Results 7,411 to 7,440 of 9525
    Labour MP for the Western Isles.

@hibs.net private member H18S NX's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    "Tantalising"

Adjective: "causing excitement, interest and desire". What Trump has done over the weekend has caused none of these. In fact, the complete opposite - fear, uncertainty and dread.
    ....Yep,well said m8

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar

Trump seams ashamed of the fact his mother came from poverty, which is actually good for us, can you imagine the fat orange nightmare cutting about in a kilt and bigging up his Scots routes. Mortifying.

''Bring on the porn star''

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    I'd be inviting Trump over to check first hand that his old mum's house and his hotels and golf courses are all adequately fireproofed in the event of tariffs being applied to the UK.

Because you never know what folk might do.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I'd be inviting Trump over to check first hand that his old mum's house and his hotels and golf courses are all adequately fireproofed in the event of tariffs being applied to the UK.

Because you never know what folk might do.
    This will effect is whether we get tariffed or not. I expect the dollar to strengthen and the pound to weaken which will increase the likelihood the Reeves and Starmer have to go full austerity. Some rough time ahead for everyone globally with a full blown trade war. Globalisation is about to unwind at speed and it won’t be pretty for anyone.

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar

as a gael, i cannot put into words how ashamed i am of torcuil crichton - literal nausea reading that. this is utterly, utterly disgusting, especially from a Labour politician. the last thing we want is to be seen as Trump's 'home' - even worse, for him to see us as some sort of home...
    Last edited by AgentDaleCooper; 03-02-2025 at 10:56 AM.

This is how the media SHOULD be reporting Trump's actions ...

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato View Post
    You're right off course but (millionaire) journalists see themselves as immune from the consequences, don't actually give a monkeys about "ordinary hard working people" and Trump's policies/announcements give them hours of easy gum-bumping on their rolling news shows.

They are thrilled he is back.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AgentDaleCooper View Post
    as a gael, i cannot put into words how ashamed i am of torcuil crichton - literal nausea reading that. this is utterly, utterly disgusting, especially from a Labour politician. the last thing we want is to be seen as Trump's 'home' - even worse, for him to see us as some sort of home...
    I don't like Trump, he's a fanny, I find some of the things he comes out with funny, in an ideal world we wouldn't have anything to do with him but it's not an ideal world, his decisions can really affect people's lives going forward, including here, if we have to butter him up a bit then so be it I'm afraid

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    I don't like Trump, he's a fanny, I find some of the things he comes out with funny, in an ideal world we wouldn't have anything to do with him but it's not an ideal world, his decisions can really affect people's lives going forward, including here, if we have to butter him up a bit then so be it I'm afraid
    Absolutely agree, in the real world you deal with the most powerful man in the world in a practical way. If it helps businesses in Scotland then you welcome him and work with him.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    This will effect is whether we get tariffed or not. I expect the dollar to strengthen and the pound to weaken which will increase the likelihood the Reeves and Starmer have to go full austerity. Some rough time ahead for everyone globally with a full blown trade war. Globalisation is about to unwind at speed and it won’t be pretty for anyone.

Pound strengthed in a big way against euro today and grew against the dollar and all other currencies bar the yen (due to tariff news). 10 year gilts down too

It should affect the US economy more than most others and with Germany in recession and having a manufacturing economy it will affect the EU too. We've already destroyed our manufacturing industry and since it's a services economy, its not expected to hurt us that much. Could be a boom time for Scottish whisky if Canadia and Ireland both get priced out the US

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jamie_1875 View Post
    Absolutely agree, in the real world you deal with the most powerful man in the world in a practical way. If it helps businesses in Scotland then you welcome him and work with him.
    I sincerely hope that the Scottish Government are in no way being seen to pander to that fascist.

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Pound strengthed in a big way against euro today and grew against the dollar and all other currencies bar the yen (due to tariff news). 10 year gilts down too

It should affect the US economy more than most others and with Germany in recession and having a manufacturing economy it will affect the EU too. We've already destroyed our manufacturing industry and since it's a services economy, its not expected to hurt us that much. Could be a boom time for Scottish whisky if Canadia and Ireland both get priced out the US
    It could work out nicely for the UK if we stay on side with Trump, particularly Scotland.

If he ‘punishes’ the rest of the world and offers us a trade deal it could work
    Well.

I hate trump the same as most people on here but the UK government have to work with him.

The only problem I can see is Starmer cozying back up to Europe. Can’t imagine Trump being too supportive of that. Although if Starmer can pull it off, he would be onto a winner.

Closer ties with Europe - good for growth
    No tariffs from the USA and potential trade deal - good for growth.

Sounds promising until you realise it’s Starmer and Reeves

@hibs.net private member The Tubs's Avatar
    I've just seen that Canada has a small trade surplus with the US. Does this mean the yanks are trying to butter them up for a fascist takeover too?

@hibs.net private member AgentDaleCooper's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Tubs View Post
    I've just seen that Canada has a small trade surplus with the US. Does this mean the yanks are trying to butter them up for a fascist takeover too?
    it's all to do with their oil. Trump wants it, because a) it's oil and b) because it's the basis of the US's deficit towards Canada.

Scotland also has oil, which gives me the brown trousers feeling. This is what we're walking into by chumming up to him. Not to mention the insane data harvesting that Musk is up to. Imagine the power the pair of them would have if granted access to the kind of personal information they're imbibing from the treasury...it's genuinely very dystopian and scary, and no amount of pragmatism is going to avoid it if said pragmatism amounts to becoming his lapdog (which, lets be real, is the only relationship he'll be satisfied with).

@hibs.net private member The Tubs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by AgentDaleCooper View Post
    it's all to do with their oil. Trump wants it, because a) it's oil and b) because it's the basis of the US's deficit towards Canada.

Scotland also has oil, which gives me the brown trousers feeling. This is what we're walking into by chumming up to him. Not to mention the insane data harvesting that Musk is up to. Imagine the power the pair of them would have if granted access to the kind of personal information they're imbibing from the treasury...it's genuinely very dystopian and scary, and no amount of pragmatism is going to avoid it if said pragmatism amounts to becoming his lapdog (which, lets be real, is the only relationship he'll be satisfied with).
    It's a wee deficit, but, aye, it's always about resources. Are there any potential fascist puppets in Canada like the AfD?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4185 View Post
    It could work out nicely for the UK if we stay on side with Trump, particularly Scotland.

Well.

I hate trump the same as most people on here but the UK government have to work with him.

The only problem I can see is Starmer cozying back up to Europe. Can’t imagine Trump being too supportive of that. Although if Starmer can pull it off, he would be onto a winner.

Yeah me too, I'm all for supporting fascist lunatics if the whisky industry does well out of it and there's a knock-on reduction in Scottish income tax.

Well.

In the long-term, any advantage in being the bully's sidekick is unlikely to help us. This will end at some point, and he won't always be there. In the meantime, he'd be a fickle and untrustworthy pal, very possibly with increasing demands if we're to be allowed to hang on to his coat-tails. He has a long-term pattern of forcing his cohorts to subjugate themselves, then throwing them under the bus.

I'd personally much prefer it if we stood together with the rest of his targets and made clear that bullying countries into submission or attempting to seize control of them is unacceptable. At the risk of sounding melodramatic, we don't need to be Trump's Belarus.

@hibs.net private member Ozyhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Yeah me too, I'm all for supporting fascist lunatics if the whisky industry does well out of it and there's a knock-on reduction in Scottish income tax.
    All the tax on whisky goes to London does it not?

No. He's an evil lunatic. If we want to be proud to be Scottish we should have nothing to do with him.

Quote Originally Posted by Ozyhibby View Post
    All the tax on whisky goes to London does it not?

Tax on staff costs stays in Scotland.

So, if tariffs affect production, there is a knock-on effect on the tax take in Scotland economy. Both in terms of whisky employees, and the wider community where they have spending power.

The duty and the VAT, which is probably what you meant, goes to London, together with the Corporation Tax.
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 03-02-2025 at 02:33 PM.

He's a lunatic with the ability to make people's already hard life even worse, in the real world if that means playing nice for 4 years then the Government need to be pragmatic and deal with him

Ever hear of Neville Chamberlain, at all?

Here we go, knew someone would come out with something like that

There is a huge difference to holding your nose and swallowing something to try and avoid tarrifs that will majorly affect your already crumbling economy and what Chamberlain tried to do

It's really easy to have an idealised view on what you should do when you don't have the livelyhood of 65m people at stake

Also im speaking specifically about avoiding tarrifs, if he starts invading Canada, Mexico, Greenland and Panama is when you can tell him to go **** himself
    Last edited by Mon Dieu4; 03-02-2025 at 02:47 PM.

There is a huge difference to holding your nose and swallowing something to try and avoid tarrifs that will majorly affect your already crumbling economy and what Chamberlain tried to do

It's really easy to have an idealised view on what you should do when you don't have the livelyhood of 65m people at stake
    Sorry. Still a "no" from me.

Rumours of a one month pause in Mexican tariffs due to Mexico promising to put 10,000 soldiers on the northern border to stop people and drug smuggling

Here we go, knew someone would come out with something like that

Also im speaking specifically about avoiding tarrifs, if he starts invading Canada, Mexico, Greenland and Panama is when you can tell him to go **** himself
    Spot on, too many people don't seemingly live in the real world. I wonder how they would feel if they worked in the Whisky industry and their job and house etc was at stake.

What I said, in no way represented supporting a fascist lunatic.

Trump said the UK could be exempt, which could be good for the UK and Scotland.

If we had to bow down and kiss hiss ring whilst claiming ‘All Hail Trump’. That would be supporting a fascist lunatic, however hearing his words and saying it could be good for the UK is far from it.

What I said, in no way represented supporting a fascist lunatic.

Trump said the UK could be exempt, which could be good for the UK and Scotland.
    What do you think he might want in exchange ...?

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Spot on, too many people don't seemingly live in the real world. I wonder how they would feel if they worked in the Whisky industry and their job and house etc was at stake.
    I think that's valid up to a point.

Different people will have different tolerance levels for Trump's pish and what it means.

For some, he reached and breached that point long ago.

For others, there may remain room for pragmatism for a bit longer.

I'm not much of a fan to pandering to the likes of Trump. Bullies need confronted early and forcefully, never emboldened.

Is it wise to ruffle his feathers too much too early though? Maybe not. Starmer is probably being reasonably smart in keeping options open for now.

Britain has a history of trying to ride more than one horse at the same time and is occasionally successful with it.