Went to the game today with a friend from France, who used to work at the Institute on George IV Bridge. He was keen to pop in to see a couple of his old colleagues so we had a wee stroll across the Meadows, stopping in for a pint at Doctor's on Forrest Road. He said to me the city seemed very dirty compared to when he lived here a decade or so ago and as someone who rarely visits the city centre I had to agree about that area in particular. Extreme amounts of graffiti covering numerous doorways and disused shop units, overflowing bins and just a general grime about the place. The Greyfriars Bobby statue is a tourist magnet yet again there's a graffiti-riddled, boarded-up unit right next to it along with a lampost covered in peeling stickers. The whole bridge is one big set of roadworks and that former Missoni hotel just seems to be permanently encased in cladding/scaffolding. Take a right at the High Street (where those ugly counter-terrorism bollards are also covered in graffiti, stickers and general dirt) and head down North Bridge and it's more of the same. As for Princes Street, it's not just the dirtiness but the crapiness of the shops and drabness of what was once a real showpiece street.
I'm probably just sounding like a moaning old bugger, but I'd go so far as to say the city centre is bit of a dump these days. What's the reason for this? Scottish government freezing the council tax for too many years but subsequently slashing council budgets? Less regular cleaning services? Lack of policing around vandalism etc? Or just a loss of pride in our city? I found it all a bit depressing.
Thread: Why is Edinburgh so filthy?
-
03-05-2025 07:54 PM #1
Why is Edinburgh so filthy?
Last edited by Hibspur; 03-05-2025 at 07:57 PM.
-
-
-
03-05-2025 08:12 PM #4This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
-
03-05-2025 08:16 PM #5This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
When the weather gets nice I like to walk to and from work. When I walked home the other night I lost count of the number of times I wondered “where’s that rank smell coming from”. Most often it was from filthy, overflowing bins. My walk home is one of the most beautiful commutes you could ever hope to have so it was really dispiriting. Looks like it will be the tram more often than not from now on.
There’s the faeces of any number of animals everywhere and most places are just neglected looking.
The decline is really quite depressing.
I’m bringing my kids up to get tf out of Scotland and never look back because when you take the property prices etc into consideration there’s just a feel of hopelessness and terminal decline everywhere you go.Last edited by Smartie; 03-05-2025 at 08:20 PM.
-
03-05-2025 08:24 PM #6
-
03-05-2025 11:08 PM #7
It's a mess. No question. On a par with Glasgow for grubbiness. Princes Street's been a sorry state for years mind you. The Johnnie Walker thing is fine and the new Jenners development sounds promising but they should make most of the rest of it residential. The castle view would be spectacular (unlike the one from Tynecastle).
-
04-05-2025 02:18 AM #8
Has Edinburgh and Leith for that matter ever been anything above “hovel” level ? Granted the odd area gets a spruce up now and again but largely for as long as I can remember its been ****ing minging. We have crumbling pre victorian properties that are buttressed up for many years because of constant maintenance requirements, or replaced by ****ing pre fabricated efforts with life spans of 25 years, then raised to the ground and rebuilt, rinse and repeat.
Then theres the roads..
-
04-05-2025 07:00 AM #9
I was up in Shetland this last week and found it so refreshing.
No potholes. No litter. No dog ****. Clean, neat and tidy.
I know Shetland, and I know it’s ****ing grim in the winter and often not much better in the summer bar the longer days. Luckily enough I had some beautiful weather and swam in the sea twice and went for a couple of runs."...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
04-05-2025 07:03 AM #10This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-05-2025 07:19 AM #11
I have a friend who lives on Forrest Road. He and his neighbours could paint their stair door every week and it would be covered in graffiti the next. It's a good blue touch paper event for winding him up!
The state the roads are in is a disgrace and worse than most 3rd world countries I've been in.
The council need a good shake.Space to let
-
04-05-2025 07:20 AM #12
Whe did we stop clearing out the drains in the street? (Or they have certainly stopped clearing them in the schemie areas anyway). There is regular flash flooding near us now because the drains are absolutely clogged full of debris. I'm no climate change denier but this is definitely just because the water has absolutely nowhere to go rather than anything deeper.
Parks near us are rank as well. They cut the grass on the sports pitches but beyond that everything is overgrown, the paths are unmaintained, graffiti all over the changing rooms, litter bins are all damaged so unusable etc etc.
There is definitely an air of neglect about the place. Like the poster above I often walk or cycle to work and the bins en route are regularly overflowing and stinking. The roads are fundamentally unsafe to cycle on as well with the potholes and cracks.
When I was a bairn Edinburgh always felt a total *****hole to me. The areas I mostly encountered were all full of shabby rundown housing, minging bins, broken glass, dug *****, discarded needles, rusting playparks. Even the centre felt neglected and crap. Then there was a real period were it felt different. The high rises and crap housing in loads of places came down and were replaced by vastly improved stock. Community centres got tarted up, leisure facilities were improved, parks suddenly became clean with new play areas, trees, wildflower areas, whole blocks of flats and shops and so on got cleaned up and repainted. Now it feels like we are rewinding 30 years. The new houses have been allowed to decay to the same level as the ones they replaced. I'm looking out my back window now and there is a path with a rusting fence with 2 broken bins hanging off it, a 3rd bin on the path that is overflowing because it is the only one usable and a load of trees (that are the council's responsibility because we have checked) that are overgrown and block about 70% of the path. Best city in the world my erse.Last edited by Pretty Boy; 04-05-2025 at 07:57 AM.
-
04-05-2025 07:31 AM #13This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote"...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
04-05-2025 07:55 AM #14This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Its a political discussion for me, and i don’t frequent the Holy Ground anymore so it may have been discussed before, but from my political standpoint if you cut funding to local authorities year after year for decades, the agencies who look after the public space, there is only going to be one outcome. Degrading the public space is a political choice.
-
04-05-2025 08:14 AM #15This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-05-2025 08:23 AM #16
I think the answer is mostly in the Glasgow slogan, "People make Glasgow!".
You could apply that to Edinburgh and a number of other places, e.g. "people make Edinburgh (a total *****hole)"
-
04-05-2025 09:32 AM #17
Paris, Barcelona, New York. Not just a Scottish issue. Although if you think Edinburgh is bad, Glasgow city centre is a total hole these days.
-
04-05-2025 09:33 AM #18This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
As you say, for an area which you'd imagine gets 'cleaned' more than most it's depressing to see how unsightly it's become, especially with swathes of tourists in the city centre all year round these days.
-
04-05-2025 09:41 AM #19This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-05-2025 09:41 AM #20
The answer to your question is the people of Edinburgh are responsible for the mess. I don't and never have dropped litter in any city anywhere as I dispose of it properly.
It has always been like this - travellers from the 1600's complained of the effluence around the High Street in particular. Dr Johnson's journals in 1773 noted the foul air and dirt
and general detritus and so on and so on.
Throwing sewage waste out of one's window has generally stopped but the devil may care attitude persists !
-
04-05-2025 11:19 AM #21This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Last edited by He's here!; 04-05-2025 at 04:08 PM.
-
04-05-2025 05:10 PM #22
The difference between well looked after places and the grubbier ones is/was stark.
If some Councils can do it why can't others? I think there's more to it than Central Government funding.
If it's political then the cynic in me might think in Edinburgh it's a Labour council trying to embarrass a SNP Government on their own doorstep.Space to let
-
04-05-2025 05:38 PM #23This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Hopefully now that they finally reach Leith they'll prove to bring some sort of tangible benefit.
-
04-05-2025 06:39 PM #24This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
Out in the sticks (The Inch), there's dug **** all over the pavements, the same mutts and ignorant owners creating a depressing mess. Then there's the couldn't give a **** tramps, always determined to not care about throwing away their litter or tidying up after the bin lorries make a mess of the street.
The place is a ****hole, the council have no money for much other than Trams and it's not likely to change. As for council tax rises. No thanks, I pay enough on income tax and council tax as it is. Tourist tax would be a start.
-
04-05-2025 06:49 PM #25This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
And give it a few weeks and the airport road both ways will get all spruced up for the tourists coming out the airport, the Gyle roundabout will get a makeover and any graffiti will be cleaned off all the way through to the city centre, but Pilton Niddrie and other poor areas will be left to be a dump.
Moan over.
-
04-05-2025 06:56 PM #26This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-05-2025 07:44 PM #27This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-05-2025 07:57 PM #28This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
It’s something in the mindsets of the people that do."...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”
Sir Alex Ferguson
-
04-05-2025 08:11 PM #29This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
-
04-05-2025 08:23 PM #30This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
In terms of the council pressure, ill give you an example. Last week when we got unbroken sunshine and 20 degrees for a couple of days, i cycled theough the meadows in the evening and back to work again at 7 the next morning. There were many hundreds of people out after 8pm drinking barbecueing, mucking about and a lot of toffs and students and all sorts. There must have been many thousands there through the afternoon all told. By the next morning it was fairly bad with bins overflowing, litter piled on top of already filled bins, and probably an epic amount of work for the council teams. But it was already looking decent by the evening commute. I also doubt whether littering is that much worse now than it was back in the day. I remember’litterbug’ campaigns back when i was at school. Theres just more of us living cheek by jowl now, certainly more of us eating and drinking out of the home environment as well.Last edited by hibsbollah; 04-05-2025 at 08:26 PM.