Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Well there goes my fence, you were a fine boundary while you lasted!

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by McD View Post
    My neithbour’s fence is lying on my decking, and I’ve had to tie the bairn’s trampoline down to stop it being blown over a 6 foot fence, but aye, it’s all media hype…
    Fence doon here as well.

Was on its last legs right enough but it’s cabbaged now

100% right call to warn folk to stay at home today…some of the gusts have been mental.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Have you seen the marks and Spencer in Ayrshire with the front ripped off???
    Some people will do anything for that pint of milk and loaf of bread...
    Mon the Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    Well there goes my fence, you were a fine boundary while you lasted!
    Same, my side fence is now match sticks 🤬

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    Same, my side fence is now match sticks 🤬
    Or kindling in my world
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Fencers and roofers already planning their next around the world cruises. 😀

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Fencers and roofers already planning their next around the world cruises. 😀

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    A garden hut sitting in the neighbours garden, or parts of it, telecom cables down as hut was just lifted in to air and blown over a good distance.

Does seem to be easing now I think.

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Just seen a wee graphic showing the windspeed in Fraserburgh, 1989 being 142mph!!
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

Good to see the Evening News has hidden the information about the storn behind a paywall. Very public service focused!

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    100% fanned by the media this.

I'm sitting in the house waiting on my roof/fence to blow away....if it wasn't for all the attention then I wouldn't have paid much notice.

I do get warnings of this severity have to be highlighted although it seems an absolute deluge of hysterical reporting wherever I turn.
    Good for you. I’m going to be spending some time doing a good bit of repair work to my back fence. Are you suggesting its all fake news thats being reported wherever you turn?

reigning hibs.net poker champion Wembley67's Avatar

Gamertag: Happyhibs62
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    Good for you. I’m going to be spending some time doing a good bit of repair work to my back fence. Are you suggesting its all fake news thats being reported wherever you turn?
    What? No. Some spin though 🙏
    "You opened the box....and your soul belongs to me...."

A friends neighbours house in Gorebridge 🫨 988df719-4571-4ed8-a235-c07fcad66209.jpg

Trying to work out what has happened. Was it scaffolding that has collapsed?

Quote Originally Posted by Wembley67 View Post
    What? No. Some spin though 🙏
    I think its fair enough. There’s a lot of stuff been flying around. A real danger of serious injury - or worse - if folk had been going about their business as usual today.

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    Im not sure mate, the house facing has roof damage and I think the debris in the garden are the remnants of a rear extension on adjoining land

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Alternatively, we can celebrate the fact that we live in a society where people's safety is put at the centre of decisions.

Dunno what the weather is like for everybody else but just south of Glasgow it's horrendous. The wind speed is incredible and there's stuff flying about everywhere (including parts of people's roofs)

The shops are all closed around us and, while it's a minor inconvenience, I'd rather that than the poor sods that work there risking their safety just so I can do some shopping.

A tree fell on the road at Easthouses.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Weather is saying 3 degrees but feels like -14, I have been out for a bit but -14, no chance.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post
    These hoaxes are getting more and more convincing.

Hoax.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    That estate is full of man caves and sheds etc in the gardens. Probably something like that I’d imagine

Just me or has it died down pretty rapidly? Still windy here but notably calmer than even an hour ago.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    These hoaxes are getting more and more convincing.

Hoax.jpg
    Crikey!

It takes some force to cause that damage. Doesn't bear thinking about that a person takes the impact of that force.

My business is in a similarish building to that, probably the same part of the world. I'm a stoic sort and took a bit of convincing to close for the day. Very glad with hindsight, stuff flying off roofs and onto people isn't a crazy notion. Fortunately not many people out there and most have heeded the instructions to stay indoors.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Just me or has it died down pretty rapidly? Still windy here but notably calmer than even an hour ago.
    Still very gusty here in the Lindsay Road area.

I am on the 5th floor though and only a few hundred yards from the water so pretty exposed.

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    Not out here in falkirk, it's mental, I left edinburgh about half 3 and it wasn't so bad, got home and it's still crazy, M9 had trees blown over the road all over the place

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Power just gone off, not even in the red warning!!!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

My garden is wrecked. Fences are fine but storage boxes and bin stores not in good Nick. Garden furniture rearranged and some lighting smashed.

Power is back on after 4 hours off in South Lanarkshire.

Fair play the engineers, the online predictor had it back on lunch time
    tomorrow.

Dozens of trees blown down, I’ve lost a fence, a double width gate and it looks like the kids play house may not make it through the night.

Wind is still as wild as it was at lunchtime today. We have a really wide front window in the living room and you can see the PVC flexing when the wind gusts.
    "...when Hibs won the Scottish Cup final and that celebration, Sunshine on Leith? I don’t think there’s a better football celebration ever in the game.”

Sir Alex Ferguson

Still bad here in Leith. No sign of it dying down yet.

Cousin text me about 10 saying it was anticlimactic, she's just lost all power in her house near the meadows...