Page 271 of 318 FirstFirst ... 171221261269270271272273281 ... LastLast
Results 8,101 to 8,130 of 9525
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Mail on Sunday headline tomorrow - Now Stop State Visit for "Bully" Trump. And praises Starmer.

Meanwhile Sarah Smith, Kuenssberg and Mason keep the pile on going.

Strange things going on in media land.
    Chris Mason? How so?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Chris Mason? How so?
    Well not in regards to Trump but his constant anti-Starmer pro-Reform agenda is just pathetic and I'm no Starmer fan.

Something for any American Jews that support the Republicans to reflect on? Or indeed just decent human beings to think about.

In June of 1941, Hitler's Army began a rampage through Ukraine, razing towns, unleashing death squads, and massacring Jews by the hundreds of thousands. In one village, four Jewish brothers enlisted in the military, said goodbye to their parents, and walked off to fight the Nazis.

By the war's end in 1945, only one of the brothers, named Semyon, was still alive. He returned to find that the Nazis had torched his entire village, burning his parents to death. Semyon's family was dead, and his beloved Ukraine was in ruins. The Nazis had murdered between 1.2 and 1.6 million Ukrainian Jews.

Semyon married a fellow Ukrainian Jew who had survived the war by fleeing her city, in which the Nazis had killed 5,000 Jews. Two years later, in that same city, they had a son, Oleksandr, keeping alive the family line that the Nazis had brought a razor's width from extinction. Thirty-one years after that, Oleksandr had his own little boy.

That boy was Volodymyr Zelensky, who grew up to become the President of independent, democratic Ukraine. Today, he leads his outmanned, outgunned, ferociously defiant nation against the onslaught of Russia. As Russia dashes itself against the will of his people, Zelensky, the survivor of survivors, summons the resilience of his ancestors. He does not bend.

Copied from Laura Hillenbrand

Last edited by Bostonhibby; 02-03-2025 at 08:23 AM.

Trump 2016 advisor, she really didn't like being questioned, the next one is just as dippit

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    Trump 2016 advisor, she really didn't like being questioned, the next one is just as dippit
    That was a diabolical performance.

The arguments of these people don’t stand up to scrutiny. They’re Russian shills and I wonder when they’re going to be able to stop denying it.

London Underground

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    That was a diabolical performance.

The arguments of these people don’t stand up to scrutiny. They’re Russian shills and I wonder when they’re going to be able to stop denying it.
    she was very professional at the end of her call

"Come awa' ben the hoose, Vlad! Hae a wee gless wi me."

I don't think it's conspiratorial to suggest that they seem to be deliberately weakening themselves. Could be any or all of a number of reasons, but it's very alarming.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post

I don't think it's conspiratorial to suggest that they seem to be deliberately weakening themselves. Could be any or all of a number of reasons, but it's very alarming.
    Vlad: "Hey Donny, remember that wee party we had in Moscow back in 2013"?

Donny: "Aye, that was some night ya bam lolz".

Vlad: "Ah've got some photies, think ah might dig them oot".

Donny: "Awe ffs naw, just naw, yeh dinnae want tae dae that".

Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?

Rumours he’s pulling out of NATO tomorrow. Seen a few things from Trump today which looks like it could be laying the groundwork to do it.

Scary times ahead.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post
    Rumours he’s pulling out of NATO tomorrow. Seen a few things from Trump today which looks like it could be laying the groundwork to do it.

Scary times ahead.
    One view:-

In 2023, Sens. Tim Kaine (D-Va.) and Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) authored legislation requiring that any presidential decision to exit NATO must have either two-thirds Senate approval or be authorized through an act of Congress. Lawmakers passed the measure as part of the fiscal 2024 National Defense Authorization Act, which President Joe Biden signed into law.

But

Legal experts warn that Trump could try to sidestep Congress’s NATO guardrail, citing presidential authority over foreign policy — an approach he used before to bypass congressional restrictions on treaty withdrawal.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Surely he won't do that, though, in case it upsets King Charles before the state visit?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Vlad: "Hey Donny, remember that wee party we had in Moscow back in 2013"?

Donny: "Aye, that was some night ya bam lolz".

Vlad: "Ah've got some photies, think ah might dig them oot".

Donny: "Awe ffs naw, just naw, yeh dinnae want tae dae that".

Vlad: "What's it worth tae yeh"?
    Answer to the last question might be a refund of a similar sized cash dump from Deutschebank as the last time?

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Markets are already responding. (Mexico, Canada and China start tomorrow.)

Quote Originally Posted by s.a.m View Post

it will be Vlad organising the drinks when Trump visits Moscow in the near future

wow

Tariffs from midnight

Canada - 25%
    Mexico - 25%
    China - 20%

i just wish he would get the price of those damn Eggs down
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 03-03-2025 at 09:39 PM.

those talented dudes at Led By Donkeys Led By Donkeys: "If Trump was President in 1940" — Bluesky

it will be Vlad organising the drinks when Trump visits Moscow in the near future
    I think I'd be insisting on taking my own. And meeting in the basement.

wow

Tariffs from midnight

Canada - 25%
    Mexico - 25%
    China - 20%

i just wish he would get the price of those damn Eggs down
    This trade war will push up prices in USA badly affecting the poorest. Nobody really wins from such a war

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Hopefully Starmer will return to reality now and stop trying to convince us the US will provide any kind of back stop to his fantasy peacekeeping force plans and start getting serious about funding Ukraine in the here and now.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    Hopefully Starmer will return to reality now and stop trying to convince us the US will provide any kind of back stop to his fantasy peacekeeping force plans and start getting serious about funding Ukraine in the here and now.

I genuinely despair about the current situation. I fully support Ukraine 100% but unfortunately the lunatics have taken over the asylum.

They seemed convinced Zelensky is a dictator and the Ukrainians get the stick whilst Putin gets the carrots.

We are where we are and unfortunately we need the US to engage for Ukraine to prosper.

I had an idea and whilst controversial, in this situation you need solutions.

Could Zelensky agree to elections but in order to do so it requires a 3 month ceasefire from Putin (gives Trump and Putin what they want), it will require European boots on the ground to monitor the elections along with the relevant western election monitoring bodies (try to stop Russian interfering), annexed areas can’t vote (why would they, they are part of ‘Russia’).

Everyone wins. Putin and Trump get their election, there is a ceasefire with European boots on the ground (UK & France proposal) and in the event of a fair and free election, Zelensky wins according to the all the polls.

I know the election is just prophinada from Putin and Trump so likely they wouldn’t agree but it would put them in a very difficult position

Nice sentiment but next time people moan about cutting spending on X and Y etc then we will quickly have people rightly or wrongly say we are giving billions to Ukraine while our own people can't heat their houses. It's going to get messy. Are the people of the UK happy to pay more taxes or see spending cuts here in order to fund Ukraine? I don't know the answer, some will and some won't?

Quote Originally Posted by jamie_1875 View Post
    Nice sentiment but next time people moan about cutting spending on X and Y etc then we will quickly have people rightly or wrongly say we are giving billions to Ukraine while our own people can't heat their houses. It's going to get messy. Are the people of the UK happy to pay more taxes or see spending cuts here in order to fund Ukraine? I don't know the answer, some will and some won't?
    They will be even more pissed if we have to send our kids to war.

I genuinely despair about the current situation. I fully support Ukraine 100% but unfortunately the lunatics have taken over the asylum.

They seemed convinced Zelensky is a dictator and the Ukrainians get the stick whilst Putin gets the carrots.

We are where we are and unfortunately we need the US to engage for Ukraine to prosper.

Could Zelensky agree to elections but in order to do so it requires a 3 month ceasefire from Putin (gives Trump and Putin what they want), it will require European boots on the ground to monitor the elections along with the relevant western election monitoring bodies (try to stop Russian interfering), annexed areas can’t vote (why would they, they are part of ‘Russia’).

Everyone wins. Putin and Trump get their election, there is a ceasefire with European boots on the ground (UK & France proposal) and in the event of a fair and free election, Zelensky wins according to the all the polls.

I know the election is just prophinada from Putin and Trump so likely they wouldn’t agree but it would put them in a very difficult position
    Putin never agrees to that. And Zelensky wins anyway.

They will be even more pissed if we have to send our kids to war.

You don't need to send anyone when you have nuclear weapons.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar

Zelensky could march up and down Red Square in his underpants singing the Russian national anthem and it wouldn't make an ounce of difference. Putin's desires are imperialist and nothing short of Ukrainian surrender will satisfy him. He also has Trump so deep in his pocket that Trump will fulfil any demands he makes.

The only hope for Ukraine is on the battlefield, they have to hold the line long enough until Putin's regime is toppled from within, even then there's no guarantees that the next Kremlin incumbent won't be just as bad or even worse.