Page 456 of 474 FirstFirst ... 356406446454455456457458466 ... LastLast
Results 13,651 to 13,680 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    My neighbours, seems like another couple of families have moved in to the house, they are a f***ing nightmare, swept the pathway last week and last night when I came in there was about 5 folk standing outside smoking with fag ends everywhere, and I mean hundreds and hundreds of them, had words with them about the mess and thought they would clean up, went to put some rubbish out this morning and they were all standing at the pathway smoking and they haven’t cleaned up, it’s not my nature to grass on folk but this is not going to have a good ending, and the loud screaming from the women through the night, they are in the same room so why shout so loud, there is also a young kid in the house who is very polite to me but he is never at school and just runs about the back garden, I feel sorry for him as he has no friends.
    That all sounds very familiar apart from the wee laddie.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    But 100% if you get on the train at Waverley you travel on the up line to London.
    I think this has more to do with the thinking and prejudices of those who decided that the rail line to London was the "up" line than any real sense of up or down.

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    I think this has more to do with the thinking and prejudices of those who decided that the rail line to London was the "up" line than any real sense of up or down.
    Dunno about prejudices, when it comes to putting a train on a track, or techs out on the line to fix a defect, you need to have an Engineering Line Reference(ELR) Which is a geographic section of line, you need a "mileage", you need to know what track your on (most areas have two lines) and in some cases you need a track ID (fast, slow, loop, goods, single etc).
    Most, like ELR and mileage are straightforward, but when it comes to direction of travel, the easiest way for Victorians was anything that goes to London is UP, all else is DN.
    It does start to get confusing when you are coming out of Haymarket and curve towards Slateford, suddenly it switches around because if your heading West at that point your now going on to the West Coast Mainline which technically is now going UP to London (even if you're just going to Glasgow Central).
    Last edited by speedy_gonzales; 05-12-2024 at 02:25 PM.

But 100% if you get on the train at Waverley you travel on the up line to London.

So you are travelling up to London while going down to London.
    So, likewise if travelling by train from anywhere north of Edinburgh to Edinburgh you would be on the UP line and vice versa.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    So, likewise if travelling by train from anywhere north of Edinburgh to Edinburgh you would be on the UP line and vice versa.
    Ever wish you had never mentioned something

I would think so but honestly my info was just from a casual chat I had with the conductor on a Edi to London train once and thought it was a fun fact re the pet peeve!

Ever wish you had never mentioned something

I would think so but honestly my info was just from a casual chat I had with the conductor on a Edi to London train once and thought it was a fun fact re the pet peeve!
    Sorry, I was stating that as factual information, I vaguely recall from my NR days.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Sorry, I was stating that as factual information, I vaguely recall from my NR days.
    Aha got ya so basically on a train from Edinburgh it’s doon to Aberdeen and up to London. Lovely

I say down to Gullane and North Berwick but that is further North, probably as I'm going down the A1 although technically goes up at the start ha

Aha got ya so basically on a train from Edinburgh it’s doon to Aberdeen and up to London. Lovely
    Strangely enough aye. 😒

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Nothing to do with the map (or sea levels!)…but yeah maybe more aligned to the perceived importance of London!

Funnily enough, if you live in Leith, or Newhaven, you go 'uptown ' to Edinburgh but, if you live in Liberton or Gilmerton you go 'downtown '.

Except they are both wrong!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Funnily enough, if you live in Leith, or Newhaven, you go 'uptown ' to Edinburgh but, if you live in Liberton or Gilmerton you go 'downtown '.

Except they are both wrong!
    I've never said either.

It's always been "into town".

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I've never said either. It's always been "into town".
    Rebel.

Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Most, like ELR and mileage are straightforward, but when it comes to direction of travel, the easiest way for Victorians was anything that goes to London is UP, all else is DN.
    Thanks. I think your explanation about the Victorians kind of makes my point.

Rebel.
    Where I lived, on the mean streets of Clerrie, "uptown" was what the snobs said.

"Downtown" was for Petula Clark.

Where I lived, on the mean streets of Clerrie, "uptown" was what the snobs said.

Nah up toon was for the cool kids and Althea & Donna

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Thanks. I think your explanation about the Victorians kind of makes my point.
    👍🏻 I just wasn't recognising your claim of it being prejudice. If anything, it was a discrimination as in a choice that had to be made.
    If that choice was to be made today I wouldn't doubt it would be Derby, the hinge of the new Great British Railways 🧐

Pet Peeves IV

Quote Originally Posted by babahibs View Post
    “Inty toon” shirley?

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    “Inty toon” shirley?

Of course.......and don't call me Shirley.

I've never said either.

As someone who grew up in the new town and Stockbridge, everywhere else was down.🤣

Aye, uptown was for Billy Joel. 😉

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Nothing to do with the map (or sea levels!)…but yeah maybe more aligned to the perceived importance of London!

Isn't it just a size thing, rather than perceived importance? You go up to bigger places and down to smaller? Though dan sarf overrides that, obvs.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Recruiters/Employers. Not all, but the majority.

The ghosting, false promises and ridiculous hiring processes are shambolic.

One example, a major housebuilder in the UK, contacted me on the Tuesday having received my application and asked if I could interview with them on the Friday. I duly accepted and drove for an hour to their office on the Friday. 15 minutes after my interview was due to start the Hiring Manager came through to reception to say their meeting was still ongoing and could I come back later that afternoon. Not wanting to hang around for four hours, we agreed a Teams call for later that day.

Teams interview was great and I did well. Was told I would hear back within a week or so. Three weeks later I’ve heard nothing, so I’ve then emailed on Monday there to the Hiring Manager and one of the Directors who also interviewed me and asked for an update and I’ve not even had a response. Nothing.

I’m lucky that I have a supportive, and well paid, partner who is keeping us afloat but it’s an absolute scandal the way some people treat others, especially those who are currently fighting for every penny and are absolutely desperate for a job. It’s basic common courtesy. I’ve seen people on LinkedIn who have told of their desperation and have literally said they are suicidal as they have applied for hundreds of jobs and simply been ignored, despite intro calls and interviews.

Ironically, it seems to be the biggest companies who are the worst, and these are companies who have their own internal recruitment/acquisition teams. Shambles.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post

One example, a major housebuilder in the UK, contacted me on the Tuesday having received my application and asked if I could interview with them on the Friday. I duly accepted and drove for an hour to their office on the Friday. 15 minutes after my interview was due to start the Hiring Manager came through to reception to say their meeting was still ongoing and could I come back later that afternoon. Not wanting to hang around for four hours, we agreed a Teams call for later that day.

Teams interview was great and I did well. Was told I would hear back within a week or so. Three weeks later I’ve heard nothing, so I’ve then emailed on Monday there to the Hiring Manager and one of the Directors who also interviewed me and asked for an update and I’ve not even had a response. Nothing.

I’m lucky that I have a supportive, and well paid, partner who is keeping us afloat but it’s an absolute scandal the way some people treat others, especially those who are currently fighting for every penny and are absolutely desperate for a job. It’s basic common courtesy. I’ve seen people on LinkedIn who have told of their desperation and have literally said they are suicidal as they have applied for hundreds of jobs and simply been ignored, despite intro calls and interviews.

Ironically, it seems to be the biggest companies who are the worst, and these are companies who have their own internal recruitment/acquisition teams. Shambles.
    This is not a pet peeve it’s something that just down right disgusting.

The ghosting is a real pain. How hard can it be to send a simple no back to an initial application.

Then there is the recruitment agencies. All talk and no action. Get all your data as well then lucky if you hear from them again, ever.

Then there is the employers. Particularly their talent people. I had one that was on the phone for nearly an hour waxing lyrical about how perfect I was for the role…’grinning ear to ear he was so happy to have found me’.
    The very next morning I go an email saying no thanks. Did that same talent person ever bother responding to my requests for a tiny bit more detail? Nope. Did they even bother responding to say they couldn’t elaborate and apologise for the false hope. Nope.

Thankfully, a very few employers are OK and with a lot of persistence you just have to wait for that one that does land and does work for both parties.

But job searching is a horrible horrible process, especially when you are out of work and I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    As an employer, I’d narrow this down to “ghosting”.

We’ve been through extensive recruitment processes, sometimes involving dozens of applicants - keeping them informed every step of the way.

It’s actually ended up with us offering people positions… only to hear nothing back. These are situations where there were often several acceptable candidates. You’re left hanging on, figuring out how long you wait for a ghoster (or general candidate earlier in the process who starts the process) to reply before moving on. It’s crap behaviour and unfair on other applicants.

The disrespect and discourtesy shown by prospective employers and employees is disgusting. If it’s any consolation, the only conclusion ever to be drawn is “bullet dodged” - if that’s the way people behave towards one another at that stage, it was never going to be a healthy working relationship between the parties.

Drives me absolutely mad.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I was conditionally offered a new job on the 2nd October. It's with the Prison Service so there was various background checks to do, and I was told it could take 6 weeks. I'm only just getting my contract today (hopefully).

Annoyingly though, if I'd been given the contract a few weeks ago I probably could've negotiated an early notice period and left to start the job in January. The goalposts have moved at my end now, and my employer (Edinburgh Uni) is unlikely to be able to back-fill my post, so now they're needing to hold on to me as long as possible, and I'm now stuck there until March. 5 months from being offered the job, to starting the post seems mad, and more than a bit annoying.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by babahibs View Post
    Staying in Muirhouse it was always ‘who is heading up town’.

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post

That's a shocking way to treat anyone.

I know it is probably scant consolation when you are in need of a job but imagine what people who treat a prospective employee in such a way would have been like to work for. It might just have been a lucky escape.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Staying in Muirhouse it was always ‘who is heading up town’.
    Same with me and my pals in Leith, always going up town and I still say it to this day

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    That's a shocking way to treat anyone.

I know it is probably scant consolation when you are in need of a job but imagine what people who treat a prospective employee in such a way would have been like to work for. It might just have been a lucky escape.
    I ignored some red flags in the interview process in the job before the one I’m in and I wish I hadn’t. Start to finish (all two months of it) an utterly miserable experience. Interviews are a two way street and if I get that feeling again then I’ll be offering a polite but firm “I’m out”.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction