Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Holiday pet peeves

HOLIDAY PET PEEVES

On holiday just now in Majorca and the Mrs thinks I am turning into Victor Meldrew and that I am going to explode any minute and start WW3 over a triviality

Anyway the €46 per couple Tourist Tax I can understand as there does seem to be a lot of building work going on to improve their roads and infrastructure on the Island but my first pet peeve is fellow holiday makers ( usually German ) who commandere two sunbeds and two sumbrellas per couple when there is an obvious shortage of umbrellas in the Hotel 🤬

Any more ?
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 19-06-2025 at 05:44 PM.

Rangers and Celtic fans completely decked out in club wear and/or related brands when you’re in the airport or on the plane

The fact you can never seem to go anywhere without some rangers/Celtic jersey appearing in a crowd

Folk clapping when the plane lands

Rude holidaymakers (British or otherwise)

People who can’t get from Scotland to their destination without getting hammered and spoiling the journey for everyone else

Airport buses mostly abroad that take you from the terminal to the plane, cramming you into the bus like ****ing sardines 🤬

Folk who rush to the front at the departure gate without waiting to be called ( we all have allocated seats )

Folk from the back who rush to the front when the seat belt release pings when the plane lands blocking the passageway for an orderly disembark ( the back door opens as well )

Folk who take their suitcase onboard ��
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 20-06-2025 at 06:19 AM.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Early flights. Used to love them and the 5am couple of pints. Now I'm shambling about the airport with my system being totally unable to cope with beer or more than 1 coffee to wake me up.

Having to come home when the holiday's finished.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Early flights. Used to love them and the 5am couple of pints. Now I'm shambling about the airport with my system being totally unable to cope with beer or more than 1 coffee to wake me up.
    I love the early flights, Im a morning person, my Wife hates them though.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    People that go on holiday with the mindset "I'm gonna have a ball and **** anyone else".

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    HOLIDAY PET PEEVES

On holiday just now in Majorca and the Mrs thinks I am turning into Victor Meldrew and that I am going to explode any minute and start WW3 over a triviality

Anyway the €46 per couple Tourist Tax I can understand as there does seem to be a lot of building work going on to improve their roads and infrastructure on the Island but my first pet peeve is fellow holiday makers ( usually German ) who commandere two sunbeds and two sumbrellas per couple when there is an obvious shortage of umbrellas in the Hotel 🤬

Any more ?
    I’m going to Majorca next week, been weather watching looks like you have had the weather….scorchio

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    People that go on holiday with the mindset "I'm gonna have a ball and **** anyone else".
    Im going to Berlin again in December and Im gonna have a ball so **** everyone else 🤭

The early morning sunbed wars.Ridiculous behaviour. Who can be arsed getting that stressed at 7.30am on holiday? Never done it, never not got a sunbed when getting down at 11am after breakfast and a morning stroll.

Quote Originally Posted by Dmas View Post
    I’m going to Majorca next week, been weather watching looks like you have had the weather….scorchio
    Been superb beautiful island all the more need to seek protection from the sun and avoid getting burnt

Just about to put my Hibs strip on and go for a walk into the weekly market and see if I can pick up a bargain

One hour ahead over here

People bringing their kids up to the adult only rooftop plunge pools and bar. **** off back to the family pool and area downstairs you erses. They don’t get to stay long as it’s well policed but there is signs everywhere so just ****** read them and leave us in peace! 😡

People who want to be my friend, **** off and leave me in peace, thats why I go on holiday 😡

Oh and folk on the adult only very peaceful rooftop pool who decide to phone their relatives back home and every **** can hear your conversation as you are so ****ing loud you probably didnt need to use your phone because you were so ****ing loud they could hear you from Manchester 😡

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    People who want to be my friend, **** off and leave me in peace, thats why I go on holiday 😡

Oh and folk on the adult only very peaceful rooftop pool who decide to phone their relatives back home and every **** can hear your conversation as you are so ****ing loud you probably didnt need to use your phone because you were so ****ing loud they could hear you from Manchester 😡
    I get this all the time, my mrs is very…sociable let’s say and gets friendly with other maws everywhere we go, last time we where all away she got friendly with a couple and they where nice enough like but the boy kept telling me about keeping fish all day long, sitting by the pool fish, sitting having a drink at night fish jesus! Did learn a lot, still no got any fish though

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    People who position themselves blocking others from being able to get to the luggage carousel at the airport. A special type of ****.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    People who position themselves blocking others from being able to get to the luggage carousel at the airport. A special type of ****.
    I didn't think I was going to contribute to this, but you've just triggered me from last year.

Standing at the carousel, an appropriate distance back like a sane person, only for someone to come along and plonk themselves right in front of me... I wasn't just Standing on my phone or looking like I was lost, I was just stood rigidly staring at the carousel awaiting my baggage - that couldn't have been any clearer.
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    People bringing their kids up to the adult only rooftop plunge pools and bar. **** off back to the family pool and area downstairs you erses. They don’t get to stay long as it’s well policed but there is signs everywhere so just ****** read them and leave us in peace! 😡

We are at the family holiday stage of life just now so it's water parks, all inclusive meals and kids clubs. I love seeing the kids have a good time, I'm enthusiastic and present and enjoy it but I realise it's not for everyone and some people haven't reached that stage yet, don't want to ever be in it or have gone beyond it. It's just common courtesy to respect other peoples holiday. Don't let your kids wander into areas not for them, ask them to be respectful of other peoples space and buy them a set of ****ing earphones for when they are using tablets.

This is maybe one for the wider pet peeves thread but I just can't abide people who disregard rules they don't feel need to apply to them. 'Oh it's just one kid what's the problem?' Well if everyone with one kid thought that then it wouldn't be kid free anymore would it?

Quote Originally Posted by Dmas View Post
    I get this all the time, my mrs is very…sociable let’s say and gets friendly with other maws everywhere we go, last time we where all away she got friendly with a couple and they where nice enough like but the boy kept telling me about keeping fish all day long, sitting by the pool fish, sitting having a drink at night fish jesus! Did learn a lot, still no got any fish though
    My wife is the same.

Every year we seem to end up in a friendship with some other couple or family. Sitting next to them by the pool, getting invited to go with them for dinner, sitting with them for drinks.......

I'll be polite but I don't want to become best buddies with people I meet on holiday. There was one couple we even had to go and meet when we got back here and after about half an hour of holiday reminiscing it clicked with her that the only thing we had in common was that we had went on holiday to the same hotel. I could have saved her the bother and told her that about 60 seconds after we first met them on the holiday.

The worst was last year when the bairn introduced me to her new pal and the dad sloped over in an orange Rangers away tap and matching shorts. I practically punched the air when he said it was 'a shame' they were flying home the next day. Aye not for me mate.

The getting wrecked at the airport and on the plane before going anywhere gets me baffled, especially when they have kids in tow, 2 years ago we went to Turkey and the couple of geordies who had a baby and a kid around 10ish with them were paralytic on the plane, just being loud and obnoxious, remember the dad holding the baby and when he stood up he banged the baby's head on the over head locker when departing, the mum, and kids are on the bus ready to go the resort and dad is nowhere to be seen, turns up just as the bus is about to pull off with a bag of booze, the young 10 year old girl was telling her parents to behave and calm down all whilst looking after the wee one and was getting upset, felt so sorry for her and I think the ones that were still on the bus felt relieved that they were not going to our resort as they looked a nightmare.

There’s a few airlines moving from Glasgow to Edinburgh, which is a much easier journey/drop off, but I always have loved the middle of the night drive through to Glasgow airport. Pitch black roads, quiet, the start of the holiday. Always gives me a buzz

Quote Originally Posted by Jakhog1 View Post
    The getting wrecked at the airport and on the plane before going anywhere gets me baffled, especially when they have kids in tow, 2 years ago we went to Turkey and the couple of geordies who had a baby and a kid around 10ish with them were paralytic on the plane, just being loud and obnoxious, remember the dad holding the baby and when he stood up he banged the baby's head on the over head locker when departing, the mum, and kids are on the bus ready to go the resort and dad is nowhere to be seen, turns up just as the bus is about to pull off with a bag of booze, the young 10 year old girl was telling her parents to behave and calm down all whilst looking after the wee one and was getting upset, felt so sorry for her and I think the ones that were still on the bus felt relieved that they were not going to our resort as they looked a nightmare.

Last time I had a 2 flight each way journey, the second flight was around 2 hours after the first landed, and there was an issue with immigration systems so everyone was held up with that. Despite the short time, as the second flight was boarded and waiting for the go ahead to push off and get going, a Glaswegian family sat a couple of rows behind us were being obnoxious. Pushing the call button, the mother shrieking down the plane that ‘mah wean needs a pish, he needs to get tae the toilet!’. This was a family with a teenage boy about 15, an 8ish year old girl, and a maybe 3 year old boy. I assumed she meant the youngest. The staff approached her to say that everyone needed to remain seated as we were imminently about to start moving, and the mother is going ape****. It’s clear she and her husband are well oiled, and she lets slip that it’s not the young one, it’s the oldest, who has been in the bar drinking with both his parents between flights! As the staff start to walk away, she shouts to the lad that he should ‘just piss the seat son, that’ll teach them!’.

As soon as we were able to take off seatbelts, a whole family sitting across from them spoke to the staff and got moved to another part of the plane.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    There’s a few airlines moving from Glasgow to Edinburgh, which is a much easier journey/drop off, but I always have loved the middle of the night drive through to Glasgow airport. Pitch black roads, quiet, the start of the holiday. Always gives me a buzz
    I should of course add that my peeve could be shortened to "old age"

I feel your pain on that one 😂

People that build a tent beside your sunbed

WTF !

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post

Your first one is brilliant

WTF !

I hope you tore it down.

WTF !

Perfectly situated for a bit of B7 graffiti 😆

Quote Originally Posted by Wilson View Post
    I hope you tore it down.
    I was away for a beer the German Wifie asked my wife if it was ok ?

She doesn’t do confrontation

We moved

https://youtu.be/XHWIEqOiTw8?feature=shared

Everything Jeremy Clarkson says in this clip. I agree with.