View Full Version : Sky sports

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

26-05-2014, 10:41 AM
No way should Stevenson go. He's one of those players that will turn good in a team that instills belief and confidence.

If that's what we're even aiming for, then he's a player we should certainly hold on to!

He made a couple of important interventions defensively yesterday as well.

26-05-2014, 10:41 AM
@braddonaldson: Gutted to be leaving Hibs after 12 great years at the club. Been some good and bad times but ultimately it's time for a new challenge⚽️

26-05-2014, 10:42 AM
Why? If you were punted by a boss who was a knob I'm sure you wouldn't be happy.

Does it not cross your mind we have an idiot in charge of this team?
If players aren't fully behind the manager then I don't want them at Hibs. We as fans can have opinions but the players need to buy into what butcher has planned. I think he will turn us around.

steviehibsleith
All under contract for another season so would need a pay off.
Yes under contract but we have been relegated and there will a clause stating if relegated wage reduction will be implemented. So if you want rid of McGivern simply say in your best financial interest leave as we will honour your contract with a 50percent wage reduction.

The majority of players have been told they can leave if they find another club, minimal players being retained.

@braddonaldson: Gutted to be leaving Hibs after 12 great years at the club. Been some good and bad times but ultimately it's time for a new challenge⚽️

shame, best of luck to the young man

If players aren't fully behind the manager then I don't want them at Hibs. We as fans can have opinions but the players need to buy into what butcher has planned. I think he will turn us around.

R11Loaded

I can't help but think these current players being released won't land on their feet, apart from Kevin Thomson

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

26-05-2014, 10:43 AM
This is horrible. Talking about people losing their jobs and I'd imagine behind the scenes too.

Hope Petrie's proud of his closed wallet legacy.

They haven't lost there jobs, there contracts were up and THE MAN IN CHARGE has told them to bolt.

Bradley Donaldson confirmed on twitter

Surprised at that.

Seen him a few times for the 20s and thought he looked a player.

I'm glad for you that YOU trust in Terry but I'm sure I speak for 99.9% of us Hibs supporters that DON'T trust in him one bit.

He's the first one this morning that should have been told to GTF
If he told me today was Monday i would gp look at the date in the paper. He is a muppet. You and Petrie go do one FFS.

stubru59
He has his reasons to do just that. TB is a clown of a man. I was wrong when I said TB would be a good appointment and the ones on here who didn't want him were spot on.

He's utterly clueless regarding the shape of the team and tactics.

Agree. But it was his Caley team that came to Easter Road and played us off the park.

26-05-2014, 10:45 AM
This place is mental, we're relegated following one of the most insipid and disgusting performances from a Hibs side I've ever witnessed, for weeks and weeks we've been talking about the need to clear out, and then when the time comes there's complaints about it!

Thomson played in several games that we were collectively pish in. McPake's not kicked a ball in anger for a long time.

This talk of a "wind of change" is going to be just talk unless these changes happen.

Rip it up and start again, that's fine with me.

:agree: Just for the record, I for one am certainly not complaining about a much needed clear out. Probably the worst Hibs team I've seen, and this is the third time I've witnessed HFC being relegated. An absolute disgraceful and insipid display. The consequences of relegation this time though will be much more severe, i.e. probably no coming straight back up and then a slow gradual decline. That's my worry.

When I referred to "the wind of change" I meant the manager and coaches should also be shown the door. They are just as much to blame as the gutless players who disgraced the jersey yesterday.

Butcher is just another failed appointment by Rod Petrie. His way of playing the game is more suited to a Sunday pub league. It's just awful, and it looks like he is being allowed to stay. Hamilton Accies - average attendance about 2,000 - passed Hibs off the park yesterday. That's the way the modern game should be played. Not hoofball, which is Butcher's way from what I've suffered watching since he took over.

Hibtastic
I would rather spend the money we have investing in the players required to get us back to where we belong rather than paying off another manager.

There are too many big time charlies at Hibs who think they know better than the manager who lets not forget was a fantastic, committed player in his day. No player at Hibs is even close to demonstrating that they have that commitment for the cause.

As I said before TB should accept some responsibility but the players and the culture that has developed over so many years at East Mains are whats wrong at Hibs and they should be launched pronto.

I have faith TB is the right man to rebuild the team and finally unearth some gems.

I'm very worried butcher is getting the chance to build a team. The football, tactics and team selections have been truly horrific.

EH54
[/B]
Agree. But it was his Caley team that came to Easter Road and played us off the park.

Almost ever team this season have came and played us off the park

26-05-2014, 10:46 AM

He's already turned us around. From a mediocre mid table team into a Championship side. That was in half a season, I'm so excited thinking what he could do with a whole one.

The players take a huge slice of the responsibility for me and are rightlu finding themselves unemployed but I've seen nothing from Butcher to suggest he shouldn't be joining them in the dole queue.

shame, best of luck to the young man

Shame but he then tweeted to say he's not had the best 18 months with injuries. We can't afford that that now in our club. I'm sure he'll find a club and progress though

McIntosh

This?

[/B]

Aye, but remember it was us they were playing, Hamilton played us off the park yesterday as well, we are no benchmark to judge a team by.

26-05-2014, 10:47 AM
:agree:Nail on head. From the moment he arrived he has been a cringeworthy embarrassment with his me, me, me, I'm a great motivator, puerile jokes, yada yada. ......... he's an empty vessel. Sure, lots of the players are not up to scratch but Butcher and Petrie are the major root of our problem.

So how did the same manager get through to his ICT players?? I'll tell you. They're not prima Donnas, but they listen, could pass a ball, mix it and grafted there nads off without trying to undermine there gaffer!!! Complete pros with a lot of heart... How many of that type did butcher have at our club this season.....

yekimevol
[/B]

Aye but there's many managers that have had one decent clubs and failed everywhere else, ICT was butchers version of Lyon under Paul le guen. The one place he was decent, he should be gone.

Why? If you were punted by a boss who was a knob I'm sure you wouldn't be happy.

Does it not cross your mind we have an idiot in charge of this team?

KT was quite dignified mate, I really don't think McPake should have been so veiled and as for Twitter the players shouldn't use it. Especially after yesterday.

I agree about Butcher but if these players tweeting jibes were truly professional they'd be playing in front of 18,000 - they're not though, hence they spend time on Twitter in Nandos.

Door stepping the players was to be expected and there will be more 'exclusives' to come in the media - but it's a cull I've wanted regardless of manager, players brought in by Pat who were sub standard and not entertaining to watch.

26-05-2014, 10:48 AM
David Gold has gone I believe.

26-05-2014, 10:49 AM
Butcher done well at Caley becauase there was no pressure and much expectation.

He is a rank rotten manager and the stats don't lie.

I'm very worried butcher is getting the chance to build a team. The football, tactics and team selections have been truly horrific.
That's fine and his position is pretty hard to defend at the moment but we can't have players who think like that.

Pal of mine who works in the media told me a few weeks back that no out of contract hibs players would be offered new deals and they all basically knew this as butcher had told them as much when he took a mental at them in January. He then realised he bawsed it up and tried to motivate them by saying deals were up for grabs but none of them were fooled. Apparently he told Stanton, Harris, Forster, Cummings, Craig, Robertson Stevenson and Tudor jones (bizarrely) they had a future but the rest would not have their contracts renewed. He may have changed his mind since then but I have a feeling everyone bar the few young lads will be free to go/not offered deals and rightly so IMHO.

I'm glad for you that YOU trust in Terry but I'm sure I speak for 99.9% of us Hibs supporters that DON'T trust in him one bit.

He's the first one this morning that should have been told to GTF
im sure you speak for the majority but not a snowball in bells chance it's 99.9%

26-05-2014, 10:50 AM
[/B]

Folk keep saying this but ICT and Hibs are entirely two very different clubs. Hibs are huge compared to them. No pressure at ICT at all. Apart from one season he's failed every where he's been. No coincidence is it??

26-05-2014, 10:51 AM
David Gold has gone I believe.

Gonna give his brother a phone and find out :agree:

R11Loaded
26-05-2014, 10:51 AM
Jordan Forster "absolutely horrible day!"

Live from twitter

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

ScottM1875
26-05-2014, 10:52 AM

Not many people agree with that but I think you are totally right. With good players that support him and don't have contrasting ideas to him, he will hopefully take this club back to being successful. He Still has my backing...

Bearders
Not us, we actually sat deeper and allowed Heffernan to run around chasing a ball around 4 men, then when he went off Cummings had the same thankless task. Poor tactical decisions contributed to that loss yesterday and that's what has been getting to me since FT yesterday. The fact the Manager and his Assistant couldn't spot patterns of play in a game like that doesn't inspire confidence.[/QUOTE]

Agreed - Plan A was badly flawed and never had a Plan B. The management team are dinosaurs when it comes to tactics and style of play - lumping aimless balls into the channels - problem with that is our defenders aren't good enough to hit the channels. The decision to "park the bus" when they brought on OTJ and defend a 0-1 was inexcusable.

yekimevol
People slating mcpake and KT remember these are guys who have just been sacked basically. How would you's react about being let go by a shocking manager ? That butchers is after what .... One win in 19.

stubru59
26-05-2014, 10:53 AM
Almost ever team this season have came and played us off the park

True.

26-05-2014, 10:53 AM
It's funny how the majority of people knew all along that Butcher is a one season wonder and has always been *****. The same majority that shouted from the rooftops for his appointment.

Di Giovanni once said; "Human memory is short and terribly fickle." There is no truer statement of Hibs 'fans'.

26-05-2014, 10:55 AM
People slating mcpake and KT remember these are guys who have just been sacked basically. How would you's react about being let go by a shocking manager ? That butchers is after what .... One win in 19.
They haven't been sacked. their contracts were not renewed. Given they were not and rarely in Buthcers plans respectively I don't think they will be stunned. If they didn't see this coming they are being dense.

steviehibsleith
He made a couple of important interventions defensively yesterday as well.
And how was his delivery when he got to the byline 3 times in great positions ?
No quality but gives a 100 percent sorry i for one will be glad if he has gone, where he ends up and what he does in the future will be the indicator of how good he is.

It's funny how the majority of people knew all along that Butcher is a one season wonder and has always been *****. The same majority that shouted from the rooftops for his appointment.

Di Giovanni once said; "Human memory is short and terribly fickle." There is no truer statement of Hibs 'fans'.

I wanted Butcher. Well, not strictly true, I wanted a foreign coach to try something really different but when it was obvious that wouldn't happen then I was supportive of the decision to bring Butcher in.

I was wrong though, I'll admit that. He has been a disaster and he should go.

26-05-2014, 10:56 AM

Naw they werent. They were released, and they should have seen it coming.

James McPake should be singing Hibs praises. Not kicked a ball for us since October (and he was ****ing horrendous that night) but been taking him a wage every week.

hibeeleicester
26-05-2014, 10:56 AM
Gutted for Stevenson if it's true. **** butcher

26-05-2014, 10:57 AM

Watch what you say. defending Stevenson on here people ask you if you're having a wind up. SHHH!

Fat Penlon
26-05-2014, 10:58 AM
The only 1 I want at the club is Stanton. Everyone else can get to ******.

This cull of players was coming no matter what league we were in and it was necessary. The consequences of it being the lower league will be felt by the non playing staff and maybe the youth set up I suspect.

h185forever
It seems to be taking a long time for confirmation of more releases to com out ,.or am i just too impatient !

26-05-2014, 10:59 AM
No quality but gives a 100 percent sorry i for one will be glad if he has gone, where he ends up and what he does in the future will be the indicator of how good he is.

Agreed, his crosses in were garbage yesterday.

26-05-2014, 11:00 AM
Don't know how you can say that, heard nothing untoward from Thomson and McPake said tbe players at fault but hinted at other problems also, something we were aware off.

I will say it again JC, back stabbers, wage thiefs, losers, they only needed to win one game of football in the split and they couldn't do that, wasters, McPake and Thomson new this was coming from the day the window closed in January, and have went about causing as much hassle for the manager and his coaches since then, glad they are gone.

londonhibby
All I want to hear at the moment is that the donkey Collins has been told to find another club/paid off. :confused:

You would think Liam Craig will be having his say. Might be wrong. Maybe Deeks and big gaz are back..... :greengrin

Deek and gaz would be ideal for the championship

nribs
26-05-2014, 11:01 AM

They havent been sacked though? Had we stayed up there was always going to be a cull

Expecting Rain
26-05-2014, 11:01 AM
Stevenson tries hard to be the best he can be in every game but unfortunately it is nowhere near good enough.

stubru59
26-05-2014, 11:02 AM
Folk keep saying this but ICT and Hibs are entirely two very different clubs. Hibs are huge compared to them. No pressure at ICT at all. Apart from one season he's failed every where he's been. No coincidence is it??

Can't argue with that. In fact those were my thoughts when he was appointed. But like many I hoped for the best. Optimitically, I thought, he surely can't be worst than Fenlon. How wrong can you be?

26-05-2014, 11:02 AM
It seems to be taking a long time for confirmation of more releases to com out ,.or am i just too impatient !
Said there will be no official statement today as the club is closed, what a joke

Matt92
26-05-2014, 11:03 AM
Would keep: Stevenson, Hanlon, Harris, Cummings, Stanton and Forster. Would keep Williams but he will 100% be offski now.

Every last one of the others can go with my utter indifference/satisfaction.

scott7_0(Prague)

FFS - these guys are finished, get over it.

We are in the mess we are because of players like them.

I will say it again JC, back stabbers, wage thiefs, losers, they only needed to win one game of football in the split and they couldn't do that, wasters, McPake and Thomson new this was coming from the day the window closed in January, and have went about causing as much hassle for the manager and his coaches since then, glad they are gone.

Nothing to do with the manager at all then? He a wage thief too??

What you on about, we just played a championship team and he did nothing.

He got 25 minutes when the match was already running quickly away from us! :confused:

What the **** did you expect him to do in those circumstances. :dunno::dunno:

Had he been on from the start as he should have been for Harris being dropped and not that nobody, Hayes, then we might have been able to give a sensible crit for KT over a reasonable time period on the pitch! :agree:

How many of you will be buying ST's and sitting watching Butcher & Malpas produce more hoofball ***** then? :rolleyes:

26-05-2014, 11:04 AM
Stevenson tries hard to be the best he can be in every game but unfortunately it is nowhere near good enough.For what? We are a championship team now ffs, he is more than good enough

Tell me. When he actually got into these great positions, who else was getting into great positions to actually give him any options?

You're right though. What he does in the future at different clubs will be the indicator of how good he is. As was the case with Rankin and Wotherspoon.

who's actually going to be left to fight to bring us up if all the players who have been reported to have gone have left? can we really afford to shell out on an almost entirely new squad including all these youngsters going?

Love the Green

Silver where do you get this information from? Maybe if it is true they realised earlier than the rest of us that the team selections by the muppet coaches was a joke. Sure if these 2 had played more games we might bhave managed the HERCULIAN task of wining 1 game against saints, ross county killie thistel or even the ****bo dogs to save us from complete and utter humiliation.
"keep whatever faith we all have left"

26-05-2014, 11:05 AM

I think he was joking mate. (Or at least, I hope he was).

GOC good enough for Hibs but not for Morton???

They were good players when with us though? So can't be in the position we are because of players like then otherwise we wouldn't be in this position?

PPZPOL
26-05-2014, 11:06 AM
Agreed - Plan A was badly flawed and never had a Plan B. The management team are dinosaurs when it comes to tactics and style of play - lumping aimless balls into the channels - problem with that is our defenders aren't good enough to hit the channels. The decision to "park the bus" when they brought on OTJ and defend a 0-1 was inexcusable.[/QUOTE]

I don't particularly like the percentage game of knocking it in the corners, but given that he prefers this tactic then why play 5 in midfield? Get two guys up from who can run the channels and cause problems if that's how you want to play. We play into channels (when it doesn't go out the park) but don't have anyone to contest it so it comes right back. Don't get me wrong, I'd like to see Hibs play the ball on the ground early like Hamilton did yesterday, even free kicks mid way in our half they knocked it short and got the ball moving again. We take our time to get everyone up in the box and dink it in there from almost anywhere on the park that we get a free-kick, that's our threat.....stick players in box and hope for a break of the ball. Chances created through luck rather than carving out chances.

Expecting Rain
For what? We are a championship team now ffs, he is more than good enough

For an average Hibs team never mind a mediocre one.

I hope that was a joke or you really are crazy. Deek ncould not win a contract with the mighty Alloa and fat gaz has just been binned my Morton.

[/B]
Can't argue with that. In fact those were my thoughts when he was appointed. But like many I hoped for the best. Optimitically, I thought, he surely can't be worst than Fenlon. How wrong can you be?

I was delighted when he came as I thought he's the man to turn it around. I could not have been more wrong!

He's an utter disaster, no way In hell will we get out the championship with his style of football.. HOOOOOOOOOF.

Him and MM are stuck in the dark ages!

26-05-2014, 11:08 AM
You seem to be more concerned about Thommo over everything else, the guy has been sticking the knife in to Butcher since he came here, glad he is gone.

It's very easy to find fault SH, that 's why there are so many critics!! :wink:

Where is the evidence please? :dunno:

He got 25 minutes when the match was aqlready running quickly away from us! :confused:

Had he been on from the start as he should have been for Harris being dropped and not that nobody, Hayes, then we might have been able to gice a sensible crit for KT over a reasonable time period on the pitch! :agree:

How many of you will be buying ST's and sitting watching Butcher & Malpas produce more hoofball ***** then? :rolleyes:

This, he played a 451 with no holding midfielder, what manager does that, thimson should've started but Butcher did his usual bite nose of to save face job and it backfired drastically.

scott7_0(Prague)
They were good players when with us though? So can't be in the position we are because of players like then otherwise we wouldn't be in this position?

off field.

McKenzie
26-05-2014, 11:09 AM
Williams, Taiwo, Cairney and Maybury all away according to ssn, just flashed across the white ticker. Would have liked Maybury to stay as a coach.

Here's a question for everyone. Obviously can't rip up his contract for financial reasons, but who would keep james collins? I'm undecided... Possibility maybe....

He got 25 minutes when the match was aqlready running quickly away from us! :confused:

Had he been on from the start as he should have been for Harris being dropped and not that nobody, Hayes, then we might have been able to gice a sensible crit for KT over a reasonable time period on the pitch! :agree:

He played nearly an hour of football. So how about I expect him to do something, or anything? That would have been nice.

I'd have had him in from the start ahead of Haynes, thats neither here nor there though. He played plenty football for Hibs this season, most of it involved doing the same as the majority of his team mates. ****. All.

I'll no be buying a season ticket no. I play football on Saturdays so I'm lucky enough to miss most our games.

I was delighted when he came as I thought he's the man to turn it around. I could not have been more wrong!

He's an utter disaster, no way In hell will we get out the championship with his style of football.. HOOOOOOOOOF.

That's what worries me.

It seems the top end of the Championship this year was dominated by teams who try to play football, certainly Falkirk, Accies and QOTS not so sure about Dundee.

We are going to have a dinosaur calling for hoofs into the corner.

26-05-2014, 11:10 AM
For an average Hibs team never mind a mediocre one.Those are exactly the same thing :faf:

Malpas job today is to get rid of 18 players

Apparently half the team have already signed pre contracts with other clubs

Also it's not butchers wife that's ill but his son. He has post traumatic stress.

Malpas doesn't know if him and butcher will still be in a job. Has a meeting with Petrie later

Butcher done well at Caley becauase there was no pressure and much expectation.

He is a rank rotten manager and the stats don't lie.

Yet people expect him to win games despite having a much poorer team than caley?? There would be huge pressure to keep ICT in the top division...

If players are actively undermining the manager and coaching staff and we end up being relegated in that season, these players should be skulking out the back door in shame not playing the hard done to nonsense as they appear happy to do so. This episode must be one of the most shameful in the clubs history.

So how did the same manager get through to his ICT players?? I'll tell you. They're not prima Donnas, but they listen, could pass a ball, mix it and grafted there nads off without trying to undermine there gaffer!!! Complete pros with a lot of heart... How many of that type did butcher have at our club this season.....

Now we are getting down to the nitty gritty of things, poor players were asked to work harder and there answer to that was down tools turn on the manager and get him sacked like they did Fenlon.

McKenzie
Liam Craig gone too on ssn. Heart breaking watching Thommo and McPake's interview

26-05-2014, 11:11 AM
Craig told to find a new club.

Craig gone

Col_0762
Craig been told he find a new club...just been said on SSN

Keep it coming terry. Get rid of the deadwood. In terry I trust.

You still pi$$ed :rolleyes:

who's actually going to be left to fight to bring us up if all the players who have been reported to have gone have left? can we really afford to shell out on an almost entirely new squad including all these youngsters going?
Hopefully better players that have let us down over the last season and beyond?

GGTTH07
Delighted Craig's gone, been shocking.

26-05-2014, 11:12 AM
Craig gonegood and that's the guy Butcher thought was captain material a few months ago, good judgement. :rolleyes:

Liam Craig gone too on ssn.

Keep em coming, McGivern next please!

Malpas job today is to get rid of 18 players

Apparently half the team have already signed pre contracts with other clubs

Also it's not butchers wife that's ill but his son. He has post traumatic stress.

Malpas doesn't know if him and butcher will still be in a job. Has a meeting with Petrie later

I think most of yesterday's crowd will be suffering from this also.

26-05-2014, 11:13 AM

Thank **** for that.

Makaveli
Maybury FFS.

How will we attract anyone with similar experience for similar money?

Good cover on either side and good enough to start in that league, can also coach the kids. For the wage he's on it's madness to let him go.

Obviously not a yes man.

I think it says more for the way Hibs have played this season that I can't say I've felt that about any strikers who have played up there. I suppose yesterday every man and their dog could see that 2 up front would have been the best option. Hamilton got it out from the back from the very first minute to the last minute, normally teams push higher up the park to combat that. Not us, we actually sat deeper and allowed Heffernan to run around chasing a ball around 4 men, then when he went off Cummings had the same thankless task. Poor tactical decisions contributed to that loss yesterday and that's what has been getting to me since FT yesterday. The fact the Manager and his Assistant couldn't spot patterns of play in a game like that doesn't inspire confidence.

Had the same conversation with the guys around me yesterday during the game! :agree:

26-05-2014, 11:14 AM
Malpas job today is to get rid of 18 players Apparently half the team have already signed pre contracts with other clubs Also it's not butchers wife that's ill but his son. He has post traumatic stress. Malpas doesn't know if him and butcher will still be in a job. Has a meeting with Petrie later.

Source ..... Malpas ?

26-05-2014, 11:15 AM
poor players were asked to work harder and there answer to that was down tools turn on the manager and get him sacked like they did Fenlon.

This is it in a nutshell, bar the laddies no-one in yesterdays team should be asked to stay. They can all go and undermine the next manager they work under. Imposters.

26-05-2014, 11:16 AM

Wrong.

They haven't been sacked, there contracts have come to a end and they won't be renewed.

h185forever
I know we need to get rid before we sign ....but did fen lon not do the same and then have to settle for a lot of dross as the window was closing ?

That's what worries me.

It seems the top end of the Championship this year was dominated by teams who try to play football, certainly Falkirk, Accies and QOTS not so sure about Dundee.

Exactly, these teams play good passing football. Something we haven't seen since 2007.

No way are they the people to take hibs forward. Wonder what he'll say next season when we're struggling. "Oh but the players won't listen."

The players have had a big part to play in us going down but by god it's no coincidence that so many can't stand them.

26-05-2014, 11:17 AM

Has to be the worst carreer move since Owen left Liverpool prior to them winning the champions League. Craig might even go back to St Johnstone.

26-05-2014, 11:17 AM
How can they decide who goes and whos stays, if they themselves dont know if they will have a job by the end of the day?

They surely must be getting kept on

26-05-2014, 11:18 AM

Source ..... Malpas ?

His son. Butcher didn't know anything about the pre contracts

hibs4thecup1988
26-05-2014, 11:19 AM
How can they decide who goes and whos stays, if they themselves dont know if they will have a job by the end of the day?

Or the fact that they have been told to get rid of the ones we don't want?

Malpas is the one doing the talking apparently

This, he played a 451 with no holding midfielder, what manager does that, thimson should've started but Butcher did his usual bite nose of to save face job and it backfired drastically.
Basically all we had to was score ONE *** goal and we would have been safe. Did we even make their keeper make a save ? Butcher can GTF as far as i am concerned.

This. If it is true that RP has said terry you can go and deplete the squad. But you may not have your job later then I think we should personally wait at the training centre and make RP leave.

That would be a shocking choice to make

26-05-2014, 11:20 AM
Craig told to find a new club.

Yet he was Butcher's club captain. I freely admit when he signed for Hibs my words were "that's a great signing".

How does a good player become bad? Surely the way the manager sets out his team and tactics must be a big factor here?

Exactly, these teams play good passing football. Something we haven't seen since 2007.

No way are they the people to take hibs forward. Wonder what he'll say next season when we're struggling. "Oh but the players won't listen."

The players have had a big part to play in us going down but by god it's no coincidence that so many can't stand them.

I think you could take that from mcpakes interview on sky......players take the blame but it's not all down to them, speaks volumes for what the players think of them imo

Gutted for Lewis as well, but if we are to move forward as a club then I'm sorry to say it but he has no place in the starting 11, time for him to move on sadly.

26-05-2014, 11:21 AM
He played nearly an hour of football. So how about I expect him to do something, or anything? That would have been nice.

I'd have had him in from the start ahead of Haynes, thats neither here nor there though. He played plenty football for Hibs this season, most of it involved doing the same as the majority of his team mates. ****. All.

I'll no be buying a season ticket no. I play football on Saturdays so I'm lucky enough to miss most our games.

Extra time was simply a "backs to the wall" session for us due to our set up and poor players depending on "hoofball" to let Hamilton immediately regain possession when their last attack had finished! :rolleyes:

Had Thomson been on from the start we might have had a chance of geting and retaining some decent possession allowing our strikers perhaps to get on the ball in dangerous areas! :agree:

I wasn't the only one around me who thought this yesterday but Butcher and Malpas just hopped in and out of the dugout slugging out of their water bottles intermittently as if they were content with the way that things were going! :rolleyes:

Craig will go back to St J imo. Since he has left is he will flourish.

Harris staying. :agree:

26-05-2014, 11:22 AM
I think you could take that from mcpakes interview on sky......players take the blame but it's not all down to them, speaks volumes for what the players think of them imo

Ive hated my boss in a few of the jobs Ive worked in -I still tried my best

Thats the minimum id expect from any professional player

26-05-2014, 11:22 AM
Maybury FFS.

How will we attract anyone with similar experience for similar money?

Good cover on either side and good enough to start in that league, can also coach the kids. For the wage he's on it's madness to let him go.

Obviously not a yes man.

Have you you ever played a decent level??! Obviously not a yes man??? I'm not sure if you know how football works but when Yer gaffer tells you to do something on the park you ****in well do it!!

Matt92
26-05-2014, 11:23 AM
Harris staying. :agree:

Good, actually think the championship may be a good thing for his development alongside the other youngsters. He has class, just needs his confidence back as he was awesome before a bad injury.

Keep every youngster, Stanton and cummings will be no-brainers.

AJWisme
26-05-2014, 11:24 AM
Patrick McPartlin ‏@p_mcpartlin (https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin) 40s (https://twitter.com/p_mcpartlin/status/470887919092502528)
Ben Williams, Tom Taiwo, Paul Cairney and Alan Maybury also told they can leave Hibernian.

26-05-2014, 11:25 AM

What, like strikers that could hit double figures in a season, stop it eh.

This ain't Deek or GOC fault, to suggest it is :faf:

26-05-2014, 11:25 AM
Absolute joke that this clown is being allowed to decide who stays or goes at the club. He should have been the first to leave, an absolute disaster at every club he has been at bar ICT. And if true about Craig then another fantastic bit of management appointing him as captain then telling him he can leave 6-7 months later. Yet we are supposed to trust him to take us forward. GTF TB before you are allowed to do even more damage to our club.

26-05-2014, 11:26 AM
It's certainly a clear out.

Some disappointing names on the list going but also some disappointing ones not on the list so far.

hibs4thecup1988
Have you you ever played a decent level??! Obviously not a yes man??? I'm not sure if you know how football works but when Yer gaffer tells you to do something on the park you ****in well do it!!

What didn't he do that Butcher told him to??

Been the best player in this squad for months

Please please get Mcgivern out.

26-05-2014, 11:28 AM

I'm baffled with this as well. I'll be delighted if they are away by tomorrow. Somebody had to do the deed urgently and I suppose Butcher was as good as anyone to purge the squad. In fact, nobody else could do the job. It would have been too much of a delay to wait for a new manager to come in and assess and dismiss. Fingers crossed it's Butcher's last job at ER.

#2 Double Tap

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif

:D

Keep it coming terry. Get rid of the deadwood. In terry I trust.

On the basis of ****in what?

I have absolutely no problem if we release most of the **** we have on the books, but his is the greatest mismanagement I have ever seen.

I absolutely refuse to believe that the ever single experienced player in that team spat the dummy out for the hell of it.

If Butcher can alienate one team, he can alienate another.

In any other management position in any other industry in the land, both he and his motley crew would have been out the door after such a spectacular drop in performance.

Butcher can go and **** himself and can take those two other ********s with him.

He told the players to go out and win, the losers couldn't do that, so no.

Fat Penlon
26-05-2014, 11:29 AM
Why no statement today? Does Petrie not understand the fans want an immediate reaction from this shambles of a club!!!!!!!!

Makaveli
26-05-2014, 11:30 AM

Not sure if you're capable of thinking at a decent level but the yes man part obviously related to the coaching side.

I cant believe anyone wants to trust in Butcher. This man has had enough time to atleast avoid relegation but failed. The squad he took over was not great but they should have been able to scrape a couple of wins together, they didnt and that was Butchers fault, tactics are shocking, subs are shocking, playing one upfront at home against "lesser teams" is nothing short of dreadful and lets not forget that although this squad was poor, Pat Fenlon managed to get wins with them!!
We do need a massive rebuild at easter road but to let Butcher over see that is ridiculous, just my opinion though.

Totally agree he should have been the first one out the door closely followed by Malpas and Marcalla!

Devilstorment
Butcher is staying. If he was going to be gone then it would have been another member of the coaching staff or RP directly to tell the players they were gone.

26-05-2014, 11:31 AM
Why no statement today? Does Petrie not understand the fans want an immediate reaction from this shambles of a club!!!!!!!!

Would have thought punting half the first team squad was a reaction :wink:

Matt92
Please let Collins, McGivern and Nelson be gone. PLEASE.

DaveSo
I'm hearing players under contract hit with 50% cut in wages but can leave if they get other clubs.
All players out of contract not getting renewed.

And his tactics were absolutely shocking, he shouldn't be anywhere near the club. He is totally to blame for our relegation.

He set them up with 1 up front for Christ sake. Every game was 1 up with long balls. Are you that blind you can't put any blame on TB??

scott7_0(Prague)
26-05-2014, 11:32 AM

Another that missed the point.

JOURNEYMEN Google it

Extra time was simply a "backs to the wall" session for us due to our set up and poor players depending on "hoofball" to let Hamilton immediately regain possession when their last attack had finished! :rolleyes:

Had Thomson been on from the start we might have had a chance of geting and retaining some decent possession allowing our strikers perhaps to get on the ball in dangerous areas! :agree:

I wasn't the only one around me who thought this yesterday but Butcher and Malpas just hopped in and out of the dugout slugging out of their water bottles intermittently as if they were content with the way that things were going! :rolleyes:

Thomson has a voice. If he wanted the ball from the defence he could have asked for it and made something happen. He didn't. He was as culpable as the rest. Stanton looked for the ball a lot of the time, and Cummings showed for it quite a bit too, to be fair.

You'll get nae argument from me about the bit in bold. We set up to play for a draw from the start. At 1-0 down we played to keep it at 1-0, Williams was wasting time on goal kicks a couple of mins into the second half. Easter Road was packed out, those players should have been trying to win the game for us. Accepting defeat to lower division opposition is horrible. It's that attitude that means I couldnt give a **** if we get rid of every single one of them.

They haven't lost there jobs, there contracts were up and THE MAN IN CHARGE has told them to bolt.

The non playing staff not visible to or thought much about by the fans will all be in line for changes to their remuneration packages including possible redundancy! :agree:

Not their fault but a by product of the garbage on the pitch for the past 5 or 6 years and, particularly the 2014 results in specific terms!

Butcher and Malpas are culpable and cannot realistically expect to command any respect amongst those who have witnessed the worst run of games in living memory of current fans! :agree:

More importantly, they must go, whether willingly or by getting sacked for gross incompetence which must surely be a sacking offence within their contracts! :rolleyes:

I'm hearing players under contract hit with 50% cut in wages but can leave if they get other clubs.
All players out of contract not getting renewed.

How can they cut a contracted wage ?.

26-05-2014, 11:33 AM
That's what worries me.

Not even just the top - the teams down around mid and lower end of the Championship also played some free flowing football.

Livingston have adopted a passing mentality for the past few years and were a joy to watch at times, Raith Rovers played some lovely stuff this season and even Cowdenbeath, who ripped the Pars to pieces in their playoff have played some lovely football...

Absolutely nobody in our current squad has that in their locker and these wholesale changes need to keep coming.

They are all on holiday. Just like the players have been for the last 9 months.

Makaveli

Contracts often have relegation clauses but 50% seems a lot. Then again players probably didn't think it was plausible when they joined.

26-05-2014, 11:34 AM
Not sorry to see any of them go from malmo to Hamilton they have been an embarrassment

26-05-2014, 11:34 AM

Think this will be in their contract somewhere under 'failure'

andrew70
26-05-2014, 11:35 AM

I'd imagine contracts will have had relegation clauses in them

Fat Penlon
Would have thought punting half the first team squad was a reaction :wink:

Only a few tweets from youths and Thomson and mcpake are 100% confirmed though.

Devilstorment

Hibs could argue that they contracted a Footballer but actually got a big bunch of pussies?

26-05-2014, 11:36 AM
I'm hearing players under contract hit with 50% cut in wages but can leave if they get other clubs. All players out of contract not getting renewed.

So we are stuck with Nelson as he still has a year to go

Who would dream of taking Admiral So slow Hoofball

If the cut was in the contract to begin with. I assume that when signing for Hibs a 50% cut in the event of relegation would be something you'd agree to without batting an eyelid. Because it shouldn't ****ing happen.

Thomson has a voice. If he wanted the ball from the defence he could have asked for it and made something happen. He didn't. He was as culpable as the rest. Stanton looked for the ball a lot of the time, and Cummings showed for it quite a bit too, to be fair.

You'll get nae argument from me about the bit in bold. We set up to play for a draw from the start. At 1-0 down we played to keep it at 1-0, Williams was wasting time on goal kicks a couple of mins into the second half. Easter Road was packed out, those players should have been trying to win the game for us. Accepting defeat to lower division opposition is horrible. It's that attitude that means I couldnt give a **** if we get rid of every single one of them.

And how was he going to pull the ball down from 20 to 30 feet in the air above him as the defence constantly fired hoofballs high in the air to our two (laterally one) minute forwards only to see it sail back over his head again as Canning and his Mate (Garcia I think it was), both giants relative to our forwards, won the heading "battle" [ :wink: :greengrin ] to get the ball straight back into our defensive third of the pitch!? :rolleyes:

Then again, maybe my eyesight, match awareness or mental faculties were impaired yesterday and I hadn't noticed! :rolleyes:

I hope that was a joke or you really are crazy. Deek ncould not win a contract with the mighty Alloa and fat gaz has just been binned my Morton.

His contract wasn't renewed at Alloa, something that is happening at EM just now, more than likely down to a injury he picked up but he was risked for the bench in the last few games, didn't see him having a go at the Alloa manager about it though, took it like a man and no whinging to the press.

But this thread is not about Deek or Gaz, they never got Hibs relegated.

But if it isn't players like them it's usually Fenlons fault, even though he left us in 7th place well out of the relegation battle.

This is all about our existing managerial and playing staff. Not previous managers or ex players who done only good things for us.

But we all know some players had to go regardless of who the manager is.

But should the manager go? I really think we are going to have to stick with him for next year. No way Petrie will fire him and admit that he got it disastrously wrong.

His contract wasn't renewed at Alloa, something that is happening at EM just now, more than likely down to a injury he picked up but he was risked for the bench in the last few games, didn't see him having a go at the Alloa manager about it though, took it like a man and no whinging to the press.

But this thread is not about Deek or Gaz, they never got Hibs relegated.

Neither did Kevin Thomson IMO!

Amit
26-05-2014, 11:37 AM
Apparently, Grant Stott has just said that Craig has been told to leave.

Murdoch away as well apparently

Tollhouse Hibee
Thommo appeared to be genuinely gutted - and i for one wont grudge him coming back to ER with his family to watch hibs. We need to ensure support of this club is passed onto the next generation.

Bit gutted bout Maybury thought coach and backup fullback would be a position we need. Maybe tho because he coaches football and not hoofball thats no longer required.

They done it at the first time of asking at ICT.

26-05-2014, 11:38 AM
On the basis of ****in what?

I have absolutely no problem if we release most of the **** we have on the books, but his is the greatest mismanagement I have ever seen.

I absolutely refuse to believe that the ever single experienced player in that team spat the dummy out for the hell of it.

If Butcher can alienate one team, he can alienate another.

In any other management position in any other industry in the land, both he and his motley crew would have been out the door after such a spectacular drop in performance.

Butcher can go and **** himself and can take those two other ********s with him.

On the basis I believe he will turn it around, bring in decent players that will fight for promotion next season. It's my opinion deal with it.

Fat Penlon
26-05-2014, 11:38 AM
If any under contract are now on 50% wages pay them the f*** up and get them out!!!

26-05-2014, 11:39 AM

Again ICT and Hibs are very different clubs.

Also they didn't have Hearts and The Rangers with them down there.

26-05-2014, 11:41 AM
Not sure if you're capable of thinking at a decent level but the yes man part obviously related to the coaching side.

Maybury would have run his session plans alongside James mcdounagh so butcher wouldn't have had too much to do with it. So no, still don't know why you are implying otherwise....

26-05-2014, 11:42 AM
Why the F--K is Butcher presiding over the cull of players when its him that should do the honourable thing and GTF

26-05-2014, 11:43 AM
We need to start splashing the cash next season....

Has Butcher "hacked" SH's hibs dot net account FFS! :rolleyes: :wink:

Anyone got a full list of them released?

It's very easy to find fault SH, that 's why there are so many critics!! :wink:

Where is the evidence please? :dunno:

You just need to read .net to find the evidence, a few on here have been quick enough to post things that happened at EM regarding Thomson, and i get to hear the odd snippet from others too. :wink:

Frogga
26-05-2014, 11:44 AM
Rangers are 1/6 to win the Championship next season according to SkyBet. Surely that's a bit steep? Considering the mess they are in right now I'd say something closer to evens is fair.

26-05-2014, 11:45 AM
If players are actively undermining the manager and coaching staff and we end up being relegated in that season, these players should be skulking out the back door in shame not playing the hard done to nonsense as they appear happy to do so. This episode must be one of the most shameful in the clubs history.

26-05-2014, 11:45 AM
You just need to read .net to find the evidence, a few on here have been quick enough to post things that happened at EM regarding Thomson, and i get to hear the odd snippet from others too. :wink:

So why not share it with the rest of us then? !:agree:

26-05-2014, 11:46 AM
This is the list I've received.

RELEASED:

James McPake,
Ben Williams,
Kevin Thomson,
Paul Cairney,
Tom Taiwo,
Alan Maybury,
Ross Caldwell,
Danny Handling,
Dean Horribine,
Liam Craig

Apparently also:

Nelson,
Mcgivern,
Heffernan
Stevenson

So, basically our first choice keeper, our first choice defence for the last few months (such as they were) have all gone. I hope RP/TB have got a plan to get some sort of team together for the start of training, pre-season games and the start of the league in August. Somehow can see a group of U21s being asked to start the league campaign and I bet our first two games are v Rangers & Hearts!

Get nelson OUT

Are McGivern and Nelson going?

26-05-2014, 11:47 AM
Williams is gone and Sean just text me to say he's out... Butcher better have a plan...

Persevere80
26-05-2014, 11:48 AM
Not sorry to see any of them go from malmo to Hamilton they have been an embarrassment

I agree. ive not been to many since the malmo game. i dont think me not attending has made a blind bit of difference.

I have to say i am sitting on the fence with a lot of comments from posters as i can see both sides of the arguments. Stevenson has been a great servant to the club but has been found out by many teams and mangment and time to move on. KT has been a big loss and would liked him to have stayed for his experince on the park. Williams i thought has been our best keeper for a long time and will be sad to see him go. Stanton is the only real bit of talent that i want to see stay. As for Butcher i will agree that his standard of football has been honking but looks like he will be calling the shots and will be given time to rebuild a squad to compete at chamopionship level. Big changes starting to unfold. This will be a very intresting transfer window.

26-05-2014, 11:49 AM

Footballs football. I'm not buying this different club nonsense. You can either do it or not do it. The mentality of the players has to be right. Plainly the players were not up to it. It's up to Butcher and his team to identify the players to get us playing winning football and get us back up. You can be the best man manager in the world but the men have to have the right mentality. Too many players without that aided and abetted by some undermining the team spirits always a recipe for disaster. Pop in only one chance to do anything about it in January with no cash it was always gonna be close. A clear out now followed by everyone pulling together will be a start.

26-05-2014, 11:50 AM
I hope he knows what he's doing getting rid of this many players, a lot of whom started a lot this season

reidy
26-05-2014, 11:51 AM
Paul grant away as well. So is there any goalies left?

madhibby
26-05-2014, 11:51 AM
Williams is gone and Sean just text me to say he's out... Butcher better have a plan...

A Hamilton fan told me before the game yesterday that Sean Murdoch is going to Hamilton.

26-05-2014, 11:52 AM
Footballs football. I'm not buying this different club nonsense. You can either do it or not do it. The mentality of the players has to be right. Plainly the players were not up to it. It's up to Butcher and his team to identify the players to get us playing winning football and get us back up. You can be the best man manager in the world but the men have to have the right mentality. Too many players without that aided and abetted by some undermining the team spirits always a recipe for disaster. Pop in only one chance to do anything about it in January with no cash it was always gonna be close. A clear out now followed by everyone pulling together will be a start.

Players do have to buy into it yeah, but if you don't think there is any difference between us and them your sadly mistaken. The pressure is huge, look at Moyes with Man U. Everton no pressure Man U huge pressure.

Oh and there was money in Jan TB just didn't use it.

jimmyboco1875
No goalies no

I hope he knows what he's doing getting rid of this many players, a lot of whom started a lot this season

I think the answer to your concerns is contained in your own post.

A lot of them started yesterday.

And that's part of the problem IMO - many of those who are getting released knew that was the case ages ago.

26-05-2014, 11:53 AM
The non playing staff not visible to or thought much about by the fans will all be in line for changes to their remuneration packages including possible redundancy! :agree:

Not their fault but a by product of the garbage on the pitch for the past 5 or 6 years and, particularly the 2014 results in specific terms!

Butcher and Malpas are culpable and cannot realistically expect to command any respect amongst those who have witnessed the worst run of games in living memory of current fans! :agree:

More importantly, they must go, whether willingly or by getting sacked for gross incompetence which must surely be a sacking offence within their contracts! :rolleyes:

Also, the Hamilton manager was prowling his area throughout the match speaking to players, encouraging them, deploying them in different areas and tactical ways and when he felt the time was right, he put himself on and drove his team to a well deserved victory over what became an ineffective and very poor Hibs team, entriely uncompetitive on the day due to poor tactics and inability to take and retain good possession and do anything with that possession! :agree:

Wonder how much their guy gets for being an effective manager at Accies compared to what Butcher and Malpas get for being totally ineffective managers at Hibs! :rolleyes: :dunno:

26-05-2014, 11:53 AM

Seems we have had to many managers in the squad that think they can do better than the one that counts.

If the players didn't buy in to the managers plans then they have no place at the club.

26-05-2014, 11:54 AM
All goalkeepers out the door, hope he has a couple of decent replacements in mind.

Frogga
26-05-2014, 11:55 AM
I'll be disappointed if Stevenson goes. I don't really see what he's done wrong and he's one player that the fans are actually fond of.

26-05-2014, 11:56 AM
Seems we have had to many managers in the squad that think they can do better than the one that counts.

If the players didn't buy in to the managers plans then they have no place at the club.

Without details that makes this meaningful for any of us "not in the know" this is surely a waste of your time SH as you are only talking to yourself about stuff that you may have knowledge of and even then you are talking in a fairly "wooly" way! :agree:

I'm going by what I see on match days as I know about that and Butcher and Malpas have been poor and totally innefective in management of the players at Hibs and are at the root cause of the club having to perform in the Championship (jeez that name even makes sound as though it is a good quality of football too!)! :rolleyes:

Fat Penlon
26-05-2014, 11:56 AM
I'll be disappointed if Stevenson goes. I don't really see what he's done wrong and he's one player that the fans are actually fond of.

Speak for yourself.

26-05-2014, 11:57 AM
All goalkeepers out the door, hope he has a couple of decent replacements in mind.

Plenty decent keepers around, we'll have to pay for them tho!

Players do have to buy into it yeah, but if you don't think there is any difference between us and them your sadly mistaken. The pressure is huge, look at Moyes with Man U. Everton no pressure Man U huge pressure.

Oh and there was money in Jan TB just didn't use it.
And much like Moyes at Man Utd the players didn't rate him don't listen or take on board his methods and the rest is history. It's nothing to do with clubs. It's all about togetherness and buying in at any club at any level. Hibs players didn't and we are where we are.

Seems we have had to many managers in the squad that think they can do better than the one that counts. If the players didn't buy in to the managers plans then they have no place at the club.

Agree in principle but must be hard to be told constantly ... Just launch the ball anywhere

If that's the case then seeing as butchers been a disaster at most clubs he's been at then that says to me he's not got it.

Got lucky at Inverness imo

h185forever
26-05-2014, 11:58 AM
Does anyone, on here..... know if there is any truth in the jambo goalie joining .......

Weir7

Did players like riordan and O'connor buy in to managers plans in the past.

Frogga
Speak for yourself.

*Mostly fond of :agree:

hibeemikey21
26-05-2014, 11:59 AM
Genuinely would be happy if the only two retained were Stanton and Hanlon.

The others could be replaced very easily.

A Hamilton fan told me before the game yesterday that Sean Murdoch is going to Hamilton.

Ain't saying Aye, ain't saying No.. No keepers though.. Can't get this wrong.

All goalkeepers out the door, hope he has a couple of decent replacements in mind.No doubt he will, I've read on here there is plenty of better keepers than Williams that we could easily get, still waiting for names though...

26-05-2014, 12:00 PM
Genuinely would be happy if the only two retained were Stanton and Hanlon.

The others could be replaced very easily.They couldn't though, we don't have the money to sign 15 decent players.

yekimevol
26-05-2014, 12:01 PM
Does anyone think decent players will come to Easter road next season ?

Surely a player and his advisers will sit down and look at hibs and go; butcher arrived mid table and got them relegated, there are no / very few pros at the team and there not even in the SPFL. If I was a neutral I would not come to Easter road on that set of facts.

If that's the case then seeing as butchers been a disaster at most clubs he's been at then that says to me he's not got it.

Got lucky at Inverness imo
Inverness and Motherwell the only places he got time.

He set them up with 1 up front for Christ sake. Every game was 1 up with long balls. Are you that blind you can't put any blame on TB??

Not blind at all, Butcher has made mistakes, no doubting it, the players are the biggest culprits here, f***ing losers, something you couldn't accuse Butcher of being that's for sure.

26-05-2014, 12:02 PM
And much like Moyes at Man Utd the players didn't rate him don't listen or take on board his methods and the rest is history. It's nothing to do with clubs. It's all about togetherness and buying in at any club at any level. Hibs players didn't and we are where we are.

I'm sorry but when your tactic is long aimless balls into the corners with one up front I find it difficult to blame just the players and not the manager.

This isn't made up this is what was happening. How do you defend his tactics or do you think the players just booted it up the park themselves and changed the shape to one up front to annoy TB?

26-05-2014, 12:02 PM
Another that missed the point.

JOURNEYMEN Google it

They will fit in nicely at Hibs then.

hibeemikey21
26-05-2014, 12:03 PM
They couldn't though, we don't have the money to sign 15 decent players.

I don't expect us to pay them off, but just let the ones under contract find other clubs (assuming there will be takers!)

I should have also included Forster. Still have high hopes for him.

Re the other youngster, not been convinced by them at all.

Fat Penlon
@scottrobbo8: To all hibs fans that are rightly angered by recent events, you don't deserve what's happened to ur club, gutted for u all more than anyone.

Not blind at all, Butcher has made mistakes, no doubting it, the players are the biggest culprits here, f***ing losers, something you couldn't accuse Butcher of being that's for sure.

Players have let us down big time yes. So has Terry with his tactics. He's a clown of a man who's failed everywhere he's been. One good season at ICT well half a season. Sorry not convinced and I hold my hands up and say I was wrong about him.

26-05-2014, 12:04 PM
Ain't saying Aye, ain't saying No.. No keepers though.. Can't get this wrong.

A mate of mine is good friends with Craig Coyle their goalie coach, I will ask him :greengrin

And what help does Lewis get when he plays left back. ****** all thats the answer. He can hold his head
up high a guy who played for the jersey unlike most of the other wage theives

I don't think there are many on here who would dispute the fact that Lewis give his all whenever he plays.

However it is an absolute reflection of how far we have fallen that Lewis has played as many games as he has this season after his sporadic appearances in the team in recent years.

If we have any designs on progressing then Lewis Stevenson or players of his ability will not take us there.

Makalambay
Does anyone, on here..... know if there is any truth in the jambo goalie joining .......

Not heard this but could do a lot worse. Always impressed with MacDonald.

@scottrobbo8: To all hibs fans that are rightly angered by recent events, you don't deserve what's happened to ur club, gutted for u all more than anyone.

Paloschi

I like Robbo. Really cares and does try his best for the club. Hasn't been good enough so far but I would let him stay on.

26-05-2014, 12:05 PM

Ur club? Not his club, has he gone too?

26-05-2014, 12:05 PM
Inverness and Motherwell the only places he got time.

Not convinced he did a good job at Motherwell.

Inverness he got time as they're a club with no expectations, we do.

26-05-2014, 12:06 PM

And he should be booted out as well. Injured most of the time, and was terrible yesterday, looked like he was playing on ice

26-05-2014, 12:06 PM
I'm sorry but when your tactic is long aimless balls into the corners with one up front I find it difficult to blame just the players and not the manager.

This isn't made up this is what was happening. How do you defend his tactics or do you think the players just booted it up the park themselves and changed the shape to one up front to annoy TB?

Were the instructions from TB 'hoof it to ****' or 'get the ball up the park to the strikers as quick as possible'. Cos that's two very different things. I dinnae know, I've no heard what they are told to do, maybe he does tell them to boot it away anywhere. I dont understand why that would ever be seen as a plan though.

26-05-2014, 12:07 PM
No doubt he will, I've read on here there is plenty of better keepers than Williams that we could easily get, still waiting for names though...

We've plenty of problems finding them in the past.

Persevere80
26-05-2014, 12:07 PM
Ur club? Not his club, has he gone too?

Thats what i thought too....

Sumner
26-05-2014, 12:08 PM

Very nice of him I'm sure... but Scott WHY so ROTTEN yesterday?
Like Liam Craig, appears to be hurting, BUT individually a ROTTEN performance by SR

Weir7
26-05-2014, 12:09 PM

Happens all the time down in England, but it also works the other way if you get promoted too.

26-05-2014, 12:11 PM

WTF has that got to do with our current predicament, Riordan & O'Conner contributed more to Hibs than any of these jokers could ever dream of.

26-05-2014, 12:13 PM
Were the instructions from TB 'hoof it to ****' or 'get the ball up the park to the strikers as quick as possible'. Cos that's two very different things. I dinnae know, I've no heard what they are told to do, maybe he does tell them to boot it away anywhere. I dont understand why that would ever be seen as a plan though.

Well it's pretty clear it's hoof to the lone striker not strikers. That's the tactics he's used for all of us to see.

26-05-2014, 12:13 PM
Absolute nonsense. If you speak to most Motherwell fans virtually every one of them thought Butcher was a good manager there when they were going through administration, I know because I live in an area with a lot of them. He also got them to a league cup final. If you're talking about the English clubs yeh, but there's loads of managers that have done well here but not cut it down south, the most obvious one being Derek McInnes, but there's plenty more. Walter Smith, Jeffries, Billy Davies. Yes he took ICT down one season, but he brought them back up again. Unlike you I have the confidence that he can bring us back up as well provided the funds are made available.

26-05-2014, 12:15 PM
16 pages? Is there any news here? Summary?

The Leith Dutch
26-05-2014, 12:16 PM
And he should be booted out as well. Injured most of the time, and was terrible yesterday, looked like he was playing on ice

Different opinions I guess but he was one of the few that got pass marks yesterday for me.

Got stuck in to tackles and far more intelligent and controlled distribution than most around him.
Add to that he's playing for a manager who has decided to kick it straight over the midfield he plays in......

Of all the "senior" pros at the club he's probably the one I'd hold on to.

Fat Penlon
26-05-2014, 12:17 PM
@scottrobbo8: To those asking about my future I am under contract for another year and will be reporting for pre season training at east mains.

26-05-2014, 12:18 PM
Well it's pretty clear it's hoof to the lone striker not strikers. That's the tactics he's used for all of us to see.

Yep. It's not as difficult to find a man with a pass as our defence makes it look though. 9 times out of 10 the long balls go nowhere near our lone striker.

You can play one up top if you're finding that man with a decent ball, and then getting your wingers going past him, with a midfielder or two showing for the ball. The midfielders pick it up, look wide, find the winger, who puts the ball into the box for the striker again. Sounds simple. It's easy to work on at training. If that's his game plan, then its the execution thats the problem.

26-05-2014, 12:18 PM
Absolute nonsense. If you speak to most Motherwell fans virtually every one of them thought Butcher was a good manager there when they were going through administration, I know because I live in an area with a lot of them. He also got them to a league cup final. If you're talking about the English clubs yeh, but there's loads of managers that have done well here but not cut it down south, the most obvious one being Derek McInnes, but there's plenty more. Walter Smith, Jeffries, Billy Davies. Yes he took ICT down one season, but he brought them back up again. Unlike you I have the confidence that he can bring us back up as well provided the funds are made available.

You have your opinion I have mine, he's a crap manager and we'll struggle with hearts and gers there.

26-05-2014, 12:20 PM

Sympathy for the non playing staff :agree:

This has been on the cards since CC & PF but they had goal scorers to keep them away from relegation, Griffiths O'Connor Riordan, FFS even Doyle, Butcher has had Collins, not very good striker and a couple of young lads to get him through the season.

I don't think TB & MM will leave TH. imo. :aok:

Yep. It's not as difficult to find a man with a pass as our defence makes it look though. 9 times out of 10 the long balls go nowhere near our lone striker.

You can play one up top if you're finding that man with a decent ball, and then getting your wingers going past him, with a midfielder or two showing for the ball. The midfielders pick it up, look wide, find the winger, who puts the ball into the box for the striker again. Sounds simple. It's easy to work on at training. If that's his game plan, then its the execution thats the problem.

But that's not his game plan is it? The proof is in the pudding. Many wins was it again?? You think that's just the players fault?

archiebald
Different opinions I guess but he was one of the few that got pass marks yesterday for me.

Got stuck in to tackles and far more intelligent and controlled distribution than most around him.
Add to that he's playing for a manager who has decided to kick it straight over the midfield he plays in......

Of all the "senior" pros at the club he's probably the one I'd hold on to.
Agree

cabbage_1982

+1

Mcpakeisgod
@scottrobbo8: To those asking about my future I am under contract for another year and will be reporting for pre season training at east mains.

One of very few I want kept on . A tiny spot of good imo

whiskas
26-05-2014, 12:23 PM
Yep. It's not as difficult to find a man with a pass as our defence makes it look though. 9 times out of 10 the long balls go nowhere near our lone striker. You can play one up top if you're finding that man with a decent ball, and then getting your wingers going past him, with a midfielder or two showing for the ball. The midfielders pick it up, look wide, find the winger, who puts the ball into the box for the striker again. Sounds simple. It's easy to work on at training. If that's his game plan, then its the execution thats the problem. Nail on the head- 4-5-1 when they have the ball should become a 4-3-3 when we've got it. This assumes you play the ball through the midfield and build an attack rather than lumping it in the rough direction of your 5ft 9 lone striker.

26-05-2014, 12:23 PM
Bit surprised that some people are mourning the loss of the Mayburys and Stevenson etc.

Also that we still have posters saying we need to "splash the cash". We are *****ed, relegation will have a massive impact on an already tight budget. However if there is any positive for me, it would be we get rid of all these journeymen who have been bleeding us dry and get back to a young hungry team. If we had fielded our youth team this year I doubt results would have been any worse.

It has to be a young team next year, with a few players bought in. Booth, Black, Forster, Hanlon, Stanton, Harris, Handling, that's likely the nucleus of our team next year, that's the reality whether folk like it or not.

cabbage_1982
26-05-2014, 12:24 PM

You taking the piss?

Butchers tactics are to hoof the ball back to front. If they had got the ball down and passed it we could have scored. The 1 time we did pass it Heff scored albeit offside.

Butcher has not changed tactics since he took over - and where has that got us???

Butcher has to go!!!

Conj
26-05-2014, 12:26 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140526/out-of-contract-players_2262950_3858888

Fat Penlon
Hibernian FC can confirm that the following players who are out of contract have not been offered terms of re-engagement:
Ben Williams
Sean Murdoch
Paul Grant
James McPake
Alan Maybury
Bradley Donaldson
Paul Cairney
Tom Taiwo
David Gold
Dean Horribine
Kevin Thomson

Loan players Daniel Boateng, Danny Haynes and Duncan Watmore all return to their parent clubs.
The Club would like to thank the players for their service to the Club.

But that's not his game plan is it? The proof is in the pudding. Many wins was it again?? You think that's just the players fault?

I'm not in the Butcher fan club by the way. I'm just at a loss to see what's going wrong. I don't believe that anyone (never mind someone whos played at the highest level) would set up a team to go out and hoooooof the ball to nobody every-time they get near it, even when they're not under much pressure.

Hibernian FC can confirm that the following players who are out of contract have not been offered terms of re-engagement:
Ben Williams
Sean Murdoch
Paul Grant
James McPake
Alan Maybury
Bradley Donaldson
Paul Cairney
Tom Taiwo
David Gold
Dean Horribine
Kevin Thomson

Loan players Daniel Boateng, Danny Haynes and Duncan Watmore all return to their parent clubs.

26-05-2014, 12:27 PM

Will make it all the more sweeter when we get promoted at the first time.

I can only dream.

26-05-2014, 12:28 PM
Handling and Caldwell staying then?

26-05-2014, 12:29 PM
Like I said Keepers, I might put my gloves on and ask for a game..:agree:

26-05-2014, 12:30 PM
Handling and Caldwell staying then?

Those two are the least of out worries!

26-05-2014, 12:30 PM

We are all allowed our opinion TH, that's why i can't catch up with the last page of this thread. :greengrin

Fat Penlon
26-05-2014, 12:31 PM
Nelson
McGivern
Stevenson
Collins
Jones
Heffernan
Caldwell
Handling
Craig

All on 50% wages and staying unless they can find another club then.

26-05-2014, 12:33 PM

So how come his record at Hibs is so utterly appalling? I don't give a toss about his record at Motherwell TBH.

His style of football is from about 50 years ago. Nelson & McGivern hoof it up to a wee "striker" like Heffernan or Cummings (that's if it doesn't end up in the stands) and watch the big defenders gobble them up? Who tells them to do that? Who has been watching that for weeks on end?

As I've posted elsewhere, Hamilton Accies passed his woeful team off the park yesterday playing a modern style of passing football. A 35 year old Jason Scotland ran us ragged all afternoon. Yet he it seems is being allowed to stay on as manager. I really fear for Hibs. He lost the dressing room from what I can gather. He has lost the fans too. I wonder how many will be back to ensure those "funds are made available".

26-05-2014, 12:33 PM
Is true they go to 50% wages?

26-05-2014, 12:34 PM
So why not share it with the rest of us then? !:agree:

I never shared anything TH, i read it on here, maybe ask the ones who were sharing the info coming out of EM :wink::agree:

Makaveli
Nelson
McGivern
Stevenson
Collins
Jones
Heffernan
Caldwell
Handling
Craig

All on 50% wages and staying unless they can find another club then.

We don't actually know who this supposed 50% cut applies to. If it was everyone with a contract then you'd need to add Harris, Stanton, Forster and Hanlon.

But Robertson simply saying he has another year indicates not everyone is looking at a cut.

GoldenEagle
Ben Williams
Sean Murdoch
Paul Grant
James McPake
Alan Maybury
Bradley Donaldson
Paul Cairney
Tom Taiwo
David Gold
Dean Horribine
Kevin Thomson

What a great addition to the squad these three were, effectively the inability of the Board to add to the squad in January cost our place in the SPFL. If anyone is in any doubt where the problems are at our club then it would be worthwhile to remember that these were the 'quality' of players expected to push the club up the league table.

Absolutely horrendous.

aussie_hibee
26-05-2014, 12:35 PM
Apart from McPake and the keepers does that not just look like a list of players who like to pass the ball on the grass?