View Full Version : The Sportscene Thread
24-09-2018, 09:48 AM
Sauzee neither.
It makes absolute sense to want to do something else when you retire. People who talk about sport for the entirety of their lives are probably missing out on something.
It’s Thompson’s job and he’s basically said he doesn’t like it. That’s all - just a strange thing to admit publicly like that I thought.
24-09-2018, 10:05 AM
That's true actually, although I think it was at least 5-10 years ago, and it wasn't particularly regular. I haven't seen him on French TV for a long time.
He's still there, working for Canal+.
http://www.culturepsg.com/news/match/psg-angers-diffusion-commentateurs-et-rediffusions/22797
24-09-2018, 10:12 AM
http://www.culturepsg.com/news/match/psg-angers-diffusion-commentateurs-et-rediffusions/22797
Thanks for that, I'll keep my eyes open for him. Maybe they have him doing a 2am in a broom cupboard slot :greengrin
24-09-2018, 10:15 AM
He's got to find something to do when he isn't tending his Vineyard or going fly-fishing ! :greengrin
24-09-2018, 10:26 AM
If the Hearts penalty was a penalty then I am a jambo! :greengrin
24-09-2018, 11:12 AM
Thanks for that, I'll keep my eyes open for him. Maybe they have him doing a 2am in a broom cupboard slot :greengrin
You can hear him well enough in the background here (it's the first video, but you might have to click "voir" or "watch" to see it because of Franck's bad language).
https://twitter.com/i/status/1041641540584660992 (https://twitter.com/Pas_De_Pression/status/1041641540584660992)
24-09-2018, 11:16 AM
You can here him well enough in the background here (it's the first video, but you might have to click "voir" or "watch" to see it because of Franck's bad language).
https://twitter.com/i/status/1041641540584660992 (https://twitter.com/Pas_De_Pression/status/1041641540584660992)
Nice Thauvin goal as well, always nice to watch again. Franck says putain :faf:
24-09-2018, 11:29 AM
Keep meaning to watch Sportscene, but after watching the highlights on Hibs.TV I never usually bother. Think I’m with Steven Thompson in that I’m not reall that fussed about watching football.
24-09-2018, 11:36 AM
Keep meaning to watch Sportscene, but after watching the highlights on Hibs.TV I never usually bother. Think I’m with Steven Thompson in that I’m not reall that fussed about watching football.
I think he’s a really good pundit, as is Michael Stewart.
I’m surprised he doesn’t like football but maybe that’s just what he says to separate himself from all the Rangers dafties and all that goes along with playing for them, as he did for a while.
Also maybe having the ability to detach himself from the game might actually help him in a strange sort of way.
24-09-2018, 11:50 AM
I’m surprised he doesn’t like football but maybe that’s just what he says to separate himself from all the Rangers dafties and all that goes along with playing for them, as he did for a while.
Also maybe having the ability to detach himself from the game might actually help him in a strange sort of way.
Is his passion not music? I seem to remember he was in a band and perhaps wrote a cup final song for one the teams he played for.
Marc Libbra is the same. I remember him saying when he was with us was that the reason he didn't really celebrate goals and always looked in a mood, was that he didn't like football and only played it because he was good at it. For him, football was just a job.
24-09-2018, 11:51 AM
:agree: I agree and I think there's a lot of truth in the 'can't see the wood for the trees' catchphrase. Sometimes we do so much of something we don't step back and see the wider picture.
This is why walk-up supporters are far more knowledgeable than season ticket holders :greengrin
24-09-2018, 12:09 PM
It’s Thompson’s job and he’s basically said he doesn’t like it. That’s all - just a strange thing to admit publicly like that I thought.
His agent has probably told him he needs to be more idiosyncratic.
24-09-2018, 12:14 PM
:agree: I agree and I think there's a lot of truth in the 'can't see the wood for the trees' catchphrase. Sometimes we do so much of something we don't step back and see the wider picture.
This is why walk-up supporters are far more knowledgeable than season ticket holders :greengrin
Or watching on Hibs TV from South East Asia.
24-09-2018, 12:23 PM
LTYF :greengrin
24-09-2018, 12:53 PM
LTYF :greengrin
:brokenyam:
chinaman
24-09-2018, 01:33 PM
Just watched the yam game on catch up,what a joke that penalty was and the ref just couldn't wait to give it.
that cheating xxxx mclean enjoyed it.
see the xxxxxx milking getting it .
24-09-2018, 02:26 PM
Mmm...agree its not a definite pen. but if that's a Hibs player we would be screaming for it.
24-09-2018, 02:33 PM
Mmm...agree its not a definite pen. but if that's a Hibs player we would be screaming for it.
Exactly what I said about the Hearts goal at Motherwell last week.
Thomson and Stewart said it wisnae a penalty a bit soft but Thomson disnae count as he disnae like fitba anyway :greengrin
24-09-2018, 05:10 PM
You sayin' Uberfans divn't ken what's going' on.....?
24-09-2018, 07:25 PM
I would have agreed with you in previous seasons, but this season I realise that I would have been wrong :na na:
24-09-2018, 09:30 PM
I would have agreed with you in previous seasons, but this season I realise that I would have been wrong :na na:
See, you only think you were wrong in the past, because you became a season ticket holder this season and lost your walk up mojo. Surreptitiously and immediately, you knew less, and therefore didn't realise it and thought you knew more.
These self fulfilling prophecies are a slippery slope.
30-09-2018, 04:18 PM
As if you all need reminding
6 pm
Oran Kearney quoted as complaining about Kamberi holding 2 St Mirren players at the goal, as were the St Mirren TV commentators.
Watch it back on Sportscene you'll see the same 2 St Mirren players a few seconds before are holding Gray and Kamberi. As Mallan is about to take the corner, Gray shakes off the one holding him and runs backwards whilst Kamberi blocks the 2 of them.
They were doing the holding first and then we did, it's just that Kamberi did a better job of it.
30-09-2018, 04:38 PM
Oran Kearney quoted as complaining about Kamberi holding 2 St Mirren players at the goal, as were the St Mirren TV commentators.
Watch it back on Sportscene you'll see the same 2 St Mirren players a few seconds before are holding Gray and Kamberi. As Mallan is about to take the corner, Gray shakes off the one holding him and runs backwards whilst Kamberi blocks the 2 of them.
They were doing the holding first and then we did, it's just that Kamberi did a better job of it.
I didn't get a great view of the goal yesterday as I was in the main stand about about 4 rows up but I read OK's complaints. Looking forward to seeing it again
30-09-2018, 04:39 PM
I didn't get a great view of the goal yesterday as I was in the main stand about about 4 rows up but I read OK's complaints. Looking forward to seeing it again
He’s def holding them. Good lad.
30-09-2018, 04:51 PM
He’s def holding them. Good lad.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI posted about this on another thread. It's fairly common for defenders to block opponents' runs, etc. at corners and free kicks, but this is the first time I've seen it so blatantly working for the attacking team. Another referee might not have let the goal stand.
30-09-2018, 05:01 PM
Hibs on last
First time in ages
30-09-2018, 05:05 PM
Livingston should have scored about 4 in this game
No Katic in this game for Rangers and they look far weaker without him
30-09-2018, 05:07 PM
Getting goaded by Livi
Minter
30-09-2018, 05:20 PM
Make or break for Hearts over the next month
30-09-2018, 05:26 PM
I would say that it's too early for "make or break" just yet, plenty of games still left to get over any "blips"..
30-09-2018, 05:27 PM
If hearts lose next week away to Rangers and we beat Hamilton at home then we’re only 2 behind. Not bad going.
30-09-2018, 05:28 PM
Some tackle
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180930/a6ea18bab8424dd8d3fdf52d3d75a192.jpg
30-09-2018, 05:28 PM
Ooooooo
The screen is back
30-09-2018, 05:33 PM
They won 8 on the trot at the start of 05/06 season... still finished 17pts behind Celtc
30-09-2018, 05:35 PM
A match defining penalty miss
30-09-2018, 05:36 PM
Some tackle
Absolutely incredible that the ref missed that!
30-09-2018, 05:37 PM
The Brophy and Stewart partnership is on fire
30-09-2018, 05:37 PM
that was a disgraceful dive by the motherwell player for the penalty, ******* shameful of him
30-09-2018, 05:49 PM
I’d missed James Keatings signing for Accies. Unlucky with the free kick hitting the bar.
30-09-2018, 05:51 PM
Good header.
But goal is a foul. Not to worry.
30-09-2018, 05:58 PM
Mallan to deliver...Bear hug.... Gray.... GOAL!! 😁
30-09-2018, 06:01 PM
Now that the huns have had to play on that ridiculous surface will we see a statement from the Rangers and some action from the SPFL to have proper surfaces to play our top matches on.
30-09-2018, 06:09 PM
Looked like we rode our luck but a wins a win , thank you sdg what a player best right back I’ve seen at hibs by far.
30-09-2018, 06:12 PM
Funny how Stewart and Thompson picked up on Kamberi's fouling at Grey's goal, yet missed Brophy taking out the Motherwell defender for Stewart's goal.
For a while now I've wondered if obstruction has been removed from football altogether, shepherding the ball out of play with no intention of playing it, before it was an indirect freekick, now the player gets booked for trying to play the ball?????
30-09-2018, 06:16 PM
Some tackle
Aberdeen are a nasty side and that tackle is a shocker. Sending off was merited, but no foul given. For our game to progress our refs need to get firmer on dirty play. Football should be allowed to thrive and Aberdeen have been as bad as any team in recent years for the cynical approach.
30-09-2018, 06:21 PM
Funny how Stewart and Thompson picked up on Kamberi's fouling at Grey's goal, yet missed Brophy taking out the Motherwell defender for Stewart's goal.
For a while now I've wondered if obstruction has been removed from football altogether, shepherding the ball out of play with no intention of playing it, before it was an indirect freekick, now the player gets booked for trying to play the ball?????
I’m wondering how Flo was able to just hold two St Mirren players. He’s a strong laddie but surely he’s not able to just hold two professional footballers as easily as that.
St Mirren players weren’t strong enough IMO and I think they probably knew that which is why they didn’t complain at all.
Can just imagine Kamberi holding two big physical players like a Boyata, Berra, Broadfoot or some other big huddy I can’t think of just now.
30-09-2018, 06:23 PM
The Hibs goal was a well worked training ground move. We won, kept a clean sheet, moved second in the league, took as many away fans to Paisley than attended Hamiltons match, are playing good football, have our own academy players regularly playing but still we are not getting much credit for all of that. Long may it continue and hopefully we can keep going and upset the **** fest that is BBC Jambo at the moment
30-09-2018, 06:29 PM
If hearts lose next week away to Rangers and we beat Hamilton at home then we’re only 2 behind. Not bad going.
Considering Hearts won the League a few weeks ago it's pretty impressive from us
JimboHibs
30-09-2018, 06:52 PM
If only football was that predictable.
30-09-2018, 07:04 PM
The Hibs goal was a well worked training ground move. We won, kept a clean sheet, moved second in the league, took as many away fans to Paisley than attended Hamiltons match, are playing good football, have our own academy players regularly playing but still we are not getting much credit for all of that. Long may it continue and hopefully we can keep going and upset the **** fest that is BBC Jambo at the moment
Since Mallan arrived we have been deadly from set pieces. It’s making a massive difference in tight games like yesterday.
30-09-2018, 07:17 PM
Since Mallan arrived we have been deadly from set pieces. It’s making a massive difference in tight games like yesterday.
True. We’ve been crying out for goals from midfield for years, as well as better set pieces.
30-09-2018, 07:34 PM
They won 8 on the trot at the start of 05/06 season... still finished 17pts behind Celtc
Who were the first team to beat them that season? I am struggling to recall!
30-09-2018, 08:07 PM
Who were the first team to beat them that season? I am struggling to recall!
Struggle all you want you don't want this season to end the way that one did. Pick another one.
SonOfDavidFrancey
30-09-2018, 08:59 PM
Not sure I agree with the chaps’ analysis of the Hibs goal. Green tinted maybe but as far as I can see the St Mirren defenders are also grappling as if they fear Kamberi as the target of the ball in.
That goal would've been chalked off at the World cup, they clapped down on all the wrestling in the box, Kamberi was very strong to hold off the 2 St Mirren players but it was a clear foul, he just needs to be more cute in future. It was a well worked training ground manoeuvre but on another day it may have been seen as a foul, I'll still take it though.
hibby rae
01-10-2018, 09:43 AM
That goal would've been chalked off at the World cup, they clapped down on all the wrestling in the box, Kamberi was very strong to hold off the 2 St Mirren players but it was a clear foul, he just needs to be more cute in future. It was a well worked training ground manoeuvre but on another day it may have been seen as a foul, I'll still take it though.
I found it interesting, and it was pointed out by Steven Thomphson, that there was no protest from the St Mirren players afterwards. Tbf Thompson did give credit to Hibs for it being a well-worked goal.
Another one thought up by Gary Parker?
01-10-2018, 09:46 AM
I see Scott Brown took the bit of paper that McInnes seems to be handing out to Shinnie these days
That's what you call a captain
If I was a st mirren fan I would asking why one Hibs player was able to hold back 2 defenders. Team full of weaklings & I hope they are relegated after the treatment handed out to Alan Stubbs...
01-10-2018, 09:56 AM
If I was a st mirren fan I would asking why one Hibs player was able to hold back 2 defenders. Team full of weaklings & I hope they are relegated after the treatment handed out to Alan Stubbs...
Stubbs is his own worst enemy. It's not the Buddies fault he was hopeless.
If it had been the World Cup, as David Gray was freeing himself from the grasp of the St Mirren defender he could have fallen over and it would have been a penalty.
01-10-2018, 11:20 AM
Why does Kamberi have to be more cute? That’d only be the case if he’d given a foul away?
01-10-2018, 11:35 AM
Why does Kamberi have to be more cute? That’d only be the case if he’d given a foul away?
Looked like they were backing into him to me.
01-10-2018, 05:30 PM
:agree: Its a trend we are seeing in posts more and more, we will need to score more, defend better and be more cute in future games while scoring more than the opposition, not conceding any goals and scoring cute goals like on Saturday now?
Saturday Boy
01-10-2018, 05:38 PM
:agree: Its a trend we are seeing in posts more and more, we will need to score more, defend better and be more cute in future games while scoring more than the opposition, not conceding any goals and scoring cute goals like on Saturday now?
Good post. It’s almost as if conceding zero goals is still too many.
01-10-2018, 06:56 PM
Stubbs made an absolute erse of it at St Mirren. If that was a St Mirren legend mismanaging us we would have run him out of town too.
It was well worked training ground move that gave us a goal, Kamberi did what he had to do and that was to use his body strength to give Gray the space, another ref may have seen Kamberi using his arms to hold the defenders back, this time he got away with it, another time maybe not. A win is a win and all these things even themselves out during a season, some are seen and some are not.
01-10-2018, 08:22 PM
Looked like they were backing into him to me.
Penalty to Hibs if anything :agree:
07-10-2018, 04:18 PM
On at 5.55 pm
26 goals to look forward to
07-10-2018, 04:24 PM
On at 5.55 pm
26 goals to look forward to
Must be a record
07-10-2018, 05:08 PM
Why is Michael Stewart half dressed
07-10-2018, 05:19 PM
Here come the Hibees
07-10-2018, 05:53 PM
Some terrible decisions this weekend. Jones penalty and McHugh booking for GBH the two that stand out.
07-10-2018, 05:54 PM
Hearts defending at first goal 🙈
07-10-2018, 05:56 PM
that McHugh is a thug, Livi good goal chalked off as well
07-10-2018, 06:09 PM
Shinnie did a “Ramos” on the St Mirren player
sean04
07-10-2018, 06:47 PM
Didn't realize yesterday that kamberi 3 assists yesterday, boyle and mallan twice.scores and caused the own goal which Would've been another assist for gullan. Also set boyle thru for a great chance and won the flick on that set horgan thru on goal
07-10-2018, 06:55 PM
Didn't realize yesterday that kamberi 3 assists yesterday, boyle and mallan twice.scores and caused the own goal which Would've been another assist for gullan. Also set boyle thru for a great chance and won the flick on that set horgan thru on goal
We were talking about that leaving the game yesterday.
Thought he was pretty poor but still manages to have an impact like that!
If he hadn’t been injured we’d be sitting top of the league IMO.
sean04
07-10-2018, 07:02 PM
We were talking about that leaving the game yesterday.
Thought he was pretty poor but still manages to have an impact like that!
If he hadn’t been injured we’d be sitting top of the league IMO.
Was just saying to my jambo mates that were only 2points behind and we haven't been able to play fully fit flo and Mecca yet. We've had a few annoying injuries that has had an effect. McGregor, hanlon and gray, macca and rocky(don't think bogdan should be dropped)
Had to wait on bogda n mulligan , kamberi, macca, wee tam, hyndman and horgan getting up to speed as well
007 Mickey Weir
07-10-2018, 07:08 PM
I took a neutral to Hibs v Aberdeen game. He hadn’t seen Hibs this season. He thought Kamberi was brilliant. He also liked the look of Porteous. He couldn’t believe he was only 19.
We really are starting to have a real depth to our squad. McLaren, Hanlon, Macgregor not involved yesterday
07-10-2018, 07:15 PM
I took a neutral to Hibs v Aberdeen game. He hadn’t seen Hibs this season. He thought Kamberi was brilliant. He also liked the look of Porteous. He couldn’t believe he was only 19.
We really are starting to have a real depth to our squad. McLaren, Hanlon, Macgregor not involved yesterday
Add in Bartley and Agyepong
sean04
07-10-2018, 07:18 PM
If horgan boyle aygepong hyndman macca all hit form Lennon has a real headache. Hopefully slivka can reach his potential aswell . Real depth at center half, 2 good keepers, nelom pushing Lewis. Mulligan, flo and Ambrose are the 3 we need to keep fit
08-10-2018, 09:22 PM
Shinnie did a “Ramos” on the St Mirren playerThat shinnie is a horrible little scroat isn't he?? Gets away with murder week after week...unbelievable
08-10-2018, 09:28 PM
That shinnie is a horrible little scroat isn't he?? Gets away with murder week after week...unbelievable
All he does is puts the boot in and screams at refs for 90 minutes, mostly unpunished as well.
08-10-2018, 09:32 PM
All he does is puts the boot in and screams at refs for 90 minutes, mostly unpunished as well.
Shinnie makes Aberdeen tick - he's a top player. No surprise they lose or play poorly when he is absent. I'd take him at Hibs in a heartbeat :agree:
08-10-2018, 09:35 PM
Shinnie makes Aberdeen tick - he's a top player. No surprise they lose or play poorly when he is absent. I'd take him at Hibs in a heartbeat :agree:No thanks from me...one of the worst players to be capped for Scotland imo...he's a horrible wee pr$%# mate.
08-10-2018, 09:36 PM
All he does is puts the boot in and screams at refs for 90 minutes, mostly unpunished as well.Agreed how he never got sent off at ER 2 weeks ago was beyond me...don't think he even got booked
08-10-2018, 09:41 PM
Shinnie makes Aberdeen tick - he's a top player. No surprise they lose or play poorly when he is absent. I'd take him at Hibs in a heartbeat :agree:
He played against us in the cup and Aberdeen were gash!
08-10-2018, 09:42 PM
Agreed how he never got sent off at ER 2 weeks ago was beyond me...don't think he even got booked
No I don't think he did and he took out Boyle with one of the most cynical tackles you'll see.
08-10-2018, 09:51 PM
Agree, I'd definitely have him at Hibs.
09-10-2018, 05:42 PM
Kilmarnock forward Jordan Jones faces a potential two-game ban for diving after being cited by the Scottish FA.
Jones has been issued with a notice of complaint for simulation as a result of going down in the box to win the decisive penalty in Kilmarnock's 2-1 win at Dundee on Saturday.
Footage suggested there was no contact on Jones from Dundee's Cammy Kerr.
give him a 12 match ban, might make some others think twice about falling over :agree:
09-10-2018, 06:27 PM
He didn't claim the penalty though. The officials should be banned in this instance, not the player.
They should take the points off Kilmarnock and demote that joke of a ref.
10-10-2018, 04:40 PM
They should take the points off Kilmarnock and demote that joke of a ref.
Much as I agree with you, the reality is, Kilmarnock have 2 extra points and the player has a 2 week holiday?
Its very much a win win for Killie, as for Dundee, manager could be sacked, and the officials will get a pat on the back and a cup semi final!!!!
10-10-2018, 06:22 PM
He didn't claim the penalty though. The officials should be banned in this instance, not the player.
Why did he fall over?Nobody touched him.
10-10-2018, 08:01 PM
Why did he fall over?Nobody touched him.I think he tried to turn inside but his momentum took him the other way.
11-10-2018, 07:24 AM
I think he tried to turn inside but his momentum took him the other way.
Having watched it many times, i dont think he dived, but simply tripped over himself?
And when doing so, he did not claim for a penalty, which those who normally dive do.
Sometimes players do fall over without being fouled, and i think in this instance he should be cleared, but i can see why they might take the other option and keep the two game ban.
The main gripe i have is how the ref saw it as a trip, he had a clear view of the incident and if he see's this as a trip then he clearly has eyesight trouble and needs to be assessed again by the SFA and an optician.
11-10-2018, 07:28 AM
Having watched it many times, i dont think he dived, but simply tripped over himself?
And when doing so, he did not claim for a penalty, which those who normally dive do.
Sometimes players do fall over without being fouled, and i think in this instance he should be cleared, but i can see why they might take the other option and keep the two game ban.
The main gripe i have is how the ref saw it as a trip, he had a clear view of the incident and if he see's this as a trip then he clearly has eyesight trouble and needs to be assessed again by the SFA and an optician.
I'm convinced he just caught his feet on the ground and tripped over. As you say he doesn't claim for penalty, he just puts his head in his hands as he knows if he stayed up he was through on goal.
Could argue he should tell the ref he wasn't fouled but realistically no player is doing that and if it was one of your players that did, as a fan you'd be furious.
11-10-2018, 07:30 AM
As I said above, I think he tripped, he wasn't diving. Thinking a bit more about this, if I was the player I'd be claiming I didn't say it was a penalty however when the ref blew and gave the penalty I assumed I must have been mistaken when I thought I tripped and it was actually a foul which the ref saw.
11-10-2018, 07:34 AM
As I said above, I think he tripped, he wasn't diving. Thinking a bit more about this, if I was the player I'd be claiming I didn't say it was a penalty however when the ref blew and gave the penalty I assumed I must have been mistaken when I thought I tripped and it was actually a foul which the ref saw.
Sounds a very believable story right enough [emoji23]
11-10-2018, 07:39 AM
A player can't be punished for accepting a referee's decision.
11-10-2018, 07:50 AM
A player can't be punished for accepting a referee's decision.
They can if they’ve cheated to influence the referees decision. That’s like saying Lafferty shouldn’t have been punished for that pathetic dive a few years back because the referee decided that the Aberdeen player head butted him. He conned the ref, as Jones did last week.
Also, he didn’t claim for the pen, IMO, as he instantly regretted diving and knew how bad it would look on the TV. Doesn’t make it any less of a ‘crime’ though.
11-10-2018, 07:52 AM
Sounds a very believable story right enough [emoji23]
It's up to them to prove he's lying.
11-10-2018, 07:58 AM
I would love to think the referee and link's learn from the compliance officers stance with Jordan Jones and make good decisions, also hope the compliance officer becomes consistent with his retrospective decision making for all teams ...but I doubt it !! Whilst I totally agree in the Jones outcome ...There are.far worse situation that have taken place involving stampjng, kicking out, cynical tackles, which the compliance officer has done nothing ...hugely inconsistent and therefore totally inept at the job ...supported ably it would seem by his equally useless bisses. Threads about woeful refereeing and compliance decisions will be with us every week of the season.
11-10-2018, 07:59 AM
They can if they’ve cheated to influence the referees decision. That’s like saying Lafferty shouldn’t have been punished for that pathetic dive a few years back because the referee decided that the Aberdeen player head butted him. He conned the ref, as Jones did last week.
Also, he didn’t claim for the pen, IMO, as he instantly regretted diving and knew how bad it would look on the TV. Doesn’t make it any less of a ‘crime’ though.
Then they're being punished for cheating, not for contradicting the ref.
11-10-2018, 08:04 AM
Then they're being punished for cheating, not for contradicting the ref.
Think we are saying the same thing? He’s being punished for cheating ie diving. The ref deciding it was a pen doesn’t make it any less cheating on Jones part.
I agree with the point above though there has been far worse ignored by the farce that is the Compliance officer this season. I’m sure the first time a player from one of the lesser teams kicks an opponent off the ball, that will become a retrospective red card offence again [emoji849]
11-10-2018, 12:37 PM
Watch Mickey Weirs goal in cup final against the Pars, he trips over his own feet penalty awarded to Hibs and Mickey with a big grin as he has won a penalty for nothing.
He didn't dive or try to con the ref he just made an arse of it. :agree:
11-10-2018, 05:38 PM
Sportsound and not sportscene but still worthy of a mention
“you can’t lead a duck to water”
John Rankin
10/10/18
21-10-2018, 04:05 PM
5.45 pm today
21-10-2018, 04:45 PM
An hour and 15 minutes tonight ?
Wit
21-10-2018, 04:51 PM
Hibs on first of course
21-10-2018, 05:09 PM
What is Clancy doing ?
Fool
21-10-2018, 05:25 PM
Accies need a new goalie
21-10-2018, 07:08 PM
Accies need a new goalie
Agree worst goalie by a mile not the first time he has thrown in a couple v them.
beensaidbefore
22-10-2018, 06:00 PM
Sportsound and not sportscene but still worthy of a mention
“you can’t lead a duck to water”
John Rankin
10/10/18
🤣🤣🤣
04-11-2018, 04:18 PM
I'll no be watching tonight
04-11-2018, 04:20 PM
🤣🤣🤣
But a pencil must be lead
04-11-2018, 04:21 PM
I will to see the 5 Celtic goals
04-11-2018, 04:55 PM
I broke late last night and watched the 2nd half of yesterdays game.
04-11-2018, 05:05 PM
I broke late last night and watched the 2nd half of yesterdays game.
Was it as awful on telly as it was in person?
11-11-2018, 04:31 PM
Anybody watching tonight ?
11-11-2018, 04:44 PM
Was it as awful on telly as it was in person?
Fortunately, a week has passed and i can't remember now.
25-11-2018, 04:56 PM
So
Who's watching ?
6 pm
murray26
25-11-2018, 05:01 PM
Did you have to remind us..🙁
Lemonade
So
Who's watching ?
6 pm
Wont need to.
You will tell us how **** we are .
Wont need to.
You will tell us how **** we are .
Sounds about right
25-11-2018, 05:17 PM
Sounds about right
I shudder to think what people like you would have been like on here when we actually were *****.
25-11-2018, 05:23 PM
I shudder to think what people like you would have been like on here when we actually were *****.
I demanded Butcher's sacking in February.
If only the board had listened
Weegreenman
25-11-2018, 05:31 PM
Paul Hanlon part to blame in both goals. Poor poor defending all round. Boyle couldn’t tackle a fish supper.
25-11-2018, 05:33 PM
Hanlon looks even worse on the replays
25-11-2018, 05:34 PM
Strange, pundits didn't mention anything about us being likely relegation candidates.
joebakerforever
25-11-2018, 05:37 PM
Hanlon's shortcomings brutally exposed on highlights, static & slow, should have been able to intervene & prevent both Dundee goals.
IMO, was worst Hibs player on the day
Hanlon very poor for both goals, napping for the 1st and caught wrong side for the 2nd when he should've shown McGowan to the outside, slow and poor decision making.
25-11-2018, 06:33 PM
Hanlon understandably rusty perhaps.
25-11-2018, 06:39 PM
Strange, pundits didn't mention anything about us being likely relegation candidates.
Curiously, I doubt the Aberdeen forums are beating themselves up about this either.
25-11-2018, 06:41 PM
Hanlon very poor for both goals, napping for the 1st and caught wrong side for the 2nd when he should've shown McGowan to the outside, slow and poor decision making.
I thought Hanlon was played pretty well tbh, but was caught out for both of the goals, horribly for the second one meaning that he has to be held largely culpable for us throwing the game away.
coldingham hibs
25-11-2018, 07:03 PM
Hanlon looks even worse on the replays
Hanlon was really poor yesterday, he looked way off the pace and very laboured. I was surprised he was put straight into the starting line up after a long lay off, really unfair on him.
25-11-2018, 07:13 PM
From the highlights shown:
At 1-0 Boyle shoots from a poor angle instead of playing it to Kamberi at the front post for a tap in.
Later in the 1st half there is the double shot from MacLaren in the box. Instead of taking the 2nd shot he should have squared the ball to Kamberi to his right who had a tap in.
The goal called offside was very tight and on another day might have been given.
The Dundee goals
1st - non existant challenge from Boyle as the guy heads for the dead ball line on the left wing and then Mallan who is running alongside fails to make the block and the ball is squared for Miller who has got himself on front of Hanlon at the front post. IMO opinion Mallan had the best chance to prevent it but made a powder puff challenge.
2nd goal - Milligan slightly too far forward and gets wrongside of McGowan receiving the ball who then turns away from him and heads towards the Hibs goal and Hanlon who must force him outside but over compensates and McGowan cuts inside and hits an unsaveable shot past Bogdan. Ultimately must blame Paul for this goal although Milligans initial mistake set McGowan on his way.
25-11-2018, 07:30 PM
Some goal from the St Mirren player.
25-11-2018, 07:33 PM
Seeing the goals back, our ‘attempts’ at making a tackle in the build up to both were absolutely pathetic.
26-11-2018, 09:51 PM
Some goal from the St Mirren player.
That it was.
27-11-2018, 10:46 AM
I thought Hanlon was played pretty well tbh, but was caught out for both of the goals, horribly for the second one meaning that he has to be held largely culpable for us throwing the game away.
I'm surprised at Hanlon being so at fault with both goals, as he's normally reliable, but he's another who's coming back from injury and rusty.
We played well enough to be well in front, also miss a few other decent chances through decision making and poor finishing that our mess of a midfield had created.
But poor defending put paid to all that.
09-12-2018, 04:14 PM
Since Hibs won we can watch again
On at 6
09-12-2018, 05:36 PM
Anybody get the Hibs crowd yesterday ?
GreenProfessor
09-12-2018, 05:45 PM
Anybody get the Hibs crowd yesterday ?
Couple of thousand or thereabouts 👍🏻
09-12-2018, 05:59 PM
Couple of thousand or thereabouts 👍🏻
That was roughly the attendance all in I think.
16-12-2018, 05:02 PM
Our game just about to start on BBC2 now, might be worth a watch tonight :aok::greengrin
16-12-2018, 05:14 PM
Not a booking for Edouard away to **** 😂😂😂😂😂
whiskas
16-12-2018, 05:17 PM
I’m still incredulous that anyone can think that tackle by Brown isn’t a straight red
16-12-2018, 05:23 PM
Tackle on Slivka looked worse on TV alright. Shame the highlights are so brief, but that’s where Hibs TV’s value comes in.
Saturday Boy
16-12-2018, 05:24 PM
Bizarrely, the post-mortem was better than the highlights package.
If you weren’t at the game, you’d think we stole 3 points.
16-12-2018, 05:26 PM
I’m still incredulous that anyone can think that tackle by Brown isn’t a straight red
It's a stinker - I'm guessing because he was booked he won't get any retrospective action?
16-12-2018, 05:48 PM
Editing is awful. Looked like we snatched the points [emoji31][emoji31]
Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
Tug Wilson
16-12-2018, 05:54 PM
Whitaker stands his ground. No foul. Maybe not a dive but Whitaker doesn't have to get out of the way just because Edouard runs at him.
Scott Brown tackle is definitely a red card. Late, high, off his feet, out of control. Nowhere near the ball.
16-12-2018, 05:56 PM
It's a stinker - I'm guessing because he was booked he won't get any retrospective action?
Nope. Although after Candeias managed to appeal a yellow card earlier in the season then who knows, they make it up as they go along.
16-12-2018, 06:05 PM
Whitaker stands his ground. No foul. Maybe not a dive but Whitaker doesn't have to get out of the way just because Edouard runs at him.
Scott Brown tackle is definitely a red card. Late, high, off his feet, out of control. Nowhere near the ball.
Whittaker does catch him but as you say he's holding his ground with nowhere to really go. Possibly a free kick but Edouard makes a meal of it after regaining his balance only to go down because he knows Efe was getting to it before him.
27-12-2018, 05:41 PM
That penalty for Hearts. :confused: :dunno:
27-12-2018, 05:42 PM
Just about to post that!!
Crazy decision
Compare that to the one we were denied in the playoffs against Falkirk a few seasons ago
27-12-2018, 05:43 PM
You stay classy Craig Levein...
27-12-2018, 06:05 PM
You stay classy Craig Levein...
Absolute knob. As Michael Stewart says complete deflection to his current form.
27-12-2018, 07:52 PM
No shock Livi have appealed Jack Hamilton's red card at Dundee yesterday.
Utterly shambolic level of officiating to send him off!
27-12-2018, 08:41 PM
Did the Hamilton keeper get a finger to Smith's penalty? Looked to me like Smith put it onto the bar then headed the rebound but no free-kick given.
crash
27-12-2018, 09:11 PM
Did the Hamilton keeper get a finger to Smith's penalty? Looked to me like Smith put it onto the bar then headed the rebound but no free-kick given.
Definitely looked like an obvious free kick to Hamilton, but no mention from the sportscene team or any of the football experts on this forum. Maybe they dont know the rules of the game.
27-12-2018, 09:26 PM
Editing is awful. Looked like we snatched the points [emoji31][emoji31]
Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
It's just BBC Scotland trying to get back in the huns good books.
28-12-2018, 12:42 PM
Best to maintain sanity and not watch Sportscene at all.
28-12-2018, 01:32 PM
Michael Stewart has changed from an interesting pundit to a constantly angry character with predictable soundbites and cliches. Johnathan Sutherland is deeply peculiar. I think he's probably some sort of android. Thompson is just a hun.
And the theme tune. God save us all.
Gloucester Hibs
28-12-2018, 01:47 PM
Michael Stewart has changed from an interesting pundit to a constantly angry character with predictable soundbites and cliches. Johnathan Sutherland is deeply peculiar. I think he's probably some sort of android. Thompson is just a hun.
Is the theme not just the same one they used in the 80’s? Love it!
28-12-2018, 01:51 PM
The theme is terrific
A classic
I just wished we had a better presenter. Sutherland is one weird looking guy
28-12-2018, 02:03 PM
MS just has to ensure his view stands out from the others at all times. He's an expert attention seeker.
28-12-2018, 02:20 PM
MS just has to ensure his view stands out from the others at all times. He's an expert attention seeker.
I like Stewart and think he's a good pundit. I'm not sure working with Sutton has been good for him though. The two of them like an argument with each other and Stewart seems to be taking that argumentative stance with him wherever he goes now. I watched that show on the Ladbrokes facebook page picking the joint Hibs/Hearts team and he came across as a bit of a dick to Darryl Currie (who i'm sure is his mate so got the joke probably better than it came across).
I also think he could do with distancing himself from his mate 'Christophe' when doing the punditry. After the Livi game Stewart was scathing about Sean Clare for not getting up off one knee quick enough but never said a peep about Christophe lying on the ground watching it.
Overall, he's not perfect but he's a million times better than Charlie Nicholas, Andy Walker or Davie Provan at Sky.
28-12-2018, 02:23 PM
Nowt to do with his presenting skills but does he stay near Morningside, sure he has driven past me a few times in the last couple of weeks in a huge big porsche
28-12-2018, 02:28 PM
Best to maintain sanity and not watch Sportscene at all.
I enjoy Sportscene. Mikey hates CL, can’t get any better than seeing him laying in to Dr Football
28-12-2018, 02:29 PM
Nowt to do with his presenting skills but does he stay near Morningside, sure he has driven past me a few times in the last couple of weeks in a huge big porsche
Think Stewart stays in the Murrayfield area
ben johnson
28-12-2018, 02:30 PM
I like Stewart and think he's a good pundit. I'm not sure working with Sutton has been good for him though. The two of them like an argument with each other and Stewart seems to be taking that argumentative stance with him wherever he goes now. I watched that show on the Ladbrokes facebook page picking the joint Hibs/Hearts team and he came across as a bit of a dick to Darryl Currie (who i'm sure is his mate so got the joke probably better than it came across).
I also think he could do with distancing himself from his mate 'Christophe' when doing the punditry. After the Livi game Stewart was scathing about Sean Clare for not getting up off one knee quick enough but never said a peep about Christophe lying on the ground watching it.
Overall, he's not perfect but he's a million times better than Charlie Nicholas, Andy Walker or Davie Provan at Sky.
Charlie Nic. His first game co commentating praised Paul Lambert by telling Archie McPherson that Lambert “ calmed the midfield ratios”
28-12-2018, 02:40 PM
Maybe wasn't him then
28-12-2018, 02:44 PM
Maybe wasn't him then
Maybe he's capable of driving from Murrayfield - Morningside! 😉
28-12-2018, 02:48 PM
Maybe he's capable of driving from Murrayfield - Morningside! 😉
Thought that too😄
28-12-2018, 02:54 PM
Stay’s near the braids in a ex tv stars old house
28-12-2018, 02:55 PM
Thought that too😄
Nah it's a bit far!! I did ask for that I suppose
28-12-2018, 02:55 PM
Thompson is no hun.
Heckys Wheel
28-12-2018, 03:45 PM
Thompson is no hun.
Yeah St Mirren fan growing up. Lived next to Barry Lavety.
It’s not a popular opinion but I think the modern day pundits are great.
They used to roll out the same old tired faces, most with old firm connections and were part of everything that was wrong with Scottish football.
Stewart, Thomson, Sutton, Craigan and the rest are a breath of fresh air in my opinion.
Would hate to be stuck in a lift with Stewart but he hates Craig Levein and most of what he says is spot on, despite the way he presents it.
28-12-2018, 04:21 PM
Stay’s near the braids in a ex tv stars old house
I'm pretty sure he owns a place in the West End - I won't say the street as I actually quite like him. Maybe a city pad! He breakfasts in the Huxley most mornings.
28-12-2018, 04:22 PM
They used to roll out the same old tired faces, most with old firm connections and were part of everything that was wrong with Scottish football.
Stewart, Thomson, Sutton, Craigan and the rest are a breath of fresh air in my opinion.
Would hate to be stuck in a lift with Stewart but he hates Craig Levein and most of what he says is spot on, despite the way he presents it.
I agree with all of this except for Craigan. I find he gets far too excited when his beloved Huns score.
28-12-2018, 04:39 PM
I'm pretty sure he owns a place in the West End - I won't say the street as I actually quite like him. Maybe a city pad! He breakfasts in the Huxley most mornings.
In billy Low’s place a lot
28-12-2018, 04:49 PM
It's not a popular viewpoint as it seems to be cooler to moan about everything, but I agree.
The Scottish football coverage over all platforms at the moment is decent.
28-12-2018, 07:32 PM
Finally got to see the highlights
Delightful piece of play from Jamie Mac for our opening chance
Hopefully more to come
19-01-2019, 08:21 PM
Probably my favourite highlights show of the year
On tonight at 10.20
19-01-2019, 09:22 PM
Probably my favourite highlights show of the year
On tonight at 10.20
Yip. They generally excel themselves at this stage of the Cup.(Well usually)
19-01-2019, 09:24 PM
Here we go
19-01-2019, 09:25 PM
Here we go
Keeps this crap thread of yours going. I’m in....
19-01-2019, 09:27 PM
Aidrieonians goalie was up for this one anyway
19-01-2019, 09:27 PM
This keeper for Airdrie seems a right fud
19-01-2019, 09:30 PM
Scott Brown ha
19-01-2019, 09:30 PM
These disco lights at Celtic might be the worst things I’ve ever seen.
The production team must ask themselves:
Right, what will we put on first? Aberdeen being held? The game at Motherwell? The Fife derby?
No, Celtic doling out a routine thrashing to a team several leagues below them and with about a thousandth of their budget.
19-01-2019, 09:54 PM
Well done Auchenleck, from the highlights they merited their victory. The Ayr bubble has well and truly burst.
19-01-2019, 10:03 PM
St Mirren got out of jail there. 0-2 down and with only 10 men yet they go on to win 3-2 !
Derek McInnes seems to be morphing into Jimmy Calderwood.
Cat Stanton
19-01-2019, 10:09 PM
Oh my God! Graeme Smith, the goalie for Stenhousemuir. Memories of the 6-6 Motherwell debacle come flooding back...
19-01-2019, 10:19 PM
Oor Gordon at the game
Still loves his football
K-Zazu
19-01-2019, 10:24 PM
Lewis Vaughan looks decent
19-01-2019, 10:27 PM
Big Hibby too
19-01-2019, 10:27 PM
Local lad ( gilmerton) Hibby I believe
Whats not to like?
19-01-2019, 10:30 PM
Whats not to like?
Gilmerton.
19-01-2019, 10:37 PM
Always looked a decent player and looks like he's got a great attitude. A Hibby too. Worth a punt?
19-01-2019, 10:40 PM
This keeper for Airdrie seems a right fud
Hun.
19-01-2019, 10:49 PM
Good seeing the likes of Dundee United, Dunfermline and Raith Rovers with big supports today. I know the cup is different from run of the mill league games but just shows the fan base is there at these clubs
19-01-2019, 11:00 PM
Gilmerton.
That was what I said! :dunno:
Gilmerton :greengrin
Wooooooossssshhhhhhhh!
hibeejeebies
20-01-2019, 09:28 AM
Gilmerton.
😂😂👏👏
27-01-2019, 05:19 PM
The Rangers celebrations
My God
27-01-2019, 05:23 PM
The Rangers celebrations
My God
Details?
27-01-2019, 05:24 PM
Details?
Pitch invasion.
27-01-2019, 05:24 PM
Details?
Wild
On the park and everything
Minter
chinaman
27-01-2019, 05:30 PM
hug a catholic ; then sing about there hate for them.
vile , thick as **** morons
27-01-2019, 05:34 PM
Pitch invasion.
Wild
On the park and everything
Minter
Presumably they'll get a fine for their behaviour, and the SPFL will then make an announcement condemning the fan's sectarian singing.
...then a giant Unicorn will fly into Westmister and sort out this whole Brexit mess.
27-01-2019, 05:38 PM
That Clare boy is really not very good.
27-01-2019, 05:40 PM
That Clare boy is really not very good.
Decent side burn tho
27-01-2019, 05:44 PM
Whats not to like?
Inch.
27-01-2019, 05:46 PM
inch.
yic
27-01-2019, 05:52 PM
Inch.
Aye Inch.......What’s not to like? :greengrin
27-01-2019, 05:57 PM
hug a catholic ; then sing about there hate for them.
vile , thick as **** morons
As clear as day on the tv but I won’t hold my breath
27-01-2019, 09:09 PM
The analysis from Stewart and Thomson on every game feels like it lasts longer than the match highlights - more fitba’ and less chat would make the programme more appealing to me.
27-01-2019, 09:13 PM
Decent side burn tho
Think it is a birthmark. A bit uncalled for.
03-02-2019, 07:39 PM
Thought Michael Stewart called it absolutely right in respect of Dallas as a referee and his constant errors. 👍🏻
03-02-2019, 07:50 PM
Thought Michael Stewart called it absolutely right in respect of Dallas as a referee and his constant errors. 👍🏻
And Rangers have added Defoe as another diving cheat, on top of Morelos
Feed McGraw
03-02-2019, 08:06 PM
Inch. THE Inch - birthplace of many of Auld reekie`s finest. :greengrin:flag:
03-02-2019, 09:16 PM
Dallas is also woeful
He can't even speak to players
06-02-2019, 10:05 PM
On at 12.15 am...
They'll have about 5 viewers for this one
tonyrougier123
07-02-2019, 12:05 AM
that jake Hastie looks a player,got a bit of sjm's style and bullishness about him.
07-02-2019, 10:24 AM
that jake Hastie looks a player,got a bit of sjm's style and bullishness about him.
Out of contract in the summer and on about £60 a week...
The midweek programmes are a joke with the SPFL's after midnight contract with the BBC. There's always the iPlayer if Hibs ever put up a show worth watching again.
09-02-2019, 10:01 PM
On now. First game St Mirren v Dundee United. Horrendous tackle by Butcher of United. Red card all day long.
24-02-2019, 06:55 PM
Wonder how much of this week's episode will be devoted to McNulty's challenge?
Keyser Sauzee
24-02-2019, 06:56 PM
What time is this on?
24-02-2019, 07:03 PM
What time is this on?
24-02-2019, 07:05 PM
#Suttonisagrass
Pass it on
24-02-2019, 10:11 PM
Apparently kneeing someone in the head isn’t foreceful or dangerous.
24-02-2019, 10:13 PM
What's the point in the pundits saying 'it's a red' when it's already been established earlier this season that you're allowed to kick out at people?
24-02-2019, 10:17 PM
Hun Thompson said McNulty should have been red carded so the compliance officer will be looking at it. A Celtic player kicked a Motherwell player on the head at head height and I don’t think the ref even booked him. The Sportscene detectives didn’t even consider the incident.
Brunswickbill
24-02-2019, 10:44 PM
Hun Thompson said McNulty should have been red carded so the compliance officer will be looking at it. A Celtic player kicked a Motherwell player on the head at head height and I don’t think the ref even booked him. The Sportscene detectives didn’t even consider the incident.
If you watch the replay, McGowan’s foul goes on for at least 20 yards and ends up with him throwing McNulty to the ground then intentionally kneeing him in the thigh. By the time McNulty commits the so called kick out at McGowan his head is buried in the grass with McGowan pushing down on him. McNulty has no way of knowing where McGown is. McGowan’s boot then comes into contact with McNulty’s head. McGowan committed at least three fouls during the incident and McNulty was upside down with his head planted in the turf when the movement of his foot took place. There’s no way that should be a red for McNulty. McGowan should have been off.
25-02-2019, 06:43 AM
MSM have always picked out & ignored key incidents during matches (off-sides, pen claims, tackles etc). It's always been an irritant, especially to non-OF fans, as the media follow followed their own agenda.
But it feels like we've moved into a new and sinister phase, where producers, media owners and pundits are deliberately campaigning for post-match action by the "compliance officer" driven by their own personal or corporate interests. Social media has seriously weakened MSM relevance, but now they've a new purpose - creating the news and affecting the management of the game directly.
Saturday's MOS was a good example. Dundee v Hibs match was a great game with 6 goals, but they dedicated the whole of the first third of the report to .... McNulty's phantom kick out. The only surprise was it wasn't repeated in the Editors Comment section, supported with the compliance officer's phone number. They had so much to say about McNulty's vicious attack that left the Dundee player unconscious and hospitalised that they had no room left to even mention the Dundee player's deliberate boot on Milligan's head.
25-02-2019, 06:47 AM
I made it around 35 seconds
25-02-2019, 07:51 AM
I made it around 35 seconds
Was less than I expected.
25-02-2019, 02:50 PM
If you watch the replay, McGowan’s foul goes on for at least 20 yards and ends up with him throwing McNulty to the ground then intentionally kneeing him in the thigh. By the time McNulty commits the so called kick out at McGowan his head is buried in the grass with McGowan pushing down on him. McNulty has no way of knowing where McGown is. McGowan’s boot then comes into contact with McNulty’s head. McGowan committed at least three fouls during the incident and McNulty was upside down with his head planted in the turf when the movement of his foot took place. There’s no way that should be a red for McNulty. McGowan should have been off.
You missed the final bit when McGowan had his leg wrapped around McNulty’s ankle preventing him from getting up. It seemed deliberate provocation to try and get McNulty to kick out and get red carded.
Could the BBC not save some money and get the Rangers TV commentators for the next game. They would probably be less biased the Sportscene commentator tonight.
I noticed the stats, we had 13 shots with 6 on target with Rangers had 19 with 6 on target, the way that game was edited it looked like we had 2 attempts all game and Rangers dominated the whole 90 mins, the possession was 45% to us and 55% to them, much closer than Sportscene portrayed.
11-03-2019, 08:51 AM
Thompson & Miller a nice impartial combo....
Hibsman07
11-03-2019, 10:02 AM
Thompson is a plank, banging on about clubs statements (a direct reference to LD's statement methinks) as being "empty words". Jeez it's what he does for a living now !!! Not once during their snide attacks, implying it was every other clubs responsibility, did any of them have the minerals to speak out about the historically ingrained, vile, threatening bigoted behaviour of either of the uglies. More concerned at the reception they would get on their next visit to either of these places upon their next pilgrimage to lap up their heroes.
Fact is they are sterile in terms of authority and ability to affect things...Empty Words? aye you know all about them' Thommo. Yonder ET that presents the programme can GTF in aw'
Kenny Miller a pundit? Sorry Kenny your definitely not.
11-03-2019, 12:36 PM
Just finished watching the highlights on catch up. Yer bang on mate, he stopped just short of shouting c'mon the Gers, it was like he was commentating on a Scottish team in an away tie in Europe FFS.
11-03-2019, 01:08 PM
Just about to watch on iPlayer and the titles show "Rangers v Hiberian". Don't bother getting the venue right, don't bother getting the spelling right, just don't bother.