Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Used to go there for our summer holidays
    every year to the same b&b
    As a daft kid it seemed so far away
    Same ( Burntisland) Rothesay and Butlins tae

Can still mind the gong for breakfast real orange juice toast and marmalade

Happy days
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 11-04-2025 at 02:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Same ( Burntisland) Rothesay and Butlins tae

Can still mind the gong for breakfast real orange juice toast and marmalade

Happy days
    Aye the land lady gave me and my brother shots each at ringing the gong
    And she left us a bar six chocolate biscuit for our supper
    Indeed happy days

Quote Originally Posted by WoreTheGreen View Post
    Aye the land lady gave me and my brother shots each at ringing the gong
    And she left us a bar six chocolate biscuit for our supper
    Indeed happy days
    A bar six ?

Heaven

Bar seven better
    Last edited by BILLYHIBS; 11-04-2025 at 06:22 PM.

The number of people that park in the parent and child bays at shops with no sign of kids or pregnancy

Mostly laziness and wanting wider parking space, imo

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenNWhiteArmy View Post
    The number of people that park in the parent and child bays at shops with no sign of kids or pregnancy

As a new Dad (30 odd years back) I once had a go at a couple who had parked in the P/C space because they had two boys in the car (aged about 8 & 10). "We've got children" - "yes but I've got an infant, buggy and your children can walk. I need the space to bring a F***** buggy in." I hope they learned the lesson.... I've calmed down a bit since.

I genuinely hate those people. When I don't have my kids I wouldn't even dream of doing it. Even when I have my daughter with me, who is 7, I don't bother if spaces are few because it's of far more use to someone with a toddler or baby and I'd rather leave a space free if it's down to the last couple.

I always thought it was one of those things people did that they were a bit ashamed about and they would try to be furtive but they are so brazen. They just don't care. It's a huge range of demographics I have seen doing it as well so it's not just a case of 'young folk' or 'middle aged men' or whatever.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 15-04-2025 at 04:55 PM.

I'm one of those people who have parked in those spaces, but only because all the blue badge spaces are full of cars without badges and I need to be able to open my door wide.

I genuinely hate those people. When I don't have my kids I wouldn't even dream of doing it. Even when I have my daughter with me, who is 7, I don't bother if spaces are few because it's of far more use to someone with a toddler or baby and I'd rather leave a space free if it's down to the last couple.

I always thought it was one of those things people did that they were a bit ashamed about and they would try to be furtive but they are so brazen. They just don't care. It's a huge range of demographics I have seen doing it as well so it's not just a case of 'young folk' or 'middle aged men' or whatever.

It’s just selfishness and laziness from the vast majority. Like you I never even consider those spaces when I don’t have my daughter with me, it’s infuriating when you see lazy pricks using them

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    As a new Dad (30 odd years back) I once had a go at a couple who had parked in the P/C space because they had two boys in the car (aged about 8 & 10). "We've got children" - "yes but I've got an infant, buggy and your children can walk. I need the space to bring a F***** buggy in." I hope they learned the lesson.... I've calmed down a bit since.
    As soon as the kids can get in and out without much more than opening the door, it should be stopped.

Its so infuriating with a baby.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar

My opinion of one particular Hibs cup winning legend dropped after seeing him do this more than once in the Tesco car park. Not the sort you'd expect it of either.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

Mainly Audi and bmw drivers

Will also add work vans and camper vans as they fit into the bigger spaces

Likewise here, parents going in to lidl. Dad stays in the car, engine running, vaping, while mum goes in and 13 year old daughter sits in the back.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Mainly Audi and bmw drivers
    This is defo a pet peeve of mine…somehow defining a ‘type’ of driver because of the brand of car they drove!

And when doing so use brands that are in the top 5 of the most sold brand of car in the U.K. and thus somehow categorising millions of people as likely to do the same thing even when the only thing that connects them is the brand of car. Weird.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    This is defo a pet peeve of mine…somehow defining a ‘type’ of driver because of the brand of car they drove!

And when doing so use brands that are in the top 5 of the most sold brand of car in the U.K. and thus somehow categorising millions of people as likely to do the same thing even when the only thing that connects them is the brand of car. Weird.
    There will be more that connects them. Their choice of car and that persistent cramp in their wrists for one.

I would argue that while it is obviously ridiculous to say all Audi/BMW etc. drivers are a certain type, it is fair to say that within those who choose such cars there is definitely a type who are attracted to the brands.

A bit like not everyone who owns a Staffie (great wee dogs btw) is a total bonehead but a certain type is more inclined to make them their breed of choice.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 17-04-2025 at 08:16 AM.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar

Can you do a quick list of UK brand sales among 'German' makes? I would like to know if it's statistically normal for the sorts of abuse described here to so frequently involve (in my perception) BMW and Audi cars, and to so infrequently involve (in my perception) VW cars.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Can you do a quick list of UK brand sales among 'German' makes? I would like to know if it's statistically normal for the sorts of abuse described here to so frequently involve (in my perception) BMW and Audi cars, and to so infrequently involve (in my perception) VW cars.
    Hee hee it’s a pet peeve…not sure it requires my excellent, but costly, analysis skills to be deployed at your behest

Drivers who think flicking an indicator on as the firm the wheel to change lanes gives them right of way to the drivers already in the other lane, especially those who then get pissy because you don’t brake hard to just let them into your lane.

And, drivers who insist on sitting in the outside lane going slower than the inside lane on a dual carriageway, and are apparently unaware of the many vehicles undertaking them, due to leaving several hundred yards of open space in front of them to the next car up the road.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Hee hee it’s a pet peeve…not sure it requires my excellent, but costly, analysis skills to be deployed at your behest
    Ok I've no analysis skills at all, never mind costly and excellent ones, but it seems on the internet that VW have sold more than Audi who've sold more than BMW in the last few years in the UK. In my perception that split is definitely not reflected in what you see going on in child spaces (etc). IF there are actually more VWs on the road than Audi or BMW then isn't it at least a bit likely that there's something going on with the drivers of the different brands with regard to rules of the road?

https://heycar.com/uk/news/car-sales-statistics

The idiots racing on St John’s Road the last couple of nights in there high performance cars, came back from airport about 12 last night and it was ridiculous, a bit cardboard over the speed camera, and the noise, deary me.