Page 98 of 816 FirstFirst ... 488896979899100108148198598 ... LastLast
Results 2,911 to 2,940 of 24458
    @hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Hopefully the Spanish team are channeling their inner Carlos Alcarez.
    Really hope so! Absolutely destroyed Djokovic

Looks like Alcaraz trying to get this over and done with so he can get home to watch the fitba

Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post
    Looks like Alcaraz trying to get this over and done with so he can get home to watch the fitba
    Home to Spain? 😀

I think we might be in for a decent final but that will require an early English goal to get it going. Spain should get it over the line but right now I won’t be calling it.

Ended up with a split in our house.

Wife is English so her loyalties were never in doubt. Daughter was supporting Spain but has now had a change of heart and wants to support England like Mum. The boy is too young to choose so he's running about in a Spain top with Iniesta on the back and is on my team. England v Spain, boys v girls😅

Spanish international and club sides have been in 22 finals this century. Their record in these finals? Won 22- Lost 0.

What a stat that is, might put the house on Spain now

Quote Originally Posted by babahibs View Post
    What a stat that is, might put the house on Spain now
    Or by the law of averages they are due to lose this one.

@hibs.net private member JohnM1875's Avatar

PSN ID: johnmac1875
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Or by the law of averages they are due to lose this one.
    To add balance, apparently England have played something like seven games in and never lost a game in Berlin. So, come on Spain!!!

Any other Hibbys over here in Spain going out this evening to hopefully see Rodri & Co prevail ?

Quote Originally Posted by JohnM1875 View Post
    To add balance, apparently England have played something like seven games in and never lost a game in Berlin. So, come on Spain!!!
    Superb.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    England will set up defensively but Spain will still score meaning England will open up like they've done in the last couple of games but this time they'll get punished because they're finally playing a good side.
    I think the way Spain play suits England a little bit, England struggle against teams who sit in and condense the space and end up endlessly passing about the back not really going anywhere.
    Spain don't play like that, they're expansive and attacking, which opens up space for Englands attacking players, I think this has the potential to be a great game and could come down to individual brilliance, which both teams have in abundance.
    So, a 0-0 borefest coming up.

Think Spain will play better but England will win.

@hibs.net private member essexhibee's Avatar
    Can’t see anything other than an England win. Shame it’s not KO now so could just get it over with already.
    ​​
    Scottish Cup Winners 2016 - The Immortals

Not really true. They've never lost against non-spanish sides. Atletico have lost 2 CL finals, both to Real. Athletic Bilbao have lost a Europa league final to Atletico.

First Team Breakthrough Seekyit's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Not really true. They've never lost against non-spanish sides. Atletico have lost 2 CL finals, both to Real. Athletic Bilbao have lost a Europa league final to Atletico.
    Liverpool Alaves 2001. Same year Bayern beat Valencia, albeit on pens.

Quote Originally Posted by He's here! View Post
    One of their better writers has disowned it:

https://x.com/cbrookmyre/status/1812024073980973415

'Boorish, offensive and embarrassing'. He's spot on.
    Looked like an attempt at humour to me.

Well ye kent whit ah meant likesay

Quote Originally Posted by Seekyit View Post
    Oh yep, well done. Stat busted.

England have never won the Euros, got Spain to win 3-1.

First Team Breakthrough Seekyit's Avatar
    Oh yep, well done. Stat busted.
    I couldnae resist. Anyway, Mon Spain.

England have never won a tournament outside England.

Can spin stats anyway you like. When you have two teams at almost the same level will come down to the same combination of individual brilliance/ mistakes and luck.

Quote Originally Posted by Since90+2 View Post
    England have never won a tournament outside England.

Can spin stats anyway you like. When you have two teams at almost the same level will come down to the same combination of individual brilliance/ mistakes and luck.
    I don't think that they are at the same level, I think Spain will pass them into the ground. 🤞

Quote Originally Posted by Seekyit View Post
    OK, but over 90 mins and obviously discounting when Spanish teams play each other, then….

If it goes to form perhaps Shaw will wish he was still injured. Unless he can get in a hard "tackle" of course.

Overly pessimistic - Spain were quite open against England, and that'll play into the hands of what they showed in the first half against Netherlands. Stubborn England will also turn up, and a Spanish side having an off night won't be able to break them down.

Narrow England win. Praying otherwise.

Heard a stat on 5 live that Rodri has only been on the loosing side once for Spain.

BBC or ITV ?
    Gone ITV for Keane and Neville but Wrighty is maybe not a price worth paying.

BBC or ITV ?
    Talk about a rock and a hard place

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    BBC or ITV ?
    Having that same debate...but I cannot, in any good conscience, opt for a platform that features Alan bloody Shearer...
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.