Page 274 of 318 FirstFirst ... 174224264272273274275276284 ... LastLast
Results 8,191 to 8,220 of 9525
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Vlad: "Hey Donny, remember that wee party we had in Moscow back in 2013"?

Donny: "Aye, that was some night ya bam lolz".

Vlad: "Ah've got some photies, think ah might dig them oot".

Donny: "Awe ffs naw, just naw, yeh dinnae want tae dae that".

Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?

That's not acceptable.

Whoever owns the showroom, and the people that work there, aren't complicit in Musk's stupidity.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    I’m hoping this develops into a game of chicken with Canada and Mexico because I think they are up for it. Crucially their populations are behind their leaders. Most Americans want Trump to fail.
    With a bit of luck Trump follows through and increases the tariffs again.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1LzhCLzfJFg

The Canadian vibe is definitely, 'Come ahead, then...'

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    That's not acceptable.

Whoever owns the showroom, and the people that work there, aren't complicit in Musk's stupidity.
    Will nobody think of the henchmen?

Today's front page of Canada's 'paper of record'.

https://bsky.app/profile/drbiblioman.../3ljncazwsj22l
    Attached Images Attached Images

@hibs.net private member Berwickhibby's Avatar

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Will nobody think of the henchmen?

Who all possibly became involved with Tesla long before Musk made sure we all know he's an arse?

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    The guy who set a mob loose on the Capitol resulting in the deaths of 5 police officers has now signed a presidential decree ordering the mandatory death sentence for killing a police officer.

Quote Originally Posted by Just Alf View Post
    Who all possibly became involved with Tesla long before Musk made sure we all know he's an arse?

Good time to be looking for other opportunities.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Good time to be looking for other opportunities.

What if you already own one of the cars?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    The guy who set a mob loose on the Capitol resulting in the deaths of 5 police officers has now signed a presidential decree ordering the mandatory death sentence for killing a police officer.
    I don’t agree with the death penalty whatsoever but I’ve no issue with the presidential order for the punishment being the most severe penalty possible.

The fact he pardoned those involved in riots killing 5 police officers a few weeks ago makes an utter mockery of it though. Kill a police officer for Trump and you’ll be fine. For any other reason, death.

"if you don't do as i say"

hurry the **** up and depart this earth Trump for the love of god

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    "if you don't do as i say"

hurry the **** up and depart this earth Trump for the love of god

It's not like Trump to support a regime hell bent on genocide.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    It's not like Trump to support a regime hell bent on genocide.
    And he met all the former hostages!? Where and when?
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Paulie Walnuts View Post
    Trump is insistent that Canada, Mexico and China are going to have to give America lots of money now that the tariffs are in place.

He genuinely doesn’t realise it’s the American consumer that will be paying the tariff, does he?
    The answer is really somewhere in the middle.

The actual payer of an import tariff is the importer.

In this case it’s likely to be the American based company that’s doing the importing. But not all importers will be American companies.

The consumer may end up covering that cost through higher end retail prices but that’s certainly not always the case.

There is plenty of evidence of tariffs being absorbed, at least by some degree, by margin contraction on the sending side as the foreign entity takes some of the hit to try and keep its products competitive. There is good evidence that is what happened the last time Trump applied tariffs last time around.

The importers can also absorb some of the cost in the same way.

So while it’s not wrong to say ‘the consumer pays’ it’s not an absolute truth either.

What is certainly true is that the Chinese or whoever will not be paying these tariffs directly to the US Treasury.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    The answer is really somewhere in the middle.

The actual payer of an import tariff is the importer.

In this case it’s likely to be the American based company that’s doing the importing. But not all importers will be American companies.

The consumer may end up covering that cost through higher end retail prices but that’s certainly not always the case.

There is plenty of evidence of tariffs being absorbed, at least by some degree, by margin contraction on the sending side as the foreign entity takes some of the hit to try and keep its products competitive. There is good evidence that is what happened the last time Trump applied tariffs last time around.

The importers can also absorb some of the cost in the same way.

So while it’s not wrong to say ‘the consumer pays’ it’s not an absolute truth either.

What is certainly true is that the Chinese or whoever will not be paying these tariffs directly to the US Treasury.
    Those effects are only temporary though. How often do businesses accept lower profits long term? Eventually the consumer pays.

https://www.politico.eu/article/dona...ro-poroshenko/

KYIV — Four senior members of Donald Trump’s entourage have held secret discussions with some of Kyiv’s top political opponents to Volodymyr Zelenskyy, just as Washington aligns with Moscow in seeking to lever the Ukrainian president out of his job.

i wonder if any of them are pro-putin

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    https://www.politico.eu/article/dona...ro-poroshenko/

KYIV — Four senior members of Donald Trump’s entourage have held secret discussions with some of Kyiv’s top political opponents to Volodymyr Zelenskyy, just as Washington aligns with Moscow in seeking to lever the Ukrainian president out of his job.

i wonder if any of them are pro-putin
    Oh good, USA now attempting to effectively force one of the best world leaders we've seen in 100 years out of office and leave his country and the rest of Europe open to further Russian aggression.

What the **** is going on?
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

@hibs.net private member Andy Bee's Avatar
    Tariffs are basically a tool for promoting homegrown products and disadvantaging importing products, Trump keeps trumpeting this line that they'll create $squillions for the US economy when that is not their function. This is going to see a rise in prices which'll lead to a rise in inflation and also lower confidence in the $, pretty dangerous really as the $ is seen as the worlds reserved currency. Hopefully the UK doesn't do its usual and mirror the US economy.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Bee View Post
    Tariffs are basically a tool for promoting homegrown products and disadvantaging importing products, Trump keeps trumpeting this line that they'll create $squillions for the US economy when that is not their function. This is going to see a rise in prices which'll lead to a rise in inflation and also lower confidence in the $, pretty dangerous really as the $ is seen as the worlds reserved currency. Hopefully the UK doesn't do its usual and mirror the US economy.
    I’ve already seen a daily substantial fall in my pension and Stocks & Shares ISA this week. I suspect due to market fear for this trade war. Thankfully I’m still 25 years from retirement

Quote Originally Posted by Lendo View Post
    I’ve already seen a daily substantial fall in my pension and Stocks & Shares ISA this week. I suspect due to market fear for this trade war. Thankfully I’m still 25 years from retirement
    Sorry to hear that Lendo, hopefully they'll recover quickly but it's a dip that wasn't needed. On the plus side, my dream boat has dropped over £50k due to the price of the $ the last 2 or 3 weeks, still a dream though.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy Bee View Post
    Sorry to hear that Lendo, hopefully they'll recover quickly but it's a dip that wasn't needed. On the plus side, my dream boat has dropped over £50k due to the price of the $ the last 2 or 3 weeks, still a dream though.
    To be fair, the US stock market is due a correction with or without Trump. There is a reason Buffet has been sellling and sitting on a mountain of cash.

I reckon you're right going by some of the valuations of some companies, TBF I just wasn't wanting to piss off Lendo even more.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    And he met all the former hostages!? Where and when?
    Inveterate liar.

European defence stocks would be a good investment. Rolls Royce has gone from about £1 to £8 in a few years. Defence spending is only going up.

Quote Originally Posted by jamie_1875 View Post
    European defence stocks would be a good investment. Rolls Royce has gone from about £1 to £8 in a few years. Defence spending is only going up.
    Yes, if I was into stocks that’s where I would be looking. Europe rearming will drive a huge amount of growth over next few years. I expect that a few countries like Poland and the Baltics will be looking to build a nuclear deterrent now as well.

Going to be a big recession.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Lendo View Post
    If markets hate anything it’s uncertainty.

And boy has Trump caused that.

Already US consumer comfort’s plummeting, seems business investment is going the same way.

His random approach is making it increasingly impossible for any corporation to make investment plans so they simply stop doing so.

The knock on effects for the US economy could be significant indeed with shock waves felt around the world.

We’ll see how long his popularity lasts when his actions drive down the S&P, drive up inflation and cause labour market chaos.

As the US has substantially more domestic stock market investors than almost any other country its domestic political fortunes are almost uniquely tied to it as a key metric of how the US population measures its wealth.

Trump might find that people turn on him way quicker than he thinks.

@hibs.net private member The Tubs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    If markets hate anything it’s uncertainty.

And boy has Trump caused that.

Already US consumer comfort’s plummeting, seems business investment is going the same way.

His random approach is making it increasingly impossible for any corporation to make investment plans so they simply stop doing so.

The knock on effects for the US economy could be significant indeed with shock waves felt around the world.

We’ll see how long his popularity lasts when his actions drive down the S&P, drive up inflation and cause labour market chaos.

As the US has substantially more domestic stock market investors than almost any other country its domestic political fortunes are almost uniquely tied to it as a key metric of how the US population measures its wealth.

Trump might find that people turn on him way quicker than he thinks.
    If you read about the deal for the Panama Canal terminals that BlackRock bought, you see the effects of crony capitalism Trump has introduced, resulting in very inefficient transactions. I think they paid more than the seller's entire market capitalisation.

Today's mayhem seems to include shutting down the Department of Education (as forewarned), and removing responsibility to the states. This is expected to harm special needs education, which is guaranteed by the DoE up until age 21.

And the Post Office leadership is to be removed, and the institution to be controlled by the Executive Office. No way this is going to affect postal voting. No siree

Edit: I'm off out for a long and brisk walk. Will be buying a bottle of Canadian whisky from our friendly local liquor store on the way back.
    Last edited by s.a.m; 06-03-2025 at 02:15 PM.