Page 40 of 42 FirstFirst ... 303839404142 LastLast
Results 1,171 to 1,200 of 1236
    Nickey Henderson reporting Shiskin has been euthanised today after breaking a leg in his stable.

Sad news. A quirky sort but on his day he was top class.

Nickey Henderson reporting Shiskin has been euthanised today after breaking a leg in his stable.

That's a great shame, I was only just reading this morning about them looking forward to Punchestown with the horse.

Wow Henderson hasn't had his troubles to seek recently recently

I've watched national hunt racing for as long as I can remember and defended it in the face of the criticism it receives. See when you see what just happened to Sire Du Berlais you can see why it's such an easy sport to give a kicking.

12 year old, likely to be retired after today's race, has given his connections some great days and he's just not interested today, never travelled a yard. Why is Mark Walsh working away on him, pushing him along, drawing the whip and desperately looking for something over a mile out? Just pull the horse up and let him retire. Instead he cajoles him to continue and he ends up fatally injured.

Really poor horsemanship, the horse owed no one anything and deserved better. It's also a shocking look for racing.

Corach Rambler retired.

He looked bloody miserable at Punchestown earlier this month and he's had a pretty gruelling career over some long trips. Good to see Lucinda Russell do right by him, hopefully he'll have a long retirement.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    I've watched national hunt racing for as long as I can remember and defended it in the face of the criticism it receives. See when you see what just happened to Sire Du Berlais you can see why it's such an easy sport to give a kicking.

12 year old, likely to be retired after today's race, has given his connections some great days and he's just not interested today, never travelled a yard. Why is Mark Walsh working away on him, pushing him along, drawing the whip and desperately looking for something over a mile out? Just pull the horse up and let him retire. Instead he cajoles him to continue and he ends up fatally injured.

Really poor horsemanship, the horse owed no one anything and deserved better. It's also a shocking look for racing.
    Yeah hated seeing that.

Flat season is going mad, big price winner now in the Lockinge. What's the point of even attempting to work out who'll win the classics. The way things are going City of Troy will be getting seriously opposed for the Derby. It's a lottery!

Have a look at the name of the 1615 race at Newton Abbot, that worked out well. 🤭

Reading today that Istabraq has died aged 32. One of the greatest hurdlers ever, would surely have won 4 Champion Hurdles had it not been for the postponement of the festival due to foot and mouth. Never finished outside the top 2 when completing a race over hurdles (and he only failed to compete 3 times). The spontaneous round of applause when he was pulled up in his final outing says it all, that doesn't happen often.

More importantly he has a brilliant and long retirement. Seemed to be living a great life right to the end.

Reading today that Istabraq has died aged 32. One of the greatest hurdlers ever, would surely have won 4 Champion Hurdles had it not been for the postponement of the festival due to foot and mouth. Never finished outside the top 2 when completing a race over hurdles (and he only failed to compete 3 times). The spontaneous round of applause when he was pulled up in his final outing says it all, that doesn't happen often.

More importantly he has a brilliant and long retirement. Seemed to be living a great life right to the end.
    I remember saying to folk in the pub after he jumped the first hurdle in his last race that he would be pulled up, not proud to be correct. What a machine. 👏

Some performance from Goliath in The King George, absolutely cruising from 2 furlongs out.

@hibs.net private member I'm_cabbaged's Avatar
    Franny Norton signing off with one of his easiest winners of his career. Was a top jock!!

I see Sosie is FAV for The L'arc de Triomphe on Sunday, good Hibs name.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I see Sosie is FAV for The L'arc de Triomphe on Sunday, good Hibs name.
    Bluestocking wins.

Some strange results from the Breeders Cup, which just seemed to turn out like a group of handicaps. City of Troy nowhere in his race, very hard to make a case for some of the horses that won and were placed. Dunno if that was down to the course or the conditions, but it wasn't particularly soft or anything.

Quote Originally Posted by ekhibee View Post
    Some strange results from the Breeders Cup, which just seemed to turn out like a group of handicaps. City of Troy nowhere in his race, very hard to make a case for some of the horses that won and were placed. Dunno if that was down to the course or the conditions, but it wasn't particularly soft or anything.
    City of Troy seemed to hate the surface although didn't make the best of starts and was staying on at the end. Doubt he'll be seen on dirt again if at all.

Never realised it was planned to be his last race beforehand, understandable enough.

City of Troy missed the break then never seemed to travel a yard on the surface.

I've had a weird disdain for the Breeders Cup ever since Rock of Gibraltar got done on the line in the Mile all those years ago. Never really get caught up in it.

Nice wee win @ 3s for I'm on my way in the Chepstow 1455. 🍺

Willie Mullins scratches all his runners from The King George on Boxing Day. Sair yin for antepost punters that one.

Not massively surprised. Never really a race he has targeted because of Leopardstown running at the same time.

I thought he might have kept a couple of the 2nd string in but I never really anticipated Gaelic Warrior or Galopin Des Champs travelling on Boxig Day when there is a comparable if not better race at home.

Not massively surprised. Never really a race he has targeted because of Leopardstown running at the same time.

I thought he might have kept a couple of the 2nd string in but I never really anticipated Gaelic Warrior or Galopin Des Champs travelling on Boxig Day when there is a comparable if not better race at home.
    Aye, certainly didn't expect them all to be scratched.

A few interesting reappearances at the weekend.

Lossiemouth looked really impressive beating a decent horse in Teahupoo without really being asked for an effort. Mystical power was a no show in the Fighting Fifth but Sir Gino looked good in winning. Jumping looked much improved.

Caldwell Potter done all you would expect him to do at Carlisle but I doubt his owners spent £740K for that to be the limit of their ambitions. Impare Et Passe likewise got the job done in a pretty modest race at Fairyhouse. Both jumped a bit left and whilst that won't be a huge issue at Cheltenham I think both trainers will want their jumping tidied up a bit.

Constitution Hill v Lossiemouth

If Constitution Hill can give 7lbs and a beating to Lossiemouth he is an absolute superstar!! Can’t really see it myself though!! Lossiemouth all the way.🙌🙌

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs1972 View Post
    If Constitution Hill can give 7lbs and a beating to Lossiemouth he is an absolute superstar!! Can’t really see it myself though!! Lossiemouth all the way.🙌🙌
    Bookies appear to agree, as do I. Race fitness in her favour too. Constitution Hill 15lbs clear on the handicap though.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 23-12-2024 at 02:21 PM.

Disappointing the race has only attracted 4 runners.

I get there are handicap marks to protect with the big festivals here and in Ireland to come but always a bit rubbish seeing a grade 1 become all but a glorified match race.

Hard to know where Constituion Hill is. Didn't look great alongside Sir Gino in his racecourse gallop but then the latter is a smart horse in his own right and won the Fighting Fifth easily so not sure how much you can take from that.

King George

On the big race of the day, the King George, can’t quite get my head around why Envoi Allen is 16-1 with bet 365, granted he ran stinking in this race 2 years ago but will absolutely love the ground, 3m on a flat track is ideal, would perm:
    Envoi Allen
    Banbridge
    Ile Est Francais in a reverse Exacta, 3 guaranteed to love the drying ground.

Good luck to all.👍

On the big race of the day, the King George, can’t quite get my head around why Envoi Allen is 16-1 with bet 365, granted he ran stinking in this race 2 years ago but will absolutely love the ground, 3m on a flat track is ideal, would perm:
    Envoi Allen
    Banbridge
    Ile Est Francais in a reverse Exacta, 3 guaranteed to love the drying ground.

Good luck to all.👍
    It's quite hard to forget IEF's run at Kempton on Boxing Day last year.

The only negative for the French raider is the PU last time out, be surprised if any winner of the King George pulled up on its previous run, will love the ground for sure.👍

IIRC the time for the race was quicker than The King George time on the same day. I'm really struggling to make my mind up between 3 or 4 of them though.

Bookies appear to agree, as do I. Race fitness in her favour too. Constitution Hill 15lbs clear on the handicap though.
    Constitution Hill FAV now.