View Full Version : Match Updates Hearts v Hibs

Pages : 1 2 3 [4]

21-01-2018, 06:34 PM
Baffling. He's arguably been given the best support from the board of any Hibs manager since McLeish.

Don’t even think it’s questionable mate. He’s 100% been given the support.

hibbie02
21-01-2018, 09:13 PM
It was pretty obvious today that we had a huge Stokes shaped gap in the formation. I am not saying Stokes is a huge loss, but someone playing that role today was sad;;ly missing and was not connecting Shaw with the of the team. :agree:

21-01-2018, 09:26 PM
It was pretty obvious today that we had a huge Stokes shaped gap in the formation. I am not saying Stokes is a huge loss, but someone playing that role today was sad;;ly missing and was not connecting Shaw with the of the team. :agree:
lennon never thought so post match as he said it wouldn't have made a difference. Judging by Stokes in the last derby at Tiny he would have been right

hibbie02
21-01-2018, 09:36 PM
lennon never thought so post match as he said it wouldn't have made a difference. Judging by Stokes in the last derby at Tiny he would have been right

My point was not that we needed Stokes, but we needed someone to fill that role!

21-01-2018, 09:46 PM
The mid-season break doesn't seem to have done us any good at all. The players haven't refocussed.

DelcyRodriguez
21-01-2018, 09:53 PM
My point was not that we needed Stokes, but we needed someone to fill that role!

The Anthony Stokes role is tantamount to our play.

He plays behind the main striker (although I think he should perhaps play a little bit further forward).

That position needs filling in my opinion.

I am just a daft little girl though so who cares what I say?

Sorry.

How can such happiness turn into such disillusion in only 5 days?

DelcyRodriguez
21-01-2018, 09:55 PM

Thank you!

I was trying to say that too.

21-01-2018, 10:36 PM
On Sky when they were reviewing the goal, Levein says "Mcginn was unlucky not to clear it, but I was almost hoping it wisnae in......."

Classless ****

I absolutely hate Levein.

21-01-2018, 11:04 PM
Attendance:18,709

is that not only approx 1500 more than the capacity they had for all their 'sell-outs' with the old rickety wooden stand :dunno: they're going to need an awfy lot of extra 1500's to pay for that new hugely over-priced thing they built

22-01-2018, 06:27 AM
Baffling. He's arguably been given the best support from the board of any Hibs manager since McLeish.

McLeish had us finishing 6th on our return to the top league and is widely praised. We are currently 4th and in a fight for a European spot.

22-01-2018, 06:31 AM
McLeish had us finishing 6th on our return to the top league and is widely praised. We are currently 4th and in a fight for a European spot.

For some supporters, it’s a personal thing against Lennon. He’ll never be good enough.

22-01-2018, 07:22 AM
For some supporters, it’s a personal thing against Lennon. He’ll never be good enough.

22-01-2018, 07:30 AM

Absolutely. I could have named 4 or 5 posters who I knew would be prolific last night.

22-01-2018, 07:53 AM

Which is an absolute disgrace.

If our current state of progress and development is placed in proper context we are well on target for anything that should reasonably be expected since promotion. Losing one scrappy derby away from home after a very long unbeaten run is hardly the end of the world.

Lennon has had, what, one summer transfer window to work on rebuilding the squad? If people don't have the patience to give a quality manager two to three years to consistently improve us then they are in for a lifetime of football disappointment.

But hey, we could just go back to the revolving door of high-risk, low-end management appointees so that the bed wetters can have their short sighted 'somebody do something' demands met.

22-01-2018, 08:27 AM

Yip, it was the same with yogi.

You would think we were 4th in the league every season with the way some folk dismiss it.

Johnny Clash
22-01-2018, 08:59 AM
Just shows how high our expectations have risen when we are all gutted to lose to a single goal away at tiny after a poor game played on a poor pitch. They sneaked it and with a bit of cooler finishing we could have gone on to have a comfortable win. So they have 1 win out of last 10 games against us. Wow! Some of their saddos were letting off fireworks down Porty right after game as if they’d won the World Cup. Presumably they decided not to buy any of their unsold tickets coz they were tired of getting pumped!??

Anyway, Lenny and Parker will get this Hibs squad dusted down. Sounds like they won’t have any nonsense in dressing room now. Lennon is clearly in control so time to knuckle down and have a strong end to the season.

22-01-2018, 09:06 AM
Lee Ann indicated there wouldn't be a lot of transfer activity this window at a point fans were happy with the way things were going
We have now only won two of our last ten games i think so naturally there is a concern we could loose out of fourth place if that form continues
Having to bring in Bain and the right back couldn't of been foreseen and has probably meant that we have had to take the gamble on someone lile McLaren as was within our Budget
Lennon clearly saying we couldn't of afforded Naismith
So clearly if we can get a fee for Stokes and free up his wages then we should be able to bring in another quality player
The question being debated on another thread is that recruitment under Lennon hasn't been as good as Stubbs and therefor there is some concern about quality of recent signings and whether they will improve the team
Time will tell

We are still missing a trick with H S L as its the one avenue we have to increase Lennon's Budget
Rightly or Wrongly a couple of Quality signings were seen as all we needed to challenge for third
Thats not happened and third is beyond us IMO
I would of been pleased if we finished fourth and got into Europe and that should still be our goal , starting with beating Dundee
The Portugal trip and whatever happened cant be allowed to derail our Season but it has added another dimension of difficulty for Lennon to manage as our togetherness as a squad and Club was at its highest and we were all feeding off the feel good factor
We need to get that back ,so that Season Ticket sales don't slump for Next Season
Dundee away will be a test for the players as well as Lennon ,and i hope we bounce back with a win

22-01-2018, 09:15 AM
Definitely in their favour the last three years Stevie and a very valid point - I think today was about the build up and lead up to a very important game in the season, and certain players really letting the fans down - forget the club aspect - they have let the paying punter down and allowed the press to really get hold of it and run with it.

For the first time in a good while, the club have to deal with immature antics of certain individuals who think they can run about like wee schoolboy footballers. Thought today was a really tight affair and you could never really tell who the 'home team' was for the vast majority of the game. Switched off at one set piece and that's the fine margins.

A fit, strong, cup final Anthony Stokes could have made a wee difference - instead, we are now pondering the release of a disinterested, unprofessional, lazy but talented footballer - who may make money in the cash rich 'backwaters' (in footballing terms) of China, Asia, or America - but he and the others really let the football club down this week, big time. He may look back and reflect and say 'could have done more' -sadly I think he and certain others think they're 'stars' - when in reality they are only really a bunch of good footballers in a very small Scottish football pond.

Looking at things objectively - we could have won today bar Boyle not having a left foot and a save from McLaughlin. They could have won with Naismith and Isma scoring. We lost to a set piece and that can happen. What really irked me all this week is players giving the media the fantastic opportunity to derail our chances, and they rightly seized on it. This is why the players involved need to hang their heads and realise the importance of being a pro, even more so in the world of social media and scrutiny that our crap sports media put on things.

Can't disagree with any of that, man :aok:

6th in a ten team league as well.

Spot on. Been the case from day one for many.