View Full Version : The Sportscene Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

27-12-2019, 06:41 PM
Uche has a big hold on Hallberg’s shirt and pulls him down, the ref got it spot on.

He puts his arm around Hallberg's back and falls into him. It's a foul the other way. He tried to get away with the same move three or four times.

He's a cheat.

27-12-2019, 06:42 PM
Ikpeazu gets away with murder. Blatantly pulls people back and gets away with it. Runs into/backs into people and gets away with it. Never booked. Never sent off. For some reason hes refereed differently to other players because if doidge or kamberi done some of the things he did they would be off for an accumulation of fouls.

27-12-2019, 06:43 PM
Uche has a big hold on Hallberg’s shirt and pulls him down, the ref got it spot on.

100%. Hallberg’s top was nearly over his head. What baffles me is that they don’t highlight how Mulraney shouldn’t have been on the park, went in for a wild scissor tackle that luckily missed early on, then put in 3 cynical ones, before getting booked for another wild swipe. Every single one of his ‘tackles’ could’ve been bookings, the first one should’ve been red on its own regardless how far he was from making contact, the precedent has been set in the last week.

27-12-2019, 06:44 PM
Some strike by young Ross McIvor ex Ross County on his debut for Motherwell to make it 1-1

27-12-2019, 06:45 PM
Anyone else watching just to hear what Michel Stewart's got to say about Hearts?

Claiming that part of the cause of the toxic atmosphere at Tinycastle is the previous manager hanging around. He didn't say out loud the manager's name, or say out loud the phrase 'like a bad smell'.

27-12-2019, 06:45 PM
Some strike by young Ross McIvor ex Ross County on his debut for Motherwell to make it 1-1

McIver. It’s pronounced differently too. 😉

27-12-2019, 06:47 PM
McIver. It’s pronounced differently too. 😉
Yeah heard that Shudda checked the spelling

27-12-2019, 07:01 PM
Ikpeazu could be a threat if he kept on his feet. He got his goal in the derby nearer the end of last season by staying on his feet and bulldozing his way through our defence and by staying up created an opportunity.

Yesterday all he did was fall over and try to make it look like he'd been fouled where if he'd taken the ball in and wrestled his way through he'd be clear on goal or drawn an actual foul with his strength.

He's a one trick pony who doesn't use his one trick. It's quite staggering and he's genuinely one of the worst footballers I've seen, possibly at any professional or semi-professional level.

27-12-2019, 07:14 PM
[QUOTE=Northernhibee;6029130]Ikpeazu could be a threat if he kept on his feet. He got his goal in the derby nearer the end of last season by staying on his feet and bulldozing his way through our defence and by staying up created an opportunity.

Yesterday all he did was fall over and try to make it look like he'd been fouled where if he'd taken the ball in and wrestled his way through he'd be clear on goal or drawn an actual foul with his strength.

He's a one trick pony who doesn't use his one trick. It's quite staggering and he's genuinely one of the worst footballers I've seen, possibly at any professional or semi-professional level.[/QUOTE

Professional cheat

Roxyhibee
27-12-2019, 07:30 PM
Says it was a stonewaller when Hallberg dragged down Uche in the box first half so much so that Uche didn’t complain and neither did his yam buddies

i consider myself pretty fair if we give away a genuine penalty - but that one.? - never in your life Stewart.

Hallberg has a right to stand his ground and press into the back of the big useless lump, since Uche is deliberately backing into his space. Uchea is the first to use (both) his hands in a grabbing pulling motion, then after that it’s an entwined collapse, which suits us nicely.

Some hopeless Scottish refs could have given it though.

27-12-2019, 07:40 PM
i consider myself pretty fair if we give away a genuine penalty - but that one.? - never in your life Stewart.

Hallberg has a right to stand his ground and press into the back of the big useless lump, since Uche is deliberately backing into his space. Uchea is the first to use (both) his hands in a grabbing pulling motion, then after that it’s an entwined collapse, which suits us nicely.

Some hopeless Scottish refs could have given it though.
Surprised at Michael Stewart he is usually quite fair

He Shudda said Uche dragged Hallberg down in the box

Brunswickbill
27-12-2019, 07:41 PM
I usually think that Stewart is pretty spot on but he’s totally wrong on the Uche so called penalty. You can see that he has Hallberg held by both his arms behind his back then he bends his knees and jumps back on top of him. If you watch Uche he ends up on the ground every time he is challenged or challenges another player. He throws himself down hoping that he’ll get a free kick but usually in a way that he won’t get booked for diving. For a guy of his size he’s awfy ease to push over. Mind you there’s a lot of Hertz players doing it. Must be coached.

Roxyhibee
27-12-2019, 07:46 PM
Surprised at Michael Stewart he is usually quite fair

He Shudda said Uche dragged Hallberg down in the box

Yes, surprised at Stewart too. But he’s not fallible and got this one 100% wrong.

27-12-2019, 08:15 PM
Yes, surprised at Stewart too. But he’s not fallible and got this one 100% wrong.

In that case he shouldn’t get anything wrong.....

27-12-2019, 08:40 PM

I was really surprised - McCoist and Sutton on BT sport also saying stonewaller. I’m not sure what they’re seeing - big Itchy goes for some kind of judo throw.

27-12-2019, 09:15 PM
Ikpeazu gets away with murder. Blatantly pulls people back and gets away with it. Runs into/backs into people and gets away with it. Never booked. Never sent off. For some reason hes refereed differently to other players because if doidge or kamberi done some of the things he did they would be off for an accumulation of fouls.

He has been booked six times this season.

Roxyhibee
27-12-2019, 09:18 PM
In that case he shouldn’t get anything wrong.....

Oh aye 😂. Infallible..

Frankhfc
27-12-2019, 10:16 PM
It was clearly obvious that Uche deliberately goes down looking for the penalty. No doubt whatsoever.

27-12-2019, 10:24 PM
Claiming that part of the cause of the toxic atmosphere at Tinycastle is the previous manager hanging around. He didn't say out loud the manager's name, or say out loud the phrase 'like a bad smell'.

Michael Stewart’s dislike for Craig Levein is hilarious. Rarely misses an opportunity to twist the knife.

29-12-2019, 06:02 PM
On tonight 7.15 pm

The BBC Scotland Channel

Dont watch alone

10-02-2020, 08:37 AM
Neil McCann thought we were just like Man City yesterday but before you get excited HIBS fans it was only BSC. :greengrin :confused:

I see big Marvin Bartley is still the main man no sign of Tommo or Michael Stewart

10-02-2020, 08:40 AM
What's the story with Thompson being absent?

10-02-2020, 08:46 AM
Dunno been a lot of shows recently Thursday and Saturday only the two games yesterday so maybe a day off

Dont know if Michael Stewart appeared on Thursday or Saturday or if he was suspended? :confused:

10-02-2020, 08:49 AM

Put him with someone other than Michael Stewart and it'd be like watching Cannon and Wise.

10-02-2020, 10:59 AM

He was at the game so probably got he night off.

10-02-2020, 11:27 AM
He was at the game so probably got he night off.

He was - saw him speaking to his doppelgänger a “very handsome “ BSC player before the kick off

10-02-2020, 12:18 PM
He was - saw him speaking to his doppelgänger a “very handsome “ BSC player before the kick off

As you say. :agree:

10-02-2020, 12:29 PM
As you say. :agree:

Tommos words not mine 😁

10-02-2020, 12:58 PM
Tommos words not mine 😁

I didn't really notice whether he looked like Thommo or not. Was too fascinated by the way he said "as you say" after every sentence, and sometimes half-way through sentences, even though Thommo hadn't said anything of the sort to him.

10-02-2020, 11:34 PM
Put him with someone other than Michael Stewart and it'd be like watching Cannon and Wise.

Ah, that’s good. I liked it.

10-02-2020, 11:47 PM
Dunno been a lot of shows recently Thursday and Saturday only the two games yesterday so maybe a day off

Dont know if Michael Stewart appeared on Thursday or Saturday or if he was suspended? :confused:

Stewart's not been on any BBC show since last Monday night when he said what he did about Jim Traynor.

11-02-2020, 05:38 AM
Stewart's not been on any BBC show since last Monday night when he said what he did about Jim Traynor.

Cheers only tend to watch Sportscene when HIBS win

I will only watch the HIBS highlights

If they get beat I will not watch as I have usually already witnessed it

If they win I will watch it again

I also watch on HIBS TV

Hence the reason I missed Thursday

I am a HIBS nut not really interested in any other teams

It leaves the Uglies Aberdeen Hearts and the rest of the rest who imho are all boring to watch

Sad and narrow minded I know but there you are

Looking forward to Michael Stewart coming back he calls it as it is and I think he likes us :greengrin

13-02-2020, 06:20 PM
Morelos should have had 2 yellows for simulation

13-02-2020, 06:26 PM
McFadden is bloody awful

13-02-2020, 09:10 PM
Is there a reason Thompson constantly refers to us as Hibernian rather than Hibs?why not?:confused:

13-02-2020, 10:13 PM

Any other player would have been. Funnily enough I didn't notice an outcry from a raft of ex-Rangers players about him getting refereed to a different standard on this occasion.

MagicSwirlingShip
13-02-2020, 11:11 PM
BBC probably just taking him off air until it blows over.

13-02-2020, 11:14 PM
why not?:confused:

I’m sure it’s our name. Sounds more respectful calling us our name instead of shortened version. I always call us Hibernian or Hibees. Very rarely use Hibs (ironic as it is on here)

13-02-2020, 11:16 PM
I think in fairness to the bbc, they have realised that trying to be all things to all people not only is difficult to implement but is more likely to produce a weak, fragmented offering which ends up satisfying no one.
To their credit they have avoided that by attempting to be nothing to anyone and in doing so are being incredibly successful.

Throw in the Scottish football show on the radio 6:30 week nights which takes an in depth look at Scottish football and is willing to talk absolutely anything as long as it contains the words Rangers or Celtic.
It has been instrumental in me finding alternative stations to listen to when out walking the dog so well done radio Glasgow.

Get football/sport podcasts. Much better.

14-02-2020, 04:58 AM

Absolutely no doubt about it. Ref didn't because of the flak he would have got from one half of Glasgow and Morelos being painted as a victim. If that was any player outside the bigot bros he would have been off.

14-02-2020, 09:30 AM
Noticed that Killie reduced the dimensions of their pitch to the minimum for the visit of the Huns

Sneaky blinders 😂

14-02-2020, 11:32 AM
Noticed that Killie reduced the dimensions of their pitch to the minimum for the visit of the Huns

Sneaky blinders 😂

Can you do that? I thought you had to declare the size of your pitch at the start of the season and stick with that.

14-02-2020, 11:35 AM
Can you do that? I thought you had to declare the size of your pitch at the start of the season and stick with that.

I'm sure Rangers once narrowed their pitch for a CL match - after the visiting team (Marseille?) had trained on it.

14-02-2020, 11:47 AM
Dunno but if you look at the highlights you can see the outline of last weeks 18 yard box

I remember Rangers used to use that ploy all the time in Europe against decent teams with speedy wingers

I do not think Hearts could make Tiny any smaller :greengrin

14-02-2020, 12:09 PM
Dunno but if you look at the highlights you can see the outline of last weeks 18 yard box

I remember Rangers used to use that ploy all the time in Europe against decent teams with speedy wingers

Cheating Killie ba**as. Well done. :thumbsup:

14-02-2020, 12:13 PM

As long as it's within the authorised limits it can be any size. As another poster said, Tiny is already at minimum limit so they can't do anything. I suspect Killie will leave it as is for our visit too!

14-02-2020, 12:17 PM

The Rules and Regulations of the Scottish Professional Football League Articles H19 and H20 every club must register their pitch dimensions with the Secretary one month before the start of the season special permission must be sought if they wish to deviate from the dimensions lodged

120m x 90m Max 90m x 45m Min

International

110m x 75m Max 100m x 64m Min

UEFA

105m x 68m

Every days a school day

Maybes they had a Development game on the Monday? :greengrin

14-02-2020, 12:23 PM

:agree: :greengrin

green with envy
14-02-2020, 01:12 PM
I'm sure Rangers once narrowed their pitch for a CL match - after the visiting team (Marseille?) had trained on it.

Russian team when Souness was manager.

14-02-2020, 01:16 PM

😄
Brilliant

tonyrougier123
14-02-2020, 02:57 PM
Just watched it,i like faddy but it's terrible without mikey stewart.
The beeb has lost it with scottish footie coverge,hibs hardly mentioned.
Boring and stale pish!!

14-02-2020, 02:59 PM

Dynamo Kiev.

14-02-2020, 03:33 PM

I think the old lines you see now are from a couple of years ago when they made it really narrow and short. Can’t remember who was manager at the time, think it was before Clarke

14-02-2020, 07:12 PM
35-40 mins of OF games and the others just brushed over, shocking.

14-02-2020, 07:17 PM
I think the old lines you see now are from a couple of years ago when they made it really narrow and short. Can’t remember who was manager at the time, think it was before Clarke

Rings a bell

14-02-2020, 07:19 PM

Sneaky blinders 😂

It’s been like that since the beginning of last season, might even have been two season ago. Was done by Clarke and worked well fir them. No question it is easier for average to poor teams to get results on small pitches. Aberdeen, Killie and of course hahahahearts know all about that.

14-02-2020, 07:30 PM
It’s been like that since the beginning of last season, might even have been two season ago. Was done by Clarke and worked well fir them. No question it is easier for average to poor teams to get results on small pitches. Aberdeen, Killie and of course hahahahearts know all about that.

Hearts will never play an open expansive style of football while they are based at their Smellodrome. Way too small.

hibby rae
15-02-2020, 04:14 PM
Instead of Mikey Stewart on Sportscene the BBC has booked eaveryone's favourite racist and misogynist Malky Mackay. Importantly though he's never said anything about Jim Traynor.

This is really ridiculous from the BBC now. Not sure where I heard it from but I thought he it was meant to be a 5 day suspension? Now they are getting bigoted relics like Mackay in instead?

15-02-2020, 05:28 PM
Instead of Mikey Stewart on Sportscene the BBC has booked eaveryone's favourite racist and misogynist Malky Mackay. Importantly though he's never said anything about Jim Traynor.

This is really ridiculous from the BBC now. Not sure where I heard it from but I thought he it was meant to be a 5 day suspension? Now they are getting bigoted relics like Mackay in instead?
I don’t know if they’ve even made reference to MS since his comments a week past Monday. Very poor stuff.

15-02-2020, 06:40 PM

Subbutiny

ZAGREB RED
15-02-2020, 08:27 PM

Think they did it after Red Star Belgrade destroyed them in the first leg of a European Cup tie in the season Red Star won it.
The story was they made the pitch smaller to stop Red Star giving them another doing on the big pitch.

16-02-2020, 06:51 PM
The red card given to Hamilton yesterday is an absolute joke; he chests it down but it hits his arm on the way down. Clearly not intentional.

16-02-2020, 06:56 PM
The red card given to Hamilton yesterday is an absolute joke; he chests it down but it hits his arm on the way down. Clearly not intentional.

I can’t understand how it’s a straight red?

16-02-2020, 07:01 PM

It's a red for the same sort of reason that it was a two-point penalty for fielding an ineligible player in the League Cup rather than a three-point penalty.

16-02-2020, 07:01 PM

Only thought would be that the ref thought it was a deliberate handball stopping a clear goalscoring opportunity but a) it blatantly wasn't deliberate and b) it blatantly wasn't a clear goalscoring opportunity.

vuefrom1875
16-02-2020, 11:07 PM

Absolute joke by the BBC WEGGIE....bin Michael Stewart, for saying that everyone thinks, and bring in a racist who's been cold shoulderd by most media tv outlets .(And clubs)...Cound'nt make it up..still happy enough to be employed by the S.F.A....
..beggars belief.

16-02-2020, 11:13 PM
Really disgusting that Mikey Stewart is deemed less acceptable than this racist cretin mackay

16-02-2020, 11:21 PM

Any handling whether intentional or not is a foul or penalty if in the the box. So an offence. The offence was deemed to have stopped a goal scoring opportunity so a red.

17-02-2020, 06:33 AM
Any handling whether intentional or not is a foul or penalty if in the the box. So an offence. The offence was deemed to have stopped a goal scoring opportunity so a red.

Your first sentence is incorrect. Any handball which leads to a goal, whether intentional or not is now a foul. A handball by a defending team still needs to be deliberate.

The box is irrelevant and this Hamilton example wasn’t in the box anyway.

Shocker of a decision but not surprised from Clancy

17-02-2020, 06:42 AM
Your first sentence is incorrect. Any handball which leads to a goal, whether intentional or not is now a foul. A handball by a defending team still needs to be deliberate.

correct. We now have the weird situation where the handball rule is different for defenders and attackers. So if the ball is booted at point blank range inside the box then scuffs the arm of another attacker and goes in, its s foul not a goal. However if it’s hit from point blank range, thumps off a defenders hand, thus stopping a certain goal, it’s not a penalty. :rolleyes: Modern football is weird.

Of course Scottish referees don’t seem to realise the laws have changed.

17-02-2020, 07:09 AM
correct. We now have the weird situation where the handball rule is different for defenders and attackers. So if the ball is booted at point blank range inside the box then scuffs the arm of another attacker and goes in, its s foul not a goal. However if it’s hit from point blank range, thumps off a defenders hand, thus stopping a certain goal, it’s not a penalty. :rolleyes: Modern football is weird.

Of course Scottish referees don’t seem to realise the laws have changed.

Oh they realise ok, but choose to implement laws in their own way, as usual

17-02-2020, 08:32 AM

Yes you are right on the rule change. But if you look at the replays of the incident, one hand is above the shoulder at one point and I think the referee's view is that the hands and arms where being used to bring the ball under control and gain pocession. If that is his view then, not saying it is the correct reading of the situation, it has to be a red as the foul is stopping a good goal scoring situation.

davym7062
17-02-2020, 08:43 AM

coz he had Naismith telling him it was

17-02-2020, 08:49 AM
I don’t know if they’ve even made reference to MS since his comments a week past Monday. Very poor stuff.

That’s poor - not even a mention of it that I’ve seen.

17-02-2020, 08:55 AM
They welcome a homophobic, sexist racist on to Sportscene, but they’ll draw the line at any robust opinion on Jim Traynor.

If Michael Stewart had made reference to Chinkys, gays & Jews and cracked a side splitter about a Black Monopoly game then he’d probably still be broadcasting.

17-02-2020, 09:03 AM
They welcome a homophobic, sexist racist on to Sportscene, but they’ll draw the line at any robust opinion on Jim Traynor.

If Michael Stewart had made reference to Chinkys, gays & Jews and cracked a side splitter about a Black Monopoly game then he’d probably still be broadcasting.

Don’t you think Mackay has served his punishment?? shown severe attrition and deserves to get on with his career ? He has done lots of work on diversity and inclusion since those awful texts..

We all make mistakes...but we all can learn and change too

hibby rae
17-02-2020, 09:04 AM
Malky Mackay on Sportscene: Joe Lewis is the Celtic keeper, Sean Clare is called Daryl Clare and the Hibs game was on Saturday

He's also a bigot.

Some good content on Old Firm Facts though.

hibby rae
17-02-2020, 09:06 AM
Don’t you think Mackay has served his punishment?? shown severe attrition and deserves to get on with his career ? He has done lots of work on diversity and inclusion since those awful texts..

I'm not sure he has actually. Hasn't shown any remorse.

A man of his age and stature in the 21st century. Surely he should have known by that point he was wrong.

17-02-2020, 09:14 AM

The point is, hes not just 'served his punishment' he's been erected up to the very pinnacle of football coaching in this country. If the SFA wanted to show they wanted to retain backward nasty wee attitudes in their *****y organisation they couldnt have appointed a better performance director.

I had the misfortune to listen to him on the scottish coaching podcast recently, where he was treated like some kind of svengali Cruyff like figure, and he had literally nothing interesting to say.

17-02-2020, 09:27 AM
The point is, hes not just 'served his punishment' he's been erected up to the very pinnacle of football coaching in this country. If the SFA wanted to show they wanted to retain backward nasty wee attitudes in their *****y organisation they couldnt have appointed a better performance director.

I had the misfortune to listen to him on the scottish coaching podcast recently, where he was treated like some kind of svengali Cruyff like figure, and he had literally nothing interesting to say.

Not going to comment on his technical views ...but I feel this continual pillorying of people who have made mistakes is a horrible part of life and social media today ..he actually lost his job over it..and has since done lots of related education and charity related work on the topic ....

People tend to not let these things go - as if no one learns by their mistakes ..That is very unhealthy .

hibby rae
17-02-2020, 09:32 AM
[QUOTE=bigwheel;6087787]Not going to comment on his technical views ...but I feel this continual pillorying of people who have made mistakes is a horrible part of life and social media today ..he actually lost his job over it..and has since done lots of related education and charity related work on the topic ....

People tend to not let these things go - as if no one learns by their mistakes ..That is very unhealthy .[/QUOTE

'Upon being appointed SFA Performance Director, Mackay said: "I apologised publicly and privately for the three texts to the two gentleman I spoke about. Then, for the last three years, I've been involved in diversity and equality meetings and been on an education to a point where I know more about it than anybody in this room." Does that suggest growth and contrition to you?

Or, does it scan like the defensive response of a man who wants to change the subject? He's "been on an education to a point where I know more about it than anybody in this room"? Congratulations. You had to be sent on a course to learn not to say things that everyone in the room already knew not to say. Well done on catching up with the rest of us. It's not something you lord over people.'

17-02-2020, 10:14 AM
Not going to comment on his technical views ...but I feel this continual pillorying of people who have made mistakes is a horrible part of life and social media today ..he actually lost his job over it..and has since done lots of related education and charity related work on the topic ....

People tend to not let these things go - as if no one learns by their mistakes ..That is very unhealthy .

If racism is to be tackled seriously, there needs to be zero tolerance.

17-02-2020, 10:24 AM

What does that mean ? you are never allowed to work again ?

17-02-2020, 10:57 AM
Malky Mackay on Sportscene: Joe Lewis is the Celtic keeper, Sean Clare is called Daryl Clare and the Hibs game was on Saturday

He's also a bigot.

Some good content on Old Firm Facts though.
He also said Docherty will do well in his next 3-4 years at Hibs

17-02-2020, 11:42 AM
He also said Docherty will do well in his next 3-4 years at Hibs

You’ve misquoted him.

He said he needs to (or he hopes) he has a good couple of years at Hibs.

17-02-2020, 06:31 PM

What does that mean? We try to rehabilitate murders but draw the line at racism?

23-02-2020, 07:23 PM
Speaking at the end of HIBS v Livingston

Efe has been AWOL

You don’t say?

Steven Thomson and Neil McCann both think he will be a good signing for Livvy

Both bigging up the big Scottish Cup tie coming up on Friday versus ICT

Live on BBC Scotland

Still no sign of Michael Stewart

Efe in Thomson’s Team of the Week?

23-02-2020, 07:38 PM
Kamberi's goal was a screamer - but what annoys me is I can't remember the last time he put in the same effort in a Hibs shirt.

23-02-2020, 07:42 PM
Kamberi's goal was a screamer - but what annoys me is I can't remember the last time he put in the same effort in a Hibs shirt.

What was the game when there was a scout in the stand watching him?

23-02-2020, 07:46 PM
What was the game when there was a scout in the stand watching him?
Dundee United away?

23-02-2020, 07:51 PM
You also have to ask what the hell Scott Allan was doing for the Livi goal. Other players trying to close the Livi players down but Allan was rooted to the spot when if he'd read the pass could have been much, much closer.

23-02-2020, 08:09 PM

Funnily enough he had an outstanding game for us when we last visited the Saintees.

23-02-2020, 08:11 PM
You also have to ask what the hell Scott Allan was doing for the Livi goal. Other players trying to close the Livi players down but Allan was rooted to the spot when if he'd read the pass could have been much, much closer.
He was probably still ruminating over giving possession away for the umpteenth time with the slack ball to Docherty that gifted possession for their goal in the first place. Stevenson has to try harder to stop the ball too but what are Boyle and Rocky doing. Rocky could have walked the 4 yards to the edge of his 6 yard box to collect the ball rather than diving out of the way of the flick. He must be putting soap on Bogdan's gloves in training

23-02-2020, 08:28 PM
What was the boys celebration all about?

23-02-2020, 08:39 PM
He was probably still ruminating over giving possession away for the umpteenth time with the slack ball to Docherty that gifted possession for their goal in the first place. Stevenson has to try harder to stop the ball too but what are Boyle and Rocky doing. Rocky could have walked the 4 yards to the edge of his 6 yard box to collect the ball rather than diving out of the way of the flick. He must be putting soap on Bogdan's gloves in training

Would like to see Bogdan given a chance

roo62
23-02-2020, 08:56 PM

Would like to see Bogdan given a chance Me to BH but do not see it in the next few games. Think JR missed a chance to play him against BSC.

23-02-2020, 09:04 PM
Me to BH but do not see it in the next few games. Think JR missed a chance to play him against BSC.

Agree difficult to change Rocky now

I remember when Bogdan came in last time at the beginning he was dodgy until he found his feet then was excellent

We cannot afford a bedding in period with a Quarter Final coming up

KingPat4
24-02-2020, 09:17 AM
I did not watch Sportscene and won't be again Michael Stewart seems to have been written out of history and replaced by someone more wooden than a gallows pole.

Pure ****.

24-02-2020, 09:32 AM

You can have a go at Marciano for not saving it, he’s lost his bearings and presumably not expecting the attacker to get the touch, but to expect him to come for a cross that comes in at that angle and height would be criminal. The fault for the goal though is with the two wing backs, Stevenson takes control of the man and passes Slivka on, he simply has to get tighter and stop the cross, far too many times this season he has allowed crosses into our box. And Boyle gets caught wrong side and has too much ground to make up.

24-02-2020, 09:35 AM
You can have a go at Marciano for not saving it, he’s lost his bearings and presumably not expecting the attacker to get the touch, but to expect him to come for a cross that comes in at that angle and height would be criminal. The fault for the goal though is with the two wing backs, Stevenson takes control of the man and passes Slivka on, he simply has to get tighter and stop the cross, far too many times this season he has allowed crosses into our box. And Boyle gets caught wrong side and has too much ground to make up.

Some folk either have been brilliant goalies in their amateur career or they’re still traumatised by the goalies we’ve had over the last 20 years.

I’ve got a boy near me who shouts “goalies” or “where’s the goalie” anytime the ball is near our box. On Saturday a cross field ball 20 yards out and he was shouting “goalies” - mental. It’s like he doesn’t know you can’t catch the ball outside the box and even if it was in the box I wouldn’t want him coming out that far.

24-02-2020, 09:45 AM
Some folk either have been brilliant goalies in their amateur career or they’re still traumatised by the goalies we’ve had over the last 20 years.

I’ve got a boy near me who shouts “goalies” or “where’s the goalie” anytime the ball is near our box. On Saturday a cross field ball 20 yards out and he was shouting “goalies” - mental. It’s like he doesn’t know you can’t catch the ball outside the box and even if it was in the box I wouldn’t want him coming out that far.

Totally agree. Had the cross been made from the left back area down by the byline and ended up where it did I’d 100% expect him to take it, but the angle and trajectory that ball took, middle of the park to 7/8 yards out, low, flat cross, you can see rocky took a step forward and realised he’d get nowhere near it so thought better of it. Unfortunately we allowed the cross, we didn’t follow a runner and he got his angles wrong.

24-02-2020, 09:50 AM

Agree difficult to change Rocky now

I remember when Bogdan came in last time at the beginning he was dodgy until he found his feet then was excellent

We cannot afford a bedding in period with a Quarter Final coming up

Rubbish.

He wasn't dodgy.

He was absolutely murder. I think I was bleating about him being 'the worst 'keeper we've ever had' (can't get much harsher criticism to be fair) or simply claiming 'he's never played in goals before' (which is nowhere near as harsh)

Somehow he morphed into an excellent shot stopper, and I think he commands his box and organises the defence a bit better than Rocky.

24-02-2020, 10:08 AM
Totally agree. Had the cross been made from the left back area down by the byline and ended up where it did I’d 100% expect him to take it, but the angle and trajectory that ball took, middle of the park to 7/8 yards out, low, flat cross, you can see rocky took a step forward and realised he’d get nowhere near it so thought better of it. Unfortunately we allowed the cross, we didn’t follow a runner and he got his angles wrong.Look at the distance the scorer and Rocky have to travel at the point the cross is struck. Rocky about 4 yards the scorer about 10 and the Keeper has the advantage of his arm length too. If he reacted like the striker he would have caught it easily. As it is he ended up driving out of the way due to the scorers touch.

24-02-2020, 10:10 AM
Look at the distance the scorer and Rocky have to travel at the point the cross is struck. Rocky about 4 yards the scorer about 10 and the Keeper has the advantage of his arm length too. If he reacted like the striker he would have caught it easily. As it is he ended up driving out of the way due to the scorers touch.

The ball is always closer to the attacker than it is rocky. He comes racing out and one of the centre halves get a touch first then he’s made to look like an arse. No keeper in the world comes and takes that cross, simple as that.

24-02-2020, 10:36 AM
Slivka was at fault for the goal. He was sleeping and by the time he realised the Livi guy was going for the ball it was too late. As a team we allow opposing sides to pump crosses into our box unopposed and pay the penalty for it.
We lose very few goals from open play.

24-02-2020, 10:38 AM
Slivka was at fault for the goal. He was sleeping and by the time he realised the Livi guy was going for the ball it was too late. As a team we allow opposing sides to pump crosses into our box unopposed and pay the penalty for it.
We lose very few goals from open play.

The was Boyle, Slivka followed the runner into the left back area after being passed on by Stevenson who failed to stop the cross.

Stopping crosses has been an issue for us and one of the reasons I’ve stuck up for our centre halves as they deal with about 10-15 crosses per game and deal with the majority, but at some point something will give and we lose goals from it.

24-02-2020, 11:23 AM
The ball is always closer to the attacker than it is rocky. He comes racing out and one of the centre halves get a touch first then he’s made to look like an arse. No keeper in the world comes and takes that cross, simple as that.I would argue he looked a bit of an arse the way he dealt with it. I'll look again at the distances as that wasn't my view. My point is that if the keeper commits he wins it easily. He ends up committing to the cross when it was likely the striker would get a touch and where he couldn't recover

24-02-2020, 11:29 AM

There's also the development in ball technology. It's a lot harder to come and claim a modern ball because of the way it moves in the air. In the old days the old heavier ball trajectory was a lot easier to read, even in mental winds like we had on Saturday. Old codgers mumping from their FF vantage point don't always get that because they haven't played since the test card on telly was a thing.

24-02-2020, 11:57 AM
Enjoyed the longer highlights with the one postponed game giving more airtime to the others.

The bits in between were a hard watch though. Steven Thompson didn’t look that interested while Neil McCann is one of the dullest and least interesting commentator on Scottish football. Chronic.

Best bet would be for Jonathon Sutherland to present show himself, introduce the further extended highlights and post match interviews then sign off with a goodnight. More football and less clichéd chat.

24-02-2020, 12:03 PM
Enjoyed the longer highlights with the one postponed game giving more airtime to the others.

The bits in between were a hard watch though. Steven Thompson didn’t look that interested while Neil McCann is one of the dullest and least interesting commentator on Scottish football. Chronic.

Best bet would be for Jonathon Sutherland to present show himself, introduce the further extended highlights and post match interviews then sign off with a goodnight. More football and less clichéd chat.
Sutherland is not exactly Mr. Charisma himself is he, the program is dull and amateurish.

24-02-2020, 02:11 PM
I would argue he looked a bit of an arse the way he dealt with it. I'll look again at the distances as that wasn't my view. My point is that if the keeper commits he wins it easily. He ends up committing to the cross when it was likely the striker would get a touch and where he couldn't recover

I agree it didn’t look great as he lost his bearings, but it would be even worse if he ran 6/8 yards out his goal and got absolutely nowhere near it, at least doing what he did both he, and our right back still had a chance to deal with it.

He can’t commit though, he doesn’t know where that ball is landing. Remember he isn’t positioned up in the stand to see exactly where it will land. From his viewpoint it’s a very low, flat cross, with a defender directly in front of him, until it’s past that defender he can’t move, by which time the attacker is a matter of yards away from the ball running onto it.

An attacker can gamble on that run, if he doesn’t make it then no harm done, he runs back into position. A goalkeeper can’t gamble on where the ball may end up.

24-02-2020, 02:39 PM

McCann spends all his time trying to prove how knowledgeable he is in regards to everything football. Pity putting it into practice wasn't quite so easy.

24-02-2020, 02:43 PM
Whatever system we employ has plusses & minuses. At present we're using 352 to allow us to have 2 strikers, Allan & Boyle in the same team. The downside is we lose some of Boyle's attacking flair & he's not a natural defender. For me Martin bears the greatest share of blame for the equaliser, quite simply he lost his man. I agree however that Stevenson & Slivka also bear some of the share of the blame. They stood off Lawless by about 5 yards while he shuffles ball onto his excellent left peg & crosses completely unchallenged. I couldn't see Omeonga standing off his man like that & to me if we're playing such an attacking formation we need Omeonga to help get the ball back. As for the keeper, I'm in the Bogdan camp but I think it would be stretching it to blame Rocky in any way for the Livi goal.

24-02-2020, 02:49 PM
Whatever system we employ has plusses & minuses. At present we're using 352 to allow us to have 2 strikers, Allan & Boyle in the same team. The downside is we lose some of Boyle's attacking flair & he's not a natural defender. For me Martin bears the greatest share of blame for the equaliser, quite simply he lost his man. I agree however that Stevenson & Slivka also bear some of the share of the blame. They stood off Lawless by about 5 yards while he shuffles ball onto his excellent left peg & crosses completely unchallenged. I couldn't see Omeonga standing off his man like that & to me if we're playing such an attacking formation we need Omeonga to help get the ball back. As for the keeper, I'm in the Bogdan camp but I think it would be stretching it to blame Rocky in any way for the Livi goal.

Apart from diving out the way of the ball 😂

24-02-2020, 02:53 PM

Nothing to do with Slivka, Lewis clearly passes the other man onto Slivka and takes charge of the man on the ball. He then fails to get tight enough to stop the cross.

vuefrom1875
24-02-2020, 03:26 PM
Sutherland is not exactly Mr. Charisma himself is he, the program is dull and amateurish.

3rd rate weggie sh##e.

hibeerealist
24-02-2020, 03:32 PM

Slivka all day long, he should have got to the ball before Livi player.

hibeerealist
24-02-2020, 03:35 PM
Nothing to do with Slivka, Lewis clearly passes the other man onto Slivka and takes charge of the man on the ball. He then fails to get tight enough to stop the cross.

What, Slivka should have got to the ball BEFORE Livi player and there would be no cross into the box????

24-02-2020, 03:38 PM
What, Slivka should have got to the ball BEFORE Livi player and there would be no cross into the box????

Possibly, but if he’s not quick enough then there’s not a lot he could do. The poster was questioning Slivka allowing a cross into the box when it wasn’t his job to stop that.

24-02-2020, 03:40 PM
Possibly, but if he’s not quick enough then there’s not a lot he could do. The poster was questioning Slivka allowing a cross into the box when it wasn’t his job to stop that.

They’re both to blame as there was a lack of intensity and urgency to get to the ball and make it difficult for Lawless. Both players have been guilty of this too often

24-02-2020, 03:54 PM
I said at the time, but would like to see it again, that Slivka could have done more to get to the ball before the Livi player. Nothing to do with pace and everything to do with lack of urgency and commitment. Lewis then should have got closer when switching markers and Boyle was caught the wrong side on the scorer. Not all one players fault but Slivka is notorious for jogging about and not making much effort unless the ball comes within feet of his own.

This is why I'd like to see Fraser Murray given a start in the absence of Newell.

24-02-2020, 03:57 PM
They’re both to blame as there was a lack of intensity and urgency to get to the ball and make it difficult for Lawless. Both players have been guilty of this too often

Think that’s pretty fair, none of them got within 5 yards of Lawless.

For Slivka that was the story of the game as he gave Lawless the freedom of ER on Sat.

As for Rocky at the goal. Anyone who says he could have came for the cross is a bit confused as there was no way he could do so. But his positioning was absolutely awful, he ended up almost at the far post and basically left the goal wide open. So defo not blameless at all.

24-02-2020, 04:50 PM
Think that’s pretty fair, none of them got within 5 yards of Lawless.

For Slivka that was the story of the game as he gave Lawless the freedom of ER on Sat.

As for Rocky at the goal. Anyone who says he could have came for the cross is a bit confused as there was no way he could do so. But his positioning was absolutely awful, he ended up almost at the far post and basically left the goal wide open. So defo not blameless at all.

The ball was not rifled in and he had to move 4 yards to collect it. I agree his positioning was horrendous though and it was a typical Hibs concession with 4 players not doing their job well after another had given the ball away, again, very cheaply.

29-02-2020, 09:58 PM
So, although it was shown in the match highlights, no mention of the object thrown at the hearts keeper by the The Rangers fans. The BBC really are running scared

29-02-2020, 10:10 PM
Our penalty should have been retaken, at least two Inverness players in the box before Hanlon kicked the ball.

29-02-2020, 10:24 PM
Best thing about the rangers losing tonight.......Mickey Stewart being back on the BBC :greengrin

01-03-2020, 08:16 PM
Good finish by the boy Ferguson for Aberdeen with the outside of his right foot into the top corner

Jim Goodwin said there was only one team trying to play football -no surprise there then

Lenny looked disappointed to have been drawn Aberdeen

Would not be surprised if Aberdeen go through on pens after all it is a science

Comedy defending by Mr Angry in the Hun goal for the Hearts goal 😂

01-03-2020, 08:24 PM
Best thing about the rangers losing tonight.......Mickey Stewart being back on the BBC :greengrin
He seemed subdued to me.

01-03-2020, 09:52 PM
So, although it was shown in the match highlights, no mention of the object thrown at the hearts keeper by the The Rangers fans. The BBC really are running scared

It’s all over the BBC web though. Write a letter.

02-03-2020, 07:40 AM

Extensive reporting on the BBC pages on the web not counting the live running commentary on the radio.

Cataplana
02-03-2020, 08:12 AM
Our penalty should have been retaken, at least two Inverness players in the box before Hanlon kicked the ball.

The goalie was off his line too. Or does that rule only apply in big tournaments.

02-03-2020, 08:30 AM
Extensive reporting on the BBC pages on the web not counting the live running commentary on the radio.

Oh. I must have missed the long analysis and condemnation of the the Rangers fans on Sportsound. How did it go?

02-03-2020, 08:34 AM
Oh. I must have missed the long analysis and condemnation of the the Rangers fans on Sportsound. How did it go?A coconut has had more publicity than the The Rangers fans recently. I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for that lot to be criticised on that programme. Editorialy it seems that any incident not involving them gets full coverage, but never them.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

02-03-2020, 09:19 AM
Might have had more dramatic effect if Zlamal had done his usual dying swan act going down as if hit by a sniper from the stands to get stretchered off only to do his Lazarus act bounce to his feet and declare himself fit to continue after all
Then again I suppose it was only a two pence piece and not a one pound coin as originally reported
Hun cheapskates!

BlackSheep
08-03-2020, 08:14 PM
Looks like it was a Hanlon OG and not a Considine goal yesterday...

08-03-2020, 08:28 PM

I really hope Underscore doesn't read this🙈

davym7062
08-03-2020, 09:05 PM

I don't watch sportscene when we lose but I thought it was Jackson watching the game yesterday. ive been wrong many times before tho

BlackSheep
08-03-2020, 09:16 PM
I don't watch sportscene when we lose but I thought it was Jackson watching the game yesterday. ive been wrong many times before tho

Jackson did score an own goal... that was Aberdeen’s first...
But their second was given as a Considine goal... on Sportscene they showed a close up which looked like Hanlon poked it in before Considine.

davym7062
08-03-2020, 09:46 PM
Jackson did score an own goal... that was Aberdeen’s first...
But their second was given as a Considine goal... on Sportscene they showed a close up which looked like Hanlon poked it in before Considine.

ahhhhh me understand noo