View Full Version : #petrieout
oregonhibby
09-04-2014, 03:22 PM
Billion-dollar payday
Farmer’s profile and reputation surely played a part in inflating the mouth-watering £1.2bn price he secured on its subsequent sale, and he reportedly netted £77.6m from the deal. The company has since been sold twice, yet neither owner has achieved anywhere near Farmer’s original figure.
From Tinternet
09-04-2014, 03:30 PM
We've not done that since the late 40's early 50's.
I would give Butcher the time but he an only bring in the players that are affordable. That's what he and his team were bought into do.
Actually, Hibs have never had any sort of extended period when we've enjoyed a number of cup wins (either cup) close together in time.
But they managed consistent top-four finishes and regular European football (beating some very good teams) in the late 60's and early 70's under Harrower and Hart as chairmen and (mainly) Stein, Shankly, and Turnbull.
Right now, I'm far from sure that any manager could make a difference at ER. The cumulative burden of repeated change and failure leading to more change (except of course in one obvious aspect of the club's structure) over the past 8 years suggests that Hibs right now are almost unmanageable.
That's why I want Petrie gone - to give either Butcher or someone else a completely fresh start.
09-04-2014, 03:31 PM
Billion-dollar payday
Farmer’s profile and reputation surely played a part in inflating the mouth-watering £1.2bn price he secured on its subsequent sale, and he reportedly netted £77.6m from the deal. The company has since been sold twice, yet neither owner has achieved anywhere near Farmer’s original figure.
From Tinternet
Fair enough if thats the case. It just wasn't made clear from other sources.
I still stick with what I orginally said though about Farmer not simply selling the club to anyone who offers him enough money for it. I believe if he's going to pass the club on at any point, it will be to someone that he knows well and trusts.
09-04-2014, 03:33 PM
I find you on every thread wanting RP sacked hilarious and you still have not named your guaranteed successor who will lead us to the holy grail or to the success that we deserve, not everyone shares your opinion just look at the poll ,we are all entitled to ours just as well as your areI dinnae need tae ken who the successor is tae want rid of the failure who is currently there and who has wasted thousands of pounds of my money paying for his mistakes (how much have his failures cost him?), that's no my job. I ken he winnae be wasting a lot mair of it though. My posts are stating an opinion, your post is full of nonsense that Petrie only appoints managers the fans want (please explain deadwood and Fenlon in that theory) and only sacks them again when the fans want. Petrie appoints the managers he wants and gets rid when he wants tae try and take the heat off himself.
Is that the poll where more people have currently voted the same way as me?
oregonhibby
09-04-2014, 03:33 PM
I agree. I think that could be either a Trust of some description or to RP himself. His loyalty is legendary..
09-04-2014, 03:40 PM
I agree. I think that could be either a Trust of some description or to RP himself. His loyalty is legendary..
The obvious problem is that who ever he passes the club onto in the future, may not have much of an interest in football either.
We need somebody that can drive the club forward at all levels. An owner who is genuinely bothered about the results and has the passion to see us succeed. Not simply "get by" without a purpose.
09-04-2014, 03:43 PM
I dinnae need tae ken who the successor is tae want rid of the failure who is currently there and who has wasted thousands of pounds of my money paying for his mistakes, that's no my job. I ken he winnae be wasting a lot mair though.
Totally agree - Petrie has failed, and he has to go. How that happens, and who replaces him, I don't know right now. But unless there's change at the top of the club, we're doomed to experience more of the same as the last 8 years - only it'll be in the lower divisions, not the Premiership.
He gets no more of my money either.
09-04-2014, 03:43 PM
Don't you think it would be worth finding out how much he actually got rather than picking the figure you want and running with it?
Some people recently have made quite a habit of that in another context altogether. Pick a figure that fits my argument and ignore reality. Not a way to run a club.....or a country.
oregonhibby
09-04-2014, 03:47 PM
You know I remember when I went between 69 and 76 it was a joy watching Hibs. European nights, great league campaigns - along with the odd bad. But it was something to enjoy.
Today I endure and have given up on this season and will not renew next. A number of reasons including the lack of moral and ethical backbone to the club as well as a high cost indulgence that would be better spent elsewhere.
I have spent 50 years watching Hibs. But no more alas. The pleasure, the anticipation and the belief in something that has a purpose have gone.
oregonhibby
09-04-2014, 03:48 PM
But most of all the hope!
jakeshibs
09-04-2014, 03:53 PM
Totally agree - Petrie has failed, and he has to go. How that happens, and who replaces him, I don't know right now. But unless there's change at the top of the club, we're doomed to experience more of the same as the last 8 years - only it'll be in the lower divisions, not the Premiership.
He gets no more of my money either.
doddie I disagree with you, it does matter as it could be a lot worse. In our history I have endured much harder times than this as I am sure you have?
with regards to the chairman, who ever is in that position has never stopped me attending ER and it, never will, I have followed hibs for the last 40 years and will continue along as there is a Hibernian Football Club, I will support it in every way i can, no going is never going to help only make matters worse, however we are all entitled to our own opinions.
09-04-2014, 03:55 PM
Some people recently have made quite a habit of that in another context altogether. Pick a figure that fits my argument and ignore reality. Not a way to run a club.....or a country.
I wasn't making up a figure to fit my argument. My argument is still very much valid regardless of the figure.
Nobody truely knows how much Tom Farmer has besides himself. It could be a lot more or a lot less than anybodies guess.
But what isn't a guess is that we have an owner who isn't bothered about results, ambition or success, as long as the figures balance themselves out.
09-04-2014, 03:56 PM
You know I remember when I went between 69 and 76 it was a joy watching Hibs. European nights, great league campaigns - along with the odd bad. But it was something to enjoy.
Today I endure and have given up on this season and will not renew next. A number of reasons including the lack of moral and ethical backbone to the club as well as a high cost indulgence that would be better spent elsewhere.
I have spent 50 years watching Hibs. But no more alas. The pleasure, the anticipation and the belief in something that has a purpose have gone.
:top marksFeel the same, it's like someone has ripped the heart out of the club and put it on a life support machine. Going to games was a pleasure , something to look forward to instead of dreading another humping by teams with half our budget.
brian6-2
09-04-2014, 03:57 PM
I wasn't making up a figure to fit my argument. My argument is still very much valid regardless of the figure.
Nobody truely knows how much Tom Farmer has besides himself. It could be a lot more or a lot less than anybodies guess.
But what isn't a guess is that we have an owner who isn't bothered about results, ambition or success, as long as the figures balance themselves out.
and if that didnt happen we would be in the same state as our trampy pals along the road.
09-04-2014, 04:06 PM
I still stick with what I orginally said though about Farmer not simply selling the club to anyone who offers him enough money for it. I believe if he's going to pass the club on at any point, it will be to someone that he knows well and trusts.
That's not how I read your statement
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Hibercelona http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=3964340#post3964340)
"Farmer is a billionaire. You could offer him twice what the club is worth and he still wouldn't sell up, because he doesn't need to."
09-04-2014, 04:09 PM
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by Hibercelona http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=3964340#post3964340)
"Farmer is a billionaire. You could offer him twice what the club is worth and he still wouldn't sell up, because he doesn't need to."
I bet he would.
09-04-2014, 04:11 PM
and if that didnt happen we would be in the same state as our trampy pals along the road.
Would we?
Romanov was throwing money left, right and centre. I don't think anybody is suggesting that we go down that path.
But questions need to be raised about the way cash has been spent on the infrastructure such as the new stand and the training centre, but not on the squad.
These things are only worth the investment if the players are good enough. Otherwise you have a training centre that is being wasted on poor quality players and a stadium that will never come close to being full when fans give up going to see a very poor standard of football.
09-04-2014, 04:14 PM
What I should have said is that any random person could come through the door and offer him X amount of cash for the club and he wouldn't sell up, unless it was somebody that he knew and trusted.
Even if Farmer does have considerably less that I claimed, he isn't exactly going to run out of money. So he's not exactly under any pressure to sell the club to the highest bidder.
09-04-2014, 04:18 PM
If Farmer is worth 150 million it doesnt mean he has 150 million sitting in a bank account, much of it will be assets etc. Tom Farmer, imo, was and is only interested in the club running without getting into masses of debt. He isnt really into football so probably doesnt care that much about the results as much as a fan.
I know people want farmer out or to spend some money, I want him to stay at hibs for now unless a new owner with bags of money and isnt a complete nutter comes along. IMO, every team in the top flight of scottish football need a wealthy owner who can help with cash flow, small loans etc. Farmer has provided loans in the past and has helped with cash flow I believe. Can you imagine how difficult that would be if we were fan owned etc.
My criticism of farmer would be that he is not holding Petrie accountable for the continuing failures on the pitch. There will be a lot of people that could be brought in to take Petrie's position, but there will be very few people that could come in and take farmers position, unless you want some nutter that has wealth of the radar and uses everyone elses money to fund wages etc.
09-04-2014, 04:19 PM
So he's not exactly under any pressure to sell the club to the highest bidder.
Or any bidder.
And I, at least, am thankful for that.
09-04-2014, 04:26 PM
Hibernian FC are a club that have greatly under-achieved over the years. Over the last 10 or so years we have seen manager after manager after manager. Each one (barr Mowbray and arguably Collins) has been a failure. But can ALL the managers be wrong? I think we need to look higher.
Petrie has ran the club well, he's kept the club stable and away from the horrible fates of hearts and rangers and for that I am truly grateful. He's kept the club running within its means and built a great infrastructure in the new stand and state of the art training centre which will be part of our club for many years to come. However, as much as that is all well and good, he hasn't speculated the same efforts in providing a great product on the football field. The stadium looks great with the new stand but the fans (the ones that keep the club going) would much rather have a good team that produces glory.
Thank you Mr Petrie, but we need to change and I don't believe anymore that you are the man to take us forward and build a football team that the fans want to see. Your a clever man so surely you must realise that if you are not willing to give Butcher ALOT of support in the summer for signings that can give the fans a winning team again then your time is up at this club.
09-04-2014, 04:33 PM
If Farmer is worth 150 million it doesnt mean he has 150 million sitting in a bank account, much of it will be assets etc. Tom Farmer, imo, was and is only interested in the club running without getting into masses of debt. He isnt really into football so probably doesnt care that much about the results as much as a fan.
I know people want farmer out or to spend some money, I want him to stay at hibs for now unless a new owner with bags of money and isnt a complete nutter comes along. IMO, every team in the top flight of scottish football need a wealthy owner who can help with cash flow, small loans etc. Farmer has provided loans in the past and has helped with cash flow I believe. Can you imagine how difficult that would be if we were fan owned etc.
My criticism of farmer would be that he is not holding Petrie accountable for the continuing failures on the pitch. There will be a lot of people that could be brought in to take Petrie's position, but there will be very few people that could come in and take farmers position, unless you want some nutter that has wealth of the radar and uses everyone elses money to fund wages etc.
Cheers for the sensible post. :aok:
I agree with more or less all of that. I don't want Farmer to be replaced by some nutter either. I just wish there was more passion flowing through this club.
I always get the sense that the people within the club, just don't care as much as we do. Perhaps i'm wrong to think that, but it's hard to think otherwise when we're let down to the degree that we are.
We seem to be lacking in the one thing that no club should ever be lacking in, which is the will and drive to be the best we can be.
WHUHibs
09-04-2014, 05:06 PM
so your saying he intentionally signed poor managers really???? hindsight is a wonderful thing but he defo sacked them because we the fans were/are not happy. he took a risk with TM and it worked, some idiots along the way CC etc but there is no guaranteed solution hen appointing a manager look at our history over the past 100 years, do you not think if there was we would of done it by now.
we all asked for TB and his team an he delivered, lets see if he backs him in the summer
Where in my post have I said he intentionally recruited poor managers? It's his role to recruit the ones that will work and clearly they haven't or our record in all competitions would be better. So unless you cannot see anything wrong with the person who does the recruiting then you are looking through coloured glasses....he might get the odd one wrong and that would be normal but not most of them that's just poor judgement,,the buck stops at his desk!
09-04-2014, 05:42 PM
I agree but it's my ambition to find that as it is with every fan and if we don't then surely we can ask questions on how we can do that. With everything we have off the pitch surely a formula can be found on the pitch,,,we are one of the best run clubs but do we really have the ambition to be a force in scottish football which is probably at its weakest for a long time without Rangers.
Sorry but I am still not sure what you mean. Dont you think the club sets out to win every single game? I think all clubs do. I remember speaking to Alex Miller who said that at the start of each season he intended to win the treble, and he got pelters on the .net predecessor, the Hibs-List as "Mogadon Miller". But he wanted to win every time. Did the FF not want to win the Scottish Cup or Turnbull the double/treble?
I believe Butcher is of the same mentality, most sportsmen who have been at his level do.
09-04-2014, 06:06 PM
Sorry but I am still not sure what you mean. Dont you think the club sets out to win every single game? I think all clubs do. I remember speaking to Alex Miller who said that at the start of each season he intended to win the treble, and he got pelters on the .net predecessor, the Hibs-List as "Mogadon Miller". But he wanted to win every time. Did the FF not want to win the Scottish Cup or Turnbull the double/treble?
I believe Butcher is of the same mentality, most sportsmen who have been at his level do.
I think butcher wants to win every game but I don't think some of the players give a toss if we win or not.
09-04-2014, 09:45 PM
Let me get this right...are you saying that Rod Petrie is stealing money, money given in good faith by Hibbies to help out children who haven't had the best start in life, to aid his 'business plan'? Rrrrriiggghhht.
Doddie, any chance of a reply/explanation?
Criswell
09-04-2014, 10:57 PM
It would appear Petrie and by association Farmer have a seemingly limitless capacity to tolerate failure and humiliation. Unfortunately for them, and the club, the paying customers are not so acquiescent and are increasingly voting with their feet. They just don't "get it" and never will. We desperately need new direction and impetus.
10-04-2014, 02:34 PM
It would appear Petrie and by association Farmer have a seemingly limitless capacity to tolerate failure and humiliation. Unfortunately for them, and the club, the paying customers are not so acquiescent and are increasingly voting with their feet. They just don't "get it" and never will. We desperately need new direction and impetus.
100% agree. Spot on.
10-04-2014, 08:50 PM
STF is nothing like a billionaire ..... I would guess 150 million is probably closer. If he did have billons I would be going mental for him to invest heavily in the playing squad. 150 million is a lot of money ... but enough for him to take a substantial risk with? He obviously doesn't think so and I dare say his heirs agree with him.
But ...... Its not the lack of big time investment in the playing side ( depressing though that is ) which annoys me, its the apparent* lack of interest, the lack of passion and the lack of action. Its his willingness to sit back and watch the club lurch from failure to failure and refuse to get involved or, heaven forbid, begin to recognize that perhaps the club needs a change at the top.
STF may not be football man, but he sure as hell is a very good business man. For that reason I am confused by his ignorance of three well established business facts, at least when it comes to Hibs :
1) If you don't keep your customers happy they will stop coming.
2) At some point it will come to pass that a calculated risk needs to be taken to get where you want to go.
3) If what you have been doing for years isn't working then find a way to change it.
The problem with Hibs is an owner and chairman who for different reasons see no need to buy into the last two of these principles .... is it any wonder that the club is stagnating on the pitch?
* I say apparent because when the owner says and does nothing year on year apart from to blindly back the status quo once a year at the AGM how on earth can anybody work out how he feels about the club, or if he cares at all about its on field mediocrity. If he isn't losing any sleep over our failures it can only be presumed that he remains unmoved by the decreasing number of dejected fans trooping out of Easter Road every home game following yet another home defeat.
Its a good job that there are folk out there who love the club enough to stick by it come what may ..... not because of who owns and runs it, but unfortunately despite them.
10-04-2014, 09:50 PM
STF is nothing like a billionaire ..... I would guess 150 million is probably closer. If he did have billons I would be going mental for him to invest heavily in the playing squad. 150 million is a lot of money ... but enough for him to take a substantial risk with? He obviously doesn't think so and I dare say his heirs agree with him.
But ...... Its not the lack of big time investment in the playing side ( depressing though that is ) which annoys me, its the apparent* lack of interest, the lack of passion and the lack of action. Its his willingness to sit back and watch the club lurch from failure to failure and refuse to get involved or, heaven forbid, begin to recognize that perhaps the club needs a change at the top.
STF may not be football man, but he sure as hell is a very good business man. For that reason I am confused by his ignorance of three well established business facts, at least when it comes to Hibs :
2) At some point it will come to pass that a calculated risk needs to be taken to get where you want to go.
3) If what you have been doing for years isn't working then find a way to change it.
The problem with Hibs is an owner and chairman who for different reasons see no need to buy into the last two of these principles .... is it any wonder that the club is stagnating on the pitch?
* I say apparent because when the owner says and does nothing year on year apart from to blindly back the status quo once a year at the AGM how on earth can anybody work out how he feels about the club, or if he cares at all about its on field mediocrity. If he isn't losing any sleep over our failures it can only be presumed that he remains unmoved by the decreasing number of dejected fans trooping out of Easter Road every home game following yet another home defeat.
Its a good job that there are folk out there who love the club enough to stick by it come what may ..... not because of who owns and runs it, but unfortunately despite them.
:top marksI could not care how much money Sir Tom has, i think the club has enough cash as it is to be a force in Scottish football if it was used the correct way. The money we have wasted in punting managers would have enabled us to bring in a much better caliber of player than we have just now.
WHUHibs
11-04-2014, 09:13 AM
:top marksI could not care how much money Sir Tom has, i think the club has enough cash as it is to be a force in Scottish football if it was used the correct way. The money we have wasted in punting managers would have enabled us to bring in a much better caliber of player than we have just now.
Actually that has hit the nail on the head,,,misspent money has brought down the calibre of player we can bring in as the pot is less,,that's of course assuming we have paid managers contracts up whilst recruiting new managers and paying them,,add that to some bad player additions that also needed contracts terminated ,, I wonder how much we have wasted?
11-04-2014, 09:14 AM
Actually that has hit the nail on the head,,,misspent money has brought down the calibre of player we can bring in as the pot is less,,that's of course assuming we have paid managers contracts up whilst recruiting new managers and paying them,,add that to some bad player additions that also needed contracts terminated ,, I wonder how much we have wasted?Petrie Has wasted
11-04-2014, 09:17 AM
Petrie Has wasted
A slip of the tongue , your right.
11-04-2014, 09:30 AM
Actually that has hit the nail on the head,,,misspent money has brought down the calibre of player we can bring in as the pot is less,,that's of course assuming we have paid managers contracts up whilst recruiting new managers and paying them,,add that to some bad player additions that also needed contracts terminated , I wonder how much we have wasted?
I have asked this question many times, but never had an answer. The man has built the infrastructure up, nobody can deny this. Yet i wonder just how much money has been wasted on pay offs to the managers he's appointed, and then the consequent pay offs to the countless players the club have had to release early'
It must run into millions?
11-04-2014, 11:05 AM
I have asked this question many times, but never had an answer. The man has built the infrastructure up, nobody can deny this. Yet i wonder just how much money has been wasted on pay offs to the managers he's appointed, and then the consequent pay offs to the countless players the club have had to release early'
Don't think you will get a credible answer, unless someone leaks confidential information from within the club or an ex-manager decides to break their severance terms and spill the beans.
Hibs' accounts don't allow for an easy calculation of the player budget, let alone anything more specific. By the way, I can understand why that would be, as we don't want our competitors to know what too much about what we are paying people.
I think we can guess that the sacked managers all got decent pay offs - not sure that would mean the balance of their contract, but maybe a full year's pay - and that players would be unlikely to walk away from a contract without compensation of some kind. The exception would be JC who resigned and so maybe got nothing, and those players who went straight to another club on a free.
All speculation on my part though.
11-04-2014, 11:22 AM
Don't think you will get a credible answer, unless someone leaks confidential information from within the club or an ex-manager decides to break their severance terms and spill the beans.
Hibs' accounts don't allow for an easy calculation of the player budget, let alone anything more specific. By the way, I can understand why that would be, as we don't want our competitors to know what too much about what we are paying people.
I think we can guess that the sacked managers all got decent pay offs - not sure that would mean the balance of their contract, but maybe a full year's pay - and that players would be unlikely to walk away from a contract without compensation of some kind. The exception would be JC who resigned and so maybe got nothing, and those players who went straight to another club on a free.
I guess you are right, although the subsequent money thats been pissed down the drain on contract pay offs does in my opinion dilute all the good work Petrie has done for the club.
And after all its whats on the park that counts not whats off it.
11-04-2014, 11:27 AM
Cannot agree. Players, agents, press etc can easily find out what Hibs pay. Greater detail would aid the Accounts' readers', fans etc. But clarity on what Hibs do, and where the Board are leading us needn't be our concern of course :rolleyes:
11-04-2014, 11:32 AM
I guess you are right, although the subsequent money thats been pissed down the drain on contract pay offs does in my opinion dilute all the good work Petrie has done for the club.
And after all its whats on the park that counts not whats off it.
Don't disagree with that at all. It's fair to say a significant sum has been burned in recent seasons to clear up past mistakes... would not surprise me if we were £500k out of pocket on Calderwood, for example, given that we could have got compensation for him that summer but instead kept him in post for another few months and then sacked him. :grr:
£500k = £10k a week more or less.
11-04-2014, 11:34 AM
Cannot agree. Players, agents, press etc can easily find out what Hibs pay. Greater detail would aid the Accounts' readers', fans etc. But clarity on what Hibs do, and where the Board are leading us needn't be our concern of course :rolleyes:
They keep it quiet then! Hence the wild speculation on here about what individual players earn...
HibeeMassive
11-04-2014, 11:34 AM
Do you think he should have kept those managers on? Not sure he's single handedly responsible for those managers leaving when they did, mid-contract, with the team (in most cases) playing honking football..
11-04-2014, 11:37 AM
They keep it quiet then! Hence the wild speculation on here about what individual players earn...
That depends on who's posts one reads :wink: and more reason for some transparency from the club(s).
11-04-2014, 11:46 AM
He gets no more of my money either
11-04-2014, 11:48 AM
Do you think he should have kept those managers on? Not sure he's single handedly responsible for those managers leaving when they did, mid-contract, with the team (in most cases) playing honking football..
ALL of those managers, one after the other, going inside 18 months? Really?
"To lose one parent, Mr Worthing, may be regarded as a misfortune; to lose both looks very much like carelessness ...."
To lose SIX?
AndyM_1875
11-04-2014, 11:53 AM
Don't disagree with that at all. It's fair to say a significant sum has been burned in recent seasons to clear up past mistakes... would not surprise me if we were £500k out of pocket on Calderwood, for example, given that we could have got compensation for him that summer but instead kept him in post for another few months and then sacked him. :grr:
£500k = £10k a week more or less.
Would doubt it was anything like that much on Calderwood.
Fenlon resigned where a clause activated where he could walk or Hibs could let him go for nothing so there was nothing to pay out there.
But both Hughes and Mixu were mutually consented and would have received pay outs.
11-04-2014, 11:54 AM
Do you know who appointed these duds?
AndyM_1875
11-04-2014, 12:05 PM
Do you know who appointed these duds?
Scott Lindsay appointed Fenlon.
Rod appointed Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Yogi, Calderwood & Butcher.
11-04-2014, 12:07 PM
Rod appointed Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Yogi, Calderwood & Butcher.you think he was appointed without Petrie having the final say so? Really!
Nae chance
11-04-2014, 12:07 PM
Rod appointed Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Yogi, Calderwood & Butcher.
Petrie was the man who introduced him to the fans and press, i personally dont think anything gets passed without his final say. So lets just say i disagree with you on the Fenlon appointment.
11-04-2014, 12:12 PM
you think he was appointed without Petrie having the final say so? Really!
Nae chance
Yes let's put this extremely half hearted Scott Lindsay smokescreen to bed. The show is and always has been (mis )run by Petrie.
AndyM_1875
11-04-2014, 12:14 PM
Petrie was the man who introduced him to the fans and press, i personally dont think anything gets passed without his final say. So lets just say i disagree with you on the Fenlon appointment.
Oh don't get me wrong. Scott Lindsay sourced Fenlon and did due diligence on him and interviewed him and made the offer but no business happens at Hibs without Rod's say. His is the final say on everything.
Especially since he now does both the roles of Club Chairman (SFA Blazer stuff) & CEO (running the club) since Scott Lindsay resigned in Summer 2012.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19303528
11-04-2014, 12:26 PM
...... in such large numbers !!!. Considering the fare we've been served over the last 20 years or so, I've said before that we must be one of the luckiest clubs in Scottish Football to still have the number of season-ticket holders we have !
The problem is I think we all thought that once the re-building, EM etc, was complete, all/any money would then be invested into the team on the pitch - the failure to secure Leigh confirms that thought was wrong !. I think there is a 'Fear' of us ever going back to the dark days of the late 80's-early 90's and that's understandable - nobody wants that. Sadly, the concentration/dedication to the 'Business-side' still has priority over the 'Football-side' and it's slowly, but surely, killing us !
11-04-2014, 12:54 PM
Yes let's put this extremely half hearted Scott Lindsay smokescreen to bed. The show is and always has been (mis )run by Petrie.
11-04-2014, 12:58 PM
Doddie, any chance of a reply/explanation?
Nope, it doesn't look like there is..... Poor show, IMHO, since you're commenting on other posts on this thread.
11-04-2014, 04:35 PM
Petrie signs off everything, I bet he even has to see the receipts for match balls and fuel to ferry the under 20's around............ :rolleyes:
11-04-2014, 04:37 PM
Agree bob. :agree:
Certainty Rodders runs the show without anyone else being involved.
Pray4Marc
12-04-2014, 03:34 PM
I actually met a family member of Rod Petries last night and he said Rod wants out at the end of this season.
12-04-2014, 03:37 PM
I actually met a family member of Rod Petries last night and he said Rod wants out at the end of this season.
I doubt very much that poker face Petrie would allow information like that to be leaked out.
Not saying that what you are saying didn't happen but i just don't believe it :greengrin
Nailrod
12-04-2014, 03:41 PM
Scott Lindsay appointed Fenlon...Who appointed Scott Lindsay?
And who sacked him for being rubbish at choosing managers?
AndyM_1875
12-04-2014, 04:29 PM
Who appointed Scott Lindsay?
Scott wasn't sacked.
12-04-2014, 05:02 PM
I don't believe that........
Pray4Marc
12-04-2014, 05:46 PM
I doubt very much that poker face Petrie would allow information like that to be leaked out.
Not saying that what you are saying didn't happen but i just don't believe it :greengrin
It did happen, I showed him this thread aswell and he chuckled at it.
12-04-2014, 06:58 PM
It did happen, I showed him this thread aswell and he chuckled at it.
Thats what i mean. I'm not saying your little story did not happen ! I just don't believe that Petrie would let that info out.
Not doubting your integrity in the slightest.
Am i making sense ?:greengrin
12-04-2014, 07:09 PM
At the lash. :fibber:
12-04-2014, 10:58 PM
STF doesn't see Hibs as a business as far as I know, which isn't much. My perception is he sees it as a charitable act to keep the club in existence - that's all. Shame really
13-04-2014, 08:00 AM
Who appointed Scott Lindsay?
Scott Lindsay left his job at Hibs without one to go to...
Very few people know why - and they aren't saying.
13-04-2014, 08:17 AM
Forced out out the door for failing to follow petries methods perhaps? Taking the fall for petries mistakes?? :dunno:
13-04-2014, 08:31 AM
Forced out out the door for failing to follow petries methods perhaps? Taking the fall for petries mistakes?? :dunno:Well he'll never have the good grace tae take them, it'll always be somebody/something else's fault.
big gogs
13-04-2014, 08:35 AM
What are the other options,who would replace him ,would his replacement have the freedom to increase the spending,sir tom farmer owns and runs the club.he puts money into the club as required.rod Petrie has made mistakes,but not many friends.he has backed managers,appointed wrong managers,taken the budget to the limit.at Easter road there are to many players,obviously most are a waste of space,could that be the reason we could not sign Rooney.we just could not afford it,the Leigh griffiths story will not go away £150,000 neither confirmed or denied,but out s.t.f.and rod Petrie,who has the finance,is the club for sale would any buyer be genuine hibs people.we have seen to many spivs and chancers in scottish football at hearts and rangers ,we had duff and Gray.i don't have the answers or the money.my wife and I have renewed for next season,will it be any better time will time ,can't be much worse
13-04-2014, 08:43 AM
#fingerindyke
14-04-2014, 02:29 PM
Fenlon wasn't even Lindsay & Fyffe's first choice.
14-04-2014, 02:52 PM
Go on, be a sport and tell who was the first choice :aok:
14-04-2014, 02:56 PM
O'Neill?
14-04-2014, 03:03 PM
O'Neill?
STF is not getting any younger I don't know if this has been covered but will Petrie be the man that will take over hibs after he goes/retires. So do we have an idea who will take over when STF goes?
14-04-2014, 03:10 PM
Knew he was in the running. Wonder why they went for Fenlon when Michael was 1st choice
Ireland Job?
14-04-2014, 07:12 PM
There were a few, unfounded I hasten to add, suggestions that Fenlons agent spread some pretty nasty rumours about O'Neill.
14-04-2014, 09:29 PM
Yeah, i wonder why.
14-04-2014, 09:49 PM
Yeah, i wonder why.
Craig Levein ? Think he was touting PF both to United and Hibs. That boy knows talent. :greengrin
14-04-2014, 09:53 PM
:agree::rolleyes:
147lothian
15-04-2014, 11:40 AM
What are the other options,who would replace him ,would his replacement have the freedom to increase the spending,sir tom farmer owns and runs the club.he puts money into the club as required.rod Petrie has made mistakes,but not many friends.he has backed managers,appointed wrong managers,taken the budget to the limit.at Easter road there are to many players,obviously most are a waste of space,could that be the reason we could not sign Rooney.we just could not afford it,the Leigh griffiths story will not go away £150,000 neither confirmed or denied,but out s.t.f.and rod Petrie,who has the finance,is the club for sale would any buyer be genuine hibs people.we have seen to many spivs and chancers in scottish football at hearts and rangers ,we had duff and Gray.i don't have the answers or the money.my wife and I have renewed for next season,will it be any better time will time ,can't be much worse
STF doesn't put any money into the club, he is not even interested in football, it's the fan's who put money into the club, Petrie is a yes man for STF who see's Hibs as a business, he is not interested in the playing side of things so he's happy when Petrie toes his line and runs the club on the cheap, hence the Leigh Griffith sinario. Im sorry but that is one that won't go away because it shows how the board are the problem, as much as Petrie would like managers to take the flak no manager could have signed Griffith's without the nod from Petrie
15-04-2014, 11:53 AM
STF doesn't put any money into the club, he is not even interested in football, it's the fan's who put money into the club, Petrie is a yes man for STF who see's Hibs as a business, he is not interested in the playing side of things so he's happy when Petrie toes his line and runs the club on the cheap, hence the Leigh Griffith sinario. Im sorry but that is one that won't go away because it shows how the board are the problem, as much as Petrie would like managers to take the flak no manager could have signed Griffith's without the nod from Petrie
A simple couple of question's for you !
Have you ever met STF on a one to one basis or in a group situation ?
I have known STF since the 1970's and would ask where you get the idea he is not interested in Hibs ?
OK he doesn't sing songs / appear on Facebook/Twitter but can assure he has the good health of HFC as a number one priority .
Fed up listening to would be " Uber Fans" making comments based on rumour /myth .
15-04-2014, 12:21 PM
Rod does make mistakes though, this after the Co Co the clown episode and these are Rods words from the meeting after Calderwood was sacked
"Petrie was then hammered for his refusal to accept an alleged £300,000 compensation from Birmingham in the summer after the English side targeted Calderwood.He added: “It’s easy to look back with hindsight and we need to learn lessons of decisions made.
“There was interest in Colin from two clubs, one who wanted to pay us less than we paid Newcastle for his services.
“As for the other offer there were mixed messages as we were told by his agent it was unlikely to be the right move for him.
“With hindsight the way the manager dealt with it at the time lost a number of supporters and they lost faith in him from that point on.”
so it would seem we paid Newcastle for him then had to pay him off ! how much did that cost ? unbelievable.
HibeeMassive
15-04-2014, 12:26 PM
STF doesn't put any money into the club
You sure thats the case?
Wasn't there a sizeable injection within the past couple of years from STF / one of STF's holding companies?
15-04-2014, 12:30 PM
You sure thats the case?
Wasn't there a sizeable injection within the past couple of years from STF / one of STF's holding companies?
Over the years STF has regularly bailed the club out in the form of loans from his own pocket.
GreenOnions
15-04-2014, 12:33 PM
You sure thats the case?
A loan was made to the football club. This has been done before and is usually to assist with cash flow I would imagine. These are subsequently repaid. They save the requirement to obtain overdraft facilities which would probably be more expensive.
15-04-2014, 01:47 PM
I have known STF since the 1970's and would ask where you get the idea he is not interested in Hibs ?
OK he doesn't sing songs / appear on Facebook/Twitter but can assure he has the good health of HFC as a number one priority .
Fed up listening to would be " Uber Fans" making comments based on rumour /myth .
I really do despise the term "uber fan".....
I had an interesting chat for half an hour with STF, and the fact that he believes that RP is 100% the best man for Hibs, tells it's own story. Hibs have under-achieved on the playing field for far too long, and until we have a Board with real drive, verve and gusto, we will never improve.....The Board needs to start having direction, real ambition and targets.....4 seasons in a row in bottom 6, is not acceptable for Hibernian, and neither should it become acceptable.....
jakeshibs
15-04-2014, 01:59 PM
well said sir! totally agree!
147lothian
15-04-2014, 04:01 PM
well said sir! totally agree!
I'm not sure what an urban fan is? But I think some people are getting confused with a loan and putting money in
15-04-2014, 04:15 PM
I really do despise the term "uber fan".....
I had an interesting chat for half an hour with STF, and the fact that he believes that RP is 100% the best man for Hibs, tells it's own story. Hibs have under-achieved on the playing field for far too long, and until we have a Board with real drive, verve and gusto, we will never improve.....The Board needs to start having direction, real ambition and targets.....4 seasons in a row in bottom 6, is not acceptable for Hibernian, and neither should it become acceptable.....
Obviously we have our own opinions of STF which we are entitled to express
I can only speak of the numerous times I have spoken with him over the years , and while not OTT about it, he has always made his love for HFC abundantly clear to me and I believe him :thumbsup:
I too dislike the term " Uber Fan" but unfortunately regardless what country /league you care to speak of they are there and have become , for me , the unacceptable face of football .!!!
I have friends who live and support clubs in Belgium, Portugal, Germany and Italy and they all say " they" are to be seen in these coutries :rolleyes:
147lothian
15-04-2014, 04:53 PM
Obviously we have our own opinions of STF which we are entitled to express
I can only speak of the numerous times I have spoken with him over the years , and while not OTT about it, he has always made his love for HFC abundantly clear to me and I believe him :thumbsup:
I too dislike the term " Uber Fan" but unfortunately regardless what country /league you care to speak of they are there and have become , for me , the unacceptable face of football .!!!
I have friends who live and support clubs in Belgium, Portugal, Germany and Italy and they all say " they" are to be seen in these coutries :rolleyes:
I have renewed my season ticket like I always do but do you really believe that people like me who don't have personal meetings with STF and Petrie like yourself and others on here should be termed urban fans for wanting more investment in the team?
15-04-2014, 05:09 PM
See there lies the problem though. In your own words "he has the good health of HFC as number one priority." Now don't get me wrong that's fantastic and he's made us a stable club.
But.... We need someone who isn't penny pinching when it come to deals. For the sake off £300 more a week we have lose players who could may well have done well at the club.
We need him to put that little extra In as the league right now anyone could finish second with just a little ambition. Not going crazy but enough to let us compete at the top end.
Recent seasons proves we have failed in this, and the thing is he'd make money back with more fans and a higher league place. I honestly don't think he's interested in moving us forward (my opinion) he's quite happy to sit back and let things tick over and as long as we're not in any real bother will continue to do so.
I'm thankful of everything he's given Hibs and I hope most if not all would feel the same, but I wouldn't mind seeing Hibs change hands if a deal could be done with a buyer. Farmer would t sell to an idiot so we're ok with that.
15-04-2014, 05:20 PM
See there lies the problem though. In your own words "he has the good health of HFC as number one priority." Now don't get me wrong that's fantastic and he's made us a stable club.
But.... We need someone who isn't penny pinching when it come to deals. For the sake off £300 more a week we have lose players who could may well have done well at the club.
We need him to put that little extra In as the league right now anyone could finish second with just a little ambition. Not going crazy but enough to let us compete at the top end.
Recent seasons proves we have failed in this, and the thing is he'd make money back with more fans and a higher league place. I honestly don't think he's interested in moving us forward (my opinion) he's quite happy to sit back and let things tick over and as long as we're not in any real bother will continue to do so.
I'm thankful of everything he's given Hibs and I hope most if not all would feel the same, but I wouldn't mind seeing Hibs change hands if a deal could be done with a buyer. Farmer would t sell to an idiot so we're ok with that.
I don't think it's about spending more, it's doing more with the money we've got. There is a naturally assumed link between ambition and spend but I think that's far too simplistic.
We need ambition to run through the club, to have players joining with the expectation that success is essential at Hibs rather than being a 'nice to have'. We need players who are capable of playing at a higher level than Hibs who are bursting a gut every week to prove themselves. At the moment we have players for whom Hibs will be the biggest club they will ever play for from now. Liam Craig, Paul Cairney, Tom Taiwo, Ryan Mcgivern etc... they've peaked and don't have that hunger to prove themselves imho.
We need players like Brown, Fletcher, pre-proving himself Kevin Thomson etc, players on the way up in their careers, like Dundee Utd have done with many of their signings.
They don't have to be expensive, Butcher's signing policy at ICT showed what ambition can get you on a low budget. Spending the money well is more important than spending more money.
We need that ambition throughout the club, from youth to seniors to coaches to boardroom and everything in between. The right person at the very top supporting an ambitious manager is a potent combination. We are halfway there with that one, hopefully the other part isn't too far away.
147lothian
15-04-2014, 05:59 PM
I wonder if all the poster on here who claim to know STF and Petrie are public school boys?
15-04-2014, 06:02 PM
Was there not a thread on here a while ago where it was established (Cav G?) that STF was between £8m and £10m out of pocket from owning Hibs?
Irrespective of what your view is there are not many who could/would be able to do that.
15-04-2014, 06:04 PM
Things may not have gone the way we hoped in the last few years but we would have been finished without STF.
My gratitude is endless.
15-04-2014, 06:06 PM
I wonder if all the poster on here who claim to know STF and Petrie are public school boys?
You're at it :cb
15-04-2014, 06:13 PM
Why should that be and what is your point ?
STF went to Holy Cross Academy I believe.
I went to a state school and met STF when he and his father started their tyre business at Abbeyhill in the late '60's.
I meet up occasionally with him through social connections /etc ( not the church !!).
I have never met Petrie .
WestStandMoaner
15-04-2014, 06:16 PM
Things may not have gone the way we hoped in the last few years but we would have been finished without STF.
My gratitude is endless.
There is nothing wrong with showing gratitude and STF will always be remembered for saving hibs. However, STF and Petrie have failed hibs big time on the park. A football club is about winning and unfortunately I do not see this changing for our club with STF and Petrie remaining at the helm.
15-04-2014, 06:17 PM
There is nothing wrong with showing gratitude and STF will always be remembered for saving hibs. However, STF and Petrie have failed hibs big time on the park. A football club is about winning and unfortunately I do not see this changing for our club with STF and Petrie remaining at the helm.
Rangers? The most successful club in the world, apparently.
jakeshibs
15-04-2014, 06:21 PM
so what is the answer name the dream team who are going to come in buy hibs and spend their fortune on us, STF does spend his own money and loves the hibs, he has done this time and time again we will never have a better man at the helm who would never risk our future and has our best interests at heart. I like many am very grateful for him and what he has done.
I do not blame him for our poor performances on the pitch as that is players and the managers jobs.
we all have our own opinions.
15-04-2014, 06:21 PM
I have renewed my season ticket like I always do but do you really believe that people like me who don't have personal meetings with STF and Petrie like yourself and others on here should be termed urban fans for wanting more investment in the team?
OK perhaps I shouldn't have used the term " Uber Fan " - apologies
My point was I get fed up with people who say they attend every game /renew their ST come hell or high water and then think they are entitled to take the moral high ground over Club matters
I see no difference in the lad who turns up two or three times a year wearing his green and white scarf because that's all he can afford than those I mention
Football is part of the entertainment business and from that fans are entitled to vote with their feet .
Post your opinion by all means but please do not claim to be a better supporter because of the games you attend etc .
147lothian
15-04-2014, 06:31 PM
I went to a state school and met STF when he and his father started their tyre business at Abbeyhill in the late '60's.
I meet up occasionally with him through social connections /etc ( not the church !!).
Having this type of social connection, and using the term Urban fan, gives a certain impression of the way you see other fans. I couldn't care less about what the people at the helm are like of a personal basis, its the way they run the club and when things happen like refusing to sanction 15 000 for Leigh Griffiths that bothers me.
WestStandMoaner
15-04-2014, 06:36 PM
so what is the answer name the dream team who are going to come in buy hibs and spend their fortune on us, STF does spend his own money and loves the hibs, he has done this time and time again we will never have a better man at the helm who would never risk our future and has our best interests at heart. I like many am very grateful for him and what he has done.
I do not blame him for our poor performances on the pitch as that is players and the managers jobs.
As I said he will always be remembered for saving Hibs but no one really knows what STF has actually put into the club in hard cash and what he has got out. Like you I have an opinion and there is no doubt STF is a businessman first and foremost because if he was a football man I can assure you we would not be in the mess ( ON THE PARK ) that we have been in for the last five years.
As for the dream team part, well we will never know until STF states openly if the club is for sale
15-04-2014, 06:39 PM
Good post Jake. I agree.
I was there the day JB kissed that turf.
15-04-2014, 06:45 PM
Having this type of social connection, and using the term Urban fan, gives a certain impression of the way you see other fans. I couldn't care less about what the people at the helm are like of a personal basis, its the way they run the club and when things happen like refusing to sanction 15 000 for Leigh Griffiths that bothers me.
Are you sure this is true?
15-04-2014, 06:52 PM
STF did have offices in Thistle Street, sure i done work for him there.
15-04-2014, 06:54 PM
Are you sure this is true?
Fact.
delthehibee
15-04-2014, 06:59 PM
Beside Morton Fraser Sols
15-04-2014, 07:00 PM
STF did indeed go to Holy Cross - I know this because he was at school with my mum.
15-04-2014, 07:04 PM
I think that because of the passage of time - nearly twenty five years - some of us tend to forget that we probably would not exist today if it wasn't for STF.
Am not saying he is perfect, far from it. I just don't get his seemingly unbreakable faith in Petrie, whose every mistake seems to lead us further into the wilderness.
Apart from the above, I have nothing but respect and admiration for STF.
15-04-2014, 07:07 PM
STF did indeed go to Holy Cross - I know this because he was at school with my mum.
Thank you
Thought he did from remarks he has made !!
15-04-2014, 07:09 PM
[QUOTE=johnrebus;3970917]I think that because of the passage of time - nearly twenty five years - some of us tend to forget that we probably would not exist today if it wasn't for STF.
Am not saying he is perfect, far from it. I just don't get his seemingly unbreakable faith in Petrie, whose every mistake seems to lead us further into the wilderness.
After I read your post again I think you are probably " right on the money " :thumbsup:
15-04-2014, 07:12 PM
I don't think it's about spending more, it's doing more with the money we've got. There is a naturally assumed link between ambition and spend but I think that's far too simplistic.
We need ambition to run through the club, to have players joining with the expectation that success is essential at Hibs rather than being a 'nice to have'. We need players who are capable of playing at a higher level than Hibs who are bursting a gut every week to prove themselves. At the moment we have players for whom Hibs will be the biggest club they will ever play for from now. Liam Craig, Paul Cairney, Tom Taiwo, Ryan Mcgivern etc... they've peaked and don't have that hunger to prove themselves imho.
We need players like Brown, Fletcher, pre-proving himself Kevin Thomson etc, players on the way up in their careers, like Dundee Utd have done with many of their signings.
They don't have to be expensive, Butcher's signing policy at ICT showed what ambition can get you on a low budget. Spending the money well is more important than spending more money.
We need that ambition throughout the club, from youth to seniors to coaches to boardroom and everything in between. The right person at the very top supporting an ambitious manager is a potent combination. We are halfway there with that one, hopefully the other part isn't too far away.
Reading that I can't say I disagree with any of it Matty.
15-04-2014, 07:14 PM
I think that because of the passage of time - nearly twenty five years - some of us tend to forget that we probably would not exist today if it wasn't for STF.
I doubt there is a single person, not grateful for STF saving OUR club, however, whilst it should never be forgotten, we should still be entitled to question what is going on regarding our continual under achieving......
15-04-2014, 07:31 PM
I doubt there is a single person, not grateful for STF saving OUR club, however, whilst it should never be forgotten, we should still be entitled to question what is going on regarding our continual under achieving......
Agree with all of that. Like I say. I just don't get it on the Petrie front.
147lothian
15-04-2014, 07:36 PM
Im sorry sir but you are the one trying to claim the moral high ground with a post like that, (Urban Fans) for investment in the team!
15-04-2014, 08:28 PM
Fact.
Must be true then.
15-04-2014, 08:35 PM
Is getting in Terry Butcher and his entire team not ambition though?
15-04-2014, 08:48 PM
Thompson trying to keep his young side together, http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27043618 now that's what i like to hear from a chairman, have you heard the rallying call from ours recently ?.
15-04-2014, 09:30 PM
Is getting in Terry Butcher and his entire team not ambition though?
It's a start. :agree: But it is just that - a start. There needs to be more though, you can't just hire a manager and sit back thinking the job's done.
15-04-2014, 10:48 PM
Must be true then.
I read it on here.
16-04-2014, 07:10 AM
It's a start. :agree: But it is just that - a start. There needs to be more though, you can't just hire a manager and sit back thinking the job's done.
Thats very true, although i certainly expected him to improve us not make us a much worse a complete shambles.
16-04-2014, 07:30 AM
Is there any evidence to suggest that's what is happening now? I mean actual evidence and not hibs.net FACT!
16-04-2014, 07:58 AM
Thompson trying to keep his young side together, http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/27043618 now that's what i like to hear from a chairman, have you heard the rallying call from ours recently ?.
No and I hope we don't. If he pledges to keep this squad together I'll be demanding his tache on a plate.
16-04-2014, 08:53 PM
Is there any evidence to suggest that's what is happening now? I mean actual evidence and not hibs.net FACT!
Players out on the lash the night we lost the derby. Cairney in court today. Players moaning to anyone who'll listen about training. None of those things are indicative of a highly ambitious culture at the club.
16-04-2014, 08:57 PM
Players out on the lash the night we lost the derby. Cairney in court today. Players moaning to anyone who'll listen about training. None of those things are indicative of a highly ambitious culture at the club.
I might be wrong, but were you not one of those who said Pat was the man who was ridding us of this type of player. He was supposed to have only brought the right players to the club.
Mind you he seemed to be able to get more out of them than the current incumbent.
16-04-2014, 08:58 PM
I might be wrong, but were you not one of those who said Pat was the man who was ridding us of this type of player. He was supposed to have only brought the right players to the club.
Mind you he seemed to be able to get more out of them than the current incumbent.
Pat himself said he was doing something about those sort of players.
16-04-2014, 09:39 PM
Im sorry sir but you are the one trying to claim the moral high ground with a post like that, (Urban Fans) for investment in the team!
Jdships has met STF and knows more about his feelings for Hibs than I do. I think his post is valid.
Seeing as Aberdeen have had a lot of mentions on this thread, it's worth pointing out that plenty of Dons have been very critical of their chairman for 'not caring' about their club. It's only this season that has seen a change in perception.
16-04-2014, 09:49 PM
Pat himself said he was doing something about those sort of players.
Obviously he failed then.
16-04-2014, 09:52 PM
He did - that's why he walked.
16-04-2014, 09:53 PM
You say that like it's new news!
stevejordan
16-04-2014, 10:00 PM
you are splitting hairs both are as bad as each other the current situation on the pitch is like ground hogg day AKA Duffy Jim all over again he started like a firework bursting in the sky and ended up like a damp squid.
IMO Butcher is worse than Paddy as we would IMO Not be where we are if Paddy was Still at the helm, in fact it is Paddys points won early season that is holding us up right now.
Regardless we are where we are and a win this weekend will see us safe.
16-04-2014, 10:02 PM
Well before he walked there was all this talk that he had rid the club of the idiots, and had brought good solid professionals to the club. In fact rid the club of the culture we'd previously had.
Its strange that it seems to be rearing its head again, when Fenlon had apparently rid the club of it?
16-04-2014, 10:18 PM
He did - that's why he walked.
Did he really just walk though? Or was he yet another manager paid off that they wanted to keep a lid on about?
It's something that has been playing on my mind. Perhaps the reason we're getting such poor quality in, is because we're always paying off the last manager, which doesn't give the next manager much of chance to do what he wants. Which then results in him being paid off, continuing the cycle.
16-04-2014, 11:03 PM
Criswell
16-04-2014, 11:58 PM
I am not sure that I buy into the idea that Farmer has a "genuine love for the club" The perception of many is that he is aloof and disinterested. His toleration of ongoing failure and under-acheiving is stretching the loyalty of his paying-customers to breaking point. Mere "survival" is hardly an ambition supporters would share.
Farmer/Petrie need to raise their game and pretty quickly too, otherwise this malaise will continue with possible dire consequencies.
Sir Tom is a rugby man and saved Hibs because he's a proud Leither and knew what it means to the community. Petrie was put in place due to his business dealings and was told to look after Farmers investment, it's looked at purely as a business and balancing the books is the main aim.
Jeez if that's all there is from the top , whats the point of Hibs
17-04-2014, 07:46 AM
Jeez if that's all there is from the top , whats the point of HibsPreserved for posterity, there for everybody tae look at but ultimately doing nothing, a bit like a picked specimen in a jar at a museum.
Preserved for posterity, there for everybody tae look at but ultimately doing nothing, a bit like a picked specimen in a jar at a museum.
We are Desperate Dan know what I mean :wink:
17-04-2014, 08:06 AM
We are Desperate Dan know what I mean :wink:
Jeezo, not this thread too. All these changes of identity are becoming dizzying. It's like a completely out of control plot from 24.
17-04-2014, 08:14 AM
Well before he walked there was all this talk that he had rid the club of the idiots, and had brought good solid professionals to the club. In fact rid the club of the culture we'd previously had.
Its strange that it seems to be rearing its head again, when Fenlon had apparently rid the club of it?
I never believed and still don't we had this "culture" I kept hearing about on here, for me it was used as an excuse for failure on the park when for me the truth of the matter is the "culture" was signing crap players and adopting crap tactics. I am pretty sure all clubs have an element of players who are not as dedicated as others if so you deal with it properly.
I will have the attitudes of your Griffiths and Stokes all day for what was returned on park. The message is simple just stop signing crap footballers firstly then worry about who got p1ssed on Saturday.
17-04-2014, 08:48 AM
You're suggesting we give him even MORE money?
I want the so-an-so OUT.
Whatever sum a scheme like this raised, I'd back Petrie to dock an equal sum off the club transfer budget.
The manager would never see it.
Let me get this right...are you saying that Rod Petrie is stealing money, money given in good faith by Hibbies to help out children who haven't had the best start in life, to aid his 'business plan'? Rrrrriiggghhht.
Thanks, I :aok:
The original suggestion was that fans should contribute £10 a head every month to be given to the manager for the transfer budget.
Where on earth the "children who haven't had the best start in life" come from, I can't quite work out.
But don't let that stop you deliberately misrepresenting what I was saying. :aok:
17-04-2014, 09:12 AM
The original suggestion was that fans should contribute £10 a head every month to be given to the manager for the transfer budget.
Where on earth the "children who haven't had the best start in life" come from, I can't quite work out.
But don't let that stop you deliberately misrepresenting what I was saying. :aok:
Kicks For Kids Doddie. FranckSuzy runs Leith Links which raises cash to buy season tickets through the kicks for kids initiative for disadvantaged kids with the money going towards the player budget at the club. Kids get to go to the games, more seats are filled at easter road and there's more money in the managers kitty. To suggest Petrie would redirect these funds does seem a a bit off from a man of your obvious intelligence but it appears you were unaware of the scheme.
details on how to sign up for a monthly contribution here:
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?280410-Kicks-For-Kids-Fundraiser-2014-15-22-Season-Tickets-Bought-So-Far
I never believed and still don't we had this "culture" I kept hearing about on here, for me it was used as an excuse for failure on the park when for me the truth of the matter is the "culture" was signing crap players and adopting crap tactics. I am pretty sure all clubs have an element of players who are not as dedicated as others if so you deal with it properly.
I will have the attitudes of your Griffiths and Stokes all day for what was returned on park. The message is simple just stop signing crap footballers firstly then worry about who got p1ssed on Saturday.
TB is from the old school style management, he doesn't mind players having a drink etc if they put in a shift at training and on the park, yogi was pretty much the same and then like now we've had stories of players clubbing up George St and poor performances. The players under Fenlon may not have been partying as much but his negative tactics was what drove the fans against him, we'd probably finish mid table but we'd be bored to death by the end. We've now got the drinking culture back with players like McGivern, Cairney etc, still poor tactics but now we have a mix of poor tactics and players not giving a damn.
We need as a club direction from the top, a chairman and owner wanting more than just balancing books and staying in the black, all is in place to push on but we seem to go from one obstacle to another every few months, Petrie got lucky with Mowbray and has made a pig's ear of things since then, time for change.
Jeezo, not this thread too. All these changes of identity are becoming dizzying. It's like a completely out of control plot from 24.
Got an awfi lot to answer for has Kirk/Spartacus
<br>
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u93bhAimFFU#aid=P76yNqaTsvg
17-04-2014, 09:57 AM
Kicks For Kids Doddie. FranckSuzy runs Leith Links which raises cash to buy season tickets through the kicks for kids initiative for disadvantaged kids with the money going towards the player budget at the club. Kids get to go to the games, more seats are filled at easter road and there's more money in the managers kitty. To suggest Petrie would redirect these funds does seem a a bit off from a man of your obvious intelligence but it appears you were unaware of the scheme.
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?280410-Kicks-For-Kids-Fundraiser-2014-15-22-Season-Tickets-Bought-So-Far
Thanks, B :aok:
17-04-2014, 11:53 AM
Well, if he had explained that initially ...
The original post was about us putting a tenner a month in to the club to boost the manager's budget.
No mention of Kicks for Kids, and I'm not psychic - I don't know what everyone on this board's involved in.
And I don't suggest he would redirect the Kicks-for-Kids funds. Those, after all, will be legally ring-fenced and protected.
But the truth is I just don't trust him to look after the best interests of my football team any longer. His methods have painted us into a corner and if we go down in May I'll consider him to be the man responsible.
17-04-2014, 04:58 PM
As investments go I don't think it will make his list of financial achievements.
True but I'm also pretty sure he knows that finances can run wild at football clubs if not properly looked after, don't think he wants to be piling £1-2m every year because the man in charge hasn't been doing his job.
147lothian
17-04-2014, 08:45 PM
Valid post, Of Course I prefer the stadium now to the old one and im glad we have state of the art training facilities, but now they are in place are the board moving the club forward? Doing the best they can to fill the stadium while hearts are out the picture? By getting a team that will bring fans in? Every thing seems to done to balance the books, keep the investment ticking along, it seems like the paying customer who wants value for the price of a ticket isn't going to get it with this business plan
18-04-2014, 08:44 PM
:agree: Petrie has made financial errors. All the managers that were paid off after making wrong appointment after wrong appointment.
19-04-2014, 03:03 PM
Wonder if he's in the directors box today watching this hiding under his bunnet
19-04-2014, 03:20 PM
Wonder if he's in the directors box today watching this hiding under his bunnet
He's there, looking visibly tense.
Dr Jimmy
19-04-2014, 03:57 PM
I don't use the word often but I genuinely hate Petrie. Hibs will never move forward on the pitch until he has gone.
19-04-2014, 04:09 PM
He's there, looking visibly tense.Wonder how he is now watching the mess he's responsible for creating playing out before his eyes.
147lothian
19-04-2014, 08:31 PM
Wonder how he is now watching the mess he's responsible for creating playing out before his eyes.
Can't really blame TB for the current mess, the malaise was there at Easter Road, long before TB and SM arrived with a proven spl record, they need time, the problem is upstairs IMO
19-04-2014, 08:34 PM
I don't think he will be feeling any different from the start of the game he wouldnae know if we if we played well or not.
19-04-2014, 08:37 PM
I don't use the word often but I genuinely hate Petrie. Hibs will never move forward on the pitch until he has gone.
Maybe a tad extreme but I certainly think he ought to do the decent thing and move aside.
stevejordan
19-04-2014, 08:43 PM
Wonder how he is now watching the mess he's responsible for creating playing out before his eyes.
My Guess is he is watching the EPL Eating a curry bought with a discount voutcher through the door feet up smoking jacket on in front of the fire
Cmon now be fair.Its no cold enough to put the fire on.
19-04-2014, 08:57 PM
Outlived his uselessness a long time ago. GET HIM TO FUGG!!
20-04-2014, 06:44 AM
I looked up the Hootsman article when Petrie appointed Butcher, talk of words coming back to haunt you, if you read it through he also gives his thoughts on CC and Fenlon-unbelievable. The man is a clown and has to go
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/butcher-the-man-to-take-hibs-forward-petrie-1-3186258
20-04-2014, 06:54 AM
Petrie must go Petrie must go! That's the chant for next week when Hearts go 2 up (sad but a very likely outcome)
20-04-2014, 07:17 AM
I looked up the Hootsman article when Petrie appointed Butcher, talk of words coming back to haunt you, if you read it through he also gives his thoughts on CC and Fenlon-unbelievable. The man is a clown and has to go
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spfl/butcher-the-man-to-take-hibs-forward-petrie-1-3186258
To be honest, his comments seemed reasonable enough at the time. Regarding CC and PF I think he was politely saying that they weren't up to the job. Very few people were against Butcher and co coming to the club. I was excited at their arrival and thought they had the experience to steady the ship for this season before rebuilding. Petrie's comments about spending within your means are also sensible.
I think what he lacks is the ability to deviate from that strategy occasionally, although maybe he has tried this and its backfired (Collins?). He seems like the wrong man for the job, and a rabbit in the headlights as we lurch from one disaster to another, but Im not sure what we can do about it.
20-04-2014, 10:13 AM
To be honest, his comments seemed reasonable enough at the time. Regarding CC and PF I think he was politely saying that they weren't up to the job. Very few people were against Butcher and co coming to the club. I was excited at their arrival and thought they had the experience to steady the ship for this season before rebuilding. Petrie's comments about spending within your means are also sensible.
I think what he lacks is the ability to deviate from that strategy occasionally, although maybe he has tried this and its backfired (Collins?). He seems like the wrong man for the job, and a rabbit in the headlights as we lurch from one disaster to another, but Im not sure what we can do about it.****in' brass neck tae talk about anybody no being up tae a job.
20-04-2014, 10:21 AM
Can't really blame TB for the current mess, the malaise was there at Easter Road, long before TB and SM arrived with a proven spl record, they need time, the problem is upstairs IMO
I don't accept this at all! :confused:
Any decent team manager with sufficient players at his disposal to reorganise things in his way should be able to put together and motivate a team capable of beating most of the absolute dross in the SPFL IMO yet TB, a supposed top "man manager and motivator" has been unable to do that! :agree:
Indeed, he and MM appear to have disrupted the playing staff all by themselves to the point that few of the players seem interested in playing to their capabilities and as part of a team hell bent on winning every game! :agree:
Any structural organisational or governance systems in place which may affect the football side should not impact on team training, coaching or selection and match day activities! :confused:
20-04-2014, 10:31 AM
I don't accept this at all! :confused:
Any decent team manager with sufficient players at his disposal to reorganise things in his way should be able to put together and motivate a team capable of beating most of the absolute dross in the SPFL IMO yet TB, a supposed top "man manager and motivator" has been unable to do that! :agree:
Indeed, he and MM appear to have disrupted the playing staff all by themselves to the point that few of the players seem interested in playing to their capabilities and as part of a team hell bent on winning every game! :agree:
Any structural organisational or governance systems in place which may affect the football side should not impact on team training, coaching or selection and match day activities! :confused:
:agree: Until yesterday, I gave Butcher the benefit of the doubt. Not now. He has made a complete mess of the last few months all on his own. Yes, these are another manager's players and the culture at the club is horrendous, but any decent manager would be able to carve out a few wins and certainly better performances with the range of players at his disposal. Most of the players have chucked it and TB seems incapable to addressing that, and he knows it.
20-04-2014, 11:08 AM
Petrie must go Petrie must go! That's the chant for next week when Hearts go 2 up (sad but a very likely outcome)
Yes agree. Back to basic old school chants to get the message through.
20-04-2014, 12:06 PM
****in' brass neck tae talk about anybody no being up tae a job.
Agree, but unless we/the club are able to engineer an entirely new ownership he can't stand down.
147lothian
20-04-2014, 10:33 PM
Agree, but unless we/the club are able to engineer an entirely new ownership he can't stand down.
Is the bigger question not why is there a malaise at Easter Road? Or have they all the previous managers also been useless?
oregonhibby
21-04-2014, 05:57 AM
It is all about the culture within the club. There is not a winning mentality. There is a mentality that nickels and dimes everything. The staff and the players think that everything is dumbed down. Yes we have a great stadium and training ground - but there again you never lose money on property - we have the highest wage structure outside Celtic or perhaps Aberdeen, but we seem to wait til the last minute in the sales and end up buying cheap jeans that are too big and don't fit, regardless what you do with them. Even then the negotiation is so demoralising a state of cheapness pervades the whole place.
Culture - we say nothing about anything other than dig deep otherwise we can afford a decent team.
People will accept failing to teach targets and goals if there is a genuine attempt to achieve them and an effort made. Not setting targets means you are afraid and that fear pervades the Club.
Staff never want quoted because they fear for their jobs. Bad culture.
Players feel devalued because of the way their contracts are negotiated or renegotiated. Power through position and not influence. Harris hasn't kicked a ball recently.
Until the culture changes we cannot expect much progress. Other than they say in the Army, advance to the rear.
It is all about the culture within the club. There is not a winning mentality. There is a mentality that nickels and dimes everything. The staff and the players think that everything is dumbed down. Yes we have a great stadium and training ground - but there again you never lose money on property - we have the highest wage structure outside Celtic or perhaps Aberdeen, but we seem to wait til the last minute in the sales and end up buying cheap jeans that are too big and don't fit, regardless what you do with them. Even then the negotiation is so demoralising a state of cheapness pervades the whole place.
Culture - we say nothing about anything other than dig deep otherwise we can afford a decent team.
People will accept failing to teach targets and goals if there is a genuine attempt to achieve them and an effort made. Not setting targets means you are afraid and that fear pervades the Club.
Players feel devalued because of the way their contracts are negotiated or renegotiated. Power through position and not influence. Harris hasn't kicked a ball recently.
Until the culture changes we cannot expect much progress. Other than they say in the Army, advance to the rear.:agree:...:top marks
21-04-2014, 07:07 AM
Just check out when most of our signings seem to be made every season, players should have a proper pre season but we get players in at the arse end of the window. Even though we pay very little in transfer fees nowadays do players get a signing on fee, could that be part of our problem in attracting players?.
21-04-2014, 07:15 AM
Just check out when most of our signings seem to be made every season, players should have a proper pre season but we get players in at the arse end of the window. Even though we pay very little in transfer fees nowadays do players get a signing on fee, could that be part of our problem in attracting players?.
Petrie is the problem when. It comes to attracting players. Point blank refusal to shell out what they are actually and pay them what they deserve. Gtf Petrie.
Baker9
21-04-2014, 07:49 AM
Alex Ferguson in his autobiography lists 3 essentials that need to be in place in order for a manager to be successful at a club. One of these is 'a Chairman who understands the game'. If a manager is unable to tick off any one of the three, Ferguson suggests that manager is 'in for a battle'. We have a seemingly endless stream of managers who might agree. It is to be hoped that Butcher and Malpas are up for the battle.
A new board with a new accountant and Gordon Strachan as director of football would do it.
147lothian
21-04-2014, 10:05 AM
I wonder if an owner who buys the club 25 years ago for one reason or another but isn't interested in football and a chairman who is appointed 17 years ago to protect the owners investment would be a recipe for success for Ferguson?
21-04-2014, 10:07 AM
Until the culture changes we cannot expect much progress. Other than they say in the Army, advance to the rear.
:top marks That's as simple an explanation of our mess as anyone should need.
21-04-2014, 10:12 AM
Fantastic post. Agree fully with the lot!
21-04-2014, 10:13 AM
Maybe Petrie should read this, folk that have football in their veins http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/27068668.
HiBremian
21-04-2014, 10:13 AM
Alex Ferguson in his autobiography lists 3 essentials that need to be in place in order for a manager to be successful at a club. One of these is 'a Chairman who understands the game'. If a manager is unable to tick off any one of the three, Ferguson suggests that manager is 'in for a battle'. We have a seemingly endless stream of managers who might agree. It is to be hoped that Butcher and Malpas are up for the battle.
A new board with a new accountant and Gordon Strachan as director of football would do it.
Agree. The club needs to be run by someone who understands the game, not the accounts.
The irony of the latter is that, the way things are going, we are going to be "punished" with relegation for the Tache's financial prudence.
21-04-2014, 10:15 AM
It is about the culture and we are known as the tightest team in the SPFL.
Speaking with ex players and with stories constantly appearing about low wages we pay to key performers we continue to struggle.
An ex player told me that the wage structure also hindered bringing in 3 or 4 decent players and other squad members earning less but still being valued in the team.
Instead we had a similar wage cap for nearly all players resulting in average players and no standouts. There is no coincidence when we had Latapy and co they got a bit more but deserved it - but they brought the best out of lower paid players - John O'Neil etc.
When we have splashed the cash (supposedly) we spend it on someone like James Collins which is criminal.
We are never going to get better till the culture improves - Mowbray and Collins changed the playing culture and got success but could have been more successful if they had more backing (key players sold off). The rest of the managers have tried to change the playing culture but failed - add that to rubbish players we have had and your destined to fail again and again.
Baker9
21-04-2014, 10:24 AM
I wonder if an owner who buys the club 25 years ago for one reason or another but isn't interested in football and a chairman who is appointed 17 years ago to protect the owners investment would be a recipe for success for Ferguson?
If Ferguson's formula for success is valid then any club set up the way you describe has little or no chance. We are perhaps the living proof that he is right. Add to that a complete lack of man management skills (from Petrie) and we could be struggling for more years. I live in hope, and slightly waning conviction, that Butcher and Malpas can deal with him.
147lothian
21-04-2014, 12:40 PM
The problem seems to be that TB could stand up to Petrie and find himself out a job, so where does the problem lie? The problems at Easter Road are more than yet another bad manager, i've seen too many managers take it in the neck for the folk upstairs, that doesn't mean that im here to speak up for TB just saying that i've seen it all before
Hibiza
21-04-2014, 01:51 PM
stand down. you've had a fair crack at it. pass it on.
21-04-2014, 01:52 PM
And STF is going to replace him with ? :rolleyes:
bobbyhibs1983
21-04-2014, 01:55 PM
I ll give it a go if stf is stuck for someone to replace him:devil:
21-04-2014, 01:56 PM
That in itself shouldnt make him untouchable... The reality is that the original poster is correct and that would be for Farmer to find the right man. Petrie has to go ...
21-04-2014, 01:57 PM
I know things are bad, but have you ever said anything optimistic about anything.....seriously, ever?
21-04-2014, 01:58 PM
That in itself shouldnt make him untouchable... The reality is that the original poster is correct and that would be for Farmer to find the right man. Petrie has to go ...
The point is STF believes RP is the right man - end off (unless someone buy's the club)
21-04-2014, 02:01 PM
Without the benefit of hindsight which manager should Petrie have gone for ? We didn't get the usual list of candidates as it became clear butcher was man he wanted , so have no idea who we could of had . Think the pressure will mount on Petrie after Derby but unless he feels he can't do anymore or is tired of the personal abuse he will stay as Farmer won't want to do anything rash at this point
21-04-2014, 02:03 PM
Is this thread on a ****** loop?
21-04-2014, 02:06 PM
The point is STF believes RP is the right man - end off (unless someone buy's the club)
No, the point is that petrie has taken this club as far as he can.. Wether Farmer continues to ignore that fact is one thing, quite different from u using his potential succesor or lack of one in ur eyes as a reason not to pump him..
Petrie has got to go, clear as day...
Rod Petrie II
21-04-2014, 02:12 PM
Whoever applies for the position.
21-04-2014, 02:15 PM
STF is NOT going to sack RP, so there will be no need for application's.
21-04-2014, 02:16 PM
He would replace him with a person very like RP, as STF has said time and again the he is the wants at the helm.
Again the issue of someone buying the club is raised.
21-04-2014, 02:16 PM
Well time for STF to know he is not the the right man - end off.
stevejordan
21-04-2014, 02:19 PM
Without the benefit of hindsight which manager should Petrie have gone for ? We didn't get the usual list of candidates as it became clear butcher was man he wanted , so have no idea who we could of had . Think the pressure will mount on Petrie after Derby but unless he feels he can't do anymore or is tired of the personal abuse he will stay as Farmer won't want to do anything rash at this point
On Paper TB was a really good appointment an experienced SPL Manager with compo paid to prize him away not many complained most on here rejoiced and initially he was a very popular appointment and Petrie had finally got it right.
Now that it has deteriorated into the form we are in now the pressure is back on Petrie to step down.
21-04-2014, 02:20 PM
Simples - all the posters on this forum that want RP to go, club together and buy Hibs, should only cost you a few million.
Or you could contact the list of millionaires what want to buy an SPFL team.
Remember one thing - STF wont come back again, and sort out another mess.
Time for RP to admit he is not the right man for the job, if the clubs means so much to him he must admit he's taken it as far as he can.
He would replace him with a person very like RP, as STF has said time and again the he is the wants at the helm.
Again the issue of someone buying the club is raised.
If you had your way and only people with the financial capacity to buy Hibs were allowed to comment these threads wouldnae last too long. Surely people can speculate on the subject at least.
21-04-2014, 02:22 PM
Simples - all the posters on this forum that want RP to go, club together and buy Hibs, should only cost you a few million.
Well that's it then simple, the status quo it is!!!!
21-04-2014, 02:25 PM
So what's the solution? Someone stepping forward with the intention and the means to take over would be the starting point.
21-04-2014, 02:25 PM
Not our problem, and even if we had any idea it would carry little/no weight with STF. We could however easily sketch out the qualities of the next Chairman/CEO and the values we hold dear. These would include many qualities lacking in our current leader.
21-04-2014, 02:26 PM
No - there is nothing to stop a consortium of fans offerring to buy STF out - he has always stated that he would sell - as long as it is the long term intrest's of the club.
What other alternative do you have to provide that assurance ?
Hibiza
21-04-2014, 02:27 PM
I know things are bad, but have you ever said anything optimistic about anything.....seriously, ever?
Yes, I have. sorry if my comments offend you. just very low due to the situation. sorry again. :flag:
21-04-2014, 02:27 PM
Has STF put Hibs up for sale.?
21-04-2014, 02:28 PM
No - there is nothing to stop a consortium of fans offerring to buy STF out - he has always stated that he would sell - as long as it is the long term intrest's of the club.
How about he tries another chairman to take the club forward.
21-04-2014, 02:29 PM
If you had your way and only people with the financial capacity to buy Hibs were allowed to comment these threads wouldnae last too long. Surely people can speculate on the subject at least.
Then speculate sensibly. The financial capacity would appear, to me, to be pre-requisite for taking over the club. Without it any attempt at removing the owner is not getting anywhere.
21-04-2014, 02:29 PM
So what's the solution? Someone stepping forward with the intention and the means to take over would be the starting point.
Someone mentions RP moving on and suddenly the club has to be sold!
21-04-2014, 02:30 PM
If he is happy that the people taking over will guarentee the long term stable future of our club - he would move on.
I don't see a queue of people lining up to meet his criteria.
21-04-2014, 02:33 PM
Someone mentions RP moving on and suddenly the club has to be sold!
The owner says he wishes he had 100 of him. It stands to reason that the replacement for RP would a clone of RP.
21-04-2014, 02:33 PM
You telling random posters all over the messageboard to buy the club just cos they've aired an opinion isnae too sensible either.
21-04-2014, 02:35 PM
How about he tries another chairman to take the club forward.
DOH !! because he trust's RP - end off please !!
Have you been CEO / Chairman of a multi -million pound business ?
I've not, so don't feel qualified to comment on RP record.
The owner says he wishes he had 100 of him. It stands to reason that the replacement for RP would a clone of RP.
Nonsense, I don't buy that at all.
You telling random posters all over the messageboard to buy the club just cos they've aired an opinion isnae too sensible either.
I would argue that its a solution to their grievances and to implementing the steps they are arguing need to be taken.
21-04-2014, 02:36 PM
When has he stated this. ?
21-04-2014, 02:37 PM
Less of the patronising ****** eh! I've never played top class football either but I feel qualified to comment on what goes on before me............is that okay with you?
21-04-2014, 02:39 PM
Hutchhibby - I am hurting as much as anyone else on this board - but what alternative is there from an ownership / Chairman perspective ?
My view (despite the team) is that we are in the safest of hands - it's amazing how many posters think RP is the wrong man, despite very few (my guess would be none) have ever been at that level of management.
21-04-2014, 02:40 PM
Less of the patronising ****** eh! I've never played top class football either but I feel qualified to comment on what goes on before me............is that okay with you?
You don't need to have played top class football to comment on what we are currently producing! :-)
21-04-2014, 02:41 PM
Of course you are free to comment, was just trying to bring some realism to the thread.
21-04-2014, 02:42 PM
I would argue that its a solution to their grievances and to implementing the steps they are arguing need to be taken.
I'm not too keen on the model of self service checkouts in Morrisons and their fish counter has a poorer selection than Tesco.
Do I need to buy a majority share in the company to complain about that?
21-04-2014, 02:42 PM
I've heard that STF isn't in the best of health,so if any decisions need to be made,who'll make them?
21-04-2014, 02:43 PM
You don't need to have played top class football to comment on what we are currently producing! :-)
Haha I walked into that one.:greengrin
21-04-2014, 02:44 PM
Of course you don't. And we are all in agreement that we are very poor.
21-04-2014, 02:45 PM
I've heard that STF isn't in the best of health,so if any decisions need to be made,who'll make them?
Really? I spoke to him fairly recently and he seemed fine.
21-04-2014, 02:46 PM
Hutchhibby - I am hurting as much as anyone else on this board - but what alternative is there from an ownership / Chairman perspective ?
My view (despite the team) is that we are in the safest of hands - it's amazing how many posters think RP is the wrong man, despite very few (my guess would be none) have ever been at that level of management.
We've tried changing the players and managers but he is still there. An ever increasing number of fans are becoming disenchanted with all things Hibs. IMHO RP's continued presence doesnae help.
21-04-2014, 02:47 PM
Really? I spoke to him fairly recently and he seemed fine.
Did you take the opportunity to discuss the Chairman's position ?
21-04-2014, 02:49 PM
Did you take the opportunity to discuss the Chairman's position ?
No it was a professional conversation where discussing the position of the chairman of one of his business's would have been inappropriate.
21-04-2014, 02:49 PM
I'm not too keen on the model of self service checkouts in Morrisons and their fish counter has a poorer selection than Tesco.
Do I need to buy a majority share in the company to complain about that?
The you can choose to go to Tesco. Nothing to stop you.
Or you could stand in Morrison's and chant "Fishmonger, Fishmonger, Out! Out! Out!" . :greengrin
21-04-2014, 02:52 PM
Heard this as well and hoped it was not true, the point is we the fans have put up more cash in the last twenty years than T F or Rod ever invested and yet they are unaccountable for their actions. Without us they are nothing in Hibernian FC, we are the ones who by buying season tickets keep the ship afloat not Rod or Sir Tom and they should do well to remember that. Petrie has had a go and on the playing side of things (the only thing that matters to me) has for the most part made a complete arse of things, he should go now.
The you can choose to go to Tesco. Nothing to stop you.
Or you could stand in Morrison's and chant "Fishmonger, Fishmonger, Out! Out! Out!" . :greengrin
And that sums up the uniquely brilliant position a football chairman has. The vast majority, if not all, of his customers don't have the option of going elsewhere.
I'm not a Michelin Star chef but I know when I've had a good meal at a restaurant.
I believe it is time for Rod Petrie to leave as Hibs chairman, that doesn't mean to say that I want to replace him.
very old hibby
21-04-2014, 02:53 PM
what region of cost do we think the club would go for if sir tom was interested in selling up
21-04-2014, 02:53 PM
No it was a professional conversation where discussing the position of the chairman of one of his business's would have been inappropriate.
Fine- maybe at your next personal converstaion you may want to put that on the agenda. :rolleyes:
21-04-2014, 02:57 PM
This isn't true about STF, i seen him a couple of weeks ago out with his wife having a nice stroll one evening.
21-04-2014, 02:58 PM
Fine- maybe at your next personal converstaion you may want to put that on the agenda. :rolleyes:
There you go again, why the rolling eyes?
21-04-2014, 03:00 PM
There you go again, why the rolling eyes?
Just surprised that when you obviously have a personal contact with STF that you don't mention Hibs or RP ?
21-04-2014, 03:03 PM
Just surprised that when you obviously have a personal contact with STF that you don't mention Hibs or RP ?
He clearly said professional not personal.
Do you not agree it would be somewhat, in fact totally, inappropriate to discuss Hibs during a professional conversation?
I'd go as far as to say in certain lines of work it would be a sackable offence.
Chibs
21-04-2014, 03:04 PM
so many moaning Minnie's on here.
21-04-2014, 03:05 PM
so many moaning Minnie's on here.
Because it's so hard to see what all us Minnies have to moan about.
21-04-2014, 03:06 PM
If you knew the circumstances you wouldn't be in the least bit surprised, I did briefly mention Hibs but as for discussing the position of our chairman when Sir Tom was a client conducting business would have been inappropriate.
Chibs
21-04-2014, 03:18 PM
Heard this as well and hoped it was not true, the point is we the fans have put up more cash in the last twenty years than T F or Rod ever invested and yet they are unaccountable for their actions. Without us they are nothing in Hibernian FC, we are the ones who by buying season tickets keep the ship afloat not Rod or Sir Tom and they should do well to remember that. Petrie has had a go and on the playing side of things (the only thing that matters to me) has for the most part made a complete arse of things, he should go now.
Deary deary me.
I have seen some seriously bad posts (and a lot of them were mine) but this one takes the biscuit.
21-04-2014, 03:19 PM
Interesting that this thread is about RP standing down but has quickly been turned into a thread more about STF.
The idea/argument that there is nobody else alive who could:
A Do Rod Petrie's job
B Do it better than he does
is just about the silliest thing I have ever heard.
21-04-2014, 03:23 PM
what region of cost do we think the club would go for if sir tom was interested in selling up
He could sell it back to the community for £1.
Chibs
21-04-2014, 03:30 PM
He could sell it back to the community for £1.
Are you that cant whyte in disguise
21-04-2014, 03:35 PM
And do u think that's a valid reason to stick with Petrie and 7 years of abject failure??? Dearie me...no wonder we r in a mess!!
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
21-04-2014, 03:39 PM
What about the current mess .. where is STF? What has RP done to stem the ever downward spiral since 2007?