Page 125 of 135 FirstFirst ... 2575115123124125126127 ... LastLast
Results 3,721 to 3,750 of 4031

Thread: Rugby

that's a yellow card Owens ffs man :(

pen Scotland 11-17

scotland knock on from the restart :(

nice turnover though
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 09-02-2025 at 03:27 PM.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scottie View Post

The kick forward hit the touch line before it went over the try line
    Sounds like it was to do with the final bounce and the assumption that VDM (or, #12) were going to be the ones who won the race.

Feels generous - in the face of what does appear to be not getting many of the 50/50s. Fought back well but looks like Irealnd have shifted up a gear again.
    Mon the Hibs.

ah well

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    This is why I can't get fully into Rugby, Scotland were 5 yards away from getting a try but choose to take 3 points instead, Ireland go up the other end and score

Maybe it's because I like swashbuckling Football as well but you should never be taking 3 points when you are that close unless it's in the last minute to win the game

I think I'd end up going more radge at Rugby than football if I went

kinghorn has not had a good game

another irish try and that'll be that

it's a hemmering now with more to come i'm sure

Enough is enough, turned over to watch the Liverpool game. Scotland and in particular Townsend just cannot play against Ireland, he's a poor coach and his time has come, we need fresh ideas.

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Enough is enough, turned over to watch the Liverpool game. Scotland and in particular Townsend just cannot play against Ireland, he's a poor coach and his time has come, we need fresh ideas.
    Agree. Would like to see Franco Smith given a go before some other team nabs him

Ireland were a gimmie at -6.5 and 1/1

have we actually won one single ball that has been kicked

unless i've missed one

oh dear what a needless penalty to give away 11-32

most points ireland have scored at Murrayfield is 40.... still 10 mins remaining

another p@shy turnover

Try scotland game on again 18-32

11 straight wins for Ireland against us
    Last edited by cabbageandribs1875; 09-02-2025 at 04:00 PM.

Pretty gash tbh. Losing Graham and Russell was unfortunate but our indiscipline and cackhandedness killed us.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Scotland were poor. No debate.

Ref was pretty iffy though, a number of Irish lying offside at rucks, man taken in the air fielding a kick, deliberate knock on not yellow carded, at least one blocked kick the Irish player was offside,

That will be a lot of Scotland players out of Lions contention now

Quote Originally Posted by J-C View Post
    Don't follow rugby but watched today's game. Year on year Townsend says to the media we've a great squad this year & they have yet to deliver.

Any word on Darcy Graham?

Awful. From start to finish in every aspect of our play. Basic errors, lack of aggression, poor decision making. I've held off saying it for a wee while but I still do not believe we have improved under Townsend. This is probably the strongest squad we have had in years and he hasn't managed to beat the Irish in his time in charge.
    Saying that the SRU from top to bottom is a complete shambles

Quote Originally Posted by Itsnoteasy View Post
    Don't follow rugby but watched today's game. Year on year Townsend says to the media we've a great squad this year & they have yet to deliver.
    He's failed to beat Ireland since being made head coach, we need a change.

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Any word on Darcy Graham?
    I saw him being taken out into an ambulance near the end of half time but he was sitting up looking ok at that point.

The second we lost Finn it was game over.

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mcbizz1998 View Post
    The second we lost Finn it was game over.
    Was game over way before that.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Arguably the worst performance ive seen from any Scotland side since I started watching.

Some really awful individual performances, bizarre decision making and really poor discipline. Was wary when i seen the team/bench midweek.

Im fed up seeing us losing to them. Their fans are insufferably smug too.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Get real folks. Smothered by the second best team in the world and with two of our best players off injured early on. What the hell do you expect. The criticism of Townsend on the back of that result is utter nonsense. Judge him at the end of the Championship.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Greenbeard View Post
    Get real folks. Smothered by the second best team in the world and with two of our best players off injured early on. What the hell do you expect. The criticism of Townsend on the back of that result is utter nonsense. Judge him at the end of the Championship.
    Exactly what we got, but we were making all sorts of stupid mistakes prior to Finn and Darcy going off. I don't honestly think them staying fit would have changed the outcome (maybe the extent of it). The number of unforced handling errors, stupid penalties, inability to get kicks away and/or into touch. We looked sluggish, indecisive and overpowered a lot of the opening 20 minutes, but we did well to still be in it at only 0-7 at that point.

It is funny though, a lot of chat in the past year about Ireland having fallen off/lost a step or two - from the first couple of minutes today they looked more up for it - faster, stronger in the tackle, better organised...their lineout was a disaster but I thought they were a very impressive side today, and the quality they were able to bring off their bench was incredible. Something I felt we lacked a bit today - game-changing options from the bench.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Exactly what we got, but we were making all sorts of stupid mistakes prior to Finn and Darcy going off. I don't honestly think them staying fit would have changed the outcome (maybe the extent of it). The number of unforced handling errors, stupid penalties, inability to get kicks away and/or into touch. We looked sluggish, indecisive and overpowered a lot of the opening 20 minutes, but we did well to still be in it at only 0-7 at that point.

It is funny though, a lot of chat in the past year about Ireland having fallen off/lost a step or two - from the first couple of minutes today they looked more up for it - faster, stronger in the tackle, better organised...their lineout was a disaster but I thought they were a very impressive side today, and the quality they were able to bring off their bench was incredible. Something I felt we lacked a bit today - game-changing options from the bench.
    Aye and young Prendergast has put himself in the picture for lions selection, especially looking to the future. I thought we would target him given his relative inexperience and slight build. Didn’t get the chance. He was well protected by a mass of experience around him.

Commentator mentioned that the average caps amongst the Irish 23 was over 50, which is an incredible number

Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    Commentator mentioned that the average caps amongst the Irish 23 was over 50, which is an incredible number
    Are they all Irish players, or are any Irish through the 5 year residency malarkey.

@hibs.net private member Pagan Hibernia's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Arguably the worst performance ive seen from any Scotland side since I started watching.

Some really awful individual performances, bizarre decision making and really poor discipline. Was wary when i seen the team/bench midweek.

Im fed up seeing us losing to them. Their fans are insufferably smug too.
    I'm an Ireland fan and we know how you feel. I remember the 90s when we couldn't buy a win against Scotland. No wins at Murrayfield between 1985 and 2003.

The tide will turn eventually. I'm just enjoying this run for as long as it lasts.

Quote Originally Posted by Itsnoteasy View Post
    Are they all Irish players, or are any Irish through the 5 year residency malarkey.
    Bundee Aki is New Zealand-born, of Samoan descent.

Believe me it's not a knee jerk reaction from me to be critical of Townsend. I'll judge him on his overall performance and definitely at the end of the championship but his record isn't good considering these are probably the best players we have had in years and years, arguably ever. He has had us finish 3rd twice, 4th four times and 5th once. Not good enough. Can't beat Ireland struggle to beat Wales in Wales, struggle to beat Italy. Not good enough and throw in the world cups then he has seriously underperformed. The whole sru needs a shake up though. Club rugby is on its knees, the pro teams are average at best.

Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    Believe me it's not a knee jerk reaction from me to be critical of Townsend. I'll judge him on his overall performance and definitely at the end of the championship but his record isn't good considering these are probably the best players we have had in years and years, arguably ever. He has had us finish 3rd twice, 4th four times and 5th once. Not good enough. Can't beat Ireland struggle to beat Wales in Wales, struggle to beat Italy. Not good enough and throw in the world cups then he has seriously underperformed. The whole sru needs a shake up though. Club rugby is on its knees, the pro teams are average at best.

Quote Originally Posted by Pagan Hibernia View Post
    I'm an Ireland fan and we know how you feel. I remember the 90s when we couldn't buy a win against Scotland. No wins at Murrayfield between 1985 and 2003.

The tide will turn eventually. I'm just enjoying this run for as long as it lasts.
    I'm not so sure the tide will turn any time soon. The way Ireland has structured its domestic game to dovetail with the pro era is night and day compared to Scotland.