quite clicked. Gogic had a typical 6/10 game - breaking up and linking up in equal measure and I think he should have stayed on rather than Mallan.

I think we've got some good footballers in the side and when it works it can be great to watch. There's more to football than just being pretty though of course - it's a matter of getting a balance that wins games. I don't think Jack's far away from that and I feel a lot more patient than some seem to at the moment. I think our first team looks stronger than it did last season and look forward to more of that kind of progress.

WYHibbees
24-11-2020, 09:24 PM
I was surprised to see Gogic make more attacking runs than Newell. I get that Newell was maybe in a deep-lying playmaker role, but giving the ball to a streaking Gogic 30-40 yards from goal is hardly going to inspire fear in defenders. I'll always prefer Allan over Mallan in the role of light-tackling attacking mid, particularly with some of our other players on that side of the ball.
Thought Mackie looked good, and Murphy is getting his feet under him. And was that the first brace by a McGinn for Hibs? Saved us on the day.

24-11-2020, 09:24 PM

Sent from my SM-A600FN using Tapatalk

I don’t think that goal would have come about if Gogic was still on the pitch. Defence was far too exposed.

gaz1875
24-11-2020, 09:26 PM
:agree: That was a strange one - a brave and positive move to get Doidge on and go two up front - but would have made much more sense to take off Mallan who was not having a great game while Gogic going off left our defence more exposed I thought.

That would have been my substitution. Gogic was playing well, and despite criticism for his passing recently I thought it was good as anyone today.

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 09:26 PM
Your spelling of Hibs 😉

We're not kettles.

Like it 😂

h1bs4life
24-11-2020, 09:35 PM

Agree with you mate apart from maybe knowing your football. Plenty on hear that think they are Uber fans cause they post a lot on Hibs.net.
Half them have probably never seen Hibs live in there life.
Watch all the games live on the Hibs net match thread and police every thread having a go at anyone who doesn't agree that Hibs were great.
Apparently you can't have a go at Hibs because there is a pandemic , anybody that has an opinion they don't agree with is an instant yam with the Uber back ups jumping in patting each other on the back.
Any points you make don't mean anything , you are not allowed to still be upset about the semi final defeat or question mentality.
God forbid you have a go at the elite players.
I am certainly missing being at the games and in the pub before and after where you can have a good chat / arguement / disagreement about Hibs and everyone's entitled to there opinion wether you agree or not .
Try to have that on here but you get shot down , probably if the Ubers met you in the pub nothing would be said.

PH91
24-11-2020, 09:39 PM
Newell I think would be excellent with the right players around him.

Mallan is decent enough when he's given freedom to play - he's very rarely going to be given the freedom he needs and is hopeless when pressed.

Our first choice defence is very good. Anyone drops out, it appears we're in trouble, McGregor didn't have a good night tonight, Gray looked like he struggled a bit on Saturday.

Forwards are good, lack of depth when anyone is missing though.

Decent out wide, Murphy and Boyle good, again we lack depth.

Midfield is still all over the shop for me. We've not fixed that at all. Magennis might be the answer, he hasn't looked it so far.

Ross will be criticised but at least you can make some sort of sense of his changes. He had a go at trying to win the game tonight, gambled that we'd give up chances in a bid to get more chances at the other end and that's the way it worked out. I had an issue with Mallan lasting the game when he was clearly struggling but he has the ability to bang one in from 25 yards and decide a tight game even when playing badly so Ross is forgiven for leaving someone on that might win the game - even if he didn't.

As is often the case i agree with you.

Murphy has been decent but to fit him in we are either having to sacrifice a third central midfielder or play one up top. Neither doidge or nisbet play as well without a partner and i think both should be playing every week.

Boyle hasnt been at his best for a while but he has never been very effective as a forward imo. He is at his best when he starts deep and i think the wingback role suits him.

Ross had us using 352 to good effect at the start of the year and i wish we would go back to it and stick with it. If it means murphy playing centrally or even being left out then so be it.

Hanlon being out would be a major blow, i hope his injury isn't serious.

On the plus side, mackie looks like he is up for grabbing his chance and rocky looks very confident at the moment.

24-11-2020, 09:39 PM
Agree with you mate apart from maybe knowing your football. Plenty on hear that think they are Uber fans cause they post a lot on Hibs.net.
Watch all the games live on the Hibs net match thread and police every thread having a go at anyone who doesn't agree that Hibs were great.
Apparently you can't have a go at Hibs because there is a pandemic , anybody that has an opinion they don't agree with is an instant yam with the Uber back ups jumping in patting each other on the back.
Any points you make don't mean anything , you are not allowed to still be upset about the semi final defeat or question mentality.
I am certainly missing being at the games and in the pub before and after where you can have a good chat / arguement / disagreement about Hibs and everyone's entitled to there opinion wether you agree or not .
Try to have that on here but you get shot down , probably if the Ubers met you in the pub nothing would be said.
Very good 😂

24-11-2020, 09:40 PM
I’m absolutely with you on your first sentence.

I’m still not really sure what style of football JR has us playing. Very turgid stuff.

It’s boring watching us just now

I just don't agree on the whole turgid front. There have been one or two flat performances this season for sure but more often than not we've been good to watch. Tonight was a good game I thought albeit we certainly didn't have it all our own way. St Johnstone brought a lot to the table and exposed some weaknesses which we undoubtably have - but it was far from boring. Sure I'd like to be winning these fixtures but a 2-2 with two equalisers and a few good chances to win the game is far from turgid IMO.

PH91
24-11-2020, 09:40 PM
I was surprised to see Gogic make more attacking runs than Newell. I get that Newell was maybe in a deep-lying playmaker role, but giving the ball to a streaking Gogic 30-40 yards from goal is hardly going to inspire fear in defenders. I'll always prefer Allan over Mallan in the role of light-tackling attacking mid, particularly with some of our other players on that side of the ball.
Thought Mackie looked good, and Murphy is getting his feet under him. And was that the first brace by a McGinn for Hibs? Saved us on the day.

Super John scored 2 at parkhead

Mr. Wonderful
24-11-2020, 09:41 PM
Unfortunately I don't have the answers as to how we do it but we have to find a way to get him more of the ball.
In Boyle and Murphy we have 2 very dangerous wide players but unfortunately don't seem to be getting the dividends from them I feel we should be at the moment.

Better quality midfield players.

24-11-2020, 09:41 PM

Sent from my SM-A600FN using Tapatalkhow bad was Rocky positioning at the second goal , ball was nearly in the middle of the goal when it hit the net.

24-11-2020, 09:48 PM
Try to have that on here but you get shot down , probably if the Ubers met you in the pub nothing would be said.Great stuff. You should post more often

WYHibbees
24-11-2020, 09:49 PM
how bad was Rocky positioning at the second goal , ball was nearly in the middle of the goal when it hit the net.
Noticed that too. Way overplaying far post and got caught with his pants down.

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 09:50 PM
Don't let me keep you.

Totally shocked you couldn’t muster an intelligent or even witty response. But just make yet another inane response at least that will boost your response numbers ya numpty🤔.

Just look inane up in the dictionary.

h1bs4life
24-11-2020, 09:52 PM
Was expecting a tough game , we started off well then fell out of it.
The whole team were pretty poor , not much urgency , slow build up.
Lack of depth in the squad showing , we need another centre half that can keep both Hanlon and Porteous on there toes . Porteous has started to be to clever again , attempted head backs , flicks etc he should go back to what he is good at winning headers , tackles and moving the ball on quick.
Even the normal steady McGinn was slack at times but did well with the goals. The only position at the back we have a bit competition is left back the rest pick themselves when fit.
Midfield slow and ponderous Mallan doesn't look fit once in the 1st half and again in the 2nd half St J player ran away from him and it was embarrassing watching him trying to keep up / catch him.
Gogic should have stayed on with Mallan taking off.
Positive thing is we equalised fairly quickly after they scored . Point a piece fair.
On to Dundee on Saturday £12.99 on PPV same performance as last week and into the quarter finals.

24-11-2020, 09:53 PM
Totally shocked you couldn’t muster an intelligent or even witty response. But just make yet another inane response at least that will boost your response numbers ya numpty[emoji848].

Just look inane up in the dictionary.If I want inane I'll just check your input.

h1bs4life
24-11-2020, 09:58 PM
Great stuff. You should post more often

You should try getting a life , try talking to real people instead of being a saddo spending all your time being an Uber poster on Hibs net.
You have probably never seen Hibs live in your life.

24-11-2020, 10:01 PM
You should try getting a life , try talking to real people instead of being a saddo spending all your time being an Uber poster on Hibs net.
You have probably never seen Hibs live in your life.Yeah, you're dead right.

Why's this place so full of abusive throbbers tonight?

24-11-2020, 10:03 PM
how bad was Rocky positioning at the second goal , ball was nearly in the middle of the goal when it hit the net.
Poor but what was Porteuos doing. We had the chance to have Daz chasing with Ryan closing the door and he just stopped allowing Wotherspoon a free shot from the middle of the goal. Hope Hanlon is fit soon

h1bs4life
24-11-2020, 10:06 PM
Yeah, you're dead right.

Your right , why don't you log off.

24-11-2020, 10:24 PM
Yeah, you're dead right.

It’s amazing how they can be so silenced and shot down all the time but simultaneously won’t give it a bloody rest.

24-11-2020, 10:27 PM
It’s amazing how they can be so silenced and shot down all the time but simultaneously won’t give it a bloody rest.I don't understand their need to come on to a Hibs supporters' forum and abuse people for supporting Hibs. Maybe the concept is too complicated.

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 10:29 PM
If I want inane I'll just check your input.

No need to check my input you achieved it.

24-11-2020, 10:30 PM
No need to check my input you achieved it.Good one!

Lex7zero
24-11-2020, 10:34 PM
Good one!

Surprised you got it.

USAHibee
24-11-2020, 11:05 PM
There are no easy game in this league. St johnstone battled hard tonight but so did we. Like so many scottish games it's a war of attrition... second balls and mistakes...Not pretty but that's Scottish football...it does make for exciting games!!

h1bs4life
24-11-2020, 11:33 PM
I don't understand their need to come on to a Hibs supporters' forum and abuse people for supporting Hibs. Maybe the concept is too complicated.

Abusing Hibs fans , you are a right laugh you.
I'm sure this site has admins that checks posts and see what is abuse or what is a response to a smart erse comment someone puts on a post you made. If I was banned life would go on.

Hopefully calling people abusive throbbers doesn't get a ban as I suspect seeing the amount of time you spend on here that being on a virtual football board is your life and dread to think what life would be for you without it

HFC93
24-11-2020, 11:37 PM
Yeah, you're dead right.

Wondering the same. Some very angry and aggressive people on on here these days.

24-11-2020, 11:39 PM
I was at work 2-10 and just watched a 7 minute highlight video on youtube.

Missed a few chances and should of put the game to bed by the looks of it also Murphy looked like he had a good game.

25-11-2020, 12:18 AM
Abusing Hibs fans , you are a right laugh you.
I'm sure this site has admins that checks posts and see what is abuse or what is a response to a smart erse comment someone puts on a post you made. If I was banned life would go on.

Hopefully calling people abusive throbbers doesn't get a ban as I suspect seeing the amount of time you spend on here that being on a virtual football board is your life and dread to think what life would be for you without it

Don't worry about me. With people like you around I always know that things could be worse.

25-11-2020, 02:36 AM
Don't worry about me. With people like you around I always know that things could be worse.

You and I touched swords on the Semi Final night, which I have to admit wasn't my finest hour.

I don't post much on Hibs Net these days and haven't for a good while.

Until that night, I knew of you as a poster, but and please take this in the manner is intended, until then not a poster I had any real feelings about either positive or negative, someone who posted "normal" ish type stuff, nothing too offensive or argumentative.

Since that night though you have become very abrasive, have resorted continuously to what you accused me of that night (with some justification) in belittling other posters and if I am honest extremely boorish.

I do hope things are okay with you as this seems entirely out of context with what has gone on in your posting history as I recall it before.

I would suggest that you maybe wanted to step away from the keyboard for a while and reset.

Before I gave up posting as much as I did, I found myself getting involved, as you are, with petty squabbles with folk.

One day the realisation hit that I was never going to change anyone's mind and that that aggro was neither good for me nor the majority of posters who simply want to read abut Hibs and have varying views on the spectrum which change minute by minute of how they are from terrible at one end to brilliant at the other, when of course they are neither.

i am not trying to wind you up here and do hope you take this in the manner intended

25-11-2020, 05:32 AM
You and I touched swords on the Semi Final night, which I have to admit wasn't my finest hour.

I don't post much on Hibs Net these days and haven't for a good while.

Until that night, I knew of you as a poster, but and please take this in the manner is intended, until then not a poster I had any real feelings about either positive or negative, someone who posted "normal" ish type stuff, nothing too offensive or argumentative.

Since that night though you have become very abrasive, have resorted continuously to what you accused me of that night (with some justification) in belittling other posters and if I am honest extremely boorish.

I do hope things are okay with you as this seems entirely out of context with what has gone on in your posting history as I recall it before.

I would suggest that you maybe wanted to step away from the keyboard for a while and reset.

Before I gave up posting as much as I did, I found myself getting involved, as you are, with petty squabbles with folk.

One day the realisation hit that I was never going to change anyone's mind and that that aggro was neither good for me nor the majority of posters who simply want to read abut Hibs and have varying views on the spectrum which change minute by minute of how they are from terrible at one end to brilliant at the other, when of course they are neither.

i am not trying to wind you up here and do hope you take this in the manner intendedThanks for your post but honestly don't worry about me - I'm fine.

Like anyone I sometimes get frustrated with performances and results but instead of taking it out on the players and or/management, I suppose I take it out on those that are taking it out on the players/management (often unjustly IMO).

However, I don't expect to be attacked for defending (ie. supporting) the team on a fans' forum, especially by users (or usernames!) that we almost never hear from.

Yorkshire HFC
25-11-2020, 05:38 AM
Wondering the same. Some very angry and aggressive people on on here these days.

I can't get too worked up about football these days. The games don't mean much to me without fans being there.

And I don't think you can really judge the players or managers in these circumstances - it's not the same for them either.

Just get through this season and then hopefully back to pretty much near normal next season.

25-11-2020, 06:00 AM
It’s amazing how they can be so silenced and shot down all the time but simultaneously won’t give it a bloody rest.

And in the main only turn up when we get a result or performance when we haven't won. Conspicuously absent when we do win which kind of says it all.

25-11-2020, 06:02 AM

Personally thought Porto was more to blame. No idea where he was going and Spoony was able to walk through our defence.

25-11-2020, 06:03 AM
Poor but what was Porteuos doing. We had the chance to have Daz chasing with Ryan closing the door and he just stopped allowing Wotherspoon a free shot from the middle of the goal. Hope Hanlon is fit soon

Spot on exactly how i seen it.

25-11-2020, 07:49 AM
Thanks for your post but honestly don't worry about me - I'm fine.

Like anyone I sometimes get frustrated with performances and results but instead of taking it out on the players and or/management, I suppose I take it out on those that are taking it out on the players/management (often unjustly IMO).

However, I don't expect to be attacked for defending (ie. supporting) the team on a fans' forum, especially by users (or usernames!) that we almost never hear from.

Glad to hear it.

Personal experience has shown me though that your expectation is sadly wrong.

There are those that see in only polar opposites between brilliant and terrible, and then contradict themselves, often in the same day. I am and have been one!

I doubt I ever convinced anyone their view was incorrect and reached a point where I thought what's the point, now I mostly just let folk get on with it and let them enjoy their moment of stupidity.

Occasionally I forget myself and get involved and afterwards think of myself, what a tit you are, what a waste of time that was, why do you behave like that.

I am not sure there is anything more futile than arguing with folk on the internet that you would not share a pub with in real life.

How often do you speak to your mate of 50 years about a single game and he thinks player x was poor when you thought he was good, player y was brilliant when you thought he was poor and player z was MOTM when you thought he was lucky to stay on.

I suppose we are all conditioned by what opinion we have formed over players and managers and it is hard to change that despite evidence to the contrary.

We are also conditioned by expectations, despite seeing only 2 in my lifetime, I believe our midfield should be populated weekly by a series of Pat Stanton or John McGinn clones, and dominate every game, play sparking attractive error free football, the fact that it is not is a constant disappointment to me.

I have tried to rationalise that expectation, but have a particular blind spot when it comes to Hearts, whom I hate with every fibre of my being and to our midfield who constantly disappoint me.

There are though an awful lot of other things to get on with than arguing with folk on the internet when there will never be a decision disputed or otherwise

Choose Life

Good luck to you sir.

25-11-2020, 07:52 AM
Oh for a healthy, fit and on his game Scott Allan.

25-11-2020, 08:08 AM
Glad to hear it.

Personal experience has shown me though that your expectation is sadly wrong.

There are those that see in only polar opposites between brilliant and terrible, and then contradict themselves, often in the same day. I am and have been one!

I doubt I ever convinced anyone their view was incorrect and reached a point where I thought what's the point, now I mostly just let folk get on with it and let them enjoy their moment of stupidity.

Occasionally I forget myself and get involved and afterwards think of myself, what a tit you are, what a waste of time that was, why do you behave like that.

I am not sure there is anything more futile than arguing with folk on the internet that you would not share a pub with in real life.

How often do you speak to your mate of 50 years about a single game and he thinks player x was poor when you thought he was good, player y was brilliant when you thought he was poor and player z was MOTM when you thought he was lucky to stay on.

I suppose we are all conditioned by what opinion we have formed over players and managers and it is hard to change that despite evidence to the contrary.

We are also conditioned by expectations, despite seeing only 2 in my lifetime, I believe our midfield should be populated weekly by a series of Pat Stanton or John McGinn clones, and dominate every game, play sparking attractive error free football, the fact that it is not is a constant disappointment to me.

I have tried to rationalise that expectation, but have a particular blind spot when it comes to Hearts, whom I hate with every fibre of my being and to our midfield who constantly disappoint me.

There are though an awful lot of other things to get on with than arguing with folk on the internet when there will never be a decision disputed or otherwise

Choose Life

Good luck to you sir.

That's the problem with the written word and the internet/message boards - things quickly become very polarised.

There are folk on here that probably can't stand me but I'm certain I'd get on fine with them over a pint (I manage with most people). And at 6'3" & 17-18 stone (depending on lockdown), people generally avoid picking fights with me anyway. :greengrin

25-11-2020, 08:15 AM

Amen to that.

25-11-2020, 03:49 PM

He hasn’t been mentioned by Ross fir a while unless I have missed it Anyone know if he is even back in Training with the Team