View Full Version : Jack Ross in big games

Pages : [1] 2 3

31-10-2020, 06:28 PM
1 win from 3 Vs Hearts, 2 losses
1 win from 3 Vs Aberdeen, 2 losses
0 wins from 2 Vs Celtic
0 wins from 3 Vs Huns, 1 draw.

Losing this is shameful. No excuses. Shameful.

31-10-2020, 06:29 PM
How far ahead of the final whistle was this prepared?

31-10-2020, 06:31 PM
This one is shameful.

There are no mitigating circumstances, no excuses, nothing to hide behind.

Disgusted, not often i say that about the team but it’s all i feel right now. Disgusted and embarrassed.

Magpie
31-10-2020, 06:32 PM
You can add Sunderland play off final and Paint whatever it’s called final too.

31-10-2020, 06:35 PM
Oh **** off, couldn’t wait to make this thread could you.

Compare his record so far to every Hibs manager in the last 20 years against the teams you mentioned. Also compare it to his record in the league with those same managers.

I don’t know why some Hibs fans are so deluded they thought we would walk into this game and stroll it. Everyone with a bit of common sense knew it would be difficult and they have a good squad.

mcfly
31-10-2020, 06:35 PM
1 win from 3 vs hearts, 2 losses
1 win from 3 vs aberdeen, 2 losses
0 wins from 2 vs celtic
0 wins from 3 vs huns, 1 draw.

bottled it again. Utterly pathetic

Paul1642
31-10-2020, 06:36 PM
Remove Stubbs (and to a lesser degree Lennon) from the mix and who was the last manager who wasn’t **** in big games and Derby’s? That’s just Hibs for us.

northern-hibee
31-10-2020, 06:37 PM
Utterly useless

31-10-2020, 06:38 PM
Very poor record and Derby record is shocking considering the team he has has to face from them. We looked flat and stood off and admired them. They were very poor but they had a plan. Not sure we really had one. Neither was penalties in my book but pretty much typical Hibs the way we contrived to lose that game.

31-10-2020, 06:38 PM
Oh **** off, couldn’t wait to make this thread could you.

Compare his record so far to every Hibs manager in the last 20 years against the teams you mentioned. Also compare it to his record in the league with those same managers.

I don’t know why some Hibs fans are so deluded they thought we would walk into this game and stroll it. Everyone with a bit of common sense knew it would be difficult and they have a good squad.
I didn't think we'd walk it because we never do. Our big players always disappear against them and our manager seems to as well.

Boring season ahead now imo. Doubt I'll watch much of it unless we're back in ground.

31-10-2020, 06:40 PM
Overall he’s doing a good job, but in big games we’ve been a let down and these are the ones that fans remember most. He’s got to do better in these games.

Nothing to do with Ross, our big name players never turned up, Boyle was horrendous and Porteous error-strewn all day.

PH91
I didn't think we'd walk it because we never do. Our big players always disappear against them and our manager seems to as well.

Boring season ahead now imo. Doubt I'll watch much of it unless we're back in ground.

Good. Hopefully if you are not watching you won't post on here.

Bright_Hibee
31-10-2020, 06:41 PM
Jack Ross is not a good manager. His tactics are reminiscent of Alex Miller. Very boring to watch, it's completely uninspired

Craig Gordon was the difference today. Some performances were better than others (from a Hibs perspective) but honestly can't fault anyone as being the sole reason for the loss.

He’s not a good manager. The minimum standard at Hibs should be to beat Kilmarnock, St Johnstone and St Mirren. The fact people treat this guy like some great manager because he’s done that is how low our standards are.

He’s been pumped 1-3 at home to a Hearts team that couldn’t win a raffle and then got knocked out a semi final by a team that my 91 year old Granny could have managed to have managed a victory against.

He’s a waste of space. This tonight was unforgivable.

Results against the old firm dont define Hibs, they are miles ahead of us budget wise and clearly should beat us almost every time they play us because they si.ply have better players. We've had a crap record vs Hearts and Aberdeen for years it's not something that has just happened under Ross.

Lets not define Jack Ross with this the way they did with caveman.
It was always going to be a 50/50 match under the circumstances.

31-10-2020, 06:42 PM
Nothing to do with Ross, our big name players never turned up, Boyle was horrendous and Porteous error-strewn all day.

As per usual.

Every single ****ing time man.

Get him to ****

We will never have a better chance ever of pumping them at Hampden. Ever.

31-10-2020, 06:43 PM
Good. Hopefully if you are not watching you won't post on here.

Stay on topic please.

31-10-2020, 06:43 PM
Jack Ross is not a good manager. His tactics are reminiscent of Alex Miller. Very boring to watch, it's completely uninspired

That’s a joke of a post pal. An absolute joke.

The Captain....
31-10-2020, 06:44 PM
Losing today is a shocker...I dont particularly enjoy the football we play tho up until today we had been mostly getting results.

There is no excuse for losing today..I am absolutely disgusted with that bunch of bottlejobs.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Bright_Hibee
31-10-2020, 06:45 PM

So is yours.

It’s going to happen unfortunately. There were folk wanting Ross out at 1-0. He’s had a brilliant start to the season, no getting away from that. Today’s result is dreadful though.

As McFly sang...

31-10-2020, 06:46 PM
Overall he’s doing a good job, but in big games we’ve been a let down and these are the ones that fans remember most. He’s got to do better in these games.

Agreed. I think this season he will have us winning most games against the OF and Sheep. The OP is right to question his record in the big games. We lacked leadership, bottle and positivity in tonight’s game.

31-10-2020, 06:46 PM

Is it ? I’m not convinced. Another piss poor performance in a derby under him.

31-10-2020, 06:47 PM
Bed wetting nonsense.

PH91
Stay on topic please.

The topic is you not watching any more games this year. I suspect you will though.

It’s going to happen unfortunately. There were folk wanting Ross out at 1-0. He’s had a brilliant start to the season, no getting away from that. Today’s result is dreadful though.

I think today he’s lost a lot of goodwill that he’d quite rightly earned.

31-10-2020, 06:48 PM
Not sure what more Jack Ross could do tonight. Players let him down by not capitalising on a number of great chances, referee let him down through a bull**** penalty award.

We lose a game when we we should have had a penalty in the last minute, niggling fouls and the ref didn't do us any favours, should we have been better? Yes I think so but is it the end of the world, nope, 3rd place and looking good enough in the league, **** Jack Ross

Our players were clearly better, but we didnt press our advantage, and that penalty from Nisbet was awful, everything else he has scored was bottom corner, this was an absolute shocker.

That went in?

Job done.

As it stands, Ross needs a ****ing good talking to.

31-10-2020, 06:50 PM
0 wins from 2 Vs Celtic

Look on the bright side, bigger clubs won't be after Jack Ross any time soon.

31-10-2020, 06:50 PM
I think today he’s lost a lot of goodwill that he’d quite rightly earned.

Which is ridiculous to me, its one game. We ripped the hearts fans for doing the same with Neilson. Let’s judge him over the course of the season and see how we end up.

31-10-2020, 06:52 PM
We will never have a better chance ever of pumping them at Hampden. Ever.

It cant be changed now. We have to react properly to this.
We were the better team but git a bit unlucky.
We should get over it quickly.

I said in March if Jack Ross lost the derby and the semi-final he could go. He's probably lucky this game hasn't been played until now.

Nowhere near good enough tonight. Again in a big game. Jury well and truly still out for me.

Sort of saw this coming. We have been playing very very poorly for weeks. Great picking up 3 points when playing poorly but you can’t rely on that week in week out.

He has much work to do. Midfield is still a mess. Can talk about good recruitment and it has been better but our options on the bench are almost nonexistent. Mallan looked terrible when he came on, yards behind the speed of the game again.

DTS
Jack Ross should be sacked after tonight. Lost to the worst hearts team in recent history, lost against a championship hearts, 1 point against the OF under him, 3 from 9 against Aberdeen. Not good enough. Managers don’t recover from results like this

31-10-2020, 06:53 PM
Bed wetting nonsense.

Yessssssss that’s what it is.

Let’s not be utterly gutted at that **** and instead slag folk for being bedwettwrs.

Which is ridiculous to me, its one game. We ripped the hearts fans for doing the same with Neilson. Let’s judge him over the course of the season and see how we end up.Exactly. There's some outrageous over reactions on here.

Hibeesforever
Hearts can enjoy the Championship...the real test is now starting for this Ross team, can they emulate their great start in the league...pressure is on massively now to get European football...

Not sure what more Jack Ross could do tonight. Players let him down by not capitalising on a number of great chances, referee let him down through a bull**** penalty award.

He’s still not sorted the midfield IMO.

Money spent on Magennis to play him out of position is bizarre IMO. But the players were worse than the ref. Let’s no blame the ref.

Jack Ross should be sacked after tonight. Lost to the worst hearts team in recent history, lost against a championship hearts, 1 point against the OF under him, 3 from 9 against Aberdeen. Not good enough. Managers don’t recover from results like this

You should be sacked for possibly the worst post I've ever seen on here

31-10-2020, 06:54 PM
It cant be changed now. We have to react properly to this.
We were the better team but git a bit unlucky.
We should get over it quickly.

The team reacted to the situation in a way we probably knew deep down would have. It’s so so ****in gutting tonight.

31-10-2020, 06:54 PM

Is this exactly what Hearts fans said after we beat them in 2016? And look where they are now.

31-10-2020, 06:55 PM
Exactly. There's some outrageous over reactions on here.

Bollocks. Never our fault.

Tonight was disgraceful. Everyone else’s fault though.

Which is ridiculous to me, its one game. We ripped the hearts fans for doing the same with Neilson. Let’s judge him over the course of the season and see how we end up.

I agree but it was a chance to get to a cup final by beating your lower league rivals, which is always going to damage a manager if you don’t do it. I also thought the players were overly cautious today. Last game against them doesn’t help his cause either.

Is this exactly what Hearts fans said after we beat them in 2016? And look where they are now.

The Scottish cup final?

hibeerealist
jack ross should be sacked after tonight. Lost to the worst hearts team in recent history, lost against a championship hearts, 1 point against the of under him, 3 from 9 against aberdeen. Not good enough. Managers don’t recover from results like this

agree 100%

31-10-2020, 06:56 PM
I agree but it was a chance to get to a cup final by beating your lower league rivals, which is always going to damage a manager if you don’t do it. I also thought the players were overly cautious today. Last game against them doesn’t help his cause either.

But what does help his cause is his tremendous league record. Anyone wanting him out tonight needs their head examined.

DTS

Beating us in Scottish Cup semi finals and recovering from 2 poor appointments?

I’d hate to be them tonight

bobert07
Jack Ross' mistake today was his use of subs. Only Murphy came on and made a bit of an impact. But on a wet greasy surface why not get Mallan on earlier. He's not scared to shoot from distance. Then there was Gullen and Wright, two attackering options not used when we need an equaliser with 10 mins left. This is the things that change games.

31-10-2020, 06:57 PM
Bed wetting nonsense.

Exactly. There's some outrageous over reactions on here.
You are trolling eh? That should be called out for what it is, an absolute ****ing disgrace

Bedwetting? How can anyone in their right mind roll over and accept that ****show

DTS

We have a difference of opinion on Ross so that’s fair. The rest of my points are fact and if you wish to except them then that’s alright

I think he’ll be under big pressure now. I’m sure Ron Gordon speaks a difference way behind closed doors...this season will be big for Jack Ross. Think Ron will want Europe and probably wants a cup final.

31-10-2020, 06:58 PM
You are trolling eh? That should be called out for what it is, an absolute ****ing disgrace

Bedwetting? How can anyone in their right mind roll over and accept that ****show

So you legitimately think the manager should be sacked on the basis of one game?

:agree: Disgraceful.

What was clear about tonight is there are no leaders in that team. Not a single player who was prepared to seize the game by the throat. Far too happy to saunter about. Not Ross’ fault so many didn’t perform, but it’s his team now, the buck stops with him.

hibeerealist

WHY?

Do you think Ross had his team properly prepared for tonight, which is what he is ****ing paid to do?

The answer is no and he should be totally embarrassed and just **** off what a waste of money.

31-10-2020, 06:59 PM
So you legitimately think the manager should be sacked on the basis of one game?
One game? Can you no also mind his masterclass when they ****ed us at Easter Road last year aswell nah? Bottlejob

It’s why Hearts always beat us when they’re inferior. Mindset. They think it’s unacceptable to lose to us. We blame the ref, even when we had a penalty to go 2-1 up.

One game? Can you no also mind his masterclass when they ****ed us at Easter Road last year aswell nah? Bottlejob

Ah so we should only judge him on derbies, that sounds like a tremendous idea. He’s got the best league record outside the OF since he arrived, that’ll do for me.

31-10-2020, 07:00 PM
:agree: Disgraceful.You're saying I'm trolling?

Lost a lot of faith in him after tonight.

It’s why Hearts always beat us when they’re inferior. Mindset. They think it’s unacceptable to lose to us. We blame the ref, even when we had a penalty to go 2-1 up.
Some of our support have the same mindset it seems and happy to accept second best. Fuming

31-10-2020, 07:01 PM
We have a difference of opinion on Ross so that’s fair. The rest of my points are fact and if you wish to except them then that’s alright

Teams that who are consistently better than Hibs have been beating Hibs, shock horror, it's a work in progress, was tonights game a total scunner, aye it was, is it an excuse to get rid of a manager who had got us the most points outside of the old firm since he came in, residing no

31-10-2020, 07:01 PM
We'll get the usual garbage about being disappointed and bouncing back, the boys are gutted in that dressing room etc only to ****ing do it again next time it matters. Never changes. Slapped us in the 3 Hampden derbies with everyone watching.

For once I would like to not have to bounce back.

31-10-2020, 07:02 PM
You're saying I'm trolling?

Nope I'm agreeing with Sean that yet another derby loss was a disgrace.

Ah so we should only judge him on derbies, that sounds like a tremendous idea. He’s got the best league record outside the OF since he arrived, that’ll do for me.
Well aye? If he canny get his team up for a derby what chance have you really got? Couldn’t give a shot about a league record which will see us finish fourth and pumped out of Europe by some ***** from Finland he’s blew our biggest game in years. Total *****bag

Correct 100%.

Always the same trying to use it as an excuse to slyly rip into others and getting away with it.

Think we had a good start to season but now Ross getting found out. Big big big game against Aberdeen coming up. Lose that and 3rd has gone.

Some of our support have the same mindset it seems and happy to accept second best. FumingAnd some blame the manager even though nobody has suggested what he could have done differently.

31-10-2020, 07:03 PM
Nope I'm agreeing with Sean that yet another derby loss was a disgrace.His post was a pop at me and you agreed.

31-10-2020, 07:04 PM
His post was a pop at me and you agreed.
Not a pop as such just in disbelief anyone can stand up for that ‘performance’

And some blame the manager even though nobody has suggested what he could have done differently.

Press high, box them in, have a ****ing plan to score from open play?

For me it’s over the season but derbies and cup games are the ones that I look forward to most. I agree that JR is pretty impressive against the ‘rest’ but it’s also legitimate to question his ‘big game’ record.

Lost a lot of faith in him after tonight.

Me too. Just seems completely clueless when it comes to big games. His record against that lot, the OF and Aberdeen prove it.

Magpie
31-10-2020, 07:05 PM
We'll get the usual garbage about being disappointed and bouncing back, the boys are gutted in that dressing room etc only to ****ing do it again next time it matters. Never changes. Slapped us in the 3 Hampden derbies with everyone watching.

I totally agree. For the amount of players we usually have in our team who are ‘one of our own’ we very rarely show that passion on the pitch against them.

His post was a pop at me and you agreed.

You asked me a question and I've answered it.

People reply to part of other people's posts all the time.

Talk of sacking Jack Ross after that is reactionary bull****.

His win rate is better than Lennon’s, and Lennon had a season in the Championship.

No excuses for tonight, but let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater, FFS.

But it's not just one game. The stats posted at the start of the thread are clear on that. The flaws that got him the sack at Sunderland are clear here - a very good conservative manager with no plan b if things don't go right.

That's two shockers against abysmal Hearts teams. This one is a semi final - it's not just any old game. Not having the "We move on chat after tonight".

31-10-2020, 07:06 PM
And some blame the manager even though nobody has suggested what he could have done differently.

Not play a centre midfielder out on the left for starters

His win rate is better than Lennon’s, and Lennon had a season in the Championship.

No excuses for tonight, but let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater, FFS.You trolling?

What was clear about tonight is there are no leaders in that team. Not a single player who was prepared to seize the game by the throat. Far too happy to saunter about. Not Ross’ fault so many didn’t perform, but it’s his team now, the buck stops with him.

Midfield still an issue. The praise for Newell and Gogic is OTT for me. We can’t control a game. Maybe down to shape as much as them but we’re still lacking. Spending a six figure fee and giving a boy a five year deal, to then play him on the left of midfield is bizarre.

The reason Ross is at us is that he couldn’t do it, when it mattered at Sunderland. He has enough credit in the bank here but he has to start winning some big games.

Magpie
Me too. Just seems completely clueless when it comes to big games. His record against that lot, the OF and Aberdeen prove it.

As I mentioned earlier in the thread, if you look deeper into his games at Sunderland (play off final and another final) he failed in them also.

WHY?

Do you think Ross had his team properly prepared for tonight, which is what he is ****ing paid to do?

The answer is no and he should be totally embarrassed and just **** off what a waste of money.

Ehm maybe because we are in 3rd place in the league, yes that's 3rd place, only behind the old firm who have vast resources outwith what we have, since he came in Jack Ross had gained more points than anyone outwith the old firm

We lose one game, a sickener aye, nah let's get rid of him

Sorry but I am another one who thinks Ross can GTF and can't go quick enough

Said to my mate this morning if we lose this game he cant recover.

The previous loss at ER was a disgrace and this on top

He bet the ranch on a small tight squad and when the ball was on the slates we had no capable of altering the dynamic.

Doidge has been found out to be the huddy he always was

Boyle has been utter pish all season (Kilmarnock excepted) if we couldn't trust, Mallan, Gullan or Wright to improve on that performance from him there is absolutely no point in there being here.

Woopy doo we are top of the **** league that comes after the OF, that is an absolute minimum requirement gained with every break going

We are for the most part grim to watch and Ross knows f all about building a squad, get hime to **** and now.

31-10-2020, 07:08 PM
Midfield still an issue. The praise for Newell and Gogic is OTT for me. We can’t control a game. Maybe down to shape as much as them but we’re still lacking. Spending a six figure fee and giving a boy a five year deal, to then play him on the left of midfield is bizarre.

The reason Ross is at us is that he couldn’t do it, when it mattered at Sunderland. He has enough credit in the bank here but he has to start winning some big games.

Totally agree. I’ve thought for a while Ross is a good manager, he’s not a great one. I think Hibs are his level.

31-10-2020, 07:08 PM

I agree with you about he shouldn’t be sacked. I may be wrong but if we continue to play how we have been - scraping results most weeks - then eventually it will fall down. We got lucky with a penalty against Killie and didn’t do much else in the match. Tonight’s result was on the cards tbh, we’ve been very poor for weeks. It’s all well saying 3 points most weeks etc. but how long until Motherwell and Dundee United find their feet and string results together? We won’t always be on favourable side of a scrappy match. Tonight is evidence of that.

Boyle, Doig, Gogic and Porteous’ form has definitely dipped. If we react badly to this result in the league and go on bad run then there is only one end for the manager. The reaction will be key. Experience tells me, if I was a betting man...put money on us losing next league match. Hope not but we’ve been through this many times.

31-10-2020, 07:09 PM

He bet the ranch on a small tight squad and when the ball was on the slates we had no capable of altering the dynamic.

Boyle has been utter pish all season (Kilmarnock excepted) if we couldn't trust, Mallan, Gullan or Wright to improve on that performance from him there is absolutely no point in there being here.

Woopy doo we are top of the **** league that comes after the OF, that is an absolute minimum requirement gained with every break going

We are for the most part grim to watch and Ross knows f all about building a squad, get hime to **** and now.

Banter

Duke of Currie
Teams that who are consistently better than Hibs have been beating Hibs, shock horror, it's a work in progress, was tonights game a total scunner, aye it was, is it an excuse to get rid of a manager who had got us the most points outside of the old firm since her came in, residing no

Exactly , this was an evidence of the lack of experience in the management and the team. Hibs are building a team and still have a manager who should improve.
Are you going to get a good season at Premiership level out of Gordon , Naismith, Smith , Boyce , Halliday & Kingsley. Not really , but between them they know how to win these one of sort of games and do what it takes to play the game their way. Hibs just dont have that experience and are quite predictable. They will have to take this on the chin and need to learn from games like this , they will have to sign different players and will have to have different ways to play matches. Because frankly , if they dont , they will end up mid table, year in and year out and even Europe will be a pipe dream

DTS
Teams that who are consistently better than Hibs have been beating Hibs, shock horror, it's a work in progress, was tonights game a total scunner, aye it was, is it an excuse to get rid of a manager who had got us the most points outside of the old firm since he came in, residing no

Hearts? Consistently better than us under Ross? Interesting take. We’ve played them 3 times and lost twice under Ross.

We’ll get pumped in Aberdeen Friday like we did after the last derby and maybe get a point against Celtic at home and be trailing behind a bang in form Aberdeen

Bright_Hibee
31-10-2020, 07:10 PM
Some of our support have the same mindset it seems and happy to accept second best. Fuming

I agree 100%. I don't think he should go immediately, but he's not as good as he's painted to be.

I said before that game that if we won Jack would be upgraded from good to very good and if we lost he would go from good to average.

So, in my eyes Jack has been downgraded.

And yes I do question his ability to get his teams fired up for the biggies.

hibIBZ
Sack him now... Then we can get somebody else is quick... So we can get them sacked as well before the end of the season so we can give somebody else the summer.

31-10-2020, 07:11 PM
No wonder we’re constantly soft as **** against Hearts, a quick scan of threads on the first page of the message board and most are already making excuses and just rolling over and accepting it. When the support seem content to accept another shafting no wonder it’s what the club constantly serve up when we play them.

He's lost twice to really poor hearts teams in games we should have won easily. That's unacceptable. I'm not blaming him for tonight but next season something has to change.

Just continue to ignore the fact that he played our big summer signing (a central midfielder) on the left of midfield.

And that HIS team got beat in a big game. Again.

I genuinely can’t believe so many have said they want him gone. I know this place is usually bad after we lose but this takes it to a new level. Wasn’t long ago Ross was a genius and our squad was great. Now he’s **** and can’t build a squad to save himself. At least allow him to get through the season and see where we are at the end of it.

Tonight hurts but **** sake

munchar
31-10-2020, 07:13 PM

Spot on. Players not performing have nothing to do with the manager. Boyle, Nisbet & Doidge all had great opportunities. Can’t blame manager for missed chances. Also no press on Lee or marking on Wighton for goal. Again players fault.

31-10-2020, 07:13 PM

This kinda sums it up. **** ged again by hearts at hampden

31-10-2020, 07:14 PM
You trolling?

No, just in a right bad mood because of our ****ing football team.

31-10-2020, 07:15 PM
Hearts? Consistently better than us under Ross? Interesting take. We’ve played them 3 times and lost twice under Ross.

We’ll get pumped in Aberdeen Friday like we did after the last derby and maybe get a point against Celtic at home and be trailing behind a bang in form Aberdeen

Where did I say Hearts were constantly better than Hibs, i was talking the Old Firm and Aberdeen stats, would I like us to beat them at every occasion? **** yes, am I going to go into the biggest cream puff when we get beat be them? No, I'm 41, I stopped letting that ***** get me down years ago

Would I like us to play more expansive and attractive football like we did under Mowbray and McLeish, again yes, but am I going to throw Ross under the bus after losing a close game where I feel we should have won, no it happens

31-10-2020, 07:17 PM
Just as well crowds aren’t back as the place would be deserted the next home game :greengrin

hibeerealist
31-10-2020, 07:19 PM

Agree 100% and I would have sacked Ross, or asked for his resignation, after the last shocker of a derby at ER. Managers who cannot win derbies are of no use to us, yes he won his first one at tiny but that really looks like a ****** one of now.

He sent a team team out tonight that was not properly prepared for the game in hand and is a failure.

loanheadhibby
31-10-2020, 07:19 PM
Totally agree. I’ve thought for a while Ross is a good manager, he’s not a great one. I think Hibs are his level.

I actually think St Mirren is his level. Hence the reason he keeps signing their players. And if you sign players from St Mirren and Hamilton, you get performances like St Mirren and Hamilton.

31-10-2020, 07:20 PM
Sack him now... Then we can get somebody else is quick... So we can get them sacked as well before the end of the season so we can give somebody else the summer.

Yep, should we get a plane to fly by Tynecastle like the last time you wanted to bin a manager?

I genuinely can’t believe so many have said they want him gone. I know this place is usually bad after we lose but this takes it to a new level. Wasn’t long ago Ross was a genius and our squad was great. Now he’s **** and can’t build a squad to save himself. At least allow him to get through the season and see where we are at the end of it.

Jeezo...who said Ross was a genius and our squad was great? :confused: That’s crazy talk. Ross is a young SPFL level manager who has to start winning big matches. Squad...improved but devoid of options. We will be completely knackered if Newell and Gogic get injured. Even though centre mid and midfield in general is still a mess. Magennis left mid was something else anyway...

I’ve been bored watching Hibs under Ross. Passing and moving, and expansive football has largely gone. It’s boring and now we’ve lost a big derby...again. It isn’t great.

I'll admit I posted something about wanting him out on the match day thread but having calmed down I retract that. However, he's now lost a huge amount of kudos in my eyes. Again, his record against the better teams in the league is poor. He's too conservative and doesn't seem to have a plan B. Has left us with no other options upfront this season but a glut of central midfielders.

This was the biggest game of his Hibs career against a lower league side. He failed badly. We had a shot at a final and he couldn’t adapt to the changes Neilson made.

I'd take a cup final and a shot at a trophy versus 4th place any day of the week.

One of the biggest issues for me is that we did almost nothing after the Hearts penalty. We should have been laying siege to their goal but we had already given up.

That is very damming.

supermcginn
31-10-2020, 07:21 PM
He failed to get one of the biggest clubs in England out of the 3rd tier. Not exactly a huge plus on his CV.

31-10-2020, 07:22 PM
0 wins from 2 Vs Celtic

Okay, so what are you suggesting?

Sack him? Help him? Ridicule him?

Had it been 2 out if 3 wins against Hertz had Nisbet's penalty been two inches more left and lower, would that have been okay!

DTS
31-10-2020, 07:22 PM
Where did I say Hearts were constantly better than Hibs, i was talking the Old Firm and Aberdeen stats, would I like us to beat them at every occasion? **** yes, am I going to go into the biggest cream puff when we get beat be them? No, I'm 41, I stopped letting that ***** get me down years ago

Would I like us to play more expansive and attractive football like we did under Mowbray and McLeish, again yes, but am I going to throw Ross under the bus after losing a close game where I feel we should have won, no it happens

Should we be competing more with the old firm? Maybe, maybe not but the record is poor. The record against Aberdeen is poor. The record against hearts is shambolic.

I am not in the “cream puff” I’m deflated and angry that hibs have performed pathetically again in a big game under Jack Ross and previous managers.

Are you confident of getting a result Friday in Aberdeen? Are you confident of getting a result at home to Celtic the week after? Then even away to motherwell after that? I doubt it, and for that reason we will not see success and that starts with the manager

DTS
31-10-2020, 07:23 PM
Okay, so what are you suggesting?

Sack him? Help him? Ridicule him?

Had it been 2 out if 3 wins against Hertz had Nisbet's penalty been two inches more left and lower, would that have been okay!

Sack him. It would’ve given him more time however the performance tonight was a shambles no matter the result

Magpie
31-10-2020, 07:26 PM
Heckingbottom lost the support as soon as we threw away that 1-0 lead against Hearts at ER. This game was far far bigger.

I don’t want Ross to go based on that result because we sit 3rd in the table and I have been happy with how things have gone leading up to today but how he gets the team to respond to this result will make or break him.

Should we be competing more with the old firm? Maybe, maybe not but the record is poor. The record against Aberdeen is poor. The record against hearts is shambolic.

I am not in the “cream puff” I’m deflated and angry that hibs have performed pathetically again in a big game under Jack Ross and previous managers.

Are you confident of getting a result Friday in Aberdeen? Are you confident of getting a result at home to Celtic the week after? Then even away to motherwell after that? I doubt it, and for that reason we will not see success and that starts with the manager

Since we are currently in bottom place in the league I'm really not confident of doing anything against these teams nah

No excuses for tonight, but let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater, FFS.

Of course it's an overreaction, but JR needs to figure out how we could possibly lose that game tonight. We had the players to win comfortably but his tactics suggested he saw this as just another game which it was never going to be. He just played the game like any other game we've played this season and Hearts looked like they wanted to win it more. Surprise surprise, will to win and effort wins over ability.

Porteous and Boyle looked scared. There's no room for being scared in derbies. I'd have hooked both of them at half time. Big Daz would have made a difference in a game like that and Murphy showed twice as much will to win than Boyle.

31-10-2020, 07:27 PM
I always said the ‘jury was still out’ but I fear it is getting very close to a decision it is just a question of whether it is unanimous or majority? :greengrin

I actually think St Mirren is his level. Hence the reason he keeps signing their players. And if you sign players from St Mirren and Hamilton, you get performances like St Mirren and Hamilton.

Like John McGinn?

hibIBZ
Yep, should we get a plane to fly by Tynecastle like the last time you wanted to bin a manager?

No I'm not a hearts fan, I was attempting to show how sacking a manger who has us 3rd in the league after the first round of games is utterly ridiculous.

Today we were poor in the final third, didn't take our chances and missed a penalty and it cost us big time. We need to pick ourselves up and get the heads straight for a big game on Friday.

31-10-2020, 07:29 PM
Jeezo...who said Ross was a genius and our squad was great? :confused: That’s crazy talk. Ross is a young SPFL level manager who has to start winning big matches. Squad...improved but devoid of options. We will be completely knackered if Newell and Gogic get injured. Even though centre mid and midfield in general is still a mess. Magennis left mid was something else anyway...

I’ve been bored watching Hibs under Ross. Passing and moving, and expansive football has largely gone. It’s boring and now we’ve lost a big derby...again. It isn’t great.

Ok genius was strong. Was anyone even thinking about him getting punted? No. If we were to sack a manager every time we lose a derby we’d run out of options eventually.

We always moan about Aberdeen yet this season we have done exactly what they have for years. Improve in the big games and Ross has cracked it. I’m gutted with the result today but there’s not a chance in hell he should be sacked for it.

loanheadhibby
31-10-2020, 07:29 PM
Like John McGinn?

Aye but John McGinn is a good player.

Silky
31-10-2020, 07:30 PM
I always said the ‘jury was still out’ but I fear it is getting very close to a decision it is just a question of whether it is unanimous or majority? :greengrin

Who else is out there? He's been here 12 months. 12,months. Changing managers like you change your pants is a poor way to run a club.

31-10-2020, 07:31 PM
Absolutely mental thread

gaz1875
31-10-2020, 07:32 PM
His big mistake was not changing the formation to match their change. Make no mistake this was an embarrassing performance against one of the worst hearts teams in recent years.

31-10-2020, 07:32 PM
Absolutely mental thread

We've been infiltrated by the Yams, I tell you!

vahibbie
31-10-2020, 07:33 PM
JR in general plays boring football. To be honest anyone with a low level SFA coaching license could set up and play a team his way. It's eye bleeding football and definitely not the Hibs way.

31-10-2020, 07:34 PM
The acceptance of that result is absolutely mindboggling. Suppose it was only a Scottish cup semi against Hearts

#2 Double Tap
31-10-2020, 07:34 PM

did you want fenlon, butcher, williamson or hecky to remain for similar reasons?

I much prefer a Mcliesh, Mowbray, or a Stubbs!

31-10-2020, 07:35 PM
Heckingbottom lost the support as soon as we threw away that 1-0 lead against Hearts at ER. This game was far far bigger.

I don’t want Ross to go based on that result because we sit 3rd in the table and I have been happy with how things have gone leading up to today but how he gets the team to respond to this result will make or break him.

The way we have been scraping wins with Ross remind me of that good run we had with Hecky. Didn’t play particularly well in most of them but got 3 points. Hecky went on a bad run of form and that was that. Can’t rely on our-defending the opposition every week especially with our midfield, young Doig and sporadic Porteous.

Must work on passing, keeping possession and transitions. Far too much about defend and hope we grab a goal.

31-10-2020, 07:36 PM

Or alternatively folk are sick to **** of our continued capitulation against **** hearts teams.

The last 2 of which have been absolute bottle jobs where we failed to beat, let alone dominate the worst hearts teams in decades.

The Green Sea
31-10-2020, 07:37 PM
Absolutely mental thread

Agreed some mental comments. How can you blame Jack Ross because Nesbit missed a penalty and Gordon has a great game. His record against Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen isn’t great but just now they’re better teams than us, in two cases a lot better.

Sh##e result but not convinced you can blame Jack Ross.

CloudSquall
31-10-2020, 07:39 PM
Well at least he's on his way to helping us forget about Miller's horrendous derby record.

31-10-2020, 07:40 PM
Or alternatively folk are sick to **** of our continued capitulation against **** hearts teams.

The last 2 of which have been absolute bottle jobs where we failed to beat, let alone dominate the worst hearts teams in decades.

Yep. If that was the other way about we get pumped three or four. Once again we don’t turn up, make excuses and lose to that utter *****. Yet for some it’s alright?

JR in general plays boring football. To be honest anyone with a low level SFA coaching license could set up and play a team his way. It's eye bleeding football and definitely not the Hibs way.

:faf: we're 3rd in the SPFL - get your coaching badges and I'll doff my cap to you if you get us higher :aok::agree: have a drink, breath, and chill out my friend :wink:

The acceptance of that result is absolutely mindboggling. Suppose it was only a Scottish cup semi against HeartsJust because some people don't want to sack everyone in sight doesn't mean that we're "accepting" the result. I'm thoroughly pissed off by the result but it's being made 10 times worse by the comments of some so called supporters on here.

#2 Double Tap
31-10-2020, 07:41 PM
Agreed some mental comments. How can you blame Jack Ross because Nesbit missed a penalty and Gordon has a great game. His record against Celtic, Rangers and Aberdeen isn’t great but just now they’re better teams than us, in two cases a lot better.

Sh##e result but not convinced you can blame Jack Ross.

his failure to have the players up for it in the first place, his choice of football tactics, his first 11 selection
his use of subs and his tactical changes throughout the game.

its his ship, he takes the flack!

31-10-2020, 07:42 PM
Just because some people don't want to sack everyone in sight doesn't mean that we're "accepting" the result. I'm thoroughly pissed of by the result but it's being made 10 times worse by the comments of some so called supporters on here.
No wonder people are questioning him? He’s been asked the big question twice in a derby and capitulated both times in which we really should have pumped them. These are legitimate queries people have of him

Just because some people don't want to sack everyone in sight doesn't mean that we're "accepting" the result. I'm thoroughly pissed off by the result but it's being made 10 times worse by the comments of some so called supporters on here.

The acceptance of that result is absolutely mindboggling. Suppose it was only a Scottish cup semi against Hearts

No, what's mindboggling is the over-reaction to criticise all things Hibs, a team that currently sits in third place in the SPFL, only two points off second place Celtic.

Yes, we got beat by the Yams, but it all came down to a poor penalty from a normally very reliable Kevin Nisbet. Had he scored, this place would have been completely different. The difference between ecstasy and depression was only two inches.

Depressing! Yes! But, let's move forward!

31-10-2020, 07:44 PM
I have to say the amount of fouls we give away is ridiculous. OK it went to extra time but 28 today against a shower of pish with no pace is dreadful. I don't want to see a Hibs team giving away foul after foul and hoping we can defend the set pieces.

Silky
31-10-2020, 07:44 PM
his failure to have the players up for it in the first place, his choice of football tactics, his first 11 selection
his use of subs and his tactical changes throughout the game.

its his ship, he takes the flack!

I thought he picked the best first 11 available. He'd have been fine if Nisbet hadn't shat it.

loanheadhibby
31-10-2020, 07:45 PM
:faf: we're 3rd in the SPFL - get your coaching badges and I'll doff my cap to you if you get us higher :aok::agree: have a drink, breath, and chill out my friend :wink:

wow! When does the cup final for being 3rd in October get played? We had one important game this season and we bottled it as per usual. And I am beyond gutted.

The Captain....
31-10-2020, 07:45 PM
Usually manage to maintain a level of perspective after poor results but that was simply unforgiveable tonight. To lose to that Hearts team is an absolute embarassment.

We play a less than entertaining style which is moderately successful and have an inflated view of the players ability who are at the club imo. Too many are incapable of handling any sort of pressure. Our passing tonight was in the main abysmal...we cannot keep the ball for any length of time and alleviate pressure. We have for the last 4 or 5 weeks missed gilt edged opportunities to win games and several players seem to be completely out of form but are never dropped or subbed (boyle Im looking at you).

Absolutely scunnered with that tonight...we literally begged the team to be ready for that game and they played the first 25 mins like theyd been on the piss last night they were so lacklustre.

2020 and Hibs can GTF tbh.

31-10-2020, 07:46 PM
No, what's mindboggling is the over-reaction to criticise all things Hibs, a team that currently sits in third place in the SPFL, only two points off second place Celtic.

Yes, we got beat by the Yams, but it all came down to a poor penalty from a normally very reliable Kevin Nisbet. Had he scored, this place would have been completely different. The difference between ecstasy and depression was only two inches.

Depressing! Yes! But, let's move forward!

It's the fact that it has happened twice in a row against dreadful hearts teams. The pen should have been irrelevant.

supermcginn
31-10-2020, 07:46 PM

Some folk dont like losing to two dreadful hearts teams. You happy clap away.

hibIBZ
31-10-2020, 07:47 PM
Just because some people don't want to sack everyone in sight doesn't mean that we're "accepting" the result. I'm thoroughly pissed off by the result but it's being made 10 times worse by the comments of some so called supporters on here.

100% spot on. We are all angry, disappointed, gutted etc etc. Just because we are not calling out just about every member of the club staff for it doesn't mean we are accepting the result or are a happy clapper

31-10-2020, 07:49 PM
I don't think sacking him is the answer. A real, quality experienced coach to help him change this big game record is something the club should insist on, though.

31-10-2020, 07:50 PM
Ok genius was strong. Was anyone even thinking about him getting punted? No. If we were to sack a manager every time we lose a derby we’d run out of options eventually.

We always moan about Aberdeen yet this season we have done exactly what they have for years. Improve in the big games and Ross has cracked it. I’m gutted with the result today but there’s not a chance in hell he should be sacked for it.

I agree that he shouldn’t be sacked but performances need to improve. Scraping 3 points eventually dries up, just ask Hecky. Results in big matches need to improve but so do performances against Ross County etc. People say we were unlucky at Ross County, we were but they had some good chances as well. Aberdeen have a tendency to win games when not playing well but they also have weekends where they play really well and win 4-0. We’ve been grinding out results most weeks with some luck on our side. It won’t be on our side forever. Tonight is evidence of that.

Reminds me of Hecky with McNulty scoring and Omeonga playing well. Win against Livi comes to mind. Play awful football, great pass from Omeonga and finish from McNulty. We’ve been getting that with Nisbet, it’s starting to dry up. How do we change it? We can’t. No options in midfield, defence or upfront.

Bored of watching current Hibs side tbh. Ponderous and rarely pass and move. I know we were spoilt with McGinn, McGeouch and Allan but the current midfield and our build up play...

31-10-2020, 07:50 PM
Aye but John McGinn is a good player.

What about the likes of Docherty, Ferguson, Kamara, Shinnie, Etc. All decent players who were picked up from bottom 6 sides in the league. Nothing wrong with taking players from poorer teams if they are good enough.

DTS
31-10-2020, 07:52 PM
Since we are currently in bottom place in the league I'm really not confident of doing anything against these teams nah

I asked a question and presented my opinion on which you responded with sarcasm. I suggest that shows you do not have confidence in the side going into the next 2 as I suggested

loanheadhibby
31-10-2020, 07:53 PM
What about the likes of Docherty, Ferguson, Kamara, Shinnie, Etc. All decent players who were picked up from bottom 6 sides in the league. Nothing wrong with taking players from poorer teams if they are good enough.

Absolutely agree. Unfortunately none of these players are playing for Hibs. The bottom 6 players we have signed recently are exactly that. Bottom 6 quality.

Thegreenside
31-10-2020, 07:53 PM
The players missed the chances and it’s that simple

31-10-2020, 07:54 PM
I don't think sacking him is the answer. A real, quality experienced coach to help him change this big game record is something the club should insist on, though.

I agree. But I still wonder why we didn't get Stubbs back. Its totally irrelevant but a Stubbs Hibs team would have pished all over that hearts team tonight.

SneakersO'Toole
31-10-2020, 07:54 PM
I take so much solace after tonight that we might finish 3rd or 4th come end of the season. Wowsers. I will definitely make sure to prepare for a socially distant party for that one come May.

Fans truly care about games like tonight. These games come around once a decade if you are lucky. Another bottle job was provided for us to despair over.

Ross is just another Mowbray. All fur coat no knickers. There will be no other opportunity for him to make up for this failure. Mowbray didn't recover and I bet Ross won't either.

31-10-2020, 07:55 PM

Spot on. Poor performances and poor decision making cost us. Wee bit of perspective. Reactionary nonsense

31-10-2020, 07:56 PM
I asked a question and presented my opinion on which you responded with sarcasm. I suggest that shows you do not have confidence in the side going into the next 2 as I suggested

Do I think we can beat Aberdeen, yes, they have been jammy for a long time and are good at what they do, when we played them earlier in the season only a dodgy penalty separated the teams, can we beat Celtic, again yes if everyone turns up and plays the best they can, clear enough?

31-10-2020, 07:57 PM
Who else is out there? He's been here 12 months. 12,months. Changing managers like you change your pants is a poor way to run a club.
I said on another thread that I hope JR has learned his lesson from 1-3 at Easter Road but obviously he did not

He did not prepare his players properly for a Hearts team that even although they may be from an inferior League they will fight kick hack cheat and scrape with every fibre of their being to get a result at any cost and they will always find a way against HIBS

When you are handed gifts like penalty kicks they must be taken

Spot on. Poor performances and poor decision making cost us. Wee bit of perspective. Reactionary nonsense

If you’re saying it was a poor performance, how can you not attribute that to Jack Ross at all? It’s his team.

Some folk dont like losing to two dreadful hearts teams. You happy clap away.

I don't like losing to two dreadful Hertz teams either. I'm certainly not happy clapping either.

However, **** happens. We were two inches away from beating the Yams. I was 100% confident that Kevin Nisbet would score, but he didn't.

Am I happy, no f*****g way. However, considering all that is going on in the world, we're in a pretty good position at this moment in time - we've got a good manager and and some pretty good players, albeit lacking in depth. A bad result against the Yams is not going to to change my mind on that, all things considered, we're going in the right direction.

DTS
31-10-2020, 07:58 PM
Do I think we can beat Aberdeen, yes, they have been jammy for a long time and are good at what they do, when we played them earlier in the season only a dodgy penalty separated the teams, can we beat Celtic, again yes of everyone turns up and plays the best they can, clear enough?

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I am glad you have the confidence, tbh I have been the same for ages but tonight has scunnered me and brought many things to light.

We have again chucked it on the big stage and again shown we have nothing about us.

No matter the result I don’t see a win next week aberdeen are playing excellent stuff just now

31-10-2020, 07:58 PM
Tbh i dont care if we are 3rd or 4th currently in the spl, i wanted us to beat them tonight nd thats all that mattered today. We failed they didnt. Theyve been preparing for it for months, we clearly didnt and probably thought all we needed to do was turn up. Again we were humiliated by them at Hampden and our players and managers should be ashamed.

31-10-2020, 07:59 PM
I have to say the amount of fouls we give away is ridiculous. OK it went to extra time but 28 today against a shower of pish with no pace is dreadful. I don't want to see a Hibs team giving away foul after foul and hoping we can defend the set pieces.

I think half of those 28 weren't fouls. Boyce and Naismith threw themselves to he ground at every opportunity. The ref was conned.

Hearts know how to con refs, foul and selectively sacrifice yellow cards better than us. Unfortunately that helps win derbies.

31-10-2020, 07:59 PM
Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I am glad you have the confidence, tbh I have been the same for ages but tonight has scunnered me and brought many things to light.

We have again chucked it on the big stage and again shown we have nothing about us.

No matter the result I don’t see a win next week aberdeen are playing excellent stuff just now

We wont beat Aberdeen but then again to mke things worse after todays result we might win!

Sergio sledge
31-10-2020, 08:01 PM

Rubbish. We won Scottish cup in 2016 with a player signed from St Mirren.

Doesn't matter where they are signed from if they are good enough.

The big question is are they good enough. I think most of them are, but we are definitely missing a driving force in the team. None of the signings are players who can lead the team and take a game by the scruff of the neck. That's what Stubbs did well with his squad, we had leaders in the team. I think that's what's lacking right now. We have decent players but no real leaders. Maybe Porteous can be that guy, but he's still too young and raw. Maybe Magennis is that sort of guy but we've not seen it yet in the brief time he's been with us.

Extremely poor today and hugely disappointing, we should be winning these games. But, we've a decent enough squad who have to start performing on the big stage.

I hate derbies. It's always the same story, no matter how bad hearts are they always raise their game against us. Stubbs changed that, but we've regressed to the normal derby performances again.

Magpie
31-10-2020, 08:03 PM

The big question is are they good enough. I think most of them are, but we are definitely missing a driving force in the team. None of the signings are players who can lead the team and take a game by the scruff of the neck. That's what Stubbs did well with his squad, we had leaders in the team. I think that's what's lacking right now. We have decent players but no real leaders. Maybe Porteous can be that guy, but he's still too young and raw. Maybe Magennis is that sort of guy but we've not seen it yet in the brief time he's been with us.

Extremely poor today and hugely disappointing, we should be winning these games. But, we've a decent enough squad who have to start performing on the big stage.

I hate derbies. It's always the same story, no matter how bad hearts are they always raise their game against us. Stubbs changed that, but we've regressed to the normal derby performances again.

The experience of Naismith was evident when he came on. We definitely lacked that today.

31-10-2020, 08:03 PM

Hibs fans must be up there on the “Fans asked to have perspective after losing important big match” score sheet, no? Think most are getting fed up of needing to have perspective to understand why we’ve lost yet another derby. No wonder Hearts were favourites with some bookies, this trend seems to be relentless and having perspective really hasn’t helped...tried it many times.

Only perspective that means we accept this loss in such a way is admitting Hearts are just better than us. I won’t have that but we can’t keep looking for perspective when we lose big matches and derbies. We lose them too often and need to begin to string together a winning run in these. Especially when we are in the favourable position - relegation party and tonight being prime examples.

Shocking and shameful loss. Only perspective needed.

Davy Mac
31-10-2020, 08:08 PM
[QUOTE=Magpie;6343427]The experience of Naismith was evident when he came on. We definitely lacked that today.[/QUOTE

That's what £10k per week gets you I suppose.

31-10-2020, 08:09 PM
The experience of Naismith was evident when he came on. We definitely lacked that today.

Don't think that's true at all, we had international players on the pitch who have come up against better opposition.

One thing I would say and have always said it, you need four really good strikers at the football club if you want to make top 4 and challenge - we have 2. It's a psychological things as well. Until Hibs realise this, we'll hover around the margins and not really have the 'fire power'.

RossScott1991
31-10-2020, 08:10 PM
Picked a good team. Made the right subs. Hibs players squandered the chances.

Not sure what jack ross can do about his key man trying to put one in top bin from penalty spot?

Or am I missing something is that not the narrative of this thread

31-10-2020, 08:10 PM
How far ahead of the final whistle was this prepared?

Does it matter.

loanheadhibby
31-10-2020, 08:20 PM

McGinn was good enough and has gone on to prove it with another team. Compare our midfield from 2016 to the current midfield. McGinn, McGeough, Fyvie, Bartley and Henderson against our midfield tonight. Not one guy tonight would get in that team. The players are not good enough and proved that tonight, when it really mattered.

#2 Double Tap
31-10-2020, 08:21 PM

Not sure what jack ross can do about his key man trying to put one in top bin from penalty spot?

can you not see its the lack of pressing and attacking football, coupled with what appears to be a lack of desire or belief to win that is the driving force behind peoples rage!

The football has been garbage for most of jack ross's time with us, even in the 2-0 derby we was not the best team. we can all accept defeats but its the manner of them that counts.

31-10-2020, 08:23 PM
McGinn was good enough and has gone on to prove it with another team. Compare our midfield from 2016 to the current midfield. McGinn, McGeough, Fyvie, Bartley and Henderson against our midfield tonight. Not one guy tonight would get in that team. The players are not good enough and proved that tonight, when it really mattered.

Aye...but it's nothing to do with who we sign players from which was your original point. Any way I'm out and leave you to your nonsense.

31-10-2020, 08:24 PM
If you’re saying it was a poor performance, how can you not attribute that to Jack Ross at all? It’s his team.

Individual poor performances and basic errors aren't really the managers fault. I would say he should have changed it when haring and Naismith came on

Sergio sledge
31-10-2020, 08:29 PM
McGinn was good enough and has gone on to prove it with another team. Compare our midfield from 2016 to the current midfield. McGinn, McGeough, Fyvie, Bartley and Henderson against our midfield tonight. Not one guy tonight would get in that team. The players are not good enough and proved that tonight, when it really mattered.Clearly our midfield isn't anywhere near the level of that midfield, no-one would argue that, but that wasn't what you were arguing, you said, "if you sign players from St Mirren and Hamilton, you get performances like St Mirren and Hamilton." Which clearly isn't true. If the player is good enough it doesn't matter who they sign from, as proven with John McGinn.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

DTS
31-10-2020, 08:31 PM
We wont beat Aberdeen but then again to mke things worse after todays result we might win!

Football is a fickle game and the football fan is a fickle thing, a win in Aberdeen would go along way to show this team has the balls for a big game

31-10-2020, 08:32 PM

Magennis left midfield was good? Man down for 60 minutes for me, mainly due to position.

SneakersO'Toole
31-10-2020, 08:36 PM
Football is a fickle game and the football fan is a fickle thing, a win in Aberdeen would go along way to show this team has the balls for a big game

Not for me.

I don't treat Hearts in a SC semi final as another game.

Silky
31-10-2020, 08:39 PM
I said on another thread that I hope JR has learned his lesson from 1-3 at Easter Road but obviously he did not

He did not prepare his players properly for a Hearts team that even although they may be from an inferior League they will fight kick hack cheat and scrape with every fibre of their being to get a result at any cost and they will always find a way against HIBS

When you are handed gifts like penalty kicks they must be taken

They do, but Ross doesn't take the penalties. He can't be blamed for Nisbet crapping it. Players can be prepped as much as possible. Once they cross the white line it's up to them. And they shat it.

31-10-2020, 08:40 PM
Magennis left midfield was good? Man down for 60 minutes for me, mainly due to position.

That was probably our biggest problem today, true. But we were still better than them.

31-10-2020, 08:41 PM
They do, but Ross doesn't take the penalties. He can't be blamed for Nisbet crapping it. Players can be prepped as much as possible. Once they cross the white line it's up to them. And they shat it.
Again

31-10-2020, 08:51 PM
Confidence comes from the manager and his coaches, if the players are fully prepared physically and mentally then we should've won that today. He's still a fairly young head coach but his record in the bigger games are a bit of a worry and his football isn't exactly exhilarating, more solid and safe. I'm yet to be convinced but will give him a chance seeing as we're in difficult times and squads are threadbare.

31-10-2020, 09:00 PM

What do you suggest I do, if I have accepted the result???? What can I do that will help if I don't accept it now???

OsloHibs
31-10-2020, 09:37 PM
Do you think he gives them all too much respect?

31-10-2020, 09:40 PM
Jack Ross wasn’t the reason we lost tonight.

***** result, ****ing embarrassing and almost unforgivable (but we will forgive, because that’s what football does to us).

But Jack Ross picked a team that was able to dominate the game on spells, it’s not his fault we missed a penalty or gave away a cheap one.

31-10-2020, 09:47 PM
Individual poor performances and basic errors aren't really the managers fault. I would say he should have changed it when haring and Naismith came on

Playing the midfielder we signed for a six figure fee, on a five year deal, out of position was his fault.

It looks like we’ve signed him without having thought of how we want to play him. I find it odd.

Ross has had praise this season, rightly. Tonight he deserves all the stick he gets.

31-10-2020, 09:50 PM
Jack Ross wasn’t the reason we lost tonight.

***** result, ****ing embarrassing and almost unforgivable (but we will forgive, because that’s what football does to us).

But Jack Ross picked a team that was able to dominate the game on spells, it’s not his fault we missed a penalty or gave away a cheap one.

This isn’t necessarily aimed at Ross, but I never really felt we were dominating. We’re not strong enough in the middle of the park to do that. We were never in control of the game at any point. Newell and Gogic as a two won’t take us to where we want to be IMO.

31-10-2020, 09:55 PM
We need rid of the Hanlons and Stevensons etc, they have played in games where we have been absolutely hammered by Hearts and still their attitude doesn't change... still defeatist. Same old same old.

The last time we beat Hearts by 3 clear goals was 6-2. Before this game tonight all the chat was like aye, Hibs will take 3, 4 or 5 off Hearts. When will folk learn it never works like that with Hibs no matter how bad the Hearts team are. They always get a result from us when they need it.

coco22
31-10-2020, 10:11 PM
Gogic provides cover to a 2 man central pairing. JR got the balance wrong. 3 in middle for me. But, for Christ sake, we lost a big game...as gutted as the next hibee. We’ll bounce back 💚

31-10-2020, 10:12 PM
We need rid of the Hanlons and Stevensons etc, they have played in games where we have been absolutely hammered by Hearts and still their attitude doesn't change... still defeatist. Same old same old.

The last time we beat Hearts by 3 clear goals was 6-2. Before this game tonight all the chat was like aye, Hibs will take 3, 4 or 5 off Hearts. When will folk learn it never works like that with Hibs no matter how bad the Hearts team are. They always get a result from us when they need it.Is this the same Hanlon that scored the late equaliser in the 2-2 cup game at Tynie, is having his best season for years and has recently been capped for the national team?

K-Zazu
31-10-2020, 10:14 PM
It’s not jack Ross’s fault Nisbet missed a penalty

mcfly
31-10-2020, 10:15 PM
Gogic provides cover to a 2 man central pairing. JR got the balance wrong. 3 in middle for me. But, for Christ sake, we lost a big game...as gutted as the next hibee. We’ll bounce back 💚

No jack Ross lost another big game!!

How many has he won? Questions have to be asked.

Fans should not be accepting YET another hampden defeat by hearts

It’s not good enough

31-10-2020, 10:16 PM
Is this the same Hanlon that scored the late equaliser in the 2-2 cup game at Tynie, is having his best season for years and has recently been capped for the national team?

31-10-2020, 10:17 PM
Needs to be a drains up review at Easter Road.
There's got to be a reason we've only won 3 scottish cups in 145 years.....145 years!
I've seen us get pumped by the giants of Scottish football, like livingston and Ross county in the league Cup.
I've seen hearts piss all over us in numerous scottish cup games....why ?...why are we incapable of winning these games?
Our history is littered with horrendous cup defeats.

What is it with hibs ?
How can we not get our players to punch above their weight?
Is it the standard of manager?.....its scottish football ffs, its brutal and we still can't get these boys to take this game by the scruff of the neck, focus, and win the ***** game.
This was possibly the only chance some of these guys will have to reach a major national final!
I don't want them coming out in the papers saying they'll make up to us....**** off, I don't care about 3 points in a ****ty league, I wanted the cup.
This one hurts....

31-10-2020, 10:23 PM
I’m actually in disbelief some want him sacked from losing this game.

Look at what he’s done since he’s came in and the points total he’s got us, we’re going in the right direction.

Our squad is too thin and not enough in depth, but that can’t be helped with Covid.

We should have won today with the chances we had, especially Nisbets penalty. It’s very very fine margins, because it never went for us today doesn’t mean it’s disgraceful and he should be sacked.

Is it sickening and incredibly frustrating? Yes. But he’s still the right man for the job and will take us to levels we’ve not been at in years.

RossScott1991
31-10-2020, 10:25 PM
Anyone who wants Jack Ross sacked after tonight need to get a glass of water and go to bed.

Question him fine.

But to want him sacked is just absolutely mental.

31-10-2020, 10:26 PM
Weather was the leveller for the 2 teams , flip of a coin who won , we were unlucky not to progress

31-10-2020, 10:29 PM
Is this the same Hanlon that scored the late equaliser in the 2-2 cup game at Tynie, is having his best season for years and has recently been capped for the national team?

The very same.

31-10-2020, 10:30 PM
Anyone who wants Jack Ross sacked after tonight need to get a glass of water and go to bed.

Question him fine.

I don’t want him sacked. Games like this are going to define his time at Hibs, just like they did his time at Sunderland.

We’d have been better with this competition being cancelled TBH. A top four finish should be a given this season IMO such is the standard of the league. He needs to do something in one of the two cups as well. and he needs to get us scoring so goals again.

hibIBZ
31-10-2020, 10:31 PM
Needs to be a drains up review at Easter Road.
There's got to be a reason we've only won 3 scottish cups in 145 years.....145 years!
I've seen us get pumped by the giants of Scottish football, like livingston and Ross county in the league Cup.
I've seen hearts piss all over us in numerous scottish cup games....why ?...why are we incapable of winning these games?
Our history is littered with horrendous cup defeats.

What is it with hibs ?
How can we not get our players to punch above their weight?
Is it the standard of manager?.....its scottish football ffs, its brutal and we still can't get these boys to take this game by the scruff of the neck, focus, and win the ***** game.
This was possibly the only chance some of these guys will have to reach a major national final!
I don't want them coming out in the papers saying they'll make up to us....**** off, I don't care about 3 points in a ****ty league, I wanted the cup.
This one hurts....

We have not won it that many times over the years because Scottish football is dominated by two clubs that have won it 72 times between them.

What about the 1-0 wotherspoon game
1-0 reply or 3-1 reply??

Yea we lost to Ross county (league above us at the time) and livi, but I also remember winning a cup final 5-1.

I also remember hearts getting turned over by st mirren ona League cup final.

31-10-2020, 10:31 PM
Weather was the leveller for the 2 teams , flip of a coin who won , we were unlucky not to progress

The ref, the pitch, the weather.

It was just down to us we didn’t win!

coco22
31-10-2020, 10:34 PM

Question him fine.

Totally correct. Ok to question the approach but think we were out of it today but not a long term worry.

31-10-2020, 10:51 PM
Totally correct. Ok to question the approach but think we were out of it today but not a long term worry.

Long term I'm pretty worried he is going to continue to beat Livi, Kilmarnock, St mirren etc and lose the big ones.

31-10-2020, 11:06 PM
Long term I'm pretty worried he is going to continue to beat Livi, Kilmarnock, St mirren etc and lose the big ones.

When Hibs appointed Ross I imagine hope was that he`d do to us what McInnes has done to Aberdeen - make us consistent so guaranteeing top 3 or 4 finishes which are financially important with regular cup runs to semis or finals . If given time he`ll probably achieve that . Whether he`ll get the team playing exciting football is another question as is excitement created by having a manager like Lennon who created expectations among fans .

broondog
31-10-2020, 11:07 PM
Agree, the guy is utterly clueless in big matches. You can blame the ref, the players if you want and there’s an argument for that but Ross just sat back and refused to respond to the change of game plan from a very very poor hearts side. Let’s not kid ourselves they are awful and don’t even play in the top league. But they don’t have a totally inept manager. If Ross bottles any more games linen that questions have to be asked. Say what you want but a Lennon team wouldn’t have lost that

Zambernardi1875
31-10-2020, 11:14 PM

you missed the part where billy says "fight cheat hack and kick" it wasnt a surprise he and alot of the players knew it was coming,

Zambernardi1875
31-10-2020, 11:19 PM
The very same.

been saying this for years too. they deny it and wonder why we still get beat

supermcginn
31-10-2020, 11:21 PM
Not for me.

I don't treat Hearts in a SC semi final as another game.

Exactly we could beat Aberdeen 7 0 and it wouldn't really matter after today.

01-11-2020, 12:05 AM

The last time we beat Hearts by 3 clear goals was 6-2. Before this game tonight all the chat was like aye, Hibs will take 3, 4 or 5 off Hearts. When will folk learn it never works like that with Hibs no matter how bad the Hearts team are. They always get a result from us when they need it.
Gail?
Tell us how did hanlon contribute to our loss tonight?
Did he miss two good chances in the first half?
Did he not call two clear fouls in the build up to hearts 1st goal?
Did he lose his man or was he out of position for the 1st goal?
Did he not call a clear pen at the end of 90mins?
Did he miss the pen in et?
Did he give away the soft pen in et?
We know what you are getting at but in no way was any of what happened tonight down to the mentality of the players you mention. Hanlon was actually very good. Read the game well, covered porto when he made misatakes and stepped out of defence with the ball.

Dunfyhibee
01-11-2020, 12:05 AM
Very very harsh to blame Ross for anything today. Tactics pretty much spot and had the far better chances and gave away hardly any clear cut chances. Blame the players for this one 100%.

01-11-2020, 12:21 AM
What happens when we lose at Aberdeen? Another big game gone.

01-11-2020, 12:24 AM
If we want a manager who will finish 4th until hearts come up he’s our man. Then we can challenge for 4th/5th every season. Won’t win a button though. That’s who Jack Ross is. But everyone knew that before he got the job. But we’re Hibs so 4th/5th and winning nothing is a superb season apparently.

01-11-2020, 12:26 AM
The board give JR his jotters and re employ Neil Lennon 🤪

01-11-2020, 12:27 AM

Whisper it, we might win.

01-11-2020, 12:59 AM
Whisper it, we might win.

Wish I had a fraction of your optimism

01-11-2020, 01:08 AM

You don’t think we might be Aberdeen? Like there’s not a chance?

01-11-2020, 01:09 AM
You don’t think we might be Aberdeen? Like there’s not a chance?

Of course there is. I don’t think we will but you seem clearly more optimistic than I am.

01-11-2020, 01:19 AM
Of course there is. I don’t think we will but you seem clearly more optimistic than I am.

I only said we might win.

01-11-2020, 01:24 AM
I only said we might win.

And that’s at least a percentage of optimism above me

01-11-2020, 01:59 AM
Aberdeen might get beat 7-0 tomorrow, everyone on here will therefore think Aberdeen are there for the taking then piss their pants when we lose or draw.

BlackSheep
01-11-2020, 03:33 AM

That’s the problem with a lot of hibs fans.... complete lack of optimism!!

We are the most bipolar fan base ever! When it’s good it great, but when it’s bad it’s the end of the world!!

I’m as gutted as the next, but let’s stop battering into our players and management... so we lost a big game, so it’s happened before and will happen again... we are not invincible!!

K-Zazu
01-11-2020, 05:05 AM
Get Stubbs in with his coaches.

hibbydog
01-11-2020, 05:53 AM
Get Stubbs in with his coaches.

I find this kind of post incredible. People really need to get a grip. Same thing every time we suffer a defeat in a big game.

Sack the manager. Shoot the players. Burn the stadium down.

We lost because the big moments went against us. This was due to poor finishing and a brilliant goalkeeper.

Yes it was sore but it happens. No need for the drama.

01-11-2020, 07:05 AM
Football ain’t the prettiest. We’ve been lucky in a few games where we were dross, killie second half, Dundee United, saints come to mind. I wouldn’t lose sleep if he left imo. Last two derbies absolutely embarrassing now.

01-11-2020, 07:10 AM
Stevenson did not take part in that inept display last night

01-11-2020, 08:37 AM

How many times do we revert to this though, it’s just one game.... let’s judge him on her the course of the season. Like it or not, across every league, managers are measured against finishing positions but also high pressure games like this, especially in derbies. Under Ross we are not great in the big games. It’s a mindset for these games and it’s a failing on his part so far. We just done seem to be fired up.

01-11-2020, 08:41 AM
The football on show under Jack Ross 90% of his tenure has been really bad to watch.

Can only think of St Mirren away and the 60 minutes vs Hamilton which have been nice to watch, but somehow we are 3rd in the league.

Next 3 league games will show if jack is the man or not imo.

01-11-2020, 08:42 AM
I find this kind of post incredible. People really need to get a grip. Same thing every time we suffer a defeat in a big game.

Sack the manager. Shoot the players. Burn the stadium down.

We lost because the big moments went against us. This was due to poor finishing and a brilliant goalkeeper.

Yes it was sore but it happens. No need for the drama.

Your comments about big moments going against us..... the reality is, nothing went against us, we couldn’t finish, they could. 2 dodgy awarded penalties, they scored, we didn’t even test the keeper. Yes, Gordon played well but apart from one save, the rest were what you would expect. Even the save from Nisbet, the header should have been more of an angle away from the keeper. People are buying in to Gordon having some sort of once in a lifetime amazing game, that makes it slightly easier for some to accept the result and not accept that it was more down to our poor play that we lost.

Gloucester Hibs
01-11-2020, 08:46 AM
Your comments about big moments going against us..... the reality is, nothing went against us, we couldn’t finish, they could. 2 dodgy awarded penalties, they scored, we didn’t even test the keeper. Yes, Gordon played well but apart from one save, the rest were what you would expect. Even the save from Nisbet, the header should have been more of an angle away from the keeper. People are buying in to Gordon having some sort of once in a lifetime amazing game, that makes it slightly easier for some to accept the result and not accept that it was more down to our poor play that we lost.

If you watch a replay of the Nisbet header, Gordon’s hand is already in the right spot before the header connects, he doesn’t even need to move it. Good anticipation I suppose but not a wonder save IMO.

01-11-2020, 08:51 AM
How many times do we revert to this though, it’s just one game.... let’s judge him on her the course of the season. Like it or not, across every league, managers are measured against finishing positions but also high pressure games like this, especially in derbies. Under Ross we are not great in the big games. It’s a mindset for these games and it’s a failing on his part so far. We just done seem to be fired up.

We still have folk yearning for Neil Lennon on here and his record is worse than Ross’ and he also lost some massive games himself. Chasing a manager out for losing two derbies is ridiculous patter, no matter how big the games were.

His record in the bigger matches needs to improve but we are 3rd in the league currently so I won’t be chasing him out for it just yet.

01-11-2020, 08:51 AM
We still have folk yearning for Neil Lennon on here and his record is worse than Ross’ and he also lost some massive games himself. Chasing a manager out for losing two derbies is ridiculous patter, no matter how big the games were.

His record in the bigger matches needs to improve but we are 3rd in the league currently so I won’t be chasing him out for it.

Same for me.

01-11-2020, 08:52 AM
If you watch a replay of the Nisbet header, Gordon’s hand is already in the right spot before the header connects, he doesn’t even need to move it. Good anticipation I suppose but not a wonder save IMO.

Absolutely. It was a good save but one any decent keeper should make. It landed right next to him and wasn't travelling that fast.

He also made a poor attempt at the Gogic shot but got lucky that the ball squirmed onto the post.

There was nothing exceptional about his display, despite all the BBC pish. We missed a easy header and penalty.

01-11-2020, 08:55 AM
The football on show under Jack Ross 90% of his tenure has been really bad to watch.

Can only think of St Mirren away and the 60 minutes vs Hamilton which have been nice to watch, but somehow we are 3rd in the league.

Go a long walk.

01-11-2020, 08:57 AM
Absolutely. It was a good save but one any decent keeper should make. It landed right next to him and wasn't travelling that fast.

He also made a poor attempt at the Gogic shot but got lucky that the ball squirmed onto the post.

There was nothing exceptional about his display, despite all the BBC pish. We missed a easy header and penalty.

I thought his save from the header was a superb one but did say at the time he shouldn’t really have had a chance. It was pretty similar to Wighton’s.

Gordon hardly had anything else to do such was the standard of our finishing.

01-11-2020, 09:00 AM
He came in to make us hard to beat and win the games we were favourites for, which will push you up the league.

The next step is finding that big game match winner. Magennis could be it, but he needs to get fit first. Same with Murphy and possibly Wright.

When Magennis gets fit, I think we'll see EITHER a back 3 or Gogic in holding mid, not both. I don't think it works against better teams, or on bigger pitches and it stifles you going forward. We had the same issue with big Marv.

Oddly, I think we would have won that at Tynecastle last night. Gogic would have swallowed thier midfield on a narrower pitch, and McGinn and Hanlon are comfortable enough coming forward with the ball to shift to fullback positions when attacking.

01-11-2020, 09:00 AM
Go a long walk.

Would walk 500 miles if it means a bit better football on show.

01-11-2020, 09:02 AM
Same for me.

Apart from a few upset posts last night (I'll admit myself included) there isn't really anyone actually wanting him sacked.

Lots questioning him though and rightly so.

He got shown up tactically last night and his team gave up once Hearts went 2-1 ahead.

I won't want him out even if we lose to Aberdeen but he's gone from having my support to a huge question mark.

01-11-2020, 09:03 AM
His big game record is very poor as it was at Sunderland too, the football on show apart from 2 games has been pretty poor, yes he's made the defence a bit more harder to beat but the flair side of the team is lacking, it all seems very rigid and predictable at times, so far he's not convincing me even though we're sitting 3rd but we scraped a few of those points after poor performances.

Apart from a few upset posts last night (I'll admit myself included) there isn't really anyone actually wanting him sacked.

Lots questioning him though and rightly so.

He got shown up tactically last night and his team gave up once Hearts went 2-1 ahead.

I won't want him out even if we lose to Aberdeen but he's gone from having my support to a huge question mark.

He didn’t get shown up tactically though. Our players didn’t perform.

I actually agree with this to an extent.

The way we set up, we basically give up the middle of the park. Newell and Gogic aren’t good enough to control it as a two. It’s worked because we’ve got the first goal a lot of the time but if that doesn’t happen, like last night, you’re toiling. We were the better team until they made the double sub, which we didn’t react to at the time.

01-11-2020, 09:11 AM
He didn’t get shown up tactically though. Our players didn’t perform.

We were the better team in the first 60 minutes but Neilson saw we dominated the midfield and brought on Harring and Naismith. After that they took control and had the better chances (we seem to have totally forgotten the 1 on 1 Boyce missed).

We lost control from that point onwards and he didn't do enough to change it. For me definitely out thought.

We had over 10 mins after it went 2-1 to go at them and again, what did we get? Mallan on and no sustained pressure what so ever.

mcfly
01-11-2020, 09:27 AM
The problem against hearts has been going on for years.

Our derby record is shocking - big games at hampden are an embarrassment

Im not surprised we lost and no hibs fan should be surprised. We do it all the time. Build up momentum and bottle it.

jack Ross doesn’t seem to inspire like what Stubbs did or Lennon did. He better waken up fast, find a winning mentality or he will be gone.

Potty78
01-11-2020, 10:29 AM
The players need to take responsibility, nisbet misses a sitter, great save but keeper shouldn't be given a chance. Doidge header first half, maginness should score all first half. Second half was poor one great chance two on one, doidge one simple pass. When hearts made there change so should we. We should have went 352, Murphy and boyle wide and put halberg or malan on to make a three in the middle. Extra time we had chances as did they. Why nisbet goes high is beyond me. Jack Ross cant be blamed for missed chances🤷*♂️

01-11-2020, 10:35 AM
The problem against hearts has been going on for years.

Our derby record is shocking - big games at hampden are an embarrassment

Im not surprised we lost and no hibs fan should be surprised. We do it all the time. Build up momentum and bottle it.

jack Ross doesn’t seem to inspire like what Stubbs did or Lennon did. He better waken up fast, find a winning mentality or he will be gone.

Agree, Jack Ross is a good manager but I don’t think he’s inspirational and he treats the games against Hearts as just another game. He needs to get the importance quick or he’ll be out on his @rse.

h1bs4life
01-11-2020, 10:40 AM
Ross who was part of there coaching staff at one point must have been well aware how they treat derbies . The buck stops with the manager

01-11-2020, 10:52 AM

I know where you're coming from, and agree with most of it. You're particularly right about how the big players for us disappear, in this game it was definitely Gogic and, not for the first time, Boyle. As I said in another post, it seems that Hearts do proper research on the opposition, we don't. There's no excuse for the **** record we have against our neighbours over the years.