View Full Version : Hibs 2 - 2 St Johnstone (McGinn x2)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Snedz
24-11-2020, 07:28 PM
Stream reappeared just in time to see Tawser blast it over the bar.

Just don’t think we had to risk it. Mallan for Doidge would’ve made more sense for meI'd say we're playing better now.

McGinn just panicked and kicked it into midfield leading to that free kick. Stuff like that is really poor.

24-11-2020, 07:29 PM
Schoolboy stuff from Mcgregor

24-11-2020, 07:30 PM
Mackie is not playing as well this hald

I'd say we're playing better now.

I think we look a lot more open when they attack

Poor again from McGregor

JXM73
Saints makin best chances now...

Not really seen enough of Nisbet or Doidge lately. Come on Hibs, step it up.

24-11-2020, 07:31 PM
Saints have had a few decent chances in the last five minutes

24-11-2020, 07:31 PM
Not much happening going forward.

Wull
24-11-2020, 07:32 PM
all the chances they are having, will take one sooner than later

1-2 Stj

Great save from Murphy close range shot.

Yet another chance goes begging...poor miss again

1-2. **** sake

1-2 Wotherspoon

not surprised in the slightest

jellybean
Noooooooooooooooooooo

24-11-2020, 07:33 PM
Piss poor

Horrendous.

Ffs

McGinn just panicked and kicked it into midfield leading to that free kick. Stuff like that is really poor.

I said it when we were hanging on on Saturday and I said it again at HT tonight. There is just a bit of a lack of composure at times and we are very frantic on the ball when pressured. I'm not sure if it is a confidence issue but it invites needless pressure on us and leads to mistakes like those that cost us on Saturday or the one you mentioned.

Of FFS.

McGregor is past it

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

:rolleyes: not ****ing good enough Hibs

Mcgregor responsible for both their goals.

Mr Grieves
Pathetic defending

24-11-2020, 07:34 PM
They’ve been marginally better than us.

If only we had a holding midfielder to put a challenge in 25 yards from goal.....

shocking defending again

Jeezo, yet another game where we just don't take our chances and it bites us on the ar5e

Europe? Forget it.

Snedz
Heidless chickens sums us best this half. No composure or penetration. Garbage Hibs.

Boyle gave it away, passed it to them, another gift of a goal from us.

Powderpuff challenge from Mallan then McGregor. Too easy.

Oh god.

HendoDelivered
We really are “Hibsing it” aren’t we?

24-11-2020, 07:35 PM
We are getting all we deserve from this one. Depressing stuff.

skyhibs
Ross out

**** sake, too passive tonight

The substitution was crazy.

Never looked like scoring second half. Second to loads we should be doing better

It was a ridiculous ****ing sub from your manager that’s left you exposed every single time St Johnstone have went forward.

We have **** all bite left in the midfield and they’re getting forward at will

AL-Qaholik
Getting what we deserve. Again.
You don’t win games if you don’t take your chances.
We’ve had 3 or 4 clear chances this half. They’ve had 1.
In other news, McGregor is done at this level.

McGregor is past it

Nah, surely not? He’s still got another 3 years on his contract?[emoji23]
For those not keen on Gogic, if he’s on the pitch, Witherspoon doesn’t get a shot away from there.
Another game where our midfield can’t control the game.[emoji35]

Deserved loss. Hibs been totally limp. Zero invention.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Daft sub and now no midfielders that can tackle. I’m a fan of Ross but that’s been poor tonight.

Snedz
24-11-2020, 07:36 PM

Get lost.

I'm sure folk will be on soon to tell us how good we are as a team and how pish we are as fans for not being happy with results.

If we were more clinical in front of goal they wouldn't have got that chance in the first place

Substitution ruined it again, Jack.

Deserved loss. Hibs been totally limp. Zero invention.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk ProWe haven't lost yet have we?

The substitution was crazy.

I just don't get that at all, especially when Gogic was having a decent game.

Gogic sub was dreadful. Mallan and Newell both been rotten but kept on. McGregor isn’t up to it anymore.

Weird sub

GTF with that pish patter!

Sub has made us worse and now we look so open just like last year

pollution
24-11-2020, 07:37 PM
What is the point ?????

Mallan has been absolutely rotten. Spectator.

Sub has made us worse and now we look so open just like last yearMaybe folk might see what Gogic brings us.

Our midfield is pish, Newell and Mallan showing us again that it's OK when things are going well, but neither take the game by the scruff of the neck and dictate and control it.

Nothing to do with the Gogic sub. We’ve been second to every single ball this evening.

Mackie has had a mare after a good showing. Hanlon going off hasn’t helped as Darren slightly at fault for both goals.

hibIBZ
If we were more clinical in front of goal they wouldn't have got that chance in the first place

This really, we have had more than enough chances despite not playing great, that's quite a number of games this season we have failed to take our chances and then been punished

Can we bring Gogic back on again please?

Give up the midfield for Doidge and this is what happens, there was nothing wrong with what we were doing before Gogic came off, Boyle has drifted out the game because he's dropping back into midfield to support, bad management from Ross.

Zambernardi1875
Q the usual big Post count hitters trying to defend this result as per usual. Jack Ross is nothing better than before

This has gone from being bang average performance leading to bang average result to having the potential to be far worse than that.

We need to get the fingers out and start getting results again. Games like this coming hot on the heels of the defeats to Hearts and Aberdeen are what breeds the negativity that puts managers under pressure.

Wull
the lack of depth in our squad is all too obvious, McGregor, Gray, well past it Im affraid

Robbo6-2
24-11-2020, 07:38 PM
Gogic must of been injured

Nothing to do with the Gogic sub. We’ve been second to every single ball this evening.

Mackie has had a mare after a good showing. Hanlon going off hasn’t helped as Darren slightly at fault for both goals.

Every single ball? [emoji848]

does look like Daz is no longer the man so if Hanlon is out for a while do we bring SDG in and move McGinn into centre back

Still get my head around his sub. Mallans been an absolute passenger whereas Gogic was solid and was having a decent game.

2-2

What’s Newell been then?? Spectators spectator??

We have been poor tbh!

Q the usual big Post count hitters trying to defend this result as per usual. Jack Ross is nothing better than before

What do we gain by sacking yet another manager?

24-11-2020, 07:39 PM
Have to say apart from a few great chances St.J have been better than us and destine win

Andymac85
McGinn!!

He will be when there's only him and Newell in the middle, 2 players who cannot and should not be a 2 in a 442.

jellybean

Congratulations. You have managed to produce a post which is worse than our teams performance, that’s not easy.

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssssssssssss

Super paul!

Yasss!

2-2

Yeeeesssss! McGinn again.

McGinn hattrick please

Hey guys I'm back just to let you know that Super Paul McGinn

Still get my head around his sub. Mallans been an absolute passenger whereas Gogic was solid and was having a decent game.

Mallan in general play offers **** all. The odd screamer isn't good enough. There needs to be more to his game.

OtleyHibs
My new favourite McGinn!! 2-2

Yes. Bring on European football.

Don’t think we’ve been bad but we’ve been far from good. We still lack real quality in midfield and I feel that’s still our main issue. Newell and Mallan won’t take games like these by the scruff of the neck and what has happened to Boyle. He’s been a shadow of himself all season.

McGinn on a hatrick

McGinn goal machine 🤣

Chorley Hibee
Gave up and turned it off.

75 minutes of the usual turgid, pedestrian football that Hibs are now synonymous with under Ross.

We are absolutely rotten to watch.

Hero76
Hibs are rotten man , **** all changed in years.

Right come one let's get this won.

Super Paul

24-11-2020, 07:40 PM
Wow. Be delighted if we get a point from this.

Super Paul McGinn, again!

McGinn showing the forward players how its done

Cmon hibs push on and win this. Gotta beat them at home eventually

Takes off Nisbet. Eh what

Gave up and turned it off.

75 minutes of the usual turgid, pedestrian football that Hibs are now synonymous with under Ross.

We are absolutely rotten to watch.

Switch it back on now.

Q the usual big Post count hitters trying to defend this result as per usual. Jack Ross is nothing better than before"Q" the low post counters appearing from nowhere to slag the team.

Snedz
Yaaass Get in there.

24-11-2020, 07:41 PM
McGregor putting us under pressure again

Persevere chaps.

Good stuff. Need to replace one of either Newall or Mallan, offering **** all.

Well done mate, you called us out - I'm actually part of the Big Post Count Illuminati™ who's evil plot is to convince Hibs fans everywhere that we're Not Playing That Bad Usually.

Please sub mallan.

McGregor putting us under pressure again

Not been his best game in a Hibs shirt

24-11-2020, 07:42 PM
Gie the baw to McGinn

Shut up Tam!

badabing67
What is wrong with Magennis and when is he due back

pollution
Better my lads. Forward !!

Whilst we may be functional, we are really quite smelling to watch.

bringbackbenny
Don’t think we’ve been bad but we’ve been far from good. We still lack real quality in midfield and I feel that’s still our main issue. Newell and Mallan won’t take games like these by the scruff of the neck and what has happened to Boyle. He’s been a shadow of himself all season.

Agree with all of that, don't think we can get away with Newall and Mallan in same midfield. And Boyle needs to up his game, still a potential match winner but greater consistency and better decision making a must.

24-11-2020, 07:43 PM

Did Yannick that post from Kickback?

What is wrong with Magennis and when is he due back

I would say two weeks but I'd probably cry more than laugh. :greengrin

Well done mate, you called us out - I'm actually part of the Big Post Count Illuminati™ who's evil plot is to convince Hibs fans everywhere that we're Not Playing That Bad Usually.

As someone with no life at all and 40K+ posts on here can I just state that I will play no part in this conspiracy.

I think we have been quite pish.

Not a time to get rid obviously but he has to start with not making very poor management decisions, dropping points in games like this will not do when the owner has ambitions of being the best of the rest. It was a strange sub when we were in zero trouble, it gave up the middle and allowed St J a foothold in the game.

Although winning is what matters most so we can’t have too many complaints, the football we have been playing for the majority of this season has been utterly ***** to watch.

24-11-2020, 07:44 PM
Jack Ross the draw expert :wink:

Zambernardi1875
Congratulations. You have managed to produce a post which is worse than our teams performance, that’s not easy.

You’ve proved my point

Andymac85
I just don’t think Mallan is ever going to be good enough to merit a starting place with us.

24-11-2020, 07:45 PM
As someone with no life at all and 40K+ posts on here can I just state that I will play no part in this conspiracy.

Have we actually been that good though??

I just don’t think Mallan is ever going to be good enough to merit a starting place with us.No, that's why he was our player of the season.

As i sit in the FF upper this season is the first time I have heard the tannoy in 3 seasons

I’d still be disappointed with a draw from this tonight. These are the games we need to be winning if 3rd are our intentions. We’ve had more than enough chances.

I wish Cliff would stop saying lovely ball when we needlessly pass it away

Although winning is what matters most so we can’t have too many complaints, the football we have been playing for the majority of this season has been utterly ***** to watch.

i thought we played quite well against killie in the first game

Whilst we may be functional, we are really quite smelling to watch.

I've quite enjoyed this.

It's not been vintage, but there are many reasons for that.

We went wide open, it backfired for a bit and also worked in our favour. We've created bits and pieces and left the door open for them.

The squad is paper thin and we have a few injuries. That's what has done for us tonight as much as anything.

Hibs are rotten man , **** all changed in years.
Pit yer haun back in yer drawers and forget aboot the geme.......

24-11-2020, 07:46 PM
Awful from Mallan.

All joking aside, yes, this hasn't been that great. St Johnstone probably deserve the win on balance and may well get it if they get their traditional last minute goal.

If I'd travelled an hour and a half to watch this I'd probably be raging. As it happens I'm just irritated.

For some reason I always have it in my head St Johnstone score late goals against us.

Was there not a game under Heckingbottom when they scored at about 5.30 to make it 2-2?

Zambernardi1875
Did Yannick that post from Kickback?

Don’t start with that pish

I thought it was quite funny tbh

No, that's why he was our player of the season.That nonsense got old years ago

24-11-2020, 07:47 PM
What’s Newell been then?? Spectators spectator??

We have been poor tbh!

Both have been poor. Mallan always looks like he is chasing the game tbh.

Don’t start with that pishYou're the one that started with the pish.

chance squandered..
surely not

Jack Ross the draw expert :wink:

Just looked out of curiosity at Sunderland 18/19 season, W22 D19 L5 so yes a lot of draws and probably the reason the didn't get promotion.

24-11-2020, 07:48 PM
That nonsense got old years agoEh ?
He was our player of the season. I'd imagine he was good enough to start for us.

allmodcons
Somebody tell me what Mallan and Newell offer? Zero energy in middle midfield is our biggest problem

Hero76
Does anyone regret paying 450 to watch this ***** on their computer

That's what we should have said to Yannick when he started launching crossfield balls at 4-2.

2-2 FT. Disappointing

2 minutes added time is a joke

Andymac85
Just looked out of curiosity at Sunderland 18/19 season, W22 D19 L5 so yes a lot of draws and probably the reason the didn't get promotion.

That was their fans main complaint with him wasn’t it, too many draws.

Murphy has some brilliant cameos where he has ghosted past men but his final ball has been terrible

24-11-2020, 07:49 PM
Does anyone regret paying 450 to watch this ***** on their computerNope

Disappointing, but at least we didn't get beat

I think I'll go and hide now...

:offski:

That’s ****ing pish from us.

Poor result.

Both have been poor. Mallan always looks like he is chasing the game tbh.

Yip. I really don’t like slating players but Newell is better than this. He needs to step up and control the game and get on the bloody ball! Influence things more

24-11-2020, 07:50 PM
Nowhere near clinical enough, poor defending for the goals and classic Brian Kerr style performances from Newell and Mallan. Need to be much better.

Mallan in general play offers **** all. The odd screamer isn't good enough. There needs to be more to his game.

Take the odd screamer out his game and he’s a championship level midfielder.....and not the English version!

Nah because if we didnt all pay it we wouldn't have anything to watch on the computer

Not good enough. Little to no urgency till we are behind.

On a positive note, back in 3rd

Magennis can't come back quick enough.

2 points dropped. Will soon add up in the fight against Aberdeen. We are a 4th/5th placed team without Scott Allan unfortunately.

Oh well I can give the Bake Off final my full attention now.

bringbackbenny

Nope, gladly paid to keep club ticking over and make decent signings in a global pandemic. Do you?

Did anyone else fear things a bit when Gogic went off?

Boyle absent again.

Somebody tell me what Mallan and Newell offer? Zero energy in middle midfield is our biggest problem

How dare you criticise Joe Newall? He the best centre mid in this league and don’t you forget it.[emoji35]

Another 2 points dropped, poor.

Mediocre which is a decent description of us this season.

I didn’t spend 450 to watch it on my computer, I spent 450 to support the club the same as any other year. Whether we’re playing **** or ripping the league apart.

24-11-2020, 07:51 PM
More spirited 2nd half at times, but too many individual mistakes being made - not good enough, pity McGuinn didn't make his hat-trick ...

Zambernardi1875
That's what we should have said to Yannick when he started launching crossfield balls at 4-2.

Cult hero though and absolutely gorgeous

hfcok
Mallan had his chance now, get him back on bench

Saturdays draw was a good result. Tonight's draw was a poor result. Imo.

2-2 FT. Disappointing

Don’t think I’ve seen as low as that recently, how many subs were there in the 2nd half?

Would like to know how long till he’s back. Big money signing we could use on the park.

bringbackbenny
Yip. I really don’t like slating players but Newell is better than this. He needs to step up and control the game and get on the bloody ball! Influence things more

Yeah I really like him but far too passive tonight.

By far our biggest issue. Absolutely no legs in midfield.

That was garbage

Zambernardi1875
I didn’t spend 450 to watch it on my computer, I spent 450 to support the club the same as any other year. Whether we’re playing **** or ripping the league apart.

Yeah you tell him

Robbo6-2
24-11-2020, 07:52 PM
How did Mallan manage to stay on for the 90mins?

That's got to be up there with one of the worst 90mins a player has ever produced in green and white.

Split screen with Porn Hub helps.

Assuming he’s any good and can ever get himself fit.

Another hiding performance from Mr Boyle

Bangkok Hibby
I wish Cliff would stop saying lovely ball when we needlessly pass it away

Cliff needs to stop saying loads of things. He's so repetitive

Pish game pish result, another huff and puff with poor passing, poor final balls and if nothing works, lump the ****ing thing. We're missing Allan's creativity and energy in the middle, you'll win nowt with a midfield of Mallan and Newell, poor decisions by Ross.

That's got to be up there with one of the worst 90mins a player has ever produced in green and white.

It's staggering how poor a footballer he is.

I was half joking but similar happening here or at least starting to come to fruition

Cliff needs to stop saying loads of things. He's so repetitive

:agree: Especially when you've been listening to him for years.

24-11-2020, 07:53 PM
Take the point and hope that Hanlon and Gogic aren’t long term issues. We need them and McGinnis fit and in the 11. Squad cannot afford any injuries.

Battling performance but very little football played overall disappointing

skyehibee
Very poor result with Motherwell away next

KingPat4
A point we didn't deserve. Second to every ball. Very poor.

Boyle being played as a right winger and being found in right back positions Is madness. Get him up to in a 3 or 2. Simply 2 points dropped and no where near good enough

hfcok
They looked tired tonight, or maybe Saints are fitter than us.

Obviously disappointed, but decent game that could have went either way - back to top 3 for at least 24.5 hours.

A point we didn't deserve. Second to every ball. Very poor.

Maybe a bit harsh?

24-11-2020, 07:54 PM
It's not rocket science, we just don't have enough quality players that are comfortable on the ball.

I'll give him the benefit of the doubt and say it's still a work in progress but we really should be doing far far better.

GRA
Dropping points in games like this is why Hibs won't get 3rd spot. At least got a bit of a buffer to 5th place but got to be doing better. Missed Hanlon sorely when he went off.

Split screen with Porn Hub helps.

I thought watching the Hibs defence get ****ged for most of the game would be enough.

KingPat4
24-11-2020, 07:55 PM
It's staggering how poor a footballer he is.

Completely OTT. You have not been watching us very long if you really believe that.

Another game best forgotten.

last 14 games against st.johnstone at ER going back to 2009

P14

W 3(one was LC)
D 5
L. 6

p@sh :(

we'll never be "best of the rest" until we can regularly win home games against the st johnstones of this league.

Newell I think would be excellent with the right players around him.

Mallan is decent enough when he's given freedom to play - he's very rarely going to be given the freedom he needs and is hopeless when pressed.

Our first choice defence is very good. Anyone drops out, it appears we're in trouble, McGregor didn't have a good night tonight, Gray looked like he struggled a bit on Saturday.

Forwards are good, lack of depth when anyone is missing though.

Decent out wide, Murphy and Boyle good, again we lack depth.

Midfield is still all over the shop for me. We've not fixed that at all. Magennis might be the answer, he hasn't looked it so far.

Ross will be criticised but at least you can make some sort of sense of his changes. He had a go at trying to win the game tonight, gambled that we'd give up chances in a bid to get more chances at the other end and that's the way it worked out. I had an issue with Mallan lasting the game when he was clearly struggling but he has the ability to bang one in from 25 yards and decide a tight game even when playing badly so Ross is forgiven for leaving someone on that might win the game - even if he didn't.

EI255
It's games like these that make you glad you didn't have to suffer. The mighty St Johnstone.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

I’d still be disappointed with a draw from this tonight. These are the games we need to be winning if 3rd are our intentions. We’ve had more than enough chances.

As things stand, 3rd place is highly unlikely ...... Aberdeen will have to implode and we would have to find a winning mentality. With Ross we have a realistic chance of 4th but far from guaranteed. I think Ross has to get the chance to fight for 4th and if he fails we go for somebody new for next season. Bloody depressing outlook, I’m afraid.

Mallan just jogs about not influencing the game other than the odd touch here and there in our own half with his back to goal.

The player of the year patter is tiresome, he shouldn't be anywhere near our team but we signed him on a long deal which looked decent business at the time, and for 5/6 league cup games at the beginning too, since then he's offered very little by the way of tangible results.

He can score a screamer once every 15 games but it's no use when it's like playing with 10 men

That was dire. Only passmarks were Gogic, Murphy at times and McGinn for his goals. Rest were terrible!

EI255
24-11-2020, 07:56 PM
I’d still be disappointed with a draw from this tonight. These are the games we need to be winning if 3rd are our intentions. We’ve had more than enough chances.Sadly, Aberdeen are way ahead of us, both financially and quality.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

We're mid-table with that team. Too many substandard players to challenge for top 4. St J's best chances came from Hibs players losing the ball in midfield or panicking and giving it away under a bit of pressure. We've regressed as season has gone on.

Snedz
Every game now we're constantly slowing the game down taking 5 or 6 or more passes from the back to midfield midfield to back again that too often ends up back at our goalkeeper or a slack pass gifts the opposition possession. I like the ball on the deck but we've got to improve our passing and tempo for it to bear fruit. Disappointing result. Well done Paul McGinn for his brace though, excellent.

hfcok

He has to get benched again, JR has been dying to get him in first 11 for ages, surely now he can see he’s not up to it, looks unfit.

Another chance to go third spurned Bringing Doidge on didn’t work Mallan wasn’t as effective and Darren cistvus second goal
But the lack of tempo and urgency is still an issue
Those predicting an easy win will be disappointed I thought we might have enough to Nick it by the odd goal , but in reality they deserved the draw

24-11-2020, 07:57 PM

I doubt it. Seen many worse performances.

He was horrendous for the full 90, quite incredible how he stayed on.

Well then, there is no way I (and I suspect many others) expected that result. It was a good match to watch for the neutral without doubt.

This was the Hibs of my boyhood tonight, leaving me confused as whether we made hard work of getting that point, or whether they made us work hard for that point.

The enigma that is Hibs, could we enjoy football without them in our lives?

Well done Paul McGinn:greengrin

I doubt it. Seen many worse performances.

Who and when?

We are just a really frustrating watch right now.

If we were more clinical in taking chances we might do ourselves a favour but that shows no sign of changing so I expect this type of performance to continue.

last 14 games against st.johnstone at ER going back to 2009

P14

W 3(one was LC)
D 5
L. 6

p@sh

we'll never be "best of the rest" until we can regularly win home games against the st johnstones of this league.

Relevance to today’s team and managers or is history to forever be a millstone around our neck? The team that won the Scottish Cup moved past all that - we should too IMO.

24-11-2020, 07:58 PM

What is it with this hyperbole this season? I take it you weren't with us for 2011/12 or 2013/14.

Mallan just jogs about not influencing the game other than the odd touch here and there in our own half with his back to goal.

The player of the year patter is tiresome, he shouldn't be anywhere near our team but we signed him on a long deal which looked decent business at the time, and for 5/6 league cup games at the beginning too, since then he's offered very little by the way of tangible results.

He can score a screamer once every 15 games but it's no use when it's like playing with 10 men

It's not patter. He won our player of the year (supporters & players awards).

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/latest-hibs-news/hibs-stevie-mallan-does-double-player-year-awards-547490

You said he'd never be good enough to start for Hibs which is total crap. I'm leaving it there.

shamo9
Considering we were behind twice and playing a team in decent form it's not too bad in isolation. Still, patience from the fans will be in short supply after the poor defeat in the semi final. The injury to Paul Hanlon is also something we can't really afford with such a small squad. A bit worrying. Need a win ASAP.

If you don’t have a midfield you don’t win games

Why Ross persists with a central 2 I’ll never know

KingPat4

No, I don't, It is what it is. Hibernian is not to blame for Covid. Suggest you ask for your money back and **** off.

We're mid-table with that team. Too many substandard players to challenge for top 4. St J's best chances came from Hibs players losing the ball in midfield or panicking and giving it away under a bit of pressure. We've regressed as season has gone on.

Nonsense. We cant challenge for 4th yet we are 3rd and 6 points ahead of 5th... the teams 5th downwards are even more inconsistent than we are

24-11-2020, 07:59 PM
What is it with this hyperbole this season? I take it you weren't with us for 2011/12 or 2013/14.

It's nearly 2021 mate.

I was good at football in 2011-2013 😂

Who and when?

Vela in every game he played.

Well then, there is no way I (and I suspect many others) expected that result. It was a good match to watch for the neutral without doubt.

This was the Hibs of my boyhood tonight, leaving me confused as whether we made hard work of getting that point, or whether they made us work hard for that point.

I didn’t expect it although I had a hunch and put that down as my prediction. We need to put teams away early doors otherwise it tends to come back to bite us

Nonsense. We cant challenge for 4th yet we are 3rd and 6 points ahead of 5th... the teams 5th downwards are even more inconsistent than we are

Well said. Too many reactionary bams on here.

24-11-2020, 08:00 PM
Joe Newell can be tremendous but he was so far off that tonight. A frustratingly inconsistent player.

probably not :)

Kaff
Went 2-1 down and then had the urgency to up the tempo, get a goal back and drop the tempo.
I do think that's his biggest fault as a manager in that it's too safe.
Having said that taking Gogic off was a very poor decision, especially in light of how poor big Daz was.
Based on how Daz played it so talking mainly in hindsight but Doig should have replaced Hanlon, putting on Daz meant 2 moves by putting Porto left and he also fell out of the game.
Chance to be solid in 3rd lost and wasted the point gained against Celtic so very disappointed, just think JR will continue to play on the safe side and I can see where he's coming from since it's relatively early in his rebuild but we haven't accumulated many points in last few games and letting anyone in to challenge us for 4th will be a poor.
Lets hope PH isn't out long, we'll miss him based on tonight

Bangkok Hibby

Speaking as one who doesn't get all het up anymore after 50 odd years of supporting Hibs I enjoyed your post.

24-11-2020, 08:01 PM
Vela in every game he played.

Fair point.

swin82
Sometimes you just have to credit the other team without over thinking it. We were no better than them and they haven’t lost in their last nine games. McGinn mackie and Murphy played well😃 the draw was a fair result and we move onto our next game.

Who and when?

McGregor tonight for a start. He didnt play well but he didnt stand out as one of the worst performances. He was better than every player that we had in the 6-1 defeat at Ibrox last year and the 4-1 defeat to Aberdeen the year before.

rossevenil
No screaming posts for Daz to GTF yet??

Another abysmal performance, this team flatters to decieve, ridin oor luck, why is it other teams can play well against us and we just cant play well, Boyle has 1 good game in aboot 10, ah mean wtf? Cannae beat Aberdeen,sellik or huns, now St.J. How did we manage to stay in the top 4 for so long, this team needs mair FIGHT, POOR AS ***. Ross needs tae get this soft as **** passive team sorted oot. Again wheres the pace and tempo? (As someone else said). Also were never a 3rd or 4th place team with this lot.

tonyrougier123
Taking gogic off was a mistake,let them have more of the ball higher up in our half,thought mallan should have been hooked and Gullah on sooner.some bad decisions in the final third from our play.

Every game now we're constantly slowing the game down taking 5 or 6 or more passes from the back to midfield midfield to back again that too often ends up back at our goalkeeper or a slack pass gifts the opposition possession. I like the ball on the deck but we've got to improve our passing and tempo for it to bear fruit. Disappointing result. Well done Paul McGinn for his brace though, excellent.

Yep the slowing the game down does my head in But reflects players don’t have confidence to go forward st pace and tske s msn on and retain possession

24-11-2020, 08:02 PM
McGregor tonight for a start. He didnt play well but he didnt stand out as one of the worst performances. He was better than every player that we had in the 6-1 defeat at Ibrox last year and the 4-1 defeat to Aberdeen the year before.

Best player in defeats FFS 😂😂

I remember a scout report doing the rounds a few years ago - might have been from a St Mirren scout. It was absolutely scathing about the state of Gary O'Connor - physical condition, effort level and general performance and he was singled out as a weakness.

I wonder what a neutral would have made of Mallan tonight? We've got history with him, both positive and negative which taints our views. I reckon a neutral watching the game tonight would suspect he won a game tonight after collecting enough crisp packets rather than being a trained athlete playing a defined role in a team performance.

Robbo6-2
We are only 6 points ahead of Dundee Utd in 5th.

We scraped early wins at Tannadice and in Perth which made us seem a better side.

We are not a top 4 side. The players are not good enough to challenge at that level and our squad is extremely weak.

We paid a hell of alot for Magennis who is returning from a cruciate injury and the signing of Drey Wright hasnt worked. We are so short in centre midfield it's a actually criminal.

Add in the style of play which is horrendous.

People can have a go at me all they want for being negative but this squad needs major investment or we will be a team scraping to get in top 6 for a long time.

24-11-2020, 08:03 PM
Squad looking very thin right now. I think it's going to be a very meh season.

Ever?

No screaming posts for Daz to GTF yet??

He's in the twilight of his career and expected to go into coaching soon, he's only on the bench due to Covid and playing with a small squad, hardly played and definitely not match sharp.

24-11-2020, 08:04 PM
Ever?You're wasting your time.

Speaking as one who doesn't get all het up anymore after 50 odd years of supporting Hibs I enjoyed your post.

Thank you. We auld yins ken what being Hibs means:greengrin

We are only 6 points ahead of Dundee Utd in 5th.

We scraped early wins at Tannadice and in Perth which made us seem a better side.

We are not a top 4 side. The players are not good enough to challenge at that level and our squad is extremely weak.

We paid a hell of alot for Magennis who is returning from a cruciate injury and the signing of Drey Wright hasnt worked. We are so short in centre midfield it's a actually criminal.

Add in the style of play which is horrendous.

People can have a go at me all they want for being negative but this squad needs major investment or we will be a team scraping to get in top 6 for a long time.

We are a top 4 side. We're 6 clear in 4th. Actually we're currently 3rd

Went 2-1 down and then had the urgency to up the tempo, get a goal back and drop the tempo.
I do think that's his biggest fault as a manager in that it's too safe.
Having said that taking Gogic off was a very poor decision, especially in light of how poor big Daz was.
Based on how Daz played it so talking mainly in hindsight but Doig should have replaced Hanlon, putting on Daz meant 2 moves by putting Porto left and he also fell out of the game.
Chance to be solid in 3rd lost and wasted the point gained against Celtic so very disappointed, just think JR will continue to play on the safe side and I can see where he's coming from since it's relatively early in his rebuild but we haven't accumulated many points in last few games and letting anyone in to challenge us for 4th will be a poor.
Lets hope PH isn't out long, we'll miss him based on tonight

Don’t think you can accuse him of playing safe when you start with Nisbet, Boyle, Murphy and Mallan. McGinn was bombing forward and scored 2 and Mackie was also very positive going forward.

Very brave and positive move taking Gogic off for Doidge.

Poor defensive goals for us to concede again but I don’t think he can be blamed for being negative. For me if Newell is going to be our starting mid it’s games like that he needs to dominate and every week, I can hardly remember him doing anything of note.

Whilst McGregor was poor when he came on I thought it was the right move, I wouldn’t have felt comfortable with Porteous and Doig as our centre halves.