Page 455 of 474 FirstFirst ... 355405445453454455456457465 ... LastLast
Results 13,621 to 13,650 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by pretty boy View Post
    probably an annual moan from me but the difficulty in getting a christmas card that say's granny on it. In scotland.

Shop i was in today had grandma, nanny, nan, nana Batman then utterly hideous monstrosities with mommy and mom on them. You could get mammy, mama, ****ing bampy but not one card with granny?
    ftfy

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    BBC listing teams with left-hand side players before right-hand side players. Why? Is it to somehow accommodate viewers who read right to left? If so, political wokeness gone differently-sane.

MotherwellHibs1.jpgMotherwellHibs2.jpg

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Never have any problems with Granny for birthday or Christmas, always seem to find them at the card factory.
    Another vote for the Card Factory, you can get virtually every card you need there.
    Even the "Happy Birthday Uncle Dad" for our Gorgie chums!

Probably an annual moan from me but the difficulty in getting a Christmas card that say's granny on it. In Scotland.

Shop I was in today had Grandma, Nanny, Nan, Nana then utterly hideous monstrosities with Mommy and Mom on them. You could get Mammy, Mama, ****ing Bampy but not one card with Granny?
    Nana cards used to be hard to come by when I was young as well, not needed to look for one in about 20 years now but I mind it being a hassle trying to get one. Weird really, you’d think it’d make sense to run a survey on what folk call their grandparents in each part of the UK and stock your stores accordingly.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    People walking against the flow. I was at a trade fair in town yesterday and there were thousands of visitors. The fair was set out in a way that directed visitors from hall to hall in a round robin system and yet there were some who decided to do the tour in the opposite direction. I'm all for freedom of choice but what for me was a slight annoyance, must have been for them a real pain in the arse fighting their way through crowds moving in the opposite direction. Why?

@hibs.net private member Oscar T Grouch's Avatar
    Probably an annual moan from me but the difficulty in getting a Christmas card that say's granny on it. In Scotland.

Shop I was in today had Grandma, Nanny, Nan, Nana then utterly hideous monstrosities with Mommy and Mom on them. You could get Mammy, Mama, ****ing Bampy but not one card with Granny?
    There are a load of Scottish artists selling their cards on Etsy, it where I get most of my cards now. Couple from a quick search below

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1329...c%3A1329825364

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1595...search_click=1

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.

Quote Originally Posted by Oscar T Grouch View Post
    There are a load of Scottish artists selling their cards on Etsy, it where I get most of my cards now. Couple from a quick search below

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1329...c%3A1329825364

https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/1595...search_click=1
    Handy for future reference. I used Moonpig quite often but like supporting the small shops on Etsy and the like.

Surprised by the recommendations for Card Factory on here. That's where I was earlier and couldn't see anything suitable. When I asked someone who worked there she said they had no granny cards for Christmas. Finally found one tucked away in Asda.

Elf on the ****ing shelf

Quote Originally Posted by SaulGoodman View Post
    Elf on the ****ing shelf
    Leave its detached legs hanging out the blender within the first couple of days and put it down to death by misadventure.

Quote Originally Posted by SaulGoodman View Post
    Elf on the ****ing shelf
    I ****ing hate that little gimp

JD Sports.

Quote Originally Posted by ErinGoBraghHFC View Post
    I ****ing hate that little gimp

Pretty inoffensive if you ask a German.
    Attached Images Attached Images

People who take their dogs out in wee prams, **** off, does it wear a nappy and sucks a dummy tit ?

(Most) dogs have 4 ****ing legs, they have a 2 legged advantage over humans and you want to give them 4 wheels too !!

I was down at Joppa Quarry walking my dug and there was a squad of Women and Men beside the swingpark, all chatting with their daft wee dugs in their buggies and just looking glaikit, the dugs didnt look any better.

Im worried this is the start of it down lovely Joppa, peace shattered by dog buggies and akin to boy racer meet ups. Soon they will be going radge by drinking Perrier water, doing ****ing wheelies, wheel spins and donuts over our beautiful lush grass 🫨

Changing the way widgets on user interfaces work.

Exhibit A : Date pickers. why do they keep phannying about with them ? The latest attempt has the scroller for years go up instead of down… infuriating.

If the app is designed properly why is there a need for any / radical change other than cosmetic?
    the fundamentals don’t change - register, login, search, locate product / service , select, purchase. Add/Modify details/ products and Cancel. All problems generally understood and “solved” before now.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    People that describe going somewhere as either going up or going down to, with no actually link to the geography. Like saying Hibs are going down to Aberdeen next weekend. It’s annoyed me for year's but there was a podcast with a Geordie talking about going up to Birmingham that reminded me to vent.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    People that describe going somewhere as either going up or going down to, with no actually link to the geography. Like saying Hibs are going down to Aberdeen next weekend. It’s annoyed me for year's but there was a podcast with a Geordie talking about going up to Birmingham that reminded me to vent.
    Guilty of saying going up town when in Leith

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    Pretty inoffensive if you ask a German.

8!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Stairway 2 7 View Post
    Guilty of saying going up town when in Leith
    It is up a hill though tbf.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Onceinawhile View Post
    It is up a hill though tbf.
    I think the hill factor overrides any North / South thing.

Although Birmingham will surely be uphill from Newcastle in that example and going up to Birmingham from Newcastle is clearly ridiculous so maybe less sure.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    I think the hill factor overrides any North / South thing.

Although Birmingham will surely be uphill from Newcastle in that example and going up to Birmingham from Newcastle is clearly ridiculous so maybe less sure.
    I think there is probably a distance related tipping point on whether you're going up or down depending on elevation or geography.
    Mon the Hibs.

Fly tippers, ****ing tramps 🤬

Was down Seafield way yesterday and passed one of the disused retail units right beside the public tip and there was a pile of rubbish that had been tipped in the corner which included an old bath.

I get people want to get rid of stuff on the cheap but it just plays into the hands of those trampy *******s who have no care in the world where they dump it 🤬

Posters who start a new thread when multiple threads already exist

Posters who do not read the whole thread before posting causing repetition

Posters who always reply adding a link sometimes replying with just a link

I know maybes take break or use the ‘ignore button’

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Odd fact.

if you are getting the train to London from Edinburgh technically you are going up to London now down.

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    Odd fact.

if you are getting the train to London from Edinburgh technically you are going up to London now down.
    Nah, you're going dan sarf.

Odd fact.

if you are getting the train to London from Edinburgh technically you are going up to London not down.
    As an ex Network Rail employee I can safely say that you're on the right lines here. 🤭

Odd fact.

Nah Down South.

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Odd fact.

Typically self important Londoners would have you believe it but you just need to look at a map. 😉
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

King's Cross Station is 22m above sea level, according to Wiki.

Not sure about Waverley, but I would have thought it's more.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Typically self important Londoners would have you believe it but you just need to look at a map.
    Nothing to do with the map (or sea levels!)…but yeah maybe more aligned to the perceived importance of London!

But 100% if you get on the train at Waverley you travel on the up line to London.

So you are travelling up to London while going down to London.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    My neighbours, seems like another couple of families have moved in to the house, they are a f***ing nightmare, swept the pathway last week and last night when I came in there was about 5 folk standing outside smoking with fag ends everywhere, and I mean hundreds and hundreds of them, had words with them about the mess and thought they would clean up, went to put some rubbish out this morning and they were all standing at the pathway smoking and they haven’t cleaned up, it’s not my nature to grass on folk but this is not going to have a good ending, and the loud screaming from the women through the night, they are in the same room so why shout so loud, there is also a young kid in the house who is very polite to me but he is never at school and just runs about the back garden, I feel sorry for him as he has no friends.