Page 144 of 816 FirstFirst ... 4494134142143144145146154194244644 ... LastLast
Results 4,291 to 4,320 of 24460
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnM1875 View Post
    I'm not usually one for the co-efficient, usually cause it involves Hearts, Celtic and Rangers winning. But be happy if both Scottish Teams got a win tonight.
    I’m not for any of the other Scottish clubs in Europe , better they do , the more money they get which improves them and makes it harder for hibs . I get why some think differently though.

2-2

@hibs.net private member LaMotta's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    I’m not for any of the other Scottish clubs in Europe , better they do , the more money they get which improves them and makes it harder for hibs . I get why some think differently though.
    Losing one or two European spaces in the league will make it far harder for Hibs than Killie or St Mirren picking up a few hundred grand extra.

2-2 killie

Viktoria Plzen beating some Ukrainian mob 2-1 away from home so looks like they'll be the yams opponent in the Europa League qualifier.

Sickner them having 8 games in Europe this year and the money that comes with it

Quote Originally Posted by Contador View Post
    Viktoria Plzen beating some Ukrainian mob 2-1 away from home so looks like they'll be the yams opponent in the Europa League qualifier.

Sickner them having 8 games in Europe this year and the money that comes with it

Nice wee place to visit too, lucky b's.

Quote Originally Posted by LaMotta View Post
    There's a fair chance only the top two in our league ( plus cup winners) are guaranteed European football unless results pick up.

If we lose one or even 2 spaces, then the league will become pretty much pointless every year unless we finish 2nd or 3rd, which as history as shown is very unlikely. If you do fully understand the significance of the coefficient being battered, how can you possibly think that is a good thing?
    We are more likely to finish in 3rd place if we have superiority over teams like St Mirren and Kilmarnock. Success in Europe for them is more likely to lead to their dominance over us. I would rather take our chances if we were regularly vying for top four. What’s the point of of having 4 or 5 European spots if we serially fail to get into that position?

1-0 Brann

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    We are more likely to finish in 3rd place if we have superiority over teams like St Mirren and Kilmarnock. Success in Europe for them is more likely to lead to their dominance over us. I would rather take our chances if we were regularly vying for top four. What’s the point of of having 4 or 5 European spots if we serially fail to get into that position?
    St Mirren and Killie getting a few hundred grand extra means very little. Our budget already dwarves both of them and will continue to regardless of their European runs. We just need to get our own house in order with a sensible manager and decent recruitment - when that happens the chance to finish 4th or 5th and qualify for Europe is obviously better for us.

Quote Originally Posted by Contador View Post

If they get in to the Europa League it’d be 8 in the new league format plus the 2 qualifiers.

Plzen is far from the worst tie you could get but they got to QF of the Conference League last season and were in the Champions League the year before

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    If they get in to the Europa League it’d be 8 in the new league format plus the 2 qualifiers.

Plzen is far from the worst tie you could get but they got to QF of the Conference League last season and were in the Champions League the year before
    Hearts are pish and will get gubbed. 5heid will leave and Naebadges will get hounded out by the delusional rover pilots.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    1-0 Brann
    Beggars belief that we conceded 3 to this St Mirren team.

They are hard working but have no spark whatsoever.

St Mirren and Killie getting a few hundred grand extra means very little. Our budget already dwarves both of them and will continue to regardless of their European runs. We just need to get our own house in order with a sensible manager and decent recruitment - when that happens the chance to finish 4th or 5th and qualify for Europe is obviously better for us.
    I’m not talking about any minimal financial gain they might get. I’m talking about the psychological and confidence boost they get from winning in Europe.

Quote Originally Posted by flash View Post
    Beggars belief that we conceded 3 to this St Mirren team.

They are hard working but have no spark whatsoever.
    Four bookings?

Quote Originally Posted by Joe6-2 View Post
    Four bookings?
    Certainly had a few.

1-1

Quote Originally Posted by Jim44 View Post
    I’m not talking about any minimal financial gain they might get. I’m talking about the psychological and confidence boost they get from winning in Europe.
    You think a couple of wins from Killie and St Mirren in Europe will power them up the league table all season? Really? Come on.

Not only that though but if Scotland does lose one or two spots then that means the third place team will no longer be guaranteed group stage football. So if we did have a great season get third place and sneak A European place, we would have next to no chance of Group Stage football. That's what you want?

Goal St Mirren get in there!

Agree 100%

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    2-2

any channels showing the games?

Brann will be to strong for them at home

Gogic an absolute standout for St Mirren again tonight.

You think a couple of wins from Killie and St Mirren in Europe will power them up the league table all season? Really? Come on.

Not only that though but if Scotland does lose one or two spots then that means the third place team will no longer be guaranteed group stage football. So if we did have a great season get third place and sneak A European place, we would have next to no chance of Group Stage football. That's what you want?

Goal St Mirren get in there!
    Exactly, we really need other Scottish teams to get some wins and build up these coefficient points to maintain the chance of 3rd Spot/Scottish Cup Win earning you that Group Stage Football.

Especially with this new set up as unless you are one of the worst 8 teams in the new league you are in Europe until January/February.

@hibs.net private member MartinfaePorty's Avatar
    St Mirren defended very well, but if it's anything less than a 2-goal+ win for Brann in the 2nd leg I'll be surprised. Killie have more of a chance, but didn't look great.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MartinfaePorty View Post
    St Mirren defended very well, but if it's anything less than a 2-goal+ win for Brann in the 2nd leg I'll be surprised. Killie have more of a chance, but didn't look great.

St Mirren will get scudded over there.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Quote Originally Posted by MelbourneHibees View Post
    Exactly, we really need other Scottish teams to get some wins and build up these coefficient points to maintain the chance of 3rd Spot/Scottish Cup Win earning you that Group Stage Football.

Especially with this new set up as unless you are one of the worst 8 teams in the new league you are in Europe until January/February.

Also can you imagine what it would do for interest in the league if we lost European spots? Hearts had 3rd place wrapped up by February last season - there would be nothing to play for unless fighting relegation in that scenario. It would kill the league.

Quote Originally Posted by Donegal Hibby View Post
    That's what I think as well, and I don't care where Hearts are playing or what cup it is, I want them to get beaten every time.

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    St mirren lucky for the draw , that team played them off the park but fair play getting the equaliser

Gold Medal match France v Spain starting BBCiPlayer

Ayr v Airdrie on BBC Scotland channel tonight, hopefully a couple of Hibs loan players play for Airdrie

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Ten years ago today Mark Oxley scored his wonder goal.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction