Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    My go to is Bat Out Of Hell
    Went to a Wedding once where the Bride and Groom sang Paradise by the dashboard light 😳

Was quite good actually

Different

Testimonial Due Booked4Being-Ugly's Avatar

Talking

Talking about getting dragged up on stage - my mate went to one of those Sealife parks in Florida with his then girlfriend. He got singled out from the crowd and was asked to sit in a seat next to the pool, and open his arms and legs. He said the next thing he knew a dolphin jumped on top of him and started to ‘buck’ him for 15 secs to the thrill of the cheering, laughing crowd (I couldnae get the ****ing thing aff me”!). It’s all the more funnier when my mate is quiet and reserved.

Day 3, and still no word on Dom Joly.

Come on, Billy, let us know ffs.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Ive never sung a karaoke song in my puff, I bet Im in the minority on here 😄
    I used to sing in a band many moons ago, I still play guitar and sing but not that often now, do lots of of gigs and present an indie/rock internet radio show 3 Tuesdays of the month.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    I used to sing in a band many moons ago, I still play guitar and sing but not that often now, do lots of of gigs and present an indie/rock internet radio show 3 Tuesdays of the month.
    I play guitar and sing in my own company, I just dont have the balls to do it in front of folk though.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I play guitar and sing in my own company, I just dont have the balls to do it in front of folk though.
    That's okay. If you did you'd have to secure them...

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Day 3, and still no word on Dom Joly.

Come on, Billy, let us know ffs.
    Didn’t see or hear hide nor hair of Dom Joly again unfortunately

The mystery deepens

Getting ill after the flight home.

2 out of the last 3 journeys I've taken have ended up with me full of some lurgy or other.

Last time it completely floored me and it took 3 weeks for me to fully recover.

Bloody planes.

Feeling refreshed revitalised and suntanned on the flight home ready to go again then a hungover party animal sits beside you full with the cold from hell spreading her germs and tissues everywhere 😳

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post

2 out of the last 3 journeys I've taken have ended up with me full of some lurgy or other.

Bloody planes.
    With me it's normally the other way round, I'll arrive at my holiday location then get flattened by some plague.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post

Bloody planes.
    I used to get this all the time, something to do with the recirculated air and everyone's natural defences down after they've (mostly?) battered their body with alcohol for a week or two.
    I now do a nasal salt rinse before and after the flight, clears the cavities and encourages the sinuses to flush out any germs. You can also get a nasal spray product (first defence?) that does a similar thing.
    So far (10+ years) I've been ok after travelling and I hope it continues as I'm flying back from Corfu tomorrow!

Even after a relaxing holiday the need to have another holiday to recover from the one you just had

Folk outside restaurants shoving menus in your face or jumping in front of you trying to lure you in. I never go all inclusive, like to eat out a decent restaurant every night and don’t need to be attracted into one by some pest!

Timeshare *****, not the ones trying to do their jobs although they are probably in the minority. Its the ***** who constantly pester you despite telling them multiple times to **** off !!

Many years back in Las Americas (my first and last time there) this wee prick from Rotherham constantly followed us down the street to a restaurant, we were with family and my Daughters prob 7 and 10.

The prick then followed us into the restaurant and sat down beside my eldest Daughter, the head of steam started to build up and he crossed the line when he put his arm around my Daughter.

I went into rage and pure protection mode and flew across the table and put him flat onto his arse before dragging him out onto the street with the **** whimpering like a jessie. I can normally bat those things off with humour but he absolutely chose the wrong time, place and person that day.

And no I didnt buy a ****ing timeshare 😡

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Similar to the restaurant hawkers and timeshare people, I hate the folk that come round the pool trying to sell you a professional photo package or a spa treatment. They generally don’t take the first “no thanks” and pester you.

The All Inclusive in Turkey that we were at last year made you go to the spa reception desk to get/change your pool towel. This basically so they could pester you to book a spa treatment every day. They would be quite aggressive when you said you didn’t want it.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Folk outside restaurants shoving menus in your face or jumping in front of you trying to lure you in. I never go all inclusive, like to eat out a decent restaurant every night and don’t need to be attracted into one by some pest!
    It's possible to go all inclusive and still eat at a decent restaurant every night. I've stayed in a load of all-inclusives and the restaurants they have is one of the first things I look into. The number of, and the quality of menu.

The a la carte restaurants are usually top notch but you have got to be quick

Going on a cruise does ma nut in as they are usually all booked as well as some shows long before the ship departs

That is all us pensioners have to do is sit and study everything 😀

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    One thing to make sure in advance is that the restaurants are definitely open when you are there. We got caught out last year as it was meant to have 4 al a carte restaurants but one was closed during our stay. No biggie but could be an issue.

I also don’t mind eating somewhere outside the hotel once or twice either, just for a change of scenery.

Quote Originally Posted by overdrive View Post
    One thing to make sure in advance is that the restaurants are definitely open when you are there. We got caught out last year as it was meant to have 4 al a carte restaurants but one was closed during our stay. No biggie but could be an issue.

I also don’t mind eating somewhere outside the hotel once or twice either, just for a change of scenery.
    Aye we go all inclusive now because of the kids but always pick somewhere with at least a couple of a la carte options and a snack bar or BBQ type thing for another lunch option as well. Generally we end up in the buffet restaurant more often than not because your guaranteed some form of beige the kids will definitely eat but at a decent all inclusive the options are usually pretty varied and plentiful. This year I think we have 2 buffet options, a Chinese, A tapas bar, a pizzeria and a burger bar. That should keep everyone happy.

Even then we always end up going out too. I can't really lie in the sun because I had melanoma so I always go for a 'walk' mid morning which inevitably ends in a beer in a local bar because it has shade and you can't be too careful as I tell my wife. I'll repeat the process in the afternoon sometimes as well, usually taking one of the bairns with me for a game of pool, go karts etc. It's nice to have a change of scenery but I could probably satisfy myself staying in the hotel as well if all the options are open.

Another one from me is people being needlessly picky about hotels.

I totally get it with a summer holiday because you are likely to be spending a lot of time there and using all the facilities but we are trying to plan a city break at the moment with another 2 couples and one person is being so nippy about the hotel. Why does it matter? How long do you actually spend in a hotel when you are away for 2 days in say Rome or Paris? I'm up and out by 9am, 10 latest and not back in until 12-15 hours later. I'm in the 'if it's clean and central/near a transport link to get me to the centre then I'm happy' camp. I'd be happy to spend the rest of my days in a Premier Inn or Travelodge when doing such trips for all the time I spend there.

My work is usually pretty basic with accommodation when travelling but last year I was at an event and was put up in a 5 star job in Dublin. My overriding thought, and remember I wasn't paying, was 'what a waste of money'. I was in the room awake for all of 3 hours over 2 days. Never used any of the leisure facilities and had one drink in the bar. Does anyone go to Dublin to use a hotel pool, drink in a hotel bar all night and eat in a hotel restaurant? Seems a bit of a wasted opportunity to me but each to their own.

Another one from me is people being needlessly picky about hotels.

I totally get it with a summer holiday because you are likely to be spending a lot of time there and using all the facilities but we are trying to plan a city break at the moment with another 2 couples and one person is being so nippy about the hotel. Why does it matter? How long do you actually spend in a hotel when you are away for 2 days in say Rome or Paris? I'm up and out by 9am, 10 latest and not back in until 12-15 hours later. I'm in the 'if it's clean and central/near a transport link to get me to the centre then I'm happy' camp. I'd be happy to spend the rest of my days in a Premier Inn or Travelodge when doing such trips for all the time I spend there.

My work is usually pretty basic with accommodation when travelling but last year I was at an event and was put up in a 5 star job in Dublin. My overriding thought, and remember I wasn't paying, was 'what a waste of money'. I was in the room awake for all of 3 hours over 2 days. Never used any of the leisure facilities and had one drink in the bar. Does anyone go to Dublin to use a hotel pool, drink in a hotel bar all night and eat in a hotel restaurant? Seems a bit of a wasted opportunity to me but each to their own.
    Agree.

I love a nice hotel for a summer holiday, but I couldn’t care less for a city break. As long as it’s clean and close to the centre or at least fairly accessible by public transport to the centre then that’s absolutely fine.

Only thing I would say is that I went to London the other month but had the dog with me. Had to stay in a 5* hotel as it’s only really 5* that allow dogs. Virgin hotel in Shoreditch is really reasonable and despite what I’ve just said, it was quite nice to have a nice hotel

Yeah I get that and I wasn’t running down all inclusive customers, it’s just not my thing I like to venture out to decent restaurants.

Likewise.

I’ve done all inclusive twice. Once the food was utterly horrendous and the other time the food was half decent but I still wanted to get out and about every night so never made nearly enough use of it.

I really enjoy trying out various cafes and restaurants when I'm on holiday, quite often a distance from the accomodation.

For me it's part of the experience

Catching COVID on the plane on the way home

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty

I do too, and I'll always get out and about, but for folk who like their food, there are plenty all-inclusives out there with really good restaurants. You'll pay more to go to those hotels, but that's why the food is better!

I stayed at a place in Antigua (Hammock Cove it was called), the food there was up there with the best restaurants I've eaten at, the wine was great too.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Catching COVID on the plane on the way home

So I'm not the only one....

Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    So I'm not the only one....
    Yip Mrs BH

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    People on holiday.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    People on holiday.
    I've been known to comment that public transport is great if it wasn't for other passengers. 🤭