View Full Version : New kit supplier - Nike (merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

GREEN WARLORD
07-06-2013, 11:43 AM
I like the look of it and i'll be getting one each for me and the laddie. As someone esle said green with white sleeves, that'll do for me. Maybe the people complaining about too shiny, no green collar, don't like the Crabbies logo blah blah blah, can just keep their cash and go and buy themselves a new frock. :wink:

hibee
07-06-2013, 11:48 AM
The hibs club store address just takes me to 123reg website so I can't even see them!

07-06-2013, 11:48 AM
I suppose it's been a couple years since there was a 'traditional' style kit, so while I might have preferred a version of the Arsenal kit, it looks pretty decent.

Think I still prefer last years Home kit though, so I shall wait and see what the Away looks like...

07-06-2013, 12:00 PM
The marketing dept. at ER is a shambles. Do they even read this site?

Last years kit sold out months ago and was never re stocked costing hibs cash.

Fans clearly loved it.

This year we sign a deal for the generic kit thats garbage compared to last year then we cock up almost everything regarding the marketing. No real hype, the online shop doesnt work. The "models" used do nothing for the kit (sorry guys). Basically its everything youd come to expect from the marketing at ER when it comes to club wear.

All of this on the back of a really good season campaign as well.

Poor.

You have an interesting point regarding last years strip - a success to build on and lessons to learn (I don't know but would appear so). I would like to see a bottle green for this year I can't judge on my iPhone about colours looks varied online and needs to be seen in person IMO - have you seen it in the flesh before dismissing? At work but from other posts it seems the 5 models have relevance?

One final point. I think you are being extremely unfair with your broad brush sensationalist / tabloidesque "shambles".

Maybe you've never had product launch experience? Maybe you have and could volunteer for LWT to pass on your ideas? (Next meeting scheduled 11th 6pm at ER watch out for the notification).

As many folks know there has been cutbacks. The Marketing Department is by and large 1-2 people. To rubbish what they've done is to ignore massive wins IMHO in the East Terrace Stones and the Lotto both taking a lot of time and effort to plan and realise. Innovative and where we should be with Hibs. Russell and his wife also had a nine month project of their own ;) So perhaps before shooting from the hip reflect? So all this a d striking a deal with Nike which I think we'd all welcome (not seen the refurb or know whether Nike met the expense?).

Ill hold judgement til Ive seen it - then call it crap ;) Perhaps clubs have bagged the colour and paid for an exclusive with Nike?

07-06-2013, 12:02 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7Uq9jSxpT8

07-06-2013, 12:09 PM

What is that clown doing at the door right at the end of the video, from 3:27!!

07-06-2013, 12:10 PM

Looks better in the flash rather than the shiny pics being shown.

Notice the Crabbies logo on the back also.

Pretty funny video with him describing the kit - "It's nice strip / nice colour - nice sponsor " :rotflmao:

DAVE1875
07-06-2013, 12:11 PM
How old is that sock design?

For the one's who like stating the obvious. I'm referring to the white bit at the top of the sock. Could've sworn Aberdeen had that when they were still with Nike

07-06-2013, 12:11 PM

The boy wearing the top ? Dunno maybe an employee/greeter.

And is it 'Nike' or 'Nikey' Lets open that can of worms...

07-06-2013, 12:14 PM
The boy wearing the top ? Dunno maybe an employee/greeter.

And is it 'Nike' or 'Nikey' Lets open that can of worms...

There are certain words or names than I can alternate between pronunciations of on a regular basis, but I can categorically state that I've never once said 'Nikey' instead of 'Nike'.

Americans seem to say Nikey on a pretty regular basis though.

07-06-2013, 12:17 PM
Does this mean the 'HFC originals' line has been discontinued? I think that's a shame - I liked the fact that we had our own clothing brand.

07-06-2013, 12:18 PM
Alfred Hitchcock - he's forever trying to get into HibsTv videos - tsk tsk! ;)

07-06-2013, 12:19 PM

Now this question really stumps me I am afraid. They have a sole and they have a bit that goes up the leg. I have worn the same design for 57 years!

There are certain words or names than I can alternate between pronunciations of on a regular basis, but I can categorically state that I've never once said 'Nikey' instead of 'Nike'.

Americans seem to say Nikey on a pretty regular basis though.

It's just a company name so that company can choose the pronunciation in any way they want and it is pronounced Nikey.

It's taken from Greek goddess of victory and that would be pronounced more like Kneekey.

Haven't seen anyone mention this but there is 'Forever Green' on the back of the collar. Thoughts ? I think it's a nice wee touch.

07-06-2013, 12:20 PM

Agree. It's time for the foot to go in the other end.

07-06-2013, 12:22 PM
Like the top but the marketing fails so badly you have to wonder. Using guys my age in shiny Hibs tops to sell a strip...really?

DAVE1875
07-06-2013, 12:24 PM
Now this question really stumps me I am afraid. They have a sole and they have a bit that goes up the leg. I have worn the same design for 57 years!

sbell1875
07-06-2013, 12:25 PM
Haven't seen anyone mention this but there is 'Forever Green' on the back of the collar. Thoughts ? I think it's a nice wee touch.

I like that. I can't remember anything like that since about 2008 when it had a pointy badge just above the waist.

07-06-2013, 12:30 PM

:confused: OK to be more precise, according to t'internet, although socks were worn going back to the Egyptian Pharoahs, it was the invention of the knitting machine in 1589 that made them mass produced. They have been made in the same design ever since apparently. It should be stated that this post is in no way meant to be racist, I am well aware that there are many African children who do not wear socks at all.

07-06-2013, 12:34 PM
Like the top but the marketing fails so badly you have to wonder. Using guys my age in shiny Hibs tops to sell a strip...really?

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130607/crabbies-your-famous-five_2262950_3202759

After a wtf moment did you click on the above link?
Is that a "so what?" From you then?

Do you buy head and shoulders cos Sheryl Cole thinks you're worth it ? ;)

07-06-2013, 12:37 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130607/crabbies-your-famous-five_2262950_3202759

The back story is all well and good but should not really be linked with marketing the strip.

We need to sell strips and the initial picture that you are met with on the launch makes the product you are supposed to be encouraged to buy look terrible. You have to go searching a bit more to be reassured a little that it might be better than it looks in the first picture but it creates an awful lot of doubt.

07-06-2013, 12:42 PM

Yes - the fantastic stuff that these guys have done deserves to be publicised widely by Hibs. It was the front page photo (which seems to have been taken down) that I thought was a daft way to sell tops to mainly a younger audience.

07-06-2013, 12:43 PM

Thanks for pointing this out as I hadn't realised this was the reason. Some really good stuff in there, although in Glen's case, eating healthier to increase life expectancy after having your pension payments cut is surely a false economy. :wink:

07-06-2013, 12:43 PM
The back story is all well and good but should not really be linked with marketing the strip.

We need to sell strips and the initial picture that you are met with on the launch makes the product you are supposed to be encouraged to buy look terrible. You have to go searching a bit more to be reassured a little that it might be better than it looks in the first picture but it creates an awful lot of doubt.

Cheers, you put that better than I did :wink:

07-06-2013, 12:48 PM
Thanks for pointing this out as I hadn't realised this was the reason. Some really good stuff in there, although in Glen's case, eating healthier to increase life expectancy after having your pension payments cut is surely a false economy. :wink:

I did wonder about that - payments cut so trying to live longer? :confused:

07-06-2013, 12:49 PM
You have an interesting point regarding last years strip - a success to build on and lessons to learn (I don't know but would appear so). I would like to see a bottle green for this year I can't judge on my iPhone about colours looks varied online and needs to be seen in person IMO - have you seen it in the flesh before dismissing? At work but from other posts it seems the 5 models have relevance?

One final point. I think you are being extremely unfair with your broad brush sensationalist / tabloidesque "shambles".

Maybe you've never had product launch experience? Maybe you have and could volunteer for LWT to pass on your ideas? (Next meeting scheduled 11th 6pm at ER watch out for the notification).

As many folks know there has been cutbacks. The Marketing Department is by and large 1-2 people. To rubbish what they've done is to ignore massive wins IMHO in the East Terrace Stones and the Lotto both taking a lot of time and effort to plan and realise. Innovative and where we should be with Hibs. Russell and his wife also had a nine month project of their own ;) So perhaps before shooting from the hip reflect? So all this a d striking a deal with Nike which I think we'd all welcome (not seen the refurb or know whether Nike met the expense?).

Ill hold judgement til Ive seen it - then call it crap ;) Perhaps clubs have bagged the colour and paid for an exclusive with Nike?

It's the 12th :wink: :greengrin. Other than that, :agree: completely.

DAVE1875
07-06-2013, 12:51 PM
Looking at Plymouth's new home kit, could we have had something similar to it but with white sleeves if we stayed with Puma?

http://www.pafc.co.uk/cms_images/homekitfulllength86-857234.jpg

07-06-2013, 12:57 PM
Looking at Plymouth's new home kit, could we have had something similar to it but with white sleeves if we stayed with Puma?

See they have gone back to the squint line no thanks.

Just been at the shop and for such a poor marketing scheme that hibs are ment to have had, the shop was nice and busy with folk getting the new shirt. Also the shirt is 100x better in the flesh.

07-06-2013, 01:06 PM
http://fcteamsports.com.au/shop-by-brand/nike/jerseys/nike-ss-classic-iv-jersey-pine-green-white.html Must have took a whole 5 seconds to make. Its just a nike t-shirt with our badge on it. Its ok but not much thought went into it the way Rod was talking.

Nelly070
07-06-2013, 01:17 PM
Just been told that it costs a flat £14 to have name and number on the back irrespective of the amount of letters or numbers used ! Can anyone confirm ??

07-06-2013, 01:20 PM
its nice but not worth the price, considering how much the tops cost to make.

07-06-2013, 01:21 PM
Just been told that it costs a flat £14 to have name and number on the back irrespective of the amount of letters or numbers used ! Can anyone confirm ??

£14 is correct as on store site.

http://www.hibernianclubstore.co.uk/hb-85-ss-home-jsy-13-14-adult

Devilstorment
07-06-2013, 01:48 PM
Just been down to the shop and picked mine up.

I really like it, I was a huge fan of the bottle green top last season IMO best kit we have had in my lifetime.

This one is a decent top, better than a lot of people (who probably have only seen it through their PC's) are giving it credit.

a few points.

1 - No daft designs, classic colours and classic design.
2 - Slightly bigger made, perfect for the more rotund amongst us
3 - Feels nice and light to wear

It does feel a bit generic as some have mentioned, but I think thats the issue when you go with a multi national company that churns out kits for about 90million different sports teams.

Think that it is overpriced... but at least it is putting money in to the club!

07-06-2013, 01:52 PM

I think whoever is going to buy one of these wont be put off by the initial picture and decide not to purchase on the strength of that alone.

I actually think it shows that older guys can pull this top off. Pretty clever.

DAVE1875
07-06-2013, 01:55 PM
:confused: OK to be more precise, according to t'internet, although socks were worn going back to the Egyptian Pharoahs, it was the invention of the knitting machine in 1589 that made them mass produced. They have been made in the same design ever since apparently. It should be stated that this post is in no way meant to be racist, I am well aware that there are many African children who do not wear socks at all.

Look at the socks on the mannequin in the video ya tit

:fenlon

Deek01
07-06-2013, 02:00 PM
Am I right in thinking this is the first year in a while hibs haven't given the money off vouchers for the following seasons home strips to season ticket holders ?

07-06-2013, 02:08 PM
Pleased it's back to nearer emerald green but £46 :shocked: I've seen a couple of kids around Leith and a young gent with the top on and it looks good. Lets hope those that wear it show pride in it.

07-06-2013, 02:10 PM
I really like it (although the Crabbies logo could have been done better), but I wouldnt pay 40 odd quid for a football shirt.

07-06-2013, 02:14 PM

:greengrin Quite.

07-06-2013, 02:14 PM
Look at the socks on the mannequin in the video ya tit

:fenlon

I beg your pardon young man. Absolutely no need for personal abuse. I have seen the socks on the mannequin and they look a reasonably sensible and correctly designed pair of socks. What is the problem with them? I shall refrain from abusing you back, you are unworthy of it.

07-06-2013, 02:17 PM
Anyone else still unable to open the online club store?

alfie
07-06-2013, 02:24 PM

Yeah, the domain is still gubbed for me!

07-06-2013, 02:29 PM

:greengrin Quite.

07-06-2013, 02:30 PM
I think whoever is going to buy one of these wont be put off by the initial picture and decide not to purchase on the strength of that alone.

I actually think it shows that older guys can pull this top off. Pretty clever.

Do you? I thought it showed clearly what a mistake it is for older folks or those with less than athletic body shapes to try and wear football tops. That's always been the case but we made it obvious!

07-06-2013, 02:31 PM
Shop working fine for me :thumbsup:

Aaron
07-06-2013, 02:34 PM

Aye, still can't open. Flushed DNS, different browser etc. Pretty poor really.

http://i43.tinypic.com/8wcne8.jpg

07-06-2013, 02:40 PM
its nice but not worth the price, considering how much the tops cost to make.

agreed. Extremely cool shirt (and shorts) but £42.50? no thanks. how much to make, £5? the kids shirt prices are just ridiculous too.

Hovehibby
07-06-2013, 02:42 PM
Like the green collar, but prefer it without the Crabbies logo on the web. looks retro, but really stylish.

Guess that it'll be the same as last year, can't get it minus the sponsor on the adult kit.

07-06-2013, 02:46 PM
Do you? I thought it showed clearly what a mistake it is for older folks or those with less than athletic body shapes to try and wear football tops. That's always been the case but we made it obvious!

The fact remains that older guys do buy and wear the top, regardless of what anyone else thinks.

Their heart must sink when they see players with 1% body fat modeling their clubs new skintight top. This shows that the top isn't unflattering and by that I mean it hides moobs and bellies quite well.

Let's be honest, it's a consideration for a large percentage of people who will buy it.

07-06-2013, 02:46 PM

thats what I'm getting

07-06-2013, 02:47 PM
Shop working fine for me :thumbsup:

How much are the socks?

Devilstorment
07-06-2013, 02:48 PM
Rod should have said that a fiver from every shirt sold would go straight it to the Leigh Griffiths transfer kitty. The Queue would have been round the block!

07-06-2013, 02:51 PM
How much are the socks?

From £8.50 to £10 for L.

07-06-2013, 03:10 PM

thats what I'm getting

It'll be cached on your machine or work/ISP proxy.

Force a new page through by pressing CTL+F5 a few times when on the page.

Eckie
07-06-2013, 03:18 PM
Def looks better in the flesh,just popped around for a wee look,would've preferred the arsenal mock up version tho!

cs9
07-06-2013, 03:59 PM
Apologies if someone has already mentioned this, but what is the EXPR CORE TRAINER JKT like?
It looks pretty good in the club store pic, but we all know that can be deceiving ...

Cheers, cs9

07-06-2013, 04:03 PM
After seeing all the mock ups I was quite excitied about the release today and was planning on heading to the shop after work to buy one for me and the wee man. So plain and boring and looks more Sunday amateur than professional. Almost identical to the Hibs.net teams first strip.

Changed my mind though... Totally underwhelmed. Also hate how the kids strip doesn't have a sponsor. Understand why but don't understand why the kids strips 2 seasons ago had the Crabbies sponsor but they don't now.

fingers crossed there was a bit more thought put into the away strip.

07-06-2013, 04:06 PM
After seeing all the mock ups I was quite excitied about the release today and was planning on heading to the shop after work to buy one for me and the wee man. So plain and boring and looks more Sunday amateur than professional. Almost identical to the Hibs.net teams first strip.

Changed my mind though... Totally underwhelmed. Also hate how the kids strip doesn't have a sponsor. Understand why but don't understand why the kids strips 2 seasons ago had the Crabbies sponsor but they don't now.

fingers crossed there was a bit more thought put into the away strip.

Really? I think the kit is so much smarter without the logo (which isnt great).

07-06-2013, 04:11 PM
I think the Crabbies logo would look better smaller and underneath the badge, a bit like Celtics Tennents logo

07-06-2013, 04:12 PM
Really? I think the kit is so much smarter without the logo (which isnt great).

Yeh, just think it makes them look cheap. Personal opinion though :wink:

07-06-2013, 04:17 PM
I like it.

Would have liked a white collar but on the whole it's simple and looks like a Hibs strip.

07-06-2013, 04:19 PM
Just been to shop. Much better in the flesh.

Good colour, much better material and a much better fit with normal length sleeves.

Unsure as what happened when re-branding the shop. Its no different!!

Strip sold out for today though so will have to nip down tomorrow for mine.

07-06-2013, 04:19 PM
Just saw a few photos on Facebook and they look better than the first pics that were out. Bit of a grower i think, not as nice as last season but better than the year before.

Bit pricey, though.

07-06-2013, 04:22 PM
Bog standard home kit, bit boring really. Cannae see it being a big seller

kdhibees1
07-06-2013, 04:23 PM
Really liking it maself! Will be purchasing in due course!

07-06-2013, 04:25 PM
The boy who served me told me that they will be closing on the 29th and doing the renovation work and that the away kit will be launched around the 10th of july

07-06-2013, 04:37 PM
Had a look on allisbarryback and there was a thread started slating the strip. If anything the new strips is slightly boring.

There were a few reasonable roasters who mentioned it was a decent strip but mostly delusional.

Event: Hearts reveal cringeworthy disgrace of a home strip

Bazza: Hearts break fashion barriers down to create innovative new shirt reminiscent of Alexander McQueens early work

sbell1875
07-06-2013, 04:39 PM
Anyone seen the new Dundee United kits?

Pretty brutal bar the away one I think.

They do win the award for ugliest models use for a kit launch though!

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/13/14-kits/dundee-united-2013-2014-nike-football-kits.html

07-06-2013, 04:44 PM

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/13/14-kits/dundee-united-2013-2014-nike-football-kits.html

That red one is our Home top but red I'd say...

ColintonHibs
07-06-2013, 04:45 PM
First thoughts I didn't like it but after the video I can see it looks much nicer than the photos but £42.50!?!?! Not a chance :confused:
:no way: :fenlon

hibbeedavid
07-06-2013, 04:47 PM
Away looks pretty poor with the away shirt being white a black and the shorts being tangerine, have to admit that is a fear of mine for the away kit with the shorts being green

07-06-2013, 04:50 PM
Like a lot of people my first view was from the official site and was immediately put off with the blandness of the design...however I popped into the club shop and can honestly say the pics do not do the strip justice. The design is classic, no frills and a lovely colour of green. The shop was also going like a fair so I would imagine they have shifted a good few strips.

nic81
07-06-2013, 04:53 PM
Love the Utd away top, love the collar and style, hope we get something similar:flag:

TamHibs
07-06-2013, 04:53 PM
Dundee Utd's away kit is Man Utd's away kit from season just past. I think that'll be our away kit design this year aswel.

kdhibees1
07-06-2013, 04:54 PM
Had a look on allisbarryback and there was a thread started slating the strip. If anything the new strips is slightly boring.

There were a few reasonable roasters who mentioned it was a decent strip but mostly delusional.

How the hell can any of they heid rattlers slag it off? Jealous methinks. Miles better that their wonga arm band effort!

07-06-2013, 04:55 PM
That red one is our Home top but red I'd say...

Arabs going to be dressing up as Arsenal for cup matches... odd.

07-06-2013, 05:15 PM
went through earlier and thought it did indeed look a bit 'shiny' :( bought the black polo shirt for £30 instead...looks braw, and the last hibs ring for a fiver :)

07-06-2013, 05:16 PM
No-one mentioning that it's the closest we've had to emerald green since LCS in 2000/1?

Personally, I would've preferred it to be whatever Hibs didn't come up with, no matter what they'd have unveiled, I'd have wanted it different.

And having seen it in the flesh I would say that it is only 82.6% better seen that way and no where near the 100%s that are getting quoted on here.

07-06-2013, 05:19 PM

United always seem to release odd kits, last year they had to change the shorts about on the two kits because the away looked ridiculous.

I had changed my mind on their home kit, thought it was actually quite smart, but the fade effect is only on the front of the top which looks so daft. No idea what the heritage kit is all about, looks very cheap and shoddy.

07-06-2013, 05:24 PM
Not that impressed, i preferred last years bottle green. I wont be buying it, saying that i have not bought one for 25 years.

Anyone over 30 should not be seen in one anyway, you just look daft. :devil:

green glory
07-06-2013, 05:26 PM
Like the new kit very much. It's what I would call emerald green, the perfect Hibs colour. There's no point moaning about templates as everyone uses them, so I don't see the problem.

I thought last season's was outstanding, and nice for a change. But thus one looks 'more Hibs', and by all accounts the pics don't do them justice. Looking forward to seeing them in the flesh.

Emerald green body with white sleeves. Not sure how you can top that?

07-06-2013, 05:42 PM
Is that Lex??

Old man of JS? Met him through work.

Bit of a character! :greengrin

Bobo
07-06-2013, 06:21 PM
Nothing special to be honest, the collar is pretty crap. I think there's been far better designs put up by .net punters than that top.

Have to admit the top is better in the flesh, so to speak, and not as bad as my first impression of the online photos.

I'm glad to see the Emerald Green back and I think the material and fit are better than last years Puma kit. Still would have preferred to have a white collar though.

07-06-2013, 06:23 PM
Looks far better when modelled by a footballer than by a fan (no offense intended to those involved!)

hibee
07-06-2013, 06:33 PM
Picked up two for the kids, basically a £35 Nike T-shirt. Doesn't look like a strip without a sponsor but the colour is definitely better in the flesh and the kids are happy with them!

07-06-2013, 06:38 PM
Not that impressed, i preferred last years bottle green. I wont be buying it, saying that i have not bought one for 25 years.

21. Unless they're playing for Hibs.

Renfrew_Hibby
07-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Went down today and yeah it looks better that the web but I was wanting a long-sleeve top... they won't be in for at least 14 days. Went home empty handed :rolleyes:

07-06-2013, 06:55 PM

Red top has a different badge to the home and away, slightly odd?

Green Cabbage 7
07-06-2013, 06:55 PM
Old man of JS? Met him through work.

Bit of a character! :greengrin

Also was a very good footballer in his day, scored a wonder goal in the junior cup final I believe.

07-06-2013, 07:17 PM

21. Unless they're playing for Hibs.

I would say 12 is nearer the mark :cb

HibeesLA
07-06-2013, 07:25 PM
Might just be me, but all the pictures on the Apparel link seem to have the badge photoshopped on them. I like the white polo shirt with the black swoosh and hibs badge, but you can't see what it actually looks like. Pretty poor that they are taking orders for something that they've thrown faked images of on the site.

http://www.hibernianclubstore.co.uk/hb-140-expr-polo-shirt-adult#prettyPhoto

07-06-2013, 08:11 PM
Popped in just before the shop shut tonight. Far, far better than in the pictures. Material and colour are both good. Still a bit more 'plain' than what I was hoping for. Tbh tho, it's exactly what I'd imagined. Always end up underwhelmed after all the mock ups. I honestly think we were only a couple of wee alterations away from everyone on here going crazy about it! I think if it had a white collar and we'd got first team players to model it then the reaction would have been much different!!!

The idea of the 5 fans modelling it was nice but why oh why not have players in it as well?!? It instantly looked a million times better this morning once you seen Handling wearing it! Why not have the 5 older boys and then 5 of our youngsters in it as well to go with the 'Forever Green' slogan? Could have had Harris, Handling, Forster etc with the 5 fans. I can't remember us ever launching a strip without seeing the top, shorts and socks on a player. Strange decision IMO.

Also, the 'Forever Green' on the back is written in green so is difficult to see. On a white collar would have looked great. Shows just how restricted you are when you sign up with a massive brand like Nike however. We'll have very little say. Our home kit is identical to DU's red third strip, even down to the BLACK tick on the shorts.

It is a nice kit tho and will look really classy when the whole team are wearing it

07-06-2013, 08:18 PM
I prefer this season's bottle green, but it's a very good effort, IMO. Simple, very retro, green body with plain white sleeves; the style we should always stick to. White collar would be preferable, but I'll certainly get one.

07-06-2013, 08:34 PM
Down at the shop today to get the Grandson kitted out. The sizes for 3-4 year olds not getting done until the middle of July. He was going off on one when we said he had to wait so he got the 5 year old top, shorts and socks. £14 for his name and number on the back was a bit steep, however it was all worthwhile to see him sitting in the dug out giving it laldy.

Nice to see Jordan Forster in the shop getting photos with the bairns.

07-06-2013, 08:57 PM
I'm sure it's mentioned but can't be bothered going back a few pages.

Whats the deal with the training kit? Why is that not Nike as well?

Hibstrooper
07-06-2013, 08:57 PM
Am I the only one that can't get on the club store site?

I've tried on 3 different devices now but still just that light blue holding screen

07-06-2013, 09:01 PM
Love the simple retro look but still prefer this seasons :agree:

07-06-2013, 09:09 PM
Popped in just before the shop shut tonight. Far, far better than in the pictures. Material and colour are both good. Still a bit more 'plain' than what I was hoping for. Tbh tho, it's exactly what I'd imagined. Always end up underwhelmed after all the mock ups. I honestly think we were only a couple of wee alterations away from everyone on here going crazy about it! I think if it had a white collar and we'd got first team players to model it then the reaction would have been much different!!!

The idea of the 5 fans modelling it was nice but why oh why not have players in it as well?!? It instantly looked a million times better this morning once you seen Handling wearing it! Why not have the 5 older boys and then 5 of our youngsters in it as well to go with the 'Forever Green' slogan? Could have had Harris, Handling, Forster etc with the 5 fans. I can't remember us ever launching a strip without seeing the top, shorts and socks on a player. Strange decision IMO.

Also, the 'Forever Green' on the back is written in green so is difficult to see. On a white collar would have looked great. Shows just how restricted you are when you sign up with a massive brand like Nike however. We'll have very little say. Our home kit is identical to DU's red third strip, even down to the BLACK tick on the shorts.

It is a nice kit tho and will look really classy when the whole team are wearing it

Putting the supporters first?! We never do that! Down with the marketers ;)

Damn those subliminal messages it shouldn't be perimitted ;)

Seriously though you can roll out the strips in the first team, the beautiful people on the beach busty models its all been done before.

Is this not something a bit more personal and relevant to the team. I'd be interested to know just how chuffed the guys were to be selected (no wummin - Kirsty Gallacher was unavailable but nominated in 5 categories apparently )

07-06-2013, 09:10 PM
Am I the only one that can't get on the club store site?

I've tried on 3 different devices now but still just that light blue holding screen

i tried too. Its a domain register site.
Whats going on Hibs ? Losing out on £'s......tick tock.

07-06-2013, 09:10 PM
I preferred the bottle green but the new kit is nice though.

Bad Habits
07-06-2013, 09:16 PM
Might just be me, but all the pictures on the Apparel link seem to have the badge photoshopped on them. I like the white polo shirt with the black swoosh and hibs badge, but you can't see what it actually looks like. Pretty poor that they are taking orders for something that they've thrown faked images of on the site.

http://www.hibernianclubstore.co.uk/hb-140-expr-polo-shirt-adult#prettyPhoto

I think your right :rolleyes: bit lazy tbh

07-06-2013, 09:23 PM
Will the shop be re stocked tomorrow?

07-06-2013, 09:23 PM
I think your right :rolleyes: bit lazy tbh

Some of the examples seem like an artists impression (one of the green bags for example).
I wonder if this is a time/cost issue or maybe a versioning issue (placeholders versus finAlised images).

Does anyone know if this is typical of other clubs? I would have thought a key element of remote selling (ESP for overseas and non-Edinburgh for ok that can't see things in the flesh).

07-06-2013, 09:32 PM
Good kit but would look far better in bottle green.
why change to bottle green for one season then change back again.
Can we go back to bottle green next year and keep it please?

Anyway.Why are there five randoms sucking in beer bellies on the front page of the Hibs site?

07-06-2013, 09:34 PM
Saw some kids wearing it tonight and looks really good - as much as I liked the darker green - this green stands out a little more and looks smart.

07-06-2013, 09:34 PM

Anyway.Why are there five randoms sucking in beer bellies on the front page of the Hibs site?This is why.

07-06-2013, 09:37 PM

Anyway.Why are there five randoms sucking in beer bellies on the front page of the Hibs site?

Subliminal advertising that goes over the heads of the Jambos nothing to worry about

07-06-2013, 09:37 PM
Have tae say I really like it, would have been nice with a white collar but other than that it gets :thumbsup: from me, nae stupid flashes, patches or other daft bits.

07-06-2013, 09:38 PM
This is why.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130607/crabbies-your-famous-five_2262950_3202759Erm a true famous five.And what a fine lookin bunch o Hibbys they are.

07-06-2013, 09:42 PM
its the identical in shade and shine to the Umbro 84 shirt.
have to say, the shorts are the best I've seen. Great material. Pity about price though!

07-06-2013, 09:46 PM
From the Scotsman...

Head of Commercial Russell Smith said that the club were delighted to launch the club’s first home kit with five ‘modern day community heroes’.

He added: “This is special gesture from the club and Crabbie’s to our supporters, who we value and appreciate and it highlights the unsung heroes from the stands at Easter Road.

“This is the first time we’ve asked supporters to help unveil our new home kit, and we hope we can further strengthen the bond between our supporters and the club.”

Reaction to the new kit was mixed, with fans taking to Twitter to have their say.

One user, @joeeforson, tweeted: “I do like the new Hibs home kit but it is a bit bland, hopefully the away kit is something different’ with other fans welcoming a return to a lighter shade of green.

However, some supporters were more enthusiastic, with @LewisGFraser commenting: “Absolutely love this new Hibs kit!! One of the best!”

The new kit is on sale from the club shop as of today.

07-06-2013, 10:03 PM
Saw some kids wearing it tonight and looks really good - as much as I liked the darker green - this green stands out a little more and looks smart.

Probably the only thing I didn't like about last season's strip was that I found it clashed a bit the darker colours. We won't be even slightly clashing with anyone outwith Celtic this coming season, and even then, ours stands out quite well. The shine on the new strip reminds me of the 2007 CIS cup winning strip, which is something I'm liking too.

hibeeleicester
07-06-2013, 10:27 PM
From the Scotsman...

Head of Commercial Russell Smith said that the club were delighted to launch the club’s first home kit with five ‘modern day community heroes’.

He added: “This is special gesture from the club and Crabbie’s to our supporters, who we value and appreciate and it highlights the unsung heroes from the stands at Easter Road.

“This is the first time we’ve asked supporters to help unveil our new home kit, and we hope we can further strengthen the bond between our supporters and the club.”

Reaction to the new kit was mixed, with fans taking to Twitter to have their say.

One user, @joeeforson, tweeted: “I do like the new Hibs home kit but it is a bit bland, hopefully the away kit is something different’ with other fans welcoming a return to a lighter shade of green.

However, some supporters were more enthusiastic, with @LewisGFraser commenting: “Absolutely love this new Hibs kit!! One of the best!”

The new kit is on sale from the club shop as of today.

:grr::grr:
Royalties?

07-06-2013, 11:32 PM
have to say, the shorts are the best I've seen. Great material. Pity about price though!

I knew it looked like an 80's kit, couldn't work out which since I am FARRRRR too young to recall much before Frank Graham Group tops. :agree:

Bad Habits
07-06-2013, 11:38 PM
Some of the examples seem like an artists impression (one of the green bags for example).
I wonder if this is a time/cost issue or maybe a versioning issue (placeholders versus finAlised images).

Does anyone know if this is typical of other clubs? I would have thought a key element of remote selling (ESP for overseas and non-Edinburgh for ok that can't see things in the flesh).

Would make sense if it were a time/money thing but surely it can't cost a lot of money or time to stick the products on mannequins etc. and get a relatively decent photo of them? Sure they would have had the stock for a week if not a few weeks

jamieross
08-06-2013, 12:32 AM
Quite like the kit to be honest. Absolutely detest the design on the socks, have done since Man U had them in 2009(?). The material is no different from what other Nike replica kits.

That Avec training gear looks pretty cheap and nasty.

Will buy it though seeing as I missed out on the bottle green one from the season past. :agree:

08-06-2013, 08:57 AM
Would make sense if it were a time/money thing but surely it can't cost a lot of money or time to stick the products on mannequins etc. and get a relatively decent photo of them? Sure they would have had the stock for a week if not a few weeks

Not a snapper but I think shots for the Internet maybe need some lighting considerations.
Youve gotta have the physical stock delivered (no always an xact science) and snapped or take another archived image (I'm wondering if suppliers will snap them for you Hibs customised but for a fee?) hence model / photoshopping...

Pam
08-06-2013, 08:59 AM
Going from the clubstore site it seems like they aren't producing women's tops at all this year - there isn't a section for ladieswear at all! :confused: Haven't read through all the thread, so don't know if it's coming later and isn't ready yet, but it's pretty poor for from the club/nike if that's the case!
I have emailed the clubshop manager and the club about this - think it is absolutley disgraceful that a club like Hibs with a thriving ladies section and a lot of female supporters have not launched the ladies replica on the same day as the mens / juniors. Puma & Le coq Sportif had the ladies on the first day of sales IIRC. The ladies section were also represented in the catalogue for strips in the past. I am gutted that I couldn't buy a strip yesterday!

08-06-2013, 09:00 AM
Went down today and yeah it looks better that the web but I was wanting a long-sleeve top... they won't be in for at least 14 days. Went home empty handed :rolleyes:

Aye no long sleeves and no kids sizes below xs which I'd guess is around 5 years old, went for 3 shirts left with none

Bobo
08-06-2013, 09:03 AM

Yeh the one in this picture http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Hibernian-F.C.-1984-85.jpg is very similar to the new Nike strip.

08-06-2013, 09:13 AM
:agree: I missed getting a top last season because I left it too late and all the size 8s were gone and they weren't getting any more in stock. Was looking forward to getting one this season and was surprised to see no ladieswear available at all - even in the leisurewear section. Really hope something is in place because if they are neglecting their (sizeable) female support then it's a pretty poor show.

yep its pretty shocking, i was looking for something for my niece yesterday, had the choice of pink scarf, pink scarf or pink scarf, needless to say i spent the money elsewhere

08-06-2013, 09:22 AM
Aye no long sleeves and no kids sizes below xs which I'd guess is around 5 years old, went for 3 shirts left with none

:agree: I missed getting a top last season because I left it too late and all the size 8s were gone and they weren't getting any more in stock. Was looking forward to getting one this season and was surprised to see no ladieswear available at all - even in the leisurewear section. Really hope something is in place because if they are neglecting their (sizeable) female support then it's a pretty poor show.

I would imagine they will come with the kids and Long Sleeve shirts, The guy i spoke to suggested that "Non Standard" orders were placed seperately so that was the hold up :agree: Seems Daft not to have all sizes at launch but that sadly is Classic Hibs

gobragh1875
08-06-2013, 10:08 AM
Payed a wee visit to the new Nike Hibs shop after looking about I asked one of the guys who was serving do you have a home top in xxxl Nope ok what about a polo shirt in xxxl Nope ok what do you have in the new Nike Hibs merchandise range in an xxxl hold on I will find out came the reply
Back he came sorry but Nike are not providing any of the Hibs range in xxxl
Now I know and probably every other right minded person knows that football supporters do come in xxxl sizes and bigger so for the first time in many years we the bigger or larger supporters will not be able to buy club merchandise thus the club will lose money and a few bob I bet on supporters of a larger size not being able to buy from the club store
I hope some one with some sort of brain at the club looks in to this as every penny is needed by the club

gobragh1875
08-06-2013, 10:12 AM
Payed a wee visit to the new Nike Hibs shop after looking about I asked one of the guys who was serving do you have a home top in xxxl Nope ok what about a polo shirt in xxxl Nope ok what do you have in the new Nike Hibs merchandise range in an xxxl hold on I will find out came the reply
Now I know and probably every other right minded person knows that football supporters do come in xxxl sizes and bigger so for the first time in many years we the bigger or larger supporters will not be able to buy club merchandise thus the club will lose money and a few bob I bet on supporters of a larger size not being able to buy from the club store
I hope some one with some sort of brain at the club looks in to this as every penny is needed by the club

08-06-2013, 10:14 AM
That's them getting no money from me then

08-06-2013, 10:16 AM
Did Hibs ever have XXXL sizes? In fact do many clothes brands sell XXXL?

It's not a common size, how many would they make just to possibly sell two?

wearethehibs
08-06-2013, 10:17 AM
Supportes of that size could use the money they save this year and invest in a treadmill. Then next year you may not need the triple XL

08-06-2013, 10:18 AM
Supportes of that size could use the money they save this year and invest in a treadmill. Then next year you may not need the triple XL

Harsh.

08-06-2013, 10:18 AM

Better get this ready :tin hat: :greengrin

08-06-2013, 10:19 AM
Harsh.

Lighten up a bit

ManBearPig
08-06-2013, 10:21 AM
Your brave gobragh may just be huge bodybuilder.....

Although probably not ;-)

08-06-2013, 10:25 AM

Yes and yes

I am generally 50" chest which can be either a 2XL or 3XL depending on the brand. Last couple of season's kits I needed a 2XL but there was a 3XL available for those bigger. For the likes of Next I am a 2XL and they go even bigger. Most high street brands go to 50" at least and with the advent of companies such as Jacamo, a lot brands will go up to 5XL.

For the new strip to only go up to 47-49" as a 2XL will definitely mean a lot of fans will be disappointed.

Off the bar
08-06-2013, 10:27 AM
considering, aside from the replica strip, it's just regular nike stuff with the club logo embroidered, they could ask the larger gents to order ahead of time and just add the required number of xxxl's to the pile to be done. simple.

gobragh1875
08-06-2013, 10:28 AM
Go to the gym 4/5 times a week because I'm xxxl dose not mean I'm fat and if I was fat so what any time you fancy a wee gamble on who can last longest on the treadmill give me a shout

gobragh1875
08-06-2013, 10:30 AM

Yip they have done for as long as I can remember

08-06-2013, 10:30 AM
Go to the gym 4/5 times a week because I'm xxxl dose not mean I'm fat and if I was fat so what any time you fancy a wee gamble on who can last longest on the treadmill give me a shout

:thumbsup::not worth:na na::thumbsup:

08-06-2013, 10:38 AM
I've got 38A breasts. The end.

hibs4thecup1988
08-06-2013, 10:44 AM

I'm in your boat mate but I am a Fat bassa...!
Would happily pay an extra fiver If that's what was needed. As you or someone else says companies online are going upto 5xl and above. I've not bought a hibs shift since whyte and mckay were sponsors.
As for the people saying do treadmill etc fair enough, what about disabled people who are larger built etc?

Think its really poor from the club and nike if I am honest. Not to worry.

Bleeds green
08-06-2013, 10:50 AM
We should have got JACAMO to sponsor us!!!!!

PETRIE!!! Sort it oot

08-06-2013, 10:57 AM

I could last the longest because I just stand on the sides when no ones looking

08-06-2013, 11:02 AM

Yas!

I can finally get 'Zambernardi 1875' on my top, take that Petrie.

gobragh1875
08-06-2013, 11:13 AM
I'm in your boat mate but I am a Fat bassa...!
Would happily pay an extra fiver If that's what was needed. As you or someone else says companies online are going upto 5xl and above. I've not bought a hibs shift since whyte and mckay were sponsors.
As for the people saying do treadmill etc fair enough, what about disabled people who are larger built etc?

Think its really poor from the club and nike if I am honest. Not to worry.
Well said I agree 100% seems like Nike and Hibs don't give a monkeys what next will they stop selling season tickets to larger supporters as they might take up to much space let the club know that you are not happy with the way they are treating the bigger guys and girls who follow the team

MountcastleHibs
08-06-2013, 11:16 AM

I've emailed the club, I suggest you do the same to share your disappointment.

I could probably just squeeze into an XXL, and yeah I could lose weight and not be fat but its not as simple as that.

WellingtonHibby
08-06-2013, 11:20 AM

Big guys are just as entitled to buy overpriced tat as anyone else.

08-06-2013, 11:21 AM
We should have got JACAMO to sponsor us!!!!!

PETRIE!!! Sort it oot

Agreed, cancel this Nike push and get johnny Vegas choosing our strip.

TamHibs
08-06-2013, 11:21 AM
I've emailed the club, I suggest you do the same to share your disappointment.

I could probably just squeeze into an XXL, and yeah I could lose weight and not be fat but its not as simple as that.

Who do we email at the club? Wasn't happy that I couldn't get an xxxl or a baby kit. Went & bought my son the Man Utd babykit instead.

MountcastleHibs
08-06-2013, 11:28 AM
Who do we email at the club? Wasn't happy that I couldn't get an xxxl or a baby kit. Went & bought my son the Man Utd babykit instead.

[email protected] and I CC'd in to the email [email protected] just to see if I get a response from either which I doubt.

I've bought the home and away shirt for the last 12 seasons and this season I won't have one, unless I lose a bit of the beef, which I'm actually trying to do anyway. Very disappointed.

08-06-2013, 11:40 AM
Lets hope Dundee Utd decide not to wear their new "Arsenal" kit against us! Would be a nightmare clash :agree:

08-06-2013, 11:44 AM
Hibs need to sort out online clubstore, it looks rubbish and unprofessional.

And whats with the tacky Avec stuff? Wide berth time :agree:

Not impressed.

08-06-2013, 11:56 AM
I buy every top every season but if they dinnae have my size that'll be at least 85 quid they'll be losing out on and more if there's a third strip.

08-06-2013, 12:04 PM
From what I'm hearing this is a bit of a farce. No ladies tops, no larger sizes and no kids sizes?! On one of the most exciting kit launches we have had for the past few years? And they've run out of stock on shirts too. Le Coq Sportif never had this problem. Ever. They used to have to sell stock off super cheap at the end of the season FFS :rolleyes:

TamHibs
08-06-2013, 12:41 PM
I've actually just Hibs an email regarding this, went down fully intending to buy 4 strips (1 xxxl for me, a woman's top for the bird & 2 baby kits)

Bought myself a 2xl as I can get into it but prefer my strips baggier. So all in all Hibs got £42.50 instead of roughly £150. Went & bought the wee man his Man Utd kit instead. If Hibs don't want my money then someone will gladly take it.

08-06-2013, 01:00 PM
Did they no sell out of XL shirts within about 2 weeks of the season starting last year? Someone down at the shop needs a severe kick up the bum :agree:.

JMac
08-06-2013, 01:05 PM
It's a simple misunderstanding from hibs and nike. They weren't aware any hibs fans needed extra extra extra large, they and me thought all the extra extra extra large people were yams.

08-06-2013, 01:06 PM
I see some fat Hibs fans, but hardly any are usually XXXL size, the demand for the product would probably be so minimal and there would still be some hanging on a rack at the end of the season. I understand that XXXL can be for muscular people but if you are that fat then please try to exercise for the good of your health and to also fit into a smaller sized Hibs shirt next season.

08-06-2013, 01:11 PM
http://image1.spreadshirt.com/image-server/v1/products/19224807/views/1,width=378,height=378,appearanceId=66/Get-In-My-Belly-Fat-T-Shirts.png

08-06-2013, 01:12 PM
120 quid they had off me for strips last season, that's 120+ quid (assuming there'll be three strips again) or at least 85 quid they'll be :bye: goodbye tae this season unless that changes.

Chibs
08-06-2013, 01:14 PM
It's a simple misunderstanding from hibs and nike. They weren't aware any hibs fans needed extra extra extra large, they and me thought all the extra extra extra large people were yams.
And that's the skinny ones

08-06-2013, 01:21 PM
http://eatrunswag.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/boycott.gif

08-06-2013, 01:40 PM
http://eatrunswag.files.wordpress.com/2012/07/boycott.gif

Oh my god :faf:

08-06-2013, 01:42 PM
Right that's it I'm going to emigrate to live in São Paulo so I can wear a real top with bottle green the colour. Gauntlet thrown down - any more challenges for the most ridiculous post?

08-06-2013, 01:45 PM
Yeh the one in this picture http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/Hibernian-F.C.-1984-85.jpg is very similar to the new Nike strip.

that's the one. Took years to replicate it, but one of the finest Hibs shirts IMO.

08-06-2013, 02:01 PM
Slightly off topic but I was having a look at the new Man U top, comes in a staggering £52 so £42 for our top seems pretty reasonable considering both are made by nike!

08-06-2013, 02:02 PM

The strip in the pic had a v neck however apart from that v similiar.

green glory
08-06-2013, 02:42 PM
Just got the top this afternoon. Actually prefer it to last year's, and last year's is a cracker.

Proper Hibs green.

08-06-2013, 02:53 PM
Its good PR for the club to make sure that any size of supporter can get a strip ( not to mention other Hibs related gear ) to fit them.

What is hard to believe is that a firm from the land of the Lardass doesnt appreciate the need for larger sizes. I bet most American football and Baseball club stores in the USA keep a limited stock of medium replica shirts for the small number of fans who might want them.

08-06-2013, 03:41 PM
Without meaning to sound harsh as I am not meaning to be but Nike is a sports brand and if you are that large your not exactly big on playing sports. Again not meaning to sound harsh just trying to think of a reason why we don't stock it

08-06-2013, 03:46 PM
Without meaning to sound harsh as I am not meaning to be but Nike is a sports brand and if you are that large your not exactly big on playing sports. Again not meaning to sound harsh just trying to think of a reason why we don't stock itPuma had 3xl, not everybody who is large is fat ffs, I needed a large size before I had the beer gut so losing it will make nae difference. Still that's 120 quid in my pocket and at least 120 quid less tae Hibs assuming all the rest of their stuff is of a similar size I winnae be buying any of that either, their loss no mine.

08-06-2013, 03:52 PM
Without meaning to sound harsh as I am not meaning to be but Nike is a sports brand and if you are that large your not exactly big on playing sports. Again not meaning to sound harsh just trying to think of a reason why we don't stock it

Well I have a xxxl Everton top made by Nike, so it's not like they don't make the sizes

08-06-2013, 03:58 PM
I've got 38A breasts. The end.

You're fishing for the Daffy gif.

08-06-2013, 04:00 PM
Its good PR for the club to make sure that any size of supporter can get a strip ( not to mention other Hibs related gear ) to fit them.

What is hard to believe is that a firm from the land of the Lardass doesnt appreciate the need for larger sizes.

The truth.

08-06-2013, 04:16 PM
Man in front of me at the Asda check outs today was wearing the new top. Cant say I was impressed. Tbh I thought it looked a bit shiny and cheap. Bit mid 80s bri nylon static electricity style. Gadgie wasnt a fat chap but it was like one of those skin tight cycling top things on him. Maybe he'd misjudged the size or maybe it only looks good if your 6% body fat.

Better off with a Toffs top imho. Wont go out of date after a season and sizes to suit the larger gentleman :greengrin

08-06-2013, 04:18 PM
I think it is the law that ALL hibs supporters should be at least xxxl size. ----That way, when the tv cameras show a shot of the crowd it looks like there are a lot more of us. :greengrin:wink:

08-06-2013, 04:24 PM
Man in front of me at the Asda check outs today was wearing the new top. Cant say I was impressed. Tbh I thought it looked a bit shiny and cheap. Bit mid 80s bri nylon static electricity style. Gadgie wasnt a fat chap but it was like one of those skin tight cycling top things on him. Maybe he'd misjudged the size or maybe it only looks good if your 6% body fat.

Better off with a Toffs top imho. Wont go out of date after a season and sizes to suit the larger gentleman :greengrin:agree: I have this from toffs, replica of the very 1st Hibs top I had. I still have the original but it disnae fit any mair :greengrin
http://www.toffs.com/images/2092fullimage.jpg

08-06-2013, 04:36 PM
:agree: I have this from toffs, replica of the very 1st Hibs top I had. I still have the original but it disnae fit any mair :greengrin
http://www.toffs.com/images/2092fullimage.jpg

Classic. George Best era?

08-06-2013, 04:47 PM
Classic. George Best era?:greengrin

http://blog.thefootballnation.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/GeorgeBestBook1-176x300.jpg

rainman
08-06-2013, 04:55 PM
How much do Hibs actually get from each strip? Given how much the *****y Nike stuff is in the shops, I cannae see them making too much of a profit on them.

08-06-2013, 05:17 PM
How much do Hibs actually get from each strip? Given how much the *****y Nike stuff is in the shops, I cannae see them making too much of a profit on them.

I can't see Hibs paying much more than £12 per shirt

Weir7
08-06-2013, 05:22 PM
From what I'm hearing this is a bit of a farce. No ladies tops, no larger sizes and no kids sizes?! On one of the most exciting kit launches we have had for the past few years? And they've run out of stock on shirts too. Le Coq Sportif never had this problem. Ever. They used to have to sell stock off super cheap at the end of the season FFS :rolleyes:

New strip is minted.

We went today to buy five strips. Only got one top. No mini strips. No ladies. Didn't have adult size. Didn't have shorts to go with top. Didn't have the number nine t go on the strip.

New manager coulddnt tell me when stock would be in.

Third year in a row a shambolic launch. Kids were gutted.

08-06-2013, 05:27 PM
It's pathetic.......their marketing/sales strategy is rank

West hamBERNIAN
08-06-2013, 07:30 PM
It's pathetic.......their marketing/sales strategy is rank
Was just going to say, how come most teams unveil all kits at once? But considering we can't even properly launch one strip it's no surprise! Seems like every year there is a large amount of fans unhappy. Never learn. :rolleyes:

08-06-2013, 07:48 PM
It's a complete own goal from hibs, we have one outlet/ two if you add online, and still they can't get it right.lot of complaints just from this thread. Not the first season either, someone should be accountable .

08-06-2013, 07:50 PM
tomorrow could have been a real moneyspinner for Hibs. Stadium tours followed by eager fans wanting the new kit.....sadly, it would appear, again, Hibs fail.

MountcastleHibs
08-06-2013, 08:37 PM

I wear my Hibs tops to the gym and play fives in them. Just because I'm fat doesn't mean I don't do sports. I could fit into an XXL but for sheer comfort I'd prefer a larger size.

MountcastleHibs
08-06-2013, 08:43 PM
I see some fat Hibs fans, but hardly any are usually XXXL size, the demand for the product would probably be so minimal and there would still be some hanging on a rack at the end of the season. I understand that XXXL can be for muscular people but if you are that fat then please try to exercise for the good of your health and to also fit into a smaller sized Hibs shirt next season.

Thanks for your advice mate. I've been going to the gym 4 times a week for the last 4 years and play fives twice a week, with a reasonably healthy diet. And I've not had bigger than a XXXL in that time. My health is great, but thanks for the concern.

08-06-2013, 09:03 PM

Nike probably make about 10% of their annual profits selling sports gear to folk who are actually serious about playing sport in it.

Cant believe reading some of the posts on this thread how bad a job Hibs appear to have done here:

No large sizes

No kids stuff

No Ladies stuff ...... I find this particularly annoying having read somewhere that of all the clubs in the SPL Hibs have the biggest percentage of female supporters in relation to home attendance. Quite prepared to believe that given the number of female supporters I see around me in the FF every home game, not to mention at Killie and Hampden this year. I would suggest that Hibs would be making a major mistake if they were in any way to give these vital supporters the impression that they were not valued.

This is usually a joke at the end of a post ... but not this time:

Get it sorted Petrie :grr:

08-06-2013, 09:28 PM
What a bunch of greetin **** stains on this thread! Pathetic

08-06-2013, 09:29 PM

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/_/9736071/Up+Yours+Band+Logo.jpg

MountcastleHibs
08-06-2013, 09:44 PM

And here was me thinking this was a forum to give views and opinions on.

08-06-2013, 10:03 PM

08-06-2013, 10:19 PM
I've not seen the new top in person yet. I like the pictures after seeing them online but given its a Nike I will probably go to the shop to make sure sizing is similar to Puma.

On another note all the talk about the different sizes not available along with the online store looking half finished I'm afraid for once I agree with the criticism being aimed at the club. There's a real let down here, right when I think we had started to generate a real good feeling. Not many clubs have this good a feeling after a three nil loss in a cup final, particularly that cup for us, but we have some real momentum going. Lets hope it's a just one small disappointment for the summer.

Forever Green.

08-06-2013, 10:19 PM
Ordered the XL kids top - previous experience tells me that an XL boys Nike top is about the same size as last year's Puma adult S.

I really like the kit, and I think it looks great sans sponsor.

08-06-2013, 10:38 PM
This thread is now getting used to say you're not a XXXL because you're fat, but because you go to the gym 10 times a week and have a 50 inch chest.

Do you even lift br0?

08-06-2013, 10:43 PM
http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/_/9736071/Up+Yours+Band+Logo.jpg

Away and stop being fat if you can't fit into a normal shirt!

08-06-2013, 10:47 PM
Away and stop being fat if you can't fit into a normal shirt!Away 'n' bile yer heid ya ****in' plum

09-06-2013, 12:34 AM
Away 'n' bile yer heid ya ****in' plum

I will as soon as you stop being fat!

09-06-2013, 12:49 AM
Bit stupid how there aren't any kits for kids, ladies, XXXL sizes etc. Felt very sorry to see some of the young kids crying in the shop today after hearing that they couldn't purchase the new kit because they didn't have kids sizes. An absolute joke from Nike!

09-06-2013, 01:54 AM
Lighten up a bit

I see what you did there.

09-06-2013, 02:02 AM
Ordered the XL kids top - previous experience tells me that an XL boys Nike top is about the same size as last year's Puma adult S.

I really like the kit, and I think it looks great sans sponsor.

Kids top?

Get yersel into the gym and put some beef on man! :greengrin

09-06-2013, 05:08 AM
Is there any student discount?

09-06-2013, 05:17 AM
Bit stupid how there aren't any kits for kids, ladies, XXXL sizes etc. Felt very sorry to see some of the young kids crying in the shop today after hearing that they couldn't purchase the new kit because they didn't have kids sizes. An absolute joke from Nike!

I seen sponsorless shirts and a child who looked about 4 get his photo with Danny Handling and the wee boy was wearing a newly purchased shirt :confused:

09-06-2013, 05:26 AM
Nike probably make about 10% of their annual profits selling sports gear to folk who are actually serious about playing sport in it.

Cant believe reading some of the posts on this thread how bad a job Hibs appear to have done here:

No large sizes

No kids stuff

No Ladies stuff ...... I find this particularly annoying having read somewhere that of all the clubs in the SPL Hibs have the biggest percentage of female supporters in relation to home attendance. Quite prepared to believe that given the number of female supporters I see around me in the FF every home game, not to mention at Killie and Hampden this year. I would suggest that Hibs would be making a major mistake if they were in any way to give these vital supporters the impression that they were not valued.

This is usually a joke at the end of a post ... but not this time:

Get it sorted Petrie :grr:

Ok lets stop for a minute peeps...

so after all is said and done do we really think the club are deliberately stuffing things up?

The colour? Judge in person (I'd have liked bottle green)
kids and wummins AND oversize? Disappointing but if for arguments sake there's been a supply issue (and its a matter of a delay only) what do you do ?

Postpone the "07" launch (they probably gave it til last minute and had staff booked shop fitters appointed website ready to go (ahem) and then miss the Leith festival and start of the summer hols purchases?

IF it is a supplier issue do the club stick the boot into NiKe on day 1 of the Launch?

Seems to me it's a matter of communication which is/would be unfortunate after some of the issues from last year potentially reappearing.

09-06-2013, 05:35 AM
I will as soon as you stop being fat!

DD is half the man he used to be, this is still half a man better than yourself. :agree:

Or maybe im just missing the joke here. :banana:

Anyway, bugger it i am off to York to see the cougars and eat pies.

09-06-2013, 07:52 AM
Nike are ***** bring back Puma

09-06-2013, 08:23 AM
Potentially nice design spoiled by horribly cheap looking Crabbies lettering. The kids one without the Crabbies is smart. As for the problems with supply, since this happens every season with our merchandising its hardly a surprise. Getting someone who knows how to run a simple retail operation seems to be beyond us.

09-06-2013, 08:28 AM
we can all look forward to the Avec gear (hahaha)

09-06-2013, 08:55 AM
Nike out Adidas in.

09-06-2013, 09:19 AM
I see what you did there.

gobragh1875
09-06-2013, 12:48 PM
Ok lets stop for a minute peeps...

so after all is said and done do we really think the club are deliberately stuffing things up?

The colour? Judge in person (I'd have liked bottle green)
kids and wummins AND oversize? Disappointing but if for arguments sake there's been a supply issue (and its a matter of a delay only) what do you do ?

Postpone the "07" launch (they probably gave it til last minute and had staff booked shop fitters appointed website ready to go (ahem) and then miss the Leith festival and start of the summer hols purchases?

IF it is a supplier issue do the club stick the boot into NiKe on day 1 of the Launch?

Seems to me it's a matter of communication which is/would be unfortunate after some of the issues from last year potentially reappearing.

Nike will not be supplying any off the Hibs range of merchandise in xxxl sizes this came from the shop manager when asked if they had a top in xxxl

09-06-2013, 04:47 PM
Nike will not be supplying any off the Hibs range of merchandise in xxxl sizes this came from the shop manager when asked if they had a top in xxxl

And did he give a reason why not?

HibeeHendo
09-06-2013, 06:00 PM
How come Dundee Utd sell the Nike training gear and we get landed with that Avec? Wouldn't wear that cheap and nasty ***** to my bed.

Home top will be getting purchased though.

09-06-2013, 06:11 PM
How come Dundee Utd sell the Nike training gear and we get landed with that Avec? Wouldn't wear that cheap and nasty ***** to my bed.

Home top will be getting purchased though.

It's a strange one :confused:

We do have some Nike casual wear - http://www.hibernianclubstore.co.uk/nike-casual I like the thermal hoody tops - looks smart.

Not sure why Avec is being used for training wear ? Surely players will warm up in Nike and fans can buy this stuff?

09-06-2013, 06:19 PM
What is this Avec business? Is it just a budget version of Nike stuff?

hibbeedavid
09-06-2013, 06:21 PM
Dundee United also sell Avec training wear alongside Nike training wear so is maybe more of a case that the Nike trainingwear isn't on sale yet?

09-06-2013, 06:21 PM
Sounds like the same set up they have down here with Southend. Nike kits with all the training gear being Avec.

hibbeedavid
09-06-2013, 06:24 PM
What is this Avec business? Is it just a budget version of Nike stuff?

Our kit deal is with Just Sport (Group) who like our previous deal with Genesis are just a company who are licenced distributors of Nike kits to professional clubs, Just Sport also own the Avec trademark and produce their own gear under that brand, Crystal Palace and Doncaster Rovers have ditched the Nike Teamwear kits due to lack of choice in what they can get from Nike and now have the Avec brand on their kits as well

hibees4life89
09-06-2013, 08:20 PM
Our kit deal is with Just Sport (Group) who like our previous deal with Genesis are just a company who are licenced distributors of Nike kits to professional clubs, Just Sport also own the Avec trademark and produce their own gear under that brand, Crystal Palace and Doncaster Rovers have ditched the Nike Teamwear kits due to lack of choice in what they can get from Nike and now have the Avec brand on their kits as well

I think the deal we have with Nike and why Dundee united have are 2 different setups. First if you Wikipedia Nike and go down to the bottom where it gives you all the teams they sponsor. In Scotland hibs and Celtic are only mentioned. Plus there is only a handful of teams within England which according to Nike state the sponsor.

I also seen somewhere that the deal united have is direct with just sport to supply Nike whereas we actually have a deal with Nike. This would kinda explain the Wikipedia thing. I just think the Avec thing is because of the setup with the club store being branded into a Nike store which is why we are getting some of their stuff.

09-06-2013, 08:23 PM
I think the deal we have with Nike and why Dundee united have are 2 different setups. First if you Wikipedia Nike and go down to the bottom where it gives you all the teams they sponsor. In Scotland hibs and Celtic are only mentioned. Plus there is only a handful of teams within England which according to Nike state the sponsor.

I also seen somewhere that the deal united have is direct with just sport to supply Nike whereas we actually have a deal with Nike. This would kinda explain the Wikipedia thing. I just think the Avec thing is because of the setup with the club store being branded into a Nike store which is why we are getting some of their stuff.

So are Avec part of Nike? Or part of Just Sports?

09-06-2013, 08:29 PM
Our deal is with Nike, not Just Sports.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130530/hibernian-announce-nike_2262950_3195509

Sweep
09-06-2013, 08:51 PM
So are Avec part of Nike? Or part of Just Sports?

Avec are a part of just sports. Took this from the hibs store site.

ABOUT US

We are the Official retailer for Hibernian FC Replica Kits and Merchandise. Replica and Training Wear are provided by Nike with added Training and Leisurewear supplied by Avec part of the Just Sport Group.

Also found this.

The Club's retail operation will be managed by Just Sport throughout the term of the agreement and will include the Clubstore being re-fitted as a Nike Store at Easter Road Stadium.

PerfectlyFranck
10-06-2013, 12:09 AM
There's always the possibility of us using Dundee United's home & away as our other kits.

10-06-2013, 12:22 AM
Personally I like the kit, it looks better in person rather than in the photos posted online.

PerfectlyFranck
10-06-2013, 03:00 AM
It'll look odd with the names low down and I doubt they'd put them below the numbers.

At the very least they could've put the sponsor at the bottom of the shirt like most clubs using two lots of ads/text.
I'd rather have had the Crabbies logo on it's own at the top than what they've done there.

Has anyone got any photos of the shirt & back?

10-06-2013, 05:03 AM
So the strips are too expensive and the training gear is too cheap? As for the comments on the strip itself it shows why we need internet forums. The points of view are diverse and so they should be. However I do worry a tad about the micro details being discussed. Gok Wan eat your heart out. :wink:

10-06-2013, 05:57 AM
Potentially nice design spoiled by horribly cheap looking Crabbies lettering. The kids one without the Crabbies is smart. As for the problems with supply, since this happens every season with our merchandising its hardly a surprise. Getting someone who knows how to run a simple retail operation seems to be beyond us.

You're spot on. The same problems happen, we hear about how lessons are being learned and the history repeats itself the very next season. It's not like strip launches sneak up on the club.

Someone will be along to say that the shop doesn't have that many staff, ignoring the fact is that it only needs a shop manager who knows what they're doing a few hours to manage stock.

wpj
10-06-2013, 07:39 AM
Anyone know the chest sizes for the training jacket?http://www.hibernianclubstore.co.uk/hb-141-expr-core-trainer-jkt-adult#prettyPhoto I shift between M - L and being in London won't be able to try one on anytime soon

10-06-2013, 07:48 AM
You're spot on. The same problems happen, we hear about how lessons are being learned and the history repeats itself the very next season. It's not like strip launches sneak up on the club.

Someone will be along to say that the shop doesn't have that many staff, ignoring the fact is that it only needs a shop manager who knows what they're doing a few hours to manage stock.

Yes an experienced manager with time-served in a leading retail operation like John Lewis.

So with that being the case what's you're next point?

10-06-2013, 08:28 AM
Yes an experienced manager with time-served in a leading retail operation like John Lewis.

I'm not sure what your point is. Are you saying that the manager is experienced and great at his/her job but still can't manage the stock?

On a related topic, why is it anyone heavily involved in LWT seems to start taking any criticism of the club operation personally?

Aaron
10-06-2013, 08:43 AM
Our deal is with Nike, not Just Sports.

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130530/hibernian-announce-nike_2262950_3195509

I think it must be with Just Sports. The club shop website is owned by Just Sports. See below:

Domain name:
hibernianclubstore.co.uk

Registrant:
Just Sport (Pro Club) Ltd

Registrant type:
UK Limited Company, (Company number: 5032306)

Registrant's address:
Unit 1
Spennymoor
Durham
DL16 6JF
United Kingdom

Registrar:
Webfusion Ltd t/a 123-reg [Tag = 123-REG]
URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 03-Jun-2013
Expiry date: 03-Jun-2016
Last updated: 03-Jun-2013

Jaz
10-06-2013, 09:41 AM
Is it an unreasonable expectation to take your 10 year old son into the club shop on day 3 (ie yesterday) of the new kit sale and buy him the Hibs kit?

Instead I find all three items (shirt, shorts and socks) already out of stock.

Not a single 10-12 years shirt, no kids shorts at all and smallest kids socks size 2-5.

Amateurish and utterly incompetent from whoever runs the place.

10-06-2013, 09:54 AM
I'm not sure what your point is. Are you saying that the manager is experienced and great at his/her job but still can't manage the stock?

On a related topic, why is it anyone heavily involved in LWT seems to start taking any criticism of the club operation personally?

I'm not sure what yours is Beefster. But you can take your rod somewhere else cos this fish ain't biting ;)

10-06-2013, 09:56 AM
Is it an unreasonable expectation to take your 10 year old son into the club shop on day 3 (ie yesterday) of the new kit sale and buy him the Hibs kit?

Instead I find all three items (shirt, shorts and socks) already out of stock.

Not a single 10-12 years shirt, no kids shorts at all and smallest kids socks size 2-5.

Amateurish and utterly incompetent from whoever runs the place.

We should follow big companies like Apple who never have this sort of issue. :greengrin

Weir7
10-06-2013, 11:58 AM

he doesnt work for hibs ,left.

McPhisto2
10-06-2013, 12:27 PM
Was in the shop yesterday before my stadium tour and heard the following from the shop assistant to a customer:

"....with Puma we had a previously agreed system of 3 (stock) drops a season from them. With Nike, the system is that when the stock system goes to zero on a product, a re-order is automatically sent to the supplier."

So my guess is that this was why there were big supply issues last year (and previous years!?) but might possible be sorted now?

Anyway it's just what i heard........

10-06-2013, 04:08 PM
Is it just me or do the thumbnails not load properly on the online shop, meaning you have to click on each product just to have a look at what it even is?

PerfectlyFranck
10-06-2013, 06:16 PM
If we end up getting the same as Dundee United...

http://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeHome250_zps13e64138.pnghttp://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeDundeeUnitedAway250_zpsb160bc16.pnghttp://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeDundeeUnitedHome250_zpsab6091bb.png

West hamBERNIAN
10-06-2013, 06:19 PM

http://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeHome250_zps13e64138.pnghttp://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeDundeeUnitedAway250_zpsb160bc16.pnghttp://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeDundeeUnitedHome250_zpsab6091bb.png

they would get a big :top marksfrom me. would probably need to buy both.

10-06-2013, 07:28 PM

Really like the white one - would look even better with green sleeves. That faded design Nike do is pants though, hope we don't get one like the purple yin.

mentalhibee
10-06-2013, 08:28 PM

That purple top is mint! Nice work mate.

hibbytam
10-06-2013, 08:46 PM

They should do the third one yellow. Fluorescent 'security guard' yellow. 'classic'

http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/en/teams/h/hibernian/old-hibernian-football-shirt-s19428.html

10-06-2013, 08:48 PM

Swap the black on the last one for green and i'd be delighted with those 3.

10-06-2013, 08:55 PM
you guys are in the wrong job!

10-06-2013, 09:03 PM
They should do the third one yellow. Fluorescent 'security guard' yellow. 'classic'

http://www.oldfootballshirts.com/en/teams/h/hibernian/old-hibernian-football-shirt-s19428.html

That is the worst hibs strip of all time.

PerfectlyFranck
10-06-2013, 09:07 PM

:sick:

Swap the black on the last one for green and i'd be delighted with those 3.

It couldn't happen as the predominant colour would still be green. It looks awful with green, yellow or white in any combination.
If we don't get the same as Dundee United, I'd like to see a white away and a black alternate with yellow/purple or green/purple trim.

Piqué
10-06-2013, 09:13 PM

Nice designs, especially the purple. Hate the collar on the away one, thought it was horrible when Man united had it but if we're going to have three strips this season then we'll likely end up with it on one of our tops.

10-06-2013, 09:16 PM

I'm thinking a bit far forward here, but how great would it be if we got this shirt next year?!

Billy McKirdy
10-06-2013, 09:24 PM
Loving the new strips :-)

PerfectlyFranck
10-06-2013, 09:27 PM

I'm thinking a bit far forward here, but how great would it be if we got this shirt next year?!

I think there's a mock-up on here somewhere...

This looks a lot worse with a black or bottle-green collar.
Just another day to go before the quadruple cup-winning kit is revealed!

http://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/HibsNikeManchesterUnited_zps4bd48d3d.png

10-06-2013, 09:45 PM
I think there's a mock-up on here somewhere...

That's brilliant :thumbsup: