View Full Version : General Election 2015...
Pages :
[
4]
I can't see the landslide happening on the scale the polls are predicting. The unionist media are almost certainly overstating things so that when the SNP increase their seats from 6 to 26 or 36 this will be branded as a failure.
After the GE will be a more interesting time for Scottish Politics. Murphy could be overthrown by a growing number of Labour dissidents backed by Trade Unionists who feel that a return to the politics of Keir Hardie (home rule, pacifism, industrial democracy, nationalisation, welfare) will allow the Scottish Party to reconnect with its roots.
If that doesn't happen and the SNP are aligned with Westminster Labour this could turn into a battle North of the Broder as to who will be most radical. In which case the growing Third Force of Churches, STUC, Charities, Campaign groups and The Common Weal (now up to 55 Scottish branches) will really turn up the heat to block Trident, oppose welfare cuts, increase tax, enforce land reform and re-nationalise some industries. Within the next 12 months I predict a significant increase in new media, TV channels, citizens assemblies and social media politics. This will really put the sh itt ers up the Whitehall establishment.
Bring it on
14-04-2015, 11:16 AM
There's more votes to be lost south of the Tweed than north of it and a coalition with the SNP would have the Labour/Tory loyalists up in arms. Any backlash from die in the wool voters would be canceled out because it would apply to both parties. Wouldn't surprise me if talks had already taken place.
Judging by the way Miliband made a speedy bee-line to shake Cameron's hand after the TV debate, it wouldn't surprise me either.
They cuddled up in bed together to fight the YES campaign and I'm sure they will view the presence of a strong SNP contingent in Westminster as warranting an extension of hostilities.
14-04-2015, 11:26 AM
Labour and the Tories have more in common with each other than the SNP.
I suspect that this pearl has been picked up already but...
No, they don't. You should try looking beyond Scottish independence sometimes.
14-04-2015, 11:27 AM
I can't see the landslide happening on the scale the polls are predicting. The unionist media are almost certainly overstating things so that when the SNP increase their seats from 6 to 26 or 36 this will be branded as a failure.
I think you're confusing polling organisations and the media.
Tories now wanting to sell off the top priced council houses. Haven't we been here before and didn't it lead to the death of affordable housing?
They don't care about that. They are all Thatcher's children and lack any imagination or ideas beyond her creed.
14-04-2015, 11:31 AM
Judging by the way Miliband made a speedy bee-line to shake Cameron's hand after the TV debate, it wouldn't surprise me either.
They cuddled up in bed together to fight the YES campaign and I'm sure they will view the presence of a strong SNP contingent in Westminster as warranting an extension of hostilities.
It's all about jobs for the boys with the big two. Whilst their public image is one of animosity towards each other the reality is different and it's just one big chaps club.
14-04-2015, 11:35 AM
I suspect that this pearl has been picked up already but...
No, they don't. You should try looking beyond Scottish independence sometimes.
You would seem to be the one obsessed with independence, I've already moved onto and am referring to the general election. Time you moved on :wink:
14-04-2015, 12:01 PM
murphy apparently declined to appear on scotland tonight to explain the confusion over how Labour can back cuts and oppose them at the same time, when is the next debate on the tellybox :greengrin should be comedy gold
14-04-2015, 12:34 PM
Quote of the week -
David Cameron: "Conservatives offering 'a good life' for all"
VivaHiberña
14-04-2015, 03:37 PM
If SNP gain that many seats from Labour, it will be less likely that Labour will be the largest party so will not be first to attempt to form a coalition. SNP's best hope is for a much smaller number of MPs but enough to tip the balance
That sort of relies on a misunderstanding of how Parliament works though. While strictly speaking the incumbent gets the first attempt at forming a government, Clegg showed in 2010 that even that might be a fading convention. Ultimately it will come down to whoever can put together the most palatable deal. The SNP's best hope will be for as many MPs as possible; every seat that goes from Labour to them is still an MP that would vote against a Tory Budget/Queen's Speech; it the SNP and Labour have 323 seats between them then it doesn't matter how many the Tories have, they would be incapable of forming a government.
[...]
The big issue for the SNP is that many polls are showing large numbers of undecided voters, eg the SNP 52% (TNS I think) showed nearly a third of voters were still undecided. I reckon "shy Labour" might carry the day in a fair few seats.
I think you're confusing polling organisations and the media.
Only if we believe that newspapers take their polls from any source. They don't. Most of the polling companies have a principal paymaster, hence the wide spread of forecasts.
They also make the mistake of basing their forecasts on voting intention even when the ask the question to people 'certain to vote'. For example in the referendum people from under-privileged areas like Glasgow and Dundee were mostly pro-Yes. People in the better off areas were predominately No. But people from better off areas are always much, much more likely to vote. Also older people are more aligned with the unionist parties, younger voters with the nationalists. In the referendum the turnout of over 55's was 92%. Of 16-34 it was only 69%.
These factors can account for a 5-8% swing in the polls. That could present a 15 seat swing. So that's why the SNP surge is overstated
14-04-2015, 07:30 PM
They don't care about that. They are all Thatcher's children and lack any imagination or ideas beyond her creed.
Am I right in saying that the right to buy has been ended in Scotland?
I think you're right.
Quote of the week -
David Cameron: "Conservatives offering 'a good life' for all"
Interesting manifesto, though. Rather Blairite in its tilt towards aspiration.
15-04-2015, 05:44 AM
Quote of the week -
David Cameron: "Conservatives offering 'the Good Life' for all"
Or in plain English
every house will get a goat, 3 hens and a packet of vegetable seeds. :wink: (one for the oldies)
15-04-2015, 12:04 PM
David Camewrong claims that his party is for the working people of Britain. This new/old policy of the right to buy will only make London more elitist, will it not ?
15-04-2015, 12:22 PM
Or in plain English
every house will get a goat, 3 hens and a packet of vegetable seeds. :wink: (one for the oldies)
If they chuck in Felicity Kendall then they have my vote.
15-04-2015, 12:48 PM
If they chuck in Felicity Kendall then they have my vote.
Get to the back of the queue :wink:
15-04-2015, 04:40 PM
As expected, Labour trying to have their cake and eat it.
http://m.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/labour-mp-ian-murray-breaks-ranks-over-trident-1-3744485
15-04-2015, 06:02 PM
As expected, Labour trying to have their cake and eat it.
http://m.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/labour-mp-ian-murray-breaks-ranks-over-trident-1-3744485
He clearly feels so strongly about it that he didnt bother his arse to show up for the last vote.
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/04/15/88ce3ade047eb175e2ab516a781e16c4.jpg
liamh2202
15-04-2015, 08:08 PM
He clearly feels so strongly about it that he didnt bother his arse to show up for the last vote.
http://images.tapatalk-cdn.com/15/04/15/88ce3ade047eb175e2ab516a781e16c4.jpg
I think since everyone wants devolution of power to local level the vote on trident should be made by argyll and bute / west dumbartonshire constituents who are directly affected by trident and the jobs it brings.....
15-04-2015, 08:28 PM
I think since everyone wants devolution of power to local level the vote on trident should be made by argyll and bute / west dumbartonshire constituents who are directly affected by trident and the jobs it brings.....
And Georgia in the USA should have had the final vote on the abolition of slavery.
16-04-2015, 08:37 AM
Oh dear!
http://metro.co.uk/2015/04/14/tory-candidate-suggests-mentally-ill-people-should-wear-wristbands-5149798/
16-04-2015, 08:48 AM
Well, no.
By all means let them vote on the location of the Nuclear deterrent - as in "we don't\do want it here", but one consituency can't have the only vote on whether or not the whole country has a nuclear deterrent. That's not exactly reasonable.
16-04-2015, 10:59 AM
http://atrueindependentscotland.com/lord-bell-nicola-sturgeon-is-ghastly-goodbye-scotland/
liamh2202
16-04-2015, 11:08 AM
Well, no.
By all means let them vote on the location of the Nuclear deterrent - as in "we don't\do want it here", but one consituency can't have the only vote on whether or not the whole country has a nuclear deterrent. That's not exactly reasonable.
I take your point there..in which case though shouldn't the whole country (uk) that we voted to be part of decide as a country whether to stay in the EU or not. Or does that only happen when it suits?
liamh2202
16-04-2015, 11:11 AM
Well, no.
And just to clarify.. Would you then accept if the uk voted to keep trident and argyll voted to keep it housed in the gare loch then that would be the correct democratic decision?
16-04-2015, 11:13 AM
And just to clarify.. Would you then accept if the uk voted to keep trident and argyll voted to keep it housed in the gare loch then that would be the correct democratic decision?
Of course it would. Just because I don't agree with Trident doesn't mean my view is more important than a majority.
liamh2202
16-04-2015, 11:15 AM
Of course it would. Just because I don't agree with Trident doesn't mean my view is more important than a majority.
I have to applaud you mate.. Most people I know with your views over trident would argue that its location should be a Scotland wide vote. That's why I was checking but fair play. The Base means a lot to people and their families over here
16-04-2015, 11:27 AM
Oh dear!
http://metro.co.uk/2015/04/14/tory-candidate-suggests-mentally-ill-people-should-wear-wristbands-5149798/
I think we have to be careful with what gets publicity in the next few weeks, as we're well and truly into silly season as far as opportunistic campaigning goes.
As far as I can see, there are no actual quotes to confirm what she allegedly said but if, as the article states, she said that "wearing a wristband to indicate the nature of a mentally ill person’s condition would be helpful to professionals to whom certain people cannot explain their condition", then that is simply a fact.
Of course it throws up all sorts of issues around choice, stigmatisation and equality, but let's not all jump on the condemnation bandwagon simply because a few Twitterers and a journalist want to score some political points.
16-04-2015, 12:08 PM
I think we have to be careful with what gets publicity in the next few weeks, as we're well and truly into silly season as far as opportunistic campaigning goes.
As far as I can see, there are no actual quotes to confirm what she allegedly said but if, as the article states, she said that "wearing a wristband to indicate the nature of a mentally ill person’s condition would be helpful to professionals to whom certain people cannot explain their condition", then that is simply a fact.
Of course it throws up all sorts of issues around choice, stigmatisation and equality, but let's not all jump on the condemnation bandwagon simply because a few Twitterers and a journalist want to score some political points.
I agree. We can't be sure of the context or accuracy of these "quotes". If there was an element of choice involved I'd see no problem with this suggestion. Nobody feels stigmatised wearing a bracelet with a list of their allergies or their status as an epileptic engraved on it.
16-04-2015, 12:30 PM
Had this brought to my attention last night. It's an absolute belter.
I also believe that it is old but have a peak and say what you think about it
https://www.facebook.com/luke.bovill/posts/10153217009028209
16-04-2015, 01:03 PM
That is brilliant. Dearie me.
Hannah_hfc
16-04-2015, 01:21 PM
Excellent post. Story's like that can cause mass hysteria rather quickly.
16-04-2015, 02:32 PM
Oh dear!
"Can you hear the drums Fernando?" :singing:
:foot:
16-04-2015, 02:53 PM
Is there something wrong with the video? I think the needle might be jumping. :hmmm:
16-04-2015, 03:52 PM
Is there something wrong with the video? I think the needle might be jumping. :hmmm:
Must be a vine. Must be a vine, must be a vine...
16-04-2015, 08:29 PM
Did Ed just challenge Cameron to a duel there :faf:
It's just a pity one of them is going to be PM
Benny Brazil
16-04-2015, 08:47 PM
Its a pity that if Labour and the SNP do form some sort of coalition that we couldnt get Sturgeon as PM and Ed as the Deputy :greengrin
16-04-2015, 08:55 PM
Sturgeon destroyed Ed. He was embarrassing.
16-04-2015, 09:12 PM
Sturgeon destroyed Ed. He was embarrassing.
I'd rather have David Dimbleby as PM, I love the old silver fox
16-04-2015, 09:27 PM
I'd rather have David Dimbleby as PM, I love the old silver fox
I was in the QT audience in Edinburgh a few years back, he came round and spoke to us all beforehand. He was dead funny and a bit cheeky, like a lecherous old uncle:cb
16-04-2015, 09:30 PM
14698:aok: The ladies done it again tonight.
16-04-2015, 10:15 PM
14698:aok: The ladies done it again tonight.
Poor old Ed doesn't know what to do when his mate Dave isn't there for him to rush to for a handshake.
17-04-2015, 08:56 AM
Poor old Ed doesn't know what to do when his mate Dave isn't there for him to rush to for a handshake.
Yes & I noticed the 3 ladies had a wee gang hug at the end.
17-04-2015, 01:21 PM
That's a cracker, but in fairness to him, he's improved a little since then. Nicola better watch her back when negotiations start:wink:
17-04-2015, 02:54 PM
That's a cracker, but in fairness to him, he's improved a little since then. Nicola better watch her back when negotiations start:wink:
He's a blundering fool. He was the same last night. It's a shame on him, I am serious as well, because he has chosen the wrong occupation to be so bad at talking. Id say he is in the wrong job.
17-04-2015, 04:04 PM
According to Ashcroft's constituency polling, Murphy is 9 points behind in East Renfrewshire and looks like he could lose his seat to the SNP. Alexander is 11 points behind in Paisley also to the SNP.
Michael Moore and Charlie Kennedy's seats could go to the Tories.
17-04-2015, 04:11 PM
Just like they did at the last General Election. :greengrin
17-04-2015, 09:48 PM
According to Ashcroft's constituency polling, Murphy is 9 points behind in East Renfrewshire and looks like he could lose his seat to the SNP. Alexander is 11 points behind in Paisley also to the SNP.
SNP clear lead by 15 in Kennedy's. Moore's is almost a 3 way tie between SNP, Libs and Tories.
17-04-2015, 10:12 PM
Does anyone else think the swing to snp will be a lot less than what's been reported? I think the snp will take more, but not to the extent being reported.
17-04-2015, 10:31 PM
Does anyone else think the swing to snp will be a lot less than what's been reported? I think the snp will take more, but not to the extent being reported.
Most folk who look at polls! However, these polls aren't actually that far off the 2011 Scottish parliament results and the indyref is the sort of event that could be a game changer. We'll find out soon ...
McIntosh
17-04-2015, 10:32 PM
I suspect the SNP will probably get forty seats. Anything less will probably be quite deflating, particularly in light of the high expectations of their supporters. It will be interesting to see the impact of sitting MPs individual support and tactical voting.
18-04-2015, 06:23 AM
http://lordashcroftpolls.com/2015/03/edinburgh-south-west/
22% swing to SNP in Darling's seat.
18-04-2015, 07:28 AM
Tactical voting! Local libdems campaigners support tory in North Perthshire and labour in Ochils. It is anyone but SNP for them
Chibs
19-04-2015, 09:03 AM
I did not think it would be possible for my hatred of the tories to increase.
David Cameron on the Andrew Marr show has just proved me wrong.
19-04-2015, 09:14 AM
I don't think we'll get anywhere near the number of seats the polls say we will. If we can get 30 seats we'll be doing great imo. Any more than that will be like winning the cup.
But it's all fixed by MI5 apparently:-
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/general-election-2015/11546760/The-SNPs-very-Scottish-conspiracy....html
19-04-2015, 10:49 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/general-election-2015/11546760/The-SNPs-very-Scottish-conspiracy....html
Some Yes supporters are still struggling to accept the result. That's laughable if they genuinely think the referendum was fixed by MI5.
19-04-2015, 11:03 AM
Think that's a very politicised article... Certainly doesn't take a conspiracy theorist to see it's hardly been written to provide even-handed, impartial commentary.
19-04-2015, 11:15 AM
Oh aye, they must have forgotten about all the Tory ballots in the last election then:aok:
Chibs
19-04-2015, 11:43 AM
Some Yes supporters are still struggling to accept the result. That's laughable if they genuinely think the referendum was fixed by MI5.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xg9_Lx2AWaE
20-04-2015, 02:33 PM
I think alot of the press are bigging up the SNP numbers so when they get less seats they will be able to say the result was a disappointment for them.
20-04-2015, 03:09 PM
Just caught the Andrew Marr show on the i player.... David Cameron sounds like a desperate man. Scaremongering about the SNP coming to Westminster and causing mayhem... Want Scotland as part of the UK but we really should know our place and do as we're told eh?? Arse.
20-04-2015, 04:26 PM
Want Scotland as part of the UK but we really should know our place and do as we're told eh?? Arse.
I agree. I think we were meant to just accept our wee pat on the head after the referendum and then go back in the corner where we belong and play with our toys.
20-04-2015, 05:00 PM
2 more Ashcroft constituency polls out today:
Edinburgh North & Leith
SNP 43% (+33)
Labour 29% (-9)
Conservatives 14% (-1)
Liberal Democrats 6% (-28)
Edinburgh South
SNP 37% (+29)
Labour 34% (-1)
Conservatives 16% (-6)
Liberal Democrats 8% (-26)
Stranraer
20-04-2015, 07:58 PM
Just caught the Andrew Marr show on the i player.... David Cameron sounds like a desperate man. Scaremongering about the SNP coming to Westminster and causing mayhem... Want Scotland as part of the UK but we really should know our place and do as we're told eh?? Arse.
The Tories seem to be trying to scare middle England with all their Billboards of Salmond and Sturgeon - I think it's quite pathetic but at they are better than the 2010 "I'll protect our NHS" posters with Cameron's airbrushed mug on the front.
VivaHiberña
20-04-2015, 09:05 PM
It looks like Salmond didn't get much of a say in writing the SNP's manifesto. :tee hee:
http://i1292.photobucket.com/albums/b569/hibeeduncan/salmond%20manifesto_zpsva520knc.png
21-04-2015, 07:11 AM
I agree. I think we were meant to just accept our wee pat on the head after the referendum and then go back in the corner where we belong and play with our toys.
There's sadly plenty of us who think that should be our role.
Interesting poll out last night had SNP 49, Lab 25 and the Tories closing in on 17. Once read an article which suggested the eventual consequence of the referendum would be the SNP taking in the left votes and the Tories being the opposition, with Labour a small but significant 3rd party. Wonder how far away we are from that?
21-04-2015, 09:00 AM
Edinburgh North & Leith
SNP 43% (+33)
Labour 29% (-9)
Conservatives 14% (-1)
Edinburgh South
SNP 37% (+29)
Labour 34% (-1)
Conservatives 16% (-6)
Is this I am MP Ian Murray's seat??
21-04-2015, 09:08 AM
Also was interesting viewing on BBC Breakfast this morning.... Ed Miliband was on the sofa. Bill the old tit Turnbull was quizzing him re a coalition with the SNP. Asked " can you be clear that there will be no coalition with the SNP?" Ed replied there would defiantly be no deal with them. Bills response... "Oh that's good.... I MEAN CLEAR!!"
Wee slip of the tongue Bill?! :greengrin
21-04-2015, 12:12 PM
I see John Major has waded into the debate with a warning that the SNP will be blackmailing a Labour government on a daily basis:rolleyes:
21-04-2015, 12:30 PM
The SNP scaremongering is embarressing. Have the UK Parties given up on outlining why we should vote for them?
21-04-2015, 12:33 PM
Is this I am MP Ian Murray's seat??
Yep.
21-04-2015, 12:47 PM
The SNP scaremongering is embarressing. Have the UK Parties given up on outlining why we should vote for them?
Deja vu, September 2014
21-04-2015, 01:11 PM
Deja vu, September 2014
Indeed.
southfieldhibby
21-04-2015, 01:20 PM
I think alot of the press are bigging up the SNP numbers so when they get less seats they will be able to say the result was a disappointment for them.
I think there's a real possibility of the SNP predictions becoming a self-fulfilling prophecy.
21-04-2015, 01:57 PM
Weirdly, I find myself agreeing with some of the commentators on this.
You cannot within months of having told Scotland that they're an integral part of the country and political system, then tell people that they're have to be shut out because you don't agree with their democratic choices.
Independence may not end up being in the hands of a referendum if the Westminster self-preservation racket keeps this up. Folks will be demanding it.
southfieldhibby
21-04-2015, 03:37 PM
http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/queen-palace-coup-miliband-snp-cameron-huitson-345
21-04-2015, 04:20 PM
http://www.vice.com/en_uk/read/queen-palace-coup-miliband-snp-cameron-huitson-345
TBH, I think the referendum gave the people of the UK the ultimate proof on how the powers that be view "democracy".
The surge in support for the SNP is a direct result of the contempt Westminster has shown for the Scottish electorate (both Yes & No voters) before and after 18/9/14.
21-04-2015, 06:18 PM
Was thinking the same thing.
I literally haven't heard a Tory policy in about 3 days, such has their SNP bashing been.
21-04-2015, 07:43 PM
The more noise is made, the more Scots will dig their heels in, stick two fingers up at Westminster and vote SNP.
I don't understand the Tory strategy on this other than to try and scare English voters not to give the potential coalition a chance by not voting Labour.
HiBremian
21-04-2015, 08:33 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/apr/21/lord-tebbit-conservative-supporters-vote-labour-scotland-keep-out-snp
Tebbit now saying vote Labour. A fair reflection of the man's lack of sanity, or another sign of the establishment pulling together?
21-04-2015, 09:19 PM
I see John Major has waded into the debate with a warning that the SNP will be blackmailing a Labour government on a daily basis:rolleyes:
Yep, made it sound like the SNP was some sort of terrorist organisation!
21-04-2015, 09:20 PM
http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/apr/21/lord-tebbit-conservative-supporters-vote-labour-scotland-keep-out-snp
Tebbit now saying vote Labour. A fair reflection of the man's lack of sanity, or another sign of the establishment pulling together?
I couldn't give a Donald duck what that evil old bassa says. I would use the general yardstick of doing the opposite of everything he says. I'd like to think I'm not a vindictive person, but I will be glad when he's dead. He was Maggie's right hand man in destroying communities and good people.
21-04-2015, 09:23 PM
They don't know which way to turn, any of them.
I wonder if what will emerge out of the ashes of a SNP landslide will be a Scottish Unionist Party. A centre right rebrand of Better Together whose major issue is remaining within the Union. Likely to poll better than any of the existing unionist parties, most of whom will have a handful of Scottish MPs if they're lucky.
21-04-2015, 09:32 PM
They don't know which way to turn, any of them.
I wonder if what will emerge out of the ashes of a SNP landslide will be a Scottish Unionist Party. A centre right rebrand of Better Together whose major issue is remaining within the Union. Likely to poll better than any of the existing unionist parties, most of whom will have a handful of Scottish MPs if they're lucky.
I don't think so, as they'd just be a re-named Scottish Conservatives and would fair no better. The Tories are still officially called the Conservative and Unionist Party. Labour wouldn't touch it.
21-04-2015, 09:40 PM
I think the Makers of Spitting Image should do a one off election special.... Imagine the fun they could have with that mob?! They would have a field day with Farage!!! :faf:
I would watch that!!!
21-04-2015, 09:45 PM
I don't think so, as they'd just be a re-named Scottish Conservatives and would fair no better. The Tories are still officially called the Conservative and Unionist Party. Labour wouldn't touch it.
Labour are centre right these days anyway. They all look the same to me.
Any real Labour who are left could start up a proper Scottish Labour Party rather than the disgrace in existence at the moment.
Scottish Unionist Party maybe isn't the right name then. A party whose major issue is to remain within the UK could do quite well though. The three main UK parties up here keep saying they don't want to repeat the referendum in this campaign, yet they keep bringing it up. They must think it's a vote winner.
21-04-2015, 09:46 PM
Yep, made it sound like the SNP was some sort of terrorist organisation!
Some of the dialogue that is being used against the SNP, & the Scottish vote in general, must be bordering on slander.
Sturgeon is doing well to keep out of their p!ss!ng contest.
Best she continues with her positive campaign while leaving the gutter politics to the experts.
Stranraer
21-04-2015, 09:49 PM
Labour are centre right these days anyway. They all look the same to me.
Any real Labour who are left could start up a proper Scottish Labour Party rather than the disgrace in existence at the moment.
Scottish Unionist Party maybe isn't the right name then. A party whose major issue is to remain within the UK could do quite well though. The three main UK parties up here keep saying they don't want to repeat the referendum in this campaign, yet they keep bringing it up. They must think it's a vote winner.
Maybe the Socialist Labour Party should make a comeback? For me the Scottish left is too divided, I mean if all the left wing parties fielded a candidate it would be chaos - Solidarity (if they still exist?), the SSP, The Greens, Socialist Labour party... I'll happily vote SNP but I wish the SSP would get their act together a bit and they could become a force in the Scottish election next year.
21-04-2015, 09:58 PM
Maybe the Socialist Labour Party should make a comeback? For me the Scottish left is too divided, I mean if all the left wing parties fielded a candidate it would be chaos - Solidarity (if they still exist?), the SSP, The Greens, Socialist Labour party... I'll happily vote SNP but I wish the SSP would get their act together a bit and they could become a force in the Scottish election next year.
Agreed. Labour has lost its Scottish vote because it abandoned its core vote in the pursuit of middle England. We don't have a credible democratic socialist vote in Scotland now; perhaps the Greens would be nearest, but they are tiny. The SNP have filled centre-left he vacuum left by Labour, though they are by no means a democratic socialist party.
Breaking news, Middle England may get a Government / be represented in Parliament by a load of M.P's they would never have voted in in a million years. Sounds familiar but I can't quite put my finger on where this has happened before.. This is the first time in my lifetime where I can remember Scotland even being mentioned in a general election and boy oh boy the main parties have changed their tune since last year. Imagine a part of our recently rescued United Kingdom having the audacity to vote for a party and hope to be represented in a democracy. It's just not cricket. Now away back to beating grouse & being servile if you know what's good for you.
21-04-2015, 10:25 PM
Breaking news, Middle England may get a Government / be represented in Parliament by a load of M.P's they would never have voted in in a million years. Sounds familiar but I can't quite put my finger on where this has happened before.. This is the first time in my lifetime where I can remember Scotland even being mentioned in a general election and boy oh boy the main parties have changed their tune since last year. Imagine a part of our recently rescued United Kingdom having the audacity to vote for a party and hope to be represented in a democracy. It's just not cricket. Now away back to beating grouse & being servile if you know what's good for you.
It will never be accepted in the tea rooms. My net curtains havnae stopped twitching.
21-04-2015, 10:36 PM
There should've been a reminder pinned behind the door of no. 10
"Remember, don't poke the animals"
22-04-2015, 05:36 AM
Agreed. Labour has lost its Scottish vote because it abandoned its core vote in the pursuit of middle England. We don't have a credible democratic socialist vote in Scotland now; perhaps the Greens would be nearest, but they are tiny. The SNP have filled centre-left he vacuum left by Labour, though they are by no means a democratic socialist party.
Perhaps everybody that said that joined or voted Green they would be more of force than they are now.
22-04-2015, 10:50 AM
Perhaps everybody that said that joined or voted Green they would be more of force than they are now.
Aye. If I do give my backing to a party, it will probably be the Greens. I should be a natural Labour voter, but they've shifted so far to right since Blair, I don't believe in them. I think they did some good things when last in office (tax credits, NHS investment) but I don't feel they believe in very much now. As Tony Benn used to say, it's become an argument about who can manage neo-liberalism the best.
hibs#1
24-04-2015, 09:01 AM
1st post here,longtime lurker and hibs fan not really a big political follower so apologies if this wide of the mark but surely the best idea would be to have a party that's just out to help everyone and make the country the best it can be for people no matter there status or there political leanings?might be talking a lot of jibberish,I'm sure someone will let me know ggtth:flag:
24-04-2015, 09:17 AM
1st post here,longtime lurker and hibs fan not really a big political follower so apologies if this wide of the mark but surely the best idea would be to have a party that's just out to help everyone and make the country the best it can be for people no matter there status or there political leanings?might be talking a lot of jibberish,I'm sure someone will let me know ggtth:flag:
That's the problem with politics IMO, it's not what's best for the country, it's what will get them re elected that drives their policies. I heard Ruth Davidson say yesterday that we had to eliminate the deficit so that our children didn't pay for the debts run up by our generation! I'd love to know what the vast majority of people of my generation did to be condemned to a decade of austerity.
hibs#1
24-04-2015, 09:32 AM
That's the problem with politics IMO, it's not what's best for the country, it's what will get them re elected that drives their policies. I heard Ruth Davidson say yesterday that we had to eliminate the deficit so that our children didn't pay for the debts run up by our generation! I'd love to know what the vast majority of people of my generation did to be condemned to a decade of austerity.
thanks for the reply just curious as to whether there was a party that wasn't just self serving as all of them seem to be?
portyhibernian
24-04-2015, 09:36 AM
thanks for the reply just curious as to whether there was a party that wasn't just self serving as all of them seem to be?
I think this is why Nicola Sturgeon has come across so well in the debates, when she speaks you get the feeling she speaks for an entire country, rather than a party.
24-04-2015, 09:40 AM
I would say the greens would be the closest to that.
hibs#1
24-04-2015, 09:46 AM
I think this is why Nicola Sturgeon has come across so well in the debates, when she speaks you get the feeling she speaks for an entire country, rather than a party.
I would say the greens would be the closest to that.
from what I've seen of her she does seem like one of the better ones and cant say I know much about the greens might vote for them just because of the colour:greengrin
24-04-2015, 12:08 PM
Far too sensible. Go away and think again. :wink:
24-04-2015, 12:24 PM
How does this float your boat?
"If elected, our candidates will work for a Living Wage, rising to £10 an hour by 2020, public ownership of our railways and a more democratic economy. We’ll reject austerity and show that there is a better way than making the rest of us pay for the failures of the banks, big business and a political elite."
24-04-2015, 12:29 PM
"If elected, our candidates will work for a Living Wage, rising to £10 an hour by 2020, public ownership of our railways and a more democratic economy. We’ll reject austerity and show that there is a better way than making the rest of us pay for the failures of the banks, big business and a political elite."
Left Unity?
24-04-2015, 12:33 PM
Left Unity?
Not quite westminster2015 (http://www.scottishgreens.org.uk/westminster2015-2/)
24-04-2015, 12:38 PM
Not quite westminster2015 (http://www.scottishgreens.org.uk/westminster2015-2/)
Aah.
I got a leaflet the other day from Left Unity with very, very similar printed on it.
24-04-2015, 12:42 PM
I'm sure that was Jim Murphy's first draft of the Scottish Labour manifesto before it was Ballsed up.
24-04-2015, 12:57 PM
The biggest 'threat' to the forecasted SNP landslide in Scotland is the Green Party splitting the non-Lab/Lib/Con voters.
If I represented one of the three major parties I would be trying to promote the Greens.
"Divide and Conquer" as the old proverb says.
24-04-2015, 01:33 PM
The biggest 'threat' to the forecasted SNP landslide in Scotland is the Green Party splitting the non-Lab/Lib/Con voters.
If I represented one of the three major parties I would be trying to promote the Greens.
Or indeed merge and conquer forward_together (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/general-election-2015/11445684/New-Unionist-tactical-voting-campaign-to-stop-SNP-surge.html)
This group are run mainly by Lib Dems who are getting Labour supporters to go round Perth to get people to vote Tory, and in Ochils getting tories to support LAbour, it is an "anybody but the SNP" alliance
24-04-2015, 01:42 PM
Or indeed merge and conquer forward_together (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/general-election-2015/11445684/New-Unionist-tactical-voting-campaign-to-stop-SNP-surge.html)
This group are run mainly by Lib Dems who are getting Labour supporters to go round Perth to get people to vote Tory, and in Ochils getting tories to support LAbour, it is an "anybody but the SNP" alliance
Yeah the tactical voting snuggle up between the 3 main UK parties is making my stomach turn.
I thought (perhaps naively) that after the referendum I wouldn't have to see Labour siding with the Tories again for a long time, how wrong I was.
24-04-2015, 02:38 PM
And fair play to them. This is non-cynical, positive type of party I would want to vote for. Hope over hate.
24-04-2015, 03:21 PM
That assumes there is a significant group that defines itself as 'non Lab Lib Con'. I seriously doubt there is such a group. People vote Green because they like their policies, not because they dislike someone elses. Its good democracy.
speedy_gonzales
24-04-2015, 05:06 PM
That assumes there is a significant group that defines itself as 'non Lab Lib Con'. I seriously doubt there is such a group. People vote Green because they like their policies, not because they dislike someone elses. Its good democracy.
I dunno, my FaceBook newsfeed is full of posts telling me who to vote for depending on where I stay, apparently the only votes worthwhile casting on these islands are SNP, Plaid Cymru or Greens,,,,as Greens are the only option available to all I'd argue why bother with furnishing yourself with info from the many manifestos, let's just scrap this expensive election process and bypass democracy, go straight to a one party state, that party being the Greens :rolleyes:
24-04-2015, 07:09 PM
There's been some informal talks already about starting a new pro Independence Labour Party in the event of a wipe out in the GE15. These discussion have included MPs , MSPs and leading TU officials all who campaigned and voted No in the referendum. It would be based on the will off the people not the economic argument that the no campaign was based on.
24-04-2015, 08:20 PM
There's been some informal talks already about starting a new pro Independence Labour Party in the event of a wipe out in the GE15. These discussion have included MPs , MSPs and leading TU officials all who campaigned and voted No in the referendum. It would be based on the will off the people not the economic argument that the no campaign was based on.
Why would you campaign and vote no, then do a u turn based on the will of the people when the people voted no?
I don't get it.
24-04-2015, 09:21 PM
Given your views on Independence, what's your thoughts on this Lucky ?
24-04-2015, 11:37 PM
Why would you campaign and vote no, then do a u turn based on the will of the people when the people voted no?
I don't get it.
The kind of people who are being described are those who put power over principle every time.
It doesn't matter whether it is right or wrong or whether they believe in it or not. If that's where they'll pick up the votes to enhance their own careers then they'll go for it.
Either that or they've actually seen the sense in the Independence argument. A nice Tory/ UKIP coalition in government wielding the axe to Scotland after we return 40+ SNP MPs would probably focus some minds.
25-04-2015, 07:17 AM
Don't get that at all.
25-04-2015, 07:33 AM
The point is several leading individuals are of the view that we may have reached a point where independence is coming regardless of the economic arguments. Therefore to try and shape and be part of the of independence movement going forward many are now talking about starting again. These individuals all voted no but are willing to accept that the majority of Scots want independence regardless of the cost. Many on the left were sickened by Murphy's election and believe that if Scotland is to have an alternative to the Nats then they have to do something dramatic. There are some every well known names involved in these talks but at present its just informal.
On a personal bases I'm not convinced of the argument on independence but have always respected the right of the people to choose. I'm concerned that any political party can get 50% of the vote and not have any power. I worry about the calibre of some of the SNP candidates as clearly they all want to be at Holyrood not westminster. Politics is changing and as a political activist I have to move with the times.
25-04-2015, 07:43 AM
I dunno, my FaceBook newsfeed is full of posts telling me who to vote for depending on where I stay, apparently the only votes worthwhile casting on these islands are SNP, Plaid Cymru or Greens,,,,as Greens are the only option available to all I'd argue why bother with furnishing yourself with info from the many manifestos, let's just scrap this expensive election process and bypass democracy, go straight to a one party state, that party being the Greens :rolleyes:
I'm not sure what this means :dunno: I can't think of a party less likely to give you totalitarianism than the Greens.
I think we've all become conditioned to thinking of elections in a tactical way. Personally, its all about the process for me; since my vote will never on its own make any difference to tge result, I always vote idealistically regardless of whether my candidate is ahead in the polls or not. Vote for who you like is the only tactic that makes sense.
25-04-2015, 07:54 AM
These individuals all voted no but are willing to accept that the majority of Scots want independence regardless of the cost.
Why would they accept something that was proved false six months ago?
It seems like you're dressing up a breakaway faction in the Scottish Labour ranks by folk who are unhappy that Findlay didn't get the leader gig as something noble when really it's just a stereotypical left-wing split. In other words, if they break away with the pro-Union policy that they campaigned for a few short months ago, they're another tiny little left-wing irrelevance. If they do an about-face and claim to be pro-independence now, they might get a seat at the table with the SNP and Greens.
25-04-2015, 08:00 AM
It seems like you're dressing up a breakaway faction in the Scottish Labour ranks by folk who are unhappy that Findlay didn't get the leader gig as something noble when really it's just a stereotypical left-wing split. In other words, if they break away with the pro-Union policy that they campaigned for a few short months ago, they're another tiny little left-wing irrelevance. If they do an about-face and claim to be pro-independence now, they might get a seat at the table with the SNP and Greens.
This proposal is not going to happen overnight. IF it does happen it would not take place until after next years Scottish elections. This is not about Findlay, it's about listening to what Scots are saying. If the polls are right and Labour are left with 5 MPs and a leader out with parliament there not much to split from. This is about a new start and rather than splitting the left it's about uniting it but it is accepted that will be difficult
25-04-2015, 08:07 AM
This proposal is not going to happen overnight. IF it does happen it would not take place until after next years Scottish elections. This is not about Findlay, it's about listening to what Scots are saying. If the polls are right and Labour are left with 5 MPs and a leader out with parliament there not much to split from. This is about a new start and rather than splitting the left it's about uniting it but it is accepted that will be difficult
Scots already said no to independence so they have spoken.
It would be completely abandoning beliefs and principles for attempted electoral gain. I suspect that the electorate, even those in favour of independence, might not be daft enough to fall for that. Hey ho, Labour imploding when things aren't going well isn't the most unexpected thing ever, based on previous events.
25-04-2015, 08:12 AM
Not suggesting this of you Lucky, I don't know you, but if there's one certainty about politics through the ages it's that there's never any shortage of precious folk on the Left willing to fall out over a perceived sell-out by a comrade.
It's probably human nature though doctrine tells me it's manipulation by the capitalist running dogs and shadowy cabals :greengrin
25-04-2015, 09:14 AM
Wow. Just wow. Why not campaign for yes and then try to gain power in an independant Scotland as a Labour party standing on a platform for thier political beliefs! Could it be because most of them are self serving and have completely lost sight of what their and labours beliefs were. People kn Scotland will take a long time to forget the sight of labour and tories standing together during the referendum snd celebrating together afterwards
25-04-2015, 09:52 AM
People kn Scotland will take a long time to forget the sight of labour and tories standing together during the referendum snd celebrating together afterwards
But they will forget various SNP/Tory alliances?
I've never really understood this "well, aye, you might believe or want the same things as them on certain areas but you shouldn't work with them to achieve it" thing.
It doesn't fit in with the SNP's anti-Tory rhetoric (designed purely for electoral gain btw) but the SNP have been happy to work with Tories when it's suited their ambitions/designs for power etc.
25-04-2015, 10:20 AM
The point is several leading individuals are of the view that we may have reached a point where independence is coming regardless of the economic arguments. Therefore to try and shape and be part of the of independence movement going forward many are now talking about starting again. These individuals all voted no but are willing to accept that the majority of Scots want independence regardless of the cost. Many on the left were sickened by Murphy's election and believe that if Scotland is to have an alternative to the Nats then they have to do something dramatic. There are some every well known names involved in these talks but at present its just informal.
On a personal bases I'm not convinced of the argument on independence but have always respected the right of the people to choose. I'm concerned that any political party can get 50% of the vote and not have any power. I worry about the calibre of some of the SNP candidates as clearly they all want to be at Holyrood not westminster. Politics is changing and as a political activist I have to move with the times.
I got the feeling that during the referendum there were lots of Labour people who campaigned for a no vote, but didn't really believe in what they were saying. It doesn't really come as a surprise to me that there may be some sort of split from the main Labour Party. I could be talking rubbish here, but did you come across many people like that?
25-04-2015, 10:39 AM
Wow. Just wow. Why not campaign for yes and then try to gain power in an independant Scotland as a Labour party standing on a platform for thier political beliefs! Could it be because most of them are self serving and have completely lost sight of what their and labours beliefs were. People kn Scotland will take a long time to forget the sight of labour and tories standing together during the referendum snd celebrating together afterwards
If the Scottish Labour Party is to resurrect itself it will have to be from the grass roots level as the top end has been tainted by the 'Red Tory' tag.
25-04-2015, 11:39 AM
But they will forget various SNP/Tory alliances?
I've never really understood this "well, aye, you might believe or want the same things as them on certain areas but you shouldn't work with them to achieve it" thing.
It doesn't fit in with the SNP's anti-Tory rhetoric (designed purely for electoral gain btw) but the SNP have been happy to work with Tories when it's suited their ambitions/designs for power etc.
Two answers to that.
Know thy enemy, and Keep your friends close and your enemy closer.
25-04-2015, 12:02 PM
Two answers to that.
Know thy enemy, and Keep your friends close and your enemy closer.
That's fine but it's the hypocrisy of some SNP supporters that I have a problem with.
25-04-2015, 12:21 PM
That's fine but it's the hypocrisy of some SNP supporters that I have a problem with.
Just as well I'm not voting SNP then :wink:
25-04-2015, 12:58 PM
No hypocrisy from me. Grew up in the 80s and remember what the Tories did to Scotland so im desperate to see them out. But Scotland has continued to return labour MPs and get tory govt or almost as bad Tony Blair. Also, we should remember in 79 the no confidence vote, against an unpopular ineffective govt, was supported by liberals and the majority of NI MPs as well as SNP. Only Plaid supported labour. I am of a socialist persuasion but by no means can labour post Blair be described as socialist. WHEN Scotland becomes independant i will most likely find myself voting for a Scottish Socialist party in some form
25-04-2015, 08:34 PM
This is all very interesting but surely we should be discussing the most important comment of the day by a politician?
Is call me Dave a closet West Ham fan?
25-04-2015, 08:40 PM
This is all very interesting but surely we should be discussing the most important comment of the day by a politician?
It clearly shows how far these MP's are from the average man on the street.
I also recall some crass lie from Tony Blair about sitting in the Gallowgate end at Newcastle. They have no limit to lying. It's simply endemic to their profession.
25-04-2015, 08:42 PM
I also recall some crass lie from Tony Blair about sitting in the Gallowgate end at Newcastle. They have no limit to lying. It's simply endemic to their profession.
25-04-2015, 08:46 PM
Saw that. It's funny that the final nail in the coffin for his credibility isn't about serious policy stuff.
It's just that he always told everyone he was a Villa fan, into his football and that, but when he was tired and on the spot he couldn't remember he was meant to be Villa and said he was West Ham.
He knew they were claret and blue, just couldn't remember the right city :greengrin
25-04-2015, 08:48 PM
Not that I want to defend Blair but that was shown to be a myth. The transcript of the interview never had him saying that.
25-04-2015, 10:03 PM
Slightly off topic but is it a widely known fact Tony Blair is Scottish and born in Edinburgh, Willowbrae actually.
Always assumed he was English.
25-04-2015, 10:49 PM
Slightly off topic but is it a widely known fact Tony Blair is Scottish and born in Edinburgh, Willowbrae actually.
Always assumed he was English.
You've reminded me, Nats often moan about Westminster being something alien and non-Scots.
There are four 'great offices of state' - PM, Chancellor, Foreign Sec and Home Sec. All wield vast influence over the UK and Scotland. Even post-devolution, the Home Sec is in charge of such critical issues for Scotland as immigration, citizenship and the security services.
The last Labour governments were in power for thirteen years, meaning there were 52 years those great offices of state could be inhabited.
For 31 of those 52 years, the posts were held by people born in Scotland.
Even if you discount Blair, the most senior posts in the government were held for 21 years out of 52 by Scottish MPs.
Given we are 10% of the UK population, that's a massively disproportionate weighting towards Scotland.
It's easy to try and stoke anti-English resentment but the truth is that it was Scottish folk at the heart of Westminster who introduced things that benefitted us all like the minimum wage, pension credits, Sure Start, child tax credits, abolishing Section 28 (Clause 2A in Scotland) etc etc.
The last example is very pertinent given both the SNP and the Yes campaign were bankrolled by the man who also bankrolled the campaign to keep Section 28/Clause 2A, which basically legalised discrimination against gay people.
Open question to all the posters on here who support the SNP or supported the Yes vote. Are you happy to stand alongside Brian Souter or do you repudiate his views on homosexuality - yes or no?
His spokesman justified him putting £1m into campaigning against the repeal because he was a 'father' and a 'committed Christian' :aok:.
And when not pouring money into campaigns against gay peoples' rights, he pours money into the SNP and the Yes campaign
Points go to the folk who give a direct answer rather than avoiding the question :wink:
25-04-2015, 10:57 PM
Edinburgh North & Leith
SNP 43% (+33)
Labour 29% (-9)
Conservatives 14% (-1)
Edinburgh South
SNP 37% (+29)
Labour 34% (-1)
Conservatives 16% (-6)
Genuine question - do you know Ashcroft polls on party rather than candidate?
On that basis, do you think that now we know the SNP candidate in Edinburgh South has said that elderly voters 'can barely remember their own name', has compared No voters to Nazi collaborators, and used to work for a firm that advised companies on how to avoid tax, on that basis, do you think that Neil Hay might poll a wee bit worse than his party does?
Is he fit to be an MP? I'm basing that on his comments about older people alone, who will form at least 20% of his electorate.
26-04-2015, 07:13 AM
You've reminded me, Nats often moan about Westminster being something alien and non-Scots.
There are four 'great offices of state' - PM, Chancellor, Foreign Sec and Home Sec. All wield vast influence over the UK and Scotland. Even post-devolution, the Home Sec is in charge of such critical issues for Scotland as immigration, citizenship and the security services.
The last Labour governments were in power for thirteen years, meaning there were 52 years those great offices of state could be inhabited.
Even if you discount Blair, the most senior posts in the government were held for 21 years out of 52 by Scottish MPs.
Given we are 10% of the UK population, that's a massively disproportionate weighting towards Scotland.
It's easy to try and stoke anti-English resentment but the truth is that it was Scottish folk at the heart of Westminster who introduced things that benefitted us all like the minimum wage, pension credits, Sure Start, child tax credits, abolishing Section 28 (Clause 2A in Scotland) etc etc.
The last example is very pertinent given both the SNP and the Yes campaign were bankrolled by the man who also bankrolled the campaign to keep Section 28/Clause 2A, which basically legalised discrimination against gay people.
Open question to all the posters on here who support the SNP or supported the Yes vote. Are you happy to stand alongside Brian Souter or do you repudiate his views on homosexuality - yes or no?
His spokesman justified him putting £1m into campaigning against the repeal because he was a 'father' and a 'committed Christian' :aok:.
And when not pouring money into campaigns against gay peoples' rights, he pours money into the SNP and the Yes campaign
Points go to the folk who give a direct answer rather than avoiding the question :wink:
I repudiate his views on homosexuality. That good enough for you?
What points do I get :greengrin
By the way if we're looking at party funding, I'm sure all the main parties will have benefactors they like to keep at arms length. I
I'm still voting SNP.
26-04-2015, 07:37 AM
When the gay martiage bill was voted on in Holyrood 40 SNP MSPs voted in favour of it, only 6 against and 2 abstained. I'm quite comfortable that Souter has little influence on SNP policies regarding LGBT issues.
I've made my views on homosexuality perfectly clear on here before and they are completely different to those of Brian Souter.
26-04-2015, 08:34 AM
Police report 12000 people in "Freedom" Square, Glasgow yesterday at the Hope Over Fear rally. Alas, the reliable BCC fail to mention this on their news website. They do however have a report on the cyclist rally in Edinburgh about making Scotland a cycle friendly country.
Update on the reported "hundred" or so who attended the rally:
http://www.demotix.com/photo/7439168/thousands-attend-hope-over-fear-rally-george-square-glasgow
26-04-2015, 09:31 AM
I completely disagree with Soutar's views on religion and homosexuality, pretty much like the vast majority of SNP members. What's you're point? You can have your points back if you give a direct answer.
26-04-2015, 09:32 AM
As an individual, I can think and decide for myself. Just think about that, I live in a democracy :wink:
What anyone else thinks and does is up to them, but I am with Pretty boy (did I just say that? :wink:) The Souters are successful business people, but I don't agree with how they go about their business. The recent 18% hike in my bus fares have forced me to return to using the car as it saves me around £300 a year.
26-04-2015, 10:12 AM
Police report 12000 people in "Freedom" Square, Glasgow yesterday at the Hope Over Fear rally. Alas, the reliable BCC fail to mention this on their news website. They do however have a report on the cyclist rally in Edinburgh about making Scotland a cycle friendly country.
They missed this in Glasgow too. In a nutshell, the men in suits at the BBC just don't like the SNP.
The First minister was announcing a Women's pledge on the steps at Buchanan street, and the beeb put nothing on their website.
It did happen though.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oTEZDowIGI&feature=youtu.be
Chibs
26-04-2015, 12:40 PM
Maybee. I have no idea what his view on homosexuality is perhaps you can tell me.
The things I do repudiate are religion,bigotry and sectarianism.
26-04-2015, 12:52 PM
Maybee. I have no idea what his view on homosexuality is perhaps you can tell me.
The things I do repudiate are religion,bigotry and sectarianism.
have you not read the post on this page?
Can't stand Souter, Can't stand Souters views on homosexuality, Can't stand Souter on his business practices, in fact the only thing i do agree with him is his views that Scotland should be an independent Nation.
26-04-2015, 01:37 PM
On that basis, do you think that now we know the SNP candidate in Edinburgh South has said that elderly voters 'can barely remember their own name', has compared No voters to Nazi collaborators, and used to work for a firm that advised companies on how to avoid tax, on that basis, do you think that Neil Hay might poll a wee bit worse than his party does?
Is he fit to be an MP? I'm basing that on his comments about older people alone, who will form at least 20% of his electorate.
What's so wrong about working for a firm that advises companies how to avoid tax?
26-04-2015, 04:03 PM
Did you lobby your local Labour MP \ branch office to demand that this money was handed back?
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/labour/11422472/PricewaterhouseCoopers-accused-of-tax-avoidance-on-industrial-scale-by-Labour-MP.html
I'm guessing you did, so award yourself some points.
26-04-2015, 04:53 PM
Neil Hay didn't compare anyone to Nazi collaborators, he shared a link to a parody comedy website.
The one about old people is Ill advised but hardly worth the drama that John mcternan has orchestrated. It isn't, despite Labour's best attempts, suggesting all old people should not be allowed to vote.
Pots and kettles when they have senior activists like the vile Ian smart and candidates like Ian Davidson.
26-04-2015, 04:53 PM
I'd hope voters were more informed than to be swayed by ancient tweets that have been taken out of context and blown out of proportion.
Chibs
26-04-2015, 05:14 PM
have you not read the post on this page?
Can't stand Souter, Can't stand Souters views on homosexuality, Can't stand Souter on his business practices, in fact the only thing i do agree with him is his views that Scotland should be an independent Nation.
0kay.
Now go back to sleep.
26-04-2015, 06:54 PM
Some incisive arguments helping sway voting decisions on this thread I must admit.
26-04-2015, 06:54 PM
So we're back to being thieves and spongers. The fact that they don't even get why this is xenophobic and insulting really grips my ****. I suppose they know they've no votes to lose in Scotland and it might raise a few chuckles south of the border.
26-04-2015, 07:02 PM
So we're back to being thieves and spongers. The fact that they don't even get why this is xenophobic and insulting really grips my ****. I suppose they know they've no votes to lose in Scotland and it might raise a few chuckles south of the border.
That's really poor stuff.
Lowest common denominator politics that I'd expect fron UKIP or the BNP and not an established party.
speedy_gonzales
26-04-2015, 07:04 PM
Really? Substitute SNP for any other party is it still xenophobic? This is just standard trashy media politicking, making a bogeyman out of one member from one party.
There is so much more to the SNP than Salmond, just as there is so much more to Scottish politics than the SNP!
26-04-2015, 07:06 PM
Absolutely atrocious and sums up what is one of the worst elections ever. The lack of the main parties policies and the absolute obsession with the Snp is an insult to our intelligence.
26-04-2015, 07:08 PM
Really? Substitute SNP for any other party is it still xenophobic? This is just standard trashy media politicking, making a bogeyman out of one member from one party.
There is so much more to the SNP than Salmond, just as there is so much more to Scottish politics than the SNP!
Substitute SNP for any other (non NI) party, with the exception of Plaid Cymru perhaps, and the ad loses any meaning so I'd say xenophobic is a pretty fair description.
The inplication is pretty clear.
26-04-2015, 07:14 PM
I actually think the Tory strategy will work in England.
Let's face it - that's all they need.
speedy_gonzales
26-04-2015, 07:26 PM
Substitute SNP for any other (non NI) party, with the exception of Plaid Cymru perhaps, and the ad loses any meaning so I'd say xenophobic is a pretty fair description.
The inplication is pretty clear.
I think some folk are looking to be offended, had the poster been about another political party looking to support Labour, whether they were a geographic party or a single issue party then I doubt there would be any suggestion of xenophobia, even if it was Plaid Cymru, Sinn Fein or SDLP.
The tories are clutching at straws and trying to create a bogeyman, the British electorate aren't that daft, just as we weren't that daft during the referendum. There are plenty streams of information out there, propaganda aside, the electorate can make an informed decision, if they choose to do so!
For the record, I don't consider this to be xenophobic, just as I didn't consider the Lewes bonfire effigy of Salmond to be xenophobic(just as Putin/Kim Jong-Un/Assad/Merkel/Cameron-Clegg/Bush-Blair/Thatcher weren't)
26-04-2015, 07:37 PM
How do you arrive at that conclusion? I've said this before but it doesn't seem to be grasped by a lot of folk - the SNP aren't Scotland. The poster is a negative ad against a political party, nothing less, nothing more.
Still, faux outrage was a tactic during the referendum so I suppose old habits die hard.
26-04-2015, 07:59 PM
How do you arrive at that conclusion? I've said this before but it doesn't seem to be grasped by a lot of folk - the SNP aren't Scotland. The poster is a negative ad against a political party, nothing less, nothing more.
Still, faux outrage was a tactic during the referendum so I suppose old habits die hard.
Think everyone in Scotland knows that the SNP aren't Scotland, but that's not who it's aimed at and you know it.
26-04-2015, 08:04 PM
The implication of the ad is surely that the SNP want to divert English tax payers money to Scotland, as part of a Labour led coalition or otherwise.
Without the Scottish element the ad doesn't work as the target audience is pretty obvious.
26-04-2015, 08:26 PM
Think everyone in Scotland knows that the SNP aren't Scotland, but that's not who it's aimed at and you know it.
So, it's xenophobic how? And why should I, as a Scot living in Scotland, be insulted? I find it a bit of a paradox that someone who has such a low opinion of the majority of the Scottish population can get so offended on our behalf.
The implication of the ad is surely that the SNP want to divert English tax payers money to Scotland, as part of a Labour led coalition or otherwise.
Without the Scottish element the ad doesn't work as the target audience is pretty obvious.
I get the intent of the advert and still think it's pretty typical negative ad campaigning. IMHO, it's no more insulting than suggesting that we're ruled/occupied/colonised by the English, are too stupid to vote and/or don't have a say in the running of our own country but that doesn't seem to cause outrage/accusations of xenophobia at every turn.
26-04-2015, 09:02 PM
So, it's xenophobic how? And why should I, as a Scot living in Scotland, be insulted? I find it a bit of a paradox that someone who has such a low opinion of the majority of the Scottish population can get so offended on our behalf.
I get the intent of the advert and still think it's pretty typical negative ad campaigning. IMHO, it's no more insulting than suggesting that we're ruled/occupied/colonised by the English, are too stupid to vote and/or don't have a say in the running of our own country but that doesn't seem to cause outrage/accusations of xenophobia at every turn.
I think the ad is xenophobic given that down south they are attempting to portray the SNP and Scotland as the same thing. It's dirty politics. I do agree with you though that those Yes supporters who portrayed No voters as simply being too scared or stupid to vote the 'right' way shouldn't be too outraged, their opinion of their fellow Scots is worse.
26-04-2015, 09:19 PM
It seems the Labour party are sending out letters to the Electorate asking for their vote.
Trouble is they've omitted to pay the full charge for post, and people are being asked for £1.54 to collect the letter.
Is their anything the Labour party can get right these days.
26-04-2015, 09:39 PM
By the time the dust settles on this election the Tories will have driven a wedge between Scotland and England that will threaten the union they hold so dear. This campaign might win them an election, but stoking up anti Scottish feeling down south is a dangerous game.
26-04-2015, 10:11 PM
It seems the Labour party are sending out letters to the Electorate asking for their vote.
Trouble is they've omitted to pay the full charge for post, and people are being asked for £1.54 to collect the letter.
I got one recently - was hand-delivered so no postage problem. The letter is something else, though. Simply an anti-SNP diabtribe begging me to vote tactically. Pathetic.
26-04-2015, 10:11 PM
Your opinion of my opinion of the majority of the Scottish people is wrong, my opinion is paramount to the belief that they can go it alone and make more of it than being bound to Westminster.
Spot the non xenophobic propaganda poster?
26-04-2015, 10:14 PM
It's almost as if they're trying to lose.
27-04-2015, 05:46 AM
Your opinion of my opinion of the majority of the Scottish people is wrong, my opinion is paramount to the belief that they can go it alone and make more of it than being bound to Westminster.
Spot the non xenophobic propaganda poster?
You're comparing the Tory poster with anti-semitism?
27-04-2015, 05:48 AM
I think the ad is xenophobic given that down south they are attempting to portray the SNP and Scotland as the same thing. It's dirty politics. I do agree with you though that those Yes supporters who portrayed No voters as simply being too scared or stupid to vote the 'right' way shouldn't be too outraged, their opinion of their fellow Scots is worse.
Their opinion of an element who were gullible enough to be swayed by the Westminster propaganda machine might be low but you can't seriously compare it to these posters. When I first saw it I immediately thought of the Nazi placards demonizing Jews, on closer inspection it wouldn't surprise me if it's been inspired by them.
27-04-2015, 05:52 AM
You're comparing the Tory poster with anti-semitism?
No, I'm comparing the Tory's xenophobic poster to anti-Semitic posters pre WW2. I wouldn't even be surprised if it was inspired by them.
27-04-2015, 05:55 AM
Their opinion of an element who were gullible enough to be swayed by the Westminster propaganda machine might be low but you can't seriously compare it to these posters. When I first saw it I immediately thought of the Nazi placards demonizing Jews, on closer inspection it wouldn't surprise me if it's been inspired by them.
Wow. You just can't resist having a dig at your fellow Scots before going OTT with your outrage against these posters. I give up.
27-04-2015, 06:57 AM
Good post, agree with that......
As I've mentioned before on the Independence thread, I know two SNP campaigners who are English, they at least got that it was all about taxpayers in Scotland having a full say in how their tax £'s were going to be spent, nothing to do with "nationality", just a pity so many others (on both sides to be fair) seem unable to grasp that simple but critical fact.
And, breathe...... Back to this particular election, I'm a bit disappointed that it seems to have headed in a Nationalistic direction but I suppose with the SNP being a location based party and UKIP being seen by many as English then it was inevitable.
27-04-2015, 07:29 AM
Wow. You just can't resist having a dig at your fellow Scots before going OTT with your outrage against these posters. I give up.
Wow?
I make no secret of my annoyance towards a number of people who rather than make an informed opinion on something as important as the referendum or election, they'd rather form their opinion based on what they see on posters like the one in question or some actress in a party political broadcast. I don't care if they're Scottish, English, Protestant, Catholic, Yes or No voters and your constant attempts at trying to portray me as some kind of self loathing Scottish anti-Scottish Nazi is not only tiring but is starting to make you look a bit daft.
This Tory campaign is bottom of the barrel stuff and should be the focus of your ridicule, instead you deflect away from it by aiming your contempt at those who criticise it. One could almost think you're trying to play down how nasty it is.
27-04-2015, 08:54 AM
The hatred emanating from the "Free" press over the week end towards the SNP, and Scots, is further demeaning the Union we were supposed to be a part of. Comments from Theresa May on the Labour /SNP, show up the conservatives in full light. Her comment about the Labour/SNP love in being the biggest constitutional crisis since the Abdication beggars belief. Has she forgotten about WW2, the suez crises, 9/11, 7/7. Disgusting behaviour from May, and someone in the office she holds should know better.
Some newspaper clippings from the week end here. http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-wild-weekend/
Other comments on twitter from Kelvin Calder McKenzie are downright xenophobic. 14751
We're in a General Election, not a re run of the Independence referendum. People need to get a grip.
Meanwhile in Cambuslang, oor Furst Meenister was working out with young Scots Gymnasts doing a balancing act.
27-04-2015, 09:32 AM
Ashcroft asks 2 questions designed to get a local answer.
btw, if you're trying to extol the virtues of Ian Murray here you might find yourself playing to a tough crowd. :wink:
27-04-2015, 09:40 AM
It's also why EVEL will inevitably kill the Union over the long term. It's already practically impossible for an MP from a Scottish seat to be home sec, the EVEL budget/taxation vote proposals will extend that to chancellor and PM. Cutting off the WM career ladder will result in more ambitious types staying at Holyrood. Ambitious types will tend to want more power to do things at Holyrood.
Direct enough?
27-04-2015, 09:56 AM
The hatred emanating from the "Free" press over the week end towards the SNP, and Scots, is further demeaning the Union we were supposed to be a part of. Comments from Theresa May on the Labour /SNP, show up the conservatives in full light. Her comment about the Labour/SNP love in being the biggest constitutional crisis since the Abdication beggars belief. Has she forgotten about WW2, the suez crises, 9/11, 7/7. Disgusting behaviour from May, and someone in the office she holds should know better.
Some newspaper clippings from the week end here. http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-wild-weekend/
Other comments on twitter from Kelvin Calder McKenzie are downright racist. 14751
We're in a General Election, not a re run of the Independence referendum. People need to get a grip.
Meanwhile in Cambuslang, oor Furst Meenister was working out with young Scots Gymnasts doing a balancing act.
In short, I hope it is an SNP landslide next week and I hope people here will wake up if it turns out the constitutional establishment closes ranks. Weirdly, I think there's many people in the Labour party who would be happy to see a Tory Government than be in a position to have to do any sort of deal with the SNP...
(... see, we can all make accusations about who fancies the Tories!)
27-04-2015, 10:06 AM
In short, I hope it is an SNP landslide next week and I hope people here will wake up if it turns out the constitutional establishment closes ranks. Weirdly, I think there's many people in the Labour party who would be happy to see a Tory Government than be in a position to have to do any sort of deal with the SNP...
(... see, we can all make accusations about who fancies the Tories!)
New TNS Scotland poll SNP 54% +2 Labour 22% -2 Cons 13% 0 Lib dem 6% 0 Green 2% -1 Ukip 2% +1:aok:
Jim did say their would be a late swing...Never knew he meant to the SNP.
27-04-2015, 10:40 AM
Pledge Cards now, suppose it's a step forward from fag packets.
27-04-2015, 12:11 PM
Other comments on twitter from Kelvin Calder McKenzie are downright xenophobic. 14751
That's a pretty standard opinion piece in the right wing press down south and on the 'shock jock' radio shows. We don't tend to see it as it's ommited from the Scottish editions of the paper. McKenzie, Littlejohn, Jon Gaunt, Peter Hitchens and of course the Hopkins lady love to paint the Scots as feckless scroungers.
Swap Scottish for almsot any other race or nationality in that piece and there would be outrage.
27-04-2015, 12:19 PM
Couldnt agree more absolutely despicable.
27-04-2015, 12:32 PM
That's a pretty standard opinion piece in the right wing press down south and on the 'shock jock' radio shows. We don't tend to see it as it's ommited from the Scottish editions of the paper. McKenzie, Littlejohn, Jon Gaunt, Peter Hitchens and of course the Hopkins lady love to paint the Scots as feckless scroungers.
Swap Scottish for almsot any other race or nationality in that piece and there would be outrage.
I suspect that the campaign tactics from the Tories and right wing press in demonising the SNP and Scots in general, may a factor in the continued surge to the SNP up here in the opinion polls; 54% support in this morning's TNS poll is the highest I've seen so far.
27-04-2015, 12:49 PM
I suspect that the campaign tactics from the Tories and right wing press in demonising the SNP and Scots in general, may a factor in the continued surge to the SNP up here in the opinion polls; 54% support in this morning's TNS poll is the highest I've seen so far.
Maybe that is their plan to lose Labour seats up here. The dearth of real debate in this election has been astounding and once again the public are treated with the utmost contempt and the agenda is set by elements of the media who are anything but impartial.
27-04-2015, 01:17 PM
The whole essence of the rise in the SNP (while obviously influenced by the referendum) is probably the desire for more social equality rather than nationalism.
In that respect the middle and left in England have been almost dormant. Hopefully they will awaken now that the North British ;-) are showing the way.
Here's a quote from Rupert Murdoch (of all people!)
(The) "UK already seems 2 countries, London and the rest!"
:doh:
27-04-2015, 01:34 PM
52% Ya Dancer
27-04-2015, 01:43 PM
You sure about this? "WW2, the Suez crisis, 9/11, 7/7", in what way are they "constitutional crises"? While the abdication clearly was a constitutional crisis, how can you claim that an event in the US (9/11) was a constitutional crisis in the UK? Could it be you have misunderstood the point she is making (about the constitutional issues involved)?
Stranraer
27-04-2015, 03:47 PM
Today's Telegraph has a letter signed by 5,000 small business owners... reminds me of 2010. Ed Miliband will have to pull something pretty special out of the hat before May 7th.
27-04-2015, 04:44 PM
You sure about this? "WW2, the Suez crisis, 9/11, 7/7", in what way are they "constitutional crises"? While the abdication clearly was a constitutional crisis, how can you claim that an event in the US (9/11) was a constitutional crisis in the UK? Could it be you have misunderstood the point she is making (about the constitutional issues involved)?
Yeah, I may have taken it too far, then again maybe not. Now back to this constitutional crisis. In what way is it a crisis where people elected in Scotland from one particular party make it unconstitutional for them to take their seats in the House of commons?
May and Co are ramping up the rhetoric in England against the Scots, and the headline in the Mail on Sunday, "worst crisis since abdication". They also mention they will not "accept" the legitimacy of a pact tween Lab/SNP.
Hell, they may even hold the balance of power and are within their rights to vote any which way they choose.
It's democracy, but not as they know it.
Leanne gets it though. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2015-wales-32480656#?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
27-04-2015, 06:35 PM
New TNS Scotland poll SNP 54% +2 Labour 22% -2 Cons 13% 0 Lib dem 6% 0 Green 2% -1 Ukip 2% +1:aok:
Jim did say their would be a late swing...Never knew he meant to the SNP.
I wouldn't be away celebrating anything yet.
You dig into that poll and find that of the 1003 polled, 67% are certain to vote and 29% of them claim to still be undecided.
27-04-2015, 06:42 PM
I wouldn't be away celebrating anything yet.
You dig into that poll and find that of the 1003 polled, 67% are certain to vote and 29% of them claim to still be undecided.
I'm not and won't be until May 8th. I think I've said on this thread that if we get 30 seats I would be delighted. :aok:
27-04-2015, 06:45 PM
I'm not and won't be until May 8th. I think I've said on this thread that if we get 30 seats I would be delighted. :aok:
Totally agree. 30+ seats would be a magnificent achievement given the anti-SNP rhetoric and tactical voting appeal laid out by the other parties.
27-04-2015, 07:41 PM
This lady just about covers all the bases for me in this Election.
https://imnotawriterbut.wordpress.com/2015/04/26/mad-bad-and-dangerous-to-know/
27-04-2015, 07:58 PM
Stephen Paton doing is thang.
https://t.co/1ggberJtW8
27-04-2015, 09:17 PM
Nicola absolutely superb tonight in the BBC interview with Evan Davis.
27-04-2015, 09:33 PM
She was. Even though he kept interrupting her.
Decided it for me.
27-04-2015, 09:48 PM
Yes, a very impressive performance indeed. Nicola has got a real knack of getting her point across with the minimum of words and fuss.
27-04-2015, 10:21 PM
Today's Telegraph has a letter signed by 5,000 small business owners... reminds me of 2010. Ed Miliband will have to pull something pretty special out of the hat before May 7th.
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/04/27/watch-andrew-neil-call-out-out-david-gauke-for-telegraph-stunt_n_7150674.html?icid=maing-grid7|ukt1|dl11|sec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D346854
27-04-2015, 10:31 PM
Yes, a very impressive performance indeed. Nicola has got a real knack of getting her point across with the minimum of words and fuss.
I'll liked when she put him in his place early doors . She answered a laden question with "You're just trying to get a headline for tomorrow's papers from me" or words to that effect.
I felt Evan Davis' questions were mostly crafted landmines however, the ever-alert NS stepped over them with ease.
:giruy2: to you E.D. :greengrin
Chibs
27-04-2015, 10:37 PM
http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/04/27/watch-andrew-neil-call-out-out-david-gauke-for-telegraph-stunt_n_7150674.html?icid=maing-grid7|ukt1|dl11|sec1_lnk3%26pLid%3D346854
That made me laugh out loud.
27-04-2015, 10:45 PM
https://verto.vote/independent/#/
27-04-2015, 10:56 PM
I don't like Andrew Neil however, I doff my chapeau to him in this instance. :top marks
28-04-2015, 01:01 AM
[QUOTE=ronaldo7;4359357]The hatred emanating from the "Free" press over the week end towards the SNP, and Scots, is further demeaning the Union we were supposed to be a part of. Comments from Theresa May on the Labour /SNP, show up the conservatives in full light. Her comment about the Labour/SNP love in being the biggest constitutional crisis since the Abdication beggars belief. Has she forgotten about WW2, the suez crises, 9/11, 7/7. Disgusting behaviour from May, and someone in the office she holds should know better.
/QUOTE]
what a truly disgusting vile individual Mckenzie is
28-04-2015, 09:57 AM
Is this what these clowns are resorting to??! I didn't know whether to laugh or cry!! Went for the former... :faf:
28-04-2015, 10:01 AM
[QUOTE=ronaldo7;4359357]The hatred emanating from the "Free" press over the week end towards the SNP, and Scots, is further demeaning the Union we were supposed to be a part of. Comments from Theresa May on the Labour /SNP, show up the conservatives in full light. Her comment about the Labour/SNP love in being the biggest constitutional crisis since the Abdication beggars belief. Has she forgotten about WW2, the suez crises, 9/11, 7/7. Disgusting behaviour from May, and someone in the office she holds should know better.
/QUOTE]
what a truly disgusting vile individual Mckenzie is
This arse is better off ignored. I don't know who I despise more, McKenzie or George Galloway... :dunno:
28-04-2015, 10:12 AM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;4360008]
This arse is better off ignored. I don't know who I despise more, McKenzie or George Galloway... :dunno:
or that other anti-scottish racist cretin boris ******* johnson, or that other anti-scottish Grade A trumpet Nigel ******* Farage :rolleyes: the list appears to be growing daily
28-04-2015, 10:14 AM
By the time the dust settles on this election the Tories will have driven a wedge between Scotland and England that will threaten the union they hold so dear. This campaign might win them an election, but stoking up anti Scottish feeling down south is a dangerous game.
Its obvious to everyone that this is there only hope of winning. Absolutely disgusting. I hope the people of England see right through it and boot Cameron's arse right out of no10!! And on a minor note.. What's with him on telly with his shirt sleeves rolled up doing that stupid Fist clenched, thumb pointing thing??! Tool... :grr:
28-04-2015, 10:17 AM
New @Survation Record Scotland poll
SNP 51 (+4) Lab 26 (nc) Con 14% (-2) LD 5% (+1)
28-04-2015, 10:22 AM
Wow?
I make no secret of my annoyance towards a number of people who rather than make an informed opinion on something as important as the referendum or election, they'd rather form their opinion based on what they see on posters like the one in question or some actress in a party political broadcast..
Well I have much more faith in the Scottish public than you. I think people voted Yes because they saw the merits in Independence. You can carry on believing that they gullibly bought the very one sided line of Wingsoverscotland or SNP broadcasts or believed the laughable cr@p posted by Yes supporters on Social media. Secret oil deals? :hilarious
I find the Tory slurs distasteful but so very transparent as I would imagine the vast manority do right across the UK . That doesn't exempt those Nationalists from criticism who are too bigoted to see that others can have different opinions from their own based on well thought out reasons. What a sad vision of a future Independent Scotland they have where anybody not following their party line is too gullible, too scared or most contemptibly too old and selfish to vote the 'right' way.
I have no doubt that we will be Independent in my lifetime but not because those who want to remain in the Union have been shamed in to it but because a better argument has been made for it than last year.
Anyway, back to THIS election which is shaping up to be the most interesting in my lifetime and I go back a fair bit.:greengrin
28-04-2015, 10:26 AM
Its obvious to everyone that this is there only hope of winning. Absolutely disgusting. I hope the people of England see right through it and boot Cameron's arse right out of no10!! And on a minor note.. What's with him on telly with his shirt sleeves rolled up doing that stupid Fist clenched, thumb pointing thing??! Tool... :grr:
I reckon Nicola Sturgeon has done more than enough to counter the Tory comments right across the UK. Much like Murphy up here with labour he is preaching to the ever faithful. They might lap it up but most people will see right through him. The SNP promise to keep a Labour Government honest is a powerful message to send across this entire island group.
28-04-2015, 10:40 AM
I reckon Nicola Sturgeon has done more than enough to counter the Tory comments right across the UK. Much like Murphy up here with labour he is preaching to the ever faithful. They might lap it up but most people will see right through him. The SNP promise to keep a Labour Government honest is a powerful message to send across this entire island group.
I think the message to Cameron, Brown and the rest who told us Scots before the referendum we were better together, we should lead not leave, is "Be careful what you wish for." And you should have made damned sure you actually meant it... I know nothing has been decided yet but looking at the polls, and especially the way the Tories are fighting there campaign speaks volumes. It's the anti Scottish sentiment they are stirring up that pisses me off.
southfieldhibby
28-04-2015, 10:53 AM
I've heard The Common Weal intend to have candidates standing for Holyrood next year? I think there is a real danger for Scottish Labour at Holyrood that they'll be associated with this years events and their inability to run a piss up in a brewery and suffer as a result.Even moreso if Common Weal step up to the challenge and offer a left of SNP alternative that Labour simply can't ( or won't)
How would this new party be funded? They'd lose the union subs I expect.So that, combined with the electorate seeing thru them as massive hypocrits, I can't see it working.
28-04-2015, 11:01 AM
I think the message to Cameron, Brown and the rest who told us Scots before the referendum we were better together, we should lead not leave, is "Be careful what you wish for." And you should have made damned sure you actually meant it... I know nothing has been decided yet but looking at the polls, and especially the way the Tories are fighting there campaign speaks volumes. It's the anti Scottish sentiment they are stirring up that pisses me off.
The next time there is an independence referendum (be it in 5 or 25 years), the SNP won't have to look very hard for campaign material - they can simply quote what the London based parties were saying in September last year and compare it to now.
28-04-2015, 11:28 AM
The next time there is an independence referendum (be it in 5 or 25 years), the SNP won't have to look very hard for campaign material - they can simply quote what the London based parties were saying in September last year and compare it to now.
Works both ways - I look at the oil price now and compare it to was in the SNP white paper.
28-04-2015, 11:54 AM
Just watched it.. She was excellent despite having that prat Davis spending most of the interview questioning her about English votes for English laws, getting an answer more than once yet still kicking the arse out of the question. Then "Who would you support between England and Germany at football?" :rolleyes: She should have quoted Andy Murray on that one... :greengrin
28-04-2015, 11:59 AM
Just watched it.. She was excellent despite having that prat Davis spending most of the interview questioning her about English votes for English laws, getting an answer more than once yet still kicking the arse out of the question. Then "Who would you support between England and Germany at football?" :rolleyes: She should have quoted Andy Murray on that one... :greengrin
Please tell me he didnt ask that.
28-04-2015, 12:04 PM
Probably the most dumb and blatantly loaded question of the whole election campaign.
A bit like when Frank Skinner asking Eric Clapton if he played air guitar - except that Frank was joking.
28-04-2015, 12:05 PM
Yes, and when she didn't give him the answer he was looking for, he asked who she would you want to win between England v Wales.
He was leaving bear traps all over the place but she neatly side-stepped all of them:not worth
Stranraer
28-04-2015, 12:05 PM
:aok: thanks for that, I need to stop buying the Telegraph.
28-04-2015, 12:15 PM
Im afraid so Jim... As someone else posted when he didn't get the answer he wanted he asked "England or Wales then?" :rolleyes:
She played a blinder saying, "Listen, I'm an Ayr Utd fan and Unlike David Cameron I'm not gonna pretend I know anything about football. I like David Beckham though."
28-04-2015, 12:36 PM
Works both ways - I look at the oil price now and compare it to was in the SNP white paper.
Not comparable.
The SNP had/have no control over the price of oil. Labour and the Tories have total control over what they're saying to the electorate.
southfieldhibby
28-04-2015, 01:23 PM
You can mibbe use that comparison in 2017.I've seen many a smug unionist politician use the decreasing value of UK oil prices recently, really quite bizarre.
28-04-2015, 02:19 PM
Not comparable.
The SNP had/have no control over the price of oil. Labour and the Tories have total control over what they're saying to the electorate.
They had total control over what was in the white paper though. I argued at the time it was far too high seeing as oil had reached that price something like 3 days in the last 40 years. Just saying I can compare what was proposed and look back and think 'well that would not have worked out well'
28-04-2015, 02:23 PM
Read the whole article.
http://m.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2015-northern-ireland-32492425
28-04-2015, 02:28 PM
You can mibbe use that comparison in 2017.I've seen many a smug unionist politician use the decreasing value of UK oil prices recently, really quite bizarre.
Correct me if I'm wrong, but was 110 not a 3 year average price from 2017 onwards?
Not that any oil revenue should be thought of as anything more than a bonus on top of other revenue streams as we find a way to make good use of wind and wave energies.
28-04-2015, 02:37 PM
Yes, and when she didn't give him the answer he was looking for, he asked who she would you want to win between England v Wales.
He was leaving bear traps all over the place but she neatly side-stepped all of them:not worth
Absolute joke to be honest. Impartial BBC again.
28-04-2015, 07:01 PM
Or the Industry's forecast.
Both equally wrong.
Basically the oil market price at any given time is whatever Saudi say it is.
28-04-2015, 09:42 PM
Are the West and friends not also controlling the oil price to put the squeeze on Putin?
28-04-2015, 10:15 PM
Are the West and friends not also controlling the oil price to put the squeeze on Putin?
:agree: "Putin on the agony...." as Lonnie Donegan once sang
29-04-2015, 05:53 AM
:agree: "Putin on the agony...." as Lonnie Donegan once sang
I actually groaned my coffee all over my computer reading that :greengrin
29-04-2015, 11:00 AM
Ipsos/MORI for STV:
SNP 54% (+2)
Labour 20% (-4)
Conservatives 17% (+5)
Liberal Democrats 5% (+1)
Greens 2% (-2)
:wtf:
29-04-2015, 11:04 AM
Ipsos/MORI for STV:
SNP 54% (+2)
Labour 20% (-4)
Conservatives 17% (+5)
Greens 2% (-2)
If that's reality, the reduction in the gap between Labour and the Tories is astonishing.
29-04-2015, 11:57 AM
If that's reality, the reduction in the gap between Labour and the Tories is astonishing.
In percentage points and policies.
Stranraer
29-04-2015, 12:03 PM
The Telegraph are reporting that SNP candidate Mhairi Black forgot to delete offensive tweets about Celtic fans. As much as I'd like to see Douglas Alexander lose his seat I'd rather he lost it to someone who had a bit more sense.
29-04-2015, 12:05 PM
The Telegraph are reporting that SNP candidate Mhairi Black forgot to delete offensive tweets about Celtic fans. As much as I'd like to see Douglas Alexander lose his seat I'd rather he lost it to someone who had a bit more sense.
I'd double check that with a more reliable source than the Telegraph.
Stranraer
29-04-2015, 12:06 PM
I'd double check that with a more reliable source than the Telegraph.
Her Twitter account?
29-04-2015, 12:07 PM
The Telegraph have produced a brilliant tactical voting tool....
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/general-election-2015/11542031/Tactical-voting-in-the-2015-general-election-how-to-stop-Ed-Miliband-winning.html
go on... try it
29-04-2015, 12:08 PM
oh......
but have a read of this before you actually vote
http://wingsoverscotland.com/a-recurring-theme/
29-04-2015, 12:23 PM
Ipsos/MORI for STV:
SNP 54% (+2)
Labour 20% (-4)
Conservatives 17% (+5)
Greens 2% (-2)
http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/318815-stvipsos-mori-poll-snp-set-to-win-all-scots-seats-at-general-election/
https://www.ipsos-mori.com/researchpublications/researcharchive/3565/SNP-remains-in-a-strong-position-as-general-election-enters-final-week.aspx
29-04-2015, 12:29 PM
http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/318815-stvipsos-mori-poll-snp-set-to-win-all-scots-seats-at-general-election/
Crikey! :thumbsup:
29-04-2015, 12:33 PM
https://www.ipsos-mori.com/researchpublications/researcharchive/3565/SNP-remains-in-a-strong-position-as-general-election-enters-final-week.aspx
Interesting quote from Labour's Jim Murphy...
"David Cameron can’t beat the Labour party here in Scotland, so someone else has to do it for him.
"That way David Cameron gets to cling on to power because he’s the leader of the biggest party, the likelihood is David Cameron will remain Prime Minister, not because Scotland went out and voted for the Tory party but because Scotland voted against Labour for the SNP and reduced the chances of Labour forming the government"
As the SNP, Plaid Cymru etc have all stated that they will never vote for a Tory Queen's speech the *ONLY* way the scenario he mentions can happen is if Labour vote for the Tories????? (i suppose, unless Conservatives, UKIP and Lib Dems agree to work together and can muster more votes than everyone else?)
or have I missed something? (not hard! :agree: )
29-04-2015, 12:35 PM
Attention!
Our old 'friend' Nick Robinson on the BBC website priming us for a possible Downing St siege by David Cameron after the GE.
"Testing opinion
Indeed, even if Labour and the SNP together could have a majority, David Cameron would be totally within his rights to refuse to quit until there is a deal that proves that Ed Miliband has the votes he needs."
BTW, anybody got the SAS's phone no.?
ACLeith
29-04-2015, 01:02 PM
"While the poll represents further good news for the SNP ahead of the election, a close look at the data suggests caution in assuming that voters’ views are settled". I think there will be a few twists and turns on May 8th, it won't be uniform across the country. For example, can't see Carmichael losing Orkney and Shetland, though his politics are light years away from the first Liberal (both with a big and small "l") to take the seat, Jo Grimmond.
It's going to be an "interesting" night's viewing, that's for sure, shades of '97? Murphy, Carmichael, Mundell, Alexander and Farage to fail, that would be a great "Famous Five"
29-04-2015, 01:07 PM
"While the poll represents further good news for the SNP ahead of the election, a close look at the data suggests caution in assuming that voters’ views are settled". I think there will be a few twists and turns on May 8th, it won't be uniform across the country. For example, can't see Carmichael losing Orkney and Shetland, though his politics are light years away from the first Liberal (both with a big and small "l") to take the seat, Jo Grimmond.
It's going to be an "interesting" night's viewing, that's for sure, shades of '97? Murphy, Carmichael, Mundell, Alexander and Farage to fail, that would be a great "Famous Five"
I've taken the following day off..... never done that before for an election.... normally I reserve that for Super Bowl's and World Cups and the like! :greengrin
29-04-2015, 01:59 PM
Which one?
Both would make it an even half dozen :greengrin