View Full Version : #petrieout

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

147lothian
24-04-2014, 08:43 PM
Of coursd I am. We are spending more money than most of our rivals on it. Whats youre point?

Are we spending more money than our rivals because Petrie say so? This bollocks about "competitive budget" doesn't stand up, were ,milles away from not just D utd and dons but also st johnsone and m'well, when I see the loan signings and cheap free contract cast off's I think the wool is being pulled over the supporters eyes regarding the playing budget at Easter Road

24-04-2014, 08:49 PM
Even if we win on Sunday Petrie should still go. It's not a case of beat hearts and Petrie stays. It's a case of gtf so this club can move forward.

If you are in his position would you leave.....nah didn't think so. I am no petrie lover but it is highly unlikely that he will leave. We can moan and whinge but until we get a new owner we are stuck with petrie

24-04-2014, 09:01 PM
no way we are losing on sunday. not even a slight chance. 3 nil minimum. :greengrin they know its coming.

I would stick to the zombieland websites if I was you:rolleyes:

24-04-2014, 09:04 PM
If you are in his position would you leave.....nah didn't think so. I am no petrie lover but it is highly unlikely that he will leave. We can moan and whinge but until we get a new owner we are stuck with petrie

If he is put under enough pressure he will have no choice but to leave.

24-04-2014, 09:13 PM
If he is put under enough pressure he will have no choice but to leave.

What makes you believe that ? He thinks he is the best man for the job,STF thinks he is the best man for the job...he will not leave. We as a club have gone worse times than this during his time at the helm and he has survived.

24-04-2014, 09:50 PM
Are we spending more money than our rivals because Petrie say so? This bollocks about "competitive budget" doesn't stand up, were ,milles away from not just D utd and dons but also st johnsone and m'well, when I see the loan signings and cheap free contract cast off's I think the wool is being pulled over the supporters eyes regarding the playing budget at Easter Road
Do we have proof we aren't? We are obviously getting more income so other than servicing debt and running costs I fail to see where it goes. The other teams need to service debt and fun themselves too by the way.
The income and expenditure can be found in the audited accounts by the way. Don't take Petries or anyone else's word for that.

24-04-2014, 10:16 PM

Our playing budget is being squandered on paying off managers and coaches et al every 18 months and then getting rid of the crap players they have signed as well.

25-04-2014, 06:28 AM
Our playing budget is being squandered on paying off managers and coaches et al every 18 months and then getting rid of the crap players they have signed as well.

How much has this cost the club?

25-04-2014, 07:06 AM
How much has this cost the club?

No no idea but it must run into the hundreds of thousands over the years. :dunno:

25-04-2014, 07:19 AM
No no idea but it must run into the hundreds of thousands over the years. :dunno:

Its just with so many other statements being debunked on this thread I was wondering if there was any evidence to back up what you said.

25-04-2014, 07:25 AM
Its just with so many other statements being debunked on this thread I was wondering if there was any evidence to back up what you said.Nah It didnae cost anything tae pay them off, they all walked for free. :agree:

stevejordan
25-04-2014, 07:30 AM
Its just with so many other statements being debunked on this thread I was wondering if there was any evidence to back up what you said.

A Couple spring to mind not taking the offer to move CC On when his stock was high 200k and CCs pay off 50k. not buying LG For 150k Celtic paid 800k for him add together this is a 900k loss RP works for free but he costs our club money with bad decisions.

147lothian
25-04-2014, 07:31 AM
Are we the only team that has running costs and has to pay off players that don't make the grade? I thought it was the selling of the golden generation that went to pay for the stadium and training facilities that we own, so it's not as if we are giving away good money after bad to hire facilities but the team on park looks like its been put together on the cheap, look at the talk of us being in for Rooney, we offer him a loan deal, he wants to move up the road on a permanent basis, Petrie wont sanction 500 a week so he goes to A'deen, McManus has a look at us then goes to M'well, it would be ok if this was a one off season but this is happening every season, it looks like the team has been put together on the cheap and you get what you pay for, this doesn't apply to supporters though who aren't getting value

25-04-2014, 07:37 AM
Nah It didnae cost anything tae pay them off, they all walked for free. :agree:

Some walked, some didn't. With so much stuff being bandied about, a lot of it apparently unfounded and discredited, I was only inquiring if anybody knew how much this had cost. That's all.

25-04-2014, 07:41 AM
A Couple spring to mind not taking the offer to move CC On when his stock was high 200k and CCs pay off 50k. not buying LG For 150k Celtic paid 800k for him add together this is a 900k loss RP works for free but he costs our club money with bad decisions.

We were never able to sign Griffiths for £150k.

25-04-2014, 07:43 AM

Where do you get the £50k figure from?

25-04-2014, 07:51 AM
Petrie stated at the AGM shortly after CC was sacked that Hibs were offered less for CC than they paid for him ! yes they paid for him then paid him to go :confused: .

25-04-2014, 08:05 AM
Petrie stated at the AGM shortly after CC was sacked that Hibs were offered less for CC than they paid for him ! yes they paid for him then paid him to go :confused: .

The fact somebody actually wanted to pay us for CC even if it was £1 and this wasnt taken really beggers belief. Every manager good or bad makes signings that are a waste but I think our last 2 managers have felt they needed to overhaul bigtime.

He has hired such bad managers that have signed so many poor players that the next manager is having to sign a hell of a lot of players to get anywhere and what happens we ended up after CC with another guy replacing the crap with more. I do not need to know or see figures to believe that 2 failed managers in a row will have been far far more costly than 1 good manager.

PF wouldnt likely have been on a massive payout but how much has been wasted on his loans, bad signings wages and a downturn in people going to watch if that has occured? We need to look at the cost of the tenure to see if what we got out it was worthwhile and what remains of that tenure now worth keeping.

25-04-2014, 08:09 AM
Petrie stated at the AGM shortly after CC was sacked that Hibs were offered less for CC than they paid for him ! yes they paid for him then paid him to go :confused: .Aye, instead of getting back at least some of the money wasted paying for him in the first place it ended up costing mair tae get rid of him a few months later,

another blinder played by Petrie.:agree:

stevejordan
25-04-2014, 08:11 AM
Where do you get the £50k figure from?

he still had a year left on his contract the figure is probably lower than what it cost to empty him.

25-04-2014, 08:38 AM
He was appointed director more than a year after the payment was made and he is not the owner which is what you were claiming.

I seem to recall it as different calendar years, but the same financial year.

If you mean Maidencraig Investments, RP was appointed as director in January 2012. The company was formed in 2003.

IIRC, the payment was made in 2009, but Cav will have the exact date.

The payment was after 2009 - in 2011/12 IIRC

Mary McAdam? If her then she is involved in a few STF companies and was a director at ER at one point. If memory serves me she was involved at Celtic during the Fergus McCann era.

That name doesn't ring any bells.

The club and the holding co are the only two active companies in the group, so if he isn't paid by them he is definitely not paid within the group.

I said within group and the Holding Co made the payment for consultancy. I didn't mean Holding Co to HFC.

The funny thing is, I'm not convinced he is working for nothing - IIRC he said he wasn't taking payment when SL and FH were there but he has now reverted to being CEO, so he could well be getting paid again. I just think that inventing malicious rubbish about the way he gets paid is in no-ones interest and is potentially damaging to the club.

I sincerely doubt he is - for reasons you have given. And that is fair enough. Just a shame, he is not value for money..

stevejordan
25-04-2014, 08:59 AM

Lots was said at that AGM The most telling was STF Gave full backing to Petrie which as long as he has this Ace up his sleeve he is a Made Guy and Untouchable.

25-04-2014, 09:38 AM
Lots was said at that AGM The most telling was STF Gave full backing to Petrie which as long as he has this Ace up his sleeve he is a Made Guy and Untouchable.

Are we a mafia outfit now :confused:

Nobody is untouchable. Especially not some chairman at a football club. One that makes bad decisions costing the club money and fans.

Caversham Green
25-04-2014, 09:41 AM
[QUOTE]I seem to recall it as different calendar years, but the same financial year.

Nope, different calendar year, different financial year.

The payment was after 2009 - in 2011/12 IIRC

It was 2010/11 - they year the East stand was built and financed and the group was extensively restructured - both legitimate reasons for a consultancy charge.

That name doesn't ring any bells.

It was indeed Maidencraig Investments. Rod didn't and doesn't own that company, which was the basis of your allegation.

I said within group and the Holding Co made the payment for consultancy. I didn't mean Holding Co to HFC.

If Rod wasn't paid a salary by the club then he wasn't paid from within the group unless your (frankly ludicrous) allegation is correct.

I sincerely doubt he is - for reasons you have given. And that is fair enough. Just a shame, he is not value for money..

But that wasn't the point of your OP - maybe you need to spell out exactly why you raised the issue because it looks to me like it was ill-considered mud-slinging motivated by pure malice.

_hucks_
25-04-2014, 09:46 AM
Some walked, some didn't. With so much stuff being bandied about, a lot of it apparently unfounded and discredited, I was only inquiring if anybody knew how much this had cost. That's all.

I don't think anyone on here will know how much we've spent paying off managers, but at the same time it feels reasonable to assume that a not insignificant sum has been spent on this. 6 figurea certainly sounds right over the last few sackings, although I acknowledge that I certainly don't have anything to back that up with.

25-04-2014, 11:09 AM
If Rod wasn't paid a salary by the club then he wasn't paid from within the group unless your (frankly ludicrous) allegation is correct.

I suspect if STF wished to make a payment to Rod, without it looking like the payment came from the Football Club, I am confident he could do so given the myriad of companies they are involved in.

25-04-2014, 11:12 AM
[QUOTE=TQM;3982337]

Nope, different calendar year, different financial year.

It was 2010/11 - they year the East stand was built and financed and the group was extensively restructured - both legitimate reasons for a consultancy charge.

It was indeed Maidencraig Investments. Rod didn't and doesn't own that company, which was the basis of your allegation.

But that wasn't the point of your OP - maybe you need to spell out exactly why you raised the issue because it looks to me like it was ill-considered mud-slinging motivated by pure malice.

CG - summed up perfectly.

25-04-2014, 11:30 AM
If Rod is on £200k or £1 I am interested in what he does while here firstly. He has not been doing a good enough job for years now regardless of salary. Is the man doing a good job is the only question for me and the answer is no.

147lothian
25-04-2014, 02:05 PM

STF is not interested in football, so he appointed Petrie to look after his investment, that's why Petrie can come across as being smug, he doesn't see himself as having to answer to the fan's he see's himself as having to answer to STF who couldn't care less if it's good or bad on the park, its just an investment to him. Petrie saying he is working for nothing is laughable, he's not there as a fan's representative, he is there because he is an accountant placed to protect an investment of an absent chairman who has no interest in football

HibeeMassive
25-04-2014, 02:20 PM
STF is not interested in football.... to answer to STF who couldn't care less if it's good or bad on the park, its just an investment to him.....an absent chairman who has no interest in football

Your comments re: STF, these are based on what?

You know the man personally? Spent lots of time with him?

Calum68
25-04-2014, 02:38 PM
When you look at what's happening to other clubs due to financial mismanagement, I think we should count ourselves lucky we've had someone like RP holding the purse strings. Maybe it is time for a change but let's recognise the contribution RP has made to the club.

25-04-2014, 02:48 PM
When you look at what's happening to other clubs due to financial mismanagement, I think we should count ourselves lucky we've had someone like RP holding the purse strings. Maybe it is time for a change but let's recognise the contribution RP has made to the club.

Aye ****in right Rod. Just how much money have you wasted on paying off dud managers, who in turn paid of dud signings?

I'd bet its run into millions over your fantastic term as leader. GTF Petrie.

25-04-2014, 02:54 PM
Aye ****in right Rod. Just how much money have you wasted on paying off dud managers, who in turn paid of dud signings?

BH

Who would you wish to see as a replacement, and on what basis ?

25-04-2014, 03:02 PM
BH

I have absolutely no idea, although why would i?:confused:

25-04-2014, 03:02 PM

My point is I don't believe the 'no payment' .. benefits are payment (c) HMRC :wink: I motivated by mis-trust and a lack of confidence in the Board - in particular RP. Thankfully, I am not alone and more are wakening up to his perpetual shortcomings.

Seems also I don't have a monopoly on mud-slinging ..

25-04-2014, 03:05 PM

25-04-2014, 03:06 PM
I have absolutely no idea, although why would i?:confused:

Thanks

25-04-2014, 03:07 PM
BH

Why do folk continue to ask this? How the hell are we meant to pick? It's the job of the board. What happens if Petrie walked or god forbid something happened. It's the owner and rest of the board to sort out who we get. To start with Motherwell have a good chairmen, St. Johnston have a good chairman, Dundee Utd have a good chairmen, Aberdeen have a good chairmen.

These clubs all doing well and getting players we seem to struggle to get. They aren't in any financial bother either. Rods time has been and gone.

Please can someone just answer me this.. What good is he doing now? Everything is completed bar what we actually want and need A ****ING TEAM. He's rotten and a complete clown when it comes to the football side of things. How many managers he got wrong? How much has he paid off in comp? How many deals have fallen through because of this imbecile??

Please answer me that?

25-04-2014, 03:10 PM

I think we are all fed up with your childish rumours (which have been exposed), and your so called financial expertise.

Do us all a favour and only post when you have actual facts on Hibernian FC.

25-04-2014, 03:14 PM
Thanks

No problem, just as in any other position at the club i dont know who would be a decent replacement. I have not been paid a good salary to source replacements for new managers in the past, but i'd love to know just what kind of check Petrie has done when appointing our new muppets?

We have no continuity or plan on the way we play football. Each manager that comes in wants obviously a winning team to start with, but we as fans will put up with a winning side, but what we wont put up with is a losing side that plays the most boring style of football.

Petrie has brought in manager after manager who change our style from on the ground passing football to launch it ****in long.

No wonder we pay so many players off. STF appointed Petrie all those years ago, its clearly failed over the last 7 years. How often would anyone allow failure like this at any other club?

For this reason i'd love it if STF would leave the club, thanks for saving us but for ****s sake that was nearly 25 years ago, we have said thank you for long enough.

25-04-2014, 03:16 PM
Your comments re: STF, these are based on what?

You know the man personally? Spent lots of time with him?

He doesn't really give a monkeys about football.

I nabbed him a couple of years ago at an event in Princes St Gardens and he said, exasperatedly :"When are Hibs gonna win something?".

Of course that was two years ago. If enough pressure is put on STF he could release some more cash in my opinion.

It wouldn't do to slag him off.

25-04-2014, 03:19 PM
No problem, just as in any other position at the club i dont know who would be a decent replacement. I have not been paid a good salary to source replacements for new managers in the past, but i'd love to know just what kind of check Petrie has done when appointing our new muppets?

We have no continuity or plan on the way we play football. Each manager that comes in wants obviously a winning team to start with, but we as fans will put up with a winning side, but what we wont put up with is a losing side that plays the most boring style of football.

Petrie has brought in manager after manager who change our style from on the ground passing football to launch it ****in long.

No wonder we pay so many players off. STF appointed Petrie all those years ago, its clearly failed over the last 7 years. How often would anyone allow failure like this at any other club?

For this reason i'd love it if STF would leave the club, thanks for saving us but for ****s sake that was nearly 25 years ago, we have said thank you for long enough.

So who have you got in mind to replace STF- giving assurances that the long tem future / stability of the club is secure ?

25-04-2014, 03:21 PM
So who have you got in mind to replace STF- giving assurances that the long tem future / stability of the club is secure ?

No one, it's all over if Farmer leaves Hibs must close down end of thread!!!!!!

25-04-2014, 03:24 PM
No one, it's all over if Farmer leaves Hibs must close down end of thread!!!!!!

Succession plans will be in place now for STF and RP.

25-04-2014, 03:25 PM

No idea, i expect Hibs to close the doors when he eventually pops his clogs, obviously once we have ended up like Porstmouth or Leeds United naturally.

25-04-2014, 03:29 PM
Succession plans will be in place now for STF and RP.

Farmer needs to sell and take Rod too. We won't go tits up because of our stupid neighbours did. Folk need to chill out with all this "but we're doomed without Rod."

We are the best buy in Scotland outwith the old firm. Back to my other posts what good are they doing right now??

25-04-2014, 03:29 PM
No idea, i expect Hibs to close the doors when he eventually pops his clogs, obviously once we have ended up like Porstmouth or Leeds United naturally.

see above

25-04-2014, 03:31 PM
Farmer needs to sell and take Rod too. We won't go tits up because of our stupid neighbours did. Folk need to chill out with all this "but we're doomed without Rod."

We are the best buy in Scotland outwith the old firm. Back to my other posts what good are they doing right now??

Who is your top three buyers ?

25-04-2014, 03:32 PM
Who is your top three buyers ?

Man city owner.
Chelsea owner.
Liverpool owner.

25-04-2014, 03:36 PM
Man city owner.
Chelsea owner.
Liverpool owner.

Cool - take Man city -ot re about the other two :greengrin

25-04-2014, 03:54 PM

Aye, and this was the fans money not his or Sir Toms, folk forget that it is not costing them a jot all these mistakes it's us the fans who are shortchanged.

25-04-2014, 04:00 PM
Why do folk continue to ask this? How the hell are we meant to pick? It's the job of the board. What happens if Petrie walked or god forbid something happened. It's the owner and rest of the board to sort out who we get. To start with Motherwell have a good chairmen, St. Johnston have a good chairman, Dundee Utd have a good chairmen, Aberdeen have a good chairmen.

Did Dundee Utd not want Fenlon but couldn't afford him?

25-04-2014, 04:02 PM
The Farmer family could keep the club forever for me, it's the other clown i want out.

25-04-2014, 04:03 PM
Aye, and this was the fans money not his or Sir Toms, folk forget that it is not costing them a jot all these mistakes it's us the fans who are shortchanged.

I've had a season now for all but two of the last twenty and I am trying to work out what that's cost me but it will be a lot less that it's cost Tom Farmer.

25-04-2014, 04:04 PM
My point is I don't believe the 'no payment' .. benefits are payment (c) HMRC :wink: I motivated by mis-trust and a lack of confidence in the Board - in particular RP. Thankfully, I am not alone and more are wakening up to his perpetual shortcomings.

I am 100% certain that your assertion that RP has taken payment via a groupcompany has been shown up as pish several times on here previously and that each time you have produced the square root of hee haw to back up your allegations, so for me it is purely mischievous mud-slinging and imho is done with the sole intention of implying RP is dishonest and is trying to deceive the Hibs support.

There are loads of things to criticise Petrie for without the need to slander him.

25-04-2014, 04:05 PM
I am 100% certain that your assertion that RP has taken payment via a groupcompany has been shown up as pish several times on here previously and that each time you have produced the square root of hee haw to back up your allegations, so for me it is purely mischievous mud-slinging and imho is done with the sole intention of implying RP is dishonest and is trying to deceive the Hibs support.

There are loads of things to criticise Petrie for without the need to slander him.

25-04-2014, 04:05 PM

What benefits does he get?

25-04-2014, 04:08 PM

I have no idea whatsoever if he's been given some sort of payment outside the group under the Hibernian umbrella, i just wonder why anyone would do his job for free?

Perhaps because he's doing it for free and putting less hours in IS the reason he as a person has performed so poorly over the last few years?

25-04-2014, 04:13 PM

Who actually said that?

25-04-2014, 04:16 PM
I have no idea whatsoever if he's been given some sort of payment outside the group under the Hibernian umbrella, i just wonder why anyone would do his job for free?

Perhaps because he's doing it for free and putting less hours in IS the reason he as a person has performed so poorly over the last few years?

I certainly think that people have been spread too thinly in key positions at the club, so you may well be onto something with your last point.

25-04-2014, 04:29 PM
Aye, and this was the fans money not his or Sir Toms, folk forget that it is not costing them a jot all these mistakes it's us the fans who are shortchanged. Im sure as majority shareholder and major shareholder they don't give a flying one that the team is toiling on the park. :agree: It wont be detrimental in the slightest.:rolleyes: Those daft fans will just stump up every time.

25-04-2014, 04:40 PM
Who actually said that?

People are acting like Hibs can't survive without him. Ok you obviously think he's doing great I don't.

I would like someone to answer what good is he actually doing now though?

As for Utd wanting Fenlon that's only one mistake, how many has Rod had??

25-04-2014, 04:45 PM
People are acting like Hibs can't survive without him. Ok you obviously think he's doing great I don't.

When did I say that either?

25-04-2014, 04:47 PM
When did I say that either?

Jeezo, ok let's clear this up.

Do you back Rod as things stand? Do you think he is doing a good job? Do you think we should be looking for a new owner?

25-04-2014, 04:52 PM
Jeezo, ok let's clear this up.

Do you back Rod as things stand? Do you think he is doing a good job? Do you think we should be looking for a new owner?

The managers not doing a good job and Rod has to take some of the blame for that but he (TB) should be given time to do it. Whether that involves Rod or not remains to be seen but the guy who owns the club wants him there and wishes he had 100 of him.

So you can stop making stuff up now. Jeezo.

25-04-2014, 04:59 PM
The managers not doing a good job and Rod has to take some of the blame for that but he (TB) should be given time to do it. Whether that involves Rod or not remains to be seen but the guy who owns the club wants him there and wishes he had 100 of him.

So you can stop making stuff up now. Jeezo.

I hope Butcher stays as he needs time that I agree. As for Mr Farmer that says it all. "He wants 100 of him" the same man that hasn't a clue how to compete on a football level. He along with Rod should be long gone.

Ruining the club from the heart out.

You can try be smart all you like, anyone can dissect any post to suit themselves me included but there are still a few on here who refuse to even consider Petrie and Farmer can do no wrong.

Actually you also dodged my question.

Do you think he should stay?
Do you think he's doing a good job right now?

25-04-2014, 05:03 PM
You can try be smart all you like, anyone can dissect any post to suit themselves me included but there are still a few on here who refuel to even consider Petrie and Farmer can do no wrong.

Again I cant see any posts saying Petrie and Farmer can do no wrong. Not being smart but where are they?

What I can see is posters who have been totally discredited by posting nonsense masquerading as being ITK.

25-04-2014, 05:06 PM
I hope Butcher stays as he needs time that I agree. As for Mr Farmer that says it all. "He wants 100 of him" the same man that hasn't a clue how to compete on a football level. He along with Rod should be long gone. Ruining the club from the heart out. You can try be smart all you like, anyone can dissect any post to suit themselves me included but there are still a few on here who refuse to even consider Petrie and Farmer can do no wrong.

TC. I have to admit that I was one of RP fervent supporters and think what he has down to the infrastructure of the club is excellent. HOWEVER. Since 2007 (CIS cup Win) when have went from disaster to disaster and yeah we have had poor managers and players but let's face it.... Who hires and fires.

If we don't turn things round (which I think we will do btw) and butcher is emptied then that should be the signal for the charisma king Petrie to GTF.

25-04-2014, 05:07 PM
Again I cant see any posts saying Petrie and Farmer can do no wrong. Not being smart but where are they?

What I can see is posters who have been totally discredited by posting nonsense masquerading as being ITK.

Your arrogance is hilarious. Sorry for posting some info that actually happened about a player and agent. If this doesn't sit well with you that's not my problem.

Love how folk think people lie just because they have an agenda. I think you will find I was fully backing Petrie when Bolton changed their terms regarding the Wylde deal.

But hey... "How dare I pretend to be in the know."

25-04-2014, 05:09 PM
TC. I have to admit that I was one of RP fervent supporters and think what he has down to the infrastructure of the club is excellent. HOWEVER. Since 2007 (CIS cup Win) when have went from disaster to disaster and yeah we have had poor managers and players but let's face it.... Who hires and fires.

If we don't turn things round (which I think we will do btw) and butcher is emptied then that should be the signal for the charisma king Petrie to GTF.

I was as well. Until I dare I say it spoke to people who deal with him. Also seeing how he runs things. He's done ZERO when we really should have kicked on.

25-04-2014, 05:12 PM
Your arrogance is hilarious. Sorry for posting some info that actually happened about a player and agent. If this doesn't sit well with you that's not my problem.

​I wasn't referring to you but hey ho.

Love how folk think people lie just because they have an agenda. I think you will find I was fully backing Petrie when Bolton changed their terms regarding the Wylde deal.

Again, I wasn't referring to you but hey ho, what's the definition of arrogance again?

But hey... "How dare I pretend to be in the know."

Finally I wasn't referring to you.

25-04-2014, 05:13 PM

Two things.

First of all, that's not really a fair question - most people on here won't be close enough to what goes on at Utd to know what might be considered 'good' or 'bad' decisions.

Regardless, I don't think it's fair to criticise them or us for wanting Fenlon. We have the luxury of judging managerial appointments in hindsight. The vast majority don't work out the way any club wants - I read that if you remove Wenger from the equation, the average tenure in the EPL is less than thirteen months (possible less than a year now that Moyes will have reduced the average)!

All our appointments have been reasonable, on paper. There were some doubters for every one but a lot of us were very dubious about Mowbray!

Unless the appointment was a complete leftfield one I think the criteria for judging Petrie are how the manager is backed and what happens if he doesn't perform. The managers seem to have been backed and for all Collins seems to have moaned about the budget, let's not forget that came just as we opened the training centre he was so keen on us spending on!

I think Petrie can be seen to be at fault over the delay in getting rid of Calderwood. At the same time I can understand that he may have held back because he probably felt criticised for bowing to pressure with the likes of Mixu and was aware we were lacking stability. I certainly remember a few of his appointments being greeted on here with posts along the likes of "They need at least two years to build their team" followed a matter of months later by the "Get Rid" campaigns starting to grow.

I certainly don't envy the position he or any other person in his role has - a thankless task that few of his critics seem to take the time to acknowledge, appreciate or even attempt to show how they would do differently. But then again that doesn't really surprise me, going by many of the posts directed at him.......

25-04-2014, 05:15 PM
I was as well. Until I dare I say it spoke to people who deal with him. Also seeing how he runs things. He's done ZERO when we really should have kicked on.

Indeed TC indeed. Unbelievable tbh. I now honestly think it's make or break for him.

25-04-2014, 05:19 PM
Two things.

First of all, that's not really a fair question - most people on here won't be close enough to what goes on at Utd to know what might be considered 'good' or 'bad' decisions.

Regardless, I don't think it's fair to criticise them or us for wanting Fenlon. We have the luxury of judging managerial appointments in hindsight. The vast majority don't work out the way any club wants - I read that if you remove Wenger from the equation, the average tenure in the EPL is less than thirteen months (possible less than a year now that Moyes will have reduced the average)!

All our appointments have been reasonable, on paper. There were some doubters for every one but a lot of us were very dubious about Mowbray!

Unless the appointment was a complete leftfield one I think the criteria for judging Petrie is how the manager is backed and what happens if he doesn't perform. The managers seem to have been backed and for all Collins seems to have moaned about the budget, let's not forget that came just as we opened the training centre he was so keen on us spending on!

I think Petrie can be seen to be at fault over the delay in getting rid of Calderwood. At the same time I can understand that he may have held back because he probably felt criticised for bowing to pressure with the likes of Mixu and was aware we were lacking stability. I certainly remember a few of his appointments being greeted on here with posts along the likes of "They need at least two years to build their team" followed a matter of months later by the "Get Rid" campaigns starting to grow.

I certainly don't envy the position he or any other person in his role has - a thankless task that few of his critics seem to take the time to acknowledge, appreciate or even attempt to show how they would do differently. But then again that doesn't really surprise me, going by many of the posts directed at him.......

Fair post this, what I think his problem is was trying to please Hibs fans while getting the cheap option of a manager. But whether or not it looked good on paper I feel that he's had to many failures take charge and surely the owner should be looking into that.

It's not an easy job that's for sure but Rod makes life very difficult for himself. He doesn't do enough for the playing side IMO and I think he should step aside.

25-04-2014, 05:20 PM
Finally I wasn't referring to you.

In that case I apologise.

stevejordan
25-04-2014, 05:37 PM

Even when Petrie took a step back and appointed the guys to appoint a Manager with seemingly no input from Petrie and they messed up by appointing Paddy now Petrie is back steering the ship the appointment of Butcher is looking like another mess up time will tell.

It is hard to figure out how all these Managers get it so wrong it has to be something else that is causing them to fail too many have came through the door now with the same outcome is it the David Moyes type effect he was a good Manager at a small club maybee we are pitching our sights too low going for the cheaper option who are small time managers good at a small club if we could attract maybee a bigger name Manager someone like Malky Mackay who would get respect or a foreign Manager who ever replaces Butcher Petrie must not be involved in the selection process in any way shape or form.

25-04-2014, 05:41 PM
Even when Petrie took a step back and appointed the guys to appoint a Manager with seemingly no input from Petrie and they messed up by appointing Paddy now Petrie is back steering the ship the appointment of Butcher is looking like another mess up time will tell. It is hard to figure out how all these Managers get it so wrong it has to be something else that is causing them to fail too many have came through the door now with the same outcome is it the David Moyes type effect he was a good Manager at a small club maybee we are pitching our sights too low going for the cheaper option who are small time managers good at a small club if we could attract maybee a bigger name Manager someone like Malky Mackay who would get respect or a foreign Manager who ever replaces Butcher Petrie must not be involved in the selection process in any way shape or form.

I don't agree with Butcher being another mess (not yet anyway). The state we are in is an accumulation of bad managers buying bad players and Butcher is now picking up the pieces.

I am happy for him to remain meantime and hopefully he will get it right come the summer.

25-04-2014, 05:43 PM
Fair post this, what I think his problem is was trying to please Hibs fans while getting the cheap option of a manager. But whether or not it looked good on paper I feel that he's had to many failures take charge and surely the owner should be looking into that.

It's not an easy job that's for sure but Rod makes life very difficult for himself. He doesn't do enough for the playing side IMO and I think he should step aside.

That's the bit that intrigues me TBH. I didn't think Collins was a good appointment initially because of his lack of experience but his ethos and attitude won me over. Without getting into the 'why', it's just a crying shame that we didn't take the 81/19 and the keepball v Rangers and make that the norm.

Mixu and Yogi were probably cheap in relative terms, but then again both could claim to arrive with a reasonable degree of success and decent football, Hughes at a higher level admittedly.

I'm not sure how much of their appointments was necessarily an appeasement and how much was simply that they are two strong personalities who RP would have known and felt a relative degree of trust in. And I suppose the other thing is we say 'cheap' but does that mean that left some wiggle room in the budget for players :dunno:

147lothian
25-04-2014, 06:01 PM
I hope Butcher stays as he needs time that I agree. As for Mr Farmer that says it all. "He wants 100 of him" the same man that hasn't a clue how to compete on a football level. He along with Rod should be long gone.

Ruining the club from the heart out.

You can try be smart all you like, anyone can dissect any post to suit themselves me included but there are still a few on here who refuse to even consider Petrie and Farmer can do no wrong.

Actually you also dodged my question.

Do you think he should stay?
Do you think he's doing a good job right now?

Good point, some people seem to have had their horizons lowered so much that they think we are a provincial club, we shouldn't be miles away from true provincial clubs like the St Johnstones and M'Well's, it's on Petries watch that we got into this state, my message to Petrie is go, go now and let someone else realize the potential that's at a big city club and move us forward, to where we should be

25-04-2014, 06:27 PM
Good point, some people seem to have had their horizons lowered so much that they think we are a provincial club, we shouldn't be miles away from true provincial clubs like the St Johnstones and M'Well's, it's on Petries watch that we got into this state, my message to Petrie is go, go now and let someone else realize the potential that's at a big city club and move us forward, to where we should be

Kind of club that has urban fans :wink: :greengrin

Gordy M
25-04-2014, 06:34 PM

Before i start, im undecided whether petrie should stay or go. My issue is, what would we expect another chairman to do that petrie isnt? Ive trawled through this thread and can only find folk saying' he should be more of a football man, or he should be more ambitious, or more interested in the football side of things'. What does that actually mean in practical terms? What would the new guy do that is different to what petrie is/isnt doing?Im just interested to see what changes people think would happen with a new man at the helm?

147lothian
25-04-2014, 06:39 PM
Kind of club that has urban fans :wink: :greengrin

Urban fan's weh hey, TB and more importantly SM did a great job at ICT, he needs time to bring his team in, that won't happen till next season, so the time will be granted from this Urban fan

25-04-2014, 06:42 PM
I think we are all fed up with your childish rumours (which have been exposed), and your so called financial expertise.

:faf: We've been here before and you were wrong then too.

25-04-2014, 06:48 PM
Urban fan's weh hey, TB and more importantly SM did a great job at ICT, he needs time to bring his team in, that won't happen till next season, so the time will be granted from this Urban fan

Back in the day we even used to say teams needed time to gel. While we all enjoy boards like this, they thrive on having constant posting and discussion. Invariably that seems to reduce the tolerance folk have for managers or clubs to get it right.

25-04-2014, 06:49 PM
Before i start, im undecided whether petrie should stay or go. My issue is, what would we expect another chairman to do that petrie isnt? Ive trawled through this thread and can only find folk saying' he should be more of a football man, or he should be more ambitious, or more interested in the football side of things'. What does that actually mean in practical terms? What would the new guy do that is different to what petrie is/isnt doing?Im just interested to see what changes people think would happen with a new man at the helm?

good point :agree:, although i'm not his fav fan at this moment in time, some are very vociferous in wanting him out but offer no feasible alternatives

25-04-2014, 07:15 PM
I don't agree with Butcher being another mess (not yet anyway). The state we are in is an accumulation of bad managers buying bad players and Butcher is now picking up the pieces.

I am happy for him to remain meantime and hopefully he will get it right come the summer.

I agree with first part in bold, but the second part he seems to not be picking up the pieces but adding to them if anything.

25-04-2014, 07:47 PM
I agree with first part in bold, but the second part he seems to not be picking up the pieces but adding to them if anything.

Butcher hasn't signed anyone that will be staying at Easter Road beyond the summer when the major rebuilding job needs to be done.

What he has done has brought through Forster and Stanton to the point they are generally first names on the team sheet each week and allowed players like Handling, Cummings and Harris to get much more playing time than they were ever likely to get under Fenlon.
His arrival also coincided with an upturn in performances from Hanlon and Stevenson who are recognised as being two of the more "professional" players on our books (and IMO the loss of Hanlon has been a major factor in our awful form for the last couple of months)

25-04-2014, 08:24 PM
Butcher hasn't signed anyone that will be staying at Easter Road beyond the summer when the major rebuilding job needs to be done.

What he has done has brought through Forster and Stanton to the point they are generally first names on the team sheet each week and allowed players like Handling, Cummings and Harris to get much more playing time than they were ever likely to get under Fenlon.
His arrival also coincided with an upturn in performances from Hanlon and Stevenson who are recognised as being two of the more "professional" players on our books (and IMO the loss of Hanlon has been a major factor in our awful form for the last couple of months)

Good analysis :agree:

25-04-2014, 09:09 PM
Let's face it.

The best option would be for a deputation of Hibs fans to go to Farmer and beseech him to either release some millions or appoint a more dynamic chairman.

The problem is "How do we get to Farmer?" and "Does he give a toss?"

25-04-2014, 09:28 PM
Let's face it.

The best option would be for a deputation of Hibs fans to go to Farmer and beseech him to either release some millions or appoint a more dynamic chairman.

A vans group could could approach him. Personally I think he cares for hibs but only wants to keep them ticking over, idling so glad speak. Can't see him investing heavily as it would be unlikely he'd get a return.

25-04-2014, 09:45 PM
Let's face it.

The problem for me is with what you describe as your best option, which is in two parts.

1. Beseeching for millions

To do what exactly? To give to a manager who some fans don't trust already, to spend money on his choices? This place is bad enough given we have a relatively limited idea of our relatively limited budget. Can you imagine the carnage if we thought Butcher had a colloquial 'war chest' of 4 million? There would be uproar if we signed players we thought weren't worthy and there would be uproar if we didn't capture players we thought we should, even though that happens to every team every year. Rightly so, no one on here has a 100% picture of our player budget and that's fine because regardless, it should be enough to have us challenging for second and challenging for cups. And I emphasise challenging, rather than achieving, because these things are not all within our control. The fact that it's not happening is as much to do with the turnover and instability as anything IMO.

2. More dynamic chairman

I read lots of criticism about RP from people. I challenge any one of them to actually tell us what his diary looks like, what he actually really does - not hearsay or blah-blah-blah about jobs with the SFA/SPL/SPFL/UN/NATO, but what he actually does. I don't think people know, but they see fit to criticise anyway :rolleyes:

That notwithstanding, I understand some people feel there's more that could be done. We never see the specifics though - lots of talk about being more dynamic, high-performing etc etc but what does that actually mean in practice? If it's a good idea I'm sure the club would be interested - the experience of those engaging with the club over the last couple of years seems to suggest that's the case :dunno:

25-04-2014, 09:59 PM

Couple of obvious things for me. The chairman or CEO should be driving and maximising the clubs revenue streams. Petrie has overseen a period of c5 years of crowds dropping. And several decisions which ultimately have not worked out - the Calderwood fiasco notably which made his position untenable IMO.

Secondly we need to make the best of the resources we do have. Again Petrie has overseen a period where that blatantly has not happened. Ridiculous turnover of managers and players. The buck stops with Petrie, in the past 5 years plus we have totally failed.

I do think comments along the lines of "splash the cash" are reductive to this debate. There is no money to spend over and above the revenue we generate! But we can clearly do better with our current budget and a new CEO could come in, show some vision and give the club an identity again, other than being a total laughing stock for continual under achievement.

HibsMax
25-04-2014, 10:04 PM
Lots of replies and I haven't read all of them so this may have been discussed already.

The really worrying thing for me has been that even though we've had numerous changes in players and managers over the past several years, there has been little improvement. By a process of elimination, the only people left to replace are those at the top. What happens if Hibs does get a new board and we still continue to fail? Who gets the blame then? This is not a pro-Petrie post. I am not saying that we cannot / should not look to replace him but it concerns me that we could feasibly end up in a position where everyone has been replaced and we continue to circle the drain.

25-04-2014, 10:15 PM
The problem for me is with what you describe as your best option, which is in two parts.

To do what exactly? To give to a manager who some fans don't trust already, to spend money on his choices? This place is bad enough given we have a relatively limited idea of our relatively limited budget. Can you imagine the carnage if we thought Butcher had a colloquial 'war chest' of 4 million? There would be uproar if we signed players we thought weren't worthy and there would be uproar if we didn't capture players we thought we should, even though that happens to every team every year. Rightly so, no one on here has a 100% picture of our player budget and that's fine because regardless, it should be enough to have us challenging for second and challenging for cups. And I emphasise challenging, rather than achieving, because these things are not all within our control. The fact that it's not happening is as much to do with the turnover and instability as anything IMO.

2. More dynamic chairman

I read lots of criticism about RP from people. I challenge any one of them to actually tell us what his diary looks like, what he actually really does - not hearsay or blah-blah-blah about jobs with the SFA/SPL/SPFL/UN/NATO, but what he actually does. I don't think people know, but they see fit to criticise anyway :rolleyes:

That notwithstanding, I understand some people feel there's more that could be done. We never see the specifics though - lots of talk about being more dynamic, high-performing etc etc but what does that actually mean in practice? If it's a good idea I'm sure the club would be interested - the experience of those engaging with the club over the last couple of years seems to suggest that's the case :dunno:

To pick up on your last point, is it not telling that many of the more innovative ideas in recent years on the commercial side seem to have come via fan group suggestions?

Perhaps I'm being harsh but I'm not sure what ideas are coming from board level to materially benefit the club?

25-04-2014, 11:07 PM
When you look at what's happening to other clubs due to financial mismanagement, I think we should count ourselves lucky we've had someone like RP holding the purse strings. Maybe it is time for a change but let's recognise the contribution RP has made to the club.yes how lucky we are tae be in the bottom 6 for the fourth time on the bounce, cannae think what anybody is pissed off about :rolleyes:

25-04-2014, 11:52 PM
To pick up on your last point, is it not telling that many of the more innovative ideas in recent years on the commercial side seem to have come via fan group suggestions?

Perhaps I'm being harsh but I'm not sure what ideas are coming from board level to materially benefit the club?

Show your proof?

Patatango
26-04-2014, 12:35 AM

2. More dynamic chairman

I sort of see where you're coming from but for me, Hibs are a football team and RP's main job is to get the football team performing to the best of it's resources...that clearly aint happening

majorhibs
26-04-2014, 02:10 AM
Lots of replies and I haven't read all of them so this may have been discussed already.

The really worrying thing for me has been that even though we've had numerous changes in players and managers over the past several years, there has been little improvement. By a process of elimination, the only people left to replace are those at the top. What happens if Hibs does get a new board and we still continue to fail? Who gets the blame then? This is not a pro-Petrie post. I am not saying that we cannot / should not look to replace him but it concerns me that we could feasibly end up in a position where everyone has been replaced and we continue to circle the drain.

I think wi your previous o defending people past their sell by date & flying in the face o reason you should gie chairmen a bit o a miss! Talk about scared o the day you never saw!

26-04-2014, 05:53 AM
A vans group could could approach him.

Hertz? :-)

26-04-2014, 06:25 AM
I simply do not believe a word the man says.

When RP speaks it's generally through convenience for him - convenient for him to deflect criticism.

There's feigned concern at recent AGMs for the offering from the club to the fans. Yet, nothing changes - indeed things have got steadily worse.

Take the sacking of Yogi - I'm sure I read on here that RP seemed upset/close to tears at telling the AGM about having to let Yogi go. The next reference though is 'the previous incumbent'. Each statement being convenient at the time, and convenient for RP.

If RP was genuine, he should walk. He is not daft, he can see the demise and it is clear he cannot halt it. If he cared, there should be change. Action. Results. A sustained upturn. Instead we continue to slide.

Some posters repeatedly ask who the alternative to RP, and seek names - and there in lies the rub. Hibs - and by Hibs I mean STF, and perhaps RP himself, are doing nothing to seek an alternative. A change. An improvement. There is a lack of ambition, a flawed business model as it is not affecting positive change, a culture within ER that does not function and is not fit for purpose, for change, for improvement.

What we have is a mirror of the man himself - pale and stale. We are dis-functional, in disarray and in decline. What has happened on the park at ER is unacceptable, the decline since 2007 is a staggering fall and it is impacting off the park in poorer attendances, atmosphere at ER etc.

We need change. Change at the top. We need it soon, and we have needed it for years. Persevering with things the way they are is not working - it should not even be an option.

I have held this view that we needed change at the top for a long time - too long. It is getting clearer and clearer to more and more that change is overdue. Sadly, Sir Tom's distance from the club indicates change is still a long way off. God, knows what state we'll be in when he does finally act and there is change. There's a danger we'll fall even further, out of the SPFL, before there's change.

26-04-2014, 06:44 AM

When RP speaks it's generally through convenience for him - convenient for him to deflect criticism.

There's feigned concern at recent AGMs for the offering from the club to the fans. Yet, nothing changes - indeed things have got steadily worse.

Take the sacking of Yogi - I'm sure I read on here that RP seemed upset/close to tears at telling the AGM about having to let Yogi go. The next reference though is 'the previous incumbent'. Each statement being convenient at the time, and convenient for RP.

If RP was genuine, he should walk. He is not daft, he can see the demise and it is clear he cannot halt it. If he cared, there should be change. Action. Results. A sustained upturn. Instead we continue to slide.

Some posters repeatedly ask who the alternative to RP, and seek names - and there in lies the rub. Hibs - and by Hibs I mean STF, and perhaps RP himself, are doing nothing to seek an alternative. A change. An improvement. There is a lack of ambition, a flawed business model as it is not affecting positive change, a culture within ER that does not function and is not fit for purpose, for change, for improvement.

What we have is a mirror of the man himself - pale and stale. We are dis-functional, in disarray and in decline. What has happened on the park at ER is unacceptable, the decline since 2007 is a staggering fall and it is impacting off the park in poorer attendances, atmosphere at ER etc.

We need change. Change at the top. We need it soon, and we have needed it for years. Persevering with things the way they are is not working - it should not even be an option.

I have held this view that we needed change at the top for a long time - too long. It is getting clearer and clearer to more and more that change is overdue. Sadly, Sir Tom's distance from the club indicates change is still a long way off. God, knows what state we'll be in when he does finally act and there is change. There's a danger we'll fall even further, out of the SPFL, before there's change.

Sir Tom's distance from the club? I reckon he's at easter road more often than you!

26-04-2014, 06:49 AM
I simply do not believe a word the man says. When RP speaks it's generally through convenience for him - convenient for him to deflect criticism. There's feigned concern at recent AGMs for the offering from the club to the fans. Yet, nothing changes - indeed things have got steadily worse. Take the sacking of Yogi - I'm sure I read on here that RP seemed upset/close to tears at telling the AGM about having to let Yogi go. The next reference though is 'the previous incumbent'. Each statement being convenient at the time, and convenient for RP. If RP was genuine, he should walk. He is not daft, he can see the demise and it is clear he cannot halt it. If he cared, there should be change. Action. Results. A sustained upturn. Instead we continue to slide. Some posters repeatedly ask who the alternative to RP, and seek names - and there in lies the rub. Hibs - and by Hibs I mean STF, and perhaps RP himself, are doing nothing to seek an alternative. A change. An improvement. There is a lack of ambition, a flawed business model as it is not affecting positive change, a culture within ER that does not function and is not fit for purpose, for change, for improvement. What we have is a mirror of the man himself - pale and stale. We are dis-functional, in disarray and in decline. What has happened on the park at ER is unacceptable, the decline since 2007 is a staggering fall and it is impacting off the park in poorer attendances, atmosphere at ER etc. We need change. Change at the top. We need it soon, and we have needed it for years. Persevering with things the way they are is not working - it should not even be an option. I have held this view that we needed change at the top for a long time - too long. It is getting clearer and clearer to more and more that change is overdue. Sadly, Sir Tom's distance from the club indicates change is still a long way off. God, knows what state we'll be in when he does finally act and there is change. There's a danger we'll fall even further, out of the SPFL, before there's change.

Top marks TQM!!

Excellent post.

What I can't get my head round is why RP is happy with what he is seeing.

A successful team on the pitch means more bums on seats which means more money in the bank for the club.

After seeing the turn out for the Derby surely he needs to realise that even a small improvement will see an upturn in fans.

As I mention on an earlier thread I was a fervent backer of Petrie but for me it's time to change and get people into the club that are ambitious and want to see a successful Hibernian FC.

No excuses IMHO.... Stadium finished, training centre.... No more pish Mr Petrie.

I now think his position is untenable and we need a fresh approach at the top.

26-04-2014, 06:53 AM
Sir Tom's distance from the club? I reckon he's at easter road more often than you!

He needs to open his eyes then.

Maybe better described as distance from the fans, or distance from the issues .. But I know you get my point entirely :aok:

26-04-2014, 07:04 AM
He needs to open his eyes then.

Maybe better described as distance from the fans, or distance from the issues .. But I know you get my point entirely :aok:

I don't trust a word you say, you've been called out for spouting lies about RP many times. :wink:

26-04-2014, 07:06 AM
I don't trust a word you say, you've been called out for spouting lies about RP many times. :wink:

Of course I have :wink:

Just you keep your head buried in the sand though :wink:

26-04-2014, 07:34 AM

Aye, trouble is he thinks we're playing well !.

26-04-2014, 07:39 AM

A successful team on the pitch means more bums on seats which means more money in the bank for the club.

First point I don't think he is which is why we change manager. If he was happy he would leave things alone.

Second point is accurate but if the past is any indicator we end up losing money as we don't generate enough income.

We need to find a workable compromise.

26-04-2014, 07:45 AM
Of course I have :wink:

Just you keep your head buried in the sand though :wink:

My head buried in the sand? Explain that one please.

26-04-2014, 07:48 AM
My head buried in the sand? Explain that one please.

The one remark you made was re me - not the club's issues. What about the thousands also not at ER alongside STF? The focus should be on that. Should it not?

26-04-2014, 07:52 AM
Top marks TQM!!

Excellent post.

After seeing the turn out for the Derby surely he needs to realise that even a small improvement will see an upturn in fans.

As I mention on an earlier thread I was a fervent backer of Petrie but for me it's time to change and get people into the club that are ambitious and want to see a successful Hibernian FC.

No excuses IMHO.... Stadium finished, training centre.... No more pish Mr Petrie.

I now think his position is untenable and we need a fresh approach at the top.

I don't think he's happy - I think he's not capable to affecting any improvement.

26-04-2014, 07:57 AM
If we sat down with a blank piece of paper to list the qualities that we want in a chief executive, how many boxes would Petrie tick?

With due respect to our beancounting brethren, I'd prefer someone more dynamic. Someone from a marketing background with clear ideas about promoting the club and communicating with fans so that the solid reliable accountant is in the background making sure that the numbers add up and that we know exactly how much the manager has to spend.

26-04-2014, 07:58 AM
I don't think he's happy - I think he's not capable to affecting any improvement.

Thing is if we were as poor as him in our current roles then we would be out on our *****.

The problem we have had is constant and for me he has to show some forward thinking/ambition or move on.

No excuses bout the stadium or training facility etc.

The infrastructure is there.

26-04-2014, 08:29 AM

And I'd imagine you will be saying exactly the same thing if Hibs fail to score a goal again, on Sunday.

26-04-2014, 08:43 AM

:agree: Could not agree more. If the spiral continues, STF will have the opportunity to save us again in a couple of years time. Hallelujah !!

26-04-2014, 08:48 AM

2. More dynamic chairman

He mostly works from a office in the Craigleith area next to Farmer Autocares, that's where his car is parked most of the time.

stevejordan
26-04-2014, 09:02 AM
Petrie could help matters by making some sort off announcement and details of the clubs direction huns just did this maybee we need someone to do the same type thing and spell out what we are trying to achieve over the next 3 seasons its better than the silent treatment we get right now.

147lothian
26-04-2014, 09:06 AM
The malaise at Easter Road, has been there for so long that some people seem to think we are a provincial club and should lower our ambition and become like Ostriches to the way the club is being run, it's time or change, enough is enough, Petrie going IMO would be the first step in getting rid of this low expectation mentality that permeates the club

26-04-2014, 09:08 AM
Show your proof?

Happy to be corrected but I believe the recent initiatives around ticketing came from fan feedback, the LWT group? The club also removed the Season Ticket instalment payment plan for a year only to reinstate at the request of the support.

The only positive and successful commercial idea I can think of in recent years is the East Stand stones. Solid premise and very profitable by all accounts. That is one idea, if indeed it came from the board.

What are the board doing to fill thousands of empty seats every week? Look at the shambles the club store has become, actually losing potential income as we don't understand the customers demands.

What are your examples of good work the board has done to increase revenues in past few years then?

26-04-2014, 09:09 AM
You don't plant an acorn in the morning and expect to be sitting in the shade of an Oak in the evening.

26-04-2014, 09:14 AM
You don't plant an acorn in the morning and expect to be sitting in the shade of an Oak in the evening.Aye, we just need a bit of patience. :rolleyes:

26-04-2014, 09:19 AM
Aye, we just need a bit of patience. :rolleyes:

26-04-2014, 09:45 AM
The one remark you made was re me - not the club's issues. What about the thousands also not at ER alongside STF? The focus should be on that. Should it not?

And I've passed comment on that often enough. I've long since said that change is needed. So how is my head buried in the sand?

147lothian
26-04-2014, 10:18 AM
And I've passed comment on that often enough. I've long since said that change is needed. So how is my head buried in the sand?

Your head is buried in the sand because you believe STF goes to Easter Road and your apologist posts for Petrie, but now that you say change is needed my head is spinning

26-04-2014, 10:54 AM
Petrie could help matters by making some sort off announcement and details of the clubs direction huns just did this maybee we need someone to do the same type thing and spell out what we are trying to achieve over the next 3 seasons its better than the silent treatment we get right now.

We only hear from him when he puts the begging bowl out each year for renewal of season tickets, there's always a new theme but its the same spiel.

Even when like last season people were that upset and protested, he organised a meeting with the fans, then it was suddenly cancelled. It was then rearranged with a select few invited. He then fobbed everyone off with this new 5 year plan, 5 year plan i here you say Rod, what is in this 5 year plan.

Sorry that's top secret, people like you cant know important things like that.

I dont believe one word this man says, i dont trust him to take our club forward. I dont believe he can.

26-04-2014, 11:00 AM
We only hear from him when he puts the begging bowl out each year for renewal of season tickets, there's always a new theme but its the same spiel.

Even when like last season people were that upset and protested, he organised a meeting with the fans, then it was suddenly cancelled. It was then rearranged with a select few invited. He then fobbed everyone off with this new 5 year plan, 5 year plan i here you say Rod, what is in this 5 year plan.

I dont believe one word this man says, i dont trust him to take our club forward. I dont believe he can.

Nail. Hammer. Whallop.

26-04-2014, 11:02 AM

26-04-2014, 11:24 AM
Your head is buried in the sand because you believe STF goes to Easter Road and your apologist posts for Petrie, but now that you say change is needed my head is spinning

Wtf are you talking about? I've literally seen STF at Easter Road, and where are my apologist posts about Petrie?

147lothian
26-04-2014, 11:25 AM

Gdgd post, I take my hat off to you bph

147lothian
26-04-2014, 12:00 PM
Wtf are you talking about? I've literally seen STF at Easter Road, and where are my apologist posts about Petrie?

Wolves wanted to sell Griffiths, not let him go on loan, the figure quoted was 150k, I don't know if that's the true figure or not but they wanted to sell him then agreed to the loan when Petrie wouldn't pay for Griffiths, my reading of you disputing the 150k, led me to think you were apologising for another Petrie blunder, looking back you were probably disputing the figure not the fact Wolves wanted him off their books at that time, so I take that back

26-04-2014, 12:01 PM
Wolves wanted to sell Griffiths, not let him go on loan, the figure quoted was 150k, I don't know if that's the true figure or not but they wanted to sell him then agreed to the loan when Petrie wouldn't pay for Griffiths, my reading of you disputing the 150k, led me to think you were apologising for another Petrie blunder, looking back you were probably disputing the figure not the fact Wolves wanted him off their books at that time, so I take that back

26-04-2014, 12:22 PM

I think Wolves changing manager may have had something to with the sale not going through.

26-04-2014, 12:36 PM
Just some more figures to chuck into the pot:

13/14 League season at home so far for someone who paid £405 for an East adult season ticket.

Home league wins 4 out of 17 ................. cost to see the Hibs win a home league game so far ............£101.25

Goals 18 ................................. cost per goal so far ............ £22.50

If you chuck in travel pies and programme and heaven forbid a couple of kids it gets a lot worse.

I'm rubbish at maths, but that adds up to failure in my book and I doubt the last 4 seasons will look a lot better if I could be bothered to check.

Gordy M
26-04-2014, 01:14 PM

My worry is that, quite rightly, the fans are are saying that 'well we've changed our managers, not worked, changed players, not worked, so the only option left is to change the chairman'?? Im not sure that is the answer though. I suppose its difficult if you dont know who would follow but even if he was a dynamic forward thinking football man, then what would change on the pitch? Which is the most important thing. Steven thompson at utd is often quoted as a 'good football' chairman. What does he do differently thst affects things on the pitch?

26-04-2014, 01:41 PM
My worry is that, quite rightly, the fans are are saying that 'well we've changed our managers, not worked, changed players, not worked, so the only option left is to change the chairman'?? Im not sure that is the answer though. I suppose its difficult if you dont know who would follow but even if he was a dynamic forward thinking football man, then what would change on the pitch? Which is the most important thing. Steven thompson at utd is often quoted as a 'good football' chairman. What does he do differently thst affects things on the pitch?

He's much more hands on for starters, shows that he cares about the club, stands with the fans at games and is the first one out there giving media interviews to defend his club when required. That's just off the top of my head. I suppose we would need to ask a utd fan what they thought about him.

26-04-2014, 01:43 PM

He knows the white round thing is a baw !, Petrie only sees numbers. Thompson is much more in touch with the fans than Petrie will ever be, Thompson is a United fan, Petrie was never at a Hibs match until Farmer told him to sort it out.

26-04-2014, 01:53 PM

The problem as I see it is that there is not a drive to see us perform better - to ask for more from the staff and player. If you demand success you will get it - we don't appear to demand it and we certainly are not getting it.

It's easy for me to say this sitting on my erse with my laptop, but if I was in Petrie's shoes I'd want us to be Champions and I would want that ambition from every single member of staff. We need to demand that everyone is at the top of their game, from the shop staff, to the admin guys, the board, the players and the coaching staff, the chefs, the groundsmen, the coach drivers.

We need someone that gets everyone in Hibs' employment at a point where they understand their role in making us achieve whatever we are going to achieve. There's a story where a guy sweeping the floor at NASA got asked what he was doing, and he answered "Putting a man on the moon." He understood that he needed to get his job right to achieve the overall goal.

When you get a chairman (or woman!) like that, and hire an equally ambitious manager, and get players with similar ambition, then you have a very potent combination and you would be amazed at what you can achieve.

Unfortunately, as I see it, we have a Chairman who undoubtedly wants us to do well but let's realism dampen ambition, a board and senior staff that again want to see a winning team, but are stretched so thinly that they are not doing themselves or the club justice (through no fault of their own), a manager who wants to do well with a squad of players that appear to be pretty contented with where they are right now. There is a lack of ambition throughout.

You can see it on a matchday when the club store isn't as good as people expect, the catering and matchday experience is below par, or in the papers when players are out on the lash when we've been horsed in a game, or complaining about training, or being spoiled.

You can look at the results of the U20's this season to see where an ambitious coach (James McDonaugh) and an ambitious squad gets you.

26-04-2014, 01:56 PM
This thread - a bit like .net generally just now - reeks of Yam.

Anyway we finally have the complete infrastructure, an experienced manager and a good managerial team and (as I understand it) money available to spend in the summer. What we don't have just now is a balanced squad with the right blend of experience, youth, pace and hunger. Once Butcher starts to put that together we will be in a very different place.

In the meantime the football is 5hite and its all very much gritted teeth to try and get over the line by season end. Nothing - absolutely nothing - is going to change that between now and end of season. Even if Butcher and Petrie both walked this evening and took people's favourite 'love to hate' players with them nothing would change for the remaining games.

The only consistent factor is that everyone outside of Hibs is wishing us ill fortune. The media love it and are actively stirring it and other teams would love to see us go down because they know that if/when we get it right we will be one of the toughest teams to play in the SPL.

The only other club in this league that has got its infrastructure sorted, as far as I'm aware, is Celtic. While our being out in front on that score isn't a compensation for the state of our team it does tell me that while other clubs (like Aberdeen and Hearts) will spend the next decade worrying about funding new stadiums and stands, we will be able to focus solely on the squad and playing side.

For far, far too long we have had a dilettante squad of chancers going back years. McLeish was allowed to buy players in the debt building years and Mowbray got lucky in the youth players mixed with his player management skills. Other than that is been pretty gash. I think Butcher may be the first manager since Turnbull who won't take any 5hite from any of them. If that costs us a relegation dogfight and an almost complete squad rebuild then so be it.

I haven't been a Hibs fan all these years just to hope that one day we would somehow win the Scottish Cup in spite of ourselves rather than because of ourselves. Hughes, Calderwood and Fenlon managed to hollow out both our squad and our playing style. In my view it is time to take the pain and keep taking the pain until Butcher gets his owns squad firing. As for the to55ers who have stopped playing because of what Butcher said early on - anyone with self respect would have stepped up to either prove him wrong or get themselves in the shop window. Players who don't do that are exactly the type we need to GTF away from Hibs.

26-04-2014, 02:04 PM
This thread - a bit like .net generally just now - reeks of Yam.

Gordy M
26-04-2014, 02:34 PM
He knows the white round thing is a baw !, Petrie only sees numbers. Thompson is much more in touch with the fans than Petrie will ever be, Thompson is a United fan, Petrie was never at a Hibs match until Farmer told him to sort it out.
Yeh ok, so how does that affect us playing on the pitch? Im sorry but all you have said is that he is a fan? How does that make him pick a better manager or make the team play better? I totally understand folk being angry but i cant see how we would benefit on the park? I just get the feeling that the fans are so exasperated that the only person left to blame is petrie, and the reason for getting rid of him is cos 'he is not a fan'??
The way i look at it, is that we were almost gone. Stf came in and along with petrie have given us the best platform to perform without worrying anout other things like stadia, training grounds etc. its now up to the manager and players, to do that. Now you could argue that we dont have the right man in place in TB, but if you accept that he is the right man, which most do/did then i fail to see what more petrie could have done? Takes me back to the question, what a new chairman would do differently?
Anyway, ****** the hearts, lets do them tomo and we can discuss this in the summer looking forward to a good season next year in the prem.

Gordy M
26-04-2014, 02:38 PM
The problem as I see it is that there is not a drive to see us perform better - to ask for more from the staff and player. If you demand success you will get it - we don't appear to demand it and we certainly are not getting it.

It's easy for me to say this sitting on my erse with my laptop, but if I was in Petrie's shoes I'd want us to be Champions and I would want that ambition from every single member of staff. We need to demand that everyone is at the top of their game, from the shop staff, to the admin guys, the board, the players and the coaching staff, the chefs, the groundsmen, the coach drivers.

We need someone that gets everyone in Hibs' employment at a point where they understand their role in making us achieve whatever we are going to achieve. There's a story where a guy sweeping the floor at NASA got asked what he was doing, and he answered "Putting a man on the moon." He understood that he needed to get his job right to achieve the overall goal.

When you get a chairman (or woman!) like that, and hire an equally ambitious manager, and get players with similar ambition, then you have a very potent combination and you would be amazed at what you can achieve.

Unfortunately, as I see it, we have a Chairman who undoubtedly wants us to do well but let's realism dampen ambition, a board and senior staff that again want to see a winning team, but are stretched so thinly that they are not doing themselves or the club justice (through no fault of their own), a manager who wants to do well with a squad of players that appear to be pretty contented with where they are right now. There is a lack of ambition throughout.

You can see it on a matchday when the club store isn't as good as people expect, the catering and matchday experience is below par, or in the papers when players are out on the lash when we've been horsed in a game, or complaining about training, or being spoiled.

You can look at the results of the U20's this season to see where an ambitious coach (James McDonaugh) and an ambitious squad gets you.
I totally agree in that way of thinking matty, but do we know for a fact that petrie does dampen the ambition? The u 20s have had a great season, also under petries reign. If he is, then yes he should go, and we someone else in who does have that work outlook.

I dunno mate, i would just hate to see us get rid of someone who has us run properly, i think its a bit of a gamble and i think the manager and players need to take a bit more responsibility.?

26-04-2014, 03:00 PM
run properlyRun properly? Really? Is the last 7 years at this club your idea of things being done properly?

26-04-2014, 03:01 PM
Yeh ok, so how does that affect us playing on the pitch? Im sorry but all you have said is that he is a fan? How does that make him pick a better manager or make the team play better? I totally understand folk being angry but i cant see how we would benefit on the park? I just get the feeling that the fans are so exasperated that the only person left to blame is petrie, and the reason for getting rid of him is cos 'he is not a fan'??
The way i look at it, is that we were almost gone. Stf came in and along with petrie have given us the best platform to perform without worrying anout other things like stadia, training grounds etc. its now up to the manager and players, to do that. Now you could argue that we dont have the right man in place in TB, but if you accept that he is the right man, which most do/did then i fail to see what more petrie could have done? Takes me back to the question, what a new chairman would do differently?
Anyway, ****** the hearts, lets do them tomo and we can discuss this in the summer looking forward to a good season next year in the prem.Nah the reason is he's making a total **** of it.

26-04-2014, 03:09 PM

Loved that. Great reference.

26-04-2014, 03:15 PM

This. :agree: :top marks

26-04-2014, 03:57 PM

People criticising Petrie are Yams?

Really?

26-04-2014, 03:59 PM
You don't plant an acorn in the morning and expect to be sitting in the shade of an Oak in the evening.

Indeed. Probably need to wait about 100 years.

26-04-2014, 04:09 PM

Do us all a favour and speak on your behalf only. If/when TQM ever gets on my tits (again), I'll let him know myself.

Thanks.

26-04-2014, 04:10 PM

Really?:agree: If you dinnae think the sun rises and sets when Petrie stands up and sits down

26-04-2014, 04:14 PM
I read lots of criticism about RP from people. I challenge any one of them to actually tell us what his diary looks like, what he actually really does - not hearsay or blah-blah-blah about jobs with the SFA/SPL/SPFL/UN/NATO, but what he actually does. I don't think people know, but they see fit to criticise anyway

There has been lots of accurate info about Rodders' management style on here over the years. There's been lots of pish too but his methods have been pretty comprehensively laid out.

I don't think not having his diary for the forthcoming week negates that info.

26-04-2014, 04:17 PM

Do us all a favour and only post when you have actual facts on Hibernian FC.Maybe you should just speak for yersel :aok:

26-04-2014, 04:17 PM
:agree: If you dinnae think the sun rises and sets when Petrie stands up and sits down

Its another relegation battle under his watch, failure in any language. Yet tomorrow he will saunter around the bars behind the goal spouting the same old sheite. Its a surprise to me that someone has not put one right on the end of his smug nose. :rolleyes:

26-04-2014, 04:20 PM
Happy to be corrected but I believe the recent initiatives around ticketing came from fan feedback, the LWT group? The club also removed the Season Ticket instalment payment plan for a year only to reinstate at the request of the support.

The only positive and successful commercial idea I can think of in recent years is the East Stand stones. Solid premise and very profitable by all accounts. That is one idea, if indeed it came from the board.

What are the board doing to fill thousands of empty seats every week? Look at the shambles the club store has become, actually losing potential income as we don't understand the customers demands.

What are your examples of good work the board has done to increase revenues in past few years then?

Increased revenues mainly come from increasing attendance, whether bigger crowds or more games e.g. through Cup runs or Europe, which in itself suggests successful results which lead to more tickets being sold. It's classic virtuous and vicious circle stuff in football.

The board's primary role should be to ensure the manager has everything that's realistic at his disposal to achieve success. It's hard to argue that they haven't done that - the training centre Mowbray and Collins wanted, appointment after appointment being supported to bring in their players and a willingness to pay transfer fees, which you don't see much with our competitors - whether to bring back Derek Riordan or securing James Collins they have backed their managers and paid fees.

When you look at it overall though, by reducing the debt and running a tight ship the club have ensured that the playing budget is protected, strengthened even. That's not as glamorous as a sheikh or a Russian utilities owner coming in with a wedge of cash but it has the same effect, albeit on a much, much smaller scale.

As to specific measures to increase income, off the top of my head I can think of the Hibernian Lotto, the 'Team Talk' boards in the tunnel and the "In Your Hero's Footsteps" and "Play on the Pitch" offers. We secured a decent sponsorship package on players' hydration drinks this year, which was a new one for me. There have been various ventures around ticketing over the last few years to attract new fans, stuff like the Ladies' Day and the free ticket for a friend offers and the various price freezes and interest-free payment plans over the last few years have all been aimed at securing existing revenue and attracting new customers. I'm not sure how much of the ticketing stuff actually came solely from fans to be honest, just because people talk about it on here doesn't mean they have engineered it (which is probably a good thing given the clamour a few years ago for a Princes Street retail outlet!).

On the other hand, there is absolutely no harm in the club utilising fans' ideas if they are viable. Someone still has to implement them and the Board's role is to oversee that. I think it would be churlish to accuse them of a lack of imagination - there are clearly a range of things they are doing and they are happy to run with good ideas if someone proposes them.

It's interesting that you could only think of the stones. I think you would readily acknowledge you are a poster whose view of the Board isn't entirely positive :greengrin and I wonder whether folk in that camp subconsciously filter out some of the positives and some of the achievements? Maybe some of the pro-Board folk do similarly :dunno: :greengrin

26-04-2014, 04:22 PM
Its ironic that the one Manager (TM Aside) that Petrie appoimted and was a good un RP Managed to make a mess of this by not backing him he backed a few rebell players who are now long gone another error of judgement by Petrie.

Petrie didn't back the players. You've been told this before but come back with the same rubbish every time.

Again

Sniff

26-04-2014, 04:30 PM
Petrie didn't back the players. You've been told this before but come back with the same rubbish every time.

Again

Sniff

Yup. It's almost as tiresome as the often repeated rumour that Collins was a good manager.

26-04-2014, 04:36 PM
There has been lots of accurate info about Rodders' management style on here over the years. There's been lots of pish too but his methods have been pretty comprehensively laid out.

I don't think not having his diary for the forthcoming week negates that info.

Has there though? There's been lots of second and third-hand stuff (and I don't mean that as criticism, just being clear about the provenance) often from friends/acquaintances of agents or friends of friends of agents, or people who have spoken to players. Invariably negative, but invariably coming from people who haven't got their own way or haven't got the deal they thought they should have got etc etc. It's hard to believe that their reporting is completely objective therefore.

On the other hand we have someone who genuinely knows him and has worked closely with him for many, many years standing up in public and speaking really positively about him and it's ridiculed and mocked on here! (STF at the AGM)

You're right about the pish - not just about RP, but STF too - from the car park, to Morston Securities, to who owns East Mains right up to the consultancy fees and not paying Hanlon's physio, there's been lies and false claims after lies and false claims.

That shouldn't make either of them bulletproof but the folk who spout that rubbish should have the guts to take responsibility for their words and maybe acknowledge their mistakes. If they did that even to one-hundredth of the degree they posted the falsehoods in the first place I would have a lot more respect for them.

26-04-2014, 04:42 PM

Really?

Where did any body say that? It's like an episode of Skippy on here.

You certainly make up a lot of stuff and attribute comments to people, without them even saying it. I never posted a word and only agreed with what another poster opened with.

Interestingly you pick up on mine and not ODS's which I was replying to. Why do you think that is?

26-04-2014, 04:48 PM
Maybe you should just speak for yersel :aok:

No worries - I'll speak for myself, but probably also the other Hibs supporter's who have an ounce of business sense, as well as supporting the club.

26-04-2014, 04:52 PM
Yup. It's almost as tiresome as the often repeated rumour that Collins was a good manager.

He's understandably admired for certain reasons but let's put it this way - I wouldn't have given him, or any rookie manager, five million quid to spend. Which is what he asked for.

26-04-2014, 04:55 PM

He did arrange a meeting with the fans but he didn't cancel it.

26-04-2014, 04:57 PM
No worries - I'll speak for myself, but probably also the other Hibs supporter's who have an ounce of business sense, as well as supporting the club.

Hubris. Don't you just love it?

26-04-2014, 05:04 PM
He did arrange a meeting with the fans but he didn't cancel it.

Who cancelled it?

26-04-2014, 05:07 PM
Who cancelled it?

Not the club.

26-04-2014, 05:30 PM
:faf: We've been here before and you were wrong then too.

Noticed that you are not denying the fact that you misled / lied to fellow poster's about payment's made to RP on this thread ?

26-04-2014, 05:39 PM
Just seen the league table and Aberdeen are 31 points ahead of us, yes you did read that correct. 31 bloody points ahead of us without full fat and diet huns to worry about.

Deary me.

26-04-2014, 05:40 PM
No worries - I'll speak for myself, but probably also the other Hibs supporter's who have an ounce of business sense, as well as supporting the club.So anybody who disagrees with you and disnae think the sun rises and sets when Petrie stands up and sits down disnae support the club?

26-04-2014, 05:42 PM
Where did any body say that? It's like an episode of Skippy on here.

You certainly make up a lot of stuff and attribute comments to people, without them even saying it. I never posted a word and only agreed with what another poster opened with.

Interestingly you pick up on mine and not ODS's which I was replying to. Why do you think that is?

You agreed that this thread reeked of Yam.

So I'm asking you - or ODS - if criticising Petrie means you were a Yam.

I always enjoy reading your comments - they're universally and staunchly supportive of this tired and listless administration, and of Petrie & STF specifically.

26-04-2014, 05:42 PM
Just seen the league table and Aberdeen are 31 points ahead of us, yes you did read that correct. 31 bloody points ahead of us without full fat and diet huns to worry about.

Deary me.Come on now, I bet they still wish they had Rod Petrie though. :agree:

26-04-2014, 05:44 PM
You certainly make up a lot of stuff and attribute comments to people, without them even saying it.

Utter nonsense and I challenge you to prove that statement, or retract it please.

26-04-2014, 05:46 PM
Come on now, I bet they still wish they had Rod Petrie though. :agree:

I have not been keeping tabs on the top end of the league, but that really surprised me it was that many points. This is a bloody scandal, 31 points worse off than Aberdeen, and even more scary only 3 points better off than the gimps without their 15 point deduction. :rolleyes:

This club is rotten, and it starts right at the top with the owner and his puppet. :rolleyes:

26-04-2014, 05:49 PM
So anybody who disagrees with you and disnae think the sun rises and sets when Petrie stands up and sits down disnae support the club?

No, everyone can have their own view.

stevejordan
26-04-2014, 05:52 PM

We have been hearing about this fabled 5 year plan of Petries for donkeys now what is this plan when does it come to fruition who knows what this plan entails ?

26-04-2014, 06:11 PM
We have been hearing about this fabled 5 year plan of Petries for donkeys now what is this plan when does it come to fruition who knows what this plan entails ?5 year plan :hilarious I'd like tae ken what the plan has been for the last 7 as we've stumbled from one ****in' disaster tae another.

26-04-2014, 06:16 PM
We have been hearing about this fabled 5 year plan of Petries for donkeys now what is this plan when does it come to fruition who knows what this plan entails ?

When's Romanov building that massive new stand and hotel at the PBS?

26-04-2014, 06:23 PM
Come on now, I bet they still wish they had Rod Petrie though. :agree:What are you actually gonna do tae remove Petrie et-al (regardless of the result the morn) other than giving it the big ..:blah: on here ..?

Just a question so dinnae get aw defensive on me ..:aok:

26-04-2014, 06:26 PM
Its another relegation battle under his watch, failure in any language. Yet tomorrow he will saunter around the bars behind the goal spouting the same old sheite. Its a surprise to me that someone has not put one right on the end of his smug nose. :rolleyes:

:top marks You could not make our scenario up if you tried, some folk on here got hammered for daring to say that it will only get better after it got worse , it just did. How long will it take for the scales to fall from the eyes of some?.

26-04-2014, 06:27 PM
What are you actually gonna do tae remove Petrie et-al (regardless of the result the morn) other than giving it the big ..:blah: on here ..?

Just a question so dinnae get aw defensive on me ..:aok::blah: yersel

26-04-2014, 06:27 PM
I have not been keeping tabs on the top end of the league, but that really surprised me it was that many points. This is a bloody scandal, 31 points worse off than Aberdeen, and even more scary only 3 points better off than the gimps without their 15 point deduction. :rolleyes:

This club is rotten, and it starts right at the top with the owner and his puppet. :rolleyes:

It has quite literally felt like groundhog day for 3-4 years now, same rubbish on the park, same wally running the club, same excuses, same fans still refusing to accept that without change at a higher level, groundhog day continues..

The most obvious thing to anybody is that Petrie has now overseen god knows how many duff managers, either theres more to that in itself or he at the very least is to blame for the duff managers, and should be sacked himself.. Petries time was up with the whole Calderwood fiasco, he cannot and will not turn our clubs fortunes around.. Time for change..

26-04-2014, 06:31 PM

I always enjoy reading your comments - they're universally and staunchly supportive of this tired and listless administration, and of Petrie & STF specifically.

It and .net are absolutely honking of relegation Yam at the moment.

If you have a comment to make about my post then fire away - on all of it please because my point was a lot wider than the dumba55ery of a hashtag against Petrie thread. I didn't say that anyone/everyone who criticises Petrie or Butcher is a Yam. However there are absolutely Yams on here carefully stirring and trolling it up primarily in threads about Petrie and Butcher. They're stupid but they're not thick. They are very obviously and very deliberately applying salt to the most open wounds they can find.

What is more this discussion - apart from providing one of the open wound opportunities to our tax stealing neighbours - can make no difference at all to what happens to us between now and the end of the season. The only purpose it serves is to allow angst ridden supporters to vent their spleen and maybe feel a bit better because of it. After the deciding game is another story.....

Since the overriding objective just now is to avoid relegation and since this thread can do nothing at all to help that - but it might deepen divisions and discontent further (you wouldn't have thought that possible) - I think it basically amounts to a thirty odd page opportunity for Yam joy riding through our frustration, unhappiness and disunity.

26-04-2014, 06:38 PM

If you have a comment to make about my post then fire away - on all of it please because my point was a lot wider than the dumba55ery of a hashtag against Petrie thread. I didn't say that anyone/everyone who criticises Petrie or Butcher is a Yam. However there are absolutely Yams on here carefully stirring and trolling it up primarily in threads about Petrie and Butcher. They're stupid but they're not thick. They are very obviously and very deliberately applying salt to the most open wounds they can find.

What is more this discussion - apart from providing one of the open wound opportunities to our tax stealing neighbours - can make no difference at all to what happens to us between now and the end of the season. The only purpose it serves is to allow angst ridden supporters to vent their spleen and maybe feel a bit better because of it. After the deciding game is another story.....

Since the overriding objective just now is to avoid relegation and since this thread can do nothing at all to help that - but it might deepen divisions and discontent further (you wouldn't have thought that possible) - I think it basically amounts to a thirty odd page opportunity for Yam joy riding through our frustration, unhappiness and disunity.

A chance to to smoke the buggers out then.

26-04-2014, 06:40 PM
What are you actually gonna do tae remove Petrie et-al (regardless of the result the morn) other than giving it the big ..:blah: on here ..?

Just a question so dinnae get aw defensive on me ..:aok:

When you have a well past his sell by date stubborn owner who wants 100 Petries, WTF can any of us do?

26-04-2014, 06:45 PM
:blah: yerselAye good Jamie ..aw :blah: nae action ... nae plan ..just give it :blah: fi behind a keyboard .....nice one ..:aok:

26-04-2014, 06:46 PM
Serious question..

To anybody who currently doesnt believe Change is required and that Petrie needs replaced.. What happens if we are relegated this season, what then?

The worst Hearts team in how long and we're 3 points ahead of them (minus the deduction).

The time for debate is now. We don't need to worry about Yams or trolling, we're in a REAL stink. Let's not pretend they're the issue here.

Aye good Jamie ..aw :blah: nae action ... nae plan ..just give it :blah: fi behind a keyboard .....nice one ..:aok::blah: yersel WTF dae you think I can dae about it like? Maybe I'll dae what 4,500 other people have done since 2007 and stop wasting my money on it.

Still I'll continue tae post my opinion on here though if that's ok with you :aok:

26-04-2014, 06:49 PM
When's Romanov building that massive new stand and hotel at the PBS?

This one. Hardy ****ing har!!! £51million to build as well.

26-04-2014, 06:51 PM
It and .net are absolutely honking of relegation Yam at the moment. If you have a comment to make about my post then fire away - on all of it please because my point was a lot wider than the dumba55ery of a hashtag against Petrie thread. I didn't say that anyone/everyone who criticises Petrie or Butcher is a Yam. However there are absolutely Yams on here carefully stirring and trolling it up primarily in threads about Petrie and Butcher. They're stupid but they're not thick. They are very obviously and very deliberately applying salt to the most open wounds they can find. What is more this discussion - apart from providing one of the open wound opportunities to our tax stealing neighbours - can make no difference at all to what happens to us between now and the end of the season. The only purpose it serves is to allow angst ridden supporters to vent their spleen and maybe feel a bit better because of it. After the deciding game is another story..... Since the overriding objective just now is to avoid relegation and since this thread can do nothing at all to help that - but it might deepen divisions and discontent further (you wouldn't have thought that possible) - I think it basically amounts to a thirty odd page opportunity for Yam joy riding through our frustration, unhappiness and disunity.

Well said and place defo stinks of YAM.

Always remember ODS that they are in and have been in administration since last June and for all you trolls looking in

Get it roond ye.

26-04-2014, 07:02 PM
When you have a well past his sell by date stubborn owner who wants 100 Petries, WTF can any of us do?I agree totally G ..& I am 100% for removing him & others but my question is ..how do we do it, we have thread after thread after thread about removing him but no-one knows to how we can do it ...he (Petrie) is aware of the situation ..but he aint budging ...all this keyboard stuff aint getting us nowhere though ...he will be reading it & laughing his ****ing arse off ..

I honestly don't know ..does anyone ..?...:pray:

26-04-2014, 07:04 PM
Well said and place defo stinks of YAM.

Always remember ODS that they are in and have been in administration since last June and for all you trolls looking in

Get it roond ye.

Aye, and that makes the mess we are in okay then does it??

26-04-2014, 07:06 PM
:blah: yersel WTF dae you think I can dae about it like? Maybe I'll dae what 4,500 other people have done since 2007 and stop wasting my money on it.

Still I'll continue tae post my opinion on here though if that's ok with you :aok:Aye, you continue spraffing, spraff for Scotland for aw ah care ..Im away tae dae ma nails ..

26-04-2014, 07:08 PM
Petrie out?

He was out today because I spoke to him at EM where the U20's beat Berwick Rangers 3-1 :agree:

26-04-2014, 07:17 PM
I agree totally G ..& I am 100% for removing him & others but my question is ..how do we do it, we have thread after thread after thread about removing him but no-one knows to how we can do it ...he (Petrie) is aware of the situation ..but he aint budging ...all this keyboard stuff aint getting us nowhere though ...he will be reading it & laughing his ****ing arse off ..

I honestly don't know ..does anyone ..?...:pray:

I disagree, the more pressure the better as far as i'm concerned. Hopefully we can get the win we dearly need tomorrow and then the support can crank up the pressure by whatever means possible and make the whole place as uncomfortable as possible for the pair of them.

Doing nothing is not working.

26-04-2014, 07:18 PM
Indeed I do Grumps. Indeed I do!!

26-04-2014, 07:37 PM
I disagree, the more pressure the better as far as i'm concerned. Hopefully we can get the win we dearly need tomorrow and then the support can crank up the pressure by whatever means possible and make the whole place as uncomfortable as possible for the pair of them.

Doing nothing is not working.More pressure vocally at the game, whatever it takes....defo ...I wouldn't want to hit the club financially, if yer going the morn then shout out loud..banners etc, ram it right up Petrie et-al ...totally agree wi pressure ..but saying it on here & doing it at a game are two different things ..we all want the same thing G, a winning team on that ****ing park will do for starters ..:flag:

26-04-2014, 08:35 PM

No it dosent.

I am not universally supportive of the administration, only the team. But when accusations, insinuations and derogatory statements are made I prefer to ask for evidence to back it up rather than accept what is said at face value as said allegations may be malicious in their intent. There has been too much of it the past few days.

stevejordan
26-04-2014, 08:44 PM

Doing nothing is not working.

Idea if we loose we hold a demonstration demanding Petrie out after the match film it and post on you tube facebook and twitter this will give us news and the media will follow EEN Etc pile pressure on Petrie and the board.

If we win we Party and all is fine and dandy and we mock the yam fuds:na na:

no sure what to do if we draw:confused:

26-04-2014, 08:48 PM
Utter nonsense and I challenge you to prove that statement, or retract it please.

see below.

DL & FH left Hibs without jobs to go.

Fife had a new job and Scott started his own consultancy - I believe he's also still involved with the Hibernian Community Trust.

Still a Director and still actively involved in The Hibernian Community Foundation.

26-04-2014, 08:49 PM
Idea if we loose we hold a demonstration demanding Petrie out after the match film it and post on you tube facebook and twitter this will give us news and the media will follow EEN Etc pile pressure on Petrie and the board.

If we win we Party and all is fine and dandy and we mock the yam fuds:na na:

no sure what to do if we draw:confused:

What part of the ground you sitting in tomorrow stevejordan?

26-04-2014, 08:49 PM
Petrie out?

He was out today because I spoke to him at EM where the U20's beat Berwick Rangers 3-1 :agree:

Was that you and Big F chatting to him ?

26-04-2014, 08:54 PM
Was that you and Big F chatting to him ?

Guilty as charged :greengrin

26-04-2014, 09:05 PM
Guilty as charged :greengrin

He didn't seem too bothered by the "Petrie out" banners and the chants of "Petrie GTF" :greengrin

26-04-2014, 09:17 PM
He didn't seem too bothered by the "Petrie out" banners and the chants of "Petrie GTF" :greengrin

He decided not to say anything after I told him I'd made them :greengrin

26-04-2014, 09:26 PM
He decided not to say anything after I told him I'd made them :greengrin

I could see that he looked shaken and really concerned by the all the petrie out talk on hibs.net:wink:

Criswell
26-04-2014, 09:52 PM
No it dosent.

I am not universally supportive of the administration, only the team. But when accusations, insinuations and derogatory statements are made I prefer to ask for evidence to back it up rather than accept what is said at face value as said allegations may be malicious in their intent. There has been too much of it the past few days.

I think the evidence you are looking for lies in the SPFL league table. Another horrendous season under his watch!

26-04-2014, 10:06 PM
No it dosent.

4 consecutive bottom 6 finishes, 2 relegation battles out the last 3 seasons. Crowds disappearing, sheite hoofball, 9 ****in nil is all the evidence i need to see under his watch we are getting worse by the year.

26-04-2014, 10:13 PM
4 consecutive bottom 6 finishes, 2 relegation battles out the last 3 seasons. Crowds disappearing, sheite hoofball, 9 ****in nil is all the evidence i need to see under his watch we are getting worse by the year.

But apart from that? :greengrin:

26-04-2014, 10:18 PM
But apart from that? :greengrin:

Ok i will also throw in 3 defeats to the worst gimps side in my living memory. :boo hoo:

26-04-2014, 10:21 PM
Ok i will also throw in 3 defeats to the worst gimps side in my living memory. :boo hoo:

God such a knee jerk reaction. Is that all?? ;D

26-04-2014, 10:25 PM
What part of the ground you sitting in tomorrow stevejordan?

South Stand, not sure if upper or lower tier though would be my guess.

26-04-2014, 10:44 PM

But in certain peoples eyes this has got nothing whatsoever to do with RP or STF. In fact to suggest that it does reeks of Yam.

26-04-2014, 10:49 PM
see below.

With the greatest of respect if I left my job tomorrow I'd also be setting up my own consultancy. It's a meaningless statement that guarantees nothing and means nothing. Anyone can set up a consultancy.

My understanding (based on someone with first hand knowledge) is that both left.

Not what you want to hear. I know that.

147lothian
27-04-2014, 03:16 PM
I was in the car park at the back after the match today to make my views clear to Petrie, there were others their doing the same, but unfortunately not enough to make the message clear, it's so sad that the malaise has set in so much that it's almost accepted, this shouldn't be happening, the board are running our club unto the ground, it's time for a change

27-04-2014, 03:32 PM
If we are relegated, Petrie WILL go. He has to! If we aren't relegated, it's up to the fans to get him out. Too many bad appointments (although I still support Butcher to get it right next season). Hibs have underperformed for so many years now under Petrie's leadership, and it feels like it will get worse and worse unless he leaves.

27-04-2014, 04:03 PM

Noticed that you are not denying the fact that you misled / lied to fellow poster's about payment's made to RP on this thread ?

You need to ask yourself why I keep bringing it up :wink:

27-04-2014, 04:37 PM
Well done to the leaders of our club - your doing a great job truly messing everything up.

Survive this season or not - change has to take place - what is happening clearly isn't working and as a club we are losing fans every week.

Complete disgrace and those in suits should be held accountable.

#2 Double Tap
27-04-2014, 05:14 PM
After you've done a thing the same way for two years, look it over carefully. After five years, look at it with suspicion. And after ten years, throw it away and start all over. ~Alfred Edward Perlman, New York Times, 3 July 1958

27-04-2014, 05:17 PM
After you've done a thing the same way for two years, look it over carefully. After five years, look at it with suspicion. And after ten years, throw it away and start all over. ~Alfred Edward Perlman, New York Times, 3 July 1958

Yes I believe that is the Yam recipe........

hibbeedavid
27-04-2014, 05:22 PM
If we are relegated, Petrie WILL go. He has to! If we aren't relegated, it's up to the fans to get him out. Too many bad appointments (although I still support Butcher to get it right next season). Hibs have underperformed for so many years now under Petrie's leadership, and it feels like it will get worse and worse unless he leaves.

I don't share your optimism that he WILL go if we are relegated, I think he will hide behind stats and delegated decisions and try to continue as if everything is normal.

Even if we do stay up which is ever becoming more unlikely, he has to go, the club needs a change from top to bottom in its mentality and approach

Under Petrie we have very rarely been genuinely ambitious, even in the Mowbray 'glory years' we were a couple of signings away from a side that would genuinely challenge at the top, we decided to go with guys like Zibi and Rudge, and it has got steadily worse ever since

27-04-2014, 07:02 PM
Thread reeks of yam.

27-04-2014, 07:09 PM
Thread reeks of yam.

In what way? By burying our head in the stand saying all is great? Until we as a support organise to get a united voice nothing is going to change. Absent owner and part time chairman with no ambition. Just to survive.

number 27
27-04-2014, 07:44 PM
Thread reeks of yam.

What a load of old crap, I dont believe there is a hearts fan anywhere who wants Petrie out of Hibs

27-04-2014, 09:02 PM
Thread reeks of yam.

I get where you're coming from HC. :wink:

27-04-2014, 09:02 PM
What a load of old crap, I dont believe there is a hearts fan anywhere who wants Petrie out of Hibs

I mean some if the posts. I started the thread ages ago.

27-04-2014, 09:03 PM

I think you, me & HC are all on the same page, if you catch my drift.

27-04-2014, 09:03 PM
I get where you're coming from HC. :wink:

27-04-2014, 09:22 PM
Aye, you continue spraffing, spraff for Scotland for aw ah care ..Im away tae dae ma nails ..Hope yer nails turned out ok :aok:

28-04-2014, 01:58 AM
With the greatest of respect if I left my job tomorrow I'd also be setting up my own consultancy. It's a meaningless statement that guarantees nothing and means nothing. Anyone can set up a consultancy.

My understanding (based on someone with first hand knowledge) is that both left.

Not what you want to hear. I know that.

That both left the club (well, one is still with the Foundation) is not in doubt it was the circumstances that they left you were alluding to which which was objectionable and untrue, and you persist with this still. But thats what you do.

Having now been exposed you still snipe around with snide little comments, trying to encourage others to join in your keyboard pursuit of those who challenge your mischief making.

Its not what I, or anybody else, wants to hear that matters, it's how you conduct yourself that's important.

28-04-2014, 12:50 PM
Facebook page called Petrie out now started. Not by me though.

28-04-2014, 12:55 PM
Facebook page called Petrie out now started. Not by me though.

just googled it and found nothing.

28-04-2014, 12:59 PM
just googled it and found nothing.never googled right then :greengrin

https://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/Get-Petrie-out-of-Hibs/102703146470569

28-04-2014, 01:00 PM
just googled it and found nothing.

https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=139884249515591

Sorry. Called Rod Petrie out.

28-04-2014, 01:00 PM
never googled right then :greengrin

https://en-gb.facebook.com/pages/Get-Petrie-out-of-Hibs/102703146470569

That's not the same one.

28-04-2014, 01:01 PM

Sorry. Called Rod Petrie out.must be mair than one :greengrin

Lmc2105
28-04-2014, 01:13 PM
The page is called Save Our Hibs,

On facebook & Twitter.

28-04-2014, 01:17 PM
The page is called Save Our Hibs,

On facebook & Twitter.

No it's not.

28-04-2014, 01:24 PM
God such a knee jerk reaction. Is that all?? ;D
Fgs they were a ba hair away from liquidation and they are laughing at US. Says it all really i am afraid. We need change sooner rather than later.

Lmc2105
28-04-2014, 01:26 PM
Must be two then ...

[url]https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=139884249515591&refsrc=https%3A%2F%2Fm.facebook.com%2Fprofile.php&refid=9&_rdr#~!/profile.php?

https://m.facebook.com/events/416243885179733?id=416243885179733&_rdr#!/profile.php?id=388588767948760

28-04-2014, 01:27 PM
Must be two then ...

https://m.facebook.com/profile.php?id=139884249515591&refsrc=https%3A%2F%2Fm.facebook.com%2Fprofile.php&refid=9&_rdr#~!/profile.php?id=416243885179733

https://m.facebook.com/events/416243885179733?id=416243885179733&_rdr#!/profile.php?id=388588767948760

The more the better.

28-04-2014, 01:40 PM
I was in the car park at the back after the match today to make my views clear to Petrie, there were others their doing the same, but unfortunately not enough to make the message clear, it's so sad that the malaise has set in so much that it's almost accepted, this shouldn't be happening, the board are running our club unto the ground, it's time for a change
How many do you need to make it clear? 6000 absent fans should tell him something is wrong not that I believe he needs telling.

28-04-2014, 02:23 PM
How many do you need to make it clear? 6000 absent fans should tell him something is wrong not that I believe he needs telling.

12k or thereabouts at game yesterday. -3800 away support 8-9k home fans. The emptiness of the F5 and East tells Petrie the story. Or it should at least.

28-04-2014, 02:26 PM
12k or thereabouts at game yesterday. -3800 away support 8-9k home fans. The emptiness of the F5 and East tells Petrie the story. Or it should at least.Unless hibs have started copying the yams and started counting folk who aren't there then that is wrong.

14,806 according tae Hibs

147lothian
28-04-2014, 02:33 PM
I'm starting to think we have to do something more than just not attend to get rid of Petrie, we need some kind of action to get the message across

stevejordan
28-04-2014, 02:55 PM
I'm starting to think we have to do something more than just not attend to get rid of Petrie, we need some kind of action to get the message across

A Banner or a card display would get the message over but he would probably get the Stewards to take it down not attending is not the answer the team need our support right now.

28-04-2014, 03:01 PM

Until we are safe then we should concentrate fully on supporting the team. Not attending when the team needs us? That isn't going to help anything.

28-04-2014, 03:04 PM

We need to back the team at the moment.

We are in a relegation dogfight and in fighting, boycotts and 'action' isn't going to help.

Anything like that should be kept until we are safe and even then it should be well thought out with a point and purpose behind it.

28-04-2014, 03:42 PM
The seasons end is when to sort this out, once it's over though there should be a concerted effort to change from staggering from one crisis to another. Major change is needed at the top and those in power should know that this is not going to go away until they have stepped back from the decision making process and put someone in charge of the football side of the club who has a better knowledge of football than they have, it wouldn't be hard !.

stevejordan
28-04-2014, 03:53 PM
The seasons end is when to sort this out, once it's over though there should be a concerted effort to change from staggering from one crisis to another. Major change is needed at the top and those in power should know that this is not going to go away until they have stepped back from the decision making process and put someone in charge of the football side of the club who has a better knowledge of football than they have, it wouldn't be hard !.

The problem with any action once the season is over is we dont have much oportunity to vent our feelings Petrie sunning it on a beach abroad will have not a care in the world we have 2 home matches to do something what that is i have no idea once the close season starts the oportunity will be lost World Cup to focus on and all that.

28-04-2014, 03:57 PM
Unless hibs have started copying the yams and started counting folk who aren't there then that is wrong.

14,806 according tae Hibs

Imo there was never that amount there.

28-04-2014, 03:58 PM
The problem with any action once the season is over is we dont have much oportunity to vent our feelings Petrie sunning it on a beach abroad will have not a care in the world we have 2 home matches to do something what that is i have no idea once the close season starts the oportunity will be lost World Cup to focus on and all that.

The next few weeks is about supporting the team, I've said this several times now.

Do people not quite believe we are right in the play off picture? Are people underestimating how catastrophic relegation could be?

If come the Killie game we are mathematically safe and a group planned a protest/positive action I might join in if it was well thought out with a clear purpose.

Until then I'll be focussing on being a supporter.

28-04-2014, 04:04 PM
Imo there was never that amount there. Well that's what it says, you think they're making it up then?

28-04-2014, 04:12 PM
Well that's what it says, you think they're making it up then?

I forget get which thread it was but someone posted the attendance taken from the police control box on twitter. It was 12 thousand and something. So yes I'm doubting the figure quoted.