View Full Version : Match Updates THE Rangers 2 vs 1 Hibs
05-08-2014, 09:01 PM
Liam craig given MoM
Deserved
05-08-2014, 09:02 PM
Shot from Craig but could he have slipped that through to Heff?
:agree: an easy pass too for a one on one. :rolleyes:
David Gray is man of the match by a country mile tonight.
Same old filthy hun ****s.
Need the ref to cheat & them to be massively unsporting as ever.
Pricks
yellow for the time wasting bun keeper
Craig's performance a reflection of the renaissance the team has had tonight.
Liam craig given MoM
Only gets it because of Handlings sending off
05-08-2014, 09:03 PM
Regardless of this final result (would of liked a wee win)
I cannot fault the players efforts or commitment tonite.
We actually look like a team again.
Yes. Handling looked especially impressive and his sending off needs to be listed among the worst injustices in the history of Scottish football slightly behind Kujabi's pull three yards outside the penalty box. We can only hope EUFA is watching and John Beaton doesn't get any jolly trips to officiate in European ties because of his clear and demonstrated uselessness.
05-08-2014, 09:03 PM
Way more positives than negatives to take from tonight's game
05-08-2014, 09:05 PM
45 mins with a man less and we've been miles better than them.
Hibs are the better team even with ten men, we actually resemble a football team finally. We still need 2-3 players though that much is obvious.
Stevenson booked. Good foul. Probably gamr over now though.
05-08-2014, 09:06 PM
Watched the second half and looked like a bunch of poor quality players blowing out their ***** in a pre-season friendly. Neither team looked like the game held any real import, and The Rangers were quite happy to let Hibs runs round with the ball for a while.
Once the real football starts, expect a much, much harder, tougher, physical encounter where quality, grit, determination and depth of squad will win the day. Nice pitter, patter footie from Hibs first 11 in August on a bowling green surface will be be seriously found out in the shake out in the depths of the season. Huns will canter this league, Yams will be the only chasers, and Hibs might just about scrape the play-offs.
And if that's ever in doubt, you can rely on the officials to fix that :wink:
Well played HIBS. A proper football team. We Will Win The League.
David Gray is man of the match by a country mile tonight.
Craig for me. At least four cracking through balls, with a better finisher hed have had four assists.
Very pleased and encouraged. Well played Hibs.
Beaton can go **** himself.
Full time 2-1.
Sending off turned that game. With 11 v 11 we would have won. Hibs players given a, deserved, great ovation from the support.
Unlucky hibs. Great performance, Great support!!
Templeton probably the difference tbh.
05-08-2014, 09:07 PM
Deserved
I would have given it to Handling.
No good, don't accept plucky defeat anymore. Bored of losing.
A lot of positives to take from tonight, I still think we need a couple of players in. Good start and come good football.
Stewboy
Watched the second half and looked like a bunch of poor quality players blowing out their ***** in a pre-season friendly. Neither team looked like the game held any real import, and The Rangers were quite happy to let Hibs runs round with the ball for a while.
Once the real football starts, expect a much, much harder, tougher, physical encounter where quality, grit, determination and depth of squad will win the day. Nice pitter, patter footie from Hibs first 11 in August on a bowling green surface will be be seriously found out in the shake out in the depths of the season. Huns will canter this league, Yams will be the only chasers, and Hibs might just about scrape the play-offs.
Glass half empty kind of guy I guess?
Have a word eh. Or better still go twirl a purple scarf.
lobster
Game ruined by poor refereeing really. Changed the course of the match completely.
In the grand scheme of things though it's all positive. Really good performance, we can concentrate on the league and Alex Harris is back.
Well played Hibs.
05-08-2014, 09:08 PM
Well bore off then.
Me, I'm quite happy to take the positives out that game and actually look forward to the season.
Your posts get more ridiculous by the day...dearie me!!
is that your honest opinion from watching the second half? To me, Hibs had far more about them during that half. Rangers defence will be breached time and time again in this league, by many teams...much more positives for us than them...I;m happy with that for a 90 mins..night and day difference from last season.
thought we played well tonight, rangers were murder at times and their defence looks fragile. if only stanton had scored when he got the chance it may have been different.
I'm happy with the shift the team put in tonight, still think we need a couple more players though
Greenblood70
Ah well encouraging signs, need more quality and pace tho in key positions. I doubt we'll get it tho so we'll need to avoid injuries and suspensions. Was a breath of fresh air after the tyranny of Butcher and Malpas.
flower of scotland at the end....good stuff :thumbsup:
Fans at the game certainly showing the players if they play like that every week we will support them
Long time since I've actually enjoyed watching Hibs. Lots of positives from tonight, and just how poor were they!
05-08-2014, 09:09 PM
Well impressed with our determination and passing of the ball. Compared to the last few seasons it was good to watch.
Well done also to the Hibs support who even in defeat can muster a good rendition of Flower of Scotland.
Looking forward to the coming season.
Chuffed. :aok:
A lot of positives to take from tonight, I still think we need a couple of players in. Good start and come good football.
Spot on
Had plenty chances to kill the game when 1-1 & 11 v 11
Losing is for losers
As are we all but until the sending off we were the better team
05-08-2014, 09:10 PM
Stevenson booked. Good foul. Probably gamr over now though.
Good to see from Lewis. Something he might not have done in the past.
euro Hibby
05-08-2014, 09:11 PM
good performance from Hibs and I think in another 4 weeks we should only then, have an idea how we will do this season !
Lots of pluses and if that's the best newco can offer then we we should be in the mix right through to May. Thought Harris was excellent. I'd still like 1 more signing, either a wide player or forward.
Richard Gordon loving that we lost. Mans a plum.
05-08-2014, 09:12 PM
is that your honest opinion from watching the second half? To me, Hibs had far more about them during that half. Rangers defence will be breached time and time again in this league, by many teams...much more positives for us than them...I;m happy with that for a 90 mins..night and day difference from last season.
Remember a draw after 90mins at Ibrox and Tynie is all we will need in the league. Win the rest and job done.
Spot on
Losing is for losers
Honestly, what a load of ***** that is.
Is no one allowed to lose anymore? Your posts are only being outdone by Speedway's trolling at the moment.
Another slightly considered and useless assessment about a game. Not unusual for you though is it? :greengrin
I hope they recover in time for Hearts. If they play like that they'll win.
WestEndHibee
That was great to watch Hibs actually going for it.
It wasn't the most polished performance but they were constantly putting rangers under pressure.
Special mention to the fans at the end. It's great to show the team that they'll get praise if they give all they can and play good football.
05-08-2014, 09:13 PM
Pish. Get a grip man.
05-08-2014, 09:13 PM
Men down lost us the game, as for the performance more than good enough. Now we are out can focus on the league and that performance showed we will be more than fine.
Another striker and we could win this league.
05-08-2014, 09:15 PM
you better away and support chelsea or Celtic then Speeds.
05-08-2014, 09:15 PM
We played good football but lacked the composure to take one of our many chances when the sides were equal. Only one winner after the red card. Nowt to fear this season.
05-08-2014, 09:16 PM
Is no one allowed to lose anymore? Your posts are only being outdone by Speedway's trolling at the moment.
**** off. Same old, played nice got beat. Rangers are clucking fight and we couldn't tuck them away.
We get a man sent off as usual because we don't have the quality. It's going to take more than a new found ability to do absolute basics to lift this club so stick the 'trolling' up yer erchie. We got beat AGAIN.
05-08-2014, 09:17 PM
Given me a lot more confidence. The half time video was great and got me buzzing for the season, and we came out fighting. Handling was excellent so gutted he got sent off. We were by far the better team until that game changer.
05-08-2014, 09:18 PM
**** off. Same old, played nice got beat. Rangers are clucking fight and we couldn't tuck them away.
We get a man sent off as usual because we don't have the quality. It's going to take more than a new found ability to do absolute basics to lift this club so stick the 'trolling' up yer erchie. We got beat AGAIN.
05-08-2014, 09:18 PM
We were well on top and Farid should have taken at least on of his chances same goes for Stanton, the ref decided that was enough from us and ended the game after the sending off.
I had to rub my eyes at some of the football we played particularly in the 2nd half, what a difference Stubbs has made.
I don't like losing any game but not that bothered with this diddy cup.
Looking forward to Saturday.
Tha Cabbage Kid
05-08-2014, 09:19 PM
Farid should have finished the game for us! two great chances! handling looks a completly different player and craig was deserving man of the match.
i think our defense looks totally different too. glad to have hanlon back
thought we were cheated out of the game but that is nothing new. even though its the first time we have ever played that team. dont like that team for some reason. but im sure i will find a reason when we play them more often.
the refferee's a w@£$%r!!!!!!!!
HibeeHendo
05-08-2014, 09:20 PM
How can anyone not be encouraged by that performance? It was like night and day compared to last season. If Handling wasn't questionably sent off we would've won. We'll hammer that Rangers team at Easter Road.
05-08-2014, 09:20 PM
**** off. Same old, played nice got beat. Rangers are clucking fight and we couldn't tool them away.
In case you haven't noticed (but clearly you have) it's not the 'same old, place nice got beat' as anyone who has watched Hibs in recent years will know its been ages since we played anything resembling 'nice'.
Anyone with a single cell in working order could see Hibs were by far the better team and the ordering off changed the game considerably.
I'll say it again. Bore off you complete troll. You are just embarrassing yourself.
Far better 2nd half, we would have won comfortably if we had some pace and a decent striker up front.
Need another 3 players to have a really serious go at winning the league, pace and power needed up front.
the rangers are nothing special on tonight's showing and won't have it their own way without poor refs like tonight!
Watch the Merricks will put 3 past them at the weekend!
05-08-2014, 09:21 PM
Too right speedway, if you dont go with the majority here you are a troll. :agree: I disagree with the points you make though, i saw enough tonight to say we have made good progress in a short space of time.
I still say they will win the league in a canter, but we showed we are going to be competitive and play the game the right way.
Someone said once we will win more than we lose, i think we will this season. :wink:
Like night and day from last season, the man has only been in the job a few weeks and has made us a football team again, some folk should get a grip.
Well that was incredibly encouraging. Stubbs has managed to take the first eleven and get them playing some really good well organised positive football. Subs failed to add anything really (fingers crossed a fitter Allan might). So basically we need a couple more quality players and without them we will deff not win the league and then stuck with the lottery of the playoff. Board show us what your made off
Kenbo
05-08-2014, 09:22 PM
WELL DONE HIBS!, we lost but this performance was much more positive! I can handle a loss when I feel the team have given it their all :agree:
CyberSauzee
05-08-2014, 09:23 PM
MOTM - Super Sally McCoist.
Never has there been a more egregious manager with such a massive budget in comparison to the competition. Long may he continue in charge.
30 mins ET
Will be good for league fitness..:greengrin
I will give Kicks for Kids £100 if Hibs don't win the league! :thumbsup:
If Hibs don't get promoted I'll raise it to £200.
If Hearts don't get promoted, I will raise it to £300. :thumbsup:
I'm glad we don't have Ramsden cup games to interfere with our campaign but I am also glad about how good we looked against a club of financial cheats and a referee who made a gigantic assist in our defeat. FFS, a booking was debatable for that Handling tackle.
GGTTH:flag:
05-08-2014, 09:24 PM
In case you haven't noticed (but clearly you have) it's not the 'same old, place nice got beat' as anyone who has watched Hibs in recent years will know its been ages since we played anything resembling 'nice'.
Anyone with a single cell in working order could see Hibs were by far the better team and the ordering off changed the game considerably.
I'll say it again. Bore off you complete troll. You are just embarrassing yourself.
Better team, if this if that we're better you know.
No, Sevco were better because the best team scores the most goals.
But nevermind eh, you celebrate that we played nice. What do you get in football for that again?
05-08-2014, 09:24 PM
Your posts get more ridiculous by the day...dearie me!!
Big whoosh
05-08-2014, 09:25 PM
Better 2nd half performance, red card changed the game - Handling's youth got the better of him, stupid move from him, think the ref is entitled to give it - we didn't test their goalkeeper very much (if at all) so I'm not sure why everybody's so impressed - Stubbs should have had the ailing Robertson off much earlier cost us the game ... as bad as The Rangers were, they won the game. I'm a long way from being even slightly impressed by our lot - Rangers were awful yet we took nothing from the game, that's the reality. If we want promotion, we have to be clinical and take our few chances, I'm not convinced this lot can do that. Saturday will be an interesting exercise - think the impressed amongst us (too easily if you ask me) may have a rude awakening.
05-08-2014, 09:25 PM
Too right speedway, if you dont go with the majority here you are a troll. :agree: I disagree with the points you make though, i saw enough tonight to say we have made good progress in a short space of time.
I still say they will win the league in a canter, but we showed we are going to be competitive and play the game the right way.
Someone said once we will win more than we lose, i think we will this season. :wink:
Not at all, I have plenty of time for different points of view when made with some validity. I even saw Steve20 make a positive post after tonight :greengrin, so it's beyond a joke when notable posters like Speedway take the line he is.
IMO, he's at it and he knows it.
MG1965
05-08-2014, 09:26 PM
Our support was fantastic!!
Thought we played really well especially in the second half.
Some of the passing and movement was a treat to watch.
I also felt for El Alagui but still think he will be the man for the goals along with Handling,who was brilliant until the referee made a right Rodger Hunt of it.
A lot of positives to take away from the game.
Nobody likes to lose but it was a massive improvement on last season.
lets keep on improving and we'll do the supporting
05-08-2014, 09:26 PM
A lot of whooshes
05-08-2014, 09:27 PM
Get a grip man. When was the last time we played nice and a man sent off as usual? You're just making things up.
Load of tosh.
05-08-2014, 09:29 PM
Sometimes you make good posts, but a lot of the time your withering sarcasm is extremely unappealing - still preferable to this nonsense though.
A very encouraging performance tonight. Playing much better football, getting it down on the deck and passing it about rather than this hoofball "punt it up the park and hope for the best" tactic we are used to.
Rangers may have a big threat up front with Boyd and Miller but they look very shaky at the back. Gutted to have lost in the end but definatly feeling a lot more positive after that.
I've no idea what that means
Rubbish. The team that scores most will win, but even I've seen Hibs play terribly and win.
But nevermind eh, you celebrate that we played nice. What do you get in football for that again?
Celebrating? Dry yer eyes :greengrin who said I was celebrating. I do, however see an improvement in the team and the style, as do a lot of others so I won't waste any more time on your piss poor posts.
It might now be 'The Rangers' but one thing that never changes is the refs. You can read their minds .... oh **** the Gers are getting the run around here I had better do something ................ disgraceful decision, on what planet was that challenge a straight red card?
Very encouraging performance from Hibs, by far the better team from 10 minutes in until the sending off. The only criticisms I would have is that we have to take our chances when they come along, we could ( should ) have been 3 - 1 up by the time Handling was sent off and the final ball was poor at times from good positions .......... oh and a bit of practice required on the long range shooting.
Having said that ...... We cant afford to lose or draw matches were we play as well as we did here.
05-08-2014, 09:30 PM
Far better 2nd half, we would have won comfortably if we had some pace and a decent striker up front.
Need another 3 players to have a really serious go at winning the league, pace and power needed up front.
the rangers are nothing special on tonight's showing and won't have it their own way without poor refs like tonight!
Watch the Merricks will put 3 past them at the weekend!
Looks like free money.
05-08-2014, 09:30 PM
Not at all, I have plenty of time for different points of view when made with some validity. I even saw Steve20 make a positive post after tonight :greengrin, so it's beyond a joke when notable posters like Speedway take the line he is.
IMO, he's at it and he knows it.
This is something i was accused of during Fenlons time, because we'd scrapped a win or drawn a game i felt we probably should have lost, but this board would explode with excitement because of it.
I can assure you i never thought i was trolling the points i make about the team are genuine thoughts, and i believe these are Speedways too.
As i said before, this place gets worse. You cant have a different view from the majority without being labeled a troll. :rolleyes:
05-08-2014, 09:31 PM
Proud of the lads tonight, great team performance if handling kept his cool we woulda won. Ggtth looking forward to Saturday
05-08-2014, 09:32 PM
Not trolling, far from it
Fed up of hibs losing nearly every time they play & more fed up of the back slapping congratulations from out support at losing again
Sometimes you make good posts, but a lot of the time your withering sarcasm is extremely unappealing - still preferable to this nonsense though.
Let's make things ABUNDANTLY clear then.
I'm not happy that we've passed up chance after chance and ended up being punted out of a diddy cup at the first time of asking by a bag of s***e.
Your problem with that is?
Here's the links you need speeds…away and enjoy winning every week. I'll stay here and support my team rather than trash talking them.
http://www.chelseafc.com
http://www.mcfc.co.uk
http://www.celticfc.net/mainindex
http://www.realmadrid.com/en
05-08-2014, 09:34 PM
This is something i was accused of during Fenlons time, because we'd scrapped a win or drawn a game i felt we probably should have lost, but this board would explode with excitement because of it.
I can assure you i never thought i was trolling the points i make about the team are genuine thoughts, and i believe these are Speedways too.
As i said before, this place gets worse. You cant have a different view from the majority without being labeled a troll. :rolleyes:
I can ban you if you like :greengrin
05-08-2014, 09:34 PM
Here's the links you need speeds…away and enjoy winning every week. I'll stay here and support my team rather than trash talking them.
05-08-2014, 09:36 PM
I can ban you if you like :greengrin
Probably do me a favour. :greengrin Not everybody likes losing, and some are sick to death of it and no amount of playing well but still losing makes any difference now.
05-08-2014, 09:36 PM
All winners with a winning mentality.
And you're distinguishing that from the 'approved' mindset of a Hibby.
Telling.
05-08-2014, 09:37 PM
Probably do me a favour. :greengrin Not everybody likes losing, and some are sick to death of it and no amount of playing well but still losing makes any difference now.
Exactly.
Better 2nd half performance, red card changed the game - Handling's youth got the better of him, stupid move from him, think the ref is entitled to give it - we didn't test their goalkeeper very much (if at all) so I'm not sure why everybody's so impressed - Stubbs should have had the ailing Robertson off much earlier cost us the game ... as bad as The Rangers were, they won the game. I'm a long way from being even slightly impressed by our lot - Rangers were awful yet we took nothing from the game, that's the reality. If we want promotion, we have to be clinical and take our few chances, I'm not convinced this lot can do that. Saturday will be an interesting exercise - think the impressed amongst us (too easily if you ask me) may have a rude awakening.
Quite incredible that anyone can think that this would be a red card. Simply the worst decision I have ever seen, I don't think that the ref even seen the tackle he was just swinging the game the way he wanted.
GoldenMeerkat
Disappointed with the result, but not the performance. The positives certainly outweigh the negatives.
Great Hibs support
05-08-2014, 09:38 PM
I've no idea what that means
Rubbish. The team that scores most will win, but even I've seen Hibs play terribly and win.
Celebrating? Dry yer eyes :greengrin who said I was celebrating. I do, however see an improvement in the team and the style, as do a lot of others so I won't waste any more time on your piss poor posts.
And I won't waste any more money on piss poor results and loser mentalities. Results trump everything.
05-08-2014, 09:38 PM
Not trolling, far from it
Fed up of hibs losing nearly every time they play & more fed up of the back slapping congratulations from out support at losing again
You know, if we lose our opening 6 games then you will absolutely have a point and free reign to moan on here. But, IMO, you are stuck in last season with that sentence.
We were all miserable then, but now is a time to look forward, see the change in style and give it a chance.
05-08-2014, 09:40 PM
And I won't waste any more money on piss poor results and loser mentalities. Results trump everything.
Good. Cheerio :bye:
05-08-2014, 09:41 PM
You know, if we lose our opening 6 games then you will absolutely have a point and free reign to moan on here. But, IMO, you are stuck in last season with that sentence.
We were all miserable then, but now is a time to look forward, see the change in style and give it a chance.
Stuck in the last 6 seasons
The style & attitude has changed but too many substandard players with losing habits remain
05-08-2014, 09:41 PM
Looked like a pretty hard fought game to me .... Hibs held the ball pretty well and I don't think it was because The Rangers were "happy" to let them do it .... that's a pretty unfair comment.
Don't disagree that things will get tougher though.
05-08-2014, 09:42 PM
I'm not happy that we've passed up chance after chance and ended up being punted out of a diddy cup at the first time of asking by a bag of s***e.
I don't have a problem with this post, it is objective and clearly states your feelings on the game. Your last one started with telling someone to **** off and then gave an inaccurate reflection of the game - us going away from home and playing a team off the park and creating loads of chances isn't the same old same old. If only it was.
We lost an early goal and then a man to a terrible decision after controlling the game for the vast majority of the match - the heads never went down and we were still better than them at 10 v 11. Again, that is not same old same old. We were tenacious without the ball and very good with it, and many players who were non existent last year showed up really well tonight. There was nothing that was 'same old same old'. That team tonight would have destroyed Hamilton in that play off.
I can understand your disappointment to an extent, but there must surely be lots of encouragement to take from tonight. Yes, winning is the most important thing but in terms of how optimistic I would be for the season ahead, I'm more encouraged by our performance in losing, than I would have been if we had played like Rangers and won.
05-08-2014, 09:42 PM
There's a difference between liking losing and being upset by a loss but being able to see there were positives though surely?
We got the ball down tonight, we created chances, we looked pretty good at the back, 1 or 2 players who had been written off produced a performance, even with 10 men we matched a team assembled at far greater cost than ours.
I don't like nor am I celebrating a defeat but I'm not going to have a go at the team for tonight either. If we have another 'plucky defeat' at home Livingston on Saturday I'm sure the reaction will be quite different. However after last season, especially February onwards, I think a performance with clear signs of improvement and encouragement is worthy of a bit of praise, whilst still acknowledging we got beat of course.
MG1965
05-08-2014, 09:43 PM
We did miss a few chances and looking back we should have won it convincingly but it is disappointing to get beat but we have to remember that we will get better and already our style of play looked good.
This is my first competitive match thread of the season tonight. Really hope i can go unbeaten this season :D
The weather will be mainly cloudy through the evening and night with showers or longer spells of rain, becoming heavier and more persistent over Argyll later. Hopefully Tudor-Jones plays some part tonight as i have a great feeling he will score. :agree:
http://s2.quickmeme.com/img/67/67b87404342c88081362f57e9c9cf48a39239a34fa496fe8e9 a91aaae0be3221.jpg
Never again :greengrin
Stuck in the last 6 seasons
The style & attitude has changed but too many substandard players with losing habits remain
I agree, as I watched every single one of them. But even I can see a difference and if we can find that killer touch, we'll do very well this season.
Surely you can see an improvement and some optimism for the season?
We are far from the finished article but there is hope for sure IMO.
All winners with a winning mentality.
And you're distinguishing that from the 'approved' mindset of a Hibby.
Telling.
No. All teams with massive incomes who can buy success. Neither Chelsea nor Man City were a team with a winning mentality until some dodgy cash rich foreigner started pumping endless funds in and buying success. So no they don't have a winning mentality, they just have a huge bank balance.
All I'm pointing out is that if you really can't handle supporting a team who regularly gets beat, then just go and find one that doesn't. Not having your negative, hard man, self pity infecting this forum would make things more enjoyable for the rest of us.
05-08-2014, 09:44 PM
I don't have a problem with this post, it is objective and clearly states your feelings on the game. Your last one started with telling someone to **** off and then gave an inaccurate reflection of the game - us going away from home and playing a team off the park and creating loads of chances isn't the same old same old. If only it was.
We lost an early goal and then a man to a terrible decision after controlling the game for the vast majority of the match - the heads never went down and we were still better than them at 10 v 11. Again, that is not same old same old. We were tenacious without the ball and very good with it, and many players who were non existent last year showed up really well tonight. There was nothing that was 'same old same old'. That team tonight would have destroyed Hamilton in that play off.
I can understand your disappointment to an extent, but there must surely be lots of encouragement to take from tonight. Yes, winning is the most important thing but in terms of how optimistic I would be for the season ahead, I'm more encouraged by our performance in losing, than I would have been if we had played like Rangers and won.
We wouldn't accept that defeat by Livi so why from ****co?
05-08-2014, 09:45 PM
There's a difference between liking losing and being upset by a loss but being able to see there were positives though surely?
We got the ball down tonight, we created chances, we looked pretty good at the back, 1 or 2 players who had been written off produced a performance, even with 10 men we matched a team assembled at far greater cost than ours.
I don't like nor am I celebrating a defeat but I'm not going to have a go at the team for tonight either. If we have another 'plucky defeat' at home Livingston on Saturday I'm sure the reaction will be quite different. However after last season, especially February onwards, I think a performance with clear signs of improvement and encouragement is worthy of a bit of praise, whilst still acknowledging we got beat of course.
:agree: I agree, but for some that camels back has been broken and winning rather than playing well and losing again has become the only thing they will accept now.
Its not trolling, its called having enough of getting beat whatever the excuse i'd imagine?
05-08-2014, 09:46 PM
Disappointed with the result, but not the performance. The positives certainly outweigh the negatives.
This..... not happy with the result.... but it WAS much better to watch than previously.... STILL a lot to do though, but at least, for once, we are going in the right direction. The question is though, we will get there in time? (wherever the "right" direction is taking us)
GGTTH!
05-08-2014, 09:47 PM
No. All teams with massive incomes who can buy success. Neither Chelsea nor Man City were a team with a winning mentality until some dodgy cash rich foreigner started pumping endless funds in and buying success. So no they don't have a winning mentality, they just have a huge bank balance.
All I'm pointing out is that if you really can't handle supporting a team who regularly gets beat, then just go and find one that doesn't. Not having your negative, hard man, self pity infecting this forum would make things more enjoyable for the rest of us.
I'll decide who I support thanks and you're accepting of a defeat which is the mentality that will ensure we're having to leverage five players who played for us 60 years ago to sell a strip for years to come.
Ooooohh remember when we were good? No? How? Oh that's right, everyone from back then is deid.
05-08-2014, 09:48 PM
Because the league is our priority. I never want Hibs to get beat but give me the performance tonight and result on Saturday
We won't have a big enough squad to compete in extra games so this may end up being a long term blessing.
05-08-2014, 09:49 PM
:agree: I agree, but for some that camels back has been broken and winning rather than playing well and losing again has become the only thing they will accept now.
Its not trolling, its called having enough of getting beat whatever the excuse i'd imagine?
I'm not arguing that everyone should have the same opinion or shouldn't be free to express their opinion. Far from it. I absolutely savaged Hibs on more than one occasion last season, threatened a boycott and god knows what else.
I also think there is ways of making a point and telling people to **** off, stick things up their erchie and calling people losers is unlikely to bring about much reasoned debate. But then I don't think reasoned debate was the intention.
05-08-2014, 09:50 PM
If Hibs go to Almondvale in the league and play that well, get a nonsense sending off then come away with a 1-1 draw I think I'll be OK with it.
Good. Cheerio :bye:
You don't agree with me, I'm just happy we pay people who can now pass to each other and you don't agree so bye bye.
You just want to register victories against Rangers, there's no place for you here amongst the 'aww look we played nice football for a change' lets pay the wage bill with that.'
Disgrace.
I'm not arguing that everyone should have the same opinion or shouldn't be free to express their opinion. Far from it. I absolutely savaged Hibs on more than one occasion last season, threatened a boycott and god knows what else.
I also think there is ways of making a point and telling people to **** off, stick things up their erchie and calling people losers is unlikely to bring about much reasoned debate. But then I don't think reasoned debate was the intention.
Or calling them a troll? :wink:
MG1965
05-08-2014, 09:51 PM
I'll decide who I support thanks and you're accepting of a defeat which is the mentality that will ensure we're having to leverage five players who played for us 60 years ago to sell a strip for years to come.
Ooooohh remember when we were good? No? How? Oh that's right, everyone from back then is deid.
You are a right grump!! mind you at 79 it is understandable.
Allan45
05-08-2014, 09:51 PM
Hibs played so much better than under Butcher for sure. If we were more composed in the shooting at goal, we could have been 3-1 up. The players will know this, a lot to do.
Getting a good start on Saturday is a must, we can only improve, and 2-3 more quality players in, then we could be good in the league.
some people need to calm down, it may take a couple of years to get back up, I hated seeing us near the bottom of the league scrapping to stay up tbh. We need to get back up challenging near the top, if we get more quality on the pitch.
great effort tonight....
05-08-2014, 09:52 PM
Which is what I reacted to.
Being called a troll because I wasn't prepared to accept defeat and he thought I'd let it pass.
You don't agree with me, I'm just happy we pay people who can now pass to each other and you don't agree so bye bye.
You just want to register victories against Rangers, there's no place for you here amongst the 'aww look we played nice football for a change' lets pay the wage bill with that.'
Disgrace.
:crazy:
Encouraged by our display, with slight concerns about where the goals will come from, but hopefully, they will flow.
Courageous, would be the term I 'd use to describe our performance, and it's a long time since that word was used to describe a Hibs performance.
On a personal note, extra time threw a spanner in my early morning works.
Imagine..trying to watch the game, cook breakfast and get showered for work, all at the same time.
Boy did it make for soggy toast!
Nevi_SOL
05-08-2014, 09:54 PM
If Hibs go to Almondvale in the league and play that well, get a nonsense sending off then come away with a 1-1 draw I think I'll be OK with it.
Same
05-08-2014, 09:54 PM
Being called a troll because I wasn't prepared to accept defeat and he thought I'd let it pass.
:agree: I knew that.
05-08-2014, 09:55 PM
:crazy:
Right back at ye sweetheart.
Sorry, I mean, nice post. Not a positive post but a huge improvement on your posts from last season and that's good enough for me.
05-08-2014, 09:55 PM
I presume you are a multi millionaire the speedway ? with a blonde 23 year old model as a trophy wife ?
You must be by now..what with your amazing winning mentality that doesn't let little things like lack of money stand in your way….you must have traded your way to your first million by the age of 18 ? undaunted by any setbacks your winning mentality will have forged ahead and no doubt were watching BBC Alba from your private yacht in Monaco ? strange you have the time to come on here and mona, moan , moan…you better get off to your playboy cabin.
Or is your winning mentality just about being very good at moaning when your team gets beat ?
05-08-2014, 09:56 PM
Grow up and stop acting like a bairn. If you are not happy state your case reasonably and people will discuss it with you.
But you WILL get a hard time for posting negative nonsense after a what the vast majority see as a decent performance and, in general, a turn around in attitude from all at ER.
So let's hear what Stubbs, Dempster and the players are doing wrong...........
05-08-2014, 09:57 PM
Encouraged by our display, with slight concerns about where the goals will come from, but hopefully, they will flow.
Courageous, would be the term I 'd use to describe our performance, and it's a long time since that word was used to describe a Hibs performance.
On a personal note, extra time threw a spanner in my early morning works.
Imagine..trying to watch the game, cook breakfast and get showered for work, all at the same time.
Boy did it make for soggy toast!
in all that multi tasking i hope you didn't also go to the bog! ...... if you did i defo wouldn't be eating that soggy toast!
OH.... and in before the lock down :wink:
05-08-2014, 09:57 PM
Am I happy we lost? No. Do I see some positives for the season ahead? Yes. Need to be more clinical and could do with adding a few players to the squad to get that sorted. I'll be a little bit more upset if we're having the same problems and losing when the league games are underway.
05-08-2014, 09:58 PM
I presume you are a multi millionaire the speedway ? with a blonde 23 year old model as a trophy wife ?
You must be by now..what with your amazing winning mentality that doesn't let little things like lack of money stand in your way….you must have traded your way to your first million by the age of 18 ? undaunted by any setbacks your winning mentality will have forged ahead and no doubt were watching BBC Alba from your private yacht in Monaco ? strange you have the time to come on here and mona, moan , moan…you better get off to your playboy cabin.
Or is your winning mentality just about being very good at moaning when your team gets beat ?
Which if it were true I'd have a truckload of defeats to go at wouldn't I?
05-08-2014, 09:59 PM
Grow up and stop acting like a bairn. If you are not happy state your case reasonably and people will discuss it with you.
But you WILL get a hard time for posting negative nonsense after a what the vast majority see as a decent performance and, in general, a turn around in attitude from all at ER.
So let's hear what Stubbs, Dempster and the players are doing wrong...........
Scoring fewer goals than any team we face.
Although I accept Dempster wasn't stripped tonight.
05-08-2014, 10:00 PM
Am I not allowed a personal opinion? Or does it only work one way?
05-08-2014, 10:01 PM
Think there are a couple of posters on here relieved we never pulled the result off we deserved 2night...that way they can come on here and try to start arguments. Very childish imo
05-08-2014, 10:01 PM
Excellent point, well made after 0 league games played.
Troll.
05-08-2014, 10:02 PM
Although I accept Dempster wasn't stripped tonight.
Have you been on the ale?
05-08-2014, 10:04 PM
Because the league is our priority. I never want Hibs to get beat but give me the performance tonight and result on Saturday
We won't have a big enough squad to compete in extra games so this may end up being a long term blessing.
Sorry Blaster I see it differently.
A cup run makes money, excited fans in the latter stages and boosts morale all round, even a diddy cup like this one does that.
Any competitive match we play, especially after what's gone before, is the most important one.
We haven't got the squad, the league is the priority etc etc.
No, if we're out of the cup and cock up in the league, we've nothing to fall back on. Win every match in this league, that should be the least of out targets.
05-08-2014, 10:04 PM
Are posters like Speedway going to react like 4 year olds and have a tantrum after every Hibs defeat this season? I mean, it's your right to act like a 4 year old, but might I suggest that you stock up on heart pressure medication if that's what your choice is, because over a 36 game league campaign every team will lose games unexpectedly.
05-08-2014, 10:05 PM
Great performance by the team and fans :top marks
SmashinGlass
05-08-2014, 10:07 PM
A cup run makes money, excited fans in the latter stages and boosts morale all round, even a diddy cup like this one does that.
Any competitive match we play, especially after what's gone before, is the most important one.
No, if we're out of the cup and cock up in the league, we've nothing to fall back on. Win every match in this league, that should be the least of out targets.
Do you not believe that it is? If not, what makes you think it isn't our target to win every game we play?
05-08-2014, 10:07 PM
Excellent point, well made after 0 league games played.
Troll.
After decades of the same ****
Calling me names, oh the intellect's collapsed, I can't come back from that. Superb.
And that after accusing me of making a poor point, making yours with 'troll'
Can you say 'irony'?
The Pulitzer must be yours this year.
05-08-2014, 10:08 PM
Thought we were the better team in huge spells tonight. It took Hibs down to 10 men for THE Rangers to get back into the game, then basically down to 9 men for the smelly barstewards to score the winner.
Pretty encouraged by some of the play tonight, should really have scored with the 3 clear cut chances we had in the 2nd half, but at least we are creating them.
A couple of more additions to the squad still needed but there should be nothing to fear on the back of this.
Handling, Stanton and Harris looked really good tonight. Like the look of Gray, Forster Hanlon is hands down the best CH pairing we have.
Would like to see more of Booth but it will be hard to drop Stevenson when he's as reliable as he was tonight.
Thought Craig was nervy in the opening 20mins but once he settled he look more like the player I thought we had signed originally.
Somewhat optimistic for the season ahead.
Onwards and Upwards.
05-08-2014, 10:10 PM
Do you not believe that it is? If not, what makes you think it isn't our target to win every game we play?
Dempster saying that anything less than the play-offs would not be satisfactory. Therefore she's factoring in a some negative results. That may well be realistic but I'm bored out of the 'hopefully, all being well, if we can just' outlook at Hibs.
Fair enough mate. We'll agree to disagree without falling out i hope lol.
You surely did see huge performance improvements individually as well as collectively to give some optimism for the season ahead tho didn't you?
I do agree that we must start winning asap tho!
MG1965
Great performance by the team and fans :top marks
I agree with you, especially second half up until the sending off we totally dominated the game. Our away support was as always fantastic hopefully we can show this type of support at ER
05-08-2014, 10:13 PM
Am I not allowed a personal opinion? Or does it only work one way?
Not at all, but then don't be surprised at the reply.
After decades of the same ****
Calling me names, oh the intellect's collapsed, I can't come back from that. Superb.
And that after accusing me of making a poor point, making yours with 'troll'
Can you say 'irony'?
The Pulitzer must be yours this year.
Christ, are you still kicking about?
If you don't like my replies, have a go at replying to some of the other posters who also think you are losing the plot.
Not at all, but then don't be surprised at the reply.
I'm not \ wasn't.
05-08-2014, 10:14 PM
I'm not \ wasn't.
Me neither. :greengrin i'm out.
we need a couple players in at least, but overall after a shaky start we played reasonably well, good to see us passing the ball around, more composure infront of goal would be welcome :agree:
Good performance and continuing to get some semblance of a style of play. Same gnawing doubts about end product but hopefully we'll improve / strengthen. I was more concerned about injuries / tiredness for Saturday than progressing in a cup that nobody's interested in. A good run out again and I'll save judgement until the league gets underway.
05-08-2014, 10:15 PM
Fair enough mate. We'll agree to disagree without falling out i hope lol.
You surely did see huge performance improvements individually as well as collectively to give some optimism for the season ahead tho didn't you?
I do agree that we must start winning asap tho!
As harsh as it sounds, I'm not very interested in improved performances.
In what seems like an age ago, Andy74 and I had a long debate on here about performances vs results.
Ultimately he felt that performances produces results and I felt our record if plucky defeat did not support that view.
Then, as now, I want results first and performances second. Not the other way around.
And you and I will get along a treat unless you decide at some point that having a different opinion to yours constitutes trolling ;-)
05-08-2014, 10:16 PM
Christ, are you still kicking about?
If you don't like my replies, have a go at replying to some of the other posters who also think you are losing the plot.
Are you reading the thread?
Are you still thinking that calling someone a troll for having a differing view to yours is a good idea?
05-08-2014, 10:18 PM
Are you reading the thread?
Are you still thinking that calling someone a troll for having a differing view to yours is a good idea?
Oh, I'm still here.
And yes I do (when it comes to you)
Is that a problem?
SmashinGlass
05-08-2014, 10:19 PM
Dempster saying that anything less than the play-offs would not be satisfactory. Therefore she's factoring in a some negative results. That may well be realistic but I'm bored out of the 'hopefully, all being well, if we can just' outlook at Hibs.
That could be countered with Stubbs openly stating that he sets out to win every game. I don't believe that we will ever go onto the pitch to do anything other now. In the past, that may not have been the case, but I feel we are on the verge of a new era.
For what it's worth, I think we need to let bygones be bygones, adopt a more positive attitude and move forward from here. I understand your frustrations, but as the saying goes "Rome wasn't built in a day". We'd all do well to be mindful of that going forward. That's certainly not incompatible with demanding positive results too
Honestly CAT its been shocking reading this board over the last few weeks. I know we were rubbish last year but thats what a manager can do to players. We have some of the best young players in the country. I'd love a couple of other players but we should be confident in this group of players we have now. Ive seen enough in the friendlies and tonight to say that.
I have only seen the Utd game and I do think we need a striker. But Harris and Handing played well and hopefully will carry that into the season.
We have nothing to fear of either The Rangers or Hearts. Another man upfront and we could do very well 👍
In what seems like an age ago, Andy74 and I had a long debate on here about performances vs results.
Ultimately he felt that performances produces results and I felt our record if plucky defeat did not support that view.
Then, as now, I want results first and performances second. Not the other way around.
And you and I will get along a treat unless you decide at some point that having a different opinion to yours constitutes trolling ;-)
I reckon a performance like every week will see the results we both want. Roll on Saturday!
05-08-2014, 10:23 PM
That could be countered with Stubbs openly stating that he sets out to win every game. I don't believe that we will ever go onto the pitch to do anything other now. In the past, that may not have been the case, but I feel we are on the verge of a new era.
For what it's worth, I think we need to let bygones be bygones, adopt a more positive attitude and move forward from here. I understand your frustrations, but as the saying goes "Rome wasn't built in a day". We'd all do well to be mindful of that going forward. That's certainly not incompatible with demanding positive results too
For a long time, each new era has ushered in a false dawn to the point where words from hibs are meaningless to me now.
This may well be a new era. This may be Mowbray Part 2. It may be the latest false dawn. So far we have one result and its s defeat in a game we should and could have won.
I've seen Hibs do that many many times before therefore I reserve the right to be skeptical of any new era until prolonged and sustained results prove me wrong.
05-08-2014, 10:25 PM
I reckon a performance like every week will see the results we both want. Roll on Saturday!
Roll on 3 points.
hibs4thecup1988
05-08-2014, 10:25 PM
I back you up here.
I am fed up of the negative attitude. She should be saying it is our priority to win the league, because surely it is. Or are they hoping for 4/6 big games on TV at the end of the season?
I hate thinking we won't win this league. After tonight I feel we have a good chance, but the purse strings need to be loosened. Go buy a top striker and a top winger and we will win the league, no questions asked in my book
05-08-2014, 10:30 PM
I back you up here.
I am fed up of the negative attitude. She should be saying it is our priority to win the league, because surely it is. Or are they hoping for 4/6 big games on TV at the end of the season?
I hate thinking we won't win this league. After tonight I feel we have a good chance, but the purse strings need to be loosened. Go buy a top striker and a top winger and we will win the league, no questions asked in my book
That's pretty much how I see it.
05-08-2014, 10:33 PM
I back you up here.
She has actually said it is.
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/27783337.app
hibs4thecup1988
05-08-2014, 10:49 PM
She has actually said it is.
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/27783337.app
She never in her interview tonight, so has her targets changed?
05-08-2014, 10:50 PM
Don't know, I never heard the interview tonight. I was just pointing out the article as I remembered her saying it when she joined.
05-08-2014, 10:51 PM
I prefer to think she wasn't duped by a loaded question. Her/our aim is to win the league but failing that, a play off place
05-08-2014, 11:06 PM
Just home from the game and I thought hibs did enough to win but we need another few players a winger and a creative midfielder. Only criticisms are Robbo should have been taken off before the second goal and we need more composure in the final third. I was impressed with the boys tonight but we didn't win so there's more work to be done.
05-08-2014, 11:12 PM
I back you up here.
I agree but I would maybe add a goalie as well, not convinced by our only real option.
I thought Hibs were very unlucky tonight (typical Glasgow decision cost us yet again) but am pleased overall with what I saw.
05-08-2014, 11:16 PM
A lot to be positive about tonight.
For large spells of the match, we were the better side and should have been out of sight by the time we got to the game changing moment of the red card, which was a ridiculous decision as far as I could see from where I was sitting.
We are certainly a far better team to watch compared with last season and I think that if we can add another 2 or 3 players to the squad over the coming weeks then we'll do just fine this season.
There's not much to fear from that Sevco team, if tonight's anything to go by.
hibs4thecup1988
05-08-2014, 11:18 PM
I prefer to think she wasn't duped by a loaded question. Her/our aim is to win the league but failing that, a play off place
John, I don't think I heard the question.
Surely all she needs to say to any target based question is "We want to win the league" and that is it. Starting to talk about anything less than top 4 is not a good season is poor imho.
Anyways, time will tell. I thought we played well tonight, a few players from Everon, Howard, Lukaku and maybe Pienaar will do :greengrin
06-08-2014, 12:02 AM
http://s2.quickmeme.com/img/67/67b87404342c88081362f57e9c9cf48a39239a34fa496fe8e9 a91aaae0be3221.jpg
Never again :greengrin
I won't be starting the derby thread next week :(
06-08-2014, 12:53 AM
Spot on
Losing is for losers
I'll bemoan losing in the matches that actually matter.
That match didn't matter but I think it was there for all to see that we've improved and had we had 11 men I think we'd have won anyway.
06-08-2014, 12:56 AM
It always matters losing to those ****s. Even though there was only 18k there, I forgot how much I hate the people who follow that club.
Shame that for every good rangers fan, there seems to be 7 or 8 bigots.
OsloHibs
06-08-2014, 01:06 AM
Good god, the negative few are certainly back. I can't believe some of what I read on here..
Sigh :rolleyes:
06-08-2014, 01:14 AM
It always matters losing to those ****s. Even though there was only 18k there, I forgot how much I hate the people who follow that club.
Shame that for every good rangers fan, there seems to be 7 or 8 bigots.
It's ***** losing to them I agree. But we lost due to circumstances out with our control and we bossed them and they know it. We sent them home wanting to be us and that's good enough for me from this tie.
06-08-2014, 01:16 AM
Another one bites the dust.. :cb
06-08-2014, 01:19 AM
John, I don't think I heard the question.
Surely all she needs to say to any target based question is "We want to win the league" and that is it. Starting to talk about anything less than top 4 is not a good season is poor imho.
Anyways, time will tell. I thought we played well tonight, a few players from Everon, Howard, Lukaku and maybe Pienaar will do :greengrin
Won't take a lot for this team to compete at the top for the title BUT.....(not being negative) we do need someone to stick the ball in the net. Ok, we scored but the game was there for us to win. impressed with the way we knocked it about and played it up from the back. I watched it in a pub in Paris with a Celtic bartender, A Moroccan, an Evertonian and everyone was up for Hibs big time but they all said the same thing, (unprompted), you need someone to put it in the net.
Another midfielder and goalscorer and we certainly do not have too much to fear....however our shots generally were pitiful. Defence made a few errors of judgement but overall looked compoosed and rarely punted the ball. In fact I can't recall when they did resort to hoofing it up the park.
Certainly a very encouraging performance.
P.S. Talking to the Evertonian and he said Stubbs knows their young players (obviously) and he, the fan, was hoping that we do get a couple of their young guys to give them playing time. He was convinced Stubbs will have us playing the ball on the deck and tonight gave some evidence of that.
06-08-2014, 05:17 AM
Are you for real? Watching that tonight was like watching a hibs team of probably a decade ago yet your not interested in performances? Tonight won't win us anything or guarantee anything but what it will do is give people like me some much needed hope that the club we all love and one that was on a slippery slope, is showing signs of once again becoming a football team. What do people actually expect Stubbs has been here for what 6 weeks and look at the transformation albeit baby steps.
so many tubes aye tubes getting caught up in what Leanne said are just looking for an avenue to be critical, which let's be honest it's is what everyone else would admit that anything less than a playoff is failure.
i seen a post something like losers and losers well I'd take tonight performance every game this season as I'm convinced that will win us enough games to get us back into the top league.
some hibs fans if they are that on here are a joke.
Time For Heroes
06-08-2014, 05:34 AM
Unlucky mate, decent performance though so you might be allowed another shot in the future.
I'm throwing my name in the hat for the Hearts game, this is my moment.
Attention admins is it too early for a match day thread :greengrin
06-08-2014, 05:54 AM
;4118444']It's ***** losing to them I agree. But we lost due to circumstances out with our control and we bossed them and they know it. We sent them home wanting to be us and that's good enough for me from this tie.
Spot on mate, the fans that were there knew the difference, at one point we were singing ' your only here to see the Hibees' and after the match whilst waiting for the police to let us out they were singing for the Hibs to come out again and take their applause........if that doesn't day something then I don't know what will......
06-08-2014, 06:07 AM
Quite incredible that anyone can think that this would be a red card. Simply the worst decision I have ever seen, I don't think that the ref even seen the tackle he was just swinging the game the way he wanted.
Are you sure about that: the worst decision you've ever seen - really? It was a stupid tackle to make in the middle of the park, and he took him from behind, really stupid, but he's a young guy and maybe just over-excited (?) - The ref was right on top of the offence too, so why you claim he couldn't have seen it is also strange, maybe you should have another look? There was no hesitation on the ref's part to show the red. I would have thought that this red card offence had long since made its way into the backwater world that is now Scottish football (Tackling an opponent from behind automatically gets a red card / Any player who lunges at an opponent in challenging for the ball from the front, from the side or from behind using one or both legs, with excessive force and endangering the safety of an opponent is guilty of serious foul play - this is a red card offence - at least according to the laws of the game!), so why people are so surprised that it is given is quite astonishing. Ask yourself if the jerseys had been switched and it had happened: would all they naysayers on here then change their opinions too, I wonder. You bet! The fact you don't like the decision shouldn't cloud your judgment. Handling should learn from his mistake - spoiled an otherwise decent game he was having.
06-08-2014, 06:31 AM
This is something i was accused of during Fenlons time, because we'd scrapped a win or drawn a game i felt we pMiorobably should have lost, but this board would explode with excitement because of it.
You make yourself sound like a victim BH, have a word with yourself, you give as good as you get.
Didn't get to watch the game but from what I'm reading from sensible posters it sounds encouraging. Onwards and upwards Hibs!
Adding depth to the squad would be nice but I'm not sure we are "desperate" for a new striker. If we continue to play like that then we will create chances and with a combination of Farid, Heffernan, Handling and Cummings up front, I think we will get goals.
With the exception of maybe one player, I was more than happy with the player in every position and would be happy with any of their names on the team sheet for the upcoming matches.
I don't think we are too far away.
06-08-2014, 07:35 AM
You make yourself sound like a victim BH, have a word with yourself, you give as good as you get.
Didn't get to watch the game but from what I'm reading from sensible posters it sounds encouraging. Onwards and upwards Hibs!
:faf::faf: Me a victim, i think its you that needs a word with yourself?
As i said many times last night, when you have a different opinion as the majority, it can be because you believe what you are saying and are not a troll.
I thought the team did very well last night, and said so, have i been duped again or is this a new dawn?
Yet i can understand EXACTLY where speedway was coming from, he's clearly had enough of false dawns, he's clearly had enough of promises, and clearly had enough of taking plaudits after another brave defeat.
If thats trolling then the dictionary needs to change its meaning.
06-08-2014, 07:46 AM
Should just point out that yes we did lose, however we did not over 90 minutes and not whilst we had 11 men on the park. Nobody that I can see is celebratind losing. Everybody appears to be pointing out the positives of the play. Of course Speeders et al are entitled to their opinions but personally as I have saidmany times, I aman optimistic type of guy so prefer to look on the bright side.
06-08-2014, 08:11 AM
;4118437']I'll bemoan losing in the matches that actually matter.
That match didn't matter but I think it was there for all to see that we've improved and had we had 11 men I think we'd have won anyway.
If we had got through to the final of that cup & won, would you have celebrated ?
That match mattered, don't anyone pretend it didnt.
We're in 4 competitions this season, last nights was the "easiest" out the 4 and we fell at the 1st hurdle.
Some will say last nights competition was the only one we had a chance of winning too....
06-08-2014, 08:19 AM
If we had got through to the final of that cup & won, would you have celebrated ?
We're in 4 competitions this season, last nights was the "easiest" out the 4 and we fell at the 1st hurdle.
Some will say last nights competition was the only one we had a chance of winning too....
That's a very defeatist attitude.
06-08-2014, 08:41 AM
That's a very defeatist attitude.
What is?
06-08-2014, 08:44 AM
Of course it mattered on a couple of fronts.
1) A small cup it might be but any extra funds that come Hibs way has to be a good thing. A cup run, even in this diddy cup with no SPL teams, still results in additional funds.
2) The team and management will certainly find positives from their overall performance but imagine how good they would have felt had they won. What a boost that would have been for their confidence and self belief.
There were times last night we were on the verge of playing them off the park. Movement, support, playing the ball from the back with apparent confidence. If we could only have put the ball in the net from our 1 v 1 chances.
Still lots of work to be done and frankly our shooting last night was dreadful which leads me back to point 2....had we scored some of these chances, won the game and progressed it would have been a huge boost to the confidence and morale of players who struggled last season.
I hope I am not getting carried away but we looked so much better than them going forward.
Roll on Saturday.
Also, the away strips looked really smart.
06-08-2014, 09:07 AM
Thought we were a million times better than last season but still lacked a bit pace and penetration
Started nervously but grew into the game.
Liked like they'd had a good team talk at half time as they came out and played with less trepidation and really went at Rangers.
Should have been well ahead by the time handling was wrongly sent off.
Played the ball as it should be played ... On the deck.
Think once Heff and Cummings are fully fit we will carry more of a goal threat
Likewise Allan looks good on the ball and once he gets match fit could be a big asset
Still need a couple in ... Especially some pace and if we get this I'm confident we'll make the play offs
Rangers nothing special and reckon there's money to be made backing Hertz on Sunday
Good display Hibs
Shocking display referee
06-08-2014, 10:13 AM
As i said many times last night, when you have a different opinion as the majority, it can be because you believe what you are saying and are not a troll.
I thought the team did very well last night, and said so, have i been duped again or is this a new dawn?
Yet i can understand EXACTLY where speedway was coming from, he's clearly had enough of false dawns, he's clearly had enough of promises, and clearly had enough of taking plaudits after another brave defeat.
You bemoan someone being called a name for having a different opinion (funny enough the same as yours) but seem to forget doing the same to Andy74 last season for wanting to keep Fenlon in until the end of the season.
Let me just check how the dictionary defines this...........Yepp thought so, hypocrite.
06-08-2014, 10:23 AM
Are you sure about that: the worst decision you've ever seen - really? It was a stupid tackle to make in the middle of the park, and he took him from behind, really stupid, but he's a young guy and maybe just over-excited (?) - The ref was right on top of the offence too, so why you claim he couldn't have seen it is also strange, maybe you should have another look? There was no hesitation on the ref's part to show the red. I would have thought that this red card offence had long since made its way into the backwater world that is now Scottish football (Tackling an opponent from behind automatically gets a red card / Any player who lunges at an opponent in challenging for the ball from the front, from the side or from behind using one or both legs, with excessive force and endangering the safety of an opponent is guilty of serious foul play - this is a red card offence - at least according to the laws of the game!), so why people are so surprised that it is given is quite astonishing. Ask yourself if the jerseys had been switched and it had happened: would all they naysayers on here then change their opinions too, I wonder. You bet! The fact you don't like the decision shouldn't cloud your judgment. Handling should learn from his mistake - spoiled an otherwise decent game he was having.
Never a red in a million years, no excessive force, got the ball, no endangering of the players safety. He got the ball however it may be assumed to be a foul was probably fair enough as he tackled from the back. To me it would have been a harsh yellow. Yes the ref was on top if it however had turned his back to get out of the way of the ball before the tackle so yes, I dont think he had a clear view of it to give such a game changing decision so quickly. When Rangers players are admitting it was harsh then you know it was a shocker.
No way if it had been the other way round would many or any on here be thinking it was a red.
06-08-2014, 10:59 AM
Never a red in a million years, no excessive force, got the ball, no endangering of the players safety. He got the ball however it may be assumed to be a foul was probably fair enough as he tackled from the back. To me it would have been a harsh yellow. Yes the ref was on top if it however had turned his back to get out of the way of the ball before the tackle so yes, I dont think he had a clear view of it to give such a game changing decision so quickly. When Rangers players are admitting it was harsh then you know it was a shocker.
No way if it had been the other way round would many or any on here be thinking it was a red.
Well it doesn't matter now - it was given, just wish players wouldn't make tackles that are "open to interpretation" that are so far from the goal area ... it hurt us badly as a team, and gave them the boost they didn't really deserve.
06-08-2014, 11:15 AM
Put far more succinctly that I've been doing. Thank you.
06-08-2014, 11:19 AM
You bemoan someone being called a name for having a different opinion (funny enough the same as yours) but seem to forget doing the same to Andy74 last season for wanting to keep Fenlon in until the end of the season.
Let me just check how the dictionary defines this...........Yepp thought so, hypocrite.
When did i call Andy a troll?
Apparently this is the new buzz word on dotnet these days, and all sorts of folk are banding it around waving imaginary red cards at posters they regard as one.
I won't hold my breath waiting for an answer.
06-08-2014, 11:29 AM
Didn't say you did. There you go, didn't have to wait long.
06-08-2014, 11:31 AM
When did i call Andy a troll?
Apparently this is the new buzz word on dotnet these days, and all sorts of folk are banding it around waving imaginary red cards at posters they regard as one.
I won't hold my breath waiting for an answer.
Wrong BH, they are real. All the admin team have one and sit at home waving it to the PC while booting posters out the door.
As I see it, the difference (last night) between your comments and 'others' was that even you could see - and acknowledged - there was improvement and something to build on. 'Others' simply played a negative line dismissing the defeat as same old, same old when it was clearly nothing of the sort.
That argument has no foundation and was done simply to get a rise out of people.
06-08-2014, 11:31 AM
Put far more succinctly that I've been doing. Thank you.
Boring, unfunny, attention seeker.
That's even more succinct.
06-08-2014, 11:41 AM
This is no longer a Match Updates Thread but a 'petty, childish, squabbling thread'..
06-08-2014, 11:57 AM
Handling would never have been sent off if the referee had been doing his job 'properly' (honestly) - it was a foul to us on the edge of their box as McCulloch blatantly handled the ball as he started the move that led to Templeton receiving the ball !
06-08-2014, 11:58 AM
Wrong BH, they are real. All the admin team have one and sit at home waving it to the PC while booting posters out the door.
As I see it, the difference (last night) between your comments and 'others' was that even you could see - and acknowledged - there was improvement and something to build on. 'Others' simply played a negative line dismissing the defeat as same old, same old when it was clearly nothing of the sort.
That argument has no foundation and was done simply to get a rise out of people.
Well thats your opinion on it, and who is to say you are wrong? My opinion is he's just sick to the back teeth of another defeat, and no amount of brave defeats will change that.
My own personal opinion is he's entitled to give his opinion, and there's been times where i have felt exactly the same as he does just now, but last night gave me hope that we just might have turned a corner?
Who's to say i am right, but i'd put my last penny on Speedway hoping i was?
06-08-2014, 12:43 PM
Boring, unfunny, attention seeker.
That's even more succinct.
And yet I'm the one accused of not contributing to the discussion and just doing it to get a rise out of people.
Will you receive an infraction? Of course not.
For super succinct, I recommend '**** off Shrekko' but that would just be boring, unfunny and attention seeking.
John_the_angus_hibby
06-08-2014, 05:02 PM
Bloody hell so much negativity. Facts:
1) Best football I've seen from a Hibs side for quite a while. No Hoofball!
2) For long periods outplayed the team with the second biggest player budget in Scotland and favourite for the title.
3) As it stood, would have got a point from a league game at Greyskull
4) If there was no red card, or if we converted a better % of chances we would have embarrassed Sevco.
To me good progress from our first competitive match after the debacle of last season.
Now I expect continued progress and some additions to the squad, but I am happy enough.
06-08-2014, 05:55 PM
I would've been happy enough. Hibs being successful makes me happy. But I won't be up all night greeting about it and I certainly wouldn't be telling my grand kids of the famous day we won the petrofac training cup.
But I've covered my feelings on the PT cup in the boycott thread.
06-08-2014, 06:48 PM
2) For long periods outplayed the team with the second biggest player budget in Scotland and favourite for the title.
4) If there was no red card, or if we converted a better % of chances we would have embarrassed Sevco.
To me good progress from our first competitive match after the debacle of last season.
Now I expect continued progress and some additions to the squad, but I am happy enough.
agree 100%, we should have taught them a lesson in their own back yard, we played better in 1 match than majority of last season, the red card was the turning point imo but, some you win some you lose, we lost last night but there are a good amount of positives to take from last night :aok:
06-08-2014, 06:56 PM
The way to have an impact is to raise the various cowardly assaults with Hibs in order that the club can take up the matter of safety at ibrox with the polis on our behalf.
06-08-2014, 07:02 PM
The way to have an impact is to raise the various cowardly assaults with Hibs in order that the club can take up the matter of safety at ibrox with the polis on our behalf.
Yip, the days of saying nothing and just getting on with it should be over. There are enough camera phones now to video everything, and that means any conversation you may have with a police officer. They wont like it one bit, but enough people doing so will make sure they need to do something or its evidence against them.
Enough is enough is what i say, this vile **** have got away with it for too long, helped by those who are supposed to be there to protect the innocent.
06-08-2014, 07:25 PM
:top marks:thumbsup: