Page 432 of 474 FirstFirst ... 332382422430431432433434442 ... LastLast
Results 12,931 to 12,960 of 14208

Thread: Pet Peeves IV

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    The fact that there’s now another tier to prime. Watching Fallout last night and it had adverts. Another £3.99 (I think) to remove them. That’s poor.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Reading pet peeves and having no idea what they mean.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    I think they are just trying to build up a database of emails that they can send more ***** too.
    In some countries it is illegal not to issue a receipt at point of sale. Italy has finance police who can ( and do) check with customers.

I came across this in Rome years ago where I was teaching at the time.

As I left the trattoria a man in a suit approached me and my first reaction was to keep going in case it was a scam.

Behind him were two policeman who stiffened to attention in that crisply polite but efficient manner of armed police.

All was ok, as I had my receipt and I noticed the owner watching from his restaurant.

Apparently, it was and still is a crackdown on tax evasion in a country where paying tax is voluntary....

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Adverts and on platforms like Netflix, the previews being so much louder than the programmes themselves

@hibs.net private member Moulin Yarns's Avatar
    Power outage in may, seriously?!
    There is no such thing as too much yarn, just not enough time.

Not really a peeve more anger at a serious issue. Wanton vandalism.

Every other day now I seem to read something on social media about people vandalising community assets. Local football clubs seem to get it particularly badly. Pitches churned up by motorbikes, artificial pitches burnt, changing rooms trashed etc etc. I read the other day about Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway being firebombed. Seriously what can a bunch of guys preserving a heritage line and building a model railway have done to deserve that?

I could almost understand, if not condone, if it was bored and frustrated kids but the guys charged with the latter offence are both 32. That's not that much younger than me and I can't imagine ever getting the urge to go and burn down a railway ticket office or dig up the goalmouth at the local park to spoil the bairns games at the weekend.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 25-05-2024 at 10:14 AM.

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Not really a peeve more anger at a serious issue. Wanton vandalism.

Every other day now I seem to read something on social media about people vandalising community assets. Local football clubs seem to get it particularly badly. Pitches churned up by motorbikes, artificial pitches burnt, changing rooms trashed etc etc. I read the other day about Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway being firebombed. Seriously what can a bunch of guys preserving a heritage line and building a model railway have done to deserve that?

I could almost understand, if not condone, if it was bored and frustrated kids but the guys charged with the latter offence are both 32. That's not that much younger than me and I can't imagine everything getting the urge to go and burn down a railway ticket office or dig up the goalmouth at the local park to spoil the bairns games at the weekend.
    I remember taking my kids to a park in Clermiston and some ****bag had smeared dog ****** all the way down the chute.
    Wft goes on in their heads ?
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    I remember taking my kids to a park in Clermiston and some ****bag had smeared dog ****** all the way down the chute.
    Wft goes on in their heads ?
    It used to be razor blades stuck in seams of the chute in my day.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Moulin Yarns View Post
    Portobello outdoor baths always had rumours about that on the chutes.

Not local to me but some group shared this to my Wife, nails glued to a chute and a swing

****ing absolutely disgusting and doesnt bear thinking about the damage that could do to an unsuspecting kid 🤬

IMG_5673.jpg

Sounds like wee need something like nation service to extrude the enthusiasm out of todays youth!!!

Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    Sounds like wee need something like nation service to extrude the enthusiasm out of todays youth!!!
    Hear hear! Get them square bashing, peeling spuds and smoking senior service.
    Just like the good old days.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    The annoying wee bird that has moved in to the back garden and seems like it’s chirping away 24/7.

Ah, the good old days of falling off the chute and monkey bars onto tarmac and beaming

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    The annoying wee bird that has moved in to the back garden and seems like it’s chirping away 24/7.
    Maybe time to tell her she can move back into the house again!

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Ah, the good old days of falling off the chute and monkey bars onto tarmac and beaming
    Aye, the good old days. I spent 3 days pretty much in a coma in Leith infirmary after coming off the big chute at inverleith Park in the 1960s. Probably explains a lot. 🤣

@hibs.net private member staunchhibby's Avatar
    Rip off A.T.M at Edinburgh Àirport will cost you £2-50 to withdraw cash.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by staunchhibby View Post
    Rip off A.T.M at Edinburgh Àirport will cost you £2-50 to withdraw cash.
    Same at Glasgow. We had to get cash out as the pay point failed in Boots. The only place that sold GF food for the Mrs.

Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk

Folk starting messages/posts/tweets etc with "I mean".

Stop it.

Quote Originally Posted by matty_f View Post

Stop it.
    My mate Iain does that, I think that he just can't spell. 🤭

Missing a bit when shaving. Having a feeling not finding anything, then going out just to find a bit. So ****ing annoying!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzywuzzy View Post
    Missing a bit when shaving. Having a feeling not finding anything, then going out just to find a bit. So ****ing annoying!!!!
    I done that when I shaved my head, forgot to get my Wife to check the back. Got to the bus stop and felt something flapping at the back of my head, felt it and it was a big ****ing divot, I was mortified, thankfully I was wearing a skid lid all day 🤬

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

@hibs.net private member The Modfather's Avatar
    Burgers with melted cheese inside them. I like a burger made with cheese in the actual burger. I didn’t know my wife had bought a kind with a hollow middle and melted cheese in it. Almost scolded myself when the liquid cheese flowed out. A good idea in theory but the reality isn’t great. A mess to eat.
    Last edited by The Modfather; 31-05-2024 at 10:29 PM.

Stop it.
    Considered this one myself. There’s so many ways to open social media posts that get on my tits that I probably shouldn’t be on social media 😁

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    People who write “have” as “of”.

Do you think your security can keep you in purity, you will not shake us off above or below. Scottish friction, Scottish fiction

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Folk who don't leave a folded end on sellotape.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Folk who don't leave a folded end on sellotape.

Getting a tear in one end of the cling film and not noticing until someone else in the household has decided to use it several times despite this...
    Similarly, after you push the two end bits in to hold the cling film in place, the cardboard falls apart at both ends making the cling film almost impossible to use properly, also when the wee jagged strip comes away making the tearing virtually useless.