Page 446 of 474 FirstFirst ... 346396436444445446447448456 ... LastLast
Results 13,351 to 13,380 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by oneone73 View Post
    I'm an Allan. Would have liked to have been called Mac.
    Especially when I was a 25-year-old.

Ridiculous things in otherwise decent shows that immediately ruin the suspension of disbelief.

I’m watching Dexter at the moment, very late to it but it has been on the watch list for years and I had a few recent recommendations to watch it.

We’ve just finished the third season and the storylines so far have been good enough to keep watching but at least once per episode but often more, someone will do or say something that’s just so ludicrous and out of keeping with the rest of what’s going on that you immediately switch off from it being a tense drama and it ends up being like Neighbours or something.

One example, a wee boy trapped in the boot of car but able to see through the key hole, witnesses Dexter at a murder scene. The boy didn’t speak English and so they have to get an artist’s impression of who he saw using the help of an interpreter.

The boy describes, and the artist draws, an immaculate drawing of Jesus Christ.

Later on in the series, adult witnesses who saw a man leaving a crime scene have to give the description to the artist, and the result was like a cross between Guess Who?! and the painting of Jesus that that cleaner tried to fix that time in Spain.

Pretty much anything Dexter’s sister does or says falls into the category I’m talking about, and that’s before you get started on those running the police department.

It’s not just Dexter though. Having dead Princess Leia fly through space to not be dead anymore in Star Wars was ludicrous, and this is a franchise which routinely ignores the laws of physics etc - but it’s usually consistent so the suspension of disbelief lets you ignore that stuff. Until someone flies through space while dead.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post
    Ridiculous things in otherwise decent shows that immediately ruin the suspension of disbelief.

I’m watching Dexter at the moment, very late to it but it has been on the watch list for years and I had a few recent recommendations to watch it.

We’ve just finished the third season and the storylines so far have been good enough to keep watching but at least once per episode but often more, someone will do or say something that’s just so ludicrous and out of keeping with the rest of what’s going on that you immediately switch off from it being a tense drama and it ends up being like Neighbours or something.

One example, a wee boy trapped in the boot of car but able to see through the key hole, witnesses Dexter at a murder scene. The boy didn’t speak English and so they have to get an artist’s impression of who he saw using the help of an interpreter.

The boy describes, and the artist draws, an immaculate drawing of Jesus Christ.

Later on in the series, adult witnesses who saw a man leaving a crime scene have to give the description to the artist, and the result was like a cross between Guess Who?! and the painting of Jesus that that cleaner tried to fix that time in Spain.

Pretty much anything Dexter’s sister does or says falls into the category I’m talking about, and that’s before you get started on those running the police department.

It’s not just Dexter though. Having dead Princess Leia fly through space to not be dead anymore in Star Wars was ludicrous, and this is a franchise which routinely ignores the laws of physics etc - but it’s usually consistent so the suspension of disbelief lets you ignore that stuff. Until someone flies through space while dead.
    Sounds a bit like KIN. Every episode your getting into it only for something ridiculous to happen that is laughable and would never actually happen or play out that way.

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    Parents.

Just watched our League Cup Final drubbing by Celtc on the Peter Cormack thread. Our goalie Thomson Allan was very busy that day picking the ball out of his net.

If your surname is Allan, a very common first name, why would you then give your child a first name that's a very common surname, unless you're some sort of sadist? All those hours (altogether) that Thomson Allan must have spent explaining to people that no, his name wasn't Allan Thomson but Thomson Allan could have been much better spent practising goalie-ing.

If your surname's a common first name like Allan, don't be calling your child Macdonald, or Duncan, or Taylor, or Thomson. If you want to cause mischief and torment, you might as well go the whole hog and christen them Bridgeof.

(Not saying our 6-2 defeat was entirely Thomson Allan's parents' fault, btw.)
    Is it not a masonic thing - giving boys surnames for Christian names? Oldies may remember Renton Laidlaw and Rankin Grimshaw from 70s sport. Partick used to have a chairman called Brown McMaster FFS.

@hibs.net private member Smartie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    Is it not a masonic thing - giving boys surnames for Christian names? Oldies may remember Renton Laidlaw and Rankin Grimshaw from 70s sport. Partick used to have a chairman called Brown McMaster FFS.
    Funny you say that.

We called our wee boy Ramsay. My mate - who is a proper old-school paranoid Tim - keeps going on about "surname for first name" being a sign of true staunchness, therefore I must be a closet hun. For the record - I very much am not.

There are a few Ramsays throughout our families and we liked the name so we went with it. Nothing more, nothing less.

But I've been copping it off him big time for this for the past year and a bit. It didn't even occur to me that that was a thing.
    Last edited by Smartie; 17-10-2024 at 10:41 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Smartie View Post
    Funny you say that.

We called our wee boy Ramsay. My mate - who is a proper old-school paranoid Tim - keeps going on about "surname for first name" being a sign of true staunchness, therefore I must be a closet hun.

There are a few Ramsays throughout our families and we liked the name so we went with it. Nothing more, nothing less.

But I've been copping it off hum big time for this for the past year and a bit. It didn't even occur to me that that was a thing.
    I’ve never even thought about it tbh but where does the line get drawn in this blokes mind? Nobody allowed to be called Andrew(s), David(s)(on), (Will)(Liam)(s), James/Jamie/Jim/Jock/whatever other names we have for James as they’re all linked to a surname or they’re a currant bun? Too confusing, call your bairn whatever you like as long as it’s not ridiculous (ie Broxi, it happens)

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    As someone who has a first name that can also be a surname but a surname that is usually only used as a surname, I've never really had people get confused about what my first name and surname is. The only exceptions were when my work used to use the surname, first name format on outgoing emails where I got a few people from outside the organisation replying "Hi Wilson" (despite it being the correct way round on my email signature) - and the comical time I went in for an operation when I was a kid and the South African doctor refused to believe Wilson wasn't my first name as that is apparently a common first name in South Africa and my first name is nearly always a surname there.

Doctor: Yes, we will cut in right about here on Wilson

My mum: that's not his first name, that's his surname

Doctor: no its not, its his first name

Mum: yes it is

Doctor: are you sure?

A Hibs one but it really annoys me.

The number of spelling mistakes, grammar issues and general sloppiness in our social media output. I was reading last night that we have sent Murray Johnson to 'Airdree' to play 'men's footballer'.

Surely there should be at least some proof reading before this stuff is posted. That one is pretty innocuous but the error on the Sol Bamba consolation post that wasn't corrected for 4 hours or getting the name of the manager of a team we have sent a player on loan to is just embarrassing.
    Hibs official site today describing road works on the way to Dundee. Says they're at Glencorse. Which is near Penicuik and not on the route. Te road works are at Glencarse.

When you walk into Slaters menswear and are approached by a female assistant who you think you’ve never met and she says “hello Scouse Hibee” and proceeds to tell me she knows my real name, the name I post under on FB and where I used to work. 😂
    Lovely to meet you again.😉

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    When you walk into Slaters menswear and are approached by a female assistant who you think you’ve never met and she says “hello Scouse Hibee” and proceeds to tell me she knows my real name, the name I post under on FB and where I used to work. 😂
    Lovely to meet you again.😉
    🤣

I was at the trades hall in Glasgow today and bumped into 5 people who knew me by my username on here! Even better was 2 women approaching me at the same time and me saying "don't fight over me ladies " 🤣

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar
    The neighbours watching the shopping channel at top volume all ******* day.
    It’s my day off and I want to sit on the couch and do the crossword in peace and I can hear their ****ing telly coming through the wall. And it’s the shopping channel it’s utterly moronic, it’s beyond my comprehension that you can sit and endlessly watch that crap.
    It’s not super loud, if I put music on it’ll be alright, but I don’t want to I just want my peace.
    I’m away to sit in the kitchen.

''Bring on the porn star''

Quote Originally Posted by Off the bar View Post
    It’s my day off and I want to sit on the couch and do the crossword in peace and I can hear their ****ing telly coming through the wall. And it’s the shopping channel it’s utterly moronic, it’s beyond my comprehension that you can sit and endlessly watch that crap.
    It’s not super loud, if I put music on it’ll be alright, but I don’t want to I just want my peace.
    There's a druggie bitch in the flat below us that has her TV blaring pretty much 24 hrs a day, it's a tad annoying eh?!! 🤬

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There's a druggie bitch in the flat below us that has her TV blaring pretty much 24 hrs a day, it's a tad annoying eh?!! ��

We used to live in a flat, next door to someone who used to smoke weed like it was going out of fashion. Her brother used to come to the flats 2-3 times a week, but would never use the buzzer or phone her to let him in, he would just stand outside and bellow her name for 20 minutes until she would either let him in or he got the message she wasn’t in. Could happen at all times of the day or night, and he wasn’t averse to standing under a covered area outside and just tailgating someone in the main door so he could get to her flat.
    Last edited by McD; 21-10-2024 at 08:22 PM.

There's a druggie bitch in the flat below us that has her TV blaring pretty much 24 hrs a day, it's a tad annoying eh?!! 🤬
    Absolutely brutal. It’s an old couple next door to us and I think the old dears hearing is going. But it’s so annoying. It’s just loud enough that you tune into it and it’s a constant aggressive sales pitch. If their telly is on you can’t sit in silence in our front room, which makes reading or doing the crossword impossible or at least drains it of most of the pleasure.

I lived in Stenhouse many years ago, bottom house in a 4 in a block, us and our neighbour owned our properties and there was an old lady above us with an old chap next door to her.

All was going well, I renovated my house with new windows, central heating and a nice driveway. The old lady moved into care and the family from hell moved in, a black African Woman with her Daughter who was ages with my oldest and her old Mum.

Every day and every night the old yin would have the washing machine on, an old thing that rattled around the kitchen floor, then the tumble drier would be on all night and that was above our bedroom, ****ing infuriating !! They had wooden floors so it was thud thud thud all night, they never seemed to sleep, same as ****ing us !!

My Wife was at her wits end and confronted the Mother and all she got was a vile rant accusing my Wife of being racist, that was just the start and then the tv was ramped up day and night with a radio blaring through the night in the bedroom above.

My Wife is as laid back as you could meet and would never say a bad word to anyone let alone be racist, in fact she invited the Daughter down to our Daughters birthday party in which she attended.

I had enough and after months of constant and deliberate noise I confronted the family only to be met with a foul mouth tirade and further accused of being racist to the Daughter, her Mother and Grandmother. We were accused of pinning notices on their front door with racist names etc, then one morning my Wife went out to take our Daughter to school to find the bonnet of her car had been deeply keyed. The car was facing our front window in our drive so there is no way someone came off the street to do it.

There were a couple of curtain twitchers over the road who seen it but did nothing at the time so we got the Police involved. The old couple told the Police they didnt see anything so nowt was done. In fact we were warned not to confront our upstairs neighbours in case of escalation.

My Wife wrote a dosier of all the issues and presented it to our local councillor and low and behold, the family were no more, possibly a moonlight flit, washing machine and tumble drier too. It appears that this family caused bother everywhere they went and were handy at chucking the racist card about to plead their innocence. We heard they had moved about multiple locations from Pilton, to Wester Hailes, Sighthill, Stenhouse, Broomhouse/Saughton to Lochend.

A single Mum with her 2 teenage Sons moved in soon after, lovely family and so polite, the Sons worked but other than their alarm going off in the morning it was night and day compared to the other horrible family, I feel sorry for others having to suffer what we did 🤬

Toilet seats that don't stay up when you are trying to pee!

...all because their speakers are facing you at the back of their TV probably.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    I lived in Stenhouse many years ago, bottom house in a 4 in a block, us and our neighbour owned our properties and there was an old lady above us with an old chap next door to her.

All was going well, I renovated my house with new windows, central heating and a nice driveway. The old lady moved into care and the family from hell moved in, a black African Woman with her Daughter who was ages with my oldest and her old Mum.

Every day and every night the old yin would have the washing machine on, an old thing that rattled around the kitchen floor, then the tumble drier would be on all night and that was above our bedroom, ****ing infuriating !! They had wooden floors so it was thud thud thud all night, they never seemed to sleep, same as ****ing us !!

My Wife was at her wits end and confronted the Mother and all she got was a vile rant accusing my Wife of being racist, that was just the start and then the tv was ramped up day and night with a radio blaring through the night in the bedroom above.

My Wife is as laid back as you could meet and would never say a bad word to anyone let alone be racist, in fact she invited the Daughter down to our Daughters birthday party in which she attended.

I had enough and after months of constant and deliberate noise I confronted the family only to be met with a foul mouth tirade and further accused of being racist to the Daughter, her Mother and Grandmother. We were accused of pinning notices on their front door with racist names etc, then one morning my Wife went out to take our Daughter to school to find the bonnet of her car had been deeply keyed. The car was facing our front window in our drive so there is no way someone came off the street to do it.

There were a couple of curtain twitchers over the road who seen it but did nothing at the time so we got the Police involved. The old couple told the Police they didnt see anything so nowt was done. In fact we were warned not to confront our upstairs neighbours in case of escalation.

My Wife wrote a dosier of all the issues and presented it to our local councillor and low and behold, the family were no more, possibly a moonlight flit, washing machine and tumble drier too. It appears that this family caused bother everywhere they went and were handy at chucking the racist card about to plead their innocence. We heard they had moved about multiple locations from Pilton, to Wester Hailes, Sighthill, Stenhouse, Broomhouse/Saughton to Lochend.

A single Mum with her 2 teenage Sons moved in soon after, lovely family and so polite, the Sons worked but other than their alarm going off in the morning it was night and day compared to the other horrible family, I feel sorry for others having to suffer what we did 🤬
    That’s a nightmare situation to be in, it’s amazing how quickly these things can escalate through no fault of your own.
    There’s no comparison to the situation here it’s just incredibly peeving when their telly is on!

Quote Originally Posted by pollution View Post
    ...all because their speakers are facing you at the back of their TV probably.
    I could tell you exactly where their Tv is. And exactly what they’re watching.

That’s a nightmare situation to be in, it’s amazing how quickly these things can escalate through no fault of your own.
    There’s no comparison to the situation here it’s just incredibly peeving when their telly is on!
    The bitch below us thrives on confrontation and constantly slams doors in order to get a reaction then goes mental when she does. She's had my old man's car keyed 2 or 3 times usually following the latest confrontation. Unfortunately she has next to no possessions so it's impossible for my old man to get any revenge. Not knowing who she deals for doesn't help either as you don't know who might come knocking on the door one night.

Between the woman on constant weed next door and her dodgy brother, and the guy on the ground floor who used to whip his dog into a frenzy and let it run around the street charging at people and snarling (a main road!) and then my wife phoning me at work one night to tell me he was out in the street fighting some other guy both with knives, we did all we could to move house. I even told her not to take our dog out at night if I was working back shift, for fear of something happening.

She's a drug dealer surrounded by dodgy people. If anything was to happen to her or her brother who's coming to your door. It got nothing to do with you 🙈🙉🙊.

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    She's a drug dealer surrounded by dodgy people. If anything was to happen to her or her brother who's coming to your door. It got nothing to do with you 🙈🙉🙊.
    Straightforward as that eh? 🤔

We just wanted a quiet life, it was a lovely quiet street populated by an older generation who were all lovely. I done a lot to my house and done my front garden up that enhanced an ageing street.

We got on with everyone, we worked hard but it just takes one bad egg to **** everything up. They were ****ing horrible and so blinkered they couldnt or werent interested in the stress it caused us and our Daughters, they were serial trouble makers and your typical neighbours from hell who were hiding behind the race card.

Quote Originally Posted by Bridge hibs View Post
    We just wanted a quiet life, it was a lovely quiet street populated by an older generation who were all lovely. I done a lot to my house and done my front garden up that enhanced an ageing street.

We got on with everyone, we worked hard but it just takes one bad egg to **** everything up. They were ****ing horrible and so blinkered they couldnt or werent interested in the stress it caused us and our Daughters, they were serial trouble makers and your typical neighbours from hell who were hiding behind the race card.
    Sounds very similar to us apart from the race issue. She's the only council tenant left in the stair but, neither the council or the police are doing anything about it although they're never away from her door.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 22-10-2024 at 06:35 AM.

She's currently going radge at the moment, must have replinished her gear stash last night.

Straightforward as that eh? 🤔
    Pretty much.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    I’ve got plenty. There seems more the older I get! A current one is road signage that’s obscured by foliage. There literally a small tree obscuring part of a sign as you approach the Sheriffhall Roundabout on the A7 heading into town. Potentially dangerous and so easily fixed. I suspect budget cuts are the cause. Grrrrrr.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bishop Hibee View Post
    I’ve got plenty. There seems more the older I get! A current one is road signage that’s obscured by foliage. There literally a small tree obscuring part of a sign as you approach the Sheriffhall Roundabout on the A7 heading into town. Potentially dangerous and so easily fixed. I suspect budget cuts are the cause. Grrrrrr.
    I was in Cornwall on holiday last year and mentioned this earlier in the thread. There's a high percentage of road signs either concealed by vegetation or so filthy that they are unreadable. The roads were also a shambles.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Sounds very similar to us apart from the race issue. She's the only council tenant left in the stair but, neither the council or the police are doing anything about it although they're never away from her door.
    We have constant issues with the one council tenant left in our block in Dundee. We complain to the council and they tell us to call the police (or did before they started ignoring us altogether). You call the police, they don’t even give you a call back.