Mallan 11 goals and our top scorer + assists
27-01-2019, 02:17 PM
YES! off to the pool to celebrate!!
Wee Effen Bee
‘Mallan sure has had a rocket up his arse at HT’ [/QUOTE]
[QUOTE=Stuart93;5682743]Let’s keep it tight 👏🏼
Must be difficult for Stevie if a firework has been stuffed up there at the interval!😵
Mallan! 3. 😀
This winning games stuff is easy when we actually get the ball on the deck
Game over. Totally different team in the second half. Might be because they never got crucified at half time
Shaw involves in all three goals. Should be an amazing confidence boost for him.
Billy McKirdy
May for manager 😁
SJNB Hibby
Cheeer up Rod FFS!
1st half, Mallan GTF, 2nd half Mallan, so so so much more like it!!!
27-01-2019, 02:18 PM
best hibs side in living memory IMO :not worth:flag::not worth:flag::not worth
May for manager 😁
1st half, Mallan GTF, 2nd half Mallan, so so so much more like it!!!
This. What a difference. 👌
Great second half from Mallan. If only we'd thought of playing him a bit more forward weeks ago.
Spurs fan I'm watching the game with reckons Bartley has been our best player.
e2los
Yeah Mallan is terrible.
Such a better half, what a transformation.
Well done Mallan. Still pish though ☺️
Takes a good free kick. I'll still be saying that in ten years.
so nearly a 4th
I still think Kamberi has been pretty poor [emoji23][emoji85]Absolute dung. Shaw has shown him how it's done
Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
From nearly 2-0 when Ofir came off line to 1-1 then looking much more dangerous going forward to 3-1 after nearly been 2-2 except for 2 great saves and a McGregor clearance.
Players have really fought for this today.
Great switch at half time bringing on Mallan for the rubbish wee guy that was on in the first half.
You know what we need? We need some kind of electric egg on face spraying device.
I normally only laugh twice a month so you two making me chuckle twice in 2 minutes is uncharted territory. Mrs Beefster is looking nervous.
Huge slices of humble pie required for some of the contributors on this thread.
What a great day to be a Hibby!!!!
27-01-2019, 02:19 PM
Nice to hear encouraging shouts coming from the bench as well. Not heard that in some time.
Play Mallan in the correct position & he plays well, to his strengths.
PiemanP
Mallan playing further forward and he actually looks a player and back in the goals.
you aint booing Gray now you buddie huddies
18 pages before we scored and only 8 since. Think a good number of the .net crowd left early.......:greengrin
I've already booked myself a home tutor.
Rod ?
Weststandwanab
Are we 8 and 1/4 points off second yet ?
Bangkok Hibby
Way way better. This is the flowing attacking Hibs we know we had.
May for manager 😁
Eddie May to deliver Brexit
Hold my hands up. Mallan has shown what he can do this half. Maybe the sunshine was the problem.
27-01-2019, 02:20 PM
Rod ?
Naw, not into BDSM. Just arithmetic.
Obviously May has told the players at ht that if they want to prove a point or 3 they need to go out and show Lennon that in the 2nd half, very good so far now the shackles are off and the tyrant is away.
Shoud have told them before kick off :na na:
Mallan off
Mackie on
Reading this thread on a train back to Edinburgh reminded me of why I avoid it most weeks. I watched the match on my iPad. Some of the comments were so inane I might have been forgiven for assuming that they are from under cover Yams.
Mallan ‘bang average’, ‘useless’, etc.
Marciano ‘a liability’.
Whittaker ‘useless’ or ‘man of the match’.
I do wonder about some of our alleged support.
This is difficult to watch. Hope I am wrong but can’t see this Hibs team conjuring up a goal today.
The Conjuring 3.😎
Great second half. David Gray, Marciano immense.
kdhibees1
27-01-2019, 02:21 PM
Never in doubt:cb
Full time :thumbsup:
Are we 8 and 1/4 points off second yet ?
We are eleventy-eighth in the league and that's all you need to know.
Mallan looks so much more comfortable playing higher up
27-01-2019, 02:22 PM
Corner turned :thumbsup:
Seriously, at least we showed enough in the second half to turn it around, albeit against the worst team in the league.
Played like a different team after equalising, all about confidence, hopefully go on from this win.
vercol36
We’re gonnae win the league!!!
Mallan played in his correct position is a good player. Never a defensive midfielder/playmaker in his life.
Important 3 points !
55 minutes before it all clicked. Change of formation helped.
After a mad few days that was a relief and feels good to win away from home:
5 points off top 6 and better goal difference.
Proves we need to play two up top
Yeah Mallan is terrible.
Such a better half, what a transformation.
Steve Mallan, the wee Kirkcudbright centipede of Hibs
We are staying up! We are staying up! :greengrin
27-01-2019, 02:23 PM
Shoud have told them before kick off :na na:
Good games from Marciano, Gray, Mallan, Whitty and Shaw in particular. Massive 3 points.
What a relief, that was essential. New manager ASAP please.
27-01-2019, 02:24 PM
18 pages before we scored and only 8 since. Think a good number of the .net crowd left early.......:greengrin
:agree: Will be a quiet place on here tonight now we've won :greengrin
Still not lost a game this season when Gray has been on the pitch
Well EM has done wot NL failed to do. Turn a HT defeat into a FT win. Well done 2nd half boys.
The Leith Dutch
May for manager 😁
I wouldn't be surprised if it's May or someone else on a caretaker basis until the end of the season.
Gives the club time to arrange the new manager and time for him to plan and get some players in to maximise the new manager bounce effect.
The 3 stooges in the studio must be gutted.
Oli shaw coming on won us the game. Involved in all 3 goals and looked quality
27-01-2019, 02:25 PM
So so so much better Hibees, well done. And solid travelling support too!
Yepp
Saints had apparently signed 10 new players in the window. Remind you of another smelly club?
We only had Gauld and Omeonga so substantially the same players.
I salute everyone of the 1200 odd Hibs fans there today. Magnificent backing.:not worth:not worth:not worth
is it wrong to still hope the vileness that is sevco get beat from Livi...even though it means they would jump above us again :devil:
ok i'l settle for a draw, keeps us above them
Oli shaw coming on won us the game. Involved in all 3 goals and looked qualityWhat a difference he made. First goal was ball to Kamberi who held it up and made a cute pass to Mallan then to Shaw. Brilliant.
PLAY THE DIAMOND HIBS!!!
Defo credit where it’s due we’ll done son
Phew.
27-01-2019, 02:26 PM
Got to play 2 up top for the rest of the season .. Kamberi canny play as an only striker, it just doesnt work
Mallan played further forward
Two up top
Slivka in the middle
SDG back
Play the ball on the deck more
Marv patrolling
Encouragement from the bench
Engergy in the second half
A sub that makes a difference
A bit of luck
Barring the luck and SDG all of those options have been available for months. A special mention to Whittaker who was very good and played in yet another position.
The 3 stooges in the studio must be gutted.
they sound quite downbeat
Agree with this, he scored and effectively set up the other two. Great leap at the corner and good layoff for Mallan. I'm not that big a fan of Oli but he looked good today.
Seekyit
Well done Hibs. I feel better.
coldingham hibs
Good 2nd half, Marciano’s brilliant saves got the points.
27-01-2019, 02:27 PM
Youngsters are often the least affected by turbulence at a club and today showed that with Shaw. Brilliant performance by him - well done.
Good result and great second half. More of that in the coming weeks please.
Also credit to those in the formation thread saying we should go back to a 4-4-2 Diamond. Horgan going off forced our hand but it finally brought some balance to the team.
"No Neil Lennon, not a problem"
tonyrougier123
No coincidence hibee girl👍
Great result and much needed
Love Marciano
27-01-2019, 02:28 PM
Absolute dung. Shaw has shown him how it's done
Ha ha, utter dung chat from you and a few others. Wouldn’t matter what Kamberi did today some of you were ready to slate him.
He did just fine with his back to goal today. Bit more movement and support in the second half and the whole team looked better.
Love MarcianoTwo incredible saves. No.1 for the season now.
Well done Hibs. I feel better.
Absolutely this. I hate that tension headache feeling that stays for days when its the other way.
27-01-2019, 02:29 PM
Get the season tickets on sale this week!!!
I thought Mallan was really good after Horgan went off. Whittaker, SDG and Marciano also made good contributions.
That's a massive lift for us. Let's sort the background mess out ASAP and kick on to new things.
Definitely a player in Shaw , he is raw and at times has looked soft .. But I hope we persevere with him becausehe will develop into a better player the more games he plays
Benny Brazil
Rocky's saves in the 2nd half were outstanding
Thought they were pretty fair overall.
hibsfan7
Can anyone tell me the last time we scored 3 in agame with david gray getting booked and steve mclean as the ref ?
27-01-2019, 02:30 PM
Two up top
Slivka in the middle
SDG back
Marv patrolling
A bit of luck
Barring the luck and SDG all of those options have been available for months. A special mention to Whittaker who was very good and played in yet another position.
Just to add to that, Rocky had a shakey moment but then done what he does best. Kept us in it with a couple of great saves.
Most of what you said is what people on here have been saying for weeks. Still some way to go but good start.
Thought Bartley was immense as well
Still a lot of work left to do and need bodies in to address the glarifing deficiencies in the team. However that second half was much more like it, dare I say we were actually quite good and played a bit of football second half.
Too early to tell if we’ll get a boost from Lennon leaving ala Man U, or if we need to remain calm as it was bottom of the league we were playing.
scooby
"No Neil Lennon, not a problem"
I had a chuckle at that too.
Needed that, as much as I like 1 striker and 3 attacking mids, Flo either cant play on his own or the players we have aren't good enough to support him. We're missing Boyle badly and have no one wide right to balance Horgan on the left. Hopefully a weight has been lifted with that win.
27-01-2019, 02:31 PM
Best thing about this so far is we've shown character, the stat Sky showed earlier was that we've been behind 11 times this season and only got 5 draws and 6 defeats.
This, 100%.
That took real balls and spirit there today.
We were dreadful in the first half and could very easily have capitulated.
Players who have come in for serious criticism stood up and were counted today, the most maligned were probably our best players.
Whittaker was decent in the first half when our team were dreadful and excellent throughout the second when we improved.
Stevie Mallan - there is a serious conundrum here. Absolutely abysmal for just under an hour, truly immense from then on. He deserves great credit for his attitude as much as his ability as lesser men would have let their head go down.
Kamberi - not at the races first half, but was horribly isolated. Played in the right formation with adequate support he showed what he can do.
Shaw - changed the game.
Marciano - has been back up for much of the season but a series of incredible saves at important moments won us the game.
I think that Gray was also central to this. He was good enough during the abject first half, a finger could possibly be pointed at him at their goal but he is our iconic captain and our main man. In spite of the fact that Davie Provan seems to have it in for him in a big way, he drove us on and led by example again - exactly what we've been missing these past few months.
Huge credit to all of the players today for their attitude.
are sky no even gonna talk to the managers etc?
just straight to Almondvale?
Well done Hibs. Put €30 on a Hibs win when we got the equaliser, bottled it and cashed out at 1-2.
James Stephen
So delighted with this, as much as i blame Lenny for the current mess, there is always a fear at the back of the mind that we could go on a butcher-esque death spiral.
That second half was huge, spirit, guts, a wee bit of good fortune, and an enormous result that keeps our season very much alive and hopefully reminds the players that they are actually quite good players and a good team
Now, come on the huns
27-01-2019, 02:32 PM
Ha ha, utter dung chat from you and a few others. Wouldn’t matter what Kamberi did today some of you were ready to slate him.
He did just fine with his back to goal today. Bit more movement and support in the second half and the whole team looked better.Did he! Really? What did he do?
27-01-2019, 02:33 PM
So any of the folk who were ripping into Mallan regularly want to give him a wee break? I certainly am. He’s a forward thinking midfielder. Lennon trying to get him playing deep was ruining him.
27-01-2019, 02:33 PM
are sky no even gonna talk to the managers etc?
just straight to Almondvale?
Obviously not. The huns are on.
27-01-2019, 02:34 PM
Well done Hibs! Whatever happened with NL, the players and May & Murray deserve credit for today.
27-01-2019, 02:35 PM
I'm sure if we had lost the game they would still be chatting about it and blaming Craig & Dempster but since we won its straight to the Tony macaroni stadium.
Fifehibby74
27-01-2019, 02:36 PM
Massive 3 points. It’s never boring following Hibs that’s for sure. Well done to the team, coaches and all the fans who travelled through!!
Two up top
Slivka in the middle
SDG back
Marv patrolling
A bit of luck
Yup.
Still not a huge fan of the diamond in midfield as lack width and pace but got the job done today.
It suits Mallan but then what happens with Gauld / Allan..
Felt like a togetherness though in the 2nd half which as fans is the minimum we ask.
Exactly what we needed and great character from the players 2nd half, could tell it meant a lot at FT.
Mallan 1st half - nothing short of dreadful
Mallan 2nd half - much much better
The diamond is by far our best formation and that has been evident for almost the whole season.
monarch
27-01-2019, 02:38 PM
Well done Ole Gunnar May.
27-01-2019, 02:39 PM
Gets involved in games, gives 100% and must inspire others. Why would any manager leave a fit David Gray out when he's so influential ? Great to have Sir David back.
Gets involved in games, gives 100% and must inspire others. Why would any manager leave a fit David Gray out when he's so influential ? Great to have Sir David back.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
Did he! Really? What did he do?
He did his job, kept the ball by finding a Hibs player. Did you see the first goal?
What exactly were you expecting of him?
K-Zazu
27-01-2019, 02:40 PM
We look better without Horgan
27-01-2019, 02:40 PM
Mallan has 11 goals this season in all competitions.
Flo has 9.
We have been crying out for goals from midfield.
Mallan also top number of assits in the team.
He's like marmite - but without him we would be struggling.
27-01-2019, 02:41 PM
Gets involved in games, gives 100% and must inspire others. Why would any manager leave a fit David Gray out when he's so influential ? Great to have Sir David back.
His aggression and will to win is just a different level to most of the team. A real leader
27-01-2019, 02:41 PM
Yup.
Still not a huge fan of the diamond in midfield as lack width and pace but got the job done today.
It suits Mallan but then what happens with Gauld / Allan..
Felt like a togetherness though in the 2nd half which as fans is the minimum we ask.
The diamond is by far the best system for us when Boyle and Tommy are injured. Lennon bought so many similar players it was always going to be difficult fitting them in. Mallan could do the job we bought Gauld for but a bit of depth isn't a bad thing. It also gets another player closer to Flo who likes to play one twos and short passes. He will do far better with players in the same postcode as him
27-01-2019, 02:42 PM
Just read through some of the wrist slitting posts from earlier in the thread.
Care to apologise now, ya bunch of moaning gits?
Wee Effen Bee
Stevie Mallan! This guy is the single worst football player I've seen in our midfield since we were relegated.
As others are saying he gets relegated with every team he plays for, he's only a professional player because of his free kicks! I can't believe our club has signed this guy and even worse he plays every week 😤
You see, with posts like this (not just these two) hammering NOT criticising, our players, is hard to come back from. Coming on later saying ‘fair play’ or ‘I might have been too hasty’ etc. doesn’t wash - it’s like a newspaper’s large front page headline slandering someone then slipping in an apology three weeks later on p23 when the real truth is out. Too many knee-jerk reactions in the past few weeks - I think reasons for our poor form of late now is all coming out in the wash. Also, what an improvement in the second half, especially when Slivka and Mallan began playing different roles and playing 2 up front. Someone already said, it’s as if May had sat them down and asked them where they want to play to produce their best football. Forums like this are better when there is criticism instead of abuse. Yes we can come on when we are peed off and vent feelings but what does that add to any debate? I also think it’s too easy to have a go at guys who have been playing through a turbulent time at our club. Now that snippets about the team are surfacing, it’s all about supporting the Hibs and seeing where we go from here - maybe the result today will be that defining point, who knows? We are a family - and families hit rough times, we all need to work together to turn this season around again.
Two incredible saves. No.1 for the season now.
In the second half - yes - but he had one in first half from point blank that was equally good. But for that it would have made it 2-0 and coming back from that would have been so much more difficult.
Agree the guy is so out of form and offers not very much right now. Night and day when he came off.
27-01-2019, 02:43 PM
The diamond is by far the best system for us when Boyle and Tommy are injured. Lennon bought so many similar players it was always going to be difficult fitting them in. Mallan could do the job we bought Gauld for but a bit of depth isn't a bad thing. It also gets another player closer to Flo who likes to play one twos and short passes. He will do far better with players in the same postcode as him
Considering our midfield has been an issue all season when we get it right like the 2nd half we look much better.
It may open the game up but we look better with 2 up top and I would rather we had a go most weeks than sit in against dross.
27-01-2019, 02:44 PM
He did his job, kept the ball by finding a Hibs player. Did you see the first goal?
What exactly were you expecting of him?Holding the ball up more than the once you mention. Stretching the defence, winning headers and scoring goals. And not being offside the whole time.
We won't agree but he was rubbish in my opinion, as he was on Wednesday.
Kamberi was absolutely superb second half. Thats what he can do with service to his feet. Rips the pish out of the St Mirren defence, held the ball up, laid it off. All that was missing was a goal.
Wee Effen Bee
Steve Mallan, the wee Kirkcudbright centipede of Hibs
Do you mean caterpillar? Or is this a wee whoosh moment for me? 🤔
27-01-2019, 02:45 PM
Agree the guy is so out of form and offers not very much right now. Night and day when he came off.
Horgan did produce our best chance first half before he got kicked = injured and shouldn't have come back out 2nd half as could have been made worse.
Like Slivka needs to be played in a position that suits - as far as I'm aware it's on the right? Anyway think he's suffering from lack of confidence and like most wide players can be hot or cold.
Still best still to come from him I feel.
27-01-2019, 02:45 PM
Kamberi was absolutely superb second half. Thats what he can do with service.What did he do? One hold up and we run in corner before being offside again is all I saw.
27-01-2019, 02:46 PM
What did he do? One hold up and we run in corner before being offside again is all I saw.
You no have your glasses on?
rotherhamrob
27-01-2019, 02:46 PM
Isn't it amazing what happens when we play the ball on the deck, massive difference and the players are capable.
Much better than the usual hoof we've been seeing.
27-01-2019, 02:47 PM
You see, with posts like this (not just these two) hammering NOT criticising, our players, is hard to come back from. Coming on later saying ‘fair play’ or ‘I might have been too hasty’ etc. doesn’t wash - it’s like a newspaper’s large front page headline slandering someone then slipping in an apology three weeks later on p23 when the real truth is out. Too many knee-jerk reactions in the past few weeks - I think reasons for our poor form of late now is all coming out in the wash. Also, what an improvement in the second half, especially when Slivka and Mallan began playing different roles and playing 2 up front. Someone already said, it’s as if May had sat them down and asked them where they want to play to produce their best football. Forums like this are better when there is criticism instead of abuse. Yes we can come on when we are peed off and vent feelings but what does that add to any debate? I also think it’s too easy to have a go at guys who have been playing through a turbulent time at our club. Now that snippets about the team are surfacing, it’s all about supporting the Hibs and seeing where we go from here - maybe the result today will be that defining point, who knows? We are a family - and families hit rough times, we all need to work together to turn this season around again.
Sorry not taking that, I support Hibs just as much as any other punter.
I agree Mallan turned it round big time 2nd half but you cannot deny that Mallan's performance first half was woeful and they have been most of the season. That 2nd half was the exception not the rule.
I'm not trying to be a downer and have a go at Mallan after the game just defending myself after you have a pop. I applaud him for turning it round 2nd half and will be delighted if he puts in more performances like that.
Is there any grass on this pitch? 5 yard passes are bobbling everywhere!
The camera angle is crap
the sun is crap
Hibs strip is crap
the stadium is crap
the wind is crap
The ball being in the air all the time is crap
the constant fouls are crap
Both teams playing crap.
Slivka is playing really crap just now
Goal for St Mirren - CRAP!
Well, didnt see that coming!! :greengrin
Vital win!
You no have your glasses on?What did he do? Work the keeper? Run in behind? Fire over crosses?
27-01-2019, 02:48 PM
What did he do? One hold up and we run in corner before being offside again is all I saw.
Been a mad few days / weeks for Flo with him being singled out and everything else that has happened.
The guys heads been all over the place.
I saw improvements today from him - takes time to get confidence back. I think he will get a goal in his next game.
Let's support the players as we saw when Flo is playing well he's an excellent player.
SJNB Hibby
27-01-2019, 02:49 PM
I sometimes wonder if i'm watching the same game
What did he do? Work the keeper? Run in behind? Fire over crosses?
We won, take a breather.
Fiesty, spirited second half performance - well done to the team for turning it around, some great saves by Marciano kept us in the game and some decent football was played in spells - tough time for all at the club, this was a good 3 poitns in the end.
27-01-2019, 02:50 PM
Been a mad few days / weeks for Flo with him being singled out and everything else that has happened.
The guys heads been all over the place.
I saw improvements today from him - takes time to get confidence back. I think he will get a goal in his next game.
Let's support the players as we saw when Flo is playing well he's an excellent player.I do support him. But this is a forum and just saying what I saw.
In 40 mins Shaw scored one and created 2 goals
What did he do? Work the keeper? Run in behind? Fire over crosses?
Skinned the defence twice. Held the ball up and laid it off on more than one occasion, but I guess you must have missed that. Worked his socks off. Good first touches, good passing. Watch the second half again.
No chance they will do that - as normal they will lie low until we concede the next goal.....
Hibees1973
27-01-2019, 02:51 PM
A few comments on here saying we improved with 2 up front. Definitely. The reason why Kamberi is getting pelters is that he is up front on his own.
Know we are in turmoil just now, but someone at Hibs needs to identify another striker and get him in before the window shuts.
Unless MacLaren comes back a reformed character we must get someone in.
27-01-2019, 02:51 PM
Well, didnt see that coming!! :greengrin
Vital win!
To be fair you were right...
The camera angle is crap - yup
the sun is crap - yup
Hibs strip is crap - yup - least it was bright and they could see each other
the stadium is crap - most are in Scotland.
the wind is crap - seemed windy
The ball being in the air all the time is crap - wind?
the constant fouls are crap - yup - both teams not playing well
Both teams playing crap. - see above
Slivka is playing really crap just now - out of position again but much better 2nd half
27-01-2019, 02:52 PM
I do support him. But this is a forum and just saying what I saw.
In 40 mins Shaw scored one and created 2 goals
It’s typical of this forum that you use Shaws good performance as a negative against Kamberi.
27-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Skinned the defence twice. Held the ball up and laid it off on more than one occasion, but I guess you must have missed that. Worked his socks off. Good first touches, good passing. Watch the second half again.I did miss all that. Gonna go back to Specsavers. In 40 minutes shaw showed him how to lead the line
27-01-2019, 02:53 PM
Sir David you sexy bald man.
Great win.
It’s typical of this forum that you use Shaws good performance as a negative against Kamberi.
And ignore the change in formation to have two forwards.....
It’s typical of this forum that you use Shaws good performance as a negative against Kamberi.No, Kamberi was woeful. Although as I said we won't agree.
allmodcons
Kamberi was absolutely superb second half. Thats what he can do with service to his feet. Rips the pish out of the St Mirren defence, held the ball up, laid it off. All that was missing was a goal.
He was OK second half, but let's not carried away eh.
Can I be the first to say:
Get it right up ye Lennon
27-01-2019, 02:54 PM
Utter nonsense, he was excellent.
27-01-2019, 02:56 PM
Utter nonsense, he was excellent.No he wasn't. Mallam was Excellent, so was Rocky. And Shaw
allmodcons
27-01-2019, 02:56 PM
Why do you feel the need for attention? Are you lonely?
27-01-2019, 02:57 PM
Thought he had a decent enough second half. To say he was absolutely superb is way ott though.
Hibees1973
Yes, contributes nothing. Goes on a wee run stops, turns back, then either picks an easy pass or is muscled off the ball.
He cost us money to sign and must be on a decent wage......waste of money.
He cannot penetrate a defence, like Boyle does.
I would punt Horgan at the earliest opportunity.
Why do you feel the need for attention? Are you lonely?
I’ll say it again: get it right up in and around ye Lennon
Awful first half from Hibs. Better in the second half with two up front. Two great saves from Rocky. Good second half performances from Gray and Whittaker getting the team going forward. St Mirren were dire so I’m not getting carried away but a 1-3 away win is a good result the way we’d been playing.
Played well second half and fully deserved the win.
As a critic of Mallan, I have to say he had an excellent second half and deserved his goal.
27-01-2019, 02:58 PM
Football can be a simple thing at times. Don't tell the players there all s***e, play them in the right positions, put a couple of players up top and keep the ball on the deck.
Easy right?😁
Is there a need?
No he wasn't. Mallam was Excellent, so was Rocky. And Shaw
Yes he was.
27-01-2019, 02:59 PM
You have seen something nobody else watching the game as a neutral would say.
He improved in the 2nd half but wasn’t anything like what you saw.
Your comments maybe stem from a deep bias regarding the situation overall. Shaw and Mallan were the main men in that 2nd half with supporting roles from McGregor, Gray, Marciano and Whittaker.
Football can be a simple thing at times. Don't tell the players there all s***e, play them in the right positions, put a couple of players up top and keep the ball on the deck.
Easy right?😁
Yet we won today playing players out of position
allmodcons
You're completely blinkered.
Kamberi was OK second half. Shaw, Mallan, Whittaker and Marciano were excellent.
27-01-2019, 03:00 PM
Your comments maybe stem from a deep bias regarding the situation overall. Shaw and Mallan were the main men in that 2nd half with supporting roles from McGregor, Gray, Marciano and Whittaker.
Deep bias?
I know a good performance when I see one.
Is there a need?
charming eh :bitchy:
A very good result under difficult circumstances, so well done to all the players. It was very important to stop the rot. It will be a much harder game next week against Aberdeen. McInnes was in the stand today.
Whoever takes charge at Hibs will need to strengthen the squad, but it looks like that won't be able to be done until the summer. That said, Hibs do have good players who just need to be coached and managed properly.
allmodcons
27-01-2019, 03:01 PM
You are lonely. Thanks for the written confirmation.
27-01-2019, 03:01 PM
Your comments maybe stem from a deep bias regarding the situation overall. Shaw and Mallan were the main men in that 2nd half with supporting roles from McGregor, Gray, Marciano and Whittaker.[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
27-01-2019, 03:02 PM
Easy right?😁
27-01-2019, 03:02 PM
Rocket.
27-01-2019, 03:04 PM
Flo was really good 2nd half. He'll be back in the goals soon.
27-01-2019, 03:04 PM
Ridiculous post. No need for that.
Rocket.
Hope he was flinging chairs around his house in frustration during the second half. More likely watching Celtic vs Barcelona rerun to be fair.
27-01-2019, 03:05 PM
We almost managed a whole 20 minutes there after full time before reverting back to type and throwing insults about at other posters.
27-01-2019, 03:07 PM
Deep bias?
I know a good performance when I see one.
Yeah you’re hoping to see something as opposed to actually seeing it.
He was 6/10 which is better than a few performances recently but he was not ‘outstanding’ or anything like that. If he was you’d need to find some new words to describe what Mallan and Shaw did.
27-01-2019, 03:11 PM
But now that the tyrant has gone you’d have thought they would all have a spring in their step and ready to show him that, “look, without you we’re a decent side”.
Instead we get this.
a 3-1 win
27-01-2019, 03:11 PM
He was 6/10 which is better than a few performances recently but he was not ‘outstanding’ or anything like that. If he was you’d need to find some new words to describe what Mallan and Shaw did.
Disagree. He was excellent. Nothing to do with a deep bias or anything else. Mallan, Whittaker, Shaw and Rocky were excellent too in that 2nd half.
27-01-2019, 03:13 PM
I would agree he was a 6 or a 7. Not superb but not “dung” as one poster said. Neither did he merit all your wee digs throughout the game.
Sad thing from this Lennon debacle is that some fans will be determined to slate Kamberi to back up their view of Lennon.
27-01-2019, 03:16 PM
Kamberi didn't throw his boots in the corner and refuse to go back on, or batter team-mates.
He knuckled down and turned a poor performance into a good one and contributed to our win.
It isn't a hat-trick scoring performance every week and he won't get the main plaudits tonight, but after what can only have been a very difficult few days for him I for one am very happy with the contribution he made today.
He can go home with his head held high, and can start to look forward to the rest of the season. Flo's had the weight of our club on his shoulders and tonight that should have lifted a bit.
27-01-2019, 03:17 PM
Sad thing from this Lennon debacle is that some fans will be determined to slate Kamberi to back up their view of Lennon.
I suspect the ones with a deep bias here are the ones slating Kamberi. I support Hibs not Neil Lennon.
So any of the folk who were ripping into Mallan regularly want to give him a wee break? I certainly am. He’s a forward thinking midfielder. Lennon trying to get him playing deep was ruining him.
27-01-2019, 03:18 PM
If you mean me, I support Hibs. No one is bigger than the club.
But if I think Kamberi was dung today it's because I thought he was dung. He was dung on Wednesday as well. That is my opinion.
You have yours.
27-01-2019, 03:19 PM
Huge 3 points today. Thought the players were brilliant 2nd half. Mallan needs to be played further up the park as that is his game - he is NOT a McGeouch type player and we need to accept that. He is an attacking midfielder and needs to play there. Having two strikers stretched St Mirren and suddenly gave players like Mallan and Slivka space to run, rather than pack the midfield. Huge difference - need to start with 2 strikers from now on.
Wonder if JMac will come back into the fold now Lennon is away? Not that Shaw/Kamberi deserve to be dropped out of course!
27-01-2019, 03:23 PM
I suspect the ones with a deep bias here are the ones slating Kamberi. I support Hibs not Neil Lennon.
I was a massive fan of Kamberi last season. Best centre forward we’ve had in years.
What’s turned me against him (at this stage) is his performances this season ... nothing to do with NL.
I’ll praise him when he gets back to form. I praised him on here after the last Rangers game where he didn’t score but i thought he was a handful. He turns it around again and we have a great player at this level.
This x 1000
27-01-2019, 03:25 PM
Back home in Ayr after the game, absolutely delighted, brilliant second 45. Onward and upwards.
27-01-2019, 03:31 PM
Yet we won today playing players out of position We were getting beat before most were shuffled into their correct positions. Only Whittaker was really out of position then and he has played at international level at left back a good few times.
The only thing that worried me about today was why May went with one up top and continued with Mallan far too deep and Slikva right. When he was forced to change, it was like putting the left hand glove on the left hand after playing for months with it on the right and wondering why it felt uncomfortable. I see that he was trying to play experienced players but Shaw has played in National semi finals and started and played in very big games. There was no need to leave him on the bench. We look so much better when we have a bit of ambition and that needs to be carried forward.
27-01-2019, 03:34 PM
Many thanks to the St Mirren player that crocked Horgan :wink:.
Man of the Match
hibeerealist
27-01-2019, 03:42 PM
I was a massive fan of Kamberi last season. Best centre forward we’ve had in years.
What’s turned me against him (at this stage) is his performances this season ... nothing to do with NL.
I’ll praise him when he gets back to form. I praised him on here after the last Rangers game where he didn’t score but i thought he was a handful. He turns it around again and we have a great player at this level.
Fair enuff, no need for you to explain / justify yourself to the happy clappers.
27-01-2019, 03:46 PM
He was absolutely sheite, we were playing with a man short in that first half. The change of formation that pushed him further up changed the game along with Shaw coming on.
If we are playing him in that deeper position, he will disappear like he has done there all day long.
Play him further up, and he's always been capable of scoring and creating.
hibeerealist
27-01-2019, 03:46 PM
This x 1000
660, because we all don’t come out and slate NL surely does not label us non supporters!
none of us actually knows exactly what has happened there is only speculation, however, your comment re NL is the stuff that drops down the toilet and hardly the type of thing a true Hibby should / would be saying!!
hibeerealist
27-01-2019, 03:48 PM
He was absolutely sheite, we were playing with a man short in that first half. The change of formation that pushed him further up changed the game along with Shaw coming on.
If we are playing him in that deeper position, he will disappear like he has done there all day long.
Well said BH, pity the coaches did not twig to that earlier ( in the game AND season).
27-01-2019, 03:49 PM
The main reason he has been so poor for the last few months. Mallan has to be further up the park to have value to us imo. He was the worst player on the park in the first half by a long way and he came alive as soon as he had the chance to play in the Buddies half. So frustrating that he has been played there for so long by Lennon
27-01-2019, 03:59 PM
I'm not convinced that those saying we were rubbish in the first half were wrong. It was the epitome of a game of two halves...
Wee Effen Bee
27-01-2019, 04:01 PM
I agree Mallan turned it round big time 2nd half but you cannot deny that Mallan's performance first half was woeful and they have been most of the season. That 2nd half was the exception not the rule.
I'm not trying to be a downer and have a go at Mallan after the game just defending myself after you have a pop. I applaud him for turning it round 2nd half and will be delighted if he puts in more performances like that.
Read the post again, I never said, or even alluded, that posters were anything other than Hibbies. And, you fall into that age-old trap of thinking that someone who doesn’t slag off our players is happy with poor performances. I never am. I think you’ll also find a number of posters having a go at those who posted negative stuff/abuse throughout the match thread - it’s not, ‘having a pop’ as that sounds like scatter gun, unthinking attacks.
I certainly don’t think Malian has been woeful for most of the season either: like the majority of the team, he started off well and was instrumental in helping us turn in a few decent performances. Too much revisionism about our players’ contributions going on.
Anyway, as I said, it’s important that we all get behind the team for the rest of the season.
660, because we all don’t come out and slate NL surely does not label us non supporters!
none of us actually knows exactly what has happened there is only speculation, however, your comment re NL is the stuff that drops down the toilet and hardly the type of thing a true Hibby should / would be saying!!
I support Hibs not Neil Lennon
27-01-2019, 04:08 PM
One chance in the starting line up
One leader comes into sight
Two crosses aimed and dangerous
Our captain plays on the right...
Ahhhahhhhahhhahhh
Sir David Gray (Sir David Gray)
27-01-2019, 04:10 PM
All that really matters is we got a good 3-1 result away to a team that while being pretty sheite were fighting for survival and trying to bring us down to the same level, we won well and with luck we look upwards and catch the next shower of sheite above us.
27-01-2019, 04:17 PM
I'm not convinced that those saying we were rubbish in the first half were wrong. It was the epitome of a game of two halves...
True, but some of the comments were completely over the top.
27-01-2019, 04:25 PM
True, but some of the comments were completely over the top.
Quite funny reading some of the bedwetting posts pre 2.30 😱😁
27-01-2019, 04:32 PM
Man of the Match
Super Paul McGinn?
27-01-2019, 04:35 PM
Thank you to all who played today. We supporters badly needed a lift, you gave us what we needed. Now, lift us higher please.
27-01-2019, 04:37 PM
Man of the Match
Disgusting.
27-01-2019, 05:05 PM
Only the top four have lost less games than us, and have scored more and conceded less. Turning draws into wins would see us progressing quickly.
DetroitHibs
27-01-2019, 05:23 PM
Okay I'm a tad confused. What exactly are we inserting in to Lennon and how does said object go around :confused:
27-01-2019, 05:27 PM
Disgusting.
I don't think he meant it literally.
Horgan going off forced us into a change of personnel that (apparently) changed the course of the game.
27-01-2019, 05:29 PM
Okay I'm a tad confused. What exactly are we inserting in to Lennon and how does said object go around :confused:
Possibly the chair leg from Friday, though I'm not sure about the 'around' part
The Leith Dutch
27-01-2019, 05:31 PM
I'm guessing the reason for your post being singled out isn't because the poster thinks you're not a Hibs fan.
It's got more to do with the nature of the comment "single worst midfield player since we were relegated".
Everyone's entitled to an opinion and there's been some bits where Mallan hasn't been great but a lot of posters need to actually just make a reasonable point without going over the score.
There's another comment in the thread saying Mallan "isn't a footballer".
It's mental.
Mallan has clear weaknesses in his game and clear strengths.
If we're expecting him to boss a midfield or protect the defence then we're nuts.
He's there for range of passing, corners, free kicks and shooting from distance.
27-01-2019, 05:32 PM
Actually agree. For bout 50 odd minutes he was atrocious. Hopefully the goal and assist get's his confidence back though and he can kick on and become the same played he started the season as. Though, to be that player he'll need to play further forward.
Liam978
27-01-2019, 06:52 PM
[QUOTE=leither17;56822
Whittaker, Hanlon, Mcgregor, Slivka, Bartley, Mallan, Horgan, Kamberi all ****in rotten
Away we ye , what's yir thinkin noo !
27-01-2019, 06:54 PM
Couldn't help but take from Daz's interview that the players are sticking together. Also says he wants the fans to stick with the players. This does suggest Lennon may have actually done something wrong. Hope this all gets sorted out soon. Top six would be a good result this season. Still got time for a cup run also.
27-01-2019, 07:05 PM
I got the impression from Darren’s interview that all players feel satisfied Lennon away. Just my opinion likes.
Colin191078
27-01-2019, 07:30 PM
[QUOTE=Colin191078;5682250]
Away we ye , what's yir thinkin noo !
Still no good enough, great to get a win, St Mirren are bad, would’ve been 3 or 4 down at half time against a top 4 team
27-01-2019, 07:41 PM
Still no good enough, great to get a win, St Mirren are bad, would’ve been 3 or 4 down at half time against a top 4 team
You sound positively disappointed.
27-01-2019, 07:43 PM
[QUOTE=Liam978;5683915]
When were we last 4-0 down at half time?
27-01-2019, 07:49 PM
Nonsense. We were poor first half but credit is also due to St Mirren who actually played well.
EL Green
27-01-2019, 08:00 PM
Thought the highlight of the day was going to be hearing Killing Joke over the tannoy at half time but the second half was great and the SDG & Daz celebration was worth the admission money alone.
Wee Effen Bee
27-01-2019, 08:03 PM
I'm guessing the reason for your post being singled out isn't because the poster thinks you're not a Hibs fan.
It's got more to do with the nature of the comment "single worst midfield player since we were relegated".
Everyone's entitled to an opinion and there's been some bits where Mallan hasn't been great but a lot of posters need to actually just make a reasonable point without going over the score.
There's another comment in the thread saying Mallan "isn't a footballer".
It's mental.
Mallan has clear weaknesses in his game and clear strengths.
If we're expecting him to boss a midfield or protect the defence then we're nuts.
He's there for range of passing, corners, free kicks and shooting from distance.
This. I did say I was addressing a number of posts although I only quoted the two. The point I was making was, It’s easier to slag off players than it is to criticise them - you can’t complain if others pick you up on it though. I think we know most players’ strengths and developmental needs but reading through this match thread encapsulates Hibs.net of late, too quick to put the boot into players and hammer them but what happens when those same players pull everyone up by the bootstraps and turn it around? Jokes are made about, ‘ ...always knew he was great’ or ‘never doubted him’ or similar type of phrases. Not sure of others but, It can make me switch off or just even discourage me from logging onto the site times. Perhaps I’m just a snowflake though😏
Wee Effen Bee
27-01-2019, 08:30 PM
You sound positively disappointed.
I really can’t see how a win away from home, especially in the present climate, could be seen as anything else other than a positive. Surely we saw a wee silver lining in the second half at least?
Also, one of the worst phrases spun out at these times is the old chestnut of, “...aye, but if we were playing a better team...” Probably the most ridiculous basis for an argument ever. Especially as we seem to do really well against most of the ‘better’ teams.
27-01-2019, 08:41 PM
This. I did say I was addressing a number of posts although I only quoted the two. The point I was making was, It’s easier to slag off players than it is to criticise them - you can’t complain if others pick you up on it though. I think we know most players’ strengths and developmental needs but reading through this match thread encapsulates Hibs.net of late, too quick to put the boot into players and hammer them but what happens when those same players pull everyone up by the bootstraps and turn it around? Jokes are made about, ‘ ...always knew he was great’ or ‘never doubted him’ or similar type of phrases. Not sure of others but, It can make me switch off or just even discourage me from logging onto the site times. Perhaps I’m just a snowflake though😏
For the record, I wasn't complaining that you picked up on my criticism, I was responding because I (wrongly) thought you were calling into question my support for the club with your initial comment.
27-01-2019, 08:49 PM
I think most people realise that it was "only" St Mirren but considering what's gone on over the last 48 hours at the club and also bearing in mind how bad the first half was, the players deserve credit for getting us through that second half and getting us a valuable 3 points.
Make no mistake, that was a huge win for us today.
27-01-2019, 09:20 PM
I don't think he meant it literally.
Horgan going off forced us into a change of personnel that (apparently) changed the course of the game.
Okay dokay,picked it up wrong !
27-01-2019, 09:30 PM
I think most people realise that it was "only" St Mirren but considering what's gone on over the last 48 hours at the club and also bearing in mind how bad the first half was, the players deserve credit for getting us through that second half and getting us a valuable 3 points.
Make no mistake, that was a huge win for us today.
Absolutely. That win was so much more than just 3 points today, the fans and the team needed a bit of a pick-me-up after a turbulent couple of days.