View Full Version : General Election 2015...
Pages :
[
8]
Labour failing in the rest of the UK, losing out on target seats.
08-05-2015, 02:51 AM
"The swing in Glasgow North East .... eh, I can't see the number" BBC guy trying to read the swingometer.
If Rabbie Burns was alive he'd be brimming with pride tonight.
Beautiful just beautiful.
Andrew Marr "Douglas Alexander who a couple of weeks ago thought he would be Foreign Secretary is now unemployed."
North East Fife
SNP
08-05-2015, 02:53 AM
If Rabbie Burns was alive he'd be brimming with pride tonight.
Beautiful just beautiful.
Nae parcels o' rogues noo, Rab
08-05-2015, 02:53 AM
Murphy really is in the wrong job for someone who's a pish public speaker.
Ridiculously insincere and stilted.
Strangely it is the first time that I have ever felt anything positive towards him.
I thought his response WAS sincere and measured and that whilst he'll have had plenty of time to prepare for it it must have been horrendously difficult to get up there and keep any sort of composure after such a crushing blow.
08-05-2015, 02:54 AM
i'm switching over to STV to see if Labour are having better luck there
08-05-2015, 02:55 AM
Good to see Ian Davidson of Labour tell it like it is.
'We started off trying to win back Labour yes voters and ended up practically begging for Tory no voters. We had no strategy and showed a lack of principles. Morally as the man who led us to our biggest defeat Murphy has to go.'
Whoever designed those graphics wasn't expecting results like tonight :greengrin
I don't think anyone really was mate. Swings yes but this?
Orkney spoils the party!:greengrin
08-05-2015, 02:56 AM
Carmichael has wrecked it
08-05-2015, 02:56 AM
Booooooooo
Lib Dems hold Orkney and Shetlands by a bawhair.
08-05-2015, 02:57 AM
Strangely it is the first time that I have ever felt anything positive towards him.
I thought his response WAS sincere and measured and that whilst he'll have had plenty of time to prepare for it it must have been horrendously difficult to get up there and keep any sort of composure after such a crushing blow.
He looked ridiculous throughout the campaign but that was mainly because he had to pretend that the drubbing his party was taking wasn't happening even though everybody knew they were sinking.
08-05-2015, 02:57 AM
Bugger - Shetland votes Liberal
08-05-2015, 02:58 AM
boooo give orkney and shetlands back to the vikings
08-05-2015, 02:58 AM
That's okay.... they're no really Scottish :greengrin
ACLeith
08-05-2015, 02:59 AM
i'm switching over to STV to see if Labour are having better luck there
Your fault that Carmichael got back in, get back to BBC 😡
08-05-2015, 02:59 AM
The calls for Milliband's head are starting now. A disaster for Labour, the Tories probably can't believe how easily they are winning so far.
They are easy to cut off. It's bonkers up there anyway.:thumbsup:
08-05-2015, 03:00 AM
Your fault that Carmichael got back in, get back to BBC
i'm on it :agree:
08-05-2015, 03:03 AM
Lib Dems hold Orkney & Shetland! One tiny crumb of comfort for them tonight, both in Scotland and the whole of Britain.
SNP lanslide
Jackie Bird on the TV
what a night :cb
08-05-2015, 03:04 AM
Edinburgh South West goes SNP.
Greens beat the Lib Dems.
08-05-2015, 03:05 AM
if you say that a 3rd time there will be a recount
:)
08-05-2015, 03:06 AM
if you say that a 3rd time there will be a recount
shhh... it's 5 past 4....:greengrin
08-05-2015, 03:06 AM
Edinburgh South West goes SNP.
Greens beat the Lib Dems.
Get in! Thats the one I was waiting for.
08-05-2015, 03:10 AM
Get involved - your reaction to the results
Email:
[email protected]
Gerry: If we in Scotland suffer under Cameron then all I can say is that we did it to ourselves. For the SNP will just be 50 odd MPs making a noise but no effective difference to Cameron's austerity program. Well done Nicola - vote SNP and get shafted by the Tories
yer a bad woman nicola, you should have been telling us all to vote labour :rolleyes:
08-05-2015, 03:10 AM
Don't know why the Tories even put up candidates in Scotland. To think not long ago they had MPs.
08-05-2015, 03:11 AM
Anas Sarwar loses in Glasgow Central.
08-05-2015, 03:11 AM
Gordon result coming up. 'Mon wee Eck
Get in! Thats the one I was waiting for.
Grew up there and never imagined an SNP MP would serve there. Remarkable.
08-05-2015, 03:12 AM
Strolls it.
08-05-2015, 03:12 AM
wee eck wins
08-05-2015, 03:13 AM
Well done Glasgow on all 7 seats.
And wee Eck up in Gordon.
Well done Eck the fish. **** football team though😝
Grew up there and never imagined an SNP MP would serve there. Remarkable.
Me too.
When it was Edinburgh Pentlands it was about as safe a Tory seat as you got in Scotland until 1997. Rifkind walked it for years.
Me too.
When it was Edinburgh Pentlands it was about as safe a Tory seat as you got in Scotland until 1997. Rifkind walked it for years.
:agree: Rifkind was the first name I thought of.
**** them all.:thumbsup:
08-05-2015, 03:15 AM
Owen Thompson won Midlothian with a majority of almost 10000 and over half the vote
08-05-2015, 03:17 AM
Snp 42
ld 1
08-05-2015, 03:20 AM
UKIP win their first seat. Boooooooooooooooo
08-05-2015, 03:21 AM
This is getting like a North Korean election now:faf::faf:
08-05-2015, 03:21 AM
Aberdeen South now SNP. Excellent.
08-05-2015, 03:23 AM
UKIP win their first seat. Boooooooooooooooo
Very very disappointing
08-05-2015, 03:26 AM
Heres Ian Murrays count.
08-05-2015, 03:26 AM
i hope the labour voters on here can accept that the people have spoken, hopefully they can move on from this
08-05-2015, 03:27 AM
Holds it.
Barsteward
yamboids vote in murray oh dear
Fat pie face has a seat. Labour go wild haha
Edinburgh South - SNP lose Ian Murray holds
Green Man
Baws, stupid Jambo is still in.
ACLeith
Murray back in, it's all falling apart!
08-05-2015, 03:28 AM
Horrible wee yam **** won.
Edinburgh south voter's, what were you thinking.
comeback is on
08-05-2015, 03:29 AM
Haha he still looks gutted. Never mind you've not been beaten by 7. More like 57
Hearts *******! Can't believe that useless ******* has got back in. Spent most of his time last year helping a bunch of tax dodging, robbing, lowlifes
Green Man
He looks pretty miserable for someone who's just won an election.
He's played a blinder. Yams have voted this guy in and it's nothing to do with politics.
Hearts cents.
I'd like to pay special tribute to the small businesses I helped **** over
Thanks his campaign team saying they 'deserve all of this this evening'.
Bit harsh.
08-05-2015, 03:30 AM
Trust Edinburgh to let me down.....F U C K!
HibeeSince82
08-05-2015, 03:31 AM
Trust Edinburgh to let me down.....F U C K!
always the bloody same in edinburgh
08-05-2015, 03:31 AM
How the **** do people keep voting for Boris Johnson?
He's a horrible, horrible man.
Watch this space.
Boris will be PM one day.
08-05-2015, 03:33 AM
Watch this space.
Of England maybe.
SNP 46
LD 1
unionist Labour 1
Watch this space.
Jest naw, don't spoil the night.
08-05-2015, 03:34 AM
always the bloody same in edinburgh
Hey ho, Edinburgh is a lovely posh city and at least has not went Tory! :agree:
08-05-2015, 03:34 AM
Watch this space.
Dangerous dangerous man. He is seen as a funny, loveable buffoon. In fact he is an ultra right wing little Englander
Jest naw, don't spoil the night.
People like characters. Even if they are mad.:greengrin
Dangerous dangerous man. He is seen as a funny, loveable buffoon. In fact he is an ultra right wing little Englander
08-05-2015, 03:36 AM
Well done Leith and Edinburgh North
People like characters. Even if they are mad.:greengrin
You don't have to scratch far below the surface to reuse Boris is just downright nasty.
SNP win Edinburgh North and Leith by about 5000 votes.
Leith has went snp! Irvine welsh will be happy! :-)
Edinburgh and North Leith
SNP :thumbsup:
08-05-2015, 03:38 AM
Vince Cable gone
Gods country does the business. Guntsville lets the whole country down
NYHibby
I'm glad Ian Murray won. As the only Labour MP in Scotland, he'll have a much bigger profile which will provide for even more opportunities to embarrass himself.
08-05-2015, 03:39 AM
Vince chewing a wasp Cable , toast.
Bit closer than most, probably because Lazarowicz is a decent bloke and has been a good MP for us, shame his party weren't all like him
HibeeSince82
9 left to go is it?
08-05-2015, 03:40 AM
Vince Cable loses his seat. Serves him right for selling his soul.
Blames Scot Nats as well!
Honestly. Hearts *******s have kept that pigs nose in the trough.
08-05-2015, 03:41 AM
Get rid of Mundell time is hopefully soon.
08-05-2015, 03:42 AM
Bit closer than most, probably because Lazarowicz is a decent bloke and has been a good MP for us, shame his party weren't all like him
Yep.
Labour vote actually held up pretty well, only down about 6% which isn't great but not terrible for an incumbent. Lib Dems were 2nd last time and their vote collapsed by 29% with what looks like most going to the SNP.
08-05-2015, 03:43 AM
I thought 45 would be good. More like 55!
This is amazing!
08-05-2015, 03:45 AM
SNP win Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross from the Lib Dems.
08-05-2015, 03:46 AM
caithness sutherland
SNP gain from LD's
Edinburgh East
SNP
Well done Edinburgh East, romped it
Edinburgh East goes SNP from Labour.
Only the jambos letting the side down so far.
08-05-2015, 03:47 AM
That's 50 hit now!!
HibeeSince82
SNP win edinburgh east:thumbsup:
Rock on Tommy in Edinburgh East:greengrin
Get rid of Mundell time is hopefully soon.
STV saying Mundell looks like he has won.
08-05-2015, 03:48 AM
Edinburgh East goes SNP from Labour.
Only the jambos letting the side down so far.
at least we know where all the jambos stay now
08-05-2015, 03:51 AM
STV saying Mundell looks like he has won.
He can be mates with single Labour and Lib-dem mp's
Come on Clegg. I feel sorry for you now.
08-05-2015, 03:52 AM
Nick Clegg holds seat
08-05-2015, 03:52 AM
Clegg wins, looks gutted.
08-05-2015, 03:53 AM
Nick Clegg run very close by Labour in Sheffield Hallam but holds on with a hugely reduced majority
ACLeith
08-05-2015, 03:56 AM
QOS fans let us down as well
Mundell holds on by about 1000 votes.
People in Dumfries are strange ones
Dumfriesshire
tory...shame on them
08-05-2015, 03:58 AM
People in Dumfries are strange ones
Aye, so it's farmers, vikings and Jambos whom have ruined a perfect night.
08-05-2015, 03:58 AM
recount in berwickshire
08-05-2015, 03:59 AM
Looking at the swings and percentages looks like it is a bit of Tory tactical voting that has saved Cleggs erse.
08-05-2015, 04:00 AM
The Conservative Party - Scotland's second party.
08-05-2015, 04:01 AM
Or third?
08-05-2015, 04:01 AM
I don't understand it but hey ho I don't live there, Mundell must do well for the folk that do
08-05-2015, 04:02 AM
The gorgeous but horrible tory Ester McVey loses her seat! This is bloody great!
Murray has a face you'd never tire of slapping. And an attitide to match.
Jumped up wee fud.
lol@ murray going in a wee huff....creep
08-05-2015, 04:03 AM
Murray just looks like a Jambo. What were the voters thinking about down there
Holy Christ how did Ian Murray hold his seat.
HibeeSince82
Murray showing what an numpty he is!
Typical labour
I don't understand it but hey ho I don't live there, Mundell must do well for the folk that do
Aye. And with 14% of the vote across Scotland they really should have some representation at Westminster.
08-05-2015, 04:04 AM
What a walloper he is.
08-05-2015, 04:04 AM
What a walloper he is.
Classic case of small man syndrome.
08-05-2015, 04:05 AM
Typical cardigan wearing clown of a ****
NYHibby
08-05-2015, 04:09 AM
www.electionforecast.co.uk (http://www.electionforecast.co.uk) has been updating their projections as results have been coming in. Their projected seat count for the Conservatives has been creeping up. 90 minutes ago they put the odds of a Conservative majority at less than 5%. It is now up to 20%.
08-05-2015, 04:10 AM
Edinburgh West
SNP
Edinburgh West SNP gain from Lib Dems.
ACLeith
There's been some gracious losing speeches tonight, that wasn't one of them. Just what I expected
08-05-2015, 04:11 AM
Dumfries and Galloway
SNP
08-05-2015, 04:11 AM
Dumfries and Galloway SNP gain from Labour.
08-05-2015, 04:13 AM
SNP 52
Labour 1
Lib Dems 1
Conservative 1
Unbelievable stuff. I said last week I thought 20-25 would be an unprecedented achievement.
It's been five minutes and Murray has already made an erse of himself.
08-05-2015, 04:16 AM
Anne McGuire trying to blame the SNP for Labours collapse nationally.
When will the Labour Party start looking in the mirror for where their problems lie?
08-05-2015, 04:16 AM
well i'm glad that Labour are putting up a good show against the tories and the LD's
08-05-2015, 04:17 AM
The polls have got it pretty much spot on in Scotland.
HibeeSince82
08-05-2015, 04:18 AM
I dont understand how any of these Labour people cant just grasp the fact that Scotland doesnt want them anymore after siding with the Conservatives at the referendum.
They say its the SNPs fault yet its the Scottish people who have voted for this .....so Scottish Labour are basically saying this is all our fault.
How about Labour win in England rather than blame the Scots again
EH6 Hibby
I've missed most of the results so far with doing the count, is it looking like the Tories are going to get a majority?
Anne McGuire trying to blame the SNP for Labours collapse nationally.
When will the Labour Party start looking in the mirror for where their problems lie?
They will continue to blame everyone else but themselves. Simple arithmetic shows that even if Scotland had voted for 59 labour MPs they still wouldn't have a majority. They are a laughing stock.
Wtf is Charles Kennedy wearing? He looks like Al Murray.
08-05-2015, 04:20 AM
Regardless of dress sense he's out on his erse.
SNP win Ross, Skye and Lochaber.
08-05-2015, 04:20 AM
charles kennedy loses to the SNP
08-05-2015, 04:21 AM
Lets here what Miliband has to say in Doncaster.
Godsahibby
08-05-2015, 04:22 AM
Talking about Al Murray, did he run this year as the pub landlord, i remember seeing something ages ago?
08-05-2015, 04:22 AM
SNP 53
LD 1
Lab 1
Tory 1
08-05-2015, 04:23 AM
Talking about Al Murray, did he run this year as the pub landlord, i remember seeing something ages ago?
Think he was running against Farage in Thanet South.
08-05-2015, 04:24 AM
I feel a bit of sympathy for Kennedy. He's probably better out of it, the man has been unwell for years.
Godsahibby
08-05-2015, 04:26 AM
Good few years to late to start that chat Ed!
08-05-2015, 04:26 AM
Ed has all but conceded there.
08-05-2015, 04:27 AM
I feel a bit of sympathy for Kennedy. He's probably better out of it, the man has been unwell for years.
Agreed. I've always like Kennedy and his treatment at the hands of the media when he clearly had a problem was poor.
Decent speech by Miliband there, pretty gracious.
08-05-2015, 04:27 AM
Please someone tell me Scotland won't have any more than 1 tory after today!
08-05-2015, 04:31 AM
does anyone else think miliband was wrong to use the word nationalism on the vote in scotland ?:confused:
08-05-2015, 04:31 AM
Ed has all but conceded there.
Aye. I'm delighted at the way things have gone in Scotland but it looks like another Tory Government, how depressing.
08-05-2015, 04:33 AM
does anyone else think miliband was wrong to use the word nationalism on the vote in scotland ?:confused:
Yes, gutted he said that. He is blaming the Scots for his defeat when the blame lies at his own doorstep.
08-05-2015, 04:34 AM
Bedtime for me guys. Thanks for the rollercoaster ride.
Maybe Labour in England will make a comeback in the last hours of the morning.
Don't think we'll ever see the likes of tonight again.
08-05-2015, 04:35 AM
I voted SNP but I wouldn't describe myself as nationalist and I know several others in the same boat. I don't think he really gets what's happened up here.
NYHibby
08-05-2015, 04:42 AM
www.electionforecast.co.uk (http://www.electionforecast.co.uk) has been updating their projections as results have been coming in. Their projected seat count for the Conservatives has been creeping up. 90 minutes ago they put the odds of a Conservative majority at less than 5%. It is now up to 20%.
Up to 43%
08-05-2015, 04:42 AM
I voted SNP but I wouldn't describe myself as nationalist and I know several others in the same boat. I don't think he really gets what's happened up here.
exactly, i voted in the referendum on the back of nationalism and this election on what party i believe can get the best deal for this country, voting SNP for 35 years didn't help sway me at all
08-05-2015, 04:44 AM
Yes, gutted he said that. He is blaming the Scots for his defeat when the blame lies at his own doorstep.
i wonder if there will be a wee fallout between westminster labour and their puppet party in scotland after this
08-05-2015, 04:47 AM
Exactly. Nationalism means bugger all. A fair society is what this is about.
08-05-2015, 04:47 AM
anyway ZZZZZzzzzzz time, i'd just like to thank the scottish labour party for a bellyful of laughs in what turned out to be a close run fight
not :clapper:
08-05-2015, 04:51 AM
Up to 43%
65% now
08-05-2015, 04:53 AM
Bye bye Danny Alexander 😃
08-05-2015, 04:54 AM
Danny alexander booted as well
08-05-2015, 05:03 AM
Carolyn Leckie just spoke a lot of sense and got shot down by the Labour woman, like hitting your heid off a brick wall
08-05-2015, 05:05 AM
God forbid the Tories get an overall majority.
08-05-2015, 05:08 AM
George Galloway punted. Good riddance, odious creep.
08-05-2015, 05:08 AM
George Galloway toast.....YA BEAUTY!
08-05-2015, 05:12 AM
Five mair Tory years. Dear God, this is an intolerable situation. Scotland has renounced them overwhelmingly, and surely it's going to take something extraordinary to old the union together.
08-05-2015, 05:29 AM
God forbid the Tories get an overall majority.
I expected them to win, but not like this. Ed Milliband was the wrong choice for labour, they should have went with David.
Where do Labour go? More to the left to get Scottish seats back or more to the centre/new Labour to win bigger in Middle England. They're ******!
I expected them to win, but not like this. Ed Milliband was the wrong choice for labour, they should have went with David.
I'm afraid it is that simple. People vote for leaders.
The labour party had better find a personality or Boris will be leading the UK.
08-05-2015, 05:50 AM
I'm glad that cretin Galloway has lost his seat.
08-05-2015, 05:51 AM
Where do Labour go? More to the left to get Scottish seats back or more to the centre/new Labour to win bigger in Middle England. They're ******!
They need to present a clear focussed message laying out the clear differences between themselves and the Tories. There is no real difference between what the average English voter wants compared to the average Scottish voter.
08-05-2015, 06:26 AM
I'd like to pay special tribute to the small businesses I helped **** over
:greengrin:top marks
I live in the only Labour seat in Scotland. Crazy goings on.
08-05-2015, 06:27 AM
Fell asleep for two hours, and woke up to another seat in Berwick. Amazing night.
08-05-2015, 06:34 AM
They need to present a clear focussed message laying out the clear differences between themselves and the Tories. There is no real difference between what the average English voter wants compared to the average Scottish voter.
Quute shocked to fall asleep for a couple of hours and wake up to news of a forecast Conservative majority. No matter how Labour try to spin it the Scottish vote made absolutely no difference to that fact.
08-05-2015, 06:41 AM
:greengrin:top marks
I live in the only Labour seat in Scotland. Crazy goings on.
Me too, there were swarms of labour canvassers going around yesterday. Totally disgusted by my neighbours, I think I'll move. 😀
08-05-2015, 06:44 AM
Wasn't well last night and was asleep. Can someone tell me who won the East Lothian seat?? Please.
wasn't well last night and was asleep. Can someone tell me who won the east lothian seat?? Please.
snp
08-05-2015, 06:50 AM
snp
Thanks Mrs S. That's cheered me up.... :greengrin
08-05-2015, 06:52 AM
Thanks Mrs S. That's cheered me up.... :greengrin
It would be quicker asking for the seats the SNP didn't win.
There's only 3.
08-05-2015, 06:57 AM
The Herald need to pull the ad they are running on the radio. Obviously been made with the assumption there would be no majority.
08-05-2015, 07:06 AM
Quute shocked to fall asleep for a couple of hours and wake up to news of a forecast Conservative majority. No matter how Labour try to spin it the Scottish vote made absolutely no difference to that fact.
That's not really possible to say until someone [credible] does some research. The Tory majority may be a direct consequence of the widely predicted SNP landslide.
08-05-2015, 07:11 AM
What was the Tory policy on an EU referendum?
With their majority will they have one or was it only if they needed UKIP support?
08-05-2015, 07:15 AM
With their majority will they have one or was it only if they needed UKIO support?
They will hold one but Cameron will be campaigning to stay in the EU.
08-05-2015, 07:18 AM
Ed Balls is gone.
08-05-2015, 07:19 AM
Balls emptied.
08-05-2015, 07:26 AM
Ed Balls is gone.
The result of the night. Im quite sad, hes a fundamentally decent and ridiculously intelligent man.
08-05-2015, 07:31 AM
Sturgeon giving a cracker of an interview on the BBC right now.
08-05-2015, 07:42 AM
The Scottish parliament is going to look very strange for the next five years.
08-05-2015, 07:49 AM
Twitter rumours suggesting Miliband may resign late morning/early afternoon.
08-05-2015, 07:53 AM
Twitter rumours suggesting Miliband may resign late morning/early afternoon.
Has to resign after this, does he not?
08-05-2015, 07:56 AM
Sturgeon giving a cracker of an interview on the BBC right now.
And Janet Street Porter shouting her mouth off about Sturgeon and the SNP on Good Morning Britain.... Another loud mouthed cow. :rolleyes:
08-05-2015, 08:03 AM
I'm glad that cretin Galloway has lost his seat.
And is likely to receive at least a police caution for breaking electoral law.
08-05-2015, 08:04 AM
That's not really possible to say until someone [credible] does some research. The Tory majority may be a direct consequence of the widely predicted SNP landslide.
This. The Tories played a blinder. Don't under estimate the fear factor down here in England to the SNP.
Bitter sweet. I now 100% believe Scotland will be independent within 10 years. However living in England I feel completely helpless. England has lurched to the right, and I can't see any credible opposition in England. It will come, but it's going to be a long tough road.
08-05-2015, 08:12 AM
Does anyone know what the polls say about how Scottish electorate would vote in an EU referendum?
08-05-2015, 08:20 AM
Does anyone know what the polls say about how Scottish electorate would vote in an EU referendum?
Overwhelmingly to stay in the EU
08-05-2015, 08:27 AM
Some heavy hitters hit the skids last night, and now the recriminations begin.
I expect both leaders of the Labour party to resign, although Murphy will try to hold onto power, and look to the Scottish elections to do so.
I'm interested in hearing of the split between London and Scottish Labour that's been alluded to on hear for a while. I wonder if Scottish Labour will grow again as a "Real" separate entity.
Maybe Alexander, Curran, McClymont etc will try and split and run for Holyrood.
Interesting times ahead.
HiBremian
08-05-2015, 08:29 AM
This. The Tories played a blinder. Don't under estimate the fear factor down here in England to the SNP.
Bitter sweet. I now 100% believe Scotland will be independent within 10 years. However living in England I feel completely helpless. England has lurched to the right, and I can't see any credible opposition in England. It will come, but it's going to be a long tough road.
The first thing Labour have to do is be honest with themselves. Much of their problem lies behind their hanging on to the coat tails of the tories, not just at the referendum, but on issues like austerity as well. It seems like they don't have the self-confidence to challenge establishment orthodoxy any more. Their attitude to the SNP landslide is, to quote Milliband, that it was "a nationalist surge", denying the strong anti-austerity message of the SNP throughout the campaign, and refusing any kind of arrangement with them as a result. Compare that stance with, say, the English Greens.
If most economists' analyses are correct, and the tories turn on the austerity again like 2010-12 in order to "shrink the state", we'll be in for another recession. Will Labour be up to the challenge?
08-05-2015, 08:34 AM
United Kingdom General Election 1955
Party
Seats
Seats change
Votes
%
% Change
Conservative (Total)
Unionist (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Unionist_Party_(Scotland))
National Liberal (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/National_Liberal_Party_(UK,_1931)) & Conservative (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Conservative_Party_(United_Kingdom))
Labour Party (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Labour_Party_(UK))
Liberal (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_Liberal_Party)
Communist (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Communist_Party_of_Great_Britain)
-
-
SNP (http://www.hibs.net/wiki/Scottish_National_Party)
-
Other
-
-
Total
08-05-2015, 08:37 AM
Me too, there were swarms of labour canvassers going around yesterday. Totally disgusted by my neighbours, I think I'll move.
Campaigning is Illegal on the day of the election. tell the electoral commission and ask for a rerun :greengrin
08-05-2015, 08:43 AM
The first thing Labour have to do is be honest with themselves. Much of their problem lies behind their hanging on to the coat tails of the tories, not just at the referendum, but on issues like austerity as well. It seems like they don't have the self-confidence to challenge establishment orthodoxy any more. Their attitude to the SNP landslide is, to quote Milliband, that it was "a nationalist surge", denying the strong anti-austerity message of the SNP throughout the campaign, and refusing any kind of arrangement with them as a result. Compare that stance with, say, the English Greens.
If most economists' analyses are correct, and the tories turn on the austerity again like 2010-12 in order to "shrink the state", we'll be in for another recession. Will Labour be up to the challenge?
Labour are part of the establishment orthodoxy now, though. The nationalist surge thing is just a comfort blanket that will wear thin pretty quickly - or should do if they're to make a come-back.
One thing that went through my mind watching the kinds of people being elected as MPs for the SNP: a 20 year old student, mid-career teacher, union reps, council workers, retired lawyers, business people and a reasonable mix of men and women - is that they were beating people for whom politics had become nothing more than a career and Westminster, the cosy office. That is every bit the problem with Scottish politics.
For some of them, having to face the electorate every 5 years was just a minor occupational hazard in an otherwise job for life.
For example, I'm not sad to see Charlie Kennedy lose his seat, as much as I like him. He's been an MP for 32 years!!
As the old phrase goes - you have to change your politicians regularly for the same reason you change a kid's nappies: after a while, they become full of sh*t.
HiBremian
08-05-2015, 08:49 AM
Labour are part of the establishment orthodoxy now, though. The nationalist surge thing is just a comfort blanket that will wear thin pretty quickly - or should do if they're to make a come-back.
One thing that went through my mind watching the kinds of people being elected as MPs for the SNP: a 20 year old student, mid-career teacher, union reps, council workers, retired lawyers, business people and a reasonable mix of men and women - is that they were beating people for whom politics had become nothing more than a career and Westminster, the cosy office. That is every bit the problem with Scottish politics.
For some of them, having to face the electorate every 5 years was just a minor occupational hazard in an otherwise job for life.
For example, I'm not sad to see Charlie Kennedy lose his seat, as much as I like him. He's been an MP for 32 years!!
As the old phrase goes - you have to change your politicians regularly for the same reason you change a kid's nappies: after a while, they become full of sh*t.
Here's the rub, SB. Here in Bremen we have a state election on Sunday. The wife is standing for cooncil for the Greens, and still stands by the old Green policy from decades ago of "rotation", ie no one gets the chance to make a career out of politics. Sad to say she's the only one left in the now somewhat establishment Green Party here. I'm out canvassing for them tomorrow so I'll keep your kids' nappies metaphor in mind :greengrin
08-05-2015, 08:50 AM
The Glasgow OAP that stuck £30,000 on a Tory majority will be having a nice morning. Looking at £210,000 return.
08-05-2015, 09:15 AM
Please note the times of my predictions/tips :wink:
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?296809-General-Election-2015&p=4367859&viewfull=1#post4367859 (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?296809-General-Election-2015&p=4367859&viewfull=1#post4367859)
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?296809-General-Election-2015&p=4367868&viewfull=1#post4367868
08-05-2015, 09:19 AM
The Glasgow OAP that stuck £30,000 on a Tory majority will be having a nice morning. Looking at £210,000 return.
Oh aye, he/she will be fine, unlike those who are about to face another five years of failed and unjust austerity because of the Tory majority. Anyone who has thirty grand spare to put on abet won't have to worry about the state of our public services.
08-05-2015, 09:24 AM
The Unionist Parties in Scotland were quick to tell us the people of Scotland had spoken after the referendum, will they abide by that mantra in the aftermath of the GE?
08-05-2015, 09:28 AM
The Unionist Parties in Scotland were quick to tell us the people of Scotland had spoken after the referendum, will they abide by that mantra in the aftermath of the GE?
No chance HUTCHY. I'm waiting to see if Farage loses, will he have a massive rant about the SNP?! :greengrin
08-05-2015, 09:34 AM
No chance HUTCHY. I'm waiting to see if Farage loses, will he have a massive rant about the SNP?! :greengrin
he just did, although not a 'massive' rant but he did blame the SNP, Alastair Campbell in the studio is the first labour person i've heard saying not only did they get trounced in scotland they also got trounced in seats they thought they would win in england, the ones 'blaming' the SNP in this country maybe have to look a bit nearer to home...and start blaming THEMSELVES
08-05-2015, 09:35 AM
lol Farage not elected....horrible little anti-scottish racist p*ick
apparently said he would resign if not elected awwww
08-05-2015, 09:36 AM
Bye Nigel!
08-05-2015, 09:37 AM
:thumbsup:GIRUY Farage.
Is toast as his own words says. :greengrin
Chibs
08-05-2015, 09:37 AM
apparently said he would resign if not elected awwww
08-05-2015, 09:38 AM
he just did, although not a 'massive' rant but he did blame the SNP, Alastair Campbell in the studio is the first labour person i've heard saying not only did they get trounced in scotland they also got trounced in seats they thought they would win in england, the ones 'blaming' the SNP in this country maybe have to look a bit nearer to home...and start blaming THEMSELVES
Until they start having a look in the mirror, they will continue to implode.
If they continue on the same path with Murphy, the Greens will be taking their seats in Holyrood next year.
08-05-2015, 09:43 AM
Farage 'i've never felt happier' in his losing speech....lol
08-05-2015, 09:46 AM
Please note the times of my predictions/tips :wink:
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?296809-General-Election-2015&p=4367859&viewfull=1#post4367859 (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?296809-General-Election-2015&p=4367859&viewfull=1#post4367859)
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?296809-General-Election-2015&p=4367868&viewfull=1#post4367868
Did you get your deposit back in your constituency? Hope so as it would be nice to have a strong Green presence in Holyrood from next year.
08-05-2015, 09:47 AM
Until they start having a look in the mirror, they will continue to implode.
If they continue on the same path with Murphy, the Greens will be taking their seats in Holyrood next year.
i hope they do, at the very least until after next years Scottish election, i'd rather swap these election votes in favour of a landslide next year
08-05-2015, 09:51 AM
Big night for SNP but vote share still only at 50%. They need more.
08-05-2015, 09:56 AM
Did you get your deposit back in your constituency? Hope so as it would be nice to have a strong Green presence in Holyrood from next year.
Afraid not, but reasonably good day. I think there is a strong feeling about the second vote for Greens next year. Our branch is about 225 members over 2 westminster constituencies, and I would say we had a hardcore of about a dozen out in Perth and North Perthshire for the GE. Something to build on. We need some strong Green presence at Holyrood to keep those cocky SNPs in their place :wink:
08-05-2015, 09:59 AM
:agree: Tories painting pictures of rampaging Scottish hordes in coalition with Labour decending upon England would seem to have won the day for the Tories. Sad indiction of how wee Scots are perceived south of the border.
08-05-2015, 10:02 AM
Labour done well in London areas, i wonder if he will blame the SNP for that as well
With their majority will they have one or was it only if they needed UKIP support?
Think Cameron was probably expecting to be able to barter his referendum pledge away during coalition negotiations. He's ****ed now because he'll actually have to hold one :greengrin
Nationally SNP get 1.45M votes and 56 seats. UKIP get 3.8M votes and 1 seat. Interesting the way first past the post works out.
08-05-2015, 10:04 AM
Balls emptied.
Thats a clear case of over sharing, some things you really need to keep to yourself :greengrin
08-05-2015, 10:04 AM
Oh aye, he/she will be fine, unlike those who are about to face another five years of failed and unjust austerity because of the Tory majority. Anyone who has thirty grand spare to put on abet won't have to worry about the state of our public services.
You know nothing about him. Maybe he worked hard all his life and that was his life savings.
08-05-2015, 10:12 AM
murphy 'a terrible morning for scotland' yup...we're all grieving
can we now see/hear less of this man on our TV screens...ta
08-05-2015, 10:12 AM
Nationally SNP get 1.45M votes and 56 seats. UKIP get 3.8M votes and 1 seat. Interesting the way first past the post works out.
And SNP get something like 95% of Scottish seats with 50% of the vote...Tories get something like 2% if Scottish seats (with a guesstimate share of the vote around 15%).
FPTP is an outdated and unrepresentative voting method and should be changed asap...AV was probably the wrong choice to try and do that but I doubt it could be anywhere near as bad as FPTP in terms of seats v vote share.
Overall all though this election has seen a seismic shift in UK politics, will be interesting to see what the SNP do from here now that they have achieved so much in electoral terms.
As for Labour, I struggle to see how they will ever recover....a lot of blood letting to be done there and a top to bottom rethink of policy and strategy required, mashed by the Tories in England and the SNP in Scotland leaves them in complete disarray.
08-05-2015, 10:16 AM
I wasn't meaning that in respect of a further referendum.
There is/was a strong feeling amongst the people I mix with that the Unionist Parties attitude after the referendum was one of "You've had your chance at change but voted against it, now get back in the corner where you belong and only speak when you're spoken to", doesnae look like that attitude will cut it anymore. Looks like the subservient days have come to an end.
08-05-2015, 10:16 AM
Afraid not, but reasonably good day. I think there is a strong feeling about the second vote for Greens next year. Our branch is about 225 members over 2 westminster constituencies, and I would say we had a hardcore of about a dozen out in Perth and North Perthshire for the GE. Something to build on. We need some strong Green presence at Holyrood to keep those cocky SNPs in their place :wink:
Sorry to hear that Golden, I respect your determined efforts and getting your deposit back would have been just rewards.
I think you are right though, the Scottish electoral system gives you a much better chance of getting increased representation and with Labours woes looking likely to continue for some time, the lib dems seemingly long term wounded and the enduring and engrained hatred for anything Tory then a strong second vote for greens seems a very plausible target to aim for.
08-05-2015, 10:21 AM
Murphy not moving from the Branch office leadership. Most people I've spoken to say that he's one of the main reasons they won't vote Labour again. Over to you Labour activists.
Meanwhile today marks the march of the Greens to Holyrood in 2016 taking Labour seats.
08-05-2015, 10:27 AM
Farage stands down, but might stand again in september
08-05-2015, 10:30 AM
Murphy not moving from the Branch office leadership.......
Murphy's Law?
08-05-2015, 10:35 AM
Nick Horsefly falls on his sword.
The weasel that he is, blaming everyone else when HIS choice to side with the Tories is a main part of his party's problems. You've had you're 15 min of fame Nick, now STFU.
08-05-2015, 10:35 AM
Clegg resigns
08-05-2015, 10:41 AM
And SNP get something like 95% of Scottish seats with 50% of the vote...Tories get something like 2% if Scottish seats (with a guesstimate share of the vote around 15%).
FPTP is an outdated and unrepresentative voting method and should be changed asap...AV was probably the wrong choice to try and do that but I doubt it could be anywhere near as bad as FPTP in terms of seats v vote share.
Overall all though this election has seen a seismic shift in UK politics, will be interesting to see what the SNP do from here now that they have achieved so much in electoral terms.
As for Labour, I struggle to see how they will ever recover....a lot of blood letting to be done there and a top to bottom rethink of policy and strategy required, mashed by the Tories in England and the SNP in Scotland leaves them in complete disarray.
Labour got 41 seats with just over a million votes and 42% share in 2010. I'm hoping you were saying fptp was bad back then too.
08-05-2015, 10:47 AM
They should do what the Sun does and keep Scotland and the rest of the UK separate. BTW I hate the Sun but they know how to influence voters.
Have a Scottish Labour party not an English subsidiary. Last year the Scottish Labour leader said that we needed more of the Scottish Labour powers to be decided by the Scottish party. What do Labour do but elect an UK MP.
08-05-2015, 10:57 AM
Clegg resigns
Reaping the 'reward' of propping up the Conservatives?
If the Lib-Dems had not supported the Tories in government they, the Tories would not not have even been the government for the past five years. I appreciate the Lib-Dems tried to play their part by 'forcing' on the Tories some policies that definitely would not have been introduced by the Tories themselves but I think it would only be the most optimistic Liberal that thought they would get the credit.
Seems, many want to blame the SNP for introducing fear into 'British' politics thus polarising the electorate. Too simple and indeed Nicola Sturgeon in England was not always viewed unfavourably. I think the two parties that presented more positive positions and visions, even if others would dispute these positions, carried the day.
08-05-2015, 11:01 AM
Right, that's us got a new Generation of MP's in the house. Time for a Referendum:greengrin
08-05-2015, 11:14 AM
Miliband just resigned.
08-05-2015, 11:15 AM
ED resigns
08-05-2015, 11:17 AM
ED resigns
Step forward Harriet Harman. Oh dear, frying pan/fire situation coming up.
08-05-2015, 11:38 AM
Nick Horsefly falls on his sword.
The weasel that he is, blaming everyone else when HIS choice to side with the Tories is a main part of his party's problems. You've had you're 15 min of fame Nick, now STFU.
Bit unfair. Instrumental in lifting personal allowances up to and beyond £10k which is a very progressive and enlightening legacy.
08-05-2015, 12:17 PM
Bit unfair. Instrumental in lifting personal allowances up to and beyond £10k which is a very progressive and enlightening legacy.
Having been out of the country for most of the last sitting of parliament I thought Clegg, from what I have seen of him, came across fairly well and fairly genuinely compared to most other politicians.
08-05-2015, 12:20 PM
... whilst simultaneously bringing down the 40% threshold, thus taxing many middle earners (those around £40k pa) more.
08-05-2015, 12:22 PM
Labour got 41 seats with just over a million votes and 42% share in 2010. I'm hoping you were saying fptp was bad back then too.
Any idea what the final vote count is in Scotland? I need it for a Twitterspat :greengrin
08-05-2015, 12:23 PM
Sure was...I was one of the few voices on here that supported the AV change, in at least some change was better than no change.
I think the Scottish Parliament voting rules are probably about as good a compromise as you can get between the two and would strongly support it's introduction to UK elections.
08-05-2015, 12:25 PM
Sure was...I was one of the few voices on here that supported the AV change, in at least some change was better than no change.
I think the Scottish Parliament voting rules are probably about as good a compromise as you can get between the two and would strongly support it's introduction to UK elections.
Totally agree.... that system gives us the government we vote for.
Will we get it in the UK? Not a hope, sadly.
08-05-2015, 12:27 PM
I agree. It would be much better. I voted for AV. Hell mend the folks moaning about it this morning.
Problem is though, what possible incentive is there for an elected government - on FPTP - to implement proportional representation? It'll never happen.
08-05-2015, 12:30 PM
Totally agree.... that system gives us the government we vote for. .
Did this system not give the UK the government it voted for? It was a UK election, the party with the most votes and the biggest share of the votes are in government.
08-05-2015, 12:37 PM
Good stuff. And I agree with you on that.
08-05-2015, 12:40 PM
Did this system not give the UK the government it voted for? It was a UK election, the party with the most votes and the biggest share of the votes are in government.
Not sure it did in the sense of votes cast and allocation of seats.
For example, the SNP won 56 seats, with 1.5m (?) votes. UK electorate is approx 45m. Under pure PR, they would have won less than half of that.
Repeat that exercise for every party... some winners (like the SNP), some losers (UKIP, apparently... like I care).