Page 249 of 266 FirstFirst ... 149199239247248249250251259 ... LastLast
Results 7,441 to 7,470 of 7972

Thread: Best tv

I’m a bit baffled. Last week I watched the first episode of the new series The Day Of The Jackal but don’t know which channel I saw it on. Last night I searched for the second episode but it was only available on Now. I don’t subscribe to Now and can’t work out how I managed to watch the first episode.

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I’m a bit baffled. Last week I watched the first episode of the new series The Day Of The Jackal but don’t know which channel I saw it on. Last night I searched for the second episode but it was only available on Now. I don’t subscribe to Now and can’t work out how I managed to watch the first episode.
    I think it's on Netflix , i watched the first episode and absolutely loved it but then realized it's not run it's course and is still on weekly ! I dont 'do' weekly i'm a binge man so will let it run it's course and then re watch it

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    I think it's on Netflix , i watched the first episode and absolutely loved it but then realized it's not run it's course and is still on weekly ! I dont 'do' weekly i'm a binge man so will let it run it's course and then re watch it
    It's on Sky Atlantic.

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
    It's on Sky Atlantic.
    Sky Showcase too

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    I'm about halfway through about my 5th rewatch of the Wire right now, still holds up really well
    What’s your favourite series? Think mine is the third season and the schools. I think that’s what sets The Wire apart, each season is through the lens of a different, but still interconnected, part of Baltimore.

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post
    With Dexter Original Sin being released mid December have been watching Dexter for 2nd time. It's brilliant as is Michael C Hall, also some great humour in it which seemed to miss first time round.

Up there with the best TV for me.
    I loved Dexter but never got round to watching the most recent series. Is it just as good?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Go Bragh View Post
    I loved Dexter but never got round to watching the most recent series. Is it just as good?
    The new series which looks at Dexter previous to the original series of 8 seasons is not released until 13th December.

The follow up series Dexter New Blood released in 2021 was great, not as good as original series, but worth watching.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    What’s your favourite series? Think mine is the third season and the schools. I think that’s what sets The Wire apart, each season is through the lens of a different, but still interconnected, part of Baltimore.
    I'm with you that it's probably The Wire number 1, and Sopranos a close second. Sopranos is untouchable for the humour in particular. But in terms of a story where "all the pieces matter" it has to be The Wire.

I actually think it should be taught in schools, a lesson in how society and institutions work. Was lucky enough to see a season 5 episode, years back at the Glasgow Film Theatre, with a Q&A from David Simon. Once I had access to the final season, I remember staying up til 3 in the morning bingeing it. Especially the one with Omar and the balcony.... had to see the next one!

My ranking would be

1. Season 4
    2. Season 3
    3. Season 2 (first watch was frustrating to begin with)
    4. Season 1
    5. Season 5 (maybe a bit too on the nose at times)

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I'm with you that it's probably The Wire number 1, and Sopranos a close second. Sopranos is untouchable for the humour in particular. But in terms of a story where "all the pieces matter" it has to be The Wire.

I actually think it should be taught in schools, a lesson in how society and institutions work. Was lucky enough to see a season 5 episode, years back at the Glasgow Film Theatre, with a Q&A from David Simon. Once I had access to the final season, I remember staying up til 3 in the morning bingeing it. Especially the one with Omar and the balcony.... had to see the next one!

My ranking would be

1. Season 4
    2. Season 3
    4. Season 1
    Similar but I’d have season 1 above season 2.

Quote Originally Posted by YehButNoBut View Post
    The new series which looks at Dexter previous to the original series of 8 seasons is not released until 13th December.

The follow up series Dexter New Blood released in 2021 was great, not as good as original series, but worth watching.
    Cheers mate I'll give it a watch. The series with John Lithgow was my favourite of the originals.

My ranking would be

1. Season 4
    2. Season 3
    4. Season 1
    Apparently Omar on the balcony was a real incident and the real Omar jumped from higher.

I like all the subtle cameos. The police chief with the gray moustache that is friendly with Bunny Colvin is actually the real life Jay Landsman. Same with the reverend, apparently he’s one of an amalgamation of real Baltimore drug kingpins Avon is based on. It’s also an authentic touch that the likes of Prop Joe and Snoop weren’t actors but Baltimore locals I believe.

Quote Originally Posted by The Modfather View Post
    Apparently Omar on the balcony was a real incident and the real Omar jumped from higher.

I like all the subtle cameos. The police chief with the gray moustache that is friendly with Bunny Colvin is actually the real life Jay Landsman. Same with the reverend, apparently he’s one of an amalgamation of real Baltimore drug kingpins Avon is based on. It’s also an authentic touch that the likes of Prop Joe and Snoop weren’t actors but Baltimore locals I believe.
    Yeah there are loads aren't there....

I think Prop Joe was a drama coach apparently. And Snoop was done for murder in her younger years. One of the other Homicide guys was the former police commissioner aswell, bald white guy. Clay Davis' lawyer is a real lawyer. Gus (Clark Johnson) from Season 5 directed the first episode.

If you want a real easter egg rabbit hole, check this one out! https://www.vulture.com/2023/02/rich...elsewhere.html

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Go Bragh View Post
    Cheers mate I'll give it a watch. The series with John Lithgow was my favourite of the originals.
    Just finished watching that again, Lithgow was brilliant in it.

Also liked Jonny Lee Miller in his episodes.

It's on Sky Atlantic.
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Sky Showcase too
    I don’t have Sky or Now so must have watched it at my son’s house. Could have sworn I watched it at home.

Anybody else watching The Listeners on iPlayer? I've watched 3 of the 4 episodes and still not sure what to make of it, it's just odd.
    Dinnae ken if you persisted with episode 4 but i watched the whole lot , In the 10 years this thread has been going that is without doubt the worst tv programme i have ever watched , Absolutely dreadful stuff , Still not got a clue wtf that was all about .

Bizarre to say the least !

Dinnae ken if you persisted with episode 4 but i watched the whole lot , In the 10 years this thread has been going that is without doubt the worst tv programme i have ever watched , Absolutely dreadful stuff , Still not got a clue wtf that was all about .

Bizarre to say the least !
    Aye, I watched it all and remain suitably confused.

I read on the web somewhere that it covers the themes of the poem with the same name.

https://www.litcharts.com/poetry/wal...20they%20look.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 29-11-2024 at 07:05 PM.

Aye, I watched it all and remain suitably confused.

I read on the web somewhere that it covers the themes of the poem with the same name.

https://www.litcharts.com/poetry/wal...20they%20look.
    Still makes nae sense

Hink i'll start the Wire next , Ken me always late to the party

Still makes nae sense

Hink i'll start the Wire next , Ken me always late to the party
    I've never watched it either.

Day of the Jackal
    Cross and
    Season 2 of The Devils Hour next up for me.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 29-11-2024 at 07:47 PM.

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    I'd put The Wire above Sopranos too.

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    I'd put The Wire above Sopranos too.
    I'd say they are pretty equal in different ways, both have their merits, Band of Brothers is and always will be my favourite bit of TV ever, but with a back catalogue of The Sopranos, The Wire, Game of Thrones, Band of Brothers etc it just says to me HBO produce the best TV out of anyone by far

No space for Gomorrah?

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    No space for Gomorrah?
    Thats different, Ciro and Genny are up there with my favourite characters of all time, it's still the most gritty and amazing TV shows I've ever seen, when I've finished the wire I'm going back to that now you have reminded me of it

Quite enjoyed The Gone on the iPlayer, Irish/NZ police drama.

Thats different, Ciro and Genny are up there with my favourite characters of all time, it's still the most gritty and amazing TV shows I've ever seen, when I've finished the wire I'm going back to that now you have reminded me of it
    Personally i couldnt get my head around GOT at all. I read the first book and after all the hype tried to dip into the TV two or three times but i just thought it was a poor man’s Peter Jackson LOTR with added soft porn.

Breaking Bad and Ozark loved how they just keep getting in deeper and deeper with plenty of bad guys to keep you amused

Also a big fan of Ray Donovan with some fine individual performances throughout from Eddie Marsan Paula Malcolmson and Jon Voight

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Personally i couldnt get my head around GOT at all. I read the first book and after all the hype tried to dip into the TV two or three times but i just thought it was a poor man’s Peter Jackson LOTR with added soft porn.
    I was the same. I watched the first couple of episodes, until Sean Bean died, and decided it wasn’t for me. Have watched, without context, a good few of the battle scenes when they were recommended on YouTube which were good.

“A proper low rent guy” - Springbank 21/10/24 easty's Avatar

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I’ve no idea how new or old it is, but we’ve been watching After The Party on channel 4 on demand. It’s from New Zealand, and has Peter Mullan in it.

Watched 4 of the 6 episodes so far and it’s a good watch.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I’ve no idea how new or old it is, but we’ve been watching After The Party on channel 4 on demand. It’s from New Zealand, and has Peter Mullan in it.

I mentioned it last week, I've finished it but, I think that there are a couple of episodes left on channel 4.

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post

Watched this as well was good, quite enjoyed it some proper food acting involved as well

Quote Originally Posted by Dmas View Post
    Watched this as well was good, quite enjoyed it some proper food acting involved as well
    Like Robin Williams' impression of a hotdog?