View Full Version : Yams Levein Sacked

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

superbam
05-11-2019, 05:14 AM
Keane is an absolute car crash as a manager. A few fans seems to buy into the same "he'd sort out the snowflakes in the team" pish that he does himself but he generally just ends up losing the respect of his players for being a tit.

05-11-2019, 05:51 AM
She’s a clown. She’s created a rod for her back with that comment.

Also says that “football has changed” so they won’t need a Director of Football. But they will be recruiting a Sporting or Technical Director.

As usual there’s nobody in the media who dare ask her a challenging question.

Personally thought her comment about it being another Board members idea for Levein to be manager and Director of football was quite cowardly. She is the owner she makes the big decisions, stop trying to pass the buck.

Also we want to change the structure by not having a Director of Football but having a Sporting Director. What is the difference? Levein in the background is ridiculous imo.

05-11-2019, 06:08 AM
I’ve already said Keane would be ideal for us.

I think he’s exactly the type of character we need. Would also be gutted if they got him.

Why is someone who tries to end fellow pros careers, mocks other players for being emotional about losing their child and brother and abandons his team on the eve of a world cup "exactly the type of character we need".

Do a bit of homework on Keane and his antics at Ipswich and his recent comments about Jon Walters. Guy is absolute vermin. Last thing we need.

05-11-2019, 07:10 AM
I think your definition of brilliant differs quite considerably from mine (and the dictionary’s).

Did he not get them promoted and won manager of the year?

05-11-2019, 08:22 AM
New manager will depend on how much cash they've squeezed out of the anonymous donor this year.

£0m = Austin MacPhee
Multiple £m's = not Austin MacPhee

By the sounds of it the anonymous donors are going to foot the bill fora high profile name... if they can persuade one.

05-11-2019, 08:26 AM
Interesting to hear Dr Budge say they're going for an experienced high profile manager. Bit risky setting such expectations which she might not be able to deliver, particularly when one person's "high profile" is another person's "meh!"

Last time their hundreds of high quality candidates were whittled down to "actually the best person for the job was under our noses all along" and he had to be coerced into doing it.

Saying you want experience is fine but the high profile comment might come back to bite her on the bum.

Bizarrely, after saying that, she also said MacPhee was in the running.

Crazy thing to say. Setting everyone up for dissapointment. Who is high profile and avaliable? Moyes has already said no. Roy Keane? Sam Allardice?

05-11-2019, 11:02 AM
I see Budge has said she is going to ask Levein's opinion on a new manager. Couldn't make it up

05-11-2019, 11:08 AM
I see Budge has said she is going to ask Levein's opinion on a new manager. Couldn't make it up

I hope he's recommending Hecky! :greengrin

Mac_17
06-11-2019, 09:58 AM

Wouldn’t put it past him to recommend himself again 😂😂😂

06-11-2019, 10:21 AM
Wouldn’t put it past him to recommend himself again 😂😂😂

I've heard he's recommended an Irishman, Shaig O'Vein.

He looks and sounds remarkably like Craig Levein, but the ginger moustache and Irish accent make it clear it's somebody else.

06-11-2019, 10:24 AM
Interesting to hear Dr Budge say they're going for an experienced high profile manager. Bit risky setting such expectations which she might not be able to deliver, particularly when one person's "high profile" is another person's "meh!"

Last time their hundreds of high quality candidates were whittled down to "actually the best person for the job was under our noses all along" and he had to be coerced into doing it.

Saying you want experience is fine but the high profile comment might come back to bite her on the bum.

A world cup winner, perhaps?

Eaststand
06-11-2019, 10:53 AM
I've heard he's recommended an Irishman, Shaig O'Vein.

He looks and sounds remarkably like Craig Levein, but the ginger moustache and Irish accent make it clear it's somebody else.

Ah but does the Oirish Shaig have any winners medals?

06-11-2019, 11:04 AM
Ah but does the Oirish Shaig have any winners medals?

No because he sh@t himself in the Dundalk toilets in '86.

06-11-2019, 11:59 AM
Some hilarious posts about us on muppetback, apparently we're jealous of them and only copied them after sacking Potter, my sides are really sore 🤣🤣🤣

06-11-2019, 12:02 PM
Some hilarious posts about us on muppetback, apparently we're jealous of them and only copied them after sacking Potter, my sides are really sore 🤣🤣🤣

And also they will get our first choice and we'll be left with their dregs as always 😂 couldn't make that lot up. We're toiling, just sacked our manager, not won since the opening day of the season but still above those delusional muppets. 4th season on the bounce by the way.

06-11-2019, 12:07 PM
Some hilarious posts about us on muppetback, apparently we're jealous of them and only copied them after sacking Potter, my sides are really sore [emoji1787][emoji1787][emoji1787]Deflection as it's the poppy sales season again and they don't have a very good record of paying for them[emoji6]

06-11-2019, 01:49 PM

Well his opinion landed them with Cathro last time he was asked for it so hopefully they end up with somebody equally disastrous.

Remarkable that she would still seek his counsel on this, although I get the feeling his 'sacking' is a cosier agreement than is being made public. Still on the board, still employed until next summer...sounds like he's still very much involved.

06-11-2019, 02:09 PM
Well his opinion landed them with Cathro last time he was asked for it so hopefully they end up with somebody equally disastrous.

Remarkable that she would still seek his counsel on this, although I get the feeling his 'sacking' is a cosier agreement than is being made public. Still on the board, still employed until next summer...sounds like he's still very much involved.

Wouldn't surprise me if he's doing the interviews

06-11-2019, 02:09 PM

🤣

And I suppose we're copying them with the Sporting Director role too by appointing one a few weeks before they decide to have one.

HibeesLittleHel
06-11-2019, 02:19 PM
So will no just be. Craigie re- appointed maybe with yon stupid beard shaved off?

06-11-2019, 02:19 PM

What a terrible thought! :sick:

09-11-2019, 12:09 PM
No win situation for them today. If they win the match then MacPhee takes a step closer to getting the job.

09-11-2019, 12:57 PM
She’s a clown. She’s created a rod for her back with that comment.

Also says that “football has changed” so they won’t need a Director of Football. But they will be recruiting a Sporting or Technical Director.

As usual there’s nobody in the media who dare ask her a challenging question.

Suits me fine. If the media actually questioned her decision making the Duncans might realise just how clueless she really is.

10-11-2019, 02:34 PM
No win situation for them today. If they win the match then MacPhee takes a step closer to getting the job.

I reckon I'll probably burst if he gets it :greengrin

10-11-2019, 03:06 PM
I reckon I'll probably burst if he gets it :greengrin

I've heard Levein keen to appoint him

Cataplana
10-11-2019, 03:31 PM

Fairs fair, he has managed a club called Hearts before. Cupar Hearts that is.

10-11-2019, 04:17 PM
MacPhee with Levein as assistant would be good.

10-11-2019, 06:01 PM
MacPhee with Levein as assistant would be good.

😂😂

10-11-2019, 06:23 PM
Suits me fine. If the media actually questioned her decision making the Duncans might realise just how clueless she really is.

They did. They spent a while chuckling about it on Sportsound during the week. Bottom line being whats the difference between a DOF and a Sporting Director. Answer none really. She’s an erse.

10-11-2019, 06:32 PM
We and they all know the ghost of Craig Levein is very prominent down Tynie way.

None of the coaches have been binned, one of them is favorite with bookies to get job and talking himself up and wee Ann is away in holiday playing bingo in magaluf.

We all know what is going to happen here....”and I was just thinking we had the right guy in front of our eyes”

10-11-2019, 07:03 PM
MacPhee should have been emptied along with Levein (even though he's still kicking about). The guy must have also been instrumental in the disaster under Cathro and Levein.

10-11-2019, 09:05 PM
We and they all know the ghost of Craig Levein is very prominent down Tynie way.

None of the coaches have been binned, one of them is favorite with bookies to get job and talking himself up and wee Ann is away in holiday playing bingo in magaluf.

We all know what is going to happen here....”and I was just thinking we had the right guy in front of our eyes”

Hearts can't even get a sacking right

11-11-2019, 07:21 PM
The first ever German manager to manage in the Premier League- Felix Magath, has applied for the Hearts job.

11-11-2019, 07:28 PM
The first ever German manager to manage in the Premier League- Felix Magath, has applied for the Hearts job.

Flopped at Fulham, think he had a gig in China, doesn't seem to have been in demand for a number of years

11-11-2019, 07:32 PM

Lost out to McLeish for the Scotland job. Mind you, given how clueless the SFA are, it doesn't necessarily mean he's sh*te.

11-11-2019, 07:33 PM
Flopped at Fulham, think he had a gig in China, doesn't seem to have been in demand for a number of years

Apparently applied for the Scotland job, lost out to McLeish and applied for the Rangers job, lost out to McCall.

11-11-2019, 08:56 PM
Apparently applied for the Scotland job, lost out to McLeish and applied for the Rangers job, lost out to McCall.

He's got a fair chunk invested in Rangers, £300k plus.

13-11-2019, 08:37 PM
Steve Cotterell apparently on the Hearts shortlist.

14-11-2019, 12:21 AM

Doesn't strike me as high profile.

14-11-2019, 01:29 AM

He was s***e in that move the 40 year old virgin. Never liked him since.....

14-11-2019, 07:05 AM

Linked with us before, when he was Burnley manager, iirc

15-11-2019, 07:30 AM
Gone quiet on the Stephen Robinson front.

15-11-2019, 07:56 AM
Gone quiet on the Stephen Robinson front.

Robinson rumours squashed.

15-11-2019, 10:56 AM

No doubt he realised Hearts are just too big for him.

15-11-2019, 11:26 AM
see the latest favourite to throw his hat into the ring is big JT (John Terry)......jesus, that wee physio at the hearts better watch her back.

15-11-2019, 11:32 AM
see the latest favourite to throw his hat into the ring is big JT (John Terry)......jesus, that wee physio at the hearts better watch her back.

McPhee better no have a shave otherwise he's in trouble too.

15-11-2019, 11:34 AM

That could be a decent shout, 'could' end up doing a bit of a Gerrard.

15-11-2019, 11:36 AM
That could be a decent shout, 'could' end up doing a bit of a Gerrard.

No money so can't buy success

15-11-2019, 11:39 AM
Stewart McCall would be a great hearts manager for us :aok:

15-11-2019, 11:41 AM
Stewart McCall would be a great hearts manager for us :aok:

was thinking the same thing........even John Terry doesn't strike me as likely to cut it as a manager....bring em on. To get either they'd bust their bank (again) so all for it

15-11-2019, 12:07 PM
was thinking the same thing........even John Terry doesn't strike me as likely to cut it as a manager....bring em on. To get either they'd bust their bank (again) so all for it

John Terry would be who I'd want if i was a Jambo. Could be interesting with his contacts in the game. The other names bore me to tears just looking at them.

15-11-2019, 12:09 PM
John Terry would be who I'd want if i was a Jambo. Could be interesting with his contacts in the game. The other names bore me to tears just looking at them.

Yup, I'd be happy with him as manager. Experience as an assistant at Villa and as you say, a good network.

Would give all of us a good pantomime villain figure too!

15-11-2019, 12:21 PM
Yup, I'd be happy with him as manager. Experience as an assistant at Villa and as you say, a good network.

Would give all of us a good pantomime villain figure too!
is he the assistant? i thought he was a coach

15-11-2019, 12:37 PM
They’ve asked Northampton for permission to speak to Keith Curle according to my maroon contact in that part of the world.

15-11-2019, 12:42 PM
John Terry wont leave Aston Villa to manage Hearts.

Theyll be absolutely desperate to get a big name in now we have got Jack Ross in. Makes it better when its Stuart McCall.

15-11-2019, 01:07 PM
Felix Magath would be good. He'd be a total disaster. Hated at pretty much every club he's been at in Germany. And there are a lot of them.

15-11-2019, 01:55 PM
John Terry wont leave Aston Villa to manage Hearts.

Theyll be absolutely desperate to get a big name in now we have got Jack Ross in. Makes it better when its Stuart McCall.

Every time i see or hear someone mention Stuart McCall i release a tiny bit of pee 😂 Stuart McCall deary me

15-11-2019, 02:13 PM
Felix Magath would be good. He'd be a total disaster. Hated at pretty much every club he's been at in Germany. And there are a lot of them.

With Nanny McPhee as sporting director. :pray:

15-11-2019, 02:20 PM
Neil McCann interviewed too. Scraping the barrel

15-11-2019, 02:22 PM
Neil McCann interviewed too. Scraping the barrel

Big name aye? But a wee prick

Heard today it’s McCann and McPhee

This would be great

15-11-2019, 02:23 PM

Delightful

15-11-2019, 02:26 PM

Best possible outcome for us.

15-11-2019, 02:27 PM
Danny Lennon sounded out too

15-11-2019, 02:28 PM
Danny Lennon sounded out too

Wasn’t MacPhee his assistant at St Mirren?

15-11-2019, 02:33 PM

God I hope so.

15-11-2019, 02:39 PM
It’s Steve Cotterill is what I have been told by someone at the club today.

15-11-2019, 02:43 PM
Imagine if they got McCall or Cotterill...

ahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!

15-11-2019, 02:46 PM
Sorry but why on earth should McCann be even remotely considered for this job. Outside of Scotland national team it’s one of the top jobs in this country. Brutal - the depth of manager quality we have right now.

Happy with Jack Ross!

15-11-2019, 02:53 PM
It's funny listening to them try and convince themselves this is only the first round of interviews. Its taken them longer to interview Stuart McCall and Neil McCann than it's taken us to sack our manager and appoint the best manager either club could have got. Shambolic club

15-11-2019, 02:54 PM

That would be brilliant! 😁

15-11-2019, 02:56 PM
Given the quality of the applicants McCall, Cotterill & McCann they would be as well appointing Catweasel (one for the older posters) until the end of the season.
Their supporters wouldn't like it but it is about making the right appointment not about getting the fans off their back.

15-11-2019, 03:11 PM

🍊

15-11-2019, 03:29 PM
Kickback is a comedy gold read right now 😂

Some absolute belters picked out:

Jack Ross didn’t reject them for us

Jack Ross was never a target for them and they have a higher calibre of applicants that they are presently interviewing for the job. If he was their number one target, they would have hired him already having sacked Levein earlier than we did with Heckingbottom.

Jack Ross got punted by them as a youth coach as he wasn’t up to their high standards.

We have apparently rushed into appointing the first guy we interviewed and the only one that applied. We are not as appealing as them.

😂😂😂😂

15-11-2019, 03:34 PM
Jack Ross, was obviously aware of the situation of both clubs looking for a manager, but from the outset, was only interested in the Hibs job.

15-11-2019, 04:12 PM
Every time i see or hear someone mention Stuart McCall i release a tiny bit of pee 😂 Stuart McCall deary me

😂😂😂

15-11-2019, 04:13 PM
Kickback is a comedy gold read right now 😂

Some absolute belters picked out:

Jack Ross didn’t reject them for us

Jack Ross was never a target for them and they have a higher calibre of applicants that they are presently interviewing for the job. If he was their number one target, they would have hired him already having sacked Levein earlier than we did with Heckingbottom.

Jack Ross got punted by them as a youth coach as he wasn’t up to their high standards.

We have apparently rushed into appointing the first guy we interviewed and the only one that applied. We are not as appealing as them.

😂😂😂😂

Never, ever known them to be appealing

15-11-2019, 06:18 PM
John Terry and them would be the ideal fit - he ticks most of their boxes -

Racist- check
Lack of morals - check
Criminal Record - check
Self-inflated opinion - check

His cringe-worthy act at the 2012 ECL presentation that he played no part in mirrors the Yams eternal craving to be seen as a 'Big team', wanting to be seen as something that will never be !. Yup, them and JT were born for each other !

15-11-2019, 06:20 PM
He picked us over them, that's all they need to know.

Welcome Jack. :thumbsup:

15-11-2019, 07:22 PM

I know he's by no means perfect, but why the negativity regarding McCall. My main memory of McCall was how he turned The Rangers team from one that we comfortably beat 4-0 at Easter Road into one that was much harder to beat and ultimately stopped us progressing in the play-offs. That said the thumping by Motherwell was great to watch.

I know he also failed at Bradford City and S****horpe, though that could be then being basket cases.

15-11-2019, 07:28 PM
I know he's by no means perfect, but why the negativity regarding McCall. My main memory of McCall was how he turned The Rangers team from one that we comfortably beat 4-0 at Easter Road into one that was much harder to beat and ultimately stopped us progressing in the play-offs. That said the thumping by Motherwell was great to watch.

I know he also failed at Bradford City and S****horpe, though that could be then being basket cases.
What I remember about that hun team is how incredibly lucky they were against us over two legs in the play offs. I don't believe we would have been pumped by Motherwell like they were.

15-11-2019, 10:47 PM
This is what it means to be Hibees
This is what it is means to be small
We got Jack Ross
You got Stuart McCall
Stuart McCall

👀

Frankhfc
15-11-2019, 10:54 PM
I was talking with a Jambo today who told me that John Terry had suddenly emerged as a potential candidate which he admitted was very probably unlikely to happen. He was all for a clean break with Levein and the hairy one though and also wants a manager out-with the former ex jambo players who've been mentioned to come in with fresh ideas and a clean slate. We didn't have time to chat for long but I'm certain Stuart McCall wouldn't have been on his list either. Not a happy lot just now :greengrin

15-11-2019, 11:19 PM
Neil Warnock could be exactly who Hearts are looking for.

A long-ball dinosaur, he should fit in perfectly.

15-11-2019, 11:32 PM

Everyone talks about the second leg at Easter Road, but we were robbed in the game at ibrox.

15-11-2019, 11:39 PM
This is what it means to be Hibees
This is what it is means to be small
We got Jack Ross
You got Stuart McCall
Stuart McCall

👀

That's good :aok:

Gloucester Hibs
16-11-2019, 02:49 AM
Everyone talks about the second leg at Easter Road, but we were robbed in the game at ibrox.

Cummings missed a great chance at 0-0 in the Ibrox leg. Scott Allan also getting pelted with missiles when taking corners IIRC

Back to the OP, gunts will do their best to spin it publicly (cos that’s what they do) whoever they appoint, but can’t believe their supporters would honestly be happy with most of the names being linked with them.

16-11-2019, 04:50 AM
Cummings missed a great chance at 0-0 in the Ibrox leg. Scott Allan also getting pelted with missiles when taking corners IIRC

Back to the OP, gunts will do their best to spin it publicly (cos that’s what they do) whoever they appoint, but can’t believe their supporters would honestly be happy with most of the names being linked with them.

Ah but remember the extremely harsh punishment rangers and their fans got from the spl for that! No me neither

I do recall the end of the second leg of the Motherwell vs Rangers playoff when some rangers player lashed out at a well player to start a mass pitch brawl. In the post match interview McCall claimed he didn’t see it, despite being in the middle of it all

Delusional lying hun - seems perfect for hearts

16-11-2019, 07:33 AM
Usual Hearts management process: spin a few big names and end up with a washed up failure.

16-11-2019, 10:57 AM
I think we should get the popcorn out going by All is Barry latest tweet

“For those asking on Hearts' manager search: McCann, McCall, Ross & Cotterill all interviewed. Next stage will focus on people in work (i.e. Robinson). Magath not contacted so far. John Terry rumour seems to be just that. Expect MacPhee in charge at Killie. Hope that helps“

And follow up question re Warnock etc suggest none of the big names are in the frame. Some of the mutants are suggesting Levein finger prints all over this and surprise surprise they end up with Austin McPhee after an “extensive” search. Jon Daly and the rest of the loser remain as well. And maybe Craig stays on in a wee consultancy/acting sporting director role... too far?

16-11-2019, 11:09 AM
I think we should get the popcorn out going by All is Barry latest tweet

“For those asking on Hearts' manager search: McCann, McCall, Ross & Cotterill all interviewed. Next stage will focus on people in work (i.e. Robinson). Magath not contacted so far. John Terry rumour seems to be just that. Expect MacPhee in charge at Killie. Hope that helps“

And follow up question re Warnock etc suggest none of the big names are in the frame. Some of the mutants are suggesting Levein finger prints all over this and surprise surprise they end up with Austin McPhee after an “extensive” search. Jon Daly and the rest of the loser remain as well. And maybe Craig stays on in a wee consultancy/acting sporting director role... too far?

Budge really shot herself in the foot with her "big name" comment. Those pink scarf twirling mutants don't need any ammunition to think they are the Scottish Real Madrid. All she's done is add fuel to the fire and has them all thinking some giant of the game is going to rock up as manager when in reality it'll be Stuart McCall with Neil McCann as assistant.

16-11-2019, 11:45 AM
Budge really shot herself in the foot with her "big name" comment. Those pink scarf twirling mutants don't need any ammunition to think they are the Scottish Real Madrid. All she's done is add fuel to the fire and has them all thinking some giant of the game is going to rock up as manager when in reality it'll be Stuart McCall with Neil McCann as assistant.

Neil Warnock is fav for the job now. Big name and experienced, unfortunately for them he’s 70 and finished.

16-11-2019, 11:54 AM
Neil Warnock is fav for the job now. Big name and experienced, unfortunately for them he’s 70 and finished.

I'd be delighted with that. A dinosaur who is used to spending millions and failing

16-11-2019, 12:09 PM
I'd be delighted with that. A dinosaur who is used to spending millions and failing

Our top two in the betting - Jack Ross and John Kennedy, two young ambitious modern forward thinking head coaches.

Them - Warnock and McCall after having Potter for years.

16-11-2019, 03:40 PM

I'd be delighted too but for a different reason. His Liam Gallagher impression.

https://twitter.com/SoccerAM/status/1163064368520671234?s=19

16-11-2019, 10:59 PM
Difficult for Hearts. They now have to battle Falkirk for a manager

16-11-2019, 11:01 PM
Difficult for Hearts. They now have to battle Falkirk for a manager

Nid isn’t going to hearts 😆

16-11-2019, 11:04 PM
Nid isn’t going to hearts 😆

It's a really tough choice for McCall

17-11-2019, 07:36 AM
Reckon Danny Lennon may get the falkirk job tbh

17-11-2019, 07:37 AM
Reckon Danny Lennon may get the falkirk job tbh

Has the Falkirk manager been sacked?

17-11-2019, 07:38 AM
Has the Falkirk manager been sacked?

Aye Ray McKinnon got sacked last night. Apparently their fans have been wanting it to happen for weeks. Sitting 4th in League 1

Topographic Hibby
17-11-2019, 07:46 AM
Aye Ray McKinnon got sacked last night. Apparently their fans have been wanting it to happen for weeks. Sitting 4th in League 1
He nearly got DUFC out of the Championship the year we got up. I thought he was going to be a good manager and one for the Premiership clubs to look at, but his stock has fallen hugely in 2/3yrs.

17-11-2019, 08:29 AM
He nearly got DUFC out of the Championship the year we got up. I thought he was going to be a good manager and one for the Premiership clubs to look at, but his stock has fallen hugely in 2/3yrs.

We were allegedly aiming for him when he got the Dundee Utd job...he seems to have ended up being largely a defensive style of manager and has subsequently struggled

17-11-2019, 08:33 AM
The candidates for the Hearts job are seriously guff. I'd be worried if i were a jambo. Pinning all their hopes on a serially sacked 70 year old tells it's own story

17-11-2019, 09:11 AM
The candidates for the Hearts job are seriously guff. I'd be worried if i were a jambo. Pinning all their hopes on a serially sacked 70 year old tells it's own story

Very pleasing.

CloudSquall
17-11-2019, 10:30 AM
General consensus on Kickback is that "Mrs Budge" (what is the weird obsession they have with calling everyone Mr / Mrs at their club??) has backed herself into a corner with her "proven and experienced manager" comments.

17-11-2019, 10:30 AM
Some youth coach from Man City is a contender according to Alan Nixon.

17-11-2019, 10:36 AM

They are not even that good tbh.

They’ve lost their No1 choice to Morecombe.

Most yams I know reckon Jack Ross was nowhere good enough for them but then I mention Derek Adams and they said it was all paper talk and made up!

17-11-2019, 10:53 AM
McCall seemingly wants CL to remain as DoF if he gets the gig

mowgli
17-11-2019, 11:09 AM
AB said she would ideally like the Sports Directors role filled first. I think the interviews they are conducting just now are for that role not the manager.

17-11-2019, 12:51 PM
AB said she would ideally like the Sports Directors role filled first. I think the interviews they are conducting just now are for that role not the manager.

Has she explained to any of you boys what a ‘Sports Director’ would do and why she’s given the role such a fud of a title?

17-11-2019, 01:05 PM
McCall seemingly wants CL to remain as DoF if he gets the gig

McCall says the right things in the interview then 😂😂

17-11-2019, 01:43 PM
They're trying to convince themselves that Warnock is a great manager. Sacked from every job he's had but great manager...

mowgli
17-11-2019, 01:56 PM
Has she explained to any of you boys what a ‘Sports Director’ would do and why she’s given the role such a fud of a title?

Yes,the Sports Director will be in charge of the academy, reserve and youth teams but have nothing to do with the first team which will be the managers job.

17-11-2019, 02:06 PM
Yes,the Sports Director will be in charge of the academy, reserve and youth teams but have nothing to do with the first team which will be the managers job.

A director of football then? Or are these groups indulging in other sports?

17-11-2019, 02:06 PM

Presumably they will also be in charge of the first team recruitment?? or else there would be no dependency on this appointment in relation to the first team coach .

17-11-2019, 02:10 PM

Dominoes and darts. There’s not quite a team to compare with the hearts.

17-11-2019, 02:11 PM

Yet they would prefer to get that guy in before the manager? Budge is full of ****. Levein will choose both roles.

17-11-2019, 04:03 PM

The role has the same title as Graeme Mathie's with us.

17-11-2019, 04:09 PM

So it does. We are fuds also.

17-11-2019, 05:39 PM
Warnock and Hearts were made for each other. But I would love to see McCann in the hot seat

17-11-2019, 09:07 PM

Only because that’s what Budge told us to do no doubt.

vuefrom1875
17-11-2019, 09:28 PM
Very pleasing.

Loving every minute...I'm sure Warnock will roll up in his rover ,adorned by the obligatory cardigan and take over the reins of this, once asbestos deathtrap ,marvellous new stadium, which is not finished yet,and wonder at the magnificent plaza,hotels, ect......wonderful stuff they just keep giving 🤣

17-11-2019, 10:41 PM

Hibs always pioneers 😄

17-11-2019, 11:48 PM

18-11-2019, 07:26 AM

Being based up at Heriot-Watt, maybe they are expected to make up the numbers at Lacrosse during exam time?

A wee bit of goodwill to make up for the bumped rent.

18-11-2019, 09:36 AM
Warnock and Hearts were made for each other. But I would love to see McCann in the hot seat

Warnock is a good manager who always gets a lot out of his players, him going to Hearts is very much a bad thing for us.

18-11-2019, 03:39 PM
Warnock is a good manager who always gets a lot out of his players, him going to Hearts is very much a bad thing for us.

The Leeds fans hate him more than Hecky

18-11-2019, 07:20 PM
Alan Irvine interviewed by Hearts, only a matter of time before Steve Coppell and Steve Kean get involved

18-11-2019, 07:29 PM
Alan Irvine interviewed by Hearts, only a matter of time before Steve Coppell and Steve Kean get involvedWhat's Dave Bassett doing these days? Or Steve Evan's-yam class.

18-11-2019, 07:30 PM
What's Dave Bassett doing these days? Or Steve Evan's-yam class.

Was it no Mike Bassett.... 😉

18-11-2019, 07:31 PM
Was it no Mike Bassett.... [emoji6]Either would be acceptable- big names [emoji16]

18-11-2019, 07:42 PM

Aye good old Colin ****er.

18-11-2019, 07:50 PM
Not a dig at out neighbors but I’m surprised how long it’s taking them

They don’t even seem to have a short list and they sacked Levien about a week before we got rid of Hecky

18-11-2019, 07:59 PM

They don’t even seem to have a short list and they sacked Levien about a week before we got rid of Hecky

No sure they know what they’re doing. Their ‘interview panel’ is Budge, Donald Park and the club lawyer.

18-11-2019, 08:04 PM
No sure they know what they’re doing. Their ‘interview panel’ is Budge, Donald Park and the club lawyer.

Think it would solve some of their problems if Austin Macphee does well as caretaker.

Get the impression they might be stalling for time to give him long enough so they can justify giving him the job permanently.

18-11-2019, 08:14 PM
Think it would solve some of their problems if Austin Macphee does well as caretaker.

Get the impression they might be stalling for time to give him long enough so they can justify giving him the job permanently.

Oh please

18-11-2019, 08:34 PM
Paul Ince in at 9/1 for the Hearts Job. He's a throbber

18-11-2019, 08:58 PM
Apparently there's a Canadian just entered the Running. Creg Lavigne. Apparently Budge a huge fan

angus hibby
18-11-2019, 10:05 PM

No idea if true but was told today that Budge has been on holiday.

18-11-2019, 10:07 PM
No idea if true but was told today that Budge has been on holiday.

Yes in the Algarve having Chicken piri piri and playing bingo.

18-11-2019, 11:24 PM
Budge will be waiting for Black Friday to see if she can get a bargain boss

Orchard_Hibs
19-11-2019, 04:51 AM
I walked passed budge on castle terrace last week, did a double take as didn’t realise who it was till I was passed, she was standing talking with 3 guys, non of which looked football related so every chance one of them was their new manager.

19-11-2019, 05:26 AM

It's very surprising. We've acted swiftly and got our man in over the international break. Perfect timing. It makes me think they're not really that bothered and will offer the job to McPhee

ACLeith
19-11-2019, 06:16 AM
It's very surprising. We've acted swiftly and got our man in over the international break. Perfect timing. It makes me think they're not really that bothered and will offer the job to McPhee
That has been my thought all along. Perhaps to the season end as assuming Liverpool win their league Klopp will then be looking for a fresh challenge

19-11-2019, 08:13 AM

Some of the muppets are kind of warming to McPhee. Apparently he’s being endorsed by a few folk in the club, in particular by SSOHA, Steven Naismith no less.

19-11-2019, 08:55 AM

He managed them to a 5-2 home win.

That's a decent league record so far

19-11-2019, 09:08 AM
I see BBC Sportsound had to issue an apology for the tone of remarks made about Austin McPhee by Willie Miller and others in a previous broadcast.

I heard the clip of the part of the show that was deemed to be over the top on the show where Michael O’Neil was on in midweek to offer his support of McPhee. Miller was on the phone that night to argue his case and ended up having a bit of a nightmare and didn’t come across well at all.

As much as I like a dig at Hearts, I felt a bit sorry for McPhee as just because he chooses not to mix in the Scottish footballing cliques, is different and a bit of an outsider, he is open season for those in the media who do move in those circles.

19-11-2019, 09:51 AM
Willie Miller is a crass, blinkered know-all and, while I get your point about McPhee, it makes a change to hear another Edinburgh club getting the undivided attention of Sportsound’s sarcastic wit. The muppets on KB are livid about this and even their erstwhile Jambo sweetheart, Preston, is not being missed by some of them.

Marvellous
19-11-2019, 10:07 AM
I see BBC Sportsound had to issue an apology for the tone of remarks made about Austin McPhee by Willie Miller and others in a previous broadcast.

I heard the clip of the part of the show that was deemed to be over the top on the show where Michael O’Neil was on in midweek to offer his support of McPhee. Miller was on the phone that night to argue his case and ended up having a bit of a nightmare and didn’t come across well at all.

As much as I like a dig at Hearts, I felt a bit sorry for McPhee as just because he chooses not to mix in the Scottish footballing cliques, is different and a bit of an outsider, he is open season for those in the media who do move in those circles.

They were laying into MacPhee on the matchday show during their last game, which they won 5-2. Derek Ferguson was accusing him of trying to be too clever :hilarious
It's a really poor program and I don't understand how someone has decided that the people on it are the best the country has to offer. It's taking the piss really.

19-11-2019, 10:16 AM
Was it no Mike Bassett.... 😉

Thought it was Bertie Bassett

19-11-2019, 10:21 AM

If you're not part of the in crowd you have no protection on our supposedly "impartial" national sports programmes. See previous managers Fenlon and Heckingbottom. Fenlon in particular got no leeway at all because we chose not to appoint Sportsound's anointed candidate Jimmy Calderwood.

Luckily they seem to be happy with Ross.

19-11-2019, 10:25 AM
Willie Miller is a crass, blinkered know-all and, while I get your point about McPhee, it makes a change to hear another Edinburgh club getting the undivided attention of Sportsound’s sarcastic wit. The muppets on KB are livid about this and even their erstwhile Jambo sweetheart, Preston, is not being missed by some of them.

Preston really went for Nanny MacPhee, pinning the blame* for "dead ball specialist" Malaury Martin and his lucrative 3 year deal fully at Nanny's door. You could actually hear the flecks of spittle hitting his microphone.** :greengrin

* or credit if you prefer. :wink:
** I might have imagined that bit.

hibstag
19-11-2019, 10:41 AM
They were laying into MacPhee on the matchday show during their last game, which they won 5-2. Derek Ferguson was accusing him of trying to be too clever :hilarious
It's a really poor program and I don't understand how someone has decided that the people on it are the best the country has to offer. It's taking the piss really.

yeah the tone of that programme was bizarre it felt like it was scripted or part of an agenda - that clown Alan Preston was ranting about Mcphee like he had personally wronged him over the performance against Rangers in the semi final , Willie Miller then ' completely lost the plot about Macphees assertion that hertz should be challenging for a Euro league spot every year (in Scotland what is there left to achieve in the current system).

I loathe the Jambos but it was really crass and belittling of a guy who admittedly had a role in the poor start to the season and their poor last couple of years performances, but also had as much right as anyone to state his case for the job. They are allowing Neil McCann to talk himself up almost every time he is on without mentioning his Dundee record....

Argylehibby
19-11-2019, 10:56 AM

I suspect McPhee will be offered the DOF role and then they will bring in a manager who can then bring in his own backroom team.

19-11-2019, 11:18 AM
If you're not part of the in crowd you have no protection on our supposedly "impartial" national sports programmes. See previous managers Fenlon and Heckingbottom. Fenlon in particular got no leeway at all because we chose not to appoint Sportsound's anointed candidate Jimmy Calderwood.

Luckily they seem to be happy with Ross.
Not really, English on last nights BBC sport lambasting him for not getting Sunderland promoted. Stewart pointed out they were a basket case of a club then who sold their 16 goal forward and replaced him with a guy who cost £50 at Xmas. FWIW I think Jack will do a good job and the days of defending one goal leads history.

19-11-2019, 11:46 AM

Totally agree. I heard the show with Michael O' Neill and the one the clip was taken from and they were well out of order, Willie Miller being the worst of them. Because MacPhee had said Hearts should be aiming for Europe every season, WM said he should be focusing on getting out of the mess they're in at the moment and should "get a life". MacPhee was spot on, they should be aiming for that, he never at any time said they should expect it. Jack Ross has said pretty much the same about us and he is right too.

The rest of them weren't much better, Richard Gordon, Allan Preston etc and you could hear them s******ing in the background. One thing I found strange was how over the top WM was in his praise for us against St Johnstone. We were good but you'd think he'd been watching Barcelona. Normally WM is overly critical of us so I don't know if he was just in a mood for trolling Jambos. That's our job, the Sportsound presenters should be professional. Had to laugh when Michael Stewart asked WM how Hibs had set up and WM couldn't answer him properly and proceeded to waffle his way out of it.

On the subsequent show O' Neill did a decent job of putting them in their place but WM stood by his previous comments. The EEN/Scotsman are saying Hearts formally complained and I don't blame them.

As for Richard Gordon's "apology", that was just as pathetic, he slipped it into the middle of a sentence so you'd hardly even notice it.

The Sportsound presenters would do well to take a leaf out of the View From The Terrace guys' book and try and learn a bit about the other teams outwith the "old firm" (and Aberdeen in WM's case).

19-11-2019, 12:56 PM
Willie Miller was correct.

He was pointing out that talking of regularly qualifying for Europe whilst sitting 2nd bottom of the league was ridiculous. He's quite right.

19-11-2019, 01:02 PM
I suspect McPhee will be offered the DOF role and then they will bring in a manager who can then bring in his own backroom team.

He will be off to stoke on much more money if he doesn’t get the manager role. I suspect Budge is keeping him sweet to look after the team until they bring someone in and he’s not got a hope of getting the job.

19-11-2019, 01:04 PM

He was pointing out that talking of regularly qualifying for Europe whilst sitting 2nd bottom of the league was ridiculous. He's quite right.

Yep, he was going on about getting the club “back to where they belong challenging for Europe” when he’s a caretaker manager about to play St Mirren in a bottom two battle. Ludicrous comments, just like when Budge said earlier this season both Edinburgh clubs have strong squads and will be fighting for European Football when it was clear for all to see both team la under their managers at the team we’re rotten.

19-11-2019, 01:06 PM
Totally agree. I heard the show with Michael O' Neill and the one the clip was taken from and they were well out of order, Willie Miller being the worst of them. Because MacPhee had said Hearts should be aiming for Europe every season, WM said he should be focusing on getting out of the mess they're in at the moment and should "get a life". MacPhee was spot on, they should be aiming for that, he never at any time said they should expect it. Jack Ross has said pretty much the same about us and he is right too.

The rest of them weren't much better, Richard Gordon, Allan Preston etc and you could hear them s******ing in the background. One thing I found strange was how over the top WM was in his praise for us against St Johnstone. We were good but you'd think he'd been watching Barcelona. Normally WM is overly critical of us so I don't know if he was just in a mood for trolling Jambos. That's our job, the Sportsound presenters should be professional. Had to laugh when Michael Stewart asked WM how Hibs had set up and WM couldn't answer him properly and proceeded to waffle his way out of it.

On the subsequent show O' Neill did a decent job of putting them in their place but WM stood by his previous comments. The EEN/Scotsman are saying Hearts formally complained and I don't blame them.

As for Richard Gordon's "apology", that was just as pathetic, he slipped it into the middle of a sentence so you'd hardly even notice it.

The Sportsound presenters would do well to take a leaf out of the View From The Terrace guys' book and try and learn a bit about the other teams outwith the "old firm" (and Aberdeen in WM's case).

Michael O’Neil sounded like an angry dad phoning up to complain because he’s wee laddie was getting it tight and he grassed on them.

19-11-2019, 01:19 PM

Is Willie Miller still involved at Aberdeen at a high level? Or did he make a James Blunt of that like he made a James Blunt of the managers role? The Radio is usually reserved for ex players who aren't quite good enough to appear as a pundit on the tele (with the exception of Mickey Stewart who's superb on both) and Miller falls into that category. Lucky he was a cracking footballer as he's hopeless at everything else.

19-11-2019, 01:25 PM

Mcphee was talking about ambition, absolutely nothing wrong with.

If a prospective Hibs manager came in and said we have no right to talk about Europe considering where we are he’d be lynched.

19-11-2019, 02:33 PM

So if Ross says we should be a top four club and in Europe you’ll slate him? Or is it because someone from Hearts thinks the same?He should be ambitious surely?

19-11-2019, 02:39 PM
So if Ross says we should be a top four club and in Europe you’ll slate him? Or is it because someone from Hearts thinks the same?He should be ambitious surely?

If Hecky or Stockdale had made that statement about us at the same time they'd have been quite rightly laughed out of town

19-11-2019, 02:39 PM

Mcphee was talking about ambition, absolutely nothing wrong with.

If a prospective Hibs manager came in and said we have no right to talk about Europe considering where we are he’d be lynched.

Why would he be talking about ambition for Europe instead of concentrating on being in a relegation battle? That’s surely where his focus should be?

19-11-2019, 02:40 PM

There’s a difference between Ross saying he’s looking to get us into the top 3/4 he’s got a 3.5 year contract. The goofy looking bloke is there on a game to game basis. I don’t think Eddie May would have turned around giving his ambitions for Hibernian apart from on a game to game basis.

19-11-2019, 02:47 PM
There’s a difference between Ross saying he’s looking to get us into the top 3/4 he’s got a 3.5 year contract. The goofy looking bloke is there on a game to game basis. I don’t think Eddie May would have turned around giving his ambitions for Hibernian apart from on a game to game basis.

The goofy looking bloke?That tells a tale doesn’t it.Presumably he has a contract at Hearts and unlike Eddie May clearly wants to run the first team.Obviously his remarks didn’t hurt the team who put on their best home display for months which I would have thought had something to do with McPhee who is clearly well thought of by someone many of us would like to have been manager at Easter Road.

19-11-2019, 02:54 PM

I've not slated anybody :confused:

I heard Willie Miller on the radio though and thought he was right in everything he said.

If Ross starts talking crap like our previous manager did then aye, I'll slate him then.

Besides, if I've got to choose between Sportsound pundits and Hearts wannabe managers, I'll choose Sportsound everyday.

19-11-2019, 03:03 PM
If they don't convince Warnock to take the job i can see them starting to turn on "Mrs Budge" again. They're all stroking his ego on kickback.

19-11-2019, 03:19 PM
The goofy looking bloke?That tells a tale doesn’t it.Presumably he has a contract at Hearts and unlike Eddie May clearly wants to run the first team.Obviously his remarks didn’t hurt the team who put on their best home display for months which I would have thought had something to do with McPhee who is clearly well thought of by someone many of us would like to have been manager at Easter Road.

It does tell a tale yes! He’s a hearts ******* and free game for any kind of slagging.

He’s well thought of as some kind of assistant by Michael O’Neil, fantastic he’s still talking absolute ***** going on about going for Europe when they are joint bottom.

I see also that you ignored my other points about him being a caretaker in the same way Eddie May was, you didn’t hear him bash on about making Europe sitting third bottom of the table.

Rumble de Thump
19-11-2019, 05:27 PM
It does tell a tale yes! He’s a hearts ******* and free game for any kind of slagging.

He’s well thought of as some kind of assistant by Michael O’Neil, fantastic he’s still talking absolute ***** going on about going for Europe when they are joint bottom.

I see also that you ignored my other points about him being a caretaker in the same way Eddie May was, you didn’t hear him bash on about making Europe sitting third bottom of the table.

The ambition for Hearts obviously should be competing for Europe on a regular basis. Trying to avoid relegation should go without saying. In any case, competing for Europe involves avoiding relegation, climbing the table, getting into the top six, and then competing for Europe. Ourselves and Hearts will be both be aiming for this, regardless of who is in charge. Willie Miller was talking was talking utter drivel.

19-11-2019, 05:39 PM
The ambition for Hearts obviously should be competing for Europe on a regular basis. Trying to avoid relegation should go without saying. In any case, competing for Europe involves avoiding relegation, climbing the table, getting into the top six, and then competing for Europe. Ourselves and Hearts will be both be aiming for this, regardless of who is in charge. Willie Miller was talking was talking utter drivel.

Overall, that should be the ambition, of course.

The boys a caretaker manager and he’s in a bottom of the table class against St Mirren, what’s Europe got to do with anything when he’s at a club fighting and battling for Prem survival. It would be almost the equivalent of Malpas saying we are European challengers before our playoff v Hamilton.

19-11-2019, 07:04 PM
Why would he be talking about ambition for Europe instead of concentrating on being in a relegation battle? That’s surely where his focus should be?

He’d just beaten his biggest rival 5-2, what else is he meant to say? What would you want Jack Ross to say?

19-11-2019, 07:07 PM
He’d just beaten his biggest rival 5-2, what else is he meant to say? What would you want Jack Ross to say?

No, it was before the match he made the European comments as the team was sitting joint bottom. If you’re going to stick up for anything hearts then at least get the facts right. He was asked about the match about to happen and went off on some spiel about challenging for Europe.

Jack Ross is our permanent manager also, oddball at Tynie is there on a game to game basis.

19-11-2019, 07:12 PM
No, it was before the match he made the European comments as the team was sitting joint bottom. If you’re going to stick up for anything hearts then at least get the facts right. He was asked about the match about to happen and went off on some spiel about challenging for Europe.

Jack Ross is our permanent manager also, oddball at Tynie is there on a game to game basis.

I couldn’t give a **** tbh, the nuances of our rivals are something I don’t tend to obsess over 😉

You sound like one of the Sportsound old boys calling him oddball! This is about as pointless a debate as the one that’s happening on STV right now.

19-11-2019, 07:15 PM
I couldn’t give a **** tbh, the nuances of our rivals are something I don’t tend to obsess over 😉

You sound like one of the Sportsound old boys calling him oddball! This is about as pointless a debate as the one that’s happening on STV right now.

I’m a Hibee, anything odd about them should be highlighted. Agree to differ time I reckon 👍

19-11-2019, 07:21 PM
I’m a Hibee, anything odd about them should be highlighted. Agree to differ time I reckon 👍

Agreed, **** the hearts.

19-11-2019, 11:39 PM
The Sun claiming that a foreign manager is in the frame to get the job.

20-11-2019, 12:21 AM
Agreed, **** the hearts.

Nothing odd about Austin apart from the fact he is not from the the small parochial clique of Scottish football. Reading the Wiki entry he is well travelled as player and a coach. Has a great tour company and some fine charity work. Not surprised Preston and Miller don't like him. A sad reflection of what is wrong with Scottish football. Would be a good appointment for Hearts.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austin_MacPhee

20-11-2019, 05:21 AM
Nothing odd about Austin apart from the fact he is not from the the small parochial clique of Scottish football. Reading the Wiki entry he is well travelled as player and a coach. Has a great tour company and some fine charity work. Not surprised Preston and Miller don't like him. A sad reflection of what is wrong with Scottish football. Would be a good appointment for Hearts.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austin_MacPhee

I agree. The personal insults make me cringe a bit. To me he's just a Hearts **** the same as Levein, Robertson, Lazlo or whoever. Happy to leave it at that

20-11-2019, 05:30 AM
Alan Irvine seems to be the name doing the rounds

I seem to remember him being named as a candidate for our job many many mangers ago - maybe even as far back as Hughes and Mixu...

20-11-2019, 05:47 AM
I agree. The personal insults make me cringe a bit. To me he's just a Hearts **** the same as Levein, Robertson, Lazlo or whoever. Happy to leave it at that

🤪

20-11-2019, 07:11 AM
The Sun claiming that a foreign manager is in the frame to get the job.

Pochettino would be a coup tbf.

20-11-2019, 07:15 AM
Pochettino would be a coup tbf.

More chance of mad Eddie coming back.

20-11-2019, 07:26 AM
Hearts are big enough to attract Poch. Worrying times ahead.

20-11-2019, 08:13 AM
Imagine wanting Warnock to be your manager.

20-11-2019, 08:44 AM
Imagine wanting Warnock to be your manager.I'm thinking it could be him.

The spending other people's money whilst owing it to themselves years were their most successful recently so having another manager with no eyebrows like Sergio has got to be a big factor amongst the Duncans.

20-11-2019, 08:50 AM
Hibs and Spurs showing just how wee they are by rushing in to appointing a new manager while The Famous take their time

20-11-2019, 09:07 AM
Thought it was Bertie Bassett

May well have been.

Allsorts of names being mentioned by The Famous.

20-11-2019, 09:37 AM
Warnock going to Barnsley

20-11-2019, 09:54 AM
Jambo mate just messaged me

"Poch spotted at Edinburgh airport. You should have waited and not gone for JR"

Care in the community is a wonderful thing

ehf
20-11-2019, 10:17 AM
Prince Andrew now in the frame, apparently.

20-11-2019, 10:17 AM
Warnock going to Barnsley

Not happening

SideBurns
20-11-2019, 10:26 AM
Prince Andrew now in the frame, apparently.

He'd get Hearts back up the league again - no sweat.

20-11-2019, 10:27 AM
Jambo mate just messaged me

"Poch spotted at Edinburgh airport. You should have waited and not gone for JR"

Care in the community is a wonderful thing

Wow - you know a Jambo who knows how to use a mobile-phone, I'm impresssed .................................. or am I premature and he/she has a carer ??

20-11-2019, 10:46 AM
Ex Barnsley manager Stendel being linked

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/hearts-approach-daniel-stendel-face-major-stumbling-block-1311471

20-11-2019, 11:04 AM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/latest-hearts-news/hearts-approach-daniel-stendel-face-major-stumbling-block-1311471

Would be a good appointment, hope he doesn't go there.

20-11-2019, 11:10 AM

I wanted him to replace heckingbottom. Really hope he doesnt go there.

20-11-2019, 11:17 AM

"His severance package is still being negotiated and shows no sign of being finalised quickly, meaning he is unlikely to become a realistic option for Hearts any time soon."

So EEN filling column inches to sell newspapers and website clicks

20-11-2019, 11:22 AM
Prince Andrew now in the frame, apparently.What's Graham Rix up to?

Could be another dream team?

20-11-2019, 12:03 PM
They really are taking an eternity to appoint someone.

20-11-2019, 12:24 PM
There's a chance their new stand could be finished before appointing a new head coach.

20-11-2019, 12:34 PM
They really are taking an eternity to appoint someone.

They done the same the last time before conning the fans into believing in Levein.

20-11-2019, 12:38 PM
They done the same the last time before conning the fans into believing in Levein.

True... loads of names in the frame, some quite impressive as well, and then there was the big reveal:

It's...Rebekah Vardy

No, it's...Craig Levein!

20-11-2019, 12:39 PM

Imagine wasting time scouring the world for the biggest and best brains in football and the answer was sitting there all along, Craigy the loser!! Will the Jambos fall for that gag again when they appoint McPhee?? Surely even they're no that stupid. Surely?

NC1875
20-11-2019, 12:41 PM
Imagine wasting time scouring the world for the biggest and best brains in football and the answer was sitting there all along, Craigy the loser!! Will the Jambos fall for that gag again when they appoint McPhee?? Surely even they're no that stupid. Surely?

They’ll probably re appoint Levein

20-11-2019, 12:47 PM

His record at Barnsley was not as good as Heckys

MikeyS
20-11-2019, 12:55 PM

I know very little of this boy's ability but I have a feeling that if he hadn't accepted the Barnsley fans invite to go on the p*ss after he got sacked, & all these Ladbible type Twitter accounts hadn't jumped all over it, his reputation wouldn't be quite as high.

20-11-2019, 01:02 PM

Why what have you seen if him that would make you worry?

20-11-2019, 01:08 PM
Most Jambos I’ve spoken to want Nanny McPhee to get the gig. I can’t see how different he’d be to Levein but as long as they are crap I don’t care.

20-11-2019, 01:12 PM
True... loads of names in the frame, some quite impressive as well, and then there was the big reveal:

It's...Rebekah Vardy

No, it's...Craig Levein!

😂😂

20-11-2019, 01:14 PM

The think the sun shines out the Budges arse crack they will believe what she tells them and if they can be convinced they went for a few “decent” managers they will accept what she says.

20-11-2019, 01:18 PM

I dont care about heckingbottom tbh. But they both achieved the same in that they got Barnsley promoted. Jack Ross couldnt do that at Sunderland if we are going to be as black and white about it as that.

Why what have you seen if him that would make you worry?

He had a good team who won promotion before his entire back 4 was replaced and he was given zero resources to replace them. By all accounts he had them playing good football and scoring goals. I seen them a few times on Sky and also on the football league highlights and was surprised with how well they played as ive always considered Barnsley quite a boring and dull club who play drab football. I dont want any kind of character at Hearts. I would rather they got a manager that reflected what they are as a club: boring, uninspiring and pretty pish. Im not saying he wouldve been a success here or would be at Hearts but i liked what i seen of his team and what i read from their fans about him. Id rather they went for a McCall or McCann who is bound to be *****.

Gordy M
20-11-2019, 01:27 PM
I dont care about heckingbottom tbh. But they both achieved the same in that they got Barnsley promoted. Jack Ross couldnt do that at Sunderland if we are going to be as black and white about it as that.

He had a good team who won promotion before his entire back 4 was replaced and he was given zero resources to replace them. By all accounts he had them playing good football and scoring goals. I seen them a few times on Sky and also on the football league highlights and was surprised with how well they played as ive always considered Barnsley quite a boring and dull club who play drab football. I dont want any kind of character at Hearts. I would rather they got a manager that reflected what they are as a club: boring, uninspiring and pretty pish. Im not saying he wouldve been a success here or would be at Hearts but i liked what i seen of his team and what i read from their fans about him. Id rather they went for a McCall or McCann who is bound to be *****.

Jack Ross' Sunderland beat Stendels Barnsley 4-2.

20-11-2019, 01:54 PM
As long as Stendel thinks Scottish football is lower league one level and signs players accordingly then we will have nothing to worry about.

20-11-2019, 02:22 PM
Most Jambos I’ve spoken to want Nanny McPhee to get the gig. I can’t see how different he’d be to Levein but as long as they are crap I don’t care.

I have a feeling he would do pretty well, unfortunately.

20-11-2019, 02:59 PM

Only had two management gigs. Sacked from both after a year.

20-11-2019, 04:20 PM
Only had two management gigs. Sacked from both after a year.

Widely accepted he shouldnt have been sacked from his last job but crack on.

20-11-2019, 04:32 PM

Crack on? Only stating facts. 10 games without a win suggest Barnsley were right to sack him.

HFC93
20-11-2019, 05:02 PM

He’s essentialy Paul Heckingbottom with a German name. I think Hecky actually had a better record at Barnsley.

20-11-2019, 05:35 PM
Is there impatience with the Hearts support over the time it`s taking to appoint their new manager? I`ve been fortunate enough to have not had any engagement with the local Jambos in the last few weeks to hear what they`ve got to say.

20-11-2019, 05:39 PM
Is there impatience with the Hearts support over the time it`s taking to appoint their new manager? I`ve been fortunate enough to have not had any engagement with the local Jambos in the last few weeks to hear what they`ve got to say.

I don't know many but those I do speak to are more afraid of who they might appoint rather than worrying about the time it's taking to get someone in. Longer it goes on the more they fear it's McPhee.

20-11-2019, 07:13 PM
"His severance package is still being negotiated and shows no sign of being finalised quickly, meaning he is unlikely to become a realistic option for Hearts any time soon."

So EEN filling column inches to sell newspapers and website clicks

Sorry this might sound like a bit of a dumb question but how would that stop him from being appointed the new yams manager? Surely the severance package would be something private between his lawyer and Barnsley and would have nothing to do with Hearts?

20-11-2019, 07:21 PM
If Hearts win on Saturday I think McPhee be a stick on for the job, must be something in it for him not to already be on his way to Stoke.

21-11-2019, 03:06 AM

McPhee has impressive CV - read his wiki profile. Clearly had no influence under Levein.

21-11-2019, 03:09 AM
Sorry this might sound like a bit of a dumb question but how would that stop him from being appointed the new yams manager? Surely the severance package would be something private between his lawyer and Barnsley and would have nothing to do with Hearts?

Probably some agreement that a new team picks up what remains of salary severance. For example, he has 6 month severance pay paid monthly at 2X per month. He has been paid one month. Salary at Hearts X then Hearts have to pay new manager 5X.

21-11-2019, 05:35 AM
Probably some agreement that a new team picks up what remains of salary severance. For example, he has 6 month severance pay paid monthly at 2X per month. He has been paid one month. Salary at Hearts X then Hearts have to pay new manager 5X.

There can’t be a clause in his contract that commits a new team to pay anything. They would have had to be part of that agreement..more likely his compensation reduces notably if he takes another job during the period of the agreement.

21-11-2019, 06:24 AM
There can’t be a clause in his contract that commits a new team to pay anything. They would have had to be part of that agreement..more likely his compensation reduces notably if he takes another job during the period of the agreement.

I think that is the problem, if he takes another job then compensation would stop. Hearts would have to make up the difference between his Hearts salary over the severance period and what he was getting from Barnsley. This given the difference in wages between the two clubs is likely to be substantial. He is unlikely to move unless he gets some compensation.

Lowest salary for a manager in championship is £250,000 which is about twice what Hearts will be paying.

21-11-2019, 07:10 AM
I think that is the problem, if he takes another job then compensation would stop. Hearts would have to make up the difference between his Hearts salary over the severance period and what he was getting from Barnsley. This given the difference in wages between the two clubs is likely to be substantial. He is unlikely to move unless he gets some compensation.

Lowest salary for a manager in championship is £250,000 which is about twice what Hearts will be paying.

You'd think if he had any ambition he'd take the job and sacrifice the compensation. Much like the Hibs job the Hearts job is a fantastic one and imo higher profile than Barnsley even if the salary is less.

21-11-2019, 07:38 AM
You'd think if he had any ambition he'd take the job and sacrifice the compensation. Much like the Hibs job the Hearts job is a fantastic one and imo higher profile than Barnsley even if the salary is less.

I don’t get when people think this way no offence but the guy is like you and me he will have bills to pay so why would he sacrifice what he’s due in compensation? Feels like because it’s football this seems to be an easy answer but in any other walk of life I couldn’t see many people forgoing a significant amount of money just to take another job, especially when he could probably get a job of that size down the line.

21-11-2019, 07:42 AM
I don’t get when people think this way no offence but the guy is like you and me he will have bills to pay so why would he sacrifice what he’s due in compensation? Feels like because it’s football this seems to be an easy answer but in any other walk of life I couldn’t see many people forgoing a significant amount of money just to take another job, especially when he could probably get a job of that size down the line.

It didn’t stop Jack Ross taking the Hibernian job when he was in a similar situation.

21-11-2019, 07:46 AM
It didn’t stop Jack Ross taking the Hibernian job when he was in a similar situation.

How do you know he was still getting paid and didn’t get a severance payment as a one off?

21-11-2019, 09:07 AM
How do you know he was still getting paid and didn’t get a severance payment as a one off?

Yes depends on each managers contract.

21-11-2019, 12:33 PM

True. As he was part of the PFA for many years I would assume he got the best deal possible.

21-11-2019, 01:09 PM
I've heard Stendel has turned them down

Andy.1875
21-11-2019, 01:24 PM
I've heard Stendel has turned them down

Where did you hear that from?

21-11-2019, 01:25 PM
Where did you hear that from?

My jambo mate so could very well be pish

21-11-2019, 01:59 PM
Some on KB saying he has no wish to work in Scotland.

Steven79
21-11-2019, 02:06 PM
Some on KB saying he has no wish to work in Scotland.

More likely no wish to work with Budge or Dr football.

21-11-2019, 02:07 PM
"Stendhal syndrome, Stendhal's syndrome or Florence syndrome is a psychosomatic condition involving rapid heartbeat, fainting, confusion and even hallucinations, allegedly occurring when individuals become exposed to objects or phenomena of great beauty."

The irony.

21-11-2019, 02:08 PM
Good, now we can throw the "OMG HAHA LOL SECOND CHOICE!!!!!" pish at them in perpetuity.

21-11-2019, 03:06 PM
Despite their scare that Stendel was out of the running, he is still 1-8 with the bookies so there’s every chance he will be appointed.

21-11-2019, 03:12 PM
Despite their scare that Stendel was out of the running, he is still 1-8 with the bookies so there’s every chance he will be appointed.

Similar odds to Ross with us. No smoke without fire usually

21-11-2019, 03:24 PM

Looks a bit of a certainty now tbh.

21-11-2019, 03:31 PM

Appleton was similar with us before it fell apart.

21-11-2019, 06:49 PM
Good, now we can throw the "OMG HAHA LOL SECOND CHOICE!!!!!" pish at them in perpetuity.

Third choice - Derek Adams rejected them for Morecombe.

21-11-2019, 06:55 PM
Third choice - Derek Adams rejected them for Morecombe.

Fourth choice. Adams, Ross, Stendel, now the next guy

21-11-2019, 07:04 PM
Fourth choice. Adams, Ross, Stendel, now the next guy

Conceded.