View Full Version : Pray For Cathro (The Ian Cathro Laffathon - Merged Threads)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6]

01-08-2017, 02:08 PM
I'm fine with this.

Firestarter
01-08-2017, 02:09 PM
Delightful. In house carnage awaits.

01-08-2017, 02:09 PM
Not really. Cathro didn't represent every progressive manager there is out there. He's one coach that wasn't up to it, if there's someone good enough then they'll still get their chance somewhere.

I don't think so. Teams are still employing the same old assembly line managers, with the Sfa Largs coaching handbook under one arm. Being pals with the BBC sport sound team is also a bonus. I'm under no illusions that Cathro was anything else but a ***** man manager but he clearly represented a break from the past.

01-08-2017, 02:12 PM
Just sign Stokes and thats another Elvis for him to do one on.

01-08-2017, 02:14 PM
Tommy Wright said before Caxinha (sp?) took over at ranger he had no desires to leave St Johnstone at the present time and any contact from them would be a short conversation.
Even with their recent financial history and failings I dont see Wright taking the hearts job 6 month after ruling himself out of the bigger and better paid job at the huns.

Wright will head down south I would image when he feels the time is right for himAn old fans favourite to return?https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170801/58e6834755d168cfa4726ab0e45620d4.jpg

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

01-08-2017, 02:19 PM
I wonder if those who wanted him at Hibs, had their eyes painted on, as he's never management material, and clearly daft as a brush.

You don't need to say 200 words when 20 will do, anyone who's ever had anything to do with football will know, players need to know clear and concise instructions.

That man is incapable of that.

If people are going to criticise the old guard of managers, they do have to put someone up who's better, and Cathro was their new man, the new guy with new ideas.

I'd rather Cathro than Lennon.

Well, that went well. :faf:

Morganleith
01-08-2017, 02:21 PM
Looks like he's away to Wolves so they might not be paying any compensation.
I'd imagine they'll go for Presley or Hartley which could be a laugh

01-08-2017, 02:23 PM
Hope so - he's an 'Elmer !

01-08-2017, 02:23 PM
Reality seems to be kicking in at Tiny. Post today from brokeback:

Posted Today, 10:02

A team of players you haven't picked to gel together in a week, 4 away games on the bounce to start with and a now disgruntled squad, possibility that leveins breathing on your neck every step and the biggest whineing fans around. Only an idiot or a desperate nobody is gonna take the job. Jobs got nothing going for it.

:lolyam:

01-08-2017, 02:25 PM
He'd get them fired up for the derby no doubt but if that's all they care about then it's a bit of a small time attitude. He's done nothing in any of his previous jobs to justify being favourite for such a job. So, with all that in mind: good. Hope they get him.

01-08-2017, 02:28 PM
I don't think so. Teams are still employing the same old assembly line managers, with the Sfa Largs coaching handbook under one arm. Being pals with the BBC sport sound team is also a bonus. I'm under no illusions that Cathro was anything else but a ***** man manager but he clearly represented a break from the past.

So would employing a myopic wombat and it would be a rotten manager as well. Scottish football might need change but those changes have to have one foot in the past : a traditional type of manager i.e. someone with experience out on the pitch.

Cathro didn't have any authority as he has never kicked a ball in his puff. You can have all the new ideas in the world but without carrying some authority no-one will listen to or trust them.

01-08-2017, 02:30 PM
In amongst all the hilarity, it is a sad day for Scottish football as a whole. Cathro was trying something new and progressive and failed. He clearly has a lot of good ideas but can't convey them to other people.

See I just dont exactly see WHAT this new innovation was. No evidence on the park of new system being deployed (as far as could see anyway) , the players he brought in were average at best, couldnt even do the basics and they lacked any sense of unity as a group.

Maybe he was just a bad pick who talked a better game than he delivered?

01-08-2017, 02:32 PM
Reality seems to be kicking in at Tiny. Post today from brokeback:

Posted Today, 10:02

A team of players you haven't picked to gel together in a week, 4 away games on the bounce to start with and a now disgruntled squad, possibility that leveins breathing on your neck every step and the biggest whineing fans around. Only an idiot or a desperate nobody is gonna take the job. Jobs got nothing going for it.

:lolyam:

Mr Levein will see you now:

https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1779279545/LloydChristmas_crop_340x234.gif

01-08-2017, 02:33 PM
I recall a lot of seething among the yams when Boyd put the boot into their new boss, but to read his views again now he was proved absolutely right:

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/259062/rookie-gaffer-ian-cathro-is-a-huge-gamble-for-hearts/

01-08-2017, 02:33 PM
So would employing a myopic wombat and it would be a rotten manager as well. Scottish football might need change but those changes have to have one foot in the past : a traditional type of manager i.e. someone with experience out on the pitch.

Cathro didn't have any authority as he has never kicked a ball in his puff. You can have all the new ideas in the world but without carrying some authority no-one will listen to or trust them.

Some of the best managers in the world haven't played to any great level however to do so and get the respect of players you need to be brilliant in terms of coaching and man management not sure Cathro has that. Would have made more sense a more experienced assistant also.

High-On-Hibs
01-08-2017, 02:34 PM
Trust Hearts to go for a basement bargain.

01-08-2017, 02:35 PM

See I just dont exactly see WHAT this new innovation was. No evidence on the park of new system being deployed (as far as could see anyway) , the players he brought in were average at best, couldnt even do the basics and they lacked any sense of unity as a group.

I don't think you need to have kicked a ball to carry authority.

And I thought that Cathro's biggest problem was that he couldn't talk a good game.

His communications skills appeared to be dreadful, certainly the way he communicated with the media was very poor indeed.

I do think that there is room for a fresh approach, I do think that someone can be a success without an illustrious playing career behind them and I do think that a young manager could be a success.

Ian Cathro was not that man.

He may yet be a very good coach, he may come back stronger from this experience.

But with hindsight his appointment was utter lunacy.

Levein will be devastated, as he thought very highly of him.

01-08-2017, 02:37 PM
Whit? I didn't even know. Terrible news; the man is a Hibs legend. I wish him all the best.

01-08-2017, 02:39 PM

It's obvious that he was successful at bringing on young players. Evidenced by what he did at Dundee Utd with Ryan Gauld et al. Hes been successful with the box soccer concept about concentrating on ball skills, ball retention etc. So what we are looking at is someone who is a proven Coach, who has failed at making the step to Manager. Because the jobs are completely different.

01-08-2017, 02:41 PM
I recall a lot of seething among the yams when Boyd put the boot into their new boss, but to read his views again now he was proved absolutely right:

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/259062/rookie-gaffer-ian-cathro-is-a-huge-gamble-for-hearts/

scarily accurate.

When you make Kris Boyd the voice of reason and sensible opinions then you know somethings wrong.

01-08-2017, 02:41 PM
Kris Boyd is a fanny

01-08-2017, 02:42 PM
Kris Boyd is a fanny

🤣🤣 yes, I agree. However, having just read the article; its rather scary how accurately he called it.

01-08-2017, 02:42 PM

Time was (10 years ago) when Largs was seen as the best coaching academy in the world. Not just Scottish would-be managers but coaches from all over the world went there to learn (Mourinho being just one).

Ok its reputation has faded, Scottish managers are not held in such high regard and our game undoubtedly has a 'jobs for the boys' mentality - but let's not go mental.

With the right leadership, I am sure Scottish football can improve again.

01-08-2017, 02:43 PM

He even pronounced his demise ...

01-08-2017, 02:43 PM
There has never been an appointment quite like it. Everybody wanted this guy to fail and fail he did. Fannies like Boyd will be revelling in it.

01-08-2017, 02:45 PM

Are you blind, talking sheite and bambooziling players/fans and the media with more words than you need, plus signing dross.

I'm surprised nobody else as progressive as he is had tried it before? :greengrin

01-08-2017, 02:47 PM
Kris Boyd for Hearts!

01-08-2017, 02:48 PM
Some of the best managers in the world haven't played to any great level however to do so and get the respect of players you need to be brilliant in terms of coaching and man management not sure Cathro has that. Would have made more sense a more experienced assistant also.

We are talking Scotland here. The managers who have never played have guzillions to spend. There's room for Cathro/Analyst types of course, just not on the front line.

01-08-2017, 02:51 PM
Daly is 2/1 on with Hills. The sickbaggers are already (even more) revolting (than normal). :wink:

It's obvious that he was successful at bringing on young players. Evidenced by what he did at Dundee Utd with Ryan Gauld et al. Hes been successful with the box soccer concept about concentrating on ball skills, ball retention etc. So what we are looking at is someone who is a proven Coach, who has failed at making the step to Manager. Because the jobs are completely different.

That's new? Was instinctive to me anytime I played. Now I confess I might not have been very good at it but I did not need a box soccer concept. :greengrin

And success at bringing on young players does not necessarily mean new ideas. Look at the Hibs Golden Generation. Don't recall our coaches then being lauded as great innovators. Good youth coaches.

Maybe Cathro will have a good career as an assistant. I can't say what his level is but I suspect it might be a long time before he gets another chance as head coach/manager. His results were dreadful from Hearts perspective.

We are talking Scotland here. The managers who have never played have guzillions to spend. There's room for Cathro/Analyst types of course, just not on the front line.

They've earned the right to have the roles spending millions though.

Normally they're strong leaders, excellent communicators, have spent years learning their trade and know how best to use the Cathros of this world within bigger organisations.

01-08-2017, 02:53 PM
If be over the moon if Pressley got Hearts job. Failed everywhere he's been.

01-08-2017, 03:04 PM

Guys I am thinking about like Wenger and Mourinho also had to earn the respect of players on their way up to being in a position of being able to get top jobs.

01-08-2017, 03:09 PM
I can't stand kris boyd but he nailed it here.

If Cathro had been at any other club in Scotland I'd have wanted him to do well, but because it was them I'll gladly take his total screw up.

01-08-2017, 03:10 PM
I can't stand kris boyd but he nailed it here.

If Cathro had been at any other club in Scotland I'd have wanted him to do well, but because it was them I'll gladly take his total screw up.

The Rangers? Celtic? Peterhead? (Oh wait, he did do well FOR Peterhead).

heidtheba
01-08-2017, 03:13 PM

Yup - wasn't it Arrigo Saachi who made some comment about not realising he had to have been a horse at one stage to make it as a jockey?

From what I've understood there have been three managers in Scotland that people have suggested were 'the way of the future' - Collins, the French bloke who was in charge of Rangers and Cathro. In every case their man management was called into question and their signings were poor. No point here - just an observation.

Which managers in Scotland have moved to bring us into the future? Mowbray with us *but not Celtic, Stubbs...who else? McInnes?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2017, 03:13 PM
To paraphrase the great Arrigo Sacchi, i did not know that in order to become a jockey, i first had to be a horse.

Cathro didnt fail because he never played, he failed because he was a ***** head coach / manager.

Plenty of ex-players have been ***** at it too.

01-08-2017, 03:15 PM
Time was (10 years ago) when Largs was seen as the best coaching academy in the world. Not just Scottish would-be managers but coaches from all over the world went there to learn (Mourinho being just one).

Ok its reputation has faded, Scottish managers are not held in such high regard and our game undoubtedly has a 'jobs for the boys' mentality - but let's not go mental.

With the right leadership, I am sure Scottish football can improve again.

I hope you're right. I found it surprising that the likes of Mourinho talked about how much they learnt from their Largs trips and tactic talks with Andy Roxburgh and wee Craigie Brown's brother over pints of beer. The obvious question is, if the coaching is so good why are we failing to produce enough good players?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2017, 03:16 PM
Yup - wasn't it Arrigo Saachi who made some comment about not realising he had to have been a horse at one stage to make it as a jockey?

From what I've understood there have been three managers in Scotland that people have suggested were 'the way of the future' - Collins, the French bloke who was in charge of Rangers and Cathro. In every case their man management was called into question and their signings were poor. No point here - just an observation.

Which managers in Scotland have moved to bring us into the future? Mowbray with us *but not Celtic, Stubbs...who else? McInnes?

Thats an interesting observation about the managers. All seem to have failed at the mananagement side. I suppose leading people somewhere new is not easy. Especially if you are a boderline autistic weirdo with terrible taste in coats who struggles with English.

Ryan69
01-08-2017, 03:16 PM
Knowing how the game works here....He will now be known as the most informed football pundit in Scotland.

All for being right once in his life.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2017, 03:17 PM
I hope you're right. I found it surprising that the likes of Mourinho talked about how much they learnt from their Largs trips and tactic talks with Andy Roxburgh and wee Craigie Brown's brother over pints of beer. The obvious question is, if the coaching is so good why are we failing to produce enough good players?

Maybe some of the fault lies with the players?

01-08-2017, 03:20 PM
Maybe some of the fault lies with the players?

Aye, maybe you need to start by teaching the players Andy Murray-esque levels of dedication. Is that even possible?

01-08-2017, 03:22 PM

Lots of reasons, probably.

There is clearly a need for change. But, also quite clearly, Cathro is not the answer.

01-08-2017, 03:28 PM
Lots of reasons, probably.

There is clearly a need for change. But, also quite clearly, Cathro is not the answer.

I don't think you'll get any disagreement on that.

Jim Herriot
01-08-2017, 03:32 PM
Cathro leaves piggery to join Wolves?

http://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2017/08/01/alex-rae-claims-ian-cathro-is-being-lined-up-for-wolverhampton-w/

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2017, 03:36 PM
Aye, maybe you need to start by teaching the players Andy Murray-esque levels of dedication. Is that even possible?

I dont know. Probably a wider, societal issue (one for the Holy Ground!) - but i think there is a pervasive strand of anti-intellectualism in scottish / british fitba that discourages thinking amd tactical development, a lack of genuine poverty producing hungry self - taught players, but a lack of investment to make really well coached players so we haave neither the benefits of poverty or affluence.

Also a lot of young players are happy with 'making it' in Scotland - getting a move to old firm, earning a few million and winning lots and being a huge fish in a very small pond is the pinnacle for many. A salary amd lifestyle sufficient to provide the trappings of celebrity, without the need to make huge sacrifice to get to the top.

01-08-2017, 03:41 PM
I dont know. Probably a wider, societal issue (one for the Holy Ground!) - but i think there is a pervasive strand of anti-intellectualism in scottish / british fitba that discourages thinking amd tactical development, a lack of genuine poverty producing hungry self - taught players, but a lack of investment to make really well coached players so we haave neither the benefits of poverty or affluence.

Also a lot of young players are happy with 'making it' in Scotland - getting a move to old firm, earning a few million and winning lots and being a huge fish in a very small pond is the pinnacle for many. A salary amd lifestyle sufficient to provide the trappings of celebrity, without the need to make huge sacrifice to get to the top.

That's almost all of it.

High-On-Hibs
01-08-2017, 03:45 PM

Who can blame them?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
01-08-2017, 03:49 PM
Who can blame them?

I would have thought an ideological, anti capitalist purist like yourself might have...😊

01-08-2017, 03:56 PM
Cathro is out but they are still moaning, wanting Leveins blood. The new manager is a dead man walking as far as I'm concerned because the minute it goes a little bit wrong they will turn on Levien and Budge, even though the new guy will be trying to work with Cathro's players.

The reason why this is so? It begins with Kevin Thomson pulling his socks up and ends with a Paul Hanlon equaliser. They're still looking for scapegoats for that day.

High-On-Hibs
01-08-2017, 03:57 PM
I would have thought an ideological, anti capitalist purist like yourself might have...😊

I'd be willing to be a little less "pure" for a few million, as would most people. :wink:

01-08-2017, 04:17 PM
Cracked it!!!

Cathro is apparently fluent in Portuguese.

It's obvious that's what he's been speaking in his press conferences because nobody had the first idea what he was on about!

Sioux
01-08-2017, 04:21 PM
According to the dark side Cathro's been at Wolves for last couple of days meeting up with his old boss.

Maybe the full story is yet to come.:confused:

01-08-2017, 04:24 PM
According to the dark side Cathro's been at Wolves for last couple of days meeting up with his old boss.

Maybe the full story is yet to come.:confused:

Who's that

Sioux
01-08-2017, 04:27 PM
Who's that

Nuno Espirito Santo apparently

01-08-2017, 04:38 PM

Good post :agree:

I do think that blaming screen culture for kids not playing with a ball in parks and hence not enough ball players are being produced is too simplistic. If that was the case standards would be slipping worldwide, or at least in every developed country where kids have access to Nintendo and Sony and Apple, but they haven't.

Sorry, way off topic, laughing at our neighbours which is far more fun. :na na:

01-08-2017, 04:43 PM
Good post :agree:

I do think that blaming screen culture for kids not playing with a ball in parks and hence not enough ball players are being produced is too simplistic. If that was the case standards would be slipping worldwide, or at least in every developed country where kids have access to Nintendo and Sony and Apple, but they haven't.

Sorry, way off topic, laughing at our neighbours which is far more fun. :na na:

Screen culture is part of the problem but there's a lot more to it.

01-08-2017, 04:53 PM
Cathro's record at the PBS:

Played 30
Won 7
Drawn 8
Lost 15
Win % 23%

An abysmal record. Aside from that record he appeared unable to lead, nor to motivate, football players (at least not those in his charge at the shelter).

Throw in he slavers a load of rubbish (poor communication skills - dealing with media, fans groups etc is a big part of a head coach's role) and you have got someone who is just not a good manager / head coach.

A disastrous appointment by Craig Levein (chortle), who of course remains in place. For how long remains to be seen.

01-08-2017, 04:56 PM
Cathro's record at the PBS:

Played 30
Won 7
Drawn 8
Lost 15
Win % 23%

An abysmal record. Aside from that record he appeared unable to lead, nor to motivate, football players (at least not those in his charge at the shelter).

Throw in he slavers a load of rubbish (poor communication skills - dealing with media, fans groups etc is a big part of a head coach's role) and you have got someone who is just not a good manager / head coach.

A disastrous appointment by Craig Levein (chortle), who of course remains in place. For how long remains to be seen.

I'm going to miss that wee man. My favourite Hearts manager ever.

01-08-2017, 04:56 PM

All of that's poor for any coach, not just a head coach!

01-08-2017, 05:00 PM

Mine too. Even better than Jumbo Jim. :agree:

All of that's poor for any coach, not just a head coach!

Agreed again! :aok:

01-08-2017, 05:24 PM

He didn't even talk a good game.

There was absolutely nothing about this guy to suggest he was any more a football manager than a 15yr old kid playing at it on his PS4.

01-08-2017, 05:30 PM

http://www.hitc.com/en-gb/2017/08/01/alex-rae-claims-ian-cathro-is-being-lined-up-for-wolverhampton-w/

Dear God - I hope the idiot didn't voluntarily resign ?. Get the full-balance of the 3-year contract first, Ian old mate !!

01-08-2017, 05:30 PM
He didn't even talk a good game.

There was absolutely nothing about this guy to suggest he was any more a football manager than a 15yr old kid playing at it on his PS4.

I'm sure he's a decent coach, but there is a big difference between being a coach and a manager.

This one really needs to rest firmly on Levein's shoulders. He'd worked with him before and knew exactly what he was like.

It might have been that he was a good communicator and a solid leader - he wasn't, and it needs to be Levein that carries the can for failing to notice this.

I suspect Levein thought he's unearthed a gem, but ultimately (and from a distance) I have to agree with the bit in bold.

green is good
01-08-2017, 05:34 PM
I'd like to see Eduard Malofeev make a return.

OxoHibby
01-08-2017, 05:36 PM

Agree. I am raging he was sacked. Was looking forward to the nine points

Ómaigh-Hib
01-08-2017, 05:41 PM

To be fair, their last couple of managers have lasted longer than Donald Trump's Directors of Communications.

01-08-2017, 05:48 PM
Agree. I am raging he was sacked. Was looking forward to the nine points

Why wouldn't we still get them?

01-08-2017, 05:49 PM
To think they filled a room of Believers paying £10 or £15 a head to listen to this master tactician share his expertise and secrets!!

Weeks later he is chased out the club for being absolutely useless!!

Lol

01-08-2017, 05:58 PM

Management role apparently:

http://l7.alamy.com/zooms/96a43ad5d26c479caae49bcc983cf815/soccer-npower-football-league-championship-wolverhampton-wanderers-g63xb7.jpg

01-08-2017, 05:59 PM
To think they filled a room of Believers paying £10 or £15 a head to listen to this master tactician share his expertise and secrets!!

Weeks later he is chased out the club for being absolutely useless!!

Lol

Surely a refund is due?

Skol
01-08-2017, 06:10 PM

Excellent. As well as having to pay compensation, they have missed the compo wolves would have paid them.

Agent Cathro - mission accomplished

01-08-2017, 07:08 PM
Tbf to Budge she's tried really hard to provide the same kind of entertainment we enjoyed with many of Vlads managerial appointments.

Instead of a fax machine she has a DoF passing hand written notes down from the stands.

01-08-2017, 07:12 PM

Individual versus team sport - he can't afford to have a bad day at the office and have his team mates pull him out a hole... self reliance built-in with Murray.

01-08-2017, 07:13 PM
I think they just let Austin MacPhee take over, cheap option and causes little disruption with only days til start of the season.

MacPhee seemed to take the training sessions and be heavily involved so cant see much changes if this is the case and the 6-4-0 genius remains as DOF.

01-08-2017, 07:24 PM
I think they just let Austin MacPhee take over, cheap option and causes little disruption with only days til start of the season.

MacPhee seemed to take the training sessions and be heavily involved so can see much changed if this is the case and the 6-4-0 genius remains as DOF.
That would live up to their "boot room" philosophy right enough. What a farce it all is. Next appointment could be Levein's last throw of the dice or his cushy number is up.

01-08-2017, 07:31 PM

MacPhee seemed to take the training sessions and be heavily involved so cant see much changes if this is the case and the 6-4-0 genius remains as DOF.

McPhee is really well thought of in the game - was offered the malky Mckay role at the SFA at a significantly Higher salary than he took at Hearts - turned it down - one of the reasons is that he really wants to take NI to the World Cup

Can't see him taking the managers role , as he would have to give up the NI role which is important to him - don't think he wants it

01-08-2017, 07:36 PM
https://scontent-lht6-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/20604639_1791253694233182_8735666531944235441_n.jp g?oh=d02a3f9c42a640b40b7f82a25e121eb2&oe=5A02578A

01-08-2017, 07:48 PM
We have had some honking managers over the years but Cathro has made them all look like Guardiola. They are extremely lucky that their "experiment" didn't lead to relegation. Honestly that lot could fall into a pile of Sh*ite and come up smelling of roses. An embarrassing defeat to Pererhead and creditable 3-1(going on 10-1) derby defeat is ultimately what he'll be remembered for which is staggering as could have been much, much worse. Time will tell how well they recover from his reign right enough. Could be a long slow spiral downwards for them but knowing Hearts and their spawniness probably not.

01-08-2017, 07:50 PM
McPhee is really well thought of in the game - was offered the malky Mckay role at the SFA at a significantly Higher salary than he took at Hearts - turned it down - one of the reasons is that he really wants to take NI to the World Cup

Can't see him taking the managers role , as he would have to give up the NI role which is important to him - don't think he wants it

Talking of the NI role, I see some yams are seriously thinking Michael O'Neill might be in the running. No danger of that. Aside from the fact they'd have to buy him out of a four-year contract I imagine a good few on here will know that O'Neill will never work with Craig Levein.

01-08-2017, 07:59 PM

Cathro was also well thought.

01-08-2017, 08:00 PM
Talking of the NI role, I see some yams are seriously thinking Michael O'Neill might be in the running. No danger of that. Aside from the fact they'd have to buy him out of a four-year contract I imagine a good few on here will know that O'Neill will never work with Craig Levein.

He's currently favourite which seems absolutely mental, not a chance he'll go there.

Morganleith
01-08-2017, 08:03 PM
He's currently favourite which seems absolutely mental, not a chance he'll go there.

He lives in Edinburgh apparently. Could be a dual role

01-08-2017, 08:07 PM

You're very cheery about Hertz.

01-08-2017, 08:17 PM

"Yes NI FA , I know you want me to qualify for the World Cup, but can I spend most of my time working for Hearts? ".....

"Hearts, I know that you are in complete turmoil, nae stand, and nae wins...but can I also focus on NI while I get you out of this mess"

Can't see any problems with that idea.....[emoji3][emoji108]

01-08-2017, 08:23 PM
Michael O'Neill is not going to Hertz, no matter how much those spuds wish it.

Morganleith
01-08-2017, 08:28 PM

Just saying it's were he lives. I'd imagine they'd never be able to afford him and will end up with the likes of that auld slavour Peter Houston

01-08-2017, 08:32 PM

Lump it on. Get a double on Lennon for the Bolton gig. No brainer. Bookies don't lie.

Tobias Funke
01-08-2017, 08:41 PM
Michael O'Neill is not going to Hertz, no matter how much those spuds wish it.

Absolutely no chance this will happen IMO. Those throbbers need to get effing real, there is no chance he would want to manage that basket case club while NI are still challenging for WC qualification. Besides, he could get a FAR bigger gig if he bided his time anyway.

01-08-2017, 08:41 PM
Excellent. As well as having to pay compensation, they have missed the compo wolves would have paid them.

Agent Cathro - mission accomplished

Generally don't have to pay comp when managers go to another club.

01-08-2017, 08:45 PM
We have had some honking managers over the years but Cathro has made them all look like Guardiola. They are extremely lucky that their "experiment" didn't lead to relegation. Honestly that lot could fall into a pile of Sh*ite and come up smelling of roses. An embarrassing defeat to Pererhead and creditable 3-1(going on 10-1) derby defeat is ultimately what he'll be remembered for which is staggering as could have been much, much worse. Time will tell how well they recover from his reign right enough. Could be a long slow spiral downwards for them but knowing Hearts and their spawniness probably not.

If we don't finish well clear of them in the SPL then I'll be gobsmacked. They do always seem to escape from dodgy situations but even guardiola couldn't make that bunch into a decent team. They are honking all over the pitch and I doubt they will be top six. This coming season will be a write off and it depends whose desperate enough to take the job. With funds going to pay for the stand there are going to loads of kickback lockdowns for a long time. There are a lot of very angry hertz fans but until they accept they are a middling club in Scotland now their angst will happily continue.

01-08-2017, 08:50 PM
Trust Hearts to go for a basement bargain.

Basement 😂

Baw187
01-08-2017, 09:05 PM
Paulo Sergio thrown his hat in the ring according to EEN!

Tobias Funke
01-08-2017, 09:22 PM

Brilliant. Let's see how he gets on without the financial doping and all round cheating.

Baw187
01-08-2017, 09:24 PM
Brilliant. Let's see how he gets on without the financial doping and all round cheating.

They're creaming their drawers at the prospect over on JKB! [emoji23][emoji23]

Same old Jambo mentality!

01-08-2017, 09:30 PM

Without the £8m per annum wage bill he might find it trickier than last time. There will now be massive pressure on their board to give him the job even if Levien doesn't want him. That can only be a good thing.

High-On-Hibs
01-08-2017, 09:31 PM
I'm hearing that Michael O'Neill is in line for the Hearts job? May be rubbish, but a decent appointment for them if true.

01-08-2017, 09:36 PM
I'm hearing that Michael O'Neill is in line for the Hearts job? May be rubbish, but a decent appointment for them if true.

No chance, he's on a £500k a year with Northern Ireland and the compensation wouldn't be far off £1 million that Hearts would have to pay.

They'd need a whole herd of cash cows to fund that

Morganleith
01-08-2017, 09:41 PM
They'll never afford him. Only thing is he lives there so could be a factor as well as the fact the creepy nanny McPhee is also there as well as a few of the national team.
I'd be concerned if he got the gig. Hoping they go for the Locke / Hartley or Pressley route . None of these names fill me with any fear other than they'd get them fighting a bit more

01-08-2017, 09:53 PM
Sergio publically throwing his hat in is brilliant.

I'm skeptical if he can perform without the (comparatively) massive budget he had previously, eventually get sacked and sour his tainted legacy. If anyone else gets the job, they won't be as popular with the fans as it's not Sergio, immediately undermining him.

01-08-2017, 09:57 PM
Never known a club to give anyone a job after they go public with their application

01-08-2017, 09:59 PM
Sergio must be desperate- he left last time after he didn't accept their contract offer.

He would return in different circumstances-basically less wages on players and a rejuvenated Hibs compared to the crap we had when we faced him last time.

01-08-2017, 10:07 PM
No chance, he's on a £500k a year with Northern Ireland and the compensation wouldn't be far off £1 million that Hearts would have to pay.

They'd need a whole herd of cash cows to fund that

They could offer him twice as much and just forget to pay. They've done it before!

01-08-2017, 10:08 PM

Unfortunately I'm not one of the 'good few' - any chance of expanding on why he wouldn't work with Potter ??

01-08-2017, 10:11 PM

I had noticed the same about morgan.

Can't see O'Neill taking the poisened chalice of the yams job.

01-08-2017, 10:19 PM
Unfortunately I'm not one of the 'good few' - any chance of expanding on why he wouldn't work with Potter ??

Was there not a rumour potter stopped him getting the hibs job by informing hibs he had a 'drinking' problem? Which to me sounds pish as why would anyone at hibs even entertain the speky prick?

Morganleith
01-08-2017, 10:23 PM
I had noticed the same about morgan.

Can't see O'Neill taking the poisened chalice of the yams job.

Eh ? All of be said is that the yams are on track for their deadline (and I know this from someone on site so all I did d was share it. What's the point in talking about murrayfield rental and electric bills etc when it's not even been announced that there's a delay ?) I don't get that. I'll not do it again then and folk can crack on. Personally my feelings are they are building the thing so it's happening. Fair enough on their budgeting in it but I've only ever responded about the timeframe wishful thinking from some here. I've only also ever made a comment about the conspiracy theory that there's been a council / HSE cover up.
Regarding their management I'm gutted Cathro left. But when Michael O'Neil was mentioned all I did was say he lives in Edinburgh (which he does), his assistant is also at Hertz, and a few of his players are as well. Makes him seem a likely candidate- but I also said I thought they couldn't afford him.

01-08-2017, 10:30 PM
No matter who they choose, I can't see anyone doing as badly as Cathro unfortunately.

I really hoped he would continue for at least another couple of months.

I'm not at the point where I'm concerned about them but I do think they'll be more of a threat with someone in charge who knows anything about how to assemble a football team.

01-08-2017, 10:33 PM
Eh ? All of be said is that the yams are on track for their deadline (and I know this from someone on site so all I did d was share it. What's the point in talking about murrayfield rental and electric bills etc when it's not even been announced that there's a delay ?) I don't get that. I'll not do it again then and folk can crack on. Personally my feelings are they are building the thing so it's happening. Fair enough on their budgeting in it but I've only ever responded about the timeframe wishful thinking from some here. I've only also ever made a comment about the conspiracy theory that there's been a council / HSE cover up.
Regarding their management I'm gutted Cathro left. But when Michael O'Neil was mentioned all I did was say he lives in Edinburgh (which he does), his assistant is also at Hertz, and a few of his players are as well. Makes him seem a likely candidate- but I also said I thought they couldn't afford him.

They definitely can't afford him so he's a very unlikely candidate.

£10k a week managing an international team that's on the brink of qualifying for the World Cup, he's not giving that up just to team up with hairy MacPhee and laugherty at Hearts.

Plus NI FA would be due £1 million comp.

01-08-2017, 11:02 PM
Was there not a rumour potter stopped him getting the hibs job by informing hibs he had a 'drinking' problem? Which to me sounds pish as why would anyone at hibs even entertain the speky prick?

Before the lawyers get involved, there's an allegedly to add here.

But it's in the public domain that Michael O'Neil felt that a whispering campaign against him stopped him getting the Hibs job. And Levein has said he had spoken with Hibs about appointing Pat Fenlon instead.

02-08-2017, 12:08 AM
No matter who they choose, I can't see anyone doing as badly as Cathro unfortunately.

I really hoped he would continue for at least another couple of months.

I'm not at the point where I'm concerned about them but I do think they'll be more of a threat with someone in charge who knows anything about how to assemble a football team.

Anybody will be better than Cathro but even a tactical genius would struggle with their current players. Only a manager who desperately needs the job or a young guy on the way up would take it. As the young coach failed it's likely to be a safe pair of hands. I'm sure the likes of billy Davies etc will be mentioned. By the way has the mysterious Stuart baxter been quoted yet. Unless they sign at least three decent players whoever takes charge will struggle to get them in to the top six. BTW only hertz can sack their manager 5 days before the start of the season after letting him overhaul the squad twice. Players like Martin and Cowie are championship level. Unless levein goes the circus will continue

02-08-2017, 05:37 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/paulo-sergio-i-want-to-be-next-hearts-manager-1-4519762

02-08-2017, 05:39 AM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/paulo-sergio-i-want-to-be-next-hearts-manager-1-4519762

Good manager but let's see how he'd do on a level playing field!

02-08-2017, 06:03 AM
Good manager but let's see how he'd do on a level playing field!

You think? The cup final clouded how poor he actually was. 12 wins in the 5 years since leaving hearts. Finished mid table with all that dough, I could've managed a team to beat that Hibs side. I hope he does sign.

02-08-2017, 06:23 AM
His hearts team snuck in to the top 6 just in the last game before the split with a huge playing budget well over what they could afford. Lets see how he does with the rank squad they've got now.

02-08-2017, 06:30 AM
No matter how poor this guy is as a manager, you do realise he has a really good chance of actually getting the job, just becuase it means Hearts and their Fans can welcome back Mr Five One.

Yes, I really think they are that stupid.

02-08-2017, 06:35 AM
I thought they were promoting young managers nowadays.

My bet is the Tesco value option...that John Daly.

02-08-2017, 06:36 AM
Like to see him without vlads stolen loot 🤣

02-08-2017, 06:38 AM

But it's in the public domain that Michael O'Neil felt that a whispering campaign against him stopped him getting the Hibs job. And Levein has said he had spoken with Hibs about appointing Pat Fenlon instead.

FFS i had more than enough reasons to hate Petrie, and you then print that?

02-08-2017, 06:39 AM
Any excuse for Barry to mention the 5-1 right at the top of the article:applause:

02-08-2017, 06:41 AM
He's not very good. Check out where he last managed ffs!

02-08-2017, 06:44 AM
You think? The cup final clouded how poor he actually was. 12 wins in the 5 years since leaving hearts. Finished mid table with all that dough, I could've managed a team to beat that Hibs side. I hope he does sign.

:agree: His record with four clubs in five years is horrendous and gives Levein and Budge a major headache because he's already signed as far as KB is concerned. Talk about heart ruling head. :greengrin

BH Hibs
02-08-2017, 06:54 AM
Honestly thought that this would be big nose. Surprised his name hasn't been linked to quiet the protests.

02-08-2017, 07:22 AM
Honestly thought that this would be big nose. Surprised his name hasn't been linked to quiet the protests.Big nose big noise on yak back. No coaching so far likely, and wage demands/free flights/luncheon vouchers etc will put him well outside their budget. On the plus side I hope he comes. Demonstrates to the world their single obsession. :faf:

02-08-2017, 07:35 AM
Bring it on !!!

02-08-2017, 08:01 AM
You've got to have a bit of sympathy for Sergio, he's done the square root of nothing since he won a trophy with a financially doped club in a poor league where he just managed 6th. He's got a set of eyebrows to pay for and the only place he's got a chance of a gig is the wongadome.

If I had any say in this he's the guy I'd want to see back.

02-08-2017, 08:08 AM
He came 5th despite spending double what anyone outside Celtic/Rangers were spending (and Rangers had a points penalty).

Obviously he's better than Cathro, but they're more than welcome to him as far as I'm concerned.

02-08-2017, 08:09 AM

I have drank a lot since then, so I don't remember his time all that well - just thought that he done generally good at Hearts.

Anyway, no yam threads today - a certain legend down ER way is more interesting :)

02-08-2017, 08:09 AM
Even Terry Butcher could mastermind a win against the likes of Dohertey and Kujabi.

HibeeMassive
02-08-2017, 08:22 AM
...I hope he gets it :greengrin

There's a few names kicking about which I think might do well there, but he's not one of them :cb

rotherhamrob
02-08-2017, 08:23 AM
I hope they give him some serious consideration.
I'd love them to turn on him in a couple of months when they are bottom 6 and he's shown up as not being very good after all.

02-08-2017, 08:28 AM
Would be a perfect appointment for us imo he's never really been proven on a shoestring budget has he?

Let them ramp up the comfort blanket to another level (5 years after it happened) while we go about our business on the park and continuing the recent dominance or the Edinburgh derby 💚

02-08-2017, 08:30 AM
A diet version of Pedro Caixinha?

02-08-2017, 08:59 AM
The whole point here is that they are trying to bring back people like this to try and beat us, plain and simple, nothing else matters to them, bring him in please, he'll be way, way out of his depth without a gangster of an owner behind him.

Absolute deluded fuds.

02-08-2017, 09:01 AM
Good, hope he comes back so Lennon can bury him in the first derby.

02-08-2017, 09:04 AM
No matter how poor this guy is as a manager, you do realise he has a really good chance of actually getting the job, just becuase it means Hearts and their Fans can welcome back Mr Five One.

Yes, I really think they are that stupid.

Terrific.

Appoint him and expectations are sky high.

Appoint someone else and the fans will be fuming.

BegbieHSC
02-08-2017, 09:07 AM
That cup final overshadows how terrible he was in the league.

Hope Hertz get him - it will trump up their confidence, and just watch him implode working on a fair budget.

Incidentally, i've saw plenty deluded jumbos thinking they'll get Michael O'Neill. :wink::wink:

02-08-2017, 09:16 AM
Apologies if already posted, but The Knowledge in The Guardian today uncovers a new parallel between the Dalry Lama and Malofeev: https://www.theguardian.com/football/2017/aug/02/has-a-manager-ever-been-sacked-because-of-poor-pre-season-results-the-knowledge

(Cathro isn't named but the final line links to the story about him getting launched.)

02-08-2017, 09:20 AM
In retrospect, Hearts are lucky Neilson had them so high up the table when Cathro was appointed. If they'd even been just mid-table, that was relegation form.

02-08-2017, 09:27 AM
FFS i had more than enough reasons to hate Petrie, and you then print that?

Of course it's hard to know how much involvement Levein had. He said he was called to give a reference.

But still... quite why we'd involve that guy at any level baffles me.

02-08-2017, 09:28 AM
In retrospect, Hearts are lucky Neilson had them so high up the table when Cathro was appointed. If they'd even been just mid-table, that was relegation form.

Yeah basically in the 10 days between Neilson being quoted for the MK Dons job, and taking it, his Hearts team won 3 games IIRC, including v Rangers.

Those 9 points were just enough to safeguard top 6 status.

Otherwise, Cathro would have "done a Butcher" and sunk from top 6 to playoff to relegation from Jan to May.

Neilson (yes, the "no style no bottle Neilson out" Neilson) saved hearts in that last week, a decent pro.

And a Hibs legend for going defensive a 2-0 in Feb 2016, announcing he was delighted with a money spinning replay (small club, small mercies) and helping us win the Cup...

02-08-2017, 09:41 AM
Michael O'Neill is on 500k per annum as Norn Ireland Boss and his contract is until 2020. Do Hearts fans seriously think they are going to pay him £10,000 per week and pay the compensation due to Northern Ireland :faf:

It will be probably be Hartley.

02-08-2017, 09:44 AM
Yeah basically in the 10 days between Neilson being quoted for the MK Dons job, and taking it, his Hearts team won 3 games IIRC, including v Rangers.

Those 9 points were just enough to safeguard top 6 status.

Otherwise, Cathro would have "done a Butcher" and sunk from top 6 to playoff to relegation from Jan to May.

Neilson (yes, the "no style no bottle Neilson out" Neilson) saved hearts in that last week, a decent pro.

And a Hibs legend for going defensive a 2-0 in Feb 2016, announcing he was delighted with a money spinning replay (small club, small mercies) and helping us win the Cup...

Neilson was doing a good job at Hearts, got them easily promoted, good season in the top flight on their return and was competing adequately in the league until he left. The fact the fans are so obsessed with us that they forced him out because they couldn't stop us on our way to our Scottish Cup win just makes the whole scenario laughable

DavidDavidGray
02-08-2017, 09:45 AM
If I'm not mistaken he's only won 3 out of the last 47 games he's managed?

02-08-2017, 09:47 AM
Rudi back as his number 2? A management team I'd love to face with our current team.

02-08-2017, 10:04 AM
Even Terry Butcher could mastermind a win against the likes of Dohertey and Kujabi.
You've taken that too far :greengrin

02-08-2017, 10:16 AM
It won't matter who they appoint as new manager - the balance of power has shifted in Edinburgh and with a transfer window like we have had, that looks like remaining to be the case for a while yet, regardless of who steps into the blooded turd tracksuit.

02-08-2017, 10:47 AM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/michael-o-neill-fears-drink-rumours-cost-him-hibs-job-1-3936491

02-08-2017, 10:50 AM
The moo campers could not get rid of Cathro quick enough

Now i read that Cathro could be getting a coaching job at Wolves.

The moo campers think, if that is the case ,Wolves must have "tapped him up" and they want compensation!!

02-08-2017, 10:59 AM
Sergio must be desperate- he left last time after he didn't accept their contract offer.

He would return in different circumstances-basically less wages on players and a rejuvenated Hibs compared to the crap we had when we faced him last time.

Was he even that good a manager at Hearts? Obviously the cup final win gave him legend status there, but IIRC they were mediocre in the league (think they also got steamrollered five or six nil at home by Spurs in the Europa League qualifiers) and while the cup result was dire from our point of view it was, let's face it, achieved against an especially poor Hibs side cobbled together with loanees and mostly bang average players. Might sound daft, but it's a result which never bothers me as much as it does a lot of fans.

02-08-2017, 11:05 AM
Tom English needs to put the crack pipe down:

"Hearts have a big and loyal support, a magnificent stadium in development and a clear focus in all areas bar the stuff that happens on the grass at Tynecastle"

Source - http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/40792493

02-08-2017, 11:06 AM
Just reading some comments from Hearts Fans about the possible return of ex-coach Sergio and boy is the 5-1 Comfort Blanket being rolled out big time!

They are completely ignoring his mangerial record in the meantime and doing their usual business of 'remember the good old days when we used to be able to beat Hibs'.

Bring it on, Sergio, Neil is ready and waiting!

02-08-2017, 11:10 AM
They look back whilst we look forward - sums it up really.

02-08-2017, 11:16 AM
This is how it feels to be hibees
This is how it feels to be small
We sign stokesy
You sack ian cathro

02-08-2017, 11:20 AM
Just reading some comments from Hearts Fans about the possible return of ex-coach Sergio and boy is the 5-1 Comfort Blanket being rolled out big time!

They are completely ignoring his mangerial record in the meantime and doing their usual business of 'remember the good old days when we used to be able to beat Hibs'.

Leave them to it!

It turns out the post administration forward thinking jam is are no different to the previous. The next appointment will prove if this is true or not.

02-08-2017, 11:23 AM
I thought they were promoting young managers nowadays.

My bet is the Tesco value option...that John Daly.

Tesco Value option it is then - at least for now.

Tobias Funke
02-08-2017, 11:24 AM
So the possible return of Paolo Sergio automatically means Hearts will start beating us regularly again?

They are far from bright those Kickback throbbers.

Manxhibs
02-08-2017, 11:24 AM
Currently watching the lowlights on sky sports 3. Weirdly doesn't bother me, as I look at where we are now and it's night/day. That squad we had was truly awful btw!

02-08-2017, 11:27 AM
It won't matter who they appoint as new manager - the balance of power has shifted in Edinburgh and with a transfer window like we have had, that looks like remaining to be the case for a while yet, regardless of who steps into the blooded turd tracksuit.

Agree totally.

A poster above mentioned the recent derby history. It's not so recent now, been literally years since they beat us. :lolyam:

They want a guy who rejected a new contract, buggered off to Cluj. He's been sacked from at least 3 of is last 5 clubs.

PapillonVert

Personally, don't care too much about his managerial record.

It's the conveniently and wilfully ignoring that the Cup Final victory was only achieved through years of cheating / money laundering / robbing Bosnian steelworkers and pensioners of their meagre pensions and Lithuanian small savers of their life savings / stealing charity money.

Oh aye, not to mention depriving the Exchequer of income tax, corporation tax and VAT, Edinburgh Council of council tax / rates, Lothian & Borders' finest of policing costs all to the undoubted detriment of public services, and small local businesses of their hard worked-for income.

02-08-2017, 11:29 AM
He'd be a good appointment. He's certainly better to look at than Messrs Houston or Hartley.

02-08-2017, 11:30 AM
They have confirmed John Daly as interim

They have also confirmed they are looking for a perm 1st team coach. NOT a manager.

Secretly hope Daly get a couple of ok results and then gets he whole season. CL really rates John Daly.

02-08-2017, 11:31 AM

It's the conveniently and wilfully ignoring that the Cup Final victory was only achieved through years of cheating / money laundering / robbing Bosnian steelworkers and pensioners of their meagre pensions and Lithuanian small savers of their life savings / stealing charity money.

Oh aye, not to mention depriving the Exchequer of income tax, corporation tax and VAT, Edinburgh Council of council tax / rates, Lothian & Borders' finest of policing costs all to the undoubted detriment of public services, and small local businesses of their hard worked-for income.

Summed up nicely!:aok:

02-08-2017, 11:34 AM
They have confirmed John Daly as interim

They have also confirmed they are looking for a perm 1st team coach. NOT a manager.

Secretly hope Daly get a couple of ok results and then gets he whole season. CL really rates John Daly.

My Hearts pals have already said they would be livid if Daly got it - come on CL give him the job :pray:

02-08-2017, 11:40 AM
He'd be a good appointment. He's certainly better to look at than Messrs Houston or Hartley.

Not sure. Despite paying way beyond their means that was a poor Hearts side. Think they scraped 5th in league. It just so happened Hibs were a lot worse.

02-08-2017, 11:44 AM
Producer : Have we got any tape of Daly in action?

VT person : there's footage of him taking notes from Levein and running to the dugout at Pittodrie.

02-08-2017, 11:48 AM
Producer : Have we got any tape of Daly in action?

VT person : there's footage of him taking notes from Levein and running to the dugout at Pittodrie.

Does anyone have this footage? would be great ammo!

02-08-2017, 12:12 PM
He was the first Irish Catholic to play for Rangers.
Jolly good for him.

02-08-2017, 12:14 PM
The yams have conveniently forgotten that they were dropping like a stone under Sergio until they bust the bank to sign Beattie to save their season

02-08-2017, 12:15 PM

He is their mascot in celebrating the ultimate achievement from their era of cheating and a sign to the rest of us that they have failed to redeem themselves. Integrity doesn't show in a maroon jersey.

02-08-2017, 12:19 PM
Daly in charge at darkheid . Who's gonna run up and down to potter

02-08-2017, 12:20 PM
Daly in charge at darkheid . Who's gonna run up and down to potter

I believe they'll be utilising a paper aeroplane system :agree:

aljo7-0
02-08-2017, 12:39 PM
Lets face it Daly will be such a Levein puppet that Levein will simply attach the notes to Daly's strings and let gravity take the notes down to him in the dugout. Its financial genius from the Yams - they have removed the middleman (well technically they have sacked the top/bottom man and promoted/demoted the middle man)

02-08-2017, 01:48 PM
When your assistant and your first team coach don't get the bullet or resign in solidarity with the sacked head coach, you really were on your own.

02-08-2017, 01:51 PM
The yams have conveniently forgotten that they were dropping like a stone under Sergio until they bust the bank to sign Beattie to save their season

Did Beattie not have to take them to court to get paid?

02-08-2017, 02:01 PM
Edinburgh's intelligentsia wax lyrical about the power of Cathro.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OKfez1e2FU

02-08-2017, 02:25 PM
Edinburgh's intelligentsia wax lyrical about the power of Cathro.

Presented by the Daily Radars Hun blogger.

02-08-2017, 02:30 PM
When your assistant and your first team coach don't get the bullet or resign in solidarity with the sacked head coach, you really were on your own.

Why Daly over Nanny McPhee?!!

02-08-2017, 02:34 PM

He's better at reading Levein's handwriting.

02-08-2017, 02:35 PM

They've probably realised Nanny McPhee is also a donkey.

02-08-2017, 03:06 PM
Did Beattie not have to take them to court to get paid?

Not that I'm aware. It was immediately after him signing that non payment of wages became constant, and I firmly believe that his whole contract was paid up front to get him to sign... especially as their money problems were common knowledge.

02-08-2017, 04:01 PM
Even if it was John Daly the overweight golfer, he would do a better job than Cathro.

02-08-2017, 04:05 PM

Bigger b-wz :greengrin

02-08-2017, 04:05 PM
Any other club charge fans £15 for a coaching masterclass then sack the guy a few weeks later ?

Supposedly Daly is the worst coach in their Academy so see how long this lasts...though it's all about managing...

02-08-2017, 04:59 PM
Kevin Bridges tweet:

Ian Cathro sacked. Surely he saved his progress and can go back a few months and have another go... #FM17

02-08-2017, 05:27 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/shaun-derry-linked-hearts-cambridge-10917927 11th in League 2. Awe Naw 🤣🤣🤣 (sorry link from that rag)

02-08-2017, 05:30 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/shaun-derry-linked-hearts-cambridge-10917927 11th in League 2. Awe Naw 🤣🤣🤣 (sorry link from that rag)

Was a tough player in his day, but struggled to get jobs in England, used his relationships with Talk Sport to get publicity

AltheHibby
02-08-2017, 05:41 PM
Kevin Bridges tweet:

Ian Cathro sacked. Surely he saved his progress and can go back a few months and have another go... #FM17

😀

02-08-2017, 05:59 PM
Hearts require 2 things in going forward in their managerial search:

https://2ecffd01e1ab3e9383f0-07db7b9624bbdf022e3b5395236d5cf8.ssl.cf4.rackcdn.c om/Product-800x800/cd2062a5-6283-4688-be21-f203bff43694.jpg

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/1b/20/da/1b20da50125b114d0bc507da9d4b2346.jpg

03-08-2017, 07:03 PM

Brilliant. The festival must have started a few days early.

03-08-2017, 10:19 PM
Apologies if this has been posted before but it fair made me chuckle :tee hee: