View Full Version : The Sportscene Thread
11-03-2019, 01:12 PM
Just finished watching the highlights on catch up. Yer bang on mate, he stopped just short of shouting c'mon the Gers, it was like he was commentating on a Scottish team in an away tie in Europe FFS.
Incredible Rob McLean was trying to make a case for Gray being sent off for 2 booking including one I couldnt even remember which was hugely selective editing. Pretty sure they were trying to do the same in the st mirren match a few weeks back. No mention of Morelos antics, trying to say the ball hitting Milligans hand was a pen, morelos claimed for it so it must have been. Bizarrely missed McNulty's shot when through v McGregor. Ryan Jack may as well just take the whistle and be done with it.
17-03-2019, 05:42 PM
On the new bbc Scotland channel at 7.15 tonight
Looking forward to the Hamilton game
17-03-2019, 05:43 PM
On the new bbc Scotland channel at 7.15 tonight
Looking forward to the Hamilton game
Why what happened in the Hamilton game? Anything of note? 🤔
17-03-2019, 05:44 PM
Why what happened in the Hamilton game? Anything of note? 🤔
Please don’t tell me the result
17-03-2019, 05:47 PM
Incredible Rob McLean was trying to make a case for Gray being sent off for 2 booking including one I couldnt even remember which was hugely selective editing. Pretty sure they were trying to do the same in the st mirren match a few weeks back. No mention of Morelos antics, trying to say the ball hitting Milligans hand was a pen, morelos claimed for it so it must have been. Bizarrely missed McNulty's shot when through v McGregor. Ryan Jack may as well just take the whistle and be done with it.
I had the misfortune to listen to Rob Mcleans commentary of the Dundee Celtic game in the car today. The man has been doing the same, simple job of watching a football match and telling others what is happening in said game, and he's not only terrible at his job but he seems to be getting worse. He just has no interest in painting any kind of picture of the game at all, he just rambles on about stuff he'd prepared beforehand which everyone knows already ('Celtic would really like the three points today' , 'What Dundee really want to avoid is conceding an early goal') and literally any old ***** that comes to his head.
Johnathan 'The Hills Have Eyes' Sutherland has a strange coupon but hes an upgrade on McLean. Its improved in that respect.
17-03-2019, 05:56 PM
I had the misfortune to listen to Rob Mcleans commentary of the Dundee Celtic game in the car today. The man has been doing the same, simple job of watching a football match and telling others what is happening in said game, and he's not only terrible at his job but he seems to be getting worse. He just has no interest in painting any kind of picture of the game at all, he just rambles on about stuff he'd prepared beforehand which everyone knows already ('Celtic would really like the three points today' , 'What Dundee really want to avoid is conceding an early goal') and literally any old ***** that comes to his head.
Johnathan 'The Hills Have Eyes' Sutherland has a strange coupon but hes an upgrade on McLean. Its improved in that respect.
Rob McLean`s commentary is dull and projected with little in the way of enthusiasm. I know a lot of folk are not keen on Liam McLeod, but at least he gives the impression that he is enjoying commentating on his games.
Just watched Neil Lennon's celebration at the Celtic goal, pretty content that we have Heckingbottom at Hibs now!!
Lot of empty seats at Ibrox for a 49000 crowd, wonder if Richard Gordon will comment on that next Sportsound, mocked Hibs for stating 17k on Sat.
Happens at every club so everyone needs to cool their jets about it
17-03-2019, 06:52 PM
Classy McGregor as usual. Goldson commits a bad challenge, and McGregor tries to boot the ball at the Killie player who was fouled
Just pointed that out to my wife.
17-03-2019, 06:58 PM
First game on celtic v Dundee. Game with the least goals in it 🙄
17-03-2019, 07:06 PM
First game on celtic v Dundee. Game with the least goals in it 🙄
Have we been on yet?
17-03-2019, 07:07 PM
Have we been on yet?
No but Hamilton are cruising to a win just now.
17-03-2019, 07:09 PM
No but Hamilton are cruising to a win just now.
Who against?
17-03-2019, 07:13 PM
Who against?
Hearts of course !!! :faf:
17-03-2019, 07:26 PM
Hearts of course !!! :faf:
17-03-2019, 07:30 PM
Did anyone notice that when Thompson mentioned Shelly Kerr had singled out Omeonga for praise on the Saturday show Jonathan Sutherland went “Awww”
Marvellous
17-03-2019, 07:34 PM
Did anyone notice that when Thompson mentioned Shelly Kerr had singled out Omeonga for praise on the Saturday show Jonathan Sutherland went “Awww”
Weird :agree:
angus hibby
17-03-2019, 08:32 PM
I was in car for first 5 minutes of our game v Rangers last Friday. McLean was commentating that night and he was blethering on about anything apart from the game. I wasn’t aware the game had kicked off and then he said “so 2 minutes gone and it’s still nil nil”. Hadnt described one bit of action. He should listen to Five Live or talksport to see how it’s done.
17-03-2019, 08:39 PM
I was in car for first 5 minutes of our game v Rangers last Friday. McLean was commentating that night and he was blethering on about anything apart from the game. I wasn’t aware the game had kicked off and then he said “so 2 minutes gone and it’s still nil nil”. Hadnt described one bit of action. He should listen to Five Live or talksport to see how it’s done.
He's a man with nothing to say. He's got a new one as well 'Celtic (insert any team) are dominating the ball'
He thinks it makes him sound tactically astute so now says it all the time when a teams in possession. Means he doesn't have to give any details about players, area of pitch, etc.
17-03-2019, 08:42 PM
I didn't even know it had moved channels
23 minutes of the Celtic game
Come on man
17-03-2019, 08:52 PM
Come on man
On BBC 2 later on
17-03-2019, 08:59 PM
What goes through Neil Lennons head?
17-03-2019, 09:19 PM
Will I be offered a permanent deal before I am found out? :greengrin
17-03-2019, 09:53 PM
Why were the confidential details of my departure from Hibs all over .net? :confused:
17-03-2019, 10:46 PM
Noticed that the other week...can’t remember what game he was meant to be commentating on but he was basically having a general chit chat with his co commentator about something vaguely football related for a good 15 minutes.
Occasionally he would interrupt the discussion to give a brief update on who had the ball and a vague interpretation of where that possession was before carrying on mumbling about something else altogether.
Turned it off soon after as it became rather apparent that he was completely disinterested in actually describing any of the action.
All rather odd really.
17-03-2019, 11:32 PM
Just heard that now. Just odd. Is it a 'shes a woman so...' thing?
18-03-2019, 05:43 AM
Yeah. A bit odd
18-03-2019, 06:30 AM
Come on man
Noticed that aswell. 23 minutes of highlights and analysis of a game with one goal to talk about. Load of pish.
18-03-2019, 08:53 AM
Noticed that aswell. 23 minutes of highlights and analysis of a game with one goal to talk about. Load of pish.
Dreadful game as well.
Besties Debut
18-03-2019, 09:00 AM
Just heard that now. Just odd. Is it a 'shes a woman so...' thing? I thought it was a bit condescending. Almost as bad as Patrice Evra clapping his hands in the England women captains face when she made a tactical analysis during the last world cup when they were both studio guests.
18-03-2019, 09:03 AM
Just heard that now. Just odd. Is it a 'shes a woman so...' thing?
Seems an odd thing to say, no doubt some super funny sportscene in joke. She should be treated with more respect than that as she is an excellent coach and communicates very well.
18-03-2019, 10:28 AM
How poor was the ref in the rangers game? Some absolutely humming decisions, or lack of decisions as it were.
Dreadful game as well.
Sports scene, rename it old firm scene for the sake of accuracy.
18-03-2019, 11:36 AM
Each time I watch Sportscene I’m glad of my Hibs TV subscription. The measly highlights are barely worth tuning in for, particularly when Michael Stewart is basing his punditry on the couple of minutes footage broadcast. If you were in attendance at the game yourself you would learn absolutely nothing more than you already took on board the previous afternoon.
18-03-2019, 11:50 AM
How poor was the ref in the rangers game? Some absolutely humming decisions, or lack of decisions as it were.
I thought he got most right - obviously missed a booking for Kent, a red for Goldson but got all the yellows right and was looking the other way when Broadfoot and Morelos had their altercation.
I think the SFA guidance to refs is to face the opposite direction from Morelos though so he probably got that right in their eyes.
18-03-2019, 12:07 PM
I thought he got most right - obviously missed a booking for Kent, a red for Goldson but got all the yellows right and was looking the other way when Broadfoot and Morelos had their altercation.
I think the SFA guidance to refs is to face the opposite direction from Morelos though so he probably got that right in their eyes.
Thats 2 games on the bounce he should have been sent off, should have walked against Aberdeen in the cup for a kick late on.
18-03-2019, 12:18 PM
Thats 2 games on the bounce he should have been sent off, should have walked against Aberdeen in the cup for a kick late on.
Can't be true. Slippy G says the other teams kick them off the park.
18-03-2019, 02:03 PM
I can’t stand the guy and agree he should have been carded for the retaliation incident with Broadfoot. However, nobody seemed to want to comment on Broadfoots sneaky stamp on Morelos’s heel as they walked off.
18-03-2019, 03:06 PM
Sportscene is much better now it has moved to a new channel. Much more content.
18-03-2019, 03:13 PM
I can’t stand the guy and agree he should have been carded for the retaliation incident with Broadfoot. However, nobody seemed to want to comment on Broadfoots sneaky stamp on Morelos’s heel as they walked off.
I was referring to Goldson, havent seen the highlights of Killie game was referring to the red he should have got v Aberdeen in cup tie.
18-03-2019, 03:28 PM
They mentioned it on sportscene last night. He got away with it cos the refs don’t want Morelos in their eyeline.
18-03-2019, 04:35 PM
Longer highlights of Old Firm.
18-03-2019, 04:48 PM
Can't be true. Slippy G says the other teams kick them off the park.
I listened to his post match interview and thought he came over as a sore loser and bitter but, to be fair, after watching the highlights Killie did basically kick lumps out of them all game.
18-03-2019, 05:16 PM
Kent should have been off for the retaliation imo - similar to the
Jankouskas red in the unbeatable derby.
Goldson deffo should've been off.
Agree the couldn't have seen the Morelos/Broadfoot incident - wonder if they will apply retrospective action?
18-03-2019, 07:38 PM
But 11.30 on a Sunday night 😡😡
Alright if your on the rock and roll .
18-03-2019, 07:39 PM
But 11.30 on a Sunday night 😡😡
Alright if your on the rock and roll .
It was on at 7.15pm on the new BBC Scotland channel
19-03-2019, 06:41 AM
Dearie dear!
Just watched the Goldson incident
Shudda been a straight red
Full intent to take the man
No intent to play the ball
If that was a HIBS player he was off
Back to the bad old days of officials not giving anything against The Rangers at Ibrox
19-03-2019, 06:55 AM
It was on at 7.15pm on the new BBC Scotland channel
Does it do the Match of the Day thing where it doesn't tell you the scores beforehand? If so then that's fantastic and I may just wait for it to come on and avoid the Hibs result if we're at an away game I can't make.
19-03-2019, 07:01 AM
Does it do the Match of the Day thing where it doesn't tell you the scores beforehand? If so then that's fantastic and I may just wait for it to come on and avoid the Hibs result if we're at an away game I can't make.
Sunday night though.
19-03-2019, 07:03 AM
Sunday night though.
Ah, didn't realise that. Never mind!
Nutmegged
19-03-2019, 07:04 AM
Cannot stamd Rob MacLean at all but he's been there for about 20 years, there's no danger he's suddenly going to be taking tips off 5Live or TalkSport
19-03-2019, 07:41 AM
Cannot stamd Rob MacLean at all but he's been there for about 20 years, there's no danger he's suddenly going to be taking tips off 5Live or TalkSport
Listen to both 5L and talksport but talksport's commentary for games is dreadful. The even break their commentary for betting ads.
Nutmegged
19-03-2019, 07:51 AM
Listen to both 5L and talksport but talksport's commentary for games is dreadful. The even break their commentary for betting ads.
I don't think comms have a say in that to be fair, for the record I don't listen to either.
19-03-2019, 07:54 AM
In reference to betting, that's the world we're in though. All my favourite football podcasts are all sponsored by betting companies now, tipsters on the same panel as pundits, everything is geared towards encouraging us to think of betting and sports as irrevocably linked. Personally, I hate it.
But it's only BBC Scotland has a special breed of commentator who just can't tell you what's actually happening in a game. I can't stand Alan Green on five live, he comes across as a miserable old curmudgeon, but I'm always confident he's telling me accurate stuff about the game.
19-03-2019, 08:07 AM
Oh for a David Francey or Alastair Alexander
”It’s a driiiiivvvvvve!”
dalkeith stu
19-03-2019, 08:12 AM
Dearie dear!
Just watched the Goldson incident
Shudda been a straight red
Full intent to take the man
No intent to play the ball
If that was a HIBS player he was off
Back to the bad old days of officials not giving anything against The Rangers at Ibrox
I'm sure Stevenson was sent off for similar at parkhead a few years ago for a lunge on McGeady!!
Crazyhorse
19-03-2019, 10:38 AM
Sunday night though.
Likely Lads weekend
19-03-2019, 11:15 AM
Likely Lads weekend
Just as long as the game doesnt get cancelled. :greengrin
19-03-2019, 11:17 AM
”It’s a driiiiivvvvvve!”
Actually thought David Begg was good, enthusiastic and you could tell he enjoyed the games and seemed to describe the action pretty well. Rob sounds like he would rather be anywhere else, could maybe join him with Mark Lawrenson just to kill off any enthusiasm.
19-03-2019, 11:35 AM
Actually thought David Begg was good, enthusiastic and you could tell he enjoyed the games and seemed to describe the action pretty well. Rob sounds like he would rather be anywhere else, could maybe join him with Mark Lawrenson just to kill off any enthusiasm.
Agree David Begg is good and as you say enthusiastic it’s the pundits that have me reaching for the remote
20-03-2019, 06:19 AM
”It’s a driiiiivvvvvve!”
... And it's high and its wide.
20-03-2019, 06:29 AM
... And it's high and its wide.
Ha Ha !
Guess Who?
”Sensation!”
”Cmon Denis!”
”It’s a stramash in the box!”
20-03-2019, 06:36 AM
Ha Ha !
Guess Who?
”Sensation!”
”Cmon Denis!”
”It’s a stramash in the box!”
The ultimate fan with a microphone was Arthur Montford. Remember when Scotland got knocked out of 1974. Crying down the microphone while saying brave, brave Scotland.
20-03-2019, 06:38 AM
The ultimate fan with a microphone was Arthur Montford. Remember when Scotland got knocked out of 1974. Crying down the microphone while saying brave, brave Scotland.
That was a commentating classic, 'watch your legs Billy'. :faf::faf:
20-03-2019, 06:53 AM
Aye!
Arthur Montford the commentator the jacket the legend
I also liked Bob Crampsey with his headmasterly early 1960s match reports/blogs
The Daddy of them all. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/iTEgsQz-Muw
07-04-2019, 06:28 PM
Highlights are on
22-04-2019, 01:48 AM
Steve Clarke's comments were a good laugh. Got too admire the guys honesty. Said that McLean's performance was the worst he has seen in his career and reckons McLean shouldn't be refereeing Killie games because his dad played for them. Then went in a bit more personal and brought up the fact he isn't any longer on the FIFA ref list etc.
Also thought St Mirren took a really good crowd through to Livi. Dundee look doomed.
22-04-2019, 06:55 AM
McLean had an absolute shocker this weekend. How Cosgrove stays on the park, then he goes on to send off 3 Killie players (2 of them incredibly soft I thought) is laughable!
22-04-2019, 08:08 AM
McLean had an absolute shocker this weekend. How Cosgrove stays on the park, then he goes on to send off 3 Killie players (2 of them incredibly soft I thought) is laughable!
Totally agree. The worst thing was not booking Cosgrove second time then sending off findlay for a very similar tackle. Too many refs rushing to send players off these days. I don't know if they feel they might get into trouble with their bosses if they don't but McLean totally ruined that game. Pity as he has been one of the best.
22-04-2019, 08:43 AM
Totally agree. The worst thing was not booking Cosgrove second time then sending off findlay for a very similar tackle. Too many refs rushing to send players off these days. I don't know if they feel they might get into trouble with their bosses if they don't but McLean totally ruined that game. Pity as he has been one of the best.
I don't think Findlay and Cosgrove's second tackles were at all similar. Findlay got the ball and a booking. Cosgrove took the man out late and got a talking to.
22-04-2019, 10:20 AM
This had passed me by, but Dundee fans had a wee campaign against McLean over his alleged Killie bias because he gave the penalty against Dundee that slowmo later revealed was a Jordan Jones dive.
https://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/fp/dundee-fans-group-writes-to-top-officials-over-referee-steven-mcleans-links-to-kilmarnock/
So he may have been overcompensating, subconsciously or otherwise?
Anyway, don't listen to them Stevie, we'll always have Hampden ... :hug:
22-04-2019, 10:30 AM
Haha, this is brilliant - Kilmarnock statement from last October following the Dundee whinge. :greengrin
The original correspondence from the DSA to the SFA and Mr Fleming expressing concern over the suitability of Steven McLean to take charge of Kilmarnock matches was completely baseless and cast unfounded aspersions on the referee’s character.
http://www.kilmarnockfc.co.uk/Article?id=7881&ShowCat
22-04-2019, 12:15 PM
Aye!
Arthur Montford the commentator the jacket the legend
I also liked Bob Crampsey with his headmasterly early 1960s match reports/blogs
The Daddy of them all. :greengrin
https://youtu.be/iTEgsQz-Muw
Me too …. I can hear him now … 'I well remember Third Lanark handing Clyde an absolute thrashing in 1953' …. nobody but nobody used the word 'thrashing' so brilliantly :greengrin
Still cant beat David Francey though, the daddy of them all and simply a brilliant commentator may he rest in peace :not worth
22-04-2019, 04:21 PM
I don't think he's been one of the best for a while. He's been awful in any game I've seen for quite some time.
22-04-2019, 04:50 PM
Me too …. I can hear him now … 'I well remember Third Lanark handing Clyde an absolute thrashing in 1953' …. nobody but nobody used the word 'thrashing' so brilliantly :greengrin
Still cant beat David Francey though, the daddy of them all and simply a brilliant commentator may he rest in peace :not worth
Ha Ha!
Well worth listening to again forgot that the jambos came on the pitch trying to stop the game after the second goal
David Francey always just said enough to paint a picture
No more no less
”It’s a driiiiivvvvvvvveee!”
I also forgot about Derek Rae a fine up and coming commentator went stateside for the 1994 World Cup and the MLS came back sounding like Denis Law :greengrin
28-04-2019, 07:30 PM
HIBS v Hearts
Did not realise that Mcnultys penalty struck the post :confused:
Slivkas point blank header in front of goal
Slivka headers it onto his shoulder to take the pace off the ball :confused:
Stevenson gets booted up in the air by Uche -Stevenson kicks him back as he is falling- so McLean decides to dive on Stevenson
Stevenson and McLean booked
Fourth Official swears at Hecky
Michael Stewart disappointed at Hecky outburst
Motherwell v Dundee
Mickey Stewart all over David Turnbull Motherwell thinks he is the real deal
Get him signed up HIBS
28-04-2019, 08:36 PM
Very disappointed that the BBC chose to ignore the punch in the face delivered by Tge Rangers striker on Aberdeen goalkeeper. Commentator says something like “caught him and now they’re both injured”. Aye right. Mind you the ref hardly dealt with it either.
28-04-2019, 09:03 PM
Very disappointed that the BBC chose to ignore the punch in the face delivered by Tge Rangers striker on Aberdeen goalkeeper. Commentator says something like “caught him and now they’re both injured”. Aye right. Mind you the ref hardly dealt with it either.
Editing of that show is a shambles selective focus. Apparently hecky should be reported while defoes assault on Aberdeen goalie ignored. Same as Scott brown fouls ignored total joke with the usual protection of old firm players. Rangers penalties both a total joke.
28-04-2019, 09:03 PM
Defoe was booked also so should be missing our game next week.
jax67
29-04-2019, 04:17 AM
They neglected to show the stone wall penalty on McNulty.
29-04-2019, 05:12 AM
I don’t think that was a penalty. I was surprised they didn’t show the countless fouls by Uche though - enough to warrant more than 1 red card for persistent fouling.
BlackSheep
29-04-2019, 06:51 AM
I find sportscene’s coverage of every game bar the old form to be not a fair reflection of the games at all... tired of the first ‘highlight’ being around 20-30 mins into each game, while there are countless points worth discussion before the first shot on goal! They just gloss over most games’ important points to give more time to the old firm... it’s BBC Scotland for effs sake not BBC Glasgow!!!
29-04-2019, 06:55 AM
What was their take on the ‘penalties’ awarded to the hun?
29-04-2019, 06:56 AM
What was their take on the ‘penalties’ awarded to the hun?
One was, one wasn’t I think they said. Although Stewart and Thompson were disagreeing.
29-04-2019, 07:13 AM
I noticed in the last Derby at Tiny they did not even mention Daz wiping out Haring
Play on! :greengrin
Cardinal G
29-04-2019, 10:22 AM
Aye I felt they brushed over it, sky sports news showed it so thought it would be discussed. Disappointing as it was a red card to me, got a history of injuring keepers, lovely lad and great pro plus all the good work he does with charity but undermines that a little with these antics.
29-04-2019, 10:44 AM
Souttar got the ball.
29-04-2019, 10:48 AM
HIBS v Hearts
Did not realise that Mcnultys penalty struck the post :confused:
Slivkas point blank header in front of goal
Slivka headers it onto his shoulder to take the pace off the ball :confused:
Stevenson gets booted up in the air by Uche -Stevenson kicks him back as he is falling- so McLean decides to dive on Stevenson
Stevenson and McLean booked
Fourth Official swears at Hecky
Michael Stewart disappointed at Hecky outburst
Motherwell v Dundee
Mickey Stewart all over David Turnbull Motherwell thinks he is the real deal
Get him signed up HIBS
Are we actually interested or is this just a helpful suggestion? :greengrin
29-04-2019, 12:01 PM
Are we actually interested or is this just a helpful suggestion? :greengrin
Everyone else stealing their players so why not?
In Hecky we trust! :greengrin
29-04-2019, 12:04 PM
Souttar got the ball.
Great tackle as well. Worth 5 million?
29-04-2019, 12:09 PM
5 million what certainly not pounds :greengrin
Aim Here
29-04-2019, 12:33 PM
I had a good view of it - it wasn't a penalty. McNulty mis-hit his first touch and then stumbled over a Jambo defender who wasn't in his way. If the Jambo wasn't there, he'd have been running away from the ball!
29-04-2019, 12:52 PM
It was a great tackle but I thought the guy was absolutely shambolic for the rest of the game.
On another day his howlers alone could have been punished by 3 or 4 goals.
Maroon defenders need to focus on lumping the ball up the park to whichever journeyman target man they happen to have in their employ at that time, and leave playing football to people who are capable.
jax67
29-04-2019, 02:23 PM
I had a good view of it - it wasn't a penalty. McNulty mis-hit his first touch and then stumbled over a Jambo defender who wasn't in his way. If the Jambo wasn't there, he'd have been running away from the ball!
👍. Looked a pen from the east.
29-04-2019, 05:38 PM
Souttar got the ball.
Didn’t look like it to me . Thought sportcene would have at least showed it .
29-04-2019, 05:39 PM
Souttar got the ball.
Sorry Jim but he really didn't
I sit in the FF lower right behind the goals and it was a 100% stonewall penalty
Their was no way in the world Thomson was giving Hibs 2 penalties
29-04-2019, 08:31 PM
Didn’t look like it to me . Thought sportcene would have at least showed it .
Pretty sure they did show it.
29-04-2019, 08:33 PM
Sorry Jim but he really didn't
I sit in the FF lower right behind the goals and it was a 100% stonewall penalty
Their was no way in the world Thomson was giving Hibs 2 penalties
Andy watched second half back this morning and clearly gets the ball.
29-04-2019, 08:54 PM
Andy watched second half back this morning and clearly gets the ball.
I'l watch it later :greengrin
06-05-2019, 08:39 AM
Another fine strike by young Turnbull of Motherwell
5:9 from midfield
06-05-2019, 08:47 AM
A worldy from 40 yards from jambo bound Halkett of Livingston
06-05-2019, 01:12 PM
A worldy from 40 yards from jambo bound Halkett of Livingston
Hearts will sell him for big money in a couple of years. Hence they're talking about Souttar's value just now...
06-05-2019, 01:28 PM
Hearts will sell him for big money in a couple of years. Hence they're talking about Souttar's value just now...
Hanlon better than Soutar and Halkett imho just needs to cut out the stupid lapses in concentration that have crept into his game lately
Hanlon won’t last forever but we have young Porto coming through :greengrin
06-05-2019, 04:06 PM
Hanlon better than Soutar and Halkett imho just needs to cut out the stupid lapses in concentration that have crept into his game lately
Hanlon won’t last forever but we have young Porto coming through :greengrin
Maybe but he's also much older and when they're both his age they'll be much better than he is.
06-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Maybe but he's also much older and when they're both his age they'll be much better than he is.
Maybes aye maybes naw but I watched Soapy Soutar closely last week and I know who I would have in my team and hopefully young Porteous will come back better than ever though no reason to doubt
Glory Glory
12-05-2019, 05:36 PM
Seemingly quite a lot of sectarian and vile songs sung at the game today, will be interesting to see if it’s discussed tonight
Didn’t see much of the game on Sky, did they discuss it?
12-05-2019, 05:39 PM
Seemingly quite a lot of sectarian and vile songs sung at the game today, will be interesting to see if it’s discussed tonight
Stop it Billy, the laughin is hurtin ma sides.
12-05-2019, 06:13 PM
Loud and clear sectarian songs sung within the first five minutes of the game starting. Carpet, meet brush.
12-05-2019, 08:20 PM
They did touch on Sectarianism by mentioning the problem that Scottish football cannot seem to get rid of
12-05-2019, 08:28 PM
They did touch on Sectarianism by mentioning the problem that Scottish football cannot seem to get rid of
Until the old firm are punished it won't be fixed. Whether the media or them like it or not, they are the two focal points for sectarianism in this country. If they were stioped the rest would soon follow suit.
12-05-2019, 08:29 PM
One sentence, then moved on. That's really going to eradicate it eh. It's only the Rangers though.
12-05-2019, 08:50 PM
Until the old firm are punished it won't be fixed. Whether the media or them like it or not, they are the two focal points for sectarianism in this country. If they were stioped the rest would soon follow suit.
Agree
12-05-2019, 08:51 PM
One sentence, then moved on. That's really going to eradicate it eh. It's only the Rangers though.
Agree
12-05-2019, 09:12 PM
You can’t punish them when there is no rule to hold them to. Our club is one of many that don’t want there to be a rule.
12-05-2019, 09:12 PM
How many sentences should they have done to ensure it stops?
12-05-2019, 09:15 PM
Sentence a few of them and it would.
12-05-2019, 09:20 PM
It's fine, there'll be enough sentences in the bill when strict liability arrives. Until then, let's just turn a blind eye to the bigots.
12-05-2019, 09:26 PM
Loud and clear sectarian songs sung within the first five minutes of the game starting. Carpet, meet brush.
No mention of it in the BBC match report at all.
The Scotsman covers it but hilariously states in their article "It’s not the first instance of sectarian abuse at a Scottish match this term" as if this isn't a weekly occurrence!
As you say sweep sweep nothing to see here.
12-05-2019, 09:30 PM
You can’t punish them when there is no rule to hold them to. Our club is one of many that don’t want there to be a rule.
There were rules. Unionist parties (who rely on votes from these people) along with the Greens didn't want them anymore, so voted to have them scrapped. The "party songs" have become increasingly more prominent since.
12-05-2019, 09:43 PM
It's fine, there'll be enough sentences in the bill when strict liability arrives. Until then, let's just turn a blind eye to the bigots.
They didn’t turn a blind eye - they mentioned it but no one wants to sort it. Sutherland, Thompson and Stewart can’t do anymore than say it happened.
12-05-2019, 09:43 PM
There were rules. Unionist parties (who rely on votes from these people) along with the Greens didn't want them anymore, so voted to have them scrapped. The "party songs" have become increasingly more prominent since.
I don’t think they have become more prominent. The media are pointing it out more now though.
12-05-2019, 09:45 PM
If you mean the flawed legislation introduced by the SNP which unfairly penalised football fans whilst ignoring that we already had laws in place to deal with this if used then there were plenty of people who were neither Unionist or Green who wanted it scrapped.
Am alliance of Unionists and Greens are to blame for sectarian singing? Your best yet. :greengrin
12-05-2019, 10:16 PM
Fantasy.The ‘rules’were in fact a law which did not punish a club but meant that police time would be wasted trying to arrest and charge 25000 supporters.Unenforceable.The reason that there are no ‘rules’is that none of the clubs want them.The SNP are certainly never going to bring in a law to punish the clubs.Too many votes at stake.
One sentence, then moved on.
A coconut got more coverage.
14-08-2019, 05:41 PM
Marvin Bartley currently on sportsound with Kenny Miller. Talking about celtic being shafted out of europe
14-08-2019, 06:03 PM
Marvin Bartley career chat just starting on sportsound ...
14-08-2019, 06:03 PM
Podcast later for me, thanks for the heads up 👍
16-09-2019, 10:59 AM
Watched it on catch up this morning
Interesting analysis of both Kilmarnock goals
Interesting camera angle of first brilliant ball from Kilmarnock right back over Portos head Naismith caught high up the pitch Rocky might have got there first soft defending for both goals
Halkett of Hearts not closing Seedorf down and letting him get his shot away-Interesting
Levein more chance of getting the sack than Heckingbottom- Steven Thomson
How can the Director of Football sack himself? Michael Stewart
Hearts last 30 consecutive league games we are talking relegation- Michael Stewart
Bad blunder by Ross Laidlaw for St Mirren equaliser
Bad blunder by Joe Lewis for St Johnstone equaliser unusual
Sam Stubbs son of Alan Stubbs plays for Hamilton :confused:
Well worth a watch if only for a HIBS rerun who are on second but don’t watch alone
29-09-2019, 05:06 PM
THE KEVIN CLANCY SHOW
SPORTSCENE
The BBC Scotland Channel
Tonight 7.15 pm
Will be Interesting to see what the pundits make of Clancys horror show yesterday
29-09-2019, 06:22 PM
Aberdeen looked humpty
29-09-2019, 06:26 PM
Aberdeen looked humpty
Not saw it but as I said when we got spanked at Ibrox, there’ll be plenty others will go there and get their ***** handed to them.
29-09-2019, 06:35 PM
Not saw it but as I said when we got spanked at Ibrox, there’ll be plenty others will go there and get their ***** handed to them.
And Aberdeen won’t be the last either.
29-09-2019, 06:35 PM
We really really got away with those penalty shouts.
sean04
29-09-2019, 06:43 PM
Did it show the Bauer slip?
29-09-2019, 06:44 PM
Did it show the Bauer slip?
Yes
We really really got away with those penalty shouts.
Evens itself out in the end.
Middleton never touched Bauer in their box, who slipped and Ntcham should have been sent off.
End of the day, ref was horrendously bad.
sean04
Yes
What should’ve the outcome been?
29-09-2019, 06:46 PM
Well it wasn’t a foul so he shouldn’t have blown for one, play should have just continued
29-09-2019, 06:47 PM
Goal should have been awarded to Hibs. :agree:
sean04
29-09-2019, 06:48 PM
Well it wasn’t a foul so he shouldn’t have blown for one, play should have just continued
Middleton in on goals?
29-09-2019, 06:49 PM
Pundits views on yesterday’s game:
Doidge 1mm offside
Celtic defender Bauer slips never a Celtic free kick in their own box
It was a foul on Forrest in the build up to the goal
Hecky did not agree
Referee did not make it clear exactly what the decision was
Poor HIBS defending at the goal
Nicham Shudda been sent off
Vela should never have been booked
Celtic should have had at least one penalty out of their two claimed
A point was a fair result
29-09-2019, 06:51 PM
Would have liked to know their opinion on the 4th official making the decision
I can’t honestly say I’ve seen that before
Plus never showed the second Scott Brown decision when he easily could have got a second yellow
29-09-2019, 06:53 PM
Plus never showed the second Scott Brown decision when he easily could have got a second yellow
Or the cynical trip on Lewis Stevenson by Bauer as he drifted past him
29-09-2019, 06:55 PM
Was a bit frustrated by McGlauchlin's questions to Hecky.
"Should Celtic have had two penalties" or something like that from Brian.
Hecky replies "They should have been down to 10 men by that stage".
Then Brian, who obviously spotted the penalty incidents, replies dumbly "who should have been sent off Paul".
29-09-2019, 06:56 PM
Agreed
jingler1954
29-09-2019, 06:57 PM
Or the pull back on Scott Allan when he was clean through.
29-09-2019, 07:01 PM
The horgan one wasnt a penalty.
Steven Thompson adds nothing to sportscene. A truly horrific pundit. Whoever thought it a bright idea to let him present the friday night championship games is equally as much of a moron.
29-09-2019, 07:01 PM
Was a bit frustrated by McGlauchlin's questions to Hecky.
"Should Celtic have had two penalties" or something like that from Brian.
Hecky replies "They should have been down to 10 men by that stage".
Then Brian, who obviously spotted the penalty incidents, replies dumbly "who should have been sent off Paul".
He’s a wind bag. Proper old guard.
29-09-2019, 07:04 PM
He’s a wind bag. Proper old guard.
That’s being generous. He’s a hertz ****.
29-09-2019, 07:07 PM
That’s being generous. He’s a hertz ****.
Aye, that too.
29-09-2019, 07:20 PM
Thought Lewis got his studs to the ball before contact with Christie.
The 4th official was Nick Walsh, the ref who failed to send the Newco CH off for a last man tackle on the Livi player midweek. Cheating, in my eyes of the highest order. If that had been the other way round a straight red for the livi player. Controversial comment maybe but why are the refs getting away with these decisions week in week out without being held to account?
29-09-2019, 07:39 PM
The 4th official was Nick Walsh, the ref who failed to send the Newco CH off for a last man tackle on the Livi player midweek. Cheating, in my eyes of the highest order. If that had been the other way round a straight red for the livi player. Controversial comment maybe but why are the refs getting away with these decisions week in week out without being held to account?
Because the SFA are totally incompetent. Any credibility our game had over the last few years is being lost by failing to embrace the technology available to them to assist the officials. It’s not corruption or cheating, it’s just shambolic.
29-09-2019, 07:41 PM
And we were bang in it until we went down to 10 men
Because the SFA are totally incompetent. Any credibility our game had over the last few years is being lost by failing to embrace the technology available to them to assist the officials. It’s not corruption or cheating, it’s just shambolic.
Cheating may have been harsh but they are never brought to task regardless and it’s no wonder players, coaches and managers lose their rags.
Ntcham and the Newco CH incidents are examples of this. Very simple and easy decisions to make yet they bottle it and fail to do their jobs!
ACLeith
29-09-2019, 07:45 PM
Because they've been getting away with it for GENERATIONS
29-09-2019, 08:03 PM
And we were bang in it until we went down to 10 men
Absolutely no idea what game you watched? We got slaughtered before and after the sending off, it was miraculously well that somehow there was a goal in it.
my left peg
29-09-2019, 08:07 PM
Against Morton at Easter road this season,the fourth official gave a free kick to hibs,that was the first time I had seen it done.
29-09-2019, 08:07 PM
I didn't think either were penalties after viewing the highlights. Celtic usually get awarded such soft awards, so in that regard we were fortunate.
29-09-2019, 08:34 PM
Cheating may have been harsh but they are never brought to task regardless and it’s no wonder players, coaches and managers lose their rags.
Ntcham and the Newco CH incidents are examples of this. Very simple and easy decisions to make yet they bottle it and fail to do their jobs!
But I genuinely don’t think it’s a lack of bottle, it’s just good old fashioned incompetence. Take Saturday for example, two penalties denied for Celtic but we would have had the cheats argument if they’d been given. The free kick that lead to their goal should not have been allowed to happen the way it happened, the players were unaware of the decision. Ntcham should have been sent off and Middleton should have had a free shot at goal after Bauer slipped. So many things going against both teams just screams of being a ***** ref.
29-09-2019, 08:38 PM
Don Robertson was the ref at livi v Rangers. Agree the bigger query is how often do 4 th officials get involved
29-09-2019, 08:43 PM
I didn't think either were penalties after viewing the highlights. Celtic usually get awarded such soft awards, so in that regard we were fortunate.
Agree Christie one never in a million years. Bauer one is very rarely given after cross put in.
29-09-2019, 08:44 PM
But I genuinely don’t think it’s a lack of bottle, it’s just good old fashioned incompetence. Take Saturday for example, two penalties denied for Celtic but we would have had the cheats argument if they’d been given. The free kick that lead to their goal should not have been allowed to happen the way it happened, the players were unaware of the decision. Ntcham should have been sent off and Middleton should have had a free shot at goal after Bauer slipped. So many things going against both teams just screams of being a ***** ref.
The sending off absolutely was a bottle job
29-09-2019, 09:05 PM
Is it just me who thinks the Celtic penalties were anything but. Specially the second one the boy got his cross away and Horgan done nothing at all to change the outcome or effect the cross.
Honestly Celtic can piss off
29-09-2019, 09:10 PM
Is it just me who thinks the Celtic penalties were anything but. Specially the second one the boy got his cross away and Horgan done nothing at all to change the outcome or effect the cross.
Suits the narrative that refs are fair.
30-09-2019, 03:55 AM
Neil Lennon back to being the torn face disaster that opposition fans love to hate greetin for the penalties he never got. 😂
30-09-2019, 06:52 AM
Tin hat on here but I really dont know how anyone can say the first is not a pen?
30-09-2019, 06:59 AM
My view after a close look is Ntcham should have been off and the Christie one is a foul the other one nothing much in it.
30-09-2019, 07:00 AM
:agree: I don't think you ever see penalties given for that.
green with envy
30-09-2019, 07:03 AM
What you are saying is when you go to ground when tackling in the box and on this occasion don't make contact with the ball but instead with the player that it is not a pen. I'm referring to Stevenson, BTW.:confused:
30-09-2019, 07:18 AM
:agree: I don't think you ever see penalties given for that.
Exactly, It happens all the time.
monarch
30-09-2019, 08:55 AM
Yes, the super vigilant jobsworth fourth official must have been really angry with himself that he missed the Scott Brown lunge :rolleyes:
PPZPOL
30-09-2019, 09:35 AM
It was refreshing to see the guy for Spurs being sent off within minutes for 2 yellow cards. It seems in Scotland that if you get booked you can then commit another 15 fouls and you’ll more than likely never be booked again or actually get a free kick given against you as the ref knows that he then has to send you off. The easy way out is to not give the fouls. They need to stop thinking if someone is already booked and make their decisions based on that it’s wrong. A booking is a booking whether you do it 2 seconds after you’ve been booked or 89 minutes later.
Also, the clear sign of an incompetent ref is booking 2 players over an incident where one is the aggressor and the other is passive. Rather than a red for one ad nothin for the other they seem to think a booking for each is the answer.
Hopeless, I hate saying it but you can say with some confidence that Kevin Clancy has never kicked a ball in his life. Just doesn’t understand the game at all (the Bauer slip being the biggest example, you can tell how he is running towards the ball he is going to be off balance and could possibly slip), I sit in the FF upper and seen it happening from there.
Don Robertson was the ref at livi v Rangers. Agree the bigger query is how often do 4 th officials get involved
Doh! What made me think it was him?
30-09-2019, 11:55 AM
The second one, absolutely agree. I think by the letter of the law he could have given it regardless of the ball having gone, but in reality those decisions in the box, where the ball has left the foot, contact has been made after the event and the play has continued, are almost never given.
The Stevenson one, a clear pen and we dodged a bullet there. But I think he chose not to give it because of the shocking mistakes he'd already made favouring them first half.
He was absolutely shocking and almost everything went in Celtics favour. Lennon is spraffing ***** and deflecting from his sides inability to break us down, unsurprisingly.
30-09-2019, 12:11 PM
The second one, absolutely agree. I think by the letter of the law he could have given it regardless of the ball having gone, but in reality those decisions in the box, where the ball has left the foot, contact has been made after the event and the play has continued, are almost never given.
He was absolutely shocking and almost everything went in Celtics favour. Lennon is spraffing ***** and deflecting from his sides inability to break us down, unsurprisingly.
I think Horgan's was very much like one where a player is on the touchline and clears it while someone is challenging them - sometimes they're given and sometimes (more times) they're not.
For the first one, I think Lewis gets studs to the ball - the replay with Lewis closest to the camera evidences that.
30-09-2019, 12:24 PM
For the first one, I think Lewis gets studs to the ball - the replay with Lewis closest to the camera evidences that.
Ive just watched it again, you're spot on, he brushes the ball.
But Im fairly sure Clancy didnt see it one way or another! He was trying to 'even things up'. But he even got that wrong, clearly:rolleyes:
1 8 7 5
30-09-2019, 12:46 PM
Simply, the officials are cheats.
Im 46. I cannae believe how often officials are, "incompetent". Even more so how many of these incompentencies have gone against us.
They were rotten on Saturday. Ncham straight red, and brown 2 nail on yellows. Their goal was a joke. :agree:
No penalties either imho.
sean04
30-09-2019, 01:05 PM
I know it wouldn’t have altered the game but Bauer hack at Stevenson when he was booked could’ve been a red. There’s professional fouls I.e shirt pulls, wee trips etc that was unnecessary hack. I don’t see much difference between portos red card against Killie during the week
30-09-2019, 01:11 PM
I know it wouldn’t have altered the game but Bauer hack at Stevenson when he was booked could’ve been a red. There’s professional fouls I.e shirt pulls, wee trips etc that was unnecessary hack. I don’t see much difference between portos red card against Killie during the week
You can bet your bottom dollar if it was the other way round Lewis would have been shown a red , a 100 % guaranteed
30-09-2019, 01:23 PM
Absolutely no idea what game you watched? We got slaughtered before and after the sending off, it was miraculously well that somehow there was a goal in it.
I'm somewhere between those two points of view. We were starting to get back into the game at 2-1 but completely fell apart after the red card.
That was the time for shoring up the defence but Hecky inexplicably put another striker on.
sean04
30-09-2019, 01:36 PM
You can bet your bottom dollar if it was the other way round Lewis would have been shown a red , a 100 % guaranteed
100% there was no need to be that aggressive and had no intention off playing the ball
30-09-2019, 01:40 PM
The Stevenson one, a clear pen and we dodged a bullet there. But I think he chose not to give it because of the shocking mistakes he'd already made favouring them first half.
It would have been very harsh on Hibs had penalties been awarded in any of those incidents none of which were goal scoring chances bcos Celtic had already played the ball bfore contact was made. Dusappointed in pundits attitudes as they never mentioned that fact clearly showing bias. Just as well we never rate their opinions anyway.
scotia44
30-09-2019, 01:49 PM
no difference at all unless it for or against us it would appear
St Johnston guy does mcginn last year yellow
Bauer boy does it to Lewis only a yellow
Macgregor (Celtics one) does Allan on Saturday only a yellow
Its bordering on cheating the decisions against us
13-11-2019, 03:04 PM
I have to say I enjoyed it this week. And 3 Hibs players in the team of the week. When did that last happen?
24-11-2019, 07:02 PM
The lad Hickey found out big time yesterday eh.
24-11-2019, 07:10 PM
Murray Davidson is a dirty *******
24-11-2019, 07:13 PM
That was a quite horrendous tackle, lucky the boy wasn't injured.
Clarence
24-11-2019, 07:25 PM
The boy Brian Graham is some player. Reminds me of Colin Nish.
24-11-2019, 07:32 PM
Yup a thug
Helensburghhibs
24-11-2019, 07:41 PM
Why has there been no mention in either highlights programs of Cole being offside at their goal. Clearly makes an attempt to play it
gaz1875
24-11-2019, 07:45 PM
Why has there been no mention in either highlights programs of Cole being offside at their goal. Clearly makes an attempt to play it
Stevenson played him on at other side of 6 yard box.
They showed the Motherwell penalty claim wasn't a penalty because the player flicked his leg up trying to make contact with Porteous. I'm happy enough with that, Motherwell can have no gripe they were robbed of anything.
Helensburghhibs
24-11-2019, 07:47 PM
Stevenson played him on at pther side of 6 yard box.
I saw this mentioned earlier but had another look at it and don't think that he did at all. As said above though glad the penalty shout was dismissed on sportscene. The BT pundits were determined it was a foul even after seeing it back
24-11-2019, 07:48 PM
Stevenson played him on at pther side of 6 yard box.
A yard offside at least.
24-11-2019, 07:53 PM
Let's face it, Hecky was just a blip, and with our stadium, facilities and lack of debt we will rocket under Jack Ross. Outside of the OF, only Hearts and A'deen are anywhere near us, and they are only bolstered with short term nonce investment.
24-11-2019, 07:53 PM
The boy Brian Graham is some player. Reminds me of Colin Nish.
Toe poke!
hibeerealist
24-11-2019, 08:30 PM
That was a quite horrendous tackle, lucky the boy wasn't injured.
He put in A few nasty ones against us couple of weeks ago, also dives at slightest touch an all round cheating, cowardly bassa.
When oh when is BBC Scotland going to have the balls to challenge rangers over their refusal to do on screen match day & pre match day interviews. Ridiculous situation.
24-11-2019, 08:48 PM
When oh when is BBC Scotland going to have the balls to challenge rangers over their refusal to do on screen match day & pre match day interviews. Ridiculous situation.
Is it not the other way around?
24-11-2019, 08:49 PM
It's the BBC who are boycotting the Rangers. Over the banning of one of their journalists.
Forgot about that, the one that exposed their financial 'problems' 🤔
24-11-2019, 08:57 PM
The lad Hickey found out big time yesterday eh.
Liverpool and Man City in a £25 million January tug of war :tee hee: :tee hee: :tee hee:
BlackSheep
24-11-2019, 08:59 PM
BBC Scotland need some better researchers I think...
Our first goal is captioned “Doidge, 21’ - TWO GOALS INTEO LEAGUE GAMES AFTER BOT SCORING FOR NINE”
I think they’ll find it’s his 4th in 2!!!
The other guy Hendry who got sent off should have been sent off against us. He totally lost the plot today.
24-11-2019, 09:07 PM
BBC Scotland need some better researchers I think...
Our first goal is captioned “Doidge, 21’ - TWO GOALS INTEO LEAGUE GAMES AFTER BOT SCORING FOR NINE”
I think they’ll find it’s his 4th in 2!!!
They also had Eddie May Caretaker Manager when showing the team formations while simultaneously talking about it being Jack Ross' first match in charge.
24-11-2019, 09:29 PM
They spend an awful lot of time talking about a team that they are "boycotting".
Topographic Hibby
24-11-2019, 09:36 PM
They also had Eddie May Caretaker Manager when showing the team formations while simultaneously talking about it being Jack Ross' first match in charge.Yes, I noticed that too!!! Amateur hour from our national broadcaster. Again......
25-11-2019, 08:52 AM
They also had Eddie May Caretaker Manager when showing the team formations while simultaneously talking about it being Jack Ross' first match in charge.
School boy error.
25-11-2019, 08:55 AM
Forgot about that, the one that exposed their financial 'problems' 🤔
Nope, not Mark Daly. Chris McLaughlin. They banned him for mentioning arrests due to sectarianism.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/bbc-refuse-send-staff-ibrox-6179565#IiQBygdGIirC1AAM.97
25-11-2019, 10:07 AM
They spend an awful lot of time talking about a team that they are "boycotting".
Was just thinking that
08-12-2019, 07:07 PM
Good to see the BBC are on the ball as usual. Still had Eddie May as caretaker manager on the lineup graphic before the highlights.
08-12-2019, 07:20 PM
Good to see the BBC are on the ball as usual. Still had Eddie May as caretaker manager on the lineup graphic before the highlights.
Wow
08-12-2019, 07:24 PM
As if we needed more exposure to the cup final.
08-12-2019, 08:02 PM
How far onside was the chalked off Motherwell goal reminded me a bit of the Jordan Forster one. How could the linesman possibly miss that?
08-12-2019, 08:50 PM
Noticed that after our first goal we get a chance directly from a throw in.
08-12-2019, 08:53 PM
Thought they underplayed our goals especially 2 and 3.
08-12-2019, 10:34 PM
As if we needed more exposure to the cup final.
Not having BT, I was glad they showed it.
09-12-2019, 02:21 AM
I was on a flight to Dubai so didn’t see the old firm game. Can anyone confirm whether Neil Lennon won another trophy or not?
09-12-2019, 02:41 AM
I was on a flight to Dubai so didn’t see the old firm game. Can anyone confirm whether Neil Lennon won another trophy or not?
Celtic bought another one.
09-12-2019, 03:14 AM
How far onside was the chalked off Motherwell goal reminded me a bit of the Jordan Forster one. How could the linesman possibly miss that?
Just as well it didn't matter. The Hertz player was in his line of vision. Horrendous decision.
09-12-2019, 08:27 AM
They didn't even analyse our third goal! I recorded it and just watched it, beggars ****ing belief FFS! 😡
09-12-2019, 08:37 AM
They didn't even analyse our third goal! I recorded it and just watched it, beggars ****ing belief FFS! 😡
Couldn't agree more. Brilliant goal virtually ignored. Flo seems to get a rough time here for some reason.
09-12-2019, 08:41 AM
Just as well it didn't matter. The Hertz player was in his line of vision. Horrendous decision.
Never understand in that scenario that a linesman doesn't just hold his hand up and say he raised the flag in error as it must have been crystal clear when he became aware of the Hearts player he was clearly playing everyone on.
09-12-2019, 08:49 AM
They had to skim everything else after dedicating half the show to the cup final.
09-12-2019, 08:54 AM
Yup. Arguably our best goal
The Pointer
09-12-2019, 12:13 PM
Slight thread drift but am I right in saying that the reporter on the BBC1 late evening news last night said The Rangers were in their first major cup final since the start of their current financial problems?
09-12-2019, 03:00 PM
I watched the Hibs-Dons highlights & post match summary and thought the summarising at the end was very poor.
Stewart kept trying to make smart arse comments whilst Thomson was talking and it was very amateurish. Some may call it banter, but it was embarrassing. Stewart should have kept his mouth shut.
09-12-2019, 04:12 PM
Slight thread drift but am I right in saying that the reporter on the BBC1 late evening news last night said The Rangers were in their first major cup final since the start of their current financial problems?
First league cup final possibly? Not seen it so not sure though.
15-12-2019, 06:19 PM
HIBS on next after the Hun
BBC Scotland Channel
15-12-2019, 07:02 PM
Don’t think Michael Stewart once mentioned St Johnstone
15-12-2019, 09:11 PM
Some strike by Lee Irwin did well to recover and showed a lot of tenacity and composure to tuck the rebound away for Ross County’s winner
Looks a good signing for them
I also enjoyed St Johnstone’s winner versus Hearts it was greatly deserved
Stendel blaming the fans already 😂
15-12-2019, 09:46 PM
Some strike by Lee Irwin did well to recover and showed a lot of tenacity and composure to tuck the rebound away for Ross County’s winner
Looks a good signing for them
I also enjoyed St Johnstone’s winner versus Hearts it was greatly deserved
Stendel blaming the fans already
What did he say? I read something on KB about him asking for the support of the fans and assumed they were being their usual obnoxious selves.
16-12-2019, 05:06 AM
What did he say? I read something on KB about him asking for the support of the fans and assumed they were being their usual obnoxious selves.
Difficult to translate his pidgeon English was not great something along the lines of negativity from the stands and that the fans should get behind the team
Sound familiar?
Got ma popcorn ready for Hamilton versus Hearts on Saturday
He did not inspire confidence though early days
This could get messy. :greengrin
16-12-2019, 05:32 AM
Don’t think Michael Stewart once mentioned St Johnstone
His analysis of Hearts was very good I thought
23-12-2019, 02:04 AM
Marvin Bartley a guest on the show tonight
Bad news HIBS down to seventh
Good news Hearts three points adrift at the bottom
Might make them dangerous going into Thursday
Well worth a catch up
23-12-2019, 08:20 AM
Brilliant goal and assist for Mickel Miller Hamilton v Hearts
Couple of assists for Marvin Bartley
Liked the question to Big Marv.
ST Whos going to win the derby?
Marv Hibs.
23-12-2019, 03:25 PM
Brilliant goal and assist for Mickel Miller Hamilton v Hearts
Couple of assists for Marvin Bartley
Top notch unstoppable Hamilton team goal finished by Miller
Marv showing skills this season that we didn't see at Hibs.
A big part of their success.
23-12-2019, 04:02 PM
10 years ago the Porteous tackle was a throw in nowadays with the new rules its a red
Michael Stewart
27-12-2019, 05:04 PM
On tonight 7.00pm
The BBC Scotland Channel
Looks like we are on first
27-12-2019, 06:12 PM
On tonight 7.00pm
The BBC Scotland Channel
Looks like we are on first
Anyone else watching just to hear what Michel Stewart's got to say about Hearts?
27-12-2019, 06:25 PM
Anyone else watching just to hear what Michael Stewart's got to say about Hearts?
I'll wait until later and just skip straight to what he has to say on the iPlayer.
27-12-2019, 06:32 PM
Anyone else watching just to hear what Michel Stewart's got to say about Hearts?
Says it was a stonewaller when Hallberg dragged down Uche in the box first half so much so that Uche didn’t complain and neither did his yam buddies
27-12-2019, 06:33 PM
Jonathan Sutherland only mentioned the war the once but I think he got away with it 😁
27-12-2019, 06:35 PM
Says it was a stonewaller when Hallberg dragged down Uche in the box first half so much so that Uche didn’t complain and neither did his yam buddies
I don’t think it was a stonewaller at all.....
The big huddy was always throwing himself back, Hallberg was trying to hold his ground but the big lump fell back on him.
27-12-2019, 06:36 PM
I don’t think it was a stonewaller at all.....
The big huddy was always throwing himself back, Hallberg was trying to hold his ground but the big lump fell back on him.
Uche has a big hold on Hallberg’s shirt and pulls him down, the ref got it spot on.
27-12-2019, 06:39 PM
Should have been booked for diving.
gaz1875
27-12-2019, 06:39 PM
First time I've saw the hghlights, lovely goals, but we really need to close players down quicker to avoid the ball getting into our box. We got a touch lucky on a couple of occassions second half. Good job their strikers are pretty poor.