View Full Version : Tories

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

30-05-2017, 01:11 PM
Anyone else seen the ubiquitous Tory ads on youtube? Quite vomit inducing and not very well targeted as they have the effect of pissing me off greatly when I'm trying to watch Glasto highlights.Are they like this one?

https://twitter.com/thoughtland/status/868943158645805057 (https://twitter.com/thoughtland/status/868943158645805057)

30-05-2017, 01:33 PM
Are they like this one?

https://twitter.com/thoughtland/status/868943158645805057 (https://twitter.com/thoughtland/status/868943158645805057)

More like blipverts of May looking like dead-warmed up and screeching about strong and stable brexitting.

30-05-2017, 06:29 PM
Anyone else seen the ubiquitous Tory ads on youtube? Quite vomit inducing and not very well targeted as they have the effect of pissing me off greatly when I'm trying to watch Glasto highlights.

Aye, I'm getting them constantly. Bawbags.

30-05-2017, 06:44 PM
Boris having another mare in front of the cameras.:greengrin

https://twitter.com/SkyNewsTonight/status/869258725600632832

I'm am not a violent man at all but, I would really liked to have seen someone there hook Bonzo while saying STFU.
He's a right (no pun intended) pompous buffoon.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
30-05-2017, 06:50 PM
Seems that Facebook arent targeting the tory adds very well!

30-05-2017, 07:09 PM
Osborne is sticking the knife into May in his Evening Standard editorial tonight!

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
30-05-2017, 07:30 PM
Osborne is sticking the knife into May in his Evening Standard editorial tonight!

Yeah, he didnt miss did he. I think he is quite enjoying his new job...😃

31-05-2017, 07:05 AM

It looks like the Tories are building a wall.:greengrin This I them outside the SNP conference yesterday. Front and Centre...Murdo fraser

31-05-2017, 08:58 AM

It looks like the Tories are building a wall.:greengrin This I them outside the SNP conference yesterday. Front and Centre...Murdo Fraser.:rolleyes:

18682:wink:

It's no wonder a lot of people don't bother posting on this part of the forum anymore when this is the level of guff being submitted. Photoshopped images of tory banners? Good one, that really adds to the debate.

31-05-2017, 09:13 AM
It's no wonder a lot of people don't bother posting on this part of the forum anymore when this is the level of guff being submitted. Photoshopped images of tory banners? Good one, that really adds to the debate.

Holy shat, you need to lighten up bud. I've shown the real banners, and a couple of Photoshop ones with a wink alongside. Jeez

31-05-2017, 09:18 AM
Holy shat, you need to lighten up bud. I've shown the real banners, and a couple of Photoshop ones with a wink alongside. Jeez

Jeez indeed.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 10:41 AM

Agree. If i wanted that level of debate, id go onto twitter or facebook

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 10:42 AM

It is pretty childish. Its rigjt up up there with referring to sturgeon as wee jimmy krankie

31-05-2017, 12:23 PM
quite a juvenile wee limerick that one HomeTeam, and not for the first time either :rolleyes:

High-On-Hibs
31-05-2017, 12:23 PM

Point is, they shouldn't even need to be photoshopped. They should just be on the banners anyway, because that's what they're effectively asking for. You really must wonder whether the vast majority of people who vote tory are even aware of looming pension cuts and the state seizing their assets for a sell off profit later when they become unwell. I would say that they don't. Who on earth would vote for that knowingly?

31-05-2017, 12:28 PM
is this protesting at other political party manifesto launches something new that tories have started ?:confused: do protesters appear at other party launches ?

31-05-2017, 12:41 PM
Point is, they shouldn't even need to be photoshopped. They should just be on the banners anyway, because that's what they're effectively asking for. You really must wonder whether the vast majority of people who vote tory are even aware of looming pension cuts and the state seizing their assets for a sell off profit later when they become unwell. I would say that they don't. Who on earth would vote for that knowingly?

Sorry buts that's not the point at all.

The answer to your question is quite simple. Different people see the world in different ways and a lot of people in the south of England for example would view your desire for an independent Scotland with similar levels of disdain to yours for the conservative party and their policies.

It's mostly matters of personal opinion rather than black and white fact being discussed in here and it wouldn't be a bad thing if there could be a little bit more respect shown for the opinions of others.

High-On-Hibs
31-05-2017, 12:46 PM

The answer to your question is quite simple. Different people see the world in different ways and a lot of people in the south of England for example would view your desire for an independent Scotland with similar levels of disdain to yours for the conservative party and their policies.

It's mostly matters of personal opinion rather than black and white fact being discussed in here and it wouldn't be a bad thing if there could be a little bit more respect shown for the opinions of others.

I would have a greater deal of respect for other peoples opinions if they could be explained. I've yet to come across a tory in Scotland that can explain why they support tory policy. In fact, they look completely bemused when I mention anything in the tory manifesto, as if they didn't even know about it. That's not looking at the world differently, that's just not looking at the world at all.

Slavers
31-05-2017, 12:58 PM
quite a juvenile wee limerick that one HomeTeam, and not for the first time either :rolleyes:

Just a wee bit of fun since the thread was heading in that direction.

31-05-2017, 01:00 PM
I would have a greater deal of respect for other peoples opinions if they could be explained. I've yet to come across a tory in Scotland that can explain why they support tory policy. In fact, they look completely bemused when I mention anything in the tory manifesto, as if they didn't even know about it. That's not looking at the world differently, that's just not looking at the world at all.

I don't understand people voting tory either, other than perhaps feeling their particular circumstances will be best served by a tory government. If you're only going to be respectful of other peoples views if their explanation of those views meets your approval then you absolutely are missing the point I was trying to make.

A little respect for the freedom of other people to believe in and vote for whatever the hell they like would go a long way, not just in here but out in the real world too. Particularly here in Ulster as it happens.

31-05-2017, 01:09 PM
I don't understand people voting tory either, other than perhaps feeling their particular circumstances will be best served by a tory government. If you're only going to be respectful of other peoples views if their explanation of those views meets your approval then you absolutely are missing the point I was trying to make.

A little respect for the freedom of other people to believe in and vote for whatever the hell they like would go a long way, not just in here but out in the real world too. Particularly here in Ulster as it happens.

As well as having politicians and media, not so much being truthful, but to stop telling downright lies.
They ALL should be held accountable for their blatant untruths.

Slavers
31-05-2017, 01:13 PM
As well as having politicians and media, not so much being truthful, but to stop telling downright lies.
They ALL should be held accountable for their blatant untruths.

$133 per barrel of oil! Sign up here for Independence.

Oil is only a bonus to Scotland economy.

These kind of lies you mean?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 01:47 PM

Youve said this before, and i gave you a list of reasons that you never came back on.

31-05-2017, 01:52 PM

Youve said this before, and i gave you a list of reasons that you never came back on.

An admission you are a Tory? :wink:

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 02:05 PM
An admission you are a Tory? :wink:

No, but if i were i would admit it.

An admission that im not so myopic as to be able to understand the motivations behind support for parties - i could do the same for the other parties too, its really not as difficult as HOH is making it out to be!

Its ironic, that the resident 'tory' seems to have more empathy for others views than one of our virtuous nats 😉

31-05-2017, 02:48 PM
$133 per barrel of oil! Sign up here for Independence.

Oil is only a bonus to Scotland economy.

These kind of lies you mean?

Yes of course, if it's a lie.
You will note I did say the ALL should be held accountable, irrespective of their political stance.
The SNP/Tories/Labour/LibDims/The Greens (& all other colours of the rainbow)/The Archbishop Of Canterbury/Murdoch...et al.
The whole sheebang of them.

31-05-2017, 03:38 PM

Some people even post photoshopped tories for a giggle. :wink:

I'll need to make sure I post later in the day, to ensure everyone's up and about.:greengrin

31-05-2017, 03:41 PM
Some people even post photoshopped tories for a giggle. :wink:

I'll need to make sure I post later in the day, to ensure everyone's up and about.:greengrin

It's just a matter of time before you report another post that you don't like when the childish "giggles" are aimed at you. It might be an idea to remember that next time you're tempted to post such utter pish.

31-05-2017, 03:42 PM
It's just a matter of time before you report another post that you don't like when the childish "giggles" are aimed at you. It might be an idea to remember that next time you're tempted to post such utter pish.

Childish giggles or Personal insults, a BIG difference. Remember that.

31-05-2017, 03:46 PM
Childish giggles or Personal insults, a BIG difference. Remember that.

Theres sometimes a fine line between the two. The education officer jibe the other night wasn't particularly personal but it was deleted at your request.

31-05-2017, 03:50 PM
Theres sometimes a fine line between the two. The education officer jibe the other night wasn't particularly personal but it was deleted at your request.

And so it should have been, as it wasn't true, and the poster in question was told so, on other occasions.

31-05-2017, 03:53 PM
And so it should have been, as it wasn't true, and the poster in question was told so, on other occasions.

I think it was meant as a joke tbh. Given that your style on here is more like a campaign than merely posting your own opinions I'm not surprised people have been suggesting you might work for the SNP. I don't see what's so wrong with that whether it's true or not tbh. I certainly don't care either way.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 03:56 PM

The one i did? I didnt even realise that had been deleted!!

Thin skin ronaldo.

And for the record, every SNP local branch has, as part of its branch officr holders a political education officer, as Stalinist as that sounds. They are responsible for disseminating lines and info from central office to branch members. You can see why i might have been confused!

Anyway, sorry ronaldo, it was firmly meant in a tongue-in-cheek, gentle ribbing sort of way, no malice intended. Didnt realise you were so precious 😉🖒

31-05-2017, 04:06 PM
The one i did? I didnt even realise that had been deleted!!

Thin skin ronaldo.

And for the record, every SNP local branch has, as part of its branch officr holders a political education officer, as Stalinist as that sounds. They are responsible for disseminating lines and info from central office to branch members. You can see why i might have been confused!

Anyway, sorry ronaldo, it was firmly meant in a tongue-in-cheek, gentle ribbing sort of way, no malice intended. Didnt realise you were so precious 😉🖒

Mr White must have rubbed off on me.:wink:

It was getting rather tiresome, just like some of my posts it seems.

31-05-2017, 04:07 PM
I think it was meant as a joke tbh. Given that your style on here is more like a campaign than merely posting your own opinions I'm not surprised people have been suggesting you might work for the SNP. I don't see what's so wrong with that whether it's true or not tbh. I certainly don't care either way.

The campaign is my opinion. Thanks for your Admin duties though.:aok:

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 04:09 PM
Mr White must have rubbed off on me.:wink:

It was getting rather tiresome, just like some of my posts it seems.

Come on mate, of you dish it out you have to be prepared to take a bit back. That photoshopping thing really is scraping the bottom of the barrell. Its four year old stuff, the digital equivalent of drawing a you-know-what coming out the forehead of someone in a newspaper.

31-05-2017, 04:09 PM
The campaign is my opinion. Thanks for you Admin duties though.:aok:

Nothing to do with admin duties. Just posting my own personal opinion. It would be a much better forum for discussion if we were all a bit more considerate with our posts. I include myself in that.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 04:10 PM
The campaign is my opinion. Thanks for your Admin duties though.:aok:

Not a big free thinker eh?! 😂

31-05-2017, 04:12 PM
Not a big free thinker eh?! 😂

I write the manifesto:wink:

31-05-2017, 04:12 PM
Come on mate, of you dish it out you have to be prepared to take a bit back. That photoshopping thing really is scraping the bottom of the barrell. Its four year old stuff, the digital equivalent of drawing a you-know-what coming out the forehead of someone in a newspaper.

I've been told by Admins, that if things get personal, which you did, the report function should be used. Them's the rules mate. Fire away.:greengrin

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 04:16 PM
I've been told by Admins, that if things get personal, which you did, the report function should be used. Them's the rules mate. Fire away.:greengrin

I never even mentioned your name did i? How is that personal. Anyway, its fine i never even noticed it had been deleted.

Nobody likes a grass though 😂😉

31-05-2017, 04:17 PM
Nothing to do with admin duties. Just posting my own personal opinion. It would be a much better forum for discussion if we were all a bit more considerate with our posts. I include myself in that.

So how did you know the post had been reported:confused:

31-05-2017, 04:18 PM
I never even mentioned your name did i? How is that personal. Anyway, its fine i never even noticed it had been deleted.

Nobody likes a grass though 😂😉

I was waiting for that one.

Slavers
31-05-2017, 04:24 PM
I was waiting for that one.

The new Lee Wallace!

31-05-2017, 04:34 PM
So how did you know the post had been reported:confused:

Because I saw it. I meant that nothing I've written today is anything other than my own personal opinion.

31-05-2017, 04:36 PM

What looming pension cuts are they proposing?

And as for the 'state seizing assets to sell off for profit'...what PROFIT will be made and is selling someone's personal asset (after they have died) to pay for care they received that different from the state seizing someone else's earnings to pay for another persons care?

Anyway I'm largely steering clear of here these days as it really seems to have descended into party lines...there used to be some excellent debate on specific policies or approaches regardless of who or what was proposing or implementing them but it just seems it's Tories bad, SNP good and nothing in between. This is a position I personally can't reconcile as surely all parties propose good and bad ideas that deserve an examination based on their merit rather than blindly supported or disputed depending on the party that proposed it.

Anyway I digress somewhat and will remove myself back to the sidelines.

31-05-2017, 04:41 PM
This thread is yet another example of everything that has gone wrong with this part of the forum in the last 2 or 3 years. What was once my favourite part of the forum in which people discussed serious issues in a light hearted, respectful manner has been hijacked by a core of posters repeating the same points over and over and over again. People are so blinded by their own partisan beliefs that they seem to lose any kind of perspective or respect for other peoples views.

This is a football forum with a few additional boards that keep the main board tidy and provide a platform for further discussion. It really shouldn't require that much moderation yet I find myself spending more time sorting out petty squabbles on here than anywhere else. If it was exclusively my decision I would have got rid of the Holy Ground months ago as it's more ****ing bother than it's worth.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 04:46 PM
This thread is yet another example of everything that has gone wrong with this part of the forum in the last 2 or 3 years. What was once my favourite part of the forum in which people discussed serious issues in a light hearted, respectful manner has been hijacked by a core of posters repeating the same points over and over and over again. People are so blinded by their own partisan beliefs that they seem to lose any kind of perspective or respect for other peoples views.

This is a football forum with a few additional boards that keep the main board tidy and provide a platform for further discussion. It really shouldn't require that much moderation yet I find myself spending more time sorting out petty squabbles on here than anywhere else. If it was exclusively my decision I would have got rid of the Holy Ground months ago as it's more ****ing bother than it's worth.

Thats a shame you think that - as an admin, you guys do a great job keeping this site running.

I know i can be as bad as anyone, so apologies for any grief i habe caused the admin team.

31-05-2017, 04:49 PM

Not as bad as the Bounce yet, though.

31-05-2017, 05:40 PM

4 years old? No, it was definitely on Tuesday. I know because I was just along the road. :wink:

31-05-2017, 06:40 PM
No, but if i were i would admit it.

An admission that im not so myopic as to be able to understand the motivations behind support for parties - i could do the same for the other parties too, its really not as difficult as HOH is making it out to be!

Its ironic, that the resident 'tory' seems to have more empathy for others views than one of our virtuous nats 😉

So who's getting your vote in a weeks time?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
31-05-2017, 06:52 PM
So who's getting your vote in a weeks time?

Still undecided, but given local constituency balance, probablu hold my nose and vote for labour (holding my nose because i said id never vote for the fat wee jambo murray after all his hearts shenanigans!)

Would you be snp? (im assuming you dont get a vote, but actually do you still get to vote if you remain registered?)

High-On-Hibs
31-05-2017, 08:13 PM
Still undecided, but given local constituency balance, probablu hold my nose and vote for labour (holding my nose because i said id never vote for the fat wee jambo murray after all his hearts shenanigans!)

Would you be snp? (im assuming you dont get a vote, but actually do you still get to vote if you remain registered?)

Even if I was pro-union, I don't think I could ever bring myself to vote for this guy.

https://ichef-1.bbci.co.uk/news/624/cpsprodpb/100D7/production/_95115756_untitled-1.jpg

31-05-2017, 08:17 PM
Even if I was pro-union, I don't think I could ever bring myself to vote for this guy.

https://ichef-1.bbci.co.uk/news/624/cpsprodpb/100D7/production/_95115756_untitled-1.jpg

Was he not something like one of 10 shadow business secretaries, it's like getting a medal for finishing 20th in a race

Also claims that all his work pimping for the Yams was purely in his own spare time:loser:

01-06-2017, 05:25 AM

Correct. If I could vote it would be either the SNP or Greens. But thanks to Tory Blair I'm now classed as persona non grata come election day. Doesn't stop me taking a keen interest though.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-06-2017, 06:21 AM
Correct. If I could vote it would be either the SNP or Greens. But thanks to Tory Blair I'm now classed as persona non grata come election day. Doesn't stop me taking a keen interest though.

You can console yourself that it prob wouldnt make a huge difference, a perverse upside of the FPTP system!

01-06-2017, 02:18 PM

Even if he was a die-hard Hibby, I still wouldn't like him.

01-06-2017, 03:19 PM
Even if he was a die-hard Hibby, I still wouldn't like him.

May be snobbish but I'd also prefer my MP not to talk in text speak either

02-06-2017, 09:31 AM
http://www.cps.gov.uk/news/latest_news/cps-statement-election-expenses/

wriggle out of that :greengrin

02-06-2017, 11:41 AM

All accounting errors or lapses of memory.
Move along, nothing to see here.

:cb:cb:cb

02-06-2017, 12:30 PM
All accounting errors or lapses of memory.
Move along, nothing to see here.

:cb:cb:cb

So long as he doesn't appoint Donald Findlay, or Rumpole we should be alright :wink:

02-06-2017, 03:10 PM
May be snobbish but I'd also prefer my MP not to talk in text speak either

it's because twitter has a 140 character limit :greengrin

02-06-2017, 03:29 PM
it's because twitter has a 140 character limit :greengrin

I actually counted, he was well within it, yes I'm that petty

NYHibby
02-06-2017, 03:36 PM
I mailed in my postal vote today. The Tory candidate for Glasgow Central doesn't even live in Glasgow. She's from Leith. Couldn't they have found anyone from Glasgow?

Although none of the other candidates, including the current SNP MP, are from Glasgow Central either. But they are at least from somewhere in greater Glasgow.

02-06-2017, 07:57 PM
I mailed in my postal vote today. The Tory candidate for Glasgow Central doesn't even live in Glasgow. She's from Leith. Couldn't they have found anyone from Glasgow

LTY commie!:greengrin

03-06-2017, 09:44 AM
Anyone else noticing that Dugdale Rennie and the slapper Tory woman have spoke about nothing else in their election campaigns apart from "A DEVISIFE SECOND REFERENDUM". Hollow campaigns made up of bitterness and resentment showing lack of respect to their voters imo. Every single night we hear the same rubbish spouted from their boring gobs. Is this their ONLY agenda?!!!!!!!

Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk

03-06-2017, 09:56 AM
Anyone else noticing that Dugdale Rennie and the slapper Tory woman have spoke about nothing else in their election campaigns apart from "A DEVISIFE SECOND REFERENDUM". Hollow campaigns made up of bitterness and resentment showing lack of respect to their voters imo. Every single night we hear the same rubbish spouted from their boring gobs. Is this their ONLY agenda?!!!!!!!

You really need to pay more attention. Labour and the LibDems have both said plenty about other matters. The Tories have seen a chance to make ground by concentrating on the constitution and for some that has a major appeal.
Although why you expect any respect when the best you can come up with is dismissing a woman as a slapper defeats me. Pitiful.

03-06-2017, 10:09 AM
You really need to pay more attention. Labour and the LibDems have both said plenty about other matters. The Tories have seen a chance to make ground by concentrating on the constitution and for some that has a major appeal.
Although why you expect any respect when the best you can come up with is dismissing a woman as a slapper defeats me. Pitiful.
Nah, last THREE nights it's been exact same repetition from those three "leaders". What utterly dull people they are. If that's what you like then bash on....

Scotland forever. By the way.

03-06-2017, 10:10 AM
SNP all the way [emoji123]

03-06-2017, 10:19 AM
SNP all the way [emoji123]

03-06-2017, 10:22 AM
AAAANNNNDD..... back to the Tories

Doesn't he just warm the cockles of your heart with his professionalism and general grown up behaviour?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and_audio/headlines/40140992/boris-johnson-and-labour-s-ian-lavery-have-heated-debate

03-06-2017, 10:34 AM
AAAANNNNDD..... back to the Tories

Doesn't he just warm the cockles of your heart with his professionalism and general grown up behaviour?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/video_and_audio/headlines/40140992/boris-johnson-and-labour-s-ian-lavery-have-heated-debate

He has been portrayed for years as a bumbling buffoon when in reality he is a dangerous bully.

03-06-2017, 11:10 AM
Nah, last THREE nights it's been exact same repetition from those three "leaders". What utterly dull people they are. If that's what you like then bash on....

And that qualifies her as a slapper does it?

I'm glad to see you came on for a reasonable debate where you're accepting of views other than your own.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
03-06-2017, 11:10 AM
He has been portrayed for years as a bumbling buffoon when in reality he is a dangerous bully.

It reminds of that hashtag that was going around after the manchester attack #britishthreatlevels

A posh Englishman uses the phrase "old boy" in passive aggressive manner.

To be fair to him, Lavery was quite aggressively in his face first of all, that would have annoyed me.

03-06-2017, 11:18 AM
It reminds of that hashtag that was going around after the manchester attack #britishthreatlevels

A posh Englishman uses the phrase "old boy" in passive aggressive manner.

To be fair to him, Lavery was quite aggressively in his face first of all, that would have annoyed me.

I've just watched it a few times to see where Lavery is aggresive.

Boris was standing beside him when the interviewer asked a question, Boris then moves round to stand between the interviewer and Lavery, grinning inanely, as Lavery is replying. Lavery says "do you mind, stop being so rude". The clip then jumps to the bit about foodbanks. A bit difficult to know what happened in between time, but What Boris was doing in the first bit was being a twat.

03-06-2017, 11:26 AM
I've just watched it a few times to see where Lavery is aggresive.

Boris was standing beside him when the interviewer asked a question, Boris then moves round to stand between the interviewer and Lavery, grinning inanely, as Lavery is replying. Lavery says "do you mind, stop being so rude". The clip then jumps to the bit about foodbanks. A bit difficult to know what happened in between time, but What Boris was doing in the first bit was being a twat.
I watched it as it happened last night and at the start of the interview they were both shouting over the top of each other and not letting the other one get any points across. They were as bad as each other and Boris obviously didn't like not getting his own way and started acting like a complete tit. I thought Lavery did well to keep his cool tbh.

03-06-2017, 12:03 PM

Nice to see the CPS finally getting the book out. Innocent until proven guilty though eh.

03-06-2017, 12:18 PM

I much prefer your sparkling wit and fascinating debating style. Any more you have to add?

03-06-2017, 12:25 PM
Aye, goodbye my boring Tory

03-06-2017, 12:29 PM
Aye, goodbye my boring Tory

Who is the Tory? :confused:
If you are just here to troll then you won't be hanging about for long. Up to you.

03-06-2017, 12:31 PM
Who is the Tory? :confused:
If you are just here to troll then you won't be hanging about for long. Up to you.
I notice you didn't object to the boring part mate :greengrin

03-06-2017, 12:34 PM
I notice you didn't object to the boring part mate :greengrin

That bit is probably fair comment. :greengrin

03-06-2017, 01:51 PM
That bit is probably fair comment. :greengrin
Are you a slapper, though?

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

03-06-2017, 02:50 PM
Are you a slapper, though?

Well given the chance...:greengrin

xyz23jc
03-06-2017, 08:31 PM
Well given the chance...:greengrin

:greengrin:thumbsup::LOL: Kwality!

05-06-2017, 05:29 PM
Electoral commission have their hands full with these Tories.

Electoral Commission 'looking into' Scottish Tory £100,000 donation after openDemocracy exposes potential rule breach.

https://t.co/TqH1mlYQFn

07-06-2017, 05:08 PM
Vanessa May still using the "strong & stable" mantra even though that phrase it's a laughing stock now (aka "weak & wobbly").

07-06-2017, 05:27 PM
Vanessa May still using the "strong & stable" mantra even though that phrase it's a laughing stock now (aka "weak & wobbly").

Can I just say, Theresa May plays second fiddle to Vanessa May.

07-06-2017, 09:05 PM
Theresa May looks like she's been on the Panzer's Chocolate 🍫

Oh dear!

08-06-2017, 12:31 AM
Can I just say, Theresa May plays second fiddle to Vanessa May.

Ha ha - a real senior moment from me there, GF.
I guess she's not the only one who is weak & wobbly here. :wink:

Thank god she's not my wife. I'd be a dead man for calling her Vanessa after a night of passion. :sick:

08-06-2017, 05:43 AM
Ha ha - a real senior moment from me there, GF.
I guess she's not the only one who is weak & wobbly here. :wink:

Thank god she's not my wife. I'd be a dead man for calling her Vanessa after a night of passion. :sick:

VM for PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PNc278W45ck

09-06-2017, 10:12 AM
A dismal night for the PM but an outstanding one for Ruth Davidson. Some Tories must be wishing she was an MP so she could stand in the main party leadership contest which is surely coming after May scrambles together some sort of coalition to keep them in government.

For the Tories to win 13 seats in Scotland and see their share of the vote soar right across the country must have been beyond even their most optimistic predictions. You could argue that the vote in Scotland has kept the Tories in government. The unseating of Salmond and Robertson (who were the personification of SNP smugness) will have brought a great deal of satisfaction to many, and not just Tory voters.

Labour's improved showing (albeit modest in comparison to their once dominant voice in Scotland and not a little humiliating to finish a clear third behind the Tories in terms of seats) is also interesting as it may signal the beginnings of a rise in support for Corbyn in Scotland, which will also be of concern to the SNP.

Overall, with pro-union parties sharing over 60% of the vote in Scotland the SNP would be wise to reassess their indyref2 plans. While they'll never ditch them, an official 'parking' of the neverendum would be wise.

The Tubs
09-06-2017, 01:20 PM
A dismal night for the PM but an outstanding one for Ruth Davidson. Some Tories must be wishing she was an MP so she could stand in the main party leadership contest which is surely coming after May scrambles together some sort of coalition to keep them in government.

For the Tories to win 13 seats in Scotland and see their share of the vote soar right across the country must have been beyond even their most optimistic predictions. You could argue that the vote in Scotland has kept the Tories in government. The unseating of Salmond and Robertson (who were the personification of SNP smugness) will have brought a great deal of satisfaction to many, and not just Tory voters.

Labour's improved showing (albeit modest in comparison to their once dominant voice in Scotland and not a little humiliating to finish a clear third behind the Tories in terms of seats) is also interesting as it may signal the beginnings of a rise in support for Corbyn in Scotland, which will also be of concern to the SNP.

Overall, with pro-union parties sharing over 60% of the vote in Scotland the SNP would be wise to reassess their indyref2 plans. While they'll never ditch them, an official 'parking' of the neverendum would be wise.

Even if the SNP chose to park the referendum, it wouldn't go away due to the broader support for it, well beyond the party.

09-06-2017, 01:26 PM
Read on BBC that the tories share of the vote went up 5.5% although the majority were probably UKIP last time.

09-06-2017, 01:35 PM
Even if the SNP chose to park the referendum, it wouldn't go away due to the broader support for it, well beyond the party.

It's gone. To sugest otherwise is reminiscent of that bloke that tried to stop the tide.

Slavers
09-06-2017, 01:44 PM
It's gone. To sugest otherwise is reminiscent of that bloke that tried to stop the tide.

Correct its only an extreme fringe element of Scottish society that want to push on with the indyref 2 agenda.

09-06-2017, 02:33 PM
poor theresa, her party joked about corbyns terrorist sympathies....and now most likely getting in to bed with, ermmm... terrorists sympathisers

09-06-2017, 02:42 PM
The DUP are being maligned as backward bigots. In return for propping up the government they merely want gay marriage and abortion banned, and a public announcement that climate change is a hoax. If negotiations could also include the immediate deportation of all heretical followers of the anti-Christ in Rome, as well as every heathen who follows the false prophet Mohammed, they're ready to engage. Oh, and the EU un-British types. Common sense politics and mainstream thinking. :aok:

09-06-2017, 03:02 PM
poor theresa, her party joked about corbyns terrorist sympathies....and now most likely getting in to bed with, ermmm... terrorists sympathisers

I wonder how Ruth will feel about sharing power with her new bedfellows, you know, the folk who think her sexuality is an abomination.

09-06-2017, 03:03 PM

I disagree about Ruth being a great politician. She's been effective at playing the union card, but she gets torn to pieces on all the other stuff.

09-06-2017, 03:05 PM
I wonder how Ruth will feel about sharing power with her new bedfellows, you know, the folk who think her sexuality is an abomination.

That's why I can't see this lasting, this will be too much for more than a few Tories. Thats if it even gets off the ground, there is no agreement yet. Back to the polls by October.

09-06-2017, 03:06 PM
That's why I can't see this lasting, this will be too much for more than a few Tories. Thats if it even gets off the ground, there is no agreement yet. Back to the polls by October.

The next couple of months will break the back of it, imo.

May wants to play the stateswoman in Europe, meanwhile those left in WM will have the daggers drawn. Interesting times indeed.

The Pointer
09-06-2017, 03:07 PM

She's not getting into bed with the Shinners.

09-06-2017, 03:08 PM

I think so too. That cartoon published by George Osborne will rankle the Tory top brass and they'll want to put a stop to it asap.

09-06-2017, 03:09 PM

https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18952723_10207432273479861_5437914361680502876_n.j pg?oh=e73e97a541b09cef1c6a1f303e875b0e&oe=59DECFA2

09-06-2017, 03:10 PM

https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18951316_1446626865400054_4552505007209220409_n.jp g?oh=fa179e04435371fb706536d159ff5851&oe=59E5A7DF

The Tubs
09-06-2017, 03:10 PM
Correct its only an extreme fringe element of Scottish society that want to push on with the indyref 2 agenda.

I think it's far from this. The fact that snp is still the biggest party demonstrates widespread support for independence, especially given that labour support was able, for the first time in a very long time, to identify with its party. The tories did well to position themselves as the party of union. Scotland is divided by the constitution and it probably will be until it becomes independent.

In fact, I would say that, taking into consideration the changes in Europe over the past few months, continuing to be part of the UK is placing Scotland at the fringe.

09-06-2017, 03:14 PM
https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18951316_1446626865400054_4552505007209220409_n.jp g?oh=fa179e04435371fb706536d159ff5851&oe=59E5A7DF

09-06-2017, 03:39 PM
https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/18952723_10207432273479861_5437914361680502876_n.j pg?oh=e73e97a541b09cef1c6a1f303e875b0e&oe=59DECFA2

The DUP are the closest thing the UK has to the US Republican Party. The lunatic fringe, now holding the country to ransom.

09-06-2017, 03:47 PM
The DUP are the closest thing the UK has to the US Republican Party. The lunatic fringe, now holding the country to ransom.

The saving grace is they are so mental and the Tories still so divided they will all be out on their erses by the autumn and we'll be voting again in October.

That's plenty time for Labour to continue to build momentum and the SNP to reassess.

09-06-2017, 03:52 PM
The saving grace is they are so mental and the Tories still so divided they will all be out on their erses by the autumn and we'll be voting again in October.

That's plenty time for Labour to continue to build momentum and the SNP to reassess.

It looks certain there will be another election in the autumn. If Labour can keep the enthusiasm going by talking about austerity, tuition fees, pensions etc, it could be very interesting.

09-06-2017, 04:09 PM
How can the Tories play mediator in Northern Ireland, when they are in a pact with the DUP.

09-06-2017, 04:19 PM
How can the Tories play mediator in Northern Ireland, when they are in a pact with the DUP.

The tail will wag the dog, especially since Sinn Fein did so well yesterday. The DUP won't be pushovers.

09-06-2017, 04:24 PM

Aye right, a party that's primary aim is to secure independence and has more seats in Holyrood than any other party and have more MPs in Westminster than all the other Scottish Parties combined is a fringe element of Scottish society.

09-06-2017, 04:27 PM
It depresses me on a daily basis that these nutjobs run NI. That they look like they might get some influence at Westminster is genuinely worrying.

In all likelihood I'd say PB is right and it'll all fall flat on it's face before long.

09-06-2017, 04:36 PM
It depresses me on a daily basis that these nutjobs run NI. That they look like they might get some influence at Westminster is genuinely worrying.

In all likelihood I'd say PB is right and it'll all fall flat on it's face before long.

Northern Ireland is more polarised than ever, just like the UK as a whole. The DUP and Sinn Fein have wiped out their rivals and it's now a straight face off between the two. A united Ireland, much like an independent Scotland, seems inevitable, and it's a question of when, IMHO. Either or both may happen quite soon, or could be postponed for a generation, but at some point it will happen. Unionist seats are now confined to the three most-north easternly counties of Northern Ireland, with Sinn Fein pushing them back. The DUP will, of course, do everything they can to maintain the Union, but they're trying to hold back the tide; trying to prevent the inevitable.

09-06-2017, 04:56 PM
Northern Ireland is more polarised than ever, just like the UK as a whole. The DUP and Sinn Fein have wiped out their rivals and it's now a straight face off between the two. A united Ireland, much like an independent Scotland, seems inevitable, and it's a question of when, IMHO. Either or both may happen quite soon, or could be postponed for a generation, but at some point it will happen. Unionist seats are now confined to the three most-north easternly counties of Northern Ireland, with Sinn Fein pushing them back. The DUP will, of course, do everything they can to maintain the Union, but they're trying to hold back the tide; trying to prevent the inevitable.

That's not how I see it. The only inevitable thing I see about Irish reunification is an increase in violence and social unrest the closer it gets to becoming reality.

You do realise not all catholics vote for SF or SDLP and some would vote no to reunification in a border poll? Once the economic facts are laid bare in any pre-referendum campaign I'd expect a similar situation to Scotland in 2014 in that a lot of people won't vote for such uncertainty regardless of their background.

I'll be surprised if there's a border poll in the next 20 years and utterly astounded if there's reunification in my lifetime.

For some perspective on your 3 county comment, Antrim and Down alone make up over 60% of NI's population. While things have shifted I think they've reached a point where it will take generations before it goes any further.

Slavers
09-06-2017, 05:08 PM
Aye right, a party that's primary aim is to secure independence and has more seats in Holyrood than any other party and have more MPs in Westminster than all the other Scottish Parties combined is a fringe element of Scottish society.

Ok i maybe over egged the pudding with the extreme comments but its still fringe of Scottish Society who want another indy ref anytime soon. SNP got approx 35% of the vote cast, within that 35% there will be a good percentage who voted SNP but dont want an indy ref anytime soon. So when you boil it down to the people who want Scottish independence now and want the next indy ref ASAP then its definitely a fringe group when spoken about in terms of the over all population of people in Scotland.

09-06-2017, 05:13 PM
Ok i maybe over egged the pudding with the extreme comments but its still fringe of Scottish Society who want another indy ref anytime soon. SNP got approx 35% of the vote cast, within that 35% there will be a good percentage who voted SNP but dont want an indy ref anytime soon. So when you boil it down to the people who want Scottish independence now and want the next indy ref ASAP then its definitely a fringe group when spoken about in terms of the over all population of people in Scotland.

I'd wager there's more who voted Tory and Labour would like to vote Tory or Labour in an independent Scotland than there were SNP supporters who don't want independence, a lot more.

Slavers
09-06-2017, 05:21 PM
I'd wager there's more who voted Tory and Labour would like to vote Tory or Labour in an independent Scotland than there were SNP supporters who don't want independence, a lot more.

I'm not so sure about that. 1/3 of SNP supporters voted for Brexit and have said they prefer the UK to the EU.

09-06-2017, 05:22 PM
That's not how I see it. The only inevitable thing I see about Irish reunification is an increase in violence and social unrest the closer it gets to becoming reality.

You do realise not all catholics vote for SF or SDLP and some would vote no to reunification in a border poll? Once the economic facts are laid bare in any pre-referendum campaign I'd expect a similar situation to Scotland in 2014 in that a lot of people won't vote for such uncertainty regardless of their background.

I'll be surprised if there's a border poll in the next 20 years and utterly astounded if there's reunification in my lifetime.

For some perspective on your 3 county comment, Antrim and Down alone make up over 60% of NI's population. While things have shifted I think they've reached a point where it will take generations before it goes any further.

Some good points in your post, Mr White, but I think you're being pessimistic. Yesterday's election was the first time since the creation of Northern Ireland in 1922 that unionist parties won less than half the vote. Nationalist/Republican parties, particularly Sinn Fein, are the growing sections. I take you point entirely that not all Catholics would support a united Ireland, but this isn't about religion to me. Not every Protestant is a staunch unionist either. Even under the first past the post election for Westminster, Sinn Fein now have seven of Northern Ireland's eighteen seats, and even won a seat from the Ulster Unionists yesterday. I genuinely feel the end of partition is closer than at any time since its creation. How close isn't certain, you're right; but it will happen at some stage and democracy can't be overturned by loyalist mobs. They are the ones who have always demanded the 'majority view' be respected, and they would have to abide by that. The devolved assembly needs to be re-established asap and the social problems worked upon properly again. The progressive vision for Northern Ireland simply isn't being addressed by unionism at the moment, and I think younger voters will increasingly turn away from them until they offer a modern face. The momentum is with us (people of all views who want to see partition end), but there's more work ahead :agree:

09-06-2017, 05:30 PM
What I don't buy is this faux outrage from the opposition parties that the Tories are daring to form a new government. It might have been a dismal outcome for May, and while I can't see her remaining Tory leader in the long term her party did still win by far the most seats and are easily the best placed to secure a majority through cross-party agreement. With the Sinn Fein MPs not taking up their seats there's even a little extra room for getting legislation through.

As the government in power before the election they are entitled to 'first dibs' at forming a new administration. Not even Labour, SNP, Lib Dem and Green seats combined could get close to a majority, so other than stepping aside on some sort of moral ground, what were the government supposed to do? In fact, while it was before my time I'm sure the Labour (Callaghan?) government of the mid 70s soldiered on as a minority government for a number of years, while I definitely remember John Major's Tories being in a minority by the time Blair swept them out of power.

Who's to say 'compromise' government might not be a better way forward, especially when it comes to Brexit? Whether they can make it work remains to be seen, but the thought of yet ANOTHER call to the ballot box any time soon is a wearying one.

Whatever happens, the PM should be raising a quiet glass to those who secured 13 Tory seats in Scotland. Without them, even this unsatisfactory way forward wouldn't have been feasible.

09-06-2017, 05:33 PM
Some good points in your post, Mr White, but I think you're being pessimistic. Yesterday's election was the first time since the creation of Northern Ireland in 1922 that unionist parties won less than half the vote. Nationalist/Republican parties, particularly Sinn Fein, are the growing sections. I take you point entirely that not all Catholics would support a united Ireland, but this isn't about religion to me. Not every Protestant is a staunch unionist either. Even under the first past the post election for Westminster, Sinn Fein now have seven of Northern Ireland's eighteen seats, and even won a seat from the Ulster Unionists yesterday. I genuinely feel the end of partition is closer than at any time since its creation. How close isn't certain, you're right; but it will happen at some stage and democracy can't be overturned by loyalist mobs. They are the ones who have always demanded the 'majority view' be respected, and they would have to abide by that. The devolved assembly needs to be re-established asap and the social problems worked upon properly again. The progressive vision for Northern Ireland simply isn't being addressed by unionism at the moment, and I think younger voters will increasingly turn away from them until they offer a modern face. The momentum is with us (people of all views who want to see partition end), but there's more work ahead :agree:

Younger voters will, in many regions, vote the way their parents do if they bother at all. It wouldn't just be loyalist mobs we'd be talking about either. Once those ones start chucking petrol bombs and rioting then there'll be one's from the other side gleefully taking the opportunity to do the same. The slogan "prepared for peace, ready for war" sends a chill through me every time I see it on a mural or a gable end.

I agree about the assembly and your point about unionism failing NI just now. I'd love to see the alliance party get a bigger share of the vote as it involves people from both sides who just want to get on with making the best of what's here. Sadly your point about the polarisation and division that exists right throughout the UK just now means it's unlikely that APNI will have much of a voice any time soon.

09-06-2017, 05:41 PM
Younger voters will, in many regions, vote the way their parents do if they bother at all. It wouldn't just be loyalist mobs we'd be talking about either. Once those ones start chucking petrol bombs and rioting then there'll be one's from the other side gleefully taking the opportunity to do the same. The slogan "prepared for peace, ready for war" sends a chill through me every time I see it on a mural or a gable end.

I agree about the assembly and your point about unionism failing NI just now. I'd love to see the alliance party get a bigger share of the vote as it involves people from both sides who just want to get on with making the best of what's here. Sadly your point about the polarisation and division that exists right throughout the UK just now means it's unlikely that APNI will have much of a voice any time soon.

The Alliance Party have done some excellent work down the years, trying to break the tribal bonds that exist in such a divided society. Hopefully there's a still a place for them, and the SDLP too. Northern Ireland needs those voices.

09-06-2017, 05:49 PM

Gone? I'll agree with you twice.
Aye, right.

09-06-2017, 05:51 PM
What I don't buy is this faux outrage from the opposition parties that the Tories are daring to form a new government.

Circumstances.

May chose to go for a GE for purely tactical reasons in her own self-interest.

She said she wanted to bring the country together but her campaign was designed for pro-Brexit English voters and no one else. She is lucky that she had a good campaigner in Scotland to do her own thing .

Voters have punished her for her cynicism, her refusal to be straight with the electorate, and of course disaffection with living standards, public services etc.

She wanted a big majority. She said, repeatedly, that if she lost just 6 seats Corbyn would be in no.10 at the head of a coalition of chaos.

She has failed on every measure. She is now giving us a coalition of chaos of her own.

No wonder people are angry.

09-06-2017, 05:53 PM
Circumstances.

She said she wanted to bring the country together but her campaign was designed for pro-Brexit English voters and no one else. She is lucky that she had a good campaigner in Scotland to do her own thing .

Voters have punished her for her cynicism, her refusal to be straight with the electorate, and of course disaffection with living standards, public services etc.

She wanted a big majority. She said, repeatedly, that if she lost just 6 seats Corbyn would be in no.10 at the head of a coalition of chaos.

She has failed on every measure. She is now giving us a coalition of chaos of her own.

Do you think May can ride this out ? Her position is surely untenable now after such a crushing defeat :confused:

09-06-2017, 05:57 PM
Circumstances.

Added to that the accusations that Corbyn is a territorist sympathiser for meeting with Sinn Fein to try to bring peace to NI when May's jumping into bed with a party that's got some very questioning issues past and present.

09-06-2017, 05:57 PM
Do you think May can ride this out ? Her position is surely untenable now after such a crushing defeat :confused:

She's a sitting duck. The plotting will have already started. It will be interesting to see whether the Tory rivals strike early or bide their time, due to the Brexit negotiations.

09-06-2017, 06:03 PM
She's a sitting duck. The plotting will have already started. It will be interesting to see whether the Tory rivals strike early or bide their time, due to the Brexit negotiations.

Stealth attack by Boris :greengrin

09-06-2017, 06:07 PM

Agreed, I can't see any way she can remain in place long-term. As you say, though, with the Brexit negotiations just days away it's hard to imagine the Tories will want to throw a leadership contest into the mix quite so soon. I'm guessing she'll be granted a 'caretaker' role to try and move things on from the election before the challenge is issued.

09-06-2017, 06:09 PM
Added to that the accusations that Corbyn is a territorist sympathiser for meeting with Sinn Fein to try to bring peace to NI when May's jumping into bed with a party that's got some very questioning issues past and present.

WM no longer impartial in N.I. Sin Feinn will not sit at the table now. Peace process over. Back to the 60's...

09-06-2017, 06:17 PM
WM no longer impartial in N.I. Sin Feinn will not sit at the table now. Peace process over. Back to the 60's...

If the government starts playing fast and loose with the Irish peace process in order to keep the DUP happy, the backlash will be furious. May must walk a very thin tightrope.

11-06-2017, 08:07 AM
On Andrew Marr's show this morning Jeremy Corbyn is there to stake his claim for PM and Michael Fallon is there to represent Theresa May.

She's not doing herself any favours by continuing to hide behind someone else.

11-06-2017, 08:11 AM
On Andrew Marr's show this morning Jeremy Corbyn is there to stake his claim for PM and Michael Fallon is there to represent Theresa May.

George Osborne obviously reads hibs.net as he's just said exactly the same thing :greengrin

11-06-2017, 08:14 AM
He's certainly feeling vindicated!

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-06-2017, 08:55 AM

I think JC needs to be careful not to overplay his hand. He should, imo be setting himself as PM in waiting for the potential collapse, but not being seen to precipitate it - he needs to remember that despite the terrible flaws amd May's dismal campaign, he still lost by arpund 60 seats.

Mr Grieves
11-06-2017, 09:46 AM
George Osborne obviously reads hibs.net as he's just said exactly the same thing :greengrin

He didn't hold back!

Mr Grieves
11-06-2017, 09:53 AM
I think JC needs to be careful not to overplay his hand. He should, imo be setting himself as PM in waiting for the potential collapse, but not being seen to precipitate it - he needs to remember that despite the terrible flaws amd May's dismal campaign, he still lost by arpund 60 seats.

First opinion poll since the election, by one of the few companies to call it right, has got labour on 45% and the tories on 39%. I think Corbyn will be quite happy for it to fall apart and another election called

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
11-06-2017, 10:41 AM
First opinion poll since the election, by one of the few companies to call it right, has got labour on 45% and the tories on 39%. I think Corbyn will be quite happy for it to fall apart and another election called

Maybe, but my point is if the electorate blame him, it might not go so well. Im not saying he wouldnt want it, just that he should let it happen by the tories, not be seen to try too hard bring it down.

11-06-2017, 05:57 PM
Michael Gove sniffing about Number 10. Wonder what cabinet post he's getting ?

11-06-2017, 10:16 PM

environment

Mr Grieves
11-06-2017, 11:05 PM
environment

He'll get on well with his new DUP chums.

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2013/may/02/michael-gove-climate-change-curriculum?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Messaging

Mr Grieves
11-06-2017, 11:10 PM
Maybe, but my point is if the electorate blame him, it might not go so well. Im not saying he wouldnt want it, just that he should let it happen by the tories, not be seen to try too hard bring it down.

You're probably right. There's so much pressure on May from within her own party and the media, Corbyn should sit back and smoke a fine Cuban cigar.

12-06-2017, 01:16 AM

He didn't hold back!

I'm starting to warm to Gideon. Hardly surprising he didn't hold back after the way May treated him.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-06-2017, 05:27 AM
I'm starting to warm to Gideon. Hardly surprising he didn't hold back after the way May treated him.

Without sounding all michael corleone, its an age-old maxim that its better to keep your political enemies in fhe cabinet, where they are bound bt collective responsibility.

This is a good example why!!

12-06-2017, 06:36 AM
Without sounding all michael corleone, its an age-old maxim that its better to keep your political enemies in fhe cabinet, where they are bound bt collective responsibility.

This is a good example why!!

Yep keep your friends close, keep your enemies closer.

12-06-2017, 11:51 AM
Govey Ding.
He's as welcome as a two week old kipper.

12-06-2017, 12:33 PM
So apparently a queens speech has beewn delayed? Can someone that is clued up give me a quick breakdown of the current situation please. Has may already been to request a queens speech? if so does that mean she'll already have a deal in place with the DUP? What would cause a delay in a queens speech? What could happen next? Cheers. Some of all this gets a bit lost on me.

12-06-2017, 12:37 PM
So apparently a queens speech has beewn delayed? Can someone that is clued up give me a quick breakdown of the current situation please. Has may already been to request a queens speech? if so does that mean she'll already have a deal in place with the DUP? What would cause a delay in a queens speech? What could happen next? Cheers. Some of all this gets a bit lost on me.
i'm guessing its down to the Tories having to change or water down certain parts of their manifesto pledges to appease back benchers and of course the DUP.

12-06-2017, 12:45 PM
i'm guessing its down to the Tories having to change or water down certain parts of their manifesto pledges to appease back benchers and of course the DUP.

Vellum takes a week to dry apparently.

Bizarrely this seems to be a real issue.

12-06-2017, 01:26 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-40249433

12-06-2017, 02:02 PM
https://youtu.be/Fg-Daua31ts

12-06-2017, 02:55 PM
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/ruth-davidson-interview-dup-gay-rights-scottish-conservatives-channel-4-news-a7785526.html

loves being the aggressor but cant handle it when defending her own party.

12-06-2017, 03:18 PM
Tory bedfellows?

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/orange-order-portadown-northern-ireland-dup-use-banned-drumcree-march-negotiations-with-theresa-may-a7785026.html

Sorry on phone so probably not clickable until someone quotes it :-/

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

12-06-2017, 03:30 PM
Tory bedfellows?

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/orange-order-portadown-northern-ireland-dup-use-banned-drumcree-march-negotiations-with-theresa-may-a7785026.html

It's worrying. The Irish peace process can't be bargained away, in order to prop up Theresa May. The British government is meant to play an impartial role in that process, yet now has an agreement with the most hardline party within unionism. The craven Tory press are silent on the issue of the Tories in cahoots with a party that has some very dodgy past connections to terrorism, but was relentless in attacking Corbyn as pro-IRA. It's the usual hypocrisy.

12-06-2017, 03:34 PM
It's worrying. The Irish peace process can't be bargained away, in order to prop up Theresa May. The British government is meant to play an impartial role in that process, yet now has an agreement with the most hardline party within unionism. The craven Tory press are silent on the issue of the Tories in cahoots with a party that has some very dodgy past connections to terrorism, but was relentless in attacking Corbyn as pro-IRA. It's the usual hypocrisy.

As I understand it, the GFA is a treaty that is recognised by, and lodged with, the UN. Breaking it by showing partiality would therefore be a breach of international law.

12-06-2017, 03:44 PM
As I understand it, the GFA is a treaty that is recognised by, and lodged with, the UN. Breaking it by showing partiality would therefore be a breach of international law.

I think that is the case, CWG.

At this time, when the devolved assembly is suspended, it's critical that the peace process is handled sensitively. This arrangement with DUP must, in of itself, call the government's role as a neutral facilitator into question. Parliament has a responsibility to hold the government to account on this, and to be scrupulous in its monitoring of the situation. We can't have the peace process put at risk for the sake of Westminster mathematics.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
12-06-2017, 04:31 PM
Agree, they are playing with fire. They need to get the assembly up amd running again pronto, or you could effectively have 'direct rule' with the DUP feeding into that direct rule via the backdoor, not a tenable position for sinn fein i imagine.

12-06-2017, 10:07 PM
Theresa May tries to win over the DUP

https://youtu.be/-eO2aaEj1bY

13-06-2017, 08:17 AM
Heard Lord Trimble on radio this morning arguing that DUP would be reasonable in requesting that overseas funding of political parties be banned as it would bring NI in line with the rest of the UK. This would directly affect Sinn Fein who receive most of their funding from North America. I hope someone asks him how they will feel about falling into line on LGBT rights, gay marriage and abortion.

13-06-2017, 09:52 AM
Tory bedfellows?

What next? Mandatory flute lessons in all Schools?

High-On-Hibs
13-06-2017, 12:38 PM
Lost count of the number of tories on the BBC yesterday repeating the line that they "have a lot in common with the DUP". You'd think that be something they'd want to be keeping quiet about. But instead, they're loud and proud about it.

13-06-2017, 06:57 PM
Maybot is at the England game tonight. :greengrin

13-06-2017, 07:04 PM
Theresa May tries to win over the DUP

https://youtu.be/-eO2aaEj1bY

Very good. Had me looking up the old Mason Boyne clips on YouTube.

13-06-2017, 07:15 PM
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/ruth-davidson-interview-dup-gay-rights-scottish-conservatives-channel-4-news-a7785526.html

loves being the aggressor but cant handle it when defending her own party.

:agree: noticed her time again with so much hatred and bitterness in her very angry face....and that's just beein in Holyrood, and didn't like talking about her showers manifesto either....independance independance independance

13-06-2017, 09:51 PM
The May-DUP coalition.

Aby mileage in that one?

13-06-2017, 10:12 PM
Did Alex Salmond not say the SNP could work with the DUP back on 2014? Obviously it never materialised but sure he said he was open to working with the DUP.

13-06-2017, 10:22 PM
Did Alex Salmond not say the SNP could work with the DUP back on 2014? Obviously it never materialised but sure he said he was open to working with the DUP.
Or Sinn Fein

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-30424810/alex-salmond-snp-could-work-with-sinn-fein-or-dup

The big difference is that it wouldn't have broken the terms of the GFA.

13-06-2017, 10:27 PM
Or Sinn Fein

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-30424810/alex-salmond-snp-could-work-with-sinn-fein-or-dup

The big difference is that it wouldn't have broken the terms of the GFA.

True, but there have been a lot of snidey comments about the Torys working with the DUP, when the SNP leader at the time was quite happy to do exactly the same.

14-06-2017, 05:24 AM
True, but there have been a lot of snidey comments about the Torys working with the DUP, when the SNP leader at the time was quite happy to do exactly the same.
Most politicians would do pacts with the Devil IMO. But playing with the NI peace process is a step further.....

19-06-2017, 05:28 PM
Another Tory loser, Ian Duncan, getting looked after. The electorate have just given him the second prize, but it seems he's on his way to the Lords, and the "Scotland" office.

https://politicalscrapbook.net/2017/06/ian-duncan-another-tory-election-loser-going-to-the-lords-as-a-taxpayer-funded-consolation-prize/

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
19-06-2017, 08:16 PM
Another Tory loser, Ian Duncan, getting looked after. The electorate have just given him the second prize, but it seems he's on his way to the Lords, and the "Scotland" office.

https://politicalscrapbook.net/2017/06/ian-duncan-another-tory-election-loser-going-to-the-lords-as-a-taxpayer-funded-consolation-prize/

Yeah the SNP would never do this would they...

What is stewart maxwell, ex-MSP up to these days again?

19-06-2017, 08:40 PM
Yeah the SNP would never do this would they...

What is stewart maxwell, ex-MSP up to these days again?

:tee hee: Ye canny help yersel.

Thread about the Tories, and you've got to mention the SNP. You're like Ruth or Kezia constantly banging on about Indyref2.:greengrin

Name me one SNP Lord. Go on.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-06-2017, 05:36 AM
:tee hee: Ye canny help yersel.

Thread about the Tories, and you've got to mention the SNP. You're like Ruth or Kezia constantly banging on about Indyref2.:greengrin

Name me one SNP Lord. Go on.

I just like pointing out your party's hypocrisy.

No lords, but the 70k plus salary for 'special adviser' Stewart Maxwell at the taxpayers expense, seems a similar thing. He too was rejected by the people wasnt he?

Im not defending the use of lords, just pointing out that the SNP accusing anyonr else of cronyism is so rich, it is laughable.

20-06-2017, 08:57 AM

No lords, but the 70k plus salary for 'special adviser' Stewart Maxwell at the taxpayers expense, seems a similar thing. He too was rejected by the people wasnt he?

Im not defending the use of lords, just pointing out that the SNP accusing anyonr else of cronyism is so rich, it is laughable.
The master of diversion.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-06-2017, 10:57 AM
The master of diversion.

I think context is extremely important in any discussion

20-06-2017, 11:26 AM

You miss the point again.

He's having to become a Lord, to get the job in the Scottish office.

Tory enabler strikes again.:wink:

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-06-2017, 03:12 PM
You miss the point again.

He's having to become a Lord, to get the job in the Scottish office.

Tory enabler strikes again.:wink:

Which is a perfectly legitimate use of the system as it is just now.

20-06-2017, 04:06 PM
Had he won Perth and north Perthshire he would be in the house of commons but because he failed he is 'elevated' to the house of lords. It may be how the system is just now but it's clear the system is flawed.

20-06-2017, 04:10 PM
The master of diversion.

Defender of the Tories.

20-06-2017, 04:32 PM
Which is a perfectly legitimate use of the system as it is just now.

It doesn't make it right though. The Tories have just had 12 MP's elected, why can't they do the job, they're rather partial to doing 2 or 3 jobs at a time.:greengrin

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-06-2017, 04:33 PM
Had he won Perth and north Perthshire he would be in the house of commons but because he failed he is 'elevated' to the house of lords. It may be how the system is just now but it's clear the system is flawed.

Agree it is pretty flawed.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-06-2017, 04:35 PM
It doesn't make it right though. The Tories have just had 12 MP's elected, why can't they do the job, they're rather partial to doing 2 or 3 jobs at a time.:greengrin

Well actually, it does make it right!!

Its not a system i love, but to slate one party for doing something all parties (except snp, granted) do seems a bit unfair and a gratuitous attack.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
20-06-2017, 04:37 PM
Defender of the Tories.

Ill defend the tories if i think they are right, and ill try amd bring balance where the attacks are unwarranted imo.

Personally would prefer party politics was left out of this board.

20-06-2017, 04:39 PM

On a related point, why do Tory politicians bang on about hard working families all the time despite most of whom have never done a proper day's work in their lives?

20-06-2017, 04:45 PM
Well actually, it does make it right!!

Its not a system i love, but to slate one party for doing something all parties (except snp, granted) do seems a bit unfair and a gratuitous attack.

It's an attack on the system, it's just that the Tories us it to their benefit more than most, and that's why they were attacked. (Michelle Mone). I've attacked Labour in the past for not reforming the HOL in the past too, but as this thread is about the TORIES, and not the SNP or Labour, they got it.

20-06-2017, 04:46 PM
On a related point, why do Tory politicians bang on about hard working families all the time despite most of whom have never done a proper day's work in their lives?

Soundbites will come back to haunt them. Strong and Stable my erse.:greengrin

20-06-2017, 08:47 PM

The same hard working families they have hit with tax credit cuts and cuts to the public services they need. The Tories' real friends of course are the top earners, particularly the top one per cent; those who simply make money from money in property and investments and who don't need to work hard. Those who then pass on enormous unearned wealth to the next generation. It's a rigged system, where accident of birth is still the main determinant of one's life chances.

20-06-2017, 10:16 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DCw6ATsWsAAobGF.jpg

Surely we need state funded elections, to prevent democracy being bought. We've had cash for access scandals before. Another thing I want to see is MPs being banned from having second jobs. The SNP figure is a surprise: only £63,000 of donations to produce a general election campaign.

20-06-2017, 10:34 PM

:agree: A couple of months at the coal face would have done them the world of good.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
21-06-2017, 06:03 AM

Surely we need state funded elections, to prevent democracy being bought. We've had cash for access scandals before. Another thing I want to see is MPs being banned from having second jobs. The SNP figure is a surprise: only £63,000 of donations to produce a general election campaign.

There have been a few stories about the SNP losing a few of their big donors - i dont think sturgeon is as charming at that sort of thing as salmond was.

If not state funding, then at least some serious monitoring and campaign limiting, we dont want to go down the US route.

21-06-2017, 06:21 AM

Isn't this just what was donated during the campaign period? The total spend by each party during the election would be more relevant.

Slavers
21-06-2017, 06:37 AM
Ill defend the tories if i think they are right, and ill try amd bring balance where the attacks are unwarranted imo.

Personally would prefer party politics was left out of this board.

Keep exposing the hypocrisy! It's a dirty Job but someone has to do it and you do it well!

The name calling shows you are hitting the bone!

21-06-2017, 12:34 PM
Keep exposing the hypocrisy! It's a dirty Job but someone has to do it and you do it well!

The name calling shows you are hitting the bone!

Tories and democracy, don't you just love them

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-40353318

Defeated at an election = promoted to the House of Lords

Next on the 'list' to replace 'Lord' Duncan passed over for someone lower on the list because she opposed Ruth Davidson.

You couldn't make it up

21-06-2017, 02:25 PM
£2Bn deal to form the #MayDUP government

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-politics-40347632

21-06-2017, 07:45 PM
£2Bn deal to form the #MayDUP government

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-politics-40347632

Barnett consequentials will be interesting, depending on whether the deal is open and transparent. We're dealing with Tories and the Dup though.

21-06-2017, 10:14 PM
That photo of the Grufallo and the Maybot would put you off any scran.

22-06-2017, 10:20 AM
Boris making a hash of this one...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-40358825/boris-johnson-struggles-in-interview

22-06-2017, 10:28 AM
Boris making a hash of this one...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-40358825/boris-johnson-struggles-in-interview

Eddie Mair got a good question off there to be fair, unfortunately the Queens Speech was so lacking in substance that Boris was forced into doing a Diane Abbott.

22-06-2017, 03:26 PM
Tories lose a case in the High court re their benefits cap. :greengrin

Single parents with a child under two have won a court challenge as they face "real misery" from the government's benefits cap.
A High Court judge said the cap was not intended to cover such households, had "no good purpose", and the failure to exempt them was discriminatory.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-40367686

High-On-Hibs
22-06-2017, 05:16 PM
Tories lose a case in the High court re their benefits cap. :greengrin

Single parents with a child under two have won a court challenge as they face "real misery" from the government's benefits cap.
A High Court judge said the cap was not intended to cover such households, had "no good purpose", and the failure to exempt them was discriminatory.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-40367686

No doubt one of their flagship brexit policies will be to do away with that current pesky, obstrutive court system.

High-On-Hibs
22-06-2017, 06:34 PM
Just watching Channel 4 news. Tories apparently were paying call centres to contact people to get them to turn out and vote tory! :grr: (Silence on this is deafening from Sky News, BBC and the usual suspects)

22-06-2017, 06:40 PM
Just watching Channel 4 news. Tories apparently were paying call centres to contact people to get them to turn out and vote tory! :grr: (Silence on this is deafening from Sky News, BBC and the usual suspects)

It is banned? Why should this be all over the news as you suggest?

Maybe the SNP should have thought of that as well after their massive drop in voting share.

High-On-Hibs
22-06-2017, 06:43 PM

Maybe the SNP should have thought of that as well after their massive drop in voting share.

It's illegal. That's why the SNP, Labour, the Liberal Democrats, the Greens.... etc, never thought of it. Not only is it illegal, it's highly expensive and something only the tories would have the available funding to do.

22-06-2017, 07:01 PM
It's illegal. That's why the SNP, Labour, the Liberal Democrats, the Greens.... etc, never thought of it. Not only is it illegal, it's highly expensive and something only the tories would have the available funding to do.

My apologies, if it is illegal then they should face appropriate action.

22-06-2017, 07:13 PM

Just watched the report.

Call centre in Neath. Tories get zero hour contract workers to canvass even on Election day. Independent expert watching the report says, its electioneering and not market research.

The owner of the call centre tells the worker just to tell people they're in Cardiff. WTF

They were caught with the battle buses, and so have moved to call centres.

Tories, cheating their way to a minority government.

https://t.co/i8dOOylZq1

22-06-2017, 07:20 PM
Just watched the report.

Call centre in Neath. Tories get zero hour contract workers to canvass even on Election day. Independent expert watching the report says, its electioneering and not market research.

The owner of the call centre tells the worker just to tell people they're in Cardiff. WTF

They were caught with the battle buses, and so have moved to call centres.

Tories, cheating their way to a minority government.

Aye, I saw the report. Certainly needs an investigation. Add a canvassing scandal to the ongoing election spending scandal.

High-On-Hibs
22-06-2017, 07:43 PM
Aye, I saw the report. Certainly needs an investigation. Add a canvassing scandal to the ongoing election spending scandal.

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19149013_238838359944904_1487763741136635823_n.jpg ?oh=c3516b8f8ce3aedebf06773b8d3a5379&oe=59E8329E

Geez.... I really wonder how this one will go....

22-06-2017, 07:52 PM

Awkward times when you're so desperate to dive in and defend the Tories that you don't have time to know the facts.

22-06-2017, 07:54 PM
Awkward times when you're so desperate to dive in and defend the Tories that you don't have time to know the facts.

:tee hee::applause:

22-06-2017, 07:58 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/19149013_238838359944904_1487763741136635823_n.jpg ?oh=c3516b8f8ce3aedebf06773b8d3a5379&oe=59E8329E

It's been going on for a while.

https://t.co/czlMgvz7ns

22-06-2017, 08:11 PM

Well if you did read it then nothing has been proved and nobody is charged with anything, innocent until proven guilty. Awkward times when your willing to be judge and jury without knowing the facts.

22-06-2017, 08:13 PM
:tee hee::applause:

So what have they been charged with exactly? Anything yet?

22-06-2017, 08:20 PM

Couldn't agree more. Nothing will come of this, it's the way things are in this country.

22-06-2017, 08:20 PM
Well if you did read it then nothing has been proved and nobody is charged with anything, innocent until proven guilty. Awkward times when your willing to be judge and jury without knowing the facts.

Innocent until proven guilty but from the evidence against them and the opinions of legal experts it doesn't look great. Christ, the Conservative Party and the guy running the call centre can't even agree on what they were doing!

Do you not agree these allegations are newsworthy or would you rather they were swept under the rug?

22-06-2017, 08:26 PM
So what have they been charged with exactly? Anything yet?

Nothing...YET.

Have you viewed the report? If so, do you think charges need to be brought?

22-06-2017, 08:29 PM
Nothing...YET.

Have you viewed the report? If so, do you think charges need to be brought?

I am not an expert in the law surrounding elections so have no idea, are you?

22-06-2017, 08:30 PM
Innocent until proven guilty but from the evidence against them and the opinions of legal experts it doesn't look great. Christ, the Conservative Party and the guy running the call centre can't even agree on what they were doing!

Do you not agree these allegations are newsworthy or would you rather they were swept under the rug?
As I said, if guilty then appropriate action needs to be taken. Can't defend breaking the law.

22-06-2017, 08:34 PM
As I said, if guilty then appropriate action needs to be taken. Can't defend breaking the law.

Can't defend it? You suggested the SNP should have done it!

22-06-2017, 08:35 PM
I am not an expert in the law surrounding elections so have no idea, are you?

You've already been told, that what they were doing was Illegal. Don't you believe that?

Have you viewed the report?

22-06-2017, 08:41 PM
You've already been told, that what they were doing was Illegal. Don't you believe that?

Have you viewed the report?

Sorry never realised an official investigation had taken place and proved it was illegal, got the link?

Or you referring to the report from a CH4 news reporter?

High-On-Hibs
23-06-2017, 10:30 AM

Actually, if you had of watched it, you would have seen that there was clear video evidence of this going on. It's more a case of innocent WHEN proven guilty when it comes to the tories.

Mr Grieves
23-06-2017, 11:49 PM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/06/23/ruth-davidson-made-honorary-colonel-former-army-regiment/

A politician in combat gear, not in North Korea or Libya but Scotland in the year 2017. This is wrong on so many levels.

24-06-2017, 02:48 AM
Wow. Has this been all over the news like Diane Abbot?

https://youtu.be/EL2ajeCPvBY

24-06-2017, 06:58 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/06/23/ruth-davidson-made-honorary-colonel-former-army-regiment/

A politician in combat gear, not in North Korea or Libya but Scotland in the year 2017. This is wrong on so many levels.

I absolutely can't abide Ruth Davidson but how is this wrong on so many levels?

24-06-2017, 07:33 AM

I suppose she had to up her game, given the way the talks with the DUP are going.

Seriously though, what in the name of the wee man is she thinking about.

24-06-2017, 07:42 AM
I suppose she had to up her game, given the way the talks with the DUP are going.

Seriously though, what in the name of the wee man is she thinking about.

I don't see the problem. She's an ex-reservist. If more politicians had actually served in the Armed Forces then they might be more likely to think twice before deploying them.

24-06-2017, 07:57 AM
I don't see the problem. She's an ex-reservist. If more politicians had actually served in the Armed Forces then they might be more likely to think twice before deploying them.

24-06-2017, 08:22 AM

She looks like Brown Owl to me.

"I promise that I will do my best:
To be true to myself and develop my beliefs,
To serve the Queen and my community,
To help other Tories and
To keep the Brownie Guide Law".

24-06-2017, 08:25 AM

Politicians prancing about in fatigues, doesn't really float my boat. A company badge would have sufficed.

24-06-2017, 08:30 AM
She looks like Brown Owl to me.

"I promise that I will do my best:
To be true to myself and develop my beliefs,
To serve the Queen and my community,
To help other Tories and
To keep the Brownie Guide Law".

She does look like a sack of spuds tied round the middle and badly in need of some remedial PT but as it's only an honorary title that doesn't really mean anything.

24-06-2017, 08:46 AM
That picture of Davidshun will have The Rangers fans jumping for joy. Playing to the gallery.

Mr Grieves
24-06-2017, 08:48 AM

Davidson has politicised her past role in the army. She has used it in political attacks against her opponents as recently as the last general election campaign, and for the Army to give any kind of endorsement (however minor) may give the impression they support her views. The military should be party political neutral.

And a political leader strutting about in army fatigues is more befitting of a country ruled by a junta. It just doesn't sit right with me

24-06-2017, 09:55 AM
Davidson has politicised her past role in the army. She has used it in political attacks against her opponents as recently as the last general election campaign, and for the Army to give any kind of endorsement (however minor) may give the impression they support her views. The military should be party political neutral.

And a political leader strutting about in army fatigues is more befitting of a country ruled by a junta. It just doesn't sit right with me

Has she politicised it? I'm not so sure she has any more than somebody like Paddy Ashdown did with his service. She did make an obnoxious remark a couple of weeks ago about what she thought the attitude of 'all who have worn the uniform' would be to Corbyn but that could have come from any random Tory you care to mention.
The Army ain't endorsing Davidson or her views, if anything they are using a high profile figure to help publicise Armed Forces Day.

24-06-2017, 11:14 AM

The military is party political neutral. There are members of the military that align themselves with every party in the UK just like there are politicians from every party that have served in the military. Making comparisons with a junta is ludicrously wide of the mark.

24-06-2017, 03:05 PM

Oh aye just like a military junta leader right enough...

Maybe when she turns up to parliament in them and starts threatening iNicola that she'll have the troops on the street if she doesn't get her way you might be right. But until then I think you've taken this way too far in terms of making that analogy!

Mr Grieves
24-06-2017, 05:08 PM
Has she politicised it? I'm not so sure she has any more than somebody like Paddy Ashdown did with his service. She did make an obnoxious remark a couple of weeks ago about what she thought the attitude of 'all who have worn the uniform' would be to Corbyn but that could have come from any random Tory you care to mention.
The Army ain't endorsing Davidson or her views, if anything they are using a high profile figure to help publicise Armed Forces Day.

The Corbyn remarks were obnoxious, she fully exploited her military history to score political points IMO, and that's why I feel this honour is entirely inappropriate after an election campaign that was heavy on defence and security.

The military is party political neutral. There are members of the military that align themselves with every party in the UK just like there are politicians from every party that have served in the military. Making comparisons with a junta is ludicrously wide of the mark.

If this is a common thing and politicians from other parties have also been given honourary military titles I'll quite happily shut up.

Oh aye just like a military junta leader right enough...

Maybe when she turns up to parliament in them and starts threatening iNicola that she'll have the troops on the street if she doesn't get her way you might be right. But until then I think you've taken this way too far in terms of making that analogy!

I think you've misunderstood what was probably a poorly made point, but Is there any need in being so condescending?

High-On-Hibs
25-06-2017, 01:07 PM
Gave me a chuckle :greengrin

https://www.facebook.com/InsidersABC/videos/1276372979140874/

27-06-2017, 09:31 AM
These figures are from the Tories own 3rd May election literature 'The Cost of Chaos' showing Labours irresponsible election pledges, itemised...

Nationalising post office 0.8 billion
Carers allowance 0.54
Increased arts funding 0.37
Increased benefits for under 25yearolds 0.19
Extra 10,000 police 0.3
Nursery access for all 0.33
Advanced Research Agency 0.06
Abolishing capability assessment fees 0.01

DUP deal £1.5 billion. :hmmm:

27-06-2017, 11:13 AM
These figures are from the Tories own 3rd May election literature 'The Cost of Chaos' showing Labours irresponsible election pledges, itemised...

Nationalising post office 0.8 billion
Carers allowance 0.54
Increased arts funding 0.37
Increased benefits for under 25yearolds 0.19
Extra 10,000 police 0.3
Nursery access for all 0.33
Advanced Research Agency 0.06
Abolishing capability assessment fees 0.01

DUP deal £1.5 billion. :hmmm:

I'm not one to side with the Tories, but surely these are just examples of the smaller amounts involved and there are several other larger ones that would push the comparison of labours spending beyond the 1.5bn mark? I don't understand the reasoning/arguement behind this comparison.

27-06-2017, 11:19 AM
I'm not one to side with the Tories, but surely these are just examples of the smaller amounts involved and there are several other larger ones that would push the comparison of labours spending beyond the 1.5bn mark? I don't understand the reasoning/arguement behind this comparison.

The reasoning is, we were told there was no money for anything. We've been told this for the last 9 years. Now we see there is money for things if there is the necessary political will.

27-06-2017, 01:35 PM
The reasoning is, we were told there was no money for anything. We've been told this for the last 9 years. Now we see there is money for things if there is the necessary political will.

Were we not told there was no money for "everything"? Happy to be proved wrong though.

Is this 1bn extra NI are receiving or is this instead of the investment they would usually get? I'm not really sure how much NI and other parts of the UK would usually receive from Westminster.

27-06-2017, 02:27 PM
Were we not told there was no money for "everything"? Happy to be proved wrong though.

Is this 1bn extra NI are receiving or is this instead of the investment they would usually get? I'm not really sure how much NI and other parts of the UK would usually receive from Westminster.

Stop, and think about it.

DUP support the government because NI is not getting anything they wouldn't be getting anyway ? or DUP support because they have just robbed the government of £1Bn?

Guess what the correct answer is. :rolleyes:

27-06-2017, 02:58 PM
Stop, and think about it.

DUP support the government because NI is not getting anything they wouldn't be getting anyway ? or DUP support because they have just robbed the government of £1Bn?

Guess what the correct answer is. :rolleyes:
They're not the 2 options though. Maybe they usually get 500m? If it's an infrastructure project, was it something they'd have got down the line? How does the NI budget per head compare to Scotland/Wales and what does an extra 1bn do to that?

Either way, let's assume you're right - as you probably are tbh, I was just playing devil's advocate a tad and finding out more about the actual pay off.

I still think that the initial comparison of things posted is misleading, as it wasn't just these things being promised.

High-On-Hibs
27-06-2017, 03:10 PM
They're not the 2 options though. Maybe they usually get 500m? If it's an infrastructure project, was it something they'd have got down the line? How does the NI budget per head compare to Scotland/Wales and what does an extra 1bn do to that?

Either way, let's assume you're right - as you probably are tbh, I was just playing devil's advocate a tad and finding out more about the actual pay off.

I still think that the initial comparison of things posted is misleading, as it wasn't just these things being promised.

They usually get 500 million, but this is 1 billion over and above.

27-06-2017, 03:14 PM

It's already higher than both:
https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/styles/story_medium/public/thumbnails/image/2017/06/26/17/expenditure.jpg

27-06-2017, 06:12 PM
It's already higher than both:
https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/styles/story_medium/public/thumbnails/image/2017/06/26/17/expenditure.jpg

They usually get 500 million, but this is 1 billion over and above.

Going by the above, they start off with significantly more than that. But an extra billion is certainly going to be a significant windfall regardless.

Slavers
27-06-2017, 06:55 PM
1bn is a small price to pay to keep Corbin out of power!

27-06-2017, 07:10 PM
1bn is a small price to pay to keep Corbin out of power!

But it doesn't even do that. She had an effective majority as she could have counted on the DUP supporting most of her initiatives anyway without this nonsensical agreement, which costs money, exposes the fraud of austerity and threatens the hard-won peace in Ireland. Totally unnecessary and shows her ineptitude for political tactics. She is the Colin Calderwood of PMs.