View Full Version : New Albums that are "doing it" for you.

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5

08-06-2018, 09:08 AM
where would i get his blues stuff?

"in the Classical music section of your local record store"

Blues, Elwood.

08-06-2018, 09:21 AM
"in the Classical music section of your local record store"

Blues, Elwood.

Aye but what is it called

08-06-2018, 09:27 AM
Aye but what is it called

My joke was wasted :greengrin

Seriously, though, Wilko Johnson was on the radio the other day talking about the album he did with RD a couple of years ago. That may be what you're looking for.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Going_Back_Home_(Wilko_Johnson_and_Roger_Daltrey_a lbum)

08-06-2018, 09:29 AM

Seriously, though, Wilko Johnson was on the radio the other day talking about the album he did with RD a couple of years ago. That may be what you're looking for.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Going_Back_Home_(Wilko_Johnson_and_Roger_Daltrey_a lbum)

Haha it was wasted. I don’t get the reference unfortunately.

08-06-2018, 09:44 AM
Haha it was wasted. I don’t get the reference unfortunately.

I've just looked at your age. :greengrin

When the Blues Brothers were a touring band, before the film came out, they made a few live albums (we called them "records" in those days.... :greengrin). Dan Aykroyd used that line on one of them. By the miracle of YouTube:-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPBQbBgPWZc

08-06-2018, 09:47 AM
I've just looked at your age. :greengrin

When the Blues Brothers were a touring band, before the film came out, they made a few live albums (we called them "records" in those days.... :greengrin). Dan Aykroyd used that line on one of them. By the miracle of YouTube:-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WPBQbBgPWZc

Who are the blues brothers?

08-06-2018, 09:49 AM
Who are the blues brothers?

That's either top trolling or.........

08-06-2018, 09:50 AM
That's either top trolling or.........

Well it’s trolling. Not sure if it’s top

08-06-2018, 09:51 AM
Well it’s trolling. Not sure if it’s top

TF for that. I can breathe again......:greengrin

08-06-2018, 10:37 AM

The Wilko Johnson & Roger Daltrey album is excellent.

There’s also not enough Blues Brothers references on this site! I hate Illinois Nazis! 😀

08-06-2018, 12:56 PM
I saw a dude called Davy Kehoe play at the weekend, was amazing..Best new act I've seen live in a long time..His album "Short Passing Game" isnt available on download but heres one of the tracks called Storm Desmond (https://youtu.be/EouiplFAFVk) Most of the tracks are on youtube.

I think theres copies on discogs & Ive heard it up for a repress as sold out on bleep & any other online shop I use.

patch1875
08-06-2018, 03:10 PM
Songs Of The Saxophones - The Saxophones.

Not sure how to describe this, very unusual and hypnotic.

Listened a few times and it gets under your skin.

Stranraer
09-06-2018, 07:34 AM
Can't stop listening to Post Malone's "beerbongs and bentleys". It's a fantastic, genreless album!

10-06-2018, 08:03 AM
Courtney Barnett - tell me how you realy feel
Dj Koze - knock knock

both very good, had them a lot over the last few weeks.

12-06-2018, 07:38 PM
Not exactly new as it's been out for a couple of month's but 'Staying at Tamara's' by George Ezra is enjoyable.

'Shotgun' & 'Paradise' in particular are brilliant pop records but the whole album is just so catchy.

12-06-2018, 09:14 PM
Looking forward to Covers Vol.2 by Abandoning Sunday though I don’t think their cover of Believe by Cher will be anywhere near as good as The DMAs’ version. Covers Vol.1 was excellent.

Stranraer
13-06-2018, 11:51 AM
Kanye West's "Ye" is quite good and Nas has a new album coming out this Friday.

14-06-2018, 04:20 PM
For the auld Scottish heavy rockers out there, out of retirement after 10 years. Ex SAHB, Nazareth, etc.............

Zal Cleminson’s Sin Dogs - Volume 1

My god it’s heavy. Great band live as well.

15-06-2018, 01:10 PM
Giving Johny Marr’s new album a first listen and initial impressions are it’s decent.

15-06-2018, 08:58 PM
Giving Johny Marr’s new album a first listen and initial impressions are it’s decent.

It's good. It's a bigger sound than I expected. I think he's been somewhat influenced by Noel Gallagher's recent big smash.

speedy_gonzales
16-06-2018, 08:05 AM
Albums "NOT" doing it for me this morning- Sunshine on Leith limited edition GREEN vinyl.
Queued up at HMV Livingston, maybe 10 folk in front of me, many more behind, store opens, only 2 copies in stock,,,,

16-06-2018, 08:06 AM
Rolling blackouts coastal fever - Hope Downs

patch1875
02-07-2018, 03:44 PM
Kamasi Washington - Heaven & Earth

Jazz certainly ain’t my thing but this is pretty tremendous.

hibs#1
02-07-2018, 06:43 PM
Can't stop listening to Post Malone's "beerbongs and bentleys". It's a fantastic, genreless album!

Only got round to listening to this tonight really liked it ,far exceeded my expectations.

Listened to Nas and Kanye's albums need to listen again buy wasn't blown away by them.

Also listened to Jay-Z and Beyonce's joint album thought it was decent,and Drakes new some good songs but he should have went for more quality over quantity.

nellio
02-07-2018, 06:55 PM
For any metal heads out there Bullet for my Valentine's new album gravity is immense.

09-07-2018, 09:53 AM
Post Traumatic by Mike Shinoda.

Not typically a genre I engage with, but as a massive Linkin Park fan, I felt the need to listen to it. It really is a superb piece of work.

20-07-2018, 07:35 PM
The Tamed West

16-08-2018, 01:09 PM
Proclaimers - Angry Cyclist. Decent enough, you know what you’re getting with them.

Miles Kane - Coup De Grace. Decent but not as good as his first two albums, might grow more on me.

The Coral - Move Through The Dawn.

Loopz
19-08-2018, 11:47 PM
Jon Hopkins Singularity.

KingFranck
20-08-2018, 06:57 AM
Having seen both at Rebellion
Idles - Brutalism
The Liarbilities - Antagonisms

31-08-2018, 11:33 AM
Blessthefall - Hard Feelings.

A tad softer than some of their older albums, but that's not a criticism. This album is phenomenal.

Good album but nothing will top Hollow Bodies by them; that was a truly incredible album.

Very excited to hear Sylar's new album as well as Silent Planets.

2 songs into Eminems 'surprise' album and it sounds so far his best work in recent years.

31-08-2018, 05:40 PM
The new Idles album. For me it's much better than the last one.

03-09-2018, 09:51 AM
Good album but nothing will top Hollow Bodies by them; that was a truly incredible album.

Very excited to hear Sylar's new album as well as Silent Planets.

2 songs into Eminems 'surprise' album and it sounds so far his best work in recent years.

Hope you like it - I worked so hard on that album :greengrin

I liked Hollow Bodies, but I probably preferred To Those Left Behind.

Currently falling in love with my old pop-punk roots with the new Alkaline Trio album - delighted to hear new material from them - Matt Skiba is wasted in Blink-182.

10-09-2018, 02:59 PM
Quite like Paul Mcartney’s new album

Loopz
16-09-2018, 09:38 PM
Orbital, Monsters Exist. Hoo Hoo Ha Ha should come with a health warning it’s so addictive.

16-09-2018, 10:04 PM
Declan Welsh and the decadent west.

Have a listen.

21-09-2018, 10:43 AM
Think it was out last year but only just found them. The Creases - Tremelow. Loving their album at the minute.

patch1875
28-09-2018, 03:18 PM
The Blue Hour - Suede

Cheyenne - Conner Youngblood

patch1875
28-09-2018, 06:27 PM
The Blue Hour - Suede

Cheyenne - Conner Youngblood

Also..

Stranger Today - Our Girl

28-09-2018, 09:24 PM
If old albums that you've just heard are allowed then I'll go for Kontiki by Cotton Mather. Fabulous pop music, rip-offs galore from the likes of the Beatles, Squeeze, the Byrds and Crowded House amongst others but it works so so well.

06-10-2018, 11:48 AM
Wakelines by the criminally underrated Mull Historical Society is excellent.

10-10-2018, 09:03 PM
Christine and the Queens - Chris. Toe-tapping stuff.

11-10-2018, 10:32 AM
She Drew the Gun - Revolution of Mind.

11-10-2018, 10:22 PM
She Drew the Gun - Revolution of Mind.They had one of my favourite singles of the year last year. Couldn't get into the rest of the album though.

I'll try them again :)

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

25-10-2018, 11:53 AM
Phil Cook - "People Are My Drugs" - never heard of the guy before, his latest album release is terrific, as is "Southland Mission" from 2015 ....

25-10-2018, 09:41 PM
Liking Richard Ashcroft new album.

Babyshamble
26-10-2018, 02:46 AM
The amazing snakeheads.lead singer died last month with brain cancer.excellent album.

wpj
28-10-2018, 08:16 AM
The re release of Primal Scream's Give Out But Don't Give Up original Memphis sessions is much better than the one originally released, well worth a listen.

28-10-2018, 08:22 AM
The re release of Primal Scream's Give Out But Don't Give Up original Memphis sessions is much better than the one originally released, well worth a listen.Loved the original. Has it been remixed, or is it different versions of the original?

wpj
28-10-2018, 08:37 AM
Loved the original. Has it been remixed, or is it different versions of the original?

It's the original recording with Tom Dowd producing and the Memphis Horns playing. Primal Scream re recorded a lot of it and the original lay untouched until now. Much more soulful, also a 2nd CD of "extras" which are interesting.

28-10-2018, 09:24 AM
It's the original recording with Tom Dowd producing and the Memphis Horns playing. Primal Scream re recorded a lot of it and the original lay untouched until now. Much more soulful, also a 2nd CD of "extras" which are interesting.Ah I get you. The one that was released isn't the original.

Scribbles on Christmas list....

01-11-2018, 05:36 PM
Liking Richard Ashcroft new album.

Softer than his former stuff. He's a bit of an idiot but what the hell!

Weegreenman
04-11-2018, 08:41 AM
Softer than his former stuff. He's a bit of an idiot but what the hell!

He’s far from being an idiot. 🙄 Tells it how it is for me. Some people don’t like that but I find it refreshing.

04-11-2018, 10:08 PM
New Ian Brown song out ahead of his album in March. Not anything groundbreaking, and in his comfort zone but I like it. Video is good too, a nod to his F.E.A.R video.

https://youtu.be/YMRYIRnVhlE

06-11-2018, 01:30 PM
Advance copy of Holy Hell by Architects.

Already a contender for album of the year on the third playthrough. It's ferocious.

patch1875
09-11-2018, 02:51 PM
Currently enjoying these two think they have been out a few months.

The Voidz- Virtue

Parquet Courts - Wide Awake

wpj
09-11-2018, 02:58 PM
New Ian Brown song out ahead of his album in March. Not anything groundbreaking, and in his comfort zone but I like it. Video is good too, a nod to his F.E.A.R video.

https://youtu.be/YMRYIRnVhlE

Stll no stone Roses music? Mani must be wishing he had stayed with Primal Scream.

10-11-2018, 12:29 PM

Already a contender for album of the year on the third playthrough. It's ferocious.

It’s so good man, so heavy.

10-11-2018, 02:49 PM

Is that what you young whippersnappers call music these days! It’s just shouty noise.

Only joking, it’s not for me but sure my musical tastes are the same to you.

11-11-2018, 08:01 PM
The re release of Primal Scream's Give Out But Don't Give Up original Memphis sessions is much better than the one originally released, well worth a listen.

I agree, I really like this version.

Went along to Assai record shop on Thursday afternoon there, Bobby Gillespie was interviewed by Vic Galloway and then did a Q&A and signed records. It was a brilliant hour or so. He pretty much admitted that they didn't have the conviction to stick with their original vision. The record was intended to be a bit of a downer after Screamadelica and they were desperate to work with Dowd due to their respect for his work.

But they started messing with his mix almost immediately. Alan McGee never got what they were going for and thought it was too dull, not modern enough basically. Bobby said they took on board McGee's feedback and agreed to work with the new producer, George Drakoulis. He felt this was vindicated by the commercial success but the vision they started with was totally lost.

Such an interesting guy, could've listened to him talk about music for hours!

patch1875
12-11-2018, 05:13 PM
Elastic Days - J Mascis

6music album of the day heard it this morning and thought it sounded like Dinosaur Jnr, it’s a solo album.

patch1875
13-11-2018, 05:49 PM
6music of fire with there album of the days.

Black Velvet - Charles Bradley

Sublime

13-11-2018, 06:45 PM
6music of fire with there album of the days.

Black Velvet - Charles Bradley

Sublime

Agreed - top class artist....sad loss to the music world....

ac1
13-11-2018, 08:10 PM
I agree, I really like this version.

Went along to Assai record shop on Thursday afternoon there, Bobby Gillespie was interviewed by Vic Galloway and then did a Q&A and signed records. It was a brilliant hour or so. He pretty much admitted that they didn't have the conviction to stick with their original vision. The record was intended to be a bit of a downer after Screamadelica and they were desperate to work with Dowd due to their respect for his work.

But they started messing with his mix almost immediately. Alan McGee never got what they were going for and thought it was too dull, not modern enough basically. Bobby said they took on board McGee's feedback and agreed to work with the new producer, George Drakoulis. He felt this was vindicated by the commercial success but the vision they started with was totally lost.

Such an interesting guy, could've listened to him talk about music for hours!

There is a documentary on the Memphis recordings on BBC4 on Friday night at 9

15-11-2018, 10:23 AM
There is a documentary on the Memphis recordings on BBC4 on Friday night at 9

I will definitely check that out, thanks for the heads up :thumbsup:

18-11-2018, 06:27 PM
There is a documentary on the Memphis recordings on BBC4 on Friday night at 9Fabulous programme.

Tom Dowd and the Memphis Horns are all over my music collection. To hear those songs, which I loved first time around, in the way they were meant to be was such a treat.

ac1
19-11-2018, 08:16 PM
Yeah just finished watching the Primal Scream Memphis documentary myself there - enjoyed it as well. Was interesting that the sound was changed because of being in the 90’s and McGee thought it needed to be a ‘smash’ album after Scremadelica. The Memphis recordings sound amazing to me!

19-11-2018, 10:25 PM

There was a thing on the telly about it the other night. I'm sure it was on bbc4 so should be on the I-player.

I love Primal Scream and didn't know that this existed. That album always frustrated me because it had highlights and was nearly brilliant but didn't quite hit the mark. Hopefully this one now will.

Edit - sorry, didn't realise this thread had a 28th page.

patch1875
25-11-2018, 10:23 AM
The Good,The Bad & The Queen - Merrie Land

Very good.

hibs#1
30-11-2018, 07:15 PM
Meek Mill-Championships I like it on 1st listen.Dont expect it to get alot of love one here,but if you like hip hop it's a good listen.

19-12-2018, 09:12 AM
I'm aware my recommendations are usually "niche" and don't appeal to the masses on here.

However.

I can't recommend Thrice's new album "Palms" enough. It'll appeal to most fans of rock and isn't at all heavy.

21-12-2018, 09:45 AM
Liking The Fernweh’s self titled debut.

Probably sound a bit pretentious, but was recommended looking at a couple of small record labels (Vampisoul & Ace Records). They do a lot of the 60s beat girls sound from around Europe at that time. I love that sound and really interesting hearing the slightly different takes on the sound in other countries. I ended up buying 7 of the albums including the solo stuff of one of the singers.

27-12-2018, 12:40 PM
J.P Bimeni & The Black Belts - Free Me

27-01-2019, 09:28 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ixgu0H2p3WE

LustForLeith
02-02-2019, 05:11 PM
I’ve been listening to the new albums from Steve Mason and Ian Brown today.

Masons is an absolute cracker

03-02-2019, 08:55 AM
I’ve been listening to the new albums from Steve Mason and Ian Brown today.

Masons is an absolute cracker

I’ve not got round to listening to Ian Brown’s album yet but would echo the Steve Mason sentiment. His new album is excellent.

patch1875
03-02-2019, 05:19 PM
The Specials new one ‘Encore’ is very good.

08-02-2019, 01:33 PM
Downloaded the remastered Prefab Sprout album , I trawl the Megahertz
An amazing haunting opening piece of music

08-02-2019, 06:10 PM
The Specials new one ‘Encore’ is very good.Will give that a listen to 👍

08-02-2019, 09:15 PM
Ian Brown's is good. We've heard very similar melodies from him before but it's got that individual sound.

patch1875
09-02-2019, 09:49 AM
Downloaded the remastered Prefab Sprout album , I trawl the Megahertz
An amazing haunting opening piece of music

Need to have a listen of this Paddy was on 6music this morning talking about it.

10-02-2019, 02:36 PM
Need to have a listen of this Paddy was on 6music this morning talking about it.

Title track is unbelievably good, can’t get the tune out of my head

LustForLeith
11-02-2019, 06:13 AM
The Specials new one ‘Encore’ is very good.

First time I listened to it I wasn’t that keen. Soon changed my opinion with every other listen. Quality

11-02-2019, 11:33 AM
Ian Brown's is good. We've heard very similar melodies from him before but it's got that individual sound.

Nipped upto Fopp yesterday to buy it on vinyl. Going to give it my first proper listen tonight. Hopefully he tours again soon.

11-02-2019, 12:06 PM
Nipped upto Fopp yesterday to buy it on vinyl. Going to give it my first proper listen tonight. Hopefully he tours again soon.

I liked it, but was a bit disappointed he stayed in his comfort zone but you know what you’re getting with an Ian Brown solo album. Still better than most of the guff these days.

I’ll also be keeping an eye out for a tour.

11-02-2019, 07:34 PM
I missed this when it came out at the end of last year but Dull Clunk by Garies is an amazing album. Been on constant repeat for me over the last couple of weeks, love it.

patch1875
13-03-2019, 07:00 PM
Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost

Really into this after a few listens.

KingFranck
13-03-2019, 07:16 PM
Headsticks new album Kept In The Dark
And for any Punks out there The Liarbilitys album is excellent

15-03-2019, 12:19 PM
Loving Alexis Evans new album, “I’ve Come A Long Way”. Really well done RnB/Soul.

15-03-2019, 12:51 PM
While She Sleeps' "So What?" is a perfect commentary on the current sorry state of this world.

Beautifully angry.

HibeeLR
15-03-2019, 07:05 PM
Foals - Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost

Really into this after a few listens.

Great album

16-03-2019, 07:45 AM
Karen O and Danger Mouse new album - Lux Prima. Some tracks similar to Air, others more like YYYs or the Unloved stuff. Could listen to Karen O all day.

Also loving the first 3 songs Vampire Weekend have released ahead of their new album in May. Look forward to them playing the Usher Hall later in the year

22-03-2019, 09:26 PM
Not an album that is doing it for me, but was looking forward to listening to Sleepers new album when I saw it was out today. Sadly they should have just suick to touring again.

patch1875
28-03-2019, 05:02 PM
Not an album that is doing it for me, but was looking forward to listening to Sleepers new album when I saw it was out today. Sadly they should have just suick to touring again.

It’s grown on me after a few listens.

02-04-2019, 07:39 PM
Their debut album isn’t out til next week but I’m getting right into Fontaines DC. Quite raw post punk - never a fan of this term but seems fitting here!

Think they have a 6 Music set available on the IPlayer and they were on SoccerAM at the weekend there. Their album Dogrel is out on April 11th

02-04-2019, 07:48 PM
Their debut album isn’t out til next week but I’m getting right into Fontaines DC. Quite raw post punk - never a fan of this term but seems fitting here!

Think they have a 6 Music set available on the IPlayer and they were on SoccerAM at the weekend there. Their album Dogrel is out on April 11th

Also set on podcast K E X P Live ( A Seattle Radio Show That Broadcasts lots of new new interesting Bands Live in their own Studio

02-04-2019, 08:02 PM
Also set on podcast K E X P Live ( A Seattle Radio Show That Broadcasts lots of new new interesting Bands Live in their own Studio

Will check that out, thanks

LustForLeith
20-04-2019, 03:13 PM
I’m a big fan of the debut album from Jade Bird. Downloaded it yesterday and I’ve not stopped listening to it.

Along with Sam Fender the futures looking bright

HibeeLR
21-04-2019, 11:20 PM
Really enjoying the new Cage the Elephant album Social Cues.

22-04-2019, 08:05 AM
Darron J Connett - Advantages of Living. Absolutely mega

22-04-2019, 09:11 PM
Excitable Girl by 96 Black (techno ambient electronica according to Bleep)

MagicSwirlingShip
23-04-2019, 09:21 AM
Excitable Girl by 96 Black (techno ambient electronica according to Bleep)

Sounds right up my street, will check it out.

23-04-2019, 12:33 PM
:thumbsup: Been working myself through the line up of a festival Im going to in October we had a great time at last year...Started putting together a playlist that you might like https://open.spotify.com/user/1165237717/playlist/2htZMZTRlUfbAWXfA6gWXS?si=zl1p3HfgRjqSFp99_1XZ0Q
Sounds right up my street, will check it out.

patch1875
24-04-2019, 07:11 PM
Denzel Curry - TA13OO

24-04-2019, 11:19 PM
The Carpenters Favourite Songs.

You cannot beat it for making you feel great.

patch1875
28-04-2019, 03:44 PM
Loyle Carner - Not Waving But Drowning

30-04-2019, 12:19 PM
New Catfish and the Bottlemen album came out this week. Had my reservations on what I'd heard and unfortunately gave-up before I finished my first listen.

I'll maybe try harder again soon. Do love a lot of their first 2 efforts but have a feeling this is where it ends for me and them.

19Leith75
30-04-2019, 12:21 PM
New Catfish and the Bottlemen album came out this week. Had my reservations on what I'd heard and unfortunately gave-up before I finished my first listen.

I'll maybe try harder again soon. Do love a lot of their first 2 efforts but have a feeling this is where it ends for me and them.I feel like its a bit of a grower. Was always going to be hard to top the previous efforts.

30-04-2019, 12:31 PM
I feel like its a bit of a grower. Was always going to be hard to top the previous efforts.

You may be right. Maybe my general bad morning mood at the time didn't help :greengrin

And I do concede most albums take a few listens to get properly into but I just couldn't get hooked on almost any of the songs - I think love2all or whatever it is called is the only one I 'raised an eyebrow' at.

30-04-2019, 07:29 PM
Not as good as there other albums but liking King Gizzard & The Lizzard Wizzard (great name) new album - Fishing For Fishes

patch1875
04-05-2019, 03:32 PM
Vampire Weekend - Father Of The Bride

01-06-2019, 02:40 PM
Not got any album yet but I am enjoying Aurora on YouTube.

04-06-2019, 10:29 AM
I've been listening to Uptown Fank by Peat & Diesel a lot since I discovered it last week.
Very odd but awfy good.

https://youtu.be/nSzI8Q5DyIQ

12-06-2019, 02:27 PM
Plaids new album Polymer is stunning...Heres what the Quietus had to say (https://thequietus.com/articles/26627-plaid-polymer-review)

Also the taster for the new album Steve Davis has been involved in writing is something else.....10 mins of gorgeous bonkersness brought to you by Mr Interesting (https://youtu.be/gG02P9j406I)

12-06-2019, 03:37 PM
Anyone who loves newMusic - might want to check out “cream Floats”.

Innovative new business where signed and unsigned acts can share their music and people can pay to download their songs - the great thing is the artist gets the vast majority of the money - not a tiny percentage like some of the other models out there ..

It’s in its infancy but it’s an edinburgh innovative business, with some great quality music on it ...

02-08-2019, 08:41 AM
Northlane's "Alien" is completely and utterly relentless.

Easy contender for best album of the year already.

patch1875
03-08-2019, 05:49 PM
The Black Keys - Lets Rock

Took a couple of listens but good stuff.

hibs#1
05-08-2019, 11:53 AM
I liked Ed sheerans collaboration album that he released. Appreciate not many on here would enjoy it. I'm not an Ed Sheeran by any stretch but I enjoyed none the less.

05-08-2019, 05:32 PM
Was at the recording of the BBC Afternoon show this morning. One of the guests were the Band called Fat Cops, whom include Bobby Bluebell and al Murray

Quite a few good songs, just downloaded the album

patch1875
16-08-2019, 04:30 PM
Ride - This Is Not A Safe Place

Love it already. There last album is definitely a favourite looking forward to seeing them in December.

Mr Grieves
16-08-2019, 05:25 PM
Serfs up! By Fat White Family.

One of these that came up randomly on Spotify and I've been listening to this album and their back catalogue for weeks

20-08-2019, 07:51 PM
I never thought I'd see the day Slipknot had an album at #1 in the UK album chart.

But Christ, does it deserve to be there. We Are Not Your Kind is utterly superb.

22-08-2019, 10:55 AM
I never thought I'd see the day Slipknot had an album at #1 in the UK album chart.

But Christ, does it deserve to be there. We Are Not Your Kind is utterly superb.

To me, it sounds like the album they should have made after volume 3. it’s an absolute banger and a return to the heavy days.

Knocked Loose are putting out some incredible hardcore songs at the moment

22-08-2019, 11:49 AM
Blank Mass's new album Animated Violence Mild is a full on stoater...Hopefully get over to catch him in Glasgow in November

patch1875
30-08-2019, 05:39 PM
Black Midi - schlagenheim.

Bonkers

01-09-2019, 05:50 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4LkSRXrK34

Jungle

Mantis Toboggan
03-09-2019, 11:51 AM
Black Midi - schlagenheim.

Bonkers

Brilliant debut, and going by the videos that Pitchfork festival put up recently they are even better live.

patch1875
03-09-2019, 03:53 PM
Brilliant debut, and going by the videos that Pitchfork festival put up recently they are even better live.

Sure is. Probably album of the year so far for me.

03-09-2019, 05:17 PM
Sure is. Probably album of the year so far for me.

I tried the album but didn’t get it all, wasn’t sure what I had listened to!

Yours,

A grumpy old git

patch1875
03-09-2019, 07:01 PM
I tried the album but didn’t get it all, wasn’t sure what I had listened to!

Yours,

A grumpy old git

It is a bit different!

Worth trying again took a few listens for me to get into it.

The vocals are great a bit Johnny Rotten at times.

patch1875
25-09-2019, 06:09 PM
Days of The Bagnold Summer - Belle & Sebastian

Really really good.

Sister Buddha is pop perfection

02-10-2019, 07:43 PM
Face to Phase by rRoxymore....Left field dance/club/not sure type stuff

MagicSwirlingShip
03-10-2019, 03:24 AM
Not new by any sense of the word, but digging through The Black Keys back cat is bringing me great joy at the moment

03-10-2019, 06:06 PM
The self titled album by the walker roaders, which I stumbled upon on spotify.
The band includes james fearnley of the pogues and other members from dropkick murphys and flogging molly.

https://youtu.be/2jiWr7kn49I

04-10-2019, 01:31 PM
the new kublai khan album is class

patch1875
06-10-2019, 06:47 PM
Nick Cave’s new one is tremendous.

patch1875
27-10-2019, 01:29 PM
Kim Gordon - No Home Record.

wpj
27-10-2019, 07:42 PM
Kim Gordon - No Home Record.

Good album
Pre ordered Dylan "travelling through" Cash n Dylan at last with decent mixing, also the track list looks good.
Edit: arrived today, love it already

03-11-2019, 12:45 AM
The Stanton Warriors

04-11-2019, 01:32 PM
counterparts - nothing left to love

14-11-2019, 07:34 PM
Really enjoying the new Jimmy Eat World album, Surviving. Their last 2 albums have been brilliant, I'd written them off after a couple of pretty dire efforts.

15-11-2019, 09:48 AM
Currently listening to the new Sun Arcana album (only 5 tracks) this morning - love it - very Don Broco-esque.

LustForLeith
20-11-2019, 07:39 AM
The latest album from Michael Kiwanuka is a masterpiece.

patch1875
20-11-2019, 08:20 AM
The latest album from Michael Kiwanuka is a masterpiece.

It sure is!

Onto DJ Shadow just now that’s very good also.

MagicSwirlingShip
20-11-2019, 06:43 PM
Elder Island - The Omnitone collection on repeat this week

08-12-2019, 10:03 AM
Liking The Who’s new album, good to see them making something relative to their age and not simply falling into the trap of dinosaurs still trying to do what they were doing 40 years ago.

17-12-2019, 09:19 PM
I've been listening to Norma Jean's "All Hail" on repeat for the past month or so now. It's relentless, it's ferocious and it utterly grooves in places.

I've also been listening to Bring Me The Horizon's latest track "Ludens" on repeat for a while now - it was written in 6 days as a soundtrack song for Death Stranding and it's one of their best in a while.

21-12-2019, 09:34 PM
At this time of year our thoughts tend towards those less fortunate than ourselves.

With that in mind, I'd like to play a very "moving" song which gets across a message in tune with the times and, appositely, is germane to all our lives and digestive systems.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_As2ao3Ga8

30-12-2019, 09:08 AM
Lankums ‘Between the earth & the sky’ is spellbinding...probably my album of the year.

At the othe end of the spectrum Karen’s ‘’Grapefruit Regret’ is almost as good as one of their banging live sets.

30-12-2019, 09:22 AM
Hats by The Blue Nile.

Bear with me, it was remastered and re-released at the end of November on heavy vinyl, limited edition of 1000. It replaces the cassette tape.

Stranger Things Have Happened (An Original Edinburgh Soundtrack) by Out of the Ordinary (Joseph Malik, Chris Greive, David Donnely, Steven Christie, Saleem Andrew McGroarty and Tam Dean Burn

17-01-2020, 07:09 AM
For You & I by Lorraine James adsolutely stunning. Hotch potch of influences Burial, Vince Staples, Jazz, D&B, IDM...It came out last year but far and away best new thing I’ve listened to this year

hibs#1
17-01-2020, 01:55 PM
Eminem-Music to be murdered by.

Babyshamble
23-01-2020, 02:25 PM
New for me...
The last one The Brian Jonestown massacre released is class.
What is home? By Brown Bear is good as well

patch1875
20-03-2020, 07:31 PM
Baxter Dury - The Night Chancers

Very Baxter very good.

wallpaperman
20-03-2020, 07:48 PM
Bought Morrissey’s new album today, only had chance to play it through once, quite an impressive effort from the old curmudgeon. Voice still in fairly good shape, his recent live shows sounded like they went down well with the faithful.

20-03-2020, 08:49 PM
New Paul Weller track from upcoming album out. Was a bit taken aback in first listen as not what I was expecting, but think I like it. Although still hanker after the Stanley Road days!

https://youtu.be/r_DiWq4aVQk

21-03-2020, 04:00 PM
Bought Morrissey’s new album today, only had chance to play it through once, quite an impressive effort from the old curmudgeon. Voice still in fairly good shape, his recent live shows sounded like they went down well with the faithful.

Listening to it now after a recommendation. Pretty good.

21-03-2020, 06:54 PM
New Paul Weller track from upcoming album out. Was a bit taken aback in first listen as not what I was expecting, but think I like it. Although still hanker after the Stanley Road days!

https://youtu.be/r_DiWq4aVQk

Yeah it’s different but that is what I expect from Weller now (the unexpected!) and it’s great IMO that he’s not gonna stand still. I like it now after a few more listens.

Looking forward to hearing the rest of the album. He’s talked up the track Mirrorball for a while now so hopefully worth the wait

Would imagine his May tour will get canned now but hopefully plenty chance to see him later in the year.

21-03-2020, 06:56 PM
I’ve been into the new albums from Juniore and The Orielles recently. The Snuts new EP that came out last weekend is also brilliant, they seem like a band who have a bit of everything, really interested to watch them progress

hibs#1
25-03-2020, 08:35 PM
Jay Electronica's new album was pretty good on 1st listen. Just listening to Donald Glovers aka Childish Gambino new album not sure about it yet.

25-03-2020, 10:20 PM
I've just discovered Jay Som.

Should have been seeing her tonight at Stereo, but making do with her album.

ClewsHibs
13-04-2020, 02:03 PM
The New Abnormal by The Strokes is brilliant

patch1875
13-04-2020, 06:32 PM

Maybe I need to give it a couple more listens but wasn’t impressed.

13-04-2020, 06:56 PM
I’ve been into the new albums from Juniore and The Orielles recently. The Snuts new EP that came out last weekend is also brilliant, they seem like a band who have a bit of everything, really interested to watch them progress

A second vote for Juniore, bought both albums recently. Hadn’t seen your recommendation, but heard them on a series of playlists I’ve been listening to which some might enjoy.

https://m.mixcloud.com/markraison12/

Edit - on the French theme also liking Initials Bouvier Bernois, at the indie-Jazz end of the spectrum. Also bought Miracle Glass Companies second album.

MagicSwirlingShip
15-04-2020, 12:10 PM

Yep. Loving it

15-04-2020, 01:19 PM

Oh, I'll be getting on that today :aok:

16-04-2020, 08:36 AM
New Enter Shikari album tomorrow :thumbsup:

21-04-2020, 10:48 AM
New Enter Shikari album tomorrow :thumbsup:

It's ****ing banging :greengrin:thumbsup:

wpj
21-04-2020, 02:11 PM
Not new, not trendy but Elvis Costello "Almost Blue" is a massive milestone in my life. I have decided to play vinyl until I get bored haha. Lots of nice vinyl to enjoy

01-05-2020, 11:53 AM
New Mogwai album pay what you want on Bandcamp for today only. Arab Strap have launched archives on Bandcamp too, lots of live shows, demos and a Black Sabbath cover all pay what you want. Good day for it.

01-05-2020, 12:34 PM
Wee plug for Lightning in the Dark by Hibs season ticket holder Tom Fairnie, that launched today https://open.spotify.com/album/4sWoM2Zja8VIr6GynwuKdp?si=9-8vU5czSX-Ze2ZlumgOWw

13-05-2020, 07:24 PM
Deacon Blue's new album City of Love is quite anodyne and melodic but no surprises.

It's a hymn to Glasgow apparently - Ricky Ross' new home.

It could be a grower, I suppose. I wish them well.

17-05-2020, 08:52 PM
Thornhill (Australian metalcore band on the UNFD label) released their debut album 'The Dark Pool' last year, which was incredible. They've now just released an instrumental version of the album, which is every bit as good. The musicianship (especially on the 7-string guitar) is utterly insane!

23-05-2020, 10:40 PM
Liking Tim Burgess’ new album.

lex07
29-05-2020, 09:58 AM
Night Life by Check Masses...excellent album gie it a listen

29-05-2020, 11:21 PM
Wee plug for Lightning in the Dark by Hibs season ticket holder Tom Fairnie, that launched today https://open.spotify.com/album/4sWoM2Zja8VIr6GynwuKdp?si=9-8vU5czSX-Ze2ZlumgOWw

This one is the featured album on Ian Anderson's BBC Radio show this week.

05-06-2020, 10:34 PM
Speed kills by Chubby and The Gang, released a few months back but only just picked up on it.

https://youtu.be/vAE9tsjLzjc

Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk

TheGreenMan
12-06-2020, 03:53 PM
Hope it's alright to post this here 👍

I've just released a new song today off my new album, out in 2 weeks time!

If anyone wants to help support a fellow Hibby, East stand ST holder and renewed for next season 😁, it'd be much appreciated!

Check out the song, if you're into indie/psych rock, or something like that! Influences of Jack White, Arctic monkeys, The Coral, Kasabian (or so people have told me today!)

Available on all usual platforms, here's the Spotify link

https://open.spotify.com/album/1sgL6Cwl5peaWVn3yO2ouY?si=KL51fNnoQlmk3nzLIOSQiQ

and link to the video on YouTube

https://youtu.be/s-a0BDabyT4

as well as my twitter if you want to follow

(@deankaymusic): https://twitter.com/deankaymusic?s=09

GGTTH!
🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

patch1875
21-06-2020, 01:40 PM
Gold Against The Soul - Manic Street Preachers

2020 remastered still an amazing album takes me back to the good times!

25-06-2020, 04:04 PM
Very excited about Idles upcoming album Ultra Mono - the two songs released from it so far are bangers. 'Grounds' in particular is a big grower and sounds like something from Original Pirate Material IMO which is no bad thing.

TheGreenMan
26-06-2020, 09:13 AM
Hope it's alright to post this here 👍

I've just released a new song today off my new album, out in 2 weeks time!

If anyone wants to help support a fellow Hibby, East stand ST holder and renewed for next season 😁, it'd be much appreciated!

Check out the song, if you're into indie/psych rock, or something like that! Influences of Jack White, Arctic monkeys, The Coral, Kasabian (or so people have told me today!)

Available on all usual platforms, here's the Spotify link

https://open.spotify.com/album/1sgL6Cwl5peaWVn3yO2ouY?si=KL51fNnoQlmk3nzLIOSQiQ

and link to the video on YouTube

https://youtu.be/s-a0BDabyT4

as well as my twitter if you want to follow

(@deankaymusic): https://twitter.com/deankaymusic?s=09

GGTTH!
🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

My new album Modern Meaning is out today!

As above, its available on all the usual platforms.

See my twitter profile for links if needed.

@deankaymusic

Appreciate any listeners/help sharing to help a Hibby 💚

👍🇳🇬

26-06-2020, 10:08 AM
Err, excuse me folks, but you may not have noticed that the best album of the 21st Century has just quietly been released.
Ladies and gentlemen, can I please recommend a little known singer songwriter, his name is Bob Dylan and his new album Rough & Rowdy Ways is rather excellent.

26-06-2020, 06:34 PM
Err, excuse me folks, but you may not have noticed that the best album of the 21st Century has just quietly been released.
Ladies and gentlemen, can I please recommend a little known singer songwriter, his name is Bob Dylan and his new album Rough & Rowdy Ways is rather excellent.

Number 1 in the Hit Parade, apparently.

Number 2 is some youngster called Neil Young.

26-06-2020, 06:40 PM

They don’t make them like these 2 anymore

27-06-2020, 01:05 PM

It’s a belter. Seventy nine years old and still delivering.

MagicSwirlingShip
27-06-2020, 11:57 PM
Yeah, been enjoying it massively this past week.

It’s also encouraged me to dig out some of his more underplayed albums.

New Morning, Street Legal, and John Wesley Harding have been getting spins. What an absolute legend,

drummondst34
29-06-2020, 07:29 PM
The Heimatdamisch

Try this crew. A German version of the Red Hot Chilli Pipers .
Trad set up , lederhosen & instruments etc , but ROCK music .
Connie the singer is one ballsy , sassy lady . Did a recent lockdown
you tube concert - catch Sweet child o mine & Da da da - done with
humour & passion .

Drummond:cbst34

TheGreenMan
01-07-2020, 09:14 AM

@deankaymusic

👍🇳🇬

If anyone checks out my album, let me know what you think 👍

G15 Hibs
03-07-2020, 10:14 AM

The first bits and pieces I heard of it I thought it sounded exactly like what you'd expect a Bob Dylan album in 2020 to sound like. Having listened to it properly now I enjoy the dreamy, otherworldly feeling it has. I'm wary of calling it a masterpiece or anything like the papers are doing, due to the tenancy to want to really love a new thing by an artist you like and get carried away, but I'm happy to give it a few years of listening and see how I feel then.

Its no 'Christmas in the Heart', mind.

03-07-2020, 03:46 PM
Liking Paul Weller's new album. A chilled hippie vibe, with a bit of Harry Nillson at times. Won’t be my favourite Weller album but I like that he tries a new sound with each album.

03-07-2020, 04:15 PM
I'm wary of calling it a masterpiece or anything like the papers are doing, due to the tenancy to want to really love a new thing by an artist you like and get carried away, but I'm happy to give it a few years of listening and see how I feel then.I agree with you, but one wet afternoon this week I listened to it again and there are four or five stand out tracks. Murder Most Foul is a colossal piece of work, for which he will be remembered forever. But I like My Own Version of You, Black Rider and I've Made Up My Mind as well. The first of these is a really strong song. I'm enjoying it more each time I hear it.

Its no 'Christmas in the Heart', mind.This is true.

G15 Hibs
03-07-2020, 10:24 PM
But I like My Own Version of You, Black Rider and I've Made Up My Mind as well. The first of these is a really strong song. I'm enjoying it more each time I hear it.

My Own Version of You certainly stood out. An eerie, weird magical number.

04-07-2020, 02:03 PM
Liking Paul Weller's new album. A chilled hippie vibe, with a bit of Harry Nillson at times. Won’t be my favourite Weller album but I like that he tries a new sound with each album.

It sounds a bit bland and dreamy on first play. I don't fancy the first track! I'll hear it a few times though. Most good albums don't grab you straight away. Some take several listens - especially jazz.

04-07-2020, 05:37 PM
It sounds a bit bland and dreamy on first play. I don't fancy the first track! I'll hear it a few times though. Most good albums don't grab you straight away. Some take several listens - especially jazz.

I quite liked it on first listen and it’s really growing on me (a few tracks aside)the more I listen. Loving “Ploughman”.

04-07-2020, 07:21 PM
I quite liked it on first listen and it’s really growing on me (a few tracks aside)the more I listen. Loving “Ploughman”.

I have heard it three times now and I'm still unenthused. Usual tactic is to leave it a couple of days and then return! I do like Weller and I think he's an important figure.

I loved Saturns Pattern.

05-07-2020, 06:49 PM
The Heimatdamisch

Try this crew. A German version of the Red Hot Chilli Pipers .
Trad set up , lederhosen & instruments etc , but ROCK music .
Connie the singer is one ballsy , sassy lady . Did a recent lockdown
you tube concert - catch Sweet child o mine & Da da da - done with
humour & passion .

Drummond:cbst34I was at the canstatter volksfest a few years back and when I walked into the schwaben tent there was band like that belting out back in black, they did about an hour of stuff like that. The place was absolutely bouncing.

10-07-2020, 03:29 PM
New Doves album out in September. Looking forward to that.

tomf
10-07-2020, 05:26 PM

@deankaymusic

👍🇳🇬

I really enjoyed listening to Revolving Doors. More to my taste that Reflections. The mood reminded me of another song but it is bugging me which one; a really great feeling and a good melody. I am presuming you wrote the song. Well done. I find it reassuring that Hibs have some great musical talents amongst their support. I am also a singer songwriter; if you Google Tom Fairnie you'll get me and I am happy to receive any critical appraisal.

tomf
10-07-2020, 05:29 PM

Does that mean critical appraisal? I have made the mistake of being honest with many songwriters in the past when what they really wanted was to be told how great they are. I realise that I have opened a can of worms but I try to be straight with people.

tomf
10-07-2020, 05:31 PM

You might be interested in listening to my new CD, Lightning In The Dark, which features some musicians who have played with Bob Dylan and a whole lot of others. Google Tom Fairnie and you'll get me. GGTTH

10-07-2020, 05:55 PM
Does that mean critical appraisal? I have made the mistake of being honest with many songwriters in the past when what they really wanted was to be told how great they are. I realise that I have opened a can of worms but I try to be straight with people.

Why not just give an honest opinion in a constructive manner if you want to give feedback, whether it’s good or bad?

tomf
10-07-2020, 06:04 PM

What I can hear is a mixture of Lord Huron, Ed Kuepper and Chris Isaak; all great influences, which you may or may not have listened to. The Lord Huron sound was what I heard initialy. They are a great band and well worth pursuing if you don't know them.

tomf
10-07-2020, 10:40 PM
Why not just give an honest opinion in a constructive manner if you want to give feedback, whether it’s good or bad?

I am always honest. What can be difficult, without knowing people, is how they will take an opinion, which is all it ever is. I could quote many examples but I usually go along with the principle of the sandwich; you can say something that might be a bit negative if you put it between a couple of positives. As a songwriter I work on a very simple premise, which is, does it make the song better? I also like to collaborate and that can be extremely difficult at times. You learn to compromise for the good of the song. I have never found the singular vision approach to be the most rewarding although there are plenty of examples where it has worked. Just not for me.

wpj
11-07-2020, 12:28 PM
I am always honest. What can be difficult, without knowing people, is how they will take an opinion, which is all it ever is. I could quote many examples but I usually go along with the principle of the sandwich; you can say something that might be a bit negative if you put it between a couple of positives. As a songwriter I work on a very simple premise, which is, does it make the song better? I also like to collaborate and that can be extremely difficult at times. You learn to compromise for the good of the song. I have never found the singular vision approach to be the most rewarding although there are plenty of examples where it has worked. Just not for me.

That sounds a very Spinal Tap reply 😂 no offence intended.
Modfather, I have just read Paul Weller has had a number one in the last five decades! That's entertainment 👍

TheGreenMan
11-07-2020, 01:19 PM
What I can hear is a mixture of Lord Huron, Ed Kuepper and Chris Isaak; all great influences, which you may or may not have listened to. The Lord Huron sound was what I heard initialy. They are a great band and well worth pursuing if you don't know them.

Cheers for listening 👍 I've not listened to any of these you listed so I'll check them out.

On the feedback, make it whatever you like. As was mentioned above, anything constructive. Appreciate anyone's ear time. I'm happy with everything I've done and know not everyone will like it, that's just the nature of music but we can all appreciate the creation and work put into getting it all together regardless 👍

TheGreenMan
11-07-2020, 01:20 PM
Really enjoyed Paul Weller's new album too as mentioned above. Old Father Tyme was a stand out for me on first couple of listens

21-07-2020, 08:09 PM
'The Way It Ends' by Currents is an absolute metalcore masterpiece. Can't stop listening to it.

22-07-2020, 11:55 AM
Really enjoyed Paul Weller's new album too as mentioned above. Old Father Tyme was a stand out for me on first couple of listens

It bears listening to a few times before it sinks in. Very good and only a couple of fillers which at his age is excusable!

22-07-2020, 12:46 PM
Bought The Beths second album, Jump Rope Geezers. Not exactly re-inventing the indie wheel but fairly decent IMO.

04-08-2020, 06:20 AM
The Chats new album "High Risk Behaviour" is brilliant. Little sub two minute songs from an Aussie trio that are reminscent of the likes of The Vines, The Von Bondies, Star Spangles and more. Love it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzTVuQwhKDw

11-08-2020, 08:34 PM
As if 2020 wasn't bad enough, Nickelback are threatening something new...

nellio
17-08-2020, 10:49 AM
As if 2020 wasn't bad enough, Nickelback are threatening something new...

They have a bad rep. Some of their singles are bad but in general I find their heavier album tracks are good.

In other news new album by biffy clyro is awesome.

LustForLeith
18-08-2020, 07:58 AM
Are we all of the option that the latest Taylor Swift album is genius? Thought so.

I’ve been listening to the Sea Girls album pretty much non stop since Sunday. Contender for album of the year for me

18-08-2020, 02:24 PM
Liking James Dean Bradfield’s new solo album, Even In Exile. Although it’s not particularly removed from The Manics sound, which you can’t go far wrong with anyway.

02-09-2020, 03:59 PM
Arab Strap are back with a new song. I really like it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gPPTRVR9qE4

Ayrshire Hibee
09-09-2020, 01:16 PM
Liking James Dean Bradfield’s new solo album, Even In Exile. Although it’s not particularly removed from The Manics sound, which you can’t go far wrong with anyway.

Great album.....never off in the man cave along with send away the tigers at the moment.

10-09-2020, 03:28 PM
The Speedways new album Radio Sounds is a good piece of pop punk swagger.

11-09-2020, 01:00 PM
Forgot I’d pre-ordered the new Doves album which just arrived. Giving it a listen now and first impressions are good.

11-09-2020, 01:30 PM
New Flaming Lips album American Head out today, you never know what you're going to get with them but sounds great on first listen.

20-09-2020, 06:41 PM
Not a new album but some folk I know have got together (they aren't a group) and started putting stuff together since they've been effectively unemployed due to lack of gigs. Hopefully we'll see an album in the coming months.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-kUFPsgrmE&feature=youtu.be

25-09-2020, 09:25 AM
Deftones' new album 'Ohms' is so incredibly well written and produced. Their evolution since I first started listening to them after they released 'Adrenaline' is truly a thing of beauty.

This is so good.

Mr Grieves
25-09-2020, 09:03 PM
Deftones' new album 'Ohms' is so incredibly well written and produced. Their evolution since I first started listening to them after they released 'Adrenaline' is truly a thing of beauty.

This is so good.

I'm a big fan of adrenaline to white pony but not really listened to them since. I gave the new album a listen (must be my teenage-like grumpiness) and I really enjoyed it. Chino's voice is still top notch.

Also enjoying another cracker from Idles. Their lyrics always strike a chord.

And RTJ4 is also top notch.

28-09-2020, 04:52 PM
Really enjoying some great new music from The Killers, Hurts, Public Enemy and especially the new Fish album. Such a shame the tours to support these releases wont be happening any time soon.

28-09-2020, 05:25 PM
Are we all of the option that the latest Taylor Swift album is genius? Thought so.

I’ve been listening to the Sea Girls album pretty much non stop since Sunday. Contender for album of the year for me

Are you being serious about the Taylor Swift album? I'm very impressed with it.

I've never even heard of The Sea Girls but I'll give it a listen.

30-09-2020, 08:25 AM
Always been a fan of Bruce Hornsby and his latest LP is quite good, I think - "Non-Secure Connection"
Polish violinist Adam Baldych's "Clouds" is worth a listen too IMO ...

patch1875
30-09-2020, 03:54 PM
Loving Thurston Moore’s new album.

Man is a genius

01-10-2020, 10:58 AM
Ramones, it's alive ii released as part of record store day, its a recording of Stoke on trent gig from a couple of nights before the new years eve 77 one used on the classic it's alive. Remixed by Ed Stasium and on first listen it's an absolute belter, captures the sound superbly.

patch1875
02-10-2020, 02:57 PM
Ramones, it's alive ii released as part of record store day, its a recording of Stoke on trent gig from a couple of nights before the new years eve 77 one used on the classic it's alive. Remixed by Ed Stasium and on first listen it's an absolute belter, captures the sound superbly.

Need to check that out I’ve got the original on vinyl think that was recorded at the Rainbow.

patch1875
02-10-2020, 03:19 PM

Need to check that out I’ve got the original on vinyl think that was recorded at the Rainbow.

02-10-2020, 04:02 PM
Never mind your albums, have a wee shot of Pedantic

https://youtu.be/XFwJVMWSES8

02-10-2020, 04:27 PM
Need to check that out I’ve got the original on vinyl think that was recorded at the Rainbow.I've got the original too, its pretty much the same set. Only one change but they've really captured it well.

02-10-2020, 05:08 PM
It took a few listens but I love the new Idles album. Not quite as strong as the last two but still a high energy smack in the face.

patch1875
06-10-2020, 06:01 PM
Public Enemy - What type Gonna Do When The Grid Goes Down.

06-10-2020, 11:48 PM

Yeah Sea Girls are a good band.

10-10-2020, 06:53 PM
Bought Andy Bell’s (Ride, Oasis) solo album. Some good songs and a decent enough album.

10-10-2020, 07:01 PM
Nicolas Bougaieffi from NIN album The Upward Spiral is a menacing brooding dirty banger of a long player

Loopz
11-10-2020, 11:51 AM
Nicolas Bougaieffi from NIN album The Upward Spiral is a menacing brooding dirty banger of a long player

Listened to, Thalassaophobia, Nexus and Flying High, really good stuff. Will look that out on vinyl, cheers.

27-10-2020, 05:05 PM
Bruce's latest, on first hearing, is his best for a long time.

So much emotion packed in to what was 4 days of "live" recording.

27-10-2020, 05:07 PM

So much emotion packed in to what was 4 days of "live" recording.

It's excellent, as you say, his best in ages.

27-10-2020, 05:35 PM

So much emotion packed in to what was 4 days of "live" recording.I heard them speaking about it on the radio. Springsteen turned up with demos he'd recorded when writing the songs, the guys listened to them and managed to record 3 tracks per day.

I think Springsteen's pretty good but I can take him or leave him, but the E Street Band are monsters - incredible musicians.

27-10-2020, 05:37 PM
I heard them speaking about it on the radio. Springsteen turned up with demos he'd recorded when writing the songs, the guys listened to them and managed to record 3 tracks per day.

The E Street Band are monsters - incredible musicians.

I watched one of the videos. What struck me was that they all sat around, taking notes with pen and paper. None of that iPad ****. :greengrin

28-10-2020, 07:21 AM

I watched one of the videos. What struck me was that they all sat around, taking notes with pen and paper. None of that iPad ****. :greengrin

So much for the "E" in "E Street". :greengrin

wallpaperman
31-10-2020, 08:01 AM
Not a new album by about 39 years, but a lovely new 3cd re-release for The Scars one and only album ‘Author! Author!’ with tons of extra tracks, demos, some rough live recordings. It was released yesterday.

Really good effort from Cherry Red Records, mine arrived yesterday and Tim Burgess held one of his listening parties for the album last night which was great fun with narration on the tracks from (mostly) Paul and John from the band.

31-10-2020, 08:42 AM
Not a new album by about 39 years, but a lovely new 3cd re-release for The Scars one and only album ‘Author! Author!’ with tons of extra tracks, demos, some rough live recordings. It was released yesterday.

Really good effort from Cherry Red Records, mine arrived yesterday and Tim Burgess held one of his listening parties for the album last night which was great fun with narration on the tracks from (mostly) Paul and John from the band.

Good stuff, I knew Paul and John from school but I never had the heart to tell them that I wasn't really into their music! Still got the single of Adult/ery though.

wallpaperman
31-10-2020, 09:02 AM
Good stuff, I knew Paul and John from school but I never had the heart to tell them that I wasn't really into their music! Still got the single of Adult/ery though.

Oh nice one, they’re from the Currie area I think, so guess you are too!

If it’s not your style of music, then it’s not, but I think the album has really stood the test of time well and sounds good even today.

And ‘All About You’ was the catchy melodic top ten hit that never was. Check out the great video of YouTube, some great scenes, including the old Waverley Station with the big red plastic seats which I remember well.

31-10-2020, 11:32 AM
Oh nice one, they’re from the Currie area I think, so guess you are too!

If it’s not your style of music, then it’s not, but I think the album has really stood the test of time well and sounds good even today.

And ‘All About You’ was the catchy melodic top ten hit that never was. Check out the great video of YouTube, some great scenes, including the old Waverley Station with the big red plastic seats which I remember well.

Cheers, I'll need to check it out. Aye they're were in the years below me at Currie High School. I always remember them hanging out in The Other Record Shop on a Saturday, good times!

31-10-2020, 12:00 PM
Cheers, I'll need to check it out. Aye they're were in the years below me at Currie High School. I always remember them hanging out in The Other Record Shop on a Saturday, good times!

When it was at St Mary's Street?

31-10-2020, 12:06 PM

Back in the day me & my trendy pal played that album loads whilst reading the latest issue of The Face in the metropolis of fashion that was Galashiels
Cherry Red is a great reissue label. How is the extra material?

31-10-2020, 12:16 PM
When it was at St Mary's Street?

Aye :aok:

02-11-2020, 08:24 AM
New Laura Veirs album My Echo sounding good. Better than The Lookout which was a bit disappointing.